View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43

Scribe
24 Jan 2008, 21:28
Could Simon Lethlean do what Barry Richardson, Nick Bourke, Tim O'Shaughnessy, Mick Sholly have done before and that is take Old Xaverians to a flag in his first year at the helm?

Yes.

Yes he could.

Sausage roll
25 Jan 2008, 06:57
Could Simon Lethlean do what Barry Richardson, Nick Bourke, Tim O'Shaughnessy, Mick Sholly have done before and that is take Old Xaverians to a flag in his first year at the helm?

Mick Sholly? The only man in more than a decade to miss the finals as Xavs coach?

Cherry Picker
25 Jan 2008, 08:46
Mick Sholly? The only man in more than a decade to miss the finals as Xavs coach?

hence why that was his last.

JG Hornet
25 Jan 2008, 10:27
Yes.

Yes he could.

Scribe, stuff that, let's talk about the real issues, notably, your outSTANDing performance at your recent Olympic Distance. Well done old son on what was, from all reports, a brutal course.

Scribe
25 Jan 2008, 11:03
Scribe, stuff that, let's talk about the real issues, notably, your outSTANDing performance at your recent Olympic Distance. Well done old son on what was, from all reports, a brutal course.

Thanks Jono (but please stop being facetious :D)

Rather windy course and the swell off Sandringham was similar to that Clooney/Wahlberg classic flick "The Perfect Storm". Apparently they were plucking swimmers in the Brooks and normal sprint race out left, right and proverbial. By the time I got to the 2nd turning buoy and had 600m to pound back into a 20 knot breeze, I figured a weak swimmer such as myself had better just take it easy and try to get out in one piece. Longest half an hour of my life!!!

Caught up with one D. Beardsley both before and after the event, and his 39min 10km run off the bike is a good indication he's in fine knick. A-grade full forwards will continue to be terrorised by his go-go-gadget arms, and I've no doubt he'll gallop upfield as often as he can with the pill under his arm.

In summary, we were both glad we were using it as a tune-up for the Geelong half-ironman - 'coz our times (well mine at least) weren't all that flash!!!

JG Hornet
25 Jan 2008, 11:08
Thanks Jono (but please stop being facetious :D)

Rather windy course and the swell off Sandringham was similar to that Clooney/Wahlberg classic flick "The Perfect Storm". Apparently they were plucking swimmers in the Brooks and normal sprint race out left, right and proverbial. By the time I got to the 2nd turning buoy and had 600m to pound back into a 20 knot breeze, I figured a weak swimmer such as myself had better just take it easy and try to get out in one piece. Longest half an hour of my life!!!

Caught up with one D. Beardsley both before and after the event, and his 39min 10km run off the bike is a good indication he's in fine knick. A-grade full forwards will continue to be terrorised by his go-go-gadget arms, and I've no doubt he'll gallop upfield as often as he can with the pill under his arm.

In summary, we were both glad we were using it as a tune-up for the Geelong half-ironman - 'coz our times (well mine at least) weren't all that flash!!!

Yep, 39 off the bike, good effort by D Beardsley on a tough run course. And well done on tackling Geelong - a fine addition to the tri calendar. This scribe's eyes are firmly pointed due North - Mooloolaba late March, best race in the world, pity 'bout your Reds commitments old son...

Scribe
25 Jan 2008, 11:12
Yep, 39 off the bike, good effort by D Beardsley on a tough run course. And well done on tackling Geelong - a fine addition to the tri calendar. This scribe's eyes are firmly pointed due North - Mooloolaba late March, best race in the world, pity 'bout your Reds commitments old son...

Hmmm....Olympic distance race in the Sunshine Coast -v- practice match against Salesian/St Marys. If not for the coaching angle, I'd be more than half a chance.

You've got it all sorted out JGH, I'm sure it will be a great end to the summer racing season. :thumbsu:

Over The Post
26 Jan 2008, 17:15
only to find in the last 20 seconds of the game the ball lands in his lap, he's 63.21mtrs out on a 22deg angle, are 4 points down and he happens to have compartment syndrome in his preffered kicking leg so has to kick with his non preferred... oh, and the only way he knows how to kick with his non-preferred is with a drop-kick tory...

