View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43

Surly23
15 Feb 2008, 08:24
Consider it a compliment.

It took the contributors on oldxavs.com about 3 seasons to even acknowledge OTs as a competitive A grade side. The Hoers were probably in the same category, whilst Whitefriars never got a mention (understandably so).

I've strolled the Brindisi St surface recently, and can confirm it's barely half the size of the monstrous, magnificently manicured Daley Oval at Trinity.

Doesn't mean anything, there's still 4 posts at each end and a white line around the boundary.

Relax lads - everyone knows you guys will have a handy home ground advantage, and it helps Brighton no end each season.

Trying to Scribe but the boys are pump!

Big numbers on the track, recent success (I know in lower grades) and the club playing A grade for the first time has us all champing at the bit..

Bring on round 1 and a chance to play against the best the VAFA has to offer..

The Big Pineapple
15 Feb 2008, 08:32
I wouldn't be surprised if that article found its way into St Bedes Mentone's locker room and the coach will pin the article on the board as a 'motivational tool'. Prepare for fireworks when Old Xavs meet St Bedes Mentone, should be an interesting game!!

Give me strength Jason. If you need something likle that to give you motivation then you should hang up the boots and take up stamp collecting because you have no life.

I've been a long time critic of Brindisi St, but can't actually see where Xavs have a go at Brindisi St. Yes, they say it's small, that is fact, but not once do they say a negative word about it.

It's simply a good comparison of all the A Grade grounds and will help their players adjust to the size when they play there.

Fair beat up of a harmless article.

The Big Pineapple
15 Feb 2008, 08:34
You are kidding me right!!!!!

Check this out. The grounds article.
What the!!!!

http://www.oldxavs.com/arc_news.htm

A little bit precious? To me they are just stating the obvious.

Good article.

Eddie Woloschek
15 Feb 2008, 08:43
You are kidding me right!!!!!

Check this out. The grounds article.
What the!!!!

http://www.oldxavs.com/arc_news.htm

Are you arguing the size or complaining about the colour of the map? The shoddy sketch merely illustrates the relative differences between ground sizes. The article suggests that SBMT might go better away than visiting clubs will at Mentone. It might well be a treacherous road trip for a lot of teams.

Everyday Spelling
15 Feb 2008, 08:45
A little bit precious? To me they are just stating the obvious.

Good article.

I agree with you Pine head on most of what you are saying. I certainly didn't put it on here saying they were having a go.

All i was doing was raising it because someone has spent alot of time on google maps comparing the size of the ovals. It shows that they are clearly worried about it. Advantage SBMT.

It doesn't suprise me TBP that you are anti Brindisi as you were involved in the only team ever to refuse to play on it, were you not.

The Big Pineapple
15 Feb 2008, 08:54
I agree with you Pine head on most of what you are saying. I certainly didn't put it on here saying they were having a go.

All i was doing was raising it because someone has spent alot of time on google maps comparing the size of the ovals. It shows that they are clearly worried about it. Advantage SBMT.

It doesn't suprise me TBP that you are anti Brindisi as you were involved in the only team ever to refuse to play on it, were you not.

That's correct. The ground was an absolute hazard that day and the right steps were taken to improve the ground so the senior game could be played that day. It was just unfortunate that your reserves missed out on a chance to play finals.

Agreed though, someone has far too much time on their hands but I wouldn't say they are worried about playing you guys. Just doing their homework which is why they have the record they do over the past 10-15 years.

Good luck to you guys this year... definitely deserve a crack in A Grade.

BrianSpeaking
15 Feb 2008, 09:59
Make sure all of you lads vote for our brother Jason Cave on the Old Xavs website poll!

Magnificence
15 Feb 2008, 10:34
That is ridiculous. What have Xavs got against St bedes, they have never played before so clearly no bad blood, yet they are pretty much calling them out.

'Club assistant coach Lex Vasdekis said that the visit will be of great benefit to the players. "It will enable them to view a part of Australia's history that is perhaps unknown to them, while the journey will prepare them for the treacherous road trip later in the season to St Bede's Mentone," said the tanned fitness guru."[/font][/left]

Wise words from Alex Vasdekis at old Xavs. This guys is one of the best motivational speakers in VAFA football. Massive inclusion for old Xavs and he knows the Lions list back to front.. which could be very handy come finals

Apple Core
15 Feb 2008, 10:38
[quote=The Big Pineapple;10092876]That's correct. The ground was an absolute hazard that day and the right steps were taken to improve the ground so the senior game could be played that day. It was just unfortunate that your reserves missed out on a chance to play finals.

