View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football
Any thoughts on how peter steele is travelling at uni blues. i am an old friend and team mate from seymour. he is a class player and i hope he is dominating.
Had injuries in the off season, broke back into the side 6 weeks back. Performed quite well in defense when Hayter and North were both out. Tried up forward agains OH and played well kicking a couple of very good goals. I think he will get better as the season goes.
Tough match up for many clubs.
holding
20 Jul 2006, 00:16
Yea some very interesting points Scribe.
OS: Really haven't done much wrong apart from the Xav's Game, loss to Trinity by 5 points which was a cracking match, can't see them missing Finals Action at this late stage.
OH: They will pull through this rough patch and finish top 4 IMO
OI: Might just miss out on finals action this year but should be very happy with the year they have had.
OX: Certainly will play finals & are odds on to play on that last day but i wouldn't pencil them in yet
OT: Great form at the moment still think they lack the depth and talent to play finals this year.
UB: Will make the 4, probably push OI or OT out, not sure if they can win it from 3rd or 4th though, look for them to Punish OS this weekend (Just a feeling i have)
DLS: Would be happy to remain in A section and they should do that providing they win this weekend.
ST.B: Young, not much exp massive chance to be playing B Section next year
Marc: Might just scrape through and beat Bernards in the Relegation battle
OM's: Bye Bye, better luck in B section you bunch of pretenders (God only knows how they have survived and remained in A section for the last 2 years)
After the weekend's results,
OH: Rough patch continues - they lacked fitness and run in the final term
OI: Still being under-estimated by all.
OX: Did what was expected, but are looking the goods
OT: have beaten all sides bar De La and Uni, who they play in the next 2 games.
UB: As predicted - sent a strong message
DLS: Still in touch, but the next couple of weeks are vital
ST.B: Looking down only now, not up
Marc: Going, going...
OM's: Gawn.
Xavs and Uni supporters - Start preparing for that last week in September!
Axel1980
23 Jul 2006, 22:40
DG-Man - Realistically only 1 of them (Uni or Xav's) can finish top 2. Do you think the team that finishes 3rd or 4th can still win it? (Assuming they both make finals which they should)
Good point. I can't see either losing another game this year. I think they clearly have the best lists, and are just gaining momentum. Only OS will be able to stop them finishing 1 and 2 IMO, if they can fire back up. But recent 100 point thrashing (from Uni and Xavs) have exposed a few major floors and i think they will lose as many as they win on the way home. Nothing is guaranteed in this game, but on form and on paper, i have the Xavs and Blues well out in front!
Eddie Woloschek
24 Jul 2006, 00:50
Way too early to be predicting a GF between teams that are 3rd and 6th. Anything can, and probably will happen in the next six weeks. Premature to be writing off OH, OS, OI and DLS - they could indeed end up being the 4 teams that play off. Perhaps not likely, but possible.
holding
24 Jul 2006, 11:39
I would say it is a safe bet on Xav's making it, uni still need to win 5 outta their last 6 to give themself a really good shot playing finals (they are still 2 games out of the 4)
Really the best thing that can happen for Uni is OS keep winning this will open the remaining positions right up.
Max Leader
24 Jul 2006, 17:20
Rambo vs Ford (Heavy weights)
Low vs Marsden (Fly weights)
rick James
24 Jul 2006, 17:41
But recent 100 point thrashing (from Uni and Xavs) have exposed a few major floors !
Carpetted or floorboards?
Carpetted!
I thought OS had durable industrial style! However it seems to be a fluffy white commercial type!
Axel1980
25 Jul 2006, 00:25
Some Huge names missing for OS, we will do just fine over the next 6-8 weeks with some big players to come back in.
Magoos are travelling very well with only the 1 lose for the year (3 points)
Clubbies should stay in the 4 and see some more finals action this year.
Way too early to be predicting a GF between teams that are 3rd and 6th. Anything can, and probably will happen in the next six weeks. Premature to be writing off OH, OS, OI and DLS - they could indeed end up being the 4 teams that play off. Perhaps not likely, but possible.
T'would appear you, yourself have written off the only A section senior side which hasn't been beaten since May. Interesting.....
Eddie Woloschek
25 Jul 2006, 11:59
T'would appear you, yourself have written off the only A section senior side which hasn't been beaten since May. Interesting.....
Not at all. OT could be there as well.
holding
25 Jul 2006, 22:32
I'll Write them off if you like?
OLD TRINITY ARE NO CHANCE AT WINNING A SECTION IN 2006
Archangel17
26 Jul 2006, 00:05
After the weekend's results,
OH: Rough patch continues - they lacked fitness and run in the final term
OI: Still being under-estimated by all.
