View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43

oc37
14 May 2006, 19:55
Not OI?? are still missing several guns including Branigan...

holding
15 May 2006, 15:02
Old Ivanhoe!!!

Lost to Bernards by 33
Just beat Trinity by 6 (were in all sorts but came home strong)
Beat old Mel by 50 (OM's are struggling BAD)
Beat Marc by 28 (which was a good win)

When they can beat the likes of Xav's, Scotch, Old Hail or Uni Blues that's when they will be a threat. The only real test they have had is Bernards who beat them pretty easy and Marc who they beat well, the others are not really anything special.

Supergrass
15 May 2006, 15:36
Looks to be a very even competition this year, good for football.

The weekly publication of each VAFA club's injury list in The Australian, Age, Herald Sun and Financial Review would also be good for football.

Please move with the times VAFA Headquarters.

uglydermie
15 May 2006, 15:53
GOOD CALL SUPERGRASS. Why dont you start by putting your clubs list up here?

Eddie Woloschek
15 May 2006, 16:10
Looks to be a very even competition this year, good for football.

The weekly publication of each VAFA club's injury list in The Australian, Age, Herald Sun and Financial Review would also be good for football.

Please move with the times VAFA Headquarters.

There is no need for this at all . . . unless the VAFA strikes a deal with Betfair.

Supergrass
15 May 2006, 16:21
I could see Sholly & his VAFA henchman signing a Memorandum of Understanding with PBL.

Line Betting, "VAFA Footy Quad" and "Ammo Tip 8" could become regular betting options for the general public.

DG-Man
15 May 2006, 18:48
Intersting that OH are bottom of ressies, 0-4, with a % of 18. Any injuries to key players, particularly tall forwards, could see them slide?
Old Xavs seem to be struggling a little. Do they have as a good a side as last year?
OM's look destined to be playing B Grade next year.
Just thought i would jump on, say a few things, and then leave...Bye

Is that so
15 May 2006, 19:23
Old Ivanhoe!!!

Lost to Bernards by 33
Just beat Trinity by 6 (were in all sorts but came home strong)
Beat old Mel by 50 (OM's are struggling BAD)
Beat Marc by 28 (which was a good win)

When they can beat the likes of Xav's, Scotch, Old Hail or Uni Blues that's when they will be a threat. The only real test they have had is Bernards who beat them pretty easy and Marc who they beat well, the others are not really anything special.

Amazing how footy works, I know a few boys playing 19's @ OI, the seniors are so dessimated with injureis that 19s are playing reserves , reservces playing seniors etc, so for them to be doing as well as they are , suggests to me the difference between B and A is not that great, thoughts?

Petrov
15 May 2006, 21:34
Many clubs do have injuries but my thoughts are that A Grade has dropped off significantly this year. A Grade this year does not seem to be the big step up from B Grade that it has been in the past. For the last 4-5 years A Grade has been very strong and it seems that the introduction of the new reinstatement rule has given some of the gun players at many clubs food for thought. They can go and collect good money playing suburban or country footy for a few years and it does not exclude them from coming back to the ammos at a later date.

goodstory
16 May 2006, 11:21
Yep, OI have been decimated by injury but i'm sure that's no different to any other club. A grade is all about having depth. OI have always had a very strong 23-24 players but probably not the depth of OX, OS etc.

As for the wins so far, i would say that the win against OT was up there with the best victories we have ever had considering the injuries from round 1. A 50 point win against OM's in average conditions at EP was also pretty good and then last week against Marcellin was solid. The real test is the next 5 weeks against some big teams, beginning with OS this week. Rowan Weddle plays his 250th so we will be very fired up for it. How he has never played state footy is beyond me.

Max Leader
16 May 2006, 11:46
Whilst on a Monday RDO I completed a review of each A Grade websites match reviews. (I have no life!!!)

DL Minimum Content
M Brief up to date and fair
OH Fair comentary
OI Nothing - Boring as Brown is
OM For a team that is struggling the author is keeping it positive
OS Balanced
OT - Where do we start. Results/Ladders from 2005 still appear. Match day comments for 2006 are also behind and reek of "sooky sooky la la". OI must love the comments made about how they did not deserve to win. OT may want to read VAFA guidelines about discrimination when commenting on opposition players.

www.oldtrinityfc.com

OX - As usual well balanced and insightful
SB - Good commentary
UB - Same as OI but in Blue

Regards - Bored Construction Worker

Destination A Grade
16 May 2006, 12:15
How he has never played state footy is beyond me.

I think you should put your head in the social rooms down at Pine Lodge Mr Goodstory. Back in the C and D grades he was a representative.

goodstory
16 May 2006, 12:23
Thanks DAG, I stand corrected. Hopefully this slip up won't harm my long held ambition of snatching the best clubman award.

Destination A Grade
16 May 2006, 12:53
There is more chance of J Heritage claiming the Old Essendon best Clubman than you at Old Ivanhoe.

Blueboys11
16 May 2006, 14:11
Still remember back in 2002 or 03 when the OT website called our team the "fattest team to ever play in A grade"

Made it enjoyable beating them in the return leg later in the year.

