View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43

Chazz M Michaels
22 Apr 2008, 15:46
Old Brighton's website is up and running. It's still a little buggy, but I think is a very good website, maybe the ammo's should have a look at theirs.

soupsey
22 Apr 2008, 15:53
Old Brighton's website is up and running. It's still a little buggy, but I think is a very good website, maybe the ammo's should have a look at theirs.

Thanks Chazz.

river man
22 Apr 2008, 16:19
River man, where do you get your mail from? By C Beetham do you mean N.Buckley?

Soupsey....apparently they are saving n buckley for later in the year. one midfielder at a time. My mail comes around about 1pm each day from a little man on a red scooter.

soupsey
22 Apr 2008, 16:31
Soupsey....apparently they are saving n buckley for later in the year. one midfielder at a time. My mail comes around about 1pm each day from a little man on a red scooter.

Cliff Clevand?

river man
22 Apr 2008, 16:41
Cliff Clevand?

No. he has retired.

Destination A Grade
23 Apr 2008, 14:06
MEMO VAFA - TRIBUNAL

It is with interest i read the results of the tribunal hearings from last night.

How about umpires focus more on issues that can or do result in injury rather than worry about being called a bad name.

Over The Post
23 Apr 2008, 14:50
Umps are just focusing on issues they have been told to focus on. Nothing more, nothing less. If the VAFA say to all clubs, coaches, reserve and league umpires "as of now you will pay a free kick against anyone who spoils a mark" then guess what you'll be whinging about next week. What the players and umpires think of the rule is immaterial.

This year, the clubs and coaches and all umpires were told the zero tolerance policy was being rolled out to seniors and reserves after proving successful in U19s and clubbies. So why act all surprised and distressed when it starts being implemented?

webbo_83
23 Apr 2008, 15:35
Isn't it obvious?

If blokes get rubbed out for abusing umpires, there's every chance that DAG will spend most of the season on the sidelines (once he comes back from his current ills)!

simmer
24 Apr 2008, 01:16
Judging by the tippster ladder I'm not the only one struggling to pick all 5 winners thus far which reflects a very competitive A section this season... so here I go again

St Bedes to get over Cardinals in the Anzac blockbuster by 12 points
Beach boys will go down to OI by 18 points
Blacks get rolled by Trininty 36 points
Xavs V Collegians is my pick for the (2nd) match of the round Colls by 6 points but will not be surprised if it goes the other way...
De la Soul just too short against Blues 30 points

diablo14
24 Apr 2008, 10:33
My tips this week

SBMT over OS
OB over OI
Blacks over OT
Coll over OX
Blues over DLS

Cherry Picker
24 Apr 2008, 10:54
My Tips -

Scotch to beat SBMT by 20
Brighton to beat Ivanhoe by 32
Trinity to beat Blacks by 9
Xavs to beat Coll by 1
Blues to beat DLS by 48

Over The Post
24 Apr 2008, 11:24
SMBT vs Scotch
Brighton vs Ivanhoe
Blacks vs Trinity in a close one
Xavs vs Coll in a nailbiter
De La vs Blues

Half Back
24 Apr 2008, 12:18
SMBT to beat Scotch by 30
Ivanhoe to beat Brighton By 15
Trinity to beat Blacks by 35
Coll to beat Xavs by 45
Blues to beat DLS by 60+

Lance Burkhardt
24 Apr 2008, 12:21
SBMT over OS
OB over OI
OT over Blacks
Coll over OX
Blues over DLS

Scribe
24 Apr 2008, 16:03
Tigers at home
Beachboys likewise
Hedgeburners 2 in a row
Lions to stamp their premiership favoritism
Blues easily over the DLS munchkins

ultimate hater
24 Apr 2008, 17:01
SMBT vs Scotch
Brighton vs Ivanhoe
Blacks vs Trinity
Xavs vs Coll (watts won't kick more than 3 tho)
De La vs Blues

Penski
24 Apr 2008, 17:04
SMBT vs Scotch
Brighton vs Ivanhoe
Blacks vs Trinity
Xavs vs Coll (Watts to bag 6+)
De La vs Blues

BrianSpeaking
24 Apr 2008, 20:33
SMBT vs Scotch
Brighton vs Ivanhoe
Blacks vs Trinity
Xavs vs Coll (Watts to bag 6+)
De La vs Blues
St Bedes by 50
Brighton by 15
Blacks by 14
Collegians by 45
De La by 9

