View Full Version : Local Geelong Leagues Thread (GFL/BFL/GDFL)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35

Sammy D
14 Mar 2006, 21:05
Yeah I'm still playing. How did you know I played? I guess you just read my posts but I'm sus about everyone since I found out someone from my club found out I posted on here

*Sticko has a stalker, Sticko has a stalker* :p

nananana catman
14 Mar 2006, 21:11
*Sticko has a stalker, Sticko has a stalker* :p
I thought it was Tweak_Talent

Gotheroos
14 Mar 2006, 21:35
Is Nathtan Tresize still running around down that way?

junior04
15 Mar 2006, 07:39
Anakie will be even worse than last year if that is possibille!!!
They have lost last years captain and about the only bloke who had a dip in Matty Dean, they have also lost the the ruckman Birdy and a good on baller in coy. As bad as Anakie were last year it was through no fault of these blokes who could at least get it out of the guts

Kooley
15 Mar 2006, 08:49
Anakie will be even worse than last year if that is possibille!!!
They have lost last years captain and about the only bloke who had a dip in Matty Dean, they have also lost the the ruckman Birdy and a good on baller in coy. As bad as Anakie were last year it was through no fault of these blokes who could at least get it out of the gutsbull********. the blokes who went to anakie last year were ********ing crap. they will be heaps better without them this year.

junior04
15 Mar 2006, 11:30
bull********. the blokes who went to anakie last year were ********ing crap. they will be heaps better without them this year.

Do you play there or something Kooley?! Because from what I saw they were the only blokes who could get a kick. The rest of them there are dead wood who have have been there for 4 yeras or more and have done nothing to better themselves or the club.
As i've said previously the only half decent player going there is D. INNELLA.
The rest are no good just like the blokes down there

Kooley
15 Mar 2006, 16:45
Do you play there or something Kooley?! Because from what I saw they were the only blokes who could get a kick. The rest of them there are dead wood who have have been there for 4 yeras or more and have done nothing to better themselves or the club.
As i've said previously the only half decent player going there is D. INNELLA.
The rest are no good just like the blokes down thereno i don't play down there, but if you're referring to shannon,dean and the other parasites as the better players then obviously you haven't seen much of anakie. i don't many of the names on the clearance list but matthew mcnammara and corey collins will be good players.

junior04
15 Mar 2006, 17:36
no i don't play down there, but if you're referring to shannon,dean and the other parasites as the better players then obviously you haven't seen much of anakie. i don't many of the names on the clearance list but matthew mcnammara and corey collins will be good players.

shannon a parasite???!! from what i understand he went there trying to improve the club and then got no support from the club or the players already down there! as for dean I bet you wouldn't have the guts to say it to his face because from what i saw he doesn't take a backward step,

Whispers
15 Mar 2006, 17:53
Lol.. Good old Anakie. They'll be alright this year. Prob better then Banno and Corio, maybe West.

Did any hear that Dean Talbot broke his ankle?? Out for 8 weeks?

Kooley
15 Mar 2006, 19:07
shannon a parasite???!! from what i understand he went there trying to improve the club and then got no support from the club or the players already down there! as for dean I bet you wouldn't have the guts to say it to his face because from what i saw he doesn't take a backward step, he went there to improve the club and left after one year because it wasn't all rosey like he thought it would be. to me that equates to a pretty weak effort. as for dean he might be able to handle himself but overall a very average footballer who like shannon did a runner because things were alot tougher than first expected. i remember vividly these two spruiking on how they were going to dominate the competition. what a load of bull********.

lions_man1
16 Mar 2006, 10:34
Now, now boys...the season hasnt even started and you're already bickering...imagine when the season HAS started...:p

The Hulkster
16 Mar 2006, 10:47
There should be plenty of local practise matches on this weekend so keep an eye out to see how sides go.

crudbucket
18 Mar 2006, 10:30
Adam Holland won his appeal for a clearance on Thursday night, he is now a Leopold player.

Looks like Flat track Bully was on the money after all.

