View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43

Frederik Kanoute
6 Jun 2007, 21:52
my point is that there are abusive supporters and players/coaches wherever u go and i know we talk about the family thing all the time but u can go to any league at any level and ur gonna hear some swearing. raciacl taunts are a bit far and if that happened on the weekend then its pretty shit but people have just got to deal with the sledging that happens at the footy. its footy get over it

The Tiger's Nuts
7 Jun 2007, 13:50
Just a little data point - some of the worst umpire abuse and language I've heard at a game came from a feral at the snake pit last year when I was goal umpiring for my kid's U10 side. This peanut stood on the hill behind the goals and kept up a running commentary on how "f*ing shyte" our fieldie was, and when one of our boys was cleaned up with a head-high, yelled "Come on, smash the little c*s"... his wife hustled him back to the scoreboard post haste when I told him to shut up or get the club reported.

Sad but true - money can't buy class.

Penski
8 Jun 2007, 09:22
This week's tips :-

OB
OS
DE LA
OX
COLL

chelsworthgale
8 Jun 2007, 09:30
Round 7 Tips

OB
OS
OI
OX
COLL

holding
8 Jun 2007, 10:30
Ob
Os
Oi
Ox
Ub

Slay Master G
8 Jun 2007, 10:50
OB
OT
OI
OX
UB

Tough tipping against the Lions but they are due to drop one.

Frederik Kanoute
8 Jun 2007, 12:10
OB
OS
DLS
STB
UB

tough week

Scribe
8 Jun 2007, 12:18
OB
OT
DLS
OX
Uni

soupsey
8 Jun 2007, 12:20
Get on the lions to beat Uni. They weren't THAT good last week.

Manni & Ken
8 Jun 2007, 14:04
Ob
Ot
Dls
Stb
Coll

Joe Dirt
8 Jun 2007, 16:46
Brighton
Scotch
De La
Xavs
Blues

oc37
8 Jun 2007, 17:35
OB
Ot
OI
OX
Coll

JG Hornet
8 Jun 2007, 18:00
If I could do my tips on a Friday rather than a Monday, there are two big changes I would make, in light of some big names not playing...

Old Ivanhoe over De la
Collegians over Uni Blues

sigh

Scribe
8 Jun 2007, 20:03
If I could do my tips on a Friday rather than a Monday, there are two big changes I would make, in light of some big names not playing...

Old Ivanhoe over De la
Collegians over Uni Blues

sigh

JGH,

The Big Names don't necessarily bring home the big results.

Stick with your gut - that's why I'm leading the ladder which the VAFA refuses to publish, the Scribe's premiership.

Cheers

FSC

BrianSpeaking
9 Jun 2007, 02:06
Brian says:

OLD BRIGHTON (http://www.sportingpulse.com/nf/team_info.cgi?id=5052542&c=1-3232-0-49970-0)
OLD SCOTCH (http://www.sportingpulse.com/nf/team_info.cgi?id=5052636&c=1-3232-0-49970-0)
OLD IVANHOE (http://www.sportingpulse.com/nf/team_info.cgi?id=5052646&c=1-3232-0-49970-0)
OLD XAVERIANS (http://www.sportingpulse.com/nf/team_info.cgi?id=5052593&c=1-3232-0-49970-0)
UNIVERSITY BLUES (http://www.sportingpulse.com/nf/team_info.cgi?id=5052622&c=1-3232-0-49970-0)

Petrov
9 Jun 2007, 21:42
I would like to congratulate Old Brighton for restoring our faith in Amateur football. It was a tough contest on the field, played in good spirits and unfortunately they eventually got the better of us in the final quarter. The after match was very friendly and it was good to have a few beers with opposition players and their families in a nice environment. Well done to the Old Brighton club, we look forward to returning their hospitality in a few weeks time when they visit us.

superselector
9 Jun 2007, 23:04
Hello its 2007 the scores please its 10 PM and nothing on the website!!!!!!

nicho_magic
9 Jun 2007, 23:15
Hello its 2007 the scores please its 10 PM and nothing on the website!!!!!!

yeah i know...who won? who lost etc?

