View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football
overtheline
3 Apr 2006, 15:34
Big news Slayer, they will be joined by Old Ivanhoe if that is the case. I heard from my spies at Scotch that Ivanhoes president was complaing about the fact that they have lost their forward line this year, as well as George Haros. I also believe Scotch had 15 players not playing on the weekend(may be not true) and that the G traiin palyed CHF for a half for some exercise. DAG could probably fill us in but the odds of De La staying up are improving daily.
Brannigan broke his ankle last week and is out for the season. That won't help OI chances!
Big news Slayer, they will be joined by Old Ivanhoe if that is the case. I heard from my spies at Scotch that Ivanhoes president was complaing about the fact that they have lost their forward line this year, as well as George Haros. I also believe Scotch had 15 players not playing on the weekend(may be not true) and that the G traiin palyed CHF for a half for some exercise. DAG could probably fill us in but the odds of De La staying up are improving daily.
The best thing about De La staying in A-Grade is the club's proximity to Dairy Bell. I'm sure all A-Section people would be happy to take an easy 4 points and a chocolate sundae home from them on a more regular basis.
Big rumour for the VAFA forum.
The Big Cat Brent Walsh may have walked out on Old Trinity.
He was spotted running around with UNSW-ES down in Wollongong on Saturday and was quoted as saying that OT's had burnt him like a greasy sausage, especially the club's VAFA delegate and known Big Footy pest, who he said is the biggest rooster going around.
Surely OTs can't cover the loss of the Cat and Champ up forward. Could find themselves in B section next year....
Check your sources SMG, that alleged VAFA delegate and BF pest is certainly a rooster, but the remains of your post are of dubious authenticity. The only sausages getting burnt at Bulleen this week will be those at the post-Old Ivanhoe PM sizzle and jumper presentation. ;)
The Big Pineapple
3 Apr 2006, 15:57
Check your sources SMG, that alleged VAFA delegate and BF pest is certainly a rooster, but the remains of your post are of dubious authenticity. The only sausages getting burnt at Bulleen this week will be those at the post-Old Ivanhoe PM sizzle and jumper presentation. ;)
Scribe,
I was back in the harbour city last weekend so sent a text to the BC for an Extraordinary Big Footy General Meeting at Cargo Bar. He replied that he was in Wollongong so would not be able to make it.
Sounds like there might be more fact in this story than first thought.
Slay Master G
3 Apr 2006, 16:01
The only sausages getting burnt at Bulleen this week will be those at the post-Old Ivanhoe PM sizzle and jumper presentation. ;)
I did hear that OT's social functions lacked gender balance.
Destination A Grade
3 Apr 2006, 16:06
Oh how quickly news spreads. Branigan will be out for the first part of the season but should be right by finals time. We were pretty close to full strength on the weekend and have one injury concern from the game.
Nobody can replace the great George Haros. A legendary career for the Brown and White and we all wish him the best in the future. I'm sure there are some G Haros haters out there, but deep down they know that they would have loved there own 'Disco'. 221 games, 4 time premiership player, 1990's OIGFC Team of the Decade and OIGFC Team of the Century. Truely a great Old Ivanhoe Person and great Amateur Footballer.
I believe the G Train played CHF because he was concerned about a slight quad strain. The explosive movements out of FF would have caused him some worry.
overtheline
3 Apr 2006, 16:11
Oh how quickly news spreads. Branigan will be out for the first part of the season but should be right by finals time. We were pretty close to full strength on the weekend and have one injury concern from the game.
Nobody can replace the great George Haros. A legendary career for the Brown and White and we all wish him the best in the future. I'm sure there are some G Haros haters out there, but deep down they know that they would have loved there own 'Disco'. 221 games, 4 time premiership player, 1990's OIGFC Team of the Decade and OIGFC Team of the Century. Truely a great Old Ivanhoe Person and great Amateur Footballer.
I believe the G Train played CHF because he was concerned about a slight quad strain. The explosive movements out of FF would have caused him some worry.
I suppose if you call the first 15 games the "first part of the season", then your right!
Destination A Grade
3 Apr 2006, 16:16
Overtheline, we were hoping for round 14, but apparently you know more than I.
