View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football
Rumours rumours rumours !!!! ..
Next they will be saying SBMT are being looked at???
Really getting sick of SBMT players give a rest chumps
My early prediction for the top four are collegians, the tonners, xavs and de la salle and will show SBMT that they are not up to this a grade standard.
Its looks like Uni Blacks have recruited well and could give the top 4 a real good shake.
Cherry Picker
4 Mar 2008, 14:04
Really getting sick of SBMT players give a rest chumps
My early prediction for the top four are collegians, the tonners, xavs and de la salle and will show SBMT that they are not up to this a grade standard.
Its looks like Uni Blacks have recruited well and could give the top 4 a real good shake.
Good England, KoolKat
It's good to see posters (posers) from other clubs already losing their composure before the season starts. Strong characters in A! By the way there is some previous history between St.Bedes and Xavs..they played a practice game 3 weeks before the start of the 97 season at Bridisi..St.Bedes won by 9pts
uglydermie
4 Mar 2008, 14:31
Crikey. Up there with carlton v collingwood! Man U and Man City! Yankees and Red Sox. That game back in 97 started something huge........
Cherry Picker
4 Mar 2008, 14:49
It's good to see posters (posers) from other clubs already losing their composure before the season starts. Strong characters in A! By the way there is some previous history between St.Bedes and Xavs..they played a practice game 3 weeks before the start of the 97 season at Bridisi..St.Bedes won by 9pts
Have you been waiting 11 years to mention this?
ultimate hater
5 Mar 2008, 07:31
st bedes arent worthy of a "rivalry" with xavs... as much as they would want one for recognition though...
A practice game 11 years ago is a "history" now!?!?
I can remember Collegians playing a practice game against Box Hill back in about 1995-96.
Apparently Collegians now have a fierce rivalry with Box Hill, and we're just waiting for another crack!
Johnny Utah #9
5 Mar 2008, 08:34
Clearly a good form line to take into their clash for this year.
Perhaps you can detail who the best players and goal kickers were as well so we know who to look out for? Any changes to the lineups that we might need to know about as well?
thorpedo
5 Mar 2008, 09:52
Searching for a practice match 15th March. Hoppers Crossing Football Club
Late notice but a practice game has been cancelled against us due to ground restrictions.
Thanks
river man
5 Mar 2008, 10:23
Late notice but a practice game has been cancelled against us due to ground restrictions.
Thanks
I'm sure STBM will be happy to take you on in a praccy game THORPEDO. They might be able to hang their hat on beating you some day in the future.
uglydermie
5 Mar 2008, 10:29
BT actually played Collingwood reserves in praccie game in 1984 at Vic Park in the lead up to our A Grade debut. Eddie still talks about it as one of the great moment in the history of the Collingwood Football Club. To us, it was just another game against a team that wore Ivanhoe Ammo jumpers......
JG Hornet
5 Mar 2008, 10:32
No stronger than the rumours of a certain burly, if not thinning, forward down Camberwell way....???
Kent Kingsley at Camberwell hey? Just the sort of cat who will dominate at that level...
Slay Master G
5 Mar 2008, 12:03
BT actually played Collingwood reserves in praccie game in 1984 at Vic Park in the lead up to our A Grade debut. Eddie still talks about it as one of the great moment in the history of the Collingwood Football Club. To us, it was just another game against a team that wore Ivanhoe Ammo jumpers......
No doubt he rates it up there with the 1990 premiership in the highlights of his life.
SurftheWorld
5 Mar 2008, 12:24
Thanks
Would be a good game to watch I think, a team of the likes of OX would be the only competition to a very cashed up club that has just secured the likes of Brad Murphy from the bulldogs and many other ex AFL boys. Make sure you take your Melways with you, and.......your baseball bat for protection...
The Big Pineapple
5 Mar 2008, 13:04
Would be a good game to watch I think, a team of the likes of OX would be the only competition to a very cashed up club that has just secured the likes of Brad Murphy from the bulldogs and many other ex AFL boys. Make sure you take your Melways with you, and.......your baseball bat for protection...
Can't be too cashed up if that's the best they got...
river man
5 Mar 2008, 13:28
Can't be too cashed up if that's the best they got...
Who the hell is brad murphy??? Did you make that name up?
ultimate hater
5 Mar 2008, 13:51
Who the hell is brad murphy??? Did you make that name up?
the love child of Brad Johnson and Robert Murphy..
MC Extra Dollop
5 Mar 2008, 13:52
Was thinking the same thing. When Brad Murphy is the first name that you roll off, it begs the question: who are the rest of these "many ex AFL boys"?
ultimate hater
5 Mar 2008, 14:07
http://werribee.yourguide.com.au/news/sport/afl/is-money-king-of-football/1176722.html
sounds like a wanker to me... glad we don't get these types in the ammo's.. or do we..?
Over The Post
5 Mar 2008, 15:01
Mate, you've just come in from left field and delivered the equivalent of Jascave's finest. Kudos.
uglydermie
5 Mar 2008, 15:26
Jas - Crank up a poll on Xavs V SBMT.....
A rivalry doesn't spark up until there's an incident on or off the field in either a home & away game or a final (think back to Essendon v Hawthorn in the 1980's, where Ron Andrews hit Robert DiPierdomenico up at the 'Gabba, or when 'Dipper' decked Allan Stoneham at Princes Park,or even the 1985 grand final all-in brawl). Practice matches doesn't start a rivalry.
