View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43

uglydermie
26 Aug 2008, 16:29
the kids is no good. Stop looking at him..... would really battle at that level........

Scribe
26 Aug 2008, 16:32
the kids is no good. Stop looking at him..... would really battle at that level........

Well, he's no Dean Matthews, for sure.

Not easy to grab young guys from teams on the up, and B-T are certainly in that category. If they keep their young lads together, they could be the top ranked suburban club (competing with Ormond and Hampton Rovers) in the next couple of years.

Can't see any of those clubs threatening the Old Boy elite in the near future though.

Monkeyboy
26 Aug 2008, 18:46
OK finals tips.

Lions vs Tigers - Lions should go warm favorites but the form of both sides over the last month has been less than impressive. Collegians have the confidence in the belting that they gave SBMT a few weeks back but SBMT also have the confidence that they can knock them off as they did it earlier in the year at EP as well. On paper Collegians should win but I am going for the upset and will tip the Tigers.

OX vs Scotch - Its August which is the month of the Xaverian. They are still a huge threat to both Collegians and SBMT and I think they will do away with Scotch easily.

Thats my thoughts, could be totally wrong as I think this year any of the top 4 can win it.

Na, Scotch have no hope of winning 3 finals. Not even a .0000000001% chance.

Xavs by 89

Coll by 23

Johnny Utah #9
26 Aug 2008, 22:29
Will be interesting to see if he jumps ship again, now both his clubs are back in B grade.

Good ol' Huw, will never forget his mum abusing the opposition team supporters for criticising him a couple of years ago at the Junction! It's bad enough when the dads get a bit carried away, but FFS a mum!

webbo_83
28 Aug 2008, 17:17
No doubt. Big enough, runs hard enough, gets enough of the hard footy and can take a good contested grab. If he gets the "helicopters" out of his kicking arsenal, he'd be very handy.

He's everyone's favorite for the comp B&F.

Pretty sure he was on a VFL list for the last 2 years' anyhow. That's usually a good indication the kid can go. Also played well in the U23 Rep game when surrounded by the cream of A grade young talent.

90% (if not all) of the blokes who played in the C-D4 state game would be a walk up A Grade start at any club. One of the Vic players, who has played a fair bit of A Grade footy over the years described it as "by far the toughest game of footy I've ever been involved in".

Cardio Carl
30 Aug 2008, 09:49
OX vs OS

Coll vs StB

Over The Post
30 Aug 2008, 11:40
OX vs OS
Coll vs StB

diablo14
31 Aug 2008, 11:03
OX over OS
Coll over SBMT

Roger Rogerson
31 Aug 2008, 18:16
What a win by the Xavs. Extraordinary. Scotchies misses early in the game very costly but they did not fire a shot when challenged in the last quarter...

JG Hornet
31 Aug 2008, 18:45
What a win by the Xavs. Extraordinary. Scotchies misses early in the game very costly but they did not fire a shot when challenged in the last quarter...

What the Dodger said...one of the more remarkable games in the history of both clubs.

THE BRICKMAN
31 Aug 2008, 18:50
can someone post the scores and details of the match please?

Rhombus
31 Aug 2008, 20:27
Nick Bye not named in the best?

Absolutely dominated the last quarter and won them the game with his Ruckwork.

Plumber
31 Aug 2008, 20:36
What the Dodger said...one of the more remarkable games in the history of both clubs.

True it was one for the Xavs. But as far as value for supporters goes, Xavs are unbeatable. How does this club keep doing this, especially to Scotch?

Maybe the Scotchies should worry less about crying after the game and actually put up a fight when it is there to be won.

soupsey
31 Aug 2008, 23:20
True it was one for the Xavs. But as far as value for supporters goes, Xavs are unbeatable. How does this club keep doing this, especially to Scotch?

Maybe the Scotchies should worry less about crying after the game and actually put up a fight when it is there to be won.

Amazing last quarter. 32 points down at the 7 minute mark and still 26 points at the 11 minute mark. What came next was straight out of the top drawer.
1959 last time scotchies beat xavs in a final, and even then the umpiring was questionable that day!!
Very ordinary performance by the red men. Not even a yelp when needed.
This will scar them.

river man
1 Sep 2008, 09:43
Amazing last quarter. 32 points down at the 7 minute mark and still 26 points at the 11 minute mark. What came next was straight out of the top drawer.
1959 last time scotchies beat xavs in a final, and even then the umpiring was questionable that day!!
Very ordinary performance by the red men. Not even a yelp when needed.
This will scar them.

