View Full Version : Local Geelong Leagues Thread (GFL/BFL/GDFL)

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35

tayls
5th October 2005, 10:45
Thought i would start a thread where people with an interest in the Geelong leagues could post info for the off season ie:

Coaches In and Out

Players In and Out

Rumours

Opinion

Anything

Cheers

crudbucket
5th October 2005, 10:53
Former St.Kilda player Tony Brown to Leopold in the GFC.

tayls
5th October 2005, 11:03
Fair dinkum, that would be a huge coup. He is an ex Leopold junior. Good news for them.

tayls
5th October 2005, 11:04
Heath Mooney to coach Geelong Amateurs to replace Haami Williams. He is the brother of Jason and Cameron.

Flat Track Bully
5th October 2005, 12:45
Fair dinkum, that would be a huge coup. He is an ex Leopold junior. Good news for them.\

14 years in the GFL and only 3 finals appearances (a 3rd in 1997 their best effort)...need to do something fast...

Argued leaving the Bellarine league would see them retain the youngsters they were losing to GFL clubs in the late 80's...well nothing's changed...look around the GFL and see the quality of their juniors running around with other clubs...Cameron Wright, Lee Purton and Paul Sullivan for starters...

All three have played in premierships since leaving...

tayls
5th October 2005, 12:48
\

14 years in the GFL and only 3 finals appearances (a 3rd in 1997 their best effort)...need to do something fast...

Argued leaving the Bellarine league would see them retain the youngsters they were losing to GFL clubs in the late 80's...well nothing's changed...look around the GFL and see the quality of their juniors running around with other clubs...Cameron Wright, Lee Purton and Paul Sullivan for starters...

All three have played in premierships since leaving...
The only way is up i suppose.
Look at Newtown they have come from the bottom.
Getting a good coach is the first step, they may have taken that.

Flat Track Bully
5th October 2005, 12:52
The only way is up i suppose.
Look at Newtown they have come from the bottom.
Getting a good coach is the first step, they may have taken that.

Newtown, though, were an established GFL club, who suffered very badly from some poor list management and coaching appointments (god, some were appointed and didn't even reach christmas)...

I hope Leopold do turn it around...

who do you follow Tayls?

tayls
5th October 2005, 13:21
Newtown, though, were an established GFL club, who suffered very badly from some poor list management and coaching appointments (god, some were appointed and didn't even reach christmas)...

I hope Leopold do turn it around...

who do you follow Tayls?
See post above.

HJ32
5th October 2005, 14:45
tayls

where is Haami Williams going to? is he staying at the Club?

are the ammos going to the GFL or at they staying in the Bellarine?
Also what happened to the Ammos, they were going great guns until about midway of the season yet they didn't get to challenge newcomb in the granny? was it injuries? players not happy????

one last question; is Dale Moore still bald?

tayls
5th October 2005, 15:13
tayls

where is Haami Williams going to? is he staying at the Club?

Yes atm he is staying to play or he may go back to Sth Barwon one of the 2.
are the ammos going to the GFL or at they staying in the Bellarine?
Staying in the BFL
Also what happened to the Ammos, they were going great guns until about midway of the season yet they didn't get to challenge newcomb in the granny? was it injuries? players not happy????
A horrific run of injuries didnt help, but Newcomb were a pretty good side and would have been tough to beat even if we made it to the GF.

one last question; is Dale Moore still bald?
Yes.
How do you know Moorey?

cfc2005
5th October 2005, 22:49
Any BFL rumours?
Why aren't Ammos going into the GFL, is it because of the uneven numbers?

HJ32
6th October 2005, 09:22
/How do you know Moorey?

I played at Ammos in 98/99

tayls
6th October 2005, 09:37
/

I played at Ammos in 98/99
Yeah so did i so i guess i must know you then. Actually i have played there for 14 years. PM me who you are.

tayls
6th October 2005, 09:38
Any BFL rumours?
Why aren't Ammos going into the GFL, is it because of the uneven numbers?
We actually didn't meet the last criteria in the end which was make the Grand Final even if we had have i still doubt we would have gone to the GFL.

Flat Track Bully
6th October 2005, 16:48
We actually didn't meet the last criteria in the end which was make the Grand Final even if we had have i still doubt we would have gone to the GFL.

Promotion and relegation is the worst thing that could possibly happen...It's all good when it involves football and your first, seconds and thirds, but when you have to take netball into account as well, i think you are going to run into problems.

Best solution, leopold go back to the Bellarine and Ammos come into the GFL...

You know it makes sense...

aj1981
7th October 2005, 03:10
Promotion and relegation is the worst thing that could possibly happen...It's all good when it involves football and your first, seconds and thirds, but when you have to take netball into account as well, i think you are going to run into problems.

