View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43

river man
7 Mar 2008, 14:36
youd felch for a living being a butt plumber eh?

Hey thorpedo......Go Back to the Vally Man!!!!!

Slay Master G
7 Mar 2008, 15:33
Interestingly just had a look at A Section. My god it looks poor. Uni Blacks, St Bede’s Mentone, Old Brighton, Old Ivanhoe, what has happened?

Lot of big clubs outside of Top Flight. Say what you like about Skobs and St Bernard’s but they certainly add more to the competition than those teams. Anti-heroes if nothing else. Throw in Marcelin, OH and OM and you are really taking a large chunk of the established order from the division.

B Section is the glamour section this year if you ask me. Lots of interesting little Derby matches most notably Snowdogs V OEG. Must be the most exciting thing to happen in East Keilor since that JB Hi Fi went in Centreway.

Great to hear that you're alive and well Alphonse. You are sorely missed at the Golden Gate hotel.

The VAFA (and indeed these forums) are a lot poorer for your absence. You are right, the OEG v. Snowdogs game should be a beauty. Also, Blues v. Blacks in A section will have them salivating in the halls of St. Hilda's College.

I am also looking forward to the Collegians v. St. Bogans games. The Wintle's and J Dixon have a fair rivalry.

I think both of the 2 premier grades in the VAFA will be wide open this year, great for the competition.

YackTalk
7 Mar 2008, 15:54
Dont forget the St Bedes v De La Salle game. Both Schools are run by the De La Salle Brothers. There are only two schools in Melbourne run by them.

The Big Pineapple
7 Mar 2008, 15:57
Great to hear that you're alive and well Alphonse. You are sorely missed at the Golden Gate hotel.

The VAFA (and indeed these forums) are a lot poorer for your absence. You are right, the OEG v. Snowdogs game should be a beauty. Also, Blues v. Blacks in A section will have them salivating in the halls of St. Hilda's College.

I am also looking forward to the Collegians v. St. Bogans games. The Wintle's and J Dixon have a fair rivalry.

I think both of the 2 premier grades in the VAFA will be wide open this year, great for the competition.

If only OEG were still lead by spearhead James 'Van Der Beak' Heritage and Bernards by Tim 'Altona' Harvey. I'd like to see that...

Slay Master G
7 Mar 2008, 16:17
If only OEG were still lead by spearhead James 'Van Der Beak' Heritage and Bernards by Tim 'Altona' Harvey. I'd like to see that...

We could only wish for such a showdown. I'm tipping Altona would have the Beak's measure on the field, but perhaps Beak would prosper in the off field endeavours.

The mouth waters at the prospect of OEG's Andrew Parker going head to head with Danny Byrne.

north of the river
7 Mar 2008, 16:25
We could only wish for such a showdown. I'm tipping Altona would have the Beak's measure on the field, but perhaps Beak would prosper in the off field endeavours.

The mouth waters at the prospect of OEG's Andrew Parker going head to head with Danny Byrne.

The Beak epitomises the classic "you can't judge a book by its cover" unfortunatly...just ask young LO!

Cardio Carl
7 Mar 2008, 16:51
No TAB at the Edgy and I'm pretty sure it's been removed from the Beauy.

There's a big SuperTAB on Nepean Highway near the Warrigal Rd intersection as well as one at the Royal Oak, also on the highway, which is a bit of a sh*thole.

Don't go to the SuperTAB unless your 'silly', a smelly cab driver or a St Bedes player/supporter.

Head further south to the Mordi pub - the only TAB made out of MARBLE - especially on a Saturday where the perv between races is sensational.

You may even see the great BrainSpeaking sniffing around the red pool tables down the bottom.

The best still remains the Station in Port Melbourne

BrianSpeaking
7 Mar 2008, 23:40
We had a bloke at our club whose primary purpose was to run in that race. I don't think he actually ever played footy – he'd just rock up to training, do about 2 hours of assorted run throughs and sprint intervals and then go out and brain them on the racetrack, while all his legless teammates asked one another "who's this cat"?
Agree JGH, I think our club was the reason the VAFA stopped the meeting. One year in the late 90s or a little later a bloke named Paul Byrne turned up to SKOB to have a crack at A Grade footy. He turned out to be a really good player and just so happened to be a former Olympian who made the semi finals of the 1500 in Atlanta. Needless to say he smashed the field the 2 years he ran in the race and ended up bringing home a shitload of flat Schweppes products.
Lots of bitching ensued, including clubs wanting him banned from the event, but it never came to that as Phil Stevens pulled the plug at Headquarters and the meeting fell out of favour.

Jascave
8 Mar 2008, 07:06
I remember watching Paul Byrne win the VAFA race in 2000, I think he won by 25 lengths. I'm still wondering why Byrne never made it into the Australian 2000 Olympics team that year, if he was that good in the VAFA races.

sharp shooter
8 Mar 2008, 10:20
[quote=Alphonse;10258953]Cameo King, I think we can admit to the email, well I can anyway, being safely ensconced in the UK. The calls were not my work and I think the players responsible are now over at Blues, there was one call made from London but that involved a tri-partisan effort from OEG, St Bernard’s and Nobs players (bit sick come to think of it).
quote]

Alphonse you and i both know who was involved in the late night phone calls to tommy brain and it was not just the sole work of the said blues player, you can admit to some part.

BrianSpeaking
8 Mar 2008, 10:59
I remember watching Paul Byrne win the VAFA race in 2000, I think he won by 25 lengths. I'm still wondering why Byrne never made it into the Australian 2000 Olympics team that year, if he was that good in the VAFA races.
Jase, he was burnt out and wanted time out. He subsequently was having a crack at 2004 but got stress fractures in both feet.