Can I ask whom you support??
brian speaking
3 Apr 2006, 16:25
I'nm sure you were shattered that big James played CHF on the weekend DAG, and yes, Haros was liked Rombotis, opposition sides and supporters hated him but would have had him in their side in a heartbeat. Is it true that he is playing soccer this year?
Destination A Grade
3 Apr 2006, 16:36
Brian, I heard he might have a crack at soccer, but I'm not sure. He was down on Saturday, but didn't get to have a long chat with him.
I'd never played a Scotch team with the G Train in it, so at the start I thought I was playing on him. Soon learnt I wasn't, but looks like he can play a bit.
brian speaking
3 Apr 2006, 17:13
Brian, I heard he might have a crack at soccer, but I'm not sure. He was down on Saturday, but didn't get to have a long chat with him.
I'd never played a Scotch team with the G Train in it, so at the start I thought I was playing on him. Soon learnt I wasn't, but looks like he can play a bit.
He is a freak, kicked 12 and 11 against us last year, winning margins were 70 points and 64 points.
peter__andre
3 Apr 2006, 17:19
I'd never played a Scotch team with the G Train in it, so at the start I thought I was playing on him. Soon learnt I wasn't, but looks like he can play a bit.[/quote]
DAG, in all your years of being the backbone of the Poo Browns defence, who has been the toughest forward you've had to play on?
Destination A Grade
3 Apr 2006, 17:45
DAG, in all your years of being the backbone of the Poo Browns defence, who has been the toughest forward you've had to play on?
Hard to say. I probably looked forward to playing on Hawkins the most. He was quick, damaging when shooting at goal and you could play anywhere from inside the goal square to the wing. Had some ding-dong battles too. He is the bloke i've probably played on the most.
Lowcock (Uni) is pretty handy.
Played on Greig (OT) only once and was going OK until Johnny Stevens (who was injured and running water) ran out and gave him a bake. Well, i've never seen a man fire up more. He kept leading towards our bench and marking everything. Ten minutes later he had 4 shots on goal and had kicked three. Everytime he got it he would spin around, look for Johnny and return the bake.
Last time we were in A Grade there seemed to be a gun every week, and no two were ever the same. I guess it will be much the same this year. Lucas and Garvey (St K) when going were hard to stop.
Blueboys11
4 Apr 2006, 11:08
As a forward the hardest defender would have to be that Bret Thornton lookalike from OI who is featured at the top of the VAFA website homepage.
Always manages to get those sausage arms in the way to spoil.
brian speaking
4 Apr 2006, 11:21
Hard to say. I probably looked forward to playing on Hawkins the most. He was quick, damaging when shooting at goal and you could play anywhere from inside the goal square to the wing. Had some ding-dong battles too. He is the bloke i've probably played on the most.
Lowcock (Uni) is pretty handy.
Played on Greig (OT) only once and was going OK until Johnny Stevens (who was injured and running water) ran out and gave him a bake. Well, i've never seen a man fire up more. He kept leading towards our bench and marking everything. Ten minutes later he had 4 shots on goal and had kicked three. Everytime he got it he would spin around, look for Johnny and return the bake.
Last time we were in A Grade there seemed to be a gun every week, and no two were ever the same. I guess it will be much the same this year. Lucas and Garvey (St K) when going were hard to stop.
DAG, was it you or Toovey who played on Chard 3 years ago in round 17 and he kicked 6 in the last quarter from FF to snatch the win out at Pine Lodge?
Garvey will be solid at FF in B this year, can play.
Destination A Grade
4 Apr 2006, 13:47
Not sure who it was. Doubt it was Toovey, so i guess that makes it me.
Is Garvey still kicking around?? He kicked about 2.5 in a quarter on me at Righetti last time we played there.
brian speaking
4 Apr 2006, 17:13
Not sure who it was. Doubt it was Toovey, so i guess that makes it me.
Is Garvey still kicking around?? He kicked about 2.5 in a quarter on me at Righetti last time we played there.
yeah, Garv has just hit the big 30, claims he has another 5 yrs in him.
barrybogan
5 Apr 2006, 14:11
Lachy Ford last night stood down as Xav's skipper. Any tips on who will be his replacement?
