View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football
Disco Bickie
5 Apr 2007, 10:55
Please... your beneath me ya toe rag!
Considering you come from 'that' side of the Yarra I don't think so!
Gil McLaughlins Horse
5 Apr 2007, 11:20
Considering you come from 'that' side of the Yarra I don't think so!
good one toe rag.
So...back to the footy...
Disco Bickie
5 Apr 2007, 11:51
good one toe rag.
No come back? Didn't think so.
There is not a whole heap going on at the moment to be honest, the season has been delayed if you didn't know??
Anyway OS have also played UB in a practise match and OS got up by about 3 goals, both teams played a lot of younger players but it was nice hit out.
OI vs StB match OI looked to have picked up a few big units and they looked pretty handy, StB look very rusty but thats to be expected, OI got up pretty easy.
Gil McLaughlins Horse
5 Apr 2007, 11:58
No come back? Didn't think so.
What are you 3yo. Your mums this, your mums that... grow up smackie.
Thanks holding. Any teams got games lined up for following 2 weeks? Ive heard teams are hesitant in playing other ammo teams due to not wanting to provide opposing teams with lead in matches (and hence match fitness). I know of 2 teams.
So getting back to the footy.....
With some practice matches completed (admittedly with a number of below-strength teams playing), does anyone's opinion's change in regards to how they think the ladder will finish up?
The Big Pineapple
5 Apr 2007, 12:34
So getting back to the footy.....
With some practice matches completed (admittedly with a number of below-strength teams playing), does anyone's opinion's change in regards to how they think the ladder will finish up?
Just relax a little bit buddy... the season doesn't start for another 3 weeks.
You can't take anything out of any pratice match so just wait till April 29 to talk about the footy.
chicken machine
10 Apr 2007, 17:56
1st time on the A grade forum
whats news out ot's way? Are the hillas boys still playing there, if so how did they go last season? and how are the OT's shaping up for this yr?
bertwallis
11 Apr 2007, 17:09
Ivanhoe for the Flag:D
Dee Snider
11 Apr 2007, 17:24
Why? Any signings of note?
chelsworthgale
11 Apr 2007, 19:53
interesting observation...
just ask!!!
11 Apr 2007, 22:01
interesting observation...
any one give me any information on old brighton??
bertwallis
12 Apr 2007, 01:49
Why? Any signings of note?
iv got nothing for ya mate
don't worry we'll turn a few heads this year;)
What about a report from the East Ringwood v Haileybury game??
Be interesting for a few reasons.
Old H got a smacking, and once again by Nobel Park on Thursday night.. but dunno how much you can judge from these games. As these two sides were clearly better than any other amatuer club Haileybury will face this year!
holding
12 Apr 2007, 14:29
I have seen Old Ivanhoe play and they looked alright, signed some big unit from the bush (looks like a islander) who is pretty handy in the ruck/up forward, the only thing is they did look a tiny bit slow at times but all in all they were pretty handy
Someone asked about Old Brighton - they are very small and very fast much like a lot of the other A grade sides i guess, they will hold there own this year they won't be the easy beats like everyone thinks
Johnny Utah #9
12 Apr 2007, 14:37
I have seen Old Ivanhoe play and they looked alright, signed some big unit from the bush (looks like a islander) who is pretty handy in the ruck/up forward, the only thing is they did look a tiny bit slow at times but all in all they were pretty handy
Someone asked about Old Brighton - they are very small and very fast much like a lot of the other A grade sides i guess, they will hold there own this year they won't be the easy beats like everyone thinks
The big guy moves about as fast as Lance Whitnall at the moment and has the stamnia of Mick Nolan. He is a very big lad though, i'll give him that. He'll do some damage against the likes of Old Scotch.
chelsworthgale
12 Apr 2007, 15:46
Where were you placed that day at Optus? I thought the "Andrew Symonds" look-a-like played quite well that day, few bernards boys definately chose to "corel" (spelling) rather than tackle on the day which was quite humerous. Any news from Toorak Park, the Xavs boys able to train under lights yet?
Gil McLaughlins Horse
12 Apr 2007, 16:40
Where were you placed that day at Optus? I thought the "Andrew Symonds" look-a-like played quite well that day, few bernards boys definately chose to "corel" (spelling) rather than tackle on the day which was quite humerous. Any news from Toorak Park, the Xavs boys able to train under lights yet?