BrianSpeaking
8 Mar 2008, 11:00
[quote=Alphonse;10258953]Cameo King, I think we can admit to the email, well I can anyway, being safely ensconced in the UK. The calls were not my work and I think the players responsible are now over at Blues, there was one call made from London but that involved a tri-partisan effort from OEG, St Bernard’s and Nobs players (bit sick come to think of it).
quote]

Alphonse you and i both know who was involved in the late night phone calls to tommy brain and it was not just the sole work of the said blues player, you can admit to some part.
Obviously our big mate Cordy was the main man then Alph?

nicho_magic
10 Mar 2008, 22:06
don't know if anywone else noticed the three signings for collegians on the vafa site... ries and watts... allready noted, and of course throw in adkins...
anybody else like to jump on board the bandwagon?

Max Leader
10 Mar 2008, 22:39
don't know if anywone else noticed the three signings for collegians on the vafa site... ries and watts... allready noted, and of course throw in adkins...
anybody else like to jump on board the bandwagon?

Balwyn FC must be flush with cash, say $3,500 per week with Ries and Watts leaving.

Investigation needed?:D:D:D

can't mark can't kick
11 Mar 2008, 02:19
You omitted to mention that to me last time I pooled my dosh with you, The Quill and Jono Healy. Mind you, I think I blew most of it on the SA dishlickers.

I trust the Orrong will be able to publish The Mailman's mid-winter tips, even on the alternate weekends that Xavs play away. Means when the Reds venture back there to play Prahran, we're half a chance of a collect!!!

I'll get onto that for ya Frase.

Cameo King II
11 Mar 2008, 10:03
[quote=sharp shooter;10271516]
Obviously our big mate Cordy was the main man then Alph?

Big Jon Brown might have been one of them, when he wasn't hip and shouldering trams, though I think Alphonse was referring to a different ex-NOB, one who plays at the other end of the ground for Blues.

Slay Master G
11 Mar 2008, 16:55
Balwyn FC must be flush with cash, say $3,500 per week with Ries and Watts leaving.

Investigation needed?:D:D:D

Ries and Watts both went to Wesley, why the need for investigation....?

BrianSpeaking
11 Mar 2008, 17:42
and Watts played at the Saints last year.

Scribe
11 Mar 2008, 18:23
Very handy pick-ups for the Lions, wonder what (if any) link there is for Adkins?

Watts will be massive, as KPPs don't grow on trees and one usually finds them chasing coin in the 'burbs )well, moreso than those on-ball types).

soupsey
11 Mar 2008, 19:03
Does anyone know if they are playing in the praccy this weekend v the tonners? What time was that one kicking off Jogger?

BrianSpeaking
11 Mar 2008, 21:09
Watts is overseas until mid year. Can play, kicked 10 in a SANFL final a couple of years ago, still only 21 odd.

nicho_magic
11 Mar 2008, 21:15
Does anyone know if they are playing in the praccy this weekend v the tonners? What time was that one kicking off Jogger?

they are all playing... and if watts is overseas til mid year... how is he playing... brian speaking check your sources buddy.

ultimate hater
11 Mar 2008, 22:07
hows watts' injuries?? he was a fairly injury prone individual from his stint at the saints no?

and nicho, judging from your recent posts, anything you say should be taken with a grain of salt... a lot of dribble coming from your end..

BrianSpeaking
11 Mar 2008, 23:15
Just had a look, what a fwanker. Would like to know though, is Fergus Watts' brother going to leave Uni Blues now the big fella is back home with the Lions?

nicho_magic
11 Mar 2008, 23:57
hows watts' injuries?? he was a fairly injury prone individual from his stint at the saints no?

and nicho, judging from your recent posts, anything you say should be taken with a grain of salt... a lot of dribble coming from your end..

i would of thought what i've said so far is spot on.

watts is playing, as is ries as is adkins. (confirmed by the vafa website)

also collegians winning the flag... lock it in.

no commment on the injury front

nicho_magic
11 Mar 2008, 23:57
Just had a look, what a fwanker. Would like to know though, is Fergus Watts' brother going to leave Uni Blues now the big fella is back home with the Lions?

and highly unlikely that jack will be leaving the blues... this year anyway

Cherry Picker
12 Mar 2008, 09:50
Watts is overseas until mid year. Can play, kicked 10 in a SANFL final a couple of years ago, still only 21 odd.

Watts will play Round 1.

They are only expecting him to play out of the square all year.

Adkins joined The Lions because of his connection with Nick Stone, and was told he would be found a job in commercial real estate.

Its March and still no Job.

Destination A Grade
12 Mar 2008, 17:18
Has anyone else heard a whisper that the season may be pushed back two weeks??

Last year we had some good oil from someone (can't remember who) who either worked at EP or knew someone.

Any news on this years season?

nicho_magic
12 Mar 2008, 17:25
Has anyone else heard a whisper that the season may be pushed back two weeks??

Last year we had some good oil from someone (can't remember who) who either worked at EP or knew someone.

Any news on this years season?

at this stage no, but a few hot days/weeks could change that.... this week is looking hot.

Jascave
12 Mar 2008, 18:14
I suggested on a VAFA BigFooty thread (can't remember which one it was) that the VAFA might have to shift the season back to April 19 or 26, so at this stage it could still happen.

Scribe
12 Mar 2008, 21:28
I suggested on a VAFA BigFooty thread (can't remember which one it was) that the VAFA might have to shift the season back to April 19 or 26, so at this stage it could still happen.