Bridisi st has been and will always be tiny, fact. The worrying thing is that the surface is terrible. It is clearly not fit for 'A' grade football. I propose all 'A' grade clubs refuse to make that dreaded trip. Shit surface, shit size, shit ground. Maybe play st Bedes home games at the 'Wick'.

Trouble shooting jascave will no doubt come up with the correct solution.

The Big Pineapple
15 Feb 2008, 10:53
Bridisi st has been and will always be tiny, fact. The worrying thing is that the surface is terrible. It is clearly not fit for 'A' grade football. I propose all 'A' grade clubs refuse to make that dreaded trip. Shit surface, shit size, shit ground. Maybe play st Bedes home games at the 'Wick'.

Trouble shooting jascave will no doubt come up with the correct solution.

Agreed AC - They just don't get it at Brindisi St.

Whenever someone talks about the size of it they always get straight on the front foot. The size isn't the issue. It's actually the surface that's the real concern. I can handle kicking goals from the wing... I can't handle the uneven surface, inconsistent grass, sand pits and pot holes.

diablo14
15 Feb 2008, 11:07

Whenever someone talks about the size of it they always get straight on the front foot. The size isn't the issue. It's actually the surface that's the real concern. I can handle kicking goals from the wing... I can't handle the uneven surface, inconsistent grass, sand pits and pot holes.

As an SBMT watcher and local resident, I have to agree with the last part. The ground surface is terrible.

Surly23
15 Feb 2008, 11:07

Don't get your hair in a tizz ladies... it has been re-surfaced in the cricket season..

Surly

Richard Clay Torpedoes
15 Feb 2008, 11:09
Apple and Pineapple....been a while since you have seen the ground surfaces at Brindisi Street and EP I gather...I've seen them both of them this week and one is far better than the other...one is green, one is brown and patchy...one of them has been resurfaced again since last season and been resown with Santa Anna couch implanted through it late last year..guess which one it is??????

Oh yes the other 9 'A' Section clubs are very worried about playing at Mentone....evidenced by the FACT that every one of them requested in their submission to the VAFA that their game against SBMT be played at EP.

Game On...

RCT

The Big Pineapple
15 Feb 2008, 11:12
Apple and Pineapple....been a while since you have seen the ground surfaces at Brindisi Street and EP I gather...I've seen them both of them this week and one is far better than the other...one is green, one is brown and patchy...one of them has been resurfaced again since last season and been resown with Santa Anna couch implanted through it late last year..guess which one it is??????

Oh yes the other 9 'A' Section clubs are very worried about playing at Mentone....evidenced by the FACT that every one of them requested in their submission to the VAFA that their game against SBMT be played at EP.

Game On...

RCT

Yawn!

No one's worried buddy. They were just looking after their players.

Good on SBMT for rectifying a massive OH&S issue.

Well overdue!

ultimate hater
15 Feb 2008, 11:13

RCT

Would you like to back that up with some evidence RCT?

Richard Clay Torpedoes
15 Feb 2008, 11:25
Perhaps SBMT need to get 'The Milky Bar Kid' to address the next VAFA Members meeting and extend a apology on behalf of the Mentone Mayor,Councillors and decision makers from back in the late 1880's and all susbequent officials, grounds staff etc...who didn't have the foresight in their planning of the oval that would cause such a problem to primarily OEG but also to other VAFA clubs who have had to play football at Brindisi Street from 1993, and to all the clubs who played in the former South East Suburban, Federal League and so on for the incovenience caused to every footballer having to play on a smaller ground with a sub standard surface.

I'm sorry....very sorry....we are extremely sorry....

river man
15 Feb 2008, 11:37
Are you arguing the size or complaining about the colour of the map? The shoddy sketch merely illustrates the relative differences between ground sizes. The article suggests that SBMT might go better away than visiting clubs will at Mentone. It might well be a treacherous road trip for a lot of teams.

Eddie, who ever put those comparrisons of the ovals together on that website is very inovative. I was suprised to to see how vast the differences were.

