View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43

BrianSpeaking
12 Apr 2008, 21:36
Winners were St Bedes, Blues, Ivanhoe and Scotch.

soupsey
12 Apr 2008, 22:02
Super game at Toorak Park. Blues fitter at this stage. Decided to leave the unfit Solly in the twos and ran away in the end. Toorak Park now officially the best surface in A grade!

Over The Post
12 Apr 2008, 23:34
Saw Collegians run amok over Trinity today. Early on there seemed to be an element of shock and awe tactics that left Trinity standing wondering what the hell had been unleashed on them. The Collegians midfield completely dominated, delivering consistent ball to Watts who used strength and class to overcome determined but frustrated defence.

Trinity picked up later in the game and kicked 5 goals to 2 in the last quarter, but way too late and with Collegians resting four or five stars.

With their ability to rip the ball out of the opposition half and hand it on a platter to a choice of forwards, Collegians are going to prove a real headache for other teams this year.

I'm impressed, and I don't impress easily.

(Having given them that huge rap, watch them fall in a heap against OI next week, just to make a liar out of me)

Benny MOF
13 Apr 2008, 02:32
St Bedes copped 2 ACL's and an ankle injury, had 17 fit players for 3 quarters, but still managed a 5 goal win.

I feel sorry for the Stbmt players if this is true, but what would you expect from a very dodgy surface.....????

Perty4
13 Apr 2008, 11:37
Can you please FARQ off and post in the B Grade thread? You have no relevance

Hats off to Roy Harper
13 Apr 2008, 12:07
I feel sorry for the Stbmt players if this is true, but what would you expect from a very dodgy surface.....????

The ground looked absolute quality yesterday..

yippa
13 Apr 2008, 13:31
St Bedes copped 2 ACL's and an ankle injury, had 17 fit players for 3 quarters, but still managed a 5 goal win.
Who were the 2 ACL injuries too?

BrianSpeaking
13 Apr 2008, 13:59
Was down there this morning and the ground is great. Has been re done over the Summer.
Sammy Hecker and Brett Collins will play next week.

Cscape
13 Apr 2008, 15:07
Who were the 2 ACL injuries too?
I don't think they where fully blown ACL's and the ankle was minor..Hecker did his calf on Tuesday night and will miss a few more. As for the win, hardly convincing considering it was on STB's home turf and it was possibly the poorest De La side I've seen. While it was rd 1, the quality of footy was below A grade standard, St.Bedes had a lot more possession but continually overused the footy...when de la did have it they went a little longer, but simply didn't have the cattle..I think we'll find St.Bedes a little quiter now until they figure out where they fit in..They have some quality, but also a few that aren't up to the increased tempo, particularly when they will meet teams that can apply continual pressure. They also need to work on the setup in the forward line - the overweight full forward just won't cut it....

catchGibbo
13 Apr 2008, 18:37

Mate it is about time that you rack off and stop criticising everyone and everything. It is evident that you can't get over the negatives of STBMT, and that you find it hard to applaud their performances and success.
What are you talking about when you refer to the surface. Even you would know that the ground has been resurfaced over summer and that there is not one spot of dirt, the surface is awesome.
Get a life mate and find something else to winge and wine about.

JG Hornet
13 Apr 2008, 18:57
I don't think they where fully blown ACL's and the ankle was minor..Hecker did his calf on Tuesday night and will miss a few more. As for the win, hardly convincing considering it was on STB's home turf and it was possibly the poorest De La side I've seen. While it was rd 1, the quality of footy was below A grade standard, St.Bedes had a lot more possession but continually overused the footy...when de la did have it they went a little longer, but simply didn't have the cattle..I think we'll find St.Bedes a little quiter now until they figure out where they fit in..They have some quality, but also a few that aren't up to the increased tempo, particularly when they will meet teams that can apply continual pressure. They also need to work on the setup in the forward line - the overweight full forward just won't cut it....

Have to disagree old son - i thought the standard was pretty good for Round 1 and I liked what I saw of both teams. Nothing wrong with the ground either. I thought De La would be no good given their losses but as always, they're found a few really good kids. Brett Collins played ressies and was tagged but ther's a bit about him...

