View Full Version : What the F*** is happening?

wizard_9
6 Oct 2005, 16:29
Ok people what is actually going on, we have a few small deals that have been finalised already but none are very significant. But what is going on with guys like Hay, Pickett, Motlop, Armstrong and co??

And surely there is some other names been thrown around like Spandermann, C & B Scott, Selwood, Sporn.

WHat the ******** is happening folks, it is so quiet for this time of the season.

rizzo
6 Oct 2005, 16:31
Ok people what is actually going on, we have a few small deals that have been finalised already but none are very significant. But what is going on with guys like Hay, Pickett, Motlop, Armstrong and co??

And surely there is some other names been thrown around like Spandermann, C & B Scott, Selwood, Sporn.

WHat the ******** is happening folks, it is so quiet for this time of the season.
Just wait for the flood of trades tommorrow

celtic_pride
6 Oct 2005, 16:31
Everything usually happens on the final day of trade week, it's going to be crazy tommorow.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
6 Oct 2005, 16:32
It has all gone mad mate

Mad i tell ya

roostersgal4eva
6 Oct 2005, 16:34
hope its done before 3.30 cause i gotta go to work

Lenny*
6 Oct 2005, 16:35
hope its done before 3.30 cause i gotta go to work
Trades finish at 2pm tomorrow I think.

roostersgal4eva
6 Oct 2005, 16:36
Trades finish at 2pm tomorrow I think.
oh yeah :)

nice lets hope i can get on the sen streaming

Mead
6 Oct 2005, 16:37
Good god, you mean all the noteworthy trades are going to be put off to the last minute exactly how they are in every single trade period every year since the concept was thought up!?!! Surely not!

SnIcKeRs #3
6 Oct 2005, 16:38
i bet ya only 2 or 3 trades will eventuate tomorrow

wizard_9
6 Oct 2005, 16:39
Normally there is atleast some rumours flying around by this stage but we dont even have that at thus point. And for the first time there is no big names being dealt around, i mean Ted Richards was in high demand as one of the best being dealt and he is very average.

F-U
The floodgates will open tomorrow, expecting Brisbane to have a VERY busy day tomorrow :D

Lenny*
What do they actually talk about for the first 4 days of trade week?

roostersgal4eva
6 Oct 2005, 16:40
The floodgates will open tomorrow, expecting Brisbane to have a VERY busy day tomorrow :D
meaning....

i wouldnt be suprised if we were bypassed tommorow

F-U
6 Oct 2005, 16:41
Normally there is atleast some rumours flying around by this stage but we dont even have that at thus point. And for the first time there is no big names being dealt around, i mean Ted Richards was in high demand as one of the best being dealt and he is very average.

The lack of rumors is concerning me too, I reckon they spend the first 4 days getting ********ed :D

theorangeapple
6 Oct 2005, 16:49
I dont see alot happening tomorrow. Just the hay/motlop thing and afew smaller trades ie Armstrong, Green etc.

The difference this year is that there are no out of contract stars. Only Motlop

THink back to 2yrs ago when Rawlings, Stevens and Caracella all made it through to the PSD. We havent even got players of that quality being traded.

Those waiting for a big end to trade week might just get disapointed.

The Shag
6 Oct 2005, 16:51

how they will spend their holidays...

pav_is_god
6 Oct 2005, 16:52
I hope everyone has been trained on the fax this time... :D

ThePope
6 Oct 2005, 16:53
Sound each other out, what rumours are real, how serious clubs are about wanting players, how badly they overrate their own hacks...

Lach72
6 Oct 2005, 16:55
Who's got the best groupies? Rebecca Twigley? Was Ling's girl at the Brownlow on the payroll?

D0nk
6 Oct 2005, 16:56
oh yeah :)

AFL website has audio streaming from 1pm

ThePope
6 Oct 2005, 16:56
Live audio feed commencing Friday, 7 October, 1pm (http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=trade)
Wonder if they'll have the SEN feed, or their own newsdesk?

Tas
6 Oct 2005, 16:59
What is the AFL's fax number? I might have to tie it up. :p

roostersgal4eva
6 Oct 2005, 16:59

GoldCoastBlue
6 Oct 2005, 17:13

I would say they all sit around pc's seeing who can start the biggest rumours on bigfooty....

LarryLong
6 Oct 2005, 17:18
Same thing as everybody on BigFooty.

