View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43

Jascave
29 May 2007, 22:20
I know it's still a bit early to make finals predictions in A Section, but here's how I see the ladder as it stands after Round 18:

Old Xaverians
Collegians
Uni Blues
Old Brighton

De La Salle
St Bernards
Old Trinity
Old Ivanhoe
Old Haileybury
Old Scotch

Frederik Kanoute
29 May 2007, 23:53
i think OT will be down with OH this year
OB look like a fair side and OX are always always there. UB look like they've covered their losses well and will only get better as they play more footy together. The rest is a raffle although OS could be rubbish (haven't seen them yet). That leaves STB, DLS, OC and OI fighting for the last remaining finals spot

I see it as

OX
OB
UB
STB
DLS
OC
OI
OS
OT
OH

holding
30 May 2007, 00:07
I have seen 2 or 3 OS games and they are certainly very frustrating to watch, They have been leading at half time in all the games and at 3 quater time during most games but can't finish it off

I have also seen a number of OI games and i certainly don't think they will be looking at the drop, they have the potential to slaughter teams, not having butler atm would hurt them a lot as well

OT are hard to judge only seen them once and they looked alright, have not seen Bernards or De La yet

Supergrass
30 May 2007, 10:58
I have seen Old Ivanhoe and they will definitely not be relegated.

Not sure about the bona fides of Collegians yet either.

Penski
30 May 2007, 11:41
As long as Collegians can keep a fit team on the park, they will finish between 3-6. I have seen them in a few games this year.

OT have also looked better than what their ladder position has them.

OH to make the drop, but don't know who else. Have not seen OS play this year so can't comment on their form.

Supergrass
30 May 2007, 12:36
Correct, due to the even competition this year injuries will decide who makes the drop.

MurphysLaw
30 May 2007, 17:41
when was the last time a team won an A-grade flag and then dropped to B-grade the following year?

I think somebody mentioned it last year on this forum that OH were vulnerable due to a 'rubbish' two's team... spot on i think. Depth is a must to be successful in A-grade

The Human Keg
31 May 2007, 14:22
Here's the problem with Scotch. Too many Dick's, but no balls.

1 A. Nettleton
2 T. Aurel-Smith
3 A.Gray
4 C. Tallent
5 S. Dick
6 S. Graham
7 N. Leitl
8 J. Barton
9 A. Pugsley
10 S. Lorenzini
11 N. Allen
12 A. Quail
13 A. Tummel
14 A. Houlihan
15 M. Parisi
16 A.Walsh
17 T. Leeds
18 W. Lewis
19 A. Sutherland
20 S. Troon
21 A. Routledge
22 R. Ashton
23 W. Elliott
24 J. Davis
25 P. Butler
26 N. Hildebrandt
27 B. Goodfellow
28 T. Widmer
29 S. Angus
30 S. Bradley
31 L. Armstrong
32 J. Gerstman
33 G. Dick
34 D. Barbalatt
35 M. Flynn
36 H. Dick
37 J. Cade
38 T. Jelbart
39 L. Thompson

chelsworthgale
31 May 2007, 14:39
Here's the problem with Scotch. Too many Dick's, but no balls.

1 A. Nettleton
2 T. Aurel-Smith
3 A.Gray
4 C. Tallent
5 S. Dick
6 S. Graham
7 N. Leitl
8 J. Barton
9 A. Pugsley
10 S. Lorenzini
11 N. Allen
12 A. Quail
13 A. Tummel
14 A. Houlihan
15 M. Parisi
16 A.Walsh
17 T. Leeds
18 W. Lewis
19 A. Sutherland
20 S. Troon
21 A. Routledge
22 R. Ashton
23 W. Elliott
24 J. Davis
25 P. Butler
26 N. Hildebrandt
27 B. Goodfellow
28 T. Widmer
29 S. Angus
30 S. Bradley
31 L. Armstrong
32 J. Gerstman
33 G. Dick
34 D. Barbalatt
35 M. Flynn
36 H. Dick
37 J. Cade
38 T. Jelbart
39 L. Thompson

That's gold! :D

soupsey
31 May 2007, 15:04
Very good! Surely OS will rally? OH obviously gone but the next to drop will be intriguing. I'm tipping OT. Bout time they went and did their penance! Have been taking up someones spot for too long. I think Old Essendon would be a better suit for A grade.

Jascave
31 May 2007, 15:18
My tip for the A Section Grand Final match-up: Old Xaverians v University Blues, with Uni Blues defeating Old Xaverians, and in doing so putting the nightmare of the 1995 A Section Grand Final behind them forever, when Old Xavs won by 10+ goals, after restricting Uni Blues to just 1 goal for the whole game.

uglydermie
31 May 2007, 15:19
Essendon will need to win a final to get to A grade. Just doesn't happen....

Supergrass
31 May 2007, 16:15
Yes, they do struggle with Preliminary Finals do the men from Old Essendon.

Old Scotch traditionally start well then finish off slowly. They would want to hope it's the other way around this year. In their defence, they've played most of the good teams already.

soupsey
31 May 2007, 16:58
Yes dermie that is correct! They have a bit of the old choke capability. They are headed in the right direction though. Building up rather than coming to an end like Marcellin and Scotch and Trinity and OH. Xavs are yet to hit top gear (on purpose).

holding
1 Jun 2007, 07:59
HAHA very good Human Keg!!