My money is on Ruygy. Not an old boy, but an excellent player, strong leader and a ripper of a bloke.
froggie6
5 Apr 2006, 17:01
Lachy Ford last night stood down as Xav's skipper. Any tips on who will be his replacement?
My money is on Ruygy. Not an old boy, but an excellent player, strong leader and a ripper of a bloke.
Word is they lured that spanner Fleming with the captaincy. Is he playing? Ruygy would be a better proposition.
brian speaking
5 Apr 2006, 17:21
Word is they lured that spanner Fleming with the captaincy. Is he playing? Ruygy would be a better proposition.
Fleming is not playing at OX, McDonald has gone to Caulfied in SFL, Purss to Werribee and Graham may not be playing at OX either as he has not got the job he was promised. Is it all cloak and daggers down at TP?
BS - What makes you think Fleming is not playing at OX?
I'm surprised you're still posting here. Those lawyers must have shaken you a bit!
Haven't you got w*nkers cramp yet? Do actually think before you type and then read it before you hit the "submit reply" button?
You have too much to say for someone with zero credibility.
brian speaking
5 Apr 2006, 18:42
I'm surprised you're still posting here. Those lawyers must have shaken you a bit!
Haven't you got w*nkers cramp yet? Do actually think before you type and then read it before you hit the "submit reply" button?
You have too much to say for someone with zero credibility.
Gee, strong reaction. So you are saying none of the above is true? Me thinks you protest to much. I suppose we will see round one wont we.
No protestations, just a statement of fact and some rhetorical questions.
If you have any credibility, why did your Old Camb post get removed and you were forced to apologise?
Eddie Woloschek
6 Apr 2006, 09:21
He is a freak, kicked 12 and 11 against us last year, winning margins were 70 points and 64 points.
A freak? Hardly. Measure the quality of opposition, and there apparently wasn't much down at Monga Road last year.
brian speaking
6 Apr 2006, 10:11
No protestations, just a statement of fact and some rhetorical questions.
If you have any credibility, why did your Old Camb post get removed and you were forced to apologise?
Im not sure that it means I have no credibility, but I cant comment on the OC issues anymore.
If your claims were true and you could substantiate them, you would not need to apologise. Clearly you could not, so you were forced to apologise.
You really should be called Brian VISACard :
Signing up to Big Footy - FREE
Upgrading your computer chair because the wheels have all broken off the old one - $25
Buying a new monitor to get rid of the sticky goo all over the screen - $500
Posting unsubstantiated claims, having to back down and apologise and be left with zero credibility - PRICELESS (but embarrassing!)
Upgrading your computer chair because the wheels have all broken off the old one - $25
Having your user name as OXFC - PRICELESS (but embarrassing!)
Might have already been posted, so apologies if it has. Heard last night that last seasons OM's B&F has gone off to become a male stripper. Any truth in this?
brian speaking
6 Apr 2006, 11:29
If your claims were true and you could substantiate them, you would not need to apologise. Clearly you could not, so you were forced to apologise.
Posting unsubstantiated claims, having to back down and apologise and be left with zero credibility - PRICELESS (but embarrassing!)
Thanks
brian speaking
6 Apr 2006, 11:35
A freak? Hardly. Measure the quality of opposition, and there apparently wasn't much down at Monga Road last year.
Edward 70 plus goals in 14 games is handy
24 of which were kicked against you guys in 2 games though Brian. Take out that and it equtes to under 4 a game. Good player though no doubt. Who was playing full-back for SKOB, "bones of chalk" Quentin?
Eddie Woloschek
6 Apr 2006, 12:17
handy < freak.
brian speaking
6 Apr 2006, 12:17
24 of which were kicked against you guys in 2 games though Brian. Take out that and it equtes to under 4 a game. Good player though no doubt. Who was playing full-back for SKOB, "bones of chalk" Quentin?
Any club would take a 5 goal a game forward Plumber, he is a star in my opinion and a ripping bloke.