ROOBOY14
18 Mar 2006, 12:03
Can anyone tell me anything about the players from Newcomb transfering to Moulamein N.S.W to play in the Golden Rivers and why they would do it.

soapyJNR
18 Mar 2006, 15:23
Does anyone know what happenned to a talented ruckman, Stuart Higgins, Geelong Supplementary player in early ninetys. I think he lived in or around Newtwon. I think his old man played for Fitzroy.

junior04
19 Mar 2006, 19:39
he went there to improve the club and left after one year because it wasn't all rosey like he thought it would be. to me that equates to a pretty weak effort. as for dean he might be able to handle himself but overall a very average footballer who like shannon did a runner because things were alot tougher than first expected. i remember vividly these two spruiking on how they were going to dominate the competition. what a load of bull********.

now Kooley you must know these blokes to recall they were they were spruiking?! from my dealings with the 2 of them two decent blokes who tried to help the club out couldn/t imagine them pumping themselves up. also Dean is above avearge footballer. Do yuo play in the league beacuse you have a fair bit to say?!

Kooley
19 Mar 2006, 20:12
now Kooley you must know these blokes to recall they were they were spruiking?! from my dealings with the 2 of them two decent blokes who tried to help the club out couldn/t imagine them pumping themselves up. also Dean is above avearge footballer. Do yuo play in the league beacuse you have a fair bit to say?! not saying they are not probably decent blokes but when you take on a job with a club which traditionally struggles to recruit and maintain players because of its location you need to show a bit more perserverence then pulling the pin after one year.

junior04
19 Mar 2006, 20:21
not saying they are not probably decent blokes but when you take on a job with a club which traditionally struggles to recruit and maintain players because of its location you need to show a bit more perserverence then pulling the pin after one year.

Fair enough, i was suprised they both left after one year. i know they both looked at it as a 2 year thing with the view to try to recruit well this year but the players at the club who have been there for a couple of years made no effort to improve themselves or to make these blokes feel welcome. i know shannon suggested to the club that they look at playing half their home games at little rivers ground which is not used on saturdays during winter. this may have attracted more players and supporters but the club refused to entertain the thought. narrow mindedness i think

Kooley
19 Mar 2006, 20:33
Fair enough, i was suprised they both left after one year. i know they both looked at it as a 2 year thing with the view to try to recruit well this year but the players at the club who have been there for a couple of years made no effort to improve themselves or to make these blokes feel welcome. i know shannon suggested to the club that they look at playing half their home games at little rivers ground which is not used on saturdays during winter. this may have attracted more players and supporters but the club refused to entertain the thought. narrow mindedness i thinki can only imagine how hard the task must have been. unfortunately he went into the job a little niave.

Toadfooty
19 Mar 2006, 20:40
I says to Lionel I says-

Kooley
19 Mar 2006, 20:48
i heard a disturbing rumour about the thompson fc yesterday. apparently one of their longest serving players and a champion at that has left the club with a coulple of others because of a wayne carey like saga.

can anyone confirm this? no names need to be mentioned but an interesting story to say the least.

Toadfooty
19 Mar 2006, 20:55
Well I says to Lionel I says-

junior04
19 Mar 2006, 21:06
Any thoughts on how werribee centrals will go this year, i see they have recruited a few from hoppers in the wrfl but no real guns, i see there only competition being thompson. any suggestions?

Toadfooty
19 Mar 2006, 21:31
I says to Lionel I says-

Kooley
19 Mar 2006, 21:35
Any thoughts on how werribee centrals will go this year, i see they have recruited a few from hoppers in the wrfl but no real guns, i see there only competition being thompson. any suggestions?they will always be pretty strong. they beat corio by 25 goals yesterday in praccy match but apparently the devils have lost most of their players from last year. centrals have some top quality players but thompson will definitely be the eam to beat in 2006. they beat centrals by 99 points in the prelim final last year and have recruited well again by all reports.

The Hulkster
20 Mar 2006, 07:38
Does anyone know what happenned to a talented ruckman, Stuart Higgins, Geelong Supplementary player in early ninetys. I think he lived in or around Newtwon. I think his old man played for Fitzroy.
Played for Geelong Amateurs in about 1996-1997 (when his old man coached). Then left after taking plenty of money from them (not a liked man at Ammos) then went to Ocean Grove where he played in a few premierships. Retired now.

