View Full Version : Victorian Premier Cricket Round 3

MRobbo
13 Oct 2005, 07:37
Round 3- Saturdays October 15 and 22(2 day game-11am start)
Prahran vs Melbourne Uni at Toorak Park
Umpires: Steve Davis and Geoff Joshua
Essendon vs Geelong at Windy Hill
Umpires: Mark Hanton and Tony Ward
Richmond vs Camberwell Magpies at Punt Road Oval
Umpires: Phillip Hermann and Geoff Morrow
Footscray Edgewater vs Ringwood at Mervyn G Hughes Oval
Umpires: Chris Allan and John Ward
Carlton vs Dandenong at Princes Park No.1
Umpires: Neil Hitchens and Paul Reiffel
Frankston Peninsula vs St Kilda at AH Butler Oval (Live-3SER 97.7fm from 1pm until stumps each day)
Umpires: Gerard Abood and Chris Stevens
Melbourne vs Hawthorn Monash Uni at the Albert Ground
Umpires: Dale Boyd and Bob Parry
Casey South Melbourne vs Northcote at Harry Trott Oval
Umpires: Phil Shanahan and Paul Jensen
North Melbourne vs Fitzroy Doncaster at Arden Street
Umpires: Davis Jones and Phil Shanahan

The preview book for this round is available on their website at http://premier.cricketvictoria.com.au/page/previews.html

Kibe
13 Oct 2005, 12:45
Is Phil Shanahan any relation to Damian or Andrew? - The umpire for Nth Melb v Fitz Donc

nicho_magic
14 Oct 2005, 22:21
bloody frankston

~GURU~
15 Oct 2005, 08:29
bloody frankston

if your in the thirds i'll be playing against you :thumbsu:

MRobbo
15 Oct 2005, 21:50
Scores at stumps on Day 1 (Day 2 next Sat)
Camberwell Magpies 198(Davies 40,Stone 5/26) vs Richmond
North Melbourne 198(Waters 55,Dempsey 52,Fagg 4/57) vs Fitzroy Doncaster 2/44
Melbourne Uni 9/307(Dec)(Flegler 138,Murphy 101,Huckett 4/39,McGain 4/64) vs Prahran 0/19
St Kilda 9/286(Quiney 74,Dowling 53,5 run outs) vs Frankston Peninsula
Melbourne 7/405(Dec)(Buchanan 112,Baldwin 86,Pinniger 63,Nevill 61no) vs Hawthorn Monash Uni 1/25
Footscray Edgewater 289(Brohaska 107,Geisler 58,King 5/67) vs Ringwood
Geelong 339(Peake 123,Dean 62,McKay 4/73) vs Essendon 0/16
Northcote 5/287(Collins 84no,Baldwin 64,Parsons 54) vs Casey South Melbourne
Carlton 192(Pattinson 3/37,Siddle 3/58) vs Dandenong 4/50(Ayres 35no,Holland 3/19)

nicho_magic
15 Oct 2005, 23:22
if your in the thirds i'll be playing against you :thumbsu:
yep i played today, great facilities out there, fantastic set up. except for the fact that we have to share the rooms with the ones, which was a bit cramped.

not going to give anything away, except that i hope you aren't the keeper. 190 on that deck which really was keeping low, will see how it goes ey ahaha.

i batted 6, had to slog a bit but made 12, that ball nearly took off my ankles, was a shocker.

~GURU~
16 Oct 2005, 00:13
batted at 6 , lol you sucked you were too buzy talkin to the keeper to score any runs, you needed a tissue out there. chin up moot.

silky-smooth
16 Oct 2005, 02:00
yep i played today, great facilities out there, fantastic set up. except for the fact that we have to share the rooms with the ones, which was a bit cramped.

not going to give anything away, except that i hope you aren't the keeper. 190 on that deck which really was keeping low, will see how it goes ey ahaha.

i batted 6, had to slog a bit but made 12, that ball nearly took off my ankles, was a shocker.
It's amazing technology these days. How long have you been able to play Victorian Premier Cricket from Saudi Arabia?

nicho_magic
16 Oct 2005, 12:51
batted at 6 , lol you sucked you were too buzy talkin to the keeper to score any runs, you needed a tissue out there. chin up moot.
i told him two things.
1) would you mind being quiet when he bowler is running in (a simple etiquette thing in cricket, that any cricketer will respect), to then receive a freindly reply from him
2) after my partner smashed the ball into the fence... maybe you should go chase that, might do you some good.

seemed to stop him talking when the bowler was running in, and did nothing but spur me on, can't do much when a half tracker rolls and ur looking to score runs. good luck next week.

