View Full Version : karl norman, get on him
Footscray_Fan87
11 Oct 2005, 19:20
carlton have delisted karl norman, get on him with a pick in the psd, or otherwise rookie him
the kids got talent, just needs to get his head straight
changing to a team with a winning culture of late would do him wonders
i'm all for him
get on the bandwagon
Has plenty of ability but also has plenty of problems. With your young players it might be better to steer clear of him in case he's a bad influence.
Dont see him being on our list, Eade has a brilliant list as it is and must mould the team into a strong force, assuming we have eagleton, murphy, cooney, griffen, mcmahon, gianciracusa and many others for the next 5 or so years. Norman is 1 we dont want/need.
Footscray_Fan87
11 Oct 2005, 19:30
noob i agree in part, but we don't have enough quality talls
norman is a quality tall, he proved that last year and this year, and that was with limited game time in a poor team
i think he should at least get one more chance to have a crack at the big time
surely he can't be any worse an influence than patrick bowden was this year where he blatantly did not try for the team, and disrespected the bulldog guernseys
picking up pods and norman would be a success in my book
bulldogtragic
11 Oct 2005, 19:47
If he can get his head right i'm all for him.
190cm and 96kg - CHB with plenty of ability.
But his head has to be RIGHT. I don't want any of our young players going astray either. But if Eade can get him right, he'd be a good pick up.
Coondog 17
11 Oct 2005, 20:52
If he can get his head right i'm all for him.
190cm and 96kg - CHB with plenty of ability.
But his head has to be RIGHT. I don't want any of our young players going astray either. But if Eade can get him right, he'd be a good pick up.
All he would be good for is a replacment for Bowden at Werribee. No thanks.
Top Dog
11 Oct 2005, 20:59
No thanks.
From what I've heard of him, I think we should steer clear. Has a poor attitude and his inclusion could have a negative in influence on them. If Rocket believes he can get him on the straight and narrow then I trust his judgement. Seems to fit the bill regarding versatility etc which Rocket is a big fan off.
amnesiac
11 Oct 2005, 21:08
no.there's a greater downside than there is an upside.
ALGY VOSILITIS
11 Oct 2005, 22:39
No thanks.
From what I've heard of him, I think we should steer clear. Has a poor attitude and his inclusion could have a negative in influence on them. If Rocket believes he can get him on the straight and narrow then I trust his judgement. Seems to fit the bill regarding versatility etc which Rocket is a big fan off.
I agree with top dog no thanks
it would be trouble with a capital T.
A drugy no doubt and a bad influence on our young boys
And we havn't got a fantastic list we have an average list a list that finished 9th and 14th in the last 2 years, so we need to pick more kids not rejects from other clubs. pick a couple more like coon and griffo and i will agree about a fantastic list ,
I think every one is getting ahead of themselves , 1ST WE MUST MAKE THE FINALS , 2ND WE MUST WIN A FINAL , 3RD WE MUST WIN A PREMLINARY FINAL 4th WE MUST WIN A GRAND FINAL.
WE HAVE A LONG WAY TO GO and i repeat we wont get there with rejects only with more young draft picks.
bresker
12 Oct 2005, 00:01
If Karl Norman is talented then why has he only made a couple of appearances for Carlton when they are such a poor side?
Footscray_Fan87
12 Oct 2005, 00:29
because they are renowned for having quality talls, as opposed to hack midfield
yes his had drug problems, but its only been reported because his been caught
many players do just as much as he did/does, and don't get caught, hence you all think that they are good role models
the sad fact is, every team, even ours, has players who reguarly take drugs
it's just a fact of footy
young, immature, plus money, and lots of spare time, and praise from other people equals drugs
give the kid a chance
The_Bulldogs_Bite
12 Oct 2005, 01:31
He's got talent, as a poster said up above, if Eade could get his head right he'd be a good pick-up. Has all the tools to be a good player, it's just his attitude. Worth a punt if the kid is willing to give it his best shot, IMO.
dogupya
12 Oct 2005, 10:11
I agree with top dog no thanks
it would be trouble with a capital T.
