View Full Version : Local Geelong Leagues Thread (GFL/BFL/GDFL)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35

far canal
13 Apr 2006, 10:13
Yes it is, should be a good game, big rivalry between the sides, go and have a look.will do hulk, thanks mate.

dcshoecousa
13 Apr 2006, 13:50
Lions man do you have any info on the prac match between Torquay and University Blues? Does anybody no?

sloth6
14 Apr 2006, 20:25
Seniors
GEELONG WEST ST PETERS v. ST JOSEPHS
St Josephs 8.4, 12.7,21.11,29.14 (188)
Geelong West St Peter 1.0, 2.3, 6.4, 6.5 (41)

doesn't look good for west saints!

Geelong West were pitiful. Should've lost by 200 points. Greeves played about a half on one leg and they still won by 23 goals. Andrew 'Kekka' Betz was dominant across half back.

How many under 18's players would've been in the Geelong West team. A few of them looked like they'd just reached puberty.

crudbucket
15 Apr 2006, 14:45
Geelong West were pitiful. Should've lost by 200 points. Greeves played about a half on one leg and they still won by 23 goals. Andrew 'Kekka' Betz was dominant across half back.

How many under 18's players would've been in the Geelong West team. A few of them looked like they'd just reached puberty.

Clearly the loss of Dustin McCorkell is hurting more than people predicted !

lions_man1
15 Apr 2006, 22:32
Did Paul Hood (St. Joey's) or Josh Hayes (West Saints) play??

If so how'd they go?

caustic
15 Apr 2006, 23:29
Did anyone see those Chapman brothers from Nth. Shore last week. Both looked very fit and tore my team (leopold) apart. Nth Shore might still be force with those two blokes in such good nick. Any thoughts. Also heard a rumour Illija Grgic from West Coast, Essendon and footscray was going to play for Joey's. does anyone know if he did

caustic
16 Apr 2006, 00:20
its a shame that allan didnt go back to lara one of the best players not at an afl club at the moment, going by early season form

Flat Track Bully
16 Apr 2006, 13:06

Kekka or Kegga? I always thought it was Kegga, but I may be wrong...

chooky chooky
16 Apr 2006, 19:08

How many under 18's players would've been in the Geelong West team. A few of them looked like they'd just reached puberty. Andrew Betz nickname is Kegga

chooky chooky
16 Apr 2006, 19:09

If so how'd they go?Josh Hayes played a pre season game @ Corio. I think you'll find he has gone there

Whispers
16 Apr 2006, 20:17
Josh Hayes played a pre season game @ Corio. I think you'll find he has gone there

Caine Hayes, Josh's brother, is playing at Corio. Went back this year after a years stint at the Roosters. Josh got in the best for West's reserves.

Whispers
16 Apr 2006, 20:18
St Albans 7.10 (52) v » Grovedale 22.7 (139)

very disapointing performance from St Albans. Big game next week against West Saints

But Sticko, noticed a certain someone put through 4 majors! Also our man Adam Marsland got in the best. Wondering how Lee Ormeno and Chris PArker went for the Supersaints? Mencshy had a bit of a day out with 10!

dcshoecousa
16 Apr 2006, 23:26

If so how'd they go?

Paul Hood did play and done as he pleased all night!

dcshoecousa
16 Apr 2006, 23:34
chooky chooky u wouldnt work at the tip on duro street would ya?

Whispers
17 Apr 2006, 20:22
Great to see ex-Lara player Jimmy Allen getting two best on grounds in two games for Werribee in the VFL. On target to represent Victoria in the middle of the year. Some say Jimmy should've got drafted in 2003 but never did. Possiblely this year could be his last year to get picked up....
In saying this though, rumour has it (very strong rumour) that Lara FC have already signed him and Michael Sleeman (Werribee) for next year! How does that work??

dcshoecousa
18 Apr 2006, 13:52
Lol, dissapointed it wasn't 5-6 at least to be honest but the end result is the worst part. They did alright for a first game for a club but no one at our club really put in 4 quarters. Marsland played alright, still frustrates me when he has a shot rather than trying to pass it though! Just kidding I know he'll read that though. Menschs opponent actually got in the best as he really did an alright job on him but there is not much he can do when it comes in so easily

Sticko, how did the North Shore recruits Chris Parker and Lee Ormeno go on Saturday?

supastar
18 Apr 2006, 15:28
The latest news on Allan is that he will be returning to the GFL next year but unfortunately not the cats where many people had anticipated. Seems he will be re-joining good mate Aaron Rau at Sth Barwon where his old man is a life member. Still unsure about Sleeman but had talks with newtown over pre-season. keep you posted

Rayza
18 Apr 2006, 15:35
Allan is a very good footballer what kind of money would he be looking at in the GFL? Needs every bit of it !! loves the punt

Whispers
18 Apr 2006, 22:07
Allan is a very good footballer what kind of money would he be looking at in the GFL? Needs every bit of it !! loves the punt

If Jimmy is chasing money, then Lara will be perfect for him. They have saved their money for hte past two years and will be on a huge shopping spree at the end of the season. Because really, who have Lara recruited thats big?? Hassett?? They offered Christian Shaw around 18 grand in the pre-season and still had plenty left in the kitty! Jimmy will make his own price! Sleeman has apparently gone down hill a bit!

dcshoecousa
18 Apr 2006, 22:35
Whispers what local league do you follow and which side?