Slay Master G
16 May 2006, 14:23
There is more chance of J Heritage claiming the Old Essendon best Clubman than you at Old Ivanhoe.

A retrospective one wouldn't be out of order.

There is a common misconception that Heritage is hated by Old Essendon, couldn't be further from the truth. No feathers were ruffled upon departure.

Boz Scaggs
16 May 2006, 14:35
A retrospective one wouldn't be out of order.

There is a common misconception that Heritage is hated by Old Essendon, couldn't be further from the truth. No feathers were ruffled upon departure.

Thats not what I heard!

Destination A Grade
16 May 2006, 14:42
Wouldn't have thought that it would ruffle his feathers anyway.

Slay Master G
16 May 2006, 23:44
Thats not what I heard!

Tell me what u know Einstein!

annoying_child
16 May 2006, 23:55
Thats not what I heard!
He might not be hated by the folk down at Old Essendon but he is certainly hated by the folk down at the OC. Can confirm that he may return to OEG at years end. Heritage at the cross roads and Collegains FC!

froggie6
17 May 2006, 10:36
He might not be hated by the folk down at Old Essendon but he is certainly hated by the folk down at the OC. Can confirm that he may return to OEG at years end. Heritage at the cross roads and Collegains FC!

Anyone recognise the thread name????

James Heritage, Old Essendon, Old Collegians = B Grade...

there is a thread somewhere on this site for you fellas...

Disco Bickie
17 May 2006, 10:39
Anyone recognise the thread name????

James Heritage, Old Essendon, Old Collegians = B Grade...

there is a thread somewhere on this site for you fellas...

Have to agree with you frogger, all this heritage talk is making me sick

Supergrass
17 May 2006, 10:47
Thought the subject read "A Section Amateur Football"

Last time I checked both OEG and Collegians were in B Grade.

This thread should be reserved for the wider issues, such as how:

1. superstar J.Stevens fits into his shorts each week
2. OM's came to gain the services of the best ground in the VAFA
3. nobody has been picketed on the fence at University

Slay Master G
17 May 2006, 14:24
Thought the subject read "A Section Amateur Football"

Last time I checked both OEG and Collegians were in B Grade.

This thread should be reserved for the wider issues, such as how:

1. superstar J.Stevens fits into his shorts each week
2. OM's came to gain the services of the best ground in the VAFA
3. nobody has been picketed on the fence at University

Re: point 1 above, J Stevens spotted at Wesley College gym on Monday night, could he be the next boom recruit at Collegians??

Froggie

I agree, too much airtime for Heritage. Can't play anyway!

m.diddy
17 May 2006, 14:31
What do you guys think of Matt Handleys debut for OX, Goalkicking machine who had 20 goals in the 2's for 3 games then came up last week and got a bag of 7.

VAFA19s
17 May 2006, 15:08
Definately the type of debut that stirrs something in the supporters and team; a large man with talent to burn. I don't think anyone in this thread would disagree that, given his positive start coupled with previous performances in the 2s, this bloke certainly looks the goods for OX in the future. The thought of the return of goal-kicking machine Lynch to the forwardline, possibly upon Bingham's return, from a few weeks wilderness down back certainly is going to make things interesting for opposition backlines also; the future combination of Lynch & Handley?! Reckon they'd rather man up on Collingwood's powerhouse forwardline...

holding
18 May 2006, 15:21
Great start to the season for him and a great find for OX!

How old is he? Where did he come from?

Plumber
18 May 2006, 16:01

A young bloke who has come up from the unders this year. Looks like he can play a bit, but early days...

m.diddy
18 May 2006, 16:03

He's about 20, played unders last year and went to xavier although played rugby for a while then got back into footy at the end of his schooling life.

Dropkicker
19 May 2006, 16:59
Bloody disgrace. Friday afternoon and no A grade amateur football news? Surely no-one is working at this hour. Blues versus Bernards will be match of the round for mine. Blues need to get their season back on track and the dogs need to make up for last weeks suprise loss. Should be a good one at the pit. Any other teams, ommissions, tips, etc for the weekend?

battista
21 May 2006, 15:51
Any Uni blues blokes,wat is tyson "bullldog" Hunter playing down at the varsity. He rates himself pretty highly but did have a suspect groin towards the end of last year.

Heard he was trying his luck at the bendigo bombers but must have been misinformed. could possibly be on fringe of seniors but probly seconds i would think fish....

VAFA19s
21 May 2006, 17:08
9 to Handley; 16 in 2 games. An ominous sign, without a doubt.

sammyg
22 May 2006, 11:41
9 to Handley; 16 in 2 games. An ominous sign, without a doubt.

Mate, you are obviously "special" friends with Handley and yes he might be a good player, but could you please just stop blowing him for a little while. Every time he farts does not need to be broadcast on here. Why don't you talk about how great Scotchies are doing undeafeated on top of the ladder.

froggie6
22 May 2006, 12:37
Mate, you are obviously "special" friends with Handley and yes he might be a good player, but could you please just stop blowing him for a little while. Every time he farts does not need to be broadcast on here. Why don't you talk about how great Scotchies are doing undeafeated on top of the ladder.

