View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43

sideshowbob
2 Sep 2007, 15:07
snowdogs, please mate stop talking utter rot.

The writing was on the wall we we defeated you at your own ground, in our / your last practise match a week before rd 1 this year, and yes i am aware that you may have been missing a couple as were we and it was only a practise match, however with a little luck rupertswood may be playing " B " grade next year and i would imagine that our " future generation " are far from cats, they are a young buch of blokes having a crack and have had a fantastic year considering, baddley, quigley, ata, phillips, brennan, and allport have been playing most of the year in the senior side.

Like i say, we have still alot of work to and with a little luck we will just see how bright our future is.

P.S, without the lewer of playing " A " grade footy now, word i'm hearing is that Cal " Pots " Potter will be returing to his home next year ???

chelsworthgale
2 Sep 2007, 15:20
Yeah well shit happens when you have lost your 7 best players due to injury and as a result have to recruit heavily from the U19's. No Doubt we will be seeing you punks again in 2009. At least we have a bright future at our club, we will go all the way and win the U19 Premier Div granny. Other than De La and maybe even Xavs the rest of the clubs future's are looking pretty bleak. The future generation of all you other clubs have absolute cats playing for them, i would know ive played them all year and the last 2 years. Cats.

boo hoo cry me a river... JT sorry had to borrow your number one hit there... royalty cheque in the mail... OI along with others have felt the injury toll at all stages of this year including recent state players if the ilk of Thompson, Heta, Hope, Low and Crowley and add the numerous games missed by geischen, bryne, roberts, lochran, geilings and Jessop... so stick your injury qualm up your ass everyone has them... as for your 19's blooding, our boys finished top of div 3 with a little luck should bring home the silver wear... mind you we had 5 blood direct into the seniors this year...

Just enjoy your time in B Grade, maybe the piggish disgraceful attitude of your club in general might be dropped... just like the remaining respect your mob had prior to being relegated!

holding
2 Sep 2007, 21:26
Yeah well shit happens when you have lost your 7 best players due to injury and as a result have to recruit heavily from the U19's. No Doubt we will be seeing you punks again in 2009. At least we have a bright future at our club, we will go all the way and win the U19 Premier Div granny. Other than De La and maybe even Xavs the rest of the clubs future's are looking pretty bleak. The future generation of all you other clubs have absolute cats playing for them, i would know ive played them all year and the last 2 years. Cats.

These sound like the words of a very very sour man hahaha

At the end of the day your shitty little club with it's foul mouth supporters will be running around in B grade next year while the rest of us will be enjoying our A Grade footy. Please find the biggest c*ck you can and suck it.

ultimate hater
3 Sep 2007, 09:40
what happened with OI and OH??? Anyone see the game??

The Big Pineapple
3 Sep 2007, 10:00

At the end of the day your shitty little club with it's foul mouth supporters will be running around in B grade next year while the rest of us will be enjoying our A Grade footy. Please find the biggest c*ck you can and suck it.

Watch the slide continue at the Snake Pit. There are too many big egos down there and many will be too proud to play B Grade so will chase coin!

jogger
3 Sep 2007, 10:10
Soupsey, where were u after the game?

Penski
3 Sep 2007, 10:26
Good luck to those who made the finals. Unfortunate that the Lions couldn't get over the line in the end.

Does anyone have anything to report on the OH game? I'd love to know what happened there. OH certainly went out with a bang!

ultimate hater
3 Sep 2007, 10:51
i love finals...

GallopingGasometer
3 Sep 2007, 10:52
Good luck to those who made the finals. Unfortunate that the Lions couldn't get over the line in the end.

Does anyone have anything to report on the OH game? I'd love to know what happened there. OH certainly went out with a bang! From the website (soon to be posted).... "So events turned to McKinnon where we were hosting Old Ivanhoe, who were aiming to claim the double chance. We hit the ball hard right from the start and were seven goals up at quarter time,with the aid of a very slight breeze - How long has this been going on!! The rub of the green was going our way. Browny was getting plenty of the ball across the wing, Matt Brewer was everywhere and the defence was repelling the few Ivanhoe forays. Goal kickers were numerous as we shared the spoils.

The second quarter proved to be more of an arm wrestle as the wind now picked up to favour the Centre Rd end by at least six goals. We didn't kick a major, but were still a couple of goals up going into the main break. The visitors were playing with a bit more spark so there were a few worried looks around. The wind died down in the third quarter no doubt due to global warming, and both sides kicked three for the term. There was no lack of ticker however, but luck appeared to be deserting us. Sec kicked an absolute beauty from the pocket, Chis was proving dangerous, while young Raz was also getting plenty of the ball. So we came to the last stanza, and with 25 minutes of footy left for the season, it was great to see the resolve amongst the players.

Kicking into the gale was going to be tough, but we got the first couple of centre clearances, allowing Brew and Warnesy to get their hands on the footy and score. But Ivanhoe came back and for a brief moment looked like stealing victory. But the troops, led my skipper SLJ, Sec, Laz and Loewey, kept plugging away - attacking the ball and generally having a genuine dip and managed to keep the ball in the scoring zone.The scoreboard was ticking over in the right direction. The last five minutes were sweet as the 15 point margin in our favour was looking enough. And it proved to be the case with Mary Elliott placing her hand on the siren for the last time in 2007 and signalling a fine victory. Sec ended up with four, Loewey four and Brew 2 while the backline, led by Paddy and Fergy had the lowest score kicked for the year kicked against them.

So once again we gave the neighbours something to complain about with the club song being sung with enormous gusto. A fine win and a real springboard for 2008."

ultimate hater
3 Sep 2007, 11:34
would have loved an unbiased run-down on the match.. but oh well, i'll take what I can get..

tips for finals? OI to bow out in the first set? OB straight to the GF for the first time ever in their history? OX to maybe even go out in straights, ala Old Essendon styles?

Or Uni blues overrated for their "underdog" appeal?

would like some thoughts.. im getting excited thinking about the 'wick, half time beers, sun shining, freshly mowed grass etc etc.. good times..

Monkeyboy
3 Sep 2007, 11:40
would have loved an unbiased run-down on the match.. but oh well, i'll take what I can get..

tips for finals? OI to bow out in the first set? OB straight to the GF for the first time ever in their history? OX to maybe even go out in straights, ala Old Essendon styles?

Or Uni blues overrated for their "underdog" appeal?

would like some thoughts.. im getting excited thinking about the 'wick, half time beers, sun shining, freshly mowed grass etc etc.. good times..

Uni Blues by 13 points
Old Xavs by 35 points

Old Brighton by 17 points

Old Xavier by 64 points.