Whispers
18 Apr 2006, 22:40
Whispers what local league do you follow and which side?

I follow all leagues and all teams! I enjoy watching a game of local footy.... GFL tends to be a better specticle though.

poogsta
18 Apr 2006, 23:06
If Jimmy is chasing money, then Lara will be perfect for him. They have saved their money for hte past two years and will be on a huge shopping spree at the end of the season. Because really, who have Lara recruited thats big?? Hassett?? They offered Christian Shaw around 18 grand in the pre-season and still had plenty left in the kitty! Jimmy will make his own price! Sleeman has apparently gone down hill a bit!

I am pretty good mates with james allan and he is pretty keen to return to Lara one day, where it all began. But i wouldnt be expecting him back to soon as he has run into some pretty hot form with the werribee tigers. As for Sleeman i carnt say whether he will return to Lara or not as i dont know him personally but it would be great to have him back one day because he is a handy player as well as being great around the club.

Hawk Eye
18 Apr 2006, 23:08
Did anyone see those Chapman brothers from Nth. Shore last week. Both looked very fit and tore my team (leopold) apart. Nth Shore might still be force with those two blokes in such good nick. Any thoughts. Also heard a rumour Illija Grgic from West Coast, Essendon and footscray was going to play for Joey's. does anyone know if he did

Agree, Chapman bros are great, but what about that little gun "Wright" Still got plenty of good years in him.

Hawk Eye
18 Apr 2006, 23:18
The latest news on Allan is that he will be returning to the GFL next year but unfortunately not the cats where many people had anticipated. Seems he will be re-joining good mate Aaron Rau at Sth Barwon where his old man is a life member. Still unsure about Sleeman but had talks with newtown over pre-season. keep you posted

GFC were a bit quick to delist Jimmy Allan (their loss). A quality player that found form late last seasonat Werribee & continuing to do so. Reminds me of a young Greg Williams. Just keeps winning the ball. Keep it up and the scouts will start to take notice.

rocky17
19 Apr 2006, 00:02
Also heard a rumour Illija Grgic from West Coast, Essendon and footscray was going to play for Joey's. does anyone know if he did

Gotta say, that's one of the better ones ive heard on BigFooty! Keep it up :thumbsu:

Whispers, u have nothing on stuff like this! :D

lions_man1
19 Apr 2006, 00:34
Gotta say, that's one of the better ones ive heard on BigFooty! Keep it up :thumbsu:

That is certainly a great rumour...one of the best I've heard in this thread, any news on its validitly

junior04
19 Apr 2006, 08:57
I am pretty good mates with james allan and he is pretty keen to return to Lara one day, where it all began. But i wouldnt be expecting him back to soon as he has run into some pretty hot form with the werribee tigers. As for Sleeman i carnt say whether he will return to Lara or not as i dont know him personally but it would be great to have him back one day because he is a handy player as well as being great around the club.

Poogsta,

Are you involved with Lara?
If so I was wondering how my old mate Micka kennedy was going down there?

dcshoecousa
19 Apr 2006, 15:22
Yeah can't say they did to much. No one really played that well to be honest. Shaun Nickelson would have got the nod for our best player if I did it because he never gave up the whole 4 quarters. Big game for us this week against West Saints. I hope we can hold them off. You don't happen to play for North Shore do you? Make a lot of sense if you did but then again it'd make a lot of sense if you were the guy in the green hat at my club with DC on the back!

no i do not play for nth shore, i just went to school with alot of nth shore blokes. i was at the west saints game last thursday and if you can't beat them use are in for a very long year!

dcshoecousa
19 Apr 2006, 15:30
So they are worse than last year? We nearly beat them twice last year. Still don't know how we didn't at least beat them once!

Alot worse than last year

lions_man1
19 Apr 2006, 16:59
Alot worse than last year

So what ur saying is that Leopold or St albans might actually have a chance of getting off the bottom of the ladder...

Why on early dont they just merge blue west and red west to make purple west and play in the gd??

Whispers
19 Apr 2006, 22:19
So what ur saying is that Leopold or St albans might actually have a chance of getting off the bottom of the ladder...