.....because you said so Jase? :p

In the absence of anything official from HQ to club Secretaries, presume it will commence on time.

footy luver
12 Mar 2008, 22:34
.....because you said so Jase? :p

In the absence of anything official from HQ to club Secretaries, presume it will commence on time.
northcote park are looking for a practice game for tues 18 march at 5.30pm at northcote for a 6 quarter game ph 0412298231

Over The Post
12 Mar 2008, 22:41
Thursday Fine. Min 16 Max 38
Friday Fine. Min 25 Max 39
Saturday Fine. Min 19 Max 30
Sunday Fine. Min 20 Max 36
Monday Fine. Min 20 Max 36
Tuesday Fine. Min 21 Max 36
Wednesday Shower or two developing. Min 23 Max 30

Bloody Adelaide weather coming our way!

ultimate hater
13 Mar 2008, 08:10
Thursday Fine. Min 16 Max 38
Friday Fine. Min 25 Max 39
Saturday Fine. Min 19 Max 30
Sunday Fine. Min 20 Max 36
Monday Fine. Min 20 Max 36
Tuesday Fine. Min 21 Max 36
Wednesday Shower or two developing. Min 23 Max 30

Bloody Adelaide weather coming our way!

as long as the people don't come it doesn't bother me...

and melbourne being melbourne, next week could rain a bit, or even the week after... i think everyone will just have to wait and see instead of using guesswork..

BrianSpeaking
13 Mar 2008, 12:08
Monkeyboy, how are the Blacks looking this year?

The Big Pineapple
13 Mar 2008, 13:37
The tigers are primed for very good year with Luke "chunky" wintle handing the captaincy over to Davey Kinsella....

Please tell me that was a joke?

Slay Master G
13 Mar 2008, 13:43
Kinsella captain??? Way too old and slow for A Section. Will be battling for a game by round 5.

If Chris Griffen is right, then maybe SBMT have already factored in the C Grade thing.

Slay Master G
13 Mar 2008, 13:46
St Bernard's get a reprieve. .....? Would be great to see them get whipped all year!!!

Scribe
13 Mar 2008, 16:48
Watched St Bedes train on Tuesday night, they look fit and strong with great numbers.

BRIAN - how to get away with it?

I have enough difficulty on the home front getting to my own club's training, to coach, let alone to another club's, to watch, and they're not even in the same section as yours!!!

I can see the dinner table conversation now:

"Look, love, can you put the kids to bed, I'm just dropping down to Brindisi Street to watch the Tigers train"

......[duck]......

cue china plate hitting wall behind Brian's chair.

Astounding.

Cardio Carl
13 Mar 2008, 16:55
What a crock of crap, the VAFA are a toothless Tiger. The Tiges would never cough up if true and I know of at least 3 clubs with playing coaches who have paid from 8k to 15K to their blokes and the VAFA have done nothing.
Watched St Bedes train on Tuesday night, they look fit and strong with great numbers.

BS, was that you trawling the beach out the front of the college?

I can categorically state there are no investigations by the league on St Bedes or on any teams for that matter. That is from someone much closer to the action than CG mail.

Play On!

The Big Pineapple
13 Mar 2008, 17:00
BRIAN - how to get away with it?

I have enough difficulty on the home front getting to my own club's training, to coach, let alone to another club's, to watch, and they're not even in the same section as yours!!!

I can see the dinner table conversation now:

"Look, love, can you put the kids to bed, I'm just dropping down to Brindisi Street to watch the Tigers train"

......[duck]......

cue china plate hitting wall behind Brian's chair.

Astounding.

Brian wears the pants Scribe, and the missus knows her place.

Sounds like you need to put your foot down at home.

Monkeyboy
13 Mar 2008, 17:13
Monkeyboy, how are the Blacks looking this year?

If you listen to the KingRay, then you would assume that the mission is almost fully complete. If you don't listen to the main man, then you would expect to be mid table. Numbers and class are a little uneven IMO. Do not think many at Nation Xav are taking too much notice yet.

BrianSpeaking
16 Mar 2008, 09:48
Okay lads, just a month or so out from the start of the VAFA season,with what promises to be a ripping and very wide open A Section this year.
How about some pre season tips for end of year standings.
Heres my predictions, based on a little inside info around the traps.

Premiers Collegians
RU Old Brighton
Relegation
Old Scotch
Old Trinity

The Lions have recruited strongly in the off season, adding AFL key forward Watts and ex Hawk Ries amongst a plethora of very good recruits. A year of getting to know the coaches game plan as well as quality players like Arnott and Stone adapting to VAFA footy sees them poised to complete the comeback from C Section under President Dyers leadership.

Old Brighton had a terrific season last year and looked to have stage fright on the big stage on GF day. Have done a Collegians and added more strength to their KKP area and will again cement themselves as a flag favorite. Have the second best home ground advantage in A Section and will push the Purples all of the way for the flag.

St Bedes are the next power in VAFA footy, you can be assured of that. With massive junior numbers from Auskick all the way through to Under 17s, Under 19 Premiers in Section 2 last year, the ressies making the finals and the Seniors going back to back, all is on course for the Catholics to push OX as the power Catholic club of A Section. With recruits the quality of VAFA champion Mick Hazell, a few ex VFL regulars and a QAFL team of the year member added to the best home ground advantage in VAFA footy, the Tigers are the team to be feared. Huge numbers at training and well coached by LB with genuine stars in Anstey, Phibbs, Luke Wintle, Groves, State Under 19 captain Neville and resident VAFA funny man Kinsella, it will be a good afternoon had watching the Tiges stamp their authority in 08. THIRD

Uni Blues may have let slip a golden opportunity over the last 2 years. Whilst Blacks were in Z Section, Blues have had the run of Melbourne Uni and all of its golden students. Sadly for them, they were not able to be the dominant team they should have been. In fact, they should have been what Old Xavs are and were, almost unbeatable. This year shapes as their last for a while as a really strong team, with their power base now eroded by the new kid on the block who shares the change rooms across the hall. FOURTH.