Lynch - 8 goals and the Michael Blood Medal for BOG in a Granny.

ultimate hater
3 Sep 2007, 11:57
Uni Blues by 13 points
Old Xavs by 35 points

Old Brighton by 17 points

Old Xavier by 64 points.

Lynch - 8 goals and the Michael Blood Medal for BOG in a Granny.

interesting.. I don't think any margin is going to be over 20 points for any of the games.. OI love the close ones, and OX have been beaten by OB quite well in the 2 encounters this year.. I know xavs would have faith in themselves when it comes to september action, but i wouldn't be suprised if there was the seed of doubt in the back of their minds coming up against OB... Have OX ever bowed out in straight sets in finals?

Even with a few ppl coming back for OI there must be something seriously wrong to lose to the cellar dwellers in the last match before the finals.. and with OT's coming within a kick the week before.. Like Ross Lyon said, you want to march into finals, not limp in...

Slay Master G
3 Sep 2007, 12:42
Thanks to TBP on keeping me updated from the Snakepit on Saturday.

How sweet it is to see them relegated. Hope they enjoyed backing up on Sunday against the Japanese team!! Maybe they play better drunk or hungover!!

Collegians had their opportunities to beat Xavs on Saturday and win a finals place, bad kicking for goal during a 15 minute period when Xavier didn't touch the ball was to blame. Expectations should be high at the Trott next year.

Word from Bulleen on Saturday was the Brighton are one of the most highly skilled teams in A Grade for many years. If the wind stays down at Elsternwick (as if!) on the coming Sundays, they are a massive chance to win their first A Section flag.

Good luck to the finalists.

My tips for this week depend on the weather for the OX v. OB game, UB will beat Ivanhoe who are too depleted to win, UB have too many exoerienced finals campaigners.

Snowdogs
3 Sep 2007, 12:43
snowdogs, please mate stop talking utter rot.

The writing was on the wall we we defeated you at your own ground, in our / your last practise match a week before rd 1 this year, and yes i am aware that you may have been missing a couple as were we and it was only a practise match, however with a little luck rupertswood may be playing " B " grade next year and i would imagine that our " future generation " are far from cats, they are a young buch of blokes having a crack and have had a fantastic year considering, baddley, quigley, ata, phillips, brennan, and allport have been playing most of the year in the senior side.

Like i say, we have still alot of work to and with a little luck we will just see how bright our future is.

P.S, without the lewer of playing " A " grade footy now, word i'm hearing is that Cal " Pots " Potter will be returing to his home next year ???

Yeah well the word your hearing is very wrong my friend. And its potsy not "pots". There will be noone leaving the snakepit this year other than retirement.

ultimate hater
3 Sep 2007, 13:06
Yeah well the word your hearing is very wrong my friend. And its potsy not "pots". There will be noone leaving the snakepit this year other than retirement.

wrong thread champ...

soupsey
3 Sep 2007, 13:20
Soupsey, where were u after the game?

Sorry mate had a function that evening! had to get home.
ps well done! you were like a human trampoline.
Not sure about the spray I copped though ordinary!!!!

Joe Dirt
3 Sep 2007, 14:09

Pot calling the kettle black isn't it?

jogger
3 Sep 2007, 15:49
Sorry mate had a function that evening! had to get home.
ps well done! you were like a human trampoline.
Not sure about the spray I copped though ordinary!!!!

What spray?

Plumber
3 Sep 2007, 16:10
I hear there were turds floating into the canteen at Harry Trott on the weekend. Can anyone shed any light on what happened?

Could have used a plumber by the sound of things...

soupsey
3 Sep 2007, 16:31
I hear there were turds floating into the canteen at Harry Trott on the weekend. Can anyone shed any light on what happened?

Could have used a plumber by the sound of things...

Big george the thirds floating along the fence line all day. One was wearing #54 for the lions.

jogger
3 Sep 2007, 16:46
Big george the thirds floating along the fence line all day. One was wearing #54 for the lions.

I think #54 from the lions was responding to a spray he copped from the Xavs reserves coach...

soupsey
4 Sep 2007, 09:06
I think #54 from the lions was responding to a spray he copped from the Xavs reserves coach...

Apperently that is incorrect jogger! I spoke to him yesterday and that's not his style.

Johnny Utah #9
4 Sep 2007, 11:29
na na na na... na na na na... hey hey hey.... GOODBYE...

good to see the two most pigish/undeserving team & supporters have been relegated!

Snowdogs and Horse please refrain from commenting on this thread anymore... you thread is here... http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=246108&page=144

OI would easily take the cake in a "Biggest ********" competition. Nothing but a bunch of CUB's (Cashed Up Bogan's) from Greensborough.

Slay Master G
4 Sep 2007, 11:33
HOW SWEET IT IS.......!

NEW HOMES FOR ST BERNARDS AND AJAX
B Section will be St Bernards home in 2008 after they lost a hard fought Round 18 tussle with Old Scotch. And Ajax will be headed back to C Section after losing a classic relegation battle game to Old Melburnians by just two points at the Junction Oval. The loser of that game was always going down and it was the OMs who hung on.

The Big Pineapple
4 Sep 2007, 13:27
HOW SWEET IT IS.......!

B Section will be St Bernards home in 2008 after they lost a hard fought Round 18 tussle with Old Scotch. And Ajax will be headed back to C Section after losing a classic relegation battle game to Old Melburnians by just two points at the Junction Oval. The loser of that game was always going down and it was the OMs who hung on.

It was a wonderful afternoon on the hill at the Snake Pit SMG!

chelsworthgale
4 Sep 2007, 14:17
OI would easily take the cake in a "Biggest ********" competition. Nothing but a bunch of CUB's (Cashed Up Bogan's) from Greensborough.

Interesting how you target 10% of the club in your abuse there... with the other 90% residing in areas such as balwyn, ivanhoe, richmond, south yarra, templestowe, fairfield etc how would you classify them?

chelsworthgale
4 Sep 2007, 14:17
HOW SWEET IT IS.......!

I 2nd that

BrianSpeaking
4 Sep 2007, 15:08
Lads, please do not make comments regarding B Section teams like St Bernards on the A Section thread!!!!!!

Scribe
4 Sep 2007, 15:14
Brian - if I had a dollar for every time you whacked on about the halcyon days of SKOB on the A section thread whilst your lads have been in B section, then.........I could buy half the Old Camberwell list!!! :p

vafa60
4 Sep 2007, 15:15
I think it's a pretty unanimous sentiment that Ivanhoe are the worst bunch of blokes in A grade, followed by St Bernard's (formerly!!), Scotch and Trinity.