Best solution, leopold go back to the Bellarine and Ammos come into the GFL...

You know it makes sense...

I agree with u 100% Flat Track Bully, Leopold should definitely return to the BFL, and the Ammos should certainly take their place in the GFL.

tayls
7th October 2005, 09:07
I agree with u 100% Flat Track Bully, Leopold should definitely return to the BFL, and the Ammos should certainly take their place in the GFL.
Unfrotuately it just isn't going to happen.

Kooley
7th October 2005, 10:48
any news on the gdfl? :)

caveman
8th October 2005, 21:59
any news on the gdfl? :)

yeah I am curious to hear about the Belmont Lions. They went down the ladder this year after losing a heap of quality players. Can they improve for next season?

Flat Track Bully
9th October 2005, 10:42
yeah I am curious to hear about the Belmont Lions. They went down the ladder this year after losing a heap of quality players. Can they improve for next season?

Did Tom Hall end up playing with them a couple of years back...Haven't won a flag in more than 30 years. I think they won one as St.Bernard's, but never as East Belmont or the Belmont Lions.

caveman
9th October 2005, 12:17
Did Tom Hall end up playing with them a couple of years back...Haven't won a flag in more than 30 years. I think they won one as St.Bernard's, but never as East Belmont or the Belmont Lions.

I am not sure mate as I have been in Bendigo and out of the loop for the last few years. I know Peter McVilly, Millsy and Julian Carr took a few of the boys with them and transferred to Simpson in the CDFL. That killed us!

tayls
10th October 2005, 08:45
Any news on who the St Albans coach is going to be?
Not that i've heard.

cfc2005
10th October 2005, 17:27
Leopold don't deserve to be in GFL after recent form, it makes common sense to have them in BFL too because of proximity to BFL. They should get an ultimateum (spelling?) to improve of its of to the BFL.

ben.carbonaro
10th October 2005, 19:20

Thought he was still over playing for Port Magpies in the SANFL ?

Must be some big coin being offered for him to play football a level down from what he is already playing at in the SANFL.

tayls
11th October 2005, 10:18
Mensch to Grovedale or St Albans?! I can't see the later even being an option. Does anyone know anymore details than what was written in the 3rd back page of the addy?
No more details than was in the article, but reading between the lines it sounds as if whoever can get him a job he will play for. I would think Grovedale would be front runners, he is a Grovey boy and Bluey McGrath is coach is his old team mate.

Kooley
11th October 2005, 10:25
tom hall only played for belmont in 2003. has definitely not played since.

Chris Gilham has been reappointed as coach of werribee centrals and has apparantly already recruited 5 top quality players for next year.

Thompson at this stage have only had one player retire from this years premiership side.

interesting tho see what happens to corio next year. i wonder whether ricky will go around again considering the disappointment he has had with the devils.

Flat Track Bully
11th October 2005, 10:39
Mensch to Grovedale or St Albans?! I can't see the later even being an option. Does anyone know anymore details than what was written in the 3rd back page of the addy?

Will play with the Shepp Swans in the GVFL next year...

tayls
11th October 2005, 10:59
Will play with the Shepp Swans in the GVFL next year...
The article in the Addy said he wanted to come back to Geelong so his kid could start primary school here. So he may not go to Shepp based on that.

tayls
13th October 2005, 11:38
Damien Christiansen missed out on the Coburg job, he must be a big chance to coach in Geelong. Maybe St Albans.

AJ ZUB
13th October 2005, 18:07
Leopold don't deserve to be in GFL after recent form, it makes common sense to have them in BFL too because of proximity to BFL. They should get an ultimateum (spelling?) to improve of its of to the BFL.

Sorry for entering into discussions a bit late, but you blokes don,t know what you're talking about. Leopold have had two bad years and didn't even finish on the bottom. Newtown were shockers for years as were Geelong West and Grovedale. I don't think two bad years justifies relegation, Flat track bully I expect more from you ditching your old club like that. I can tell you that Cam Wright is coming back and possibly young Sully also to help the Polders get back up the ladder. Remember Leopold is only 8 k's out the city so all you stiffs get out of your comfort zones and drive. It's further to drive to the snake pit, might I add it's the only time you would go out there.

tayls
14th October 2005, 09:51
Sorry for entering into discussions a bit late, but you blokes don,t know what you're talking about. Leopold have had two bad years and didn't even finish on the bottom. Newtown were shockers for years as were Geelong West and Grovedale. I don't think two bad years justifies relegation, Flat track bully I expect more from you ditching your old club like that. I can tell you that Cam Wright is coming back and possibly young Sully also to help the Polders get back up the ladder. Remember Leopold is only 8 k's out the city so all you stiffs get out of your comfort zones and drive. It's further to drive to the snake pit, might I add it's the only time you would go out there.
Leopold will remain in the GFL no doubt there, every team has a stint down the bottom they will bounce back with a new coach in Tony Brown they have started on the right foot. As for their geographic location that shouldnt be a factor in weather they stay or not, see Lara and COLAC.