Lets wait till Scoth beat anyone of any note before we start blowing their trumpet. They havent played Hailerbury, Bernards or Xavier yet.

This week is test no. 1 Vs Bernies at the pit.

VAFA19s
22 May 2006, 12:50
wow sammyg. well done; stabbing away at people for discussing, shockingly, A grade VAFA performance... how about you ship off and discuss anything rather than people's comments. 2 posts: 1 in response to another asking what were the thoughts on his debut, one reporting his performance in second week seeing as he has been a topic in the thread of late. Hardly what i'd call 'blowing' him; but seeing as u prompted me, i guess the guys down at scotch would be doing a fair bit of it for each other at the moment. seems to me as though you may be enjoying similar pleasures; not getting the hard footy (as per usual) but rather getting something else hard...

sammyg
22 May 2006, 13:19
Yep, that may be the case, but at least it is working, last time I looked at the ladder. Now stop posting on here and get back down on your knees.:D

dan caplan
22 May 2006, 13:45
Sammyg, stop pm'ing me. Just because I am openly gay does not give you the right to abuse me.

I'm surprised you are so homophobic, i have have many relationships and one night stands with Scotch boys over the years including four players from your senior team (admittedly two at once - a lovely night!) - I think you should be more understanding given the level of homosexuality among the old boys.

Axel1980
22 May 2006, 13:46
Handley has certainly had a great start to his year, you can not argue with that!

As for the Scotchies I can gaurentee you they are not getting ahead off themself, 5 from 5 is a great start (both 1's and 2's) but for use of a better term "just taking it one week at a time" is what it's all about down at Camberwell at the moment.

VAFA19s
22 May 2006, 15:02
sammyg, take note of froggie6's comments. Axel1980 has got it right, take note from him also; btw good work on conceeding your homo-sexuality and that of the scotch old boys.:thumbsu:

Axel1980
22 May 2006, 15:34
VAFA19s don't listen to Sammyg were not all gay, there is only like 11 that are the rest are straight hahaha.

On a serious note we have a few big fish to fry before we can be happy with the start but as things stand we have had 5 very good physical games and as the results show 5 good wins, the second half of the year is going to be very interesting and i think we will have a good idea of where everyone stands at the halfway point.

dan caplan
22 May 2006, 15:35
look you piece of :D:D fag that was a private message that is what it means not to be broadcast on the bloody public board. if i ever work out who you are i'm going to jam my fist so far up your :D:D you'll be crying for a week

With comments like that, are you sure you're not gay too?

dan caplan
22 May 2006, 15:36
there is only like 11 that are the rest are straight hahaha.

Ooooh who are the rest, I've only had, like, four.

Axel1980
22 May 2006, 15:47
Dan Caplan you back up your comments by telling us the 4 and i'll tell you the rest hahahah

sammyg
22 May 2006, 15:49
Hey Dan, very clever making up pm's like that. You are very creative keep up the good work. BTW I am gay and I love it, so what's your problem? Surely your not still upset about that dose of the clap that I gave you?

Scribe
22 May 2006, 16:13
Guys - please stop your puerile mutterings.

If you have nothing more constructive or useful than pathetic slanging about sexual orientation, then save it for the sand pit.

As for more useful information, the following are my observations of the first 5 weeks thus far:

1. St Bernards, OI and Scotch are travelling far better than almost all of us expected, and Uni far worse.

2. Trinity's form is a worry but, given my personal affiliation, that's about as much as need be said, 'cept the Magoos are travelling along nicely thankyou very much :D

3. I was annoyed that I didn't get a mention from Mr Horn this week as a handy reserves veteran, but he saved the unwarranted spray for the tipping competition reference instead!!!

4. No sign of Aaron Lord at Xavs, but I think the form of Handley (kicked 7 big ones against us in the reserves and has continued to feast in the past two matches) has more than made up for any disappointment. Does anyone know how bad Justin Arnold's knee injury is?

5. De La have reason to be optimistic as they've started well and have a great home ground advantage.

6. At this stage, OM's look in real strife, but Marcellin's depth may prove a problem in the middling months as well. Same might apply to OH re: final 4 as they have a crack hot top 22, but drop off significantly after that.

Anyone care to comment constructively on the above matters?

linger_isgod
22 May 2006, 16:16
Is David Beardsley not playing at the moment? Last year he seemed to crop up in OT's best every couple of weeks, but sight unseen by me so far this year.

DG-Man
22 May 2006, 16:35
1. St Bernards, OI and Scotch are travelling far better than almost all of us expected, and Uni far worse. Not suprised with St Bernards IMO they will defeat OS next week and bring them back down to earth. OS have had a soft draw and i think they will tail off as season progresses. Uni have been a big shock. Can see them regrouping, but it may be a little late to push for the final 4.