Old Xaverians again took the pennant in 07 BUT have reportedly experienced quite a turnover of special VAFA talent in the off season. Bones and co have have moved on to other endeavours and one of the greatest players to ever grace the VAFA in Tim Ockleshaw has finally pulled the pin on an illustrious career, along with Matt McCarthy losing desire to play at any level. Unlike the previous year, Old Xavs under 19s do not intimidate sides anymore and quite a lot of their good young kids cross to other clubs for an opportunity to play senior footy. One of these was Joel Cross, who wonm the Old Camberwell B&F last year and now finds himself on a VFL list. The OX PR machine has been in overdrive through its terrific website assuring us all the OX are still the kings, but I have a small inkling that they are in for some rebuilding. FIFTH

In the last decade or 2 the Blacks have fallen from being the Marilyn Monroe to the Ugly ducklings of the Uni, a team with perhaps the most historical background in the VAFA. Legends like La Fontaine, the Cordners and the Costellos have all pulled on the Blacks jumpers and brought glory to the club.
After spiralling out of control to the depths of extinction, Ray Wilson has guided them back to the great heights of the VAFA's highest grades, ruffling many feathers along the way. A team of players, some from other VAFA clubs, some from outside the VAFA, has put the Blacks into real contention this year. Two, possibly 3 new AFL recruits, two WA All Australians as well as some good young country kids will be keen to put their stamp on A Section. A much vaunted on ball brigade of Lacey, Kempton and Smith will take some stopping and I expect them to get under the guard of a few teams this year. Could finish anywhere between 5th and 8th but Im tipping the Parkin and Rizio connection will have them nicley placed for a shot at higher honours in 09. SIXTH

De La Salle have a very strong young base to build upon this year. However, there seems to be a mental inabilty for the lads to impose themselves on the competition. Back to back under 19 flags tells us that their may be a change of fortune if they can keep thoise kids together. My gut feel is another dissapointing year but then again, Hornet tells us this could be the year. I'll hedge my bests and say anywhere between 6th and 10th. SEVENTH

Old Ivanhoe took an eternity to find someone who wanted to coach them and finally in January appointed Dan Winkle aka The Fonz.
Rumored disquiet amongst the player group over several alleged unsavory practices are bound to have put a dampner on things at Pine Lodge. However, they still have the best player in A Section in Hayden Hetta and a strong on ball unit. Their place on the ladder wont reflect their talent, more the fact that two strong clubs have been promoted and one weak club has been relegated. EIGHTH.

Old Scotch have appointed Peter Banfield to turn around the club, but one feels it is two years too late. Not a lot to say about the Scotchies other than their inabilty to develop their young players from within the club will see them plunge to B Section for the first time in 30 odd years to rebuild. NINTH

Old Trinity have ridden on the back of Rambo and more recently Cutrera up as high a fourth and as low as 8th. They will kick and scream and play out some desperate miraculous wins, but they just dont have enough talent. The era of mediocrity in A Section will end this year, with OT to return to B Section to rebuild for the first time in the post Rambo era. GONE

Sausage roll
16 Mar 2008, 17:30
Briza,

Congratulations on the new addition on friday briza. Number 4?
Hope mother and baby are well.

nicho_magic
16 Mar 2008, 17:39
collegians thumped old brighton today in 40 degree heat.

Eddie Woloschek
16 Mar 2008, 19:22
Okay lads, just a month or so out from the start of the VAFA season,with what promises to be a ripping and very wide open A Section this year.

Premiers Collegians
RU Old Brighton
Relegation
Old Scotch
Old Trinity

Interesting preview Brian, though way too tame and thoroughly lacking in the vitriol and rancour that gets the punters reaching for the "quote" button with their mouse.

soupsey
16 Mar 2008, 19:42

Who impressed ?

nicho_magic
16 Mar 2008, 20:53
Who impressed ?

guess

ultimate hater
17 Mar 2008, 08:56

ahh nicho.. 3 goals a thumping? did smash us in the first half i admit, got ours back in the second.. the heat was ridiculous, with a strong wind just blowing more hot air into your face, it wasn't the best day for a game of footy thats for sure...

dont think much can be taking from that game though, good hit out for the fitness i would think..

collegians spine does look good i must admit.. stone, dixon, jorg, watts etc.. definately the team to beat this year.. on paper anyway..

nicho_magic
17 Mar 2008, 09:39
ahh nicho.. 3 goals a thumping? did smash us in the first half i admit, got ours back in the second.. the heat was ridiculous, with a strong wind just blowing more hot air into your face, it wasn't the best day for a game of footy thats for sure...

dont think much can be taking from that game though, good hit out for the fitness i would think..

collegians spine does look good i must admit.. stone, dixon, jorg, watts etc.. definately the team to beat this year.. on paper anyway..

after taking off watts a few minutes into the second... ries went off in the last half, and unsworth didn't play much of the last half either...
this is to go with no strauchn, stone and jorgenson... i'm sure old brighton had a few out as well, but of that quality... there was no scoreboard, but the first half which were 20 minute quarters ( as opposed to 12 minute quarters in the last half), it didn't appear old brighton touched the ball... they certainly didn't score in the first quarter (against the wind)

SurftheWorld
17 Mar 2008, 09:54
after taking off watts a few minutes into the second... ries went off in the last half, and unsworth didn't play much of the last half either...
this is to go with no strauchn, stone and jorgenson... i'm sure old brighton had a few out as well, but of that quality... there was no scoreboard, but the first half which were 20 minute quarters ( as opposed to 12 minute quarters in the last half), it didn't appear old brighton touched the ball... they certainly didn't score in the first quarter (against the wind)