Don't forget to put your tips in lads

Mine for this week

Old Brighton
Old Ivanhoe
Bernards
Xav's
De La

Good luck to everyone playing this week

chelsworthgale
1 Jun 2007, 09:02
Round 6 Tips:

OB to beat Coll
OI to beat OT
STB to beat OH
OX to beat UB
OS to beat DLS

oc37
1 Jun 2007, 09:15
Round 6 Tips:

OB to beat Coll
OI to beat OT
STB to beat OH
OX to beat UB
OS to beat DLS

swaP the last- ie DLS to beat OS and you have my tips

Penski
1 Jun 2007, 09:20
Coll
Oi
Stb
Ox
De La

Slay Master G
1 Jun 2007, 10:43
Coll to beat OB
OI to beat OT
STB to beat OH
UB to beat OX
DLS to beat OS

Frederik Kanoute
1 Jun 2007, 12:17
Home teams this week

OC
OT
STB
UB
DLS

Never underestimate the home ground advantage in the VAFA

BrianSpeaking
1 Jun 2007, 12:50
Brian says:
Coll
OI
STB
OX
DLS

Manni & Ken
1 Jun 2007, 13:55
Coll
OI
STB
OX
DLS

Joe Dirt
1 Jun 2007, 18:57
Collegians
Trinity
Bernards
Xavs
De La

nicho_magic
3 Jun 2007, 03:50
you ripper collegians on top of the ladder after pipping old brighton and xavs got done by uni blues.
GO collegians!!!!

Penski
3 Jun 2007, 10:45
you ripper collegians on top of the ladder after pipping old brighton and xavs got done by uni blues.
GO collegians!!!!

Sensational game. Especially with the lead changes in the last qtr.

Collegians may have a bit of a mental hold over OB, who just can't ever seem to get over the line against them.

chelsworthgale
3 Jun 2007, 11:12
Round 6 Results
Chelsworthgale - 3
Frederik Kanoute - 3
Manni & Ken - 3
Penski - 3
OC37 - 2
Slay Master G - 4
Holding - 2
Joe Dirt - 2
Brianspeaking - 3

Ladder after Round 6
Slay Master G - 4+3+5+2+3+4 =21
Chelsworthgale - 2+5+1+4+3+3 =18
Penski - 2+3+3+3+4+3 =18
Brianspeaking - 3+3+2+2+4+3 =17
Manni & Ken - 2+1+3+4+4+3 =17
Joe Dirt - 2+4+2+3+3+2 =16
OC37 - 2+4+3+2+3+2 =16
Frederik Kanoute - 2+1+1+4+4+3 =15
Holding - 3+1+2+3+2+2 =13

Monkeyboy
3 Jun 2007, 15:27
Poor game by Xavs at the Uni. Dominated pssession in first quarter for zero reward and then just never got out of first gear. Bring back Pasceri and Ossie. What is up with Ockleshaw. Why isnt he playing. Scanlon buthchered all his kicks. McCarthy needs to do more. Uni ok but not flag material imo.

Frederik Kanoute
3 Jun 2007, 18:44
Old Hailebury ARE that bad
Can a club fold their reserves side? Coz they had no bench yesterday and were discraceful. I don't think players want to play

chelsworthgale
3 Jun 2007, 19:28
Can a club fold their reserves side? Coz they had no bench yesterday and were discraceful. I don't think players want to play

If you don't field a reserves doesn't that affect your seniors as well? As in reserves forfeit and the seniors need to forfeit as well? Or am I just plucking at straws here? :o

uglydermie
3 Jun 2007, 21:21
I think I am correct in saying that if your reserves forfeit twice in 1 season then the senior team is automatically OUT. This doesnt even happen in the lower grades so surely it can't happen in A grade?

holding
3 Jun 2007, 23:42
I think I am correct in saying that if your reserves forfeit twice in 1 season then the senior team is automatically OUT. This doesnt even happen in the lower grades so surely it can't happen in A grade?

HAHA have you seen the OH ressies??? I reckon a under 16 team could beat them

chelsworthgale
4 Jun 2007, 00:38

I hope not! We got them in round 9... could do with the percentage booster that all the other clubs have had thus far :p

soupsey
4 Jun 2007, 10:39
What happened to the big fella FOOD? He was always good for a couple of goals....and a rack of lamb!

Frederik Kanoute
4 Jun 2007, 15:13
It mat have been a one-off but i've never seen a team rock up with only 18 blokes, who all look disinterested. Especially when bernards have 3 senior teams with 8 on the bench in the clubbies, 2 u/19 teams and about 25 blokes unavailable/no room for. I'm sure xavs would have similar problems. Where is the loyalty down at OH??

Concrete boots
4 Jun 2007, 15:26
It mat have been a one-off but i've never seen a team rock up with only 18 blokes, who all look disinterested. Especially when bernards have 3 senior teams with 8 on the bench in the clubbies, 2 u/19 teams and about 25 blokes unavailable/no room for. I'm sure xavs would have similar problems. Where is the loyalty down at OH??

Sadly, the seeds of 2007 were sown during 2006.

OH have been like a carefree 19 year-old rich backpacker traipsing through Europe on Daddy's credit card, living for the moment and caring nought for the future.

Live fast, die young.

Gil McLaughlins Horse
4 Jun 2007, 15:42

What was the Hornebag doing tipping OH on Sat?

Massive game for the dogs on sat out at Toorak Park. Will be a cracker with the men from Essendon coming off 3 impressive wins and the Xavs wheels getting a little shaky. Maybe not the power we thought they would be.

soupsey
4 Jun 2007, 16:40
In breaking news, Steve Lawrence has signed with OS. Just wondering what sort of job they could have offered him.... Chauffeur?

chelsworthgale
4 Jun 2007, 16:48
In breaking news, Steve Lawrence has signed with OS. Just wondering what sort of job they could have offered him.... Chauffeur?