2. Trinity's form is a worry but, given my personal affiliation, that's about as much as need be said, 'cept the Magoos are travelling along nicely thankyou very much :D - Would be desperate for OI or Marc to start struggling otherwise i can see them in relegation zone at seasons end!

3. I was annoyed that I didn't get a mention from Mr Horn this week as a handy reserves veteran, but he saved the unwarranted spray for the tipping competition reference instead!!! - Harsh!

4. No sign of Aaron Lord at Xavs, but I think the form of Handley (kicked 7 big ones against us in the reserves and has continued to feast in the past two matches) has more than made up for any disappointment. Does anyone know how bad Justin Arnold's knee injury is? - I doubt he would have been in best dozen players anyway, so i doubt they are missing him. Arnold is a gun. I would also be interested in how long he will be out for. Handley and Lynch would be a nice duo out of the square. Is Lynch playing??

5. De La have reason to be optimistic as they've started well and have a great home ground advantage. - Most people tipped them for 9th or 10th. At this stage they look likely to stay up. With such a young list, good depth (with 19's) they will be a force in coming years

6. At this stage, OM's look in real strife, but Marcellin's depth may prove a problem in the middling months as well. Same might apply to OH re: final 4 as they have a crack hot top 22, but drop off significantly after that. OM's are gone. They will just play the kids and try and regroup in B Section next year. OH are certs for top 4. I realise depth is an issue, however i think they would be able to cover 4-6 injuries.

Anyone care to comment constructively on the above matters?[/quote]
I tried

Axel1980
22 May 2006, 16:48
OS have had a soft draw and i think they will tail off as season progresses ???

Beaten OM's, De La, Marc, Uni, OI - If i recall correctly De La beat Bernards easily 2 weeks ago! i wouldn't be so sure about the bernards boys this week OS have a good record against the Dogs and i am expecting this week to be a cracker of a match!

(Trintity)Would be desperate for OI or Marc to start struggling otherwise i can see them in relegation zone at seasons end!

They should be worried about winning games themself not waiting for other teams to struggle.

OM's are gone. = I have to agree 100%

OH are certs for top 4. I realise depth is an issue, however i think they would be able to cover 4-6 injuries.

I have not seen them play this year but from results they do appear to be very strong, the only times they seem to be really pushed is when they play hard running teams like De La, Bernards is that the answer? RUN RUN RUN???

Finally my question
If you stop HOPE do you stop Old Ivanhoe??

Scribe
22 May 2006, 16:52
Is David Beardsley not playing at the moment? Last year he seemed to crop up in OT's best every couple of weeks, but sight unseen by me so far this year.

Yep, he's playing. Aside from the round 4 OH-Farrell nightmare, Beardo has been very solid, and got votes in round two.

Hopefully we'll be playing better footy in the coming weeks so he isn't as busy as has been the case thus far!!

PS - I think OI have more than just Hope on their side, they've got a lot of talented ball winners to compliment him. You need to beat them around the packs, as they're used to playing close, tight footy at Chelsworth.

DG-Man
22 May 2006, 17:07
[quote=Axel1980]OS have had a soft draw and i think they will tail off as season progresses ???

Beaten OM's, De La, Marc, Uni, OI - If i recall correctly De La beat Bernards easily 2 weeks ago! i wouldn't be so sure about the bernards boys this week OS have a good record against the Dogs and i am expecting this week to be a cracker of a match!

I guess im saying that my final 4 includes OH, OX, St.B and OS. So that means they havent played the teams i think will finish 1, 2, 3. I'm tipping ST.B this week however it should be a close one.
Will be happy to be proved wrong as it would be nice to see OS win a flag. I wonder how S.Collins would feel if OS went all the way. Can't begrudge a guy going back to his old schoool to help them go up through the grades (Old Carey are 5-0) so looking alright to get to C Grade, but he surely would be disappointed if her missed the chance to have A-Grade flag with OS.

dan caplan
22 May 2006, 17:25
I am gay and I love it, so what's your problem? Surely your not still upset about that dose of the clap that I gave you?

Sammy, no problems with you being gay. On the contrary, I'm glad there is more of us and I feel better about coming out.

Unless you go by a different name or didn't give me your real name at the time, I dont't know that I've been with you. If so that makes it 5 Scotchies.

I did get an STD a while back but couldn't trace it. It was during a very active stage for me, now I know it was you.

I have to actually report that one to the Health Department, I will pass on to them that it was you. Can they contact you through Big Footy admin? They can probably trace your IP.

Thanks for clearing that up. The penicillin did it for me, I'm sure that's all the Health dept wants with you, as the carrier.

Plumber
22 May 2006, 17:44
Sammy, no problems with you being gay. On the contrary, I'm glad there is more of us and I feel better about coming out.

Unless you go by a different name or didn't give me your real name at the time, I dont't know that I've been with you. If so that makes it 5 Scotchies.

I did get an STD a while back but couldn't trace it. It was during a very active stage for me, now I know it was you.

I have to actually report that one to the Health Department, I will pass on to them that it was you. Can they contact you through Big Footy admin? They can probably trace your IP.

