View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football
Yeah I'm looking forward to seeing a few games to see how the standard compares to the last few years. OS interests me, when I heard Barry Price was on board as coach I expected them to go ok, even though I'd heard they'd lost a considerable number of guys from last year.
I asked about Handley because I'm hoping to get down to see the OX-OS game on Saturday. Hadn't heard anything about the bloke but people have been talking him up a fair so I was wondering what makes him so good as a FF. All I know of him is that he's a young bloke and he's ex-Union.
Hopefully it'll be a good game with some decent scores kicked.
webbo_83
2 Jun 2006, 09:35
Haven't had a chance to see much Ammos this year - what's the deal with this Handley bloke from OX. Seems to be on a bit of a run, is he a big unit or just a more than handy goalkicker?
He's a big bloke, quick off the mark, leads well and kicks straight. Because he comes from the goalsquare, this means he generally makes the most of his opportunities. Against Old Ivan last weekend he looked dangerous in the first half but didn't get much of it in the second half.
A quick full back, with good support from his fellow defenders should go ok against him, particularly as he doesn't appear to show much at ground level. For a 20 year old to do what he's done, especially since AFL wasn't his first sport as he grew up, is phenomenal all the same.
linger_isgod
2 Jun 2006, 16:59
He did grow up with AFL. Went to rugby in Year 9, came back to footy in Year 11 and did really well. Was always a really big lad and wasn't very fit, but has really trimmed down over the last two years since he left school.
A quick full back is a good option (well, it's always better than a slow full back :p ) but he's also very good in the 1-on-1 in the goal square type of contest. However, with footy being the way it is nowadays though, those situations rarely arise - usually a third man up for the defenders.
Good (surprise) win this afternoon by Trinity over St Bernards at Bulleen today.
Whilst the doggies were without Potter and Madden due to tomorrow's rep game, the home side ran hard and shared the ball around well to set up a 51 point half time margin, cruising home to win by 63 points.
Given we were pantsed by Uni last week by 80 points, it just goes to show home much footy is played 'between the ears'.
Saw OX thump OS today, it was about 11 goals when i left with about ten to go.
Handley was good. OS went with a FB of similar height who was giving up a bit of weight - he actually did a pretty good job on him. The OX delivery forward was very good, especially in comparison to OS, who couldn't move the ball forward past the OX half back line.
Handley had six when I left, he kicked five on that first FB, but four of that five were perfect kicks to him. He's got very good hands and kicked accurately. That FB had a good reach on him and was able to get the fist in a few times, but when the ball was being brought forward as quickly and accurately as it was there wasn't much he could do.
Overall I was impressed with OX. The game itself for the first two and a half quarters was a very good standard. The Scotch Main is pretty wide, which doesn't help things, but the game was good until OX blew them away late in the third. Their midfield destroyed OS, they had numbers running off half back through the middle all day, tireless.
Good game though for the first two quarters and twenty minutes.
OX were in brilliant form, i don't know what happens to them sometimes but yesterday they turned up to play!
OS on the other hand looked as they were struggling from the start, very hard to see how they won 6 straight!
I see Ivanhoe took it right up to OH as well! this is a cracker year with Uni about to start flying as well.
Can anyone shed any light as to what happened at OT vrs St B on Saturday. Correctly tipped as an upset in the record but surely no one expected that sort of score line. Obviously Bernards had a few out but they wouldn't have made that sort of difference to the score. Did they lose any during the game?
Nup.
Bernards were without Chris Liberatore (o/s), Madden & Potter (U23) - that I knew. Trinity were missing Tom Healy, Clint Hillas and Joel Aitken.
How they won is pretty simple really. Unlike last week, Trinity consolidated on their first quarter lead by playing hard running, aggressive footy which set Bernies back on their heels. Winning most centre breaks in the second quarter, sharing the ball around and playing direct footy through the guts helped set up a 51 point half-time lead.
Bernies played better in the second half, however Trinity were pretty determined to win every quarter, only failing by just squaring the last. A much improved performance, but it will take a lot more hard work to get the consistency we're after.
Yea maybe Bernards are not as strong as first thought? Will be interesting to see how they go after the break not sure who they are playing and unable to check the website at this time
Uni seem to be hitting some form as do Xav's, OM's still stuggling CAN THEY WIN A GAME?
looking forward to the games after the break
The Late Mail
7 Jun 2006, 13:59
Old Scotch are not bad but definitely not a "six in a row" good team. I think as the season wears that they will come back to the field and finish in their customary 4th to 5th position. Their probably not as bad as the weekend result indicates, Tallent is very important to their midfield though.
