View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43

Sausage roll
23 Mar 2008, 16:29
My 2008 A Section ladder:

Collegians
Old Brighton
St Bedes Mentone Tigers
Old Xaverians

Uni Blues
Uni Blacks
Old Ivanhoe
De La Salle
Old Trinity
Old Scotch

Premiers: Old Brighton
Runners-up: Collegians
Team to watch: St Bedes Mentone Tigers
Relegation: Old Trinity Old Scotch
Best & Fairest: Luke Wintle (St Bedes Mentone Tigers)

I can assure you Jas that the Blacks will go much better than that with an AFL and all australian talent laden side.

Undestimate them at your peril

Swan Song
23 Mar 2008, 23:26
Only if Carey can financially afford the burden of the full-forwards match payments. Perhaps that's why he is rumoured to have left Camberwell Rd. They spent all their money on the refurbishments....

Scotch bithching about being out bid ................ give me a break. If you play that game.........suck it up when the river flows the other way.

tucker
24 Mar 2008, 11:11
Only if Carey can financially afford the burden of the full-forwards match payments. Perhaps that's why he is rumoured to have left Camberwell Rd. They spent all their money on the refurbishments....

Gertsman is off overseas in 5 weeks will be back around October

BALLY3000
24 Mar 2008, 17:52
Can anyone tell me if Brett Collins is playing at St Bedes this year?
Heard he has spent a bit of time down at beauy and is going to play down there.

north of the river
24 Mar 2008, 20:20
Scotch bithching about being out bid ................ give me a break. If you play that game.........suck it up when the river flows the other way.

Gee's you must have taken your loss bad on Saturday night against the mighty saints - on the turps all night/day drowning your sorrows and then decide to get on BF to type some paraletic crap across 5 threads ya moron.

"bithching"..."suck it up when the river flows the other way"??..what type of crap is that DH

harper
24 Mar 2008, 20:40
As a former player these are the reasons the SBMT have grown and succeeded in the past 3 years.
1. Presidential /committee stability.
2. The merger – St Bedes (players but poor facilities) and Mentone (good facilities poor player retention). It was a merger of 3 clubs into ONE. St Bedes Old Colls, Mentone Senior and Mentone Juniors. The spirit of the merger has been maintained.
3. The further development of those facilities. The purpose built senior change rooms are the size of an AFL change room and the envy of many clubs. This facility can be used 12 months of the year solely by the football club.
4. Coaches – each senior coach appointment has been better than the previous one.eg. a C grade coach, to an A Grade coach to an ex-VFA coach to an ex-AFL player in Luke Beveridge
5. Under 19 coach is very good. He is a teacher at the college – now has 2 under 19 teams that range in kids in 4 year levels from 19 to 16 yr olds. Kids from the under 17’s often fill in and get a taste of under 19 football.
6. There are 3-4 teachers at the College playing senior football for St Bedes. No better advertising than that.
7. The junior program from auskick to the under 17,s
8. The other football clubs in the area. St Bedes gets its students from the feeder catholic schools in the area. If your not in the feeder school area your very unlikely to get into St Bedes. The feeder schools are from Beaumaris to Aspendale to Dingley. So there is a high concentration of catholics in these areas as parents want to send their kids to St Bedes/Kilbreda. Therefore there are about 5 local football clubs that have future St Bedes kids in their junior programs. Someone mentioned to me that the Edi-Asp junior football club is run by the St Louis parents. Over the years we have attracted many of these kids to the under 19’s and seniors. The cordas, terrells, anstey, scafidis all played their junior football at Edi-Asp. The Wintles at Chelt.
9. And with guys like Surly and Kinsella they are a great bunch of guys.

Bring on Season 2008. I am looking forward to it.

Good post Yak! Having moved into the area a bit over 12 months ago I've got to say from Southland to Frankston footy is in great shape with St Bedes leading the way and all of your points are valid. Unfortunately being Aussies collectively we like to lop tall poppies and I reckon plenty of people are doing so in regards to St Bedes, not just in A grade ammo circles. Lots of kids (16-17) I've spoken to around my neighbourhood prefer Chelsea over Edi-Asp and St Bedes for the simple point of FUN!. Edi-asp's win at all costs attitude is beginning to hurt them, it may even be providing the Tigers with some talent they may not of got, hopefully St Bedes can maintain their A section status while still providing a fun environment for players to pursue their footy dreams. Anyway, the club has done a great job so far and good luck this year.

