View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football
Armitage2Riewoldt
16 Sep 2008, 18:30
Heading down to watch the game. Hoping the Bedas can bring home another Cup. :)
diablo14
16 Sep 2008, 18:35
Heading down to watch the game. Hoping the Bedas can bring home another Cup. :)
Same and same. Should be a ripper :D
Chazz M Michaels
17 Sep 2008, 15:21
Anyone know what's happened to the Mailman?
The Bigporkknuckle
17 Sep 2008, 17:22
Not much talk about the main game this week so here is my 2 cents worth.
I'm tipping the Tigers. My reasons are that they have beaten the Lions twice this year and both times at EP. The Lions have it all ahead of them as they have the recruits, have been hot favorites all year and are expected to salute. The tigers go in as the fairytale story. Win, lose or drawer we have come further than most predicted. That being said a lifting the cup is our minimum expectation.
Should be a cracker, can the Lions guns fire when the heat is on. Can the Lions contain Anstey & Phibbs. How much of a key is Big Fergus. Brett Collins is hitting his straps at the right time of the year is a huge wildcard and will stretcher man give another GF cameo performance.
So many questions and I guess come 5ishpm Sunday all will be answered
Either way congrats to both teams and I hope the game is a cracker and not one sided.
any word on the team of the year?
Jascave
17 Sep 2008, 18:16
This Sunday could be a history-making day in more ways than one. Apart from St Bedes Mentone Tigers bid to become the first VAFA team to win C, B, A in successive years, it could also well be one of the last A Section Grand Finals to be played at Sportscover Arena.
Cardio Carl
17 Sep 2008, 18:23
This Sunday could be a history-making day in more ways than one. Apart from St Bedes Mentone Tigers bid to become the first VAFA team to win C, B, A in successive years, it could also well be one of the last A Section Grand Finals to be played at Sportscover Arena.
Sorry Jase.
It will be announced either at/after the GF that VAFA and local council have negotiated for them to be there for at least the next 5 years.
You can pack up the Yellow tent and head home young fella - you tried.
Also, that 1987 team of the year placemat I bought off you is crap.;)
BrianSpeaking
17 Sep 2008, 19:02
Sorry Jase.
It will be announced either at/after the GF that VAFA and local council have negotiated for them to be there for at least the next 5 years.
You can pack up the Yellow tent and head home young fella - you tried.
Also, that 1987 team of the year placemat I bought off you is crap.;)
Fantastic CC, absolute GOLD!
Cardio Carl
17 Sep 2008, 20:00
Fantastic CC, absolute GOLD!
:thumbsu: BS
Go Saints!
Jascave
18 Sep 2008, 11:13
Who do you think will be the Jock Nelson Medal (best on ground in A Section Grand Final) winner on Sunday?
The Big Pineapple
18 Sep 2008, 12:03
Who do you think will be the Jock Nelson Medal (best on ground in A Section Grand Final) winner on Sunday?
Nick Roach
BrianSpeaking
18 Sep 2008, 13:54
If it rains the Tiges will shit it in. If not it will be very tight.
Medal: Luke Wintle
ITSMYNAME
18 Sep 2008, 14:36
If it rains the Tiges will shit it in. If not it will be very tight.
I agree with you on the weather part BS.
But for the medal, i would say the old stager Mick Hazell to get the job done.
Damian Adkins to get B.O.G.
As for weather i dont think it will make a difference. The difference will be as to whether Collegians play like they did against Xavs, or like they did against STBMT the week previous.
river man
18 Sep 2008, 16:05
Damian Adkins to get B.O.G.
As for weather i dont think it will make a difference. The difference will be as to whether Collegians play like they did against Xavs, or like they did against STBMT the week previous.
As stated above, if they play like they did last week, they will walk in.
Blumfield for the medal.
ScottyDog
18 Sep 2008, 16:41
Seems that SBMT have no say in Sunday's outcome. If Collegians play well they will win, or so they seem to think. I'm sure Xav's had no say last week. Or had they run their race, had too many returning players who were under done and just made Collegians look good. May be Collegians form isn't as good as they think!
Surly23
18 Sep 2008, 17:06
Maybe if they had of played the way they did on Sunday against Xavs in the 2nd semi, the cocky Collegian players that booked a trip to Fiji Prelim weekend could have gone!!!
Regards
Surly
Seems that SBMT have no say in Sunday's outcome. If Collegians play well they will win, or so they seem to think. I'm sure Xav's had no say last week. Or had they run their race, had too many returning players who were under done and just made Collegians look good. May be Collegians form isn't as good as they think!
You're on the money there scottydog. It all depends on the game that Collegians bring. If they bring their best form, there is no side good enough to stop them. However, their form over the last 4 weeks has been very patchy (Xavs game aside). The first 5 minutes will tell the tale.
ScottyDog
18 Sep 2008, 18:30
You're on the money there scottydog. It all depends on the game that Collegians bring. If they bring their best form, there is no side good enough to stop them. However, their form over the last 4 weeks has been very patchy (Xavs game aside). The first 5 minutes will tell the tale.