OX: Did what was expected, but are looking the goods
OT: have beaten all sides bar De La and Uni, who they play in the next 2 games.
UB: As predicted - sent a strong message
DLS: Still in touch, but the next couple of weeks are vital
ST.B: Looking down only now, not up
Marc: Going, going...
OM's: Gawn.
How close is Branigan(OI)? very good footballer who could go some way to filling the hole left by Hope, and IMO give OI a rough chance for the flag and make finals a certainty.-Yes they are very underrated- Must ask though, how on earth does a bloke become wheelchair bound after a corky? Must have been on the **** to bleed that much.
holding
26 Jul 2006, 00:09
What has happened to Hope?
Archangel17
26 Jul 2006, 00:17
Badly fractured jaw i hear, though he may get back for finals.. have heard no update since 2 weeks ago
Blueboys11
26 Jul 2006, 10:08
Hopey out for the year is a massive blow to the Hoers.
He is in good spirits, but obviously very disapointed with what has happened.
webbo_83
26 Jul 2006, 10:47
How close is Branigan(OI)? very good footballer who could go some way to filling the hole left by Hope, and IMO give OI a rough chance for the flag and make finals a certainty.-Yes they are very underrated- Must ask though, how on earth does a bloke become wheelchair bound after a corky? Must have been on the **** to bleed that much.
Hopey played against Marcellin on the weekend, so that person with the two week old information is probably wrong? I was under the impression that he had a sore ankle on Saturday and was being rested once the game was won?
Surely Branigan is no chance? Saw him a few weeks ago, and he is still limping heavily. The rumour I heard was that he still has a lot of pain in the ankle/foot...
Archangel17
26 Jul 2006, 10:55
Hopey played against Marcellin on the weekend, so that person with the two week old information is probably wrong? I was under the impression that he had a sore ankle on Saturday and was being rested once the game was won?
Surely Branigan is no chance? Saw him a few weeks ago, and he is still limping heavily. The rumour I heard was that he still has a lot of pain in the ankle/foot...
i stand corrected- note 'hope out for season' did appear in the record i believe. Regardless glad to hear he is playing.
bendigo
27 Jul 2006, 12:58
Nice to see Rambo finally getting the recognition he deserves from the umpires. It seems that for once he has been CAUGHT hitting someone, and got two weeks for it. Thank god he can't win the Woodrow this year, after last year's debacle. Hopefully this is a wakeup call to all A Section umpires: RAMBO HITS PEOPLE!
A couple of interesting reports in the North Brunny 2's on Saturday as well. There's a 'behaving in a threatening manner towards an umpire (5 Weeks), and a 'striking' (8 weeks), must be classic footy down there.
Plumber
27 Jul 2006, 14:40
Nice to see Rambo finally getting the recognition he deserves from the umpires. It seems that for once he has been CAUGHT hitting someone, and got two weeks for it. Thank god he can't win the Woodrow this year, after last year's debacle. Hopefully this is a wakeup call to all A Section umpires: RAMBO HITS PEOPLE!
A couple of interesting reports in the North Brunny 2's on Saturday as well. There's a 'behaving in a threatening manner towards an umpire (5 Weeks), and a 'striking' (8 weeks), must be classic footy down there.
RAMBO
Plumber
27 Jul 2006, 14:46
RAMBO
What I meant to say is that it will be interesting to see how the T's go without Rambo over the next vital couple of weeks.
Could be a costly mistake by the big sniper, although the boys seem to be travelling pretty well.
Supa Frank
27 Jul 2006, 15:27
What I meant to say is that it will be interesting to see how the T's go without Rambo over the next vital couple of weeks.
Could be a costly mistake by the big sniper, although the boys seem to be travelling pretty well.
OT won't win against De La this week away without Rambo!!!
Upset of the week OMs to beat OH, good week on the track and we have set ourselves for this one!!!
Richo- true champion
27 Jul 2006, 17:14
Rambo's not a thug- just one of the best amatuer players of our time.
holding
27 Jul 2006, 17:19
Upset of the week OMs to beat OH, good week on the track and we have set ourselves for this one!!!
Are you joking?
holding
27 Jul 2006, 17:21
Rambo's not a thug- just one of the best amatuer players of our time.
One of the most ordinary blokes on the field but a good guy off the field, love him or hate him he's a great footballer
the big dog
27 Jul 2006, 18:09
OT won't win against De La this week away without Rambo!!!
When supa frank says "we" he actually means "I". His views are neither representative nor condoned by the group at OMs.
We will have a crack this week against OH, like we have given it a crack for 90% of this largely unsuccessful season. The boys are sticking thick through this time and attempting to build something for the long-term future of the club.
It would be great to have a win this week, although I would hazard to predict a victory against a very strong (although out of form) Haileybury side. Thats not to say it might not happen!