Xavs are a bunch of arrogant f**ks but probably have a right to be, while De la, Brighton and Uni seem like decent blokes (except for "Ace" who is a genuine flog).

Haileybury brought essentially nothing to the table this year but get the benefit of the doubt for their last two games which must have been extraordinarily spirited. And finally, Collegians are a bunch of effeminate w**kers who rightfully had no place playing A Grade finals this year and will probably be relegated next year..

Discuss

Scribe
4 Sep 2007, 15:26
I think you couldn't be more wrong if you tried - 'cept the stuff about Xavs' right to be arrogant, and OH bringing nothing to the table. Otherwise, you're way off the mark.

Try again. :thumbsd:

Johnny Utah #9
4 Sep 2007, 15:44
Brian - if I had a dollar for every time you whacked on about the halcyon days of SKOB on the A section thread whilst your lads have been in B section, then.........I could buy half the Old Camberwell list!!! :p

Clean bowled him there Scribe!

diablo14
4 Sep 2007, 15:46
Lads, please do not make comments regarding B Section teams like St Bernards on the A Section thread!!!!!!

Clean bowled him there Scribe!

Pure GOLD there fellas!

Penski
4 Sep 2007, 16:03
I think it's a pretty unanimous sentiment that Ivanhoe are the worst bunch of blokes in A grade, followed by St Bernard's (formerly!!), Scotch and Trinity.

Xavs are a bunch of arrogant f**ks but probably have a right to be, while De la, Brighton and Uni seem like decent blokes (except for "Ace" who is a genuine flog).

Haileybury brought essentially nothing to the table this year but get the benefit of the doubt for their last two games which must have been extraordinarily spirited. And finally, Collegians are a bunch of effeminate w**kers who rightfully had no place playing A Grade finals this year and will probably be relegated next year..

Discuss

Ridiculous statement troll.

Sounds like a frustrated OH supporter letting out one final whinge before dissappearing to the B-Grade thread for at least the next 4-5 years (with definate potential for a double-drop).

chelsworthgale
4 Sep 2007, 16:12

Sounds like a frustrated OH supporter letting out one final whinge before dissappearing to the B-Grade thread for at least the next 4-5 years (with definate potential for a double-drop).

couldn't have said it better myself

ultimate hater
4 Sep 2007, 16:24

Discuss

well I've played against Ivanhoe for a few years and have nothing against them. St Bernards are self explanitory, Xavs is spot on, collegians won't get relegated next year, but I'm glad they didn't make finals after last year claiming they would win the A grade flag easily this year.. that and their "socialite" feeling to quite a few of the people down there, (herald sun saturday social pages for eg..) I don't like them, but most are good blokes.. scotchies i love to beat but have nothing against them..

but yes, you sound very sour... not sure where you got "unanimous sentiment" from...

vafa60
4 Sep 2007, 17:03
I think you couldn't be more wrong if you tried - 'cept the stuff about Xavs' right to be arrogant, and OH bringing nothing to the table. Otherwise, you're way off the mark.

Try again. :thumbsd:

If you think everything else I said is off the mark then logically you must think that Ivanhoe, Scotch, St Bernard's and OT have good blokes, while De la, Brighton and Uni have shit blokes (except for Ace who must be a great bloke).

Also, you must think that Collegians deserved to make finals and are not a bunch of solarium-visiting, hair-bleaching, soft, footballers.

For evidence of 'unanimous sentiment' (let's change that to 'prevalent sentiment') see above statements of Lupton Warchild Pittman and Johnny Utah #9, among others. OI blokes talk sh*t and are more arrogant than Xav's players, without anything to back it up with.....
Uni to absolutely smash OI this week.

My comments were specifically about the blokes playing on the field for each team. I have no doubt that OH are a disgraceful amateur club but thought the boys playing the game were having a decent crack and were reasonable fellas. If you can read into "brought essentially nothing to the table" that I am an OH supporter then clearly you need to go back and learn some comprehension skills.

Max Leader
4 Sep 2007, 17:33
VAFA60 you are the reason why the Abortion laws should be retrospectively decriminalised. Sorry to all our Catholic Bretheren.

VAFA60. Probably a fringe two's player. Playing highlight, offering to carrying off a club milestone player and sneaking into a memorial photo for good measure. But being told "no" we want a good bloke and clubman to have this honor.

OX don't need to believe there good, they just are.
For all other teams, a good bloke is a good bloke, a sh1t bloke is a sh1t regardless of which club he plays for. And from the reading of this thread you are the biggest sh1t cause you have nothing good to say about anything.

ultimate hater
4 Sep 2007, 17:50
OX don't need to believe there good, they just are.
For all other teams, a good bloke is a good bloke, a sh1t bloke is a sh1t regardless of which club he plays for. And from the reading of this thread you are the biggest sh1t cause you have nothing good to say about anything.

True, but I think what vafa60 might be saying, even though he is wrong, is that having a few sh1t blokes at a club, especially if they are strong personality senior players, can influence the portrayal of the club.. every team has good blokes and sh1t blokes, some moreso sh1t (stb's) some moreso good.. but it's not really that big an issue.. stb's are out and they seemed like the most disliked club so who cares.. although the other stb's could be coming up.. just can't rid A grade of bogans can you...

anyway... anyone heading out to box hill this sat? the place where all the prostitutes are buried..

Lupton Warchild Pittman
4 Sep 2007, 19:45
Interesting how you target 10% of the club in your abuse there... with the other 90% residing in areas such as balwyn, ivanhoe, richmond, south yarra, templestowe, fairfield etc how would you classify them?

The large percentage of OI come from Greensborough, Bundoora & the like, big fish, in a small pond. That's where their arrogance comes from. I was raised in Ivanhoe & it was rare to see someone you went to Primary School going to IGS.