blueboys1
10 Jun 2007, 06:24
ROUND 7

A SECTION

OLD BRIGHTON 3.2 5.5 9.9 18.12 (120)
OLD HAILEYBURY 3.4 5.8 9.11 11.11 (77)

Goals: Old Brighton: Pirrie 4 Clark 4 Dawes 3 Muir 2 Gadsden 2 Tolj Jakobi Marston. Old Haileybury: Roberts 3 Brown 2 Thomas Carson Ford Mason Brewer Seccull. Best: Old Brighton: Dawes Bruin Phelan Pirrie Tolj Ainley. Old Haileybury: Langford-Jones O'Donnell Kight Roberts Brewer Seccull.

OLD XAVERIANS 5.5 10.7 13.8 19.11 (125)
ST BERNARDS 0.3 4.6 9.8 15.11 (101)

Goals: Old Xaverians: Handley 6 Lloyd 3 Bye 3 Fleming 2 Howard Ockleshaw McCarthy Bowen Arnold. St Bernards: Potter 5 Pearson 3 Mitchell 2 Madden Cave Kavanagh Caven Salvadori. Best: Old Xaverians: Colbert Lloyd Handley Arnold Bye Chatfield. St Bernards: Mitchell Liberatore Madden Schroder Potter Kavanagh.
OLD IVANHOE 3.5 4.10 8.13 10.19 (79)
DE LA SALLE 3.0 4.3 9.3 11.5 (71)

Goals: Old Ivanhoe: Hope 5 Byrne 3 Dawkins Luxon. DLS: Unavailable. Best: Old Ivanhoe: Curatolo Byrne Hope Thompson Heta Gieschen. DLS: Unavailable.
COLLEGIANS 6.3 7.7 8.8 8.12 (60)
UNIVERSITY BLUES 2.2 4.3 5.7 6.8 (44)

Goals: Collegians: Stone 2 Dixon 2 Arnott Jorgensen Donelly Bull. University Blues: Paton Cordy Coventry Paterson Butko Macula. Best: University Blues: Solly Steele Paterson Knowles Butko Anderson. Collegians: Jorgensen Fry Stone Waters Blumfield Strachan.
OLD SCOTCH 3.6 4.9 9.13 13.19 (97)
OLD TRINITY 0.4 6.8 8.10 13.12 (90)

Goals: Old Scotch: Gerstman 4 Doherty 4 Houlihan 2 Lorenzini Tummel Dick. Old Trinity: Walsh 4 Cultrera 3 Ramsden 3 Troon Bourke Hore-Lacy. Best: Old Scotch: Barton Quail Allen Doherty Leitl Leeds. Old Trinity: Healy Beardsley Cole Butler Hore-Lacy Osborn.

holding
10 Jun 2007, 11:21
YAY i got 4 correct this week

Some good close games this week and it looks like next week will be the same

Ivanhoe VS Uni BLues
Collegians VS Scotch
Haileybury VS Trinity
Brighton VS Bernards
Xav's and De La

chelsworthgale
10 Jun 2007, 12:16
YAY i got 4 correct this week

Some good close games this week and it looks like next week will be the same

Ivanhoe VS Uni BLues
Collegians VS Scotch
Haileybury VS Trinity
Brighton VS Bernards
Xav's and De La

OH vs OT for the spoon?

chelsworthgale
10 Jun 2007, 12:34
Round 7 Results
Chelsworthgale - 5
Frederik Kanoute - 2
Manni & Ken - 2
Penski - 4
OC37 - 4
Slay Master G - 3
Holding - 4
Joe Dirt - 3
Brianspeaking - 4

Ladder after Round 7
Slay Master G - 4+3+5+2+3+4+3 =24
Chelsworthgale - 2+5+1+4+3+3+5 =23
Penski - 2+3+3+3+4+3+4 =22
Brianspeaking - 3+3+2+2+4+3+4 =21
OC37 - 2+4+3+2+3+2+4 =20
Joe Dirt - 2+4+2+3+3+2+3 =19
Manni & Ken - 2+1+3+4+4+3+2 =19
Frederik Kanoute - 2+1+1+4+4+3+2 =17
Holding - 3+1+2+3+2+2+4 =17

nicho_magic
10 Jun 2007, 21:30
collegians travelling very nicely

Monkeyboy
10 Jun 2007, 21:51
Call 9644 2828 on Sat'day nights and you have all results given to you. Website is crap.