Bigfootyfan
13 Apr 2008, 19:12

Hey Benny,

you have been very quiet of late. Fu*k off and keep being quiet you useless fool. If you want to borrow a chisel for that chip on the old shoulder id be happy to help out

ITSMYNAME
13 Apr 2008, 22:12

1 acl, 1 hamstring, 1 rolled ankle, 1 groin and 1 big corky. alot of sore boys from both teams. both teams played well in patches. st bedes just had more patches.

2 of those players might play next week with 3 senior players to come back in.

sounds like young fergus had a day out. Im guessing OT's don't know how to flood?

Half Back Pocket
14 Apr 2008, 10:03
1 acl, 1 hamstring, 1 rolled ankle, 1 groin and 1 big corky. alot of sore boys from both teams. both teams played well in patches. st bedes just had more patches.

2 of those players might play next week with 3 senior players to come back in.

sounds like young fergus had a day out. Im guessing OT's don't know how to flood?

Is Ryan Power one of those to come in this week?

Penski
14 Apr 2008, 12:18
Does anyone have any info on the upset of the round (OS over OB)?

ultimate hater
14 Apr 2008, 12:36
OS came to play, OB didn't... very poor first half from OB which pretty much set the tune for the day.. they only played well for 1 qrt which was the third but that obviously isnt good enough..

all credit to OS for having a red hot dip which paid off.

good wake up call for OB i would think.. watch out OT's next week..

1 of the umpires was very very poor though.. some very very ordinary decisions..

and OB need to do some kicking practice!

all up, fairly decent game, but i think both sides had a few players under-done..

what the hell happened with the last qrt of the xavs/blues game??

BrianSpeaking
14 Apr 2008, 13:26
Old Scotch have also got Craig McCrae to add to their team, wont finish bottom 2, Blacks will instead I feel.

JG Hornet
14 Apr 2008, 13:36
Old Scotch have also got Craig McCrae to add to their team, wont finish bottom 2, Blacks will instead I feel.

So what is the connection between Craig McCrae, Adam Houlihan and Adam Houlihan and the Old Scotch mob. Not exactly three gents one could imagine walking down Glenferrie Rd in the red blazer? I still reckon Scotch will drop though they were mightily cheesed off with me for tipping them 10th.

harper
14 Apr 2008, 13:38

Can anyone tell me if a released Bendigo Bomber Ash Humphries (sic) played for Scotch on Saturday?

TapRuck
14 Apr 2008, 17:06
Good 1st up win by the st bedes, if they can beat dls with players missing they are sure to knock of a few more middle of the road sides... however not finals material imo. surprised by ob's and ox's going down. should be a great year in a section.

BrianSpeaking
14 Apr 2008, 20:03
Tough ask this week, doesnt get much harder than playing Blues at the Uni.

oc37
14 Apr 2008, 20:18
So what is the connection between Craig McCrae, Adam Houlihan and Adam Houlihan and the Old Scotch mob. Not exactly three gents one could imagine walking down Glenferrie Rd in the red blazer? I still reckon Scotch will drop though they were mightily cheesed off with me for tipping them 10th.

Seeing double JG ?

Johnny Utah #9
14 Apr 2008, 20:19

McCrae would most likely have a connection with his old Brisbane team mate Steven "don't look in your footy bag" Lawrence.

Tough as Nails
15 Apr 2008, 09:32

Do the houlihan's play local footy anything like what the played AFL?

LOL. That would be embarrassing! Could you imagine at Brindisi st, the smallest ground in the league...They would be getting their kicks from the canteen line.

soupsey
15 Apr 2008, 12:06
Good 1st up win by the st bedes, if they can beat dls with players missing they are sure to knock of a few more middle of the road sides... however not finals material imo. surprised by ob's and ox's going down. should be a great year in a section.

Don't be too surprised by an OX loss. Can't remember winning in round 1 for quite some time. I think Carlton must have taken their celebration cues from Uni. Like a final was won.

JG Hornet
15 Apr 2008, 12:12
Don't be too surprised by an OX loss. Can't remember winning in round 1 for quite some time. I think Carlton must have taken their celebration cues from Uni. Like a final was won.

