View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 [33] 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43

Penski
2 May 2008, 09:29
OI vs Xavs
Collegians vs DLS
Blacks vs Brighton
Trinity vs SBMT
Scotch vs Blues

Half Back
2 May 2008, 09:54
OI vs Xavs
Collegians vs DLS
Blacks vs Brighton
Trinity vs SBMT
Scotch vs Blues

ultimate hater
2 May 2008, 10:03
OI vs Xavs (by 18pts)
Collegians vs DLS (28pts)
Blacks vs Brighton (16pts)
Trinity vs SBMT (7pts).. are there any returns from injury for SBMT? if so, my tip could be changed..
Scotch vs Blues (27pts)

Bugsy Brown
2 May 2008, 13:40
OI vs Xavs
Collegians vs DLS
Blacks vs Brighton Rizio on the way out?
Trinityvs SBMT
Scotch vs Blues
Banfield to win Coach of the month.

"Rizio on the way out?"

any truth in this BrianSpeaking? or just a hunch?

Would be a bit of a shame if they got rid of Rizio so early into their A grade campaign. He has played a big part in getting them up there over the past few years and would deserve a decent crack at it.

harper
2 May 2008, 16:31
VFL reserves bye couldn't have come at a better time for SBMT. How many Zebra's will travel to Bulleen tomorrow? Plenty of Tigers amongst that lot.

ultimate hater
2 May 2008, 16:56
VFL reserves bye couldn't have come at a better time for SBMT. How many Zebra's will travel to Bulleen tomorrow? Plenty of Tigers amongst that lot.

Curcio, Michael
McConnell, Andrew
Monaghan, Sam
Shakaib, Hiwad

thats all thats listed on the vafa website.. nothing major there i would have thought..

harper
2 May 2008, 17:24
Curcio, Michael
McConnell, Andrew
Monaghan, Sam
Shakaib, Hiwad

thats all thats listed on the vafa website.. nothing major there i would have thought..

Could have sworn there were more, and it's not even beer o'clock yet! Still 4's better than nothing.

BrianSpeaking
2 May 2008, 17:50
"Rizio on the way out?"

any truth in this BrianSpeaking? or just a hunch?

Would be a bit of a shame if they got rid of Rizio so early into their A grade campaign. He has played a big part in getting them up there over the past few years and would deserve a decent crack at it.
Bugsy, have had lots of feed back and seen in person that Anthony Parkin appears to be more than a Chairman of Selectors. Have a hunch that Ray wont put up with a 0-6 start, nothing sinister. Riz has done well since taking over from Parko, but it seems Parko was/is always the first choice as coach.

Scribe
2 May 2008, 18:20
Old Xavs
Old Collegians
Old Braaaaighton
Old Trinity
Old Scotch

old hat.

Bugsy Brown
2 May 2008, 18:47
Bugsy, have had lots of feed back and seen in person that Anthony Parkin appears to be more than a Chairman of Selectors. Have a hunch that Ray wont put up with a 0-6 start, nothing sinister. Riz has done well since taking over from Parko, but it seems Parko was/is always the first choice as coach.

Parko definitely would have the wood over Riz as the better coach although Riz has done a fine job post Parko.

Is Parko still involved with the TAC at some level? If so this would surely get in the way of him taking over at Blacks?

Bigfootyfan
3 May 2008, 18:24
SBMT with 7 changes back in this week by about 100 points against OT's at OT's. Big result, would say their best 22 is right up their.

Penski
3 May 2008, 18:48
Collegians won by about 110 points today with Watts bagging (i think) 8 goals, and spent the last 15-20 minutes on the bench.

A comfortable win, with about 7-8 players currently out injured.

walshy21
3 May 2008, 19:06
scotch by 10 points over Blues in a good game

Prince Ashton
3 May 2008, 22:41
Parko definitely would have the wood over Riz as the better coach although Riz has done a fine job post Parko.

Is Parko still involved with the TAC at some level? If so this would surely get in the way of him taking over at Blacks?

maybe that rumoured change in coach may have to come sooner than expected or the blacks will be joining dela in b section in 2009 ..............

nicho_magic
4 May 2008, 13:32
nobody will stop collegians

Bugsy Brown
4 May 2008, 15:51

Nicho, dont take this the wrong way but you are starting to sound like a broken record. Every time collegians notch up yet another win you jump on saying they cant be beaten; we get it - you recon they cant lose.