hhound
25 Mar 2008, 10:39
Good post Yak! Having moved into the area a bit over 12 months ago I've got to say from Southland to Frankston footy is in great shape with St Bedes leading the way and all of your points are valid. Unfortunately being Aussies collectively we like to lop tall poppies and I reckon plenty of people are doing so in regards to St Bedes, not just in A grade ammo circles. Lots of kids (16-17) I've spoken to around my neighbourhood prefer Chelsea over Edi-Asp and St Bedes for the simple point of FUN!. Edi-asp's win at all costs attitude is beginning to hurt them, it may even be providing the Tigers with some talent they may not of got, hopefully St Bedes can maintain their A section status while still providing a fun environment for players to pursue their footy dreams. Anyway, the club has done a great job so far and good luck this year.

blah blah blah! maybe we should just package up the silverware and courier it over to the state of the art facilities at SBMT today. I haven't heard so much drivel in a while.

Cscape
25 Mar 2008, 19:50
As a former player these are the reasons the SBMT have grown and succeeded in the past 3 years.
1. Presidential /committee stability.
2. The merger – St Bedes (players but poor facilities) and Mentone (good facilities poor player retention). It was a merger of 3 clubs into ONE. St Bedes Old Colls, Mentone Senior and Mentone Juniors. The spirit of the merger has been maintained.
3. The further development of those facilities. The purpose built senior change rooms are the size of an AFL change room and the envy of many clubs. This facility can be used 12 months of the year solely by the football club.
4. Coaches – each senior coach appointment has been better than the previous one.eg. a C grade coach, to an A Grade coach to an ex-VFA coach to an ex-AFL player in Luke Beveridge
5. Under 19 coach is very good. He is a teacher at the college – now has 2 under 19 teams that range in kids in 4 year levels from 19 to 16 yr olds. Kids from the under 17’s often fill in and get a taste of under 19 football.
6. There are 3-4 teachers at the College playing senior football for St Bedes. No better advertising than that.
7. The junior program from auskick to the under 17,s
8. The other football clubs in the area. St Bedes gets its students from the feeder catholic schools in the area. If your not in the feeder school area your very unlikely to get into St Bedes. The feeder schools are from Beaumaris to Aspendale to Dingley. So there is a high concentration of catholics in these areas as parents want to send their kids to St Bedes/Kilbreda. Therefore there are about 5 local football clubs that have future St Bedes kids in their junior programs. Someone mentioned to me that the Edi-Asp junior football club is run by the St Louis parents. Over the years we have attracted many of these kids to the under 19’s and seniors. The cordas, terrells, anstey, scafidis all played their junior football at Edi-Asp. The Wintles at Chelt.
9. And with guys like Surly and Kinsella they are a great bunch of guys.

Bring on Season 2008. I am looking forward to it.

Spot on with your post except for point 9 - Surly is a nobody and Kinsella is a liability. He may have 3 medals but he has not contributed on the day in any of the 3 GF's - either injured or outclassed - it's on video check it out - he should give his medal to the kids who's spot he took in the last 2 flags... I hope for all that he does play this year as you'll see his lack of class as a footballer and more importantly as a bloke...

BrianSpeaking
26 Mar 2008, 19:48
How long are you at French Island for Pineapple?

The Big Pineapple
26 Mar 2008, 21:17
How long are you at French Island for Pineapple?

Just missed the last ferry for the day so looks like another night here.

Looks like I'll miss my 10:10 basketball match.

Brooksy01
26 Mar 2008, 22:35
David Kinsella is a man who leads by example and stands up for his younger team-mates. The 06 GF is a perfect example of this!!!! Unlucky in the 07 GF has he only had eyes for the ball and was unable to recover from that...

Threats- Xavs, Old Brighton Collegians
Team to watch: St Bedes Mentone Tigers
Relegation: De La Salle and Old Scotch
Best & Fairest: Peter McGettian (St Bedes Mentone Tigers)
Headline you wont read this year- AJAX suceed in premiership glory
Headline you will read this year- AJAX fail in their final hurdle AGAIN

Good to see Bretty Collins train last nyt at StBedes

harper
27 Mar 2008, 08:21
C'Mon Frase- dont tell me you havent been using Musashi for the past 10 years?

How many A section players are on the Musashi nutritional program or part of it. Sloth? any blokes out at OT?

There would be major disappointment in my D1 reserves after I mention they need 1.6 - 1.8 grams per 20kg of body mass then remind them I'm talking about Musashi powders.