Thanks Penski, Glad that the dog is on the right scent.
The Bigporkknuckle
18 Sep 2008, 21:51
Thanks Penski, Glad that the dog is on the right scent.
To me where Collegians will lose it is that they are expected to win as its expected all of their guns will fire. in such a big game To be honest they did last week but they haven not done it back to back in too many games this year.
I think Collegians will follow sult as did UB and befores
To me where Collegians will lose it is that they are expected to win as its expected all of their guns will fire. in such a big game To be honest they did last week but they haven not done it back to back in too many games this year.
I think Collegians will follow sult as did UB and befores
StBs are hard,tough and when the chips are down they will dig deep.Collegians are classy and have more talent however StBs are ruthless.Bedes by 30 points
Brooksy01
19 Sep 2008, 01:20
Future skipper of StBMT J.Tyqin will win the medal
Berty Collins to kick the first goal in the first and third quarters, whilst Brett Phibbs will kick the first goal in the second and fourth quarters....
Tigers to win by 23 points
Chipper Adkins to blast his team-mates
Should be an xcellent game
Chazz M Michaels
19 Sep 2008, 09:27
any word on the team of the year?
hornet?
Chazz M Michaels
19 Sep 2008, 09:34
and where has the mailman gone? spring carnival is not far away and i need tips...
JG Hornet
19 Sep 2008, 10:14
hornet?
No worries. Was very, very hard this year - the team perhaps reflects a couple of favourites of mine (Shields for one, Clarke from Xavs, who didn't get one umpires vote). Very unlucky Matt Smith from Brighton, a couple of Beders, Curatolo, the list goes on...
Team Of the Year 2008
B: Evan Byrne (OI) Andrew Bowen (OX), Richard Eva (Scotch)
HB: Nick Serafini (OX), Nick Stone (Coll), Andrew Baxter (Coll)
C: Sam Anstey (SBMT), Damian Adkins (Coll), Aaron Shields (DLS)
HF: Andrew McGuinness (OB), Jack Watts (UB), Tim Clarke (OX)
F: Adam Houlihan (OS), Fergus Watts (Coll), Luke Wintle (STMT)
Fol: Hayden Heta (OI), Mark Patterson (UB), Nick Ries (Coll)
Inter: Peter McGettigan (SBMT), David Lowe (DLS), Jono Dixon(Coll), Jon Perrett (OB)
Uncle Mick
19 Sep 2008, 10:39
What about Mark Luxon? Stiff!
PooBrown
19 Sep 2008, 11:17
Maybe the 2nd leading goalkicker in the comp (Toovey) might of slotted in somewhere up forward as well...maybe in place of Wintle who managed the massive haul of 18 goals in 19 games....or even Jack Watts with his huge haul of 13 for the season. Isnt Watts a ruckman??
JG Hornet
19 Sep 2008, 11:20
Maybe the 2nd leading goalkicker in the comp (Toovey) might of slotted in somewhere up forward as well...maybe in place of Wintle who managed the massive haul of 18 goals in 19 games....or even Jack Watts with his huge haul of 13 for the season. Isnt Watts a ruckman??
Wintle had to be there - he's really stood up in A Section. Toovey unlucky yes – so was Spargo from OI. Jack Watts at CHF was basically a means of having he and Heta in the starting XVIII
PooBrown
19 Sep 2008, 11:42
Wintle may have stood up, but he has averaged less than a goal a game, so i would think there would be more dangerous "forward" options...and considering CHF is prob the most important spot on the ground, where does the no.1 CHF in the comp line up then?? haha ;)
Personally I think teams of the year players should be named in the spots they play in during the year... If Heta is judged as the best ruckman, then the 2nd best ruckman starts on the bench. Much like a cricket team of the year wouldnt include 2 wicketkeepers, as there is only one spot in the team available....
For whats its worth, the backline and midfield i think is about spot on, jsut the fwd line i think needs some tinkering... Refer to Mike Sheahans article in the HUN today regarding fwds being overlooked in favour of mids...
And how did Clark not get a vote?? Didnt he kick 10 in there somewhere??
JG Hornet
19 Sep 2008, 11:55
Wintle may have stood up, but he has averaged less than a goal a game, so i would think there would be more dangerous "forward" options...and considering CHF is prob the most important spot on the ground, where does the no.1 CHF in the comp line up then?? haha ;)
Personally I think teams of the year players should be named in the spots they play in during the year... If Heta is judged as the best ruckman, then the 2nd best ruckman starts on the bench. Much like a cricket team of the year wouldnt include 2 wicketkeepers, as there is only one spot in the team available....
For whats its worth, the backline and midfield i think is about spot on, jsut the fwd line i think needs some tinkering... Refer to Mike Sheahans article in the HUN today regarding fwds being overlooked in favour of mids...
