View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football
catfish18
26 Jun 2008, 14:20
fooooooooooooootyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
Pffft, community service. This bloke should be given a medal. They must have been bad for a winning coach to deliver a spray.
Very odd indeed, particularly given they won - perhaps the feeling was they should've won by more?.
Completely out of character for the mild mannered Jars. I'm sure he'll take it in his stride.
ultimate hater
26 Jun 2008, 16:19
Very odd indeed, particularly given they won - perhaps the feeling was they should've won by more?.
Completely out of character for the mild mannered Jars. I'm sure he'll take it in his stride.
but the charge says "during the game"... i doubt any coach with half a brain would give the umps a spray AFTER they had won the game...
bigman31
26 Jun 2008, 16:49
If any thing the scotch coach should have gone crook at the umpires on that day.
Houlihan got grabbed around the neck when Scotch were 3 points down and it was not payed in front of goal.
It was a great game.Scotch were all over Xavs Late. Perhaps Xavs coaching staff were a bit stressed given that Scotch had come from 50 points down.
Xavs won but Scotch won 3 quarters . a very strange game.
But he should have got a week for what he did.Sets a poor example for players. If a player abused an umpire how many weeks would they have got. I reckon he got of lightly.
Bigman
soupsey
26 Jun 2008, 22:08
Both your name and your post are kidding!!!!!
Max Leader
26 Jun 2008, 22:54
Just checked it out - he's a real sook when they go down, isn't he? Waaah, waaah.
Funny that OB had to make some rather hasty amendments to their WebSite content.
Maybe some harsh words from the powers forced the changes.
Its great to be funny, humourous or even controversial but whinging and complaining against umpires shows contempt for other clubs and the VAFA. Not bad for a team that has only spent limited time in the big leagues.
Maxine
Over The Post
27 Jun 2008, 03:37
If I saw/heard the amended version then they must have *really* been out of line!
I'm back .... only just!
my simmering tips for the wend:-
Beach Boys beat St Bedes but only just...1 point
Lions roll OI by 32 points
Trinity go down to Blues by 12 points
Xavs demolish De la Soul by plenty
Scotchies thump Blacks by heaps
diablo14
27 Jun 2008, 08:32
SBMT over OB
Coll over OI
Blues over OT
OX over DLS
OS over Blacks
Pathetic tipping effort by me last round.
Tonners
Lions
Blues
Xavs
Scotchies
river man
27 Jun 2008, 10:39
SBMT over OB
Coll over OI
Blues over OT
OX over DLS
OS over Blacks
Half Back
27 Jun 2008, 11:00
OB over SBMT
Collegians over OI
Blues over OT
OX over De la
Scotch over Blacks
ultimate hater
27 Jun 2008, 11:22
OB
OI - upset of the round..
Blues
Xavs
Scotch
Handsome.B.Wonderful
27 Jun 2008, 14:16
Interesting.
Cherry Picker
27 Jun 2008, 14:25
OB over SBMT
OI over Coll
Blues over OT
OX over De la
Blacks over Scotch
ITSMYNAME
27 Jun 2008, 14:28
OB over St Bedes
OI over The Purples
Uni Blues over Trinity
Xavs over De La
Scotch over Blacks
Cardio Carl
27 Jun 2008, 15:02
SBMT over OB
Coll over OI
Blues over OT
OX over De la
Scotch over Blacks
Lance Burkhardt
27 Jun 2008, 15:26
OB over St Bedes
OI over Coll
Uni Blues over Trinity
Xavs over De La
Scotch over Blacks
Scotchies, a serious premiership contender?
Where's Nicho Magic?
ultimate hater
27 Jun 2008, 16:06
Interesting.
boosting the post count HBW?
Over The Post
27 Jun 2008, 18:14
St Bedes (if they stop kicking bloody behinds)
OI in an upset
Blues
Xavs
Scotch (ar EP, but the forecast is windy and Blacks might win the toss)
BrianSpeaking
27 Jun 2008, 19:17
SBMT over OB
Coll over OI
Blues over OT
OX over DLS
OS over Blacks
SBMT over OB
Coll over OI
Blues over OT
OX over DLS
OS over Blacks
I'm with Brian on this one.
diablo14
28 Jun 2008, 18:34
Brighton was comprehensively destroyed by the Tigers today. Final score - 19.14.128 to 10.9.69. It was a bloody cold and windy afternoon down at the beach, and St Bedes handled the conditions beautifully. Their pressure and tackling was outstanding for four quarters and the skills were superb. OB's will need to get some of their injured guns back ASAP because on todays performance, finals are not a realistic proposition.