EchucaBomber
4 May 2008, 16:24
Football club located just north of Melbourne require the services of a Full Forward ASAP..... Good coin up for grabs, good football standard! Open to any player

PM me for more information

Penski
4 May 2008, 17:34
Football club located just north of Melbourne require the services of a Full Forward ASAP..... Good coin up for grabs, good football standard! Open to any player

Piss off idiot

soupsey
4 May 2008, 17:47

Nicho you are a rubbish poster. Sounding more like a St bedes clown every day. Weren't you May champions last year as well? And before you trot out the changes to the list remember Brighton did that last year as well.

Sir Jack
4 May 2008, 18:18

Don't count your chickens just yet Nicho, as good as Collegians seniors were yesterday, your two's got a touch up from De La who hadn't won a game yet. Doesn't appear to be much depth down there at Collegians. I'll wait to see how they go when winter and a few injuries hit before handing over the Premiership.

Penski
4 May 2008, 18:33
Don't count your chickens just yet Nicho, as good as Collegians seniors were yesterday, your two's got a touch up from De La who hadn't won a game yet. Doesn't appear to be much depth down there at Collegians. I'll wait to see how they go when winter and a few injuries hit before handing over the Premiership.

Collegians are currently missing Arnott, B. Robbins, Mooney, Taft, Hosking, Roach, and Bull. All walk up starters (there my be one or two i can't think of).

That's seven players who will be straight back in when they are fit. What you are seeing now is how Collegians play with injuries. It's also a reason why the two's are getting a touch up, because the best are having to play seniors.

There were some great performances yesterday by guys that would not normally get a run in the seniors.

nicho_magic
4 May 2008, 20:48

refer to penki's post...idiot

north of the river
4 May 2008, 20:56

uuummmm ok, football team just North Of Melbourne...uuummmm....ok,ok I will take a wild guess....Echuca?

is it, is it Echuca Bomber?...oh please say yes.

DH

Monkeyboy
4 May 2008, 22:35

You are starting to go over the top here. If you kept it calm most would have believed you to even be the Lions pres. You can spoil a nice plot by getting a little over excited. Then again, you can always go a new user name.....

bigman31
4 May 2008, 22:54
Should be a good game next week Collegians vs Old Scotch.Every one will tip collegians to win no doubt.Watts is on Fire.

Have watched Scotch play a couple of Games now and they have been very impressive at Different stages.I havent seen them play tough hard footy for a few years,but this year is different.

Their New coach is very smart so this week will be interesting to see how he attempts to stop Watts.

Over The Post
4 May 2008, 23:34
http://railsimpro.com/junk/a0804.gif

Booyah, the tipmeister reigns supreme, for this week anyway.

I bet Lance Burkhardt is regretting not getting his tips in.

Sir Jack
5 May 2008, 00:14

Relax Nicho, I don't want you getting over excited. I just don't want you getting your hopes up just yet, we all know what happened last year. Let me assure you, I have the greatest of respect for Collegians this year and they are the clear leaders at this stage, but your reserves and club 18 both losing to De La, whose Seniors haven't won a game yet, is a CLEAR indication that the depth is not there. If you can't keep the current group together then there COULD be some interesting times ahead.

Penski
5 May 2008, 09:39
Should be a good game next week Collegians vs Old Scotch.Every one will tip collegians to win no doubt.Watts is on Fire.

Have watched Scotch play a couple of Games now and they have been very impressive at Different stages.I havent seen them play tough hard footy for a few years,but this year is different.

Their New coach is very smart so this week will be interesting to see how he attempts to stop Watts.

Scotch have already proven that they are a top side this year. Should be a ripping game next week. I wouldn't miss this one for anything. Hopefully a big crowd will turn out as well.

harper
5 May 2008, 10:07
Curcio, Michael
McConnell, Andrew
Monaghan, Sam
Shakaib, Hiwad

In hindsight these two turned out to be major ins for the tigers. How did other VFL releases go on the weekend

BrianSpeaking
5 May 2008, 15:08
Number 2 for Beauy I was told was a VFL in, was best on ground by the length of Beach Road.

uglycat
6 May 2008, 11:07
maybe that rumoured change in coach may have to come sooner than expected or the blacks will be joining dela in b section in 2009 ..............

be interested to hear where this rumour came from? can confirm no truth what so ever. Brian - you must have a lot of time on your hands

harper
6 May 2008, 11:27
As a newbie to the A section scene could posters explain some of the rivalries occuring in this weeks round?