Sure, any team with a ground disimilar to the rest of the competition may have some reason to beleieve that a home ground advantage may be present, but I am still bewildered by the cockyness of a team making their way from the lower grades. Teams have done it in the past and made little or no impact on A Grade. Brighton made an impact last year, but when it came to the crunch fell well short.

The upward march of STBM reminds me alot of the way Mazenod strode through the grades at a rate of knotts afew years back only to become a bit of an A Grade B grade yo yo. They too had a home ground advantage out at the nod bowl. Hope you guys are good at walking to dog down at Brindisi St.

Rooster1979
15 Feb 2008, 11:41

Game On...

RCT

You guys are all squealing like private school boys..... get over it!

Dee Snider
15 Feb 2008, 11:43

RCT

Sant Anna couch hybernates in the winter months and goes yellow. Looks like it is dead - but its not. This grass is best suited to summer sports - like cricket - as it generally only turns green for warm weather.

Unfortunatley, this type of grass will not improve the appearance of the surface in the cold months, but it will improve the feel/safety of the ground. Should be nice and soft.

ultimate hater
15 Feb 2008, 12:07
Sant Anna couch hybernates in the winter months and goes yellow. Looks like it is dead - but its not. This grass is best suited to summer sports - like cricket - as it generally only turns green for warm weather.

Unfortunatley, this type of grass will not improve the appearance of the surface in the cold months, but it will improve the feel/safety of the ground. Should be nice and soft.

I'm impressed DS... How does it handle the rain? I've got a feeling this winter is going to be a wet one... I can smell it..

Plumber
15 Feb 2008, 12:30

Game On...

RCT[/quote]

Perhaps they were worried until the VAFA confimed that the finals will be played at EP and perhaps Box Hill.

Who gives a toss about the home & away season anyway?

Surly23
15 Feb 2008, 12:41

Game On...

RCT

Perhaps they were worried until the VAFA confimed that the finals will be played at EP and perhaps Box Hill.

Who gives a toss about the home & away season anyway?[/quote]

Nice Plumber! Like a giant peacock, you just spread those beautiful wings for everyone to admire..

Dee Snider
15 Feb 2008, 15:01
I'm impressed DS... How does it handle the rain? I've got a feeling this winter is going to be a wet one... I can smell it..

Handles water well. The ground cover will remain strong - just the color will go. The reason the major cricket grounds love it so much is because it is a warm weather grass. It lends itself to wear and tear very well and as a 'fine leaf grass' will be very accomodating to players, no doubt about it.

As a playing surface it should be fantastic - just didn't want anyone thinking that when the color goes middle of the year, the grass is dying because thats not the case. Also, if its brown and not taking now - visually it won't get any better in winter. Might be another season away from getting the full benefit...

OK..now back to the footy.

Plumber
17 Feb 2008, 11:38

Who gives a toss about the home & away season anyway?

Nice Plumber! Like a giant peacock, you just spread those beautiful wings for everyone to admirer..[/quote]

Surly, please double check your grammar before attempting to pot someone on here.

Many thanks,

Surly23
18 Feb 2008, 09:18
Nice Plumber! Like a giant peacock, you just spread those beautiful wings for everyone to admirer..

Surly, please double check your grammar before attempting to pot someone on here.

Many thanks,[/quote]

Plumber, it is 12.30pm on a hot Sunday and you are on your computer worried about my grammar..... Maybe you should get a life away from Bigfooty and RedTube.

There is another sad little man on this site also looking for friends, maybe PM Jascave and you can get together for a coffee sometime and then you won't have to spend beautiful days like Sunday giving grammar lessons on Bigfooty..

And by the way I was not potting you in my first post but now I am....

Many thanks

Surly

Plumber
18 Feb 2008, 09:33

Many thanks,

Plumber, it is 12.30pm on a hot Sunday and you are on your computer worried about my grammar..... Maybe you should get a life away from Bigfooty and RedTube.

There is another sad little man on this site also looking for friends, maybe PM Jascave and you can get together for a coffee sometime and then you won't have to spend beautiful days like Sunday giving grammar lessons on Bigfooty..

And by the way I was not potting you in my first post but now I am....

Many thanks

Surly[/quote]

I can't be bothered getting involved in a verbal barrage on a Monday morning, but I thank you for opening my eyes to RedTube.

