View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football
Pat Bowden confirmed at the Blacks for 2008. What a pick-up!
Lalich and Bowden as your bookends should be a formidable combination.
Will surprise everyone as they did this year.
But Joel is still playing at Richmond....so who will kick it to Pat so he can get another stat? :confused:
ScottyDog
20 Nov 2007, 21:07
If his team-mate gets picked up by Donvale, that is a TRAVESTY and spells the end of the competition. The VAFA will out live the Eastern League. History says that the money will kill the Eastern competition in the long run.
chelsworthgale
20 Nov 2007, 22:05
The VAFA will out live the Eastern League. History says that the money will kill the Eastern competition in the long run.
Just like it killed the DVFL... NFL or what ever it wants to be called tomorrow.
The Big Pineapple
21 Nov 2007, 07:50
Why do people always end their posts with statements like this? Surely it's just setting you up for a fall?
Over The Post
21 Nov 2007, 08:40
Come off it TBP. It's a catch-all.
"OMFG they've been RELEGATED" - surprise.
"Tipped early for good things and they're NEAR THE BOTTOM" - surprise.
"I thought they'd get in the finals and JUST MISSED OUT" - surprise.
"These nohopers are IN the bloody FINALS!" - surprise.
"Holy shit they've got up and won the granny!" - surprise.
It works on all levels, and nobody can call you a liar. You should come up with your own meaningless platitudes some day!
Conduct Unbecoming
22 Nov 2007, 10:09
The VAFA will out live the Eastern League. History says that the money will kill the Eastern competition in the long run.
I would dispute that. What history are you talking about?
chelsworthgale
22 Nov 2007, 20:48
use the DVFL as an example
ScottyDog
23 Nov 2007, 15:33
South of the Yarra the Federal League was the number one compeition disappeared because of money sending clubs broke. The Southern League has had Balwyn and Noble Park leave it high and dry becaue they were too strong due to poker machines. The Southern competition is a shadow of what it one eas. Money is killing the Mornington Penniula League as well. Fact is VAFA clubs struggle to keep their heads above water without the added burden of player payments.
flying dutchman
23 Nov 2007, 18:10
Pat Bowden confirmed at the Blacks for 2008. What a pick-up!
Lalich and Bowden as your bookends should be a formidable combination.
Bowden has a very serious injury that will prevent him playing anywhere n ear his best that is fact.
ShinSplints
9 Dec 2007, 09:42
fixture is out
jimmymaher
9 Dec 2007, 17:44
de la salle will win the flag in 2008
superfreak
10 Dec 2007, 10:43
Not sure if this has been mentioned yet but Fergus Watts is playing with Collegians in 2008
ultimate hater
10 Dec 2007, 12:38
Not sure if this has been mentioned yet but Fergus Watts is playing with Collegians in 2008
source?
Well he is an old Wesley boy with mates already at the club, but is this confirmed?
superfreak
10 Dec 2007, 15:42
source?
the man himself. he is O/S atm.
MarascoTheChump
17 Dec 2007, 10:28
de la salle will win the flag in 2008
Reasons?
The Big Pineapple
17 Dec 2007, 10:30
the man himself. he is O/S atm.
Has he sobered up from Derby Day yet?
Monkeyboy
17 Dec 2007, 12:13
2008 Market
Old Xavs - $1.33
Old Collegians - $9.00
Old Brighton - $9.00
St. B Mentone - $14.00
De La Salle - $21.00
Uni Blues - $31.00
Uni Blacks - $41.00
Old Scotch - $41.00
Old Ivanhoe - $81.00
Old Trinity - $101.00
Was released earlier today.
superfreak
17 Dec 2007, 12:50
Has he sobered up from Derby Day yet?
not sure mate, u'd hope so!!
strong chance that former hawk nick ries will also be playing at collegians. played last year at balwyn
rightfoot_sloth
17 Dec 2007, 13:16
2008 Market
Old Xavs - $1.33
Old Collegians - $9.00
Old Brighton - $9.00
St. B Mentone - $14.00
De La Salle - $21.00
Uni Blues - $31.00
Uni Blacks - $41.00
Old Scotch - $41.00
Old Ivanhoe - $81.00
Old Trinity - $101.00
Was released earlier today.
Monkey Boy what is your source for these odds ? As I reckon I know a few boys who might be interested in laying down a few $$$ :D
Plumber
17 Dec 2007, 13:19
Monkey Boy what is your source for these odds ? As I reckon I know a few boys who might be interested in laying down a few $$$ :D
Xavs $1.33 in a ten horse race? Shocking odds!
Monkey - what can you give me for a Uni Blues flag with OTs to sneak into 4th?
Monkeyboy
17 Dec 2007, 15:59
Monkey - what can you give me for a Uni Blues flag with OTs to sneak into 4th?