I would have thought a Blues v Blacks match for rivalry round would be a monty! but not to be.

Scribe
6 May 2008, 11:53
As a newbie to the A section scene could posters explain some of the rivalries occuring in this weeks round?

I would have thought a Blues v Blacks match for rivalry round would be a monty! but not to be.

A little odd I must say.

Xavs -v- Trinity and Blues -v- Blacks would've made more sense to me.

OTs have a pretty decent record against OX (despite the clubs featuring in differing halves of the A section ladder almost every year), plus the schools are located next door to each other - the "Battle of Charles Street".

The Blues -v- Blacks one is a no brainer if you ask me.

Brighton -v- STBMT is geographical, OI -v- DLS doesn't really enthuse, whilst Scotch -v- Collegians would be an old APS rivalry I guess.

Max Leader
6 May 2008, 12:51
A little odd I must say.

OTs have a pretty decent record against OX (despite the clubs featuring in differing halves of the A section ladder almost every year), plus the schools are located next door to each other - the "Battle of Charles Street".

Brighton -v- STBMT is geographical, OI -v- DLS doesn't really enthuse, whilst Scotch -v- Collegians would be an old APS rivalry I guess.

DLS vs OI is based around both clubs playing off against each other in 2 B Grade Grand Finals, which the poos won both.

BrianSpeaking
6 May 2008, 14:21
be interested to hear where this rumour came from? can confirm no truth what so ever. Brian - you must have a lot of time on your hands
Came from a source inside the club.

soupsey
6 May 2008, 20:30
What possible rivalry could there be between OX and OT???? except maybe for carparks in Stanley street.
I would have thought the Xavier/Scotch rivalry was as big as any in A grade!!
Certainly would be the only other A grade side I have a rivalry with.

Sausage roll
6 May 2008, 20:43
A little odd I must say.

My info was that Blacks asked Blues for the game but Blues told them they(blacks) hadn't been in A grade for 25 years and they were no rivals of theirs!
If you don't mind!

Monkeyboy
6 May 2008, 21:35
I heard Ray shut it down due to Blues recent underachieving.

Cherry Picker
7 May 2008, 12:11
Does anyone know why they sacked the sharpshooters list from the record?

JG Hornet
7 May 2008, 12:15
Does anyone know why they sacked the sharpshooters list from the record?

It's still in there mate, they jump lump them all together now on one page.

Scribe
7 May 2008, 14:24
My info was that Blacks asked Blues for the game but Blues told them they(blacks) hadn't been in A grade for 25 years and they were no rivals of theirs!
If you don't mind!

I concur - I got the same info last night.
In fact, probably from the same source as you SR, and maybe even at the same time?! :p

Apparently Blues were the first A grade club to jump on the phone to request the Trinity match-up.
About the only Blues/Trinity connection of which I'm aware is my old man (7 games for OT, 108 for Blues), and the fact they played off for the 1994 B grade GF. Maybe Gillon McLachlan was looking at coming out of retirement to face-off against Rambo?

ultimate hater
7 May 2008, 16:16
well imagine if st bernard and OEG took that weak approach the blues/blacks did.. have STB/OEG ever even played each other??

the vafa should have just scheduled it regardless and told them stiff cheddar.. they have to play each other anyway, might as well be rivalry round.. if there isn't one there already, its a great way to start one!!

poor form...

ShinSplints
8 May 2008, 10:59
Are st. bedes going to play finals this year??? A-grade?? i thought they had no chance and that they wouldn't be able to match it with those clubs with major snobbiness? no?

JG Hornet
8 May 2008, 11:44
Are st. bedes going to play finals this year??? A-grade?? i thought they had no chance and that they wouldn't be able to match it with those clubs with major snobbiness? no?

Too many question marks to comprehend that.

The Big Pineapple
8 May 2008, 11:54

Good post after Round 4.

vafa guru
8 May 2008, 12:05
Good post after Round 4.

TBP,

I am a fan of all things amateur, therefore I am a fan of your posts. I agree that it is a little premature for a club to be talking finals after 4 games, but you yourself have been known to make some outlandish comments only to fall off the radar when your boys from OEG get anohter dose of the september blues (or I think it was blacks last year!)