I'm not sure Bernards are the real deal either, expect them to finish just outside the four.
Haileybury and Blues are the sleeping giants, there's no premierships played in June so wait for them to hit their straps. OX will always be there despite some occassional bad performances.
For the teams that have consistently played in finals/ grand finals, I can understand how it would be hard to come up every week in the home & away season.
Old Scotch are not bad but definitely not a "six in a row" good team. I think as the season wears that they will come back to the field and finish in their customary 4th to 5th position. Their probably not as bad as the weekend result indicates, Tallent is very important to their midfield though.
I'm not sure Bernards are the real deal either, expect them to finish just outside the four.
Haileybury and Blues are the sleeping giants, there's no premierships played in June so wait for them to hit their straps. OX will always be there despite some occassional bad performances.
For the teams that have consistently played in finals/ grand finals, I can understand how it would be hard to come up every week in the home & away season.
Valid Point regarding Scotch but 1 or 2 rep players would not have made any difference on Sat. I have seen the Bernies play 2 games this year, 1 was very impressive the other not at all, hard to know with them.
Haileybury a sleeping Giant????? I hate to see them when they wake up!!!!
Supa Frank
8 Jun 2006, 12:44
Valid Point regarding Scotch but 1 or 2 rep players would not have made any difference on Sat. I have seen the Bernies play 2 games this year, 1 was very impressive the other not at all, hard to know with them.
Haileybury a sleeping Giant????? I hate to see them when they wake up!!!!
Hopefully Bernies keep playing S H I T, we (OMs) are at the snakepit after the break and it could be ugly if Bernies are in form.
Remember going back a few months, you heard it hear first from SF- "Fried Rice wouldn't see out the year" I stand well and truely by this statement.
The Late Mail
8 Jun 2006, 17:33
Way to destabilise your own club SF.
JerryCollins
9 Jun 2006, 10:01
Its interesting that the OTs have started the season slowly. With Big Cat and Rambo breathing fire into the side and a couple of Butlers just being so pornnnnnnnn it makes for an intersting season. Look out OT's are back
Yes JC, the OT's are an interesting side. Apart from the Uni game, OT's have been a chance in all other 6 games, and have had two vistories against two very good teams. Section A seems pretty even this year. When you have Xavs flogging undefeated OS one week, and being beaten by equal second bottom OT's another?? it is hard to work out.
At 2-5, it will be interesting to see where the OT's go from here. At worst, if the Eagles improve, they may fall with OM's to B Grade. At best, i think they can finish between 5-7. I think OH, UB and Xavs are the 3 stand outs in talent. OS have 6 wins on the board, so are likely to make the 4. St.B and OI IMO will miss the 4.
Another team that has been going along nicely without to much attention is De La, they are travelling well and i reckon they could upset some of the bigger teams in the second half of the year, they run hard and use the ball well and also seem to have plenty of depth.
OI will drop off IMO as will Bernards, bye bye OM's
OT's rely to heavily on their guns and if they are down they struggle.
Marc might also surprise a few sides, don't take them to lightly
junior 5
9 Jun 2006, 14:15
Just wondering how many 19's are in the marcellin senior side. Does anyone no names, postion of these players?
Derek Z
10 Jun 2006, 20:19
Just wondering how many 19's are in the marcellin senior side. Does anyone no names, postion of these players?
a heap have played 1's this year, in no particular order-
Bungie, pesa, JB, Frase, Abes, Sunshine MacLaren, Dela, Mangas, Coggers, Tommy Nixon & Cappy have all played 1's, with Bluey Mcglin And Tommy Stafford from last years u19 side also playing games..........
chelsworthgale
12 Jun 2006, 14:10
a heap have played 1's this year, in no particular order-
Bungie, pesa, JB, Frase, Abes, Sunshine MacLaren, Dela, Mangas, Coggers, Tommy Nixon & Cappy have all played 1's, with Bluey Mcglin And Tommy Stafford from last years u19 side also playing games..........
papaluca is a young one too, slipperly little sucker, knows how to read the pill well.
Supa Frank
13 Jun 2006, 18:06
Way to destabilise your own club SF.
I'm pretty sure there may be some instabilty at OMs already as we are 0 and 7, you brain surgeon!
So SF why have you chosen to reach for the sledgehammer rather than trying to repair the wall? Have you decided to give the season away? Hardly seems to be the good clubman approach that a 0-7 win/loss ratio would demand (in my opinion).