Social Events Manager and Designated Driver...

The Big Pineapple
4 Jun 2007, 16:49
Social Events Manager and Designated Driver...

Property Steward?

He can help the players pack their bags each week and leave a little surprise for after the game.

soupsey
4 Jun 2007, 17:02
Remember to lock up the valuables bag each week.

pert
4 Jun 2007, 17:11

Steve Lawrence as in former AFL player? Where's he been?

chelsworthgale
4 Jun 2007, 17:30
Steve Lawrence as in former AFL player? Where's he been?

rehab, court, AA meetings, jail... doing the usual rounds.

Don't Argue
4 Jun 2007, 17:37
A cousin of mine played down in your comp by the name of Lincoln Reynolds and after he was drafted i never followed much of his form. Although he isn't playing this year, how was his form for the last couple of years?

pert
4 Jun 2007, 17:49
rehab, court, AA meetings, jail... doing the usual rounds.

yeah, yeah, I get it, he's a pain in the arse.. but where's he been playing? and who does he know at OS?

Destination A Grade
4 Jun 2007, 18:00
A cousin of mine played down in your comp by the name of Lincoln Reynolds and after he was drafted i never followed much of his form. Although he isn't playing this year, how was his form for the last couple of years?

Ha. Surely you'd know about his form if you are his cousin.

We are talking about the same bloke that gave himself the nickname 'The Champ' aren't we??

JG Hornet
4 Jun 2007, 19:00
What was the Hornebag doing tipping OH on Sat?

Massive game for the dogs on sat out at Toorak Park. Will be a cracker with the men from Essendon coming off 3 impressive wins and the Xavs wheels getting a little shaky. Maybe not the power we thought they would be.

I know, what was he thinking the cabbage

holding
4 Jun 2007, 20:35
Ha. Surely you'd know about his form if you are his cousin.

We are talking about the same bloke that gave himself the nickname 'The Champ' aren't we??

There is only one "The Champ" and that is him hahaha

big_slick
4 Jun 2007, 23:24

Don't you think that is the most ridiculous comment when referring too amateurs??? Why would we bother playing at all if we didn't want to... not paying blokes through crappy bottleshop jobs that somehow rake in $800 a week...

This is my first year down there and we couldn't be more together as a team, i think you are showing huge disrespect towards last years premiers.

Collegians are the softest bunch of players i've come across in A-Grade and how they are leading is beyond me. We were robbed against them, much like sydney were robbed with adam mcphee...

God and as for you St Bernards mob (supporters) that was disgraceful on the weekend, racially taunting our players, that is an absolute disgrace to the game and equality in general

Had my rant, stop worrying about how bad we are and worry about your own misfortunes..

Penski
4 Jun 2007, 23:34
Don't you think that is the most ridiculous comment when referring too amateurs??? Why would we bother playing at all if we didn't want to... not paying blokes through crappy bottleshop jobs that somehow rake in $800 a week...

This is my first year down there and we couldn't be more together as a team, i think you are showing huge disrespect towards last years premiers.

Collegians are the softest bunch of players i've come across in A-Grade and how they are leading is beyond me. We were robbed against them, much like sydney were robbed with adam mcphee...

God and as for you St Bernards mob (supporters) that was disgraceful on the weekend, racially taunting our players, that is an absolute disgrace to the game and equality in general

Had my rant, stop worrying about how bad we are and worry about your own misfortunes..

Sorry Big Slick but the behaviour of your team and your supporters is bordering on disgraceful.

Never heard a more foulmouthed group of supporters, and Loewe acting like an absolute thug just when his team needs him.

Stupid.

I normally don't like to crack it at other teams, but OH are a rabble at the moment, and are dead certs for the drop as it stands.

Petrov
5 Jun 2007, 00:44
Sorry Big Slick but the behaviour of your team and your supporters is bordering on disgraceful.

Never heard a more foulmouthed group of supporters, and Loewe acting like an absolute thug just when his team needs him.

Stupid.

I normally don't like to crack it at other teams, but OH are a rabble at the moment, and are dead certs for the drop as it stands.

Surely mate you are kidding yourself. The behaviour of our team has been brave under extreme circumstances and we can hold our heads high. How would any other team in A Section go if they lost so many players of this calibre:

P. Corrigan, C. Steinfort, A. Jenke, B. Trollope, A. McIntyre, D. Lay, D. Brown, T. Chisolm(Inj), S. Martin.

Added to this Mason and Loewe have only played 1 game and we have had 2-3 other quality senior players injured each week.

That makes 13-14 senior players out and they would be in the top 20 players at any club. We have also had the standard injuries from those who would normally play 2's and 19's so all in all the list we have to choose from is very depleted.

The players that are out there are all giving 100 per cent and are still trying to play footy. Most other clubs put in a similar situation would not behave in such an honorable fashion and I am sure would resort to all sorts of crude tactics .

Loewe's report was a joke, it was simply a late spoil and that sort of thing happens 2-3 times every quarter in most games. The only reason he was reported was because N.Stone from Collegians (even though he was not even in the contest) was sooking so much to the umpire that he got sucked in. He was unable to defend himself because of his role on Tuesday with the AFL tribunal and the ammos give OH no favours at all so he had to take the 2 weeks.

If we do go down so be it, those players that are still playing are not the ones to blame. In fact the players who have left are not to blame either as they have either retired or gone to VFL. The two exceptions are A.McIntyre who has gone to St.Pauls in the SFL (OH's co-tennant at McKinnon) to play with his mates and P.Corrigan who is at Sth Barwon playing with his brother.

