View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football
soupsey
12 Sep 2007, 09:15
yeah monkey, am positive it was him.. i think the ump was "alvy"? or whatever his name is.. the guy who hangs out at 161 and the likes..
he headbutted an OB player right in front of him.. not much in it.. wasn't hard, but was blatent, just very very stupid on his behalf as the play was no-where in sight, and there was hardly even any push and shove going on.. not sure why he did it.. but he did get sent off and his number taken.. but not sure what is going to become of it??
surely sholly will get him off yeah? few pineapples under the table?
Didn't want to say too much before the tribunal but justice has prevailed. Absolutely nothing in the Arnold report. Umpire Firley confirmed that last night when the charge was dismissed. So start throwing your conspiracy theories if you like but you will be wasting your breath. Trust me it was the correct decision.
Blueboys11
12 Sep 2007, 09:27
Looking at the A Section B&F results in Round 18 OH v OI, the 2 best players on the ground for OH were both 39 years old. What should one read into that for OI?
Absolutly nothing...
Monkeyboy
12 Sep 2007, 09:29
Didn't want to say too much before the tribunal but justice has prevailed. Absolutely nothing in the Arnold report. Umpire Firley confirmed that last night when the charge was dismissed. So start throwing your conspiracy theories if you like but you will be wasting your breath. Trust me it was the correct decision.
Great news for Xavs fans! As i said, i never saw the incident so couldn't contribute. But i am suprised an umpire would report someone at the time, send him off and then confirm at tribunal that there was nothing in it. Is this what happened Soupmeister?
All in all a great result. We want to see the best run around on GF days, and Arnold is right up there!
So what do the punters think out there re Prelim final. Will the OB's bounce back, or will the finals experienced Blues prevail? I'm thinking OB's in a nailbiter.
ultimate hater
12 Sep 2007, 10:27
Never seemed to prevail for anyone else during the year!! Just ask the OI guy that got two weeks for pushing a guy over!!
Seems the correct decision is in the eye of the beholder! Definately sholly's work!! The gravy train coming into action...
maybe they told "alvy" (if thats the umps name) that he would get banned from revolver and 161 if he didn't get it dismissed!
But it is weird how he would send him off and report him then retract it all when at the tribunal?? Is he admitting to stuffing up during the game? I wonder how many other desicions he'd retract in "hindsight"??
The Tiger's Nuts
12 Sep 2007, 11:19
Albie. Albie Firley. Not "alvy."
soupsey
12 Sep 2007, 13:27
Never seemed to prevail for anyone else during the year!! Just ask the OI guy that got two weeks for pushing a guy over!!
Seems the correct decision is in the eye of the beholder! Definately sholly's work!! The gravy train coming into action...
maybe they told "alvy" (if thats the umps name) that he would get banned from revolver and 161 if he didn't get it dismissed!
But it is weird how he would send him off and report him then retract it all when at the tribunal?? Is he admitting to stuffing up during the game? I wonder how many other desicions he'd retract in "hindsight"??
Only Albie can answer those questions hater. Not complaining though. Could it be that the independant tribunal are actually independant?
Have you accompanied any players to the tribunal lately Soupsey?
Question Soupsey.... did you see the incident? because i did, and there was a definate headbutt! as I said earlier, may not have been a huge hit, however it was there... However, I'm glad Arnold got off as no one should miss a GF because of a minor misdemenor and from memory the OB player instigated the scuffle anyway... so justice was served in my opinion.
The ump was 100% correct to report him! and i reckon in home and away rounds he would have got weeks for sure...
Arnold is the luckiest bloke in the Ammos at the moment!
ultimate hater
12 Sep 2007, 15:18
Question Soupsey.... did you see the incident? because i did, and there was a definate headbutt! as I said earlier, may not have been a huge hit, however it was there... However, I'm glad Arnold got off as no one should miss a GF because of a minor misdemenor and from memory the OB player instigated the scuffle anyway... so justice was served in my opinion.
The ump was 100% correct to report him! and i reckon in home and away rounds he would have got weeks for sure...
he should get himself a quickpick for the $20mil draw on sat!!
but true simmer, no-one should miss a granny for something like that... im sure the coach would have, and should have, given him a serv for beign a twat and acting tough by throwing a headbutt!! seriously!!! why would you bother?!? anyway, he is a lucky man..
just reading an article about turf for next year and how grounds will be worse off.. anyone got any thoughts on playing on the postage stamp next year? I'm glad trinity didn't get relegated because that could be the only functioning ground!!
vafa guru
12 Sep 2007, 16:06
he should get himself a quickpick for the $20mil draw on sat!!
but true simmer, no-one should miss a granny for something like that... im sure the coach would have, and should have, given him a serv for beign a twat and acting tough by throwing a headbutt!! seriously!!! why would you bother?!? anyway, he is a lucky man..
just reading an article about turf for next year and how grounds will be worse off.. anyone got any thoughts on playing on the postage stamp next year? I'm glad trinity didn't get relegated because that could be the only functioning ground!!
