View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43

Monkeyboy
23 Sep 2007, 21:24
EP will stay, so stop talking crap you blokes. Monkey, you are full of crap, 2 games and 2 no shows.
All the VAFA have to do is change the goals and extend the ground by 20 metres. Put the goals where the wings are and problem solved, no advantage for anyone. It was windy all over Melb today.

I watched both C and A GF's BS. Clearly no no shows.
Tim Fleming is a legend. Gotta love the Xavers.

Penski
24 Sep 2007, 09:44
I'm just wondering how did the live broadcast of today's A Section GF go. Will this be the forerunner for more A Section GFs to be broadcast live on the internet in the future?

Well I couldn't make it down to the ground so watched it on the web, and thought that the broadcast was fantastic.

jogger
24 Sep 2007, 10:44
Old brighton were enbarrasing!

Has anyone ever seen such a poor grand final showing?

They played 2 loose in defence in the 2nd quarter when they had a six goal wind advantage...

They choked up big time!!

Jascave
24 Sep 2007, 11:06
That's the problem when you're playing against such an experienced grand final side like Old Xaverians. Actually, just thinking about this last night, do you think Old Xavs are becoming far too good for the VAFA (ie like Port Adelaide in the SANFL before joining the AFL)? Would it be great to see a club other than Old Xavs win the A Section Grand Final. It's starting to get a bit tiresome to see Old Xavs in the grand final and win it again.

JG Hornet
24 Sep 2007, 11:14
That's the problem when you're playing against such an experienced grand final side like Old Xaverians. Actually, just thinking about this last night, do you think Old Xavs are becoming far too good for the VAFA (ie like Port Adelaide in the SANFL before joining the AFL)? Would it be great to see a club other than Old Xavs win the A Section Grand Final. It's starting to get a bit tiresome to see Old Xavs in the grand final and win it again.

Mate they don't exactly have a mortgage on it. Haileybury, Uni and St Bs have won recent flags. And it's not as if Xavier are like, say Vermont, who lose about 1 game every year.
For what it's worth, EP has run its race. What a shithole that place is.

Jascave
24 Sep 2007, 11:26
My thought are keep EP as the administrative headquarters of the VAFA, use the ground for the State team for it's training sessions and play night games there. The VAFA finals (like the A Section GF) could be moved to Moorabbin or the Junction Oval.

JG Hornet
24 Sep 2007, 11:27
My thought are keep EP as the administrative headquarters of the VAFA, use the ground for the State team for it's training sessions and play night games there. The VAFA finals (like the A Section GF) could be moved to Moorabbin or the Junction Oval.

One of the smarter, non-poll related things you've said Jason...

Jascave
24 Sep 2007, 11:44
Yes, but the problem is the VAFA has its hand tied. They signed a new agreement with Bayside Council a few years ago so there's nothing they can do to change it. However,as I mentioned before, I would like to see the VAFA at least move the A Section Grand Final to the Junction Oval or Moorabbin, and also not to clash with the VFL Grand Final on the same day. I agree with most opinions posted here about Sportscover Arena, I think it's the end of an era as the A Section Grand Final traditional venue. Sportscover Arena no longer has the aura or the charm it used to have in the 80's and early 1990's. How long would it be before the A Section GF is moved to another venue?

Blueboys11
24 Sep 2007, 11:44
Box Hill would be a very worthy venue as well for the A Grade finals. Played in the first final there, and was in great nick with only a slight breeze, even though it was a fairly blowy day elsewhere....

footyfan_joe
24 Sep 2007, 12:47
Yes, but the problem is the VAFA has its hand tied. They signed a new agreement with Bayside Council a few years ago so there's nothing they can do to change it. However,as I mentioned before, I would like to see the VAFA at least move the A Section Grand Final to the Junction Oval or Moorabbin, and also not to clash with the VFL Grand Final on the same day. I agree with most opinions posted here about Sportscover Arena, I think it's the end of an era as the A Section Grand Final traditional venue. Sportscover Arena no longer has the aura or the charm it used to have in the 80's and early 1990's. How long would it be before the A Section GF is moved to another venue?
Scholly has quite openly said that the VAFA has a commitment to EP, there are currently plans in the pipework in conjunction with the AFL and Bayside Council to re-develop the ground. They want to re-develop the Umps rooms and the Admin area and pretty much take over the Elternwick rooms as well from what I've heard ... it will be interesting to see the result as all parties concerned seem to different objectives!

EP is not a bad place to host the A Section GF in my opinion ... big deal if the weather wasn't the best for Football, you can't possibly tell me after looking at the result that if the wind wasn't blowing at all the Xavs would have won by more than 10 goals? Winning GF's is about adapting to what circumstances are pu in front of you ... if you can't do that then don't bother showing up.

JG Hornet
24 Sep 2007, 12:53
Scholly has quite openly said that the VAFA has a commitment to EP, there are currently plans in the pipework in conjunction with the AFL and Bayside Council to re-develop the ground. They want to re-develop the Umps rooms and the Admin area and pretty much take over the Elternwick rooms as well from what I've heard ... it will be interesting to see the result as all parties concerned seem to different objectives!

EP is not a bad place to host the A Section GF in my opinion ... big deal if the weather wasn't the best for Football, you can't possibly tell me after looking at the result that if the wind wasn't blowing at all the Xavs would have won by more than 10 goals? Winning GF's is about adapting to what circumstances are pu in front of you ... if you can't do that then don't bother showing up.

