View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43

ultimate hater
8 Aug 2008, 16:03
Brighton
Ivanhoe
Xavs
Collegians
De la

hotdigitydog
8 Aug 2008, 18:25
Scotch over the beachies, Think the beach boys have had their chance
OI to bounce back against blacks
Lions over Trinity
Xavs in a canter as they role into finals time
St Bedes over De La, but is a bit of a bogey ground for us. Also even though we have had basically the bottom three apart from OI coming home is just as tough as these guys are fighting for an A Grade spot next year.

If Beach boys lose this week, top 4 should pretty much be set

Cardio Carl
8 Aug 2008, 18:33
OS over OB
OI over Blacks
Coll over OT
OX over Blues
SBMT over DLS

Over The Post
9 Aug 2008, 12:14
OS vs OB - hard to pick, think the home ground will help
OI vs UBk - in a canter
OT vs Coll - closer than you'd think
Ubl vs Xavs - either a thriller or a whitewash depending on which Blues side runs out
DLS vs SBMT - unsure as De La tend to pull rabbits out of their hat when staring at B section

diablo14
9 Aug 2008, 21:35
OX, Scotchies and SBMT all beaten. Has opened things out for Brighton to make a late charge, and the match against Xavs will be for a finals spot you'd think.

Penski
11 Aug 2008, 09:25
OX, Scotchies and SBMT all beaten. Has opened things out for Brighton to make a late charge, and the match against Xavs will be for a finals spot you'd think.

An amazing set of results on the weekend. I was thinking that after this weekend the 4 was pretty much going to be set. Now it looks as though only Collegians can be assured of where they will finish. All other spots are up for grabs still.

Ivanhoe seemed to be out of contention after last week's results, but are now straight back into the mix. Sets up a great couple of rounds to finish the season.

Blueboys11
11 Aug 2008, 10:07
An amazing set of results on the weekend. I was thinking that after this weekend the 4 was pretty much going to be set. Now it looks as though only Collegians can be assured of where they will finish. All other spots are up for grabs still.

Ivanhoe seemed to be out of contention after last week's results, but are now straight back into the mix. Sets up a great couple of rounds to finish the season.

OI are a bit like Steven Bradbury at the moment.... Unlikely, but looking at the fixture, not totally beyond the realms of possibility...

Max Leader
11 Aug 2008, 14:07
SPORTBET STOPS BETTING ON THE WOODROW AND THE GRAND FINAL

VAFA have advised that betting should be stopped on both, as there is some conjecture on who was reported:

Brendan Iezzi or Fergus Watts

(If Watts, whatch the legal eagles down at EP Tomorrow)

hhound
11 Aug 2008, 14:48
SPORTBET STOPS BETTING ON THE WOODROW AND THE GRAND FINAL

VAFA have advised that betting should be stopped on both, as there is some conjecture on who was reported:

Brendan Iezzi or Fergus Watts

(If Watts, whatch the legal eagles down at EP Tomorrow)

No conjecture at all - Watts reported for striking Iezzi.

hotdigitydog
11 Aug 2008, 15:09
Scotch over the beachies, Think the beach boys have had their chance
OI to bounce back against blacks
Lions over Trinity
Xavs in a canter as they role into finals time
St Bedes over De La, but is a bit of a bogey ground for us. Also even though we have had basically the bottom three apart from OI coming home is just as tough as these guys are fighting for an A Grade spot next year.

If Beach boys lose this week, top 4 should pretty much be set

What a weekend of footy. Beach boys back in the hunt, Scotch just there abouts. Xavs a real chance of missing the top 4. Still think OI are no chance.

Last 2 weeks are going to be good. Whats everyone predictions?

Rhombus
11 Aug 2008, 18:39
Should be an interesting 2 weeks for Scotch.

Vs Xavs at Headquarters would be a terrific win.

Then Trinity who may be fighting for relegation.

Over The Post
11 Aug 2008, 18:58
Horrible weekend for tipping. oops pow SUPRISE! OHHHHHH indeed.

http://railsimpro.com/junk/a0816.gif

ultimate hater
12 Aug 2008, 11:12
bar top spot, so many different possibilites can happen to the 4 over the next 2 weeks.. scotch's draw seems very handy for them..

what happened to xavs last week? i thought the giant was waking?
and st bedes? was it just that de la's home ground advantage was too much? its a very tough ground to play...