NBULTY
27 Mar 2008, 14:22
Nathan Buckley to play for Xav's this year.

Charles
27 Mar 2008, 14:30

Can confirm with a BIG NO:)

JG Hornet
27 Mar 2008, 14:51

His surname sums up the chances of that happening

river man
27 Mar 2008, 15:51
His surname sums up the chances of that happening
Your commenting again on a subject you can neither confirm or deny JG Hornet. seems to be a common theme in your posts.

How would you know if he was or he wasn't?

Do you have small man syndrome?

Wayne Carey to saddle up for moonee valley in the EDFL this year for at least one game.

JG Hornet
27 Mar 2008, 15:54
Your commenting again on a subject you can neither confirm or deny JG Hornet. seems to be a common theme in your posts.

How would you know if he was or he wasn't?

Do you have small man syndrome?

Wayne Carey to saddle up for moonee valley in the EDFL this year for at least one game.

Oh Ok, you're right again ****stick and I am wrong on everything I have said on here. I stand corrected – Buckley to captain Xavs, Wayne Carey to play for Sunshine West and Haileybury to be demoted to Club 18. I dips my lid...

groundsman
27 Mar 2008, 15:59
Brooksy, fair crack of the whip. Kinna does stand up for his team mates but what he did to Bloomy in the 06 GF was a little uncalled for. You don't drop a player behind the play 30 seconds into the game. To both their credit, they were seen together at the postage stamp after SBMT's demolition job in 07. As for the B&F, my pick is Jack Hellier. Macka is good but not in the same class as Jack.

river man
27 Mar 2008, 16:02
Oh Ok, you're right again ****stick and I am wrong on everything I have said on here. I stand corrected – Buckley to captain Xavs, Wayne Carey to play for Sunshine West and Haileybury to be demoted to Club 18. I dips my lid...

Do you like fishing JG ??

You seem to take the bait very easily.

Tim Fleming is captaining Xavs this year as I understand it. Bucks might have to take a back seat.

Didyoutapthat
27 Mar 2008, 16:05

Perenially writing drivel on here opens yourself up for some criticism surely JG... Especially coming from a well known VAFA afficionado like River Man

Rufus Red
27 Mar 2008, 16:12
Perenially writing drivel on here opens yourself up for some criticism surely JG... Especially coming from a well known VAFA afficionado like River Man

I'm guessing that is sarcasm?

Cherry Picker
27 Mar 2008, 16:16

It does raise my point JG.

You seem to know a hell of alot for a bloke that isnt affiliated to an A grade club.

Over The Post
27 Mar 2008, 16:35
So Cherry Picker, we take it you're not an avid reader of the Weekly Rag sold at canteens everywhere for the princely sum of $2?

JG Hornet
27 Mar 2008, 16:41
It does raise my point JG.

You seem to know a hell of alot for a bloke that isnt affiliated to an A grade club.

Who says I know a hell of a lot? All I'm saying is, a/a punting man and b/ the person who writes the A Grade column - that I would put my house on the fact that Nathan Buckley couldn't be stuffed playing suburban footy and b/ the VAFA aren't going to say "Sorry chaps, you mind handing those pennants back, there's a good sport" to Haileybury and St Bedes.

But you must be closer to Michael Sholly and the powers that be than I so I'll just stick to writing posts about local TABS!

Cherry Picker
27 Mar 2008, 17:17
So Cherry Picker, we take it you're not an avid reader of the Weekly Rag sold at canteens everywhere for the princely sum of $2?

Incorrect OTP.

I enjoy reading his column each week, especially when he gives me a mention.

soupsey
27 Mar 2008, 21:29
Do you like fishing JG ??

You seem to take the bait very easily.

Tim Fleming is captaining Xavs this year as I understand it. Bucks might have to take a back seat.

River man you don't know how correct you are.........a back seat to a mystery recruit. Like nothing ever seen before at Xavs. hhhhmmmmmmm!!!

Scribe
28 Mar 2008, 08:39
River man you don't know how correct you are.........a back seat to a mystery recruit. Like nothing ever seen before at Xavs. hhhhmmmmmmm!!!

STRAUCHANIE!!!!!!!!!!!?

Would look a bit like Craig Kelly when he donned the Claret 'n Stout jumperback in the mid 90's

ultimate hater
28 Mar 2008, 08:41
if its an old man like bucks, he'll struggle a lot... there would be no point him playing.. maybe you've got tim watson coming down to throw on the boots.. almost as useful as that mark graham recruit you guys had..

