View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43

Slay Master G
11 May 2007, 12:50
OB (upset on the cards, but I believe OB are pretty bloody good)
OI
OT
UB
Col

Blueboys11
11 May 2007, 14:17
Tipping against your own team Chelsworth???

holding
11 May 2007, 15:08
Ox
Os
Dls
Ub
Col

chelsworthgale
11 May 2007, 15:50
Tipping against your own team Chelsworth???

holding is doing the same... I will backing the pies too this weekend... i will happliy conceed a tip in both competitions to ensure I have a happy weekend!

Manni & Ken
11 May 2007, 16:29
Xavs
Oi
De La
Uni Blues
Collegians
^^ for me.

Joe Dirt
11 May 2007, 18:18
UB
DLS
OX
OS
Coll

BrianSpeaking
11 May 2007, 18:38
Brian says:
OX
OS
De La
UB
Coll

Frederik Kanoute
11 May 2007, 19:45
I know its late but I'll take a few this week:

UB
DLS
OX
OS
STB

holding
11 May 2007, 20:30
I know its late but I'll take a few this week:

UB
DLS
OX
OS
STB

It's only to late when the siren sounds at 2.00 tomorrow frederik

mfc11
12 May 2007, 18:40
Big 41 point win for Old Brighton over Old Xavs!!!

The MC
13 May 2007, 11:27
G'day guys,
First post on this thing - hopefully many more to come.

Good to see OT's post their first win of the season. With four debutants in the team trinity were a very young side, put up a convincing show against the hard running De La.

Very impressive win also by OB's - too soon to call flag favourites??

holding
13 May 2007, 11:58
Big 41 point win for Old Brighton over Old Xavs!!!

I had my doubts about OB but they are obviously the real deal this year, congradulations on a good win.

The MC - probably a little early, sides like Xav's amd blues tend to hit really good form about round 8

nicho_magic
13 May 2007, 14:58
cannot beleive old brighton got up. go collegians as well

waveofthefuture
13 May 2007, 15:24
Very impressive win also by OB's - too soon to call flag favourites??

FAR to soon...

nicho_magic
13 May 2007, 19:57
convincing win to collegians today at the VAFA headquarters showing that they will be there abouts this year.

Hummer12
14 May 2007, 11:52
Old Scotch were woeful. They need a midfield otherwise they will be enjoying a season in the magoos next year

Destination A Grade
14 May 2007, 12:17
Played at Old Scotch on the weekend and the ground is a disgrace. Speaking with a few people (including umpires), and the general consensus is that it was very close to not passing the pre-game inspection.

It is closer to a paddock than a football ground.

Blueboys11
14 May 2007, 13:34
it was very patchy, but to be expected i suppose.

More concerned about the footies we are using. The one used in the scoth/ivan game resembled an oversized rock rather than an inflated ball. Why dont we use similar balls that they use in the afl with a bit of give in them. I know the cost is very similar.

First kick i got, i thought i'd broken my foot. Luckily, i didnt get many kicks or else i wouldnt of been able to walk for a week.....

Frederik Kanoute
14 May 2007, 13:50
does anyone know why headquaters is dry as a bone? the middle was a rock yesterday and the flanks were a dust bowl. surely the vafa could have got exemptions for watering it. it's gonna be wretched for finals footy come september

Concrete boots
14 May 2007, 14:04
Pretty sure the VAFA have no control over the watering of E-Park as they lease the ground from the council who have the final say. I think the area upon which the offices stand is also leased, notwithstanding the fact the Ammos spent money in refurbishing them.

Not a peep on the forum about De La going down to an OT unit fielding 4 debutants from the U19s....what does this say about the boys from East Malvern???

The Big Pineapple
14 May 2007, 14:09

More concerned about the footies we are using. The one used in the scoth/ivan game resembled an oversized rock rather than an inflated ball. Why dont we use similar balls that they use in the afl with a bit of give in them. I know the cost is very similar.

First kick i got, i thought i'd broken my foot. Luckily, i didnt get many kicks or else i wouldnt of been able to walk for a week.....