And how did Clark not get a vote?? Didnt he kick 10 in there somewhere??
Yep fair enough...Just because Watts won the Woodrow doesn't necessarily mean Heta wasn't the best ruckman this year.
Clarke kicked 10, in a losing team, in a big match, but not a vote. For what's it's worth, he was almost my player of the year. Maybe he gives lip? i don't get it.
Chazz M Michaels
19 Sep 2008, 12:03
he's not a midfielder...
PooBrown
19 Sep 2008, 12:05
Yep fair enough...Just because Watts won the Woodrow doesn't necessarily mean Heta wasn't the best ruckman this year.
Clarke kicked 10, in a losing team, in a big match, but not a vote. For what's it's worth, he was almost my player of the year. Maybe he gives lip? i don't get it.
He doesnt play in the midfeild.... Thats your reason...
Much like Fergus kicking bags of 8's and only getting the 2's and not the 3's. Yet you take him out of the team, and Collegians prob wouldnt of won the majority of those games.
JG Hornet
19 Sep 2008, 12:08
He doesnt play in the midfeild.... Thats your reason...
Much like Fergus kicking bags of 8's and only getting the 2's and not the 3's. Yet you take him out of the team, and Collegians prob wouldnt of won the majority of those games.
There's no doubt, looking at the votes over the years, that ammo umpires really hate the players who backchat. The Greg Williams syndrome.
BenBal Plugger
19 Sep 2008, 12:23
Moving to Bendigo in 2009?
Sandhurst Dragons, Bendigo Football League, looking for interested key position players.
Fantastic facilities, team of trainers and dedicated club doctor, strong social club and best ground in central Vic - Bendigo Bombers (VFL) use it, so up to AFL standard.
Send any queries to my mailbox.
Jascave
19 Sep 2008, 12:28
The umpires who will control the A Section Grand Final on Sunday have been announced. They are Russell Davidson and Tim Sutcliffe.
JG Hornet
19 Sep 2008, 12:31
Moving to Bendigo in 2009?
Sandhurst Dragons, Bendigo Football League, looking for interested key position players.
Fantastic facilities, team of trainers and dedicated club doctor, strong social club and best ground in central Vic - Bendigo Bombers (VFL) use it, so up to AFL standard.
Send any queries to my mailbox.
Go away peanut
The umpires who will control the A Section Grand Final on Sunday have been announced. They are Russell Davidson and Tim Sutcliffe.
Davidson is an astute choice but Sutcliffe - geez he must have incriminating photos of Benny's hairpiece. Can't bounce the ball for starters.
Teacher's pet I reckon.
Good luck to all, I'm tipping the Lions by 4 points in a thriller.
BOG to Anstey in a losing side.
nicho_magic
19 Sep 2008, 14:39
Davidson is an astute choice but Sutcliffe - geez he must have incriminating photos of Benny's hairpiece. Can't bounce the ball for starters.
Teacher's pet I reckon.
davidson doesn't bounce either....
how much will collegians win by this weekend... i've been saying it since pre-season they will win the flag... collegians by 30 points!!!
Paul Kaos
19 Sep 2008, 15:36
No worries. Was very, very hard this year - the team perhaps reflects a couple of favourites of mine (Shields for one, Clarke from Xavs, who didn't get one umpires vote). Very unlucky Matt Smith from Brighton, a couple of Beders, Curatolo, the list goes on...
Team Of the Year 2008
B: Evan Byrne (OI) Andrew Bowen (OX), Richard Eva (Scotch)
HB: Nick Serafini (OX), Nick Stone (Coll), Andrew Baxter (Coll)
C: Sam Anstey (SBMT), Damian Adkins (Coll), Aaron Shields (DLS)
HF: Andrew McGuinness (OB), Jack Watts (UB), Tim Clarke (OX)
F: Adam Houlihan (OS), Fergus Watts (Coll), Luke Wintle (STMT)
Fol: Hayden Heta (OI), Mark Patterson (UB), Nick Ries (Coll)
Inter: Peter McGettigan (SBMT), David Lowe (DLS), Jono Dixon(Coll), Jon Perrett (OB)
J. Arnold?
Best onballer in the ammos
Most heavily tagged player in the comp
27 goals from 13 games
Including hauls of 6, 5, and 3 twice.
I could work him in at least off the bench somehow.
The Tiger's Nuts
19 Sep 2008, 16:54
There's no doubt, looking at the votes over the years, that ammo umpires really hate the players who backchat.
No, they don't hate them at all. They just don't award any votes. Conduct and deportment are just as important as being hard at the ball for the entire game and having silky ball skills and dominating an opponent. There are many lads who would rise meteorically in the rankings if they spent some time learning how to drink tea with their pinkie finger pointing out at the correct angle, and how to balance a book on their head while gliding around the centre square. Politeness costs nothing.
Speaking of which, I've just spent a week closeted in that pimple on Australia's backside, Sydney. Horrid place. Amazing thing about league players is they invariably refer to the man in the middle as "Ref" or "Sir."