It's a tie between St. Bernards, Old Ivanhoe & SKOB of a few years ago as for having the most co*kblockers. Mollard & Torney from University Blues being the worst blokes to have graced a VAFA ground.

chelsworthgale
4 Sep 2007, 20:45
The large percentage of OI come from Greensborough, Bundoora & the like, big fish, in a small pond. That's where their arrogance comes from. I was raised in Ivanhoe & it was rare to see someone you went to Primary School going to IGS.

so because you grew up in ivanhoe and went to an ivanhoe primary school but didnt attend IGS you see fit to use that as your basis that "a large percentage", mind you this has come down from "all" the players, come from the diamond valley area? You do realise that you no longer need to have attended the associated school to play at the club... also just to fill you in... the berlin wall is down and Liberals hold government again

Sausage roll
4 Sep 2007, 20:54
any chance of footy being discussed here????

chelsworthgale
4 Sep 2007, 21:49

it's only tuesday! fun and games until Thursday

Monkeyboy
5 Sep 2007, 09:59

I agree Roll!
Tipping that Xavs heading back to their spirtual home of Elstenwick will result in a thumping of the beach boys. Xavs by plenty.
The other one is harder to tip. Have not been impressed by Blues this year, and have been by OI. However finals is a funny thing and i think the Blues may rise to the occassion. Further injury reports this week out of OI suggest that they will be fielding a weakened side. Will be interested to see if a few take a jab to get on the field. Expect a couple of "stars" to be watching from the sidelines. Blues by a few goals.

ultimate hater
5 Sep 2007, 14:07
I agree Roll!
Tipping that Xavs heading back to their spirtual home of Elstenwick will result in a thumping of the beach boys. Xavs by plenty.
The other one is harder to tip. Have not been impressed by Blues this year, and have been by OI. However finals is a funny thing and i think the Blues may rise to the occassion. Further injury reports this week out of OI suggest that they will be fielding a weakened side. Will be interested to see if a few take a jab to get on the field. Expect a couple of "stars" to be watching from the sidelines. Blues by a few goals.

I'll be tipping OB by 5 goals... It'll be very close all day, but once OB get ontop and a run on in the last qtr xavs will look to next week.. as has happened in the past..
UB to beat OI by 3 goals, but in comfortable fashion after being close for the first half then blowing out in the third only for OI to bring the score closer towards the end but never looking in it..

Anyone have in's and out's at this stage?

Paul Kaos
5 Sep 2007, 18:19
I'll be tipping OB by 5 goals... It'll be very close all day, but once OB get ontop and a run on in the last qtr xavs will look to next week.. as has happened in the past..
UB to beat OI by 3 goals, but in comfortable fashion after being close for the first half then blowing out in the third only for OI to bring the score closer towards the end but never looking in it..

Anyone have in's and out's at this stage?

Didn't play Round 18 but available this week for Xavs - Arnold, Ockleshaw, Chatfield, Johnston, Lloyd.

BrianSpeaking
6 Sep 2007, 00:46
I agree Roll!
And you in particular would love nothing better than an OX vs OI Grand Final hey Monkey?

Monkeyboy
6 Sep 2007, 08:37
And you in particular would love nothing better than an OX vs OI Grand Final hey Monkey?

Having beers with Chelsworthgale and "the boss" after the final siren......heaven.

chelsworthgale
6 Sep 2007, 09:47
Having beers with Chelsworthgale and "the boss" after the final siren......heaven.

"the boss"?

ultimate hater
6 Sep 2007, 11:24
Didn't play Round 18 but available this week for Xavs - Arnold, Ockleshaw, Chatfield, Johnston, Lloyd.

couple good in's there..

The weekend will be an absolute cracker, 20deg and sunny and some great finals games being played.. I love this sh1t..

Plumber
6 Sep 2007, 13:54
"the boss"?

Michael Sholly has arranged for Bruce Springsteen to perform at TP after the A-Section final, you haven't heard?

chelsworthgale
6 Sep 2007, 14:07
Michael Sholly has arranged for Bruce Springsteen to perform at TP after the A-Section final, you haven't heard?

no didn't hear... wow what company! Can't wait for that drinking session :p

Monkeyboy
6 Sep 2007, 17:08
no didn't hear... wow what company! Can't wait for that drinking session :p

Funny you mention Sholly, as that was who the boss reference was. Like Fonzie in the AFL.

BrianSpeaking
6 Sep 2007, 17:27
Funny you mention Sholly, as that was who the boss reference was. Like Fonzie in the AFL.
Monkey, you know Sholls very well he tells me. Any chance you will pop into Coburg this week? No Lions in the finals.

Monkeyboy
6 Sep 2007, 17:48
Monkey, you know Sholls very well he tells me. Any chance you will pop into Coburg this week? No Lions in the finals.

Brian, How many clubs are you going to acssociate me with. Glad to see Mazenod are off the agenda. Lions?? I assume you mean i am associated with Collegains?? Hell no. I will be at the City Oval both days this weekend. Very exited to see who heads up to B-Grade for 08. Like you, tipping Camberwell in a canter (sshhh don't tell sausage he craves the underdog status!) and think Carey can win in a close one.
But as this is an A-Grade thread i will give a little preview of the Xavs vs OB.

Massive game. All the talk coming out of the beachboys is...how far!!! "We are too quick" "Knocked em off twice already this year" No respect being shown for the Xavs in September at the Wick. I think they will live to regret this and be punished by having to face Uni Blues in a Preliminary final. Xavs by plenty.

BrianSpeaking
6 Sep 2007, 18:15
Brian, How many clubs are you going to acssociate me with. Glad to see Mazenod are off the agenda. Lions?? I assume you mean i am associated with Collegains?? Hell no. I will be at the City Oval both days this weekend. Very exited to see who heads up to B-Grade for 08. Like you, tipping Camberwell in a canter (sshhh don't tell sausage he craves the underdog status!) and think Carey can win in a close one.
But as this is an A-Grade thread i will give a little preview of the Xavs vs OB.

Massive game. All the talk coming out of the beachboys is...how far!!! "We are too quick" "Knocked em off twice already this year" No respect being shown for the Xavs in September at the Wick. I think they will live to regret this and be punished by having to face Uni Blues in a Preliminary final. Xavs by plenty.
Spoken like a true Old Xaverian Monkey.
I tipped UB to win the flag and think they will, although I would love to see the beach boys pull it out...still got me stuffed whether the standard of A has just fallen in a heap or if OB are actually a good team. The answer is somewhere in the middle, as OI, OB and Collegiens were all in the fight this year, weith much of the same stock from their B Section days, excepting Georgey Harros!

Eddie Woloschek
6 Sep 2007, 19:21
still got me stuffed whether the standard of A has just fallen in a heap or if OB are actually a good team. The answer is. . . !