Max Leader
28 Jun 2008, 19:49
Brighton was comprehensively destroyed by the Tigers today. Final score - 19.14.128 to 10.9.69. It was a bloody cold and windy afternoon down at the beach, and St Bedes handled the conditions beautifully. Their pressure and tackling was outstanding for four quarters and the skills were superb. OB's will need to get some of their injured guns back ASAP because on todays performance, finals are not a realistic proposition.
Can't wait for the Benchwarmers excuses this week!!
Too many out
Too cold
Try - not good enough
Jascave
29 Jun 2008, 22:16
You might be interested to now that the Under 23 State match between Victoria & South Australia (with the VAFA side like to have a number of players from A Section) will be played at the Junction Oval, not Sportscover Arena. Is this a sign that maybe Sportscover Arena's time as a major VAFA venue is up?
Chris Smith just goes bang in debut for the Xavs. Whatever.
Over The Post
30 Jun 2008, 01:50
will be played at the Junction Oval, not Sportscover Arena. Is this a sign that maybe Sportscover Arena's time as a major VAFA venue is up?
Old news Jase. Given the state of the ground (five games were played on it this weekend), its hardly surprising they have chosen elsewhere.
The decision was made a couple of weeks ago, it was apparent the ground would not recover in time for the rep game.
The KEY
30 Jun 2008, 12:11
Who won the Scotch v Blacks game, not on the VAFA website yet? Anyone have a report?
I just love my footy
30 Jun 2008, 12:32
Scotch belted them. i went down as a spectator, and was blown away both on and off the field.
the wind was howling and the final score
Scotch 12-25-97 def Uni Blacks 8-9-57 (or something close to it)
Scotch should have won by 15-20 goals with the amount of possession they had. the wind played havoc with the skills.
But Blacks were ordinary. No Pask or Costello and it showed
Scotch lost 2 players as well to hamstrings. including their ruckman in the first 10 minutes or so so they had a makeshift set up nearly all day. and they still won very easily.
Axel1980
30 Jun 2008, 12:46
Top 4 teams all very very close, the draw with Blacks could prove very handy for the Scotchies later on in the year as they do not have the best percentage.
Xav's keep rolling on! anyone see OI and Coll? apparently OI were 20 points up at 3/4 time
Main Man
30 Jun 2008, 12:57
Top 4 teams all very very close, the draw with Blacks could prove very handy for the Scotchies later on in the year as they do not have the best percentage.
Xav's keep rolling on! anyone see OI and Coll? apparently OI were 20 points up at 3/4 time
20 Points up at Half Time, scores were level at 3/4 time with OI having the wind in the last quarter...
Axel1980
30 Jun 2008, 17:20
Did Coll pick up the tempo or did OI drop their bundle?
Punch From Behind
30 Jun 2008, 17:35
Did Coll pick up the tempo or did OI drop their bundle?
what came first, the chicken or the egg?
I think it was probably a bit of both, the lions decided the only way to win, kicking into a 3-4 goal wind was to roll the dice and run the ball and it paid off.
OTs keep themselves afloat with a rare win over Blues. Must say it brought a smile to the dial, but one wonders how many College/country kids are in the current Blues' senior line-up? Must have had a few big outs I'd venture.
ultimate hater
1 Jul 2008, 15:41
Can't wait for the Benchwarmers excuses this week!!
Too many out
Too cold
Try - not good enough
what are you talking about max? listening to the benchwarmer your favorite part of the week?
good for you old son!
Max Leader
1 Jul 2008, 16:08
what are you talking about max? listening to the benchwarmer your favorite part of the week?
good for you old son!
After the removal of the Coyboys summary of the Reserves game against OI at the insistance of the President of OB (coz he received a nasty call). The whole tone of of the Website has changed. Benchwarmer was more considered in his comments (still had a dig at the powers for the removal of the reserves match report). he spent more time talking about 1976 than the flogging they received at the hands of the Brindisi boys.
Agreed I have no life. My Blackberry notifies me when the Benchwarmer uploads his weekly summary.