Cardio Carl
24 Apr 2008, 21:08
SMBT vs Scotch
Brighton vs Ivanhoe
Blacks vs Trinity
Xavs vs Coll
De La vs Blues

all the best boys & girls

Monkeyboy
25 Apr 2008, 10:54
Bedes - 45 points
OB - 2 goals
Blacks - 1 point
Xavs - 64 and to reclaim the bewildering loss in some quarters of flag fav.
Blues - 83

Jascave
25 Apr 2008, 19:20
How did the ANZAC Day game go between St Bedes Mentone Tigers & Old Scotch? Who won?

diablo14
25 Apr 2008, 19:21
Top win by the Scotchies down at Brindisi Street. Final score Scotch 16.15.111 to SBMT 10.18.78.

Very impressed with Scotch today. Backed themselves all day, attacked through the guts, and just had far too much marking strength for the Tigers, particularly up forward.

It was pretty tight for most of the first half, although I felt OS got right on top in the second stanza. However they missed several getable set shots to keep St Bedes in touch at half time. After that it was all Scotch. They had SBMT on the back foot for most of the afternoon as it was, but in the second half the floodgates opened. The Tigers struggled to deal with the physical pressue and numbers around the contest that Scotch were able to provide. They could not get clean movement all day, their delivery into the forward line was poor, they lacked targets (until Luke Wintle went to FF in the last term) and were constantly forced to play the flanks, which is death at the Postage Stamp.

It was surprising to see Scotch handle the size of the ground as well as they did. They went into the corridor at every opportunity, and used long kicks out of the middle to either score or find one of their marking targets. Ben Doherty was lively, Steve Lawrence made his presence felt (and got sent off at one point) and Andrew Quail did some nice things up forward also.

Scotchies also dominated the middle, Nick Allen and the skipper Will Lewis in particular getting plenty of the hard pill.

The Scafidi's never stopped trying all day for the Tigers, Luke Wintle battled manfully around the ground and then went forward and bagged 3 last quarter goals, and I thought things started to go pear shaped for St Bedes when the stretcher man 2, Dean Porter, had to come off the ground with what looked to me like a corked thigh. He'd been playing a solid game in defense to that point, and as soon as he went off Scotch seemed to go up a notch. He played out the game but was clearly hampered on his return.

On todays performances, Scotch look a genuine finals chance, while SBMT have some concerns. They lacked size today, and this hampered them in all contested situations today, either on the ground or in the air. I don't think they will go down, but I can't see them being a serious threat at this point.

I'll be heading out to Toorak Park tomorrow for a look at the big game between Xav's and Collegians, and what a belter that should be :thumbsu:

Cardio Carl
25 Apr 2008, 20:35
[quote=diablo14;10799150]Top win by the Scotchies down at Brindisi Street. Final score Scotch 16.15.111 to SBMT 10.16.76.

Great wrap diablo - spewing I missed the game due to some slippery rabbits, but your spiel povided a great overview.

Cheers

Blueboys11
25 Apr 2008, 21:00
Was a massive crowd down at St Bedes.... Very impressed with the ground, pre match festivities, and the standard of the game...

Well done to all involved....

diablo14
25 Apr 2008, 21:17
Was a massive crowd down at St Bedes.... Very impressed with the ground, pre match festivities, and the standard of the game...

Well done to all involved....

Forget to mention the size of the crowd. Would have been about 500 there today, possibly even more.

SurftheWorld
25 Apr 2008, 22:30
Was down there today also and Diablo, your wrap was spot on mate. SBMT did very well and thought they did very well in the first half but the second half looked like they just played catchup footy, but the most obvious factor was the size difference. Other than that, SBMT will still do well, need to improve lots to challenge Xavs and blues but they have the pace but not the size, so those smaller sized teams will truggle against this outfit. Good to see SBMT do a bit of work on the ground over the summer to bring it up to scratch, was a pitifull ground last year and it looks the goods now. Well done to your commitee and both sides for a great days footy.

Jascave
26 Apr 2008, 00:09
Seeing that next year ANZAC Day falls on a Saturday,and under the ANZAC Day Act says that no sport can be played until after 1pm, I'm just wondering will the VAFA allow seniors games only but no reserves games due to that law?

Slay Master G
26 Apr 2008, 00:13
Great win for Scotch and it's even better to be able to say......

STBMT haven't lost at home since............ TODAY!!! Eagerly awaiting the vitriol of the Tigers big footy faithul..

All eyes on Toorak Park tomorrow......... Will be a belter!!