Given the way De La play their football I am reluctant to say they have proven themselves as stayers in A grade. Conditions have been remarkably still, which suits their carry with short possession style. If it should get wet and windy (we do live in Melbourne) then I think the conditions will take their toll on the young De La side.
The Late Mail
15 Jun 2006, 13:42
Have to agree with you on that one Scribe. I think it's plainly obvious to everyone that the OMs are struggling this year. The last thing they need is their own (disgruntled players?) airing their dirty laundry on a public forum such as this one. You might be right about Rice but you're clearly not helping the situation SF (assuming people actually read this), nor your struggling team mates.
holding
15 Jun 2006, 16:43
I have heard that O'farrell has broken his leg and is going to miss the remainder of this season is that true?
Supergrass
15 Jun 2006, 17:05
Have not heard.
How do you reckon his teammate 'Disco' went in the Legends game?
Imagine if he went down as well last night.
Nicho would be fuming.
Destination A Grade
15 Jun 2006, 17:43
I have heard that O'farrell has broken his leg and is going to miss the remainder of this season is that true?
I thought it was something to do with his hip.
Supa Frank
16 Jun 2006, 15:54
So SF why have you chosen to reach for the sledgehammer rather than trying to repair the wall? Have you decided to give the season away? Hardly seems to be the good clubman approach that a 0-7 win/loss ratio would demand (in my opinion).
Scribe, I am being as honest as possible on this thread (Unlike others), everybody likes Aker for his fresh approach. I will still be out there this Saturday giving it my all as I have done for the club for a few years now!
All I am trying to say is that Special Fried Rice is probably not the way forward. Ask the other 8 senior blokes who left the club at the beginning of this year.
ditchdavey
16 Jun 2006, 18:38
Some one please post me a best A grade team side and what club. Im going to go recruit.
basic starter
16 Jun 2006, 19:08
SF
Who are you? Why do you unveil your yourself? If you are so keen to be rid of me why not just say it? Be a man tell me who you are?
Cracks are appearing at Camberwell.
Trinity 9.12.66 defeated Scotch 8.13.61.
Happy days at Bulleen :D
Must follow it up next Sunday against OMs :thumbsu:
holding
18 Jun 2006, 22:38
Scribe - I wouldn't be to pleased with the efforts yesterday, Pretty ordinary performance from both sides! As for the cracks appearing there was a number of big names missing from the Scotch line up i wouldn't count them out just yet, great win though.
If anyone can fill me in on what happened at the Uni VS Marc match that would be great! that was the biggest shock outta all the matches.
If anyone can fill me in on what happened at the Uni VS Marc match that would be great! that was the biggest shock outta all the matches.[/quote]
really top game off footy bad luck about the umps, Even gaame all day only 4 points in it at the last break and the eagles were able to get a run on with a few goals and hold off the blues. Really good game to watch.
Destination A Grade
19 Jun 2006, 11:39
Supa Frank, perhaps your efforts to unite the club are paying off. Special FR must have held a few aces up his sleeve.
holding
19 Jun 2006, 12:06
Thanks Fish1, do you know if the uni boys had many missing? This is great for the confidence of the young Marc boys!
basic starter
19 Jun 2006, 18:43
Supa Frank, perhaps your efforts to unite the club are paying off. Special FR must have held a few aces up his sleeve.
Got plenty more - next week SFR is pulling on the jumper. Can't wait - Ammos soft as butter - I'll slice and dice go the Rice - Super coach Super player
The players love me and we are headed for Staying in A grade just like your name
SF - you are a f-wit .. How many league games did you play?
JerryCollins
21 Jun 2006, 12:48
Can anyone tell me who was in the best for the OT"S vs Scotch last Saturday.
holding
21 Jun 2006, 15:30
Jerry Collins - To be honest there was no-one that had a rippa, Cultera was handy for T's provided an option all day but was held to 2 goals, Rambo was ok as was big cat, the Burrows boys bother did their bit, pretty good all round effort from the T's
For the visitors Lorenzini was probably best, but OS were missing a bunch of players like Flynn, Pugsley, Ross and another 2 or 3 who are normally walk up starters, great effort by the T's to not let Scotch get going.
Supergrass
22 Jun 2006, 12:12
I think mid season predictions are required from all Big Footy participants after this round of matches.
Categories such as premier, Woodrow Medallist, best/worst bloke, biggest showpony, best/worst hair, best canteen, biggest celebration of a goal, etc should all be covered.
chelsworthgale
22 Jun 2006, 14:20
I think mid season predictions are required from all Big Footy participants after this round of matches.