Very true, I'm not really talking about the playing side of things.
I'm talking about the spectacle. The place has no atmosphere. I went to the EFL Grand Final on Saturday and despite the contempt I have for much of this comp, the GF had an awesome vibe. It felt as though 25,000 people were there. Sportscover is a bleak place. It is a massive shame. Just my opinion though.

Jascave
24 Sep 2007, 13:11
The only time that Sportscover Arena has any atmosphere re matches played there is when there's a state game on, or a night match being played. I heard on 96.5 Inner FM that there was speculation about if the lights were going to be turned on due to the A Section GF getting such a late start. The idea to all this would've been better to have the A Section GF played in the twilight period (ie 4.30pm start) so that the lights can be used for the second half of the game.

Here's a possible A Section Grand Final program (if the VAFA is thinking about the idea of having the A Section Grand Final played in the twilight period):

10:30am Under 19 Premier Grand Final

1:00pm Under 19 Presentation Ceremony

1:10pm A Section Reserves Grand Final

4:10pm A Section Reserves Grand Final presentation Ceremony

4:25pm National Anthem before A Section Grand Final

4:30pm A Section Grand Final

8:00pm Presentaion Ceremony for A Section GF

Norfolk & Clew
24 Sep 2007, 14:56
How'd BOL (Brother of Leigh) Colbert go?

Saw he snagged a couple but in general how'd he play?

Blueboys11
24 Sep 2007, 15:21
its the worst ground in the comp to play on. Wind ruins matches, and you can bet 80% of the time you rock up there it will be windy.

Keep the admin side of things there, and maybe play all the D grade finals as well, but move the premier comps ( A&B )to better standard grounds. Im alwys envious of the lower grades when they get to play on better decks in the finals than A and B grade do.

Ruck Machine
24 Sep 2007, 17:29
its the worst ground in the comp to play on. Wind ruins matches, and you can bet 80% of the time you rock up there it will be windy.

Keep the admin side of things there, and maybe play all the D grade finals as well, but move the premier comps ( A&B )to better standard grounds. Im alwys envious of the lower grades when they get to play on better decks in the finals than A and B grade do.

Thats becuase we play on shit house grounds all year. They feel sorry for us so we play finals on decent ovals.

soupsey
24 Sep 2007, 22:38
Elsternwick is fantastic!!! I think OX should move there permanently. If Brighton aren't used to playing and training in wind then I'll go he.

Monkeyboy
25 Sep 2007, 09:09
Elsternwick is fantastic!!! I think OX should move there permanently. If Brighton aren't used to playing and training in wind then I'll go he.

Pound for pound Xavier is far a superior team than OB it wasn't funny. That was one of the best sides Xavs have put out in their last 10-15 years. The problem wasnt OB's ability to play the wind, we are whinging at the fact it spoils the game. Xavs would have won by 10 goals in any conditions, but do we really need to watch every GF, every bloody year in a wind tunnel. I mean did OB even hit 1 target all day? A poor showcase every year to our great comp.

river man
1 Oct 2007, 15:37
Did anyone else see the article in the age today.....Nicholson having talks with scotch about coaching in 2008....now that is a match made in heaven.

BrianSpeaking
10 Oct 2007, 19:29
Have heard on the vine that Simon Lethlean will coach Xavs with possibly Pat Hawkins as his able assistant.
Strangely, Dale Tapping apparantley not considered.

oldtimer
10 Oct 2007, 19:48
Have heard on the vine that Simon Lethlean will coach Xavs with possibly Pat Hawkins as his able assistant.

Rombotis in second round of interviews with Scotch. Supposedly has withdrawn from other jobs he applied for - ie - Ormond, Bentleigh, Op's, etc.

Scribe
10 Oct 2007, 22:17
Jars' appointment at Xavs would be intriguing, given he hasn't ever coached a side (let alone a senior side) himself.

No doubt with 6 flags as a player, a season as assistant to Bones, and with Pat Hawkins providing critical match-day assistance (which may be the most he can with work/family commitments), the set-up will make the most of the situation. He clearly would have the respect of the playing list too.

I just reckon Bones is a hard act to follow and it would be a pretty tough gig to grab first up without any previous coaching experience. Still, if ever there was a side in the Ammos which could pretty much coach itself, they would be it!!!

Sausage roll
10 Oct 2007, 23:20
Jars' appointment at Xavs would be intriguing, given he hasn't ever coached a side (let alone a senior side) himself.

No doubt with 6 flags as a player, a season as assistant to Bones, and with Pat Hawkins providing critical match-day assistance (which may be the most he can with work/family commitments), the set-up will make the most of the situation. He clearly would have the respect of the playing list too.

I just reckon Bones is a hard act to follow and it would be a pretty tough gig to grab first up without any previous coaching experience. Still, if ever there was a side in the Ammos which could pretty much coach itself, they would be it!!!

Didn't scholly do it without previous coaching experience and win a flag?

He is also the only man in the last decade to miss the finals at Xavs.

soupsey
11 Oct 2007, 10:26
Didn't scholly do it without previous coaching experience and win a flag?

He is also the only man in the last decade to miss the finals at Xavs.

Who is their reserves coach?

jogger
11 Oct 2007, 10:34
Who is their reserves coach?

The reserves coach has been heavily involved with premierships in 06' and 07' at two ammo clubs.

With such a record i would have thought he could push to be the xavs senior coach..

Would you agree soupsey??

soupsey
11 Oct 2007, 10:54
The reserves coach has been heavily involved with premierships in 06' and 07' at two ammo clubs.