Also Lara have annonced Dallas Normington as coach, from Werribee VFL apparentely.

And Geeloong Amateurs captain Tim McLean will be crossing to play for St Mary's. Big loss for the Ammos, great player and great bloke to, i wish him all the best.

Flat Track Bully
14th October 2005, 11:36

Three finals appearances, for one win, from 14 starts is not a crash hot figure AJ Zub...Not ditching, just presenting a point of view. I'd be wrapped to see the 'Pold back in contention...

tayls
18th October 2005, 12:40
I've just heard news that St Albans have appointed 2 coaches to take over next season. 1 being Danny Wilson the other being the Peel Thunder assistant coach. I think his last name is McDonald. I know its probably not official yet but i'm glad to hear something has been done.

In other news I heard they have also recruited two 6 foot 4 players from Peel Thunder with maybe another one to come! Just the sort of players the club needs to re build
Rooster Wilson hey. Good luck to him.
Well the duel coaches worked for Sth Barwon. Hopefully St Albans can improve.

cfc2005
18th October 2005, 19:31
Any news about players moving around in these leagues? I heard Luke McClean from Newcomb is gone and so is big James Walker aswell as Tim McClean from Ammos is going to St Marys. Don't know how true they are but i think they are pretty much on the money.

tayls
20th October 2005, 09:15
Any news about players moving around in these leagues? I heard Luke McClean from Newcomb is gone and so is big James Walker aswell as Tim McClean from Ammos is going to St Marys. Don't know how true they are but i think they are pretty much on the money.
Tim McLean is definantely going to St Marys, see above post.
Saw Luke McLean play for Newcomb this year, he is a very good player, and Walker if memory serves is a absolute giant and plays ok.

Kooley
20th October 2005, 09:32
Also Lara have annonced Dallas Normington as coach, from Werribee VFL apparentely.
. this wil upset ben carbonara. dallas is his ben's love child down at werribee. in fact ben's been a bit quiet since werribee lost the premieship.

Flat Track Bully
20th October 2005, 20:19
David Mensch to play with Grovedale, more than likely...

Will not be at Mansfield or any other GVFL club...

cfc2005
20th October 2005, 21:31
Langsworth from Port has gone aswell, any news on new players coming into the league?

tayls
21st October 2005, 08:55
Matt Jovanovic from VFL side Tasmania looks set to sign for Bell Park. He is ex VFL team of the year.

Kooley
21st October 2005, 10:52
Matt Jovanovic from VFL side Tasmania looks set to sign for Bell Park. He is ex VFL team of the year. excellent player.

was nearly drafted 2 seasons back.

hilly21
21st October 2005, 11:04
newtown after anyone?

tayls
21st October 2005, 11:09
newtown after anyone?
I hear they had a nibble at Haami Williams for coach but nothing came of it. They dont need a lot really, they went very close this year, look for them in 2006.

clad idiout
21st October 2005, 11:18
Geelong ammos are like the "great" essendon side a few years back. They are meant to be awesome but have not delivered. They have only one the one flag, just like essendon did. To even consider them for GFL is an insult to both GFL and BFL clubs. THEY ARE PRETENDERS

I Rock
21st October 2005, 11:20
Tim McLean is definantely going to St Marys, see above post.
Saw Luke McLean play for Newcomb this year, he is a very good player, and Walker if memory serves is a absolute giant and plays ok.

I used to play with Luke in the juniors years ago, ran into him just before the start of this season and he tried to talk me into playing again. He was a pretty good footballer even back then.

Ocean Grove have appointed a new coach who apparently has bought a few blokes with him. Most have started pre season down there.

tayls
21st October 2005, 11:38
Geelong ammos are like the "great" essendon side a few years back. They are meant to be awesome but have not delivered. They have only one the one flag, just like essendon did. To even consider them for GFL is an insult to both GFL and BFL clubs. THEY ARE PRETENDERS
You probably shouldnt talk about things you know nothing about.

There is nothing wrong with a club trying to better itself. They tried to move to the GFL in the end the didnt qualify. Its all over now, they are staying.

As for the pretenders tag, thats a bit harsh, in 2003 granted they should have won the grand final but they lost due to lack of experience in the big one simple as that.

In 2004 they learnt from that and won the flag easily.

