View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football
ITSMYNAME
11 Jul 2008, 13:33
OX over St Bedes - 'Tis is about the time where Xavs Start to hum.
OS over The Purples - The purples aren't in top form at the moment and will drop this one.
OI over OT - When they play well, they can beat anybody.
Blacks Over Blues - Blacks have the star quality for mine.
Brighton over De La - Will be closer than people think though.
Xavs
Collegians
Trinity
Blacks
Brighton
Lock it..
Same for me.
ultimate hater
11 Jul 2008, 14:12
On what I saw against St Bedes a couple of weeks back, the answer is no. I know they have been missing a few more than handy players of late, but then they aren't Robinson Crusoe there. The things that disappointed me most with them was the ordinary skill level, and the reliance on a handful of guys to get the job done.
They could lift, no doubts about it, but their form has been far too patchy, particularly when put against the top 4. So my call is that they are going to finish 5th or 6th depending on what the Hoers do from here.
beat colligians at home, and beat xavs by over 50 at toorak park... correct on the poor form of late, but that happens in a fairly long season... i'm guessing the last 3 games will decide who is and isnt going to be in the top four... OB play scotch, coll and xavs in the last 3 rounds.. thats when you want to be hitting your straps..
Half Back
11 Jul 2008, 15:52
SBMT
Collegians
Ivanhoe
Blues
Brighton
Jascave
11 Jul 2008, 18:18
Would you like to see VAFA Sunday on 88.3 Southern FM go from 9:30-10:30am to a 9:30-11:00am timeslot to allow more time for interviews & final scores from VAFA footy over the weekend?
Over The Post
12 Jul 2008, 22:07
Was busy last night - nah, do tips in the morning - got busy this morning and completely forgot to put my tips in! Spewing! Ah well, only picked two of the four today anyway.
diablo14
12 Jul 2008, 22:57
beat colligians at home, and beat xavs by over 50 at toorak park... correct on the poor form of late, but that happens in a fairly long season... i'm guessing the last 3 games will decide who is and isnt going to be in the top four... OB play scotch, coll and xavs in the last 3 rounds.. thats when you want to be hitting your straps..
That's what I mean by patchy. They've showed at times this year they could be good enough, but at other times have been abysmal.
Bigfootyfan
13 Jul 2008, 15:02
Interesting that people talk about the fact that you need to have depth to be either successful or a title chance but the top 3 side have their ressies filling the bottom 3 spots. Interesting.
Blueboys11
13 Jul 2008, 19:40
about to? what the hell does that mean?? 1 week? 2 weeks? round 17?
its no wonder you support carlton..
How about round 12/13.... ticking along nicely down at Pine Lodge...
OI are going along very nicely for a team according to the Brighton website that are flattered by there ladder position... hmmm....
Will be a great last 5 weeks in the run in to the finals....
MyMission
13 Jul 2008, 23:18
Havent seen father of the year nominee david kinsella name on any team lists for StBMT?
Has he retired?
diablo14
14 Jul 2008, 09:12
Havent seen father of the year nominee david kinsella name on any team lists for StBMT?
Has he retired?
Injured.
Brighton lost to the bottom side yesterday. What was I saying about patchy? ;)
Max Leader
14 Jul 2008, 09:49
Brighton lost to the bottom side yesterday. What was I saying about patchy? ;)[/quote]
With OS, OX and OB stumbling, the race for the final 4 opens up somewhat. Even UBlues may still be a possibility.
The bottom three looks just as interesting.
Any odds on who will fall?
Any odds on who will make the final 4?
diablo14
14 Jul 2008, 10:08
With OS, OX and OB stumbling, the race for the final 4 opens up somewhat. Even UBlues may still be a possibility.
The bottom three looks just as interesting.
Any odds on who will fall?
Any odds on who will make the final 4?
Seriously, anything could happen from 1st and 7th between now and the finals.
I expect the top 4 to remain as is, top 2 in particular starting to look very solid for the run home.
The only team outside the 4 that I think can make it are the Hoers.
As for the bottom three, I think it might just come down to luck, or lack thereof. Wins like the one De La Soul had yesterday will be vital. I think DLS and Blacks will go down.