Eddie Woloschek
5 Mar 2008, 15:49
A rivalry doesn't spark up until there's an incident on or off the field in either a home & away game or a final (think back to Essendon v Hawthorn in the 1980's, where Ron Andrews hit Robert DiPierdomenico up at the 'Gabba, or when 'Dipper' decked Allan Stoneham at Princes Park,or even the 1985 grand final all-in brawl). Practice matches doesn't start a rivalry.
Jas, did the Xavs' web guy ever approach you to write the A Section weekly preview on their site? You polled pretty well.
ultimate hater
5 Mar 2008, 15:51
jascave... always spot on! think back people!!
anyway.. just reading uniblacks site and it seems they have a couple new recruits..
The Blacks are extremely pleased to welcome two members of the 2007 All-Australian Amateur team, Kane Loxley and Matt O'Hara. Kane is a young lawyer and Matt an accountant, and both are transferring to Melbourne from Perth to advance their careers.
Anyone heard of these guys? must be pretty solid to make AA..
Uni have done well for themselves regarding recruits it seems..
river man
5 Mar 2008, 15:53
Jas - Crank up a poll on Xavs V SBMT.....
While your there start a poll on Barry Hall vs Zac Dawson.
In fact, I think most of the people down at Old Xaverians who are still there from 1997 probably have forgotten who St Bedes Mentone Tigers were!!!
JG Hornet
5 Mar 2008, 16:33
anyway.. just reading uniblacks site and it seems they have a couple new recruits..
Yep, I'm hearing plenty guys like this have joined the Blacks
Which players do you reckon would make it into the VAFA Under 23 State team, as far as A Section sides are concerned?
Once again you peanuts take youselves fair to seriously, given your responses to a tongue in check comment - I would suggest that most of you haven't even played an A grade senior game...and we've seen Scribe play and he clearly didn't have the ability...lighten up...
ultimate hater
6 Mar 2008, 07:39
Once again you peanuts take youselves fair to seriously, given your responses to a tongue in check comment - I would suggest that most of you haven't even played an A grade senior game...and we've seen Scribe play and he clearly didn't have the ability...lighten up...
not sure how scribe got dragged into this? he wasn't even paying out your silly "tongue in cheek" comment..
as for the "most of you wouldn't have played an A grade senior game".. I think you'll find you're very wrong there... and seeing as round 1 doesn't start for a few weeks yet, its highly likely you've infact never been in A grade nor played a game there..
and clearly your a fair freshy to these boards if you dont understand where the banter comes from... even the best of us have to cop it on the chin from time to time..
SurftheWorld
6 Mar 2008, 08:36
brrrrrrr..... wrong answer.
I've played A agrade, for extra points I would like to add I know of 5 other posters on here that have/currently play A grade....
Right answer!
Half Back Pocket
6 Mar 2008, 09:21
brrrrrrr..... wrong answer.
I've played A agrade, for extra points I would like to add I know of 5 other posters on here that have/currently play A grade....
Right answer!
.......and 1 who played for St. Kilda. Maybe a step up on A Grade.
JG Hornet
6 Mar 2008, 09:26
.......and 1 who played for St. Kilda. Maybe a step up on A Grade.
......and one who presided over 55 A Section Grand Finals
ultimate hater
6 Mar 2008, 09:59
......and one who presided over 55 A Section Grand Finals
......and one who can account for every A Section game played and name every player ever played with stats to boot, along with the coaches of every team listed and then will construct it all into a poll for you
river man
6 Mar 2008, 10:08
......and one who can account for every A Section game played and name every player ever played with stats to boot, along with the coaches of every team listed and then will construct it all into a poll for you
Fair bit of garbage coming out of this thread of late. Rather than making it into a competition of who knows more or less about VAFA football, or who has or hasn't played A Grade football, how about someone who is in the know elaborate on the current investigation being held by those residing down at glenhuntly road into the paying of players.
JG Hornet
6 Mar 2008, 10:17
Fair bit of garbage coming out of this thread of late. Rather than making it into a competition of who knows more or less about VAFA football, or who has or hasn't played A Grade football, how about someone who is in the know elaborate on the current investigation being held by those residing down at glenhuntly road into the paying of players.
We only conduct business in poll forms 'round here pal.
Pay 'em all I say. And pay 'em heaps.
SurftheWorld
6 Mar 2008, 10:52
We only conduct business in poll forms 'round here pal.
Pay 'em all I say. And pay 'em heaps.
...and lets open up the bars during gametime... its time to do it legally!
JG Hornet
6 Mar 2008, 10:59
...and lets open up the bars during gametime... its time to do it legally!
I agree with that to a degree. The VAFA's philosophy has always been "If you can't handle not having a drink between 2 and 5 on a Saturday afternoon, we don't want you here anyway".
The problem is that wheras say, spectators at a Vermont versus East Burwoodf game get on the piss, getting home isn't a huge problem. Conversely, if a Scotch supporter went to the Snakepit, got on the Merlots all afternoon and then drove home through the city (assuming he hot out of the 'Pit.) it's be a disaster
It's a curly one - I'd love to get on it at games and it would bring fans back to the game but I reckon you'd see less women and children at games. And from watching suburban supporters drinking Jimmie cans all day and acting like they're not far from the barnyard, it's not very desirable from that point of view....
YackTalk
6 Mar 2008, 11:32
I prefer to keep the games alcohol free. I love taking my kids (who are 7 & 8) to the footy at SBMT. They run around with the other kids while I catch up with my mates.
I get a fix during the pre-game functions as part of the Tiger Club and I can wait for the main game to finish before the next beverage.