Probably a little precious Blue boy... our footys have been fine.

ultimate hater
14 May 2007, 15:19

yeh agreed.. they are very much rock like.. i know the umps let some air out at half time during the ob v ox match but still was quite hard i believe.. i guess it allowed that mccarthy bloke to have an excuse for his absolutely woeful kicking.. astonishing really..

Nigel Roberts
14 May 2007, 16:22
Great tipping SMG, your knowledge of the VAFA has certainly not waned since moving north my friend

The Big Pineapple
14 May 2007, 16:44
Great tipping SMG, your knowledge of the VAFA has certainly not waned since moving north my friend

It's nice to see you have finally sobered up since Sydney Nigel!

freddiefenster
14 May 2007, 16:58
Will Nicho see out the year at McKinnon? Tips on which VAFA club he'll find himself at in 2008?

De La?

chelsworthgale
14 May 2007, 19:51
Played at Old Scotch on the weekend and the ground is a disgrace. Speaking with a few people (including umpires), and the general consensus is that it was very close to not passing the pre-game inspection.

It is closer to a paddock than a football ground.

Couldn't agree more! I'm sure the two OI blokes needing knee reco's wont take any consolation out of that...

accurate1
15 May 2007, 10:50
chesworthgale, who were the two knee reco's ?

Concrete boots
15 May 2007, 16:43
Will Nicho see out the year at McKinnon? Tips on which VAFA club he'll find himself at in 2008?

De La?

If I had my way, it would be STBMT - they'd be a perfect fit!!!

chelsworthgale
15 May 2007, 17:24
Round 3 Results
Holding - 2
Brianspeaking - 2
Chelsworthgale - 1
Manni & Ken - 3
Slay Master G - 5
Penski - 3
Joe Dirt - 2
OC37 - 3
Frederik Kanoute - 1

Ladder after Round 3
Slay Master G - 4+3+5=12
OC37 - 2+4+3=9
Brianspeaking - 3+3+2=8
Chelsworthgale - 2+5+1=8
Joe Dirt - 2+4+2=8
Penski - 2+3+3=8
Holding - 3+1+2=6
Manni & Ken - 2+1+3=6
Frederik Kanoute - 2+1+1=4

Note: Frederik Kanoute got away teams for round 1 & 2 (2 & 1 winners)

No more entries... 9 is enough to keep tabs of!

chelsworthgale
15 May 2007, 17:28
chesworthgale, who were the two knee reco's ?

They'll be easy to spot, they'll be there on Thursday night training sampling Chez and Kaz's fine cooking while sinking a few 3 Ravens beers from behind the bar

sharp shooter
16 May 2007, 13:03
How will brighton go having to travel over the river this week, will they become overwhelmed by having to travel away from there beaches

Penski
16 May 2007, 16:13
Does anyone know if there is a specific reason behond why it takes so long to get the latest edition of the "Amateur Footballer" up on the VAFA website?

Last year they were putting up each round's edition the friday afternoon before the round begins, and this week they seem to be doing it days after the round has completed (round 3 is still not up yet).

I only get to about half the games during the year so can't always get my hands on a copy.

freddiefenster
16 May 2007, 16:25
Does anyone know if there is a specific reason behond why it takes so long to get the latest edition of the "Amateur Footballer" up on the VAFA website?

Last year they were putting up each round's edition the friday afternoon before the round begins, and this week they seem to be doing it days after the round has completed (round 3 is still not up yet).

I only get to about half the games during the year so can't always get my hands on a copy.

Also the scores are up much later on a Saturday night on the hotline as compared to previous years.

What's going on down at EP?

Supergrass
16 May 2007, 17:36
How will brighton go having to travel over the river this week, will they become overwhelmed by having to travel away from there beaches

Ripe for the pickings you would suggest. Seems as though the Uni fellows are just starting to warm up. Should be an enthralling contest that one.

walshy21
16 May 2007, 18:54
Where does everyone think Old Scotch will finish this year?

God Yeah
16 May 2007, 20:53
De La looked very dodgy last week v's OT, OT long and direct and paid dividends, De La possibly working on their tans.

Me thinks it's time to promote some seasoned twos players and rest some of the younger brigade in the 19's, with the comp as close as results so far, wins may be at a premium.