Gil McLaughlins Horse
12 Jun 2007, 12:20
Another 42 touches for Freddie on the weekend against Xavs...can anyone stop him?

Penski
12 Jun 2007, 12:51
collegians travelling very nicely

Both promoted teams going along beautifully.

There were a lot of thoughts last year as to whether COLL and OB's teams were good enough to make the step up, and although we are only just near halfway through the season, it's great to see that the promoted sides are not likely to "yo-yo" back and forth between grades.

Also says something for the quality of B Grade footy last year.

kaiser sose
12 Jun 2007, 14:07
Another 42 touches for Freddie on the weekend against Xavs...can anyone stop him?

I heard a rumour the stats kid is a bit of a nuff nuff. Nothing against freddie, he is in good form. As for the rest of the bernies, it was a pretty disappointing display. Will need to lift significantly to pose any threat against brighton

holding
12 Jun 2007, 14:10
I heard a rumour the stats kid is a bit of a nuff nuff. Nothing against freddie, he is in good form. As for the rest of the bernies, it was a pretty disappointing display. Will need to lift significantly to pose any threat against brighton

It was only 4 goals, not a bad effort against what i suspect is a much older more experianced Xav's team.

Going away so putting my tips in now

Uni BLues
Collegians
Trinity
Brighton
Xav's

Gil McLaughlins Horse
12 Jun 2007, 14:12

Other than a 10 minute period in which they went to sleep and xavs kicked 4 goals (the eventual margin) the bernies were pretty even, if not on top. Outscored them after quarter time.

Brighton will be a big one this week, i agree.

Vafa06
12 Jun 2007, 14:17
Other than a 10 minute period in which they went to sleep and xavs kicked 4 goals (the eventual margin) the bernies were pretty even, if not on top. Outscored them after quarter time.

Brighton will be a big one this week, i agree.

Chris Mitchell in the best again we see Gill. Word has it from the bernards camp you know him very very well

kaiser sose
12 Jun 2007, 14:22
[quote=holding;7814460]It was only 4 goals, not a bad effort against what i suspect is a much older more experianced Xav's team.

Only four goals in the end but bernards were never really in the game. You hit the nail on the head in regards to experience. McLachlan makes a massive difference to the side.

MurphysLaw
12 Jun 2007, 14:28
Gil- i imagine you'd be sporting a massive headache at present after your weekend bender....

Freddie- another lazy 40+ posession game... if only i could draft u for superleague!

Drizzle- any chance this week...?

mL

BrianSpeaking
12 Jun 2007, 14:37
OH vs OT for the spoon?
Has any side gone from A Section premier to B Section before like OH will? By the way, I have been informed that for some reason, OEG's Frazer hasnt seen the virtues of BF yet and doesnt post here...

Drizzle
12 Jun 2007, 14:57
Glad to see we have 2 Ammo legends(according to themselves) who post on this board, Frazer from PEGS and Mitchell!

We had Lincoln Reynolds last week.

Drizzle some chance but we'll keep that under wraps

Gil McLaughlins Horse
12 Jun 2007, 14:59
Chris Mitchell in the best again we see Gill. Word has it from the bernards camp you know him very very well

Off the mark once again VAFA. Not even the same DNA.

Bender??? not this week mate.

BrianSpeaking
12 Jun 2007, 15:22
We had Lincoln Reynolds last week.

Drizzle some chance but we'll keep that under wraps
The Champ, sounds more like John Cena. Funnily enough, Linc is actually a good bloke. I tried to poach him from OMs when he was working a mundane job for Gazman, but Carlsson snaffled him, along with Parko to OT.

Demon_8
13 Jun 2007, 16:56
Has any side gone from A Section premier to B Section before like OH will? By the way, I have been informed that for some reason, OEG's Frazer hasnt seen the virtues of BF yet and doesnt post here...