"Aww, come on ref" or "Sir, did you see that?" as opposed to "You're f*king joking!!!!" or "Open ya bloody eyes ya maggot!!!"
Strange people up there.
Jascave
19 Sep 2008, 18:35
Davidson is an astute choice but Sutcliffe - geez he must have incriminating photos of Benny's hairpiece. Can't bounce the ball for starters.Teacher's pet I reckon.
OK, Fraser, if you were in charge of the umpiring selection process, who would you have chosen to do the A Section Grand Final?
JG Hornet
19 Sep 2008, 18:46
OK, Fraser, if you were in charge of the umpiring selection process, who would you have chosen to do the A Section Grand Final?
I say bring back Benny himself. The king of the big occasion. I must say that his hair simply beggered belief on Monday night - it's hard to put into words what sort of arrangement it is now...
soupsey
19 Sep 2008, 20:20
Lions by 5 goals I reckon. Too much experience for mine. I can't see Hosking, blumfield, Robbins, Roach, Holst , Mooney, Unsworth, Stone et al letting this opportunity slide.
Built up the correct way by ensuring the best"internals" came to the club. Once the culture was set then add minimal "external" players and A grade flag should be yours.
soupsey
19 Sep 2008, 20:29
Whilst I'm at it........How the f*ck can Tim Clarke not poll A vote in the woodrow?????
Were they distracted whilst the tenth goal sailed through that day?
Absolutely zero credability attached to that award in my opinion.
Rhombus
19 Sep 2008, 23:49
Best player in the comp.
Slay Master G
20 Sep 2008, 02:08
If not the best team then the best blokes. Collegians for mine.
St Bede's a great club but this is not their year (touch wood).
I'm out of touch with the VAFA but the real story is that the past 2 B Grade premiers are playing off for the ultimate amateur prize and that is testamant to our great competition.
Good luck to both teams. SMG
Slay Master G
20 Sep 2008, 02:57
Lions by 5 goals I reckon. Too much experience for mine. I can't see Hosking, blumfield, Robbins, Roach, Holst , Mooney, Unsworth, Stone et al letting this opportunity slide.
Built up the correct way by ensuring the best"internals" came to the club. Once the culture was set then add minimal "external" players and A grade flag should be yours.
Not trying to pump up the tyres of the former coaching panel are we Soupsey?
DangerMouse
20 Sep 2008, 12:10
The tigers by 5 goals and anstey the StBedes teachers for BOG
Jase,
Relax - it was a joke. I went to school with Tim and have known him for 20+ years. The guy can certainly whistle well.
Still, he can't bounce the ball and Damo and Macca would be better at after match bevies for sure. On that basis alone, it should've been Anthony Damen and Steve McCarthy.
Too many metrosexuals running around in whie at the moment (i.e. Abie Firley) for my liking. Bring back a few real blokes to the umpiring ranks!!!
Cheers
Frase
nicho_magic
21 Sep 2008, 12:09
20 degrees outside. sunshine. lock in collegians by 100
bowman11
21 Sep 2008, 16:29
No magic Nicko - 1/2 Time St Bedes 6.7 Collapsables - 0.3
Prediction is not looking magical!!!
hotdigitydog
21 Sep 2008, 18:11
Well Nicho, game over, lock in the Tigers for the 3peat baby. You have been beating your own useless drum for the whole year. Well done Tiges,
And on a side note to Wayne Dyer Pres of Collegians your behaviour and the way you represent your club is laughable. If you guys are going anywhere it needs to be without him. Wayne if you post on here please PM me I have a wonderful message to pass on to you.
Go tigers, Well done skipper Juice Wintle BOG back to back and full credit to Bevo and Lamby. The club and everyone are stoked about what we have achieved.
St Bedes Flag Favourites
As predicted back in May, the mighty St Bedes have taken all before them. Look at over the next few days for sightings of famous Tigers celebrating this mighty achievement.
How long will this dynasty last for. Who knows.
JG Hornet
21 Sep 2008, 18:40
Great effort Tigers. Bloody windy today, just for a change.
Tigers do the treble
St Bede’s/Mentone Tigers have rewritten VAFA history today, winning the A Section flag by five goals over a flat Collegians side.
A Section flags are often won by highly-skilled, pacy, road-running sides that play on at all costs and use the space of the ‘Wick to their advantage. But today’s premiers are cut from a different cloth. They played hard, contested football, hunted in packs and backed themselves in the one-on-one contests. You couldn’t help but notice that they had the physical edge on their opponents.
Today was an absolute rotter weather-wise. If you were slight of frame, you were half a chance to be blown away down the Nepean Highway, Mary Poppins style. But it didn’t bother the Tigers one bit. They played textbook Elsternwick Park footy and didn’t get bogged down in the dead pockets. Conversely, Collegians had all sorts of trouble clearing the ball from their backline and seemed bamboozled by the howling gale.