With such a record i would have thought he could push to be the xavs senior coach..

Would you agree soupsey??

I heard that Justin Casserly who played in the collegians flag last year and coached (assistant) Centrals in the SANFL to a flag this year was in the running for the Xavs job.

Jascave
11 Oct 2007, 11:03
The thing about Michael Sholly is that one year he's coached Old Xaverians to a premiership in his first go at the job, the following year he was CEO of the VAFA-all in the space of 12 months. How many other coaches can go from leading their team to a premiership to running a comp like the VAFA all in a year? Maybe Mark Thompson could apply for Andrew Demetriou's job at the AFL!

jogger
11 Oct 2007, 11:20
I heard that Justin Casserly who played in the collegians flag last year and coached (assistant) Centrals in the SANFL to a flag this year was in the running for the Xavs job.

Well with a body like Casserlys xavs would be silly not to interview him...

Not only is his knowledge of the game outstanding, he would be a great "face" of the club... Fantastic for media relations.

On top of this, the female supporter base would tripple!!

It all adds up really..

And Soupsey... The great man will be in town for spring carnival...

soupsey
11 Oct 2007, 11:36
Well with a body like Casserlys xavs would be silly not to interview him...

Not only is his knowledge of the game outstanding, he would be a great "face" of the club... Fantastic for media relations.

On top of this, the female supporter base would tripple!!

It all adds up really..

And Soupsey... The great man will be in town for spring carnival...

Not sure where the Pat Hawkins name is coming from Brian? He was in line for the Camberwell job last I heard.

JG Hornet
11 Oct 2007, 12:06
Rombotis in second round of interviews with Scotch. Supposedly has withdrawn from other jobs he applied for - ie - Ormond, Bentleigh, Op's, etc.

I could not think of anything in the world that is more unlikely than John Rombotis coaching a senior footy side. Then again, I only knew him when he was 18 so what would I know.

Slay Master G
11 Oct 2007, 12:37
I could not think of anything in the world that is more unlikely than John Rombotis coaching a senior footy side. Then again, I only knew him when he was 18 so what would I know.

Rombotis coached in Essendon and Bendigo leagues in recent years I think...?

Speaking of Pat Hawkins, surely he would be one of the more sought after amateur coaches if he is in fact on the market. He is primed to coach Old Xavs being a former U/19 coach of distinction and then transforming Collegians from C grade battlers to A grade contenders. One of the better blokes going around as well.

BrianSpeaking
11 Oct 2007, 13:10
Rombotis coached in Essendon and Bendigo leagues in recent years I think...?

Speaking of Pat Hawkins, surely he would be one of the more sought after amateur coaches if he is in fact on the market. He is primed to coach Old Xavs being a former U/19 coach of distinction and then transforming Collegians from C grade battlers to A grade contenders. One of the better blokes going around as well.
Pat wont be a senior coach, does not have the time to commit. Hawkins is a nice bloke but lets not forget that it took him 5 years at Collegains to win a flag. He did a great job getting them to A section but the first year in C he missed the finals the next two years they went up under him as losers. Then got relegated from A before finally winning B in his fifth year.
So a finals miss and a relgation are also on the record sheet. Jars will get the gig and will make a fair fist of it too. Have also heard Scotch are going hard at Barry Mitchell and Garry Colling is the front runner for the Caulfield gig. Rombo is a champ but I cant see him coaching a club like Scotch, 'the latest' should stay in Bendigo.

jogger
11 Oct 2007, 14:46
Pat wont be a senior coach, does not have the time to commit. Hawkins is a nice bloke but lets not forget that it took him 5 years at Collegains to win a flag. He did a great job getting them to A section but the first year in C he missed the finals the next two years they went up under him as losers. Then got relegated from A before finally winning B in his fifth year.
So a finals miss and a relgation are also on the record sheet. Jars will get the gig and will make a fair fist of it too. Have also heard Scotch are going hard at Barry Mitchell and Garry Colling is the front runner for the Caulfield gig. Rombo is a champ but I cant see him coaching a club like Scotch, 'the latest' should stay in Bendigo.

St. Kevins would kill to win a flag every 5 years!!
And any club knows it takes a few years to rebuild..
"Ammo footy is a long and winding road"

BrianSpeaking
11 Oct 2007, 15:37
St. Kevins would kill to win a flag every 5 years!!
And any club knows it takes a few years to rebuild..
"Ammo footy is a long and winding road"
Jerker, once again you show your immaturity by referring everything back to St Kevins. You lose any credibility when you post that type of drivel. I am simply pointing out the Pat has a few holes in his record that people may not be aware of. A B Section flag is terrific, but please dont make it look like he won flag after flag.

Slay Master G
11 Oct 2007, 15:48
Brian

I would like to point out that as well as results, a coach should be judged on their legacy. Pat left Collegians in A Grade, yes there was a blip on his radar with the relegation, all at Collegians new that they didn't recruit well enough that year. The

A so called great coach like Peter Nicholson has coached Bernards and Haileybury to flags but his lewgacy is that both clubs are in B section......

BrianSpeaking
11 Oct 2007, 15:53
Brian

I would like to point out that as well as results, a coach should be judged on their legacy. Pat left Collegians in A Grade, yes there was a blip on his radar with the relegation, all at Collegians new that they didn't recruit well enough that year. The

A so called great coach like Peter Nicholson has coached Bernards and Haileybury to flags but his lewgacy is that both clubs are in B section......
Fair points SMG, all I am pointing out is that you would hope or expect that if one person coached for 5 years a t a club that he would win at leat one flag.
You are right about legacies, but I would suggest the Lions President has had more to do with that than Pat.