1001/1
Monkeyboy
17 Dec 2007, 16:00
It is not a 10 horse race when you have teams like Scotch, Ivanhoe and Trinity. They only make up the numbers in A grade and allow for an 18 round season. Nothing more.
1001/1
Done!!
Consider it a gold coin donation.
It'll be 2004 all over again. :thumbsu:
Max Leader
18 Dec 2007, 08:16
It is not a 10 horse race when you have teams like Scotch, Ivanhoe and Trinity. They only make up the numbers in A grade and allow for an 18 round season. Nothing more.
Given that OX are at $1.33 aren't all other 9 teams making up the numbers.
Harsh call on OI, played finals in 2007 and weren't far off in 2006. Have had more of an affect in A Grade that Scotch OT and DLS in the last two years.
St.B.M. seem to be highly rated for a Virgin A gRade team.
UBlacks only beat OE in B Gade to get into A Grade, surely they are just making up the numbers.
Coll appear to hoping for the ex AFLS's to get them over the line.
OB, have they lost anyone?
Has the country delivered any players to Blues or have Blacks already poached them.
PS Monkeyboy. 30 posts on Bigfooty yesterday. Get a life.
chelsworthgale
18 Dec 2007, 09:25
Harsh call on OI, played finals in 2007 and weren't far off in 2006. Have had more of an affect in A Grade that Scotch OT and DLS in the last two years.
UBlacks only beat OE in B Gade to get into A Grade, surely they are just making up the numbers.
Has the country delivered any players to Blues or have Blacks already poached them.
uneducated post by Monkeyboy... hopefully he doesn't make a living out of bookmaking because they are shocking odds, not very well thought out...
Jascave
18 Dec 2007, 10:46
I still think A Section would be competitive in 2008. I reckon the A Section premiership would come down to at least 3 teams-Old Xaverians, Old Brighton (would be better for the experience after playing in last year's grand final) and possibly Old Ivanhoe.
PS Is the VAFA making plans to show the A Section Grand Final again over the internet? What about on Channel 31 or the Aurora channel on Foxtel?
uglydermie
18 Dec 2007, 11:26
How about live on 7?
I still think A Section would be competitive in 2008. I reckon the A Section premiership would come down to at least 3 teams-Old Xaverians, Old Brighton (would be better for the experience after playing in last year's grand final) and possibly Old Ivanhoe.
PS Is the VAFA making plans to show the A Section Grand Final again over the internet? What about on Channel 31 or the Aurora channel on Foxtel?
Well if the VAFA think they can charge $15 to get into it to watch it at Sportscover, maybe they should beam it out on pay-TV. More interesting that the Green -v- Drews fight I'd venture.
At least it would maintain a consistent approach.
Jase - who would win in a nude mud wrestle between boundary riders? Brad Beitzel or Ross Booth? I reckon Rosco would play dirty.
chelsworthgale
18 Dec 2007, 13:21
Well if the VAFA think they can charge $15 to get into it to watch it at Sportscover, maybe they should beam it out on pay-TV. More interesting that the Green -v- Drews fight I'd venture.
Jase - who would win in a nude mud wrestle between boundary riders? Brad Beitzel or Ross Booth? I reckon Rosco would play dirty.
i'd prefer to see tiff cherry and christie malthouse go at it...
Monkeyboy
18 Dec 2007, 15:12
Just a bit of fun mate. You to Chelsworth. Trying to create some comment. Have a few people talk up a few teams. Been very quiet on this thread.
Thanks for taking an interest in my posting habits Max. My life is ok at present. No concerns from here
ultimate hater
18 Dec 2007, 15:12
jas.. it seems your keen to spend your summer looking up things about football, so i was wondering, could you give me a brief detail of every registered player in A grade for 2007? things such as height, weight, age, preferred kicking foot, preferred position and a rough 100m sprint time? and if you have enough time, rate them out of 10 for the following key attributes, marking, ball handling, kicking, goal scoring, disposal effectiveness and hard ball gets. but only if you have time of course..
I'll be sure to check them upon my return from an east coast surf trip..
Merry Christmas!
EDIT: i think i might be asking just a little too much, and it is christmas after all and im in good spirits.. so just list every player that played over 10 games for 2007 and not every registered... if you have time of course..
BrianSpeaking
18 Dec 2007, 15:42
Have Old Ivanhoe found a coach yet?
BigPete38
19 Dec 2007, 01:09
This question is very worrying how on earth would something like this come into someones head. Its time to come outta the closet.
Johnny Utah #9
19 Dec 2007, 14:48
The entry charges to E-Park are an utter joke. $15 plus car parking is not what i would call a fair price for an ammo footy match, even if it is a GF.