Supa Frank
27 Jul 2006, 19:37
When supa frank says "we" he actually means "I". His views are neither representative nor condoned by the group at OMs.
We will have a crack this week against OH, like we have given it a crack for 90% of this largely unsuccessful season. The boys are sticking thick through this time and attempting to build something for the long-term future of the club.
It would be great to have a win this week, although I would hazard to predict a victory against a very strong (although out of form) Haileybury side. Thats not to say it might not happen!
Dear The Big Dog
If you know what the group thinks, tell everyone why it has been in your words a LARGELY UNSUCCESSFUL SEASON?
Regards
SF
the big dog
28 Jul 2006, 11:04
More than happy to have a chat with you Frank one on one about what has gone wrong this year. I'm not however into the practice of bagging the club / players / coaches on Big Footy like you seem so quick to do.
By the way, if its been such a good week on the track, what are you doing posting threads at 6:30pm on a training night?
goodstory
28 Jul 2006, 14:32
More than happy to have a chat with you Frank one on one about what has gone wrong this year. I'm not however into the practice of bagging the club / players / coaches on Big Footy like you seem so quick to do.
By the way, if its been such a good week on the track, what are you doing posting threads at 6:30pm on a training night?
Is "Supa Frank" a codename for Jason Akermanis? What seems to stand out on this thread is that SF may be more suited to an individual sport.
holding
29 Jul 2006, 18:13
Super Frank, great prediction with the OM's beating OH hahaha OM's are a bunch of losers you should know this by now!
They will struggle to win another game this year, I only have 1 thing to say about OM'S
:D :D :D B GRADE :D :D :D
whispers81
31 Jul 2006, 14:08
It just tightens up even further after the weekends results! Unbelievable season panning out, where only a game separates 2nd from 7th.
OS - Surely certainties from here? Were a little lucky against a depleted and wasteful OI, but still got over the line.
OX - Building nicely, a little like the Sainters. Very interesting match against OI this week, who were injury hit last time around as well. Season shaping for both teams.
OH - Big win over OM's, but do they have much left in them? My tip is no. Will miss out on finals.
OI - No Hope. No Low. No Looby. No Toovey. No Branigan. No Gieschen. No Weddle. No McKeon. No Crowley. No chance?
UB - The sleeping giant. Big games ahead, but likely to sneak through unless both OI and OH can put a decent team on the park.
DLS - Too small to really challenge, excellent season so far from a young team
OT - Woeful %, but have put together some excellent and spirited performances of late. Rambo's 2 matches out could prove to be a tragedy.
St B - Inconsequential.
OM (Eagles) - Gone.
OM - Gone.
holding
31 Jul 2006, 14:41
OS - Surely certainties from here? Were a little lucky against a depleted and wasteful OI, but still got over the line.
OX - Building nicely, a little like the Sainters. Very interesting match against OI this week, who were injury hit last time around as well. Season shaping for both teams.
OH - Big win over OM's, but do they have much left in them? My tip is no. Will miss out on finals.
OI - No Hope. No Low. No Looby. No Toovey. No Branigan. No Gieschen. No Weddle. No McKeon. No Crowley. No chance?
UB - The sleeping giant. Big games ahead, but likely to sneak through unless both OI and OH can put a decent team on the park.
DLS - Too small to really challenge, excellent season so far from a young team
OT - Woeful %, but have put together some excellent and spirited performances of late. Rambo's 2 matches out could prove to be a tragedy.
St B - Inconsequential.
OM (Eagles) - Gone.
OM - Gone.
I went to the OS VS OI Clash, OS never looked like loosing, far better side than Ivanhoe, all i could hear from the Ivanhoe Supporters was if we had a full team we could beat them ect ect!!! all teams have injuries it's no excuse.
Whispers 81 - I agree with most your comments below, good work mate, UB have a pretty easy 5 games left they should see some finals action
My Top 4
OS
OX
UB
OH
Pretty much the same top 4 it has been for the last 2-3 years.
whispers81
31 Jul 2006, 14:51
I went to the OS VS OI Clash, OS never looked like loosing, far better side than Ivanhoe, all i could hear from the Ivanhoe Supporters was if we had a full team we could beat them ect ect!!! all teams have injuries it's no excuse.
I was there too, and partially agree. But surely losing Low and Toovey in the first quarter, and Looby in the second is not using gratuitous exucuses? Having the full use of a bench would've been quite handy I'd have thought, particularly when you take into account how important those three players are to the make up of OI.
holding
31 Jul 2006, 15:01
Oh absolutly
OS lost Pugsley (who was killing it) in the first 1/4 & they also lost another 2 player who i am not familiar with 1 off which was also playing very well. That left OS with only 1 on the bench for the percentage of the second half as well so both teams were in the same position.