You just described Trinity's round 18 exit against the Hoes last year down to a tee, Hater. Except it was from 20.01 out on a 1.24deg angle, and it got belted through for a point.

Poor guy. I bet he wished the ground in the forward pocket just opened up and swallowed him. Football is a cruel test sometimes.

RockyBalboa
29 Jan 2008, 13:27
Corey McKernan to play for Uni Blues.

Far pick up one would have to say!

The Big Pineapple
29 Jan 2008, 13:37

Because he was moving so well in his last few years at Carlton.

JG Hornet
29 Jan 2008, 14:03
So the Leverson Hotel is chief sponsor of the Blues again this year?

Max Leader
29 Jan 2008, 14:21

Heidelberg FC must not have room in their salary cap!!!

next Murphy and Franchina will also be picked up by the Blues (irony in the name!!)

Dee Snider
29 Jan 2008, 15:20
Heidelberg FC must not have room in their salary cap!!!

next Murphy and Franchina will also be picked up by the Blues (irony in the name!!)

Corey played 1 game for Heidelberg last year (v Eltham) and hardly had a kick. Murphy at Marby Park this year anyway....Zantuck joining Franchina at Heidelberg though.

Zillmere Eagles
29 Jan 2008, 19:19
Anyone interested in a change of lifestyle which includes playing for the Zillmere Eagles in the State League competition (AFLQ) please contact me privately.

The club has a terrific history and are a young club on the rise after playing in the 2006 AFLQ Grand Final and last season winning the Reserve Grade Premiership.

Club has been involved in some off field issues which are being resolved but the club is seeking recruits who feel they have something to offer at this level.

Over The Post
29 Jan 2008, 19:48
Few good signings at Blacks......P. Bowden, M. Bolton, M. Pask and a few others. Considering how Brighton and Collegians went last year, straight from B-grade with some good recruiting, looks like Blacks aren't there just to make up the numbers.

Good call Cats. Kevin Hillier was a bit scathing in todays local rag:

"I have heard Marty Pask is going to continue his footy by playing in the Amateurs. That is a great waste, I think, as he is still young enough to attract an AFL club by playing VFL, but no-one will see him where he is going, except in the stands when his fiance [sic] Leisel Jones is swimming."

Hint: you can see players much better when you pull your head out of your backside, Mr Hillier. If he's still interested, and the AFL guys are still interested, they'll find him. Should be some cracking matches in A section this year.

Jascave, we hereby appoint you the man in charge of changing Kevin Hillier's point of view. Come back when you can announce success!

diablo14
29 Jan 2008, 20:53

"I have heard Marty Pask is going to continue his footy by playing in the Amateurs. That is a great waste, I think, as he is still young enough to attract an AFL club by playing VFL, but no-one will see him where he is going, except in the stands when his fiance [sic] Leisel Jones is swimming."

Hint: you can see players much better when you pull your head out of your backside, Mr Hillier. If he's still interested, and the AFL guys are still interested, they'll find him. Should be some cracking matches in A section this year.

Jascave, we hereby appoint you the man in charge of changing Kevin Hillier's point of view. Come back when you can announce success!

He clearly hasn't been out and watched any Ammo's footy recently :thumbsd:

merc27
29 Jan 2008, 21:07

Who the hell is Kevin Hillier?? Is it the same bloke who used to count down the Top 40 about 10 years ago on Fox FM??

McKernan - maybe a late start for him as he is running a sporting tour to the USA to watch the Masters.

ultimate hater
30 Jan 2008, 07:50
He clearly hasn't been out and watched any Ammo's footy recently :thumbsd:

agreed.. clearly a muppet and armchair critic.. hello caroline wilson!

harper
30 Jan 2008, 09:23
Who the hell is Kevin Hillier?? Is it the same bloke who used to count down the Top 40 about 10 years ago on Fox FM??

Pretty sure this bloke is the media manager for the WRFL and host's a WRFL show on 88.9 wyn fm so you'd expect him to pot the VAFA at any oppurtunity.

Not sure if he is the same C grade radio celebrity that has been heard on fox and 3AK over the years

Jascave
30 Jan 2008, 09:30
Kevin Hillier would be better served interviewing Bono from U2 and updating Australia's Top 40 rather than commenting on VAFA issues. I guess some people don't give VAFA footy much credit and Hillier is one of those in that group. Maybe Kevin Hillier thinks that the WRFL is superior, when in actual fact, it's not.