Drizer
16 May 2007, 23:34
Couldn't agree more! I'm sure the two OI blokes needing knee reco's wont take any consolation out of that...

Is this fair dinkum? Having been through a knee reco i feel for those blokes if it's true, wouldn't wish it upon anyone.

Even though it could be a shocking coincidence that a team could have 2 blokes go down with knees in one game, Scotch's ground has been unacceptable for years (wet or dry). Whoever has control down there (I imagine council?) has no idea of how to convert a cricket ground into a football ground and year after year it's a shocking strip to run out on.

For those of us that won't be graceing Pine Lodge on Thursday evening, can you divulge any names as to who these injuries might be?

chelsworthgale
17 May 2007, 00:28
Is this fair dinkum? Having been through a knee reco i feel for those blokes if it's true, wouldn't wish it upon anyone.

Even though it could be a shocking coincidence that a team could have 2 blokes go down with knees in one game, Scotch's ground has been unacceptable for years (wet or dry). Whoever has control down there (I imagine council?) has no idea of how to convert a cricket ground into a football ground and year after year it's a shocking strip to run out on.

For those of us that won't be graceing Pine Lodge on Thursday evening, can you divulge any names as to who these injuries might be?

I don't think the two lads would want their names floating around an anonymous footy forum :p However they are pretty shattered considering it's round 3 & the season is looking good for the big men from the Lodge

Gil McLaughlins Horse
17 May 2007, 10:06

Word has been filtered to me from a few Bernards players that EP on the weekend was as hard as Glenhuntly Road. Allegedly the ground hadnt been watered in 3 weeks due to malfunction with overnight sprinkler system.

Quicker they get to Victoria park the better.

MurphysLaw
17 May 2007, 16:01
Gill-
Lets just say that De La's ground the week before was almost (repeat Almost) better....

Super_Dal
17 May 2007, 16:09
I trained on EP last night and also played on it a couple weeks ago....

i didnt think the surface there was too bad at all compared to other grounds...

daniel's mate
17 May 2007, 17:23
brett carson returning for O.H will make a big difference.

he is the heart & soul of the club

oc37
17 May 2007, 17:28
OI
Collegians
UB
De La
OC

Concrete boots
17 May 2007, 17:38

Yeah - Fluff will probably be the difference between a 6 goal defeat and a 10 goal belting at the hands of a pumped up De La Salle.

Who are we kidding here? OH had their B section pass for 2008 stamped during the off-season when their mercenaries left with their medals in one hand and a map to the nearest country club with cash to splash in the other.

If Carson is the heart and soul of OH, then "Foo" ate the rest of the club's body by mistake.

Penski
18 May 2007, 09:14
Tips: -

OI
COLL
UB
DE LA
XAVS

chelsworthgale
18 May 2007, 09:51
Round 4 Tips

OI
COLL
OB
DLS
OX

South East Young Gun
18 May 2007, 11:19

Wasn't Carson dropped for the 2005 Preliminary Final?

Frederik Kanoute
18 May 2007, 14:01
Stb
Oc
Ub
Dls
Ox

Manni & Ken
18 May 2007, 14:33
Round 4 Tips

OI
COLL
OB
DLS
OX
What he said.

MurphysLaw
18 May 2007, 14:45
Bernies will be looking to one of their experienced seniors to have an impact against ivanhoe this week after kicking 6.4 in the magoos last week....Well done Gill, youre a superstar (although an anonymous (http://www.google.com.au/search?hl=en&sa=X&oi=spell&resnum=0&ct=result&cd=1&q=anonymous&spell=1) one).
ML

Gil McLaughlins Horse
18 May 2007, 14:57
Bernies will be looking to one of their experienced seniors to have an impact against ivanhoe this week after kicking 6.4 in the magoos last week....Well done Gill, youre a superstar (although an anonymous (http://www.google.com.au/search?hl=en&sa=X&oi=spell&resnum=0&ct=result&cd=1&q=anonymous&spell=1) one).
ML

I have heard the rumours that you think im the one Clanger Mitchell, however you diggings are mis-guided Murph. Close though.

...and yes it will be interesting to see the big fella back tomorrow firing after his first game in 6 mths.

Vafa06
18 May 2007, 16:39
ML

Good luck against OI Gill.