Soupsey

You beat them in Round 1 2006. And from I remember, a mass pile on of bodies after the siren constituted a pretty handy celebration in itself old son!

Supergrass
15 Apr 2008, 12:26
What's good for the goose is good for the gander Soupsey.

Comeback victories are always celebrated with gusto whatever team it is.

Eddie Woloschek
15 Apr 2008, 12:29
Soupsey

You beat them in Round 1 2006. And from I remember, a mass pile on of bodies after the siren constituted a pretty handy celebration in itself old son!

Stretching it a bit, Hornet. On Saturday, Uni Blues had the game won before the clock hit time on. 2 years ago, Xavs were 4+ goals down at the same stage and playing a man short. The winning kick was in the air as the siren blew. Thebloke who kicked it was quite naturally mobbed.

JG Hornet
15 Apr 2008, 12:36
Stretching it a bit, Hornet. On Saturday, Uni Blues had the game won before the clock hit time on. 2 years ago, Xavs were 4+ goals down at the same stage and playing a man short. The winning kick was in the air as the siren blew. Thebloke who kicked it was quite naturally mobbed.

Well aware of that Edward. Just reminding Soupsey of the day!

ultimate hater
15 Apr 2008, 12:40
your right eddie..

maybe you should write up a "guide" as to how and when you can celebrate a victory...

seriously, who gives a shit.. sometimes its can be over the top, sometimes its not.. not exactly an important part of the game, as long as the celebrations are in good spirits and not derogatory against the losing side all the best to them.. should teams not sing the song either if its a blowout? i.e. coll v OT's on the weekend

harper
15 Apr 2008, 13:29
your right eddie..

maybe you should write up a "guide" as to how and when you can celebrate a victory...

seriously, who gives a shit.. sometimes its can be over the top, sometimes its not.. not exactly an important part of the game, as long as the celebrations are in good spirits and not derogatory against the losing side all the best to them.. should teams not sing the song either if its a blowout? i.e. coll v OT's on the weekend

Surely you always sing the song, or were the purples far too disappointed with their 2 goal to 5 last term.

Cardio Carl
15 Apr 2008, 14:07
your right eddie..

UH my guide is the more over the top you go (especially 1st round) reflects a belief you were not confident of winning before the game....problems may come next time you meet that team who will use that.

soupsey
15 Apr 2008, 14:12
Well aware of that Edward. Just reminding Soupsey of the day!

Fair play Hornet, just venting! It just seemed a little over the top.
Rather than " Horn on wednesdays" it seemed that they all had a horn on saturday.

Couple of big games coming up this weekend for the 0-1 brigade I think.

ultimate hater
15 Apr 2008, 14:39
UH my guide is the more over the top you go (especially 1st round) reflects a belief you were not confident of winning before the game....problems may come next time you meet that team who will use that.
totally understand where your coming from CC.. it goes both ways too.. some people go over the top in celebration which looks amaturish, and some people whinge about the winners celebrating which makes them look like sore losers..

but you are right in regards to round 1 celebrations, its not like there is much to celebrate with so long to go till business time..

simmer
15 Apr 2008, 18:34
OS came to play, OB didn't... very poor first half from OB which pretty much set the tune for the day.. they only played well for 1 qrt which was the third but that obviously isnt good enough..

all credit to OS for having a red hot dip which paid off.

good wake up call for OB i would think.. watch out OT's next week..

1 of the umpires was very very poor though.. some very very ordinary decisions..

and OB need to do some kicking practice!

all up, fairly decent game, but i think both sides had a few players under-done..

what the hell happened with the last qrt of the xavs/blues game??

Had a sneak at the Beach boys first half and St bedes second half and only recognized 1 man in white, has the comp lost a few this season or are these guys new up and comers from lower grades?

Seeing as last year's premiers and runners up both got done on the weekend I'm not reading too much into form at this stage, 17 weeks is long time... I think OB will get back into form sooner rather than later.