Blueboys11
12 Aug 2008, 15:07
bar top spot, so many different possibilites can happen to the 4 over the next 2 weeks.. scotch's draw seems very handy for them..

what happened to xavs last week? i thought the giant was waking?
and st bedes? was it just that de la's home ground advantage was too much? its a very tough ground to play...

I think 'handy' would be the last way i would describe facing Xavs at Elsternwick Park....

Punch From Behind
12 Aug 2008, 15:45
I think 'handy' would be the last way i would describe facing Xavs at Elsternwick Park....

I have a feeling he may have meant the drawn game they had against blacks earlier in the year...

The Big Pineapple
13 Aug 2008, 10:35
No conjecture at all - Watts reported for striking Iezzi.

From the VAFA website looks like he was found not guilty... this correct?

Punch From Behind
13 Aug 2008, 11:19

correct.

How are things up on keilor hill? the boys going to go out in straight sets or make it up to the top flight?

How is your old mate Heritage finding married life?

Blueboys11
13 Aug 2008, 11:29

Appears as though the big names from the big clubs have a very good strike rate at getting off at the VAFA tribunal, whereas others get rubbed out for very little....

The Big Pineapple
13 Aug 2008, 11:36
correct.

How are things up on keilor hill? the boys going to go out in straight sets or make it up to the top flight?

How is your old mate Heritage finding married life?

Yeah, he loves it. The plans for the nursery have been given the tick of approval and the builders will be in the next couple of weeks to start work.

Just one decision now... pink or blue?

hhound
13 Aug 2008, 12:08
Appears as though the big names from the big clubs have a very good strike rate at getting off at the VAFA tribunal, whereas others get rubbed out for very little....

quite surprising - punch was thrown right in front of the umpire, pretty soft but enough to cause a black eye, many have gone for less.

Blueboys11
13 Aug 2008, 12:17
quite surprising - punch was thrown right in front of the umpire, pretty soft but enough to cause a black eye, many have gone for less.

Yes they have....

Cant help but think the heirachy at the VAFA are having a little hand in some of these decisions....

Max Leader
13 Aug 2008, 12:47
Yes they have....

Cant help but think the heirachy at the VAFA are having a little hand in some of these decisions....

So Blueboys11,

you wouldn't consider yourself a big name in VAFA.
:D

webbo_83
13 Aug 2008, 14:30
So Blueboys11,

Blueboys11's hit on an unsuspecting opponent last year was an act of pure thuggery though; if he hadn't been suspended, they may as well have just made the VAFA a free for all with no repercussions.

Blueboys11
13 Aug 2008, 14:44
So Blueboys11,

Nowhere near the stratoshpere of the big name Xavs and Collegians blokes..

Haha...nice work Webbo..

on the trott
13 Aug 2008, 17:23
I know that Sportscover oval has been a hot topic as of late. what are peoples views on C grade finals being played at the Junction oval and then Trevor Barker Oval, while A grade and B grade finals have to play at Sportscover..

why do people think they have done this when they know the state of Sportscover is horrible?

Over The Post
13 Aug 2008, 17:30
More to the point, why are they flogging it this week when its still got patches of new turf?

Schoolboys match tonight, clubbies on Fri night, OX/OS res and seniors on Saturday, and three clubbies on Sunday.

on the trott
13 Aug 2008, 17:42
Good point OTP.. what a joke to think that they can bring the ground up to playing standards over the next few weeks.

I would say the ground will be rat sh!t with the 6 games being played and rain expected for the next 4 days..

They must have magical groundsmen down there to get that ground into top knick!

chicken man
13 Aug 2008, 19:31
have been keeping a keen eye on st bedes over the last few weeks and am just wondering about D. Kinsella how has he been going and will he cement a spot in the ones. heard he celerbrated his 38th birthday the other day which in my books is too old to be running around and chasing tail all day or will long time mentor and number 1 fan L.Beveridge give him another chance, a risky one at that, but love has no barriers in football.

soupsey
13 Aug 2008, 20:07
have been keeping a keen eye on st bedes over the last few weeks and am just wondering about D. Kinsella how has he been going and will he cement a spot in the ones. heard he celerbrated his 38th birthday the other day which in my books is too old to be running around and chasing tail all day or will long time mentor and number 1 fan L.Beveridge give him another chance, a risky one at that, but love has no barriers in football.