The question must be asked. What was better win. Yesterday or the win at box hill a few years back. Both in a 1st Semi, Both against Scotch.

soupsey
1 Sep 2008, 10:35
The question must be asked. What was better win. Yesterday or the win at box hill a few years back. Both in a 1st Semi, Both against Scotch.

I think yesterday without the captain fleming, one of the best on-ballers Arnold and the full forward Handley AND 17 men for most of the 3rd quarter AND a full strength Scotch.........I think you get the jist here.

The MUF
1 Sep 2008, 13:17
Im pretty sure i heard some choking going on yesterday afternoon!!

Jascave
1 Sep 2008, 13:34
You can never be comfortable with a big lead by the 15 minute mark of the last quarter if you're playing Old Xaverians, because Xavs will always find some way to win.

Chazz M Michaels
1 Sep 2008, 17:27
question:

I believe the rule for players playing in finals for reserves and seniors is along the lines of - if both the 1's and 2's teams are in the finals, a player can play in either team regardless of games played for 1's and 2's.. (correct me if I'm wrong)
So here lies the question - Seeing as the xavs 1's played on the sunday just past, could they theoretically put their whole 1's team in to play the 2's final on this coming sunday?

Is there a specific rule that stipulates this cannot be done? Is it classified as the same round even though its on different weeks?

Jascave - surely you know the answer to this?

KoolKat
1 Sep 2008, 20:47
I was there to witness one of the biggest downfalls in history....

It was a great comeback and it couldnt happen to a bunch of better blokes and supporters!!!!

Xavs all the way!!!!!

The MUF
1 Sep 2008, 22:03
Has the Scotch coach resigned yet by anychance???

Rhombus
1 Sep 2008, 22:59
Is that resigned or re-signed?

Not a bad effort to get a so called bunch of chumps to be on top for most of the season.

The MUF
1 Sep 2008, 23:08
Is that resigned or re-signed?

Not a bad effort to get a so called bunch of chumps to be on top for most of the season.

Resigned as it would be very hard to come back from something like that

Over The Post
2 Sep 2008, 00:22
I'd have thought that given last year's performance, they'd done pretty well turning things around! There's a big difference between just staving off relegation and being in the top three the following year.

simmer
2 Sep 2008, 01:29
Resigned as it would be very hard to come back from something like that

From memory nearly everyone (including me) wrote Scotchies off and had them penciled in for relegation at the begining of the season... it's great to see how well they went this year and I would think they would keep their coaching staff for a few seasons yet!

Gas Mask
2 Sep 2008, 10:34
From memory nearly everyone (including me) wrote Scotchies off and had them penciled in for relegation at the begining of the season... it's great to see how well they went this year and I would think they would keep their coaching staff for a few seasons yet!

It was also great to see them lead for three and a half quarters, and then do what they do best

50 Years 10 Finals.

Ammo Footy
2 Sep 2008, 13:33
Peter Banfield and coaching team will be there in 2009. He is an outstanding coach.

Yes, OS lost from a seemingly unloseable position and can't hide from the record in finals against Xavs - a lot of credit to Xavs though - years of finals experience.

Not bad for a very young side tipped to finish last by the "experts".

JG Hornet
2 Sep 2008, 13:47
Peter Banfield and coaching team will be there in 2009. He is an outstanding coach.

Yes, OS lost from a seemingly unloseable position and can't hide from the record in finals against Xavs - a lot of credit to Xavs though - years of finals experience.

Not bad for a very young side tipped to finish last by the "experts".

I think a lot of 'experts' were just going on what they had seen in 2007, coupled with the loss of a key full-forward. Full credit to the club for turning it around and proving us all wrong. I don't agree with the majority who say they choked on Sunday. Xavier were on the mother of all rolls in the last term and heaven help any side who was in their way. It was more a case of shell-shock than choking. The two sides in the second semi will be mighty pissed off that Brighton and Scotch have left Xavs off the hook...

man in outer
2 Sep 2008, 13:50
It was also great to see them lead for three and a half quarters, and then do what they do best

50 Years 10 Finals.

Not trying to be a smart ass, my side is in B grade, but when was the last time scotch won a final.....seems like they have not been in contention for quite some time. Almost better off doing a collegians and falling from grace only to re-emerge with avengence.