Not sure what game you were looking at but he looked like he went just ok. Is a big unit which is always handy in ammos but he didnt do much around the ground and probably didnt even win the tap against the smaller opponent alot of the time. Others to like more in the OI team.
chelsworthgale
12 Apr 2007, 18:08
Not sure what game you were looking at but he looked like he went just ok. Is a big unit which is always handy in ammos but he didnt do much around the ground and probably didnt even win the tap against the smaller opponent alot of the time. Others to like more in the OI team.
Was that the smaller bloke who was third up? I thought considering he had come from country Vic to the fast paced ammos his efforts were quite good. Consider his size and the amount of ground he covered and his presence... overall quite a good game. Remember Optus oval is a lot bigger than most VAFA ground. I agree there is a lot to like with the OI team especailly the efforts of the former "best bouffant's" snap goal/behind from 25m out, pumped fist celebration followed up by the attempted barrel kickout.
Can anyone give me some information on a player by the name of Nick Bye is going at Old Xavs. It is his first year at the club. How has he fitted in, where do you think he will play?
A bit of movement down at Collegians.
Apparently Brock Mooney has just been taken out of his cryogenically frozen state, and is currently being thawed out for round 1.
Not bad for a bloke about to turn 63, with the body of a 75 year old.
Lupton Warchild Pittman
12 Apr 2007, 20:52
UB will unveil the coolest name in VAFA history on Saturday when Jack-Henry Coventry-Heinz makes his debut for the Blues. MK 11 is even better version than the player who previously sat on Utah's head before going onto better things..
Magnificence
16 Apr 2007, 00:31
A bit of movement down at Collegians.
Apparently Brock Mooney has just been taken out of his cryogenically frozen state, and is currently being thawed out for round 1.
Not bad for a bloke about to turn 63, with the body of a 75 year old.
Wow that is big news.
Another easy win for the lions on the weekend. They are already booking out the club rooms for a GF after party FACT!
holding
16 Apr 2007, 12:24
They beat Marcellin who are in B Grade this year so i wouldn't be booking any GF after party's just yet, wait till they beat Xav's and some of the TOP A grade sides before they think about GF day celebrations
Derek Z
16 Apr 2007, 13:04
They beat Marcellin who are in B Grade this year so i wouldn't be booking any GF after party's just yet, wait till they beat Xav's and some of the TOP A grade sides before they think about GF day celebrations
and Marcellin were leading at half-time, with 8 players out of their best line-up not playing........
Max Leader
16 Apr 2007, 20:29
[Big Trouble at Little Trinity
How will Trinity fare without the departures to Reds, Camberwell, Carey and now with the confirmed departure of Damian Buttler (The Sheik's No. 2)?
Their only big signing is Tracey Roberts :):)
Hackett & Hardwick gone from Xavs
Countless from Hailebury
Too many to count from Scotch
OI - major loss of Morris and Branigan
De La - Rayson wont be seen, what about Sheilds?
St. bernies - Wilkinson will be missed
Collegians. No one of real note
UB - Scambler, Clark Torney, but appear to have picked up heaps
Brighton appear to be the winners at this stage.
Bring on the rain.
holding
16 Apr 2007, 23:03
How will Trinity fare without the departures to Reds, Camberwell, Carey and now with the confirmed departure of Damian Buttler (The Sheik's No. 2)?
Bring on the rain.
Trinity lost mainly fringe 1's players and some handy 2's players so i don't think they will struggle to be honest, they still have Beardsley, Rambo, Cultera, The Burrows, The Big Cat, Hilas ect so i think they will be alright this year.
And yea Rain would be nice
Sausage roll
16 Apr 2007, 23:10
Trinity lost mainly fringe 1's players and some handy 2's players so i don't think they will struggle to be honest, they still have Beardsley, Rambo, Cultera, The Burrows, The Big Cat, Hilas ect so i think they will be alright this year.
Kenna and Deane-Johns will be losses.
chelsworthgale
16 Apr 2007, 23:27
Their only big signing is Tracey Roberts :):)
Hackett & Hardwick gone from Xavs
Countless from Hailebury
Too many to count from Scotch
OI - major loss of Morris and Branigan
De La - Rayson wont be seen, what about Sheilds?
St. bernies - Wilkinson will be missed
Collegians. No one of real note
UB - Scambler, Clark Torney, but appear to have picked up heaps
Brighton appear to be the winners at this stage.