Over The Post
1 Jul 2008, 16:52
http://railsimpro.com/junk/a0811.gif
Getting rather close... one or two upsets can change the table significantly!
ultimate hater
1 Jul 2008, 17:12
Agreed I have no life.
The only valid part of your post I took any notice of...
Max Leader
1 Jul 2008, 21:35
Any new on why Damiem Adtkins left Collegians to play up the country?
vafa guru
2 Jul 2008, 16:00
Interseting move that one - no doubt Collegians won't be too happy, they did well to get him after he had committed to Franston in the VFL in the first place.
Whilst we are on clearances - whats' the go with all the movement between Old Geelong and Uni Blacks? Am I missing somethinghere but there are a lot of them on the ammos webiste.
Punch From Behind
2 Jul 2008, 16:39
Any new on why Damiem Adtkins left Collegians to play up the country?
He has not left Collegians, he was granted a one week permit to play with a team in the country over the queens birthday weekend. He then missed the xavs match but he played againist ivanhoe on the weekend and will be playing with the lions for the rest of the season.
ultimate hater
2 Jul 2008, 17:02
He has not left Collegians, he was granted a one week permit to play with a team in the country over the queens birthday weekend. He then missed the xavs match but he played againist ivanhoe on the weekend and will be playing with the lions for the rest of the season.
weird... So he doesn't need a "reverse" clearance due to specifying the 1 week thing?
Does that mean if you need a bit of extra cash you can go to the vafa and ask for a clearance for X amount of weeks to earn a few pineapples then just come back once the X amount of weeks are up?
weird... So he doesn't need a "reverse" clearance due to specifying the 1 week thing?
Does that mean if you need a bit of extra cash you can go to the vafa and ask for a clearance for X amount of weeks to earn a few pineapples then just come back once the X amount of weeks are up?
This one is interesting! I think we have a can of worms in front of us.
Can you now swap teams, leagues mid season? Makes a mockery of the reinstatement proceedures! And what if he was reported? Wouldn't mind borrowing a player or two for a big game?
Can of worms officially opened.
The Goats
2 Jul 2008, 18:40
This one is interesting! I think we have a can of worms in front of us.
Can you now swap teams, leagues mid season? Makes a mockery of the reinstatement proceedures! And what if he was reported? Wouldn't mind borrowing a player or two for a big game?
Can of worms officially opened.
I can see your concern, but is it not somewhat the same as players getting a clearance from VFL to play VAFA? VFL players get paid and I've never heard people having a problem with that.
I think this only really happens when you have a VAFA bye and players return home to the country to play. Or as in one case I'm aware of a player playing in Qld got a clearance for a week to play VAFA for his old club during a QAFL bye when he came down to visit family and mates.
Obviously suspensions carry accross all leagues...
Eddie Woloschek
2 Jul 2008, 20:35
If he played last Saturday, I can't find his name on the 1s or 2s team list. He's got no season record against his name on the players' stats. So looks as if he has been deleted. Whether he has come back and reregistered before 30June I don't know, as the clearances section appears incomplete.
BigMomma
2 Jul 2008, 20:43
I can see your concern, but is it not somewhat the same as players getting a clearance from VFL to play VAFA? VFL players get paid and I've never heard people having a problem with that.
I think this only really happens when you have a VAFA bye and players return home to the country to play. Or as in one case I'm aware of a player playing in Qld got a clearance for a week to play VAFA for his old club during a QAFL bye when he came down to visit family and mates.
Surprise! An excellent post. It seems that Big Footy is dying a slow death across all VAFA threads. Some of the frequent quality posters have dropped right off. They post to keep their hand in, but even those like Brian Speaking seem to be slowly slipping away. The question to you all...............Is this good for VAFA football or not? Or will the six of you find something else to do?
Yes Flaherty from PEGS vs. SKOB last year. Came back for a week kicked 6 and pissed off back to QLD. Jeremy Bourke doesn't have a problem with it as it is within the rules
ultimate hater
3 Jul 2008, 09:21
I was just posing the question.
Can someone get a clearance for X amount of weeks?
Is there a rule stating you can get a clearance for a bye or the like but only for that one week? Or is it a bit like the ammo's "ethos" rule where they make it up as they go along...