Correct me if i'm but the two competing clubs get 3/5th's of bugger all out of the gate receipts don't they?
RockyBalboa
19 Dec 2007, 21:31
Marc Bolton to join Pat Bowden at Blacks to add to their strength for 2008.
They are looking stronger and stronger each week.
BarryDawson
19 Dec 2007, 22:11
Bull schite! Gone to aberfeldie along with a country gun with the surname of Jess! You can bank on it!
ultimate hater
20 Dec 2007, 07:45
ohhhh.. if only the grand final was tomorrow hey...
BrianSpeaking
20 Dec 2007, 19:01
Bull schite! Gone to aberfeldie along with a country gun with the surname of Jess! You can bank on it!
Nah Barry, have heard from several very good sources Bolton at Blacks.
JG Hornet
3 Jan 2008, 09:21
Some very very good De La players are going to jump ship and play for an SFL side. What a sad indictment this is of the current state of affairs. If you're a good player getting our 800 a game in the EFL or chancing your luck in he VFL, then good luck to you. But if you jump ship for a year or two to play with these SFL deadbeats and renegades, then you are a traitor and a scumbag. And if you helped implement a rule which allows this, then you have blood on your hands.
superfreak
3 Jan 2008, 11:37
Some very very good De La players are going to jump ship and play for an SFL side. What a sad indictment this is of the current state of affairs. If you're a good player getting our 800 a game in the EFL or chancing your luck in he VFL, then good luck to you. But if you jump ship for a year or two to play with these SFL deadbeats and renegades, then you are a traitor and a scumbag. And if you helped implement a rule which allows this, then you have blood on your hands.
Do you know which club they are headed to mate???
And just on the 'SFL deadbeat thing'.....Whilst the SFL isnt up to A grade VAFA level (only the EFL matches up with that) it is comparable with B/C Grade so its not that bad. Granted there are a few clubs at the bottom end of Div 1 that struggle big time but the top four sides would all be quiet handy in B grade.
Also, no one involved with the SFL ever slags off the Ammo's so i dont understand why there is such a chip on the shoulder the other way.....or is it the 'White Collar Old Boys' Mentality coming out???
JG Hornet
3 Jan 2008, 12:30
Yeah well fair enough. Not sure whether "no one involved with the SFL ever slags off the Ammos" or what a "white collar mentality" is though. It's just very disheartening to see players from our once grand comp being lured to the murky environs of suburban footy. It's know it's happened for years but not as this rate. I hope the guys involved, who are all guns, enjoy their footy as this level.
superfreak
3 Jan 2008, 13:17
Yeah well fair enough. Not sure whether "no one involved with the SFL ever slags off the Ammos" or what a "white collar mentality" is though. It's just very disheartening to see players from our once grand comp being lured to the murky environs of suburban footy. It's know it's happened for years but not as this rate. I hope the guys involved, who are all guns, enjoy their footy as this level.
Its just that alot of the people I know that are involved with the Ammos feel that they are above local footy leagues (especially the SFL) so thats where the White Collar part came from. There has been plenty of juniors at SFL clubs that have been lured to VAFA clubs so it does go both ways. Shits happens i reckon, you just have to move on.
If what your saying is true, its disheartening for sure. You should want to play the highest level possibly and in their case that would staying at De La but the power of the almighty dollar is very appealing to some people, especially if they are being offered way over what they are worth.
Can you tell us which club they are going to?? My money would be on St Kilda City or East Brighton......
JG Hornet
3 Jan 2008, 13:20
St Kilda City
My thoughts are (and I don't know if anyone would agree with me) is that seeing the SFL can't beat us at rep footy, they may try another way of getting level or even being ahead of the VAFA by adopting a tactic, which is simple-poach or lure the best VAFA players with an offer they couldn't refuse.I suspect the SFL clubs told their recruting staffs to get VAFA players whatever it cost to get them to play in the SFL. I reckon the 'Sholly rule' could be to blame for this incident. I can assure you of one thing: if those players want to come back to VAFA football, then they have to repair a lot of burned bridges with not just the club they left behind, but the VAFA in general. I understand that several SFL talent scouts were seen at last year's A Section GF, with a misson in mind to try to get VAFA players to come to the SFL-right under the very noses of the VAFA at VAFA HQ. So where was Michael Sholly, Jeremy Bourke, Nick Bourke during this time?
superfreak
3 Jan 2008, 20:35
My thoughts are (and I don't know if anyone would agree with me) is that seeing the SFL can't beat us at rep footy, they may try another way of getting level or even being ahead of the VAFA by adopting a tactic, which is simple-poach or lure the best VAFA players with an offer they couldn't refuse.I suspect the SFL clubs told their recruting staffs to get VAFA players whatever it cost to get them to play in the SFL. I reckon the 'Sholly rule' could be to blame for this incident. I can assure you of one thing: if those players want to come back to VAFA football, then they have to repair a lot of burned bridges with not just the club they left behind, but the VAFA in general. I understand that several SFL talent scouts were seen at last year's A Section GF, with a misson in mind to try to get VAFA players to come to the SFL-right under the very noses of the VAFA at VAFA HQ. So where was Michael Sholly, Jeremy Bourke, Nick Bourke during this time?