The Hulkster
20 Mar 2006, 07:39
Can anyone tell me anything about the players from Newcomb transfering to Moulamein N.S.W to play in the Golden Rivers and why they would do it.
$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Whispers
20 Mar 2006, 12:08
they will always be pretty strong. they beat corio by 25 goals yesterday in praccy match but apparently the devils have lost most of their players from last year. centrals have some top quality players but thompson will definitely be the eam to beat in 2006. they beat centrals by 99 points in the prelim final last year and have recruited well again by all reports.

They have picked up some good players in Jade Gercovic and also Mark Henry, who I think played Falcons in 99 and played a bit of senior footy at Joeys, however, they are on the verge of losing Marcus Forbes to Leopold... Also heard that the Christian Shaw leaving North Shore isn't over with rumours he may return to Bannockburn and take a few players with him like Tom Hall.

GDFL will improve this year. Won't be too many easy beats like previous years.

Whispers
20 Mar 2006, 12:11
In local pracy match results...

Leopold won by around 12 goals over Drysdale
Joeys won by around 15 goals over Ammos
Geelong West Blue over Colac Imps by 9 goals
I think, THINK Lara lost to Melton

Other game i know of was Newcomb v Newtown in which I heard Michael Bright did his knee in! Anyone know anymore detail??

Flat Track Bully
20 Mar 2006, 15:54

Other game i know of was Newcomb v Newtown in which I heard Michael Bright did his knee in! Anyone know anymore detail??

Did Adam Holldand line-up with the 'Pold?

Whispers
20 Mar 2006, 16:04
Did Adam Holldand line-up with the 'Pold?

Sure did and apparently did pretty well. Played in the middle for majority of the game. Tony Brown was in a league of his own.....

poogsta
20 Mar 2006, 21:32

Lara beat melton by a couple of goals

Kooley
20 Mar 2006, 21:34
He Corio lost heaps of players. Daryl Bisset is Unfortunate enough to find another club like St Albans that has lost all their good players but good luck to him.i really don't understand why big daryl puts himself through it. Barry O'toole is still at corio and his brother mark played as well. :eek:

soapyJNR
20 Mar 2006, 22:25
Played for Geelong Amateurs in about 1996-1997 (when his old man coached). Then left after taking plenty of money from them (not a liked man at Ammos) then went to Ocean Grove where he played in a few premierships. Retired now.

Thanks I knew him when he was at Nth Ballarat under Jim Buckley in 92 and 93. He didn't come across as a bloke who would take the money and run but hey at North then there were lots of players that earnt lots of good money.
But he has to fund his $35 Maccas feasts somehow.

The Hulkster
21 Mar 2006, 08:29
Thanks I knew him when he was at Nth Ballarat under Jim Buckley in 92 and 93. He didn't come across as a bloke who would take the money and run but hey at North then there were lots of players that earnt lots of good money.
But he has to fund his $35 Maccas feasts somehow.
Well i wouldnt say he took the money and run per say but once his horrible coach of a father left so did he. Daddys boy couldnt handle it when it got a bit tough without his dad around.

Whispers
21 Mar 2006, 10:24
Newtown's Michael Bright out for the year apparently. Heard that it was minor on the weekend but last night the physio said it was the end of the season for him. Unlucky for him and Newtown...

harry the bad man
22 Mar 2006, 13:57
Newtown's Michael Bright out for the year apparently. Heard that it was minor on the weekend but last night the physio said it was the end of the season for him. Unlucky for him and Newtown...
Does anybody know who Lee van gils plays for down geelong way? 'The HUNCHBACK' would be a handy pick up if anyone is looking for a back pocket type!

The Hulkster
24 Mar 2006, 15:55
Daryl Bisset = Scary man.

crudbucket
24 Mar 2006, 20:38
They have picked up some good players in Jade Gercovic and also Mark Henry, who I think played Falcons in 99 and played a bit of senior footy at Joeys, however, they are on the verge of losing Marcus Forbes to Leopold... Also heard that the Christian Shaw leaving North Shore isn't over with rumours he may return to Bannockburn and take a few players with him like Tom Hall.