In 2005 without any new players to the club and a horrific run of injuries they just simply weren't good enough. Newcomb were an awesome side and Ammos would not have beaten them anyway.

So pretenders no, a club just trying to be the best it can yes.

Let me guess you support a GFL club? They wont let anyone into their league anyway even though most people know a promotion/relegation in Geelong is the best thing for local footy.

tayls
21st October 2005, 14:47
That Clad Idiout is the one always going on about that ******** bfl reserves player isn't he?
Yeah i think so. It's fine to make the statements but then to run and hide from it. It will interesting to see what he comes back with. Anyone can make statements like Ammos are pretenders but you need to back it up. I think i made some good points at least i had some knowledge of what i was talking about.

Kooley
21st October 2005, 15:30
drove past Ammos ground the other day for the first time. ******** it's nice. wouldn't mind having a kick there myself.

tayls
21st October 2005, 15:38
drove past Ammos ground the other day for the first time. ******** it's nice. wouldn't mind having a kick there myself.
Greatest place to play football in Australia (i'm biased of course). It is a great ground, good size top location. And i live just around the corner.

Having an arvo on the 'Balcony" there is an experience.

Although since the big flood in about 98 the ground has never been the same, it's good but not as good as it was.

Glad you liked it.

tayls
21st October 2005, 15:39
Definatly. I think it showed who has actually watched some BFL games. I personally don't follow the BFL to closely therefore I don't comment on it. If you come out with big calls you definatly have to back it up.
Well having played in the BFL for 10 years and followed local footy for even longer i think i know something.

tayls
21st October 2005, 15:56
I wonder if clad idiout is even 10 years old after that recent post on this thread
We are all entitled to opinions, but that doesnt mean it is an informed one.

Flat Track Bully
21st October 2005, 20:45
Greatest place to play football in Australia (i'm biased of course). It is a great ground, good size top location. And i live just around the corner.

Having an arvo on the 'Balcony" there is an experience.

Although since the big flood in about 98 the ground has never been the same, it's good but not as good as it was.

Glad you liked it.

1995 Tayls...I was at St.Joey's at the time (school, not the FC) and we had a perfect view out of year 11 maths class of the rain.

Funnily enough I played in the last 3rds game on the ground before the flood, round 18, 1995...

tayls
24th October 2005, 09:30
1995 Tayls...I was at St.Joey's at the time (school, not the FC) and we had a perfect view out of year 11 maths class of the rain.

Funnily enough I played in the last 3rds game on the ground before the flood, round 18, 1995...
So that would have been an u/18 game with Ammos involved, so were you an Ammos player or playing against them. Would have been against a BFL side. But if you were at Joeys i doubt you would have played for a team outside Geelong.????????????

Flat Track Bully
24th October 2005, 11:13
So that would have been an u/18 game with Ammos involved, so were you an Ammos player or playing against them. Would have been against a BFL side. But if you were at Joeys i doubt you would have played for a team outside Geelong.????????????

Playing against, and it is possible for St.Joey's students to come from outside Geelong. I was actually the only Bellarine player in the Joeys First XVIII squad in Year 12

tayls
24th October 2005, 11:26
Playing against, and it is possible for St.Joey's students to come from outside Geelong. I was actually the only Bellarine player in the Joeys First XVIII squad in Year 12
Fair enough then. Now at a guess i will say you played for Portarlington. I reckon we played them in the last game a few times. But i'm probably wrong. If so who did you play for then. I'm guessing not Drysdale.

Flat Track Bully
24th October 2005, 12:30
Fair enough then. Now at a guess i will say you played for Portarlington. I reckon we played them in the last game a few times. But i'm probably wrong. If so who did you play for then. I'm guessing not Drysdale.

Portarlington...you would be right...I think we were competitive both times against Ammos, only losing by 3 or 4 goals both times...

tayls
24th October 2005, 12:58
Portarlington...you would be right...I think we were competitive both times against Ammos, only losing by 3 or 4 goals both times...
So you were u/18 though. But i do think in the 1's Port were ok for memory. The year before you were in the grand final werent you (94) lost to Grove. They were still an ok side in 95. So you are a former Port player, when did you leave? and where to. Are you playing now?

clad idiout
24th October 2005, 13:30
Hey idiouttttts. Just read all the replies since my last post. Let me clarify myself. I am older than 10. I am not a GFL supporter i am BFL. I did talk about that modda ressies player becuase i read about him in a post about nathan ablett. Actually talking about modewarre, i remember watching them this year at queens park. Beat the "awesome" ammos. Thats right modewarre beat the ammos at the ammos home ground! Geelong amatures are pretenders and one guy said he would love to have half the success as them. well half of 1 premiership is 0.5 premieships which equals 0! Ammos couched up alot of money, cause they r the richest club in the bfl due to sponsorship, and only one one premiership. The money they used and the sqaud they had should have won more than one flag! but y didnt they? too soft? not big enough hearts? i clearly remember young 17 year old liam rock taking the "great" ammos side to the cleaners. what a win hahahahahaha ammos r pretenders. that is not a statement...its a fact!!