SurftheWorld
26 Apr 2008, 00:26
Seeing that next year ANZAC Day falls on a Saturday,and under the ANZAC Day Act says that no sport can be played until after 1pm, I'm just wondering will the VAFA allow seniors games only but no reserves games due to that law?

I'm guessing they will do whatever it was that they did today to allow the reserves to play next year ;)

BrianSpeaking
26 Apr 2008, 00:53
Lads, I was there today and was impressed with Scotch BUT St Bedes had 6 changes through injury from last week, which made it 12 walk up firsts players not available and then had Groves break his arm or similar and lost Kinsella in the first 10 mins of the match. St Bedes were very young, and it looked like boys vs men physically, which of course it mostly was.
Lawrence wasnt sent off, it was Thompson for Old Scotch.
Doherty was very good with 6 majors, Lawrence was excellent and BOG in my book, followed closely by Quaill.
Fly McCrae made his debut for Scotch also and worked his way into the game, will be a great player for them. They had no Houlihan who is obviously a great talent.
All in all a great day with both teams lots to look forward to this year.

Bigfootyfan
26 Apr 2008, 12:15
Great win for Scotch and it's even better to be able to say......

STBMT haven't lost at home since............ TODAY!!! Eagerly awaiting the vitriol of the Tigers big footy faithul..

All eyes on Toorak Park tomorrow......... Will be a belter!!

Wait for nothing. We were beaten by a better team and am happy to admit it so f$ck off back to B Grade idiot.

Designer
26 Apr 2008, 14:49
There were 1200 people at the Mentone ground and it's the best place to watch good footy, up close and personal with the best service.

kiwi rush
26 Apr 2008, 19:17
OTs up today over blacks by a couple of goals.

Any other results?

on the trott
26 Apr 2008, 20:15
collegians got up by 12 points over OX. Collegians 70 over OX 58. Great game, Watts came home with 4 OX did well to block up the hole to stop him.

The Pulse
26 Apr 2008, 23:19
Was down there today also and Diablo, your wrap was spot on mate. SBMT did very well and thought they did very well in the first half but the second half looked like they just played catchup footy, but the most obvious factor was the size difference. Other than that, SBMT will still do well, need to improve lots to challenge Xavs and blues but they have the pace but not the size, so those smaller sized teams will truggle against this outfit. Good to see SBMT do a bit of work on the ground over the summer to bring it up to scratch, was a pitifull ground last year and it looks the goods now. Well done to your commitee and both sides for a great days footy.
Yes I agree, St Bedes need a few more taller players to survive in A Grade. Out marked for most of the day.

yippa
27 Apr 2008, 00:44
Lads, I was there today and was impressed with Scotch BUT St Bedes had 6 changes through injury from last week, which made it 12 walk up firsts players not available and then had Groves break his arm or similar and lost Kinsella in the first 10 mins of the match. St Bedes were very young, and it looked like boys vs men physically, which of course it mostly was.
Lawrence wasnt sent off, it was Thompson for Old Scotch.
Doherty was very good with 6 majors, Lawrence was excellent and BOG in my book, followed closely by Quaill.
Fly McCrae made his debut for Scotch also and worked his way into the game, will be a great player for them. They had no Houlihan who is obviously a great talent.
All in all a great day with both teams lots to look forward to this year.
agree brian. the omission of rat wintle alone is a big out. apparently was up at byron sucking pina colada's and praying for huey whilst the boys got a workover. Add in poynton Groves (When fit) and i think the large fields of sportscover arena will suit the tigers as have proved in the past. Beware st bedes who are well coached and would not write them off!

bigman31
27 Apr 2008, 15:12
Old Scotch 2008.We all wrote them of but gee i was impressed with their ball movement and how hard they were at ball.

Went to the game thinking St Bedes would win but Scotch were good.Their New Coach was impressive,had great matchups and speaking to a bloke on the hill,he said they had a couple out which would make their side even better.

simmer
28 Apr 2008, 00:17
St Bedes had 7 changes this week, all due to injury. This win proves the depth of the club. They were up by 50 points mid way through the last quarter, ran out of legs. Were far to hard at the ball, and really did "smash" the blues.

I had a feeling STBM would feel the effect of missing players due to injuries etc... not too many clubs can afford to miss up to 7 players as Spitz pointed out last week and remain 'un-affected'... I see the STBM ressies won easily this week... were the injured players from last week back in the 2's??