VG

The Big Pineapple
8 May 2008, 12:22
TBP,

I am a fan of all things amateur, therefore I am a fan of your posts. I agree that it is a little premature for a club to be talking finals after 4 games, but you yourself have been known to make some outlandish comments only to fall off the radar when your boys from OEG get anohter dose of the september blues (or I think it was blacks last year!)

VG

VG,

Appreciate your comments, and agree, I did go missing after last years capitulation. However, during the season proper I did my best to give an honest and unbiased week to week assessment of all sides in B Section, including OEG. While obviously a supporter of OEG, I think you'll find that I was actually very conscious of OEG's poor record in finals so made every effort not to make any outlandish comments about finals, grand finals or premierships. Just did my bit for the B Section Thread and tried to entertain the readers with a light hearted look at VAFA B Section football.

Now back to A Section... Go St Bedes... you're #1!!!

Cheers,

TBP

NBULTY
8 May 2008, 13:15
The next 3 weeks will determine whether St. Bede's are contenders or pretenders.

Old Brighton @ Brindisi St
Collegians @ HQ
Old Xavs (away)

If they get away with 2 wins form the aboev they'd have to be happy with that.

ultimate hater
8 May 2008, 14:50
yes. good challenge ahead for them.

Cherry Picker
8 May 2008, 16:05
yes. good challenge ahead for them.

I think SBMT have done very well so far, but over the coming weeks they will struggle to match it with the elite sides.

My prediction is they wont win any of the three.

Quick Eze
8 May 2008, 16:34
I think SBMT have done very well so far, but over the coming weeks they will struggle to match it with the elite sides.

My prediction is they wont win any of the three.

Your predictions mean very little Nose Picker, didn't you tell Surly to come and see you in July when SBMT were 2 and 8....well they have won three and we are only in May!!!!

nicho_magic
8 May 2008, 16:54
rep sides are up:
features ex afl players galore
watts
ries
robbins
stone
voss
brown
adkins... off the top of my head

Dukes also from c section.
jack watts from blues, and iezzi also getting a game straight out of 19's.

Cherry Picker
8 May 2008, 16:55
Your predictions mean very little Nose Picker, didn't you tell Surly to come and see you in July when SBMT were 2 and 8....well they have won three and we are only in May!!!!

I am surprised I had to wait 29 mins for one of you flogs to reply.

JG Hornet
8 May 2008, 17:08
rep sides are up:
watts
ries
robbins
stone
voss
brown

4 players from Ivanhoe - not sure if I know about that.
Blumfield from Collegians stiff.
Surprised Murray Pitts didn't get a gig...!

river man
8 May 2008, 17:22

Carlton have won 3 games and its only May as well. How many chickens have you counted thus far Quicky?

hhound
8 May 2008, 17:28
rep sides are up:
watts
ries
robbins
stone
voss
brown

are the selections based on form or big names only? some of the named players haven't been playing and some of those who have have been have very out of form..just having a look at collegians, haven't seen adkins or robbins in the best yet, ries i think once. baxter has been in the best in almost every game. ??

seems very much like a publicity exercise.

Punch From Behind
8 May 2008, 17:48
Blumfield would have to be the unluckiest player going around to miss selection. Andrew Baxter would be leading the Lions B&F comfortably at this stage, his omission from the squad is also staggering.
I doubt whether Ries, Watts, Adkins, Stone or Robbins will turn up to training... I think they will all happily take the week off instead.

Who are the selectors? the selection of the team must be done on names and not form. Ries, Robbins and Adkins are yet to feature in the best for Collegians whereas Baxter, Blumfield, Holst and Tardiff have all featured a few times.

Should the squad be picked on reputation or form?

JG Hornet
8 May 2008, 18:04
Blumfield would have to be the unluckiest player going around to miss selection. Andrew Baxter would be leading the Lions B&F comfortably at this stage, his omission from the squad is also staggering.
I doubt whether Ries, Watts, Adkins, Stone or Robbins will turn up to training... I think they will all happily take the week off instead.

Who are the selectors? the selection of the team must be done on names and not form. Ries, Robbins and Adkins are yet to feature in the best for Collegians whereas Baxter, Blumfield, Holst and Tardiff have all featured a few times.

Should the squad be picked on reputation or form?

Wouldn't mind being a forward in the Sydney team. A few guys on the list have had big bags kicked on them recently!