For SFL clubs its not about being better than the VAFA, that will never happen, we have our thing you have yours. Both leagues are totally different in their styles of footy. Firstly I SFL clubs dont have recruiting departments, most clubs leave that up to the senior coach. Clubs are always on the lookout for new players but i really doubt that their sole attention would be on the VAFA. Historically good VAFA players dont always make good SFL players due to the difference in style of play and the size of grounds.
Jas, you need not worry, the SFL isnt here to pillage and rape VAFA clubs of their players (at least the majority of us arent). We look forward to attempting to finally beat your B-D team if interleague goes ahead. We are well overdue!!
Jason, you are one seriously paranoid dude. As a coach I'll fill you in on something, as soon as my clubs season finished I, like most other coaches have been scopeing the footy landscape for players who may be looking for greener pastures and a new start at a new club. Why? because we want to win flags. Some blokes see a greener pasture as some extra mula in their pockets, some see an opening in a position they'd prefer to play. It differs from bloke to bloke and I agree that the "Sholly" rule hasn't helped VAFA clubs keep better players but to say the SFL are sending their clubs out to deliberately raid VAFA clubs so they can win some Rep games is laughable!
I have just been browsing through a copy of the 2007 VAFA Annual Report. There was one thing that got me interested , which is the number of teams and participants (ie players)playing in each comp in metropolitian Melbourne, which I reproduce below:
COMPETITION NUMBER OF TEAMS PERCENTAGE
VAFA 231 42%
EASTERN FL 82 15%
NORTHERN FL 68 12%
SOUTHERN FL 54 10%
ESSENDON FL 48 9%
WESTERN REGION FL 44 8%
RIDDELL FL 20 4%
Another set of stats from the Annual Report also was interesting, which showed the increase in team numbers at each comp in Melbourne over the last 4 years, which is reproduced here:
COMPETITON 2003 2007 DIFFERENCE
VAFA 211 231 +20
EASTERN FL 78 82 +4
NORTHERN FL 72 68 -4
SOUTHERN FL 56 54 -2
WESTERN REGION FL 46 44 -2
ESSENDON FL 44 48 +4
RIDDELL FL 20 20 0
JG Hornet
4 Jan 2008, 08:32
I have just been browsing through a copy of the 2007 VAFA Annual Report. There was one thing that got me interested , which is the number of teams and participants (ie players)playing in each comp in metropolitian Melbourne, which I reproduce below:
COMPETITION NUMBER OF TEAMS PERCENTAGE
VAFA 231 42%
EASTERN FL 82 15%
NORTHERN FL 68 12%
SOUTHERN FL 54 10%
ESSENDON FL 48 9%
WESTERN REGION FL 44 8%
RIDDELL FL 20 4%
Another set of stats from the Annual Report also was interesting, which showed the increase in team numbers at each comp in Melbourne over the last 4 years, which is reproduced here:
COMPETITON 2003 2007 DIFFERENCE
VAFA 211 231 +20
EASTERN FL 78 82 +4
NORTHERN FL 72 68 -4
SOUTHERN FL 56 54 -2
WESTERN REGION FL 46 44 -2
ESSENDON FL 44 48 +4
RIDDELL FL 20 20 0
Yeah and Brisbane has 18 horses per race month in month in month out but they're all crap (well most of them). Numbers are just numbers Jase and the best PR man in the business couldn't hide the fact that A and B Section football is in serious decline.
Too much negativity from me recently. I'll be brimming with positivity henceforth!
PS: And I reckon everyone is a bit harsh when they keep calling it the "Sholly Rule". Surely it was the brainchild of the Board as a whole?
nicho_magic
4 Jan 2008, 09:16
collegians won't lose next year. with certain ins of ries and watts, and a few back from overseas... the spine is mouth watering
The Big Pineapple
4 Jan 2008, 10:35
PS: And I reckon everyone is a bit harsh when they keep calling it the "Sholly Rule". Surely it was the brainchild of the Board as a whole?
Nup, just Sholly.
It is and always will be known as the Sholly Rule.
It has a nice scapegoat ring to it.
So, what should be done to keep the best VAFA players away from cash-rich clubs in leagues such as the SFL-have what the SANFL used to have called 'the Player Retention Scheme'?