MurphysLaw
18 May 2007, 17:07
Hows the hand bocca?

Joe Dirt
18 May 2007, 18:34
Round 4

Ivanhoe
Collegians
Blues
De La
Xavs

holding
18 May 2007, 19:59
My tips

OI
Coll
UB
DLS
OX

soupsey
18 May 2007, 20:30
Bout time someone with a worthwhile comment, with just a hint of venom! Hear Hear my friend. I'm involved with two's footy and have never played a worse side than their magoos. Just horrible!

chelsworthgale
19 May 2007, 20:52
Round 4 Results
Chelsworthgale - 4
Frederik Kanoute - 4
Manni & Ken - 4
Penski - 3
OC37 - 2
Slay Master G - 2
Holding - 3
Joe Dirt - 3
Brianspeaking - 2

Ladder after Round 4
Slay Master G - 4+3+5+2=14
Chelsworthgale - 2+5+1+4=12
Joe Dirt - 2+4+2+3=11
OC37 - 2+4+3+2=11
Penski - 2+3+3+3=11
Brianspeaking - 3+3+2+2=10
Manni & Ken - 2+1+3+4=10
Holding - 3+1+2+3=9
Frederik Kanoute - 2+1+1+4=8

Note: Slay Master G & Brianspeaking got away teams for this round.

big_slick
20 May 2007, 20:54

De La?

Nico ain't going anywhere, just associating his name with them is insulting

MurphysLaw
21 May 2007, 14:59
Sensational Win for bernies at pine lodge....
Freddie had a lazy 37 stats and still failed to get in the best...boo

Supergrass
22 May 2007, 10:59

Who's Freddie?

Last time I checked he was lagered up in a paddle boat in the Caribbean island of St Lucia unaccompanied by his English teammates.

Drizzle
22 May 2007, 11:30

Just keeping the K man under wraps murph. Interested in the reaction/excuses from the Ivanhoe crew after what they obviously thought was going to be a walkover. After being slaughtered by an 18 year old second gamer perhaps Stevo should look at channelling his efforts at the game rather than lifestyle discussions with the Bernards travelling cheer squad

MurphysLaw
22 May 2007, 12:08
I think stevo should also spend some time/effort on getting the tight brown bum huggers out from his decending colon.

Freddie- c u on thursday morning for some 'reds' glory, tipping stevie G to bring home the silverware with a double.

Frederik Kanoute
22 May 2007, 15:21
Can't wait for thursday, gonna be a ripper.

Stevo copped one of the better comebacks in ammo's

Stevo: Stop swearing, ur setting a bad example for the kids

Annonymous supporter: Stop playing like shit, UR setting a bad example for the kids

Did get smashed by one of the bernards young guns in only his second game. look forward to more of it

Dee Snider
22 May 2007, 15:57
[quote=MurphysLaw;7603371]I think stevo should also spend some time/effort on getting the tight brown bum huggers out from his decending colon.

They are tightest pair of shorts I have seen this side of Spearmint Rhino. Seriously, there is something wrong there....

Blueboys11
22 May 2007, 16:26
Stevo did kick 2 last 1/4 goals and almost single handedly one the game for the Hoes up forward in the last 1/4. Not sure where the 2 game wonder was when that was happening.....

Drizzle
22 May 2007, 17:40
Stevo did kick 2 last 1/4 goals and almost single handedly one the game for the Hoes up forward in the last 1/4. Not sure where the 2 game wonder was when that was happening.....

Up the other end kicking the game winner

Jascave
22 May 2007, 20:22
What are the odds for an Old Brighton A-Section premiership, when everyone thought it would be yet another flag to Old Xavs? The best time to judge Old Brighton would be come round 15 because that when we get a real idea of who's playing finals, and who's relegated to B Section for 2008.

Concrete boots
22 May 2007, 20:32
What are the odds for an Old Brighton A-Section premiership, when everyone thought it would be yet another flag to Old Xavs? The best time to judge Old Brighton would be come round 15 because that when we get a real idea of who's playing finals, and who's relegated to B Section for 2008.

Odd.

Why would you state the best time to judge OB would be round 15, then ask what their odds for the flag are after round 4?