Hater,
have no fear about the postage stamp. My spies down south tell me the ground is being fully resurfaced over the summer (mcuh tothe chargrin of Mentone Cricket Club) and will be in pristine condition for A section in 08. I have had cause to visit brindisi st and it is tiny, howeverthe off field facilities are first rate, good size rooms and terrific bar.
ultimate hater
12 Sep 2007, 16:18
Hater,
have no fear about the postage stamp. My spies down south tell me the ground is being fully resurfaced over the summer (mcuh tothe chargrin of Mentone Cricket Club) and will be in pristine condition for A section in 08. I have had cause to visit brindisi st and it is tiny, howeverthe off field facilities are first rate, good size rooms and terrific bar.
yes, agreed there.. always enjoyed the drinks there.. although not too sure about that UV light (or a blue light..?) they had in there, not sure if it still there but wasn't too friendly on the eyes.. trying to keep the smackies out i guess??
i must say, playing there a few years ago, didn't make a hell of a difference... maybe they were just shite at the time though!!
a reliable Scotchies source has just let this one slip boys.... the big G-Train to grace the fields of VAFA next season wearing the red navy and gold!
rumours mill starting early I know, however this ones appears to be on the money!
ultimate hater
13 Sep 2007, 09:00
a reliable Scotchies source has just let this one slip boys.... the big G-Train to grace the fields of VAFA next season wearing the red navy and gold!
rumours mill starting early I know, however this ones appears to be on the money!
haha how come I believe you?!?
I don't think it will come to fruition though... the g-banger might want at fair break from footy..
soupsey
13 Sep 2007, 09:08
haha how come I believe you?!?
I don't think it will come to fruition though... the g-banger might want at fair break from footy..
He must have the same legal counsel as stevie lawrence!
ultimate hater
13 Sep 2007, 09:15
He must have the same legal counsel as stevie lawrence!
or anger management or alcoholics anonymous group...
soupsey
13 Sep 2007, 09:45
or anger management or alcoholics anonymous group...
I think you misunderstood my inference. If you need legal advice, one way not to pay for it is to play for your legal advisors affiliated VAFA club! No money changes hands and everyone is happy. Except perhaps for the said player who then has to turn up to training and games out of obligation, perhaps affecting the team spirit of the club? I'm just thinking out loud though.
chelsworthgale
13 Sep 2007, 09:53
I think you misunderstood my inference. If you need legal advice, one way not to pay for it is to play for your legal advisors affiliated VAFA club! No money changes hands and everyone is happy. Except perhaps for the said player who then has to turn up to training and games out of obligation, perhaps affecting the team spirit of the club? I'm just thinking out loud though.
That sounds like an awfully familiar situation... hmmm...
ultimate hater
13 Sep 2007, 09:56
ahhh understood soupsey.. didn't know the inner workings of the scotchies affiliates!
just quickly back onto the arnold report soupsey, as you seem to be in the know down there, i got wind that the tribunal had made up their minds about letting him off before it was even heard and that it even being heard was just a formality... i suppose, if anyone is going to get away with cheating, it would be the powerhouse.. I'm not one for not allowing good players to play in finals for no reason, but it seems that its a different set of rules depending on which team you play for and what ties you have at vafa board level yes?
i'm not having a go at xavs here (any club would do everything in their power to get any player off), im having a go at the vafa/tribunal.. i'm saying it is very "unfair" and "dodgy"...
Soupsey. Have you accompanied any players to the tribunal lately?
chelsworthgale
13 Sep 2007, 12:50
i'm not having a go at xavs here (any club would do everything in their power to get any player off), im having a go at the vafa/tribunal.. i'm saying it is very "unfair" and "dodgy"...
Massive allegation there... you might have to "play" down at Scotch next year alla G-Train and Stevie Lawrence :D
however I reckon the OI bloke who got rubbed out as the UB went down quicker than a $2 hooker in a style that would of made the Italian soccer supporters proud, might slightly agree with you on that front!
JG Hornet
13 Sep 2007, 13:22
It's funny, about 10 blokes have told me there was nothing in it.
But the reporting umpire is CERTAIN that he deserved 2, if not more weeks. Ironic, given that his maniac brother should have got 10 years for some of his capers over the years!
Massive allegation there... you might have to "play" down at Scotch next year alla G-Train and Stevie Lawrence :D
however I reckon the OI bloke who got rubbed out as the UB went down quicker than a $2 hooker in a style that would of made the Italian soccer supporters proud, might slightly agree with you on that front!
Monkeyboy
13 Sep 2007, 13:41
Questione for the horned one?
