View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43

Richard Clay Torpedoes
22 Oct 2007, 13:50
Ugly,

Like the other posters, the players you have mentioned are playing everywhere from Cairns to Zeehan next year it seems!
The major focus at Brindisi Street is to continue the development of our squad of players that are our 2007 senior and U/19 playing list which have been and are our strength and will continue to step up...we are in age terms a young group which should stand us well looking ahead...and we all know U/19's coming through your own club are the key...obviously we are working so we add to it and believe we can...no names as yet!

I believe that MHSOB won C, then B and were runners up in A somewhere in the late 60's-early 70's from memory.

RCT

Jascave
22 Oct 2007, 13:59
If my memory is correct I beleive Mazenod went from D (now I think D3) to A in just 7 years, I'm not quite sure but I think that's what happened.

Scribe
22 Oct 2007, 14:16
I think because the original rumour has them going to join their old St Kilda buddy Aussie Jones (somewhere down Narre Warren way if i remember correctly).

Subsequent rumours now have those two linked together no matter what team is substituted into it.

Frankly, after a combined total of 25-odd seasons of AFL footy, and with Smith deeply involved in the equine industry, I doubt these two guys have turned their minds to the topic of which suburban or amateur football club they want to play with in 2008. Unless it's a case of a player returning to their former club to play/coach (eg. Justin Peckett at Karingal) these sorts of decisions wouldn't be made for several months.

Let's wait until March 2008 when the recently retired AFL lads would consider pulling a boot on again.

Johnny Utah #9
22 Oct 2007, 19:15
If my memory is correct I beleive Mazenod went from D (now I think D3) to A in just 7 years, I'm not quite sure but I think that's what happened.

Bulleen-Templestowe also had a similar rise from the lowest VAFA grade to A-grade in about 7-8 years in the 1980's as well.

NBULTY
23 Oct 2007, 14:02
I'm pretty sure that Old Melbournian's were runners up in C, won B then A in a three year period. Was that in the early to mid 90's i think.

Petrov
23 Oct 2007, 14:47
In '89 OH won C Grade by about 15 goals, then in '90 won B Grade by 20 goals, then finished 5th in A grade '91 and played finals in '92

Scribe
23 Oct 2007, 14:57
I'm pretty sure that Old Melbournian's were runners up in C, won B then A in a three year period. Was that in the early to mid 90's i think.

Close-ish.

OMs won C grade in 1988, were runners up in B in 1993, won A grade in 1994.

Eddie Woloschek
23 Oct 2007, 22:38
Xavs won D in 1976, C in 1978, B in 1980 and A in 1981.

ShinSplints
24 Oct 2007, 09:28
seems a few teams have risen well but none recently 3 flags ina row??

Well go beders!!! :thumbsu:

would be a massive feat. Realistically if they can make the finals that would be good.

Jascave
24 Oct 2007, 10:21
Hampton Rovers were the first team to win premierships in the top four grades. The Rovers won D section in 1939, C in 1946, B in 1947, and reached the pinnacle of VAFA football by winning the A Section flag in 1951 by defeating Ormond. The '51 premiership is memorable for two reasons; one because with one game to go in the home & away round, the Rovers weren't given much of a hope of making the finals yet they got there; and two, when the Rovers won the grand final on the last kick of the day, the Ormond trainer was so disappointed with his team's loss that according to the official VAFA history book For the Love of the Game, 'he slapped the umpire across the face with his towel and earned himself 12 months.' I wonder what the VAFA tribunal (or investigations) would have done to the Ormond trainer if it had happened today?

Cats Flag 07
24 Oct 2007, 15:13
Blacks won D grade in '04, C grade in '05 and runners up in B grade in '07.

Not to mention 4 x A-grade flags on the trot (1946-1949)

Great to be back in A grade, where we belong!

Not here to make up the numbers either....

JG Hornet
24 Oct 2007, 16:35

Keep dreaming pal!

soupsey
24 Oct 2007, 16:57
Keep dreaming pal!

Aaah the poor cousin is chirpy already!