Also 28 for St Bedes (sorry I don't know his name but the guy who played a few games at sandy) was also red carded/ reported on Sat. What became of that?

handles
14 Aug 2008, 16:12
I know that Sportscover oval has been a hot topic as of late. what are peoples views on C grade finals being played at the Junction oval and then Trevor Barker Oval, while A grade and B grade finals have to play at Sportscover..

why do people think they have done this when they know the state of Sportscover is horrible?
If the two clubs decide that its not up to standard pre finals will the VAFA over rule and make them play or is there a plan b .

simmer
14 Aug 2008, 21:58
tips for the weekend...

OI over Blues
Lions thump beachboys
Trinity get rolled by De la Soul
Blacks get done by the Bogans in a close one
Scotchies smash Xavs who are G o N E!

Jascave
14 Aug 2008, 23:57
I reckon it would've been a lot better if the VAFA left Sportscover Arena alone and played no matches at all there between now until the week leading up to B/A Section Grand Final weekend which is what they did in the mid 1990s, rather than have 6 matches played over 3 days this weekend which would worsen the state of the ground. It will only be a matter of time before a player does a serious injury at Sportscover Arena, which would once again call into question why the VAFA continues to play games at a ground which is a disgrace.

BrianSpeaking
15 Aug 2008, 00:39
Please Jason....PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!

diablo14
15 Aug 2008, 10:41
OI over Blues
Coll over OB
OT over DLS
SBMT over Blacks
OS over OX

Penski
15 Aug 2008, 10:43
OI over Blues
Coll over OB
OT over DLS
SBMT over Blacks
OX over OS

Half Back
15 Aug 2008, 11:58
Blues Over OI
Coll over OB
DLS Over OT
SBMT over Blacks
OX over OS

ultimate hater
15 Aug 2008, 12:27
Brighton over collegians - heard a rumour they're resting players?? you'd hope not..
Ivanhoe over Blues - comfortable 24points
trinity over de la - just.. will make the last round very interesting..
stbm over blacks - want to find some form coming into finals.. blacks to B grade
xavs over scotch - by a lot... scotch could be gone..

Jascave
15 Aug 2008, 12:33
My selection for the A Section Grand Final match-up would be Collegians v St Bedes Mentone Tigers.

nicho_magic
15 Aug 2008, 13:44
I reckon it would've been a lot better if the VAFA left Sportscover Arena alone and played no matches at all there between now until the week leading up to B/A Section Grand Final weekend which is what they did in the mid 1990s, rather than have 6 matches played over 3 days this weekend which would worsen the state of the ground. It will only be a matter of time before a player does a serious injury at Sportscover Arena, which would once again call into question why the VAFA continues to play games at a ground which is a disgrace.
someone will do a knee with t new turf at sportscover... its terrible under foot.

lock collegians in

ITSMYNAME
15 Aug 2008, 16:41
Blues over Ivanhoe
Brighton over The Purples
De La over Old Trinity
Blacks over Tigers
Xavs over Scotchies

Eddie Woloschek
15 Aug 2008, 17:11
My selection for the A Section Grand Final match-up would be Collegians v St Bedes Mentone Tigers.

Gee, controversial call that. Who'd a thunk that first and second could play off in a GF?

Over The Post
16 Aug 2008, 10:15
OI vs UBL - based on current form and Blues' thumping of Xavs last week
Coll vs OB - foot off the gas, two games and percentage clear of StB
OT vs DLS - last gasp, they're gawn but will go fighting
UBK vs SBMT - Blacks will take it up to them but will fall well short
OX vs OS - Xavs easily, OS have accuracy problems at EP

Monkeyboy
17 Aug 2008, 21:57
Really hope OT's knock off Scotch. They suck. Would hate to see OB or Xavs miss out as there is very little between the current top 4, but Scotch are 10 goals behind.

Penski
18 Aug 2008, 09:36
Brighton over collegians - heard a rumour they're resting players?? you'd hope not..
Ivanhoe over Blues - comfortable 24points
trinity over de la - just.. will make the last round very interesting..
stbm over blacks - want to find some form coming into finals.. blacks to B grade
xavs over scotch - by a lot... scotch could be gone..

Your mail was spot on there UH.

They rested Fergus Watts, Damien Adkins, Nick Ries, Ben Robbins, Simon Arnott and Baxter.

river man
18 Aug 2008, 12:37
So what chance scotchies rolling over against trinity and making the game down bayside a dead rubber??