Will our resident A-Grade scribe be able this year to tip with the head and not the heart and actually tip Old Xavs to win the flag?
ahhh understood soupsey.. didn't know the inner workings of the scotchies affiliates!
just quickly back onto the arnold report soupsey, as you seem to be in the know down there, i got wind that the tribunal had made up their minds about letting him off before it was even heard and that it even being heard was just a formality... i suppose, if anyone is going to get away with cheating, it would be the powerhouse.. I'm not one for not allowing good players to play in finals for no reason, but it seems that its a different set of rules depending on which team you play for and what ties you have at vafa board level yes?
The same rumblings are coming out of Brighton Beach today I hear! apparently Arnold was given a lecture by the tribunal before getting let off! Beachboys NOT happy!
will they get revenge in two weeks? I hope so boys...
JG Hornet
13 Sep 2007, 15:19
Questione for the horned one?
Will our resident A-Grade scribe be able this year to tip with the head and not the heart and actually tip Old Xavs to win the flag?
Time will tell old son - If Arnold had had been rubbed out...
I've tipped 2 of the 3 GFs with err, one blowout tarnishing my record a tad...
Johnny Utah #9
13 Sep 2007, 16:43
Yawn. He has been rumoured to be leaving Scotch every year for the last 4 years and guess what....it never happened!
Johnny.... there will be two G-Trains at Scotch next season! a formidable forward line, best in the league I would think if it comes to fruition...
chelsworthgale
13 Sep 2007, 18:22
Johnny i think you will find he was refering to Stevie Lawrences wing man... you know the one who punched the chick in a "macho" defence to prevent her from slapping Stevie's face and pulling his hair.
Sausage roll
13 Sep 2007, 20:39
can someone give me an idea who might win this weekend?? ob weren't that far away last week and the blues were outstanding. who shall i put my money on??
chelsworthgale
13 Sep 2007, 21:18
can someone give me an idea who might win this weekend?? ob weren't that far away last week and the blues were outstanding. who shall i put my money on??
UB beat OI with pace and were better around the stoppages... I think OB has the wood on UB on both fronts.
question where are you dropping dollars and what are the odds you are getting!!!
holding
13 Sep 2007, 22:25
Johnny.... there will be two G-Trains at Scotch next season! a formidable forward line, best in the league I would think if it comes to fruition...
There will be ZERO G-Trains at Scotch next year
You heard it here first
quikies69
13 Sep 2007, 22:34
g train is going to come to the mighty old brighton!!
dangerdave7
14 Sep 2007, 00:34
Have heard from a good source that G-train of the ex St Kilda variety will be playing alongside Aussie Jones at Narre Warren next year.
So unless he has organised a similar deal (inclusive of free legal fees) as his wing man and partner in crime, it would be very unlikely that you would see him in scotch colours.
So holding where is the scotch G-train headed?
Dave
soupsey
14 Sep 2007, 10:24
I guess some clubs prepare for a tribunal appearance better than others. What's done is done, can't change the tribunal decision now. And jogger, I have not been to the tribunal for a year or so now. Last time I was there I was trying to get myself off an abusive language charge. Charge sustained one week!
ultimate hater
14 Sep 2007, 10:36
I guess some clubs prepare for a tribunal appearance better than others. What's done is done, can't change the tribunal decision now. And jogger, I have not been to the tribunal for a year or so now. Last time I was there I was trying to get myself off an abusive language charge. Charge sustained one week!
mate.. it has nothing to do with "preparations"
The umpire confirmed the charge, so I'm not sure how he got off??
A clear headbutt in front of the umpire and the umpire confirmed it but he still got off?? jeeze if you ran it on the points system in the afl he could get something like 3 weeks! high contact, deliberate, behind play, medium impact.. that would tally to a few wouldn't it? It's not like arnold would have denied it, and if he did, he wouldn't have been able to successfully..
i mean, you got 1 week for abusive language! It definately smells a little crook to me... I'm 100% positive if it was a player from another club he wouldn't have got off.. as I'm sure most on here would agree..
Monkeyboy
14 Sep 2007, 10:53
mate.. it has nothing to do with "preparations"
The umpire confirmed the charge, so I'm not sure how he got off??
A clear headbutt in front of the umpire and the umpire confirmed it but he still got off?? jeeze if you ran it on the points system in the afl he could get something like 3 weeks! high contact, deliberate, behind play, medium impact.. that would tally to a few wouldn't it? It's not like arnold would have denied it, and if he did, he wouldn't have been able to successfully..
i mean, you got 1 week for abusive language! It definately smells a little crook to me... I'm 100% positive if it was a player from another club he wouldn't have got off.. as I'm sure most on here would agree..
Its a conspiracy. Just like no Collingwood players making the TOTC or the TOTY. Eddie aint happy. And neither are the non Xav fans here.
To change the topic, any comments on the A section team of the year?