Over The Post
18 Feb 2008, 10:24
If either of you can tear yourselves away from pr0n for a minute, can you please remove the extra [/quote] from the middle of your replies to each other?

Yours sincerely,
Bigfooty Forum Message Formatting Police With Nothing Better To Do

Dim Sim
19 Feb 2008, 17:46
Hey guys, just after your thoughts on T. Bevacqua and J. Sibilia(University Blacks)? Heard a whisper our club was chasing them fairly hard...

BrianSpeaking
19 Feb 2008, 23:51
Hey guys, just after your thoughts on T. Bevacqua and J. Sibilia(University Blacks)? Heard a whisper our club was chasing them fairly hard...
Whos your club? They played A Section with SKOB from 98 to 2000, then played D1 and C for a couple of years. Both last played in B Section for one season each in 2006.
Sibba mecurial goal sneak when he wants to be, very lazy though, Beva a great kick who plays half forward, slow but smart.
Both good fellas.

ShinSplints
20 Feb 2008, 14:19
seriously whos gonna beat st bedes?? with 3 added talented ruckman, a bunch of fast skilled 19 year olds and a QAFL B&F on an already impressive line up. ??

Will make top 4 possibly go all the way.

hotdigitydog
20 Feb 2008, 15:02
seriously whos gonna beat st bedes?? with 3 added talented ruckman, a bunch of fast skilled 19 year olds and a QAFL B&F on an already impressive line up. ??

Thats a stupid call and one that doesn't represent the view of 99% of the people at the club. Sure we expect to be more than competative but to make the statement 'seriously whos gonna beat st bedes' is a ridiculous one.

You just need to look at Collegians last year, were as domiant as St Bedes in B grade the year before, started well and faded badly.

Cherry Picker
20 Feb 2008, 15:26

Going on your name, I can only assume you play.

Plumber
20 Feb 2008, 17:42

3 added ruckmen? So your side will have 4-5 ruckmen and a bunch of inexperienced 19yo midfielders.

Where can I get some money on the boys from the bayside?

soupsey
20 Feb 2008, 18:29
Thats a stupid call and one that doesn't represent the view of 99% of the people at the club. Sure we expect to be more than competative but to make the statement 'seriously whos gonna beat st bedes' is a ridiculous one.

You just need to look at Collegians last year, were as domiant as St Bedes in B grade the year before, started well and faded badly.

Well blow me down with a feather. A sensible ST bedes post. Collegians were clearly the best side in B in 2006 and were very competitive last year. I do think that you have to be exceptional to be 19/20 yrs old and have a consistent impact on A grade. So I think St b's will start enthusiastically and perhaps find the size and pace a bit much towards the end of a long season. Bit like Collegians did this year. Welcome aboard dog.

Stumpy McFadden
21 Feb 2008, 00:03
obviously shin splints doesn't represent SBMT, the tigers walking in blindly against opposition they haven't played before. dont expect anything other than a contest from the boys from bayside. one of my mates reckons bevo talks about golf too much.......

ShinSplints
21 Feb 2008, 08:57
whos says im with st bedes??? Im merely pointing out facts. As an onlooker they look good .. really good!!

Eddie Woloschek
21 Feb 2008, 09:07
There are ten A Section teams flying right now. The practice matches might give us a notion. The early season might be a better pointer. By the mid-year, the chaff might emerge; and by August, the real challengers should be evident. Then the real game begins.

ITSMYNAME
21 Feb 2008, 09:46
What i don't understand is why people from st bedes would come on here and pump themselves up putting more pressure on themselves that they don't need first year in A grade and making their club look stupid along the way.

or

why someone would come on and say they are from st bedes when they are not and put such stupid predictions and talk trash about recruits and signings. they must be absoloute kretons. get a life you idiots, its not funny or worth reading you're junk. put something worth reading from your own club.

check ya.

Destination A Grade
21 Feb 2008, 11:05
The way i read it is that the boys have been told by the club to calm down on the "We're the best, we're going to smash you" talk.

As Itsmyname says, shooting from the hip can only add pressure to - from all reports - a young teams shoulders.

Good luck to them though, there are ten teams in it, and only one can win it.

Surly23
21 Feb 2008, 12:54
The way i read it is that the boys have been told by the club to calm down on the "We're the best, we're going to smash you" talk.

As Itsmyname says, shooting from the hip can only add pressure to - from all reports - a young teams shoulders.