Rhombus
18 Aug 2008, 13:39
Virtually NIL.

on the trott
18 Aug 2008, 22:48
I went down to check out some footy at Sportscover on Sunday, and the ground was horrible the center square was thick mud and down the glen huntly road end there was a patch in the pocket that was very similar to the center square.. the ground was very nicely destroyed from 6 games being played on it over a 4 day period which wasn't helped by the rain we had.. I hope the VAFA have magical groundsman because they have a huge job on their hands over the next little while to get the ground up to par..

Over The Post
19 Aug 2008, 13:23
http://railsimpro.com/junk/a0817.gif

Down to the wire. Lets hope I can stay ahead of Hater next week, and not choke.

Of course, if I just tip the same as him... ;)

On The Trott, the patch at the northeast pocket is always soggy, there must be a broken drain or something up there. There's also the cricket practice block which gets very slippery. It isn't looking great at the minute, and beware of ankles when running near the edges of the re-turfed bits.

diablo14
19 Aug 2008, 13:35
Blown me chances in the tipping with two bad weeks. Damn De La Soul :thumbsd:

daryl
19 Aug 2008, 22:15
big rumour today in A grade that bert collins has broken his wrist, tragically fallin off his bike on his way home from the charcoal chicken shop,any truth in the rumour? can someone confirm?

tommy1979
20 Aug 2008, 13:50
What was the Leigh Hendra result. Spose he was captain of big v team so that means he gets off.
Smacked the bloke twice in front of the umpire.

Explain????

Destination A Grade
20 Aug 2008, 13:54
What was the Leigh Hendra result. Spose he was captain of big v team so that means he gets off.

Explain????

We see this all the time. Big V, Big VAFA names seem to always get off.

(and there was one last year from OI, so i'm not bitter at all).

Toovey deserved all he got.

Penski
20 Aug 2008, 16:14

Explain????

Surprising. I saw that one and he gave him two decent wacks with the umpire right there.

ultimate hater
20 Aug 2008, 21:04
only thing surprising is that penski and tommy1979 didn't pop up for discussion when watts was let off...

Penski
21 Aug 2008, 10:38
only thing surprising is that penski and tommy1979 didn't pop up for discussion when watts was let off...

I wasn't at the game that Watts was reported so can't comment.

I did see the incident on Saturday however, and he wacked the bloke twice, plain as day.

Max Leader
22 Aug 2008, 10:22
OI To Make Both Seniors and Reserves Finals (according to IO)

Two Things have to happen before other results are taken into account

1> Old Ivanhoe have to beat St Bedes
2> Old Trinity have to beat Old Scotch

Then there are a number of scenarios that could happen:

Scenario 1

Old Ivanhoe Beat St Bedes say 150 to 50 (in a goal spree)
Old Brighton Beat Xavarians 160 to 50 (in a goal spree)
Old Trinity beat Old Scotch 100 to 90
Uni Blues beat Collegians (who are out form) 100 to 90
DeLaSalle beat Uni Blacks (because no gun recruit is in the country) 100 to 90

Old Ivanhoe finishes 4th.

Scenario 2

Scotch Loses and
The VAFA discover the loser of Old Brighton and Old Xavs played an unregistered player in a winning round during round 1 – 17.

Scenario 3

Old Ivanhoe plays their joker for double points in Round 18!!

What this scribe thinks will happen given the facts known at the time of writing.