JG Hornet
30 Jan 2008, 09:51
Kevin Hillier is the Peter Luck of FM radio and can often be heard in the summer months. I think he's been around since Glenn Miller. These Countdown men are stepping out of line – even the Jonathan Coleman Experience featured a slagging off of the Sholly rule.

Jascave
30 Jan 2008, 09:58
BTW, is Kevin Hillier any relation to Keith Hillier who does the racing on TVN?

Brunswick Street
30 Jan 2008, 10:16
Relevance please ?

ammos_king
2 Feb 2008, 10:49
St Bedes will be a big chance i believe this year! lots of new recruits and up and coming good players!

MyMission
3 Feb 2008, 16:22
St Bedes will be a big chance i believe this year! lots of new recruits and up and coming good players!

and Paul Groves only doing some of the drills SURPRISE SURPRISE

Penski
4 Feb 2008, 07:42

<insert team here> will be a big chance i believe this year! lots of new recruits and up and coming players!!

Maybe if you list some of the new recruits and we compare to the other teams that also have a lot of new recruits, we could make a proper assessment.

Surly23
4 Feb 2008, 07:59
<insert team here> will be a big chance i believe this year! lots of new recruits and up and coming players!!

Maybe if you list some of the new recruits and we compare to the other teams that also have a lot of new recruits, we could make a proper assessment.

Do you want Bevo's game plan as well?

Penski, if you drink and post you're a bloody idiot !

The Big Pineapple
4 Feb 2008, 08:48
Do you want Bevo's game plan as well?

Penski, if you drink and post you're a blood idiot !

The Surly one,

Don't think penski is having a crack at your boys there, more a crack at the amount of clowns that come on here and use cliches such as "Don't write off <insert team here>", "<Insert team here> will be in the mix this year" and "<Insert team here> will play finals this year, have recruited very".

Just pointless really.

TBP

BALLY3000
4 Feb 2008, 09:39
rumour going around is that jascave has been traded to st bedes in return hampton will recieve nufty dave from tigerland? i have heard ppl talking and they believe that st bedes have been harshly done by and they say that nufty dave smells better than you, makes more sense than you and is a better bloke than you jascave. only a rumour and i hope for those st bedes supporters that this rumour is not true.

Penski
4 Feb 2008, 11:37
The Surly one,

Don't think penski is having a crack at your boys there, more a crack at the amount of clowns that come on here and use cliches such as "Don't write off <insert team here>", "<Insert team here> will be in the mix this year" and "<Insert team here> will play finals this year, have recruited very".

Just pointless really.

TBP

My point exactly.

Scribe
5 Feb 2008, 10:36
Agreed - February is always rife with clubs supporters (AFL and VAFA) pumping up their teams' chances without any real basis.

However, the Tigers have certainly proven in the past 2 seasons that they've got the club structure and playing group to hit A grade with much momentum.

I doubt they will suffer the same fate of the last A grade debutants (Whitefriars in 2004) who were found wanting due to significant player losses.

If the Tigers have kept most of their list, they should still be in contention for a finals berth at roudn 14, but probably won't take the whole thing out. If they do, the C-B-A flag trifecta would surely be a VAFA first???

crazybear
5 Feb 2008, 11:35
No, But he maybe related to Earnest Hillier.

Rooster1979
5 Feb 2008, 13:42
If the Tigers have kept most of their list, they should still be in contention for a finals berth at roudn 14, but probably won't take the whole thing out. If they do, the C-B-A flag trifecta would surely be a VAFA first???

I may be wrong but I think Ivanhoe won D-C-B-A in the 1930's when they first entered the VAFA. I think they also hold the record for most consecutive wins in this streak remaining unbeaten for 3 and a half seasons

Johnny Utah #9
5 Feb 2008, 17:34
I may be wrong but I think Ivanhoe won D-C-B-A in the 1930's when they first entered the VAFA. I think they also hold the record for most consecutive wins in this streak remaining unbeaten for 3 and a half seasons

Don't think this is right. I'm pretty sure the only A-grade flag the 'hoers have won was in 1956.