Its important to remember, "practice matches" are exactly that, whether you win or loose or like most pracy matches the score isnt kept, the side on the ground at any given time are trying new things, playing out of position and just getting the legs used to match day fitness. Anybody that thinks they have bragging rights after a praccy match is kidding themselves, especially in the crazy temps we had last weekend. More importantly, how did the teams find the grounds, too hard? I know they are currently reviewing the start of the season for another delay start.

ultimate hater
17 Mar 2008, 10:39
Its important to remember, "practice matches" are exactly that, whether you win or loose or like most pracy matches the score isnt kept, the side on the ground at any given time are trying new things, playing out of position and just getting the legs used to match day fitness. Anybody that thinks they have bragging rights after a praccy match is kidding themselves, especially in the crazy temps we had last weekend. More importantly, how did the teams find the grounds, too hard? I know they are currently reviewing the start of the season for another delay start.

spot on.. as i've said earlier, anything nicho says should be taken with a grain of salt.. no-one is saying collegians don't look good on paper and should be the team to beat this year, but nicho is in the business of talking himself up as much as he can, so i guess just let him be..

the ground out at wesley glen waverley was pretty much rock hard (a fair few guys were playing in runners would you believe).. they had a cricket pitch down one end which had just been played on the day before apparently, would have had plenty of bounce in it.. I'm glad trinity are in A grade this year, their ground is a pleasure to play on...

God Yeah
17 Mar 2008, 10:52
Speaking of Trinity they hosted De La yesterday, the mainground was out of action (real shame) both teams far from their best, but a few talls from trinity impressed.

Big bloke in the goal square for the T's looked likely - De La midfield played well.

Not sure of the score but I would have tipped T's by 2-3 goals.

Slay Master G
17 Mar 2008, 11:32
Speaking of Trinity they hosted De La yesterday, the mainground was out of action (real shame) both teams far from their best, but a few talls from trinity impressed.

Big bloke in the goal square for the T's looked likely - De La midfield played well.

Not sure of the score but I would have tipped T's by 2-3 goals.

Can anybody from OT's give me an update on the Big Cat. How is he progressing from his setback..?

Was he the big fella impressing from the goal square as noted above...?

Bugsy Brown
17 Mar 2008, 11:35
I think you will find the big bloke in the goal square that “looked likely” was Ramsden – apparently he’s not a bad player.

Surprised to hear you say OT’s by 2 – 3. De La didn’t score a goal for 3 quarters. I think the official score had Trinity by about 7 if not more.

Scribe
17 Mar 2008, 11:53
I think you will find the big bloke in the goal square that “looked likely” was Ramsden – apparently he’s not a bad player.

Terribly over-rated that Ramsden.

Ordinary fella too. :D

Good to hear he's up and about in the first hit-out - still refuses to use that veteran's leave pass from the hot mid-March PMs.

Jascave
17 Mar 2008, 20:06
I think what happening is that the VAFA wants to have the best players playing not just in the club comp, but also for State of Origin/Representative Football selection. The VAFA wants to make its competition-not the VFL, or the VCFL, or the VMFL-the best competition in Victoria, and to do that, the VAFA and the clubs-regardless of what section they are in-would do anything to get these players to play for them. And IMO, I think that's wrong. It flies in the face of what VAFA football is all about-players playing for the love of the game-without financial inducements. What's happening now ( VAFA clubs doing whatever it took to get the very best players) would lead to clubs falling by the wayside if this sort of thing continues. I can't see it happening now, but 5-10 years down the track it might happen.

groundsman
17 Mar 2008, 21:22
Nicho, In the case of Nick & Fergus it is the boys comming back to the fold as is Dukes for Ajax. I know they are not in it for the money. However there have to be rules when it comes to Amateur status. It is the players that are bought that I have a problem with unless the Amos change the rules.

nicho_magic
17 Mar 2008, 23:20
Nicho, In the case of Nick & Fergus it is the boys comming back to the fold as is Dukes for Ajax. I know they are not in it for the money. However there have to be rules when it comes to Amateur status. It is the players that are bought that I have a problem with unless the Amos change the rules.

examples?

overtheline
17 Mar 2008, 23:30
Terribly over-rated that Ramsden.

Ordinary fella too. :D

Good to hear he's up and about in the first hit-out - still refuses to use that veteran's leave pass from the hot mid-March PMs.

LOL.

You must be such a close frend to post stuff like that!

What a legend!

We are so lucky!

JG Hornet
18 Mar 2008, 08:44

Premiers Collegians
RU Old Brighton
Relegation
Old Scotch
Old Trinity

The Lions have recruited strongly in the off season, adding AFL key forward Watts and ex Hawk Ries amongst a plethora of very good recruits. A year of getting to know the coaches game plan as well as quality players like Arnott and Stone adapting to VAFA footy sees them poised to complete the comeback from C Section under President Dyers leadership.

Old Brighton had a terrific season last year and looked to have stage fright on the big stage on GF day. Have done a Collegians and added more strength to their KKP area and will again cement themselves as a flag favorite. Have the second best home ground advantage in A Section and will push the Purples all of the way for the flag.