To be honest the St Bedes v De La Soul game looked a better 'skilled' contest (the pitstop at the Oak may have had something to do with it for me) however the smaller ground, bigger crowd, and closer viewing added value... and the game itself of course was closer then the score would suggest.

Brooksy01
16 Apr 2008, 14:08
I hear there is a new Stretcher Man down at Brindsi Street. Dean Porter is following in the footsteps of the great man Paul Groves. He was stretchered off on the weekend and has made a great recovery and was seen walking around the club rooms last nyt and looks a certain starter this week.

Well done Dean!!!!

MyMission
16 Apr 2008, 22:27
I think former U/19 courageous skipper Mark Geshke might get a call up to the Tigers senior lineup this week. He has been told to train well.

nicho_magic
16 Apr 2008, 22:40
who cares... collegians are all that matter, unbeatable at the moment anyway.

ultimate hater
16 Apr 2008, 22:48
who cares... blah blah

totally agree nicho!

Joe Dirt
16 Apr 2008, 22:51
totally understand where your coming from CC.. it goes both ways too.. some people go over the top in celebration which looks amaturish, and some people whinge about the winners celebrating which makes them look like sore losers..

but you are right in regards to round 1 celebrations, its not like there is much to celebrate with so long to go till business time..

Think Round 1 is irrelevant. You never know what sort of motivation is coming from within the team. There can be all sorts of external or internal factors that can be applied from within the playing group, by the coach or by the club which eventuates in some games meaning just that little bit more sometimes. I'm sure Johnny Kanis is well aware of what month it is and will have his team ticking in the back end of the season, as usual.

Bigbandwagon
16 Apr 2008, 22:54
Think Round 1 is irrelevant.
Surely round one serves some relevance...

ultimate hater
16 Apr 2008, 22:56
yes.. a vague guide to round 2

edit: oh and 4 points towards making the top four for the end of the season..

soupsey
17 Apr 2008, 09:20
Think Round 1 is irrelevant. You never know what sort of motivation is coming from within the team. There can be all sorts of external or internal factors that can be applied from within the playing group, by the coach or by the club which eventuates in some games meaning just that little bit more sometimes. I'm sure Johnny Kanis is well aware of what month it is and will have his team ticking in the back end of the season, as usual.

All I know is that the celebration @ beach Rd in round 3 last year served as ample ammunition come business time. It was mentioned and remembered. Anyway let's look forward. Who plays on Watts from each side? (just trying to pump up his tyres to near explosion)

ultimate hater
17 Apr 2008, 09:39
All I know is that the celebration @ beach Rd in round 3 last year served as ample ammunition come business time. It was mentioned and remembered. Anyway let's look forward. Who plays on Watts from each side? (just trying to pump up his tyres to near explosion)
you can pull "ammunition" from anywhere soupsey... a loss on home soil, a knockout from the finals the previous year, in your case a celebration.. it doesn't really matter to be honest

and on the looking forward front, i'd probably say the #1 full back from each side will have the job (standard).. and get the ruck back there to plug it up too.. i doubt there is 1 guy in the comp that could shut him down solely by themselves..
anyways, its all about the midfield these days soupsey!! must stop the flow of accurate kicks to the dominant forward coming out of the centre...

soupsey
17 Apr 2008, 11:08
you can pull "ammunition" from anywhere soupsey... a loss on home soil, a knockout from the finals the previous year, in your case a celebration.. it doesn't really matter to be honest

and on the looking forward front, i'd probably say the #1 full back from each side will have the job (standard).. and get the ruck back there to plug it up too.. i doubt there is 1 guy in the comp that could shut him down solely by themselves..
anyways, its all about the midfield these days soupsey!! must stop the flow of accurate kicks to the dominant forward coming out of the centre...

Yes you can Hater but my point was that it seems silly to give any unnecessary motivation to an opponent by being over exuberant in your celebrations. Well at least that's what our club thinks anyway.I think you've missed the point.

Lance Burkhardt
17 Apr 2008, 11:40
Yes you can Hater but my point was that it seems silly to give any unnecessary motivation to an opponent by being over exuberant in your celebrations. Well at least that's what our club thinks anyway.I think you've missed the point.