Why on early dont they just merge blue west and red west to make purple west and play in the gd??

Funny you say that lions.. Geelong West BLUE were about to play their first game at West Oval in the coming weeks but not too sure if that will happen due to the soil situation at West Oval. Apperently will be playing all their matches their in 2007?

Seriously though, what could Blue West bring to Red West? It's not like they will contribute a lot of funds! Not much talent, however they do have a young list. Can only think of Andrew Spengler returning to his old club.... It would be a backward step for each club...

Whispers
19 Apr 2006, 22:25

Wouldn't be much room in the goal square with Greavesy and Ilija in there. Throw a Dan Madden or a Nathan Panozzo in there also and there would be no hope of moving!

chooky chooky
20 Apr 2006, 13:26
chooky chooky u wouldnt work at the tip on duro street would ya?Thats me,2nd assisstant to the assisstant manager. You may have seen me at the football with my Dad,i follow Lara and Geelong, both the Cats teams.

The Hulkster
21 Apr 2006, 11:34
Good to see a full round of local fixtures on this weekend in and around the Geelong area.

If only Geelong would stop playing on Saturday afternoons i would be able to go and watch my local club.

AJ ZUB
21 Apr 2006, 11:42
Agree, Chapman bros are great, but what about that little gun "Wright" Still got plenty of good years in him.

He's a gun the scooter rooter. One of the best local footiers going around.:thumbsu:

Flat Track Bully
21 Apr 2006, 12:40
He's a gun the scooter rooter. One of the best local footiers going around.:thumbsu:

And if Leopold could get Purton and P.Sullivan back they would have the makings of a competitive unit.

Haven't been the same since the leahy bros. left at the end of 2000.

Whispers
21 Apr 2006, 12:48
And if Leopold could get Purton and P.Sullivan back they would have the makings of a competitive unit.

Wondering if you know the where abouts of Alex Gregorio? (sorry for the spelling). Surely, Adam Cook will return back to the Pold next year or the year after. Things are looking good for the cashed up Lions!

AJ ZUB
21 Apr 2006, 12:56

I'm hearin ya there FTB, are you making the trip down on the 6th of May rumour has it Cam Donaldson , Mickey Dimisch and Andy Payne are making a guest appearance.

AJ ZUB
21 Apr 2006, 12:59
Wondering if you know the where abouts of Alex Gregorio? (sorry for the spelling). Surely, Adam Cook will return back to the Pold next year or the year after. Things are looking good for the cashed up Lions!

If they could lure S King back to the den then we're talking flags. Where is Cooky playing these days?

Vafa06
21 Apr 2006, 16:02
Does anyone have any information on Julian McVilly, played in the Geelong league last year?

crudbucket
21 Apr 2006, 19:52
If they could lure S King back to the den then we're talking flags. Where is Cooky playing these days?

Which S King are you talking about ?

The one who went on to play AFL, or the one who struggled to get a game in the St.Leonards seconds ?

Whispers
21 Apr 2006, 19:59
Does anyone have any information on Julian McVilly, played in the Geelong league last year?

Played at Newtown with his brother David. Played seniors there for a few years. Don't think he played too many last year though. Has he moved to St. Bernards now??

Kooley
23 Apr 2006, 14:34
Werribee centrals are finished. can confirm that they will be no good for the rest of the year.to beaten by bell post hill by 77 points was a disgrace.

crudbucket
23 Apr 2006, 15:05

It's gonna be another long year for Leopold, Joey's tore them a new one yesterday.

Vafa06
23 Apr 2006, 17:28
Played at Newtown with his brother David. Played seniors there for a few years. Don't think he played too many last year though. Has he moved to St. Bernards now??

Thanks Whispers, yes he has moved to St.Bernards this year

Flat Track Bully
23 Apr 2006, 21:55
It's gonna be another long year for Leopold, Joey's tore them a new one yesterday.

You know Leopold are in trouble when a 35 year-old Simon Grundell is still getting a game.

lions_man1
23 Apr 2006, 22:50
You know Leopold are in trouble when a 35 year-old Simon Grundell is still getting a game.

Maybe if they move them back to the BFL like they were going to do 5 years ago...then we wouldnt have to put up with this pathetic form they have given us over the past halfa decade...fair dinkim we have to go out and watch that ********

ringo1
24 Apr 2006, 09:34
Yeah I was up in Geelong and popped into Leopold for the last quarter and it would be fair to say that they were not competitive.St.Joes were pretty slick and very impressed with number 12-big guy playing at full forward.:thumbsu:

The Hulkster
24 Apr 2006, 10:06
I see in the Addy an U 16 match between CORIO and Leopold was abandoned due to violence.