A drugy no doubt and a bad influence on our young boys
Are you aware of the amount of people who dabble in recreational drugs?
There is a high likliness that lots of people you know have dabbled in this sort of behaviour. Would you stand there and brand them druggies????
It's not like we are running a kindergarden and we are scared that the other little children can't think for themselves and big bad karl will tarnish their pure minds. We are talking about adults here and adults have the amazing ability to think for themselves. I have seen many bulldog players out on the town many many times, lets just leave it there. There have been many players in the past who have managed to get the support they require and turn both their footy and lives around. Sure as hell won't happen if the best we can come up with is calling him a druggie!!
Good young tall players are hard to come by, if he is at a decent price, im with you 87, get on him!
scooter600x
12 Oct 2005, 10:29
because they are renowned for having quality talls, as opposed to hack midfield
In our BigFooty world of stupid comments, this is right up there.
Norman managed 4 games in 2005
Carlton's quality talls getting games ahead of him include:
Morrell - 11 games
DeLuca - 12 games
Livingston - 9 games
Prendegast - 13 games
It's interesting hearing the 2 sides to this story...
I'm sitting on the fence for now! :confused:
stefoid
12 Oct 2005, 10:47
gilham was delisted by Port. painfully skinny, but with talent - sounds like the ideal bulldogs player.
dogbowl
12 Oct 2005, 11:38
Any player that couldn't get a game at Carlton in 2005, does NOT belong at the Bulldogs.
scooter600x
12 Oct 2005, 11:47
gilham was delisted by Port. painfully skinny, but with talent - sounds like the ideal bulldogs player.
Very similar to McGuinness and not really room for both of them. Personally I'd rather Gilham.
Cyberdoggie
12 Oct 2005, 15:38
norman is a dropkick, do you really want a knob head like that at our club amongst the young guys in our team?
i think not.
You might think there is two sides to every story but in this case trust me, there isn't, he's a knob and always has been. Some people are just screw ups, this guy is in the a1 category.
SCRAY72
12 Oct 2005, 15:40
Gilham was captain of Vic Metro I think,sounds like another champion schoolboy footballer that peaked at 17,just like Iszac Thompson.
No to Norman, being tall isn't enough. Duds like Morrell and Livingston were getting games ahead of him in a side that finished last.
If Karl Norman is talented then why has he only made a couple of appearances for Carlton when they are such a poor side?
It wasn't his form that kept him out of the seniors at Carlton. he basically had his papers marked by Pagan on that fateful afternoon at Kerford Rd ewarly last year.
If he is genuine in his desire to become a better footballer and a better person, then we should probably make some enquiries. Otherwise, it's off to suburban football for Karl.
Footscray_Fan87
12 Oct 2005, 16:21
In our BigFooty world of stupid comments, this is right up there.
Norman managed 4 games in 2005
Carlton's quality talls getting games ahead of him include:
Morrell - 11 games
DeLuca - 12 games
Livingston - 9 games
Prendegast - 13 games
bit harsh don't you think
carlton has fevola, whitnall, and waite, who are all very very good tall KPP players as well as walker, koutifidies and others, who can linchpin with their 190 cm plus height
so no, i don't think it's a particuarly stupid comment, especially when you consider he had a hand injury which was causing him some trouble, and that pagan obviously lost hope for him, or the more likely scenario, was too busy trying to fix his team, that were wellowing at the bottom of ladder
scooter600x
12 Oct 2005, 16:36
bit harsh don't you think
carlton has fevola, whitnall, and waite, who are all very very good tall KPP players as well as walker, koutifidies and others, who can linchpin with their 190 cm plus height
so no, i don't think it's a particuarly stupid comment, especially when you consider he had a hand injury which was causing him some trouble, and that pagan obviously lost hope for him, or the more likely scenario, was too busy trying to fix his team, that were wellowing at the bottom of ladder
Fevola, Whitnall and Waite go OK but there was plenty of room for another couple of big blokes in their side and they preferred Morrell, Livingston, DeLuca and Prendegast.
I watched Tim Walsh rip Morrell apart when Werribee played Preston and anyone who couldn't get selected ahead of Morrell isn't needed.
