View Full Version : Best Day Of Cricket You Went To And Your Worst
Carlton_is_cool
26 Oct 2001, 16:29
What day has been the worst when you have been to cricket and what day has been the best?
Tell us please>>
Bloodstained Angel
26 Oct 2001, 16:39
Basin Reserve, Wellington Nz, December 1978
Hadlee and Troup tore the Poms apart and served up a most exciting and unexpected win for New Zealand.
The crowd was roaring and some wag in the crowd had one of those old wind-up air raid sirens which he cranked with glee everytime an English wicket fell.
I can still hear it now ...
cheers
GOALden Hawk
26 Oct 2001, 16:58
Worst was Australia v England Boxing Day...was a washout! :mad: :(
Best was probably the ODI where Gilchrist went ballistic and smashed 150 something, we made 350 and the Sri Lankans made 280 odd. And Ranatunga was booed all the way to the wicket!
In tests, mmmm...probably Australia v West Indies, Day 3 I think it was last year. Funky Miller went the smash in the morning, much to our delight. There was a rain delay and a lot of people left, but they played on until around 7:30, and Dizzy Gillespie bowled the best spell I have ever seen, including a brilliant over to Lara. Had 3 duck back into him before one just fizzed off the pitch to clip the off-bail, was literally an unplayable delivery.
London Dave
26 Oct 2001, 18:26
Best day...Oz v Windies years ago....dtails are a bit fuzzy, but we batted at the G, made a few 9think K Hughes scored a great 100), then had windies 4/10..DK cleaned up viv last ball...50,000 going ape****. It was great!!!!!!!!!!! Atmosphere was awesome.
worst day Oz v poms at edgbaston 97. Went up with 3 pommy mates, oz 110(?) ao, poms 3 for heaps at end of first day. We eash bought a box of wine so we didnt have to keep running up to the bar. Got v pissed. The pommy crowd was singing all bloody day. Still remember the song, sung to tune of Daydream Believer...
Cheer up Shane Warne
Oh what can it mean
to a fat aussie bastard
and a **** cricket team
and others!!!!!!!
gave me a taste of what it would be like if they won the ashes back..if they do, I'm emigrating!
Worst
Aussies vs Pakis MCG test in 89 I think. 3rd day, Pakis batting. They scored at a sails pace and Aust only took 2 wickets all day. I ended up standing up at the back of the the old Southern stand (the uncovered bit) with 10 or so others watching the Australian open outside courts. Bad light robbed us (blessing really) of half an hours play in the last session. I can't remember who won that test or the series but I'm betting they were both drawn.
Best
Aust vs Windies early 90's MCG B&H cup preliminary match. This was an era where huge scores were rare and this match was no exception. However It was a very exiting finish and the huge roar when the aussies snared the last wicket ensuring a narrow win was unforgettable.
stoisle
27 Oct 2001, 07:57
Best match Australia V West Indies MCG 1992. 74,000 fans packed into the 'G in what was the best one day match I have been to. Australia made just over 200, and the Windies were ahead of the run rate required. Everytime we were draw it back to a run a ball, Richie Richardson would hit a 6 or 4. In the end it was Mark Waugh's career best figures of 5/25 (he was bowling medium pacers back then) that got Australia home. The Windies needed 5 off the last ball, but the ball was hit in the air to long on and was caught. I will never forget everyone singing the National Anthem has we walked down the stairs from the top of the Southern.
Worst Match would have been Australia V West Indies in January this year. Australia made 270 odd, and the Windies did not even bother chasing. The final where M.Waugh made 173 and the Windies replied with 300 odd was a much better match.
WCE2000
27 Oct 2001, 08:50
Best days play was a couple of years back, in the new years test against England. 1st Days play, when Australia were cruising after Mark Waugh got a ton and then Darren Gough took his hatrick to bring the game right back on level pegging.
Santos L Helper
27 Oct 2001, 09:27
Best: Many years ago at Football Park when, as a very little grommett, I went along to watch World Series Cricket and Gary Gilmour took a hat trick. The last two were LBW and the last batsman, Clive Lloyd if memory serves me right, was so far outside leg stump we could have shaken hands with him. After the over Gus came to deep square leg, right in front of us, and we gave him a standing ovation, to which he proudly bent over and pointed to his ample arse. The whole crowd went nuts............great entertainment.