BrianSpeaking
14 Jul 2008, 11:04
Has he retired?
Davey K has retired and has now taken up a lucrative position as a beer taster with CUB.
babyinablender
14 Jul 2008, 11:20
Davey K has retired and has now taken up a lucrative position as a beer taster with CUB.
Abit off the mark there Brian. David has been forced to retire due to time commitment issues. He recently has been trawling the local flea markets selling cheap pens which hasnt enabled him to put in the time nor effort to get back to peak phyical fitness. Apparently the top quality felt tips are all the rage and are flying out the door (or window of the car). Congrats Davey on the next installment in your life.
Surly23
14 Jul 2008, 12:27
Abit off the mark there Brian. David has been forced to retire due to time commitment issues. He recently has been trawling the local flea markets selling cheap pens which hasnt enabled him to put in the time nor effort to get back to peak phyical fitness. Apparently the top quality felt tips are all the rage and are flying out the door (or window of the car). Congrats Davey on the next installment in your life.
Retired, say it isn't so! Who will stick up for me when I'm Surly on the ground and Paul Groves (AKA Stretcherman) when he does those stupid goal celebrations???
Eddie Woloschek
14 Jul 2008, 12:41
Interesting that people talk about the fact that you need to have depth to be either successful or a title chance but the top 3 side have their ressies filling the bottom 3 spots. Interesting.
Very interesting state of affairs. However, it's still a pretty long run until September.
Richard Clay Torpedoes
14 Jul 2008, 12:51
BS...the Polish Hurdles Team Coach has been absent of late due to intense training needs of his team leading into Beijing. Was reportedly running a gruelling campaign of interval training at a secret base that was a former Russian salt mine.
He has also moved on from CUB products to develop a hunger for 'Ces't Pinot Noir Chardonnay'.....
RCT
jumpinjuice
14 Jul 2008, 17:51
Hey Guys
Can someone tell me how Brett Nagle is going for the hoes??
Good little player
Thanks
Everyday Spelling
14 Jul 2008, 20:44
BS...the Polish Hurdles Team Coach has been absent of late due to intense training needs of his team leading into Beijing. Was reportedly running a gruelling campaign of interval training at a secret base that was a former Russian salt mine.
He has also moved on from CUB products to develop a hunger for 'Ces't Pinot Noir Chardonnay'.....
RCT
Big Torp.....correct you are. He is currently very stressed as his team have not really grasped the new hurdling technique he has invented. The IAAF are not permitting both legs going either side of the hurdle, something which yound David does with consumate ease and he is getting the polish kids to have a crack. All here at Big footy wish him the best.
Below is the xray of his legs taken last week. Thanks to Sandy hospital for releasing them. Note doctors put his mental age on the xray.
http://keepyourknee.com/images/current_advances16.jpg
Sure you understand why hurdles suit him now.
webbo_83
15 Jul 2008, 10:41
Hey Guys
Can someone tell me how Brett Nagle is going for the hoes??
Good little player
Thanks
Brett 'Iron Fist' Nagel has been dominant of late. Searing runs from defence combined with precise disposal mean that he's a vital cog in the OI defence. Underrate him at your peril!
Over The Post
16 Jul 2008, 15:02
http://railsimpro.com/junk/a0813.gif
A bit of a sad result for all concerned this week except for Half Back.
diablo14
16 Jul 2008, 15:06
http://railsimpro.com/junk/a0813.gif
A bit of a sad result for all concerned this week except for Half Back.
I picked 2 winners this week - the Hoers and Blues :p
Over The Post
16 Jul 2008, 15:24
I picked 2 winners this week - the Hoers and Blues :p
http://i.pbase.com/u12/richo/upload/2899039.FiestaTexasFireworksFinale_400.gif
Woohoo! Congratulations!!!
diablo14
16 Jul 2008, 16:37
http://i.pbase.com/u12/richo/upload/2899039.FiestaTexasFireworksFinale_400.gif
Woohoo! Congratulations!!!