The last thing you think about when celebrating a great win is giving the opposition unnecessary motivation for next time round. I know where your coming from but if you can't celebrate great wins then why do you play footy. I think there's definitely a line between good celebrations and being disrespectful to the opposition, neither of which celebrations you have referred to have come across as. Maybe there's a mantra at your club to keep a lid on it until the big day in September, well i'm not going to argue against it as it's obvious you've been successful in recent times, which i believe is the point your alluding to.
But there's no reason why you can't do both, and i know what season in later years would be more memorable.

soupsey
17 Apr 2008, 11:47
The last thing you think about when celebrating a great win is giving the opposition unnecessary motivation for next time round. I know where your coming from but if you can't celebrate great wins then why do you play footy. I think there's definitely a line between good celebrations and being disrespectful to the opposition, neither of which celebrations you have referred to have come across as. Maybe there's a mantra at your club to keep a lid on it until the big day in September, well i'm not going to argue against it as it's obvious you've been successful in recent times, which i believe is the point your alluding to.
But there's no reason why you can't do both, and i know what season in later years would be more memorable.

Of course we're not robots however I'm just stating fact that both post siren celebrations in round one this year and round 3 last year were perceived by many experienced , senior footballers as over the top for what had been achieved. No sour grapes, just observations. How many "great wins" can you have in round 1 or 3? Anyway you do it your way and we'll do it our way. Let's move on. (without too much fuss)

ultimate hater
17 Apr 2008, 12:08
soupsey, hopefully my last post on this topic.. but personally i think the rd 3 win last year was a sign of OB coming of age finally (at least a little bit) and not being the usual A-B grade yo-yos they had been constantly for years of the past.. i know it wasnt a "great win" being so early in the season, but there are plenty of reasons why it was a celebrated one, which i cbf'd going into detail.. and it is a lot different to the recent one, blues are a powerhouse, we were a nobody..

and as stated already, each to their own..

is there any news coming into this weeks games? how are the injuries fairing down at stbedes? huge task for them this week..

catfish18
18 Apr 2008, 09:53
Fooooooooootyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

Cardio Carl
18 Apr 2008, 10:05
OS vs Uni Blacks (18 points)
OI vs Colleg (25points)
OTrinity vs OB (45points)
Uni Blues vs St Bedes (DRAW)
UB backline has to stoppage the leakage but all roads lead to the MUO saturday
De La vs OX (55 points)

all the best boys & girls

Penski
18 Apr 2008, 10:31
OS vs Uni Blacks
OI vs Colleg
OTrinity vs OB
Uni Blues vs St Bedes
De La vs OX

I think Scotch might just be better than a lot of us expected (then again, i am usually wrong)

Lance Burkhardt
18 Apr 2008, 11:04
OS vs Uni Blacks (concur with Penski)
OI vs Colleg (far too strong, Watts another bag)
OTrinity vs OB ( in a close one)
Uni Blues vs St Bedes (sounds as if Blues played their grand final last week and Bedes to continue to surprise)
De La vs OX ( always have the wood on De la, this week no exception)

Over The Post
18 Apr 2008, 11:48
OS vs Uni Blacks
OI vs Colleg
OTrinity vs OB
Uni Blues vs St Bedes
De La vs OX

BrianSpeaking
18 Apr 2008, 12:18
My tips:
Scotch by 70
Lions by 35
OB by 18
Blues by 40
De La in the upset of the round by 22

Over The Post
18 Apr 2008, 12:19
Better late than never.

http://railsimpro.com/junk/a0801.gif

ultimate hater
18 Apr 2008, 14:09
OS vs Uni Blacks (just - 6pts)
OI vs Coll (OI will give Coll a fright - 13pts)
OTrinity vs OB (28pts)
Uni Blues vs St Bedes (21pts)
De La vs OX (44pts)

Cardio, big call for the draw!!

good luck to all this weekend..

diablo14
18 Apr 2008, 15:08
For me this week I like the look of Uni Blacks, Collegians, OB's, Uni Blues and Xavs.