BrianSpeaking
4 Jan 2008, 14:09
Who cares, let them go and play for cash. Clubs have to be smart with their recruiting and retention, and need to keep building from the bottom up. One B Section club will have 7 ex AFL players in its tri colors this season, as well as ex players back and new school kids coming through. After a reasonably successful 07, they have kept the momentum going based around a great club culture and team spirit, as well as job network and good fun. This is how to build a strong club, cash only gets other clubs so far, when the cash runs out, so do the players.
Players will always come and go, whether its country, EFL etc, thats just how it is, so relax Horn, relax.
Who cares, let them go and play for cash. Clubs have to be smart with their recruiting and retention, and need to keep building from the bottom up. One B Section club will have 7 ex AFL players in its tri colors this season, as well as ex players back and new school kids coming through. After a reasonably successful 07, they have kept the momentum going based around a great club culture and team spirit, as well as job network and good fun. This is how to build a strong club, cash only gets other clubs so far, when the cash runs out, so do the players.
Players will always come and go, whether its country, EFL etc, thats just how it is, so relax Horn, relax.
Hey Brian - looks like the SKOB glass which was half empty with the departures of Chard, Lucas, Dollman x 2, Rombotis, Kempton, Bevacqua (?), Greenham, Katavalos x 2, and probably another dozen I have overlooked is suddenly full to the brim???
Anything less than a 15 goal GF win would be a failure surely??? :D
If VAFA players want to leave to further their football careers, I have no problem with it. However, my best advice would be don't play in the SFL, play in the EFL, which I think would be a better standard in semi-pro football rather than the SFL.
BrianSpeaking
4 Jan 2008, 14:41
Hey Brian - looks like the SKOB glass which was half empty with the departures of Chard, Lucas, Dollman x 2, Rombotis, Kempton, Bevacqua (?), Greenham, Katavalos x 2, and probably another dozen I have overlooked is suddenly full to the brim???
Anything less than a 15 goal GF win would be a failure surely??? :D
Fraser, Fraser, Fraser! Isnt there another club in B Section with tri colours? I never mentioned the SKOB lads. Marcus Dollman would never leave SKOB by the way, and Matt Lucas is back in town. I can say that the SKOB team is still rebuilding and looking to avoid relegation and hopefully put enough wins on the board to play finals...this should really be on the B thread. Its unlike you to make such ridiculous statements, you sound like your mate Overtheline! The glass is three quarters full.
JG Hornet
4 Jan 2008, 15:18
Well some other fine clubs, including De La and Marcellin have built from the bottom up, won 19s flags etc. Then the Golden boy hits about 21, starts to realise that Mum and Dad aren't going to pay for his petrol and booze money any more, and thinks "stuff this, stuff the jumper I'll go and play in some crap comp for 500 a game."
if it wasn't for am unusually strong group of senior players and a few other factors, your club'd be history now Brian. The clubs like yours which buck the trend deserve all the praise in the world, but the elder statesmen who keep these clubs together will be few and far between in 5/6 years time. It will be every man for himself and Xavs will win the flag by 40 goals and players who should be wearing he Big V will be running around playing for clubs whose name they can't even pronounce.
But I'm a cynic by nature.
Rufus Red
4 Jan 2008, 18:12
Fraser, Fraser, Fraser! Isnt there another club in B Section with tri colours? I never mentioned the SKOB lads. Marcus Dollman would never leave SKOB by the way, and Matt Lucas is back in town. I can say that the SKOB team is still rebuilding and looking to avoid relegation and hopefully put enough wins on the board to play finals...this should really be on the B thread. Its unlike you to make such ridiculous statements, you sound like your mate Overtheline! The glass is three quarters full.
Geezz, more info Brian. If not skevs; we have marcellin; old carey(who the glenferrie hotel hotline says have picked up a couple of ex afl;but i seriously doubt 7),caulfield is not tri-color,neither is old camberwell; st bernards???Cmon Bri boy help us out. Surely not those sharks?
cuttingedge
4 Jan 2008, 18:42
Richy Rich strikes again.....just wish they would develop their club the same way most of the others do, thru juniors and locals...oh well
Both superfreak & Hornet, get yor facts right, no one from Stkilda City has offered any DeLa Salle players one cent, I know for a fact we have spoken to 1 current Dela player who has a brother at the club, not 1 dollar mentioned, we have been handed the number of 2 other players who we have yet to contact and probably wont at this stage, we have also recruited a player who has mates and a brother playing at Dela Salle, all those guys are welcome at our club, so your mail is crap.
Geezz, more info Brian. If not skevs; we have marcellin; old carey(who the glenferrie hotel hotline says have picked up a couple of ex afl;but i seriously doubt 7),caulfield is not tri-color,neither is old camberwell; st bernards???Cmon Bri boy help us out. Surely not those sharks?