Bulleen-Temp (late 1970's - mid 1980's) and Mazenod (late 1980's - mid 1990's) are right up there in terms of fastest ever promotions from the lowest grades up to A-grade.

uglydermie
5 Feb 2008, 18:29
Oh dear. I fear a Jascave history lesson coming........

Rooster1979
5 Feb 2008, 22:26
Oh dear. I fear a Jascave history lesson coming........

No doubt it will be in one of the VAFA annual reports sitting around at his house

btown
5 Feb 2008, 22:50
Don't think this is right. I'm pretty sure the only A-grade flag the 'hoers have won was in 1956.

Bulleen-Temp (late 1970's - mid 1980's) and Mazenod (late 1980's - mid 1990's) are right up there in terms of fastest ever promotions from the lowest grades up to A-grade.

Team called St Pius was zooming through the grades until ......... the money ran out!! Disbanded about round 5/6 back in the 80's

BIGJ
6 Feb 2008, 12:30
Team called St Pius was zooming through the grades until ......... the money ran out!! Disbanded about round 5/6 back in the 80's

Old Xavs and Ajax went from D Grade to A grade mid 70's to 1980

babyinablender
6 Feb 2008, 15:21
Wanted:

SBMT are currently seeking a new chin-up bar after the sudden demise of the existing one.

If anyone knows the where abouts of a new one let the club know...

Nargo Magumbo
6 Feb 2008, 16:57

North Old Boys in 60's went from E to A in successive years. E was lowest grade at the time.

NBULTY
7 Feb 2008, 09:52
Wanted:

SBMT are currently seeking a new chin-up bar after the sudden demise of the existing one.

If anyone knows the where abouts of a new one let the club know...

Are you going to let the rest of Bigfooty in on this joke?

Scribe
7 Feb 2008, 13:00
Are you going to let the rest of Bigfooty in on this joke?

Better get used to it on the A section board.

Certainly not the first STBMT in-joke, and doubtlessly not the last.
Groves, Kinsella and other STBMT luminaries are regularly the subject of posts from fellow team/club mates.

Cherry Picker
7 Feb 2008, 14:29

Groves, Kinsella and other STBMT luminaries are regularly the subject of posts from fellow team/club mates.

Oh Well, We will only have to put up with it for a year

Surly23
7 Feb 2008, 15:35

Scribe,
I will give you a 'out-joke', Fitzroy Reds!
Thanks
Surly

The Big Pineapple
7 Feb 2008, 15:40
Scribe,
Thanks
Surly

Zing!

hotdigitydog
7 Feb 2008, 16:33
Oh Well, We will only have to put up with it for a year

Why is that Cherry you from a celler dweller. Not saying SBMT will win the flag but they have more chance of that than being relegated

Scribe
7 Feb 2008, 18:39
Scribe,
Thanks
Surly

Can't see the relevance to any A grade discussion.

As I posted above, I'd expect STBMT to fare well this season. What their posters choose to throw in about their mates is a matter for themselves.

DangerMouse
7 Feb 2008, 21:31
David Kinsella has retired as he has crooked legs, Kieren McConnell will take over Number #38 and hopes to cement his place in the magoos

goal kicking wingman
8 Feb 2008, 10:30

Matty hilton(SBMT) any good? Will he play ones? I hear he is a dangerous forward pocket/flanker.

Surly23
8 Feb 2008, 10:38
Matty hilton(SBMT) any good? Will he play ones? I hear he is a dangerous forward pocket/flanker.

Keep an eye on this bloke.... will be pushing for a state game.

Is also very handy with the opposite sex!

Cherry Picker
8 Feb 2008, 10:48
Why is that Cherry you from a celler dweller. Not saying SBMT will win the flag but they have more chance of that than being relegated

"More chance of winning the flag than being relegated"

So much to learn SBMT.

We will talk in July when you are 2 and 8

THE BEACON
8 Feb 2008, 12:08
Been saying that for the last 2 years

Max Leader
8 Feb 2008, 12:30
Memo to the Moderator

Please change this thread to:

"SBMT (How good are we?) - OX (Never heard of them!)"

BrianSpeaking
8 Feb 2008, 12:50
St Bedes will be a good ordinary side with a good home ground advantage.

Slay Master G
8 Feb 2008, 13:23
Brian, I will have to disagree with you, I think the Bogans will be good this year, a definite finals if not premiership contender.