I also heard Barry Price on the Radio on the way home they were also missing Gnatt and Kitchen who were both late withdrawls so like all other clubs it appears OS have a solid injury list as well? Someone from Scotch may be able to confirm?
Max Leader
31 Jul 2006, 15:09
Holding,
Can you comment on the standard of the whistle blowers?
From my vantage point they had no bearing on the game, however, the stocks of umpires who will be umpiring Under 19's (Red) will be increased by 2!!!
holding
31 Jul 2006, 15:24
No worries Max
I don't support either team i just went to watch a top of the table clash thinking it would be a good game.
First half OS got a fantastic run with the umpires, there was plenty of free kicks going there way, some were there but certainly not all of them. In the 3rd Quater (OI won the 3rd by 2-3 goals) I would have to say OI got a much better run and there was a number of Free's given that resulted in a OI goals, 4th quater it was pretty ordinary all round.
I wouldn't say it effected the result but OS got a pretty good run of free's down back, the crowd (both sides) were very frustrated as there probably 6-8 goals that resulted from free kicks (50-50 for both sides)
look, like any game there was some very very bad decisions, the one i remember is a mark OS took in the goal square, he easily held it for long enough and it was knocked loose at the last min and was not paid it would have been a certain goal. I was actually standing up that end and the OI supporters near me said Gee we got let off there.
There was a couple of stages they almost lost control of the game but thankfully didn't all round it was pretty ordinary and frustrating at times but i don't think it effected the outcome which i guess is the main thing.
chelsworthgale
1 Aug 2006, 23:07
Holding,
Can you comment on the standard of the whistle blowers?
From my vantage point they had no bearing on the game, however, the stocks of umpires who will be umpiring Under 19's (Red) will be increased by 2!!!
Max they were terrible... Jonesy was hot and cold and the other bloke had a terrible day at the office... honestly he needs a couple games in B grade to get his form back!
And to not be bias... they were terrible for both teams... as holding put it there was two times a mark wasnt paid to scotch after the bloke held it for an eternity... and "Chuck Norris" running the boundry coped a serious pasting when his ambitions to be a field umpire came out and sent off an OI bloke for a small trickle of blood...
can some clarify that a small trickle from under and bandage can be fixed by a trainer on the gound these days cant it?
Sir Jack
2 Aug 2006, 13:10
Good to see the VAFA get tough with behind the play incidents by suspending Kenna from Trinity for 6 weeks. His hit on the De La Salle player was one of the weakest and most cowardly things I've ever seen on the football field. In my opinion he was lucky to get 6. Players like this do not belong in the Amateurs.
Destination A Grade
2 Aug 2006, 16:28
Good to see the VAFA get tough with behind the play incidents by suspending Kenna from Trinity for 6 weeks. His hit on the De La Salle player was one of the weakest and most cowardly things I've ever seen on the football field. In my opinion he was lucky to get 6. Players like this do not belong in the Amateurs.
What were the details??
Bell Ringer
2 Aug 2006, 16:37
Roundhouse punch from behind to the face of a bloke pulling-up on a shepherd about 10-15 metres defensive-side from the ball-carrier. Dog act.
chelsworthgale
2 Aug 2006, 18:57
Roundhouse punch from behind to the face of a bloke pulling-up on a shepherd about 10-15 metres defensive-side from the ball-carrier. Dog act.
he deserved everything he got then!
Anyone know who was on the end of the punch?
Max Leader
3 Aug 2006, 09:47
Anyone know who was on the end of the punch?
According to the VAFA Website: - Jarred Moloney of De La
Sir Jack
3 Aug 2006, 10:16
That's right, Jarred Moloney of DLS. He was knocked out before he hit the ground and broke his collarbone as a result. It was at least 10m off the ball. Absolutely disgraceful act. If I was Trinity I'd be telling him to look elsewhere next year.
he deserved everything he got then!
You are an idiot mate. 'Pulling-up' on a shepherd means that he was going to go for a shepherd but decided not to go through with it because the ball was a long way away.
If it is true that the guy was immediately knocked out and broke his collarbone then Kenna should have got more than 6 weeks. A collarbone is an 8 week injury so he should get at least what he caused. Add in that it was reportedly behind play and could have caused serious concussion I would have given him 10 weeks. That sort of ***** has no place in amateur footy.
Max Leader
3 Aug 2006, 11:21
Traditional rivals OX and OI are playing this week!!
Maybe they should play for the Aaron Lord Cup!!