On the basis of your claim, we shouldn't put odds on it until the end of July.

Very odd.

Jascave
22 May 2007, 21:02
Because, Round 15 over the years gives you an idea who will be playing finals, and who is relegated. Interesting to read the comments made by Jonathan Horn when he compared teams (ie Whitefriars, in 2002) down the years who defeated Old Xaverians in the past and think they are world-beaters, have earned the respect of everyone in A section, yet come the month when it really matters-September, Old Xavs are playing off for yet another A section premiership, while the other side that beat Xavs are already booking their September holidays. So, even though Old Brighton are off to a grat start, let's wait and see come Round 15.

holding
23 May 2007, 00:52
way to early to tell but it is very interesting and much closer than first thought.

OB couldn't have wished for a better start to the year but OS won the first 6 last year then struggled.

oc37
23 May 2007, 03:15
Tips
De LA
UB
OI
St B
Coll

some upsets here- could make or break and this time i will watch my dyslexic typing which cost me a tip last week (typed a c instead of an x= OC)

The Human Keg
23 May 2007, 08:50
I read in the paper that Old Scotch surrendered a 25 point lead in the 3/4 quarter to lose by 47. Are they the biggest bunch of downhill skiers that have ever graced A section? Can't wait until we get them.

Supergrass
23 May 2007, 10:18
way to early to tell but it is very interesting and much closer than first thought.

OB couldn't have wished for a better start to the year but OS won the first 6 last year then struggled.

The jury is still out on Old Brighton. Far too early to be pencilling in the finals spot, it's a long season.

They do have quite a reasonable home groud advantage that works in their favour though.

Frederik Kanoute
23 May 2007, 13:24
i think coz its so close this year and plenty of "different" results already, you might only need 10 or 11 wins to get in and we might be waiting for the last 2 or 3 rounds to pencill anyone in

Boy George
23 May 2007, 22:10
Hello fellow members, just a quick question for you all that play in the VAFA comp.

Is body contacted allowed yet in your comp? After seeing your finals footy a couple of years ago l couldn't believe how many cats there were out there?
Do all you blokes still go out to high society night spots and pretend to be someone when your not or has all this changed?

Anyway fellow fags could you just let me know...........:eek:

holding
23 May 2007, 23:47
Anyway fellow fags could you just let me know...........:eek:

HAHA you idiot

Boy George
23 May 2007, 23:47
HAHA you idiot

Cheers. ;)

God Yeah
24 May 2007, 11:41
De La should put up a good fight down at Brighton this week, have a sound record but the confidence of the OB could just win out.

Get to the ground if your in the area!!!

De La in twos by 5 goals.

Penski
24 May 2007, 12:19
De La should put up a good fight down at Brighton this week, have a sound record but the confidence of the OB could just win out.

Get to the ground if your in the area!!!

De La in twos by 5 goals.

De La will be an outside chance if there is no wind. If the wind's blowing (like it does 90% of the time), no one plays it better than OB and i don't think De La can win.

holding
24 May 2007, 22:48
My tips for this week, going for some smokies to catch up a bit

OB
OS
COll
OI
Bernies at home

chelsworthgale
24 May 2007, 23:04
tips:

OB to beat DLS
UB to beat OS
COLL to beat OH
OI to beat OX
STB to beat OT

Manni & Ken
24 May 2007, 23:09
DLS
UB
Coll
OX
STB

Benny MOF
24 May 2007, 23:41
OB
Uni
Coll
OX
OT

Frederik Kanoute
24 May 2007, 23:59
ob
ub
col
ox
stb

Penski
25 May 2007, 09:25
OB
UB
COLL
OX
StB

Joe Dirt
25 May 2007, 16:47
Bernards
Xavs
DLS
Blues
HAILEYBURY

Slay Master G
25 May 2007, 19:23
Brighton
Uni
Lions
Xavs
OT

BrianSpeaking
26 May 2007, 01:18
Brighton
Uni
Lions
OX
Pitters

Monkeyboy
26 May 2007, 22:42
How deep does the Xavs list run. No Ockleshaw or Graham today, but i saw 5-6 guys i hadn't seen last year. Some new massive ruckman, Howard, 15, 27, Tehan and a few others. Looked young and quick, with great biggies like McCarthy, Lynch and Handley. Only saw first half but they looked awesome. Ivanhoe looked crap. Relegation material for me unless they were missing a few.