Bring on the rain.
you just love stirring the pot don't you Max... the only part of that dribble i will agree with is the rain...
Drizzle
17 Apr 2007, 12:00
They had all those blokes last year and they sucked
holding
17 Apr 2007, 12:06
True I just don't think they will be that bad, they played some good footy last year at times
Drizzle
17 Apr 2007, 12:09
True I just don't think they will be that bad, they played some good footy last year at times
So did OM's
holding
17 Apr 2007, 12:46
MMM....NO
Only time will tell I guess
Mobbenfuhrer
17 Apr 2007, 13:43
Any of you folks interested in taking the cyber-field in a pretend team? :p
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=314342
Regional Leagues Fantasy Footy League?
Seeking interest in players for a Regional Leagues fantasy footy comp.
This is a) not real footy and b) not pick-a-team-of-AFL-players footy. Its even lazier!
All you do is express interest, I'll do the rest via QOOTY, a crappy random aussie rules simulator I created years ago and have been trying to bring up to speed. FAQs here : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=75728
I'll try to collate a league of teams that are representative of the more popular local leagues here, so I need raised hands from the posters. I won't make up any names, I won't allow any sudden new arrivals.
So either post here or PM me if you want your Bigfooty alter-ego registered for a team.
Hopefully we can turn some rivalries into some even more potent partnerships!
I'll probably aim for starting the season, say, end of next week. I MAY have to be an inflexible prick with okaying a team and treating latecomers.
For this season, hopefully the inaugural season of an ongoing league, all we need are 20 players per team. There is already a Fantasy league, more closely based on the AFL clubs, at Bigfooty, here : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=30 - its into its 7th season and has developed a bit of history! There is also another league at another footy forum site, this year with only 3 teams but had been as strong as 5 clubs in its 3 year tenure.
So get in touch if you're interested. Remember you don't have to do anything apart from dob your Bigfooty nickname in for a spot. Please tell me which club/league of regional footy you would prefer to be aligned with (please state both).
We'll see how we go. If it doesn't happen, ah well, if it happens later than I hope ... I'll still give it a burl.
Onward lads! ...
Richo- true champion
22 Apr 2007, 17:31
Kenna and Deane-Johns will be losses.
Kenna is no loss at all..we can cover for deane johns...buttler, pretty, duggan and zammit will all be missed..but plently of young players coming through..plus Hillas, k.butler and Gnatt back from injury riddled seasons last year and the return of Scott Krakouer...OT's will be in better shape than last year.
cheers
Champs wear da No.16
24 Apr 2007, 10:34
y is it tht so many people r predicting bernards to be a top 4 finish
buffolo bill
24 Apr 2007, 10:41
hayden hetta big pick up for old ivanhoe... if he is fit
chelsworthgale
24 Apr 2007, 16:30
hayden hetta big pick up for old ivanhoe... if he is fit
he'll play twos all year due to work commitments.
holding
24 Apr 2007, 17:51
Lets get some tips for round 1
Old Brighton VS Old Ivanhoe
Collegians VS De La
Old Hail VS Old Scotch
Old Trinity VS Old Xav's
St Bernards VS Uni Blues
I'll go with
Old Ivanhoe
Collegian
Scotch
Xav's
Uni BLues
BrianSpeaking
24 Apr 2007, 17:54
Collegians VS De La
Old Hail VS Old Scotch
Old Trinity VS Old Xav's
St Bernards VS Uni Blues
I'll go with
Old Ivanhoe
Collegian
Scotch
Xav's
Uni BLues
Brians tips:
Old Brighton
The Lions
OH
OX
UB
chelsworthgale
24 Apr 2007, 18:00
Collegians VS De La
Old Hail VS Old Scotch
Old Trinity VS Old Xav's
St Bernards VS Uni Blues
I'll go with
Old Ivanhoe
Collegian
Scotch
Xav's
Uni BLues
OI
Collegians
OH
OX
Uni Blues
Manni & Ken
26 Apr 2007, 17:14
Oi
Dls
Os
Ox
Ub
Slay Master G
27 Apr 2007, 09:30
Collegians VS De La
Old Hail VS Old Scotch
Old Trinity VS Old Xav's
St Bernards VS Uni Blues
Old Ivanhoe
Collegians
Old Hail
Old Xav's
Uni Blues
chelsworthgale
27 Apr 2007, 09:48
Late I know but maybe some footy tipping competition? Bragging rights as major prize?
ultimate hater
27 Apr 2007, 09:52
i was reading the club reviews from the ammo's record from that guy who writes for a grade.. deadset, he is a total muppet..
chelsworthgale
27 Apr 2007, 09:58
i was reading the club reviews from the ammo's record from that guy who writes for a grade.. deadset, he is a total muppet..
couldn't agree more... how do you write that about OH, pick them as last and certain relegation material only to back them in round 1 against a side you pick as finishing 8th with a last line like "Tempted to, but won't write 'em off" and what does "they're in this up to their ears" mean?... his mug shot is also a little concerning...