NBULTY
11 Oct 2007, 16:39
Anyone confirm that Matty Lappin and Joel Smith are heading down to join the beach boys?

couchgrinder
11 Oct 2007, 16:43
Anyone confirm that Matty Lappin and Joel Smith are heading down to join the beach boys?

i heard they were headed down Narre Warren way with the big G train to join up with their old team mate Aussi Jones

Destination A Grade
11 Oct 2007, 16:56

I heard OH to join former team mates.

Hunter Coast AFL
11 Oct 2007, 16:57
The Newcastle City Football Club seeks expressions of interest for coaches for season 2008 in the following grades:

First Grade (Black Diamond Cup) - Playing or Non Playing
Reserve Grade - Playing or Non Playing
Under 18's
New players are also very welcome. Please contact the club if you would like information regarding lifestyle, employment or accommodation details.

The club is 125 years old with a strong tradition and is a premier club in the Newcastle and Central Coast competition. It offers excellent facilities, a strong Committee and a region offering a great lifestyle with many employment opportunities.

Newcastle City has a very strong junior base and we are looking to build on an excellent 2007 with the First Grade minor premiers, the Reserves and U/18's both back to back premiers and the U/16's premiers.

Applications close on October 31st and should be submitted to:

Email: ncafc@hotmail.com

Postal Address: PO Box 2110, Dangar NSW 2309

Website: www.newcastlecityblues.com.au (http://www.newcastlecityblues.com.au/)

Dee Snider
11 Oct 2007, 17:17
I heard OH to join former team mates.

Lappin is to play at Heidelberg with Franchina and Murphy (who despite rumours is not going to Marby Park in the Essendon League).

NBULTY
11 Oct 2007, 17:24
Lappin is to play at Heidelberg with Franchina and Murphy (who despite rumours is not going to Marby Park in the Essendon League).

I heard that the prez at Old Brighton had gotten Lappin a job in golf, which was his desire after AFL. Not sure who the prez is or if he's got any golf connections though.

ultimate hater
11 Oct 2007, 17:39

Can confirm this... *

*Not confirmed..

jogger
11 Oct 2007, 17:51
I heard that the prez at Old Brighton had gotten Lappin a job in golf, which was his desire after AFL. Not sure who the prez is or if he's got any golf connections though.

It would probably be like every other job they got their recruits this year.

Get them a job in a certain field and somehow pay them $10K over the odds.

ultimate hater
12 Oct 2007, 09:24
It would probably be like every other job they got their recruits this year.

Get them a job in a certain field and somehow pay them $10K over the odds.

ohhhhh sookie sookie..

tissue?

Yeah i heard no players work for a living down at the violet crumbles, especially not with anyone associated with the club... :thumbsd:

suck it up you tool..

soupsey
12 Oct 2007, 09:38
ohhhhh sookie sookie..

tissue?

Yeah i heard no players work for a living down at the violet crumbles, especially not with anyone associated with the club... :thumbsd:

suck it up you tool..

Can't imagine why you would want to get jobs for blokes who achieve nothing for your club?

ultimate hater
12 Oct 2007, 09:55
Can't imagine why you would want to get jobs for blokes who achieve nothing for your club?

well i think your a xavs man yes? if so.. then i have no comeback..

BUT, OB achieved more than 8 other clubs this season.. so.. as i indicated before, i hope no club other than xavs gets players' jobs, because that would just be a disgrace wouldnt it!!

jogger
12 Oct 2007, 12:54
well i think your a xavs man yes? if so.. then i have no comeback..

BUT, OB achieved more than 8 other clubs this season.. so.. as i indicated before, i hope no club other than xavs gets players' jobs, because that would just be a disgrace wouldnt it!!

What did OB achieve?

BrianSpeaking
12 Oct 2007, 13:07
Fair points SMG, all I am pointing out is that you would hope or expect that if one person coached for 5 years a t a club that he would win at leat one flag.
You are right about legacies, but I would suggest the Lions President has had more to do with that than Pat.
No comments from Monkeyboy on this...a bit too close hey Monk???:)

jogger
12 Oct 2007, 13:20

Care to explain Brian??

ultimate hater
12 Oct 2007, 15:06
What did OB achieve?

Using my maths i believe they achieved 2nd best team in the comp.. Unless i'm wrong..??

And yourself? a 4 position ladder slide?

Anyone from xavs can mouth off.. they have a right too.. but your not a xavs boy are you... so, as i said before.. suck it up!

BrianSpeaking
12 Oct 2007, 15:31
Using my maths i believe they achieved 2nd best team in the comp.. Unless i'm wrong..??

Anyone from xavs can mouth off.. they have a right too.. but your not a xavs boy are you... so, as i said before.. suck it up!
Great year for OB, a pity they ran into a 6 goal breeze in the GF.

ultimate hater
12 Oct 2007, 15:40

and the OX steam train also..

but good indication of what is needed of the players to get a premiership for 2008..

Monkeyboy
12 Oct 2007, 16:43

?? Lions...Pat ??? Collegians ?? No idea what you are on about. You know I am not a crumble....surely.:o

jogger
12 Oct 2007, 16:51

That was my point pal..

You came 2nd... Achieved nothing... For the second year in a row!

No arguments from me. Collegians under achieved in a massive way..

But one thing remains constant. Our medalians are still swaying in the breeze from 06'.