ITSMYNAME
18 Apr 2008, 15:14
'And so to this week’s lock. John Kanis will hate me loading up on the Blues so early in the season but I reckon they might have too many tricks for St Bede’s/Mentone, despite the possible inclusion of Brett Collins I’ll give you a 25-point line, with a nice bottle of red once again up for.'

Gee Mr Horn haven't you gone out on a limb this week with your lock??! You and i both saw the amount of injuries St bedes had and we all know how hard big men are to cover for. Im not sure how many are out or in but there were some very sore boys last weekend that i saw limp off the ground.

JG Hornet
18 Apr 2008, 15:33
'And so to this week’s lock. John Kanis will hate me loading up on the Blues so early in the season but I reckon they might have too many tricks for St Bede’s/Mentone, despite the possible inclusion of Brett Collins I’ll give you a 25-point line, with a nice bottle of red once again up for.'

Gee Mr Horn haven't you gone out on a limb this week with your lock??! You and i both saw the amount of injuries St bedes had and we all know how hard big men are to cover for. Im not sure how many are out or in but there were some very sore boys last weekend that i saw limp off the ground.

Mate, I'm aware that Bede's have more outs than your apostrophes but I've given 'em 25 points. I reckon that just about makes things even money...

NotAWellMan
18 Apr 2008, 15:34

Isn't JG picking the Blues as his lock though?

ultimate hater
18 Apr 2008, 15:40
IMN.. are you maybe just getting the excuses ready for STB if they do loose?

if you dont like the lock, dont take it.. simple as that.. i dont think the hornet is in the business of just handing out bottles of pinot willy nilly..

i think its a good 'lock'.. too bad neither are my team..

Scribe
18 Apr 2008, 15:51
Uni Blacks
Collegians
OT
Uni Blues
OX

JG Hornet
18 Apr 2008, 15:53
Isn't JG picking the Blues as his lock though?

NAWM - I'm giving Bede's a 25 point head start

Cardio Carl
18 Apr 2008, 15:57
Cardio, big call for the draw!!

good luck to all this weekend..[/quote]

Yeah, both sides are due for a DRAW....although it wouldn't surprise me if one of them won as well.

JG Hornet
18 Apr 2008, 16:08
Craig Mcrae NOT playing tomorrow.
Nor is Ben Doherty - reporting from Kevin Rudd's summit for The Age.

Half Back
18 Apr 2008, 16:52
OS
Collegians
OT (upset of the round)
Uni Blues
OX

simmer
18 Apr 2008, 17:15
Blacks over Scotch by 12 points
Collegians will beat OI by 36
Trininty to bounce back this week over BeachBoys by 2 points
Blues will thump Bedes by 67 points
Xavs to open 2008 account over De la Soul by 18 points...

chop_chop
18 Apr 2008, 18:10
Ryan Semmel from de la has transferred to Hampton Rovers after a 5 goal best on ground performance on the weekend. Strange.

dspeed
18 Apr 2008, 20:26
Ryan Semmel from de la has transferred to Hampton Rovers after a 5 goal best on ground performance on the weekend. Strange.
needed a job, de la couldnt organise him one, hampton did, should do well down in C grade

young boy
18 Apr 2008, 21:08
Good luck to Bert Collins this week in the main game, if he puts in a good one, they'll have to put a restraining order on the hornet.Good luck Bert.

Cherry Picker
19 Apr 2008, 01:33
OS
Collegians
OT (upset of the round)
Uni Blues
OX
\

collegians (watts is close to breaking down, he has never played a full season)
xavs- easy
blues comfortable
brighton to bouce back
scotchy's will win (but do there best to gas it)

Bigfootyfan
19 Apr 2008, 18:48
Massive win by St Bedes today, 22 points, i think Uni kicked the last five. Surely proof that they are not just talk

kiwi rush
19 Apr 2008, 19:13
OTs on the board after a solid 5 goal win V OB. Led all day.

on the trott
19 Apr 2008, 20:03
\

collegians (watts is close to breaking down, he has never played a full season)
xavs- easy
blues comfortable
brighton to bouce back
scotchy's will win (but do there best to gas it)

Cherry Picker, is that wishful thinking with Watts? 10 goals first game and 8 goals in his second pretty good start to the season. i think your kidding yourself if you think he's close to breaking down.