We hear this lament every season. It's rubbish. The A Section flag is harder to win every year, as teams and clubs pull out all stops. Brighton is a very good team, as Haileybury were last year. Blues are brilliant on their day, yet Ivanhoe beat them twice. A full strength Collegians were on fire. Xavs have played in 14 of the last 15 finals' series, so they are the yardstick. But they have only won 2 of the last 6, with 2 losing GFs. That's not through a lack of quality on their part, but others rising to the occasion.

chelsworthgale
6 Sep 2007, 20:39
Spoken like a true Old Xaverian Monkey.
I tipped UB to win the flag and think they will, although I would love to see the beach boys pull it out...still got me stuffed whether the standard of A has just fallen in a heap or if OB are actually a good team. The answer is somewhere in the middle, as OI, OB and Collegiens were all in the fight this year, weith much of the same stock from their B Section days, excepting Georgey Harros!

you do realise that state players such as Fragicomo, McKeon and Heta have been added to that flag side... I think you will find OB are a genuinely good side... dont think the standard of A grade has dropped I dont think your getting to enough A grade games considering SKOBS play B grade :p

BrianSpeaking
7 Sep 2007, 04:28
you do realise that state players such as Fragicomo, McKeon and Heta have been added to that flag side... I think you will find OB are a genuinely good side... dont think the standard of A grade has dropped I dont think your getting to enough A grade games considering SKOBS play B grade :p
Not saying the teams are no good, that would be an insult. What I am saying is that 10 years ago, the top A Section teams were talent laden and awesome, which showed when the VAFA stomped on powers like Vic Country etc. Nothing against Hetta but he isnt on the same page as Blood, Olive, Ramsden, McLaughlin or Seccul at their peak. The only McKeon I ever care to rate is ex Bernie Steve, who would quite readily kick a dozen at Toorak Park on stars like Brushfield.
The results generally and the few games I have seen suggest the standard is more of a lower A standard of those days, when NO teams in A were crap.
Our rep sides now couldn't beat an egg, which tells me the talent aint what it used to be.

soupsey
7 Sep 2007, 10:46
Not saying the teams are no good, that would be an insult. What I am saying is that 10 years ago, the top A Section teams were talent laden and awesome, which showed when the VAFA stomped on powers like Vic Country etc. Nothing against Hetta but he isnt on the same page as Blood, Olive, Ramsden, McLaughlin or Seccul at their peak. The only McKeon I ever care to rate is ex Bernie Steve, who would quite readily kick a dozen at Toorak Park on stars like Brushfield.
The results generally and the few games I have seen suggest the standard is more of a lower A standard of those days, when NO teams in A were crap.
Our rep sides now couldn't beat an egg, which tells me the talent aint what it used to be.

The only thing that's dropped recently is the standard of this thread due to Brians attempts to drag the conversation back to his clubs glory days. A grade footy is as tough as ever. The standard of the competition in A and B is very high. If you have any doubt as to how good ammo footy is then I suggest you make a sojourn to box hill or elsternwick this weekend and report back. Just because St kevins are no longer as good as they used to be (were they ever?) doesn't mean the competition is deteriorating.

iloveudl
7 Sep 2007, 11:07
Brian, you've peddled this crap about the standard A Grade dropping for the last couple of years. The fact is that the Uni Blues/OH/OX sides that have shared the last four or five flags are the equal of any team in the last decade.

You're living in a dream world if you think Steve McKeon was "readily kicking a dozen" at any ground, let alone Toorak Park.

From memory the Vic Country boys have had the wood over the Ammos in the Senior Rep Game (the only Rep game that really counts) since the mid-90's, including a frightful touch up one day down at EP. This year's result is the first time the VAFA has been competitive since '01. This indicates diddly squat about the overall standard of the comp mind you, but to say we ever "stomped" on the Vic Country side is a joke.

By the way the only bloke not on the same page as the ruckmen you've listed is your mate Olive.

BrianSpeaking
7 Sep 2007, 14:39
Brian, you've peddled this crap about the standard A Grade dropping for the last couple of years. The fact is that the Uni Blues/OH/OX sides that have shared the last four or five flags are the equal of any team in the last decade.

You're living in a dream world if you think Steve McKeon was "readily kicking a dozen" at any ground, let alone Toorak Park.

You dont know your football sunshine, if you di you would quite readily remember McKeon bagging 12 on a wet Toorak Park, I was there watching.
Uni Blues side is nowhere near itrs golry days, either is OX. If they were they would smash all comers.
You obviously havent seen much real A Section football.

BrianSpeaking
7 Sep 2007, 14:40
The only thing that's dropped recently is the standard of this thread due to Brians attempts to drag the conversation back to his clubs glory days. A grade footy is as tough as ever. The standard of the competition in A and B is very high. If you have any doubt as to how good ammo footy is then I suggest you make a sojourn to box hill or elsternwick this weekend and report back. Just because St kevins are no longer as good as they used to be (were they ever?) doesn't mean the competition is deteriorating.
Soup head, grow up.

ultimate hater
7 Sep 2007, 15:01
You dont know your football sunshine, if you di you would quite readily remember McKeon bagging 12 on a wet Toorak Park, I was there watching.
Uni Blues side is nowhere near itrs golry days, either is OX. If they were they would smash all comers.
You obviously havent seen much real A Section football.

1 day.. So what?? In every team in A grade there seems to be plenty of ex-afl, senior vfl, other league seniors running around..

you could debate that the standard has infact picked up because you don't have guys like mentioned above standing out as much, because there are better players playing on them, and more even-ness throughout the teams.. the game has become alot faster, same with the AFL.. just because there arn't as many "100 goal season" afl players going around, doesn't mean the forwards who play for the teams are worse than they use to be... times have changed from booting it down the line expecting some standout player to kick all the goals for you.. The whole team contributes.. hence why A and B grades leading goal kicker is someone from the 3rd bottom team.. or there abouts..

you cannot successfully argue the standard has dropped.. you could, however, argue then even-ness of the competition has dropped, such that it being easier to stay in a grade/ b grade but not making the top four.. but the quality of teams making the finals has, and always will be, as tough and skillful as ever..

I forget which paper, and its probably mis-quoted, but i remember one paper reported that trinty thought OB was the most skillfull team they had ever seen..

teams do longer pre-seasons and are expected to be fitter and quicker nowadays.. the game has changed, along with the afl..

iloveudl
7 Sep 2007, 15:14
I'm pretty confident I know my football Brian. There is no doubt McKeon had a couple of very good years but I sure as sheep sh!t don't remember him kicking 12 at Toorak Park.

As far as seeing A Grade footy goes I'd love to pump my own tyres up here but don't want to sound like Scribe. Safe to say my club was in A Grade while St Kevins were in D Grade, C Grade, B Grade and then A Grade. And have remained in A Grade while your boys have again disappeared from the list.

Your view that the comp is in a state of doom and gloom is laying it on very thick.

Concrete boots
7 Sep 2007, 17:32
So would you care to nominate your club iloveudl?

By my reckoning, it would have to be Scotch, Xavs, Blues or :eek: Bernards?