A Section Team of The Year
B: A. Solly (UB) B. Corin (DLS) J. Morel (DLS)
HB: N. Stone (Coll) S. Fragiacomo (Ivan) M. Ainley (Brigh
C: J. Scanlon (OX) S. Curatolo (Ivan) L. Hendra (Brigh
HF: J. Arnold (OX) D.Paton (UB) R. Colbert (OX)
F: D. Dawes (Bright) A. Pirrie (Brigh) A. Cultrera (OT)
Fol: H. Heta (Ivan) B. Iezzi (OT) M. Patterson (UB)
Inter: D. Keely (DLS) C. Blumfield (Coll) B. McConnell (UB)
N. Bye (OX)
ultimate hater
14 Sep 2007, 12:20
good side.. couple of questions, but there always is.. 15 from the top 4 sides, hard for the other teams to squeeze in.. but thats how it should be really..
props to the hornet..
ultimate hater
14 Sep 2007, 15:15
tips for the weekend anyone?
Tipping OB by 4 goals, rain, hail or shine.. They will need to make a statement to xavs after being easily accounted for and poor skill work.. UB will server it right up but think OB should be too polished in the end, after now knowing what it takes in finals time..
holding
14 Sep 2007, 17:12
So holding where is the scotch G-train headed?
Dave
Won't be pulling the boots on at all from what i hear :D
Cardio Carl
14 Sep 2007, 18:33
Oh, Uni Blues,
Tell me will you get through,
We keep hangin on,
Trying to sing our song
But we never do,
Oh, Uni Blues,
we need both the 1's & the 2's
but were like night and day
I gotta say,
it will be hard to do,
Oh, Uni Blues,
Tell me am I getting through,
as its hard to say,
if you will win or lose,
Well when Monday comes we're drinking,
when Tuesday comes we're drinking,
into another day again,
our personalities unwind,
as we blame the other swine,
from a spew that never ends,
Just when I think I'm unwell,
my emotions swell,
I'm not the student I use to be,
I'm a complicated baby
so take me home lady,
Oh, Uni Blues
GallopingGasometer
15 Sep 2007, 08:12
Its a conspiracy. Just like no Collingwood players making the TOTC or the TOTY. Eddie aint happy. And neither are the non Xav fans here. No conspiracy, it's too obvious for something as convoluted as that. Just an effin joke. That would be the first time in the history of the ammos that someone got off a head butting charge. The argument that no one should miss a gf is total bullshite. The ammos should be kept clean on the field and as everyone knows, head butts are a serious charge. Anyone else get off at the tribunal this year without the charge being withdrawn?
Max Leader
15 Sep 2007, 11:00
No conspiracy, it's too obvious for something as convoluted as that. Just an effin joke. That would be the first time in the history of the ammos that someone got off a head butting charge. The argument that no one should miss a gf is total bullshite. The ammos should be kept clean on the field and as everyone knows, head butts are a serious charge. Anyone else get off at the tribunal this year without the charge being withdrawn?
J Hope OI
nicho_magic
16 Sep 2007, 18:46
blues beaten by brighton today by 7 goals. wind made it a shocker of a spectacle, as both sides kicked it to each other often, as well as not getting it cleanly often. blues inaccuracy hurt them, but brighton were just too good.
also brighton got up in a classic in the ressies.
ultimate hater
17 Sep 2007, 10:06
great win by brightons 1's and 2's and unders on the weekend, especially the cliffhanger in the 2's.. all through to the granny this weekend!!
very good times for the club.. they have put in a great plan for the club to become very successful and stay successful, and so far it is working..
hopefully the weather will be good on sunday as its going to be an absolute cracker of a match.. very excited..
I'm tipping OB by 8 points in a blinder..
I hope that cat arnold gets his own.. apparently you can get away with headbuts so hopefully he gets a couple!! - are you able to use precidents when attending the tribunal? if so, the arnold case should get anyone off yeah??
soupsey
17 Sep 2007, 10:14
great win by brightons 1's and 2's and unders on the weekend, especially the cliffhanger in the 2's.. all through to the granny this weekend!!
very good times for the club.. they have put in a great plan for the club to become very successful and stay successful, and so far it is working..
hopefully the weather will be good on sunday as its going to be an absolute cracker of a match.. very excited..
I hope that cat arnold gets his own.. apparently you can get away with headbuts so hopefully he gets a couple!! - are you able to use precidents when attending the tribunal? if so, the arnold case should get anyone off yeah??
That's the kind of week character attitude which sees your team NOT playing this week. Get over it hater you are normally better than that!
ultimate hater
17 Sep 2007, 10:22
That's the kind of weAk character attitude which sees your team NOT playing this week. Get over it hater you are normally better than that!
what can i say soupsey.. i hold grudges and enjoy getting angry...
what do you mean by my team not playing this weekend? enlighten me..
yes Sunday should be an absolute belter of a game! Can the Beach Boys reverse the second semi result and get over the line this week??
I reckon they will.... but only by a point, after full time draw in extra time!