GDFL will improve this year. Won't be too many easy beats like previous years.

Rumours are strong in Colac that Tom Hall is heading to the Imperials.

The Hulkster
27 Mar 2006, 07:55
St Albans beat Newcomb by 29 points yesterday. We had quite a few out still so hopefully we can improve on that. GFL opposition in Leopold this week will be a whole different Kettle of Fish.

Even though it was a practice match it's great to get a win! Newcomb seemed very unfit but even so we played a lot better compared to the week before
Interesting, re their fitness, backing up after a flag is always tough in regards to motivation.

In other games i know Geelong Amateurs were 10 goals up on West Saints at half time, about 11 goals to 1.

The Hulkster
27 Mar 2006, 07:56
He wasn't scary as a coach. Took it easy on us because we are so young I guess. I know there were times he wanted to let rip but he didn't. One of my mates who plays in the ressies said he belts everyone on the field when he plays because he played a few ressies games.
I did mean in the playing sense, scariest man i have ever played against.

The Hulkster
27 Mar 2006, 09:55
Rumours are strong in Colac that Tom Hall is heading to the Imperials.
He has officially put in for a clearence. $$$$$$$$$$

Whispers
27 Mar 2006, 10:02
He has officially put in for a clearence. $$$$$$$$$$
Way too good of a player to be playing down there.

In other praccy matches, Newtown lost to Melton, Lara bet Altona and funnily enough Lara bet Melton last week, Joeys got up over Lake Windaree. Anyone know the result of Leopold and Camperdown and/or Bell Park and South Barwon?

The Hulkster
27 Mar 2006, 14:29
Gee that is great news. Might show we have improved a bit. We nearly beat West Saints twice last year so Hopefully this year they are one of the teams we can grab a win off
They (West) were pretty ordinary, but then again its only a practise match. Plenty of time yet before teh season starts. Thats when we really know who is up and running.

Macpop
28 Mar 2006, 10:17
Sth Barwon easy winners over Bell Park, and can anybody verify was that Luke Buckland and his brother Trent playing for South Barwon, very impressed with them both, Is Trent to old for the Falcons or is this another Mick Turner blunder. Geelongs VFL side should be looking at both these boys, Anyway gook luck to them both and to Sth Barwon

The Hulkster
28 Mar 2006, 11:15
Sth Barwon easy winners over Bell Park, and can anybody verify was that Luke Buckland and his brother Trent playing for South Barwon, very impressed with them both, Is Trent to old for the Falcons or is this another Mick Turner blunder. Geelongs VFL side should be looking at both these boys, Anyway gook luck to them both and to Sth Barwon
Luke actually spent the last 2 years as a rookie at Geelong and got cut this season so i dont think he will be back. And he is playing for Sth Barwon.

As for his brother Trent i dont know if he did or didnt play for Sth on the weekend but he will need a clearence from Geelong Amateurs and he hasnt put in for one yet. I wouldnt get to exited about him, yes he can play but is very immature and will sook off if the going gets a bit tough. He did that last year at Ammos, so at a higher level i dont think he has the committment to do well. But there is no doubt he can play, and he knows it. From what i hear didnt want to put in the hard work at the Falcons so therefore wasnt required. Good young player but be wary.

Whispers
28 Mar 2006, 12:45

Macpop, have you just opened a can of worms!? I wouldn't mind hearing peoples opinions on the Falcons and even drop some names of players who should've played for Falcons?

I believe Reece Woods should've been on the original list last year instead of being invited down when the half a dozen or so players were trying out for Victoria. Luckily he has been noticed and is playing state footy in South Australia.

Andrew Baars is another one that was invited down. Was concidered good enough for the original list (Good knock on the weekend by the way Baarsy.. 84 and 6/60 odd in a Granny is a great effort)

Sammy D
28 Mar 2006, 14:52
Andrew Baars is another one that was invited down. Was concidered good enough for the original list (Good knock on the weekend by the way Baarsy.. 84 and 6/60 odd in a Granny is a great effort)

Does Baars post/read on here? He had a dream finals series.