I've also had many a great day at Adelaide oval watching Hookesy go nuts with the bat and also with his tactics. I remember a one-day semi final against a strong NSW team where he bowled the opening bowlers for their 10 overs then bought himself on as first change and took five for. We were going crazy on the hill as the openers went past six overs each and we realised Hookesy was going to do something stupid/ingenious. By the time the second opener had bowled his 10th everyone was calling for Hookesy to bowl and on he came. I think the NSW players were probably so bemused by it all that they just couldn't hold it together and we won. The SA shield team has always been fun to watch. We either score 300 plus in a day or were out for 100 and the other mob slogs the crap out of us. The only time it gets boring is when we play Tassie and it takes them 3 days to score 500.
dogboy23
27 Oct 2001, 10:02
Originally posted by stoisle
Best match Australia V West Indies MCG 1992. 74,000 fans packed into the 'G in what was the best one day match I have been to. Australia made just over 200, and the Windies were ahead of the run rate required. Everytime we were draw it back to a run a ball, Richie Richardson would hit a 6 or 4. In the end it was Mark Waugh's career best figures of 5/25 (he was bowling medium pacers back then) that got Australia home. The Windies needed 5 off the last ball, but the ball was hit in the air to long on and was caught. I will never forget everyone singing the National Anthem has we walked down the stairs from the top of the Southern.
Worst Match would have been Australia V West Indies in January this year. Australia made 270 odd, and the Windies did not even bother chasing. The final where M.Waugh made 173 and the Windies replied with 300 odd was a much better match. Your right that was a great game.The crowd were going ape droppings as Waugh tore the windies apart.;)
Beausgirl43
29 Oct 2001, 14:32
Never really had a bad day at the cricket.
The best day is when the Queensland team won the Sheffield Shield for the first time.
cheers... ;)
Kane McGoodwin
29 Oct 2001, 21:56
The most memorable day I went to the cricket with my brother on the hill at Adelaide Oval in the 80's sometime to watch Sri Lanka V Australia. Australia scored 300+ with Border scoring I think around 126 & Jones 99no. Jones struggled once he got into the nervous ninetees, & ran a leg bye off what was to be the last ball of the innings which was called a no ball & missed a chance for a century (the batsmen didn't hear the call). Australia then proceeded to bowl the Sri Lankans out for under 100, in what proved to be a rather one-sided game.
Best day at the cricket
Around 1990 Eden Park test match New Zealand v India, one of Sir Richard's last. Around lunch on the first morning New Zealand was in the commanding position of 60/5 until Ian Smith and Richard Hadlee absolutely destroyed the Indian's.
Hadlee scored a quick fire high 80 odd and Smith 167 not out. Every scoring shot was to the fence, all round the field.
At stumps day one New Zealand 390/8
Bad day at the cricket
Few and far between for any follower of the Black Caps
First that comes to mind
2000 Hamilton test New Zealand v Windies
Windies 290/1 stumps day one.
And that wicket fell in the 88th over the day.
The Hippie
29 Oct 2001, 22:28
Not exactly memorable cricket wise, but the downpour that washed the last session of play out on the 2nd? day (might have even been the first day) against India at the MCG a couple of years ago. We came back just before 11am the next day expecting to wait for play to start and by the time we got to our seats, they had already bowled a couple of balls. Could not believe that amount of water could drain away so quick. Amazing.
Anybody at that game remember the bloke who went swimming in the middle that day during the downpour? Bloody hilarious. Breaststroke, backstroke, freestyle, he had the lot. (before security threw him out) :D :D
GOALden Hawk
30 Oct 2001, 07:40
Originally posted by stoisle
Worst Match would have been Australia V West Indies in January this year. Australia made 270 odd, and the Windies did not even bother chasing. The final where M.Waugh made 173 and the Windies replied with 300 odd was a much better match.
Yeah, I was at that game as well - that was a fantastic match, really exciting stuff.
I've never really had a stupendously great day at the cricket but I've had a lot that were a lot of fun to watch. Worst, first ever game I went to, Australia vs the West Indies about 9 years ago at the WACA. West Indies caned Australia...:eek:
Originally posted by WCE2000
Best days play was a couple of years back, in the new years test against England. 1st Days play, when Australia were cruising after Mark Waugh got a ton and then Darren Gough took his hatrick to bring the game right back on level pegging.