Corio again does anything change out there. A disgrace of a club. Always has been always will be.

Grimmett
24 Apr 2006, 12:57
http://www.geelonginfo.com/readarticle.asp?articleid=19537

Junior footy fight drama

Monday, April 24
Simeon Bennett

TWO junior footballers have been suspended from the Corio Football Club after violence erupted at an under-16s game at Leopold on Friday night.
Corio under-16s coach Doug Whiteford forfeited the game at three-quarter time after a Devils player allegedly abused and threatened an umpire.

Umpire Kevin Plumb said the fracas started when the player abused another 16-year-old umpire for a decision against Corio.

``I've come in between the two of them just to stop him getting to the other umpire and all of a sudden he's had a go at me,'' Mr Plumb said.

``It took four kids plus a trainer to stop him from getting at me.

``He said he was going to put a foot on my throat. It was pretty scary.''

Plumb then red-carded the player and reported him for abusive language.

He will front the Football Geelong Tribunal next Monday night to answer the charge.

After the game the player was allegedly seen trying to get into the locked umpires' rooms.

Early reports of an all-in brawl proved unfounded.

The game was registered as a 15.13 (103) to 0.0 (0) win to Leopold.

Corio president Frank Posilovic later contacted Leopold junior co-ordinator Lori Dahlhaus to apologise for the scenes and inform her two players had been suspended from the club.

Last night Posilovic declined to comment on the incident, while Whiteford could not be reached.

But Leopold under-16 coach Brendan Thompson said he was full of praise for the way his opposite number had handled the situation.

``He was fantastic. I was very happy with the way that he dealt with it,'' he said.

``I was addressing my players about the incident and he came across and said `Do you mind if I have a word to your players?'

``He spoke really well to my players. He apologised to them and said, `I'm sorry, but I don't want anything to go any further.'

``He's trying to do a great job there and good luck to them.''

Thompson said he would be happy to help Corio build its junior structures, including assistance developing a code of conduct.

Whiteford, a local church pastor and former policeman, took control of the under-16s earlier this year with a mission to help change the club's poor reputation.

Meanwhile, Geelong Junior Football manager Michael Limb said the league would make sure the incident was dealt with properly by the club.

``There was an incident, it was not a good incident, but it was dealt with, and my understanding is that the coach of Corio took appropriate action and stopped the game,'' he said.

Flat Track Bully
24 Apr 2006, 13:10
Yeah I was up in Geelong and popped into Leopold for the last quarter and it would be fair to say that they were not competitive.St.Joes were pretty slick and very impressed with number 12-big guy playing at full forward.:thumbsu:

Aaron Greaves...former North Ballarat/Geelong VFL player and SJFC junior. Has been coach for a couple of years. Pushing 29, but very impressive.

ringo1
24 Apr 2006, 13:22
Thanks flat tracker-looked like he could play a bit.:thumbsu:

rocky17
24 Apr 2006, 13:49
Aaron Greaves...former North Ballarat/Geelong VFL player and SJFC junior. Has been coach for a couple of years. Pushing 29, but very impressive.

So much for the rumour he was going to miss the season with a back injury. Reckon i heard that about 10 times, every person saying there was no way he was playing this year and that they heard it from a reliable source lol. :rolleyes:

dcshoecousa
24 Apr 2006, 16:04
I see young Adam Marsland kicked 3 for the falcons Mr dcshoecousa. 17 possessions and 5 marks. Not a bad day for the young fella backing up from great performance last week for St Albans where he received votes in the addy.

No goals this week for you this week? Chance for you to kick a few this week though just having a look at your opposition for next round

Votes in the addy look where they come from!

Whispers
24 Apr 2006, 18:03
Maybe if they move them back to the BFL like they were going to do 5 years ago...then we wouldnt have to put up with this pathetic form they have given us over the past halfa decade...fair dinkim we have to go out and watch that ********

Obviously a disgruntled Ammos supporter! hahaha.... Joeys seem to be one of the better teams going around atm. They sit top but they haven't had much opposition in West and Leopold. Leopold will be alright this year. Better then Lara, West and St. Alban's. Sth Barwon look unreal. No team could match them player for player. Absolutly raped the buggery out of Lara on the weekend. Biggest raping since Canterbry Bulldogs footy trip!

vannilaice4
24 Apr 2006, 18:09
South Barwon are going to be invincible this year. Some super players down there. Luke Buckland, Bidderscombe, both Rau's, Reid, Wells and Thompson.
Destroyed Lara and Colac. And does anybody know how old Lukes brother Trent is? whispers were that he is only 17? why isnt he at falcons? tore holes Lara. kickin wasnt great but he has the talent to go somewhere. Is this another Mick Turner blunder?