As for spectators, St. Bernards are from the gutter. Racial, religious and downright criminal language coming from most watching out there and all in front of our families. I will never go back there again, I refuse to expose my family to that filthy element of society. I can cop normal footy sledging but calling players terrorists and much worse, that is not on. If the police were in attendance many St. Bernards fans would have been locked up.

VAFA is meant to be family football, definitely not out there with the DOGS.

soupsey
5 Jun 2007, 09:11
Good to see someone flying the flag for you blokes. However I think all the flag flying in the world can't help I'm afraid.

Gil McLaughlins Horse
5 Jun 2007, 10:06
As for spectators, St. Bernards are from the gutter. Racial, religious and downright criminal language coming from most watching out there and all in front of our families. I will never go back there again, I refuse to expose my family to that filthy element of society. I can cop normal footy sledging but calling players terrorists and much worse, that is not on. If the police were in attendance many St. Bernards fans would have been locked up.

Please...it goes both ways. The history between the clubs through your coach provided the impetus for a pretty heated first quarter. Sicko Nicho was going nuts and the personal attacks on our players from the bench was widespread. But...to say there were racial taunts etc is ridiculous. If its not where is the VAFA action?
The reason you are whinging is our players, to their credit rallied and smashed the back out of your side, whereas your players crawled up into a ball of self pity.
Dont worry, you wont have to come out to the pit anymore down in B grade.

Slay Master G
5 Jun 2007, 10:10
[QUOTE=Petrov;7744165]
Loewe's report was a joke,

I refuse to expose my family to that filthy element of society. I

[QUOTE]

Perhaps the report itself was a joke but he had already broken the noses of 2 other players so perhaps the umpire was making up for that.

How he can front up as a member of the AFL tribunal after a display like that is beyond me, if Peter Garret was caught heaving waste into his local park, he would lose his job.

As for the "filth element", you are happy to expose your family to Old Haileybury, who are known around VAFA circle as the worst, foul mouthed supporters (not to mention their coach) and their players downright dirty, so a trip to the snake pit should be like a holiday in Noosa.

Bad luck about your impending relegation,couldn't happen to a nicer club!

Supergrass
5 Jun 2007, 11:31
It seems that Old Haileybury made a rather substantial purchase down at the Yarra Valley just recently.

Grapes, those of the sour variety.

What respect do the men from McKinnon deserve? Respect is earnt, not just handed to you on a silver platter. One year does not make a club.

Perhaps Haileybury should look to clubs like Xavs, Bernards and Uni, regulars in A Grade over the last 10-15 years who've had their couple of down years over the journey, yet still managed to stay in the top flight.

soupsey
5 Jun 2007, 12:07
It's called culture and is neither bought or achieved over night. It takes decades. And it takes committed people who have served the club and put it before their own fleeting interests. It takes families who give freely of their time and energy. It also takes pride in history of the club and respect for those who have gone before. Perhaps we can place these notions up for debate when we ask what respect they deserve?

Paul Kaos
5 Jun 2007, 12:43
It seems that Old Haileybury made a rather substantial purchase down at the Yarra Valley just recently.

Grapes, those of the sour variety.

What respect do the men from McKinnon deserve? Respect is earnt, not just handed to you on a silver platter. One year does not make a club.

Perhaps Haileybury should look to clubs like Xavs, Bernards and Uni, regulars in A Grade over the last 10-15 years who've had their couple of down years over the journey, yet still managed to stay in the top flight.

It hurts me to say it, but you have to include Scotch in that group. Without the ultimate success, they have been able to maintain their position in the highest grade for as long as anyone. Their greatest success is being able to provide an environment in which players, whether they be ex-students or ring-ins, want to play week in week out. 5 senior sides and U/19's is a great effort, and as Soupsey put it, a testament to the culture of the club, and the committment of those who serve it.

Just a pity they're such flogs!

Drizzle
5 Jun 2007, 12:58

Are you fair dinkum? Do us all a favour and don't ever come back! Are you the same pea hearted bloke that thought it reasonable to abuse one of our supporters, who happens to have a disability, and is totally harmless, telling him to 'shut your mouth we can't understand a word your saying', amongst other things. Don't give us this rubbish about equality you hypocrite.

As for losing players, cry us all a river, that's what ammos is about, every succussful team loses players. You blokes better work out a way around it or you'll be chasing D grade flags before too long.

MurphysLaw
5 Jun 2007, 13:18
Petrov i suggest you have a look at your coach before you start throwing allegations around.
He managed to spray a player in our 3rds, 2's (despite a 20goal half time lead) and 1's.
If your going to give it, be prepared to cop it.

soupsey
5 Jun 2007, 13:22
Dear Kaos........Gold! I have been wondering how so many could acieve so little. Not through lack of effort though.

Petrov
5 Jun 2007, 13:23
Hit the right spot did I? Please keep the abuse coming you are only confirming what was said in my earlier post.

soupsey
5 Jun 2007, 13:25
It hurts me to say it, but you have to include Scotch in that group. Without the ultimate success, they have been able to maintain their position in the highest grade for as long as anyone. Their greatest success is being able to provide an environment in which players, whether they be ex-students or ring-ins, want to play week in week out. 5 senior sides and U/19's is a great effort, and as Soupsey put it, a testament to the culture of the club, and the committment of those who serve it.

Just a pity they're such flogs!
Dear Kaos......Gold! I had been wondering how so many could achieve so little. Not through lack of effort though.

Benny MOF
5 Jun 2007, 13:28
Wonder if Nicho had a big night out with his best mates (his premiership medals) on Saturday night.

You can't dispute the fact that he can coach, but he seems to be hated as a bloke and when he leaves a club, he seems to leave them in ruins.