Punch From Behind
8 May 2008, 18:10
Huw Apted, who has acquitted himself very well in the last couple of matches for the Lions can also consider himself a bit stiff missing out on the u/19 squad. The kid can really play, he is very slight at the moment but once he gets on the 'charlie holst' weights program he will start tearing games apart.

Punch From Behind
8 May 2008, 18:11
Wouldn't mind being a forward in the Sydney team. A few guys on the list have had big bags kicked on them recently!

yeh but spare a thought for their fullback....

JG Hornet
8 May 2008, 18:14
yeh but spare a thought for their fullback....
very true, hopefully they all play

nicho_magic
8 May 2008, 18:24
can i suggest people are looking too much into the collegians best. reisy had a gazillion touches against xavs and didn't get in the best.
watts snagged 8 last week... and got overlooked in the best. could there be a trend there?

but yes robbins apparently hasn't played much, and nor has dukes from ajax. i also question the selectors.. they ahve just gone for the ex afl players generally and not form players.

Slay Master G
8 May 2008, 19:15
4 players from Ivanhoe - not sure if I know about that.
Blumfield from Collegians stiff.
Surprised Murray Pitts didn't get a gig...!

Denver Artz was stiff also. Could never get a touch in C Section however was more often than not BOG in the rep games.

eons7
9 May 2008, 09:12
can i suggest people are looking too much into the collegians best. reisy had a gazillion touches against xavs and didn't get in the best.
watts snagged 8 last week... and got overlooked in the best. could there be a trend there?

but yes robbins apparently hasn't played much, and nor has dukes from ajax. i also question the selectors.. they ahve just gone for the ex afl players generally and not form players.

Did you watch the xavs v collegians game nicho? Ries had about 10 touches in total for the day and was extremely unimpressive

ultimate hater
9 May 2008, 09:49
shit.. am I in the right thread??

I could have sworn this was the "A Section" football thread, but it turns out its the colligians whinge thread...

Don't worry, I'll find it!

Cherry Picker
9 May 2008, 10:26
very true, hopefully they all play

I wonder whether the VAFA will change the squad after they catch wind that none of the Collegians boys are going to play.

soupsey
9 May 2008, 10:41
I wonder whether the VAFA will change the squad after they catch wind that none fo the Collegians boys are going to play.

Lions are finding out what OX already know. Just because you have the best side in the comp with standouts on each line doesn't mean the "selectors" will use them. Obviously nobody from the ammos has the time to watch every team closely enough. Many deserving players over the years have forfeited a spot to a "name" player. I think diplomacy plays a large part in selection also. Let's face it, a rep side should be the 22 best players played in position. What we normally see is 22 guys that have either played before or had a good year last year. Don't get me wrong, I love state footy, the ammos have a chance to lead the way in rep footy.

ultimate hater
9 May 2008, 11:40
as they say, its harder to get out of the squad than it is to get in...

Punch From Behind
9 May 2008, 14:27
shit.. am I in the right thread??

I could have sworn this was the "A Section" football thread, but it turns out its the colligians whinge thread...

Don't worry, I'll find it!

I am not whinging, more trying to point out the flawed selection system... I think blumfield and baxter should be in ahead of some of the other collegians boys, not in ahead of guys from other teams... all the brighton blokes are worthy of their spots and i am wrapped for mcguiness, he is a ripping young fella and i hope he gets a game cos this is looking like his last year of footy for a while, as he is looking like claiming a spot on the bushranges (cricket) development list.

Half Back
9 May 2008, 14:37
St Bedes over Old Brighton by 35 points
Collegians over Scotch by 40 points
Uni Blues over Trinity by 16 points
Old Xavs over Uni blacks by 65 points
Old Ivanhoe Over De la by 10 points

Cherry Picker
9 May 2008, 15:09
BRIGHTON over SBMT
Collegians over Scotch
Uni Blues over Trinity
Old Xavs over Uni blacks
DE LA over Ivanhoe

diablo14
9 May 2008, 15:39
my round 5 tips...

SBMT over OB
Coll over OS
Blues over OT
OX over Blacks
OI over DLS

Lance Burkhardt
9 May 2008, 15:46
Thought i would've got away teams or something last week, none the less:

BRIGHTON over SBMT
Collegians over Scotch
Uni Blues over Trinity
Old Xavs over Uni blacks
Ivanhoe over De La

God Yeah
9 May 2008, 16:39
Make or break this week at De La - the vultures are circling.