JG Hornet
7 Sep 2007, 17:48
I'm pretty confident I know my football Brian. There is no doubt McKeon had a couple of very good years but I sure as sheep sh!t don't remember him kicking 12 at Toorak Park.

As far as seeing A Grade footy goes I'd love to pump my own tyres up here but don't want to sound like Scribe. Safe to say my club was in A Grade while St Kevins were in D Grade, C Grade, B Grade and then A Grade. And have remained in A Grade while your boys have again disappeared from the list.

Your view that the comp is in a state of doom and gloom is laying it on very thick.

Fo what it's worth, he kicked a big bag against xavs, definitely double figures.

The standard has dropped. Not drastically but it's different. The middle range players are still the same but not as many guns and a few nuff nuffs getting a game who wouldn't have 5 years ago.

iloveudl
7 Sep 2007, 18:09
I'll name my club if Hornet names his nuff nuffs!

During the 90's you had a core group at OX who were playing in premierships year after year. That hasn't happened for some time. But I don't agree that this means the standard has dropped.

John, I think I'm right in saying you committed to writing the fact that you considered Uni Blues circa '05 one of the best ammo sides you've ever seen? This is only two seasons ago.

From where I sit there are plenty of quality players who have left. But those sides who have lost them ie OH, St B, OM's, St Kevin's have struggled to remain competitive. These sides aren't what they were but that doesn't mean their place hasn't been taken by other clubs who've improved ie OB, OI.

JGH, I respect your knowledge of Ammo footy. McKeon might have kicked a bag but I don't reckon it was 12. And he did it once, not "readily"!

BrianSpeaking
7 Sep 2007, 21:27
I'll name my club if Hornet names his nuff nuffs!

During the 90's you had a core group at OX who were playing in premierships year after year. That hasn't happened for some time. But I don't agree that this means the standard has dropped.

John, I think I'm right in saying you committed to writing the fact that you considered Uni Blues circa '05 one of the best ammo sides you've ever seen? This is only two seasons ago.

From where I sit there are plenty of quality players who have left. But those sides who have lost them ie OH, St B, OM's, St Kevin's have struggled to remain competitive. These sides aren't what they were but that doesn't mean their place hasn't been taken by other clubs who've improved ie OB, OI.

JGH, I respect your knowledge of Ammo footy. McKeon might have kicked a bag but I don't reckon it was 12. And he did it once, not "readily"!
Who cares what you think, I couldnt give a flying tossbag. I umpired in 5 A Section Grand Finals whilst you were figuring out which finger you should stick up your arse. Go back through the VAFA results and you will see I am right about McKeon and I know the standard has dropped, regardless of what you lads say, so get far ked and have a good weekend at the finals. For what its worth UB and OB to win. Theres the phone, hang on, good evening VAFA Heaquarters, Briiiiiaaann speaking...

Paul Kaos
7 Sep 2007, 23:03
Who cares what you think, I couldnt give a flying tossbag. I umpired in 5 A Section Grand Finals whilst you were figuring out which finger you should stick up your arse. Go back through the VAFA results and you will see I am right about McKeon and I know the standard has dropped, regardless of what you lads say, so get far ked and have a good weekend at the finals. For what its worth UB and OB to win. Theres the phone, hang on, good evening VAFA Heaquarters, Briiiiiaaann speaking...

Umpired 5 A Grade GF's............was that after you played those 100 odd games at Sandringham you hot air blowing "tossbag"?

If A Grade has dropped in standard that much since the days when SKOB's "dominated" it, how bad must they be now? They struggled to stay in B last year, and are simply making up the numbers in the finals this year?

Does that make them middle of the road C Grade, or somewhere in D Grade in the good old days?

Your bagging of A Grade's quality is embarrassing and only makes your beloved SKOBs look worse than the under-achievers actually are!

BrianSpeaking
8 Sep 2007, 00:38
Umpired 5 A Grade GF's............was that after you played those 100 odd games at Sandringham you hot air blowing "tossbag"?

If A Grade has dropped in standard that much since the days when SKOB's "dominated" it, how bad must they be now? They struggled to stay in B last year, and are simply making up the numbers in the finals this year?

Does that make them middle of the road C Grade, or somewhere in D Grade in the good old days?

Your bagging of A Grade's quality is embarrassing and only makes your beloved SKOBs look worse than the under-achievers actually are!
Kaos, you are a dic khead also. Ask JG Hornet how any Grand Finals Brian umpired, he will tell you the answer. You blokes all seem SKOB concious, where have I mentioned them in my posts? Surely you can contribute more than acting like the girl that you are Kaos, then again, you are an Old Xaverian.

Plumber
8 Sep 2007, 12:40
Kaos, you are a dic khead also. Ask JG Hornet how any Grand Finals Brian umpired, he will tell you the answer. You blokes all seem SKOB concious, where have I mentioned them in my posts? Surely you can contribute more than acting like the girl that you are Kaos, then again, you are an Old Xaverian.

Kaos may be an Old Xaverian, but I imagine that is better than wishing you were an Old Xaverian...

By the way, will the students at St Kevins have to attach e-tags to their school bags when Trans Urban acquire that excuse for a football oval for its new freeway upgrade?

vafa60
8 Sep 2007, 13:56
It is ridiculous to suggest that the standard of A grade footy has significantly declined since some arbitrarily selected previous period. The 'standard' of the competition jumps around like the stock market as teams gain and lose players and it is unclear how the 'standard' should be defined. For instance, as someone mentioned above, there is little doubt that '05 UB were one of the best amateur teams of all time. The only true test would be for every team in say 1995 to magically play every team in say 2006 and then do some sort of statistical analysis to determine which year's teams were better.

I will admit that this year's group of teams seems to be a little bit weaker than in some past years but that is just one year, and there is no doubt that the top three teams as recently as 2006 (OH, OX, UB) were VERY good football teams. The state of the competition is in very good health - bring on the finals and for the teams that didn't make it, next year!

Joe Dirt
8 Sep 2007, 22:40
McKeon did kick 12. It was in the 1st couple of weeks of the season for what I remember

Johnny Utah #9
9 Sep 2007, 20:55

BrianSpeaking i am with you all the way on this one mate! I've been watching A & G grade ammo's since the mid-1980's and the standard today is nowhere near what it was 10 years ago.

The players now are generally younger than back then and there aren't as many older physical players running around.