Ammo Footy
2 Sep 2008, 14:03
OS won a first semi in 2003 when they beat OH pretty easily.

They will bounce back.

river man
2 Sep 2008, 14:58
I think a lot of 'experts' were just going on what they had seen in 2007, coupled with the loss of a key full-forward. Full credit to the club for turning it around and proving us all wrong. I don't agree with the majority who say they choked on Sunday. Xavier were on the mother of all rolls in the last term and heaven help any side who was in their way. It was more a case of shell-shock than choking. The two sides in the second semi will be mighty pissed off that Brighton and Scotch have left Xavs off the hook...

I'm not sure you can describe it as a mother of all rolls, considering it was 1 goal to 1 point at the 12 minute mark of the last quarter. Scotch had every chance to ice the game with 15 mins to go, but choked. There were a couple of massive turning points in the game. Scanlan's run down tackle, saving a certain goal was game changing. Also when the gang tackle was applied on Dick straight in front of goal for yet another holding the ball.

P.s what was the go with those school kids for umpires. They were clearly shell shocked by the occasion and became so obviously trigger happy it wasn't funny. More holding the ball decisions that I have seen in 4 quarters of football. Both ways. Ridiculous.

insideout
2 Sep 2008, 16:07
Xav's will win the flag for sure

Gas Mask
2 Sep 2008, 17:00
[quote=river man;12302570]I'm not sure you can describe it as a mother of all rolls, considering it was 1 goal to 1 point at the 12 minute mark of the last quarter. Scotch had every chance to ice the game with 15 mins to go, but choked. There were a couple of massive turning points in the game. Scanlan's run down tackle, saving a certain goal was game changing. Also when the gang tackle was applied on Dick straight in front of goal for yet another holding the ball.

quote]

Couldn't agree more River.
At the 15 minute mark Scotch inhaled, and the rest is history.

"We won a 1st semi in 2003, pretty easily"

Powerhouse

simmer
2 Sep 2008, 17:06
I'm not sure you can describe it as a mother of all rolls, considering it was 1 goal to 1 point at the 12 minute mark of the last quarter. Scotch had every chance to ice the game with 15 mins to go, but choked. There were a couple of massive turning points in the game. Scanlan's run down tackle, saving a certain goal was game changing. Also when the gang tackle was applied on Dick straight in front of goal for yet another holding the ball.

P.s what was the go with those school kids for umpires. They were clearly shell shocked by the occasion and became so obviously trigger happy it wasn't funny. More holding the ball decisions that I have seen in 4 quarters of football. Both ways. Ridiculous.

I think one was paying holding the ball after nearly every tackle and was clearly in over his head... the other one was ok

haven't seen these blokes before, what's happened to the regular A grade umps? maybe the AFL pinched a couple for the next few weeks?

soupsey
2 Sep 2008, 17:20
horrendous display from the umpires. Both sides fell victim to the worst thing an umpire can do in a game and that is be completely random with their decisions. If an umpire pays "trigger happy" holding the ball calls all day then you can adjust. But this clown was completely out of his depth. I know it must be hard to lure people to umpiring but how long are the ammos going to use this as an excuse to continually provide sub standard officiating in what is the biggest league in the country? Perhaps a fair dinkum effort from those in charge of umpiring would be a start. Anyone else would have been sacked or moved on 5-10 years ago.
And we won!!!!

Marc Shmurf 3
2 Sep 2008, 17:30
question:

I believe the rule for players playing in finals for reserves and seniors is along the lines of - if both the 1's and 2's teams are in the finals, a player can play in either team regardless of games played for 1's and 2's.. (correct me if I'm wrong)
So here lies the question - Seeing as the xavs 1's played on the sunday just past, could they theoretically put their whole 1's team in to play the 2's final on this coming sunday?

Is there a specific rule that stipulates this cannot be done? Is it classified as the same round even though its on different weeks?

Jascave - surely you know the answer to this?

This is how it goes...

- A 1st player must play at least 4 H & A games in the 2’s to be eligible and no more than 10 games in the 1st’s.

- If coming back from a serious injury (i.e Matthew Handley) you must have played at least 2 games for the 2’s at some stage in the H & A year.

- The VAFA interpret last weekend’s games & this weekends games as the same “weekend” … Therefore any player who has qualified (4 games in the 2’s) but played in the 1’s the previous week can not play.