Anyone think anyone will challenge Sth Barwon come sept???

chooky chooky
24 Apr 2006, 18:18
http://www.geelonginfo.com/readarticle.asp?articleid=19537

Junior footy fight drama

Monday, April 24
Simeon Bennett

TWO junior footballers have been suspended from the Corio Football Club after violence erupted at an under-16s game at Leopold on Friday night.
Corio under-16s coach Doug Whiteford forfeited the game at three-quarter time after a Devils player allegedly abused and threatened an umpire.

Umpire Kevin Plumb said the fracas started when the player abused another 16-year-old umpire for a decision against Corio.

``I've come in between the two of them just to stop him getting to the other umpire and all of a sudden he's had a go at me,'' Mr Plumb said.

``It took four kids plus a trainer to stop him from getting at me.

``He said he was going to put a foot on my throat. It was pretty scary.''

Plumb then red-carded the player and reported him for abusive language.

He will front the Football Geelong Tribunal next Monday night to answer the charge.

After the game the player was allegedly seen trying to get into the locked umpires' rooms.

Early reports of an all-in brawl proved unfounded.

The game was registered as a 15.13 (103) to 0.0 (0) win to Leopold.

Corio president Frank Posilovic later contacted Leopold junior co-ordinator Lori Dahlhaus to apologise for the scenes and inform her two players had been suspended from the club.

Last night Posilovic declined to comment on the incident, while Whiteford could not be reached.

But Leopold under-16 coach Brendan Thompson said he was full of praise for the way his opposite number had handled the situation.

``He was fantastic. I was very happy with the way that he dealt with it,'' he said.

``I was addressing my players about the incident and he came across and said `Do you mind if I have a word to your players?'

``He spoke really well to my players. He apologised to them and said, `I'm sorry, but I don't want anything to go any further.'

``He's trying to do a great job there and good luck to them.''

Thompson said he would be happy to help Corio build its junior structures, including assistance developing a code of conduct.

Whiteford, a local church pastor and former policeman, took control of the under-16s earlier this year with a mission to help change the club's poor reputation.

Meanwhile, Geelong Junior Football manager Michael Limb said the league would make sure the incident was dealt with properly by the club.

``There was an incident, it was not a good incident, but it was dealt with, and my understanding is that the coach of Corio took appropriate action and stopped the game,'' he said.Why put that on there,i think we've all read the addy today !!!!

Whispers
24 Apr 2006, 18:18
South Barwon are going to be invincible this year. Some super players down there. Luke Buckland, Bidderscombe, both Rau's, Reid, Wells and Thompson.
Destroyed Lara and Colac. And does anybody know how old Lukes brother Trent is? whispers were that he is only 17? why isnt he at falcons? tore holes Lara. kickin wasnt great but he has the talent to go somewhere. Is this another Mick Turner blunder?

Anyone think anyone will challenge Sth Barwon come sept???

Seriously thought St. Marys would but have been dissapointing. Who knows... Colac? Hay, McGuane, Kelly, Carmody? Joeys could be ones but could struggle if they get injuries or VFL selections. North Shore could but maybe a bit slow or old? Don't quote me on that, just an obsivation.

I think its fair to say no one....

dcshoecousa
24 Apr 2006, 18:21
Why put that on there,i think we've all read the addy today !!!!

You Tell em' CHOOKY

rocky17
24 Apr 2006, 18:24
Seriously thought St. Marys would but have been dissapointing. Who knows... Colac? Hay, McGuane, Kelly, Carmody? Joeys could be ones but could struggle if they get injuries or VFL selections. North Shore could but maybe a bit slow or old? Don't quote me on that, just an obsivation.

I think its fair to say no one....

What about Grovedale or Bell Park? with young patty 'poodle' brown running amok in the forward fifty they really could smash anyone on their day!!

dcshoecousa
24 Apr 2006, 22:48
Sticko what happened 2 the albanators? and what did Chris Parker do?

Grimmett
25 Apr 2006, 00:25
Why put that on there,i think we've all read the addy today !!!!

Maybe not everybody reading this thread also reads the Addy website or is a local with access to the paper.
I actually thought the decision made by the Corio coach and his approach to the opposition deserved to be highlighted. It's easy to be negative about an issue like this but I think it was well handled by the Corio coach.

lions_man1
25 Apr 2006, 01:42
Maybe not everybody reading this thread also reads the Addy website or is a local with access to the paper.