The advantage we have over the other local clubs is the alcohol free policy during the game. Families dont feel intimidated and we get a great afternoon of amateur football.
thorpedo
6 Mar 2008, 11:43
I prefer to keep the games alcohol free. I love taking my kids (who are 7 & 8) to the footy at SBMT. They run around with the other kids while I catch up with my mates.
I get a fix during the pre-game functions as part of the Tiger Club and I can wait for the main game to finish before the next beverage.
The advantage we have over the other local clubs is the alcohol free policy during the game. Families dont feel intimidated and we get a great afternoon of amateur football.
sorry thought this was a footy forum
JG Hornet
6 Mar 2008, 11:48
It's a very important issue 'Pedo
And I thought you had swapped "following the black line" for felching, seems we were both wrong.
Truth Hurts
6 Mar 2008, 12:05
Speaking of transferring, I saw Paul Groves have a meeting at the school of Mentone Grammar. Was he in fact leaving the tigers to play for a team in C section to further his career? Does his team-mates know this?
...and we've seen Scribe play and he clearly didn't have the ability...lighten up...
Agreed - I never had the ability, just a motor mouth and enough incriminating photos of OT coaching staff to cobble together a handful of honest but forgettable senior appearances. It only took me 15 years to work out A/B grade just weren't my scene. :D
Frankly, I'm no Jonothan Grant Horn - clearly one of the biggest wastes of natural talent the VAFA's ever seen.
Move on lads.
PS - Truth Hurts, Old Mentonians are still in D1 this season (not C). Believe, it's where the action's really at!!!
YackTalk
6 Mar 2008, 12:53
Eh Torpedo - coming from the Hoppers Crossing Football Club, I doubt you would understand the No Alcohol policy of the ammos.
Any luck getting a new practice match. Doubt their would be too many takers from here wanting to go half way to Geelong.
Have any leagues (not afl) tried a dry / wet area approach with any success? could this work in the ammos? It's a shame a few blokes who can't handle their grog have tarnished those of us who enjoy 1 or 2 after our run in the magoos.
PS - Truth Hurts, Old Mentonians are still in D1 this season (not C). Believe, it's where the action's really at!!!
Wise words Frase
It's a shame a few blokes who can't handle their grog have tarnished those of us who enjoy 1 or 2 after our run in the magoos.
I'm sure the Gunn Island Hotel is grateful that the SMD reserves can't have a beer or two upstairs at the ground during the senior game!!!
I recall many a retreat to the Orrong Hotel for a quick sip and punt during halftime break at Toorak Park. Usually helped to dull the recent nightmares of another thumping at the hands of the claret 'n stouts.
Not many other A section clubs can boast such a convenient watering hole for post-match analysis. Brighton and Collegians have bars very close, but I never thought it appropriate to frequent a faux-UK pub (Elephant & Wheelbarrow) or pokies venue (Milanos) whilst the senior side was contemplating the footy which lay ahead on the second half.
Gillon Oval was impossible to beat though, with the strange rule about the bar there not being part of the VAFA venue itself.
JG Hornet
6 Mar 2008, 13:27
I'm sure the Gunn Island Hotel is grateful that the SMD reserves can't have a beer or two upstairs at the ground during the senior game!!!
I recall many a retreat to the Orrong Hotel for a quick sip and punt during halftime break at Toorak Park. Usually helped to dull the recent nightmares of another thumping at the hands of the claret 'n stouts.
Not many other A section clubs can boast such a convenient watering hole for post-match analysis. Brighton and Collegians have bars very close, but I never thought it appropriate to frequent a faux-UK pub (Elephant & Wheelbarrow) or pokies venue (Milanos) whilst the senior side was contemplating the footy which lay ahead on the second half.
Gillon Oval was impossible to beat though, with the strange rule about the bar there not being part of the VAFA venue itself.
I remember going to the Gillon as a kid to watch my brother and everybody would be legless by half-time! A great set up. The Orrong was always a good option but the TAB is the most cramped in Melbourne, full of cantankerous old booze-hags and ear-chewers.
JG Hornet
6 Mar 2008, 13:42
I remember going to the Gillon as a kid to watch my brother and everybody would be legless by half-time! A great set up. The Orrong was always a good option but the TAB is the most cramped in Melbourne, full of cantankerous old booze-hags and ear-chewers.
Proximity of TABS to major grounds is also a massive factor. I will never, ever forget a teammate of mine getting the quaddie at the TAB at St Bernards following a senior match. NOBS always had a few TABS nearby which is handy given that the entire club seems to be on the punt. Xavs always have diehards at the Orrong and De la, another club which seems to run on the punt, has pumped a truckload of cash into the Racecourse TAB. And the opening of that little gem on Camberwell Rd is a blessing during boring Scotch games. Oh and for Uni Blues games, there's that pubTAB in Swanston St where owner David Rhys Jones just stands around in his tight jeans eyeballing blokes!
ultimate hater
6 Mar 2008, 14:00
See, this is where the home of the VAFA goes up a rung in my books.. poor ground etc etc but the 'wick is extremely close with the horses, pokies and if you position yourself correctly and have 20/20 vision (less than 5 pots) you can actually see the scoreboard from the balcony...
what more could you ask for?
JG Hornet
6 Mar 2008, 14:06
See, this is where the home of the VAFA goes up a rung in my books.. poor ground etc etc but the 'wick is extremely close with the horses, pokies and if you position yourself correctly and have 20/20 vision (less than 5 pots) you can actually see the scoreboard from the balcony...
what more could you ask for?
and there's a knock-shop around the corner
Plus the fact you might be able to watch the game from the balcony of the Elsternwick Hotel, if you can't afford the admission price.