Quality side in (Numbers back from VFL) and this could be the week. Lose this and start investigating melway references for B grade sides.

JG Hornet
9 May 2008, 16:46
Make or break this week at De La - the vultures are circling.

Quality side in (Numbers back from VFL) and this could be the week. Lose this and start investigating melway references for B grade sides.

Rayson a big in
Morel, Demetriou and Roberts in.
Get on board!

Suspect the dust and mud might suit Ivanhoe though...

ultimate hater
9 May 2008, 17:01
Thought i would've got away teams or something last week, none the less:

Sorry Lance, we're not in the business of rewarding laziness..

OB
Coll
Blues
Xavs
DeLa

river man
9 May 2008, 17:42
Brighton over SBMT
Collegians over Scotch
Uni Blues over Trinity
Old Xavs over Uni blacks
Ivanhoe over De La

river man
9 May 2008, 17:50
Did you watch the xavs v collegians game nicho? Ries had about 10 touches in total for the day and was extremely unimpressive
I concur....not sure what game nicho was watching Ries was towelled up by a player who is still under 19's. Kicked a telling goal late though.

Penski
9 May 2008, 18:03
Brighton over SBMT
Collegians over Scotch
Uni Blues over Trinity
Old Xavs over Uni blacks
Ivanhoe over De La

Over The Post
9 May 2008, 18:06
Thought i would've got away teams or something last week
Sorry Lance, we're not in the business of rewarding laziness..

Agree with Hater here (God forbid). Still pretty sucky if you're away or something and can't get tips in.

How about "miss a round and get equal lowest tips" and "miss three in a row and you're off the list"?

simmer
9 May 2008, 18:13
Rayson a big in
Morel, Demetriou and Roberts in.
Get on board!

Suspect the dust and mud might suit Ivanhoe though...

Very interesting mail indeed... I hope it's accurate Jonathan

my tips have now changed to:-

SBMT over Brighton
Collegians over Scotch
Uni Blues over Trinity
Old Xavs over Uni blacks
De La Soul over OI

BrianSpeaking
9 May 2008, 18:43
SBMT over Brighton
Collegians over Scotch
Uni Blues over Trinity
Old Xavs over Uni blacks
De La over OI

Scribe
9 May 2008, 19:39
Xavs
Blues
STBMT
Collegians
OI

Sausage roll
9 May 2008, 20:14
Brighton
Scotch
Trinity
Blacks
De La

Cardio Carl
9 May 2008, 20:23
BRIGHTON vs SBMT (8 Goals)
Collegians vs Scotch (2 goals)
Uni Blues vs Trinity (2 Goals)
Old Xavs vs Uni blacks (6 goals)
DE LA vs Ivanhoe (3 goals)

all the best boys and girls

CC

Over The Post
9 May 2008, 22:46
SBMT over Brighton, though by nowhere near 8 goals
Collegians over Scotch
Uni Blues over Trinity
Old Xavs over Uni blacks
De La downed by OI

Most tipsters should get at least 3 this week barring upsets!

Max Leader
10 May 2008, 18:47
Collegians
Xavs
OI

Winners so far

Any other news

Over The Post
10 May 2008, 23:03
Other news? Yes, I am an incredible tipster with five again, who was privileged to see an awesome game of footy at the Postage Stamp this afternoon. I'll do the tipping updates later when I've settled down and the beers have worn off.

And in the results, Blues took out Trinity and St Bedes won by a point over Brighton, with a Brighton kick for goal after the siren going off to one side.

diablo14
11 May 2008, 12:37
Other news? Yes, I am an incredible tipster with five again, who was privileged to see an awesome game of footy at the Postage Stamp this afternoon. I'll do the tipping updates later when I've settled down and the beers have worn off.

And in the results, Blues took out Trinity and St Bedes won by a point over Brighton, with a Brighton kick for goal after the siren going off to one side.

I got 5 as well. Go Tigers!

mick13
11 May 2008, 19:44
Oooh, was it a hard kick for goal?

Penski
11 May 2008, 20:33
I was down at the Trott on Saturday to watch the Lions against Scotch.

There's a lot to like about the Scotch side, they certainly gave it a shake, with Steve Lawrence leading the way.

Collegians dominated early and were 41 points the better at half time, but the definate turning point in the game was Charlie Holst going off after being knocked out early in the 3rd term. Scotch really came back into it after this, and came within a couple of kicks early in the final term before the Lions kicked a couple to steady the ship.