The overlooked tip wouldn't have anything to do with the fact it puts me only 3 behind you now would it :P
young boy
16 Jul 2008, 19:36
I think you will find that David Kinsella and his mate young Brett (Bert) Collins will both be back in action this week in there club 18 side.This can only strenghen there senior side in a few weeks you would think??
The_Cat
16 Jul 2008, 23:16
RCT
For all of you that would like to meet RCT... it stands for Red Carrot Top (which is also a bit of a conundrum because you really can't realistically be red when you're orange)...
Anyhow, just look for a tall, gangly, nerdy Red Headed Dweeb when next visiting STBMT...
As for the stories of D. Kinsella...Just like fenech.. I luv yous all... I'm back princess. Loud and Proud.
ITSMYNAME
24 Jul 2008, 11:43
Wow, hasn't this thread died during the break! Let's get it going guys.
Anyone else go and watch the u/23's battle it out with those feral people from south australia?
I thought the A Grade players were very good and did the bulk of the work.
Matt Moore from De La looked like buddy franklin kicking goals and points, Marston was very solid at fullback, Maddocks & Iezzi also very good off half back, McGettigan, Eva & Watts was sensational for a big man. A grade has bright future with these young fellas running around each week.
Any news from the bye weekend guys? any players go for a weekend away and still haven't returned? Let's get this thread going again.
soupsey
25 Jul 2008, 14:24
Wow, hasn't this thread died during the break! Let's get it going guys.
Anyone else go and watch the u/23's battle it out with those feral people from south australia?
I thought the A Grade players were very good and did the bulk of the work.
Matt Moore from De La looked like buddy franklin kicking goals and points, Marston was very solid at fullback, Maddocks & Iezzi also very good off half back, McGettigan, Eva & Watts was sensational for a big man. A grade has bright future with these young fellas running around each week.
Any news from the bye weekend guys? any players go for a weekend away and still haven't returned? Let's get this thread going again.
RIP this thread! It died a few months back. It was fun while it lasted.
Pity!!!
diablo14
25 Jul 2008, 15:01
Tips....
OI over DLS
SBMT over Coll
Blacks over OB
OS over Blues
OX over OT
ultimate hater
25 Jul 2008, 15:02
ivanhoe
collegians
brighton
blues
xavs
river man
25 Jul 2008, 15:03
RIP this thread! It died a few months back. It was fun while it lasted.
Pity!!!
Not long now until the smell of freshly cut grass and the spring time horses return. That can only mean one thing.....its time to save up for the entrance fees to elsternwick park and a wick burger. Finals are just around the corner.
Let the games begin.
St Bedes to upset the lions.
Hoers over de la
Uni Blues to beat the scotchies
Xavs just over Trinity
Brighton in a canter over the Blacks.
Lions
Ivanhoe
Scotchies
Xavs
Tonners
tips...
OI
Lions
Beachboys
Xavs
Scotchies
ITSMYNAME
25 Jul 2008, 16:15
De La Over Ivanhoe
Collegians over St bedes
Blues over scotchies
Blacks over Brighton
Trinity over Xavs
i have to make up some serious ground. c'mon upsets.
Cardio Carl
25 Jul 2008, 17:32
Ivanhoe over De La Over
st bedes over collegians
sotch over Blues
Blacks over Brighton
Xavs over Trinity
Half Back
26 Jul 2008, 00:38
OI over DLS
SBMT over Coll
OB over Blacks
OS over Blues
OX over OT
Over The Post
26 Jul 2008, 11:30
OI vs DLS - a must-win for De La but can they overcome the hard fast start of Ivanhoe at home? It's either going to be a thriller or else De La will capitulate early and it'll be a blowout.
Collegians vs SMBT - another hard to pick game, my feeling is St Bedes (how come nobody calls them St Bogans now they are in A section?) will be bitten in the bum by inaccurate kicking and will go down despite more scoring shots.
Brighton vs Blacks - Brighton at Optus Oval, Blacks will give them a run for their money for a good part of the game but I don't think they have the legs.
Blues vs OS - I didn't think Blues were all that impressive against Blacks, I'm going for the upset here.