- Players who have qualified to play in the 2’s can only play if the 1st’s are playing on the same day

Hope this helps.

P.S a massive gas mask for the scotchies last weekend... They were better off having their mad monday last monday

Roger Rogerson
2 Sep 2008, 18:20
This is how it goes...

- A 1st player must play at least 4 H & A games in the 2’s to be eligible and no more than 10 games in the 1st’s.

- If coming back from a serious injury (i.e Matthew Handley) you must have played at least 2 games for the 2’s at some stage in the H & A year.

- The VAFA interpret last weekend’s games & this weekends games as the same “weekend” … Therefore any player who has qualified (4 games in the 2’s) but played in the 1’s the previous week can not play.

- Players who have qualified to play in the 2’s can only play if the 1st’s are playing on the same day

Hope this helps.

P.S a massive gas mask for the scotchies last weekend... They were better off having their mad monday last monday

I had a look at the rules last night and could not find this anywhere.

Marc Shmurf 3
2 Sep 2008, 18:32
I had a look at the rules last night and could not find this anywhere.

yeah its not mentioned, but i know the Xavs have looked into it and were given this responce...

Guys like Gidley, McDonnell & Skidmore are not able to play although they have qualified to play in the 2's finals if the 1st had lost...

Wired, as is the finals set up... who ever wins out of this weekends game will play 2 games in 4 weeks.... Hardly a good thing i reckon...

Marc Shmurf 3
2 Sep 2008, 22:58
sorry guys just found out that they can play. Arrrr the vafa are competely confusing things this year. But the rest of the information stands.

Merton
2 Sep 2008, 23:24
sorry guys just found out that they can play. Arrrr the vafa are competely confusing things this year. But the rest of the information stands.

Does anybody know the results of the tribunal to-nite????

Merton
3 Sep 2008, 09:57
Does anybody know the results of the tribunal to-nite????

Poor old Teddy got 2!!! It was a bad week to be an old xav and get booked.Tribunal had no choice if they gave a kid 2 for a tap in B last week.Bet the club sandwitches did not taste as good afterwards.

Max Leader
3 Sep 2008, 11:16
Poor old Teddy got 2!!! It was a bad week to be an old xav and get booked.Tribunal had no choice if they gave a kid 2 for a tap in B last week.Bet the club sandwitches did not taste as good afterwards.

Rumour has it the their could be a High Court challenge to the suspension of Ted Woodruff.:)

Marc Shmurf 3
3 Sep 2008, 11:51
Rumour has it the their could be a High Court challenge to the suspension of Ted Woodruff.:)
I must admit i had a pretty good view of the incident, gees i thought getting a Red Card was bad enough, but 2 weeks, i would not be at all surprised if the Xavs contest ths one...

Obviously means that he misses the Grand Final... :(

Scribe
3 Sep 2008, 12:40
I must admit i had a pretty good view of the incident, gees i thought getting a Red Card was bad enough, but 2 weeks, i would not be at all surprised if the Xavs contest ths one...

That's ****ed.

Wouldn't wish this on an ordinary bloke, let alone a good one like Ted.

:mad:

river man
3 Sep 2008, 13:09
That's ****ed.

Wouldn't wish this on an ordinary bloke, let alone a good one like Ted.

:mad:

Yet another clanger by the umpires from the weekend. There have been some bad umpiring performances in the past, but sending those two primary school kids out there on such a big occasion is an embarrasment for the VAFA. God help them if they turn up in a prelim or a GF.

Max Leader
3 Sep 2008, 15:35

There is no appeal mechanism within the VAFA. (Until now!!!!) What this space.

Marc Shmurf 3
3 Sep 2008, 15:45
There is no appeal mechanism within the VAFA. (Until now!!!!) What this space.
Are the Xavs going to appeal this????

Eddie Woloschek
3 Sep 2008, 16:14
The Scotch guys surely convinced the umpire to pull the red card. He took a long time to do so. His fellow ump then did so too, though he could not possibly have had a good view of the incident.

Why is it that when both teams try to put their best 22 on the park in the finals that the umpires continue to trial combinations? Why was Tim Sutcliffe, soon bound for Ireland, running around in C Grade on the weekend? Why was Davidson doing B Grade?

Ted Woodruff's red card was a disgrace. It was a free kick and no more. He has been, for a long time, an extremely fair and ball-playing type. The send-off alone was greater punishment than the offence warranted.