JG Hornet
27 Apr 2007, 11:05
Pretty simple Numbnuts
Haileybury are playing at home, are unfurling their flag and will be fired up. As I said, I rate teams 2 to 9 pretty evenly so it's a raffle in Round 1.
As for "In this up the their ears" - well I apologise for being so difficult to understand....Spare me.
I'm changing the photo next week...I'll pay you that.
Slay Master G
27 Apr 2007, 11:54
JG Hornet
Could you get on to HQ and tell then to get the Amateur Footballer online so I can review your weekly diatribe.
Thanks
SMG
freddiefenster
27 Apr 2007, 17:44
Freddie is an unashamed Hornet fan, and can't understand how people wouldn't enjoy his weekly columns. With the decimation of Haileybury's list why not say they're a chance for relegation. Sides fall from grace you know. And I don't believe the ladder positions he predicted mean that he thinks the higher side will win every encounter. What's that line, the thing about common sense is that it isn't actually that common....
Hornet is a breath of fresh air to the usual scribes who just regurgitate the emails from the clubs/or best players & goalkickers. Hello Tommy Brain, the most boring Scribe known to man.
Keep up the good work Hornet
The Fenster
Slay Master G
29 Apr 2007, 03:31
Up watching the delayed start to the cricket world cup final.
The two B Grade promotees shoot straight to the top of A Grade.
Perhaps this shows the weakness of the VAFA following the "Sholly Rule".
Good to see the purple and gold in their rightful place on top of the comp. Xavs clearly the team to beat despite Cultrera. Other than Xavs, 2nd spot is very open this year. Brighton and Lions to surprise many this year. Haileybury are gone.
OI to improve once Chance Crowley gets his bowl cut enhanced with blonde tips. No stopping OI from there, especially if S Low can make it to Motel 20 Saturdays straight.
chelsworthgale
30 Apr 2007, 21:31
OI to improve once Chance Crowley gets his bowl cut enhanced with blonde tips. No stopping OI from there.
I can inform everyone that Chanz bowl hair cut is gone and he is sporting a wonderful "Britney" do... however he has spoken about sporting the Dean Polo "chunks" in the near future... how this will help OI I am unsure?
Johnny Utah #9
1 May 2007, 14:25
I can inform everyone that Chanz bowl hair cut is gone and he is sporting a wonderful "Britney" do... however he has spoken about sporting the Dean Polo "chunks" in the near future... how this will help OI I am unsure?
Does Chance still sleep with the light on?
The Big Pineapple
1 May 2007, 14:54
Does Chance still sleep with the light on?
No. Chanz has decided to go Carbon Neutral.
The Big Cat is one over-rated player, he is lucky to get a game in my eyes. The guy has talent dont get me wrong, but maybe if he kept his mind on the field he might do better, instead of chasing skirt on a Friday night
Slay Master G
3 May 2007, 11:27
The Big Cat is one over-rated player, he is lucky to get a game in my eyes. The guy has talent dont get me wrong, but maybe if he kept his mind on the field he might do better, instead of chasing skirt on a Friday night
You are a clown KK.
The Big Cat is one of the top 5 forwards in the comp along with Handley, Gertsman, etc. I know for a fact that he didn't drink for 8 weeks leading in to the season, so don't know why he would do that and then get boozed the night before round 1.
I am ashamed of myself for buying into this however, feel that I should say something considering a lot of amatuer people read this site. Not sure who you are KoolKat, but to suggest that the big cat goes out the night before a game is laughable. Pull your head in you muppet! You do yourself no favours by getting on here and posting lies.
PS I suggest that you watch the results very closely over the next few weeks. PPS Tell us who you are clown.......