Scotch dominated the centre clearances all day to give their forwards every chance, and there were some great defensive efforts by Collegians, lead by Jorgenson taking telling marks time and time again.

Collegians injury list is already huge, with a couple more additions from the weekends game. I am amazed that they are still undefeated, and it goes some way to dispelling the myth about their lack of depth.

Having said that, I have my doubts about them being able to put together a competitive enough unit this week against SBMT, unless there are a few coming back that I am unaware of.

Over The Post
11 May 2008, 22:29
Oooh, was it a hard kick for goal?

40 out, 30 degree angle. Kicked from just outside 45 due to the marker, went through at half post height and missed goal by about a metre. I've seen worse misses (Ivanhoe in round 18 last year, for example).

nicho_magic
11 May 2008, 23:05
collegians... keeping on rolling and still yet to play there betst footy

TapRuck
12 May 2008, 11:59
Great work from St Bede's... have been questioned by many but keep answering with solid performances. A genuine A Section contender.

JG Hornet
12 May 2008, 12:17
I was down at the Trott on Saturday to watch the Lions against Scotch.

There's a lot to like about the Scotch side, they certainly gave it a shake, with Steve Lawrence leading the way.

Collegians dominated early and were 41 points the better at half time, but the definate turning point in the game was Charlie Holst going off after being knocked out early in the 3rd term. Scotch really came back into it after this, and came within a couple of kicks early in the final term before the Lions kicked a couple to steady the ship.

Scotch dominated the centre clearances all day to give their forwards every chance, and there were some great defensive efforts by Collegians, lead by Jorgenson taking telling marks time and time again.

Collegians injury list is already huge, with a couple more additions from the weekends game. I am amazed that they are still undefeated, and it goes some way to dispelling the myth about their lack of depth.

Having said that, I have my doubts about them being able to put together a competitive enough unit this week against SBMT, unless there are a few coming back that I am unaware of.

I thought the elderly Scotch supporter in his tartan hat yelling out 'get up you weak bastard' was a nice touch when the Wesley player's face has been relocated to the back of his head!

ultimate hater
12 May 2008, 12:20
Great work from St Bede's... have been questioned by many but keep answering with solid performances. A genuine A Section contender.

yeah they're pretty good.. would have them somewhere in the top 4 come seasons end if they keep their shiznit together.. did they have a full team on sat?

Its a funny game playing down at brindisi.. you get punished very quickly for any stuffups as the ground is so small.. was a great game to watch, and there was two ripping hangers by a couple of OB blokes to boot..

vafa guru
12 May 2008, 12:21
yeah they're pretty good.. would have them somewhere in the top 4 come seasons end if they keep their shiznit together.. did they have a full team on sat?

Its a funny game playing down at brindisi.. you get punished very quickly for any stuffups as the ground is so small.. was a great game to watch, and there was two ripping hangers by a couple of OB blokes to boot..

One of those hangers was form Phelan (9) for the Toners - an absolute beauty!

Over The Post
12 May 2008, 12:34
http://railsimpro.com/junk/a0805.gif

Well I said most people would pick up an easy 3 tips this week and so it came to pass, except for the stellar debut by Sausage Roll. Did he genuinely tip 0 or was he merely taking the proverbial? Future weeks will tell.

Punch From Behind
12 May 2008, 12:43
I thought the elderly Scotch supporter in his tartan hat yelling out 'get up you weak bastard' was a nice touch when the Wesley player's face has been relocated to the back of his head!

It was an absolute disgrace... Clint Harris is probably the toughest bloke at collegians, he was knocked out cold in a marking contest and his eye brow was hanging down at his cheek, he requires plastic surgery. The game was stopped for about 5 minutes as he was carried off. The tool in the tartan hat and tweed jacket that was abusing him as he lay on the stretcher should be ashamed of himself... this sort of stuff happens with juiced up fans in the southern league and doesn't/shouldn't happen in our comp.

Should be a belta at headquarters on saturday with the tigers hosting the lions, the lions have a few injury concerns although may be getting a few back. Any injuries to speak of down at brindisi st?

Penski
12 May 2008, 12:49

That was a real disgrace. For a bloke like Clint Harris to not be able to get back up, then you know he's been hit hard. Those Scotch supporters abusing a bloke coming off on a stretcher after being knocked out should be ashamed of themselves.