Supa Frank
6 Apr 2006, 12:50
Might have already been posted, so apologies if it has. Heard last night that last seasons OM's B&F has gone off to become a male stripper. Any truth in this?
Not sure if our B&F winner has gone off to strip, the x-captain could, he turns women GA GA!
Benny MOF
6 Apr 2006, 13:23
OXFC
Any idea which of your team mates get into female underwear...?
The Big Pineapple
6 Apr 2006, 13:37
OXFC
Give it away Benny... you're beating a dead horse!
overtheline
6 Apr 2006, 14:05
Absolute GOLD OXFC! I notice not much of a comeback....very funny and true!
brian speaking
6 Apr 2006, 14:07
Absolute GOLD OXFC! I notice not much of a comeback....very funny and true!
What can I say???
Just to change the pace a bit, how are the mighty Reds baring up in the praccy matches?
Moss Rocket
6 Apr 2006, 14:33
OXFC
Winners are grinners aren't they Benny? I would say about 22 blokes were getting a little bit of female underware action last September.
OXFC
You still going on about that?
I heard it was professor plum, in the observatory, with a 12 inch dildo...
Supa Frank
6 Apr 2006, 17:51
OXFC
Benny,
I love the fact that you will not leave this alone. You are like a dog with a bone or should I say an OX with a bone in girls undies.
Benny,
I love the fact that you will not leave this alone. You are like a dog with a bone or should I say an OX with a bone in girls undies.
Careful Benny, it sound like Franky-boy wants to give you a bone of his own.
Benny,
That's very clever Frank.
Did you think that one up by yourself?
Grade 3 has been very good for you. Third time around and you can write sentences now.
Supa Frank
10 Apr 2006, 11:36
That's very clever Frank.
Did you think that one up by yourself?
Grade 3 has been very good for you. Third time around and you can write sentences now.
Don't get personal OXFC, anyway you'd better get back to work, wouldn't want to see Daddy's business go under.
Son of a Gun
12 Apr 2006, 14:42
Will the return of Toovey and the inclusion of Nick Butler from Port in the SANFL help lift Ivanhoe's chances of staying in the grade?
Practice Mach Result for Thursday 13th April @ Noble Park
Reserves:
Noble Park 7.12-54 Old Hailebury 3.2-20
Seniors:
Noble Park 4.2 12.5 16.6 22.10-142
Old Hailebury 2.4 3.6 8.9 10.11-71
Allears
15 Apr 2006, 18:08
Reserves:
Seniors:
The VAFA is a better comp! :eek:
Reserves:
Seniors:
Thanks for that - though I doubt it has any relevance to anything.
If your point is Noble Park are far stronger than Haileybury (and by anaolgy the EFL over the VAFA) then I just watched Hawthorn beat Geelong at Geelong by 101 pts to 49 pts.
NB - it may also mean Haileybury couldn't muster as deep a squad before the long weekend as Noble Park.
brian speaking
15 Apr 2006, 18:38
The VAFA is a better comp! :eek:
Massive news out of Toorak Park today. Aaron Lord has done an Adrian Cox and walked from Old Xavs over to Strathmore and signed on for 1K a game.
Normally I would laugh at this but this time all of us Amateur lovers should be spewing at Lord who has taken a glamour job organised by Slicer McLean and then done a Cox.
He has now s h i t in the face of his old school side and the flagship VAFA club...what a tool. I only hope his employer has enough guts and sacks his a r s e.
Massive news out of Toorak Park today. Aaron Lord has done an Adrian Cox and walked from Old Xavs over to Strathmore and signed on for 1K a game.
Normally I would laugh at this but this time all of us Amateur lovers should be spewing at Lord who has taken a glamour job organised by Slicer McLean and then done a Cox.
He has now s h i t in the face of his old school side and the flagship VAFA club...what a tool. I only hope his employer has enough guts and sacks his a r s e.
Whilst I also find this rather vexing, there are two points which come out of this:
1. it's one less ex-AFL player to worry about, but I'd be more worried about the genuine ammo players Xavs have who would give more week in/out than Lord anyhow; and
2. who the hell won the lotto on the Strathmore FC committee? I reckon every other club in the EDFL will be livid about this. Not only have they picked up both Barnards, the best ruckman outside the AFL from WA in Myles Quinn, a smattering of other quality WRFL/EDFL recruits, but they top it off with another gorilla per week to Lord.