Xavs vs Trinity - time for the Nation to stop hibernating and begin the run to finals.
nicho_magic
26 Jul 2008, 20:08
just purring at collegians.
Over The Post
26 Jul 2008, 20:12
Wandered out to Pine Lodge this afternoon, predictions of a hard fast start were dead wrong. Ivanhoe didn't really get into gear in the first half and De La were right up there. Then OI blazed away 7.3 to 0.3 in the third to seal the game, due mainly to dominance in the midfield and De La's utter inability to hit a target smaller than a large warehouse.
Hint: If you're in the back pocket, don't bounce twice while running sideways and then kick across the face of goal straight to an opposition player. Especially *twice*.
DLS staged a comeback in a last quarter goalfest with both sides kicking six majors each, but the margin was never in doubt. Heta was a standout for OI and managed to kick his first goal in two years.
Over The Post
27 Jul 2008, 18:36
http://railsimpro.com/junk/a0814.gif
I went down to the Trott on Saturday to watch the top of the table clash between Collegians and STBMT.
Collegians looked fantastic, one of the better performances that i have seen from them for the year.
It was also the first time i had seen STBMT for the year, so not sure where their performance rates.
TheProf
28 Jul 2008, 10:41
OI vs DLS - a must-win for De La but can they overcome the hard fast start of Ivanhoe at home? It's either going to be a thriller or else De La will capitulate early and it'll be a blowout.
Collegians vs SMBT - another hard to pick game, my feeling is St Bedes (how come nobody calls them St Bogans now they are in A section?) will be bitten in the bum by inaccurate kicking and will go down despite more scoring shots.
Brighton vs Blacks - Brighton at Optus Oval, Blacks will give them a run for their money for a good part of the game but I don't think they have the legs.
Blues vs OS - I didn't think Blues were all that impressive against Blacks, I'm going for the upset here.
Xavs vs Trinity - time for the Nation to stop hibernating and begin the run to finals.
Ahhhhh, it's great to see the bogan spirit/mentality so proudly upheld by St Bernards last year lives on in 2008 through St.Bedes. Safe to say they own the mantle as having some of the worst blokes (& supporters) in A-Grade.
And can someone tell me what's the go with the 2 big Wintles? They are NQR!! They spend more time throwing punches and mouthing off and leave no time for getting a kick. Shadows of there former selves.
As for the fooy - boy, did the Tigers get taught a lesson!
The Hyphen 5
28 Jul 2008, 14:22
Interesting piece of useless information is that if 1 F.Watts can repeat the feats of his outings against each of the 4 remaining Collegians opponents he will end up on the magical 3 figures at the end of the H&A season.
hotdigitydog
28 Jul 2008, 16:50
QUOTE: And can someone tell me what's the go with the 2 big Wintles? They are NQR!! They spend more time throwing punches and mouthing off and leave no time for getting a kick. Shadows of there former selves.
As for the fooy - boy, did the Tigers get taught a lesson![/quote]
I think you will find both Wintles have been in the best players for the majority of the year. So i may be right in thinking that they have been doing more than mouthing off and throwing punches.
We did get taught a lesson and happy to cop it on the chin. As far as out supporters go they are no different than any other club. Its people like you who are the idiot supporters.
Were going to be a around for a long time, our club structure and junior strength will only make us better and better year in year out.
babyinablender
28 Jul 2008, 17:35
QUOTE: And can someone tell me what's the go with the 2 big Wintles? They are NQR!! They spend more time throwing punches and mouthing off and leave no time for getting a kick. Shadows of there former selves.
I think you will find both Wintles have been in the best players for the majority of the year. So i may be right in thinking that they have been doing more than mouthing off and throwing punches.
We did get taught a lesson and happy to cop it on the chin. As far as out supporters go they are no different than any other club. Its people like you who are the idiot supporters.
Were going to be a around for a long time, our club structure and junior strength will only make us better and better year in year out.[/quote]
Well in fact they are different from the majority of clubs in the top flight as the Tigers supporters travel to both home and AWAY games.