Such as I, whom used to live an umpire in Geelong and dont read the addy website, so it was news to me...

caustic
25 Apr 2006, 02:06
Heard Jimmy Allan only got 20 minutes with werribee this weekend, what a joke after 2 best on grounds in the first 2 round. Either Simon Atkins should be sacked or Jimmy should return to the snakepit

caustic
25 Apr 2006, 02:11
After watching North Shore in round 1 i cant see how you would say they are too old and too slow, they will be up there. As for Bell Park being contenders i seen them against Grovedale on the weekend and they looked under done and FAT. Dont think they can mix it Sth Barwon or North Shore

Hawk Eye
25 Apr 2006, 02:33

Hawk Eye
25 Apr 2006, 02:35
Anyone with half a brain can tell you, you can't win with your best player on the bench. Saw Jimmy Allan play against Willy, certaintly has got what it takes. 2 BOG performances for what reward. What was Atkins thinking about? Get your act together, play your best players and the Tigers might win more often.

Whispers
25 Apr 2006, 13:20
After watching North Shore in round 1 i cant see how you would say they are too old and too slow, they will be up there. As for Bell Park being contenders i seen them against Grovedale on the weekend and they looked under done and FAT. Dont think they can mix it Sth Barwon or North Shore

In all due respect of your opinion, North Shore did play Leopold. Obviously that day they made majority of the play and never really challenged at any stage. Do you think they could cope with the fitness and hard running of top opposition teams?

vannilaice4
25 Apr 2006, 18:28
Good to see no1 will touch the swans. but no1 answered my question...

Is Trent Buckland any good? good enough to go somewhere or will he stay at local level? And how old is he?

dcshoecousa
25 Apr 2006, 18:52
In all due respect of your opinion, North Shore did play Leopold. Obviously that day they made majority of the play and never really challenged at any stage. Do you think they could cope with the fitness and hard running of top opposition teams?

North Shore are and always have been a top opposition team so i dont no why you think they cant cope

caustic
25 Apr 2006, 22:27

Granted Nth Shore did play Leopold who are'nt the best team, but they do have two of the best midfielders in the league in Tony Brown and Cameron Wright and when you talk about hard running and fitness you do think of the midfield and they matched it with them no worries. they have also bolstered their backline with new players to combat Sth Barwons potent forward line, so yes, i do think they can match it with the other top sides

The Hulkster
26 Apr 2006, 10:53
Geelong Amateurs Best and Fairest winner Ben Lavars has put in for a clearence to South Barwon.

He had been playing down at VFL side Werribee but must have been struggling for a game in their 2's and is going to South Barwon.

The kid can play and will be a good pick up for South.

Whispers
26 Apr 2006, 12:56
Granted Nth Shore did play Leopold who are'nt the best team, but they do have two of the best midfielders in the league in Tony Brown and Cameron Wright and when you talk about hard running and fitness you do think of the midfield and they matched it with them no worries. they have also bolstered their backline with new players to combat Sth Barwons potent forward line, so yes, i do think they can match it with the other top sides

Great response... just looking at the ressies results also, looks like they have great depth also. Sutej, Pyle, McLean, Lockwood, Doggy Ryan, Posterino, Arcoraci (should be ones), Ivermee.... lol.. list goes on. When do you blokes take on Sth Barwon?

rocky17
28 Apr 2006, 00:27

just getting us back on the front page where we belong!

Whispers
28 Apr 2006, 16:19
Just wondering which players have been selected to play in the GFL and BFL under 25 game?? Any players you believe should/shouldn't be in?

thekid178
28 Apr 2006, 17:29
has anyone seen leopold play this year? how have they been travelling? with brown wright sullivan cartledge holmes and grills through the midfield ud have to think theyd improve on last year

chooky chooky
28 Apr 2006, 18:45
I actually thought the decision made by the Corio coach and his approach to the opposition deserved to be highlighted. It's easy to be negative about an issue like this but I think it was well handled by the Corio coach.No worries Grimmett,point taken:thumbsu:

chooky chooky
28 Apr 2006, 18:46
You Tell em' CHOOKYNo worries dcshoecousa. Keep up the good work:thumbsu:

talent scout
29 Apr 2006, 12:21
In all due respect of your opinion, North Shore did play Leopold. Obviously that day they made majority of the play and never really challenged at any stage. Do you think they could cope with the fitness and hard running of top opposition teams?.
Whispers you are spot on. Watched North Shore the first week and South Barwon the next.North Shore definately have some talent, but its going to take South Barwon to have an extremely bad day out to get beaten this year. Put your house on South Barwon for the flag with North Shore, Bell Park, St Marys, St Joeys making up the numbers in the finals.