tayls
24th October 2005, 13:57
Hey idiouttttts. Just read all the replies since my last post. Let me clarify myself. I am older than 10. I am not a GFL supporter i am BFL. I did talk about that modda ressies player becuase i read about him in a post about nathan ablett. Actually talking about modewarre, i remember watching them this year at queens park. Beat the "awesome" ammos. Thats right modewarre beat the ammos at the ammos home ground! Geelong amatures are pretenders and one guy said he would love to have half the success as them. well half of 1 premiership is 0.5 premieships which equals 0! Ammos couched up alot of money, cause they r the richest club in the bfl due to sponsorship, and only one one premiership. The money they used and the sqaud they had should have won more than one flag! but y didnt they? too soft? not big enough hearts? i clearly remember young 17 year old liam rock taking the "great" ammos side to the cleaners. what a win hahahahahaha ammos r pretenders. that is not a statement...its a fact!!
Well here we go,

For starters if you were at the Modewarre v Ammos game then you would have to agree that it was one of the most blatant exhibitions of umpire cheating ever, in a game where i think 4 goals won it, Modda scored 3 2nd half goals all courtesy of 50 metre penalties, you can at least admit that.

As for the Grand Final where Grove beat Ammos, that was fair enough, they should have won, Rock did win them the game, well done, cant argue with you there.

As for being the richest club in the BFL that is not true simple as that.

As for to soft and not enough heart. Well too soft, hey have you ever played against Ammos or seen them play regularily. I CHALLENGE you to go up to Haami Williams, Jason Orr, Tim Clark, Ryan Curtis, Sam Casboult, Ben Reynolds, Tim McLean, Mark Trevaskis or many others and call them soft to their face. You are just bandying about the OLD tag of Ammos are soft, if you really believe that then take up my challenge. I can tell you where to find any of these players. Go right ahead, we will see who is soft then. Unless you can come up with a genuine reason for perceived softness, then shut up.

And also this season we had no new recruits at all, if all this money you speak of was present dont you think we would have had some. For your information about 85% of the senior side played juniors at the club.

If you are a true BFL supporter as you say you are you would know that no side was going to get near Newcomb this year, where do you think they got their side from $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$. They were a top team, all year.

If you are going to make statements in the future be sure you can back them up becuase your opinion will not seem so credible if you dont.

Flat Track Bully
24th October 2005, 14:06
So you were u/18 though. But i do think in the 1's Port were ok for memory. The year before you were in the grand final werent you (94) lost to Grove. They were still an ok side in 95. So you are a former Port player, when did you leave? and where to. Are you playing now?

Middle of 1996, second year of Under 18's, went to Leopold where I played ordinarily for about 4 seasons, left town the year after, but still keep a very close eye on proceedings.

No, I have retired for now.

tayls
24th October 2005, 14:10
Middle of 1996, second year of Under 18's, went to Leopold where I played ordinarily for about 4 seasons, left town the year after, but still keep a very close eye on proceedings.

No, I have retired for now.
Good on ya, i have just retired as of this season. Had nuff.

cfc2005
24th October 2005, 18:44
Where are you now FTB?

Flat Track Bully
24th October 2005, 19:57
Where are you now FTB?

In the Goulburn Valley...

clad idiout
25th October 2005, 02:35
no umpire cheating they were clear 50 metre penalities for back chating, swearing n throwing the ball away

ammos had no recruits because they were paying all thee other recruits they bought in previous yeas

they r the richest club that is for sure n a pure fact

will continue this discussion which i will win later

tayls
25th October 2005, 08:53
no umpire cheating they were clear 50 metre penalities for back chating, swearing n throwing the ball away

ammos had no recruits because they were paying all thee other recruits they bought in previous yeas

they r the richest club that is for sure n a pure fact

will continue this discussion which i will win later
Ok then Mr Know it All.

Name the 3 recruits?

HOW do you know Ammos are the richest club, back up the claim with some evidence. If they are the richest then how come Newcomb had all these new players appear. Also how did Torquay fund their recruiting spree?

Anyone can make a statement but you need to back it up with proof that it is true. I see you have not commented on the "soft" tag, whats the matter not willing to back it up.

tayls
25th October 2005, 09:10
David Mensch has signed to play for Grovedale.

Flat Track Bully
25th October 2005, 11:09
David Mensch has signed to play for Grovedale.