Fred
28 Mar 2008, 09:34
There will be no more mentions of investigations regarding SBMT. There is no basis for the rumours and any further mentions will result in red cards being awarded.

Jascave
28 Mar 2008, 10:02
Look out for the new VAFA website which will be online next Tuesday.

BrianSpeaking
28 Mar 2008, 16:25
Bucks has been seen at several OX games, so wouldnt surprise at all. Would be great for the VAFA if it happened.

jogger
28 Mar 2008, 16:44
Bucks has been seen at several OX games, so wouldnt surprise at all. Would be great for the VAFA if it happened.

Seriously mate, do us all a favour and go all of next week without posting.

Max Leader
28 Mar 2008, 17:18

Tell me one benefit it would bring to the Ammo's.

Which OX player would have to miss out because of Bucks.

Would the Sheik rate him as the best player in the Comp.

It would give the Leader News Rag more reasons to make up more stories regarding player payments.

Xavs didn't need Kelly and Graham and they certainly don't need Buckley.

I couldn't see Buckley traveling to Murchison to watch OX play any practice matches.

Cherry Picker
28 Mar 2008, 17:45
I couldn't see Buckley traveling to Murchison to watch OX play any practice matches.[/quote]

I understand what you are saying...... but

Bucks has said if he gets the urge to play it will be with Xavs.

Has been seen enjoying afew froffies with the lads post premierships.

And his still yet to win one.

out west
28 Mar 2008, 17:51
I couldn't see Buckley traveling to Murchison to watch OX play any practice matches.

And his still yet to win one.[/quote]

Won a premiership for Port Adelaide in 1992!!!

merc27
28 Mar 2008, 21:24

And his still yet to win one.[/quote]

What only Bucks?? Surely Hirdy & Arch have promised they will play as well. Oh and don't forget Cuz......get over yourselves please

BrianSpeaking
28 Mar 2008, 23:50
Seriously mate, do us all a favour and go all of next week without posting.
Seriously Jerker, this is what the sites for. I really hope for the sake of a lot of people you arent who I and others suspect you are.

nicho_magic
29 Mar 2008, 18:09
There will be no more mentions of investigations regarding SBMT. There is no basis for the rumours and any further mentions will result in red cards being awarded.

ahah fred lays the smack down... it really did well that rumour. got the newspaper and all!

Over The Post
29 Mar 2008, 18:27
Bigfooty: Your number one source for news, views, and febrile imaginations.

Bugsy Brown
30 Mar 2008, 13:26
Has anyone got any news / results on the praccy matches this weekend?

Cherry Picker
31 Mar 2008, 09:43
Has anyone got any news / results on the praccy matches this weekend?

Collegians 1st's beat Old Camberwell by a couple of goals (no scoreboard)
Colegians 2nd's Lost to Old Camberwell by a couple of goals " "

Xavs 1st's and 2nds beat Uni Blacks by 10 goals

hhound
31 Mar 2008, 09:47
Old Trinity went down to Balwyn by about 5 goals.

ultimate hater
31 Mar 2008, 09:50
1st's: old brighton beat old scotch by roughly 20 points in low scoring
2nd's: OB beat OS by a few points..

river man
31 Mar 2008, 09:52

Did any of the AFL boys play in the praccy game?

Watts, Reis, Adkins, Marty Pask??

Penski
31 Mar 2008, 10:18
Did any of the AFL boys play in the praccy game?

Watts, Reis, Adkins, Marty Pask??

I watched 3 quarters of the Collegians game.

Fergus Watts and Nick Ries played, but missing for Collegians were Simon Arnott, Damien Adkins, and Ben Robbins in regards to AFL players, as well as a few other handy players like Brock Mooney and Shura Taft.

About 8-10 on the bench for Collegians, so a lot of rotations, and it looked as though a few only played a half.

All in all a high quality game (for a praccy match), and both sides should be excited about the year ahead.

Chris Griffin
31 Mar 2008, 14:16
Uni Blues beat St Bernards by about 6 or 7 goals i think playing on a ground the size of MoMo's dancefloor...

Uni fwd line looks pretty good/strong. St bernards looked promising at times (i think they were up at half time).

Bugsy Brown
31 Mar 2008, 17:12
Seems like a few clubs have played B grade sides in the praccy matches thus far. Not quiet sure what the rationale is there?? I would have thought you would want to test yourself against another A grade side.

Did Balwyn play their ex-AFL players against Old Trinity? i heard they have got bowden, joel smith, nick smith (melb) and a few others down there?