This was seen again on the weekend where the Tiger supporters easily outnumbered the home team supporters.......
diablo14
28 Jul 2008, 18:55
Well in fact they are different from the majority of clubs in the top flight as the Tigers supporters travel to both home and AWAY games.
This was seen again on the weekend where the Tiger supporters easily outnumbered the home team supporters.......
I live 5 minutes from Brindisi St and I've been to just as many away games as home.
Punch From Behind
28 Jul 2008, 19:56
I live 5 minutes from Brindisi St and I've been to just as many away games as home.
The tigers are so lucky to have you!
diablo14
28 Jul 2008, 20:49
The tigers are so lucky to have you!
I go watch them any time it doesn't conflict with a Geelong game.
God Yeah
30 Jul 2008, 13:16
Afternoon All,
As we get to the business end of the season we concentrate on 3 things
1. Finals/Premiers
2. Relegation battle
3. Comp B&F
For mine Collegians will win the flag, OT and Blacks to face the drop and Shields from DLS to win the B&F.
We love to hear the thoughts of my learned friends.
God
hotdigitydog
30 Jul 2008, 14:14
Afternoon All,
As we get to the business end of the season we concentrate on 3 things
1. Finals/Premiers
2. Relegation battle
3. Comp B&F
For mine Collegians will win the flag, OT and Blacks to face the drop and Shields from DLS to win the B&F.
We love to hear the thoughts of my learned friends.
God
Collegians really should win it but Xavs for me, think they will peak at the right time as usual. Scotch no chance but still would not discount SBMT at all.
OT & Blacks bye bye
Sam Anstey SBMT B&F
Blueboys11
30 Jul 2008, 14:43
Old Ivan Vs Collegians Grannie, with OI coming out on top.
Relegation - Blacks and OT's
B&F - Curatolo - Old Ivan
can anyone tell me will bert "the snake" collins play in the ones this week?
SharkBait
30 Jul 2008, 23:04
can anyone tell me will bert "the snake" collins play in the ones this week?
Nah him and Kinna are to watch their mate David 'the crowd pleaser' Teasdale play for Old Mentonians
webbo_83
31 Jul 2008, 11:41
Blacks and De La get the chop.
OI to defeat Collegians in the big dance - Toovey DESTROYING Watts in a surprise move will go a long way to ensuring OI come away with it. After a wasted season, all the ex AFL blokes follow Riesy back to Balwyn, and Collegians thus fall to B Grade in 2010.
B&F - Fergus (the umpires get just as excited about big goalkickers as the rest of us)
Punch From Behind
31 Jul 2008, 11:59
OI to defeat Collegians in the big dance - Toovey DESTROYING Watts in a surprise move will go a long way to ensuring OI come away with it. After a wasted season, all the ex AFL blokes follow Riesy back to Balwyn, and Collegians thus fall to B Grade in 2010.
B&F - Fergus (the umpires get just as excited about big goalkickers as the rest of us)
I reckon you might be on the money!
But with Toovey down back on Watts who kicks the score for OI? you can say anyone but Luxon.... couldn't get a kick in a stampede that bloke!
The word is they will all be following C. Holst to Warrandyte footy club, he is very close with a bloke that runs around in their lower grades, but apparently he has some pull.... watch this space for more news on the mass exodus from collegians to warrandyte at seasons end.
nicho_magic
31 Jul 2008, 13:38
pft. i've said it all year. i'll say it again... collegians will win the flag... who cares about the rest
nicho_magic
31 Jul 2008, 13:39
I reckon you might be on the money!
But with Toovey down back on Watts who kicks the score for OI? you can say anyone but Luxon.... couldn't get a kick in a stampede that bloke!
The word is they will all be following C. Holst to Warrandyte footy club, he is very close with a bloke that runs around in their lower grades, but apparently he has some pull.... watch this space for more news on the mass exodus from collegians to warrandyte at seasons end.
that last paragraph is a absolute pisser.
Ahhhhh, it's great to see the bogan spirit/mentality so proudly upheld by St Bernards last year lives on in 2008 through St.Bedes. Safe to say they own the mantle as having some of the worst blokes (& supporters) in A-Grade.