First revealed on Win TV in Shepparton last Thursday night...

tayls
25th October 2005, 12:03
Here come the Super Saints. It will be interesting to see who they recruit.

tayls
25th October 2005, 12:39
Yeah it will be. Hopefuly a Phone call will be made by the coaches soon about pre season so i'll ask who they have got and who they are after
I look forward to hearing

Pepi
25th October 2005, 12:57
Watch out for Barwon Heads next year. Have signed Matt Kershaw as coach from Lara and have a number of new recruits. Tayls not wanting to argue with you but Queens Park is easily the worst ground to travel to in the BFL. When it rains is an absolute puddle of mud. The arrogant supporters/players sit up on there balcony heckling every player and I must say the most disgusting thing I have ever seen in football was a day when Sam Clark king hit Tim Wishart from Barwon Heads behind play, knocking him out and breaking his jaw and all the ammos supporters were sitting up on the balcony laughing at him and calling him weak as he was being stretched off the ground. A horrible club.

tayls
25th October 2005, 13:05
Watch out for Barwon Heads next year. Have signed Matt Kershaw as coach from Lara and have a number of new recruits. Tayls not wanting to argue with you but Queens Park is easily the worst ground to travel to in the BFL. When it rains is an absolute puddle of mud. The arrogant supporters/players sit up on there balcony heckling every player and I must say the most disgusting thing I have ever seen in football was a day when Sam Clark king hit Tim Wishart from Barwon Heads behind play, knocking him out and breaking his jaw and all the ammos supporters were sitting up on the balcony laughing at him and calling him weak as he was being stretched off the ground. A horrible club.
I agree about the rain bit, if it rains on a Thurs/Friday its stuffed. The flood wrecked it.

If memory serves me the Sam Clark incident did it happen in the forward pocket area at near the golf club house, if it did we are talking about the same incident,i just want to make sure of that before i comment.

True the balcony can be an unforgiving mob.

Now dont start calling it a horrible club, or we can start talking about the last game of the year at Barwon Heads v Ammos about 2 years back when the Lewis brothers and Hildebrandt decided to have a punch fest instead of a football match.

Pepi
25th October 2005, 14:30
Yes that is the incident Tayls. There always seems to be something happen in a Barwon Heads Ammos game, seem to always be spiteful clashes and a bit of rivalry there don't you think?

tayls
25th October 2005, 14:53
Yes that is the incident Tayls. There always seems to be something happen in a Barwon Heads Ammos game, seem to always be spiteful clashes and a bit of rivalry there don't you think?
Yeah they hate each other.

Ok the Sam Clark incident was the one i was thinking of. I was there. That Heads player was asking for trouble, it was NOT a king hit, he tried to take on Sam and he simply came off second best. If it were a king hit or as bad as you say then how come there was no complaint made by Heads, or an investigation there was no report or suspension. Yes it is true we had a go at him as he came off because he was the instigator who came off second best. If you are going to give it out then you must be prepared to take it. After that incidents in the last round of 2003 where i believe Heads players were suspended for 6 and 8 weeks there is a real hatred between the 2 sides.

If we really want to go further i can bring up the incident in the reserves game at QP in 2004 where a certain Heads player really did king hit a player and ended up getting a conviction in a court of law. And 8 weeks as well i think. So who is the horrible club?

That aside Ben Patrick has also come over with Kershaw as well, Could be a good forward line Kershaw/Boothey.

cfc2005
25th October 2005, 16:46
I think the BFL will be very interesting next year. Do you think Newcomb will retain most of there premiership side?
And it's interesting seein Barwon Heads and Ocean Grove getting new coaches. Have Barwon Heads or Grove got any more players?

cfc2005
1st November 2005, 19:08
Just a bump incased anyone has any information to add?

clad idiout
1st November 2005, 19:31
i have some info that it is clearly true that ammos are the richest club due to sponsorship! i have been told that info from an inside source of the club. newcomb spent up big this year n yeah prob did buy a premiership but that is what ammos have been trying for some time and how many oh yeah thats right only could buy one.hahahahaha idiouttsssssssssssssss!

The Hulkster
2nd November 2005, 06:55
One is better than none.
If you say from an inside source name it.
I have read your previous posts and you seem to make a lot of claims but you seem to never back them up which effects the credibility of what you are saying.
If you want to be believed then just back it up with proof.
BTW who do you follow Clad??

Ray_Finkle
3rd November 2005, 08:41
Some news on the local front (well it might be old news now as its taken me a while to register!)

David Mensch is definately at Grovedale as many would have read in the addy recently. The Tigers have also signed a mate of Matty Bruhn's, a tall ruckman/ forward, not sure where from though???