Full marks to the Snakepit for getting their club back on track after some worrying signs a couple of years ago.

It would be a shame if a proud (and feral, very feral) club like OH went down, however you have to build for the future, not just a premiership.

Plumber
5 Jun 2007, 14:21
[quote=Benny MOF;7746763]Wonder if Nicho had a big night out with his best mates (his premiership medals) on Saturday night.

You can't dispute the fact that he can coach, but he seems to be hated as a bloke and when he leaves a club, he seems to leave them in ruins.

Nicho is a pathetic flog who has no mates and bought a premiership last year.

Who cares if he can coach, when he leaves his little world that is the coaches box he is a boring nobody with a big mouth.

How any club could endorse a senior coach who verbally ridicules opposition players during ressie matches is beyond me.

Gil McLaughlins Horse
5 Jun 2007, 14:45
[quote=Benny MOF;7746763]Wonder if Nicho had a big night out with his best mates (his premiership medals) on Saturday night.

Nicho is a pathetic flog who has no mates and bought a premiership last year.

Who cares if he can coach, when he leaves his little world that is the coaches box he is a boring nobody with a big mouth.

How any club could endorse a senior coach who verbally ridicules opposition players during ressie matches is beyond me.

i must make the comment that Nicho is not hated at all down at the pit. Saturday was pure competitiveness at its best. How can a club not respect the man that took them to 3 grandfinals (1 premeirship) in 3 years.

Frederik Kanoute
5 Jun 2007, 14:46
I love this notion that bernards supporters are the worst coz they're from the "western suburbs". Its always 'so far to go' and 'they're a different breed out there'. I've played a lot of footy for teams in the west and east and EVERY club has its ferals. You cop abuse when u play footy and get on with it. Who gives a @#$!. Thats footy. Its about how hard the players play between the sirens and what kind of blokes they are after the game in the rooms for a beer. Everyone's just gotta get over the supporters and play the game.
Nuff said

Destination A Grade
5 Jun 2007, 14:49
So who have OH and ST B's got this week.

Here's a tip Hornet, jump all over them.

Gil McLaughlins Horse
5 Jun 2007, 14:58
I love this notion that bernards supporters are the worst coz they're from the "western suburbs". Its always 'so far to go' and 'they're a different breed out there'. I've played a lot of footy for teams in the west and east and EVERY club has its ferals. You cop abuse when u play footy and get on with it. Who gives a @#$!. Thats footy. Its about how hard the players play between the sirens and what kind of blokes they are after the game in the rooms for a beer. Everyone's just gotta get over the supporters and play the game.
Nuff said

you wouldnt be talking about the 43 touches you had 2 weeks ago against Trinity woudl you freddie?

accurate1
5 Jun 2007, 15:48
[quote=Plumber;7747295]

i must make the comment that Nicho is not hated at all down at the pit. Saturday was pure competitiveness at its best. How can a club not respect the man that took them to 3 grandfinals (1 premeirship) in 3 years.
A little bit of perspective ... St Bernards supporters are no better or worse than others ... yes Nicho tried to bait a few and he copped a bit back but he was well received by all back in the rooms and is generally highly regarded by most as a coach that has got good teams over the line. He may not be the right coach for developing teams but every coach has their strengths & weaknesses. The difference between St Bern & OH is that St Bern have a strong committee and support base with some very astute people running the show whereas OH simply havent got the quantity or quality of people to fix their current predicament with Snrs poor, Reserves worse and U19's unlikely to fill the void. That situation is more to do with the Ctee than the coach

Concrete boots
5 Jun 2007, 16:15
[quote=Gil McLaughlins Horse;7747591]
The difference between St Bern & OH is that St Bern have a strong committee and support base with some very astute people running the show whereas OH simply havent got the quantity or quality of people to fix their current predicament with Snrs poor, Reserves worse and U19's unlikely to fill the void. That situation is more to do with the Ctee than the coach

Geez - I must've have had it wrong all these years.

I thought guys came to a club, or chose to stay with a club, on the basis of the coaching staff and playing list.

When was the last time a club recruiter was asked "Oh, who's your president and secretary?" over "Who's your senior coach?".

Paul Kaos
5 Jun 2007, 16:30
[quote=accurate1;7748352]

Geez - I must've have had it wrong all these years.

I thought guys came to a club, or chose to stay with a club, on the basis of the coaching staff and playing list.

When was the last time a club recruiter was asked "Oh, who's your president and secretary?" over "Who's your senior coach?".

Clearly you have.

Successful clubs only recruit 2-3 players per year...maximum. The bulk of their side is made up of players who have come to the club straight out of school and play football, with their mates, for the enjoyment and camaraderie the game provides.

Generally that's a decent start towards becoming a decent club, and depending on the ability of the individuals, a crucial factor in becoming a successful team.

Concrete boots
5 Jun 2007, 17:15
[quote=Concrete boots;7748640]

Clearly you have.

Successful clubs only recruit 2-3 players per year...maximum. The bulk of their side is made up of players who have come to the club straight out of school and play football, with their mates, for the enjoyment and camaraderie the game provides.

Generally that's a decent start towards becoming a decent club, and depending on the ability of the individuals, a crucial factor in becoming a successful team.

You're presupposing that every club has a feeder school.

Uni Blues aren't like this at all, and the bulk of OH's better players in 2006 had no link with the school whatsoever didn't they? So what convinced them to join Old Haileybury?

Consider this, many of the Xavs' premiership and GF sides of the past decade were littered with non-Xavier players. Pretty sure none of the following were Xavier alumni (though I could be wrong about a couple):

Mollard, Ruyg, Beardsley, Lethlean, A. & P. Macdonald, McCarthy, Keyhoe, Tuddenham, Kelly, Graham, Blood, Wood, Cranage, J. Taylor, Hatfield, Donati,........etc....etc.....