Jock Nelson, after whom the A Section medal is named, handed over the medal to a player who very much plays the way he used to back in the 50s and 60s (well, apparently). Skipper Luke Wintle controlled the aerial contests, took a stack of contested marks and provided fine leadership all day. Another veteran, Michael Hazel (who has an odd trio of clubs on his resume, having played at Salesian, Old Melburnians and now the Tigers) stepped up again when the heat was on and was particularly dangerous at the stoppages. Sam Anstey was as classy as ever while Daniel Poynton blanketed Fergus Watts out of proceedings. Everywhere you looked, there were good Tigers players, with Michael Wintle, Paul Wintle, Brett Collins and Paul Groves worthy of a special mention.
Collegians will be bitterly disappointed with their game today. Like the Bulldogs on Friday night, they simply didn’t take their chances. Onballers Chris Blumfield and Nick Ries fought hard all day and Charlie Holst stood out down back but several big names didn’t fire a shot. More than anything, they will be ruing their third term, when they had all the play but kicked 2.12. Their inability to score a goal in the first term with a strong breeze at their backs was also decisive.
But all credit to the Tigers. Looking at today, it’s impossible to envisage an A Section competition where they won’t be right in the thick of things for years to come.
The Big Show
21 Sep 2008, 19:16
Nicho you peanut, you've been floggin' yourself senseless all year you deluded tosser!
Back to Saudi Arabia you nuffy...
Tigers to physical for the soft Lions!!!
Jascave
21 Sep 2008, 19:27
St Bedes Mentone Tigers played very well today. I thought the Tigers decision to kick against the breeze was an interesting decision at first, but it certainly paid dividends in the 2nd quarter when kicking to the scoreboard end. Collegians would regret their kicking for goal in the 'premiership quarter', when the Lions scored 2.12 to the scoreboard end (true, the wind was tricky) after they had all the play in that quarter. 5 or 6 of those behinds scored by the Lions could've been goals. 3 premierships in 3 years-C, B, A-is something I don't think we'll see for a long time to come and well deserved by all at St Bedes Mentone Tigers.
Rhombus
21 Sep 2008, 20:26
Not sure if an uncontested style of footy will ever win a GF.
St.bedes won because they were harder, smarter and outcoached Collegians. How many times did Collegians kick it out on the full in the 2nd qtr?
They looked OK in the last half when they played on but their chip, chip game was no good.
BrianSpeaking
21 Sep 2008, 21:08
Juice never lets the Tiges down....
THE BEACON
21 Sep 2008, 21:24
Great pressure applied by the Tigers to Collegians for 4 quarters of football.
A great win which will be celebrated long & hard.
Go Tigers
Cardio Carl
22 Sep 2008, 09:43
Maybe if they had of played the way they did on Sunday against Xavs in the 2nd semi, the cocky Collegian players that booked a trip to Fiji Prelim weekend could have gone!!!
Regards
Surly
Congratulations JT.
Well done to all the boys.
Gee you sounded P*ssed on SEN this morning.
WHat did you guys say to get the dump button?
Blueboys11
22 Sep 2008, 09:47
If that wind ruined game isnt the death knell for Elsternwick Park, then i dont know what is... Admittedly it was a little breezy everywhere...but EP takes the winds to the extreme... RIP EP...
ShinSplints
22 Sep 2008, 10:49
St Bedes too good, the best team in the VAFA!!! :thumbsu:
The collegians WITH the wind in the first 1/4 chipped the ball around and had an extra man (Stone) in their backline. From then on it was clear they had no idea how to play in less than perfect conditions. poor little prep boys ey! :p
St bedes went in twice as hard were better skilled and drilled!!
Game was over half way through the second quarter wasnt even a challenge in the end.
for those who said the beder boys would have trouble staying in precious A grade with all the prissy prep schools ....SUK ON THAT!
ShinSplints
22 Sep 2008, 10:53
um dude collegians sure they will look good against 3rd rate sides like xaverians but against st bedes who are another level, they look crap because they cant handle the pressure and arent as skilled plain and simple.
Plumber
22 Sep 2008, 11:26
um dude collegians sure they will look good against 3rd rate sides like xaverians but against st bedes who are another level, they look crap because they cant handle the pressure and arent as skilled plain and simple.
Do you play for Geelong you tossa? I would have thought 9 out of 13 flags would rate a club a bit higher than "3rd rate". The side that played Collegians was also sans Serafini, Colbert, Beardsly, Howard and others.
vafa guru
22 Sep 2008, 12:23
Well done tigers - amazing achievement.
Can anyone from Brindisi St confirm the rumour that coach beveridge has pulled the pin?
Brian Speaking - you seem to be in the know down there. Whats happening?
BrianSpeaking
22 Sep 2008, 12:23
Do you play for Geelong you tossa? I would have thought 9 out of 13 flags would rate a club a bit higher than "3rd rate". The side that played Collegians was also sans Serafini, Colbert, Beardsly, Howard and others.