Thanks for the harsh spray then retraction Brian. after many years reading i've seen the virtues of BF and am ready to post.

i'm off to the B section thread, but hopefully OEG are part of this thread in 2008. A Bernards v OEG derby would be gold!

Supergrass
13 Jun 2007, 17:47
Surely an OEG choke is once again in order?

Our could it be 1,234th time lucky for the Jana Novotna's of the VAFA?

BrianSpeaking
13 Jun 2007, 18:31
Thanks for the harsh spray then retraction Brian. after many years reading i've seen the virtues of BF and am ready to post.

i'm off to the B section thread, but hopefully OEG are part of this thread in 2008. A Bernards v OEG derby would be gold!
D8, welcome to BF, I for one and tipping your mob will make the step up to A Section this year. I also thought you were the second best side in 04 so I may be wrong. As Gough once said....'It's time'.

nicho_magic
13 Jun 2007, 20:10
Both promoted teams going along beautifully.

There were a lot of thoughts last year as to whether COLL and OB's teams were good enough to make the step up, and although we are only just near halfway through the season, it's great to see that the promoted sides are not likely to "yo-yo" back and forth between grades.

Also says something for the quality of B Grade footy last year.

i don't think there was any doubt about collegians being up to a section after absolutely dominating b section last year...

old brighton however didn't have me convinced, but some cleaver recruiting has seen them show that they are most likely to be there in september. its good to see both clubs doing well in a section.

kaiser sose
14 Jun 2007, 11:17
Surely an OEG choke is once again in order?

Our could it be 1,234th time lucky for the Jana Novotna's of the VAFA?

I tend to agree that they will once again choke!

As much as a Bernards V OEG derby would be a ripper it would also be quite enjoyable to see the cocky bunch of pr!cks languish in B grade forever.

Half Back Pocket
14 Jun 2007, 12:18
D8, welcome to BF, I for one and tipping your mob will make the step up to A Section this year. I also thought you were the second best side in 04 so I may be wrong. As Gough once said....'It's time'.

OEG were the best side in '99, and finished 4th after choking on a 5 goal (approx.) lead at 3 Qtr time in the semi final!!

Slay Master G
14 Jun 2007, 13:00
OEG were the best side in '99, and finished 4th after choking on a 5 goal (approx.) lead at 3 Qtr time in the semi final!!

Thanks for that useless stat Bruce.

That was 1999, it was D Grade, the side that beat them was Ajax if my memory serves me correctly....?

Conduct Unbecoming
14 Jun 2007, 13:07
Thanks for that useless stat Bruce.

That was 1999, it was D Grade, the side that beat them was Ajax if my memory serves me correctly....?

Nope - Bulleen Temp beat them the day they choked....OEG were not in the best 3 in that year anyway..

MurphysLaw
14 Jun 2007, 14:14
Can anyone give me an update on the surface at Headquarters....?
We played there a month ago on a sunny sunday against Collegians and it was rockhard and dusty..
Has it improves with the recent rain...?

ps: Freddie, worked out your average for the season thus far ....34 per game, impressive.

soupsey
14 Jun 2007, 14:37
I thought we were an A grade thread ...not a cooda wooda shoulda second rate club thread.

Drizzle
14 Jun 2007, 15:42
I thought we were an A grade thread ...not a cooda wooda shoulda second rate club thread.

Agreed. Please direct East Keilor Grammar discussion to the appropriate thread

Slay Master G
14 Jun 2007, 17:28
Agreed. Please direct East Keilor Grammar discussion to the appropriate thread

Bit rich coming from a bloke from Sunshine Catholic College

Drizzle
14 Jun 2007, 18:17
Bit rich coming from a bloke from Sunshine Catholic College

C'mon SMG I've seen you come up with better than that before. However please direct those sorts of somments the Sunshine Catholic College thread

Penski
15 Jun 2007, 09:11
It's that time of the week again..