Cardio Carl
31 Mar 2008, 17:48

GOOD...the postings were a DISGRACE and the posters responsible (who we know) should consider their comments in the future.

To state they were 100% that a club was being investigated was just so wrong and contradicts the spirit of the competition.

rightfoot_sloth
31 Mar 2008, 19:15
Seems like a few clubs have played B grade sides in the praccy matches thus far. Not quiet sure what the rationale is there?? I would have thought you would want to test yourself against another A grade side.

Did Balwyn play their ex-AFL players against Old Trinity? i heard they have got bowden, joel smith, nick smith (melb) and a few others down there?

Cranage brothers and Smiths * 2 and Patrick Bowden played for Balwyn on the weekend. Alan Murray ex St.Kilda was only league player that didn't play.

soupsey
31 Mar 2008, 21:13
if its an old man like bucks, he'll struggle a lot... there would be no point him playing.. maybe you've got tim watson coming down to throw on the boots.. almost as useful as that mark graham recruit you guys had..

Let's just say that he is not a former AFL player. More like a future one!

Destination A Grade
1 Apr 2008, 08:39
To state they are 100% correct on a club being investigated was crazy.

If you are refering to a post that i made then i would like to make a few comments.

I never said it was St Bede's. I never mentioned a team.

The final hearing for the investigation I was refering to was Tuesday or Wednesday night last week. Outcome - Charge not proven.

Penski
1 Apr 2008, 08:39
Maybe i haven't looked at it for a little while, but the VAFA website looks exactly the same as last time i was there.

Wasn't the re-launch meant to happen today? (on April Fools!)

Scribe
1 Apr 2008, 11:50
GOOD...the postings were a DISGRACE and the posters responsible (who we know) should consider their comments in the future.

To state they were 100% that a club was being investigated was just so wrong and contradicts the spirit of the competition.

A shame that the debut season of STBMT was sidetracked in this manner.

Not sure where the rumours started from, but I never thought it prudent to enquire with HQ as to their veracity myself. Suffice to say, it spread far and wide as the VAFA grapevine works brilliantly regardless of whether the content is fact or fiction.

Hopefully everyone can focus on round 1 now, which is only 11 sleeps away! :)

soupsey
1 Apr 2008, 11:51
Maybe i haven't looked at it for a little while, but the VAFA website looks exactly the same as last time i was there.

Wasn't the re-launch meant to happen today? (on April Fools!)

Ammo website needs serious work. It would want to be good when/if it re-launches. How come the clubs can produce far better websites than the association. Surely someone down there can afford half an hour a week to get the site somewhere near useful/interesting? Why don't we just use big footy as the official website?

jogger
1 Apr 2008, 12:33
Ammo website needs serious work. It would want to be good when/if it re-launches. How come the clubs can produce far better websites than the association. Surely someone down there can afford half an hour a week to get the site somewhere near useful/interesting? Why don't we just use big footy as the official website?

Soupsey,

Will we see you at a few VAFA games this season?

Bigfootyfan
1 Apr 2008, 17:42
The final hearing for the investigation I was refering to was Tuesday or Wednesday night last week. Outcome - Charge not proven.[/quote]

There was no hearing, no investigation you daft numb nuts. Time to move on

Cardio Carl
1 Apr 2008, 18:07
If you are refering to a post that i made then i would like to make a few comments.

I never said it was St Bede's. I never mentioned a team.

The final hearing for the investigation I was refering to was Tuesday or Wednesday night last week. Outcome - Charge not proven.

D A G - and I never mentioned you said St Bedes in fact you never mentioned any teams...so you effectively placed a slur over EVERY TEAM in this great competition- do you understand?

Yeah I know, some vultures will come on and say we need to know this stuff on BF - do we?....in these circumstances we need to talk facts as all we are doing is Sh*tting in our own nest.

But please lets not clog the thread up further and let the Mod action his threats - happy to discuss via PM.

Cannot wait till the start of the season - BRING IT ON!

Jascave
1 Apr 2008, 20:13
The new VAFA website has just been put up on the web.

simmer
1 Apr 2008, 21:09

Well... looks like your wish has been answered SOUPSEY.... just had a look at the new VAFA webpage and m very impressed, looks great and easy to follow... well done to headquarters!

Can't wait for it all to begin... A grade looks stronger then previous years, I have a feeling this season will be a craka! BRING ON RD1

soupsey
1 Apr 2008, 21:44
Well... looks like your wish has been answered SOUPSEY.... just had a look at the new VAFA webpage and m very impressed, looks great and easy to follow... well done to headquarters!