By the way, for the first time this year I picked STBM for a win and they get rolled! This tipping caper is tricky business... I love it!

harper
28 Apr 2008, 09:46
Have to agree with Brian Speaking having Lawrence as BOG, still scratching my head as to why he was left alone so often. Doherty was a fantastic target up forward and has a seriously high leap. Thought Lorenzini was stiff not to pick up any votes.

nicho_magic
28 Apr 2008, 11:44
is anyone going to ever get near collegians? another easy win for the boys from the trott on the weekend... the train keeps rolling.

Over The Post
28 Apr 2008, 11:51
http://railsimpro.com/junk/a0803.gif

I predicted Blacks in a close one over Trinity, result went the other way. Very good game, only a couple of kicks in it throughout.

Penski
28 Apr 2008, 11:59
Tipping has not been easy this year.

The question is, have we found some form lines for the rest of the season? or is it all yet to settle down?

Quick Eze
28 Apr 2008, 12:50
SBMT have used 32 players so far this year, roughly 4 more than any other side in A grade...

soupsey
28 Apr 2008, 13:13
is anyone going to ever get near collegians? another easy win for the boys from the trott on the weekend... the train keeps rolling.

Arnold misses a sitter from 20 out to put OX 3 points up with 8 mins to go.
Anyones game half way through the last. So your "easy win" probably wasn't.

jogger
28 Apr 2008, 13:25
Arnold misses a sitter from 20 out to put OX 3 points up with 8 mins to go.
Anyones game half way through the last. So your "easy win" probably wasn't.

I think he looked up and saw a look a like of "Strawny" standing between the big sticks and it might have put him off!

hhound
28 Apr 2008, 13:33
SBMT have used 32 players so far this year, roughly 4 more than any other side in A grade...

how'd the SBMT boys go on the heart rate monitors on the weekend? GPS, how many interchanges, did the coach operate from the sidelines or up in the box? what about ice vests this week? might get above 22 degrees. any plans for some bonding sessions at the movies in the coming weeks, might be worth thinking about just to get that extra edge. what about breakdown on injury types: hamstrings vs knees vs shoulders, that type of thing. perhaps the ground surface down there predisposes certain injuries. that would be worth having a look at. do you guys train tuesday, thursday nights, or 2pm in the afternoon to simulate match day conditions?

Charles
28 Apr 2008, 14:55

Was there on the weekend and wouldn't say Collegians are as good as people like you think they are! Xavs played some pretty average footy and skill errors. I think Collegians played as well as they could have and Xavs way below par.

On Fergus Watts, does this bloke think that just because he played a few AFL games that he get's special treatment from the boys in white?

TOOOOOL

Cherry Picker
28 Apr 2008, 15:21
[quote=Charles;10836321]Was there on the weekend and wouldn't say Collegians are as good as people like you think they are! Xavs played some pretty average footy and skill errors. I think Collegians played as well as they could have and Xavs way below par.

On Fergus Watts, does this bloke think that just because he played a few AFL games that he get's special treatment from the boys in white?

Not only that, Everytime he didn't get hit on the tit, he seemed to kick and scream at his "TEAM MATES"

Grow up Furgy you Sook.

soupsey
28 Apr 2008, 15:26
I think he looked up and saw a look a like of "Strawny" standing between the big sticks and it might have put him off!

Lions won fair and square but not easy. And yes jogger I saw strauchnie there too. Good paddock that bloke. At one stage I heard him yelling at the umpires and using unsavoury language.

jogger
28 Apr 2008, 16:14

Not only that, Everytime he didn't get hit on the tit, he seemed to kick and scream at his "TEAM MATES"

Grow up Furgy you Sook.[/QUOTE]

I think you'll find he was telling his teamates "NOT" to kick it to him when he had 3 blokes sitting on him...

Charles
28 Apr 2008, 17:06

Grow up Furgy you Sook.

I think you'll find he was telling his teamates "NOT" to kick it to him when he had 3 blokes sitting on him...[/quote]

No I think you'll find he was and will be a big sook this year if things don't go his way - Do you call a pack situation 3 blokes sitting on him?

Punch From Behind
28 Apr 2008, 17:15
Was there on the weekend and wouldn't say Collegians are as good as people like you think they are! Xavs played some pretty average footy and skill errors. I think Collegians played as well as they could have and Xavs way below par.

TOOOOOL

Long time reader first time poster....