Thanks for clearing that up. The penicillin did it for me, I'm sure that's all the Health dept wants with you, as the carrier.

Look there are chatrooms on other sites for this kind of dribble. If you go to www.edfl/dirtybogans/stinkfinger.com.au (http://www.edfl/dirtybogans/stinkfinger.com.au), you should be able to satisfy your urges.

EDFL MAN
22 May 2006, 18:46
Look there are chatrooms on other sites for this kind of dribble. If you go to www.edfl/dirtybogans/stinkfinger.com.au (http://www.edfl/dirtybogans/stinkfinger.com.au), you should be able to satisfy your urges.

Correction Plumber, if you look up:
www.bigblackknobs/enteringvafa/fags/whotouchtheresisters.com.au
the vafa forum will pop up. :eek:

Cheers Plumber. :thumbsu:

doggies
22 May 2006, 19:17
say something worthwhile u idiot.
if u go to the main board, u will hear about riewoldt's great performance on the weekend kicking 9 goals, so if u come on to the A grade VAFA board u should expect to hear about handley's top preformances so far. if u dont like what u read on here, it is simple - dont come on... just keep on sucking off ur own scotch mates.

Axel1980
22 May 2006, 20:37
I guess im saying that my final 4 includes OH, OX, St.B and OS. So that means they havent played the teams i think will finish 1, 2, 3. I'm tipping ST.B this week however it should be a close one.
Will be happy to be proved wrong as it would be nice to see OS win a flag. I wonder how S.Collins would feel if OS went all the way. Can't begrudge a guy going back to his old schoool to help them go up through the grades (Old Carey are 5-0) so looking alright to get to C Grade, but he surely would be disappointed if her missed the chance to have A-Grade flag with OS.

Yea Valid point DG-Man we have 4 very tough games to finish the first half of the year but as a club we are aware of the situation and will continue to go about our footy the way we have been. We would certainly love to be there on that last day as it's been OOHHHH so long

Knowing Collo he would be happy that we are travelling well and i'm sure he would pick up the paper every Sunday to check our result, On the other hand he would wrapped to playing in a very strong side with his brother and some Old Carey mates.

m.diddy
22 May 2006, 21:17
Hnadley another 9. 16 in two weeks add the 20 he kicked in the two's, can he be stopped? Anyone actually watching him play, did he attract the #1 back agaisnt marcellin?

Plumber
22 May 2006, 21:38
Correction Plumber, if you look up:
www.bigblackknobs (http://www.bigblackknobs)/enteringvafa/fags/whotouchtheresisters.com.au
the vafa forum will pop up. :eek:

Cheers Plumber. :thumbsu:

You have all the oringinality of a vengaboys remix on nova fm you twit. How low do the planes fly over your house? I bet you wave to the qantas passengers on the way to the bus stop every morning.

VAFA19s
22 May 2006, 22:25
DG-Man,

Lynch is playing up back at the moment; he is playing well, so not too sure if he will actually be coming back forward? Anyone else know?
Cheers

Frederik Kanoute
22 May 2006, 22:36
Lynch went back half way through the bernards game coz bingham was getting killed. then bingham got suspended for two weeks so lynch was forced to go back there for a few more games. ordinarily you would assume lynch to return forward once the suspension is over but if this handley keeps kicking bags it might be a good problem for xavs to have.

In response to scotch, they look like a good side this year in an even comp but until you've played everyone once, especially the other top sides, you can't say anything. will be an absolute belter this week at the pit. looking forward to it

Supergrass
23 May 2006, 10:03
Should be a cracker game out at the Snakepit this week.

Two teams that many thought would struggle due to losses over the pre-season.

Have been told that prior to last year, Scotch had failed to beat St Bernards at their home ground for about 5 or 6 years.

Very hard to win out there, maybe the unfamiliar surroundings take their toll.

froggie6
23 May 2006, 10:24
Should be a cracker game out at the Snakepit this week.

Two teams that many thought would struggle due to losses over the pre-season.

Have been told that prior to last year, Scotch had failed to beat St Bernards at their home ground for about 5 or 6 years.

Very hard to win out there, maybe the unfamiliar surroundings take their toll.

Looking fwd to a super game against the scotchies on Saturday. Dont know about the losses over the preseason?? After investigation ive looked through, and if you count winning the last 3 games last year and then 4 praccys and 4 home and away wins, the bernies have lost 1 in 12 games. Pretty good form i would think.

Scotch have been the surprise packet, i would have thought losing all those players they would be in trouble.

What are peoples predictions?

EDFL MAN
23 May 2006, 12:16
You have all the oringinality of a vengaboys remix on nova fm you twit. How low do the planes fly over your house? I bet you wave to the qantas passengers on the way to the bus stop every morning.

Great work Plumber, chin up next contest SON! :eek:

Axel1980
23 May 2006, 18:35
Scotch have been the surprise packet, i would have thought losing all those players they would be in trouble.