Categories such as premier, Woodrow Medallist, best/worst bloke, biggest showpony, best/worst hair, best canteen, biggest celebration of a goal, etc should all be covered.
BEST HAIR
Ivanhoe No. 10 - C. Crowley... his bouffant should be commended, never has a hair out of place and no matter what the conditions its always in great form!
Slay Master G
22 Jun 2006, 14:37
BEST HAIR
Ivanhoe No. 10 - C. Crowley... his bouffant should be commended, never has a hair out of place and no matter what the conditions its always in great form!
I always enjoyed Crowley's much publicised bowl cut with blond tips. Broke many hearts at the Motel hot dog stand!
Supa Frank
22 Jun 2006, 16:16
Thanks DAG, good team effort but still along way to go before we can pull ourselves from the dropzone. We have OT this week and are a chance after last weeks confidence builder.
As for Special FR, he isn't that bad, just thought he should have thought things through better before asking one of our best onballers to leave in the pre-season.
The Late Mail
23 Jun 2006, 16:45
Premier:
Old Haileybury: their record in finals over the past four years speaks for itself, full of big game players...
Woodrow Medal
Toss up between Bernard Dineen and Nick Stone from Collegians. Both in great form, impossible to split them.
Best Bloke in amateur football
Jonathon Horne: a bit like Ryan Lonie was the toughest man in the AFL three years ago.
Worst bloke in amateur football
Didn’t you hear? Bad blokes don’t play amateur football, they're all in the eastern league.
Biggest show pony:
Brett Dobson from Marcelin. When is someone going to tell that guy to pull his head in? Up there with Acker, don’t know how his coach puts up with it.
Best Canteen:
I've heard the hygiene in ammos canteens can't be trusted so I just head to the local Vietnamese joint in Victoria St. Pork rolls are fantastic, the garlic mayo is to die for.
Biggest Celebrations after a goal:
Not really in a position to comment, I’ve only seen OMs games this year.
Plumber
23 Jun 2006, 20:28
Is it true a certain coach was quoted as saying "I don't have friends, I have premierships."
Drizzle
23 Jun 2006, 22:30
Is it true a certain coach was quoted as saying "I don't have friends, I have premierships."
True.
The extension of the quote goes something along the lines...
"I never had sex before a game, thats 300 roots I missed out on. But I don't care. I don't have friends, I have premierships. If you are gonna get a root, make her go on top. She's gotta do all the work. You've gotta relax!"
Woodrow Medal
Toss up between Bernard Dineen and Nick Stone from Collegians. Both in great form, impossible to split them.
TLM,
If your post is serious, then check your information, this mail is way off for several reasons (which most A grade people would be able to point out immediately). If not serious, it's not particularly funny anyhow.
If you have continued your OM game watching you would've seen them recover from a 40 point half-time deficit to fall 7 points shy of OTs this afternoon. Andy Cultrera's grab in the second 2nd quarter was an absolute ripper. NB - Cults actually plays for the opposition though.
The loss puts OMs effectively 3 games into relegation, and leaves Trinity one game out of the four. Uni and Marcellin appear to be slipping.....it's going to be a very very tight back 9!!!
Hi Scribe,
Do you agree that Uni will recover, as there list is pretty strong, while it will probably be a Bulleen battle (OT's / Marc) as to who will go to B with OM's?
Half way mark. What are your tips for the final 4 (in order) and relegation.
PS - That guy was only taking the **** on Ex Marc Dineen and a B-Grader. Nobody is that stupid.
PPS - Agree, it wasn't funny!
Hi Scribe,
Do you agree that Uni will recover, as there list is pretty strong, while it will probably be a Bulleen battle (OT's / Marc) as to who will go to B with OM's?
Half way mark. What are your tips for the final 4 (in order) and relegation.
PS - That guy was only taking the **** on Ex Marc Dineen and a B-Grader. Nobody is that stupid.
PPS - Agree, it wasn't funny!
DGM,
You may have me mistaken for Jono Horn. I'm the C section scribe (Fraser Cameron) and, as a current player & club secretary of Old Trinity I won't be making any top 4 or bottom 2 predictions!!!