If there is such a rule, why do you need a 'clearance' as such? Can't it just be the same as the VFL standard and players are "released" and free to play wherever they wanted (I know with VFL they list their club they get released to) for that 1 week?
I feel like jascave...
The Big Pineapple
3 Jul 2008, 09:31
I have to disagree. There is a clear hierarchy in football from national (AFL) to state (AFL, SAFL, WAFL, QAFL) to local (metro, regional leagues etc). Players should be able to move between state and local as Flaherty did for OEG last year and as many players do week to week, but moving between two local leagues just doesn’t seem right. Give a bloke a chance to play at the highest level but the player has to make a choice on their ‘home’ club. It’s got nothing to do with money.
THE BEACON
3 Jul 2008, 10:22
Plus your relying on the club you transferred too to clear you back to your original club.
Some administrators in other leagues will go to any lengths to get a certain player.
The Goats
3 Jul 2008, 10:30
I was just posing the question.
Can someone get a clearance for X amount of weeks?
Is there a rule stating you can get a clearance for a bye or the like but only for that one week? Or is it a bit like the ammo's "ethos" rule where they make it up as they go along...
If there is such a rule, why do you need a 'clearance' as such? Can't it just be the same as the VFL standard and players are "released" and free to play wherever they wanted (I know with VFL they list their club they get released to) for that 1 week?
I feel like jascave...
It's not the same as the VFL as the VAFA have a special arrangement with them ie the Home Club arrangement. I know in the Flaherety situation he required a clearance from his QAFL club and then required another clearance from OEG when he returned back to qld the following week.
river man
3 Jul 2008, 14:06
It's not the same as the VFL as the VAFA have a special arrangement with them ie the Home Club arrangement. I know in the Flaherety situation he required a clearance from his QAFL club and then required another clearance from OEG when he returned back to qld the following week.
The door will remain open until a player from another league comes and plays a cameo and wins a game of his own boot. The VAFA will promptly close it once this happens.
I wonder whether the AFL have cleared Cyril Rioli to play for Old Scotch this week as he has the bye.
Cherry Picker
3 Jul 2008, 15:22
The door will remain open until a player from another league comes and plays a cameo and wins a game of his own boot. The VAFA will promptly close it once this happens.
I wonder whether the AFL have cleared Cyril Rioli to play for Old Scotch this week as he has the bye.
Cyril is up north sitting in a tree with a fishing line tied to his toe.
diablo14
4 Jul 2008, 09:01
My tips for this week....
SBMT over Blues
OS over OI
OX over Blacks
Coll over DLS
OB over OT
My tips for this week....
SBMT over Blues
OS over OI
OX over Blacks
Coll over DLS
OB over OT
ditto
river man
4 Jul 2008, 11:35
SBMT over Blues
OI over OS
OX over Blacks
Coll over DLS
OB over OT
ultimate hater
4 Jul 2008, 12:18
Tigers
Hoers
Xavs
Lions
Tonners
Cardio Carl
4 Jul 2008, 12:36
SBMT over Blues (2 nice in's for SBMT)
OS over OI
OX over Blacks
Coll over DLS
OB over OT
Bigfootyfan
4 Jul 2008, 13:32
SBMT over Blues (2 nice in's for SBMT)
OS over OI
OX over Blacks
Coll over DLS
OB over OT
Who is the second Cardio. I assume after 2 weeks in the 2's Mouse Wintle will make his long awaited return. Who is the other. Brett Collins still a few weeks away.
ITSMYNAME
4 Jul 2008, 13:59
St Bedes over Blues
Scotchies over The Hoers
Xavs over Blacks
Purples over La Di Da
Trinity over Brighton
Half Back
4 Jul 2008, 14:26
St Bedes over Blues
Scotch over OI
Xavs over Blacks
Collegians over De La
Ot's over OB
Cardio Carl
4 Jul 2008, 14:27
Who is the second Cardio. I assume after 2 weeks in the 2's Mouse Wintle will make his long awaited return. Who is the other. Brett Collins still a few weeks away.
BFF - now, now stop playing games http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon12.gif
- you know exactly who they are.http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon6.gif
I said Nice in's, not Big In's.
All the best
God Yeah
4 Jul 2008, 15:17
Just hopped on the Ammo website and noticed the Horn has given a 60 point line on De La Salle as his lock of the week.
De La will not get within 12-15 goals weather permitting.