Monkeyboy
5 Jun 2007, 17:43
[quote=Paul Kaos;7748800]

Uni Blues aren't like this at all, and the bulk of OH's better players in 2006 had no link with the school whatsoever didn't they? So what convinced them to join Old Haileybury?

Consider this, many of the Xavs' premiership and GF sides of the past decade were littered with non-Xavier players. Pretty sure none of the following were Xavier alumni (though I could be wrong about a couple):

Mollard, Ruyg, Beardsley, Lethlean, A. & P. Macdonald, McCarthy, Keyhoe, Tuddenham, Kelly, Graham, Blood, Wood, Cranage, J. Taylor, Hatfield, Donati,........etc....etc.....

Tony Keyhoe was a complete nut.

JG Hornet
5 Jun 2007, 18:05

Donati and McCarthy both Xavier students. Think Tuddenham was too. Plenty of good Haileybury old boys in their 2006 flag as well old son...

Slay Master G
5 Jun 2007, 18:12
[QUOTE=Concrete boots;7749230]

Donati and McCarthy both Xavier students. Think Tuddenham was too. Plenty of good Haileybury old boys in their 2006 flag as well old son...

Incorrect re:McCarthy

Grew up in Sorrento and went to Peninsula school. Moved to Xavs once at Uni.

JG Hornet
5 Jun 2007, 18:15
I stand corrected Slay MG

The Big Pineapple
5 Jun 2007, 18:18
[QUOTE=JG Hornet;7749806]

Incorrect re:McCarthy

Grew up in Sorrento and went to Peninsula school. Moved to Xavs once at Uni.

SMG,

There are strong rumours circulating that you are pulling on the boots in the Sydney AFL in hope of returning to the OC come finals time?

Can you please confirm?

TBP

soupsey
5 Jun 2007, 18:18
Most of the students @ Haileybury have no connection with the school either. All bought from St Bedes or other southern suburbs schools to pump up their school sport. Hence no culture at the school and no culture at the old boys. Success maybe but I'm tipping not many reunions or social gatherings. Can't see nicho down at the school giving tips to young homegrown footballers down there!

Paul Kaos
5 Jun 2007, 18:28

CB – my point is that one key to success as a club, and as a team is creating an environment in which players are at a club for an extended period of time, and have come to the club for the right reason to begin with.

Not having a feeder school Uni Blues do this very well, but lets not forget the access they have to quite a large group of current and ex uni students. Your reference to OH's 2006 players is backing up my point. Why did they go to the club in the first place........and where are they now? Their school is a perfect example. They can barely win a game in years 7, 8, and 9. Throw 12 scholarship players into the mix and all of a sudden they are more than competitive. How many of these scholarship players end up at the old boys?

I did mention that successful clubs need to recruit players, but it should be a maximum of 2-3 per year. Any more and you risk messing with the culture of the club, and create issues with regular players missing out on games.

As for Xavs, I'm no expert but I do know a bit about the club. Keyhoe, Tuddenham and Donati went to the school. Kelly was a long time sponsor before playing and all the rest except for Taylor and Hatfield (who was told he wasn't welcome) played multiple years. All those mentioned still playing will more than likely finish off their football at the club.

A good indicator of these players as blokes, and as to why they go to a club in the first place, is to see how long they stay at the club and whether or not they leave to play for cash (and as some say, more cash) in another league.

Slay Master G
5 Jun 2007, 18:37
[QUOTE=Slay Master G;7749894]

SMG,

There are strong rumours circulating that you are pulling on the boots in the Sydney AFL in hope of returning to the OC come finals time?

Can you please confirm?

TBP

Training occasionally TBP, comeback to senior ranks highly unlikely. Too slow and unfit these days.

Concrete boots
5 Jun 2007, 18:43
OK Paul Kaos,

At the risk of turning this thread into something closely approaching an intelligent debate about football and culture Ammo's style (a rare departure from the usual cheap shots and backhanders we get on Big Footy), I'm about to suggest we are actually approaching furious agreement.

My initial post about the coach/playing list being more of a drawcard than the off-field administration actually accords with your more recent comments.

A group of players will stick together if they enjoy each other's company, regardless of who is running the club off-field. You may be correct in some instances about 2 or 3 excellent players being the usual recruiting of most A section clubs each year, with the bulk being simple graduates from the school / U19 / reserves.

If you have an established link with the school and the Old Boys club, and the players see the coaching panel (certainly U19, but ideally senior as well) inviting them to join once they finish year 12, then you're likely to be able to continue the link.

If the players like the coach, its another very persuasive reason to start there, and stay there too.

Have a look at Scotch - many who have left simply didn't get on with Barry Price (rightly or wrongly). It may well be that Prickly Pete (as Hornet likes to call him) has had a similar effect on some of the Bloods players. I understand Dean Rice's methods didn't go down too well at OMs, and they're battling to get back up right now.

In any event, I seriously doubt that the personalities on the club's administrative committee will be the make or break when it comes to a player (be they a recruit or a school kid) deciding to play, and subsequently stay at a VAFA club for an extended period of time.

Club environment is created througha combination of factors, but I strongly believe the coaching staff have a very prominent role to play in that regard.

soupsey
5 Jun 2007, 19:00
Hear Hear CB!

Eddie Woloschek
5 Jun 2007, 19:51
OK Paul Kaos,

At the risk of turning this thread into something closely approaching an intelligent debate about football and culture Ammo's style (a rare departure from the usual cheap shots and backhanders we get on Big Footy), I'm about to suggest we are actually approaching furious agreement.