Over The Post
19 Apr 2008, 20:18
http://railsimpro.com/junk/a0802.gif

I am enjoying my early season tipping form.

Spent the afternoon shovelling coin over the canteen counter at Dairy Bell. Amazing how taking the kids to the footy dramatically increases the cost.

De La stood up in the first quarter, but Xavs were just too good. They did well not to let Xavs pull away too much in the middle of the game, and in the last got to within 3 goals before the red and black tide came back once more.

De La..........Xavs
3.1.19 5.3.33
4.7.31 9.7.61
6.12.48 13.13.91
11.16.82 16.16.112

north of the river
19 Apr 2008, 20:28
OTs on the board after a solid 5 goal win V OB. Led all day.

Great win by OT, well deserved and should drive strong confidence amongst the playing group...well done.

north of the river
19 Apr 2008, 20:29
Massive win by St Bedes today, 22 points, i think Uni kicked the last five. Surely proof that they are not just talk

Is the mist rising around the THREE PEAKS?????

simmer
19 Apr 2008, 21:56

I think you're right St Bedes are definitely looking the goods at this stage... interesting to note their ressies were smashed by over 100 points so will see how they hold up when/if injuries hit, do they have any depth?

I need to start picking the tigers from now on....

Spitz
20 Apr 2008, 01:09
I think you're right St Bedes are definitely looking the goods at this stage... interesting to note their ressies were smashed by over 100 points so will see how they hold up when/if injuries hit, do they have any depth?

I need to start picking the tigers from now on....

St Bedes had 7 changes this week, all due to injury. This win proves the depth of the club. They were up by 50 points mid way through the last quarter, ran out of legs. Were far to hard at the ball, and really did "smash" the blues.

yippa
20 Apr 2008, 01:46
St Bedes had 7 changes this week, all due to injury. This win proves the depth of the club. They were up by 50 points mid way through the last quarter, ran out of legs. Were far to hard at the ball, and really did "smash" the blues.
spitzy, did rat kick any today and how did brett collins go?

NBULTY
20 Apr 2008, 10:33
Is it Burt or Brett Collins? Anyway the no. 5 from the tigers seems to have a body more flexible than the straw he was seen drinking from after the game. More injuries for the tigers, and a 6 day turn around could see Scotch take a win down at tigerland.

Good win by the tigers, up by 50 during the last, Blues kicked afew in junk time. Will be interesting to se how a free flowing team like the Blues go on the return match at Brindisi, not much space to run into there...

nicho_magic
20 Apr 2008, 11:56
watts 18 goals in two weeks. with bench time as well. the collegians bandwagon keeps rolling. somebody try and stop them

Bugsy Brown
20 Apr 2008, 13:55
watts 18 goals in two weeks. with bench time as well. the collegians bandwagon keeps rolling. somebody try and stop them

no doubt collegians are the team to beat this year. i watched them last week against old trinity and they looked very classy.

watts will be a difficult match up all year and if he stays fit i dont think too many sides will get near them. However, the two's are yet to open their account so if they get a couple of injuries to key players it might test their depth and give a few other clubs a sniff, but unless that happens not sure who else is going to get close.

Is the depth issue a concern? or are there a few back up players in the twos / currently injured that could do the job?

Bigfootyfan
20 Apr 2008, 20:45
[quote=BrianSpeaking;10710967]My tips:

Blues by 40

My word, if the great Brainspeaking tips UB as i would have then what do we have in store for the rest of the year

Monkeyboy
20 Apr 2008, 21:36
no doubt collegians are the team to beat this year. i watched them last week against old trinity and they looked very classy.

watts will be a difficult match up all year and if he stays fit i dont think too many sides will get near them. However, the two's are yet to open their account so if they get a couple of injuries to key players it might test their depth and give a few other clubs a sniff, but unless that happens not sure who else is going to get close.

Is the depth issue a concern? or are there a few back up players in the twos / currently injured that could do the job?

Xavs are the team to beat this year. Sure it is not fun to have this as the truth, and all and sundry will try and pump up the tyres of a team less able, however search your brains fellas, not your hearts. Come business end of the season, all will be jumping on the 11th flag in 14 years bandwaggon.