- Uni Blues are a good side beaten last week by an in form and full strength Old Ivanhoe side without Curatolo who returns this week. Collegians can’t miss first or second so they will rest a few. At the minimum Collegians will play Stone as loose man across half back to limit the damage to percentage. Uni Blues to win in George Descrepinsee (however you spell it) his last game. He has given great service to the Blues boys, but didn’t look the same old George last week. Great career George. Collegians finish minor premiers.
- Old Ivanhoe should travel to St Bedes with confidence after a good second half of the year and full list. The toy oval of Brindisi will suit the talls of Old Ivanhoe down forward. Win to Old Ivanhoe in a close tussell. At a minimum St Bedes won’t want a shoot out as their percentage could get hurt with Old Ivanhoe scoring 100 or more in a win or loss. Expect a loose man across half back to counter Old Ivanhoe talls and to limit a bleeding percentage.
- Scotch play Trinity at home in a must win game for out of form side. Trinity have nothing to play for except probably Rambos last game. Trinity will loose some young guns to the Under 19’s as their Finals chances rely on those players getting them over top side Old Ivanhoe in the 2nd semi, played at exactly the same time. Trinity will have to bring up some players from the struggling seconds who might have to recall some from the Clubbies who haven’t played for 3 weeks. Expect Scotch seconds to give Trinity a bath in wet conditions (The school has closed most ovals) Trinity have the ability to confound punters at home but with Scotch going all out to win I predict a close win to Scotch. 8 goals to 6.
- Uni Black v De La Salle – well De La Salle have pulled the Mannix rabbit out of the hat again in 2008. In what looked a precarious position half way, they have hit some form and can’t get relegated. Uni Blacks will drop some of the qualified players to the seconds because the winner of this game in the twos (more interest than the firsts game) goes to 4th and a finals birth. DeLaSalle could also drop players as the senior game means nothing. Maybe the Mannix hat might again appear at 11.40 on Saturday. Prediction – who cares.
- In the match of the round the in form team of the Century – Old Brighton, play Old Xavarians at the beach oval. Oh my goodness what a game. If Scotch win the loser is OUT OUT OUT of the finals for 2008. Can you believe what I just said, either Brighton (the form side of any grade anywhere) or Old Xavarians ( won the last 106 grand finals in A Grade) will be out of contention for 2008 (oh yeah – IF SCOTCH WIN!!!!) You can bet all ears will be on 96.5 Inner FM the week folks at the beach oval while the gale blows towards the beach. A lot depends on Collingwood of course and if they release the Xavs stars from the VFL to come back for this vital match. How do I pick a winner??? By the way a draw in this clash sees both teams go through no matter what Scotch do. I’m not going to pick but Brighton would have to be favourites on a windy day.

Reserves

- There is only 1 scenario – it is thus:

Old Ivanhoe must beat St Bedes.
Uni Blacks and DeLa Salle must draw.
Old Ivanhoe Finishes third.

diablo14
22 Aug 2008, 10:32
All that just to basically say you've got no ****en chance of making the finals!

My tips

OX over OB
SBMT over OI
OS over OT
DLS over Blacks
Coll over Blues

Max Leader
22 Aug 2008, 10:46
[quote=diablo14;12153734]All that just to basically say you've got no ****en chance of making the finals!

Correct, but hey there could be an emegency investigate against St B's for paying the boot studer who is related to the girlfriend of the captain's brother. A definite breach of the VAFA payment policy.:D

babyinablender
22 Aug 2008, 10:55
[quote=diablo14;12153734]All that just to basically say you've got no ****en chance of making the finals!

Correct, but hey there could be an emegency investigate against St B's for paying the boot studer who is related to the girlfriend of the captain's brother. A definite breach of the VAFA payment policy.:D

Maxwell,

Are you implying that St Bede's have a boot studder? SHOCK HORROR

ultimate hater
22 Aug 2008, 11:01
...either Brighton (the form side of any grade anywhere) or Old Xavarians ( won the last 106 grand finals in A Grade)
toss pot... sour grapes anyone?

Half Back
22 Aug 2008, 11:19
OB Over OX
SBMT Over OI
OS over OT
Coll over Blues
De La over Blacks

Penski
22 Aug 2008, 11:28
OX Over OB
SBMT Over OI
OS over OT
Coll over Blues
De La over Blacks

soupsey
22 Aug 2008, 12:56
OX Over OI
SBMT Over OI
OS over OT
Coll over Blues
De La over Blacks

I think you meant OX over OI and you'd be correct.

ultimate hater
22 Aug 2008, 12:57
I think you meant OX over OI and you'd be correct.
and i think you meant OB over OX and you'd be correct.

soupsey
22 Aug 2008, 12:58
Make that OB (I did it too)

Max Leader
22 Aug 2008, 13:22
toss pot... sour grapes anyone?

Not sour grapes, just the facts

Blueboys11
22 Aug 2008, 13:55
Not sour grapes, just the facts

Lets just hope Xavs give Brighton an absolute belting.....

Over The Post
22 Aug 2008, 14:03
OB vs OX - toss a coin. Mine fell on Xavs.
SBMT vs OI - a lazy win
OS vs OT - Trinity will be trying hard just to throw the four into turmoil
UBL vs Coll - Collegians having another rest
DLS vs UBK - De La to rub it in

And Hater - I *may* come back and edit this later once I've seen your tips... ;)

ultimate hater
22 Aug 2008, 15:45
OB vs OX - toss a coin. Mine fell on Xavs.
SBMT vs OI - a lazy win
OS vs OT - Trinity will be trying hard just to throw the four into turmoil
UBL vs Coll - Collegians having another rest
DLS vs UBK - De La to rub it in

And Hater - I *may* come back and edit this later once I've seen your tips... ;)

haha that's why I'm quoting you now OTP!!