Plumber, you cant count your VFL guys who have your club as a second club. If that was the case, throw in half a dozen gun Tigers who missed and throw in Shane Valenti who was going to play with the Tiges this year before being drafted.
However, Old Xavs, Brighton and Collegiens all are really great clubs with strong lists. Maybe Old Scotch were lucky but any of the top 5 would have been worthy Premiers this year, one of the strongest years in A Section in recent memory.
Bring on 2009!!!!!!!
Blueboys11
22 Sep 2008, 12:24
St Bedes too good, the best team in the VAFA!!! :thumbsu:
The collegians WITH the wind in the first 1/4 chipped the ball around and had an extra man (Stone) in their backline. From then on it was clear they had no idea how to play in less than perfect conditions. poor little prep boys ey! :p
St bedes went in twice as hard were better skilled and drilled!!
Game was over half way through the second quarter wasnt even a challenge in the end.
for those who said the beder boys would have trouble staying in precious A grade with all the prissy prep schools ....SUK ON THAT!
Yes, St Bedes were the best team on the day, but having played them this year i would rate them as prob the 4th or 5th best team in the comp... Luckily for them every other team in the top 4 was out of form come finals time, and they were thus able to capitalise on that.... Reverse the result against OI at Elsternwick Park when OI didnt have a forward line and had more scoring shots but blew there chances, and St Bedes dont make the finals and finish 6th...
Congrats on the win, but back to back flags is the true sign of a champion team ( eg Old Xavs over the past 10 years )
Prime candidates to do a Haileybury in my opinion....
THE BEACON
22 Sep 2008, 12:31
Yes, St Bedes were the best team on the day, but having played them this year i would rate them as prob the 4th or 5th best team in the comp... Luckily for them every other team in the top 4 was out of form come finals time, and they were thus able to capitalise on that.... Reverse the result against OI at Elsternwick Park when OI didnt have a forward line and had more scoring shots but blew there chances, and St Bedes dont make the finals and finish 6th...
Congrats on the win, but back to back flags is the true sign of a champion team ( eg Old Xavs over the past 10 years )
If your team was good enough they should have won enough games to make the four to give themselves a chance but didn't.
Thats the way it goes.
The Big Pineapple
22 Sep 2008, 12:39
No chance buddy. And you're kidding yourself with that post. They are more chance to win it again than being relegated. No where near comparable to Haileybury.
The Tiger's Nuts
22 Sep 2008, 13:08
So where were you on Saturday? Not on the bank behind the goals...
The Big Pineapple
22 Sep 2008, 13:26
So where were you on Saturday? Not on the bank behind the goals...
Same place I am for every game Tiger.
Gents and others.
I would like to introduce myself i post under MERTON, I am known as a fair, competant poster on b section however my side OEG have moved up to A section.What a relief, getting away from all those Ruffians and bogans.
The relief was like being constipated for a week and finally its all over and you achieve what you set to do.
If we did not have to play in a tornado i reckon we would have beaten the pygmys,but they were the better side on the day.
Look forward to many years of banter with the cream of the vafa.OEG i think will fit in well, we are very social,fair and honest.See you next year.
north of the river
22 Sep 2008, 14:04
Gents and others.
I would like to introduce myself i post under MERTON, I am known as a fair, competant poster on b section however my side OEG have moved up to A section.What a relief, getting away from all those Ruffians and bogans.
The relief was like being constipated for a week and finally its all over and you achieve what you set to do.
If we did not have to play in a tornado i reckon we would have beaten the pygmys,but they were the better side on the day.
Look forward to many years of banter with the cream of the vafa.OEG i think will fit in well, we are very social,fair and honest.See you next year.
What the hell?.
NEWS FLASH.....no one gives a sh*t who you are or what you went through over last few weeks.
End of the day your side had its greatest chance to win a PREMIERSHIP, BUT THEY FAILED.
Come up to A Grade and have a go - but history tells that chokers usually last 1 year. You choked on a premiership, what are you going to do when facing relegation.
I thought Scottydogs post sums up OEG.
Good bye
What the hell?.
NEWS FLASH.....no one gives a sh*t who you are or what you went through over last few weeks.
End of the day your side had its greatest chance to win a PREMIERSHIP, BUT THEY FAILED.
Come up to A Grade and have a go - but history tells that chokers usually last 1 year. You choked on a premiership, what are you going to do when facing relegation.
I thought Scottydogs post sums up
Good bye
Your the sort of ar*******hole i was trying to get away from.Thanks for the welcome
The Tiger's Nuts
22 Sep 2008, 14:40
Its OK Merts, he's the token asshole. Read back a few pages, you'll soon work out who to pay attention to and who to poke fun at.
This one's got my vote for easily the silliest post of the entire season for the entire VAFA competition.
I doubt the STBMT lads would be thinking of handing their medals back on the strength of your ill-considered and ridiculous post.
They won the flag, therefore they were the best team in the competition. How could you possibly argue otherwise?