Let's just say there's many twists and turns to come and whilst traditionally 7 wins should see you stay up, and 11 should see you make the finals, this year is so tight it may well require 8 to avoid relegation and only 10 to see finals action.
holding
26 Jun 2006, 13:37
I watched the Uni VS Ivanhoe game on Sat and to be honest Uni had to many players sitting off the back waiting for an easy kick, Ivanhoe had much bigger bodies and were prepaired to go in and get it then run in numbers. Uni need to beat Xav's this week or there season is gone and if they don't improve they will be fighting for relegation.
JerryCollins
26 Jun 2006, 15:38
Can anyone give me a quick match review of OTS preformance on Sunday. Also inclue the best. And where is T Vandervene
Toby broke his arm last week, and is now racking up Wick burgers for the next few weeks rather than handball receives. Cultrera kicked 5 and the side played very good team footy in the first half to lead by 40 points. They were still 33 ahead at the final change, but apparently coasted early and conceded 4 goals to nil in the final term. The return to seniors action by Adam Andrews was a highlight, as was the improving form of Zammit and Duggan.
To their credit OMs were dogged and determined. I think if the grounds get heavier, they could still be a factor as they have this amazing knack of ripping unlikely victories out of nowhere, especially in ordinary conditions.
Sorry - I can't give you much more info than that as I left at halftime after plodding through the curtain-raiser and went home to sit on the bog (stupid stomach bug!!). :thumbsd:
footy chick
26 Jun 2006, 19:48
Who might this coach be?
Axel1980
30 Jun 2006, 14:19
Can the Uni boy's get the season back on track and get over the line against Xav's this week?
Apparently they can.
Very interesting results from yesterday with Trinity blowing a 20 point lead at the final change to fall behind the Eagles by a point, and then managing to manufacture a 4th goal to Cults to get their necks back in front. Could be an absolutely crucial loss for the Eagles, who have only won once in the past 8 matches now and must defeat OMs next week to stay in touch with Uni and the sides in equal 4th.
Biggest upset would have to be De La over the Bloods, a massive win for the visitors at McKinnon, and it certainly looks as if both promoted sides will be able to stay up and quite possibly feature in September action as well. Scotch over OMs was regulation, and Hoers over Bernies likewise. The Xavs' loss to Uni at Toorak Park wouldn't surprise too many either as they seem to have a home ground disadvantage. NB - Tim Fleming played his first game for the year (and 1st since 2000). I think he'll be a handy inclusion for the second half.
I can't see the top three sides missing out on finals now, but the battle for the final spot will be intriguing. With percentage separating 4th and 7th, and Uni only a game behind with a massive % buffer, it's really anyone's from here......
Scribe your a geniarse!!!!! how did you know they would win?
hahahaha
If De La can continue without to many injuries they could sneak in. Have Uni left the run to late? are they any chance of seeing finals Action?
Supergrass
3 Jul 2006, 17:35
De La will have to knock Xavs out of contention to make the finals. Will this occur? You would probably have to say no.
P.Nicholson is apparently the friendless, premiership laden coach.
Think it may be a way to show his allegiance to the cause of his team and players rather than actual fact.
Richo- true champion
3 Jul 2006, 18:15
Old Trinity have won 4 on the trot and certainly aren't easy to beat at home... i think they will continue to surprise most and it will be between them and Xavs for that final spot in the 4.
Also, it wouldn't surprise me if Ivanhoe started to drop off...there 2's aren't strong, so if they were too have a few injuries I think they might be in abit of trouble...anyway its a good test for them against Trinity at Bulleen this week.
webbo_83
3 Jul 2006, 18:31
Also, it wouldn't surprise me if Ivanhoe started to drop off...there 2's aren't strong, so if they were too have a few injuries I think they might be in abit of trouble...anyway its a good test for them against Trinity at Bulleen this week.
If you had a look through the OI's team sheets, you'd see that last week they were missing Weddle, Luxon, Butler, Oates, Gieschen, Stevens and Branigan from their best 22. In anyone's language, thats a pretty decent group of blokes to get back in the second half of the season. J Hope also copped a big knock in the first quarter, and his influence was less than usual.
Scribe your a geniarse!!!!! how did you know they would win?
hahahaha
If De La can continue without to many injuries they could sneak in. Have Uni left the run to late? are they any chance of seeing finals Action?
Nup - Uni are still a chance, given their massive percentage. As mentioned before, the competition is so close that 7 wins may not stave off relegation, and 10 wins and a good % could get you into 4th spot.