.......full of cantankerous old booze-hags and ear-chewers.
Which category would you fit into JGH?
ultimate hater
6 Mar 2008, 14:11
and there's a knock-shop around the corner
bing! correct answer...
Plus the fact you might be able to watch the game from the balcony of the Elsternwick Hotel, if you can't afford the admission price.
brrrrr.. wrong answer..
JG Hornet
6 Mar 2008, 14:13
Which category would you fit into JGH?
I'm the guy doing my nuts. I've never backed a winner at the Orrong. I need the right TAB atmosphere for me to do well on the punt and I get too rattled there...!
Cameo King II
6 Mar 2008, 14:13
Proximity of TABS to major grounds is also a massive factor. I will never, ever forget a teammate of mine getting the quaddie at the TAB at St Bernards following a senior match. NOBS always had a few TABS nearby which is handy given that the entire club seems to be on the punt. Xavs always have diehards at the Orrong and De la, another club which seems to run on the punt, has pumped a truckload of cash into the Racecourse TAB. And the opening of that little gem on Camberwell Rd is a blessing during boring Scotch games. Oh and for Uni Blues games, there's that pubTAB in Swanston St where owner David Rhys Jones just stands around in his tight jeans eyeballing blokes!
JGH I've long said that on the section of the VAFA website where they have the Melways ref of all the grounds they should have the address of the nearest TAB. Perhaps Jascave could put one together for us?
BigFooty's Alphonse and I missed far too many 3rd quarters of the late game after we got lost on the south side of the river during our half-time punting expeditions- there just doesn't seem to be as many outlets on that side of town. But I guess we're fortunate at NOBs with the Grandview well within range to watch a race.
ServicesNoLongerRequired
6 Mar 2008, 14:15
Hornet, it is with much regret that the Plough and Harrow, formerly the Hotel Canada with the Moosehead bar out the back, has been sold, closed down and being turned into student flats not much bigger than a coaches box to ship more international students into.
Back in the day you could get $2 crownies on ice, all day, every day. That was a sweet deal as a student.
Alas it looks like the Clyde might be heading to a similar fate.
JG Hornet
6 Mar 2008, 14:20
JGH I've long said that on the section of the VAFA website where they have the Melways ref of all the grounds they should have the address of the nearest TAB. Perhaps Jascave could put one together for us?
BigFooty's Alphonse and I missed far too many 3rd quarters of the late game after we got lost on the south side of the river during our half-time punting expeditions- there just doesn't seem to be as many outlets on that side of town. But I guess we're fortunate at NOBs with the Grandview well within range to watch a race.
Jason, get on to that mate.
Tough one was Haileybury. There's a pubtab around the corner but there are few less inviting establishments in melbourne. You walk in there and it's like that scene in the Simpsons where Homer ditches Moes and goes into a new bar and the guy behind the bar pulls a shotty on him! Makes one glad to be back at the Badlands. As a person who lives reasonably close to OMS and the Trott, the lack of TABS around there is a real blight on otherwise great set ups.
I'm the guy doing my nuts. I've never backed a winner at the Orrong. I need the right TAB atmosphere for me to do well on the punt and I get too rattled there...!
You omitted to mention that to me last time I pooled my dosh with you, The Quill and Jono Healy. Mind you, I think I blew most of it on the SA dishlickers.
I trust the Orrong will be able to publish The Mailman's mid-winter tips, even on the alternate weekends that Xavs play away. Means when the Reds venture back there to play Prahran, we're half a chance of a collect!!!
Jason, get on to that mate.
Tough one was Haileybury. There's a pubtab around the corner but there are few less inviting establishments in melbourne. You walk in there and it's like that scene in the Simpsons where Homer ditches Moes and goes into a new bar and the guy behind the bar pulls a shotty on him! Makes one glad to be back at the Badlands. As a person who lives reasonably close to OMS and the Trott, the lack of TABS around there is a real blight on otherwise great set ups.
Armstrong Street is the closest refuge, with the Gunn Island on one corner, and the TAB next to the bike shop 10 metres across the road.
Mark that one down Jase.
JG Hornet
6 Mar 2008, 14:28
Hornet, it is with much regret that the Plough and Harrow, formerly the Hotel Canada with the Moosehead bar out the back, has been sold, closed down and being turned into student flats not much bigger than a coaches box to ship more international students into.
Back in the day you could get $2 crownies on ice, all day, every day. That was a sweet deal as a student.
Alas it looks like the Clyde might be heading to a similar fate.
Sad days, given that there'll be A Section footy every week at the Uni this years. The Hyphen's attitude can't have helped...
ServicesNoLongerRequired
6 Mar 2008, 14:49
Sad days, given that there'll be A Section footy every week at the Uni this years. The Hyphen's attitude can't have helped...
I think the millions on offer to throw even more apartments up may have won the day. And rightly so, as the area is so under populated with densely populated high rises.
There is still the TAB on Lygon st near Twins corner - no boozer attached though. I once saw Beau from Beaurepaires fame in there. He looked as angry as he was always getting with Dave on the ads.
YackTalk
6 Mar 2008, 15:17
Hey Jas
Where is the closest TAB for those that have to venture to Mentone for the first time? Is there not one on Nepean Hwy. I dont think the Edgy/Mentone Hotel has one. The Beauy hotel might.
BrianSpeaking
6 Mar 2008, 15:28
Corner of Balcombe Rd and Nepean Hwy.
Jeez Horn, you have gone soft on this forum, Im falling asleep reading this dribble. Pull your finger out and post something controversisal like this beauty from 5 years back courtesy of the OX website...