To determine the winner, take the score from Saturday's game, multiply the score by the Salary that each club was able to get him, then add the number of times he trained and divide this number by the number of games he played.
eg
OI scores 80 points
Salary $100,000 (according to the AGE)
Times Trained 0
Times Played 0
Total 80 x 100,000 + (0/0) = 8,000,000
vs
OX scores 80 points
Salary $65,000 (just a guess)
Times Trained 2
Times Played 0
Total 80 x 65,000 + (2/0) = 5,200,000
The winner gets his signature for 2007
OX would need to win by 45 points to get the prized signature for 2007
What a loser!
chelsworthgale
4 Aug 2006, 00:16
You are an idiot mate. 'Pulling-up' on a shepherd means that he was going to go for a shepherd but decided not to go through with it because the ball was a long way away.
If it is true that the guy was immediately knocked out and broke his collarbone then Kenna should have got more than 6 weeks. A collarbone is an 8 week injury so he should get at least what he caused. Add in that it was reportedly behind play and could have caused serious concussion I would have given him 10 weeks. That sort of ***** has no place in amateur footy.
ok clown... im talking about kenna... he deserved everything he got... I know what 'pulling up' on a shepherd means and if Moloney was pulling up because the ball was on its way down the ground and Kenna hit him from behind then yeah I agree with your 10 week reasoning... as for your first bit, bite you pillow and chew clown!
Apologies chelsworth, I need to work on my thread interpretation skills
Handsome.B.Wonderful
4 Aug 2006, 10:51
If I know Kenna this sort of thing will keep him awake at night.....amongst other things ;)
Tips for this week? (home team listed first)
Scotch Vs Bernards = Scotch
Ivanhoe Vs Xav's = Xav's
Om's Vs DLS = DLS
Marc Vs Hail = Hail
Trinity Vs Uni = Uni
Anyone else?
Bell Ringer
4 Aug 2006, 13:04
I'm tipping the same except I think the Hoer's are gonna turn it around and knock off Xav's at home.
Traditional rivals OX and OI are playing this week!!
Maybe they should play for the Aaron Lord Cup!!
To determine the winner, take the score from Saturday's game, multiply the score by the Salary that each club was able to get him, then add the number of times he trained and divide this number by the number of games he played.
eg
OI scores 80 points
Salary $100,000 (according to the AGE)
Times Trained 0
Times Played 0
Total 80 x 100,000 + (0/0) = 8,000,000
vs
OX scores 80 points
Salary $65,000 (just a guess)
Times Trained 2
Times Played 0
Total 80 x 65,000 + (2/0) = 5,200,000
The winner gets his signature for 2007
OX would need to win by 45 points to get the prized signature for 2007
What a loser!
Does anyone else think this is one of the most hilarious posts seen on these pages?
Na not really he was on the right track to get a laugh but didn't quite pull it off
That's funnier...
chelsworthgale
4 Aug 2006, 21:29
Apologies chelsworth, I need to work on my thread interpretation skills
all is forgiven!
Big coaching changes at Trinity at season ends. Especially for twos and U19's.
Twos coach has players confused with his game plan and speeches, jumping from one matter to the other.
Believe a delegation of players went to the Board due to this.
The U19's are a rabble, they will get someone with a litle more discipline.
The ones coach is safe has done a remarkable job since mid season
Trinity alway's seem to have coaching problems!
Some interesting results! Bernards over Scotch pretty easily has made it hard for Marc to remain in A Section and made Scotch's final birth anything but secure! if they drop another 1 or 2 they can/will find themself in 5th or 6th spot due to the poor percentage! WATCH OUT SCOTCHIES
Rest of the games went as i thought they would, OI have dropped from 2nd to 5th and will really need somthing special to see finals action but did well to get close to Xav's.
Some massive games next week with Xav's and Scotch, OH & OI!!!
Uni have the easiest run home, they will be close to a top 2 finish
Max Leader
7 Aug 2006, 14:29
Does anyone else think this is one of the most hilarious posts seen on these pages?
As a result of OX only winning by 8 points, OI win the inaugural
AARON LORD CUP.
OI's prize is his signature for 2007.
Who says there is not prize for losing!!!
Max Leader
7 Aug 2006, 14:33
Holding,
Who hit who?
Kennedy on Watt of Watt on Kennedy
If Kennedy os the attacker, what has happended to the "Frogs", have they taking their boxing training too far.
Only OX have had a run of visits to EP like the OT's this year.
Holding,
Who hit who?
Kennedy on Watt of Watt on Kennedy
If Kennedy os the attacker, what has happended to the "Frogs", have they taking their boxing training too far.
Only OX have had a run of visits to EP like the OT's this year.
Jack Watts was reported for striking Sam Kennedy in the second term.
I'd be surprised if they end up contesting it - he was kneeling over him and got 2 or 3 ones in whilst Sam was on the ground.