OB vs OX
STBM vs OI
OS vs OT
UBL vs Coll
DLS vs UBLK

stbedes win last week not overly impressive, OI will suit the smaller ground... I'm hoping OT's will knock off scotch, but OT like to play scrappy footy to keep the scores close and I think this will suit scotch... Collegians will want a win and not 2 losses coming into finals so won't "rest" anyone..
and De la in a nothing match...
oh, and the OB and OX game will be a cracker... OB to win by 18 points...

ultimate hater
22 Aug 2008, 15:47
Lets just hope Xavs give Brighton an absolute belting.....
sooky sooky la la... worry about your own team champ...

ultimate hater
22 Aug 2008, 15:59
on a serious note, have a read of this link...

http://www.obgfc.com.au/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=203:afl-peace-team-at-beach-road&catid=1:latest-news&Itemid=50

everyone should try and get along to watch and support.. from what i've heard dippa is coaching the "peace team" and bacha houli (sp?) is co-coaching the "unity team"...

its a very good initiative this thing and deserves all the support it can get...

good luck to everyone on the weekend!

river man
22 Aug 2008, 17:06
Ox...
Oi...
Ot...
Coll...
De La...

Rip Cherry

Cardio Carl
22 Aug 2008, 20:00
OX Over OB
SBMT Over OI
OS over OT
Coll over Blues
De La over Blacks

Thanks again OTP for your time....CC

simmer
22 Aug 2008, 22:42
well it's that time of year again... can't wait for the upcoming action over the next 3 weeks

last round tips

Beachboys SMASH Xavs by plenty!
Bogans DRAW with Ivanhoe
Scotchies just over Trinity
Lions rolled by Blues
De La Soul register a big win over Blacks

Could it be that Xavs A grade domination is close to an end?

The Prattler
23 Aug 2008, 18:55
Gee St.Bedes looked average today. A lot of key players went MIA when the pressure to hold a 19 point last quarter lead was on. In the end went down by about that margin. Don't deserve top two finish on that performance.

on the trott
23 Aug 2008, 19:12
Collegians went down by 4 goals today to Uni Blues, played very average.. Many key players were not firing as they usually would, Fergus Watts was held very nicely by the full back. I wonder whether the Collegian boys were taking it easy running into the finals considering the game today was a dead rubber. I wonder whether loosing the last two games of the season will play on the minds of the collegian's boys before finals. Were the last two games lost because of being out of form? or whether they are "tanking" to be right for the finals. Any thoughts?

Brighton from what I heard went down to Xavs who made a final charge in the last to come out on top. If Scotch win OB miss out on finals.

Plumber
23 Aug 2008, 21:02
Could it be that Xavs A grade domination is close to an end?[/quote]

odds please?

Over The Post
23 Aug 2008, 21:41
Odds against Xavs? Hmmm.... prices plunged across the board this afternoon methinks!

http://railsimpro.com/junk/a0818.gif

Gold to yours truly, silver to Hater and bronze to Penski. Glad missing my Round 13 tips didn't kill my chances!

FINALS TIPPING:

Lock 'em in, and give me your premiership favourite!

1st Semi - Sun 31/8 Sportscover - OX vs OS
2nd Semi - Sun 6/9 Sportscover - OC vs SBMT

Reserves 1st Semi - Sun 31/8 Sportscover - OB vs Uni Blacks
Reserves 2nd Semi - Sun 6/9 Sportscover - Uni Blues vs OX

Eddie Woloschek
23 Aug 2008, 21:44
well it's that time of year again... can't wait for the upcoming action over the next 3 weeks

. . .
Could it be that Xavs A grade domination is close to an end?

Define domination. Define close. Define end.

And it's a four week finals' series.

soupsey
24 Aug 2008, 02:09
Define domination. Define close. Define end.

And it's a four week finals' series.

define a new bitch for the OXFC! We may not go any further this year or maybe we will, but seriously it doesn't get any better than keeping the tonners out iof the finals. Every beer i have tonight tastes so sweet. Goes to show you a team of champions will always struggle against a champion team.
you must keep running against the Xavs.
Memo to those left......we will stop at nothing!!!!!