UB
COLL
OT
OB
OX

chelsworthgale
15 Jun 2007, 10:03
OI
COLL
OT (battle for the spoon)
OB
OX

Frederik Kanoute
15 Jun 2007, 12:15
Oi
Oh
Oc
Stb
Ox

Slay Master G
15 Jun 2007, 13:10
UB
Coll
OH
OB
OX

oc37
15 Jun 2007, 15:41
OI
Coll
OT
STb
OX

Joe Dirt
15 Jun 2007, 20:34
Ivanhoe
Collegians
Hailibury
Bernards
De La

No Josh Madden in the Under 23 team......another stroke of genius by the dimwits at headquarters

itchy&scratchy
15 Jun 2007, 21:16
i here that chris worner is going ok down there coz the usless prick did nothing at lalbert last year but he was happy to take the money:D:D:D

Manni & Ken
16 Jun 2007, 01:26
OI
Coll
OT
OB
OX

chelsworthgale
16 Jun 2007, 19:05
Round 8 Results
Chelsworthgale - 5
Frederik Kanoute - 3
Manni & Ken - 5
Penski - 4
OC37 - 4
Slay Master G - 3
Holding - 4
Joe Dirt - 2
Brianspeaking - 1

Ladder after Round 8
Chelsworthgale - 2+5+1+4+3+3+5+5 =28
Slay Master G - 4+3+5+2+3+4+3+3 =27
Penski - 2+3+3+3+4+3+4+ =26
Manni & Ken - 2+1+3+4+4+3+2+5 =24
OC37 - 2+4+3+2+3+2+4+4 =24
Brianspeaking - 3+3+2+2+4+3+4+1 =22
Holding - 3+1+2+3+2+2+4+4 =21
Joe Dirt - 2+4+2+3+3+2+3+2 =21
Frederik Kanoute - 2+1+1+4+4+3+2+3 =20

chelsworthgale
16 Jun 2007, 19:57
Just quietly a sensational game today at Pine Lodge... a few controversial decisions for both sides (as there always is) BUT in the end the one point margin definitely summed up the difference between the two teams.

God Yeah
17 Jun 2007, 21:27
Xavs handed out a football lesson to De La, too big too strong. De La need to have a good hard look at themselves or it's off to B.

Preseason premiership contenders to relegation battlers - The season in a word to date insipid.

Jascave
17 Jun 2007, 21:52
Is it true that if Old Haileybury gets relegated this year, they'll be the first team since 1979 to go down to B Section after winning A Section? What happened in the period after last year's grand final victory and now, and why is Old Haileybury in so much trouble?

Penski
18 Jun 2007, 10:08
Is it true that if Old Haileybury gets relegated this year, they'll be the first team since 1979 to go down to B Section after winning A Section? What happened in the period after last year's grand final victory and now, and why is Old Haileybury in so much trouble?

First team since Old Scotch i believe.

Good to see a Collegians win when they were definately playing below their best.

Monkeyboy
18 Jun 2007, 10:27

C U L T U R E

Stems from school who give scholarships to kids so they can win flags. Nobody plays for the jumper. No desire to play for Ammo side as there is no real school affiliation. Foul mouthed coach probably doesn't help things either.

"Everyone is against me. Benny...the umpires, what's happening..Waaaa Waaaa Waaaa"

jogger
18 Jun 2007, 11:33

They ran out of money...

Johnny Utah #9
18 Jun 2007, 11:38
Ivanhoe
Collegians
Hailibury
Bernards
De La

No Josh Madden in the Under 23 team......another stroke of genius by the dimwits at headquarters

Apparently he missed the u/23 team as he has been picked in the senior Vic side. Maybe someone else can confirm this?

Petrov
18 Jun 2007, 11:42
Nothing wrong with the culture at OH, we just lost a hell of a lot of players. Our best 22 players last year were better than any other team's but after that our twos struggled. This year when you take out 10-12 from that top 22 and don't add much new talent you are left with a big problem.

Even if we do go down it does not change the fact that we won the flag in 2006. If relegation in the following year was the price to pay for winning an A section flag there would be quite a few clubs willing to pay it each year. Plenty of players play their whole careers and do not win a flag. People remember Premierships forever, they don't remember who won the wooden spoon.

Paul Kaos
18 Jun 2007, 11:52
Nothing wrong with the culture at OH, we just lost a hell of a lot of players. Our best 22 players last year were better than any other team's but after that our twos struggled. This year when you take out 10-12 from that top 22 and don't add much new talent you are left with a big problem.