Good luck to them though, there are ten teams in it, and only one can win it.

Don't read too much into it Destination A Grade, Shinsplints is not from STBM and is a little boy playing silly games..

Thanks for your kind wishes and yes only one side will win...

Monkeyboy
21 Feb 2008, 14:18
It would be great result if they can make it to the GF to be smahed by Xavier. Only 1 club will get this opportunity, and who knows it may very well be Bedes.

BrianSpeaking
21 Feb 2008, 20:09
It would be great result if they can make it to the GF to be smahed by Xavier. Only 1 club will get this opportunity, and who knows it may very well be Bedes.
No-one cares about Xavier, only Xavier people.

Monkeyboy
22 Feb 2008, 08:03

Nobody cared about Lance Armstrong or Walter Lindrum or Heather McKay. Domination can be disturbing for outsiders. I share and acknowledge your pain.

river man
22 Feb 2008, 08:19

Brian, are you in the habit of contradicting yourself. If you didn't care about the xavier people or any school/club, why would you spend your time on writing such a thread.

Jascave
22 Feb 2008, 08:58
Which VAFA coach do you reckon could get a job at either a AFL club or a VFL club as assistant coach, or specialist coach (ie skills, goalkicking, matchday strageties etc)?

soupsey
22 Feb 2008, 09:14

Even fewer people care about St Kevins people! Which grade are they in now?

Johnny Utah #9
22 Feb 2008, 10:03
Even fewer people care about St Kevins people! Which grade are they in now?

Finalists last year in B-grade.

Slay Master G
22 Feb 2008, 10:13
Which VAFA coach do you reckon could get a job at either a AFL club or a VFL club as assistant coach, or specialist coach (ie skills, goalkicking, matchday strageties etc)?

Dan "Dancing with the champ" Winkel (OI coach) has already performed a VFL role with Geelong. Therefore, I think he could do it again! A ripping bloke is Dan, good luck to him and his troops at OI.

Plumber
22 Feb 2008, 10:15
Finalists last year in B-grade.

Second rate Catholics.

St Kevins is the equivalent to going to Moonee Valley the night before Derby Day. Even the horses don't care.

Cherry Picker
22 Feb 2008, 10:21
Second rate Catholics.

St Kevins is the equivalent to going to Moonee Valley the night before Derby Day. Even the horses don't care.

Vintage Plumber.

Surly23
22 Feb 2008, 10:31
Nobody cared about Lance Armstrong or Walter Lindrum or Heather McKay. Domination can be disturbing for outsiders. I share and acknowledge your pain.

Monkey,

According to the Indian language (Harbhajan) your name means F#$%witBoy.... I think this is very appropriate!

Surly

flying dutchman
22 Feb 2008, 10:47
Second rate Catholics.

Great call mate, playing a couple of seasons at old xavs a few years ago there are by far the most professional club i have come across, loads of great blokes on and off the field, teams like st bedes wont know what hit them rd 7 at toorak park, you wont get teams like Ajax who hang out like sheep dogs and other second rate teams in B-grade, playing A-grade even lower ranked A-grade teams like old ivanhoe and old trinity will give st bedes a bath.

Petrov
22 Feb 2008, 11:00
Second rate Catholics.

Are there any Catholics that are first rate?

Surly23
22 Feb 2008, 11:01
Great call mate, playing a couple of seasons at old xavs a few years ago there are by far the most professional club i have come across, loads of great blokes on and off the field, teams like st bedes wont know what hit them rd 7 at toorak park, you wont get teams like Ajax who hang out like sheep dogs and other second rate teams in B-grade, playing A-grade even lower ranked A-grade teams like marcellin and old trinity will give st bedes a bath.

Hate to rain on your parade Flying D but SBMT played Marcellin in B grade last year and beat them twice..

If you don't even know who is in A-grade this year, your comments mean very little..... maybe a little research before making amateur (pardon the pun) mistakes..

Surly

BrianSpeaking
22 Feb 2008, 11:54
Predicatable responses from the Xavier lads, the fact is 99% of VAFA followers would love to see Xavs not win any flags, regardless of their reasons. Immature responses about St Kevins again show why no-one except Xavier people barrack for their club.
As far as St Bedes are concerned, the A Section clubs are in for one hell of a shock. The Bedas will be a very good side in A Section and I predict will finish between 3rd and 6th. There are so many people with their heads are their arse hanging around traditional A Section clubs that need a shake up, and they will get it this year from Blacks and St Bedes.
By the way Xav lads, whats the story with the 'Premierships won' counter on the OX website? It has gone from 49 to 50 before a ball has been bounced...anything to do with the Large Hawaiian being back in town?