April '03[
THE INFAMOUS E-MAIL
With season 2003 nigh, an e-mail was widely circulated throughout VAFA circles. It did not emanate from the Old Xavs, nor from any of its members. Perhaps we'll never know the truth about its author, though everyone is entitled to guess.
The e-mail is reprinted here in full, without grammar corrections and without prejudice. Apologies to those who may have been libelled, but this document was so widely circulated at the time we thought it worth preserving in the interests of posterity.
oldxavs.com, the Old Xaverians Football Club and its committee and members do not at all share sentiments expressed within.
Old Xaverians The empire is crumbling in every respect. Xavs have crashed out in the last two final series, as the veterans move into retirement, Club 18, or middle tier law firms. Blood after much debate in amateur circles has finally lost his V Plates and found better things to do on the weekend, Bowen is selling Makita drills in his dads hardware business, Mollard still has red hair and always will, and Jones was forced into retirement after the operation to remove the stick up his #%! had some nasty side affects. The young players have used their elite education to work as shop assistants in Chapel St selling $120 t-shirts. In total then the well is pretty much dry at Toorak Park. Players such as Ford, Brushfield , Orlando, and Ockleshaw are all that remains between the former power and a descent into B grade.
Old Melburnians Somehow Old Melburnians were able to win lasts year B grade premiership. Good luck to them I guess, I mean they never deserved to be relegated anyhow, they were after all, only cheating. They have a nice ground at the Junction and it is damn shame that they let Simon Theodore anywhere near it, he is terrible bloke and should be ridiculed at any opportunity (if you have time get there for the seconds and laugh at his brother too). McMillan should not be allowed to play any form of competitive sport at his age and should make a belated attempt at a graceful exit, and Pertzel would be better served joining his former MHSOB teammates in their double drop campaign. [/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][/I]Uni Blues
Mid-table mediocrity has plagued the club for over decade, they have barley contested a final in the past decade but this does not even scratch the surface of the problems that pervade the boys from Royal Park. There is little to no passion in the place, as people randomly pass through it while they fail a sociology degree. It is always fun to laugh at Quinton Gleeson, he started a career at every AFL Club in Melbourne and got sacked by every single one. As if that was not enough he now works at the AFL filling up water bottles at Vic Kick clinics. The cries of "kick it to George, kick it to George" from the Uni Blues faithful has died down since George DeCrespigny (Who now resembles George Constanza more than a State player) decided that leaving the goal square was "unrewarded running".
St Bernard's
It is a sick culture that fills every crevice at the Snakepit. The condescending and overwhelming arrogance of the club would you believe they have won 12 premierships on end. For example, six months after the Grand Final I saw them at training session and they all had their premiership medals on, Danny Byrne had two on. Upon further investigation it was relieved that it was some hair-brained scheme from their fruit loop coach Peter Nicholson to let everyone know "we are the champions".
Speaking of Peter Nicholson he also famously once said "I don't have friends, I have premierships" good on you Pete, that's a great way to live your life. Their supporters yell nonsensical, inaudible garbage from the sidelines, but I guess they have lived in East Keilor all their lives and who am I to stop them from getting one back on the "rich boys from the other side of the river".
As a opposition supporter at the Snake pit you will have had a good day if you have reminded Tim Harvey that he does not in fact work in "Hollywood" as his self proclaimed nickname suggests, but in Altona, asked the runner Luke Gollant if he played in last year's premiership, and Steve McKeon how is AFL career is going. If you can get out of there without stitches from one of the old codgers chucking a pot at you, it's a bonus.
Old Haileybury
The Haileybury ground is one of the most uninspiring pieces of real estate in the Amateurs. They have one of the biggest female followings in Amateur Football which in itself is not remarkable, but the filth that comes out of the players wives, girlfriends and mums of the OH players would shame many building sites. On the field the key players to abuse are Jenke, Seccull, O'Farrell and the Corrigan brothers.
Old Ivanhoe
No one cares much for Old Ivanhoe, in fact I don't think Old Ivanhoe care much for Old Ivanhoe. As a result there is very little to report here, save for the fact they have a fantastic looking water girl, which B grade clubs can look forward to experiencing next year. If you can be bothered it probably would not hurt to let Weddle, Stevens, Hope and Toovey know their place in the world.
St Kevins
St Kevin's, Geez they are hard done by. For so long they had the mother of all chip on their shoulder about not being Xavs, they now have a matching one about not being St Bernard's. With their home base being in the pristine surrounds of Righetti Oval, and with no home ground to speak of (I mean honestly even the D4 Bullen Cobras have their own ground) it's a wonder that the refugees of amateur football have any players at all. They must have slept with the light on in the ########### who play for SKOBS are possibly the ##### most petrified footballers going around. Don't be afraid to let Gross know that he is Grossly overrated and Luke Mahoney that he will make a better C grade match reporter when he is playing in that grade in a few years time.
Marcellin
I actually quite like Marcellin, when you are confronted with a top four of Xavs, St Bernards, Old Scotch and Marcellin, the choice to support the Eagles in the finals is a easy and logical one. They have a plethora of running players and seem to have a mortgage on the "Woodrow" medal. It would probably not hurt if they were able to get another flag this year to match the one they won in 2001. All the best to resident nice guy Bernie Dineen is his come back from a serious injury.