It all points to 8 more weeks of intrigue and nail-biting results!!!
chelsworthgale
3 Jul 2006, 20:47
If you had a look through the OI's team sheets, you'd see that last week they were missing Weddle, Luxon, Butler, Oates, Gieschen, Stevens and Branigan from their best 22. In anyone's language, thats a pretty decent group of blokes to get back in the second half of the season. J Hope also copped a big knock in the first quarter, and his influence was less than usual.
Giesh played on the weekend and J Hope spent most of the 2nd half on the bench... add to the list of injuries G Hope, mad dog is due back soon he'll look better in the brown and white than the yellow waterboy outfit!
rainman06
3 Jul 2006, 20:55
just wondering if one J.Horn would care to UNLOCK his tip on hailebury to beat dela at the badlands
CHRISTMASHAMS
3 Jul 2006, 21:29
Has anyone heard or seen a bloke, Ben Doherty. I think he is playing with Old Scotch?
Axel1980
3 Jul 2006, 23:30
CHRISTMASHAMS - Your correct Ben does play at Old Scotch, played 1 of the praccie matches and then played 1 or 2 weeks in the resies but been playing seniors since then.
Max Leader
4 Jul 2006, 15:03
After all the discussion pre season, has A. Lord surfaced anywhere?:cool:
whispers81
4 Jul 2006, 17:05
He's definitely signed up for a club...
chelsworthgale
4 Jul 2006, 18:37
I could be wrong but I did hear Seaford...
This forum is not a place to withhold information.
It's Ivanhoe
chelsworthgale
4 Jul 2006, 22:46
This forum is not a place to withhold information.
It's Ivanhoe
June 30 has passed and he hasn't pulled on the boots all year... and he isnt on the books so i think you'll find he isn't down at chelsworth
Destination A Grade
5 Jul 2006, 09:04
Ivanhoe Assumption??? Massive recruit for them.....
The Late Mail
5 Jul 2006, 09:39
Giesh played on the weekend and J Hope spent most of the 2nd half on the bench... add to the list of injuries G Hope, mad dog is due back soon he'll look better in the brown and white than the yellow waterboy outfit!
What relation is Gieshen to the one playing at East Ringwood?
Destination A Grade
5 Jul 2006, 10:09
Jarrod (Old Ivanhoe) is brothers with Rhy (Old Ivanhoe) and Nick (East Ringwood)
chelsworthgale
5 Jul 2006, 16:29
Ivanhoe Assumption??? Massive recruit for them.....
Oh thats what drizzle meant DAG! being only a few 100m apart it is easy to mix them up!
yet to see him in the best for IA but he should come good at the end of the year for them
The Human Keg
8 Jul 2006, 11:37
A Lord is garbage
OH go down again, 3 losses in a row maybe the lack of depth has finally caught up with them?
Thoughts>
OH go down again, 3 losses in a row maybe the lack of depth has finally caught up with them?
Thoughts>
Possibly - the fact they felt it necessary to play Stewart Leowe last week (not sure if he played again this time) rather than promote an U19 or reserve player is noteworthy. Looking at the list of players who played, there's not many 2's regulars running around in that side, but perhaps they're playing unfit more talented players??
NB - Old Trinity have won their past 5 on the trot, including wins over 2 of the top 3 teams in Old Scotch and Old Ivanhoe. Oh and St Bernards have lost 5 of their past 6. Thoughts?
Trinity are good enough to beat anyone AS LONG as they turn up on the day! Bernards are gone, showed a lot early on but they just don't have the list or depth to keep it up.
OS had another good close win against De La who are also going pretty well. Uni VS OS the week after next will be a cracker
Supergrass
10 Jul 2006, 11:29
Trinity are in super form, the closeness of the competition sees them right in the mix for finals.
Haileybury struggling, just a mid season lull I believe. Nicho will get them back on track.
Xavs have the team to win it again.
Bernards have a stack of injuries at the moment and don't have the depth like previous years to fill the void.
I am guessing there would be a few teams (Scotch, Uni, OH) and perhaps OI or OT that would be hoping that Xavs finish 5th this year.
If Xavs finish 4th or better i think we all know they have the side to win 3 games in September.
Make the finals = Premiership Xavs. But that will not be easy, as they have a tendency to lose a few at home and with Uni storming home, they will need to be careful to not just miss out!
basic starter
11 Jul 2006, 10:03
Thanks DAG, good team effort but still along way to go before we can pull ourselves from the dropzone. We have OT this week and are a chance after last weeks confidence builder.
As for Special FR, he isn't that bad, just thought he should have thought things through better before asking one of our best onballers to leave in the pre-season.