Still, Brian, I can understand your viewpoint all the same.....
Allears
15 Apr 2006, 18:58
Whilst I also find this rather vexing, there are two points which come out of this:
1. it's one less ex-AFL player to worry about, but I'd be more worried about the genuine ammo players Xavs have who would give more week in/out than Lord anyhow; and
2. who the hell won the lotto on the Strathmore FC committee? I reckon every other club in the EDFL will be livid about this. Not only have they picked up both Barnards, the best ruckman outside the AFL from WA in Myles Quinn, a smattering of other quality WRFL/EDFL recruits, but they top it off with another gorilla per week to Lord.
I'm surre the EDFL community will welcome this soft ******** with open arms.
No one won the lotto at strathmore, remember the motto ''money talks, bull******** walks"! :D
buffolo bill
15 Apr 2006, 21:07
scribe,
love the ammos i do, passion and loyalty and maybe a bit of stubborness is fantastic, but sometimes one has to sit down and maybe acknowledge that another comp may be better than ours. east burwood, east ringwood and now noble park have all played a grade ammo teams this pre season and have done them over. granted, each time the ammo clubs may have had some out and practice matches are just that. but a result is a result and just maybe that competitions teams can also play a little bit. not having a go, just having an opinion.
If your point is Noble Park are far stronger than Haileybury (and by anaolgy the EFL over the VAFA) then I just watched Hawthorn beat Geelong at Geelong by 101 pts to 49 pts.
NB - it may also mean Haileybury couldn't muster as deep a squad before the long weekend as Noble Park.
Just posting the score cos people might be interested, i do however think Noble Park are better then Old Haileybury but not by much.
As for the competitions comment, your putting words in my mouth. I was just stating a score. However i will say this:
Even though a few EFL (Div.1) sides have beaten VAFA (A Grade) sides it doesn't really mean anything as their practice matches. Most people from either comp will probably tell you their comp is the best, personally i think there probably on a par with each other.
Don't know who either team had out on the night so cant comment on your last comment.
accurate1
16 Apr 2006, 00:32
Strathmore could haved saved a fortune by only hiring half the 14 mercenaries signed and simply getting someone who can actually coach, problem is the coach is footing the bill so he & the other twits are putting their egos ahead of the club .. the sad part is what they are doing to the real Strathmore kids.
Plumber
16 Apr 2006, 10:49
I think it is quite well known what sort of a bloke Aaron Lord is. Even ex teammates of his I know reckon he is one of the world's great f u c k wits. Well said previously Brian. What kind of a bloke makes someone spend countless hours trying to find them great employment, then runs out on the club like that? It is absolute disgrace.
brian speaking
16 Apr 2006, 22:28
scribe,
love the ammos i do, passion and loyalty and maybe a bit of stubborness is fantastic, but sometimes one has to sit down and maybe acknowledge that another comp may be better than ours. east burwood, east ringwood and now noble park have all played a grade ammo teams this pre season and have done them over. granted, each time the ammo clubs may have had some out and practice matches are just that. but a result is a result and just maybe that competitions teams can also play a little bit. not having a go, just having an opinion.
Lets be honest, if you were a Noble Park or a Vermont and you were shelling out between 120 K and 200 K to put a side on the park in a professional league, you would be absolutely gobsmacked if an Amateur team defeated you. This new rule that has been introduced by the VAFA will dilute the talent even more, so whether we like it or not, I think the VAFA as a competition will go backwards. That is not to say that the rep sides will not be dominant as there are over 10,000 registered VAFA players who are looking for a spot in the VAFA rep side 22.
droppuntkick23
18 Apr 2006, 17:41
You might find St Bernards will pick up a key-onballer from Aberfeldie this week
Allears
18 Apr 2006, 17:54
You might find St Bernards will pick up a key-onballer from Aberfeldie this week
Droppuntkick, any chance of a hint or even a name?
droppuntkick23
18 Apr 2006, 19:24
Went to school there. Played his footy at Abers although was captain of the school team.Will be an asset to St Bernards, no doubt !