They blow smoke up each others' arses and make outrageous claims asking for trades they could only dream about. :)

local
6 Oct 2005, 17:21
Don't worry. Friday is when it all happens.
Hopfully i wont be too busy at work :D

TheReason
6 Oct 2005, 17:37
A good game of bluff.... Hay = 3 x Top 5 Picks or Cole = No 1 pick...

And then its the old My Johnson's bigger than your Johnson.

doofdoof
6 Oct 2005, 17:42
The system is flawed - there are so few players each year that can change clubs, that trade week is useless. We need Free Agency!

meownotroar
6 Oct 2005, 17:45
Who's got the best groupies? Rebecca Twigley? Was Ling's girl at the Brownlow on the payroll?She was from the Blind School, fair dinkum Ling is one UGLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE bloodnut

Murray
6 Oct 2005, 17:47
Ok people what is actually going on,

The same thing that is going on inside your head - absolutely nothing, say it again, absolutely nothing

TheReason
6 Oct 2005, 17:47
The system is flawed - there are so few players each year that can change clubs, that trade week is useless. We need Free Agency!
Yeah keep on you dreaming.

Thats about the only thing that could salvage your club from the ineptness of your recruting department.

wizard_9
6 Oct 2005, 17:56
The same thing that is going on inside your head - absolutely nothing, say it again, absolutely nothing

U really are a moron aren't you, someone makes a post and for no reason a little tosser Collingwood fan jumps down their throat. How old are you 11-12???

Murray
6 Oct 2005, 17:59
U really are a moron aren't you, someone makes a post and for no reason a little tosser Collingwood fan jumps down their throat. How old are you 11-12???

Gotcha

doofdoof
6 Oct 2005, 18:04
Yeah keep on you dreaming.

Thats about the only thing that could salvage your club from the ineptness of your recruting department.

You misunderstand me. The whole system of going into the PSD if your club can not agree to trade you to anyone is ridiculous. Just about every major sport in the world has free agency. Why do we persist with this primitive system?

It would be easy.

The salary cap limits the amount of players any one club can buy.

If you had to reach certain milestones to become a free agent (e.g. 100 games and 27 years old) then there would be no chance of losing young guns, you had developed.

Once you had reached these milestones and were out of contract then you could go to whichever club wanted to pay you the most.

No more of this crap like we have seen with Hay, Rawlings, Stevens, Motlop etc

Simple and effective.

TheReason
6 Oct 2005, 18:14
You misunderstand me... If you had to reach certain milestones to become a free agent... Once you had reached these milestones and were out of contract then you could go to whichever club wanted to pay you the most.
Look, I can see where you're coming from, but....

The majority of those "free agents".... sorry the best of the best of the "free agents", the majority of them would gravitate towards the richest 4 clubs in the land.

Lets just hypothesise and say Collingwood is the undisputed King of Money.

If Collingwood dominated via the above "free agents" and kept winning on average, say 1 GF every 2 years.... how many years until the Corporate money dries up at Bulldogs, Nth Melb, maybe even Geelong?

And then if a few clubs fold = less money for TV rights.

Then you have the scenario of a talented kid drafted to say Freo, not giving a F*** (playing okay but going through the motions) and waiting for the day he turns 25 and has played 150 games, before moving onto Collingwood, and giving the Royal Finger to Freo.

doofdoof
6 Oct 2005, 18:53
Look, I can see where you're coming from, but....

The majority of those "free agents".... sorry the best of the best of the "free agents", the majority of them would gravitate towards the richest 4 clubs in the land.

Lets just hypothesise and say Collingwood is the undisputed King of Money.

If Collingwood dominated via the above "free agents" and kept winning on average, say 1 GF every 2 years.... how many years until the Corporate money dries up at Bulldogs, Nth Melb, maybe even Geelong?

And then if a few clubs fold = less money for TV rights.

Then you have the scenario of a talented kid drafted to say Freo, not giving a F*** (playing okay but going through the motions) and waiting for the day he turns 25 and has played 150 games, before moving onto Collingwood, and giving the Royal Finger to Freo.

That is what the salary cap is for

GoOsH1
6 Oct 2005, 19:01
To me having free agency would just mean more rorting of the system. "Well Juddy, We can only pay you $300,000, but you'll also be on the panel of the footy show every thursday night, and ch 9 will pay you $200,000 for that". It already happens as things are now, it would get so much worse under free agency.

Port01
6 Oct 2005, 19:14
Nothin interesting is happening because the only club Carlton has threatened with the PSD pick is itself.