As far as being injured is concerned, he managed 17 games with Preston so he wasn't injured too often.
In those 17 games he was named in the best just twice (once 2nd best; once 6th best).
Is he still chummy with Lawrence Angwin ??
He's had some fantastic role model's at the Blues
Fevola
Lappin
Houlahan
doggies
12 Oct 2005, 17:53
Is he still chummy with Lawrence Angwin ??
He's had some fantastic role model's at the Blues
Fevola
Lappin
Houlahan
what has lappin ever done except been a sole leader at carlton over the last couple of years??
was'nt he one of the uni dorm ramraders a couple of years ago.
doggies
12 Oct 2005, 18:40
was'nt he one of the uni dorm ramraders a couple of years ago.
perhaps. but was that at season's end?
he is a great leader in my eyes on the training track and especially on the field how he goes about winning the ball.
i think he can be forgivven for one small indescrition as i see it, over his 10 or so year career.
bresker
13 Oct 2005, 09:06
Just remember it wasn't just that Norman took drugs, he turned up at training under the influence.
Players drink, and I've heard plenty of stories about players taking drugs which I don't think it would be wise to repeat here (not Bulldogs players BTW)
I don't care if players take drugs, in moderation. I'm not a hypocrite :) Alcohol is just another drug as far as I am concerned. But I wouldn't tolerate a player turning up drunk to training.
I posted this on the main board under the thread "Ecstacy" a few months ago I found it on another site author "Benno"
Found this little doco surfing the web a letter to "Crikey" by "Benno" from Woodenblue interesting...
A great letter popped up in Crikey today - if you don't get it sent to you already, its well worth getting the freebie version - or subscribe like I do...
www.crikey.com.au
"3. The truth about drug use in the AFL?
As debate rages about whether AFL players take illegal drugs such as ecstasy and cocaine, an anonymous correspondent has his say:
I don't think the general public, let alone the AFL have any idea of how rife drug use is in our society today. And add Caroline Wilson to that list. Carro is normally right on the money, but her article in yesterday's Age was so far off the mark it made me want to double-drop some disco biscuits and head down to the seediest club in town just to clear my head. Clearly she and most other people in this debate have no idea what is actually going on in our suburban bars and clubs. In fact the only bloke who would appear to have half an idea (for a change) is Eddie.
I regularly head out to bars and clubs around the inner city and I don't mind having the occasional dabble in some recreational drugs, namely cocaine and ecstasy. I'm certainly no party animal but I'm not averse to a bender from time to time either, as are most of my mates. So having used drugs a number of times, it's easy for one to spot others who are also on drugs and also to sometimes cross paths within these bars and clubs with others that want to buy or sell drugs. Therefore some of the things I am about to say might surprise a few... while for those who socialise in similar circles to me, it will probably come as no surprise.
1) Over the past three years, I have spent countless nights at a club in South Yarra which, to be blunt, is a haven for pill-popping. I've lost count of how many times I saw one senior Carlton player at this venue in the early hours of the morning, looking a little worse for wear... and not as a result of alcohol. Now when you start to see this same player at this venue time and time again, with pupils severely dilated, you have to start asking questions. More often than not he was accompanied by a few of his team-mates who were equally wired. Little surprise then, when Lawrence Angwin makes his accusation about a couple of senior Carlton players "getting anything you want." Is it really that far fetched? I don't think so. But then again, I am an occasional drug user which probably deems my opinion and observations severely clouded and unreliable, just like Angwin.
2) I have a few mates who are current and past AFL players. Now as an example – after the grand final in 2002, I found myself sitting on a couch at a club in South Melbourne with two current Crows players, a current Power player and a former Crows player. What did we all have in common? We were all on ecstasy. Now personally I don't really see the problem with this, because effectively it was the off-season for these guys. But it proves the point that AFL players are just like anyone else in a bar and club and moreover, they have the income to support the hobby!