Can't wait for it all to begin... A grade looks stronger then previous years, I have a feeling this season will be a craka! BRING ON RD1

It's much better! Still yet to be convinced though as to the video download function. As I stated earlier they will need someone down there to make sure it is updated regularly. Hopefully we can get scores/ladders on a sat night.

Penski
2 Apr 2008, 10:01
I like the look of the new site, but as Soupsey said, let's hope we now get some quicker updates coming through after results are made available.

Dee Snider
2 Apr 2008, 10:09
Any idea where the "Clearances" section has gone to on the new site? can't seem to find it..

Rooster1979
2 Apr 2008, 12:42
VAFA Footy tipping comp for A Section @ www.vafatipping.com (http://www.vafatipping.com/)

The_Arm
2 Apr 2008, 15:13
Sorry guys, off topic, but I was just wondering if anyone who has played footy in the Northern Territory during our off-season could give me some advice on where to find information or contact details for leagues or clubs?
Thanks.

Max Leader
2 Apr 2008, 16:15
Today reminds me of the 2nd last Saturday in September down at EP. The toss of the coin is irrelevant as OX will kick with the wind, get a 7 goal lead when the 1st siren sounds, and they will be seen holding another cup aloft at around 4:35pm.

What's up with this thread. It has become so boring, especially now that StBedes, OI, OH had nothing to answer for.

Who cares about the new Web Site. DAG has finally been lost from the front page!

What is really happening in A Grade? Lets give the readers something to talk about.

soupsey
2 Apr 2008, 16:42
Today reminds me of the 2nd last Saturday in September down at EP. The toss of the coin is irrelevant as OX will kick with the wind, get a 7 goal lead when the 1st siren sounds, and they will be seen holding another cup aloft at around 4:35pm.

What's up with this thread. It has become so boring, especially now that StBedes, OI, OH had nothing to answer for.

Who cares about the new Web Site. DAG has finally been lost from the front page!

What is really happening in A Grade? Lets give the readers something to talk about.

No charge proven just means that it was too messy and expensive (court costs) to take OH 06 flag away from them. There we go!

Cardio Carl
2 Apr 2008, 16:48

On ya Maxy...hey did you find your compass & map and worked out all the U19 sides and where they are allocated?

Drive carefully buddy!!

Eddie Woloschek
2 Apr 2008, 16:49
Sorry guys, off topic, but I was just wondering if anyone who has played footy in the Northern Territory during our off-season could give me some advice on where to find information or contact details for leagues or clubs?
Thanks.

Try the Internet. Begin with Google.

Cardio Carl
2 Apr 2008, 16:52
Thanks.

www.aboriginalfootball.com.au (http://www.aboriginalfootball.com.au)

All the best.

No need to say thanks, or Sorry, as all taken care of...CHEERS!

Blooded4Life
2 Apr 2008, 17:19
No charge proven just means that it was too messy and expensive (court costs) to take OH 06 flag away from them. There we go!

Why would OH have had to hand back their 06 flag? They weren't paying anyone anyway. You sound like an Xav's supporter still with sour grapes. Get over it. The 06 team was never in question.

soupsey
2 Apr 2008, 17:31
Why would OH have had to hand back their 06 flag? They weren't paying anyone anyway. You sound like an Xav's supporter still with sour grapes. Get over it. The 06 team was never in question.

You would say that.

jogger
3 Apr 2008, 09:12
You would say that.

Didn't they all walk out in 07' because the money ran out?

Max Leader
3 Apr 2008, 09:34
The Sheik has completed his Top 30 players for 2008. I am just pasting a copy for everyone to read.

Only error (imo) is that I have heard that Dawes is not playing this year.