They will win 8+ at home and really only need 4 of 9 away wins for September.

Contenders:
Xavs
St. Bogans
Collegians
Brighton
Blues

Jury's out:
Scotch
De La

Pretenders:
Blacks
Trinity
Ivanhoe

Surly23
8 Feb 2008, 13:33
St Bedes will be a good ordinary side with a good home ground advantage.

BS my boy haven't you heard? we have offered North Melbourne $1000000000 to merge and we will actually only spending one year in A grade before entering the AFL...

We aren't talking it up... we have been only defending ourselves against people on Big Footy talking us down (like any any good team we stick together)!!

It will be an exciting year for the boys and anything above relegation will be a result..

As for you Cherry Tosser are you giving me odds that SBMT will not win more than two games in the first 10? Put up or shut up!

Have a nice weekend all!

Surly

Cherry Picker
8 Feb 2008, 13:54
Keep an eye on this bloke.... will be pushing for a state game.

Is also very handy with the opposite sex!

That surprises me. You have to question anyone who plays with a rainbow on there jumper.

Fairy Bogan

Surly23
8 Feb 2008, 14:02
That surprises me. You have to question anyone who plays with a rainbow on there jumper.

Fairy Bogan

Not giving me odds?

I know, if SBMT win more than 2 out of the first 10, I get to remove the Silverspoon from your arse with an axe?

Cherry Picker
8 Feb 2008, 14:39
Not giving me odds?

I know, if SBMT win more than 2 out of the first 10, I get to remove the Silverspoon from your arse with an axe?

Its know surprise you want to have a crack at my arse.

Fairy

JG Hornet
8 Feb 2008, 14:46
Brian, I will have to disagree with you, I think the Bogans will be good this year, a definite finals if not premiership contender.

They will win 8+ at home and really only need 4 of 9 away wins for September.

Contenders:
Xavs
St. Bogans
Collegians
Brighton
Blues

Jury's out:
Scotch
De La

Pretenders:
Blacks
Trinity
Ivanhoe

I reckon the jury might make a hasty return on De La – tough times at the La.

Every time I go for a run or swim or just go to the gym, I keep seeing super fit, Aryan looking blokes in Scotch singlets. Who are these blokes, I've never seen 'em before in my life! Then again, Scotch have a history of looking a million bucks at this time of year.

Don't underestimate Blacks.

Surly23
8 Feb 2008, 14:49
Its know surprise you want to have a crack at my arse.

Fairy

Still no odds?

And as for your arse I wouldn't be the first!

Cherry, that's a manly name.....

goal kicking wingman
8 Feb 2008, 16:23
Is patty bowden at blacks or going to balwyn?

river man
8 Feb 2008, 17:54
Still no odds?

And as for your arse I wouldn't be the first!

Cherry, that's a manly name.....

Surley23, you are talking like a true beach side tool. Have a look at what happened last year to the lippy brighton boys.....they were taught a football lesson by a true contender. Coming up from B Grade (which is exactly what it is, B Grade) should be taken into consideration, you were not playing against the best teams in the ammos for a reason. Stop pretending that winning B grade premierships is a good result for a club. Make a proper name for your self before you start lipping up. There are 9 other teams you must surpass before you need to even start thinking about pretending you are a good football team let alone a good football club. See you at mad monday in very early september.

red devil1
8 Feb 2008, 18:02
Is patty bowden at blacks or going to balwyn?

I walk with someone from Balywn. They have signed bowden, joel smith and nick smith (melb).

Surly23
11 Feb 2008, 08:14
Surley23, you are talking like a true beach side tool. Have a look at what happened last year to the lippy brighton boys.....they were taught a football lesson by a true contender. Coming up from B Grade (which is exactly what it is, B Grade) should be taken into consideration, you were not playing against the best teams in the ammos for a reason. Stop pretending that winning B grade premierships is a good result for a club. Make a proper name for your self before you start lipping up. There are 9 other teams you must surpass before you need to even start thinking about pretending you are a good football team let alone a good football club. See you at mad monday in very early september.

Sorry RM what was I thinking.... Winning premierships at any grade under A is S H I Thouse and why even celebrate with a week long party with your best mates on free piss provided by the sponsors and the club. The last two years I haven't enjoyed at all and I am not sure why I even went back to the clubrooms on GF day...