Ex Tassie Devils and State rep Matt Jovanovic isn't a certain starter at Bell Park as was mentioned in the addy a few weeks ago. Apparently is in talks with Grovedale as well and is keen to work under Bluey in a coaching role.

Keeping with the Tassie theme, Young ex Tassie and North Ballarat Ruckman Nick Barling has signed with West Saints for 2006. Will add some much needed height to the roosters line-up. In another Geelong Amateurs connection a tall ruck/half forward is in talks with both the roosters and St.Mary's so look out for that one.

Ex North Ballarat Rover Danny Frith is being sort after by a few clubs in a coaching role. Among the front runners are West Saints and Bell Park.

South Barwon is looking to strengthen its already strong team with a few of its VFL players looking to return to the club. Werribee Vice Captain Aaron Rau is a name that has been bobbing up on occasions. A blow to Leopold is the rumor that Geelong VFL player Adam Cook is looking to head over to McDonald Reserve aswell. Haami Williams might also be an inclusion after stepping down as the Ammo's coach.

Hopefully we'll see some more moves in the next few weeks as teams get pre-season training under way! :)

The Hulkster
3rd November 2005, 09:11
Some news on the local front (well it might be old news now as its taken me a while to register!)

David Mensch is definately at Grovedale as many would have read in the addy recently. The Tigers have also signed a mate of Matty Bruhn's, a tall ruckman/ forward, not sure where from though???

Ex Tassie Devils and State rep Matt Jovanovic isn't a certain starter at Bell Park as was mentioned in the addy a few weeks ago. Apparently is in talks with Grovedale as well and is keen to work under Bluey in a coaching role.

Keeping with the Tassie theme, Young ex Tassie and North Ballarat Ruckman Nick Barling has signed with West Saints for 2006. Will add some much needed height to the roosters line-up. In another Geelong Amateurs connection a tall ruck/half forward is in talks with both the roosters and St.Mary's so look out for that one.

Ex North Ballarat Rover Danny Frith is being sort after by a few clubs in a coaching role. Among the front runners are West Saints and Bell Park.

South Barwon is looking to strengthen its already strong team with a few of its VFL players looking to return to the club. Werribee Vice Captain Aaron Rau is a name that has been bobbing up on occasions. A blow to Leopold is the rumor that Geelong VFL player Adam Cook is looking to head over to McDonald Reserve aswell. Haami Williams might also be an inclusion after stepping down as the Ammo's coach.

Hopefully we'll see some more moves in the next few weeks as teams get pre-season training under way! :)

Great stuff Ray.
I would suggest Aaron Rau would head to South because his brother plays there, but i think he would love to play in a VFL flag at Werribee ie unfinished business.

Who is the Ammos player takling to St Marys and West? is it Wiseman, him and Tim McLean are joined at the hip so i would suggest he would go to St Marys. Or is it Lindsay Smith?

My mail is Haami Williams is staying at Ammos at this stage, could change though. I do know that it will be only Ammos or South he plays for, no others.

Nick Barling is not as good as people may think, very over rated, but a terrific bloke, so good luck to him.

Kooley
3rd November 2005, 12:56
any gdfl news :(

The Hulkster
3rd November 2005, 13:01
No GDFL news as yet, pretty quiet on that front.

Ray_Finkle
3rd November 2005, 17:24
Ta for the complement Hulk, amazing what you hear out on the tiles of a saturday night!

Can't tell you who the ammos player is but your right about those other two being joined at the hip!

Have to agree with you bout Barling to a degree, great bloke, possibly a bit overrated. Was talking to him the other night and he's had a shocking run of injuries in the last few years so hasn't had a good chance to play many senior games. Hopefully he'll go well.

Looks like Grovedale could be the big improver for 2006, just heard they might have signed more than one of Bruhn's mates over the off season, still don't know where from though.

Also forgot to add Ammos player Ben Lavars has/ or is close to signing with South Barwon. Plenty of pace should add to the already formidable line up.

dodgyhodgy
3rd November 2005, 18:15
I have heard a rumour that Walker (the big guy) and McLean from Newcomb are off to Grifith in NSW for some big $$$$

cfc2005
3rd November 2005, 20:07
Yeh already been talked about Walker and McClean. Interesting to see a bit off movement at the Ammos. But i think they will still be right up there, strong club they are.

The Hulkster
4th November 2005, 06:53
Also forgot to add Ammos player Ben Lavars has/ or is close to signing with South Barwon. Plenty of pace should add to the already formidable line up.

Benny is a great player, the quickest i have ever seen, really improved this year and won the Ammos B&F. Looks as if the Ammos exodus of players is happening.
I think they might struggle next year. Also they have lost Nathan Rau to St Josephs.