St Bedes are the next power in VAFA footy, you can be assured of that. With massive junior numbers from Auskick all the way through to Under 17s, Under 19 Premiers in Section 2 last year, the ressies making the finals and the Seniors going back to back, all is on course for the Catholics to push OX as the power Catholic club of A Section. With recruits the quality of VAFA champion Mick Hazell, a few ex VFL regulars and a QAFL team of the year member added to the best home ground advantage in VAFA footy, the Tigers are the team to be feared. Huge numbers at training and well coached by LB with genuine stars in Anstey, Phibbs, Luke Wintle, Groves, State Under 19 captain Neville and resident VAFA funny man Kinsella, it will be a good afternoon had watching the Tiges stamp their authority in 08. THIRD

Uni Blues may have let slip a golden opportunity over the last 2 years. Whilst Blacks were in Z Section, Blues have had the run of Melbourne Uni and all of its golden students. Sadly for them, they were not able to be the dominant team they should have been. In fact, they should have been what Old Xavs are and were, almost unbeatable. This year shapes as their last for a while as a really strong team, with their power base now eroded by the new kid on the block who shares the change rooms across the hall. FOURTH.

Old Xaverians again took the pennant in 07 BUT have reportedly experienced quite a turnover of special VAFA talent in the off season. Bones and co have have moved on to other endeavours and one of the greatest players to ever grace the VAFA in Tim Ockleshaw has finally pulled the pin on an illustrious career, along with Matt McCarthy losing desire to play at any level. Unlike the previous year, Old Xavs under 19s do not intimidate sides anymore and quite a lot of their good young kids cross to other clubs for an opportunity to play senior footy. One of these was Joel Cross, who wonm the Old Camberwell B&F last year and now finds himself on a VFL list. The OX PR machine has been in overdrive through its terrific website assuring us all the OX are still the kings, but I have a small inkling that they are in for some rebuilding. FIFTH

In the last decade or 2 the Blacks have fallen from being the Marilyn Monroe to the Ugly ducklings of the Uni, a team with perhaps the most historical background in the VAFA. Legends like La Fontaine, the Cordners and the Costellos have all pulled on the Blacks jumpers and brought glory to the club.
After spiralling out of control to the depths of extinction, Ray Wilson has guided them back to the great heights of the VAFA's highest grades, ruffling many feathers along the way. A team of players, some from other VAFA clubs, some from outside the VAFA, has put the Blacks into real contention this year. Two, possibly 3 new AFL recruits, two WA All Australians as well as some good young country kids will be keen to put their stamp on A Section. A much vaunted on ball brigade of Lacey, Kempton and Smith will take some stopping and I expect them to get under the guard of a few teams this year. Could finish anywhere between 5th and 8th but Im tipping the Parkin and Rizio connection will have them nicley placed for a shot at higher honours in 09. SIXTH

De La Salle have a very strong young base to build upon this year. However, there seems to be a mental inabilty for the lads to impose themselves on the competition. Back to back under 19 flags tells us that their may be a change of fortune if they can keep thoise kids together. My gut feel is another dissapointing year but then again, Hornet tells us this could be the year. I'll hedge my bests and say anywhere between 6th and 10th. SEVENTH

Old Ivanhoe took an eternity to find someone who wanted to coach them and finally in January appointed Dan Winkle aka The Fonz.
Rumored disquiet amongst the player group over several alleged unsavory practices are bound to have put a dampner on things at Pine Lodge. However, they still have the best player in A Section in Hayden Hetta and a strong on ball unit. Their place on the ladder wont reflect their talent, more the fact that two strong clubs have been promoted and one weak club has been relegated. EIGHTH.

Old Scotch have appointed Peter Banfield to turn around the club, but one feels it is two years too late. Not a lot to say about the Scotchies other than their inabilty to develop their young players from within the club will see them plunge to B Section for the first time in 30 odd years to rebuild. NINTH

Old Trinity have ridden on the back of Rambo and more recently Cutrera up as high a fourth and as low as 8th. They will kick and scream and play out some desperate miraculous wins, but they just dont have enough talent. The era of mediocrity in A Section will end this year, with OT to return to B Section to rebuild for the first time in the post Rambo era. GONE

Au Contraire Brian, never said anything or the sorts with regards to De La. I think they are in all sorts which is a big shame...

groundsman
18 Mar 2008, 11:16
Nichos, you asked for an example? If an ex AFL/VFL player or the like, started his football with a particular school or club in his junior days, then that player should be able to return to his roots. This gives the senior section of his organisation the benifit of his experience. But just to be able to "BUY" a player in my opinion is wrong. I stated previously two instances where players were bought for a TV and a spa and neither had any alliance with the club they played for. This is where the Amateur rules need to be tightened.

river man
18 Mar 2008, 16:20
thats a bit of a joke. i know in collegians case, its got nothing to do with money at all. ries and watts went to wesley, and adkins is a mate of stones... no money involved watsoever just a bit of love for the school and now the club. why should blokes out of the afl have to wait a year to play with there mates?

I think you will find the original rules that were in place to keep paid players from equal or lesser comps out of the VAFA. It did not affect players stepping back in grade from the AFL. It was to stop players with no affiliation to a club being poached from Australia wide coming into old boys and district clubs purely for personal gain.

river man
18 Mar 2008, 16:25
Not something i would be boasting about if I went to that particular establishment

That particular establishment is quite thankful that a bloke like you never walked through its gates.

JG Hornet
18 Mar 2008, 17:07
That particular establishment is quite thankful that a bloke like you never walked through its gates.

Who the **** are you mate? Sticking up for Dom Berry? There's an attractive trait. And I walked through those gates many a time...and left with my tail between my legs each time.
Until recently, when I went to a wedding there and had a lovely day out.

Scribe
18 Mar 2008, 17:37

My vote for worst post of the month.

Goose. :thumbsd:

Cherry Picker
18 Mar 2008, 17:52
Not something i would be boasting about if I went to that particular establishment

How was I boasting HornDog?

Just making it known that he wasnt an OX import.