Quick Eze
24 Aug 2008, 21:09
define a new bitch for the OXFC! We may not go any further this year or maybe we will, but seriously it doesn't get any better than keeping the tonners out iof the finals. Every beer i have tonight tastes so sweet. Goes to show you a team of champions will always struggle against a champion team.
you must keep running against the Xavs.
Memo to those left......we will stop at nothing!!!!!

Memo to Soupsey.....worry about OS (first) before you start worrying about the others left!!!

The KEY
25 Aug 2008, 10:31
Are ALL 'A' grade finals played on Sunday's or just the Grand Final?

Over The Post
25 Aug 2008, 12:08
Yes they are all Sunday matches.

Max Leader
25 Aug 2008, 12:46
Sheiks Top 30

1 Jack Watts
2 Chris Blumfield
3 Luke Wintle
4 Nick Stone
5 Matthew Kempton
6 Sam Anstey
7 Andrew Scafidi
8 Matthew Gadsden
9 Richard Eva
10 Mark Paterson
11 Peter McGettigan
12 Aaron Shields
13 Jon Perrett
14 Hayden Heta
15 Jack Osborn
16 Scott Curatolo
17 Nicholas Ries
18 Matthew Smith
19 Andrew Bowen
20 David Lowe
21 Andrew Lowcock
22 Brendan Iezzi
23 Brent Walsh
24 Daniel Close
25 Andrew Mcguinness
26 Leigh Hendra
27 Nicholas Serafini
28 Nicholas Roach
29 Angus Gray
30 Dean Scheetz

Easy to critise the above list, but at least he has a red hot crack.

Major deficencies.

1:Three leading goal kickers didn't get a mention (Watts, Clarke & Toovey)
2:Hayden Heta clearly the best big man in teh competition. Ask the Wintles after Saturday. Centre Hits OI Lots SB 0
3:Iezzi Overrated massively. Needs to get kicks forward of the Centre
4: Two OX players. Give me a break.
5: Fours DLS players, what and no Corin. can't be serious
6: 2nd Best CHB, behind Stone gets no mention. E. Byrne. Again just ask Paton (UB) Bolton (UBla) Moore (DLS) and McGettigan (Stb). Conseeded on two goals in total to these four players in last weeks.

Any other missgivings in this list.

God Yeah
25 Aug 2008, 14:23
Congratulations to Aaron Shields on winning the DLS B&F yesterday.

Consistant all year round, would have won by more had he not missed a few through injuries.

soupsey
25 Aug 2008, 14:28
Sheiks Top 30

1 Jack Watts
2 Chris Blumfield
3 Luke Wintle
4 Nick Stone
5 Matthew Kempton
6 Sam Anstey
7 Andrew Scafidi
8 Matthew Gadsden
9 Richard Eva
10 Mark Paterson
11 Peter McGettigan
12 Aaron Shields
13 Jon Perrett
14 Hayden Heta
15 Jack Osborn
16 Scott Curatolo
17 Nicholas Ries
18 Matthew Smith
19 Andrew Bowen
20 David Lowe
21 Andrew Lowcock
22 Brendan Iezzi
23 Brent Walsh
24 Daniel Close
25 Andrew Mcguinness
26 Leigh Hendra
27 Nicholas Serafini
28 Nicholas Roach
29 Angus Gray
30 Dean Scheetz

Easy to critise the above list, but at least he has a red hot crack.

Major deficencies.

1:Three leading goal kickers didn't get a mention (Watts, Clarke & Toovey)
2:Hayden Heta clearly the best big man in teh competition. Ask the Wintles after Saturday. Centre Hits OI Lots SB 0
3:Iezzi Overrated massively. Needs to get kicks forward of the Centre
4: Two OX players. Give me a break.
5: Fours DLS players, what and no Corin. can't be serious
6: 2nd Best CHB, behind Stone gets no mention. E. Byrne. Again just ask Paton (UB) Bolton (UBla) Moore (DLS) and McGettigan (Stb). Conseeded on two goals in total to these four players in last weeks.

Any other missgivings in this list.

If Lethal Leigh Hendra is the 26th best player I'll eat my hat. And what, no Charlie Holst or James Scanlan?

Max Leader
25 Aug 2008, 14:40
If Lethal Leigh Hendra is the 26th best player I'll eat my hat. And what, no Charlie Holst or James Scanlan?

The Sheik is good at not picking too many OX players.

Nick Ries needs to play a few more games to be considered so high. Agree about Scanlon

jogger
25 Aug 2008, 16:36
The Sheik is good at not picking too many OX players.