1 Brendan Iezzi TRI (3) - a safe and non-controversial choice after his efforts last year.
2 Justin Arnold XAV (4) - style never goes out of style.
3 Mark Paterson BLU (5) - a perennial. More possessions than Bill Gates.
4 Mark Ainley BRI (9) - had the VAFA types dribbling early days. Will get better.
5 David Dawes BRI (2) - unlucky not to win last year and should turn it on again.
6 Al Smith BLK (0) - is he related to the former Governor of New York?
7 Sam Anstey SBM (0) - we've been hearing about him for years. I think he'll go OK.
8 Ben McConnell BLU (6) - Blues B+F was fair reward for his 2007. On the up.
9 Jon Perrett BRI (8) - going to be a big influence this season.
10 James Scanlan XAV (10) - still has the red hair and a bit of dash.
11 Will Lewis SCO (29) - new Cards' skipper who will find his niche this year.
12 Hayden Heta IVA (27) - the only question is the new hairdo.
13 Ben Phibbs SBM (0) - could be very good.
14 James Jorgensen COL (20) - Mr Chips taught his old man, but didn't ruin this one!
15 Sam Johnston XAV (0) - not a bad player. Good kick. Tough.
16 Daniel Strachan COL (23) - Collegians might be good and he may be very good.
17 Chris Blumfield COL (28) - ditto.
18 Luke Batten BLK (0) - watch out for this kid.
19 Andrew Solly BLU (15) - is he ever out of the best players.
20 Leigh Hendra BRI (13) - '07 ruined by injury. Could be higher.
21 Jeff Morel DLS (16) - great player whose stocks will rise with De La's performance.
22 Nick Serafini XAV (0) - Jock Nelson winner. Goes alright.
23 Paul Groves SBM (0) - another Tiger with big notices. I rate him.
24 Scott Curatolo IVA (7) - one of the best in Brown.
25 Nick Bye XAV (30) - with Heta, the league's best ruckman.
26 Matt Kempton BLK (0) - former St Kevin's guy who leads the Blacks. A goer.
27 Daniel Keely DLS (0) - Gee, I've named a lot of De La blokes!
28 Joe Sturrock BLU (19) - dashing, consistent, always in it.
29 Simon Fragiacomo IVA (26) - always valuable.
30 Andrew Lowcock (0) - injury plagued, but very good when on song.

webbo_83
3 Apr 2008, 10:01
Dawes is playing at East Perth this season, after initially signing at South Freo (who fcuked up somewhere along the way).

The Big Pineapple
3 Apr 2008, 10:18
I would have to say that James Jorgensen will be well in the top 10 by the end of the season. My spies tell me he has been working very closely with Jason Cave over the summer on all aspects of the game. No one knows the VAFA better than Jason and James hunted him down to give him the edge in '08.

Jascave
3 Apr 2008, 10:39
I can't understand why OI's Hayden Heta is no.12 on the list. Surely he would have to be in the top 5 players, considering he won the A Section B&F last year.

JG Hornet
3 Apr 2008, 10:48
Great to see Moz clock in at 21. A great moment in his life.

hhound
3 Apr 2008, 11:18
I can't understand why OI's Hayden Heta is no.12 on the list. Surely he would have to be in the top 5 players, considering he won the A Section B&F last year.

Since when are umpires the best judges of players?

Andy Cultrera? Small forward 70+ goals last year. ??

BrianSpeaking
3 Apr 2008, 11:47
Very dissapointed in Mohammad Al Sheiks top 30...what happened to controversy and Sheik? Has he deliberately taken a low profile this year? We all know he doesnt rate ex AFL players but no T Fleming? Once only famous for being Marcus Olives cousin, Timmy has certainly shown that he is one of the elite performers in the VAFAs top flight.
Three All Australian Amateurs at Blacks also dont get a mention, including pereniall star Huw Lacey.
Another to watch for is Mouse Wintle, a super player from Brindisi, will surely get a guernsey end of season from the Sheik.
Jascave, can you please give us your top 30 to look for this year? I await with baited breath.

Eddie Woloschek
3 Apr 2008, 12:15
Very dissapointed in Mohammad Al Sheiks top 30...what happened to controversy and Sheik? Has he deliberately taken a low profile this year? We all know he doesnt rate ex AFL players but no T Fleming? Once only famous for being Marcus Olives cousin, Timmy has certainly shown that he is one of the elite performers in the VAFAs top flight.
Three All Australian Amateurs at Blacks also dont get a mention, including pereniall star Huw Lacey.
Another to watch for is Mouse Wintle, a super player from Brindisi, will surely get a guernsey end of season from the Sheik.
Jascave, can you please give us your top 30 to look for this year? I await with baited breath.

Agreed, a fairly predictable bunch. I suspect that The Muslim hates the Xavs but can't get a gig elsewhere. No Lynch, Handley, Fleming, Chatfield, Ockleshaw. He is right about Lacey, given the appalling selections in VAFA Rep teams over the past few years.