My initial post about the coach/playing list being more of a drawcard than the off-field administration actually accords with your more recent comments.

A group of players will stick together if they enjoy each other's company, regardless of who is running the club off-field. You may be correct in some instances about 2 or 3 excellent players being the usual recruiting of most A section clubs each year, with the bulk being simple graduates from the school / U19 / reserves.

If you have an established link with the school and the Old Boys club, and the players see the coaching panel (certainly U19, but ideally senior as well) inviting them to join once they finish year 12, then you're likely to be able to continue the link.

If the players like the coach, its another very persuasive reason to start there, and stay there too.

Have a look at Scotch - many who have left simply didn't get on with Barry Price (rightly or wrongly). It may well be that Prickly Pete (as Hornet likes to call him) has had a similar effect on some of the Bloods players. I understand Dean Rice's methods didn't go down too well at OMs, and they're battling to get back up right now.

In any event, I seriously doubt that the personalities on the club's administrative committee will be the make or break when it comes to a player (be they a recruit or a school kid) deciding to play, and subsequently stay at a VAFA club for an extended period of time.

Club environment is created througha combination of factors, but I strongly believe the coaching staff have a very prominent role to play in that regard.

In the transient world that is VAFA football, some degree of continuity is a must. Each club has its own culture and for a successful club, preserving and building on that culture is the secret to prolonged success.

The off-field leadership is integral to this and that extends beyond the coach. Every successful club has a successful administration. Only a successful and hardworking group at the top can attract the best coaches and players and hold on to them.

blueboys1
5 Jun 2007, 22:38
Most of the students @ Haileybury have no connection with the school either. All bought from St Bedes or other southern suburbs schools to pump up their school sport. Hence no culture at the school and no culture at the old boys. Success maybe but I'm tipping not many reunions or social gatherings. Can't see nicho down at the school giving tips to young homegrown footballers down there!
Most of Players are too good to be playing Amateur football they are playing VFL which is a lot higher level than VAFA or some have made it to a higher level AFL So you talk sh.t

Petrov
5 Jun 2007, 22:47
Nuff said

I never mentioned anything about the Western Suburbs, do you have a complex or something? I've played a lot of football also and I don't mind the on field sledging, I have copped more than most and it just steels your resolve even more.

It is just a different story when your wife and kids are shown no respect by foul mouthed cretins on the sidelines who are not good enough to get a game thinking they are funny. My family does not need to hear the sort of prison talk that came out of St. Bernards supporters mouths. When they were asked to tone it down, a family member was abused and told to shut up because no one was getting hit. The players were not that bad but the supporters need to be pulled into line.

Official complaints have been sent to the VAFA and the goal and field umpires have supported those complaints. It will be interesting to see if anything is done about this or if it is just ignored because it is too hard to deal with. My bet is the ammos will do nothing as OH are a reasonable club and we will just cop the rough treatment and get on with it, whereas if any action is taken against St. Bernards they will definitely kick and scream big time and the danger is they might even do something a whole lot worse. So the ammos will play it safe and do nothing because they want this to go away quietly.

kaiser sose
6 Jun 2007, 09:48
I never mentioned anything about the Western Suburbs, do you have a complex or something? I've played a lot of football also and I don't mind the on field sledging, I have copped more than most and it just steels your resolve even more.

It is just a different story when your wife and kids are shown no respect by foul mouthed cretins on the sidelines who are not good enough to get a game thinking they are funny. My family does not need to hear the sort of prison talk that came out of St. Bernards supporters mouths. When they were asked to tone it down, a family member was abused and told to shut up because no one was getting hit. The players were not that bad but the supporters need to be pulled into line.

Official complaints have been sent to the VAFA and the goal and field umpires have supported those complaints. It will be interesting to see if anything is done about this or if it is just ignored because it is too hard to deal with. My bet is the ammos will do nothing as OH are a reasonable club and we will just cop the rough treatment and get on with it, whereas if any action is taken against St. Bernards they will definitely kick and scream big time and the danger is they might even do something a whole lot worse. So the ammos will play it safe and do nothing because they want this to go away quietly.Yesterday 21:38

This same argument was covered yesterday, so get over it. Just because bernards actually get some support at games (home or away) don't get upset over a little banter.

Monkeyboy
6 Jun 2007, 10:30
Most of Players are too good to be playing Amateur football they are playing VFL which is a lot higher level than VAFA or some have made it to a higher level AFL So you talk sh.t

In part that is true, however they still have no connection with the school and would not play there anyway. Hail is a shocking school when it come to sports. Having a bunch of scholarship guys who arrive to finish there education is embarrassing rather than worth celebrating.

Paul Kaos
6 Jun 2007, 10:32
OK Paul Kaos,

Definitely is a combination of factors, of which one is the coaching staff, and I agree with you on most of your points. Many clubs have made the error of appointing coaches who don't fit in with the culture of the club, and have suffered because of it.

That's why selecting the senior coach is crucial, and let's not forget who is responsible for that selection!

Don't underestimate the value of a 'good' clubs administration. Coaches come and go, but the people behind the scenes who run the club, and have built the club, are there, and have been there for a long time. I know with our club the senior coach is not the driving force when it comes to recruiting. Rather than target every available player who would help us win games, we concentrate on those who would fit in at the club, want to play for the right reasons and for a number of years, and could potentially contribute to the club in other ways.