3) This one was the biggest eye-opener for me: at that same South Yarra club two weekends ago, a mate and I got chatting to two current AFL players around 3am. One of them is a former captain and knows my mate quite well. The boys were out celebrating a big win the previous day and were quite jovial. But you can imagine our surprise when the former captain enquired as to whether we could get him "four or five pills?" Sounds crazy? Well, I wouldn't have believed it myself unless I'd been standing there to hear it. I have to say, I was quite shocked. Here were two of the club's best players looking to buy drugs at 3am, seven rounds into the season proper!"
It goes on. Now I'm not goign to try to start a withc hunt, but from the experiences of a sub-30 year old bloke, recreational drug use is everywhere. Use of speed or E is now cheap ($25-40) a night, and you don't have a hangover, thus no loss of performance on the track the next day. Dale Lewis' 75% of a couple of years ago would have been on the money I reckon - and it wouldn't just happen in AFL...
-- Bennö (wodenblue...), May 20th, 2005.
Footscray_Fan87
13 Oct 2005, 14:01
how ignorant are some of you
drug taking is rife in society, afl is a part of society, and as a result drug taking with afl players is also rife.
i can name names, but i won't
but i will tell you this, if there not on drugs, there on alcohol, and are quite drunk
some, like robert murphy, who i saw in the offseason, was at a club, but controlled himself well, and i doubt he was on anything, some players however, are just nuts when it comes to going out
this is fine however, they are young, have money, lots of free time, attention from girls, and lots of mates, and they want to enjoy themselves
you people need to realise that every club has drug takers, and there not suddenly horrible people because of it
if you want me to name names i will, but i doubt you do
Captain Sensible
13 Oct 2005, 14:36
how ignorant are some of you
drug taking is rife in society, afl is a part of society, and as a result drug taking with afl players is also rife.
i can name names, but i won't
but i will tell you this, if there not on drugs, there on alcohol, and are quite drunk
some, like robert murphy, who i saw in the offseason, was at a club, but controlled himself well, and i doubt he was on anything, some players however, are just nuts when it comes to going out
this is fine however, they are young, have money, lots of free time, attention from girls, and lots of mates, and they want to enjoy themselves
you people need to realise that every club has drug takers, and there not suddenly horrible people because of it
if you want me to name names i will, but i doubt you do
No names thanks.
bresker
13 Oct 2005, 14:43
I don't think bigfooty.com would be happy if you did!
I remember a certain famous ex player (a tall and slightly chubby one) who prior to joining an interstate club used to crush kill and destroy anything or anyone who got in his path around Ballarat in the late eighties. After he exeded his alcohol limit.
But I have since heard he has mellowed with middle age.
stefoid
13 Oct 2005, 17:13
as long as the doggies players stay off the wacky tabacky during the playing season, Ill be happy.
Let Willy Minson expand his mind, he might come back like the Beatles did with the Rubber Soul, Relvolver and Sgt Pepper hatrick.
bresker
13 Oct 2005, 17:27
He's played better since he got the haircut. Don't go giving him ideas.
stefoid
13 Oct 2005, 18:01
Let Willy Minson expand his mind, he might come back like the Beatles did with the Rubber Soul, Relvolver and Sgt Pepper hatrick.
3-4 day hangover from the weed. shouldnt be used during the season proper.
I watched Tim Walsh rip Morrell apart when Werribee played Preston and anyone who couldn't get selected ahead of Morrell isn't needed.
are you feeling alright?
tim walsh ripping an oppsition opponent apart. :D
BulldogMike
17 Oct 2005, 16:10
Karl Norman fits the versatility criteria Rocket has and his height makes him an interesting proposition. He would be similar to Hargrave and looking at it like that we should get him. Would also add toughness to the side/backline and at his youngish age he would be a more than handy player to throw in with our already talented bunch. Draft him in the PSD.
bulldogtragic
17 Oct 2005, 19:45
What you cant argue with is his ability. Plenty of talent. Can't argue that he's 191cm and 96 kg. And has played CHB at AFL and looked okay as a young player.
What can be criticised is his maturity. And rightly so.
But if Eade sits him down and gets the right answers and really believes he has now got his head screwed on right after being publicly dumped - Then we should take a punt on him. I think it's that simple.