BrianSpeaking
24 Oct 2007, 21:34

Hate to tell you but we refer to the different divisions as Sections, not grades, thats for the ferals in the EDFL.
Look for P Bowden to become a Black if he doesnt get another chance at AFL level.

Cats Flag 07
25 Oct 2007, 09:27
Hate to tell you but we refer to the different divisions as Sections, not grades, thats for the ferals in the EDFL.
Look for P Bowden to become a Black if he doesnt get another chance at AFL level.

They'll be putting it to him that's for sure. A couple handy recruits already.

Blacks v Blues on The Main will be epic. Tailor made for Blacks footy.....underdog with a point to prove.

Benny MOF
25 Oct 2007, 11:18
They'll be putting it to him that's for sure. A couple handy recruits already.

Blacks v Blues on The Main will be epic. Tailor made for Blacks footy.....underdog with a point to prove.

P Bowden will be a great get for blacks, not only is he a talented player but he also brings the added bonus of a glamour girlfriend and the potential for her and friends to attend club functions. That is where the real benefit lies.

ShinSplints
25 Oct 2007, 11:41
P Bowden to the Bla?? bloody hell so hed be ya bets player?

Cats Flag 07
25 Oct 2007, 13:04
P Bowden will be a great get for blacks, not only is he a talented player but he also brings the added bonus of a glamour girlfriend and the potential for her and friends to attend club functions. That is where the real benefit lies.

Hear that! Everyone knows Blacks do social functions best and all recruits' girlfriends will be scanned for the value they can bring.....

ultimate hater
25 Oct 2007, 13:12
Hear that! Everyone knows Blacks do social functions best and all recruits' girlfriends will be scanned for the value they can bring.....

I thought there was only one chick at these functions? the girl from the canteen as she serviced every bloke in the team... true??

Dee Snider
25 Oct 2007, 13:14
Daniel Harford appointed new coach of Balwyn.

Strong whisper that Matthew Lappin, Joel Smith and Matthew Allen have all been spoken to and look like playing at Balwyn next season.

Ultimate - whats the view from OB?

ultimate hater
25 Oct 2007, 14:54
Daniel Harford appointed new coach of Balwyn.

Strong whisper that Matthew Lappin, Joel Smith and Matthew Allen have all been spoken to and look like playing at Balwyn next season.

Ultimate - whats the view from OB?

No idea DS, I've given up trying to ask and will just wait untill told, if there ends up being anything to tell that is.. Which I highly doubt..

I read somewhere lappin was 100% playing a heidelberg next year..??

uglydermie
25 Oct 2007, 15:00
H'Berg have offered Lappin $1200 a game and a job. Not many Ammo clubs can match that........ Or can they?

ultimate hater
25 Oct 2007, 15:16
H'Berg have offered Lappin $1200 a game and a job. Not many Ammo clubs can match that........ Or can they?

obviously not the cash payments..

but the latter wouldn't be, some job flippin' burgers at the local drive in...

yes people saying ammo clubs pay players bothers me, yes not having footy on the weekend bothers me, and YES you bother me!!

sorry.. long day at work..

Lance Burkhardt
25 Oct 2007, 15:29

More than likely no. I've heard that with one of the ammo clubs that have pursued, more was wanted than just job security. Would be asking questions if somehow loured to ammo footy. :rolleyes:

ultimate hater
25 Oct 2007, 15:40
More than likely no. I've heard that with one of the ammo clubs that have pursued, more was wanted than just job security. Would be asking questions if somehow loured to ammo footy. :rolleyes:

Maybe they were going to get Chandler to teach him how to shape boards hey Lance?
You wouldn't like that though.. He still has a single-fin mentality, you don't ride waves going straight like some people..

Lance Burkhardt
25 Oct 2007, 15:49
Maybe they were going to get Chandler to teach him how to shape boards hey Lance?
You wouldn't like that though.. He still has a single-fin mentality, you don't ride waves going straight like some people..

Hey hater, as long as he made a board that works... like my board.

uglydermie
25 Oct 2007, 16:52
The real losers are the ex AFL blokes, who "should" have made enough money out of footy that still want to put their hands out for cash. Great if they still want to play - but why not go and put something back into a local club for the love of it?