Didyoutapthat
18 Mar 2008, 20:34
Who the **** are you mate? Sticking up for Dom Berry? There's an attractive trait. And I walked through those gates many a time...and left with my tail between my legs each time.
Until recently, when I went to a wedding there and had a lovely day out.
Poor attempt at a rebuttle Horllllnet. It usually detracts from your argument and point of view when you admit that you could never win a fu**ing game there. And I didn't realise that sticking up for blokes who played at your club and went to your school was such a bad thing. Unlike other less successful clubs, it seems Xavs win together whereas it seems you didn't win at all.
All the Very Breast

Monkeyboy
18 Mar 2008, 22:40
Xavs premiers.
Collegians R/U

Trinity and Scotch to tumble. Why do all of the Scotch stars leave and go to Carey?? Gone.

nicho_magic
19 Mar 2008, 00:50
Xavs premiers.
Collegians R/U

Trinity and Scotch to tumble. Why do all of the Scotch stars leave and go to Carey?? Gone.

ahaha kidding yourself... collegians may not lose a game all year

Monkeyboy
19 Mar 2008, 06:56
ahaha kidding yourself... collegians may not lose a game all year

OK.....tipping Xavs to win a flag in A Section VAFA is just crazy.....sorry....:rolleyes:

PS - It is official. We can now welcome back St.Bernards to our fold. Bye Bye cheats.

Scribe
19 Mar 2008, 07:17
OK.....tipping Xavs to win a flag in A Section VAFA is just crazy.....sorry....:rolleyes:

PS - It is official. We can now welcome back St.Bernards to our fold. Bye Bye cheats.

WHAT THE......?!?!?!

Over The Post
19 Mar 2008, 07:59
Well I had a minor panic attack when I checked the A Section fixture and it came up... blank.

For some reason it doesn't display for me unless I selected another section first then went back to A.

So come on Monkey - spill the beans - tell all!

Reveller's Royalty
19 Mar 2008, 08:45
bloods in trouble too?

ultimate hater
19 Mar 2008, 08:57
official? yeah right.. official bullshit more like it..

I just love my footy
19 Mar 2008, 08:59
Xavs premiers.
Collegians R/U

Care to elaborate on which Scotch stars have left to go to Carey????
This would be interesting to know!!!

Reveller's Royalty
19 Mar 2008, 09:19
official? yeah right.. official bullshit more like it..

i got the same mail last night.. nothing on vafa site yet though.

ultimate hater
19 Mar 2008, 09:23
i got the same mail last night.. nothing on vafa site yet though.

what was the mail exactly though?

JG Hornet
19 Mar 2008, 10:37
Poor attempt at a rebuttle Horllllnet. It usually detracts from your argument and point of view when you admit that you could never win a fu**ing game there. And I didn't realise that sticking up for blokes who played at your club and went to your school was such a bad thing. Unlike other less successful clubs, it seems Xavs win together whereas it seems you didn't win at all.
All the Very Breast

Numbnuts

I'm not bagging Xavs, I'm bagging Dom Berry. I have nothing but respect for Xavier and their footy club. Berry, on the other hand was one of the more despicable men to don the red and black jumper.

accurate1
19 Mar 2008, 10:43

MB, I heard Haileyb gone to C Grade but St Bedes and Ajax not gone ... ??? do you know more ??

Penski
19 Mar 2008, 10:58
Is there anyone to confirm this?

Perhaps someone from SBMT that knows what is going on.

Although those guys were very chatty on here the last few weeks and have gone a little silent, which may be an indicator in itself.

ultimate hater
19 Mar 2008, 11:00
is that all they gave you OTP?

did you put the hard word on them?

ultimate hater
19 Mar 2008, 11:03
Is there anyone to confirm this?

Perhaps someone from SBMT that knows what is going on.

Although those guys were very chatty on here the last few weeks and have gone a little silent, which may be an indicator in itself.
agreed.. Bigfooty ban by the club maybe?

Could explain why there are "8 members, 38 guests online"..

Jascave
19 Mar 2008, 11:14

Premiers Collegians
RU Old Brighton
Relegation
Old Scotch
Old Trinity

My betting market for A Section:

$1.60 Collegians
$2.10 Old Brighton
$2.70 St Bedes Mentone Tigers
$3.10 Old Xaverians
$3.60 Uni Blues
$4.10 Uni Blacks
$5.00 De La Salle
$6.20 Old Ivanhoe
$8.00 Old Scotch
$11.00 Old Trinity

Penski
19 Mar 2008, 11:17

$1.60 Collegians
$2.10 Old Brighton
$3.10 Old Xaverians
$3.60 Uni Blues
$4.10 Uni Blacks
$5.00 De La Salle
$6.20 Old Ivanhoe
$8.00 Old Scotch
$11.00 Old Trinity

What are the odds on St Bernards?

JG Hornet
19 Mar 2008, 11:23

$1.60 Collegians
$2.10 Old Brighton
$3.10 Old Xaverians
$3.60 Uni Blues
$4.10 Uni Blacks
$5.00 De La Salle
$6.20 Old Ivanhoe
$8.00 Old Scotch
$11.00 Old Trinity

Who are you Bill Hutchinson?
What sort of formula have you used here Jason – Never seen a market more biased against the punter!

I'll take the massive overs on the tote and back Scotch and Ivanhoe at long odds for the four.

Sir Jack
19 Mar 2008, 11:58

$1.60 Collegians
$2.10 Old Brighton
$3.10 Old Xaverians
$3.60 Uni Blues
$4.10 Uni Blacks
$5.00 De La Salle
$6.20 Old Ivanhoe
$8.00 Old Scotch
$11.00 Old Trinity

Tight market Jase, take a risk pal and open it up to a little value! $1.60 for the flag favourites and only $11 for the wooden spooner? Surely a bloke with as much time on his hands as you can frame a better market.