Jack Watts was reported for striking Sam Kennedy in the second term.
I'd be surprised if they end up contesting it - he was kneeling over him and got 2 or 3 ones in whilst Sam was on the ground.
Scribe
Any chance of The Champ returning before years end?
Scribe
Any chance of The Champ returning before years end?
Nup - not unless we manage to organise a Legends game against OMs in round 17, which I think has been knocked on the head by the boys from the Junction (i.e. too difficult to organise).
Just by way of clarification, and I should state that this is coming from the Old Trinity club secretary (i.e. me), and a current reserves player as well, no decisions have been made re: coaches for 2007. The dribble which was posted by ifooty regarding proposed coaching changes is just that - pure dribble.
The meeting we held last Tuesday was our regular committee meeting and we determined that we would establish the senior coach's intentions re: 2007 before working our way down through senior assistant, reserves, U19 and Club XVIII. No decisions have been made yet to re-appoint, advertise and invite applications or show anyone the door.
Don't know where ifooty is getting his mail from at all, but perhaps he should think twice before he posts next time, or at least ascertain the veracity of his assertions.
Thanks ;) :thumbsu:
Fraser Cameron
OTAFC Club Secretary
CrustyClown
8 Aug 2006, 12:56
Big coaching changes at Trinity at season ends. Especially for twos and U19's.
Twos coach has players confused with his game plan and speeches, jumping from one matter to the other.
Believe a delegation of players went to the Board due to this.
The U19's are a rabble, they will get someone with a litle more discipline.
The ones coach is safe has done a remarkable job since mid season
Who cares about coaching changes in the lower echelons of OT?
Are you a disgruntled player who is not getting a game?
Max Leader
9 Aug 2006, 15:48
Bored at work, and I was able to come up with the following:-
Assuming the following win/loss scenarios. Round 18 would become very interesting.
Round 15 16 17 18
OS 40 L L L W 44
OH 36 L L W W 44
OX 36 W W L L 44
UB 32 W W L W 44
OI 32 W L W W 44
DL 32 W W W L 44
OT 28 W W W W 44
SB 24 L W W L 32
M 16 L L L L 16
OM 4 L L L L 4
Given the percentages at present the three certainties are
Haileybury, Xavs, Blues with the best percentage of
Old Ivanhoe and De La Salle to get fourth.
Scotch at 100 with three losses cant do better than 105%.
What are your thoughts?
Will Bounce
9 Aug 2006, 16:22
Hey Max can I have your job?
I think the difference in such an even year will be Xav's finals experience. Start engraving.
Hey Max can I have your job?
I think the difference in such an even year will be Xav's finals experience. Start engraving.
Xavs should be more worried about just getting into the finals, let alone winning it.
Round 15 16 17 18
OS 40 L L L W 44
OH 36 L L W W 44
OX 36 W W L L 44
UB 32 W W L W 44
OI 32 W L W W 44
DL 32 W W W L 44
OT 28 W W W W 44
SB 24 L W W L 32
M 16 L L L L 16
OM 4 L L L L 4
Going by this your saying OS will loose to Xav's, Trinity and OH then beat Marc? I would say OS should win at least 2 from 4 realistically!
Having a look at the draw ect i would say the 4 will be
Xav's
Blues
OH
OS
All finishing the year on the same amount of wins (12) the only difference between them will be percentage, I can't see OI winning 3 from 4 Nor can i see De La winning 3 from 4 and i certainly can't see Trinity winning all 4 remaining games against ST Bernards, Scotch, OM's, Xav's. I'll tip Bernards to beat them at the pit this week Bernards have been in cracking form.
Good work Max, MAKES FOR A VERY VERY INTERESTING 4 WEEKS for all!!!
ScottyDog
10 Aug 2006, 13:23
Scotch are currently in heavy training and are aiming to peak for the finals. Expect them to return to form in next two weeks with players back.
The Late Mail
10 Aug 2006, 15:29
Scotch are currently in heavy training and are aiming to peak for the finals. Expect them to return to form in next two weeks with players back.
Well I guess that makes them exactly like Adelaide then. Maybe Barry Price should consider changing his name to "Barry Craig".
linger_isgod
10 Aug 2006, 15:29
Well I guess that makes them exactly like Adelaide then. Maybe Barry Price should consider changing his name to "Barry Craig".
Similar percentages, too.
holding
10 Aug 2006, 23:14
I don't think you can write Scotch off yet, there is only 1 side they have not beaten this season which is Xav's, this week should be a good indication of where Scotch is at in terms of being "Good enough"
I don't think you can write Scotch off yet, there is only 1 side they have not beaten this season which is Xav's
Incorrect - there's another.
holding
11 Aug 2006, 10:10
Sorry Scribe your correct they have not beaten Trinity either but they won't have to worry about Trinity come finals time
Correct.