Interesting to see how the footy gods treat Arnold on Sunday after his remarkable victory at the tribunal, will karma play out itself on the boy?
Go Tonners!
Jascave
17 Sep 2007, 16:41
I'm going for Xavs to win the grand final by 34 points. You can never write off experienced campaigners like Old Xaverians-been there, done that. But I just wonder, will the grand final tension get to Old Brighton?
chelsworthgale
17 Sep 2007, 16:54
aside from the grand final it was interesting to read in the herald sun that OE choked... again... will they ever make it to A grade? That said the VAFA's worst nightmare has come to fruition with both Uni sides in the same division... I wonder how they will tackle the same gurnsey issue... skins VS jumpers? :D
chelsworthgale
17 Sep 2007, 16:58
I'm going for Xavs to win the grand final by 34 points. You can never write off experienced campaigners like Old Xaverians-been there, done that. But I just wonder, will the grand final tension get to Old Brighton?
couldn't agree more... so with the GF now just a formality time for the rumour mill to kick into overdrive... M. Voss now no longer contracted to Brisbane to head to Scotch for the same deal as S.Lawernce and F.Gerhig... OS for premiership next year...
ultimate hater
17 Sep 2007, 16:59
aside from the grand final it was interesting to read in the herald sun that OE choked... again... will they ever make it to A grade? That said the VAFA's worst nightmare has come to fruition with both Uni sides in the same division... I wonder how they will tackle the same gurnsey issue... skins VS jumpers? :D
decaf latte drinkers vs. chai latte drinkers...
chelsworthgale
17 Sep 2007, 17:44
decaf latte drinkers vs. chai latte drinkers...
I would of thought Skinny vs Chai
nicho_magic
17 Sep 2007, 20:49
easily. they have clash jumpers.
if htey don't want to wear those the away team can wear melbourne's uni games jumper, as happened in the 19'ss earlier in the year when blues played blacks
soupsey
18 Sep 2007, 09:22
if htey don't want to wear those the away team can wear melbourne's uni games jumper, as happened in the 19'ss earlier in the year when blues played blacks
Will all the players the blues usually get because they are in A grade now go to blacks because they are in A now plus they have better social functions and are a better run unit?
What will come of all the Old Xavs playing for Blacks?
ultimate hater
18 Sep 2007, 09:25
clash jumpers? na no way... it will definately be skinny vs chai... you don't know what your talking about..
Johnny Utah #9
18 Sep 2007, 10:25
Just a thought, but why don't Uni Blues wear a blue jumper with a black V and Uni Blacks opposite? Problem solved and no change of colours required.
chelsworthgale
18 Sep 2007, 11:11
clearly you lack the knowledge of when one is being sarcastical!
Clearly they are going to wear an away jumper. I just find extremely funny that the VAFA would approve two identocal jumpers (going back xx years)... the directors at the time must have been the same blokes who ran the mockery that is the DVFL (now NFL)
Blueboys11
18 Sep 2007, 13:04
For someone that has no idea how the University teams are set up, how do students at the University choose between which team they play for??? Are students encouraged to join one over the other???
BrianSpeaking
18 Sep 2007, 14:01
For someone that has no idea how the University teams are set up, how do students at the University choose between which team they play for??? Are students encouraged to join one over the other???
Uni Blacks and Uni Blues HATE each other with a passion. All at Blues have been dreading this day, as it dilutes the strength of their club. Ray Wilson has been a man on a nission and that mission is not only to win an A Section flag, but just as importantly, hope to see Blues relegated.
They pitch very hard for all of the new kids at the school, with Blues gaing a lot because they have been in A with recent success, whilst Blacks have pitched the most successful VAFA club line. Blacks have a lot more history than Blues, former VFL team in the early 20th Century with amazing names of VFL legends of the games to have played there.
All in all, I still think Blues will be a lot stronger, but if Blacks can stay in A for 3 years(very hard) they will once again be the club of choice.
not that it matters too much as from what I've seen in the last two weeks the umpys have been ok, however does anyone know who the whistle blowers in the GF will be?
Bring back Dirk Kramer!
Johnny Utah #9
18 Sep 2007, 17:54
Uni Blacks and Uni Blues HATE each other with a passion. All at Blues have been dreading this day, as it dilutes the strength of their club. Ray Wilson has been a man on a nission and that mission is not only to win an A Section flag, but just as importantly, hope to see Blues relegated.
They pitch very hard for all of the new kids at the school, with Blues gaing a lot because they have been in A with recent success, whilst Blacks have pitched the most successful VAFA club line. Blacks have a lot more history than Blues, former VFL team in the early 20th Century with amazing names of VFL legends of the games to have played there.
All in all, I still think Blues will be a lot stronger, but if Blacks can stay in A for 3 years(very hard) they will once again be the club of choice.