A good indicator is how many players today get drafted straight to AFL in comparison to years gone by. Look at the mid-late 1990's - Richie Vandenberg (Uni Blues - Hawthorn), Johnny Stevens (Old Ivan - Sydney), Matthew Robbins (Ormond - Geelong/Bulldogs), Chris Bossong (SKOB - Richmond), Cameron Bruce (MHSOB - Melb) & Matt Lucas (SKOB - Bulldogs).

I'm sure i've missed quite a few as well. Aside from the young bloke from StB/MT going on to a Hawthorn rookie list last year (sorry his name escapes me) i can't recall too many in the past 2-3 years making the jump.

missfinland
9 Sep 2007, 21:01
that would be the great Brett Collins Johnny boy.

Can i ask who will be seen in " B " Grade next year on this thread ?

That's right it will be those clowns from the snakepit, sorry, i will head to the b grade thread to talk about them. I won't dare metion them on the a grade thread again.

Monkeyboy
10 Sep 2007, 08:47
Enjoyed the Xavs win yesterday. IMO the side that ran out for them was as good as any Xavs team i have seen for the last 15 plus years. The fact they are not dominating A-Grade means that either other teams are pretty good, or they have not been playing to full potential all year. Or maybe a bit of both.

ultimate hater
10 Sep 2007, 09:49
Enjoyed the Xavs win yesterday. IMO the side that ran out for them was as good as any Xavs team i have seen for the last 15 plus years. The fact they are not dominating A-Grade means that either other teams are pretty good, or they have not been playing to full potential all year. Or maybe a bit of both.

i agree monkey, apart from the wind affected skills, was quite a good game..

I'd like to here someone who actually "played" in these "great yester-year" teams and may have just retired recently, rather than some c*cksmoker sitting on the sidelines saying "back in my day so-and-so would have kicked 20 goals in a qrt.. jeeze the standard has dropped.."

And utah, you say "The players now are generally younger than back then and there aren't as many older physical players running around" - just look an OI, they are old and physical, and now out of the finals.. Like i've said previously, times have changed, along with the AFL style.. lot more running, better skills etc etc.. look at geelong, no-one in their team has kicked over 5 goals in any one game and they are going to win the afl premiership.. that doesn't mean the standard has dropped..
just because you wake up in the morning stinking of booze, grab the paper and don't see "me old mate" in the paper saying he has kicked 12 cant say the standard has dropped...
you guys don't have a very good argument at all, except for blowing smoke up your arse and no-one cares what umpires think champ.. so go back in your hole..

"standard has dropped" pff sounds like sour old men wishing they could still pull the boots on, but are afraid of getting shown up by an 18 yr old speedster..

ultimate hater
10 Sep 2007, 09:58

hello sour... what makes you think your opinion weights more than anyone elses on this board?? you are obiously a has-been (or never-was) and have no idea on the game today.. you sound like sam newman...

I've played against many afl guns back in school days, and played with and against ex-afl guns now.. and i can tell you, there are plenty of guys running around in the vafa that could walk in to VFL seniors.. sure thats not afl standard, but im not talking one or two.. im talking 7-8+ from any one side.. there isnt as many "stars" which utah mentioned.. but thats because they get picked up before they get through to vafa..

ultimate hater
10 Sep 2007, 10:01
31 (arnold i think?) from xavs reported for headbutting?? i guess he'll be missing the granny yeah?

thats a big loss for xavs.. he kicked 4 in the first half on sat..

Monkeyboy
10 Sep 2007, 10:12
31 (arnold i think?) from xavs reported for headbutting?? i guess he'll be missing the granny yeah?

thats a big loss for xavs.. he kicked 4 in the first half on sat..

Massive loss if it was Arnold. I didn't see the incident (may have been having a quick punt at the time) He is number 31, so if you have your number correct, you have the right man.
Anyone else know if this is correct? Any vision available supporting incident either way?

ultimate hater
10 Sep 2007, 10:22
Massive loss if it was Arnold. I didn't see the incident (may have been having a quick punt at the time) He is number 31, so if you have your number correct, you have the right man.
Anyone else know if this is correct? Any vision available supporting incident either way?

yeah monkey, am positive it was him.. i think the ump was "alvy"? or whatever his name is.. the guy who hangs out at 161 and the likes..

he headbutted an OB player right in front of him.. not much in it.. wasn't hard, but was blatent, just very very stupid on his behalf as the play was no-where in sight, and there was hardly even any push and shove going on.. not sure why he did it.. but he did get sent off and his number taken.. but not sure what is going to become of it??

surely sholly will get him off yeah? few pineapples under the table?

Monkeyboy
10 Sep 2007, 10:28
yeah monkey, am positive it was him.. i think the ump was "alvy"? or whatever his name is.. the guy who hangs out at 161 and the likes..

he headbutted an OB player right in front of him.. not much in it.. wasn't hard, but was blatent, just very very stupid on his behalf as the play was no-where in sight, and there was hardly even any push and shove going on.. not sure why he did it.. but he did get sent off and his number taken.. but not sure what is going to become of it??

surely sholly will get him off yeah? few pineapples under the table?

Nice one :thumbsu::thumbsu:

CrustyClown
10 Sep 2007, 15:35
Nice one :thumbsu::thumbsu:

No need for pineapples. Everyone knows who runs the league. If not Sholly, Nick Bourke.

ultimate hater
10 Sep 2007, 15:49
well lets just say, if he doesn't get at least 2 weeks i'll be very very suprised... blatent headbut in front of the umpire, not sure how you could dispute that?? and the fact he got sent off means he is in strife..

there have been alot lesser things go to the tribunal and not been turned over.. such as mann for OB missing out on the weekend because of a push with the forearm to the back of stones head.. adding to which, i hear stone burnt him at the tribunal.. not cool.. but oh well..

does anything that go to the vafa tribunal ever get over turned? or no penalty dished out? seems a very rare occurance.. could we be seeing it tomorrow night though?

jogger
10 Sep 2007, 15:57
well lets just say, if he doesn't get at least 2 weeks i'll be very very suprised... blatent headbut in front of the umpire, not sure how you could dispute that?? and the fact he got sent off means he is in strife..

there have been alot lesser things go to the tribunal and not been turned over.. such as mann for OB missing out on the weekend because of a push with the forearm to the back of stones head.. adding to which, i hear stone burnt him at the tribunal.. not cool.. but oh well..
does anything that go to the vafa tribunal ever get over turned? or no penalty dished out? seems a very rare occurance.. could we be seeing it tomorrow night though?