Gil McLaughlins Horse
6 Jun 2007, 11:19
sorry to keep changing the topic, was looking for a definitive answer the other day and didn't get it... How good is 'The Champ' aka Lincoln Reynolds? Would you say he is one of the better full forwards/ centre half forwards outside of the AFL/VFL ranks? I haven't seen him in ages as i'm from the country, how tall and what weight would he be?

Shutup already. Finished 2 years ago, is a spanner of a bloke and made his teamates call him the champ. Enought said.

waveofthefuture
6 Jun 2007, 11:32

... suggest you look at the STBM list before throwing around comments about 'most of the players' from that bloody disgrace (pun intended) to tradition.

Penski
6 Jun 2007, 11:44
all i want is a simple yes or no answer to this, would lincoln reynolds have been as good as dan jordan?

no

typing more to fill space to allow one word answer!

Johnny Utah #9
6 Jun 2007, 12:02
no

typing more to fill space to allow one word answer!

Not in the same league as DJ. Although if you asked Lincoln he'd probably tell you he was better than Wayne Carey!

Gil McLaughlins Horse
6 Jun 2007, 12:05

Official complaints have been sent to the VAFA and the goal and field umpires have supported those complaints. It will be interesting to see if anything is done about this or if it is just ignored because it is too hard to deal with. My bet is the ammos will do nothing as OH are a reasonable club and we will just cop the rough treatment and get on with it, whereas if any action is taken against St. Bernards they will definitely kick and scream big time and the danger is they might even do something a whole lot worse. So the ammos will play it safe and do nothing because they want this to go away quietly.

FROM AMMOS WEBSITE:
Old Haileybury charged with conduct unbecoming during their senior match against Collegians on Saturday May 26, 2007 at McKinnon.
The specific charges are as follows:
1. That during the first half of the match abuse was allegedly directed towards the umpires from a spectator on the far wing.
2. That players no. 17 (Kynan Ford) and no. 9 (Matthew Brewer) allegedly told the umpires in no uncertain terms that they were not welcome in the social rooms.
Charges proven. Club fined $100. Players Ford and Brewer placed on $100 bond on the condition they do not offend again.
Old Haileybury apologised to umpires.

GAME SET MATCH!

soupsey
6 Jun 2007, 12:34
That's like getting slapped in the face with a wet lettuce leaf!

Frederik Kanoute
6 Jun 2007, 14:14
thanks for proving my point

chelsworthgale
6 Jun 2007, 14:46
That's like getting slapped in the face with a wet lettuce leaf!

ouch!

Joe Dirt
6 Jun 2007, 16:24
all i want is a simple yes or no answer to this, would lincoln reynolds have been as good as dan jordan?

No.

Wacked blokes behind play on a regular basis when they weren't watching. Ran away like a little girl when people started working him out and dishing him back some of his own medicine. OT's and the VAFA are better for his absence

chelsworthgale
6 Jun 2007, 17:00
No.

Wacked blokes behind play on a regular basis when they weren't watching. Ran away like a little girl when people started working him out and dishing him back some of his own medicine. OT's and the VAFA are better for his absence

Gee that hurts! Such a scathing report on you Don't Argue... looks like no body is missing you.

Petrov
6 Jun 2007, 17:20
thanks for proving my point

What point is that? What happened during the OH game against Collegians was very minor compared with the constant filth from the St Bernard's crowd. If anything the action taken by the ammos against OH shows that they are aware that we are reasonable people and will cop it on the chin even if it is pretty ridiculous whereas St. Bernards people are a little more unpredictable and could do anything if the ammos take action. For that reason I would be very suprised if the VAFA take any action against the Bernies.

Mind you I have played against them for a long time and I must say that the players at St Bernards are fine and I always have a beer in the rooms afterwards, it is just the spectators that need some work.

Abusing umpires happens everywhere to some extent, maybe it was a bit much that day against OC but still it certainly is nowhere near as bad as calling opposition players "Black c*#!'s" and telling them to "F*%@ off you terrorist"

I think if you all take a deep breath and think about it you might just agree with me. If not, that's fine, we are all entitled to our own opinions.

Gil McLaughlins Horse
6 Jun 2007, 17:53
What point is that? What happened during the OH game against Collegians was very minor compared with the constant filth from the St Bernard's crowd. If anything the action taken by the ammos against OH shows that they are aware that we are reasonable people and will cop it on the chin even if it is pretty ridiculous whereas St. Bernards people are a little more unpredictable and could do anything if the ammos take action. For that reason I would be very suprised if the VAFA take any action against the Bernies.

Mind you I have played against them for a long time and I must say that the players at St Bernards are fine and I always have a beer in the rooms afterwards, it is just the spectators that need some work.

Abusing umpires happens everywhere to some extent, maybe it was a bit much that day against OC but still it certainly is nowhere near as bad as calling opposition players "Black c*#!'s" and telling them to "F*%@ off you terrorist"

I think if you all take a deep breath and think about it you might just agree with me. If not, that's fine, we are all entitled to our own opinions.

Please explain? Id love to know what this means...

Penski
6 Jun 2007, 18:03

What happened is exactly the sort of thing that the Ammos can do without. Certainly not everything that happened has been reported here and i am not going to dredge up every detail, but don't paint it like it was nothing serious if we are to promote ourselves as a family comp. It was a disgraceful performance plain and simple. I just hope that OH are reasonable enough to realise that it cannot continue like that!

I've copped it out at the Snake Pit as well i must say, but more from on the field than off it.

And your comment on umpire abuse happening everywhere. If it was, we would be having weekly investigations i'm sure, but it doesn't seem like that is the case, so i dont know how widespread you think it is. (and yelling out "awww c'mon ump he's been doing it all day" isn't exactly umpire abuse, and that is about the worst I have heard all year until OH)