I have seen 2 collegians games for the year, round 1 against Trinity and on the weekend against xavs, they blew trinity away with their run and ball movement however against xavs they couldn't get any flow into their game. This could be because the xavs are far superior than trinity in terms of defensive pressure and game style, or it could be because the lions where off the boil. I put it down to a combination of both reasons. So I disagree Charles, there is no way the collegians played as well as they could have.

As for Fergus Watts, I doubt he thinks he deserves special treatment but he seemed to get a bit upset when the opposite was happening. On a number of occasions it looked like the umpire felt sorry for his undersized opponent and awarded him a couple of dubious at best free kicks.

I am predicting these 2 sides to play each other 3 more times this year, with the lions looking the better side on paper but to tip against the experienced xavs come september would be very bold.... I will have to see them battle it out later in the year before i can pick one.

chicken man
28 Apr 2008, 17:51
yeah by all reports it was a fantastic day at mentone, congratulations to the ammos for doing it on anzac day it will be good to keep the tradition happening in years to come! Dont worry about injuries to the boys fron mentone. Its more there mid week drinking sessions they have. Ex AFL superstar Brett Collins was seen out at the Mentone hotel on wednesday nite in some very good form and kicking on at the local haunt Bar Black into the early hours thursday morning! It might be necessary to give Brett a minder someone like D. Kinsella would be ideal considering he knows what it takes to prepare himself when playing at this level of footy as well as being a very level headed person, perfect role model and father figure. This behaviour from star players can only hurt there final chances!

Charles
28 Apr 2008, 18:16
yeah by all reports it was a fantastic day at mentone, congratulations to the ammos for doing it on anzac day it will be good to keep the tradition happening in years to come! Dont worry about injuries to the boys fron mentone. Its more there mid week drinking sessions they have. Ex AFL superstar Brett Collins was seen out at the Mentone hotel on wednesday nite in some very good form and kicking on at the local haunt Bar Black into the early hours thursday morning! It might be necessary to give Brett a minder someone like D. Kinsella would be ideal considering he knows what it takes to prepare himself when playing at this level of footy as well as being a very level headed person, perfect role model and father figure. This behaviour from star players can only hurt there final chances!

Well good on you chicken man for letting the whole competition know what Brett Collins does outside the hours of VAFA Football. Are you the new Caroline Wilson of the Ammos? Seriously who gives a Shyte what he does outside the game

nicho_magic
28 Apr 2008, 19:32

TOOOOOL

dunno what game you were wathing. lets start with adkins not playing... he's pretty important. and lets continue with the fact that collegians also played incredibly scrappy football. probably not as well as they can play. but hey your entitled to your opinion i guess.

BrianSpeaking
28 Apr 2008, 19:44
Well good on you chicken man for letting the whole competition know what Brett Collins does outside the hours of VAFA Football. Are you the new Caroline Wilson of the Ammos? Seriously who gives a Shyte what he does outside the game
Brett Collins needs to concentrate on kicking on his right foot! The hero worship for him at St Bedes is way over the top, there are a lot more talented guys playing VAFA footy than young Brett.

chelsworthgale
29 Apr 2008, 00:24
http://railsimpro.com/junk/a0803.gif

I predicted Blacks in a close one over Trinity, result went the other way. Very good game, only a couple of kicks in it throughout.

good to see someone picked up the slack from me!

Perty4
29 Apr 2008, 15:39
Brett Collins needs to concentrate on kicking on his right foot! The hero worship for him at St Bedes is way over the top, there are a lot more talented guys playing VAFA footy than young Brett.

Such as? Brett is nothing if not talented, there aren't many more talented in the ammos than him. I'd like you to name 5.

And to Chicken Man - Dave Kinsella has played in the last two winning grand finals and this year will be inducted into the hall of fame of the VAFA when they win the A Section flag. Who gives a farq if they are seen at a trendy mordialloc nightspot? (Bar Black)

ultimate hater
29 Apr 2008, 15:56
Such as? Brett is nothing if not talented, there aren't many more talented in the ammos than him. I'd like you to name 5.

And to Chicken Man - Dave Kinsella has played in the last two winning grand finals and this year will be inducted into the hall of fame of the VAFA when they win the A Section flag. Who gives a farq if they are seen at a trendy mordialloc nightspot? (Bar Black)

well aren't you a muppet.. silly statements all round there..

and im not sure where BS gets off just unleashing on a player when no-one was even pumping his tires up in the first place...

Bigfootyfan
29 Apr 2008, 16:11

Brian, totally disagree. I would think he is one of if not the most talented player going around. That does not mean he is the best or will be the best but on talent alone the kids got the goods.