Handsome.B.Wonderful
3 May 2007, 13:07
I am ashamed of myself for buying into this however, feel that I should say something considering a lot of amatuer people read this site. Not sure who you are KoolKat, but to suggest that the big cat goes out the night before a game is laughable. Pull your head in you muppet! You do yourself no favours by getting on here and posting lies.
PS I suggest that you watch the results very closely over the next few weeks. PPS Tell us who you are clown.......
Get off the turps Big Cat. KoolKat told me you turned up half cut from a night at the Albion and refused to drop loose in the backline resulting in an 11-1 goal first quarter.
The Big Cat is one of the top 5 forwards in the comp along with Handley, Gertsman, etc.
who are your ect's????
just interested to see who your top 5 is
chelsworthgale
3 May 2007, 14:11
who are your ect's????
just interested to see who your top 5 is
The big man Toovey must be in there for sure... bucket hands and can kick an accurate ball a country mile.
JG Hornet
3 May 2007, 14:21
Well said Big Cat.
Don't let some childish charlatan spread such salacious scandal
Can play the Big Cat. Go get 'em Tiger!
BrianSpeaking
3 May 2007, 15:57
Well said Big Cat.
Don't let some childish charlatan spread such salacious scandal
Can play the Big Cat. Go get 'em Tiger!
Hornet, still waiting for you to repay Dwyer and get down to SKOB with the Rock. In other news, great to see VAFA champ of Uni Blues fame Ross Young elevated to Carltons senior list today. Word on the big footy streets is a debut this weekend.
Hornet, any chance you can grace the B and C boards of BF???
JG Hornet
3 May 2007, 16:30
Brian
I'll be back old son, don't you worry one bit.
They giving you grief down there mate? Lots of riff raff lurk in those threads.
We miss you in A Section Brian, the "Shock jock" calls, your observations on goal umpire training - they were the days my friend.
All the best
JGH
BrianSpeaking
3 May 2007, 17:37
H, thanks for the quick reply. I cant really bag the umps now as my namesake is doing a super duper job running that establishment, and of course numbers there are returning to the glory days. In fact, I was minding my own business down at Brindisi last week and was pleasantly surprised to observe some particulary sexy female bounday umpires in the senior game. Our good friend Brian Goodman must be commended for his keen eye in spotting talent when it comes to VAFA female umpires, I think we all agree that the one well known field umpire of the female variety can be seen scratching her nuts during matches, so good on Benny for bringing some 7 out of 10 lookers to the game.
What are your big footy predictions for A this year, and dont hold back, this aint the Ammo football record...
For me, so many crappy sides in A Section it will he hard to pick who takes the drop, perhaps any outside the top 5 will be a chance?
JG Hornet
3 May 2007, 18:06
Brian
You love it. Your namesake is, despite his diminutive stature and extraordinary hair situation, a super smooth major player in the female recruiting stakes. i miss on dulcet tones on the wireless - he truly was the Steve Price of Sunday morning community radio, playing Barker to Tom Brain's Corbett.
Brian you should know better than to question my predictions. Xavs easily. Wildcards are Blues, Brighton and Wesley. Saw the Collegians/De la and was quite happy with the standard on offer.
All the best Speaking
The BC- I said the Big Cat has got talent, but he has failed to do it on several occasions especially when the team has needed him, he was captain in a couple of games last year and I thought he was a bit lucky with that. With probably not great delivery this year, he might struggle again thats all. I will look very CLOESLY over the next few weeks with his results and with team also!
The Tiger's Nuts
3 May 2007, 21:52
I think we all agree that the one well known field umpire of the female variety can be seen scratching her nuts during matches
Now THAT won't make Umpires Corner in next weeks AF...
Tigernuts
Reveller's Royalty
3 May 2007, 22:45
I was with a ten news reporter this afternoon, he had some interesting news on a player from old scotch, rumours have it that melbourne have eyed off Shaun Lorenzini as a possible prospect. Fact!
Benny MOF
3 May 2007, 23:11
I was with a ten news reporter this afternoon, he had some interesting news on a player from old scotch, rumours have it that melbourne have eyed off Shaun Lorenzini as a possible prospect. Fact!
Melbourne could do with half of Old Xavs list atm, but why would they eye off an unknown Scotch player.
BarryDawson
4 May 2007, 00:03
Melbourne could do with half of Old Xavs list atm, but why would they eye off an unknown Scotch player.
Agreed, Melbourne could use any Vafa player down to about D2 ATM.