(sigh)
:D
holding
11 Aug 2006, 11:31
Well that was a little dry, They PROBABLY won't have to worry about Trinity come finals time but Scotch need to worry about making it themself first
Supergrass
11 Aug 2006, 11:50
Went and caught a bit of the Scotch v Bernards game on Saturday- the comparisons with Adelaide should be knocked on the head right now.
From what I saw they would have to improve greatly to make any impression on the upcoming finals.
Whilst they had a fair few out, the relentless pressure applied by the Bernies was what they'll experience come finals time.
I also understand they also don't have a good finals record either.
Summary- Have some work to do.
U18 Insider
11 Aug 2006, 13:17
Trinity may aspire to the premiership but there is a distinct lack of heart and desire down there. Most of the blokes are only there for the cushy bowling green surface and the ordinary tarts that frequent the club.
They are perennial A grade under-achievers that should really be in B Section if it wasn't for the Wesley choking in Round 18.
If they had a decent Reserves coach, they'd do a lot better
chelsworthgale
11 Aug 2006, 15:04
If they had a decent Reserves coach, they'd do a lot better
How does a decent reserves coach make the seniors ever so better?
They just need some players to put their head over the footy and play for the jumper... BMOF summed it up nicely!
dufflecoat supreme
11 Aug 2006, 16:24
They just need some players to put their head over the footy and play for the jumper... BMOF summed it up nicely!
Are you for real? How can anyone play for that monstrosity of a jumper? Green and gold has never looked so bad.
Benny MOF
11 Aug 2006, 17:27
Benny MOF never gets it wrong!!!
Benny,
Given about 6 weeks ago you said this about your newly acquired club, Beaumaris:
"Beauy are half a show, we've gone under the radar a little and are well placed to make a play for a top 4 finish. Barnes is a super coach!!"
'Twould appear you have got it wrong before, as Beauy are 2 games behind 4th and lagging badly.
Here's a question, with the Tigers almost a monty to get back up to B Grade in 2007 - will you be doing an about face and leaving Banksia Reserve for Brindisi Street? Or have you well and truly burnt the bridges now?
Perhaps you will shop around again and look to Hampton Rovers instead - as they wear green and gold better - and you may be able to hack their level of footy.
Oh, and Chelsworthgale - based on the recent efforts of Old Ivanhoe (i.e. a 4 goal loss in the mud to the very soft collection of outside runners who play for Trinity, followed by 5 goal loss to Scotch and another one to Xavier) - you're not on very firm ground yourself are you?
holding
11 Aug 2006, 19:24
Wouldn't be able to say it better myself Scribe, Ivanhoe have played above themself most of the year and when it comes to the crunch they are a very ordinary football side!
chelsworthgale
11 Aug 2006, 19:41
Benny,
Given about 6 weeks ago you said this about your newly acquired club, Beaumaris:
"Beauy are half a show, we've gone under the radar a little and are well placed to make a play for a top 4 finish. Barnes is a super coach!!"
'Twould appear you have got it wrong before, as Beauy are 2 games behind 4th and lagging badly.
Here's a question, with the Tigers almost a monty to get back up to B Grade in 2007 - will you be doing an about face and leaving Banksia Reserve for Brindisi Street? Or have you well and truly burnt the bridges now?
Perhaps you will shop around again and look to Hampton Rovers instead - as they wear green and gold better - and you may be able to hack their level of footy.
Oh, and Chelsworthgale - based on the recent efforts of Old Ivanhoe (i.e. a 4 goal loss in the mud to the very soft collection of outside runners who play for Trinity, followed by 5 goal loss to Scotch and another one to Xavier) - you're not on very firm ground yourself are you?
I made no comment on recent results I was just commenting on the general physicalness of the side in general... reputation wise. I think you summed up what I was suggesting with "very soft collection of outside runners"
whispers81
12 Aug 2006, 12:43
Wouldn't be able to say it better myself Scribe, Ivanhoe have played above themself most of the year and when it comes to the crunch they are a very ordinary football side!
OI have been cruelled by even further injuries over the past month. When there's five or six blokes playing seniors, that usually battle in the reserves week to week, you know that your team is struggling for numbers.
Hope, Toovey, Low, Branagan, Weddle and Oates have all missed substantial amounts of football over the past month (or, in Branners' case, the whole season). Yes, every team has injuries, but is every team missing six blokes who have all been in the Big V squad at some stage in their careers? That was OI against Scotch.