chelsworthgale
26 May 2007, 23:30
How deep does the Xavs list run. No Ockleshaw or Graham today, but i saw 5-6 guys i hadn't seen last year. Some new massive ruckman, Howard, 15, 27, Tehan and a few others. Looked young and quick, with great biggies like McCarthy, Lynch and Handley. Only saw first half but they looked awesome. Ivanhoe looked crap. Relegation material for me unless they were missing a few.

missing quite a few... butler, weddle, stevens & baldwin... first half destroyed but second very much even with Xavs winning the half 6.9 to 6.6...

hardly relegation material especially with the likes of OH, OT and OS however the latter always seems to find something when in relegation danger.

chelsworthgale
27 May 2007, 13:23
Round 5 Results
Chelsworthgale - 3
Frederik Kanoute - 4
Manni & Ken - 4
Penski - 4
OC37 - 3
Slay Master G - 3
Holding - 2
Joe Dirt - 3
Brianspeaking - 4

Ladder after Round 5
Slay Master G - 4+3+5+2+3 =17
Chelsworthgale - 2+5+1+4+3 =15
Penski - 2+3+3+3+4 =15
Brianspeaking - 3+3+2+2+4 =14
Joe Dirt - 2+4+2+3+3 =14
Manni & Ken - 2+1+3+4+4 =14
OC37 - 2+4+3+2+3 =14
Frederik Kanoute - 2+1+1+4+4 =12
Holding - 3+1+2+3+2 =11

Note: OB & DLS drew, hence why all the 4's weren't 5's.

holding
27 May 2007, 23:13
hardly relegation material especially with the likes of OH, OT and OS however the latter always seems to find something when in relegation danger.

OI like many seem to be very up and down, they have a quality 14-16 players but the last 4-5 seem to be a little weak

My tipping is not getting any better, no more smokies for me. OS seemed to have Uni covered for 90% of the day just let it all slip at the end so i was close but OI were never in it from all reports.

soupsey
29 May 2007, 13:19
Apparently there is a bit of joy in the twos at xavs as well. Pasceri, Rush, Mcdonnell, and a host of last years U19 grand final side? We all know though that June and July can be a real test. I'll reserve judgement until after the break. Interested to see the following quote on the OB site. " We're still on top of the ladder ahead of old xavs" What does this mean? a) v happy with themselves b) terrified of what's coming c) all of the above

Supergrass
29 May 2007, 16:13
c) in all probability.

Il Naso De Gastev
29 May 2007, 16:20
Stewart Leowe suspended???

Drizzle
29 May 2007, 16:38
Stewart Leowe suspended???

It's in the paper it must be true

Jascave
29 May 2007, 18:27
I always thought over the years that the June-July period can upset the ladder in A section (and other sections as well), because of the wet grounds and also some of the key players from the top clubs are unavaliable due to rep footy commitments. So, we'll see what happens come August.

nicho_magic
29 May 2007, 18:36
It's in the paper it must be true

yeah knocked out 2 collegians blokes apparently... lost the plot.

chelsworthgale
29 May 2007, 20:13
I always thought over the years that the June-July period can upset the ladder in A section (and other sections as well), because of the wet grounds and also some of the key players from the top clubs are unavaliable due to rep footy commitments. So, we'll see what happens come August.

we have been in drought for 10 years and the rep footy is played on footy free weekends like the bye and the queens birthday...

I reckon it is more we pass the half way mark and clubs know what to expect of each of the oppositions... ie: club coming up has played everyone and they no what to expect of the higher grade etc. OR the 8 remaining clubs from the year before suss out the new recruits etc and know how to deal with them and so on...

God Yeah
29 May 2007, 22:08
Agree with the gale, lets what the comp looks like after 8-9 rounds.

Considering that De La have not been travelling that well of late Brighton should have easily beaten them but through away a match winning lead at 3/4 time.

Who are people tipping to make the drop besides OH???

My suggestion is that OS might be heading to B for the first time in a number of years