Nick Ries needs to play a few more games to be considered so high. Agree about Scanlon

it's good to see Nicholas Roach getting some recognition for all his hard work over the summer months.. very under rated small defender!

and on Ries max, you obviously haven't seen too much of him this year.. would be leading Collegians B&F.

river man
25 Aug 2008, 17:07
it's good to see Nicholas Roach getting some recognition for all his hard work over the summer months.. very under rated small defender!

and on Ries max, you obviously haven't seen too much of him this year.. would be leading Collegians B&F.

It will be interesting to see what effect last weeks rest will have on the lions boys. Those who had the luxury of being rested last week will now only play one game of football in a month. Could be an ingenius move, could also work against them. Going into a second semi on the back of two losses and having played a lack of football surely can't bring too much confidence.

Time will tell.

Ammo Footy
25 Aug 2008, 18:36
I see what you mean about SBMT, though I guess their second place is a reward for the form over the entire season. A win in Rd 1 is worth 4 pts, as is a win in Rd 18. Will be an interesting finals campaign.

Rhombus
25 Aug 2008, 18:39
My top 5 players haven't even made Sheik's Top 30!

In no particular order:

Clarke (Xavier) - he's the one to watch in the finals. A gun.
Lacey (Uni Blacks)
Big Furgburger (Coll) - 80 goals on 1 leg
Ainley (Brighton) - Broken hand must have cost him.
Pask (Uni Blacks)

Heta from Ivanhoe? Will be close to winning League medal. Watched him against my team 2 weeks ago and tore us a new one.

Assuming though that these guys are ineligible for some reason.

diablo14
25 Aug 2008, 18:42
I think Ben Phibbs could have snuck onto that list somewhere.

Agree on Heta needing to be higher too. He absolutely fookin destroyed us in the last quarter on Saturday (well, all day really, but especially in the last). He just didn't give our boys a sniff.

diablo14
25 Aug 2008, 18:43
My top 5 players haven't even made Sheik's Top 30!

In no particular order:

Clarke (Xavier) - he's the one to watch in the finals. A gun.
Lacey (Uni Blacks)
Big Furgburger (Coll) - 80 goals on 1 leg
Ainley (Brighton) - Broken hand must have cost him.
Pask (Uni Blacks)

Heta from Ivanhoe? Will be close to winning League medal. Watched him against my team 2 weeks ago and tore us a new one.

Assuming though that these guys are ineligible for some reason.

He'd certainly be in the top 5 for players opposition supporters love to bag from over the fence.

river man
26 Aug 2008, 09:31
He'd certainly be in the top 5 for players opposition supporters love to bag from over the fence.

Will be interesting to see if he jumps ship again, now both his clubs are back in B grade.

diablo14
26 Aug 2008, 09:48
Will be interesting to see if he jumps ship again, now both his clubs are back in B grade.

I'd have him at SBMT as far as talent goes. Don't know about the rest though lol.

catfish18
26 Aug 2008, 12:24
fooooooooooootyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

Scribe
26 Aug 2008, 14:02
Gotta hand it to you catfish18, if nothing else, you're consistent with your posting.

Max Leader
26 Aug 2008, 14:11
Gotta hand it to you catfish18, if nothing else, you're consistent with your posting.

Frase, How would you rate Paul Florence from BT.

Would be be a walk up start in A Grade.

The Bigporkknuckle
26 Aug 2008, 14:40
OK finals tips.

Lions vs Tigers - Lions should go warm favorites but the form of both sides over the last month has been less than impressive. Collegians have the confidence in the belting that they gave SBMT a few weeks back but SBMT also have the confidence that they can knock them off as they did it earlier in the year at EP as well. On paper Collegians should win but I am going for the upset and will tip the Tigers.

OX vs Scotch - Its August which is the month of the Xaverian. They are still a huge threat to both Collegians and SBMT and I think they will do away with Scotch easily.

Thats my thoughts, could be totally wrong as I think this year any of the top 4 can win it.

Scribe
26 Aug 2008, 16:27
Frase, How would you rate Paul Florence from BT.

Would be be a walk up start in A Grade.

No doubt. Big enough, runs hard enough, gets enough of the hard footy and can take a good contested grab. If he gets the "helicopters" out of his kicking arsenal, he'd be very handy.

He's everyone's favorite for the comp B&F.

Pretty sure he was on a VFL list for the last 2 years' anyhow. That's usually a good indication the kid can go. Also played well in the U23 Rep game when surrounded by the cream of A grade young talent.