And chicken man you are a tosser. At the end of the day they are all playing park footy just at varying levels. If you think a 19 year old going out on a Wednesday night is going to damage your premiership chances you are delusional.

ultimate hater
29 Apr 2008, 16:27
yeah no bias there... its your first year in A grade and there have only been 3 games so far.. so i dont think you can really make the statement "I would think he is one of if not the most talented player going around."

i could list about 5 guys just from OB i would think are better than this collins bloke on talent alone.. do you think it matters that i've never seen him play..?

just pipe down...

agree with you on the chicken man part though.. its round 3.. although I'm sure the coach wouldn't be thrilled about it..

Max Leader
29 Apr 2008, 16:28
BC was lucky not to be reported on the Friday. If caught, he would have received 3 weeks. Best ankle tap seen since Freddy Fittler in State of Origin decider 2003.

Punch From Behind
29 Apr 2008, 16:33
Hater, what is going on with Trent Zantuck? I heard he was going to be slotting in at full forward.... has not kicked a goal yet, is he playing?

BrianSpeaking
29 Apr 2008, 16:45

Mate, I could name 20 off the top of my head, let alone 5. Posters like you are the exact reason I made the post.

BrianSpeaking
29 Apr 2008, 16:48
and im not sure where BS gets off just unleashing on a player when no-one was even pumping his tires up in the first place...
A couple of things, TIRES is spelt tyres, unless you live in the USA. Secondly, not unleashing on Brett at all, Im unleashing on the posters here who constantly treat him as the second coming of JC. He hasnt done anything yet.

Charles
29 Apr 2008, 18:53
A couple of things, TIRES is spelt tyres, unless you live in the USA. Secondly, not unleashing on Brett at all, Im unleashing on the posters here who constantly treat him as the second coming of JC. He hasnt done anything yet.

Even though I don't know Brad Collins I couldn't agree more about the apparent interest in him! Who cares what he has or will be doing? Having said that it must be said that the best thing that's happened in the past 5 days is the lack of noise coming from those cretins down at Brindisi St.

Perty4
29 Apr 2008, 19:56
Even though I don't know Brad Collins I couldn't agree more about the apparent interest in him! Who cares what he has or will be doing? Having said that it must be said that the best thing that's happened in the past 5 days is the lack of noise coming from those cretins down at Brindisi St.

I disagree Chris (see, I can mispell names too in order to look cool).

The only thing the loss did is ensure that the other teams now have a minute chance against St BM.

They were missing 12 players remember or did you not know that part?

St BM will play finals and will be a formidable force.

Penski
29 Apr 2008, 20:52

The only thing the loss did is ensure that the other teams now have a minute chance against St BM.

Some of the cooler heads down at STBMT must cringe at some of the posts on here. You're certainly not trying to keep a lid on anything are you?!

GetSmart
29 Apr 2008, 21:38
Should be pointed out that Chickenman is from Beauy and is stirring and his post is simply fictitious. Perty is not a tiger man, although he has a level head and Cardio who everyone thought was from Brindisi is posting B Section and again from Beauy. Good posters, but not from Mentone. Pity. Brian in particular should know that no one at the Tigers under estimates how tough A Section is or how good B section was or how tough it is to get out of C Section.

Who is actually posting from the tigers? Not many! And certainly not *^.

ultimate hater
29 Apr 2008, 21:52
A couple of things, TIRES is spelt tyres, unless you live in the USA.
thank god for you Brian.. I was about to pen my thoughts about the new set of radials i got from Bob Jane the other day, and my dissatisfaction with them in the wet... well lucky you spoke up quick smart because i dont think Bridgestone would have taken me too seriously with a typo like that..

canteencritic
29 Apr 2008, 21:53
old t's - are they the suprise packet early days?

Charles
30 Apr 2008, 10:28

Oh well that makes sense then tool - Just waiting for some sort of excuse! Must be abit embarrasing losing for the first time at home in 4 years especially now your in the big league?

So what excuses will you come up with in the middle of winter when all your so called stars get injured and climbing that finals mountain starts to slip away?

Pipe down and talk to us when you finally lift that cup - anything but a premiership will warrant a response.

Penski
30 Apr 2008, 10:33

I think most will say that Scotch are the early surprise packets.

Most tipped them to anchor the bottom of the ladder, and they look far from doing that at the moment.

Bigfootyfan
30 Apr 2008, 12:58
Oh well that makes sense then tool - Just waiting for some sort of excuse! Must be abit embarrasing losing for the first time at home in 4 years especially now your in the big league?