:rolleyes:
Max Leader
22 Sep 2008, 14:58
This one's got my vote for easily the silliest post of the entire season for the entire VAFA competition.
I doubt the STBMT lads would be thinking of handing their medals back on the strength of your ill-considered and ridiculous post.
They won the flag, therefore they were the best team in the competition. How could you possibly argue otherwise?
Scribe, your arguement fails somewhat when in 1999, Essendon were clearly the best team, had an off day, and North swept in and claimed a worthy premiership. But North would agree that they were not the best team in 1999.
I'd also hate to say the OE were clearly the best team in B Grade. Had a nightmare on Elsternwick Street, and Marcellin took the cup.
St Bedes can thank OB's inability to hold off OX for two minutes in Round 18. Otherwise OS vs St. Bedes in the 1st Semi. OS have only fears for OX in finals.
I think St.Bedes efforts are fantastic for the comp. Gives all clubs hope. Work hard and the results will come.
In summary, to win a premiership you need the stars to align, good management, very good ability and luck. For Collegians, their stars ran out on the ground and forgot to shine.
So go easy on BlueBoys11
THE BEACON
22 Sep 2008, 15:12
A lot of what ifs!!!!!!!
Half Back Pocket
22 Sep 2008, 15:34
Agree Frase...just another OI moron spruiking themselves up!:thumbsd:
Armitage2Riewoldt
22 Sep 2008, 16:53
Top stuff Tiges. Stayed at the club till 3. Good times.
First quarter set it up, 4-5 goal breeze and the Tiges go in leading by a goal, which in reality was 5-6. Which they proved by slamming on 5 goals to zip in the second.
Gotta feel for that no.16.:p He copped so much shit from us behind the goal. And 'Brocky' as well.
Back to back to back...to back?
stewie40
22 Sep 2008, 18:39
i dip my hat to the st bedes/mentone tigers football club on winning the premiership in the top grade over the weekend. must be a fantastic feeling to go 3 from 3. well done!!
The Tiger's Nuts
22 Sep 2008, 18:40
Gotta feel for that no.16.:p He copped so much shit from us behind the goal.
And No.9. And No.6. :)
Apple Core
22 Sep 2008, 21:11
traditionaly they threw the chatholics to the lions.... lets say catholics 1 lions 0.
soft cocks can't win finals
Stumpy McFadden
22 Sep 2008, 23:03
Suck on that wayno you wanker
looks like you wasted all your money on a bunch of soft, weak minded prancers who lived right up to their AFL reputations.
Brock Mooney will be having nightmares for the next 6 months. Does he know how to take a chestmark?? Absolutely Shat his pants on numerious occassions.
tigers played harder footy all day.
Just a quick side note to all those silver spoon ****** wesley supporters, no matter how much money you have you cant buy a ****ing heart!
Blueboys keep convincing yourself your right in there, maybe make finals before talking bout the premiers.
i believe a few of the afl boys for the crumbles maybe moving on next year, is that true??
nicho what happened to the 100 points??
Armitage2Riewoldt
23 Sep 2008, 00:38
And No.9. And No.6. :)
Ah, ya can't beat kicking it out on the full about 3 times in a row. :thumbsu:
Or absoluately shitting yaself, then playing on, then shitting yourself again, before handballing straight to the opposition in the goal square. :thumbsu::thumbsu:
How was Juice's bomb from about 60, landing in the crowd 10m back!?
Can't see em getting any worse next year with the 19s coming through!
BrianSpeaking
23 Sep 2008, 00:57
I thought it was a fine display of fair footy from St Bedes and some of the worst sniping I have ever seen at a VAFA game from the Purple Poofs... a little like this bloke in the link below, number 35 in the purple. Maybe the Wesley lads have seen the footage and are deluded to think they can beat a Catholic in a fight? 29 on Hazell in the last q was a disgrace, weak umpire who was right there, as well as the snipe on Collo, dog act...hope their beer tastes really sour.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wLCHGcdqjHE
I thought it was a fine display of fair footy from St Bedes and some of the worst sniping I have ever seen at a VAFA game from the Purple Poofs... a little like this bloke in the link below, number 35 in the purple. Maybe the Wesley lads have seen the footage and are deluded to think they can beat a Catholic in a fight? 29 on Hazell in the last q was a disgrace, weak umpire who was right there, as well as the snipe on Collo, dog act...hope their beer tastes really sour.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wLCHGcdqjHE
Just out of interest Brian, what's the 'allegiance percentage' you now boast in the VAFA? Is it 50% SKOB and 50% STBMT? Seems to be leaning more towards STBMT than SKOB!!!
I never thought I'd see the day. ;)
BrianSpeaking
23 Sep 2008, 09:51
Mr Scribe,
my two eldest sons play footy at St Bedes/Mentone so we are definitely a Tigers family now whether I like it or not!
Once a SKOB man always a SKOB man, it certainly helps that both are in different Sections and that is the beauty of the VAFA.