Isn't that right Soupsey!

ultimate hater
12 Oct 2007, 17:06
That was my point pal..

You came 2nd... Achieved nothing... For the second year in a row!

No arguments from me. Collegians under achieved in a massive way..

But one thing remains constant. Our medalians are still swaying in the breeze from 06'.

You'd be hard pressed to find people in the know that think coming 2nd to xavs in a granny in the first time ever in A grade as "achieving nothing" you twit.. So pretty much, everyone who plays in any grade in the ammo's acheived nothing unless they won a premiership..?? I think you guys won't be achieving much for a long time.. unless you have another trip back down to B grade..

"ohhh have to look to me mate for backup"... "ooo love me".. pathetic...

you sound like a carlton supporter telling every other team in the comp how many "trohpies" you've won in the past.... But don't worry, you can keep using that catch-cry for as long as you need, you guys deserved that medal but you can't ride the coat-tails of yester-year forever...

jogger
12 Oct 2007, 17:15
You'd be hard pressed to find people in the know that think coming 2nd to xavs in a granny in the first time ever in A grade as "achieving nothing" you twit.. So pretty much, everyone who plays in any grade in the ammo's acheived nothing unless they won a premiership..?? I think you guys won't be achieving much for a long time.. unless you have another trip back down to B grade..

"ohhh have to look to me mate for backup"... "ooo love me".. pathetic...

you sound like a carlton supporter telling every other team in the comp how many "trohpies" you've won in the past.... But don't worry, you can keep using that catch-cry for as long as you need, you guys deserved that medal but you can't ride the coat-tails of yester-year forever...

If you come 2nd in any other grade, you get promoted which can be termed as successful - fair enough..

But coming 2nd in A grade doesn't really count for much i wouldn't have thought.

But then again it depends on the culture of the club i spose.

It was OB's first EVER A grade granny...

I agree, 06' is in the past and doesn't mean too much now, but i just thought i'd bring it up.

ultimate hater
12 Oct 2007, 17:30
If you come 2nd in any other grade, you get promoted which can be termed as successful - fair enough..

But coming 2nd in A grade doesn't really count for much i wouldn't have thought.

But then again it depends on the culture of the club i spose.

It was OB's first EVER A grade granny...

I agree, 06' is in the past and doesn't mean too much now, but i just thought i'd bring it up.

Wouldn't have thought culture, but more of comparing where the club was/has been, and where it is now and where it is heading.. don't know what you will say for your own club.. but personally, I think OB have turned things around from past performances in A grade and are heading in the right direction.. from that i'd say thats achieving something..

I hope for your sake you get the premiership next year.. or the following year.. or the yearafter that, otherwise you'll have achieved nothing just as you have this year!! It hurts when you think you're better than what you really are...

Look at the pre-season ladder predictions everyone did... Turning heads and changing people's attitude about OB is achieving something... not living up to your own expectations is achieving nothing.. I thought you'd learn that from this year...

p.s. jealousy's a curse.. why else are you having a go at OB..??

jogger
12 Oct 2007, 17:47
Wouldn't have thought culture, but more of comparing where the club was/has been, and where it is now and where it is heading.. don't know what you will say for your own club.. but personally, I think OB have turned things around from past performances in A grade and are heading in the right direction.. from that i'd say thats achieving something..

I hope for your sake you get the premiership next year.. or the following year.. or the yearafter that, otherwise you'll have achieved nothing just as you have this year!! It hurts when you think you're better than what you really are...

Look at the pre-season ladder predictions everyone did... Turning heads and changing people's attitude about OB is achieving something... not living up to your own expectations is achieving nothing.. I thought you'd learn that from this year...

p.s. jealousy's a curse.. why else are you having a go at OB..??

I started off by saying OB aren't entirely ethical in the way they recruit players....

Don't get me wrong. I would LOVE to play OB every week!

chelsworthgale
12 Oct 2007, 18:41
2008 banter has begun early!

The Tiger's Nuts
12 Oct 2007, 20:52

Xavs would have steamrollered any A section side on the day. Winning the toss and kicking with the breeze was just the icing on the cake.

There were a few periods in the game when OB gave the distinct impression that they didn't know what hit them.

Jascave
12 Oct 2007, 22:36
I think Old Brighton will be a better team for this experience, not only playing in a A Section Grand Final for the first time ever, but playing against possibly the best VAFA side over the past 15 years in Old Xaverians. I think Old Brighton will again finish top 2 next year, and possibly play in the A Section Grand Final as well. As far as Old Xavs are concerned, well it looks like it might be the beginning of a slide. They will play in the finals next year, but most of their players will start to run out of gas, and it could be the beginning of the end of the Old Xaverians era-time will tell if it is.

The Tiger's Nuts
13 Oct 2007, 08:51
Success breeds success - if there are any players on a downhill slope there's a queue of young scufflers waiting to take their place in the sun.

Calling a predicted top-four A grade spot "the beginning of a slide" is a bit harsh, don't you think?

Of course, if Xavs don't win the premiership next year, you'll be in the prime spot for an "I told you so" but such is life.

JG Hornet
13 Oct 2007, 12:14
I think Old Brighton will be a better team for this experience, not only playing in a A Section Grand Final for the first time ever, but playing against possibly the best VAFA side over the past 15 years in Old Xaverians. I think Old Brighton will again finish top 2 next year, and possibly play in the A Section Grand Final as well. As far as Old Xavs are concerned, well it looks like it might be the beginning of a slide. They will play in the finals next year, but most of their players will start to run out of gas, and it could be the beginning of the end of the Old Xaverians era-time will tell if it is.