So who are you referring to:
Roberts - not sure what happened there - made all the right noises then once it got a bit hard and saw the hard work ahead called it quits
Berry M - injury prone hardly played a game. He was to worried about trying to get me the sack than to focus on playing surely everyone could see all that going on - gee
Mulqueeny - I thought the guy was a d**khead - I have played hundreds of games of league footy I know the game beter than anyone. I got him.
Studam - he left - get your facts right - not that good anyway
Berry J - no loss either same comments as his brother really
Homer D - never got out on the field
Ferrero - pretty much lied said he was staying then left - he let me down - need character to play the game
Billings - same as Home
Bunn - the guy was a struggling player anyway
I think you need to get your facts right. I have got this club on track. I have the Under 19s with all my work up and going - I mean it is my name and work that has all those kids at the club. Before me the under 19s was a disgrace - I have fixed that. A finals finish is a great outcome by me there.
The twos are solid with a good list we have plenty of depth to build on. We are a chance to win a fair few games on the way home. I have improved the side an incredible amount and I am certain the sign in a matter of weeks to lead this club single handedly like I have done without any help for years - without me SF this club would be gone.
Name yourself SF - we will see how long you last after that - name yourself!
Hey Basic, I was just wondering what your contract is like? Do you get paid bonuses for getting the team in the finals, winning the GF etc.? If you do, what do you get for been responsible for having a club relegated?:confused:
Mulqueeny - I thought the guy was a d**khead - I have played hundreds of games of league footy I know the game beter than anyone. I got him.
I have to put 2 cents in here, Rossy is one of the best blokes i have meet, now playin back at home wld have come back earlier but work and his father kept him in melb. Now playin good footy for the pidgeons and very much liked around the club.
holding
11 Jul 2006, 14:41
The twos are solid with a good list we have plenty of depth to build on. We are a chance to win a fair few games on the way home. I have improved the side an incredible amount and I am certain the sign in a matter of weeks to lead this club single handedly like I have done without any help for years - without me SF this club would be gone.
Yea your 2's have improved a heap! did someone forget to tell you they played in the Grand Final last year? The whole club has gone backwards from last year in my opinion
Supa Frank
12 Jul 2006, 14:51
Roberts - not sure what happened there - made all the right noises then once it got a bit hard and saw the hard work ahead called it quits
Berry M - injury prone hardly played a game. He was to worried about trying to get me the sack than to focus on playing surely everyone could see all that going on - gee
Ferrero - pretty much lied said he was staying then left - he let me down - need character to play the game
Billings - same as Home
I think you need to get your facts right. I have got this club on track. I have the Under 19s with all my work up and going - I mean it is my name and work that has all those kids at the club. Before me the under 19s was a disgrace - I have fixed that. A finals finish is a great outcome by me there.
You are as stupid as you look- By the way, my name is Tony Mokbel, come find me in Lebanon. Hey you may be able to coach them next year as you will not be at OMs.
whispers81
12 Jul 2006, 15:24
You are as stupid as you look- By the way, my name is Tony Mokbel, come find me in Lebanon. Hey you may be able to coach them next year as you will not be at OMs.
Thats not funny, and weak as ****.
Supa Frank
12 Jul 2006, 15:28
Thats not funny, and weak as ****.
Weak? What is your name then, smart guy? Wasn't trying to be funny, just as ridiculous as the prior thread posted!
Supergrass
13 Jul 2006, 11:49
Very surprising about the amount of OM's banter this week.
Surely the range rovers have been loaded up and sent to the alpine regions of Victoria for a week due to the A & B Grade bye?
Broken Social
13 Jul 2006, 15:18
Worst ski season in years the trip would be a waste.
Interesting that J Berry & Studham were disregarded by Basic as no loss, took 2 of the top 3 positions in OM's B&F & from all reports were/are good players?. Supa Frank how's you nose a little out of place?
The Big Pineapple
14 Jul 2006, 14:15
Billings - same as Home
Are you fair dinkum Special Fried? Have a good hard look at yourself. You are defending yourself on an internet chat site. Is that how low you have to stoop? Look at what you've become. :confused:
Plumber
14 Jul 2006, 14:34
Are you fair dinkum Special Fried? Have a good hard look at yourself. You are defending yourself on an internet chat site. Is that how low you have to stoop? Look at what you've become. :confused:
Surely it is someone moonlighting as Special Fried! He would have to be as thick as sh*t to get invovled in that sort of stuff.