Even if we do go down it does not change the fact that we won the flag in 2006. If relegation in the following year was the price to pay for winning an A section flag there would be quite a few clubs willing to pay it each year. Plenty of players play their whole careers and do not win a flag. People remember Premierships forever, they don't remember who won the wooden spoon.

You are a twit!

Monkeyboy
18 Jun 2007, 12:03

Oh My :eek::eek:

C U L T U R E

soupsey
18 Jun 2007, 12:47
You blokes know all about paying the price. It's just a shame that the rubber cheques you handed out couldn't stop the mass exodus of mercenaries you hired to get a flag. Those reunions should be good in years to come given the obvious camraderie between the playing group. Don't worry though, nicho will be there.

Frederik Kanoute
18 Jun 2007, 14:01
Does anyone remember when the likes of Byrne, D Jordan, B Jordan, Fiedling, O'Sullivan etc. left Bernards in the same summer a few years back after they were runners up? The young kids stepped up, the better 2's players stepped up and they didn't set the world on fire but finished 6th to easily avoid relegation and keep the club going. thats culture

Frederik Kanoute
18 Jun 2007, 14:06
Apparently he missed the u/23 team as he has been picked in the senior Vic side. Maybe someone else can confirm this?

yes this is true along with danny roach from bernards. he qualified for the 23's but the senior side wanted him too and won out

Petrov
18 Jun 2007, 14:58
You are a twit!

How many A section flags have you played in knob?

Paul Kaos
18 Jun 2007, 15:18
How many A section flags have you played in knob?

At least 4 more than you..............jackass!

Petrov
18 Jun 2007, 15:25
So how much money did they cost?

What is the salary cap down at Old Xav's these days?

soupsey
18 Jun 2007, 16:16
Oh Petrov! How embarassing.

Petrov
18 Jun 2007, 16:22
Oh Petrov! How embarassing.

Please can you explain yourself a little more. Nothing embarrassing here, just your misspelling of the word.:)

soupsey
18 Jun 2007, 16:24
Can you spell C G R A D E?

Petrov
18 Jun 2007, 16:29
Can you spell C G R A D E?

Yes, I can spell a lot of things. I went to a Private school where spelling was valued. Can you pronounce H Grade correctly? No I didn't think so.

waveofthefuture
18 Jun 2007, 16:36
Petrov you are rapidly making a fool out of yourself.

soupsey
18 Jun 2007, 16:39
At my school we valued winning premierships all the time with our mates and then backing up the next year to try and do it again.

Paul Kaos
18 Jun 2007, 16:44
If relegation in the following year was the price to pay for winning an A section flag there would be quite a few clubs willing to pay it each year.

Petrov - sorry to drag you away from your "I'm smarter than you" debate, but I'm curious about one thing...........why does a club have to pay a price for winning a premiership?

Petrov
18 Jun 2007, 16:49
At my school we valued winning premierships all the time with our mates and then backing up the next year to try and do it again.

Did they teach you how to fish? It is way too easy to wind you blokes up.

I can feel the anger coming through, you need to calm yourselves or your journey to the dark side will be complete.

To answer the previous question from Paul Kaos, a club does not have to pay a price for a premiership. It was just a suggestion that if there was a price to pay, many clubs would be willing to pay it. Unfortunately there is no choice and you can not choose to win a flag just like you can not choose to be relegated..

soupsey
18 Jun 2007, 16:53
We all know that a school with sheilas in it isn't a real school anyway!
Sorry jogger.

Paul Kaos
18 Jun 2007, 16:59
Did they teach you how to fish? It is way too easy to wind you blokes up.

I can feel the anger coming through, you need to calm yourselves or your journey to the dark side will be complete.

To answer the previous question from Paul Kaos, a club does not have to pay a price for a premiership. It was just a suggestion that if there was a price to pay, many clubs would be willing to pay it. Unfortunately there is no choice and you can not choose to win a flag just like you can not choose to be relegated..

Huh?

Petrov
18 Jun 2007, 17:17
Sorry, that last sentence is a little confusing and it reads better like this, you can't choose to win a flag and you can't choose to be relegated. As we all know each year in each section there is only 1 flag and the bottom two teams go down, there is no choosing involved. My point may have been misunderstood, hopefully it is clear now.