Shields out and 2 first gamers (for the year) in.
One positive for De La inclusion of L Jarvis, best first year player couple of years back and BOG in a losing B grade GF could be a chance to play on watts
Cherry Picker
4 Jul 2008, 15:18
Blues
Ivanhoe
Xavs
Coll
Briiiiiighton
Lance Burkhardt
4 Jul 2008, 15:26
St Bedes to smash Blues
Scotchies over OI
Xavs to smash Blacks
Coll over De La
OB over OT
St Bedes over Blues
Scotchies over OI
Xavs do Blacks
Coll over De La
OB over OT in a close one...
Over The Post
5 Jul 2008, 11:23
St Bedes to roll blues
Scotch will get a fright from Ivanhoe
Xavs in a training run over Blacks
Collegians to take out their frustrations on DLS
Brighton to salute over Trinity, just
BrianSpeaking
5 Jul 2008, 12:25
St Bedes to roll blues
Scotch will get a fright from Ivanhoe
Xavs in a training run over Blacks
Collegians to take out their frustrations on DLS
Brighton to salute over Trinity, just
Lock me in for the same OTP.
diablo14
5 Jul 2008, 17:54
Final Scores at Brindisi - SBMT 11.21.87 to Uni Blues 10.14.74.
Very good game out there today. St Bedes got out to an early 5 goal lead, but to the Blues credit, they worked their way back into the game, and in fact hit the front half way through the last quarter. The Tigers steadied however (mainly through a series of big marks from McGettigan), and kicked the last two goals of the game to win by 13 points.
St Bedes inaccuracy nearly cost them again today, and the ironic thing was in the end it was the Blues own inaccuracy that helped the Tigers stay in the game in the last quarter.
Despite the gutsy performance, you'd have to think this puts paid to the Blues finals chances for 2008.
Over The Post
5 Jul 2008, 20:18
"Scotch will get a fright from Ivanhoe"...
The Hoers came out of the blocks determined to play a physical game - nothing stupid, just close hard tagging, and Scotch were rattled by it. But it was Ivanhoe's excellent playing zoned footy that kept the Scotchies out, and it was surprising how little pressure was on the Ivanhoe forwards.
Even so, OS were never really out of it due to Ivanhoe's inaccurate kicking until probably the last ten minutes of the game, when OI kicked the sealer to take it 12.23.95 to 10.10.70.
bigman31
6 Jul 2008, 09:37
The hoers for far to good today and played super footy against Scotchies. Scotchies looked tired and ge they have a lot of injuries to key players.
They have a ruckman i think kennedy,he is hopless,dont know how he gets a game.
Perhaps because all their Ruckman are out injured.
Bigman
Cardio Carl
6 Jul 2008, 18:02
Yeah, we can say now - C.Richards & Maddocks of course BFF.
You should try and make it down more often on selection night.
The former is very good - the later provides a bit of stability.
should try and get McConnell up for a crack as he looks good.
Cheers
Quick Eze
7 Jul 2008, 09:59
Who won yesterday?
Blueboys11
7 Jul 2008, 10:01
Brighton won by a couple of goals...
If wins go according to ladder position this round, it will really throw the cat amongst the pidgeons for the race to the finals after the break....
diablo14
7 Jul 2008, 10:21
Exciting round coming up, with every side having plenty to play for. The matchups couldn't be better. We have the top 4 playing each other, and whoever wins those two games will be well placed as we get closer to the finals, and leave the losers within striking distance of the chasing pack.
Then we have the three teams trying to stay in touch with the four playing the three teams in the relegation battle, a win for any of the bottom three will be a huge filip for which ever of them can snatch one, and all but end the slim finals hopes of the defeated. Conversely, The three teams knocking on the door will keep themselves in the hunt with a win, as two of the top four will lose this week.
The best thing about it all though, is that every game could quite easily go either way. Tipping will be very very interesting this week :D
Lock me in for the same OTP.
Good win the the Uni Blacks on the weekend. Anyone heard any reports as to what happened up at the Uni?
Brian, i thought you said the coach was gone about 2 months ago?