~GURU~
16 Oct 2005, 18:34
Chin up nicho, obviously if you have to spend more time telling the keeper to be queit then you are obviously you were concentrating too hard. He wasnt even chatting when the ball was being bowled, he was just loud just before the bowler start his run up which is aloud in the game of cricket.

oh and top shot to get out on :thumbsu:

nicho_magic
16 Oct 2005, 18:37
Chin up nicho, obviously if you have to spend more time telling the keeper to be queit then you are obviously you were concentrating too hard. He wasnt even chatting when the ball was being bowled, he was just loud just before the bowler start his run up which is aloud in the game of cricket.

oh and top shot to get out on :thumbsu:
he was talking when the bowler was running in, others comented on it, he stopped tho after i pulled away a few times, you can be as loud as you want, but there is a thing called etiquet in cricket and he had no idea.

my shot to go out on was ordinary, i new it wouldn't bounce much, but i didn't think it would roll like it nearly did, pitch is only going to keep lower.

~GURU~
16 Oct 2005, 18:41
you had no idea, lol. You just played a terrible shot.

and you just want everyone on here to think your some hero by telling our keeper off, he continued even after you 'told' him off

nicho_magic
16 Oct 2005, 18:54
you had no idea, lol. You just played a terrible shot.

and you just want everyone on here to think your some hero by telling our keeper off, he continued even after you 'told' him off
of course he continued to talk, he just stopped talking when the bowler was running in, nothing could shut him up.

what would you have done with that ball genius in a situation where quick runs were needed, most people would pull a half tracker!

~GURU~
16 Oct 2005, 19:06
Well dont they teach to play in the V down at St Kilda? all you needed to do was play straight, the groud was huge and you could of scored more along the ground then throwing your wicket away.

nicho_magic
16 Oct 2005, 19:32
Well dont they teach to play in the V down at St Kilda? all you needed to do was play straight, the groud was huge and you could of scored more along the ground then throwing your wicket away.
do they teach you to straight bat half trackers down at frankston when your team needs runs... my shot was hardly a shot that threw my wicket away, test players pull far fuller balls than that. the ball kept very low, and needed to be defended, but i wasn't to know the ball was going to roll. all i say is good luck next week, i take it your a batsmen, seeing as you didn't bowl, unless of course your a specialist fielder.

ben.carbonaro
16 Oct 2005, 19:46
Specialist fielder.... that's my role.

Nicho, are you actually in Saudi Arabia ?

Redbacksfan asked you about it, but you never answered.

~GURU~
16 Oct 2005, 19:50
obviously not if vs him this weekend in cricket

~GURU~
16 Oct 2005, 19:52
do they teach you to straight bat half trackers down at frankston when your team needs runs... my shot was hardly a shot that threw my wicket away, test players pull far fuller balls than that. the ball kept very low, and needed to be defended, but i wasn't to know the ball was going to roll. all i say is good luck next week, i take it your a batsmen, seeing as you didn't bowl, unless of course your a specialist fielder.

yeah im a spcialist fielder :thumbsu: and the ball didnt roll your just making out that it did to get away with it. Anyways the you were only facing a spinner and had plenty of time to change your stroke

nicho_magic
16 Oct 2005, 19:56
Specialist fielder.... that's my role.

Nicho, are you actually in Saudi Arabia ?

Redbacksfan asked you about it, but you never answered.
come on ben, i am playing cricket, i follow footy, i punt, i post in the usual hours, anything else lead to the bleeding obvious

nicho_magic
16 Oct 2005, 19:59
yeah im a spcialist fielder :thumbsu: and the ball didnt roll your just making out that it did to get away with it. Anyways the you were only facing a spinner and had plenty of time to change your stroke
hmmm, i am really starting to question ur understanding of the game of cricket, you really do struggle, if you didn't notice i did try to change my shot, but irrespective of the fact that its a spinner, it doesn't give you all the time in the world, especially when it shoots through at ankle height, the ball didn't roll i know its a figure of speech for saying it kepy very low. please stop the crap, you really are making a fool of yourself

~GURU~
16 Oct 2005, 20:00
hmmm, i am really starting to question ur understanding of the game of cricket, you really do struggle, if you didn't notice i did try to change my shot, but irrespective of the fact that its a spinner, it doesn't give you all the time in the world, especially when it shoots through at ankle height, the ball didn't roll i know its a figure of speech for saying it kepy very low. please stop the crap, you really are making a fool of yourself

no im just helping the other BF people understand the truth we will just see how good my understanding is when we smash ya next weekend.

nicho_magic
16 Oct 2005, 20:04
no im just helping the other BF people understand the truth we will just see how good my understanding is when we smash ya next weekend.
ahahaahahahaha, crikey this will be good. very good. very very good.

~GURU~
16 Oct 2005, 20:07
ahahaahahahaha, crikey this will be good. very good. very very good.

you dont believe that we are going to beat you?

you is errm higher on the ladder then you ? the mighty Heat

Longy413
16 Oct 2005, 20:50
Obviously born and bred in Frankston tiger?

nicho_magic
16 Oct 2005, 22:10
Obviously born and bred in Frankston tiger?
i just let mr andrews (tiger town) talk, we will let the ball do the talking next week, mark my words.

ablettjnr
16 Oct 2005, 22:11
i just let mr andrews (tiger town) talk, we will let the ball do the talking next week, mark my words.
Save it for the APS.

nicho_magic
16 Oct 2005, 22:12
Save it for the APS.
i don't play aps cricket any more mate.

ablettjnr
16 Oct 2005, 22:14
i don't play aps cricket any more mate.
Yeah sorry, just realised. Carry on.