JG Hornet
3 Apr 2008, 12:28
Agreed, a fairly predictable bunch. I suspect that The Muslim hates the Xavs but can't get a gig elsewhere. No Lynch, Handley, Fleming, Chatfield, Ockleshaw. He is right about Lacey, given the appalling selections in VAFA Rep teams over the past few years.

Number 27 on the list not playing this year

river man
3 Apr 2008, 12:48

You sounds like "an" xavs supporter.....that doesn't make sense.

Definately sour grapes......hit the nail on the head. Enjoy the slippery dip through the grades blooded.

fastcars
3 Apr 2008, 17:21

Apparently the Collegians 1st's were very impressive against Camberwell

BrianSpeaking
3 Apr 2008, 18:28
Camberwell had all of their AFL blokes out, the Lions didnt. They only won by 20 points, not much to boast about.

Penski
3 Apr 2008, 21:29
Camberwell had all of their AFL blokes out, the Lions didnt. They only won by 20 points, not much to boast about.

Lions missing Arnott, Robbins, Adkins (amongst a number of other senior players). Blokes like Stone, Dixon and Watts playing limited minutes.

No one's boasting about the result, but everyone happy with the standard of footy that was played.

Don't know why you're so focused on the score Brian, it's a praccy game FFS.

fastcars
3 Apr 2008, 21:44
I heard Collegians Dominated the first quarter with a full strength side and by the end it was a seconds team.

Ries, Watts, Stone, Jorgenson, Dickson all played a half. Adkins didn't play neither did Arnott or Robbins

Apple Core
3 Apr 2008, 22:48
Thought SBMT skipper Luke Wintle was a bit stiff. along with anstey he has dominated the last two GFs in the ruck and won the medal for being BOG in 07.
He will be dominating force this year with plenty of backup and will kick 30 plus goals

Cherry Picker
4 Apr 2008, 09:32
I heard Collegians Dominated the first quarter with a full strength side and by the end it was a seconds team.

Ries, Watts, Stone, Jorgenson, Dickson all played a half. Adkins didn't play neither did Arnott or Robbins

Congratulations! You dominated the first quater against a team that was in C Grade last year. Well Done.

Lance Burkhardt
4 Apr 2008, 10:26
Congratulations! You dominated the first quater against a team that was in C Grade last year. Well Done.
Agreed Picker, pipe down till after round 1 at least.

Cherry Picker
4 Apr 2008, 11:02

I will have to correct you there, Robbins played in the magoos.

It was the first time that the lads had seen him this summer.

To good to train?

JG Hornet
4 Apr 2008, 11:14
Number 27 on the list not playing this year

Number 6 not playing either

BrianSpeaking
4 Apr 2008, 11:36
Number 6 not playing either
Horn, can you confirm through your great mates at OX that Ockleshaw has pulled the pin?

jogger
4 Apr 2008, 11:51
I will have to correct you there, Robbins played in the magoos.

It was the first time that the lads had seen him this summer.

To good to train?

He doesn't need to train...

If he trained, he would be too good for the competition..

Fact.

ultimate hater
4 Apr 2008, 13:05
He doesn't need to train...

If he trained, he would be too good for the competition..

Fact.

so he'll enjoy being too good for everyone in the magoos?

JG Hornet
4 Apr 2008, 13:56
Horn, can you confirm through your great mates at OX that Ockleshaw has pulled the pin?

No great mates down at Xavs, you know that Briza! Not sure about Tim - suspect he's doubtful.

Jascave
4 Apr 2008, 14:13
Who do you think will win the Woodrow Medal (the A Section B&F) this year?

My tip:

1. H.Heta (OI)
2. B.Iezzi (OT)
3. L.Wintle (StBMT)
Roughie: M.Ainley (OBri)

red devils 18
4 Apr 2008, 14:39
anyone know from de la salle a bradley walton ?? if so is he any good, wat type of position does he play? good enough for a ones player or just a resies player?

river man
4 Apr 2008, 14:51

Due back in AUS in the next week after being a best man in London. Pre-season has served him well and is primed for a final tilt.

God Yeah
4 Apr 2008, 17:03
anyone know from de la salle a bradley walton ?? if so is he any good, wat type of position does he play? good enough for a ones player or just a resies player?

Never played a senior game, young guy from what I know played 19's a few years back, maybe a handfull of ressies.

Depending on what grade possibly ressies.

nicho_magic
4 Apr 2008, 17:36
My tip:
1. f. watts (coll)
2. n. ries (coll0
3. H.Heta (OI)
4. B.Iezzi (OT)
5. L.Wintle (StBMT)