BrianSpeaking
8 Jul 2008, 03:25
Ugly, never said the coach was gone, I said there were rumblings. They were very impressive vs St Bedes for 3 quarters and with Bolton, Pask and Lalich they might just avoid the drop, would be great for all of my Blacks friends.
diablo14
8 Jul 2008, 08:37
Ugly, never said the coach was gone, I said there were rumblings. They were very impressive vs St Bedes for 3 quarters and with Bolton, Pask and Lalich they might just avoid the drop, would be great for all of my Blacks friends.
Amend that to two and i'll agree with you. Bevo said that afternoon that he couldn't understand how Blacks hadn't won a game yet, because he rated them a far far better side than that.
The word from Xavs is that they were extremely impressed with the Blacks side that ran out on the park, and they will definately win more games before the season ends.
Is Will Slade going to play for them as well?
diablo14
8 Jul 2008, 11:59
The word from Xavs is that they were extremely impressed with the Blacks side that ran out on the park, and they will definately win more games before the season ends.
Is Will Slade going to play for them as well?
I have heard it mentioned by a couple of Geelong supporters I know who know him well. Could be a goer by the sounds of it.
Over The Post
8 Jul 2008, 12:42
http://railsimpro.com/junk/a0812.gif
Max Leader
8 Jul 2008, 12:46
I have completed analysis on the next six rounds. Given current form and given that the top 4 maintain their winning ratios, I have come up with the following table.
Round No. De La Blacks OT Blues OI OB
Points 8 10 12 20 24 28
13 OB Blues OI Blacks OT De La
14 OI OB OX OS De La Blacks
15 OS Coll St Be OB OX Blues
16 St. Be OI Coll OX Blacks OS
17 OT St. Be De La OI Blues Coll
18 Blacks De La OS Coll St. Be OX
Top 4 2 2 4 2 3 3
Final 8 18 16 20 40 40
De La's season really hinges on the last two weeks. Needs to win at least 3.
Black's really need to bet Blues this week. If yes momentum will see them safe.
OT needs to knock off OI at Marles to be a chance to stay up. Hardest draw of the bottom 6. 2 wins should see them in A again, just.
Blues could not win another game and be safe. One win to be sure
OI needs the bottom 2 to win 4 of the next 6 without winning a game. Not likely after beating OS last week. If OS faulter could be a roughie
OB, safe, however if they wake up could push the final 4. If go skiing, they could see one of the bottom 3 stay aloft. If OS faulter, should be ready to play in the 1st Semi.
Table function on Bigfoory is crap
Bigfootyfan
8 Jul 2008, 13:07
I have completed analysis on the next six rounds. Given current form and given that the top 4 maintain their winning ratios, I have come up with the following table.
Points 8 10 12 20 24 28
Top 4 2 2 4 2 3 3
Final 8 18 16 20 40 40
OT needs to knock off OI at Marles to be a chance to stay up. Hardest draw of the bottom 6. 2 wins should see them in A again, just.
OI needs the bottom 2 to win 4 of the next 6 without winning a game. Not likely after beating OS last week. If OS faulter could be a roughie
OB, safe, however if they wake up could push the final 4. If go skiing, they could see one of the bottom 3 stay aloft. If OS faulter, should be ready to play in the 1st Semi.
You have confused the shizen out of me!!!!!!!!!
Max Leader
8 Jul 2008, 13:33
You have confused the shizen out of me!!!!!!!!!
It was supposed to be a table of who plays who over the next 6 rounds, excluding the top 4.
Hopefully the words described the table better than the table describes the table.
Blueboys11
8 Jul 2008, 13:45
It was supposed to be a table of who plays who over the next 6 rounds, excluding the top 4.
Hopefully the words described the table better than the table describes the table.
I think the battle for the top 4 is a lot more interesting than the relegation battle...
6 teams a chance to play finals, while only 3 a realistic chance for relegation... Uni lues is the only team stuck in no mans land in my opinion...
If the top 2 can have wins this week, while Brighton and Ivan can beat there lower placed opponents, then it will be one hell of an interesting final 5 weeks coming up for that 3rd and 4th spot....
webbo_83
8 Jul 2008, 17:07
Old Ivanhoe were missing three of their very best on Saturday, and still BRAINED Old Scotch. With the combination of Butler returning, and Toovey being on the verge of regaining the form that saw him win a club B+F (and be proclaimed as "the VAFA's best player" by a very senior opposition coach), Old Ivanhoe could cause all manner of problems come finals time... Especially if Brett Nagel keeps being allowed to bomb the ball forward of centre after playing on from the kick outs!