That was a great day's cricket all around. I reckon Goughy got the biggest cheer for a hattrick as an 'away' player ever.
I was at the SCG the day Warney ripped the South Africans apart, then it poured rain. About four hours and 75 beers later they came back out and Warney took his 300th test wicket - huge celebrations for those of us who'd stayed through the downpour. That was definitely the best day I've had at the cricket.
Briedis
30 Oct 2001, 11:09
I can't remember any specific day, but I always loved when Lillee was running in at the SCG and the would start the chant of "Liiiiiii-Leeeee" and clap faster and faster as he came in.
It was especially great when Viv was batting as it could easily be coming back at him twice as fast as DK could bowl it!
Commissioner X
2 Nov 2001, 19:48
I have two that stick in my memory for obvious reasons.
The day Warne took his hat-trick against the poms December 1994.
The second was New Years Day 1996. It was a one-day game between Australia and WI. Australia was 6 for 30 something chacing a mediocre target. That was the night Bevan hit the four of the last ball to win the game.
Amazing atmosphere!!
windyhill
2 Nov 2001, 21:08
best...ashes melbourne test,boxing day wash out...not a ball bowled,got absolutely hammered,met the music men,brilliant day.
any test australia loses has to be good as well
clucas91
4 Nov 2001, 19:04
Best day of cricket?
5th day of Third test, India vs. Australia 2001.
Sadly it is also my worst for obvious reasons.
NICK THE PIE MAN
4 Nov 2001, 19:43
That i went to:
BEST:
QLD Bulls vs New Zealand (Day/Nighter)
Strangely enough, it is a Bulls match.
The Kiwis made 270, no one though we had a chance of making it, but due to Symonds we were crawling our way there....
Then in the 2nd last over, Symonds hit a 6, however, a kiwi player claimed he got a hand on it as it went over for the 6. Umps believed him and it was called a 4. The replay clearly showed he got no were near it. The biggest Cry of 'BULL****TT' went up that I have heard in my whole life! We needed 3 off the last ball, we got 2. IT WAS A TIE.
You should have heard the boos as the umps left the ground!
Fantastic match allround though...
WORST:
Australia vs Pakistan
1st Day/nighter 2000
Shocker..
Symonds got 3 wickets with his spinners..boring!
and got them out quicly for 180.
A short night we thought it would be..i was wrong.
We batted like crap, and crumbled to be out for 143. :rolleyes:
WORST:
watching from TV
Australia vs India
2nd test..Day 4
Laxman-281
Dravid-180
not a wicket fell all day.
Was the hardest day of cricket I have ever had to watch.
It felt like they would bat FOREVER.
clucas91
4 Nov 2001, 19:45
Nick and I know all about batting forever...lol.
Satay Mat
6 Nov 2001, 15:50
I was at the Adelaide Oval about 10 years back when South Australia scored 506 in the 4th innings to win the match against Queensland. Still the highest 1st class winning score in the 4th innings in the world. A great day.
I went to the Adelaide Oval a lot when I was young and living in Adelaide...also caught these highlights.....
1. Rod Marsh hitting 6.4.6.4.4.out in one over off Lance Cairns I think....or somehting like that...I was about 8 y.o.
2. Paul Nobes hitting Bruce Reid over his head for 6....now that is a long hit at the Adelaide Oval.
3. I saw Alan Mulally (sp ?) do the same off Glann McGrath at the MCG a couple of years back as well (but for 4)....sitting with the Balmy Army at the time and they went off.
I was flicking through some old family photos the other day and found one my Grandfather took at the Adelaide Oval in the 1928/29 Ashes Series. It was on the second day (you can see the scorboard). England all out for 334 on the first day and Larwood is Bowling to Woodful in what looks like the first ball of the Australian innings. It is taken from where the Bradman Stand is now looking over towards the scoreboard and the cathedral. The best thing about the Adelaide Oval is that I took the same shot last year and it looks basically the same except for the advertising and the little electronic scoreboard. The Morton Bay Figs have grown a bit though.
Satay Mat