Jason fair dinkum mate. Are you sure you're not Ben Carbonaro is disguise? Please don't start writing off sides that win a GF while smoking a pipe and whistling Dixie, as well as a reserves flag. And why wasn't your comment posed as a poll?

Jascave
13 Oct 2007, 14:39
I'm not saying about Old Xavs now, I'm talking about 2 or 3 years down the track. While Old Xaverians will possibly make the finals and even the grand final next year, you'd wonder how much longer their run of success will last.

soupsey
14 Oct 2007, 21:15
I'm not saying about Old Xavs now, I'm talking about 2 or 3 years down the track. While Old Xaverians will possibly make the finals and even the grand final next year, you'd wonder how much longer their run of success will last.

"beginning of a slide?" You must be kidding. If anything it's the youngest list I have seen in ten years. And adding to it with some big name old boys next year. Be afraid!

jogger
15 Oct 2007, 10:23
"beginning of a slide?" You must be kidding. If anything it's the youngest list I have seen in ten years. And adding to it with some big name old boys next year. Be afraid!

C'mon Soupsey! Your better than that!

soupsey
15 Oct 2007, 12:40
C'mon Soupsey! Your better than that!

Forewarned is forearmed!!!

BrianSpeaking
16 Oct 2007, 15:14
Again, Brian is correct, why do all of you muppetts argue with anything I post?

18 Oct '07
http://www.oldxavs.com/jarman506a.JPG
EXCLUSIVE
JARS TO LEAD BLOOD AND TARS

Simon Lethlean will coach the Old Xaverians in 2008, after being selected unanimously by the Old Xaverians' Conclave of the Chieftains last night.
Lethlean, known throughout his career as Jars in recognition of his superb disposal skills, is a five time A Section premiership player with the Red 'n' Blacks and was awarded the Mick Rush Trophy by the Life Members last month.
At 10:07 this morning, Club President Simon Hunt instructed Ray McLean to light the furnace and send forth the white smoke, signalling that the coaching choice had been made. He then issued the following statement.
"The Old Xaverians welcome Simon Lethlean as our senior coach. We are confident that Simon will not only reinforce the ethos that has brought great success to our club, but will inject new vigour as we strive for continued and greater success," Hunt said.
"Jars has been a significant figure in our triumphs over the past decade and it is with great delight that he will hold the coaching reins next season and beyond."
Simon Lethlean arrived at Toorak Park in 1997 and made an immediate impact, representing Victoria and playing in four straight premiership teams. His goal early in the final quarter in the 2000 Grand Final against St Bernard's set the Xavs alight. Similarly, his goal against Old Scotch in the 2005 first semi, a jag that has gone into folklore as "the frozen rope", re-ignited the Red 'n' Blacks' chances in a crucial semi-final.
OLDXAVS.com spoke exclusively to the new coach this morning and he covered a few topics:
THE APPOINTMENT: "I'm honoured to be chosen to coach the most powerful amateur football in Australia. It is a large responsibility, but I feel sure that we can continue to move forward as a club. I thank the President and the entire committee for their confidence in me."
THE HIGHS: "There have been plenty of those. I've had success, made great friends at Toorak Park and through representative games. Not many people have the fortune of playing in four consecutive A Section flags in their first four years. Winning the Mick Rush Award this year meant a great deal – he was a good friend and mentor to me."
THE LOWS: "Reading Rodney Calhaem's prose on oldxavs.com this year really plumbed the depths."
THE STRENGTHS: "There are a lot of energetic people at Xavs that have brought about the culture of success. Expectations are high, but why aim for less than our best. The combination of Xavier alumni supplemented by the Foreign Legion has worked well. After a while, you can't pick them apart. Xavs make a point of bringing in the right types – the ones that aren't don't last. Happily, I did!"
THE TEAM-MATES: "As a player, I learned quickly about Old Xavs and how one can be successful as a group. What greater team-mates could one have had than Dillon, Bowen, Richardson, Blood, Landrigan, McLean, the Bourkes, the Hanneberys, Brushfield, Sassi, Jones, Wood, Coughlan, Ockleshaw and the others. Their work ethic, belief and attitude has stood the club in good stead ever since. It is that culture that I hope to pass on to current and new players and supporters."
THE PLAN:"Obviously I hope to retain a strong list and I look forward to working with all our players, whether they be experienced, young and untried players. I can't wait to give some new players an opportunity and to try some older players in new positions. I'd love to emulate Bones in getting the boys to focus on the various stages of the football year. My methods won't be rocket science. For my part, I'll be prepared and hope to have the guys training the way we want to play. Getting the best out of players when their best is needed is the trick."
THE INFLUENCES: "I learnt a lot from Nick Bourke, Brian Speaking of Big Footy fame, from Tim and Ralph O'Shaughnessy and Pat Hawkins in their coaching styles, preparation, opposition analysis, motivation and ability to set a side for football at Elsternwick Park. Barry Richardson taught me how to drive a whole-of-club mentality. He got the best out of each player in each position and put faith in groups of players - backs, forwards and midfielders and then reaped the rewards of that faith. He has been a huge influence and a figurehead that all other Amateur Clubs must sit back and envy."
So, the old number seven is indisputably now number one. The Nation now awaits the decision on the Reserves' coach.

jogger
16 Oct 2007, 15:39
How will Old Brighton go next year???