And can someone tell me what's the go with the 2 big Wintles? They are NQR!! They spend more time throwing punches and mouthing off and leave no time for getting a kick. Shadows of there former selves.
Totally agree with the prof. St Bedes remind me of the old days with sides like parkside,alphington,glenhuntly and so on.Lets hope old xavs or scotch give them a bit of their own treatment.Let someone like frosty shirtfront a few.
Peter Knights
31 Jul 2008, 23:57
[quote=Merton;11903477]Totally agree with the prof. St Bedes remind me of the old days with sides like parkside,alphington,glenhuntly and so on.Lets hope old xavs or scotch give them a bit of their own treatment.Let someone like frosty shirtfront a few.[/quote
OEG posters just can't get that chip off their shoulder. Obviously all that aviation fuel you breathe has made you all inbred out that way! And Parkside and Alphington.....what was running down your leg then still runs! Your post is so weak. Get off your bum and help the few workers you have at Essendon instead of taking pots shots at other clubs. One word for you guys and you can chose it!
Half Back Pocket
1 Aug 2008, 11:54
Totally agree with the prof. St Bedes remind me of the old days with sides like parkside,alphington,glenhuntly and so on.Lets hope old xavs or scotch give them a bit of their own treatment.Let someone like frosty shirtfront a few.
You are being ridiculous. To compare St. Bedes to Parkside, Glenhuntly and Alphington is just stupid. Guys like Stretton, Rafferty, Sansonetti are relics of the 70's/80's and wouldn't be tolerated in todays game.:thumbsd:
Half Back
1 Aug 2008, 16:32
OX over OI
OB over Blues
SBMT over OT
Scotch over De la
Coll over Blues
ultimate hater
1 Aug 2008, 16:35
70's/80's.... riiight... if i was alive maybe i could relate better...
anyway, tips... why has no-one put their tips in yet? odd..
Old Brighton v Uni Blues - Brighton just have to keep winning if they want to make finals and have a crack...
StBedes v Old Trinity - St bedes easily... Although dont expect it to blow out to more than 20points, trinity can make any game a scrap, although on such a small ground it'll make it very hard...
Old Scotch v De La - Scotchies are in fine touch, but de la always throw in a few upsets at the tail end of the season with relegation at their heels.. scotch just
Uni Blacks v Collegians - no brainer... violets by plenty.. watts to kick 9, taft 6
Old Xavs v Old Ivanhoe - game of the round.... hard to go against ivanhoes form and they don't struggle on the big grounds as some suggest... but i just cant go against xavs in crunch games at this time of the season... but it'd be preferable for us to have xavs lose by a point..
diablo14
1 Aug 2008, 17:18
My tips
Relegation - Blacks, DLS
Flag - Collegians
B&F - Sam Anstey (SBMT)
This week
OX over OI
SBMT over OT
OS over DLS
Coll v Blacks
OB over Blues
river man
1 Aug 2008, 17:20
OX over OI
OB over Blues
SBMT over OT
De la over scotch
Coll over Blues[/quote]
OX over OI
OB over Blues
SBMT over OT
De la over scotch
Coll over Blues
ITSMYNAME
1 Aug 2008, 19:18
Ivanhoe over Old Xavs
Blues over Brighton
Trinity over st bedes
De La over Scotch
Blakcs over Collegians - taft is a hideous singer.
tips...
Xavs over OI
Beachboys over Blues
StBogans over Trinity
Scotchies roll De la Soul
Lions thump Blacks
[quote=Merton;11903477]Totally agree with the prof. St Bedes remind me of the old days with sides like parkside,alphington,glenhuntly and so on.Lets hope old xavs or scotch give them a bit of their own treatment.Let someone like frosty shirtfront a few.[/quote
OEG posters just can't get that chip off their shoulder. Obviously all that aviation fuel you breathe has made you all inbred out that way! And Parkside and Alphington.....what was running down your leg then still runs! Your post is so weak. Get off your bum and help the few workers you have at Essendon instead of taking pots shots at other clubs. One word for you guys and you can chose it!