What are peoples predictions?

froggie6 - I think you will find Scotch very similar to Bernards, very solid unit that run hard and don't really count on top performances from key players in order to win games. You get a good contribution from all 22 blokes who all work hard.

We have always been very close at the Pit but the Dog's usually get the 4, can't remember if we won there last year?

It's going to be a rippa regardless, i am looking forward to it

sloth6
23 May 2006, 19:22
Ex Strathmore player Matthew Bourke, how has his form been down at the snakepit?

Frederik Kanoute
23 May 2006, 22:41
played his first game in the 1's on the w/e and did alright from limited game time. had been playing real well in the 2's over the earlier weeks and earned his spot. good player and bloke to have round the club

droppuntkick23
24 May 2006, 20:00
What about the onballer they got from Aberfeldie ? His nickname is shagger ?

digger9
24 May 2006, 20:03
go senior bernards, traveling very nicely with our new bunch of crop...but i dont think our 19s are up with the top teams. any thoughts? we would want to keep recruiting the older players and ex tac cup players for us to keep being competitive. cant rely on our 19s coming through.

k-9 hero
24 May 2006, 20:43
What about the onballer they got from Aberfeldie ? His nickname is shagger ?

Daniel Janides

k-9 hero
24 May 2006, 20:51
go senior bernards, traveling very nicely with our new bunch of crop...but i dont think our 19s are up with the top teams. any thoughts? we would want to keep recruiting the older players and ex tac cup players for us to keep being competitive. cant rely on our 19s coming through.

You pathetic worm.

Get off, go back to your hole and don't come back.

Read the thread moron.

And stop talking about Bernards because you're clearly not from there.

My good friend vafa 06 wants to chat with u though

Max Leader
27 May 2006, 23:02
Post 6 Game Review

OH: Cruising?
SB: Safe?
OI: Real Deal/Pretending?
OX: Waiting for September?
DL: Speed Wins?
UB: Slumber?
MC: Creche having a nap?
OT: Rambos last stand?
OM: Bring on 2007?

Any thought?

Scribe
28 May 2006, 10:53
I think the belief being instilled in the young players at OS is the key to their success. Sometimes the departure/retirement of long standing senior players provides opportunities for young players to rise to the challenge. The same could be said of St Bernards too.

Having said that, I'd have OH as my cup favorite at present, with Uni on the rise. They have started to get their act together and will certainly slide up the ladder in the coming weeks. OI and DLS will stay up, OX will probably tread water on the fringe of the top 4.

Early call, but you can't escape the fact that it's between Marc and Trinity to clinch 8th and avoid joining OMs on the trapdoor.

Axel1980
28 May 2006, 23:38
Post 6 Game Review

OH: Cruising?
SB: Safe?
OI: Real Deal/Pretending?
OX: Waiting for September?
DL: Speed Wins?
UB: Slumber?
MC: Creche having a nap?
OT: Rambos last stand?
OM: Bring on 2007?

Any thought?

OS: Once again everyone started saying "They haven't beaten anyone" but this week beat the Bernies at the Pit which is somthing OH couldn't do! They couldn't possibly beat OX this week or could they??????
OH: Going along very nice
SB: Good young fast side, interesting to see if they can keep it up!
OI: Have some great players, will only get better don't think they are pretending at all
OX: Always find somthing around the end of the year, can never count them out
DL: Speed does win and they will have PLENTY to build on next year in A grade
UB: They will knocking on doors over the next 4 weeks nothing surer!
MC: SMALL! Will be happy if they are playing A grade next year
OT: not enough last year and i feel they will be the same this year
OM: Will struggle in B next year

Supergrass
29 May 2006, 10:22
Very even competition this year, no standout team as yet.

Good for football.

Look for teams with good reserves (i.e Scotch, Xavs) to excel in the 2nd half of the year, grounds are heavier than in previous years and injuries/fatigue will take their toll.

holding
29 May 2006, 14:10
Very even competition this year, no standout team as yet.

Good for football.

Look for teams with good reserves (i.e Scotch, Xavs) to excel in the 2nd half of the year, grounds are heavier than in previous years and injuries/fatigue will take their toll.

Very good comment about the magoo's, Depth is very important.

Xav's have a tough 3 weeks ahead playing Scotch, Hail then De La. They would want to win at least 2/3 you would think?
De La have won three on the trot, are they any chance of playing finals?

Pencil in Uni while your thinking about it

webbo_83
29 May 2006, 14:17
If you were out at Toorak Park on Saturday you would've noticed that big Marcus Toovey was running water due to a slight injury. Will further strengthen an already imposing squad.

Added to this, at half time you may have spotted Chris Brannigan having a bit of a kick to kick on the outer wing. His recovery is coming along in leaps and bounds and, after initial reports that his season was over, looks like he could be back in the next two months.

pinelodge
29 May 2006, 15:02
Toovey and Brannigan are genuine stars of the competition. Toovey returning from a stint at the east ringworms in the edfl for the past few years and Brannigan who jagged 7 in the semi-final last year with stress fractures in his feet will be a big lift for the club when he returns to CHF mid year. Also Mark luxon could wander into the pinelodge from the sunshine coast at any point.

k-9 hero
29 May 2006, 15:41
Does anyone know who made the cut for the under 23's match on sat?