Whispers
29 Mar 2006, 14:11
Yeah I agree on Reece Woods, he looked like he could play from what I saw of him in the GFL. Do you think the decision he has made has been the best one for his footy career? I don't know all the details but isn't he old enough to play falcons? Didn't they want him? Surely he'd have more chance getting drafted through the normal system? Is he getting senior games seeing he is playing against men? I mean he has played men in the GFL but it doesn't compare to the SANFL.

Turned 18 last year Sticko so he could've actually played in the TAC Cup as one of the Under 19's. The new law says that two Under 19's can now play in the TAC Cup but Andrew Banjamin and your fellow team mate Adam Marsland have taken those two positions. Probaly a good choice by Reece to go to the SANFL. A big challenge for him but it will teach him a lot and he will become better for it. We should keep an eye on him this year along with the Bolton's who also went over to the SANFL.

dcshoecousa
29 Mar 2006, 19:14
adam marsland gets a lot of the footy but skills let him down, but if he plays a consistant year, his got the right coach in buddha hocking

dcshoecousa
30 Mar 2006, 11:40
Rumours are strong in Colac that Tom Hall is heading to the Imperial.

the reason why tom hall has gone 2 the imperials other than money is 2 continue his love affair with daniel beck, wherever daniel beck goes tom hall won't be far behind!

dcshoecousa
30 Mar 2006, 11:46
originally posted by sticko_64 Have you seen the Falcons practice games? I haven't seen him at falcons but at St Albans his skills were always fine for that level but this is another step up I guess.

its not hard 4 your skills 2 stand out in a ordinary side in under 18 level.

Whispers
30 Mar 2006, 12:52
its not hard 4 your skills 2 stand out in a ordinary side in under 18 level.

Thats just a cheep attack at St. Albans 18's. Its harder to show off your skills in a under achieving team because you don't get the ball as much. By the way, take into consideration that he did play Interleague last year and then was selected to play for West Victoria so his skills mustn't be too bad....

dcshoecousa
31 Mar 2006, 15:32
origianlly posted by sticko_64 Exactly. The kids got some ability. This is obviously some guy who's played junior's against Adam and doesn't like his attitude. To be honest he gets on a few people's nerves but you can't judge him at TAC cup level till he's played a game. The guy deserves his spot.

obviously all the people on here must be associatedwith st albans in some way. and ive never played juniors with adam, but at senior level i have, and yes he does have ability but his attitude towards the game is another thing, but you have 2 think matty poulter had the most ability of any player in his age group and look where he is now!

dcshoecousa
31 Mar 2006, 15:33
origianlly posted by sticko_64 Exactly. The kids got some ability. This is obviously some guy who's played junior's against Adam and doesn't like his attitude. To be honest he gets on a few people's nerves but you can't judge him at TAC cup level till he's played a game. The guy deserves his spot.

obviously all the people on here must be associated with st albans in some way. and ive never played juniors with adam, but at senior level i have, and yes he does have ability but his attitude towards the game is another thing, but you have 2 think matty poulter had the most ability of any player in his age group and look where he is now!

Whispers
31 Mar 2006, 15:40
obviously all the people on here must be associated with st albans in some way. and ive never played juniors with adam, but at senior level i have, and yes he does have ability but his attitude towards the game is another thing, but you have 2 think matty poulter had the most ability of any player in his age group and look where he is now!

Your original post was questioning his skill level... not his attitude towards the game. However, your right in saying that his attitude is another thing. I think his attitude has changed this year due to being offered to have a good crack at the big leagues.

P.S. Have nothing to do with St. Albans FC, I just rate Adam as a footballer.

Sticko.. is Jaron Booth playing this year as well?? His another one from St. Albans that could've gone further!

dcshoecousa
31 Mar 2006, 15:43
jarron booth is a classy footballer very quick, whispers do u no any info on a former st albans player by the name of matthew pitt

Whispers
31 Mar 2006, 15:54
jarron booth is a classy footballer very quick, whispers do u no any info on a former st albans player by the name of matthew pitt

Yeah his playing for Reden this year in Ballarat. Not sure if he is still on the North Ballarat list. Pitty is 19/20 I think. Half back flanker/wing. Good use of the ball. Very talented player. Are u still playing dcshoecousa?