~GURU~
17 Oct 2005, 08:18

Ok we will just see then

Sammy D
17 Oct 2005, 09:53
Good to Clinton Peake on song again. Have to notch up the win next week now

nicho_magic
17 Oct 2005, 10:08
Ok we will just see then
:)

Longy413
17 Oct 2005, 15:03
Good to Clinton Peake on song again.

No it isn't ;)

I'll never forget the day John Shannon stumped him at Windy Hill off a quick. Amazing piece of glove work.

MRobbo
23 Oct 2005, 08:04
Camberwell Magpies yesterday won their 1st game of the season with a thrilling one run win over Richmond in almost total darkness at Punt Raod Oval. Former Tiger Stephen Gribble taking his 4th wicket by Bowling Agrani Bhosale for 81 to give Camberwell the win with the 3rd last ball of the game at 6:53pm last night. An amazing finish. This was on a day where only 3 results were archived due to wet weather.

Results of Round 3 played yesterday

Camberwell Magpies 198 def Richmond 197(Bhosale 81,Gribble 4/50)
North Melbourne 198 drew with Fitzroy Doncaster (res.2/44)5/153(Dickson 55,Roach 55,Waters 3/47)
Melbourne Uni 9/307(Dec) drew with Prahran (res.0/19) 7/265(Harrison 115,McGuinness 104)
St Kilda 9/286(dec) drew Frankston Peninsula 9/266(Stubbings 114,Beer 3/44)
Melbourne 7/405(Dec) def Hawthorn Monash Uni (res.1/25)147(Mangan 5/50,Edrich 4/27) & 1/29
Footscray Edgewater 289 drew with Ringwood 8/165(Stray 71)
Geelong 339 drew with Essendon (res.0/16)2/175(Mato 94*,Van Den Berg 64)
Northcote 5/287(dec) drew with Casey South Melbourne 3/152(Spoljaric 85)
Carlton 192 def Dandenong (res.4/50) 100(Rosbrook 3/8,Dickinson 3/27,Holland 3/50) & 0/16.

LADDER AFTER ROUND 3
CARLTON 18pts Avge 2.764
MELBOURNE 12 1.708
ST KILDA 12 1.669
RICHMOND 12 1.018
FITZROY DONCASTER 6 1.498
CASEY SOUTH MELBOURNE 6 1.312
------------------------------------------
Prahran 6 1.209
North Melbourne 6 1.148
Dandenong 6 0.969
Footscray Edgewater 6 0.932
Geelong 6 0.755
Melbourne Uni 6 0.727
Camberwell Magpies 6 0.619
Northcote 0 1.024
Essendon 0 0.882
Frankston Peninsula 0 0.726
Ringwood 0 0.608
Hawthorn Monash Uni 0 0.394

Round 4 next weekend is another Saturday/Saturday 2 day game.

nicho_magic
12 Nov 2005, 18:32
now folks, i would like to point out something, whilst this game was completed a fair few weeks ago, i never got to have the last laugh over guru (formerly known as tiger town)... this bloke is a joke. Saying we'll smash you, and pointing out how they are higher on the ladder than us despite us losing one game, and losing points in the other due to the state of the ground. He then has the audacity to have a go at my cricketing ability.

Oh did i laugh, when his team was really in the sh1t. Despite dropping three catches, they got SMASHED. all out for 117. and our good friend guru.... a grand total of 0. Couldn't handle the spin of warney's cousin, despite having a go at me even tho when i made 12 it was for the team, going for runs, yet he comes in and lasts 2 seconds. They would have lost outright had we have taken our catches. we then batted again and made 94 in 27 overs only 4 down, and guru starts taking off my voice when i was laughing at there ridiculous behaviour. According to there 3's you can appeal or make loud noises when it hits the middle of your bat. And then, to top it all off, we are bowling again and our coach is doing nothing but helping out and giving some young blokes some of his experience, due to the fact that we were short on captains for the 3's. to then hear there little sh1t of a keeper who probably doesn't even know what first class cricket is, having a go at him, saying "look at yourself, you played for tassie, now your in the 3's playing nothing cricket" what a joke.

Guru, you are a joke, so was your team, thanks for talking yourself up. I really enjoyed listening to your sh1t. I loved it more when you guys couldn't get it off the square. What a dud.

nicho_magic
13 Nov 2005, 16:00
guru is awefully quiet!!!

nicho_magic
14 Nov 2005, 23:02
still not willing to have a look at this thread guru???

Knowledge
14 Nov 2005, 23:06
guru = pwned