His suspension is extremely cruel, given his 200+ games without report and the stage of the season. It points to an inflexibility in the system that should be fixed.

JG Hornet
3 Sep 2008, 16:37
The Scotch guys surely convinced the umpire to pull the red card. He took a long time to do so. His fellow ump then did so too, though he could not possibly have had a good view of the incident.

Why is it that when both teams try to put their best 22 on the park in the finals that the umpires continue to trial combinations? Why was Tim Sutcliffe, soon bound for Ireland, running around in C Grade on the weekend? Why was Davidson doing B Grade?

Ted Woodruff's red card was a disgrace. It was a free kick and no more. He has been, for a long time, an extremely fair and ball-playing type. The send-off alone was greater punishment than the offence warranted.

His suspension is extremely cruel, given his 200+ games without report and the stage of the season. It points to an inflexibility in the system that should be fixed.

Yeah I agree Ed, it was pretty lame and he's always been a fair player. Payback for Arnold maybe? Would Ted have gotten a game in the Prelim anyway Ed?

Plumber
3 Sep 2008, 19:10
Yeah I agree Ed, it was pretty lame and he's always been a fair player. Payback for Arnold maybe? Would Ted have gotten a game in the Prelim anyway Ed?

This is absolute horse sh*t. What a farce. You wouldn't find a bloke who plays the footy more than Ted. I know you need to give umpires experience, but they can get that in B & C grade as far as I'm concerned.

To do this to a bloke with Ted's history is criminal.

soupsey
3 Sep 2008, 19:49
This is absolute horse sh*t. What a farce. You wouldn't find a bloke who plays the footy more than Ted. I know you need to give umpires experience, but they can get that in B & C grade as far as I'm concerned.

To do this to a bloke with Ted's history is criminal.

1) 200 plus games without so much as a send off
2) An incident that can only be described as a free kick at best
3) evidence from both players that it was no more than an accident.

How they sustained sustained a charge of "charging" is without any logic.
I seriously question the integrity of the VAFA when an obviously wrong decision like this occurs. AGAIN it seems the questionable agendas of the tribunal have been brought to light.
Love to know who was on the panel. No doubt some old scores being settled. Disgraceful to think that a person such as Ted now has this against his name. I would have thought that he is all that is good about ammo footy. 13 years with a clean sheet and unquestionable integrity.
Thank god the blues are coming good so I can switch off from ammo footy.

simmer
4 Sep 2008, 01:01

I was thinking along similar lines Hornet, having seen last year's Arnold doosie I would have backed Woodruff to get off no problem, but can't comment on this report as I missed it, so can anyone explain exactly what happened?

I'm thinking if both ump's drew the red card then there must have been something there??? what about video, surely it was captured and if so why did Xavs not put this up for evidence or did they?

Chazz M Michaels
4 Sep 2008, 09:08
maybe they thought it was actually strauchney and gave him 2 weeks for poor comedy... there is a striking resemblance...

soupsey
4 Sep 2008, 10:30
maybe they thought it was actually strauchney and gave him 2 weeks for poor comedy... there is a striking resemblance...

Good luck this week Chaz!

BrianSpeaking
4 Sep 2008, 23:35
1) 200 plus games without so much as a send off
2) An incident that can only be described as a free kick at best
3) evidence from both players that it was no more than an accident.

How they sustained sustained a charge of "charging" is without any logic.
I seriously question the integrity of the VAFA when an obviously wrong decision like this occurs. AGAIN it seems the questionable agendas of the tribunal have been brought to light.
Love to know who was on the panel. No doubt some old scores being settled. Disgraceful to think that a person such as Ted now has this against his name. I would have thought that he is all that is good about ammo footy. 13 years with a clean sheet and unquestionable integrity.
Thank god the blues are coming good so I can switch off from ammo footy.
The VAFA do the best they can, its ammo footy not AFL, but I agree, unless its a king hit he should get off, its finals for f#@^s sake.

Gas Mask
5 Sep 2008, 19:11
The VAFA do the best they can, its ammo footy not AFL, but I agree, unless its a king hit he should get off, its finals for f#@^s sake.

Good Luck to St Bedes and the Lions this week.

God Help the loser.