I bet Andrew Thompson wont whore himself around.

Dont get me started!!!!!

goallinegg
25 Oct 2007, 19:19
The real losers are the ex AFL blokes, who "should" have made enough money out of footy that still want to put their hands out for cash. Great if they still want to play - but why not go and put something back into a local club for the love of it?

Dont get me started!!!!!

Tell me how they are losers? This shows the ammos mentality is all worng, people will go and find the best situation for them and if thats cash so be it!

Sorry to get you started

Marc Shmurf 3
25 Oct 2007, 19:20
Ask Old Haileybury, they could.

soupsey
25 Oct 2007, 19:40

Dont get me started!!!!!

Couldn't agree more UD. No problems with blokes with affiliations or blokes who are just keen to play, but there is nothing more pathetic than a former elite athlete playing ammo footy for selfish gain. Fotunately there aren't too many in our ranks and lets hope it stays that way. I wonder how many Hailebury 06 players will front for the 10 year reunion?

Benny MOF
25 Oct 2007, 22:11
but there is nothing more pathetic than a former elite athlete playing ammo footy for selfish gain. Fotunately there aren't too many in our ranks and lets hope it stays that way.

Soupsey

If you feel this way, how did you feel about Mark Graham infiltrating your beloved Old Xaverians? He was the quintessential "former elite athlete playing ammo footy for selfish gain".
Just as well you removed the cancer before it spread and ruined the proud culture of your club.

uglydermie
26 Oct 2007, 11:14
Tell me how they are losers? This shows the ammos mentality is all worng, people will go and find the best situation for them and if thats cash so be it!

Sorry to get you started

no problem with that mate - plenty of comps out there for them to play in. Let them suck the life out of a local town or suburb. Excellent mentality....

This only highlights the strength of the VAFA - for the love of the game!

soupsey
26 Oct 2007, 11:32
Soupsey

If you feel this way, how did you feel about Mark Graham infiltrating your beloved Old Xaverians? He was the quintessential "former elite athlete playing ammo footy for selfish gain".
Just as well you removed the cancer before it spread and ruined the proud culture of your club.

Agreed!

goallinegg
26 Oct 2007, 22:14
no problem with that mate - plenty of comps out there for them to play in. Let them suck the life out of a local town or suburb. Excellent mentality....

This only highlights the strength of the VAFA - for the love of the game!
Valid point. But isnt getting someone a job the same thing? There just getting paid in an indirect way?

BarryDawson
27 Oct 2007, 00:40
Credit card paid for by a sponser, we all know that's how it goes. Get over it!

Scribe
29 Oct 2007, 13:31
Credit card paid for by a sponser, we all know that's how it goes. Get over it!

When I changed clubs, all I got was a library card from the President with 4 outstanding fines!!! :eek:

sammyg
30 Oct 2007, 12:51
Word is that Xavs have offered Lappin $20k to play next season. Lappo is still shopping himself around to see if he can get any further offers.

eons7
30 Oct 2007, 13:56
Word is that Xavs have offered Lappin $20k to play next season. Lappo is still shopping himself around to see if he can get any further offers.

Is that right SammyG? And where did you get that mail from? Honestly.

Plumber
30 Oct 2007, 13:57

Why would the most successful club in recent ammo history risk relegation to recruit a nuffed up bogan like Lappin.

CRAPOLA

Monkeyboy
30 Oct 2007, 14:21

Xavs looking to win next years flag by 20 goals not 15???

Worst rumour ever!

soupsey
30 Oct 2007, 14:33
Hey Sammy G why don't you go and find a thread for D grade losers and peddle your tripe there. You are neither funny nor clever and should feel embarassed by your post. Let's hope we never see you again.

uglydermie
30 Oct 2007, 15:36
Hey Sammy G why don't you go and find a thread for D grade losers and peddle your tripe there. You are neither funny nor clever and should feel embarassed by your post. Let's hope we never see you again.

ease up the D grade losers comments.....

river man
30 Oct 2007, 15:40
Do you suffer from small man syndrome Sammy??

ultimate hater
30 Oct 2007, 16:16
Why would the most successful club in recent ammo history risk relegation to recruit a nuffed up bogan like Lappin.