Whispers
2 Apr 2006, 17:20
How bad are Geelong West and Bell Park's grounds? I heard they were infected with some sort of virus or fungee?

dcshoecousa
2 Apr 2006, 17:35
Originally posted by Whispers
Yeah his playing for Reden this year in Ballarat. Not sure if he is still on the North Ballarat list. Pitty is 19/20 I think. Half back flanker/wing. Good use of the ball. Very talented player. Are u still playing dcshoecousa?

Yes i am still playing!

The Hulkster
4 Apr 2006, 10:57
Any news from the first round of GDFL?

GFL and BFL start this week.

Whispers
4 Apr 2006, 15:32

Whispers
4 Apr 2006, 15:33
Any news from the first round of GDFL?

GFL and BFL start this week.

I thought Werribee would be a very dominant team this year and they probably will be but I wasnt expecting them to go down to Thomson by that much. Thomson do look very good with Gerca and Henry in their midfield now.

Anakie started well but had to considering the huge expectations they have put on themselves. Great game this week coming up against Corio. I think seven players from Corio shifted this year to Anakie. Will be very interesting....

Corio was probably the suprise packet for the round. Lost a lot of players in the off season and Geelong West looked to be the goods with some good players in the mix of their recruiting. Interesting to note though that the reserves result was 80 points in Wests way so either Corio don't have much depth or West have plenty of it.

Good start for Sheeds and the Banno boys on the weekend. Thought their wouldn't be much goal kicking power since Tom Mullane-Grant went to Ballan but obviously they found different avenues. Good away win for the Tiges...

East went alright against Winch with a 30 point victory. These two teams will probably fight for the 5th position come september. East looks like the better structed team but its incouraging that Winch's goals came from multiple players.

Belmont Lions had a great start as well... Luckily for North Geelong the Lions didn't kick straight. Ben Johnson and co-coach Brad Edwards will be huge players for them this year. Could possibly have the best midfield (along with Thomson) in the comp.

Time will tell..........

The Hulkster
4 Apr 2006, 16:47
Gee i reckon the Anakie v Corio match could be worth the price of entry. After Anakie grabbed a heap of Corio players they wont be happy and will be determined to show them they should have stayed. Also Corio coach Daryl Bisset is a legend out Anakie way and is against his old club.

I suspect it will be on for young and old. If i could i might have even popped out for a look could be worth it if you like on field violence. LOL

Whispers
4 Apr 2006, 17:20
Not all the GFL games start this weekend. 2 are on Easter weekend. One on the 13th between Geelong West St Peters and St Joeys and the other is on the 15th between St Albans and Grovedale. Hey Whispers how are you looking for a berth in the seniors atm? Always room for a tall young player at St Albans ;)
Thanks for the offer sticko but I'll have to turn the offer down!

Whispers
4 Apr 2006, 17:27
Lol may I ask why? Is it because I traumatised you with that feather?
Leave the feather out of it! hehe

chucky083
5 Apr 2006, 12:15
heard bettsy moved home cos his teams is struggling where he came from. rumuor he'll play a couple for the town 2006.

Flat Track Bully
5 Apr 2006, 13:16
Sorry if your a fan of the GDFL Hulkster but I find they have their fair share of fights as it is! This week's game will be a cracker though if you want to see some violence. I wonder if Bisso would jump in on the fight himself. Interestingly he got a clearance (i think we cleared him) so obviously he is considering playing

He would have needed to have been cleared to coach...You can't be a registered player at one club and coach another.

But knowing his reputation, he'll play!

Whispers
5 Apr 2006, 13:39
He would have needed to have been cleared to coach...You can't be a registered player at one club and coach another.

But knowing his reputation, he'll play!

Darryl played on the weekend. Wearing number 11 which was comprised of two bits of elastoplast tape! Looks like his on his last legs when he runs. I'm not sure how long he will last playing CHB though....