Bigfootyfan
7 Sep 2008, 17:53
SBMT winners over Collegians today. No excuses for either side, conditions did not favor anyone. The better side won on the day. An absolute fantastic result by the Tigers!!!!!

Jascave
7 Sep 2008, 18:28
Which means that while St Bedes Mentone Tigers have the week off and prepare themselves for their 1st A Section Grand Final (and a possible tilt at history-to be the first side to win C, B, and A Section flags in successive years) the Lions on the other hand will now have to play against the 'Port Adelaide Magpies' of the VAFA-Old Xaverians. The reason why I call Xavs that name is that Xavs are like Port Adelaide in the glory days of the SANFL, when the SA Magpies used to imtimidate teams in finals series and win premiership after premiership, year in, year out.

The Big Show
7 Sep 2008, 20:56
An expert on all things SANFL now Jascave?

Rhombus
7 Sep 2008, 21:06
Unfortunately I missed the game due to a lunch date.

Game reviews please.

Did the Purple & Gold play their chip, chip game?

Jascave
7 Sep 2008, 21:52
Has any club won the VAFA version of the 'Grand Slam'-C, B, A flags in successive years?

The Big Show
7 Sep 2008, 22:02
Has any club won the VAFA version of the 'Grand Slam'-C, B, A flags in successive years?

No - Grand Slam hey, isn't that 4 titles?

But what's with the SANFL reference and Xavs, that's what I was getting at.

BrianSpeaking
7 Sep 2008, 23:05
It will be done in two weeks time Jase, 'The Grand Slam', I like it. Its probably more like a Chicago Bulls Three-peat, and dont forget that the young tiger cubs are in the Section one U 19 Grand Final as well this week. Ill have to speak to Pres Beasley to find out where the match will be held, from what he said tonight it could be a quarter at each of 4 different venues!!!

Intel
8 Sep 2008, 13:52
Who would have thought that a "suburban" club would have made it all the way to an A grade Grand Final!!!!
I wonder what humble pie tastes like.......
Massive effort by the Tigers, and a true honour for all involved!

The Big Pineapple
8 Sep 2008, 14:06
Who would have thought that a "suburban" club would have made it all the way to an A grade Grand Final!!!!

Interesting definition of "suburban" club? But still a very good effort.

river man
8 Sep 2008, 16:16

Not a bad effort at all. But only a novice would be counting chickens and ordering pie at this stage. Look at what happened to the tonners last year after coming up from B Grade. They were just happy to have made the grand final and it showed at quarter time.

I made mention about 3 weeks ago that the lack of football might have cost the lions leading into the second semi. Were a few of their blokes short of a gallop after only having played 1 or 2 games in a month???

Losing 3 games in a row coming into a cut throat game against the kings of the wick couldn't be the best preparation could it??

JG Hornet
8 Sep 2008, 16:32
Not a bad effort at all. But only a novice would be counting chickens and ordering pie at this stage. Look at what happened to the tonners last year after coming up from B Grade. They were just happy to have made the grand final and it showed at quarter time.

I made mention about 3 weeks ago that the lack of football might have cost the lions leading into the second semi. Were a few of their blokes short of a gallop after only having played 1 or 2 games in a month???

Losing 3 games in a row coming into a cut throat game against the kings of the wick couldn't be the best preparation could it??

This is not a smartarse question at all - more just to help with previewing the game but...could the Xaverian gentlemen on this forum nominate the key defenders this Sunday? Oswald i guess? Others?

Collegians very sketchy on Sunday, very sketchy indeed!

Rhombus
8 Sep 2008, 17:45
Bowen & Gidley are tall defenders.

JG Hornet
8 Sep 2008, 17:58
Bowen & Gidley are tall defenders.

Ah yes Bowen, sorry had a mental blank.

Brooksy01
8 Sep 2008, 21:08
What a display the Mighty Tigers showed yday at Elsternwick Park...

MHazel showed his brillance and of course there is surly tyqin who dominated.... Tyqin will be the skipper next down at Tigerland

The same cant be said for chipper adkins who just abuses his team-mates. LOSER

go tiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiigers

Scribe
9 Sep 2008, 13:25
MHazel showed his brillance

Great to see one of the VAFA's home-grown veterans doing the business at the pointy end of the competition.
My nomination for recruit of the season (even allowing for the flow of ex-AFL & VFL talent into the Ammos this year).

soupsey
9 Sep 2008, 14:13

Congrats to the St Bedes boys, great effort. I still reckon the lions are the ones to beat. Quality always shines through in the end, and the number of former AFL blokes wearing purple is huge. Just think they will be a different unit than the one who were flat on Sunday.
But still credit to St Bedes on a successful year already.