The Big Pineapple
14 Jul 2006, 14:58
Surely it is someone moonlighting as Special Fried! He would have to be as thick as sh*t to get invovled in that sort of stuff.
I've reckon I've been round here long enough to know iwhen someone is serious and when someone is taking the *****. Just ask that clown coach from Old Camberwell. I'm pretty confident that it actually is Special Fried. And we all no that AFL players are not the shaprest tools in the shed. Although from Special Frieds effort you could definitely say he's a tool!
the big dog
14 Jul 2006, 18:03
Disappointing that there are two blokes who think they are bigger than their own club (SF and BS).
The Slitherin' Snake
14 Jul 2006, 20:31
I hope that is fair dinkum and really is Rice. If so, it confirms what I've always thought about him and the majority of AFL footballers
dufflecoat supreme
14 Jul 2006, 20:36
Billings - same as Home
basic and frank pull your head in. wash your dirty laundry in your own home.
The Slitherin' Snake
14 Jul 2006, 20:38
Best name on Big Footy Dufflecoat!
Grandstand Guru
15 Jul 2006, 19:07
Slap yourself if you really think that is Special Fried - no way known it could be. I don't know him and couldn't care less one way or another but cannot be him....for starters a number of the names are spelled incorrectly. Given he would have seen them 1000s of times when doing the team/whiteboard etc can't be that far off track.
bazlurhmann
15 Jul 2006, 20:17
Any thoughts on how peter steele is travelling at uni blues. i am an old friend and team mate from seymour. he is a class player and i hope he is dominating.
OK lads - we've been a tad quiet in the past few days. Obviously with the week off there'd be 440-odd A graders keen to hit the park again this weekend.
Some very interesting match-ups this week, and I'd be interested in everyone's thoughts.
Trinity (6/5) -v- Haileybury (7/4)
This should be a cracker!! Last time it was a lopsided affair with the Bloods running rampant, particularly after the last break. It's a bit different now with Haileybury dropping a couple and Trinity on a 5 game streak. The ground is soft, but not boggy as such, so with sunshine predicted for the rest of the week, I think it'll be a case of whose running players can break the lines on the biggest ground in the comp. Ramsden will need help to nullify Jenke/Seccull whilst Beardsley will have a different assignment than usual with BOFFA's unfortunate retirement.
Marcellin (4/7) -v- Old Ivanhoe (7/4)
I think the Hoers will struggle to get back on the winners list, as Marcellin have the speed and skill to worry them. Playing at home should give the Eagles a sniff and they do tend to pull out the digit when required. Look for Bortolotto, Consodine and Dobson to run, run, run and leave the Hoers' big fellas in their wake.
OMs (1/10) -v- Xavs (6/5)
Should be a pretty comfortable win to Xavs as OMs are a shadow of their former selves and they're not playing at Toorak Park!! Having said that, we know OMs have a knack of knocking off the Claret 'n Stouts....nup not this time.
St Bernards (5/6) -v- De La (5/6)
St Bernards are rivalling OMs for the team in the poorest form in the comp, and I can't see then unhinging De La Soul unless the Snakepit faithful can really get behind their boys. Both sides like to run the ball and if the ground is in reasonable knick it should be a quick and entertaining game. I think De La will salute and keep in touch with the four.
Uni Blues (5/6) -v- Old Scotch (9/2)
Probably the marquee match-up of the week is the Cardinals at the Varsity. Scotch have overcome the inevitable hiccup after winning the first 6 straight, but Uni are ready to start their run to September. It's bound to be a quality midfield stoush and I have a funny feeling the Uni boys are about to send a strong message to rest of the comp.
Best of luck to all on the weekend, unless you're wearing purple and black!!
Scribe
Nice work Scribe!
I have a sneaky feeling OX and UB will finish with a rush. OX's list is at full strength for the last 7 games, and Uni are starting to look more like their old self. I predict a replay of last years GF, with a similar result (perhaps a little closer than last)
I think OT will defeat OH on Saturday. The wheel nuts are just loosening up at OH. No depth, 4 losses in a row on the cards!
Plumber
19 Jul 2006, 14:21
Nice work Scribe!
I have a sneaky feeling OX and UB will finish with a rush. OX's list is at full strength for the last 7 games, and Uni are starting to look more like their old self. I predict a replay of last years GF, with a similar result (perhaps a little closer than last)
I think OT will defeat OH on Saturday. The wheel nuts are just loosening up at OH. No depth, 4 losses in a row on the cards!
A little closer than last year? Wasn't it only a kick the difference?
Nah, was only 9 points...