CRAPOLA

Xavs looking to win next years flag by 20 goals not 15???

Worst rumour ever!

Do you suffer from small man syndrome Sammy??

http://images.allmoviephoto.com/2004_You_Got_Served/2004_you_got_served_wallpaper_002.jpg

ShinSplints
1 Nov 2007, 20:57
when do fixtures come out???

anytime before xmas?? probably not i guess.

Plumber
2 Nov 2007, 08:46
when do fixtures come out???

anytime before xmas?? probably not i guess.

Focus on what is important.

Derby, Cup, Oaks & Stakes. Footy can wait.

The Big Pineapple
2 Nov 2007, 08:54
Focus on what is important.

Derby, Cup, Oaks & Stakes. Footy can wait.

The Cup is not important... it's just a rest day between Derby & Oaks.

soupsey
2 Nov 2007, 10:51
The Cup is not important... it's just a rest day between Derby & Oaks.

Melbourne cup day is officially the most overrated sporting event in this country. Not even the day off can save it. Move Derby day to the tuesday and enjoy your day off watching the best horses in the land race rather than racings equivalent to Cliff Young trying to get the distance. Although I gotta say that Fransesca Cumani is a very hand type and a welcome edition to the carnival.
Good punting to you all.
See you in 2008.

Stumpy McFadden
2 Nov 2007, 15:17
Rumour is Fact:

Paul Groves leaving SBMT and playing with Ajax, apparently he had some unfinished business from this years Grand Final........... getting a kick!

ShinSplints
4 Nov 2007, 11:07
Rumour is Fact:

Paul Groves leaving SBMT and playing with Ajax, apparently he had some unfinished business from this years Grand Final........... getting a kick!

FACT groves has won 2 flags 2 years is now an A-grade footballer who is better than you!!

BUURRn!! :D

YOU KNOW ITS TRUE.

Fact: Groves is the biggest FIGJAM i know

Scribe
5 Nov 2007, 06:25
FACT groves has won 2 flags 2 years is now an A-grade footballer who is better than you!!

"Being an A grade footballer" isn't something to get too wound up about, but good luck to STBMT in 2008.

To be pedantic, the STBMT lads aren't technically A grade footballers until they play round 1. Which is not to suggest I wish a season ending injury on Paul or any of his team-mates!!! ;)

chelsworthgale
5 Nov 2007, 17:08
http://www.afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=53021

So who picked Lappin to be at the Bullants?

Lance Burkhardt
8 Nov 2007, 16:06
http://www.afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=53021

So who picked Lappin to be at the Bullants?

Could've gone anywhere and everywhere.
I see from that article he's got a playing/coaching role which begs me to ask the question. Can this still be done effectively??
More so Teague's position than Lappin's, but in any case i feel the C/C is a thing of the past and should be left to the lower leagues of the outer suburbs and country Victoria.

Any thoughts?

Surly23
9 Nov 2007, 11:09
Could've gone anywhere and everywhere.
I see from that article he's got a playing/coaching role which begs me to ask the question. Can this still be done effectively??
More so Teague's position than Lappin's, but in any case i feel the C/C is a thing of the past and should be left to the lower leagues of the outer suburbs and country Victoria.

Any thoughts?

Lappin is possibly the dumbest person I have ever met! He would have trouble juggling call waiting let alone playing and assistant coaching.

Regards

Surly

Everyday Spelling
9 Nov 2007, 11:40
Lappin is possibly the dumbest person I have ever met! He would have trouble juggling call waiting let alone playing and assistant coaching.

Regards

Surly

Surly surly surly.

Obviously a tough morning coaching the polish hurdling team. Did they struggle to adapt to the bow legged style. Rumour is your influence is pushing them to retirement! Just so much angst. Come on surly your on a good wicket.

And yes before you ask tinkerbell is well and i am enjoying the soy latte's.

Play on.