Mr Scribe,
my two eldest sons play footy at St Bedes/Mentone so we are definitely a Tigers family now whether I like it or not!
Once a SKOB man always a SKOB man, it certainly helps that both are in different Sections and that is the beauty of the VAFA.
What the hell is a middle aged father of players doing posting on here? Surely this is one of the worst cases of ugly parent syndrome. At your age Brian you should have more important things to do than stir up trouble and talk rubbish with blokes at least twenty years younger than you. Give up mate you are obviously well past it, stop trying to make up for your own unfulfilled football fantasies. Seriously, get your own life.
BrianSpeaking
23 Sep 2008, 11:07
What the hell is a middle aged father of players doing posting on here? Surely this is one of the worst cases of ugly parent syndrome. At your age Brian you should have more important things to do than stir up trouble and talk rubbish with blokes at least twenty years younger than you. Give up mate you are obviously well past it, stop trying to make up for your own unfulfilled football fantasies. Seriously, get your own life.
Very funny, Im probably younger than you. Surely all of the OH people aren't dic kheads like you and the other OH posters on this forum?
Big Red is back
23 Sep 2008, 11:27
looks like you wasted all your money on a bunch of soft, weak minded prancers who lived right up to their AFL reputations.
Brock Mooney will be having nightmares for the next 6 months. Does he know how to take a chestmark?? Absolutely Shat his pants on numerious occassions.
Just a quick side note to all those silver spoon ****** wesley supporters, no matter how much money you have you cant buy a ****ing heart!
Blueboys keep convincing yourself your right in there, maybe make finals before talking bout the premiers.
i believe a few of the afl boys for the crumbles maybe moving on next year, is that true??
Typical Newbie post (just get your first computer did u?).... vent , make a fool of yourself and the piss off.
Mate u need to get a life? Did Wayno sleep with your wife or something... tool of the year you are
THE BEACON
23 Sep 2008, 11:29
Wouldn't worry Brian, Winner's are grinners!!!
Pretty sure Brian's eldest sons are still yet to hit double digits (or maybe just there now). Remember STBMT does have teams from seniors all the way down through to the under 9's!
ShinSplints
23 Sep 2008, 17:38
Spot on :thumbsu:
How many times did collegians (the retards) kick it out on the full in the second quarter???? got a be some kind of record i counted 5 could have been 7!!!
Couldnt handle the pressure.
Best thing was the poofy wesly "cheer" squad was so loud in the first quarter but by the second half didnt even cheer when their own team scored a goal. bloody classic. Collegians didnt even get close.
ShinSplints
23 Sep 2008, 17:42
Typical Newbie post (just get your first computer did u?).... vent , make a fool of yourself and the piss off.
Mate u need to get a life? Did Wayno sleep with your wife or something... tool of the year you are
how is that mnaking a fool??? everything he wrote was FACT!!! Wayno is a arrogant prissy school boy who wrote crap even though knew nothing of real footy.
Edithvale, Aspendale, Frankston, Parkdale, Mentone those plus others werew mainly represented in the TIGER team saturday!!!
JG Hornet
23 Sep 2008, 17:56
how is that mnaking a fool??? everything he wrote was FACT!!! Wayno is a arrogant prissy school boy who wrote crap even though knew nothing of real footy.
Edithvale, Aspendale, Frankston, Parkdale, Mentone those plus others werew mainly represented in the TIGER team saturday!!!
Is it just me or is there about a dozen Tigers posters who have been let out of the barnyard since Sunday? Don't spoil the good reputation of your club gents - you are all really sounding like ugly winners...
Cardio Carl
23 Sep 2008, 20:19
Are there any coaching moves down at Old Brighton???
Harper?
Are there any coaching moves down at Old Brighton???
Harper?
Excuse my ignorance (or perhaps stupidity) but how would the President of South Melbourne Districts FC know what coaching moves are afoot at Old Brighton?
:confused:
Johnny Utah #9
24 Sep 2008, 00:03
Spot on :thumbsu:
How many times did collegians (the retards) kick it out on the full in the second quarter???? got a be some kind of record i counted 5 could have been 7!!!
Couldnt handle the pressure.
Best thing was the poofy wesly "cheer" squad was so loud in the first quarter but by the second half didnt even cheer when their own team scored a goal. bloody classic. Collegians didnt even get close.
They must have been stoned by then.....or Gavin Hopper was lurking and they didn't want to attract him by cheering too loudly.
BigMomma
24 Sep 2008, 10:02
Is it just me or is there about a dozen Tigers posters who have been let out of the barnyard since Sunday? Don't spoil the good reputation of your club gents - you are all really sounding like ugly winners...
As a Tiger supporter I agree. We have been quite most of the year on Big Footy and not by accident. Time to back off, leave Big Footy alone and go into hibernation. Collegians are a good club and deserve credit. A Section is fantastic and we are happy to be a part of it. Let's take the win and move on.