He goes about his business very quietly and is watched like a hawk by almost every team.
Still sounds like BS though
BrianSpeaking
4 May 2007, 04:05
This does have some little part of footy in it...
THE PERFECT DAY FOR HER…
8:15 Wake up to hugs and kisses
8:30 Weigh-in 2 kgs lighter than yesterday
8:45 Breakfast in bed—freshly squeezed orange juice and
croissants; open presents- expensive jewellery chosen by
thoughtful partner
9:15 Soothing hot bath with frangipani bath oil
10:00 Light work-out at club with sexy, funny personal trainer
10:30 Facial, manicure, makeup application, shampoo, condition,
blow wave
12:00 Lunch with best friend at fashionable outdoor café
12:45 Catch sight of partner’s ex and notice that she has gained
17 kgs
1:00 Shopping with friends: unlimited credit
3:00 Nap
4:00 Three dozen roses delivered by florist; card is from
secret admirer
4:15 Massage from strong but gentle hunk—says he rarely gets
to work on such a perfect body
5:30 Choose outfit from expensive designer wardrobe
7:30 Candlelit dinner for two followed by dancing, with compliments
received from other diners/ dancers
10:00 Hot shower- alone
10:50 Carried to bed… freshly ironed, crisp, white linen
11:00 Pillow talk, light touching and cuddling
11:15 Fall asleep in his big, strong arms
THE PERFECT DAY FOR HIM…
6:00 Alarm
6:15 Blow job
6:30 Massive, satisfying shit while reading the sports section
7:00 Breakfast—steak and eggs, coffee and toast—all cooked by naked,
buxom wench who bends over a lot showing her growler
7:30 Limo arrives
7:45 Several beers en route to the airport
9:15 Flight in personal Lear jet
9:30 Limo to Mirage Resort Golf Club (blow job en-route)
9:45 Play front nine (2 under par)
11:45 Lunch—steak and lobster, 3 beers and bottle of Dom Perignon
12:15 Blow job
12:30 Play back nine (4 under)
2:15 Limo back to airport (several bourbons)
2:30 Fly to Bahamas
3:30 Late afternoon fishing expedition with all-female crew, all nude
who also bend over a lot showing their growlers
4:30 Land world record Marlin (1234lbs)—on light tackle
5:00 Fly home, massage and hand job by naked Elle MacPherson
(bending over showing her growler, naturally)
6:45 Shit, shower and shave
7:00 Watch news—Michael Jackson assassinated
7:30 Dinner—lobster appetisers, Dom Perignon (1953), big juicy
fillet steak followed by ice cream served on a big pair of tits
9:00 Napoleon Brandy and Habanos cigars in front of wall-sized TV
as you watch football game
9:30 Sex with three women, all with lesbian tendencies
11:00 Massage and Jacuzzi with tasty pizza snacks and a cleansing beer
11:30 Night-cap blow job
11:45 In bed alone
11:50 A 22-second fart which changes note 4 times and forces the dog to leave the room
11:51 Laugh yourself to sleep
chelsworthgale
4 May 2007, 10:01
I'll be happy to tag this all year...
Round 1 Results
Holding - 3 winners
Brianspeaking - 3
Chelsworthgale - 2
Manni & Ken - 2
Slay Master G - 4
Penski - 2
Ladder after Round 1
Slay Master G - 4
Brianspeaking - 3
Holding - 3 winners
Chelsworthgale - 2
Manni & Ken - 2
Penski - 2
chelsworthgale
4 May 2007, 10:04
Round 2...
OI
OX
UB
DLS
OB
Ron Hitler Barassi
4 May 2007, 11:40
Thanks for the update Mrs Lorenzini
Round 2...
OI
OX
UB
DLS
OB
Mine for this week
Collegians
Xav's
Old Trinity
Bernards
Scotch
Round 2 predictions
Collegians
Xav's
Uni Blues
STB
OB
Slay Master G
4 May 2007, 13:59
Coll
Xav
UB
Bernards
Brighton
BrianSpeaking
4 May 2007, 14:31
Coll
Xav
UB
Bernards
Brighton
Purple people
Blues
Xavier
Pitters
The Tonners
Joe Dirt
4 May 2007, 19:30
Missed last week but better late than never.
Coll
OX
UB
DLS
OB
chelsworthgale
5 May 2007, 00:37
Missed last week but better late than never.