Axel1980
8 Jul 2008, 21:58
Old Ivanhoe were missing three of their very best on Saturday, and still BRAINED Old Scotch. With the combination of Butler returning, and Toovey being on the verge of regaining the form that saw him win a club B+F (and be proclaimed as "the VAFA's best player" by a very senior opposition coach), Old Ivanhoe could cause all manner of problems come finals time... Especially if Brett Nagel keeps being allowed to bomb the ball forward of centre after playing on from the kick outs!
I have seen them play 4 times this year, 2 very good games and 2 very bad. If they can maintain good form then yea they will shake a few teams around but i can't see it happening to be honest. They are pretty heavy and the weather would have suited them + they play Chelsworth very very well
A win against OI at Chelsworth is worth 2 to most teams
Eddie Woloschek
8 Jul 2008, 22:18
Old Ivanhoe could cause all manner of problems come finals time! They'll be on the golf course come finals time.
that's pretty funny.
Cherry Picker
9 Jul 2008, 11:16
http://www.oldxavs.com/arc_news.htm
For those interested in Footy results Via Text Msg.
- FREE
Can anyone at Old Xavs let me know how Josh Douglas is going at the club this season?
webbo_83
9 Jul 2008, 18:29
They are pretty heavy and the weather would have suited them + they play Chelsworth very very well
Yep, the weather was absolutely horrific out at Ivanhoe last Saturday...
Eddie Woloschek
9 Jul 2008, 18:35
Can anyone at Old Xavs let me know how Josh Douglas is going at the club this season?
You could read their website.
man in outer
10 Jul 2008, 13:03
Points 8 10 12 20 24 28
Top 4 2 2 4 2 3 3
Final 8 18 16 20 40 40
Great effort max...does this chart take into account the loss of marty pask for olympic duties? Could be a factor.
river man
10 Jul 2008, 17:44
Is that the same bloke the ammo's emmbarrassingly left out of the u19 rep side. I noticed in the paper he was best for xavs on the weekend. Would not suprise if he ended up on an afl list next year either through the draft or being rookied after speaking to a few people at yesterdays TAC championships.
Why was it embarrassing?
Was he nominated by his club in the first place?
Was he cut for the final 24?
My tips:
STBMT
Collegians
Old Trinity
Uni Blacks
Old Brighton
ultimate hater
11 Jul 2008, 12:35
Xavs
Collegians
Trinity
Blacks
Brighton
Lock it..
diablo14
11 Jul 2008, 13:18
OX over SBMT
OS over Coll
OI over OT
Blues over Blacks
OB over DLS
Cardio Carl
11 Jul 2008, 13:20
StBedes vs OX - real keen on this one, should be a cracking game
OS vs Coll - must get up at home & push for double chance
OT vs OI - get this and they stay in A Grade
Uni Blues vs Uni Blacks - offering no favours, must want it more
DeLa vs Old Brighton - with all respect to DeLa club, OB must use this as a percentage booster - if over 15 goals they will be in the 4 at 5pm Saturday going on my tips.
Interested in other posters thoughts on Old Brighton (Harps??) -
have they performed to last year & pre-season expectations or gone slightly backwards?. Do they have the resources to get them into finals and perform?.
Cardio
diablo14
11 Jul 2008, 13:28
StBedes vs OX - real keen on this one, should be a cracking game
OS vs Coll - must get up at home & push for double chance
OT vs OI - get this and they stay in A Grade
Uni Blues vs Uni Blacks - offering no favours, must want it more
DeLa vs Old Brighton - with all respect to DeLa club, OB must use this as a percentage booster - if over 15 goals they will be in the 4 at 5pm Saturday going on my tips.
Interested in other posters thoughts on Old Brighton (Harps??) -
have they performed to last year & pre-season expectations or gone slightly backwards?. Do they have the resources to get them into finals and perform?.
Cardio
On what I saw against St Bedes a couple of weeks back, the answer is no. I know they have been missing a few more than handy players of late, but then they aren't Robinson Crusoe there. The things that disappointed me most with them was the ordinary skill level, and the reliance on a handful of guys to get the job done.
They could lift, no doubts about it, but their form has been far too patchy, particularly when put against the top 4. So my call is that they are going to finish 5th or 6th depending on what the Hoers do from here.