ES

Surly23
9 Nov 2007, 12:41
Surly surly surly.

Obviously a tough morning coaching the polish hurdling team. Did they struggle to adapt to the bow legged style. Rumour is your influence is pushing them to retirement! Just so much angst. Come on surly your on a good wicket.

And yes before you ask tinkerbell is well and i am enjoying the soy latte's.

Play on.

ES

ES,

Long time no speak, its been good hasn't it!

Big Derby Day i hear! Apparently they are calling the hugs & kisses Humprey as she gets in all manner of strife?

What's it like having a girlfriend that can punch you up?

It's going to be a nice weekend, maybe instead of playing the honey on the end of the knob game with Tinkerbell you could take her for a walk!

Don't forget the (Pooper) scooper...

Best Wishes

Surly

eons7
9 Nov 2007, 14:12
ES,

Long time no speak, its been good hasn't it!

Big Derby Day i hear! Apparently they are calling the hugs & kisses Humprey as she gets in all manner of strife?

What's it like having a girlfriend that can punch you up?

It's going to be a nice weekend, maybe instead of playing the honey on the end of the knob game with Tinkerbell you could take her for a walk!

Don't forget the (Pooper) scooper...

Best Wishes

Surly

Surly and ES - any danger of shipping off this thread and this forum and taking your girlfriend and dog related humour to another site?

Surly23
9 Nov 2007, 14:38
Surly and ES - any danger of shipping off this thread and this forum and taking your girlfriend and dog related humour to another site?

Oi Johnny come lately, don't be telling Surly what to do!

Lupton Warchild Pittman
9 Nov 2007, 19:48
Strong rumour James Walker will be playing in Blue next year.

McCleanMagic
12 Nov 2007, 14:25
just wondering how david brady went for uni blues this year? what position did he play?

SeymourLions
12 Nov 2007, 14:44
Young Brett Collins has been delisted from Hawthorn, hes doing pre-season with them in a bid to get re-drafted.

Could be a very handy recruit for SBMT.

oldtimer
12 Nov 2007, 15:00
Strong rumour James Walker will be playing in Blue next year.

still in perth, has a good job. hasn't made mind up yet if coming home. might stay one more year in and play wafl. brother plays with Kew however don't think much hope of him playing d4.

Johnny Utah #9
13 Nov 2007, 08:28
still in perth, has a good job. hasn't made mind up yet if coming home. might stay one more year in and play wafl. brother plays with Kew however don't think much hope of him playing d4.

Kew are no chance. If Walker returns to Victoria it will be to play for Uni Blues with his cousins Dirk "Diggler" Heinz and Jack-Henry Heinz.

Lupton Warchild Pittman
13 Nov 2007, 18:53
Kew are no chance. If Walker returns to Victoria it will be to play for Uni Blues with his cousins Dirk "Diggler" Heinz and Jack-Henry Heinz.

Even juicier rumour is the other, more talented cousin could be coming out of retirement. Would be like Bodhi coming back from that 50 year storm wave & tearing up the waves of So Cal..

bendigo
13 Nov 2007, 19:30
Even juicier rumour is the other, more talented cousin could be coming out of retirement. Would be like Bodhi coming back from that 50 year storm wave & tearing up the waves of So Cal..

Is this when you tell us that locals rule and yuppy insects like me shouldn't be surfing your break?

Brooksy01
13 Nov 2007, 21:23
Young Brett Collins has been delisted from Hawthorn, hes doing pre-season with them in a bid to get re-drafted.

Could be a very handy recruit for SBMT.

I think young Collins might go for and play for AJAX as he might have some unfinished business from the 06 year!

I do remember the young man missed one easy shot in the last qtr of 06 GF and almost cost the tigers the game

I also hear the surly one in qld is comming back to play for the tigers next year

ultimate hater
14 Nov 2007, 07:23
Is this when you tell us that locals rule and yuppy insects like me shouldn't be surfing your break?

that would be a waste of tiiiimmee....

http://img265.imageshack.us/img265/7087/lellamanbodhivv2.jpg

Slay Master G
14 Nov 2007, 07:58
that would be a waste of tiiiimmee....

http://www.cineol.net/images/noticias/Cameos/LeLlamanBodhi.jpg

Go back to the valley maaaannn!