Intel
9 Sep 2008, 15:57
Remember though Collegians have lost their last 3 games..... Do you think they might be running out of steam? And we can assume that they will be busting a gut on Sunday to get to the Grand Final. I just feel they might tire before the big day!

river man
9 Sep 2008, 17:34
Remember though Collegians have lost their last 3 games..... Do you think they might be running out of steam? And we can assume that they will be busting a gut on Sunday to get to the Grand Final. I just feel they might tire before the big day!

Can anyone who was at the game on sun confirm if there was any injuries from either side.

BrianSpeaking
9 Sep 2008, 18:37
St Bedes were 3 down by half time, a great second half effort with one on the pine.
The only thing I would like to say about The Lions is that Brock Mooney still commentates EVERY passage of play....loudly!!!!!!!!

soupsey
9 Sep 2008, 21:31
St Bedes were 3 down by half time, a great second half effort with one on the pine.
The only thing I would like to say about The Lions is that Brock Mooney still commentates EVERY passage of play....loudly!!!!!!!!

One of the great characters of Ammo footy for a long time now. The "big sexy" usually hits his straps around spring carnival time!!

soupsey
11 Sep 2008, 11:51
Some very delicious match ups could occur this Sunday. Suffice to say the Xavs need to pinch hit a bit with so many talls missing in action. Interesting to see how the lions set up down back where they generate most of their attack!

jogger
11 Sep 2008, 12:25
Some very delicious match ups could occur this Sunday. Suffice to say the Xavs need to pinch hit a bit with so many talls missing in action. Interesting to see how the lions set up down back where they generate most of their attack!

soupsey! will the full suited purple man be returning for the lions?

soupsey
11 Sep 2008, 13:25
If they let him out of the home he might be able to sit in the square or something.
I presume he is playing super rules next year???

jogger
11 Sep 2008, 13:54
If they let him out of the home he might be able to sit in the square or something.
I presume he is playing super rules next year???

yep, he's alowed out of the home on weekends.
his favorite spot to visit is somewhere in Elsternwick this time of year.

soupsey
12 Sep 2008, 09:39
I know a few blokes who don't mind elsternwick this time of year also......Just remember mate that the wind doesn't put it through the sticks, try to attack down the golf course side and never ever play on in the backline.

jogger
12 Sep 2008, 10:30
I know a few blokes who don't mind elsternwick this time of year also......Just remember mate that the wind doesn't put it through the sticks, try to attack down the golf course side and never ever play on in the backline.

are you speaking from your extensive years of playing experience??

hotdigitydog
12 Sep 2008, 16:03
Anyone know if the A Grade final will have live radio commentary as i think they have had on the VAFA website in the past

Paul Kaos
12 Sep 2008, 16:20
anyone know if the a grade final will have live radio commentary as i think they have had on the vafa website in the past

96.5 fm

vafa guru
12 Sep 2008, 16:25
For the sake of the competition lets hope Xavs get up on Sunday - I know those at HQ are not impressed with the way the Lions have gone about things this year, short term gain for long term pain.

I wonder how they will go once the ammos bring in the rule that you are only allowed 4 ex afl players - who goes and who stays.........

Punch From Behind
12 Sep 2008, 16:51
For the sake of the competition lets hope Xavs get up on Sunday - I know those at HQ are not impressed with the way the Lions have gone about things this year, short term gain for long term pain.

I wonder how they will go once the ammos bring in the rule that you are only allowed 4 ex afl players - who goes and who stays.........

Stupid post!

Why would head quarters not be happy with the way they've gone about it? Of the 3 ex AFL recruits they got this season two of them are past Wesley first XVIII captains and the other one came down to play with some mates.

I would have thought that head quarters would be very pleased with any vafa club who is able to get high profile players playing for the right reasons. I think most would agree that these boys have been good for the competition, I dare say their opponents would get a thrill out of testing themselves against guys that have played at the highest level and it has certainly been a good experience playing with them. I would also think that they've generated some interest from ppl that otherwise wouldn't give a stuff about the ammos, which can only be a good thing for our comp.

And what is this rule about having no more than 4 ex afl players? anyone else heard of this?