On the Run
18 Apr 2006, 22:58
That player is Daniel Janides.
Should fit in very well with the fleet footed midfielders of the snowdogs.
Also signed up the 2nd greatest Japanese player of all time.
Deefer4
18 Apr 2006, 23:22
Strathmore could haved saved a fortune by only hiring half the 14 mercenaries signed and simply getting someone who can actually coach, problem is the coach is footing the bill so he & the other twits are putting their egos ahead of the club .. the sad part is what they are doing to the real Strathmore kids.
Spot on!:thumbsu:
i was watching lavington Vs the Wodonga Radiers in the O&MFL on the weekend and the other japanese player that stayed in Aust and played in an essendon practise match was running aroung the panthers oval and he was a less then average player in a less then average team so idon't think that his little mate will be much better.
Can run along way but dosen't get the ball. Don't expect much from him.
Benny MOF
19 Apr 2006, 14:35
I think it is quite well known what sort of a bloke Aaron Lord is. Even ex teammates of his I know reckon he is one of the world's great f u c k wits. Well said previously Brian. What kind of a bloke makes someone spend countless hours trying to find them great employment, then runs out on the club like that? It is absolute disgrace.
My local rag said that Lord had "retired" citing that he could not give his all and justify playing in the red and black.
Coach Richardson is quoted as saying that Lord has done the honourable thing....?
Is he really playing for Strathmore..?
I think you'll find that the coach is not footing the bill!
bomber5
20 Apr 2006, 13:42
My local rag said that Lord had "retired" citing that he could not give his all and justify playing in the red and black.
Coach Richardson is quoted as saying that Lord has done the honourable thing....?
Is he really playing for Strathmore..?
Wasn't at training Tuesday night, so we'll see if he is at the Mores session tonight. The whisper is getting stronger and stronger that he has signed at the Mores.
Aussie_dude
21 Apr 2006, 10:44
Dont forget luke williams from melbourne and Michael O'Brien from West Coast.
Strathmore as a club could raise about 110k and the are spending about 185k. So im sure most of you could work out how much Hille is putting into the club.
In response to this alot of their good u/18's have left. A couple going to Bernards.
aberdaberdo
21 Apr 2006, 11:15
Strathmore as a club could raise about 110k and the are spending about 185k. So im sure most of you could work out how much Hille is putting into the club.
In response to this alot of their good u/18's have left. A couple going to Bernards.
Will be very embarassing when reality hits and all these so called experts with the good mail find out Lord is not playing at the Mores. Hope they apologise for the absolute character assasination frenzy they have stirred up on this thread.
No ex U18's going to St.B's. Couple of first year 18's from last years U16's gone to play U17. Flat track bullies.
And Tim Harvey.
Apparently no sign of A. Lord
aberdaberdo
26 Apr 2006, 10:55
Still haven't seen the apology to A.Lord Brian. Come now you must be big enough to admit when you're, whats the word? Ah yes WRONG.
brian speaking
26 Apr 2006, 11:40
Still haven't seen the apology to A.Lord Brian. Come now you must be big enough to admit when you're, whats the word? Ah yes WRONG.
Lord needs to run out with Old Xavs for his credibility in the VAFA world, if that means anything to him. We may be sworn enemies on the filed, but off it we are all a pretty tight bunch.
aberdaberdo
26 Apr 2006, 11:53
Lord needs to run out with Old Xavs for his credibility in the VAFA world, if that means anything to him. We may be sworn enemies on the filed, but off it we are all a pretty tight bunch.
Credibility? No A.Lord to Strathmore for 1K a game.(your words) Say sorry Brian.
The Big Pineapple
26 Apr 2006, 14:06
Scribe,
Can you confirm that top bloke Scott McPherson wants out of Trinity and wants to return back to Keilor Hill??? Just something I've heard along my travels.
Cheers
TBP
brian speaking
26 Apr 2006, 14:12
Credibility? No A.Lord to Strathmore for 1K a game.(your words) Say sorry Brian.