Oh yes and I'm the tool!!!!

And as for seeing you Mad Monday, I don't like them either, too much fun......

Everyday Spelling
11 Feb 2008, 10:57
Sorry RM what was I thinking.... Winning premierships at any grade under A is S H I Thouse and why even celebrate with a week long party with your best mates on free piss provided by the sponsors and the club. The last two years I haven't enjoyed at all and I am not sure why I even went back to the clubrooms on GF day...

Oh yes and I'm the tool!!!!

And as for seeing you Mad Monday, I don't like them either, too much fun......

But surly my good man you didn't play in lasts years win cause you needed a break.
Am i not correct????

soupsey
11 Feb 2008, 11:46
Never sledge any premiership. They are hard to win at any level. RM does however make a reasonable point that due to the promotion / relegation component of our competition, it is impossible to compare a b grade flag to an A grade.

Cherry Picker
11 Feb 2008, 11:47
But surly my good man you didn't play in lasts years win cause you needed a break.
Am i not correct????

Need a break - HA HA HA

Surly, what odds do you give me that you are a soft fairy?

BIGJ
11 Feb 2008, 12:09
"More chance of winning the flag than being relegated"

So much to learn SBMT.

We will talk in July when you are 2 and 8

St Bedes . They are not very nice people out there... just check last year's B grade comments.... smart arses and extreme lack of respect for any opposition..... It is starting again now that they have reached A grade and hopefully they will learn about top class Clubs and how to conduct themselves....
I recall that Club when they were in the lower grades and they were half decent.... recently they have big heads and time they got their backsides kicked week in and week out!

Everyday Spelling
11 Feb 2008, 12:59
St Bedes . They are not very nice people out there... just check last year's B grade comments.... smart arses and extreme lack of respect for any opposition..... It is starting again now that they have reached A grade and hopefully they will learn about top class Clubs and how to conduct themselves....
I recall that Club when they were in the lower grades and they were half decent.... recently they have big heads and time they got their backsides kicked week in and week out!

Let me guess......your from Ajax.

Go finish your unfinished business.

BIGJ
11 Feb 2008, 13:53
Let me guess......your from Ajax.

Go finish your unfinished business.

Actually not from ajax !!!! but you have just confirmed what I was saying ... Pity "A" grade Clubs if you and your mates are let loose with your vitriol.

THE BEACON
11 Feb 2008, 15:25

So using your logic there is no top class clubs below A grade, bit of an insult to the rest of the clubs involved in VAFA footy.

BIGJ
11 Feb 2008, 15:35
So using your logic there is no top class clubs below A grade, bit of an insult to the rest of the clubs involved in VAFA footy.

Sorry to "THE BEACON.".I did not mean that... but St Bedes Mentone Tigers need to be a little more humble.... SBMT have upset many Clubs on their way up,with their arrogance ... Hope they can learn to respect the opposition...

Quick Eze
11 Feb 2008, 15:58
Sorry to "THE BEACON.".I did not mean that... but St Bedes Mentone Tigers need to be a little more humble.... SBMT have upset many Clubs on their way up,with their arrogance ... Hope they can learn to respect the opposition...

Pretty big statement there BIG J!

Why don't you name the Clubs or Club (AJAX) you are talking about?

The Goats
11 Feb 2008, 16:22
Pretty big statement there BIG J!

Why don't you name the Clubs or Club (AJAX) you are talking about?

To be honest Quick, i think it would be harder to find a club that does actually respect SBMT and the way they go about things.

No doubt they can play footy, and full credit to you guys for that, just the calibre of blokes playing and your feral supporters is your major problem.

YackTalk
11 Feb 2008, 20:02
To be honest Quick, i think it would be harder to find a club that does actually respect SBMT and the way they go about things.

No doubt they can play footy, and full credit to you guys for that, just the calibre of blokes playing and your feral supporters is your major problem.

I am a former player who played while the club was in E/D Grade. I have seen the club merge, win promotions to higher grades and evolve into the club it is today. I am more than proud of the club, players and supporters. We have received many accolades from VAFA HQ. Our supporters are no where near as feral as some clubs i have seen.