Old Trinity
Old Trinity revel in being the tough guys of amateur football, what they don't revel in so much, is winning. The club had a high point last year when club legend Hatfield was found guilty of "fingering" an opponent he was duly dealt with by the judiciary and sadly the fans wont get see to him belting blokes behind the play again. Also departed is leading goal kicker Greig whose whereabouts are disturbingly unknown. Ramsden remains, as does his nickname of Rambo, and even though he is more Rambo 3 these days he remains the best ruckmen in A grade. I am sure they will win enough games to stay up but never threaten the top 4, business as usual I guess at Bulleen Road.
Old Scotch
The "Scotchies" as their fans like to call them remain one of the big clubs in A grade despite a dismal finals record in recent times. So long Xavs favorite whipping boy in grand finals, Scotch continually fail to overcome their Elsternwick Park demons. One of the problems might be Tim Finnochario (how a Catholic Italian ends up at Scotch I will never know, but then again the Goldberg brothers previously of AJAX also played at Scotch) he seems to find the wide open spaces of Elsternwick beyond his running capabilities. Equally so glamour Full Forward Luke Hawkins seems to go missing when the heat is applied. Don't miss the skipper Hume either, he is a close second behind Theodore as the worst bloke in Amateur football. [/LEFT]
[/INDENT]
justin timberlake
6 Mar 2008, 15:28
One can only shudder if the day came whereby SBMT could serve alcohol across game day.......
Pot holes consuming pots from 12 till 5..........would not be pleasant
JG Hornet
6 Mar 2008, 15:31
Get stuffed Brian, what's the point of being controversial in March? I'm just touching on a subject dear to the heart of many a man who has played at a catholic footy team...
BrianSpeaking
6 Mar 2008, 15:38
If I wasnt 4ft9, 228kgs, had my own hair and was Catholic I would probably agree. Alas, I can only rely on my wet dreams of Chilli to get me through...
ultimate hater
6 Mar 2008, 15:39
who wrote that Brian?
BrianSpeaking
6 Mar 2008, 15:45
who wrote that Brian?
From memory, it may have been Alphonse when he was playing ressies at NOBS, I could be wrong though. I remember an incident at a pub in Richmond when he was chased from the establishment by several SKOB and OX lads after an A Section match between the two Catholic sides(dont tell anybody we actually like each other)...was very funny.
JG Hornet
6 Mar 2008, 15:46
who wrote that Brian?
A fellow lover of the punt and a man apparently not impressed with Luke Mahoney's C Grade scribing. A man no longer in the VAFA but who keeps a firm on the the comp and occasionally lurks in these parts.
JG Hornet
6 Mar 2008, 15:49
From memory, it may have been Alphonse when he was playing ressies at NOBS, I could be wrong though. I remember an incident at a pub in Richmond when he was chased from the establishment by several SKOB and OX lads after an A Section match between the two Catholic sides(dont tell anybody we actually like each other)...was very funny.
Brian the said gentleman also incurred the wrath of Pamela Brain late one night after a late night call to Pam's husband who had tipped against NOBS for the 56th consecutive week
BrianSpeaking
6 Mar 2008, 15:50
A fellow lover of the punt and a man apparently not impressed with Luke Mahoney's C Grade scribing. A man no longer in the VAFA but who keeps a firm on the the comp and occasionally lurks in these parts.
Jonno, is that the same great Luke Mahoney who invented the now often used term 'Crunch Grade' when referring to C Section?
What a superb quasi jouno he proved to be, his reign was all to short, he certainly put your great friend and former lover Brad Beitzel to shame! He also put Rob Cross into retirement at the ABC.
BrianSpeaking
6 Mar 2008, 15:55
Brian the said gentleman also incurred the wrath of Pamela Brain late one night after a late night call to Pam's husband who had tipped against NOBS for the 56th consecutive week
Ahh yes, now you have got me laughing! I remember Tommy trying to find a hit man to put Alphonse and his brainless mates 6ft under, but no one would do the job as they thought it was verry funny.
In fact, I remember a rambling Brain being driven by myself back to his orange brick mansion in Moorabbin after 20 jars talking about heading to NOBS the following Thursday night for some payback. I think he never did tip NOBS to win anything again, although he was very delighted when they won the relegation race to C Section, sorry, Crunch Grade.
JG Hornet
6 Mar 2008, 15:56
Jonno, is that the same great Luke Mahoney who invented the now often used term 'Crunch Grade' when referring to C Section?
What a superb quasi jouno he proved to be, his reign was all to short, he certainly put your great friend and former lover Brad Beitzel to shame! He also put Rob Cross into retirement at the ABC.
He couldn't hold a candle to the bloke who did C Section back in the late 80s. I think, from memory, his name was something like "The Accurate One" and no-one, not even Phil Stevens, knew who he was. His moniker was a big question mark and he'd tip 5 winners every week.
JG Hornet
6 Mar 2008, 15:59
Ahh yes, now you have got me laughing! I remember Tommy trying to find a hit man to put Alphonse and his brainless mates 6ft under, but no one would do the job as they thought it was verry funny.
In fact, I remember a rambling Brain being driven by myself back to his orange brick mansion in Moorabbin after 20 jars talking about heading to NOBS the following Thursday night for some payback. I think he never did tip NOBS to win anything again, although he was very delighted when they won the relegation race to C Section, sorry, Crunch Grade.
I think the phrase "Don't worry Pam, it's just the NOB hooligans" may have been uttered in the background...
Cameo King II
6 Mar 2008, 15:59
Don't be peddling incorrect info JGH, Alphonse was never one of the lads who called Tom Brain and wasn't the author of the infamous email (nor anyone from NOBs).
JG Hornet
6 Mar 2008, 16:01
Don't be peddling incorrect info JGH, Alphonse was never one of the lads who called Tom Brain and wasn't the author of the infamous email (nor anyone from NOBs).