Sammy D
29 Apr 2006, 13:12
What have they selected it already? Was it in the addy? Only Blair Allan would be a shot from my club. If you find a list anywhere post it here

BFL

Anglesea: Thomas Elliot, Chris Macaskill-Hants
Barwon Heads: Aaron Baxter, Tim Lord, John O'Brien
Drysdale: Reece Holwell, Thomas Barber, Ryan Gatgens, Josh Inglis
Geelong Amateur: Tristian Mountjoy, Trevor Edwards, Sam Clarke, Tim Clark, Hayden Timms, Jarrod Westwood
Modewarre: Leigh Anderson, Scott Hovey, Andrew Baars, Joshua Finch, Paul Hanns, Adam Leslie
Newcomb: Marcus Drought, David Holzfiend, Allan Jameson, Peter Bury, James Walker
Ocean Grove: Tim Neilson, Mark Laidler, Andrew Van Noordenburg, Kelly Williams
Queenscliff: Sam Wyth, Nicholas Albutt, Nick Tait
Portarlington: Paul Davis, Aaron Bradley, Steve Hicks
Torquay: Ryan Coy, Ben Raidme, Joshua Stevenson, Daine Taylor

GFL

Bell Park: Ben Armstrong, Steve Brown
Colac: Jake Carmody, Travis Woodmason, Jason McNamara, Jacob McGuane, Daniel Casey
Geelong West: Nicholas Barling
Grovedale: Troy Bird, Aaron Gleeson, Brenton Riordan
Lara: Martin Curtis
Leopold: Greg Hardy
Newtown & Chillwell: David McVilly, Thomas O'Dwyer, Michael Stanley, Daniel Goodwin, Sam Chapman, Robert Condy, Lucas Hill, Nathan Braddock
North Shore: Gerrard Brody, Leigh Clifford, Bernard Lynch, Luke Matthews, Aaron Jervies, Chris Chubb
St. Albans: Blair Allan
St. Joseph's: Cory Bauer, Luke Forbes, Justin Mahoney, Nicholas Daniele
St. Mary's: Nicholas Bye, James Cail, Christopher Jones, Steve Schultz, Matthew Dyer
South Barwon: Luke Buckland, James Garvey, Aaron Rau, Paul Sullivan, Scott Thompson

newton
29 Apr 2006, 23:53
Apparently Werribee Centrals lost to East Geelong today beacuse they had to many players on the ground after having two players red carded. The score at 3/4 time was 27 goals to 9 in favour of the Centurians but they lost all their score and lost the game. What an absolute :D:D:D:D up.

caustic
30 Apr 2006, 10:14
Great response... just looking at the ressies results also, looks like they have great depth also. Sutej, Pyle, McLean, Lockwood, Doggy Ryan, Posterino, Arcoraci (should be ones), Ivermee.... lol.. list goes on. When do you blokes take on Sth Barwon?

Dont know too much about Nth Shore reserves, although some of those names do ring a bell, especially ACORACI. Judging by the Addy SMS's you would think being ALL AUSTRALIAN RESERVES FULLBACK for the past seven years you would get a go at playing ones.

Whispers
30 Apr 2006, 19:27
Congrats to all who were selected. Especially those in the GFL squad. Look at a few of the players, I reckon the following guys have played at state leavel football: Ben Armstrong, Jason McNamara, Thomas O'Dwyer, Nathan Braddock, Bernard Lynch?, Cory Bauer, Luke Forbes, Nicholas Bye, James Cail, Christopher Jones, Luke Buckland, Aaron Rau, Scott Thompson. Compared to BFL's Sam Clark.......

What a waste of time Football Geelong.

Would be a good game between BFL U/25's vs GDFL U/25's!

dcshoecousa
30 Apr 2006, 20:24
GFL will account for the BFL comfortably I think. Nice work on being selected dcshoecousa :thumbsu:

Cheers Sticko:thumbsu:

Whispers
30 Apr 2006, 22:16
Sticko!! Your man Marsland, slotting a lazy four goals for the Falcons! His doing alright so far! Would be leading the goal kicking for sure for Geelong.

HappyDayz
1 May 2006, 16:54
Whispers you are spot on. Watched North Shore the first week and South Barwon the next.North Shore definately have some talent, but its going to take South Barwon to have an extremely bad day out to get beaten this year. Put your house on South Barwon for the flag with North Shore, Bell Park, St Marys, St Joeys making up the numbers in the finals.

Can someone inform me what's happened to N&CFC this year? I was under the impression they were going to be at least as good as last year. I no longer get down to geelong these days so my appolagies if i've missed something obvious.

talent scout
2 May 2006, 16:59
Can someone inform me what's happened to N&CFC this year? I was under the impression they were going to be at least as good as last year. I no longer get down to geelong these days so my appolagies if i've missed something obvious.

Newtown still have a good young squad, but you don't get consistency with that many youngsters in one side. They will climb the ladder in the next few weeks. They started with a good win over St Marys and have played North Shore ( always hard to beat ) and a much improved Colac. To be a competitive unit in the finals they needed to retain Jay Bett who returned home ( up bush somewhere ) to play after round one.

sloth6
2 May 2006, 17:17
What about St. Joes pair Dan Madden and Andrew Betz, were they stiff to miss out on selection?