As a newbie to A Grade, I am looking forward to this year to see how well we compete. I cant wait for Round 1 - St Bedes v De La Salle. I always knew back in 1985 that one day this would happen. Bring on Season 2008.

Lupton Warchild Pittman
11 Feb 2008, 20:25
Speaking of bad blokes, will the return of the self proclaimed "Panther" Torney at Uni Blues tip them towards the flag or take the club towards Old Xavs as the epicentre of squeezers playing VAFA football?

Quick Eze
12 Feb 2008, 10:11

Goats,

People in Glass houses should maybe resist the temptation of throwing stones. OE aren't exactly an ornament of the VAFA... SBMT are a lot of things but unlike OE at least they stick together on-field when the going gets tough. Maybe taking a leaf from their book may win you a final!

Plumber
13 Feb 2008, 18:12
Goats,

People in Glass houses should maybe resist the temptation of throwing stones. OE aren't exactly an ornament of the VAFA... SBMT are a lot of things but unlike OE at least they stick together on-field when the going gets tough. Maybe taking a leaf from their book may win you a final!

Having only been involved in A-Section for 10 years I was wondering who St Bedes Mentone were?

Did they win six or seven A-Grade flags when I was at the Elsternwick Hotel?

NBULTY
14 Feb 2008, 08:21
Having only been involved in A-Section for 10 years I was wondering who St Bedes Mentone were?

Did they win six or seven A-Grade flags when I was at the Elsternwick Hotel?

Be patient Plumber... you'll know who SBMT are soon enough.

Rooster1979
14 Feb 2008, 10:03
New Free VAFA Tipping website is available at www.vafatipping.com (http://www.vafatipping.com)

You can tip A section along with every other VAFA grade

Register Now!!!

ultimate hater
14 Feb 2008, 11:10
Be patient Plumber... you'll know who SBMT are soon enough.

(read between the lines "stbm are going to win the next 5 A grade flags")

Plumber
14 Feb 2008, 11:54
(read between the lines "stbm are going to win the next 5 A grade flags")

Are you sarcastic or dillusional?

soupsey
14 Feb 2008, 12:30

Great to have you back plumber, let's see how these flogs enjoy the real stuff! They remind me of the little yappy dog in the cartoons. Always circling and fannoying the big dog. What's that saying about empty vessels?

ultimate hater
14 Feb 2008, 13:01

plumber, did you really need to ask...

Surly23
14 Feb 2008, 14:28
Great to have you back plumber, let's see how these flogs enjoy the real stuff! They remind me of the little yappy dog in the cartoons. Always circling and fannoying the big dog. What's that saying about empty vessels?

What the?

Fannoying
Definition
A person who is being extemely annoying to c@#$heads..
Fannoy
To annoy a c@#$head
Sentence
SBMT people like to fannoy soupsey .

Cherry Picker
14 Feb 2008, 14:57
What the?

Fannoying
Definition
A person who is being extemely annoying to a c@#$heads..
Fannoy
To annoy a c@#$head
Sentence

You would keep a dictionary close,

You stupid Tip Rat

ultimate hater
14 Feb 2008, 14:58
What the?

Fannoying
Definition
A person who is being extemely annoying to a c@#$heads..
Fannoy
To annoy a c@#$head
Sentence

actually i think you are wrong there surly...

"Damn, Janina is so fannoying !!!"

Ref: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=fannoying

urban dictionary... its what cool people use... werd

Surly23
14 Feb 2008, 15:03
You would keep a dictionary close,

You stupid Tip Rat

I thought I was a Fairy Bogan!

Any odds yet loser?

Cherry Picker
14 Feb 2008, 15:14
I thought I was a Fairy Bogan!

Any odds yet loser?

What difference is it going to make if I give you odds?

Do You really think I will come down to boganville and collect your CentreLink Cheque?

Surly23
14 Feb 2008, 16:40
What difference is it going to make if I give you odds?

Do You really think I will come down to boganville and collect your CentreLink Cheque?

Tip Rat & Boganville, ouch!

Listen here Newbie the only cherry you would have picked (Flicked) is your mums and it was the size of a very large (new york style) hot dog!!

Come up with odds and something new other than Bogan, Tool, Tip rat or **** off back to your mothers bossom. I bet you were one of the freak boys at school still breast feeding through the school wire fence at age 15.