How did stone burn him? Brighton used video evidence which back fired.

ultimate hater
10 Sep 2007, 16:06
How did stone burn him? Brighton used video evidence which back fired.

said he "felt a hard knock to the back of my head which was unexpected" (thats not word for word)... obviously didn't do any favours as any "knock" to the head is condoned i.e. he is no cambpell brown!

i guess you don't have to fib if you don't want to... but im sure OX's will be hoping the OB player doesnt say "i felt a sharp hit to my face which caused me to take a step back" he would definately be in trouble then..

what do ppl think about this? should players lie about small incidents like this? where no harm has come to anyone and trying to stop someone getting suspended, especially during finals?

Brain drain
10 Sep 2007, 16:39
said he "felt a hard knock to the back of my head which was unexpected" (thats not word for word)... obviously didn't do any favours as any "knock" to the head is condoned i.e. he is no cambpell brown!

i guess you don't have to fib if you don't want to... but im sure OX's will be hoping the OB player doesnt say "i felt a sharp hit to my face which caused me to take a step back" he would definately be in trouble then..

what do ppl think about this? should players lie about small incidents like this? where no harm has come to anyone and trying to stop someone getting suspended, especially during finals?

If it is as blatant as described, and the umpire had a good view, then the victim's evidence will be irrelevant.

ultimate hater
10 Sep 2007, 16:42
If it is as blatant as described, and the umpire had a good view, then the victim's evidence will be irrelevant.

the player could argue he walked into it and played for it knowing the umpire was there? but i guess the umpire could just say he is lying...

chelsworthgale
10 Sep 2007, 17:14
And utah, you say "The players now are generally younger than back then and there aren't as many older physical players running around" - just look an OI, they are old and physical, and now out of the finals..

2 blokes over 30 and we are an old side? gee whiz. I think you'll find a combo of injury restricted players, they played just very restricted in their movement... hats off to Hope for his gallant battle... and a well tuned UB side was more detrimental to OI than the average age of the side.

Hot tip for OB man no. 59 for UB up carefully... this bloke either had a day out or has some of the best dukes I have ever seen... he cant kick though so marks about 40 plus froms goals are generally safe.

Monkeyboy
10 Sep 2007, 17:42
2 blokes over 30 and we are an old side? gee whiz. I think you'll find a combo of injury restricted players, they played just very restricted in their movement... hats off to Hope for his gallant battle... and a well tuned UB side was more detrimental to OI than the average age of the side.

Hot tip for OB man no. 59 for UB up carefully... this bloke either had a day out or has some of the best dukes I have ever seen... he cant kick though so marks about 40 plus froms goals are generally safe.

I think every coach in A-Grade would be well aware of Paton. Absolute gun. As dangerous as Georgy Porgy can be, Paton is the man OB's need to stop if they are going to come out on top.

Johnny Utah #9
10 Sep 2007, 17:57
i agree monkey, apart from the wind affected skills, was quite a good game..

I'd like to here someone who actually "played" in these "great yester-year" teams and may have just retired recently, rather than some c*cksmoker sitting on the sidelines saying "back in my day so-and-so would have kicked 20 goals in a qrt.. jeeze the standard has dropped.."

And utah, you say "The players now are generally younger than back then and there aren't as many older physical players running around" - just look an OI, they are old and physical, and now out of the finals.. Like i've said previously, times have changed, along with the AFL style.. lot more running, better skills etc etc.. look at geelong, no-one in their team has kicked over 5 goals in any one game and they are going to win the afl premiership.. that doesn't mean the standard has dropped..
just because you wake up in the morning stinking of booze, grab the paper and don't see "me old mate" in the paper saying he has kicked 12 cant say the standard has dropped...
you guys don't have a very good argument at all, except for blowing smoke up your arse and no-one cares what umpires think champ.. so go back in your hole..

"standard has dropped" pff sounds like sour old men wishing they could still pull the boots on, but are afraid of getting shown up by an 18 yr old speedster..

Mate aside from your argument being all over the shop you don't really rely on any facts to back it up. I threw up an example of players drafted to AFL straight from Ammo's and you have no response???

FWIW, Old Ivanhoe have long relied on older experienced players, eg: Weddle, Haros, Stevens etc. It's not as though their structure has just changed dramatically this year!

simmer
10 Sep 2007, 18:59

We saw the Arnold's headbutt from the hill, granted it may not have been a huge hit, however it wasn't a light one either... bit of push and shove and then BANG! I think Arnold lost it for a brief moment and now the GF looks like one he may miss...

will be very interesting how this one goes during the week, only way I can see him getting off is if the OB bloke says he played for a free kick, but the ump was right there so I think he's in big trouble...

jogger
10 Sep 2007, 19:18

Arnold is an absolute gun! He kicked 4 in the 1st half. Why would OB do him any favours considering he'll probably rip OB apart if he were to play in the granny.

ultimate hater
11 Sep 2007, 10:23
congratulations to that hayden guy from OI, old spider head took out the b&f.. well done!

But a question.. how can a guy from OH poll 14 votes to finish 3rd? surely in their numerous 100+ point drubbings you could pick 3 better players from the winning team over someone in the losing side no??

If he polled 3 votes in their last game (instead of 1), which they won, he would have taken it out also!!!

soupsey
11 Sep 2007, 10:41
congratulations to that hayden guy from OI, old spider head took out the b&f.. well done!

But a question.. how can a guy from OH poll 14 votes to finish 3rd? surely in their numerous 100+ point drubbings you could pick 3 better players from the winning team over someone in the losing side no??

If he polled 3 votes in their last game (instead of 1), which they won, he would have taken it out also!!!

I hope you are not trying to understand the thought process behind some of the umpires votes hater! We could be here a while. D.Lynch probably scratching his head today also. Pretty sure he won about 4-5 games off his own boot.

Large_John
11 Sep 2007, 11:11

Think one Brendan "Jetzzi" Iezzi also deserves some accalades. Taking out the Rising Star Award while coming equal 2nd in the A-Grade B&F isn't a bad effort for a 1st Year Player.

ultimate hater
11 Sep 2007, 11:28
Think one Brendan "Jetzzi" Iezzi also deserves some accalades. Taking out the Rising Star Award while coming equal 2nd in the A-Grade B&F isn't a bad effort for a 1st Year Player.

must have been his long lushious locks... and is the OH player a red head?? must be something to stand out.. maybe he has black boots, you don't see them around much anymore.. reppin' the 90's!

ultimate hater
11 Sep 2007, 13:03
does anyone know what became of the poll on the vafa website about broadcasting the A section GF on the website?

or do they never take any notice of the polls?

oldertimer
11 Sep 2007, 22:03

Looking at the A Section B&F results in Round 18 OH v OI, the 2 best players on the ground for OH were both 39 years old. What should one read into that for OI?