Good synopsis Brian but i must correct you on one point. The University side that was fielded in the VFL in the early part of last century preceded Blues & Blacks. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Melbourne_University_Football_Club
It will certainly be on like Donkey Kong when these two clash next year.
river man
19 Sep 2007, 12:40
Are there going to be any blacks to blues and blues to blacks like there will be EOG's to st bernards and vica verca, or are they completely different clubs??
Good news for those not able to get to the game -
In a first for the VAFA, the A Section Grand Final between Old Xaverians and Old Brighton will be broadcast live on the VAFA website this Sunday.
For those interstate, overseas or just unable to get to Sportscover Arena to see the game live, the VAFA in conjunction with Sports and Entertainment Ltd will bring you the action live, free and uninterupted. Look for the coverage icon this Sunday and enjoy the commentary from Tony Schibeci, James Bell and Glenn Scarborough as they bring you all the action from 2pm.
ultimate hater
19 Sep 2007, 17:41
Good news for those not able to get to the game -
In a first for the VAFA, the A Section Grand Final between Old Xaverians and Old Brighton will be broadcast live on the VAFA website this Sunday.
For those interstate, overseas or just unable to get to Sportscover Arena to see the game live, the VAFA in conjunction with Sports and Entertainment Ltd will bring you the action live, free and uninterupted. Look for the coverage icon this Sunday and enjoy the commentary from Tony Schibeci, James Bell and Glenn Scarborough as they bring you all the action from 2pm.
I'd hate to be sitting on the comp on a sunday!!
will it be broadcast on TV, i.e. channel 31? seeing as most ppl have digital tv nowadays they should have teed-up to show it on the second ABC channel as the VFL will be shown on the main one..
Slay Master G
20 Sep 2007, 10:00
All those attending the game on Sunday must be praying for good weather.
Not only for the standard of the game, but also for the off-field attractions.
(Old Xavs v. Brighton GF) + good weather = Plenty of good looking birds dressed up to the nine's at Elsternwick Park. Game On.
ultimate hater
20 Sep 2007, 10:14
All those attending the game on Sunday must be praying for good weather.
Not only for the standard of the game, but also for the off-field attractions.
(Old Xavs v. Brighton GF) + good weather = Plenty of good looking birds dressed up to the nine's at Elsternwick Park. Game On.
21deg, fine & sunny SMG!! Lets hope this stays it's course and the f**king wind doesn't roar up like it has been the last 2 sundays!!
Jascave
20 Sep 2007, 10:20
Agree with ultimate hater on this one re live coverage of the A Section GF on the internet. Would it been better to have it either on the ABC2 digital channel, Channel 31 (remember, they used to do the VAFA) or the Auroara pay-tv community channel, rather than on the internet?
Monkeyboy
20 Sep 2007, 10:25
21deg, fine & sunny SMG!! Lets hope this stays it's course and the f**king wind doesn't roar up like it has been the last 2 sundays!!
Both Saturday and Sunday are meant to be absolute ripping days weather wise. Should bring out some very lovely ladies as you all suggest.
Any news coming out of either camp? What are everybodies selections?
I am guessing that the Hornman will keep up his 07 Finals tipping record and go for Old Brighton in a close won.
Xavs by 4-5 goals for me.
Concrete boots
20 Sep 2007, 10:36
Agree with ultimate hater on this one re live coverage of the A Section GF on the internet. Would it been better to have it either on the ABC2 digital channel, Channel 31 (remember, they used to do the VAFA) or the Auroara pay-tv community channel, rather than on the internet?
I'd take it a step further Jase, no AFL final on Sunday, leaves Ch 7 clear to send a few crews down to Sportcover Arena. Would be better than another re-run of that classic Jerry Lewis and Dean Martin comedy Hollywood or Bust.
Imagine Dennis and Bruce perched on the 1st floor outside the boardroom getting cosy with Sholls and The Brain, with the Ox roaming the pavilion wing getting a grab from Tim Ockleshaw or Justin Arnold as Bones brings them off for a rest.
Sounds good to me.
JG Hornet
20 Sep 2007, 11:15
Both Saturday and Sunday are meant to be absolute ripping days weather wise. Should bring out some very lovely ladies as you all suggest.
Any news coming out of either camp? What are everybodies selections?
I am guessing that the Hornman will keep up his 07 Finals tipping record and go for Old Brighton in a close won.
Xavs by 4-5 goals for me.
It's a hard GF to select Monkey.
And yes, my finals form has been cause for some concern.
A 20+ degree day should bring out the best offield talent seen for some years.
Jascave
20 Sep 2007, 11:21
How many A Section Grand Finals have Old Xavs been involved in since 1995?
ultimate hater
20 Sep 2007, 11:51
How many A Section Grand Finals have Old Xavs been involved in since 1995?