If John Howard won't say it, neither will I aber, go back to your EDFL forum.
Scribe,
Can you confirm that top bloke Scott McPherson wants out of Trinity and wants to return back to Keilor Hill??? Just something I've heard along my travels.
Cheers
TBP
Nup - can't confirm that. He's had a change of job and re-injured his back.
No word that he wants to leave, in fact he was down taking photos for our website on the weekend and will hopefully be training again when the inflamed disc settles down.
That's about it really.
aberdaberdo
26 Apr 2006, 16:09
If John Howard won't say it, neither will I aber, go back to your EDFL forum.
Like John you probably don't even recall saying it.
Any Uni blues blokes,wat is tyson "bullldog" Hunter playing down at the varsity. He rates himself pretty highly but did have a suspect groin towards the end of last year.
Alphonse
3 May 2006, 22:36
I would be suprised if Tim Fleming appears for OX in the first half of the year, last i heard he was living it up in Argentina and had no plans to return. What is the cut off date? Expect his name to appear on a reserves team sheet pretty close to that date.
Great to see you back on here Alphonse. Where are you and how is your world tour of women going?
ifyoucandodgeawrench
5 May 2006, 10:15
Scribe, there are sides all over vic metro that would thump the top VAFA sides.
Noble Pk, Vermont, Heidelberg, Greenvale.... the list goes on and on..
The Big Pineapple
5 May 2006, 10:41
Scribe, there are sides all over vic metro that would thump the top VAFA sides.
Noble Pk, Vermont, Heidelberg, Greenvale.... the list goes on and on..
You argument has no weight given you have simply the named the current best teams of each comp. Old Xavs (VAFA's current best team) would easily match it with all those teams. In saying that I agree that those teams would beat some VAFA A grade team but in return some VAFA A grade teams would beat teams in other A grade metropolitan leagues. Maybe we could have a Victorian Premiers Super League knock out comp in October for all metropolitan A grade premiers.
Slay Master G
5 May 2006, 10:44
Don't think the suburban leagues would have enough poker machines to fund their teams for another few matches TBP, like your idea though.
I used to work with a guy who played with East Ringwood (few years ago when they were going really well)
He used to sit there and crap on about how much better the EDFL was ect until one day they organised a practise match against one of the Ammo sides. This guy used to say his 2's would beat most VAFA 1's sides, needless to say the 2 got taught a lesson by the VAFA boys then the main game was great.
It was about 30 degrees and the EDFL boys were up by 5 at half time then what happened? To many weights and not enough speed work kicked into gear and the AMMO side ran over the top.
At work on Monday he finally admitted (after 2 years) that the VAFA was as strong as the EDFL he was shocked at the skill level and speed.
The game you are referring to was last year Old Haileybury vs East Ringwood at East Ringwood. The margin was about 2 goals to OH. The same two teams played this year at Elsternwick Park. There was no scoreboard operating but the result was pretty close again but I think East Ringwood got up this time. They are only praccy games and both teams would not have been full strength or fair dinkum, but it does show that the competitions are not that far apart.
Supergrass
8 May 2006, 12:58
Any match reports from OTR (Bernies), Scribe (OT's) or DAG (Hoers) this week?
Also looks like OM's are stuggling a touch at the moment, only kicked three majors yesterday (conditions may have been very ordinary though).
On the Run
8 May 2006, 13:03
Also looks like OM's are stuggling a touch at the moment, only kicked three majors yesterday (conditions may have been very ordinary though).
See A grade match reviews for STB, OH report
Destination A Grade
8 May 2006, 13:44
Conditions weren't great, but it only rained for about 10 minutes.
The Brown and White had a lot to play for - James Hope's 100th game. The score line is deceiving. An arm wrestle for the most part.
Supa Frank
8 May 2006, 14:51
Conditions weren't great, but it only rained for about 10 minutes.
The Brown and White had a lot to play for - James Hope's 100th game. The score line is deceiving. An arm wrestle for the most part.