I sincerely doubt his (or indeed your) innocence in either matter Cameo!
BrianSpeaking
6 Mar 2008, 16:01
My favourite, before you JGH, was Jason Frenkel. You could tell him anything and he would print it! One of the best ones was when he said SKOB had recruited former West Coast and Fitzroy cave man Mark Zanotti and Milham Hanna(they were names I pulled from nowhere when he rang for a round one expose on reruits), Im sure Jascave has a copy at home somewhere. Jase, can you have a look and post it hear please?
Good to see he now reports for the not so well respected Herald Sun...
However,your prediction of a 76 point win in the A Section Grand Final takes the cake.
C section has a long history of highly regarded, and very good looking, scribes. Despite the blip that was the Quill's 2007, that tradition will continue in 2008.
Pity the same can't be said for our premier section. Noakes, Beiztel, Fjelstad, Frenkel, Horn - all very ordinary looking fellas.
Is the famed email author the same person responsible for Dr Julian, Inside a Mind, and Views from the Past and "Where are They Now?" on the NOBSPC website?
If so, I dips my lid.
BrianSpeaking
6 Mar 2008, 16:07
I sincerely doubt his (or indeed your) innocence in either matter Cameo!
Im told with certain authority(just took a phone call from a St Bernards legend) that it was the aforementioned. He also did another email a year or so later I believe which was even more hard hitting.
As far as the NOBS after midnight calls go, I believe half of their committee quit as they were involved also...silly buggers even used to text the Brain threatening messages.
Cameo King II
6 Mar 2008, 16:10
C section has a long history of highly regarded, and very good looking, scribes. That tradition will continue in 2008.
Pity the same can't be said for our premier section.
Noakes, Beiztel, Fjelstad, Frenkel, Horn - all very ordinary looking fellas.
Is the famed email author the same person responsible for Dr Julian, Inside a Mind, and Views from the Past and "Where are They Now?" on the NOBSPC website?
If so, I dips my lid.
Gents - Alphonse cannot claim credit for that email as it wasn't him or anyone from NOBs!!
Scribe - Inside a Mind is the work of the club captain Daniel Tonkin, whilst Dr Julian is a real person, a recluse but noted NOBSPC supporter.
Views from the Past and Where Are they Now are mine, even if JGH attempts to steal my stories about guys training in Blundstone boots...
JG Hornet
6 Mar 2008, 16:11
C section has a long history of highly regarded, and very good looking, scribes. Despite the blip that was the Quill's 2007, that tradition will continue in 2008.
Pity the same can't be said for our premier section. Noakes, Beiztel, Fjelstad, Frenkel, Horn - all very ordinary looking fellas.
If so, I dips my lid.
Yes the 'Where Are They Now' was a belter, particularly the guy who rocked up to training for one week with tatts all over him and pissed off with the boots of the star player!
Mate if I do the gig I've got a new pose this year as the one I've been using for the past few years was taken in about 1993
The Big Pineapple
6 Mar 2008, 16:14
Ahh Alphonse... I missed him at the Bratwurst and Hot Dog Pub this year.
Send us a sign that you're OK old fella!
The Big Pineapple
6 Mar 2008, 16:15
Im told with certain authority(just took a phone call from a St Bernards legend) that it was the aforementioned. He also did another email a year or so later I believe which was even more hard hitting.
As far as the NOBS after midnight calls go, I believe half of their committee quit as they were involved also...silly buggers even used to text the Brain threatening messages.
Speaking of threatening messages... what ever happened to Damian Carroll?
JG Hornet
6 Mar 2008, 16:16
Gents - Alphonse cannot claim credit for that email as it wasn't him or anyone from NOBs!!
Scribe - Dr Julian and Inside a Mind is the work of the club captain Daniel Tonkin.
Views from the Past and Where Are they Now are mine, even if JGH attempts to steal my stories about guys training in Blundstone boots...
Never stole anything! There are two Saad Saads in Vic footy - one was the guy who rocked up to your footy club and trained in Blundstones. The other is a SUPERSTAR country footballer who trained at De La for one night and pissed off to country footy and took the best mark I've ever seen a human being take...
Boris the blade
6 Mar 2008, 16:20
Hey Jas
Where is the closest TAB for those that have to venture to Mentone for the first time? Is there not one on Nepean Hwy. I dont think the Edgy/Mentone Hotel has one. The Beauy hotel might.
No TAB at the Edgy and I'm pretty sure it's been removed from the Beauy.
There's a big SuperTAB on Nepean Highway near the Warrigal Rd intersection as well as one at the Royal Oak, also on the highway, which is a bit of a sh*thole.
BrianSpeaking
6 Mar 2008, 16:23
Speaking of threatening messages... what ever happened to Damian Carroll?
Now THAT is gold. He will be reading this now in his hideout in QLD working on something. When he's not going to Yahoo and making up fake email addresses for people like me and then emailing football clubs utter trash suppossedly from again, someone like me, he is sending out false job applications for ex coaches of the VAFA.
Hello to you Damo, I dont forget.
PS Harry Costello wants his $500 back, you never did seek that phsycotherapy.
JG Hornet
6 Mar 2008, 16:29
Ouch! I remember he wrote the column whilst still coaching the Paradian twos team. By the end of the year he was devoting 50 per cent of his column to bagging his team and tipping against them each week!
Better bookmark that one....nasty precedent. :cool:
Damien Carroll....isn't he the guy who used to do the B Section column in the Amateur Footballer and give predictions from a punter's viewpoint (ie St Kevins $1.60 v Old Paradians $2.10)?