Flat Track Bully
2 May 2006, 18:25
What about St. Joes pair Dan Madden and Andrew Betz, were they stiff to miss out on selection?

At 27, they are both too old.

Whispers
2 May 2006, 22:49
Newtown still have a good young squad, but you don't get consistency with that many youngsters in one side. They will climb the ladder in the next few weeks. They started with a good win over St Marys and have played North Shore ( always hard to beat ) and a much improved Colac. To be a competitive unit in the finals they needed to retain Jay Bett who returned home ( up bush somewhere ) to play after round one.

Big call.... where will they kick all of their goals from? Bett was a mammoth lose and realisticly, Newtown will have to make up 70 gaols from last year. May have had a replacement in Grant Millian but he too has left the club. Could've gone one better then last year if they did have that key forward.

rocky17
2 May 2006, 23:00
Big call.... where will they kick all of their goals from? Bett was a mammoth lose and realisticly, Newtown will have to make up 70 gaols from last year.

» Top 10 Players by Goals:
1. BETT, Jay Newtown & Chilwell 84
2. BRIGHT, Michael Newtown & Chilwell 39

There's 123 goals that Newtown need to find this year with the loss of Bett, and the bloke Whispers forgot to mention, Michael Bright.

Whispers
2 May 2006, 23:13
» Top 10 Players by Goals:
1. BETT, Jay Newtown & Chilwell 84

There's 123 goals that Newtown need to find this year with the loss of Bett, and the bloke Whispers forgot to mention, Michael Bright.

Too true!! Thanks Rocky!

ringo1
3 May 2006, 12:42
Interested to find out how tristan Lynch is going for Anglesea-any opinions?:thumbsu:

lions_man1
3 May 2006, 13:48

Is that Terry's son?? Good player if it is...I remember seeing him last year and he was in good form before I moved away...

lions_man1
3 May 2006, 14:02
Interested to find out how tristan Lynch is going for Anglesea-any opinions?:thumbsu:

He is a highlight player at Anglesea but I reckon he would struggle on selection playing with a top GFL club, and I dont think he would be a standout, that probably goes for other former AFL players, Paul Lynch and Aaron Langsworth...imho

Rayza
3 May 2006, 14:42
He is a highlight player at Anglesea but I reckon he would struggle on selection playing with a top GFL club, and I dont think he would be a standout, that probably goes for other former AFL players, Paul Lynch and Aaron Langsworth...imho

Aaron Langsworth never played AFL but i can tell you that he would easy be on of the top onballers in the GFL no question his only 27 still fit and has played at gfl level before and been very good picked in there rep side if i remember correctly as for Paul Lynch his body is getting on a bit but any GFL would love to have him in there foward line no questions asked i bet you he would still get you at least 4 goals a game his just to smart if it was not for his STRING He would have played 200 games at geelong

Whispers
3 May 2006, 14:53
Aaron Langsworth never played AFL but i can tell you that he would easy be on of the top onballers in the GFL no question his only 27 still fit and has played at gfl level before and been very good picked in there rep side if i remember correctly as for Paul Lynch his body is getting on a bit but any GFL would love to have him in there foward line no questions asked i bet you he would still get you at least 4 goals a game his just to smart if it was not for his STRING He would have played 200 games at geelong

Langa and Lynchy killed it at Lara. Wasting their time at Port. Rayza can u put some full stops in there mate. Giving me a dead ache trying to read that!! hehehe

Rayza
3 May 2006, 15:03
Langa and Lynchy killed it at Lara. Wasting their time at Port. Rayza can u put some full stops in there mate. Giving me a dead ache trying to read that!! hehehe

Its no secrete that there discission to play for port was for a truck load of money. Both Lynch and Langa’s are class acts that attract big dollars, But they have put there time in to football and deserve it good on them I say if you can get it why not ?

rocky17
3 May 2006, 15:37
Is that Terry's son?? Good player if it is...I remember seeing him last year and he was in good form before I moved away...

Yeah it's Terry's son.

One of Newtown's better players. Did his knee in a practice match this year.

talent scout
3 May 2006, 18:35
Big call.... where will they kick all of their goals from? Bett was a mammoth lose and realisticly, Newtown will have to make up 70 gaols from last year. May have had a replacement in Grant Millian but he too has left the club. Could've gone one better then last year if they did have that key forward.
:thumbsu: Agree totally, they no longer serious contenders with the loss of those players. The reason i said they will climb the ladder is because their draw must get a bit easier over the next few weeks. They've had a tough sart to the year. They'll finish in that 5th-8th bracket with teams like Colac Grovedale etc...