Condition were not great but OMs need to start winning or we will be in B grade before the middle of the seasons. OX this week and we have a good records against them so hopefully we can turn it around.
ifyoucandodgeawrench
11 May 2006, 15:12
You argument has no weight given you have simply the named the current best teams of each comp. Old Xavs (VAFA's current best team) would easily match it with all those teams. In saying that I agree that those teams would beat some VAFA A grade team but in return some VAFA A grade teams would beat teams in other A grade metropolitan leagues. Maybe we could have a Victorian Premiers Super League knock out comp in October for all metropolitan A grade premiers.
You say this, and then the Xavs go and get beaten by OTs...:D
You'll have no luck in October, all of the VAFA sides will be on footy trips around rural Victoria :p
dan caplan
11 May 2006, 17:34
Go AJAX!
Handsome.B.Wonderful
11 May 2006, 18:01
You'll have no luck in October, all of the VAFA sides will be on footy trips around rural Victoria :p
Perhaps an indication of the depth in A grade?
nicho_magic
11 May 2006, 22:22
congratulations to macca (steve mccarthy) umpiring his 500th game this weekend. whilst i've only just joined the VAUFA, he seems to be incredibly well liked down there, and to be still doing a section is a solid effort to say the least.. congratulations.
Plumber
12 May 2006, 09:56
Re: Footy trips
Just because your team saves half of every dole check to go and catch syphillis from one-legged hookers in Manilla, it doesn't make your club special.
dan caplan
12 May 2006, 10:42
What division is AJAX in?
Go JACKAS
Supergrass
12 May 2006, 11:34
Yes, congratulations are in order, the umpire specifically requested the De La v Bernies bout, but I fear for the poor man's safety at one of the worst grounds in the Ammo's (Waverley Park).
Bigger slope on the ground than some of the double black runs at Hotham.
HotShoeShuffle
12 May 2006, 18:10
Perhaps an indication of the depth in A grade?
Any team with Rambo doesnt need depth, out and out champion
Yes, congratulations are in order, the umpire specifically requested the De La v Bernies bout, but I fear for the poor man's safety at one of the worst grounds in the Ammo's (Waverley Park).
Bigger slope on the ground than some of the double black runs at Hotham.
ive played many games at dairy bell and besides some suspect drainage on the clubrooms wing there doesnt seem to be too many problems with it, especially not to call it one of the worst grounds in the VAFA. Considering there can be up to 4 or 5 games played on it a week it doesnt hold up too bad, and as for your suggestion of a 'slope' well that is so rediculous i cannot even determine which side you think the ground slopes to.
Son of a Gun
13 May 2006, 20:56
ive played many games at dairy bell and besides some suspect drainage on the clubrooms wing there doesnt seem to be too many problems with it, especially not to call it one of the worst grounds in the VAFA. Considering there can be up to 4 or 5 games played on it a week it doesnt hold up too bad, and as for your suggestion of a 'slope' well that is so rediculous i cannot even determine which side you think the ground slopes to.
Good to see DLS have a good win today against STB. I know a lot of people make fun of them for their recent yo-yo history but really think this is the year they will stay up and not just by the skin of their teeth.
Akron, hope you are being sarcastic re the ground, it's not the worst but it does have a slope (to the clubroom side) you could easily ski jump off - hence the poor drainage on that side you refer to. The Dairy Bell side would be more than 2m higher which is much more than needed for any drainage.
De La will be good this year. Very tough start with OH, OS, Uni Blues and St Bernards they showed good form and did not get flogged and they managed to get 1 from 4. When they play the rest of the struggling teams that make up A Section this season, if form holds, they should beat most of them and might even find themselves in the four at the turn.
On the other hand what a gift start for OS, but I suppose all you can do is beat your opponent each week. They have had OM's, De La, Marcellin, then a very depeleted Uni and OI next week who have had a very soft start themselves.
Final four in no order:
OH
OS
St B
Uni
Only other teams with a chance of making it OX or De La
Relegation OM's and OT
holding
14 May 2006, 15:13
Actually watched the Uni VS OS game yesterday, what a horrible game, neither side looked even close to it's best, both played some nice passages of footy but they were only short lived.
It's the first game I have seen Scotch play and i must say they give it red hot go, very different team to the teams of past IMO.