I'm not 100%, but i think it is as follows:
'95 - Premiers
'96 - Premiers
'97 - Premiers
'98 - Premiers
'99 - Premiers
'00 - Premiers
'01 - finals but no GF
'02 - Runners up
'03 - Premiers
'04 - missed finals
'05 - Premiers
'06 - Runners up
so yeah.. just a couple of apperances and wins..
Monkeyboy
20 Sep 2007, 12:07
'95 - Premiers
'96 - Premiers
'97 - Premiers
'98 - Premiers
'99 - Premiers
'00 - Premiers
'01 - finals but no GF
'02 - Runners up
'03 - Premiers
'04 - missed finals
'05 - Premiers
'06 - Runners up
Spot on Ultimate Hater. Quite a list.
Monkeyboy
20 Sep 2007, 12:07
I can just feel an Old Brighton tip coming our way. I can feel it in my bones!
ultimate hater
20 Sep 2007, 12:09
Spot on Ultimate Hater. Quite a list.
the xav's site is a ripper.. although it looks like a grade 6 I.T. project it does have alot of material!
'95 - Premiers
'96 - Premiers
'97 - Premiers
'98 - Premiers
'99 - Premiers
'00 - Premiers
'01 - finals but no GF
'02 - Runners up
'03 - Premiers
'04 - missed finals
'05 - Premiers
'06 - Runners up
2004 was such a great year.
A senior finals had Uni Blues, Bernies, Trinity and Marcellin
A reserve finals had Uni Blues, Bernies, Old Scotch and Trinity
Sadly, A section resumed normal "Claret and Stout" transmission thereafter.
Sausage roll
20 Sep 2007, 20:37
'95 - Premiers
'96 - Premiers
'97 - Premiers
'98 - Premiers
'99 - Premiers
'00 - Premiers
'01 - finals but no GF
'02 - Runners up
'03 - Premiers
'04 - missed finals
'05 - Premiers
'06 - Runners up
quite a successful club don't you think??
Eddie Woloschek
21 Sep 2007, 03:25
the xav's site is a ripper.. although it looks like a grade 6 I.T. project it does have alot of material!
As the webmaster is a Year 5 kid at Kostka, he'll be happy with that compliment.
chelsworthgale
21 Sep 2007, 11:18
quite a successful club don't you think??
only slightly
soupsey
21 Sep 2007, 11:20
As the webmaster is a Year 5 kid at Kostka, he'll be happy with that compliment.
Who ever the guy is who runs that site should be hired by the ammos to run theirs. Very controlled and rarely gives out too much info from them. Unlike that phone service that others provide.
ultimate hater
21 Sep 2007, 11:56
Who ever the guy is who runs that site should be hired by the ammos to run theirs. Very controlled and rarely gives out too much info from them. Unlike that phone service that others provide.
what phone services are these soupsey?
Jascave
21 Sep 2007, 12:32
It wouldn't surprise me if Old Brighton is overawed on A Section Grand Final day, because this is their first trip to the 'big stage' of VAFA football. Old Xaverians however are like Port Adelaide in the SANFL-been there done that. I still think Old Xavs will be too experienced for Old Brighton.
ultimate hater
21 Sep 2007, 12:48
It wouldn't surprise me if Old Brighton is overawed on A Section Grand Final day, because this is their first trip to the 'big stage' of VAFA football. Old Xaverians however are like Port Adelaide in the SANFL-been there done that. I still think Old Xavs will be too experienced for Old Brighton.
Not too sure about that Jas, OB have had their fair share of finals campains.. not hugely successful I might add, but finals are finals all the same.. and OB have played xavs once already this series so there wont be so much of a "shock" factor..
OB should be quitely confident as they have the cattle to pull off a win, and as long as they click, like every team should in a granny, it is very possible.. They also have a positive records against xavs this year, which should give them a little bit more confidence..
have faith my friend.. OB were written off at the start of the year to do the yo-yo back to b grade as they said they couldn't "match" it with the big boys, they went about it their own way and are now in a granny, so really, anything could happen... and it will... OB by 8 points in a ball breaker... pirrie to kick 6, clark to be BOG.. watch out for lynch, will play both forward and back for xavs and is known as a big game player, OB may find themselves doubling up on him whenever they get the chance...
OB by 8 points and STBedes by 7 goals for the quinella..
soupsey
21 Sep 2007, 12:48
what phone services are these soupsey?
9673-2288
ultimate hater
21 Sep 2007, 12:53
9673-2288
it is spoken in code is it not? decyphering names is half the challenge..
Ruck Machine
21 Sep 2007, 14:47
Does anyone here no if Andrew Edge is playing 1's or 2's for Old Brighton this weekend.
He's a mate of mine and wonder which game he'll play in as I might come down and watch.
ultimate hater
21 Sep 2007, 15:23
Does anyone here no if Andrew Edge is playing 1's or 2's for Old Brighton this weekend.
He's a mate of mine and wonder which game he'll play in as I might come down and watch.
I think the twos.. unlucky, if it was any other year he would be walkup start in the 1's..