They've lost:

Ainly - body has had enough.
Talbot.
Clark???
Tolj.
A few young senior players.
Dawes - Interesting to see this bloke leaving. Old Brighton pulled out all stops by offering a big modeling role in the 2008 Target catalogue. He was primed to be the main model in the swimming section...

With these departures, will they even make the 4??

crazybear
16 Oct 2007, 16:11

They've lost:

Talbot.
Clark???
Tolj.
Dawes - Interesting to see this bloke leaving. Old Brighton pulled out all stops by offering a big modeling role in the 2008 Target catalogue. He was primed to be the main model in the swimming section...

I read on the Northern fl thread that Matthew Lappin was going to be playing for Old Brighton.

jogger
16 Oct 2007, 16:28
I read on the Northern fl thread that Matthew Lappin was going to be playing for Old Brighton.

Yeh. Matthew Lappin seems to be playing at every local club in Australia!!

ultimate hater
16 Oct 2007, 16:57

They've lost:

Talbot.
Clark???
Tolj.

I believe part of the swimwear contract is that he must head over to the west to gather a tan and grow some surfy locks... he'll be sorely missed the big man..

clark will stay, tolj and talbot are jet setting in search of some more life skills.. personally, i thought everything could be found within the comforts of brighton... i guess i'm wrong..
and ains will play on, just the latter half season will be sufficient.. he doesn't need to do a pre-season or anything anyway, he's too good for that..

there are already a couple of recruits signed up, so as much as the guys leaving will be greatly missed, especially my boy toljie, toughest man playing ammos and of course "the package", we have quality coming in i assure you..

jogger
16 Oct 2007, 17:08
I believe part of the swimwear contract is that he must head over to the west to gather a tan and grow some surfy locks... he'll be sorely missed the big man..

clark will stay, tolj and talbot are jet setting in search of some more life skills.. personally, i thought everything could be found within the comforts of brighton... i guess i'm wrong..
and ains will play on, just the latter half season will be sufficient.. he doesn't need to do a pre-season or anything anyway, he's too good for that..

there are already a couple of recruits signed up, so as much as the guys leaving will be greatly missed, especially my boy toljie, toughest man playing ammos and of course "the package", we have quality coming in i assure you..

WOW!! Ammo recruits signed up in October....

ultimate hater
16 Oct 2007, 17:13

hahaha how is that hard to believe? your posts seem to become less and less intelligent the more you post...

river man
17 Oct 2007, 12:50
End of and era....ha ha ha were you born yesterday? Run out of Gas??? Is there a shortage of oil in the middle east?

Quite a strange and unfounded comment to make.

soupsey
17 Oct 2007, 12:52

Do you have a big announcement for us jogger?

jogger
17 Oct 2007, 12:59
It is with some regret that i have decided to retire from all forms of Bigfooty posting.

It has been a tough decision to make but one that i have been pondering over for a number of weeks.

I will miss the battles with Brian Speaking and more recently Ultimate Hater, however i think it's time to move aside for an up and coming poster.

To my friends, Soupsey and Slay Master G, it has been a pleasure posting with you and i wish you all the best for the remainder of your careers.

Good Luck.
JOGGER.

ultimate hater
17 Oct 2007, 13:19
It is with some regret that i have decided to retire from all forms of Bigfooty posting.

It has been a tough decision to make but one that i have been pondering over for a number of weeks.

I will miss the battles with Brian Speaking and more recently Ultimate Hater, however i think it's time to move aside for an up and coming poster.

To my friends, Soupsey and Slay Master G, it has been a pleasure posting with you and i wish you all the best for the remainder of your careers.

Good Luck.
JOGGER.

Well who am I going to argue with? Most people who read this forum will never post on here!!!

I'm sure the tripe some of the stbedes boys will bring to this board next season will bring you back jogger...

shoutout to my boy reprock..

soupsey
17 Oct 2007, 13:19

Good Luck.
JOGGER.

You will be sadly missed. If that was your last post then I guess we should reveal who you are/were......

I just love my footy
18 Oct 2007, 11:17
I have a question to pose.
With all these coaching appointments being made, has anyone heard from Old Scotch and who they may be appointing?? Seems pretty quiet coming out of K2.

Any real whispers?? Not the rubbish kind that has been floating such as Nicho who i believe is not a contender

soupsey
18 Oct 2007, 11:39
I have a question to pose.
With all these coaching appointments being made, has anyone heard from Old Scotch and who they may be appointing?? Seems pretty quiet coming out of K2.

Any real whispers?? Not the rubbish kind that has been floating such as Nicho who i believe is not a contender

I have heard that they have set new records for interviews. Some candidates having up to 3 meetings. Apparently at least 5 candidates. You do the math. They need to remember that sooner or later you just need to appoint someone and stick with them. Get on with it OS yuor not employing a CEO for a fortune 500 company for god sake!!

Quick Eze
19 Oct 2007, 09:58
Well who am I going to argue with? Most people who read this forum will never post on here!!!

I'm sure the tripe some of the stbedes boys will bring to this board next season will bring you back jogger...

shoutout to my boy reprock..

Ultimate,

If talking about winning pemierships is tripe (nice word by the way), then yes SBMT boys will bring that next season.

And before you carry on, I know A grade is a very different story as I have played it before. Maybe take the Silver spoon that you engulfed several years ago up your bot bot out for one minute and give credit where it is due.

Quick

ultimate hater
19 Oct 2007, 10:13
Ultimate,

If talking about winning pemierships is tripe (nice word by the way), then yes SBMT boys will bring that next season.