BTW, if there's one thing I would like to see return, it's the VATC/VAFA raceday at Caulfield Racecourse. Name the races after each of the VAFA premiers teams from the previous year.Probably (with enough lobbying) we might make the main race of the day-the VAFA Handicap-Group 3 over 1600m.
Alphonse
6 Mar 2008, 19:33
Scribe - Dr Julian and Inside a Mind is the work of the club captain Daniel Tonkin.
Cameo King, I think we can admit to the email, well I can anyway, being safely ensconced in the UK. The calls were not my work and I think the players responsible are now over at Blues, there was one call made from London but that involved a tri-partisan effort from OEG, St Bernard’s and Nobs players (bit sick come to think of it).
Having just re-read the A Grade spray it’s a pretty poor piece of work. Its in desperate need of a revision and I hope someone who follows the VAFA closer than I these days can step up.
I would hate for all those APS English Lit classes to be completely wasted in one of the Big 4 accounting firms or the Law firms.
BrianSpeaking
6 Mar 2008, 21:15
Cameo King, I think we can admit to the email, well I can anyway, being safely ensconced in the UK. The calls were not my work and I think the players responsible are now over at Blues, there was one call made from London but that involved a tri-partisan effort from OEG, St Bernard’s and Nobs players (bit sick come to think of it).
Having just re-read the A Grade spray it’s a pretty poor piece of work. Its in desperate need of a revision and I hope someone who follows the VAFA closer than I these days can step up.
I would hate for all those APS English Lit classes to be completely wasted in one of the Big 4 accounting firms or the Law firms.
Alphonse, we all loved revisiting that fine piece by yourself today. It was a history making email for all of us die VAFA bloggers, and really set the tone for all things VAFA/Big Footy. You have had a few try to copy you, but no-one has come close. Would love to see an 08 version based on the 03 version.
Don't know many of you but a big thumbs up for the entertaining read this evening. Nice work:thumbsu: laughed my arse off!
Alphonse
6 Mar 2008, 23:44
Alphonse, we all loved revisiting that fine piece by yourself today. It was a history making email for all of us die VAFA bloggers, and really set the tone for all things VAFA/Big Footy. You have had a few try to copy you, but no-one has come close. Would love to see an 08 version based on the 03 version.
Interestingly just had a look at A Section. My god it looks poor. Uni Blacks, St Bede’s Mentone, Old Brighton, Old Ivanhoe, what has happened?
Lot of big clubs outside of Top Flight. Say what you like about Skobs and St Bernard’s but they certainly add more to the competition than those teams. Anti-heroes if nothing else. Throw in Marcelin, OH and OM and you are really taking a large chunk of the established order from the division.
B Section is the glamour section this year if you ask me. Lots of interesting little Derby matches most notably Snowdogs V OEG. Must be the most exciting thing to happen in East Keilor since that JB Hi Fi went in Centreway.
thorpedo
7 Mar 2008, 09:10
And I thought you had swapped "following the black line" for felching, seems we were both wrong.
youd felch for a living being a butt plumber eh?
thorpedo
7 Mar 2008, 09:15
Eh Torpedo - coming from the Hoppers Crossing Football Club, I doubt you would understand the No Alcohol policy of the ammos.
Any luck getting a new practice match. Doubt their would be too many takers from here wanting to go half way to Geelong.
Correct. Supplying of alcohol at our grounds has never really caused any problems. Opens up the SOH and banter amongst supporters and can be quite comical at times. Agree though there is a small minority that do tarnish the image with they way they carry on.
Have lined up a game with a Riddel league side.
All the best
SurftheWorld
7 Mar 2008, 09:58
Is there any teams from A lined up any praccy games with teams in other leagues yet, it is these last 5 weeks that the action starts warming up.:thumbsu:
Eddie Woloschek
7 Mar 2008, 10:39
Alphonse, we all loved revisiting that fine piece by yourself today. It was a history making email for all of us die VAFA bloggers, and really set the tone for all things VAFA/Big Footy.
So why did it take 5 years to get on these pages - and why was it resurrected elsewhere before here? I heard the follow-up a year later had a lot more invective, but have never seen it. I guess I'll have to rely on the Xavs to find that one too.
JG Hornet
7 Mar 2008, 10:51
Damien Carroll....isn't he the guy who used to do the B Section column in the Amateur Footballer and give predictions from a punter's viewpoint (ie St Kevins $1.60 v Old Paradians $2.10)?
BTW, if there's one thing I would like to see return, it's the VATC/VAFA raceday at Caulfield Racecourse. Name the races after each of the VAFA premiers teams from the previous year.Probably (with enough lobbying) we might make the main race of the day-the VAFA Handicap-Group 3 over 1600m.
We had a bloke at our club whose primary purpose was to run in that race. I don't think he actually ever played footy – he'd just rock up to training, do about 2 hours of assorted run throughs and sprint intervals and then go out and brain them on the racetrack, while all his legless teammates asked one another "who's this cat"?
Didyoutapthat
7 Mar 2008, 13:52
B Section is the glamour section this year if you ask me. Lots of interesting little Derby matches most notably Snowdogs V OEG. Must be the most exciting thing to happen in East Keilor since that JB Hi Fi went in Centreway.[/quote]
B Section is the glamour section...... There is nothing at all glamorous about East Keilor I can assure you. And isn't nice to see all the underachieving APS schools battling things out down there in B Grade.
What odds on Hailebury taking another stumble down Amateur Ladder this year? Pity, because the trip to McKidding Reserve was always such a highlight.