Seems extremely stupid to be playing it this week instead of next.

Supergrass
29 May 2006, 15:45
How is the Pine Lodge these days?

I recall it as a rather ramshackle structure that would not be out of place on the ski slopes of Perisher.

Has it been fireproof tested?

webbo_83
29 May 2006, 16:13
How is the Pine Lodge these days?

I recall it as a rather ramshackle structure that would not be out of place on the ski slopes of Perisher.

Has it been fireproof tested?

In terms of its resistance to fire, I don't think there's any doubt that it would light up rather spectacularly and be a pile of ashes within minutes.

As for its quality, its a wonderful piece of modern architecture. The facilities in the pavilion, where 3 course lunches are held prior to each home game, are second to none and the location, which provides an excellent view of the whole ground has been looked upon enviously by all who've attended.

holding
29 May 2006, 16:16
Old Ivanhoe have a lot to be happy about, the only thing they need to do now is change the jumper haha

Can anyone shed light on the reason they are playing the rep game this week and not next? i know De La will most likely loose their 2 best players this week as will a lot of clubs?

Disco Bickie
29 May 2006, 16:46
Toovey and Brannigan are genuine stars of the competition. Toovey returning from a stint at the east ringworms in the edfl for the past few years and Brannigan who jagged 7 in the semi-final last year with stress fractures in his feet will be a big lift for the club when he returns to CHF mid year. Also Mark luxon could wander into the pinelodge from the sunshine coast at any point.

The boys at Pine Lodge are much better off without that squeler Luxon. He's a big girls blouse.

Scribe
29 May 2006, 18:26
Can anyone shed light on the reason they are playing the rep game this week and not next? i know De La will most likely loose their 2 best players this week as will a lot of clubs?

That's a very good point - I didn't realise it myself until you guys pointed it out. I have little doubt the VAFA will do their best to only select one form each side if possible, however I think Josh Madden and Callan Potter's respective form has been so brilliant they both demand selection, and St Bernards should do the right thing and make sure neither play against OT this Saturday. :D

Vafa06
29 May 2006, 20:35
Scotch are the most ordinary blokes in the VAFA. Nothing to do with beating St.B on the weekend they were to good on the day. They are just s**t ordinary human beings.
On another the note the rep game this weekend is being played because it is the queens birthday weekend in W.A this weekend.
with regards

DG-Man
29 May 2006, 22:08
Ordinary comments gents. Quite pathetic. These posts make you look 10 times as bad as the guys you are trying to ridicule. The same people you are bagging would automatically become top blokes if they were playing at your club next year.
Why not try and improve your contributions and stop making childish generalisations.

Axel1980
30 May 2006, 00:19
DG-Man is spot on, I know guy's from nearly every club and a lot of them are pricks DURING the game but after the game they are good decent guy's that you generally have a fair bit in commom with.

Vafa06 would this have something to do with the fact the Bernards guy's were calling Scotch soft all day but when it hit the fan it was the Scotch guy's that were first to jump in for each other while most the Bernies wanted nothing to do with it? Or perhaps it's just because your a sour human that really should venture out a little more???

Supergrass
30 May 2006, 10:18
Every side has their share of ordinary blokes.

Whilst some would argue that Scotch has more than some other sides (a view not necessarily shared by myself), the VAFA players are generally pretty good guys.

Considerably better blokes than many district cowboys running around for coin.

Drizzle
30 May 2006, 15:37
[quote=Axel1980]DG-Man is spot on, I know guy's from nearly every club and a lot of them are pricks DURING the game but after the game they are good decent guy's that you generally have a fair bit in commom with.[quote]

From my experiences, I agree with this entirely. However, in my opinion, Scotch are the exception. They are not good decent people at all. Watching on the weekend, Bernards copped it on the chin and accepted they'd been beaten by a good side. Conversely, Scotch were about as humble in their win as Curtly Ambrose in his day. (L Thompson in particular). Comments afterwards from PLAYERS and SUPPORTERS like "Get back in ya Datsuns and drive home to the ghetto", "Make sure we leave em some change for their lunch", and "How do you get around these days with petrol prices the way they are?" reeks of a sad and ancient culture where financial inheritance is the measuring stick of quality of life. These attitudes are not what Ammos footy is about and thats what makes it great. If Scotch want to gain or maintain any respect then as a club they need to cut that sort of s*** out of their culture.

You know it makes sense.

PS. I hope they enjoyed they best facilities in the comp the 'dirt-poor' Bernards provided them with.

Max Leader
30 May 2006, 15:53
Drizzle,

Whilst the facilities look great. Opposition rooms are not big enough to hold an Under 10 team.

Most A Grade change rooms are too small.

Drizzle
30 May 2006, 16:06
Drizzle,

Whilst the facilities look great. Opposition rooms are not big enough to hold an Under 10 team.