Peter the stuff that ran down my leg is the stuff that comes out of your mouth, everytime you open it.
uglydermie
2 Aug 2008, 10:21
You are being ridiculous. To compare St. Bedes to Parkside, Glenhuntly and Alphington is just stupid. Guys like Stretton, Rafferty, Sansonetti are relics of the 70's/80's and wouldn't be tolerated in todays game.:thumbsd:
And lets not forget the great 3/4 time speech by Laurie Stretton when he coached Old Ivanhoe in the 80's. It went something like this...
"Your not a man until you've F#@KED a man". Needless to say all the Ivanhoe blokes trotted back to their positions in the knowledge that they were men!
(written and authorised by IGS past student number 232323, who never pulled on a brown and white old boys jumper)
Ugly out!
Over The Post
2 Aug 2008, 13:01
Brighton vs Blues - Brighton are my Collingwood, every time I pick them they fail dismally, every time I don't they run rampant
StBedes vs Trinity - SHOULD be a no-brainer
Scotch vs DLS - definitely a bogey side for De La
Blacks vs Coll - would Collegians be resting players? Hope not
Xavs vs Ivanhoe - although I've been impressed with OI the last couple of times I've seen them, and won't be sorry if they win
diablo14
2 Aug 2008, 18:03
SBMT d OT 18.15.123 - 15.13.103
Scores were level at 3 quarter time, with the Tigers edge in skill and height proving the difference in the end. Trinity certainly had a real dip, but just didn't have enough class to pull off the win.
diablo14
2 Aug 2008, 18:04
70's/80's.... riiight... if i was alive maybe i could relate better...
anyway, tips... why has no-one put their tips in yet? odd..
Old Brighton v Uni Blues - Brighton just have to keep winning if they want to make finals and have a crack...
StBedes v Old Trinity - St bedes easily... Although dont expect it to blow out to more than 20points, trinity can make any game a scrap, although on such a small ground it'll make it very hard...
Old Scotch v De La - Scotchies are in fine touch, but de la always throw in a few upsets at the tail end of the season with relegation at their heels.. scotch just
Uni Blacks v Collegians - no brainer... violets by plenty.. watts to kick 9, taft 6
Old Xavs v Old Ivanhoe - game of the round.... hard to go against ivanhoes form and they don't struggle on the big grounds as some suggest... but i just cant go against xavs in crunch games at this time of the season... but it'd be preferable for us to have xavs lose by a point..
Couldn't have called it any better UH :thumbsu:
Ivanhoe absolutely smashed by Xavs today and finished for 2008.
Did anyone else feel that earth tremor at E.P on Sat?
Max Leader
4 Aug 2008, 11:26
The after shocks could be felt at "The Trott", "Brindisi", "Camberwell Oval" and maybe down at the "Beach".
Richard Clay Torpedoes
4 Aug 2008, 13:05
Did N.Bye slip in a ruck contest and hit the pristine EP deck at some stage in the game?
RCT
Over The Post
5 Aug 2008, 01:01
http://railsimpro.com/junk/a0815.gif
Half Back started the rot by tipping Blues to be beaten by both Brighton and Collegians... I decided I'd be soft-hearted and give him (and the rest of you cut'n'paste merchants) the benefit of the doubt.
Not a good week for Scribe to miss his tips!
Xavs looking ominous.
Have now got most of their quality players at the right time.
BrianSpeaking
5 Aug 2008, 13:37
Xavs looking ominous.
Have now got most of their quality players at the right time.
Xavs form line over the last month has been very average, Im not sure a win over the poo browns all of a sudden makes them the team to beat. They are just a top 4 team atm and a first semi of OS vs OX would be very interesting...will OS finally avenge the miscarriage of justice from the 97 GF?
ultimate hater
5 Aug 2008, 14:34
i would have thought the collegians (1st on the ladder) 90point demolishing of stbedes (2nd on the ladder) 2 weeks ago was more ominous than xavs' 60point win vs a 6th place team...? but hey, why put things into perspective...
Eddie Woloschek
5 Aug 2008, 14:36
It's about the next couple of months, Brian, not the last month.