Rufus - this should go on the B section thread, BUT its definitely SKOB, we all know that Brian eats, breathes, and bleeds green, gold 'n blue. ;)
From memory it was Garlick, Wellman, Rombotis, Luke Williams, Leigh Newton, McKee and....and.....help me out here Brian? Did you count Matty Lucas as ex-AFL?
Pretty sure there wasn't a Scott twin on your the list.
NB - not that they will play all games, as several have other footy coaching commitments, etc. but it is a pretty good list of inclusions in the one hit.
Everyday Spelling
4 Jan 2008, 19:55
Rufus - this should go on the B section thread, BUT its definitely SKOB, we all know that Brian eats, breathes, and bleeds green, gold 'n blue. ;)
From memory it was Garlick, Wellman, Rombotis, Luke Williams, Leigh Newton, McKee and....and.....help me out here Brian? Did you count Matty Lucas as ex-AFL?
NB - not that they will play all games, as several have other footy coaching commitments, etc. but it is a pretty good list of inclusions in the one hit.
Add Josh Mahoney to that list.
Skobs main interest is the AFL fixture and how many sunday games melbourne have. 15 i think this year. Big win for the skobs.
Just to avoid some confusion Scribe, which Wellman are you speaking of? Surely not a former great #6 who will most likely have the same number at a certain South suburban club. Please explain!
Which club do you think will challenge Old Xaverians for the A Section flag?
BrianSpeaking
4 Jan 2008, 21:32
Skobs main interest is the AFL fixture and how many sunday games melbourne have. 15 i think this year. Big win for the skobs.
Don't forget the AFL mid season break of 2 weeks also...
Cant believe Scribe didnt have Josh at the top of his wish list, 2004 Premiership player with the Power.
BrianSpeaking
4 Jan 2008, 21:33
Which club do you think will challenge Old Xaverians for the A Section flag?
Hampton Rovers
superfreak
5 Jan 2008, 08:55
Both superfreak & Hornet, get yor facts right, no one from Stkilda City has offered any DeLa Salle players one cent, I know for a fact we have spoken to 1 current Dela player who has a brother at the club, not 1 dollar mentioned, we have been handed the number of 2 other players who we have yet to contact and probably wont at this stage, we have also recruited a player who has mates and a brother playing at Dela Salle, all those guys are welcome at our club, so your mail is crap.
Never said you did mate, i was just fishing for who Hornet heard they were going to play for. I actually thought it would be East Brighton as they have a strong De La connection but when money was mentioned naturally you blokes came into the equation. Hope your recruiting is going well mate, Sal will be a huge loss to cover.
Fair oversight by me - Josh would probably be the most effective if/when available, though Williams and Newton should also be very handy.
As for Wellman, Harps, the only source who has informed me about the likeihood of him playing VAFA is Brian, and that's in the contetx of him playing for SKOB.
If you understand he's intending to pull on a Swans jumper instead, I suggest you two lads "duke it out" for the bragging rights to his services.
What is the difference between a club like OXs and possibly OBs being able to retain their key players when players from lower profile "re-building" clubs seem happy to cross and play in the metro comps... Are the top clubs managed more professionaly or are other incentives offered to retain players?
I think it's more to do with the former. VAFA clubs are much more professionally-run now (that is, the way they plan and prepare on and off the field) than what they were 15-20 years ago, where clubs took matters on & off the field in what you might say in a casual way ie not taking football seriously, playing in a half-hearted manner, not looking after the club's financial position very well, thinking 'if it ain't broke, don't fix it'. Now it's all professionally driven, not only in financial terms ( however, players still play for the love of the game), but the way they do things (ie pre-season training, match-day planning etc).
BrianSpeaking
5 Jan 2008, 22:51
Fair oversight by me - Josh would probably be the most effective if/when available, though Williams and Newton should also be very handy.
As for Wellman, Harps, the only source who has informed me about the likeihood of him playing VAFA is Brian, and that's in the contetx of him playing for SKOB.
If you understand he's intending to pull on a Swans jumper instead, I suggest you two lads "duke it out" for the bragging rights to his services.
Fraser, when where and how was that said in this PUBLIC forum?
Cheers Scribe, hope your festive season was flash, while Brian is usually on the money I think he may be jumping the gun on this one. Time will tell.
redragger
7 Jan 2008, 13:28
Matt Lucas is finished sunshine. Bounced around a couple of Central Murray clubs looking for cash and only played bit-part cameos off the bench.
You of all people should know that ex-AFL players doesn't = success. I shant remind you of Steve McKee shall I?