Johnny Utah #9
21 Sep 2007, 16:41
If he's such a good mate why wouldn't you just call him and find out? LOL.
Ruck Machine
21 Sep 2007, 16:56
If he's such a good mate why wouldn't you just call him and find out? LOL.
I knew he was probably going to be in the 2's, just probing for information on why.
Jascave
21 Sep 2007, 17:32
For Your Information, the umpires for Sunday's Grand Final has been announced. They are Tim Sutcliffe and Russell Davidson, the same as last year.
Monkeyboy
21 Sep 2007, 17:55
For Your Information, the umpires for Sunday's Grand Final has been announced. They are Tim Sutcliffe and Russell Davidson, the same as last year.
Well done. Two fine men and very good umpires! Just pay the lads going in and getting the hard ball.
Sausage roll
22 Sep 2007, 15:25
let's just hope the wind doesn't spoil what promises to be a great game....
Can't wait for Sunday's Sportscover blockbuster............ Sunny weather forecast, good ground, two champion teams... the scene is set!
GO TONNERS!
Just watched the A Grade reserves final on the web.
Classic commentary from whoever the guys were doing it. Umpires were given an absolute pasting.
Monkeyboy
23 Sep 2007, 19:11
Can't wait for Sunday's Sportscover blockbuster............ Sunny weather forecast, good ground, two champion teams... the scene is set!
GO TONNERS!
2 champion teams...ease up. I think a small handfull of Tonners players would make the Xavs line-up. As expected, Xavs win comfortably. A great result again for the biggest club in the AMMOS. Made the more enjoyable by the talk that has come out of the Tonner boys during the season. You really need to be able to back big talking up. They remind me of the England cricket team. When it mattered, the action never matched the luna park like mouths!
First 1/4 and Xavs should have been 12 goals up if they had kicked straight. Absolutely dominated the hard stuff. Bye and Sappa killing it in the ruck. Fleming, Beardsley, Mercuri, Colbert and Scanlon winning the ball at will. Lynch solid. Handley innacurate but dominant with the hands. Missed a few sitters. Second quarter, Xavs into the wind maintain the lead. 3rd extend, 4th some late OB goals when really all that was on the minds of the Old Xavs was celebrating.
Best on ground for me was Fleming. Hard, tough and ran all day. Mercuri will be picked up next year. GUN. Beardsley, Serafini, Bye, Lynch and Scanlon.
Pity the game was again played in a gale while the rest of Melbourne had its regular still Spring day. Time for the AMMOS to act. I have been at them for years and will continue to be. WE CANNOT CONTINUE TO PLAY OUR FINALS AT THIS CRAP GROUND.
Well done to the Horn on his GF prediction. Not only were you correct in tipping Xavs, but you identified a key reason why...yes they are unbelievable at using the wind and protecting thier score playing into it. After 12 years of September practise out there, it really is a great advantage.
Slay Master G
23 Sep 2007, 19:29
I agree, Elsternwick is a stinker of a venue. What idiot signed a 20 year lease at the crap hole...?
I know for a fact that Eddie McGuire offered the VAFA Vic Park and the administration facilities but they knocked it back.
Nothing worse than a lovely spring day everywhere only to find a 6 goal breeze at HQ. Ruins the greatest spectacle of the greatest football comp in Vic. And it happens every year.
PLEASE ACT NOW VAFA.
Blueboys11
23 Sep 2007, 19:46
I agree, Elsternwick is a stinker of a venue. What idiot signed a 20 year lease at the crap hole...?
I know for a fact that Eddie McGuire offered the VAFA Vic Park and the administration facilities but they knocked it back.
Nothing worse than a lovely spring day everywhere only to find a 6 goal breeze at HQ. Ruins the greatest spectacle of the greatest football comp in Vic. And it happens every year.
PLEASE ACT NOW VAFA.
Agree wholeheartedly. Playing out at Elsternwick is a joke and continually we play our showcase games there. Move the finals now!!!! Games turns into a total lottery with such a ridiculously stron wind. Teams are required to play a different brand of game to the one they have played all year, and that actually got them to finals
BrianSpeaking
23 Sep 2007, 20:25
Agree wholeheartedly. Playing out at Elsternwick is a joke and continually we play our showcase games there. Move the finals now!!!! Games turns into a total lottery with such a ridiculously stron wind. Teams are required to play a different brand of game to the one they have played all year, and that actually got them to finals
EP will stay, so stop talking crap you blokes. Monkey, you are full of crap, 2 games and 2 no shows.
All the VAFA have to do is change the goals and extend the ground by 20 metres. Put the goals where the wings are and problem solved, no advantage for anyone. It was windy all over Melb today.
Jascave
23 Sep 2007, 21:16
I'm just wondering how did the live broadcast of today's A Section GF go. Will this be the forerunner for more A Section GFs to be broadcast live on the internet in the future?