So what excuses will you come up with in the middle of winter when all your so called stars get injured and climbing that finals mountain starts to slip away?

Pipe down and talk to us when you finally lift that cup - anything but a premiership will warrant a response.

Charles your making yourself look like an idiot give up now. We are so embarressed to have lost at home.....yeah get over it. Most of the hype about SBMT as mentioned by Getsmart is coming from people who are clearly from other clubs.

Lets get back to some real footy talk

MISTER X
30 Apr 2008, 13:37

Not if Rambo has a long term injury..... He's their key... needs to get on the Park if they are to be a genuine chance.

Charles
30 Apr 2008, 13:58
Charles your making yourself look like an idiot give up now. We are so embarressed to have lost at home.....yeah get over it. Most of the hype about SBMT as mentioned by Getsmart is coming from people who are clearly from other clubs.

Lets get back to some real footy talk

Not embarressed at all BIGFOOTYFAN about my comments - it's just amusing that you now distance yourself from SBMT posters saying they are "clearly" from other clubs!

Firstly, why would people pretend they are from another club? Makes no sense pal and no i won't get over it as i've watched clubs like you come up and state how freaking good you are year after year. You might be good but those people from "other clubs" say you are and that's good enough for me hence my post.

July and August are tough times in A grade my friend, I'll stop now and eat my words then. But in the meantime you guys get over yourselve's.

Punch From Behind
30 Apr 2008, 16:13
can someone from collegians tell me how charlie holst is going?
i played my junior football with him at Glen Iris and he used to resemble one of the goal posts, has he beefed up or would he still get blown away by a stiff wind come september at headquarters? The whispers i heard pre season were that he would be captaining the 2's although i see he has been in the best in the 1's the last 2 weeks.

MISTER X
30 Apr 2008, 16:19
i played my junior football with him at Glen Iris and he used to resemble one of the goal posts, has he beefed up or would he still get blown away by a stiff wind come september at headquarters? The whispers i heard pre season were that he would be captaining the 2's although i see he has been in the best in the 1's the last 2 weeks.

forgot about Charlie - how many is Fergus gonna kick this week..... is he a chance for the ton????

Punch From Behind
30 Apr 2008, 16:28
forgot about Charlie - how many is Fergus gonna kick this week..... is he a chance for the ton????

Not if every team drops 3 back on him like xavs did last week.
This week will tell us alot, Corin is supposed to be the best full back in the comp so we will see how they go against each other, should be a great match up. Corin will need his midfielders pressuring the lions mids because if they let them run free there will be some silver service delivery which will make Corin's task impossible.

Bugsy Brown
30 Apr 2008, 16:42
Not if Rambo has a long term injury..... He's their key... needs to get on the Park if they are to be a genuine chance.

i dont agree Mister X. Rambo would have to be close to 35 these days and Trinity wont be relying on him to get them over the line. They had a win on the weekend without him and also won the brighton game after he came off early in the 2nd quarter. So to say he is the key is a little misguided. I think trinity are a pretty even side this year.

MISTER X
30 Apr 2008, 16:59
i dont agree Mister X. Rambo would have to be close to 35 these days and Trinity wont be relying on him to get them over the line. They had a win on the weekend without him and also won the brighton game after he came off early in the 2nd quarter. So to say he is the key is a little misguided. I think trinity are a pretty even side this year.

Agree with what you are saying, but for OT's to be right up there they need him up and running.... he is older now, but still an ammo great. They dont rely on him, but his experience is very important. They will have a win here and there, but to be a threat all teams need their snr players firing.

soupsey
30 Apr 2008, 17:47

Happy to report that Charlie "winehouse" holst has spent the summer in the gym and now resembles one of the gladiators. Next year he is going to try to work harder to look like one of the male gladiators.

chelsworthgale
30 Apr 2008, 22:50
Happy to report that Charlie "winehouse" holst has spent the summer in the gym and now resembles one of the gladiators. Next year he is going to try to work harder to look like one of the male gladiators.

dont know the bloke but the comment in general is pure gold :thumbsu:

Brooksy01
30 Apr 2008, 23:10
Is the Big Cat still playing down at Old Trinty??? Havent seen his name being on the playing lists??? or did he move to Sydney??

I remember back in the hey day the big cat would do some of his finest work at the retro nyt club on a friday!!!! always willing to give out the handball as well!!!