Sorry to the rest of the posted for my rant, but he is a ****ing twit with nothing new to add to this thread...

Surly

Scribe
14 Feb 2008, 16:58
Tip Rat & Boganville, ouch!

Listen here Newbie the only cherry you would have picked (Flicked) is your mums and it was the size of a very large (new york style) hot dog!!

Come up with odds and something new other than Bogan, Tool, Tip rat or **** off back to your mothers bossom. I bet you were one of the freak boys at school still breast feeding through the school wire fence at age 15.

Sorry to the rest of the posted for my rant, but he is a ****ing twit with nothing new to add to this thread...

Surly

Agreed......you needn't have bothered dignifying it with a response. :)

nicho_magic
14 Feb 2008, 18:59
collegians will win a section this year, the others are all joking themselves

Everyday Spelling
15 Feb 2008, 07:27
You are kidding me right!!!!!

Check this out. The grounds article.
What the!!!!

http://www.oldxavs.com/arc_news.htm

Penski
15 Feb 2008, 07:33
collegians will win a section this year, the others are all joking themselves

I'm a Collegians man myself, and we have plenty of great talent, but I think there's a few in the mix nicho, of which Collegians are one.

I think Xavs to finish on top again, Uni Blacks to make the four along with Collegians, and then i think there's another 2-3 that could get that final spot.

ITSMYNAME
15 Feb 2008, 07:37
You are kidding me right!!!!!

Check this out. The grounds article.
What the!!!!

http://www.oldxavs.com/arc_news.htm

That is ridiculous. What have Xavs got against St bedes, they have never played before so clearly no bad blood, yet they are pretty much calling them out.

'Club assistant coach Lex Vasdekis said that the visit will be of great benefit to the players. "It will enable them to view a part of Australia's history that is perhaps unknown to them, while the journey will prepare them for the treacherous road trip later in the season to St Bede's Mentone," said the tanned fitness guru."[/FONT][/LEFT]

Scribe
15 Feb 2008, 08:14
That is ridiculous. What have Xavs got against St bedes, they have never played before so clearly no bad blood, yet they are pretty much calling them out.

'Club assistant coach Lex Vasdekis said that the visit will be of great benefit to the players. "It will enable them to view a part of Australia's history that is perhaps unknown to them, while the journey will prepare them for the treacherous road trip later in the season to St Bede's Mentone," said the tanned fitness guru."[/FONT][/LEFT]

Consider it a compliment.

It took the contributors on oldxavs.com about 3 seasons to even acknowledge OTs as a competitive A grade side. The Hoers were probably in the same category, whilst Whitefriars never got a mention (understandably so).

I've strolled the Brindisi St surface recently, and can confirm it's barely half the size of the monstrous, magnificently manicured Daley Oval at Trinity.

Doesn't mean anything, there's still 4 posts at each end and a white line around the boundary.

Relax lads - everyone knows you guys will have a handy home ground advantage, and it helps Brighton no end each season.

Jascave
15 Feb 2008, 08:15
I wouldn't be surprised if that article found its way into St Bedes Mentone's locker room and the coach will pin the article on the board as a 'motivational tool'. Prepare for fireworks when Old Xavs meet St Bedes Mentone, should be an interesting game!!

Cherry Picker
15 Feb 2008, 08:18
"I bet you were one of the freak boys at school still breast feeding through the school wire fence at age 15."

I can't recall ever going to school behind a wire fence Surly.

They must do it differently down your way.

ultimate hater
15 Feb 2008, 08:22
I'm a Collegians man myself, and we have plenty of great talent, but I think there's a few in the mix nicho, of which Collegians are one.

I think Xavs to finish on top again, Uni Blacks to make the four along with Collegians, and then i think there's another 2-3 that could get that final spot.

Nicho is taking the piss... and as for uni Blacks making the four?? you have to be taking the piss also! No chance of them making the four, the only reason they went up a grade this year is because they were lucky enough to play OEG in a final, which pretty much handed them a win and you think they'll walk into the top four?

Collegians won the section last year with confidence and didn't make the top four (i mean make top four come finals), yet the blacks who scrapped through will make it? highly doubtful... and yes, i've heard about their "star" recruits.. but it means nothing untill the first round..