Joe Dirt
19 Mar 2008, 12:51

$1.60 Collegians
$2.10 Old Brighton
$3.10 Old Xaverians
$3.60 Uni Blues
$4.10 Uni Blacks
$5.00 De La Salle
$6.20 Old Ivanhoe
$8.00 Old Scotch
$11.00 Old Trinity

There are two things wrong with this market.
1) Its 290% and blatant robbery of the punter
2) It should probably be suspended betting after last nights revelations at headquarters. Particularly seeing as we're talking about the 3rd favourite

Jascave
19 Mar 2008, 12:56
You want me to try again with the A Section betting market?

JG Hornet
19 Mar 2008, 13:12
You want me to try again with the A Section betting market?

No, don't worry about it.

Jascave
19 Mar 2008, 13:42
I wonder how would an A Section club handle Brendan Fevola, in light of what happened this week? Would they strip him of his spot in the leadership group but allow him to play in the seniors or send him back to the ressies for a week or two?

BrianSpeaking
19 Mar 2008, 13:42
Gee, St Bedes really do have the A Section establishment rattled don't they! There is nothing more sure in life that The Tigers will smash a lot of teams in A Section this year, That St Bernards will be playing a local derby against OEG in B Section this year and that Voss and co will welcome fellow B Section teams to the Badlands.
The more intriuging question is why have Gertsman and half of the Scotch team done a runner to Carey?

river man
19 Mar 2008, 13:54
The more intriuging question is why have Gertsman and half of the Scotch team done a runner to Carey?[/quote]

who else has jumped ship from the cardinals??? Gertsman is rumoured to be at most vafa clubs prior to each season but always seems to wind up back at camberwell road. Is this confirmed.

Slay Master G
19 Mar 2008, 13:58
Apple Core

Not sure about your grasp of geography. Are the Tigers playing their games in Mornington this year.....?

Mentone is not the Peninsula!!

MC Extra Dollop
19 Mar 2008, 14:09
I wonder how would an A Section club handle Brendan Fevola, in light of what happened this week? Would they strip him of his spot in the leadership group but allow him to play in the seniors or send him back to the ressies for a week or two?

$5 in the footy trip jar...

Jascave
19 Mar 2008, 14:28
I reckon Gertsman and most of those guys down at Old Scotch must've had a falling out with either coach or the committee (or both) and decided their future lies eleswhere. Enter Old Carey...

Didyoutapthat
19 Mar 2008, 14:31
I reckon Gertsman and most of those guys down at Old Scotch must've had a falling out with either coach or the committee (or both) and decided their future lies eleswhere. Enter Old Carey...
Only if Carey can financially afford the burden of the full-forwards match payments. Perhaps that's why he is rumoured to have left Camberwell Rd. They spent all their money on the refurbishments....

btown
19 Mar 2008, 22:48

$1.60 Collegians
$2.10 Old Brighton
$3.10 Old Xaverians
$3.60 Uni Blues
$4.10 Uni Blacks
$5.00 De La Salle
$6.20 Old Ivanhoe
$8.00 Old Scotch
$11.00 Old Trinity

Give us your odds BS

YackTalk
23 Mar 2008, 11:36
As a former player these are the reasons the SBMT have grown and succeeded in the past 3 years.
1. Presidential /committee stability.
2. The merger – St Bedes (players but poor facilities) and Mentone (good facilities poor player retention). It was a merger of 3 clubs into ONE. St Bedes Old Colls, Mentone Senior and Mentone Juniors. The spirit of the merger has been maintained.
3. The further development of those facilities. The purpose built senior change rooms are the size of an AFL change room and the envy of many clubs. This facility can be used 12 months of the year solely by the football club.
4. Coaches – each senior coach appointment has been better than the previous one.eg. a C grade coach, to an A Grade coach to an ex-VFA coach to an ex-AFL player in Luke Beveridge
5. Under 19 coach is very good. He is a teacher at the college – now has 2 under 19 teams that range in kids in 4 year levels from 19 to 16 yr olds. Kids from the under 17’s often fill in and get a taste of under 19 football.
6. There are 3-4 teachers at the College playing senior football for St Bedes. No better advertising than that.
7. The junior program from auskick to the under 17,s
8. The other football clubs in the area. St Bedes gets its students from the feeder catholic schools in the area. If your not in the feeder school area your very unlikely to get into St Bedes. The feeder schools are from Beaumaris to Aspendale to Dingley. So there is a high concentration of catholics in these areas as parents want to send their kids to St Bedes/Kilbreda. Therefore there are about 5 local football clubs that have future St Bedes kids in their junior programs. Someone mentioned to me that the Edi-Asp junior football club is run by the St Louis parents. Over the years we have attracted many of these kids to the under 19’s and seniors. The cordas, terrells, anstey, scafidis all played their junior football at Edi-Asp. The Wintles at Chelt.
9. And with guys like Surly and Kinsella they are a great bunch of guys.

Bring on Season 2008. I am looking forward to it.

Jascave
23 Mar 2008, 15:08
My 2008 A Section ladder:

Collegians
Old Brighton
St Bedes Mentone Tigers
Old Xaverians

Uni Blues
Uni Blacks
Old Ivanhoe
De La Salle
Old Trinity
Old Scotch

Premiers: Old Brighton
Runners-up: Collegians
Team to watch: St Bedes Mentone Tigers
Relegation: Old Trinity Old Scotch
Best & Fairest: Luke Wintle (St Bedes Mentone Tigers)