I saw an unclaimed piece of meat in Baha, turned out to be Rosie.....

The Big Pineapple
14 Nov 2007, 08:47

It's definitely summer...

bendigo
14 Nov 2007, 09:10

Found a passport of yours in Sumatra, missed you by about a week in Fiji... But I knew you wouldn't miss the 50 year storm Bodhi...

ultimate hater
14 Nov 2007, 09:25
Found a passport of yours in Sumatra, missed you by about a week in Fiji... But I knew you wouldn't miss the 50 year storm Bodhi...

You crossed the line. People trusted you and they died. You gotta' go down.

http://img90.imageshack.us/img90/7787/pointbreakue3.jpg

sh1t.. i could go on forever... should we stop this before we end up having the whole script played out on this thread? although it is quite tempting..

Scribe
14 Nov 2007, 09:31
You crossed the line. People trusted you and they died. You gotta' go down.

sh1t.. i could go on forever... should we stop this before we end up having the whole script played out on this thread? although it is quite tempting..

If someone can locate and post that wicked chase scene where Utah trails Bodhi through houses, backyards, etc after the robbery, and then tweaks his knee, that'd do it for me.

Best chase ever.
(well certainly since Steve McQueen's car chase in Bullitt)

bendigo
14 Nov 2007, 09:35
I wouldn't mind another picture... How about when Angelo and Johnny are getting blasted by Harp?

"It's the ultimate rush, nothing beats it... not even sex!"
"Maybe cos' you're not doing it right Roach..."

"Sex Wax? You're not into any kinky sh.t are you Angie?"
"Ha Ha.... Not yet"

Classic movie

In actual 'A' section news, I believe Uni Blues have lured back a couple of premiership players; handy pick-ups.

ultimate hater
14 Nov 2007, 09:36
If someone can locate and post that wicked chase scene where Utah trails Bodhi through houses, backyards, etc after the robbery, and then tweaks his knee, that'd do it for me.

Best chase ever.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=tWtETrtL728 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tWtETrtL728)

sorry scribe, im all out of tissues... i just used them all up..

bendigo
14 Nov 2007, 09:38
http://www.imdb.com/gallery/ss/0102685/Ss/0102685/6609_16_6.jpg.html?hint=tt0102685

http://www.imdb.com/gallery/ss/0102685/Ss/0102685/6609_16_1.jpg.html?hint=group

bendigo
14 Nov 2007, 09:39
www.youtube.com/watch?v=tWtETrtL728 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tWtETrtL728)

sorry scribe, im all out of tissues... i just used them all up..

Gotta love it when he throws that dog at him.... Go Johnny!!!

ultimate hater
14 Nov 2007, 09:44
I wouldn't mind another picture... How about when Angelo and Johnny are getting blasted by Harp?

http://www.ldsfilm.com/pmstills/PointBreak_2.jpg

Don't know what that sh1t is up the top... and everyone knows what pappas says after this..

edit: sorry i missed the whole "rent-a-cop night secruity job" lines.. but yeah, after that..

"Listen you snot-nose little shit, I was takin' shrapnel in Khe Sanh when you were crappin' in your hands and rubbin' it on your face."

"You mad?"

"Yeah I'm MAD!"

"Feels good doesn't it... like you're still alive right?"

and so on and so on.... ohh the memories...

bendigo
14 Nov 2007, 09:45
This is unreal, he's got all the best scenes on here!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O1ud7EnrZHQ (Gotta be f.ckin crazy mate!)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fh0KcpYeMVQ (I caught my first tube today.... Sir)

ultimate hater
14 Nov 2007, 09:58
http://images.fandango.com/ImageRenderer/135/102/images/noimage_video_135x102.jpg/0/images/masterrepository/vd/1007-042329_13.jpg

"Little hand says its time to rock 'n roll!"

http://thebigatom.com/web_images/pointbreak1.jpg

"You were a pitbull out there johnny, you didn't hesitate and they didn't back you down an inch.."