Bugsy Brown
22 Feb 2008, 12:15
Hi Gents

Being an old boy of the school I was interested in getting your learned opinions on Old Trinity this year.

Also any thoughts on Uni Blacks?

Thanks

Jascave
22 Feb 2008, 12:27
Did Peter Nicholson coach a VFL premiership team before going to the VAFA?

Surly23
22 Feb 2008, 12:31
Hi Gents

Being an old boy of the school I was interested in getting your learned opinions on Old Trinity this year.

Also any thoughts on Uni Blacks?

Thanks

I think your barking up the wrong tree Bugsy, there is nothing learned about peoples opinions on here... There is plenty of banter and bullsh*t spoken, but nothing learned..Robbo, "No Cash"!

Surly

Nargo Magumbo
22 Feb 2008, 13:15
Did Peter Nicholson coach a VFL premiership team before going to the VAFA?
Two in fact - both with Springvale

ultimate hater
22 Feb 2008, 14:49
Predicatable responses from the Xavier lads, the fact is 99% of VAFA followers would love to see Xavs not win any flags, regardless of their reasons. Immature responses about St Kevins again show why no-one except Xavier people barrack for their club.
As far as St Bedes are concerned, the A Section clubs are in for one hell of a shock. The Bedas will be a very good side in A Section and I predict will finish between 3rd and 6th. There are so many people with their heads are their arse hanging around traditional A Section clubs that need a shake up, and they will get it this year from Blacks and St Bedes.
By the way Xav lads, whats the story with the 'Premierships won' counter on the OX website? It has gone from 49 to 50 before a ball has been bounced...anything to do with the Large Hawaiian being back in town?

Brian... I'm at a loss here..

You're paying out Xavier about how nobody supports their club except their own.. (which i find weird anyway, unless you st kevins kids support scotchies or something along those lines?) but yet you still feel compelled to go onto their website so often that you remember when the slightest thing changes on there???

How does that work..?

Clearly a contradiction on your behalf..

Destination A Grade
22 Feb 2008, 14:51
Why all the hate directed at Xavs??

ultimate hater
22 Feb 2008, 14:57
there isn't DAG... just Brian's bitterness of being in their shadow all the time..

Jascave
22 Feb 2008, 15:11
I wouldn't be all surprised if Peter Nicholson went to a Victorian AFL club (ie Carlton, Collingwood, Geelong, Richmond, St Kilda) to join its coaching panel. After all, when you've got a guy who coached two VFL premierships & 2 VAFA flags, surely a spot on a AFL club based in Victoria beckons.

Cardio Carl
22 Feb 2008, 15:16
I wouldn't be all surprised if Peter Nicholson went to a Victorian AFL club (ie Carlton, Collingwood, Geelong, Richmond, St Kilda) to join its coaching panel. After all, when you've got a guy who coached two VFL premierships & 2 VAFA flags, surely a spot on a AFL club based in Victoria beckons.

Jas - no doubt you are not easily surprised.

An ex-AFL player under him at OH stated that he is not a coach's A**hole - and that's when he won a premiership there. Great at the Rah Rah! but no substance or strategic knowledge of game plans.

ultimate hater
22 Feb 2008, 15:18

That's awesome.. I'm glad you are sharing things that would/wouldn't suprise you...

Lupton Warchild Pittman
22 Feb 2008, 19:00
Second rate Catholics.

Toorak > Kew.

uglydermie
22 Feb 2008, 21:29

Was the VFL flag you mention actually a VFA flag more than 15 years ago?

Petrov
22 Feb 2008, 22:31
Peter Nicholson

Two flags at Box Hill VFA '84(comp b&f) and '86 as a player
One flag at East Burwood EFL '92 as playing coach
Two flags at Springvale VFL '98 and '99 as coach
One flag at St Bernards VAFA A Grade '02 as coach
One flag at Old Haileybury VAFA A Grade '06 as coach

Many players don't ever get one.
Nicho has an impressive record that is very difficult to dismiss.