MyMission
12 Jan 2008, 18:20
I really hope old man kinsella who plays for StBMT does not pull on the boots this year. After badly injuring his shoulder in the GF last year, he is battling to bowl his chinamans spinners for Mentone Cricket Club. The coach needs to set him straight once and for all.... Goodbye David
Jascave
16 Jan 2008, 17:37
****BREAKING NEWS****
Dan Winkel, former Geelong (VFL) assistant coach has been appointed senior coach of Old Ivanhoe for season 2008.
The Big Pineapple
17 Jan 2008, 07:32
****BREAKING NEWS****
Dan Winkel, former Geelong (VFL) assistant coach has been appointed senior coach of Old Ivanhoe for season 2008.
So Old Ivanhoe have decided to dance with the champ?
Real good guy Dan. A pretty good pick up for the boys from Pine Lodge.
chelsworthgale
17 Jan 2008, 12:19
So Old Ivanhoe have decided to dance with the champ?
Real good guy Dan. A pretty good pick up for the boys from Pine Lodge.
I heard the story behind this yesterday and found it hilarious...
Cherry Picker
17 Jan 2008, 14:03
Damian Adkins began training with Collegians on monday night.
Cats Flag 07
17 Jan 2008, 14:32
Few good signings at Blacks......P. Bowden, M. Bolton, M. Pask and a few others. Considering how Brighton and Collegians went last year, straight from B-grade with some good recruiting, looks like Blacks aren't there just to make up the numbers.
crazybear
17 Jan 2008, 14:46
Few good signings at Blacks......P. Bowden, M. Bolton, M. Pask and a few others. Considering how Brighton and Collegians went last year, straight from B-grade with some good recruiting, looks like Blacks aren't there just to make up the numbers.
I heard Bowden was playing at Balwyn.
uglydermie
17 Jan 2008, 16:28
Balwyn dont have enough cash.... and that is saying something with GL pumping in the $$!
juliand
17 Jan 2008, 20:30
I heard the story behind this yesterday and found it hilarious...
So what was so funny?
Jascave
18 Jan 2008, 07:07
So how will Old Ivanhoe go under Dan Winkel? I reckon if the Hoes could finish top four, probably in 4th spot, that would be a good effort. I don't know if you agree with me, but I can't see the Hoes winning the premiership this year but if they make the finals they would've done well. A premiership in 2009 is more likely. I reckon my tip for the 2008 flag would be Old Brighton, because of the experience they gained in playing in last year's grand final would stand them in good stead.
kingkyle
19 Jan 2008, 12:23
Presuming all the topliners are back and injury free the Hoes would be expected to be top 4 again.Depth is probably not as strong as some but there best team could beat anyone.Be interesting to see if some of the flag winning under 19s come through.
Is Heta down at Chelsworth again ???
river man
22 Jan 2008, 21:33
Damian Adkins began training with Collegians on monday night.
seems the ex afl names are starting to hit the rumour mill. apparently simon godfrey may be heading to camberwell road.
rightfoot_sloth
23 Jan 2008, 07:52
seems the ex afl names are starting to hit the rumour mill. apparently simon godfrey may be heading to camberwell road.
You're mail is wrong river man. He signed with Norwood in the EFL a few weeks back.
Jascave
24 Jan 2008, 06:58
It will be interesting to see how Simon Lethlean would go in his first year in charge of Old Xaverians. The biggest test for him would probably come when his team would be struggling for form and he would have to make some hard calls on some of his players-several of them who played in a premiership with him in recent times.
The Big Pineapple
24 Jan 2008, 07:20
It will be interesting to see how Simon Lethlean would go in his first year in charge of Old Xaverians. The biggest test for him would probably come when his team would be struggling for form and he would have to make some hard calls on some of his players-several of them who played in a premiership with him in recent times.
Wouldn't have thought it would be too hard Jase. If they are out of form they play in the 2s.
ultimate hater
24 Jan 2008, 07:23
na, his biggest test will be when they are playing the last round where a win will mean they play finals, and a loss means they dont... they only have 16 on the field as a result of numerous injuries due to a bout of ostietus pubis (sp?) down at the club and there being an astoneshing 4-way friendly fire collision in the last.. he has to decide whether or not he pulls on the boots grabs one of the guys jumpers and tries to pass as that player in order to get another number on the field...? (daring i hear you say?? very much so..) then puts himself at FF for the last 5 mins, only to find in the last 20 seconds of the game the ball lands in his lap, he's 63.21mtrs out on a 22deg angle, are 4 points down and he happens to have compartment syndrome in his preffered kicking leg so has to kick with his non preferred... oh, and the only way he knows how to kick with his non-preferred is with a drop-kick tory...
Jascave
24 Jan 2008, 08:12
So, how would Old Xaverians go this year?
soupsey
24 Jan 2008, 08:24
Astoneshing? Unlucky hater, try the spell check pal.