Don't get carried away about Scotch avenging 1997 - Xavs are still fuming about getting beaten in a final by Scotch in 1959.
i would have thought the collegians (1st on the ladder) 90point demolishing of stbedes (2nd on the ladder) 2 weeks ago was more ominous than xavs' 60point win vs a 6th place team...? but hey, why put things into perspective...
Whatever helps you sleep at night hater.
welcome back Soupsey!
ultimate hater
5 Aug 2008, 15:32
appreciated.. too bad i wasn't involved last year though..
i just find it funny how the same people that were shooting down others for talking themselves up are the same ones that are doing just that and only after beating a team 2 spots out of the four...
but whatever gets your rocks off soupsey...
i just find it funny how the same people that were shooting down others for talking themselves up are the same ones that are doing just that and only after beating a team 2 spots out of the four...
but whatever gets your rocks off soupsey...[/quote]
You do konw in September that................
http://http://violetcrumble.com/images/home_bar_violetcrumble2.jpg
appreciated.. too bad i wasn't involved last year though..
but whatever gets your rocks off soupsey...
Glad to see my humble posts on big footy play such an important role in your day. Already in your head ....pelican!
If Sportscover Arena continues to deteriorate in the state it's in now, would the VAFA have no other option but to move the A Section Grand Final to Sandringham? I reckon Trevor Barker Oval would be a better option in playing the grand final there rather than sticking with tradition and play it at Elsternwick.
diablo14
6 Aug 2008, 22:32
If Sportscover Arena continues to deteriorate in the state it's in now, would the VAFA have no other option but to move the A Section Grand Final to Sandringham? I reckon Trevor Barker Oval would be a better option in playing the grand final there rather than sticking with tradition and play it at Elsternwick.
Better atmosphere too I reckon.
Eddie Woloschek
7 Aug 2008, 00:11
Maybe it's just me, but I've always found the surface at Elsternwick marvellous, and the atmosphere electric, particularly after the game.
The Big Pineapple
7 Aug 2008, 08:52
Maybe it's just me, but I've always found the surface at Elsternwick marvellous, and the atmosphere electric, particularly after the game.
Trust me... it's just you.
Why wouldn't you water the centre square a day before a final?
ultimate hater
7 Aug 2008, 09:25
jascave, please stop flogging Trevor Barker Oval... Everyone knows how in love with it you are... it costs money to use it, elsternwick doesn't (essentially)..
I dont know why I'm responding because, as i've said before, you're a computer generated algorithm which spits out statements and nothing more...
TIPS for the weekend...
Beachboys roll Scotchies
OI get done by Blacks in the upset
Lions roll Trinity
Xavs pump Blues
De La Soul upset the Bogans to fend off relegation
Better atmosphere too I reckon.
Would the VAFA be liable if a severe injury occurs to a finals player if the clubs involved have legitimate concerns [ as every sane person that has seen head quarters this year has ] in regard to the poor surface conditions . Money into the coffers V safety , which way will they go ? The same way they have allways gone .
diablo14
8 Aug 2008, 09:01
OS over OB
OI over Blacks
Coll over OT
OX over Blues
SBMT over DLS
BrianSpeaking
8 Aug 2008, 09:09
Would the VAFA be liable if a severe injury occurs to a finals player if the clubs involved have legitimate concerns [ as every sane person that has seen head quarters this year has ] in regard to the poor surface conditions . Money into the coffers V safety , which way will they go ? The same way they have allways gone .
I thought it wouldnt take long for you to show that you arent involved that much with a club. If you were, you would be aware that both clubs do a pre-game inspection of the ground and then sign off that it is safe to play on, thus giving the VAFA and home club indemnity against any type of legal action in the event of injury.
OB over OS
OI over Blacks
Coll over OT
OX over Blues
SBMT over DLS
Half Back
8 Aug 2008, 10:47
OB over OS
OI over Blacks
OT Over Coll
OX over Blues
SBMT over DLS
river man
8 Aug 2008, 11:46
Brighton roll Scotch, over a meter of snow at hotham at the moment.
OI to bounce back against blacks
Lions over Trinity
Xavs in a close one.
St Bedes just over the dairy bells boys.