MISTER X
18 Jun 2007, 17:42
We all know that a school with sheilas in it isn't a real school anyway!
Sorry jogger.

You private school boys make me sick...... tell me there were no sheilas at your 'boys' school. Get a life

Plumber
18 Jun 2007, 17:58
You private school boys make me sick...... tell me there were no sheilas at your 'boys' school. Get a life

Mister X, you left the caps lock on when creating your profile.

That's the button above shift on the left hand side of the keyboard.

For futher tips from those who completed year 9 keep tuning in to the
A-Section Ammo thread.

nicho_magic
18 Jun 2007, 20:14
what are the reports from the scotch v collegians match... does anybody know?

Slay Master G
18 Jun 2007, 22:03
Snake Pitters

Could any of you please fill me in on how Turtle Wilkinson ended up playing for Strathmore in the EDFL...?

Penski
19 Jun 2007, 00:08
what are the reports from the scotch v collegians match... does anybody know?

If you are referring to the tribunal, Thompson (Scotch) was red-carded for throwing 3-4 at Robbins' head after a scuffle.

Didn't look pretty, and i would expect a couple of weeks for Thompson.

nicho_magic
19 Jun 2007, 00:26
If you are referring to the tribunal, Thompson (Scotch) was red-carded for throwing 3-4 at Robbins' head after a scuffle.

Didn't look pretty, and i would expect a couple of weeks for Thompson.
cheeers

Joe Dirt
19 Jun 2007, 10:42
Snake Pitters

Could any of you please fill me in on how Turtle Wilkinson ended up playing for Strathmore in the EDFL...?

About a week before the season took off to some joint called Pyramid Hill about 3 hours towards Mildura for $$$. Supposedly didn't like the travel. Realised you could get cash locally. Don't think the club and players hold any real hard feelings. Always disappointing to lose a premiership player but we all know these things happen in Ammos. You have to work out a way to move on. (Perhaps Petrov could take some notes and deliver them back to his club)

His brother is still at the Pit and enjoying another very good season down back.

chelsworthgale
19 Jun 2007, 11:23
About a week before the season took off to some joint called Pyramid Hill about 3 hours towards Mildura for $$$. Supposedly didn't like the travel. Realised you could get cash locally. Don't think the club and players hold any real hard feelings. Always disappointing to lose a premiership player but we all know these things happen in Ammos. You have to work out a way to move on. (Perhaps Petrov could take some notes and deliver them back to his club)

His brother is still at the Pit and enjoying another very good season down back.

Apparently it is a "typical cycle"... at OH anyway...
1. Win Premiership
2. Players get big heads
3. Players take off to lesser leagues/clubs to get coin because they have no actual connection or love for the jumper as they were ring ins for a school with trophy's in mind rather than school pride and passion...
4. Go from premiers to laughing stock of A grade.

Petrov
19 Jun 2007, 12:08
Apparently it is a "typical cycle"... at OH anyway...
1. Win Premiership
2. Players get big heads
3. Players take off to lesser leagues/clubs to get coin because they have no actual connection or love for the jumper as they were ring ins for a school with trophy's in mind rather than school pride and passion...
4. Go from premiers to laughing stock of A grade.

Only 1 bloke has gone to a lesser league chasing cash. I will let you figure out who that bloke is (it is not difficult). The others have either retired, have long term serious injuries or have gone to the VFL. We are not dwelling on this or whinging we are simply doing what we can to limit the damage.

I admit that the scholarship debacle at the school has cost us down at OH as not many of the kids that finish in the 1st XVIII are likely to play for us as they have not had the time to build loyalty.

The problem is we have no say in the way the school runs their sporting program. Please don't blame us for the policies that the senior management of the school have implemented, they have nothing to do with the football club.

Fact is we are in a tough situation, with the new reinstatement rules that were implemented it is making it very difficult to attract quality young players who can get cash elsewhere. I think that plenty of other clubs in all grades are starting to experience this problem also.