RIP The Big Cat

simmer
1 May 2008, 03:34
my early tips for this week with a couple shaky selections which could go either way... will STBM drop 2 in two weeks??? if they do, they may just stumble onto the same curse wich hit the Whitefriars brigade in their A grade debut a few seasons back (from memory it was 2 from 2 then 0 from 16)

Xavs to roll OI by 18
Lions way too strong for De La Soul this week by 66
Blacks V Brighton could be a draw but will go with the students by 1 point
Trinity over STBM by 12 points
Scotchies to go down against Blues by 12 point...

Punch From Behind
1 May 2008, 10:16

Glad to hear he has put on some size. Jogger just private messaged me to say the same thing... he said charlie had spent a lot of time throwing metal around the strong room, but he has not put on enough size to get him out of that shadow cast by his older brother ben.

Bugsy Brown
1 May 2008, 12:05
Is the Big Cat still playing down at Old Trinty??? Havent seen his name being on the playing lists??? or did he move to Sydney??

I remember back in the hey day the big cat would do some of his finest work at the retro nyt club on a friday!!!! always willing to give out the handball as well!!!

RIP The Big Cat

Big Cat's still got a few lives left.

Had a knee reco late last year so would suspect he will be back in the next couple of months.

Over The Post
1 May 2008, 12:29
OI vs Xavs - I'm on the Xav's train, although early days yet
Collegians vs DLS - in a canter
Blacks vs Brighton - Blacks can't take a trick at the moment, just fall short
Trinity vs SBMT - I don't reckon Trinity are as good as they think, lucky against Blacks last week
Scotch vs Blues - no idea why, should be a cracking game, will go to Sportscover to watch this one

Cardio Carl
1 May 2008, 13:16
OI vs Xavs
Collegians vs DLS
Blacks vs Brighton
Trinity vs SBMT
Scotch vs Blues

Cherry Picker
1 May 2008, 13:31
OI vs Xavs -
Collegians vs DLS -
Blacksvs Brighton -
Trinity vs SBMT -
Scotch vs Blues -

All crunch games.

Scribe
1 May 2008, 14:56
Big Cat's still got a few lives left.

Had a knee reco late last year so would suspect he will be back in the next couple of months.

No doubt Big Cat would be superkeen to get back in front of the big sticks ASAP.

On the vast expanses of the Daley Oval, a forward line with Cultrera, Scotty Krakouer and Tom Eckersley at the feet of Ramsden, Jack Healy and Big Cat would be tough to contain in the second half of the season.

Big Cat would need a game or so in the twos first - I might take a temporary holiday from the Reds just to welcome him back!!! :p

Happy times ahead at OTs.

Paul Kaos
1 May 2008, 15:40
[quote=Scribe;10872460]
I might take a temporary holiday from the Reds just to welcome him back!!! :p

As a spectator of course!

Your playing days were over long ago............long before you kept pulling on the green and gold!

Handsome.B.Wonderful
1 May 2008, 15:57

RIP The Big Cat

Willing to give out the handball? Are you sure you have the right Big Cat?

The one I know played the nightclub scene like Kevin Bartlett.

Scribe
1 May 2008, 16:37
Your playing days were over long ago............long before you kept pulling on the green and gold!

Too true - once it becomes apparent that ordinary sledging is the sharpest weapon in one's footballing armoury, it's probably time to give it up.....or perhaps to drop down a few grades!! ;)

BrianSpeaking
1 May 2008, 17:32
Jonno Horn, if you are going to write two weekly blogs on the VAFA website, please get your facts right! Old Camberwell play on a primary school oval as their main ground is unplayable.

BrianSpeaking
1 May 2008, 17:44
OI vs Xavs
Collegians vs DLS
Blacks vs Brighton Rizio on the way out?
Trinityvs SBMT
Scotch vs Blues
Banfield to win Coach of the month.

JG Hornet
1 May 2008, 17:44
Settle Pettle

Got the info from Sholly, think he meant Old Carey.

Have already explained this to relevant people at Old Camberwell.

BrianSpeaking
1 May 2008, 17:52
Who cares about OC people Jonno, apologise to the BF masses, we watch with great interest you weekly blogs...it your fault, not Shollys!

JG Hornet
1 May 2008, 17:54
Who cares about OC people Jonno, apologise to the BF masses, we watch with great interest you weekly blogs...it your fault, not Shollys!

I apologize to you Brian.

diablo14
1 May 2008, 22:50
My tips for this week...

OX over OI
Coll over DLS
OB over Blacks
OT over SBMT
OS over Blues