How about you worry about you and we'll worry about us!
I love the fact that you guys are talking OX in January.
na, his biggest test will be when they are playing the last round where a win will mean they play finals, and a loss means they dont... they only have 16 on the field as a result of numerous injuries due to a bout of ostietus pubis (sp?) down at the club and there being an astoneshing 4-way friendly fire collision in the last.. he has to decide whether or not he pulls on the boots grabs one of the guys jumpers and tries to pass as that player in order to get another number on the field...? (daring i hear you say?? very much so..) then puts himself at FF for the last 5 mins, only to find in the last 20 seconds of the game the ball lands in his lap, he's 63.21mtrs out on a 22deg angle, are 4 points down and he happens to have compartment syndrome in his preffered kicking leg so has to kick with his non preferred... oh, and the only way he knows how to kick with his non-preferred is with a drop-kick tory...
ultimate hater
24 Jan 2008, 08:25
see above.. if he kicks it, they make finals, if not.. bye bye september..
ultimate hater
24 Jan 2008, 08:29
Astoneshing? Unlucky hater, try the spell check pal.
How about you worry about you and we'll worry about us!
I love the fact that you guys are talking OX in January.
"you guys"??... try jascave...
you must be a yank if you can't detect the sarcasim in my post soupsey... who pulled your cord?
rightfoot_sloth
24 Jan 2008, 08:46
Jason - I would be interested to know who you have voted for on the new poll on the VAFA Web site the one referring to the new A section coaches will have most success in 2008.
Cheers,
Sloth
Jascave
24 Jan 2008, 09:08
I selected Brett Chandler from Old Trinity ahead of Peter Banfield from Old Scotch, Simon Lethlean from Old Xaverians and Dan Winkle from Old Ivanhoe. I thought it was an interesting appointment by Old Ivanhoe to pick Dan Winkle as their coach, just 4 months from the start of the season, but I think they made a good call, because Winkle was one of the people responsible for Geelong's VFL premiership win last year. Winkle would need time to settle in to VAFA football, but if he can get the Hoes within reach of the finals that would be a good performance.
soupsey
24 Jan 2008, 10:02
I selected Brett Chandler from Old Trinity ahead of Peter Banfield from Old Scotch, Simon Lethlean from Old Xaverians and Dan Winkle from Old Ivanhoe. I thought it was an interesting appointment by Old Ivanhoe to pick Dan Winkle as their coach, just 4 months from the start of the season, but I think they made a good call, because Winkle was one of the people responsible for Geelong's VFL premiership win last year. Winkle would need time to settle in to VAFA football, but if he can get the Hoes within reach of the finals that would be a good performance.
Perhaps it should read Simon Lethlean, Pat Hawkins or Andy Gowers?
The Big Pineapple
24 Jan 2008, 10:56
Why so interesting Jase? Obviously they wanted the best candidate for the job, so they took their time in finding the right person. Any decent A Grade club should have a structure in place that could run a 4-6 week pre-christmas program without a head coach.
And it shouldn't take Dan too long to fit back into the VAFA. He spent 2 years at Keilor Hill as an assistant coach just a few years ago and was very close to getting the head coach position the year Dave Calthorpe got the gig.
The Champ has been around a long time and knows his football. Given he went from VAFA B Grade to VFL I reckon it's a pretty good background to step into VAFA A Grade.
Johnny Utah #9
24 Jan 2008, 18:42
Why so interesting Jase? Obviously they wanted the best candidate for the job, so they took their time in finding the right person. Any decent A Grade club should have a structure in place that could run a 4-6 week pre-christmas program without a head coach.
And it shouldn't take Dan too long to fit back into the VAFA. He spent 2 years at Keilor Hill as an assistant coach just a few years ago and was very close to getting the head coach position the year Dave Calthorpe got the gig.
The Champ has been around a long time and knows his football. Given he went from VAFA B Grade to VFL I reckon it's a pretty good background to step into VAFA A Grade.
His two years experience at Old Keilor Grammarians should ensure he takes the Hoers to a 16-2 home and away record and top spot, before a straight sets finals exit.
Monkeyboy
24 Jan 2008, 20:05
Very well Jase. Lost few, gained some. Plus the standard school influx. Have a great coaching team. My guess would be they are a better side than 07, so others will have needed to improve greatly. If i was offered 2/1 i would be happy to double my outlay. On GF day you will be getting 1.25 so i would take early offerings.
Jascave
24 Jan 2008, 20:37
Could Simon Lethlean do what Barry Richardson, Nick Bourke, Tim O'Shaughnessy, Mick Sholly have done before and that is take Old Xaverians to a flag in his first year at the helm?