The Hulkster
5 Apr 2006, 13:45
Just plonk big Daz in the goal square, he be just fine. And he will still be scary.

New Bloke
5 Apr 2006, 22:12
Inverleigh very dissapointing on the weekend. Showed some promise though young prendergast is a class above, trotter still has it and that JC fellow showed some poise down back. Interesting to see how they hold up against winch this week though. Good to see Jase Quinlivian in the goals early to, until Tatey took care of that. If Inverleigh want to win and play finals this year young prendergast has to play onball. With him, trotter, nairn and armo thats a pretty formidable centre line. Not to mention JC down back holding things together, with quina on song up forward. Well thats just my opinion. Couple of big losses over the summer to though, orzo and collo gone along with judd. Also whats goin on with Nick Farr? Just let the poor bloke go! all he wants to do is play footy! who cares who its for! Anyway hope the hawks have a good year get behind snake and trotts! Prendergast for the double league and club B&F's!
Hawks 06? Well maybe but it'll be a hard road!

Hawk Fan!

New Bloke
5 Apr 2006, 22:15
Also Aaron Jervies from North Shore, this kid is a freak! Definate senior player, no doubt he'll hurt a few clubs this year from the wing! That practice match against Bell Park, superb! All the way Jerve's!
Would you lick that for money?

caveman
5 Apr 2006, 23:15
Can anyone tell me about the Belmont v North Geelong game on the weekend. Are Belmont on the improve?

Kooley
6 Apr 2006, 08:11
Can anyone tell me about the Belmont v North Geelong game on the weekend. Are Belmont on the improve? a big surprise this one. Belmont must have improved out of sight or nth geelong have dropped off something terrible.

The Hulkster
6 Apr 2006, 14:34
I thought there would be more GFL chat this week seeing round 1 is this weekend. What are people's thoughts on this weekends games?

Lara V Bell Park
Colac v South Barwon
North Shore v Leopold
Newtown & Chilwell v St Marys

I can't say I have been talking much about the GFL this season with anyone but from what I have heard Bell Park will be strong. I personally think South Barwon will be which isn't much of a big statement after last year. I saw Luke Buckland at deakin so maybe he really is playing at South Barwon?

Newtown v St Marys should be an interesting game
Luke Buckland is definantly playing for South.
My tips FWIW
Bell Park
South
Nth Shore
St Marys

Should be a fairly even comp this year, a number of teams have a chance to win flag. South, Newtown, St Marys, Bell Park all in with a shot.

sloth6
6 Apr 2006, 14:45
How are St. Joey's shaping up this season? Who are the players to look out for in their Easter Thursday Night Clash?

dcshoecousa
7 Apr 2006, 08:50
Does anyone have any info on the practice match played a couple of weeks ago between Uni Blues and Torquay]

talent scout
7 Apr 2006, 10:48
Heard Tom Hall has been cleared and will line up for Colac Imperials tomorrow. Apparently he's only $80 a game, playing for the jumper. Just wants to play with McVilly. Not much $ left after McVilly signed up.

dcshoecousa
7 Apr 2006, 12:11
origanlly posted by talent scout
Heard Tom Hall has been cleared and will line up for Colac Imperials tomorrow. Apparently he's only $80 a game, playing for the jumper. Just wants to play with McVilly. Not much $ left after McVilly signed up.

Tom Hall has not been cleared yet and he is on $600 a game! and he doesnt have 2 train

dcshoecousa
7 Apr 2006, 12:13
Originally posted by The Hulkster
Luke Buckland is definantly playing for South.
My tips FWIW
Bell Park
South
Nth Shore
St Marys

Should be a fairly even comp this year, a number of teams have a chance to win flag. South, Newtown, St Marys, Bell Park all in with a shot.

You forgot 2 mention north shore, they are always up there

The Hulkster
7 Apr 2006, 12:19
origanlly posted by talent scout

Tom Hall has not been cleared yet and he is on $600 a game! and he doesnt have 2 train

From the CDFL website. True not cleared as yet. The 600 per game would not surprise me.