Most A Grade change rooms are too small.

Yeah fair call.

The rest of my post stands

k-9 hero
30 May 2006, 16:12
Conversely, Scotch were about as humble in their win as Curtly Ambrose in his day. (L Thompson in particular)[/quote]

Thompson is a hunchback. He should go back to Notre Dame and ring his bell.

froggie6
30 May 2006, 17:09
Usually its a simple theory...

money attracts good looking people...am i correct?

Scotch supposedly have money...am i correct?

So why the hell are they the most ugly bunch of blokes running around. look, yours truly is no oil painting but they are all bald(ing), have man boobs (even the skinny blokes) and wear smelly red jumpers. The PR dept at the VAFA must be pulling their hair out.

Look good luck to them. I think they will go alright, they will not, i repeat will not play off in the GF, and will probably fall back into a groove of lacklustre performances for the next 10 yrs.

Ciao

Sir Jack
30 May 2006, 19:51
Conversely, Scotch were about as humble in their win as Curtly Ambrose in his day. (L Thompson in particular)

Thompson is a hunchback. He should go back to Notre Dame and ring his bell.

Could this bloke be the most disliked man in the Ammo's? Even his own teammates bemoan the fact that he wears the red jumper.
Anyone got a spare Brownlow Medal floating around? Oh that's right Lachy, your old man sold it!

Simpson. Homer
30 May 2006, 22:04
In terms of its resistance to fire, I don't think there's any doubt that it would light up rather spectacularly and be a pile of ashes within minutes.

As for its quality, its a wonderful piece of modern architecture. The facilities in the pavilion, where 3 course lunches are held prior to each home game, are second to none and the location, which provides an excellent view of the whole ground has been looked upon enviously by all who've attended.

couldn't have said it any better... fire wise, would turn into a suburban bonfire rather quickly but spectator wise, fantastic the lunches are fantastic!

Axel1980
31 May 2006, 01:07
Drizzle - We got "Can't you find your Merc" & "It's about time you took your BMW home" the banter was no different to any other game at the pit or Camberwell! The Scotch people probably play up to you cause they know it makes you guys :D:D:D:Ded! PS: New rooms are great!

K-9 hero and Sir Jack - Scotch are wrapped to have LT back and his brothers down at the club so i have no idea where this comes from!!! and Sir Jack next time you see his old man at a game walk up and say g'day you might be surprised but if not at least you would have met the guy that your paying out!

Froggie6 - Brilliant money theory man, i bet it took you ages but well worth the time huh? Money does attract good looking people your correct (this may explain the lack of good looking woman at the pit!!) but seriously the answer is simple We at Scotch are not worried about our looks on the field, we don't hit the Sollies down puckle st nor get our hair tipped at the Biba Academy before every game we just rock up and play regardless how we look. How does the coach react when you say "Sorry i'm not playing this week mate, couldn't get the hair done in time"???

Supergrass
31 May 2006, 10:11
Any thoughts on the following. Who has the best:

1 Looking women in A Grade. Very difficult to assess, don't really think that there's a standout.

2. Luncheons. The learned men from Chelsworth seem to be talking it up, have never had the pleasure of engaging in their culinary delights. Have also heard a whisper about Marcellins.

sammyg
31 May 2006, 11:16
Drizzle - We got "Can't you find your Merc" & "It's about time you took your BMW home" the banter was no different to any other game at the pit or Camberwell! The Scotch people probably play up to you cause they know it makes you guys :D:D:D:Ded! PS: New rooms are great!

K-9 hero and Sir Jack - Scotch are wrapped to have LT back and his brothers down at the club so i have no idea where this comes from!!! and Sir Jack next time you see his old man at a game walk up and say g'day you might be surprised but if not at least you would have met the guy that your paying out!

Froggie6 - Brilliant money theory man, i bet it took you ages but well worth the time huh? Money does attract good looking people your correct (this may explain the lack of good looking woman at the pit!!) but seriously the answer is simple We at Scotch are not worried about our looks on the field, we don't hit the Sollies down puckle st nor get our hair tipped at the Biba Academy before every game we just rock up and play regardless how we look. How does the coach react when you say "Sorry i'm not playing this week mate, couldn't get the hair done in time"???

Top post Axel. Couldn't have put it better myself.

Robbie
1 Jun 2006, 11:03
Haven't had a chance to see much Ammos this year - what's the deal with this Handley bloke from OX. Seems to be on a bit of a run, is he a big unit or just a more than handy goalkicker?

Hoping to get to some games in the next few weeks and have a look at some of the sides that have changed a bit in the last twelve months.

linger_isgod
1 Jun 2006, 12:01
Big unit.

Robbie
1 Jun 2006, 12:18
Thanks for that detailed expansive answer :D

Supergrass
1 Jun 2006, 15:29
Robbie

There has been changes to A Grade this year, a considerable amount of departures at a few clubs (i.e Scotch, Marcellin, OM's). This can often be a good thing, a virtual spring clean-out.

Believe the standard may have dropped off just a touch from a couple of years back as well.