Jascave
23 Feb 2008, 06:53
Looking at that resume that Petrov has shown re Peter Nicholson, surely it's time that an AFL club like North Melbourne or Richmond use his services as their coach for their VFL team, and possibly sit on the match committee as well. And surely the VAFA might have to look at Nicholson in regards to State of Origin and be the Victorian coach. Why would the VAFA (or those AFL clubs I mentioned above) want to overlook a guy who's record is very good in Victorian football as a coach is beyond me.

PS Btw, two of the flags that Nicholson won (St Bernards in 2002, Old Haileybury in 2006) were against the best team of the past 20 years in VAFA A Section-Old Xaverians. How many coaches could do what Nicholson did and beat Old Xaverians in a A Section Grand Final-not many.

Boris the blade
23 Feb 2008, 10:22
Looking at that resume that Petrov has shown re Peter Nicholson, surely it's time that an AFL club like North Melbourne or Richmond use his services as their coach for their VFL team, and possibly sit on the match committee as well. And surely the VAFA might have to look at Nicholson in regards to State of Origin and be the Victorian coach. Why would the VAFA (or those AFL clubs I mentioned above) want to overlook a guy who's record is very good in Victorian football as a coach is beyond me.

PS Btw, two of the flags that Nicholson won (St Bernards in 2002, Old Haileybury in 2006) were against the best team of the past 20 years in VAFA A Section-Old Xaverians. How many coaches could do what Nicholson did and beat Old Xaverians in a A Section Grand Final-not many.

You certainly do have quite the man crush on Nicho don't you Jascave...

merc27
23 Feb 2008, 10:39
Second rate Catholics.

Yeah champagne comedy - I have always thought that Derby Day was full of people that dont give a stuff about the races but just go there to say "they went there" - a bit like the hangers on at Xavs i suppose, so you are spot on Plumber!

Jascave
23 Feb 2008, 10:41
I'd like to know whatever happened to Andrew Topakas who used to play with Old Melburnians and who was the subject of a court case between OM's and the VAFA back in 2000.

Plumber
23 Feb 2008, 11:10
Toorak > Kew.

Flood plain wedged between a freeway & trainline < Best view in Melbourne

Lupton Warchild Pittman
23 Feb 2008, 12:01
Flood plain wedged between a freeway & trainline < Best view in Melbourne

Price of flood plain wedged between a freeway & trainline > Price of best view in Melbourne..

Scribe
23 Feb 2008, 15:18
I'd like to know whatever happened to Andrew Topakas who used to play with Old Melburnians and who was the subject of a court case between OM's and the VAFA back in 2000.

Played several years in the MPNFL for Mt Eliza, and recently built my best mates' new house. Not a bad job either.

As for your man-crush on Peter Nicholson, well his CV is impressive, but from what I've read/heard (I've never met him myself), his personal skills aren't quite in the same league.

Plus, you don't get paid to coach the State team, as far as I'm aware.

Jason, frankly I'm astounded you haven't got him over to the Rovers for 2008 - why didn't you put in a call?

Jascave
23 Feb 2008, 16:04
When I think back to the Andrew Topakas issue, I reckon the fault lies not with the VAFA,or Andrew Topakas, but with Old Melburnians. If Topakas wanted to leave OM's, then the Redlegs should've said 'OK, no problems', not make it into a big issue. The then OM's president Rick Pisarki told the VAFA about Topakas being offered a loan of $6000 by an Old Brighton supporter, but Topakas later said there was no figure mentioned and he didn't want to stay at OM's. By a strange coincidence, Old Melburnians got into trouble with the VAFA, lost premiership points (later relegated to B Section) and ended up taking the VAFA to court over the issue. The Supreme Court found in favour of the VAFA and also awarded costs. So, I think the blame should've been laid at Old Melburnians-not Andrew Topakas.

BarryDawson
23 Feb 2008, 22:21

Jascave, WOW! Nicho sure does have an impressive record, I'm sure all those AFL premiership players who have gone on to coach current AFL teams are spewing they don't have him on the books. Specially Laidley and Wallace, as for Andrew Topakas, let sleeping dogs lie, find something else to do when your bored.

BrianSpeaking
23 Feb 2008, 23:40
Nicho is coaching E Burwood, so no leave pass for the VAFA Jase.