27/3/2006 066056 HALL, Tom Football Geelong > North Shore 2004 > Player Colac Imperials In Progress

The Hulkster
7 Apr 2006, 12:20
You forgot 2 mention north shore, they are always up there
Probably not quite as strong as the other sides i mentioned this year. But still a reasonable side though. Just not a flag contender. IMO.

ringo1
7 Apr 2006, 12:34
Nth Shore have a culture to envy, but I agree with Hulkster that they may fall a bit short this year:thumbsu:

chooky chooky
7 Apr 2006, 19:53
Do all you blokes talk about anything other than the GFL.I know the BFL is no good,but give the GDFL a bit of a go

bossco
7 Apr 2006, 23:30

Beck and Hall are nothing but money hungry little grubs, they alone will be costing imps 25 grand

hearditonthegrapevine
8 Apr 2006, 11:32
Why would you say Nth Shore will just fall short and aint up there with Sth Barwon, St Marys and Newtown etc, they only lost Gibbs and Andjelcovic who are only good G&DFL players anyway. The have picked up some very handy recruits who will definitely fill their shoes and some more so i think there is no reason why they wont finish in the top 3 again this year. Remember they finished on top last year and just ran out of legs in the last quarter of the prliminary final, but showed they were a class above Newtown and would have gave a better showing than them in the Grand Final. If anyone is going to beat Sth Barwon it will be North Shore. My side Lara looks like we will struggle again this year, lost too many (Barwon Heads) and haven't picked up enough quality players to replace them. Beck and Hall are nothing but money hungry little grubs, they alone will be costing imps 25 grand (how true) i have heard they wont be welcome back at Nt Shore again (especially hall)

The Hulkster
10 Apr 2006, 14:48
Mmmm some posts missing here.

rocky17
10 Apr 2006, 15:10
always love to see a good stoush on bigfooty!

The Hulkster
10 Apr 2006, 17:47
Back to the footy lads.

I think most results on the weekend went according to plan. But the one that didnt was Geelong Amateurs thrashing Torquay. I had Torquay pinned for a big push at the flag his year. Ammos have lost a lot of players and i didnt think would get near Torquay but they won by 85 points! Interesting stuff. And Ocean Grove were a bit unlucky not to beat Newcomb i think they were in front at quarter time.

sticko_64
11 Apr 2006, 22:36
This thread seems to have stopped. It says the hulkster posted the last message still. Weird. Anyway lets get back to it. I need to hear whats going on around geelong because I don't like reading the addy!

lions_man1
11 Apr 2006, 23:03
Do all you blokes talk about anything other than the GFL.I know the BFL is no good,but give the GDFL a bit of a go

Oii, whats wrong with the BFL, surely u dont think that the GD is better?? :confused:

rocky17
12 Apr 2006, 12:05
Heard a whisper on saturday night at the eureka that Nick Daffy might be pulling on the boots for blue west in the gdfl at some stage this year!

The Hulkster
12 Apr 2006, 15:36
Blue West!!!!!! You must be kidding. Sure it wasnt Red West. Cant really see Daffy playing in the GDFL. A pretty boy like that would not survive a game against an Anakie or Corio.
Good rumour though rocky.

rocky17
12 Apr 2006, 16:16
He's going out with one of the players sisters. nice way to boost the ego as well i would have thought lining up for blue west!

Whispers
12 Apr 2006, 16:45
Must have been a great source who told you that one rocky! ;)

far canal
12 Apr 2006, 19:13
I am going to ocean grove for the easter break and i was wanting to know if the bellerine league is playing. if so what game looks the best to go and watch

Ozzie25
12 Apr 2006, 19:56
ammos vs grove is on the weekend

Pangu
12 Apr 2006, 20:27
Any one know which club young Rajiv Nair is playing for in the Geelong region this year, He is an impressive young footballer from robinvale in the Sunraysia league near mildura. any news

far canal
13 Apr 2006, 09:56
ammos vs grove is on the weekendis it at the grove on saturday?

The Hulkster
13 Apr 2006, 10:11
is it at the grove on saturday?
Yes it is, should be a good game, big rivalry between the sides, go and have a look.