Scribe
12 Sep 2008, 16:56

Nice stir there.

Design to raise those Lions' hackles (if that's the correct terminology) for sure. ;)

soupsey
12 Sep 2008, 19:49
are you speaking from your extensive years of playing experience??
yeah! That and the seven or eight flags.

TJACKA
14 Sep 2008, 18:02
A sec gf st.bedes/mentone v collegians 17

JG Hornet
14 Sep 2008, 18:34
A sec gf st.bedes/mentone v collegians 17

Collegians demolish Old Xavs

Well there were plenty of doubters and this scribe was leading the charge but Collegians proved that they are still very much the real deal, thrashing Old Xavs by 57 points today.

They set up the win with successive six goal hauls in the second and third terms. In those quarters, and indeed all day, it was former Collingwood and West Coast midfielder Damian Adkins who led the charge. His attack on the ball and pinpoint foot-skills were second to none. Others to stand out were fellow wingman James Fry, tough nut Andrew Scott, captain Chris Blumfield and centre half forward Jono Dixon. Fergus Watts copped a battering all day but still finished with five while slippery goal-sneak Shura Taft bobbed up with three, all when the game was in the balance. Down back, Andrew Baxter was solid while Nick Roach and Andrew Stone blanketed the very dangerous duo of Jon Mercuri and Justin Arnold. James Jorgenson shouldered all of the ruck duties and didn’t miss a trick.

There were no miracles today for Xavs. They were flat as a tack and totally outplayed. Tim Clarke and Sam Johnston were great for four quarters but they didn’t have many mates. It will be just the third time in thirteen years that they won’t be running around on grand final day.

In the premier under 19 division, St Bede’s/Mentone prevailed in a good old fashioned grand final shootout, finishing seven points the better of De la Salle.

simmer
15 Sep 2008, 05:00
GO LIONS!

great to see the boys kick back into form... now for STBM who might just have a few too many tickets at the moment...

soupsey
15 Sep 2008, 10:28
Congratulations to the collegians boys. Too slick for the Xavs yesterday.
I can confidently say that if they repeat the form of yesterday they will win the GF. Particular credit to Charlie Holst who I thought played a ripping game.
All the best for Sunday against the combined side.

Nigel Roberts
15 Sep 2008, 13:44
Good on ya soups...

Your club are a credit to the competition...very gracious in defeat yesterday...

Charles and I enjoyed some of your heckling during the afternoon down there as well...some humerous stuff at times...

soupsey
15 Sep 2008, 14:41
You were good also Nige. Nice and physical at times. Good to see you up and about. Enough of this love in though, I have got some plotting for 09 to do.
Interesting reserves game next sunday too! I reckon it could be the best $14 spent to see four good teams (four different clubs) play in two hard fought games.
I'm tipping OX reserves for the three- peat
And Lions for another A section flag. How many would that be?

Max Leader
15 Sep 2008, 16:11
Any market on the Woodrow for tonight?

Will the brother of Fergus win?
Will Heta go back to back?
Does Hendra's culy locks win him votes?
What about Moore's organge boot?
Iezi off the half back flank?

nicho_magic
15 Sep 2008, 20:02
Any market on the Woodrow for tonight?

Will the brother of Fergus win?
Will Heta go back to back?
Does Hendra's culy locks win him votes?
What about Moore's organge boot?
Iezi off the half back flank?
lock in j.watts from blues.
f. watts to finish 4th.

Jascave
15 Sep 2008, 20:54
So who's going to win the A Section Grand Final on Sunday-Collegians or St Bedes Mentone Tigers? And what will be the key match-ups?

ITSMYNAME
15 Sep 2008, 21:24
So who's going to win the A Section Grand Final on Sunday-Collegians or St Bedes Mentone Tigers? And what will be the key match-ups?

Key matchups depend on how injury list for each side is going. A few sore boys from st bedes after their win against the purples last time it seemed but have 1 or 2 regular senior players to come in if needed. And i'm sure even though the scoreline from yesterdays games would say it was easy running, you always feel it after a game against Xavs! so surely a few blokes would be sore. Any inside news from either club?

nicho_magic
16 Sep 2008, 00:22
smart bloke that nicho.... watts walks away with the woodrow (jack watts).

Blueboys11
16 Sep 2008, 10:22
Out of interest...when was the last time a non midfielder/ruckman won the Woodrow??