RockyBalboa
20 Apr 2008, 21:43
Xavs are the team to beat this year. Sure it is not fun to have this as the truth, and all and sundry will try and pump up the tyres of a team less able, however search your brains fellas, not your hearts. Come business end of the season, all will be jumping on the 11th flag in 14 years bandwaggon.

Obviously a happier weekend Monkey?

Monkeyboy
20 Apr 2008, 22:05
Obviously a happier weekend Monkey?

I barrack for Xavs in A, like i barrack for BT in in D1. Yet i havent seen them play in a while. If you let my posts influence who you think i support, then you will forever be in a haze tracing me. Am i really worth all this love??

RockyBalboa
20 Apr 2008, 22:37
I barrack for Xavs in A, like i barrack for BT in in D1. Yet i havent seen them play in a while. If you let my posts influence who you think i support, then you will forever be in a haze tracing me. Am i really worth all this love??

Who said your posts are influencing me? Don't flatter yourself, as I never said anything about Xavs, but interesting that you did!

No haze, perfectly clear this end

BrianSpeaking
20 Apr 2008, 22:42
[quote=BrianSpeaking;10710967]My tips:

Blues by 40

My word, if the great Brainspeaking tips UB as i would have then what do we have in store for the rest of the year
It was a ruse, always knew St Bedes would shut down Blues runners off half back. St Bedes are the real deal, and will only get better. Look forward to welcoming The Scotchies down to Brindisi this week.

Monkeyboy
20 Apr 2008, 22:43
Who said your posts are influencing me? Don't flatter yourself, as I never said anything about Xavs, but interesting that you did!

No haze, perfectly clear this end

I'm starting to feel a little dirty. Please make a post without reference to me or my comments to help me feel clean again.

north of the river
21 Apr 2008, 12:59
OS vs Uni Blacks (18 points)
OI vs Colleg (25points)
OTrinity vs OB (45points)
Uni Blues vs St Bedes (DRAW)
UB backline has to stoppage the leakage but all roads lead to the MUO saturday
De La vs OX (55 points)

all the best boys & girls

Bad luck on the Uni draw Cardio...just wrong color

Bugsy Brown
21 Apr 2008, 13:59

not following the heart monkeyboy. was at the game and was very impressed with what i saw.

im sure OX will be up there again this year but Collegians are looking very sharp.

Have you had a chance to watch them this season?

Cardio Carl
21 Apr 2008, 14:33
Bad luck on the Uni draw Cardio...just wrong color

Yeah, my mail said Uni but I just thought Blue...oh well!

What a game though, St Bedes rebounding off Half Back sensational and run through Midfield via their Zig Zag movement very well drilled.

One kid looking very good is Richards, this guy will go under a few radars I presume along with Waters.

All over by 3 qtr time.

Cardio

Michael Yawn
21 Apr 2008, 15:47
I'm starting to feel a little dirty. Please make a post without reference to me or my comments to help me feel clean again.

The word w@nker comes to mind!:thumbsd:

jogger
22 Apr 2008, 10:19
soupsy.. what are you up to this Saturday?

soupsey
22 Apr 2008, 13:03
soupsy.. what are you up to this Saturday?

It's the game I was watching LAST saturday that you should be querying.
Looked very good the lions. Xavs missing plenty at the moment.
Arnold, Mercuri, Colbert, Handley and Serafini all missing this week.
Beware the wounded bull jogger! See you there.

river man
22 Apr 2008, 13:42

Gees thats some big losses from the reigning premiers. They are apparently wrapt to have C Beetham returning to the fold this week.

Brooksy01
22 Apr 2008, 14:03
Gees thats some big losses from the reigning premiers. They are apparently wrapt to have C Beetham returning to the fold this week.

SBMT are also rapt to have Stretcher Man 2 D.Porter back into the side this week.

ultimate hater
22 Apr 2008, 15:04
he was in the best though?

soupsey
22 Apr 2008, 15:13

River man, where do you get your mail from? By C Beetham do you mean N.Buckley?