Nick Barling has been injured since i have known him, he is always injured, you watch it will happen again.

A night on the tiles in Geelong is always the best place to hear whats going on in local footy.

supastar
6th November 2005, 16:32
rumour has it that Michael Sleeman and James Allan are returning to Lara with the newly appointed coach from Werribee Dallas Normington. Both players originally from lara will definetely strengthen the lara list if this is true.

dodgyhodgy
7th November 2005, 07:03
I have heard strong rumours that Ricky O'Toole is going to Newcomb and numerous other players have left Corio.

Kooley
7th November 2005, 09:37
I have heard strong rumours that Ricky O'Toole is going to Newcomb and numerous other players have left Corio.

I've heard this as well.

Apparently Barry O'Toole has been asked to coach. Can't see that happening.
Also young player Steve Richet has gone to a GFL club.

The Hulkster
7th November 2005, 09:44
Corio look to be going the way of Ammos, a bit of a mass exodus after a bit of success. And also lack there of last season. Saw the GDFL Granny and Corio just lost the plot, cant see Barry O'Toole coaching either, he is a very good player but in the GF he was very undiciplined (not the only one) therefore not coaching material. Would be a handy pick up for any team though.

hilly21
7th November 2005, 09:49
newtown after anyone?

Kooley
7th November 2005, 10:24
Corio look to be going the way of Ammos, a bit of a mass exodus after a bit of success. And also lack there of last season. Saw the GDFL Granny and Corio just lost the plot, cant see Barry O'Toole coaching either, he is a very good player but in the GF he was very undiciplined (not the only one) therefore not coaching material. Would be a handy pick up for any team though.

the only difference is Hulkster is that at least the Ammos won a flag in 2004. Corio have been the bridesmaids for so long now and max exodus of players now would really ******** them up.

i can't remember a team in any competition who has choken in the big one, after dominating the season, than corio.

caveman
7th November 2005, 12:53
Does anyone have any info on Belmont Lions?

hilly21
7th November 2005, 15:23
anyone have info on newtown?

poogsta
7th November 2005, 17:55
rumour has it that Michael Sleeman and James Allan are returning to Lara with the newly appointed coach from Werribee Dallas Normington. Both players originally from lara will definetely strengthen the lara list if this is true.
You could be on the money there, Supastar. Any truth in the rumour the Lara B&F, John O'Brien, has jumped ship to go to Barwon Heads in the BFL with his mates ?

The Hulkster
8th November 2005, 07:22
Sounds like Barwon Heads could be opening the cheque book up this season. Dont know much about O'Brien but isnt he a GFL rep player, he will kill it in the BFL.

BTW the new Heads rooms the $1.2 million rooms what a waste of dough, they were clearly not designed by a football person, worst change rooms ever, great showers upstairs is great also but no good for footballers.

clad idiout
8th November 2005, 09:11
Sounds like Barwon Heads could be opening the cheque book up this season. Dont know much about O'Brien but isnt he a GFL rep player, he will kill it in the BFL.

BTW the new Heads rooms the $1.2 million rooms what a waste of dough, they were clearly not designed by a football person, worst change rooms ever, great showers upstairs is great also but no good for footballers.

Here here...barwon heads had the worst changerooms and then 1.2 mill to fix clubrooms n they make the changerooms even smaller. idiouts

The Hulkster
8th November 2005, 09:17
Here here...barwon heads had the worst changerooms and then 1.2 mill to fix clubrooms n they make the changerooms even smaller. idiouts
Good to see i'm not the only one.

Who do you follow clad??

Presti_is_god
8th November 2005, 09:19
John O'Brien is a big loss. But Matt Sleeman and James Allan are bigger gains.

The Hulkster
8th November 2005, 11:44
St Albans the joke of the GFL have a meet the coaches and new recruits night on the 18th. Should be Interesting to see if they got anymore thats going to help them win a game this season.

Pre Season training starts on the 21st for them as well
Gee that early, they must be keen. Look forward to hearing who they are recruiting.

Kooley
8th November 2005, 14:13
St Albans the joke of the GFL have a meet the coaches and new recruits night on the 18th. Should be Interesting to see if they got anymore thats going to help them win a game this season.

Pre Season training starts on the 21st for them as welldo they actually do their pre-season on that massive ground?

oinka
13th November 2005, 05:24
Anyone heard anything about Queenscliff. From what I here they have picked up some very handy recruits. A CHB from Port Melbourne , a CHF from Williamstown and a on baller from the Murray Bushrangers. They are also very close to signing a couple of big name players from the Ballarat League. After an unlucky year last year are they the team to watch. Also is it true Skrobolak has been sacked from Torquay.