And before you carry on, I know A grade is a very different story as I have played it before. Maybe take the Silver spoon that you engulfed several years ago up your bot bot out for one minute and give credit where it is due.

Quick

so all next year your going to be talking about last year??? Be a bit boring.. even colligians didn't do that!!

Plumber
19 Oct 2007, 12:44
Ultimate,

Quick

Are we going to have to endure bayside bogans who are still wearing
Kuta Lines, Catchit, and Bad Billys clothing talking about silver spoons all season?

Dear me...

soupsey
19 Oct 2007, 13:30
Kuta Lines, Catchit, and Bad Billys clothing talking about silver spoons all season?

Dear me...

They should just be thankful they now get to visit some "zone 1" areas. Please no donuts out of the carparks thanks.

Plumber
19 Oct 2007, 15:36
They should just be thankful they now get to visit some "zone 1" areas. Please no donuts out of the carparks thanks.

Mentone is bayside mutton dressed up as lamb.

Disco Bickie
19 Oct 2007, 17:21

Dear me...

One of the best posts I have seen in my time on BF.

Disco Bickie
19 Oct 2007, 17:22
Closely followed by this...

Penski
22 Oct 2007, 09:18
so all next year your going to be talking about last year??? Be a bit boring.. even colligians didn't do that!!

Agreed.

B Section premierships mean squat when you come up to A grade.

ShinSplints
22 Oct 2007, 10:00
Is Mathew Lappin and Joel Smith going to ST BEDES next year???

If this is true would this make the beder boys serious premiership material??? I reckon they already are but with these two.... 3 flags in a row?? has that been done C then B then A in VAFA history??

Im serious anyone know?

uglydermie
22 Oct 2007, 10:43
From memory, B and A in row was done not long ago. C-B-A would be brilliant for the VAFA - give a bit of hope for all clubs in the lower grades.

Re Lappin and Smith. I doubt it would happen! Red hot if did thou..... maybe RCT could shed soem light?

Tony Brown would round out a handy trifecta!

Johnny Utah #9
22 Oct 2007, 10:56
From memory, B and A in row was done not long ago. C-B-A would be brilliant for the VAFA - give a bit of hope for all clubs in the lower grades.

Re Lappin and Smith. I doubt it would happen! Red hot if did thou..... maybe RCT could shed soem light?

Tony Brown would round out a handy trifecta!

Old Xav's did the B grade & A grade double in the early 1980's. No one else has done it since and i don't think anyone has ever done the C-B-A triple.

uglydermie
22 Oct 2007, 11:03
Have Scotch named a senior coach yet?

thanks

I just love my footy
22 Oct 2007, 11:04
Is the new coach of Old Scotch to be announced this week??? Hearing on the grapevine that it is an ex VFL coach well respected in the industry.
Also hearing he may have had an ugly split with his VFL club.

Anyone else heard anything?

Everyday Spelling
22 Oct 2007, 11:20
Is the new coach of Old Scotch to be announced this week??? Hearing on the grapevine that it is an ex VFL coach well respected in the industry.
Also hearing he may have had an ugly split with his VFL club.

Anyone else heard anything?

Peter Banfield appointed. On the website.

The new Senior Coach of the Old Scotch Football Club is former Casey Scorpions Coach, Peter Banfield. Peter takes over the coaching role at Old Scotch from Barry Price, who after two excellent and productive years as Senior Coach, decided not to continue after the conclusion of the 2007 season. Peter Banfield comes to Old Scotch with a wealth of elite playing and coaching experience, including playing AFL senior football with the Brisbane Bears and Essendon. As well as coaching the Casey Scorpions in the VFL, Peter has had Assistant Coaching roles with Melbourne and St Kilda Football Clubs. Old Scotch President, Tim Shearer said Peter Banfield is aware of the clubs commitment to building sustainable TEAM success. Peter is very keen to work with that aim in mind to develop players as footballers and people. The Football Department is now busily gathering momentum for the exciting challenge that lies ahead.

ultimate hater
22 Oct 2007, 11:43
Is Mathew Lappin and Joel Smith going to ST BEDES next year???

I think Lappin and Smith are playing at every club in victoria at the moment.. take everything you hear with a grain of salt regarding these two, at least untill they have signed on the dotted line..

BrianSpeaking
22 Oct 2007, 11:50
I see the Old Xavs website has finally named Pat Hawkins as an assistant.They used to be ground breakers but Brian revealed theis fact 2 weeks ago.
Great appointment by Scotch. Banfield is bringing Nigel Carmody amongst others with him.

Penski
22 Oct 2007, 12:42
I think Lappin and Smith are playing at every club in victoria at the moment.. take everything you hear with a grain of salt regarding these two, at least untill they have signed on the dotted line..

These two have been linked with many, many clubs in the last few weeks, including another A Grade club in Old Brighton.

I would not believe a word of any of it. Some of the rumours will throw Gehrig into the mix for good measure!

Plumber
22 Oct 2007, 12:44
These two have been linked with many, many clubs in the last few weeks, including another A Grade club in Old Brighton.

I would not believe a word of any of it. Some of the rumours will throw Gehrig into the mix for good measure!

Why are the two of them being linked together? Are they shopping themselves around as a package?

Penski
22 Oct 2007, 13:37
Why are the two of them being linked together? Are they shopping themselves around as a package?

I think because the original rumour has them going to join their old St Kilda buddy Aussie Jones (somewhere down Narre Warren way if i remember correctly).

Subsequent rumours now have those two linked together no matter what team is substituted into it.