Lupton Warchild Pittman
14 Nov 2007, 10:00

Best chase ever.

In the top 3.

My personal fave is the boat chase in James Bond's Live & Let Die through the swamps of Louisana.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bq2OyWrFxS0

Johnny Utah #9
14 Nov 2007, 18:52
In the top 3.

My personal fave is the boat chase in James Bond's Live & Let Die through the swamps of Louisana.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bq2OyWrFxS0

Warchild....this is my board....run along and hangout with your friend Bunker or else i'll kick your ass again like i did with Bodhi at Latigo Beach!

Two best scenes without doubt are:

#1 - Night time football scene:

What the **** is wrong with you? Don't you think that's a little out of line?
- Cool it, Roach. Know who this is? - No, l don't!
This is Johnny Utah, Ohio State Buckeyes, all conference. Remember?
Number 9 man, how ya doing?
Jesus Christ! Johnny ****in' Utah! Sorry, man. Didn't mean to get in ya face!
l knew l knew you. lt was the Rose Bowl. Three years ago you beat SC.
- You? You did this? - Yep, him!
- That was one hell of a game. - No shit.
Yeah, but you got nuked in the last quarter.
Yeah, l got my knee folded back about 90 degrees the wrong way!
- Whoa! That's why you never went pro? - Two years of surgery, missed my window.
Went to law school instead.
Law school! You're a lawyer?
Wow!
Well, life's not over yet, man. You're surfing.
Lawyers don't surf! - (Bodhi) This one does.

#2 - Harp's office.

Special Agent Utah, this is not some job flipping burgers at the local drive-in!
Yes, the surfboard bothers me.
Yes, your approach to this whole damn case bothers me.
And, yes, YOU BOTHER ME!
And, Pappas, for the love of Christ,...
..just how the hell did l ever let you talk me into this boneheaded idea?
Harp, we're working undercover. lt takes time. We've produced...
No, no, no, no! Let me tell you what you've produced.
Over the last two weeks you two have produced exactly squat.
SQUAT!
During which time the Ex-Presidents have robbed two more banks!
Now, for Christ's sake,...
..does either one ofyou have anything even remotely interesting to tell me?
Caught my first tube this morning,... sir!

These two scenes follow directly after each other and have to be the best 5 minutes of cinema EVER!

Via con dios.

JU#9

Jascave
14 Nov 2007, 22:00
Who will play off for the A Section premiership?

Scribe
15 Nov 2007, 06:31
Who will play off for the A Section premiership?

Bodhi and Johnny Utah - it will be held on Sandringham Beach at sunset. Mick Fanning and Kelly Slater to umpire :thumbsu:

Slay Master G
15 Nov 2007, 08:37
Bodhi and Johnny Utah - it will be held on Sandringham Beach at sunset. Mick Fanning and Kelly Slater to umpire :thumbsu:

No way Sandy is bigger than Waimea bra.....

Forget it kid, they're ghosts....

BrianSpeaking
15 Nov 2007, 12:26
What has become of this thread...hoedads and grommets, wanna be Mitch Buchanans and a world of Gary Buseys, Jan Michael Vincents and William Katts. Big Wedenesday is the quintessential surf movie. SMG would have to be Gerry Lopez, Brian would be Matt, TBP Jack and Jascave Leroy. Give me Big Wednesday any day of the week, now that is an epci flick maaan.
Can any of you dudes find it on you tube, especially the fish scene? Would be stoked...

Cockle doodle doo
19 Nov 2007, 08:29
Looking for a change in your football environment? Donvale Football Club, a proud and successful First Division Club, located in the very strong Eastern Football League is looking for players.

We offer fantastic facilities, employment opportunities as well as excellent remuneration for the right personnel.

Please contact Football Manager Peter Clarke on 0411 516 464 for further details.

ultimate hater
19 Nov 2007, 08:55
Looking for a change in your football environment? Donvale Football Club, a proud and successful First Division Club, located in the very strong Eastern Football League is looking for players.