Coll
OX
UB
DLS
OB
you can have the away teams... 2
Slay Master G
7 May 2007, 16:07
Kool Kat
You are a muppet. Clearly not much clue when it comes to the amateur game.
Well done Big Cat in kicking 5 in a losing side.
Kool Kat
You are a muppet. Clearly not much clue when it comes to the amateur game.
Well done Big Cat in kicking 5 in a losing side.
Kudos to the Big Cat.
I heard the "bookend" in David Beardsley (the man with the lowest skinfolds in the VAFA) was knocked out during the game whilst Richie Burrows tore a pectoral muscle as well. That'll require a bigger team of surgeons than the ones who separated those siamese twins on Grey's Anatomy last night (I know sad - what married life can do to a man).
Opportunities aplenty for OTs, who will click once the young fellas find their feet. Looking at the ladder early, I think it could be the first time in living memory that a premiership side ends up getting relegated the next year!!
PS - Kool Kat, you make Kermit, Miss Piggy, Scooter and Dr Bunsen Honeydoo look 2nd rate.
chelsworthgale
7 May 2007, 22:23
Round 2 Results
Holding - 1 winners
Brianspeaking - 3
Chelsworthgale - 5
Manni & Ken - 1 (away teams)
Slay Master G - 3
Penski - 3
Joe Dirt - 4
OC37 - 4
Ladder after Round 2
Chelsworthgale - 2+5=7
Slay Master G - 4+3=7
Brianspeaking - 3+3=6
Joe Dirt - 2+4=6
OC37 - 2+4=6
Penski - 2+3=5
Holding - 3+1=4
Manni & Ken - 2+1=3
Note: Joe Dirt and OC37 got away teams for round 1 (2 winners)
I ****ing suck at this tipping
Need to lift!!
chelsworthgale
7 May 2007, 22:47
I ****ing suck at this tipping
Need to lift!!
you gotta stop tipping OT's :p
And bloody Scotch (althought i did think they were a massive chance against OB for some reason)
jesusjnr23
8 May 2007, 11:10
Get off the turps Big Cat. KoolKat told me you turned up half cut from a night at the Albion and refused to drop loose in the backline resulting in an 11-1 goal first quarter.
exactly right Mr. Wonderful...the big cat needs to take his football more seriously instead of continuing his womanising ways at the albion on friday nights with Arthur and Rocky
Kudos to the Big Cat.
I heard the "bookend" in David Beardsley (the man with the lowest skinfolds in the VAFA) was knocked out during the game whilst Richie Burrows tore a pectoral muscle as well. That'll require a bigger team of surgeons than the ones who separated those siamese twins on Grey's Anatomy last night (I know sad - what married life can do to a man).
Opportunities aplenty for OTs, who will click once the young fellas find their feet. Looking at the ladder early, I think it could be the first time in living memory that a premiership side ends up getting relegated the next year!!
PS - Kool Kat, you make Kermit, Miss Piggy, Scooter and Dr Bunsen Honeydoo look 2nd rate.
I always said he was a good player, with a few players leaving he needs to stand up!!! Looks like he did on the weekend, but its still early on in the season, lets hope he continues his good form
Joe Dirt
9 May 2007, 20:48
Looking to generate some discussion here
1} Anyone care to offer an early prediction on the grand final result.
2} Anyone seen any major stengths or weaknesses appear in certain teams from players lost or gained?
3} Which coaches are 'under the pump' in 2007?
4} Early selections for the Woodrow?
If anyone is interested, my answers are...
1} Prepared to stick with my pre season selection of Xavs and DLS to play off in the big one. Can't remember which one I chose as the winner, but I think it's ominous (and concerning for the rest) how well OX have gone early. Notorious in the last few years for starting a bit slowly and coming good towards the end, the appear to have already reached that level. DLS had a slip up in round 1, but they'll be hard to beat in every home game and still have a number of their best out. However come that one day in September, I'll predict now, Xavs at the -60.5 line.
2} May be wrong, but UB look very suspect down back, little bit short and just some average players back there. Bernards new ruckman looks alright but they don't appear to have a backup. Handley has a touch of experience on his side now and is only going to get better and better. Scary!
3} (Keep in mind this is purely a results perspective, I don't know the individual relationships each coach has with their clubs)
- Phil Gaut (OT) - I just can't see them winning many games, which pours pressure on a coach.