Jascave
24 Feb 2008, 07:04
Who do you think will play off for the A Section Grand Final this year? I'm tipping an Old Xaverians-Old Brighton game like last year.

flying dutchman
24 Feb 2008, 07:37
Hate to rain on your parade Flying D but SBMT played Marcellin in B grade last year and beat them twice..

If you don't even know who is in A-grade this year, your comments mean very little..... maybe a little research before making amateur (pardon the pun) mistakes..

Surly

surly , like i say played for them a few years ago still keep my eye on A-section every couple of weeks, i know its hard for B-grade team making the rise up to A-grade look at old brighton they had a few goes at it. Watched a few st bedes games last year and like i say they will struggle.

Jascave
24 Feb 2008, 09:35
Is VAFA Sunday on 88.3 Southern FM going to be back on this year?

BigPete38
24 Feb 2008, 12:19

Why you think you may get a gig? :D

BigPete38
24 Feb 2008, 12:25

surly , like i say played for them a few years ago still keep my eye on A-section every couple of weeks, i know its hard for B-grade team making the rise up to A-grade look at old brighton they had a few goes at it. Watched a few st bedes games last year and like i say they will struggle.

Good point dutchy, old brighton where a yo yo for a while.

Jascave
24 Feb 2008, 12:31
No, BigPete, reason being is I enjoy listening to VAFA Sunday with Tom Brain & Steve McCarthy, which I think is a far better program than the one on 96.5 Inner FM.

BrianSpeaking
24 Feb 2008, 19:30
No, BigPete, reason being is I enjoy listening to VAFA Sunday with Tom Brain & Steve McCarthy, which I think is a far better program than the one on 96.5 Inner FM.
Yes Jase, it is on again, b4 round 1.

BigPete38
26 Feb 2008, 15:40

Jascave do yourself a favour just listen to SEN1116. Tom Brain is a goose.

nicho_magic
26 Feb 2008, 18:12
did i mention how much collegians will win a section by this year?

Slay Master G
27 Feb 2008, 07:10

Did I mention that you're a fool....? Top four would be expected but nothing is certain after that....

ultimate hater
27 Feb 2008, 07:15

yes but you didn't say by how much... please enlighten me.. you muppet.

Destination A Grade
27 Feb 2008, 08:53
From what i can tell (reading this forum), so far the final four will consist of Xavs, Blues, Brighton, Coll, St Bedes, Blacks.

With De La, Trinity, Ivanhoe and Scotch to miss out.

I wasn't that great at Maths, but i've got a feeling that it wont work out.

can't mark can't kick
28 Feb 2008, 16:54
Jascave do yourself a favour just listen to SEN1116. Tom Brain is a goose.

which is one of two reasons Jase loves him

Over The Post
28 Feb 2008, 22:46
... setting up for the punchline ...

And what's the other, CMCK?

nicho_magic
2 Mar 2008, 10:43
yes but you didn't say by how much... please enlighten me.. you muppet.

100 points in the granny. you heard it hear first

soupsey
3 Mar 2008, 08:51
Or did you hear it HERE first? Unlucky nicho!

Surly23
3 Mar 2008, 11:23
Big talk going around town at the moment is that OI are being investigated for paying players...can anyone confirm?

If found guilty they would be relegated for sure!

Didyoutapthat
3 Mar 2008, 11:55
No stronger than the rumours of a certain burly, if not thinning, forward down Camberwell way....???

mazal
3 Mar 2008, 12:05
No stronger than the rumours of a certain burly, if not thinning, forward down Camberwell way....???

Rumours rumours rumours !!!! ..
Next they will be saying SBMT are being looked at???

ultimate hater
3 Mar 2008, 13:04
Big talk going around town at the moment is that OI are being investigated for paying players...can anyone confirm?

If found guilty they would be relegated for sure!

i've heard that the vafa are looking into that area of things... don't know which clubs though, but was under the impression it was a more than just 1!

wouldnt have picked OI though surly.. interesting..

river man
3 Mar 2008, 13:59

If your rumours are true "tapthat", it certainly hasn't gotten them very far.

Rumours of clubs playing players are often started by people starved of success and suffering from small man syndrome. Normally completely unfounded. But its interesting that the VAFA have intervened.

soupsey
3 Mar 2008, 14:05
Do they now retrospectively award the 06 flag to OX too?