We offer fantastic facilities, employment opportunities as well as excellent remuneration for the right personnel.

Please contact Football Manager Peter Clarke on 0411 516 464 for further details.

piss off muppet...

"proud and successful First Division Club"

If you were that proud and successful you wouldn't be trolling the big footy forums trying to pick up players...

"Go back to the valley man..."

JG Hornet
20 Nov 2007, 11:31

The fact that bozos like this advertise on this site pretty sums up all that is wrong with our comp...

The Big Pineapple
20 Nov 2007, 11:49
The fact that bozos like this advertise on this site pretty sums up all that is wrong with our comp...

Care to elaborate JG?

Over The Post
20 Nov 2007, 12:16
Pretty obvious TBP, under the Sholly rule they are free to poach whereas in the past they might have expected a firm rebuff, not only from the cognoscenti but also from players who wouldn't want to be seen talking to them.

The Big Pineapple
20 Nov 2007, 13:20
Pretty obvious TBP, under the Sholly rule they are free to poach whereas in the past they might have expected a firm rebuff, not only from the cognoscenti but also from players who wouldn't want to be seen talking to them.

Even before the Sholley Rule there were players being poached and players coming and going. It just didn't happen as much.

I would have thought a post like that shows what is right about the VAFA. It's a fairly desperate post, and as Ultimate Hater posted earlier it shows a lack of professionalism. You won't find any VAFA clubs stooping to that level.

river man
20 Nov 2007, 13:53
Quite suprised that none of the a grade ammo clubs have bandied around the name "b cousins" as yet....surely the VAFA would be a safe haven for him to bide his time for 12 months.

Can of worms.

sharp shooter
20 Nov 2007, 14:44
Quite suprised that none of the a grade ammo clubs have bandied around the name "b cousins" as yet....surely the VAFA would be a safe haven for him to bide his time for 12 months.

Can of worms.

River man he has been suspended for 12 months therfore can not play any level of football in that time. So your point is null and void

ultimate hater
20 Nov 2007, 14:50

Can of worms.

collegians would only go for him if he had kids, that way they could offer the services of their feeding school as a carrot... I'm sure the future cousins kids would feel right at home at wesley and teach them the basics to be able to follow in the old man's footsteps of late..

yes. can of worms..
(shite troll i know..)

Scribe
20 Nov 2007, 14:53
River man he has been suspended for 12 months therfore can not play any level of football in that time. So your point is null and void

Incorrect - the decision made yesterday only prevents him from playing in the AFL in 2008. He is entitled to be registered to play in other competition in the land, including the WAFL.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2007/11/20/2095987.htm

ultimate hater
20 Nov 2007, 14:57
Incorrect - the decision made yesterday only prevents him from playing in the AFL in 2008. He is entitled to be registered to play in other competition in the land, including the WAFL.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2007/11/20/2095987.htm

jeeze you're quick with that "quote" button scribe... all over it!

JG Hornet
20 Nov 2007, 16:36
Even before the Sholley Rule there were players being poached and players coming and going. It just didn't happen as much.

I would have thought a post like that shows what is right about the VAFA. It's a fairly desperate post, and as Ultimate Hater posted earlier it shows a lack of professionalism. You won't find any VAFA clubs stooping to that level.

Mate it just shows that A & B Section footy is very much a goldmine for cashed up suburban clubs. 5 years ago, these clowns wouldn't have even bothered.
I sat near about 3 or 4 recruiters at the A Grade Granny. They were sittting there taking notes with their ****ing club T Shirts on! If a kid like Joel Rice gets picked up by the WAFL, that is fantastic. If his team-mate gets picked up by Donvale, that is a TRAVESTY and spells the end of the competition.

Jascave
20 Nov 2007, 16:49
jG Hornet, what league and club were the recruiters from?

JG Hornet
20 Nov 2007, 17:00
Jason

They were from the Eastern Foootball League

RockyBalboa
20 Nov 2007, 18:37
Pat Bowden confirmed at the Blacks for 2008. What a pick-up!

Lalich and Bowden as your bookends should be a formidable combination.

Will surprise everyone as they did this year.