- John Canis (UB) - The club may see that their 'premiership clock' reads 2.15, and he needs to convince them he can build a top rate team within 2 years. As we know in Ammos, there is no 'bottoming out' for draft picks that all these AFL teams crap on about these days. Canis may be looking for a new challenge himself after doing a super job with a formerly 'there but not there' club.
- Simon Madden (STB) - Horribly inconsistent in '05 and '06 as well as round 1&2 this year. Last year beat every team bar one (including all finalists) but only beat 1 team twice and finished down the track again. Has put a good list together, but it needs to deliver. The club has former GF coach Foulds in as an assistant, is this a sign of their direction???
- Andrew Kenneally (Coll) - This may seem odd for last years B premier, but this club seems to have enormous expectations of themselves, where does the finger point if things don't go the way they forsee??
4} A bit left field, but I think Handley may kick too many goals and demand too many votes...
Feel free to rebut
JD
bob down
9 May 2007, 22:36
2} Anyone seen any major stengths or weaknesses appear in certain teams from players lost or gained?
1} Prepared to stick with my pre season selection of Xavs and DLS to play off in the big one. Can't remember which one I chose as the winner, but I think it's ominous (and concerning for the rest) how well OX have gone early. Notorious in the last few years for starting a bit slowly and coming good towards the end, the appear to have already reached that level. DLS had a slip up in round 1, but they'll be hard to beat in every home game and still have a number of their best out. However come that one day in September, I'll predict now, Xavs at the -60.5 line.
2} May be wrong, but UB look very suspect down back, little bit short and just some average players back there. Bernards new ruckman looks alright but they don't appear to have a backup. Handley has a touch of experience on his side now and is only going to get better and better. Scary!
3} (Keep in mind this is purely a results perspective, I don't know the individual relationships each coach has with their clubs)
- Phil Gaut (OT) - I just can't see them winning many games, which pours pressure on a coach.
- John Canis (UB) - The club may see that their 'premiership clock' reads 2.15, and he needs to convince them he can build a top rate team within 2 years. As we know in Ammos, there is no 'bottoming out' for draft picks that all these AFL teams crap on about these days. Canis may be looking for a new challenge himself after doing a super job with a formerly 'there but not there' club.
- Simon Madden (STB) - Horribly inconsistent in '05 and '06 as well as round 1&2 this year. Last year beat every team bar one (including all finalists) but only beat 1 team twice and finished down the track again. Has put a good list together, but it needs to deliver. The club has former GF coach Foulds in as an assistant, is this a sign of their direction???
- Andrew Kenneally (Coll) - This may seem odd for last years B premier, but this club seems to have enormous expectations of themselves, where does the finger point if things don't go the way they forsee??
4} A bit left field, but I think Handley may kick too many goals and demand too many votes...
Feel free to rebut
JD
Who cares, go to the B Section thread.
Monkeyboy
9 May 2007, 23:09
Feel free to rebut
JD
Agree with Xavs. Seen them this year and they look great. Lynch, Handley, Bye, Graham, McCarthy are handy big guys. Arnold, Ockleshaw, Fleming, Chatfield, Scanlon, Clarke, Colbert, Johnston, Bingham are guns. Then there is another 20 odd very good players.
chelsworthgale
9 May 2007, 23:28
Who cares, go to the B Section thread.
too many St Bogan Men-toss personal on that thread for my liking... however it can be an entertaining read at times :p
Arthur Fonzarelli
10 May 2007, 00:20
Feel free to rebut
JD
very early GF prediction: Blues v Brighton with xavs being the prelim loser.
ultimate hater
10 May 2007, 14:49
big game down at the beach with brighton hosting xavs..
should be a good indication for brighton to see where they are at against the best..
thoughts on the result anyone?
its an ominous home ground advantage down by the beach. Will the small, windy ground be hard for xavs to adapt or are they good no matter what ground they play on?
holding
10 May 2007, 16:43
big game down at the beach with brighton hosting xavs..
should be a good indication for brighton to see where they are at against the best..
thoughts on the result anyone?
its an ominous home ground advantage down by the beach. Will the small, windy ground be hard for xavs to adapt or are they good no matter what ground they play on?
Xav's by 8 goals
OB are a handy side and will def be playing A Grade next year but Xav's will be way to strong for them i think
chelsworthgale
11 May 2007, 08:57
Round 3 tips
OX
OS
DLS
UB
STB
Xavs
Oi
De La
Uni Blues