I think you will all agree that the standard of the competition has suffered since the rule change. It places pressure on clubs to bend the rules to attract and hang on to players. It is placing a big load on Old Boy networks and some clubs do that better than others. Also the district clubs in the ammos are basically stuffed as they do not have that Old Boy network to rely on.

Is there a solution? Or do the ammos just let the school sides with the strongest Old Boy networks dominate. Obviously most of you blokes don't care because your clubs are coping well, but surely you can see the danger signals for the competition in the future.

Billy the Kid
19 Jun 2007, 12:36
Can anyone tell me about David Clark who plays for Old Brighton. Where is he from and how he got to play for them? Watched him on the weekend and the lad certainly knows how to find the footy..

chelsworthgale
19 Jun 2007, 14:13
Only 1 bloke has gone to a lesser league chasing cash. I will let you figure out who that bloke is (it is not difficult). The others have either retired, have long term serious injuries or have gone to the VFL. We are not dwelling on this or whinging we are simply doing what we can to limit the damage.

I admit that the scholarship debacle at the school has cost us down at OH as not many of the kids that finish in the 1st XVIII are likely to play for us as they have not had the time to build loyalty.

The problem is we have no say in the way the school runs their sporting program. Please don't blame us for the policies that the senior management of the school have implemented, they have nothing to do with the football club.

Fact is we are in a tough situation, with the new reinstatement rules that were implemented it is making it very difficult to attract quality young players who can get cash elsewhere. I think that plenty of other clubs in all grades are starting to experience this problem also.

I think you will all agree that the standard of the competition has suffered since the rule change. It places pressure on clubs to bend the rules to attract and hang on to players. It is placing a big load on Old Boy networks and some clubs do that better than others. Also the district clubs in the ammos are basically stuffed as they do not have that Old Boy network to rely on.

Is there a solution? Or do the ammos just let the school sides with the strongest Old Boy networks dominate. Obviously most of you blokes don't care because your clubs are coping well, but surely you can see the danger signals for the competition in the future.

Some valid points but there surely the entire school side isn't made up of scholarship players hence all it requires is enough mateship and people getting in the good players ears to get them down to the club. The Old Boy network can only do so much, what you got to realise is that teams like Ivanhoe don't have a very strong school side yet are playing A grade (seniors) and their 19s are dominating the division 3 grade. OH need to realise that it's not just the Old Boy network which you need to source your players from... try the local clubs, especially the juniors that don't have a senior affiliation, there are quite a few out there! The mix of suburban mongrel and hard at it nature mixed with the skillfulness of the school players works wonders... OI U19 - prime example.

Petrov
19 Jun 2007, 14:40
I agree with you that players need to be sourced from a number of areas but at McKinnon we have a co-tennant in St. Pauls/East Bentleigh who play in the SFL. They tend to get most of the local blokes who can play as they all grew up playing junior footy together. Also being the SFL they can offer a little bit of cash that gets young kids interested.

I also agree that success is not only because of a strong Old Boy network but it certainly helps, evidence of this is that A and B section are now dominated by school teams. We have had a number of quality youngsters and some experienced high profile players contact us to ask what can we do for them if they come down and play. We cannot offer cash but can only offer long term incentives such as employment and a possible career paths. We obviously have not been able to offer what they are looking for and they have gone to other clubs in the ammos and other leagues.

Many players do not see job security and a solid career as important and simply want something up front which most amateur clubs cannot offer. With the current reinstatement rule, players can come and go when they like. For that reason the VAFA is falling behind the stronger suburban and country competitions.

Manni & Ken
19 Jun 2007, 14:45
Some valid points but there surely the entire school side isn't made up of scholarship players Hmm..

chelsworthgale
19 Jun 2007, 14:49
Hmm..

is it really M & K?

being an AGSV bloke we only ever played them for a praccy match at the start of the year when there purchased players were still doing stingray and chargers practices

MISTER X
20 Jun 2007, 11:58
Mister X, you left the caps lock on when creating your profile.

That's the button above shift on the left hand side of the keyboard.

For futher tips from those who completed year 9 keep tuning in to the
A-Section Ammo thread.

Righto superstar. Are you just another 'puppet' on this forum trying to pretend to be someone you're not?? Quick - daddy's prob calling for you....faag.