They'll probably just miss out, unless someone can do over Uni Blues (and OI can as well).
holding
12 Aug 2006, 19:21
Whispers81 all your doing is making excuses for a club thats depth is no where near where it needs to be. Yea they have had a few key injuries but EVERY CLUB DOES they just don't bitch and moan about it like they do at Ivanhoe (there is a reputation building here)
The Human Keg
12 Aug 2006, 21:57
To those young "men" for want of a better word, schooled just north of the Gardiner Creek swamplands,
Is that the best you can do? Did some idiot book the end of season trip for 9 September and you tightarse spineless weasels don't want to forfeit the deposit on the airfares?
"Gay Paris" is supposed to be lovely in September. Enjoy it. Gotta be better than playing football and getting muddy. eh boyos. Better pull out those berets you've been hiding with in your closets for all those years and get them dry cleaned.
The men of "Gay Paris", beware, don't bend over for the soap for a few weeks. Scotch are spending September in France.
Blueboys11
13 Aug 2006, 11:50
With the number of players out Ivanhoe have got, it is a credit to the fighting spirit of the team that they have been getting so close to the top 3 teams on the ladder in the last 3 weeks.
With players returning next week there would be a few clubs praying OI dont make it to the finals, cause they will give it one heck of a shake, and look like the only team capable of challenging OX.
holding
13 Aug 2006, 15:16
With players returning next week there would be a few clubs praying OI dont make it to the finals, cause they will give it one heck of a shake, and look like the only team capable of challenging OX.
HAHAHA That's a classic! Out of all the teams in the 4 at the moment NOT 1 of them would give a rats if OI made it, they would be more concerned about De La that the Poo Browners.
Why do they have tickets on themself? There a average footy side that won't make the finals!
whispers81
13 Aug 2006, 19:22
HAHAHA That's a classic! Out of all the teams in the 4 at the moment NOT 1 of them would give a rats if OI made it, they would be more concerned about De La that the Poo Browners.
Why do they have tickets on themself? There a average footy side that won't make the finals!
Probably because they pushed a full strength OX right to their limits?
The best three teams in A Section are, in no particular order Old Xavs, Old Hail and Uni Blues, the premier will be one of those three so the others are banging their heads against a brick wall. With that said all three of those clubs need to be careful over the next three weeks and take care of business or they may miss out on finals entirely, like Scotch will do.
I'll give you the order. Xavs>>>Uni>>>>>>>>>>>>Hail.
However i agree with you. Any slip up may prove costly. Despite being the best side Xavs have a habit of losing games at Toorak Park to even battling sides, so this weeks clash against OH will be very interesting.
Plumber
14 Aug 2006, 09:34
OI have been cruelled by even further injuries over the past month. When there's five or six blokes playing seniors, that usually battle in the reserves week to week, you know that your team is struggling for numbers.
Hope, Toovey, Low, Branagan, Weddle and Oates have all missed substantial amounts of football over the past month (or, in Branners' case, the whole season). Yes, every team has injuries, but is every team missing six blokes who have all been in the Big V squad at some stage in their careers? That was OI against Scotch.
They'll probably just miss out, unless someone can do over Uni Blues (and OI can as well).
Let's be realistic, if OI's coach wasn't involved in the state team coaching panel they wouldn't have as many blokes in the squad.
When you were in B-Grade you had about 15 blokes in the squad!
holding
14 Aug 2006, 09:53
The best three teams in A Section are, in no particular order Old Xavs, Old Hail and Uni Blues, the premier will be one of those three so the others are banging their heads against a brick wall. With that said all three of those clubs need to be careful over the next three weeks and take care of business or they may miss out on finals entirely, like Scotch will do.
Well Said Petrov the other thing is OH have to play OS and Xav's so they need to be on their game, Xav's also have De La so it'll be interesting to see if they can keep up the great form they are in. Uni have a pretty easy run home
Agreed. I can't see any side bar De La sneaking into the top four now, but it may well be at the expense of Scotch!! Bernards were as good as Trinity were poor yesterday, so it's almost definitely OMs and Marcellin in B Grade for 2007. Which leaves only the top 6 with something to play for.
OLD XAVERIANS 10 5 40 143.90 HAI DLS TRI
OLD HAILEYBURY 10 5 40 143.37 XAV SCO STB
OLD SCOTCH 10 5 40 94.29 TRI HAI MAR
UNIVERSITY BLUES 9 6 36 132.71 MAR IVA DLS
DE LA SALLE 9 6 32 107.37 IVA XAV UBL
OLD IVANHOE 8 7 32 109.60 DLS UBL MEL
If the results from here on in go according to ladder positions, the final 6 is:
Xavs 12 wins
Haileybury 12
Uni 12
Scotch 12
De La 10
Ivanhoe 9
In fact, Bernies could well finish 6th the way they're flying home. Whilst I'd love to think Trinity could knock off Scotch, not on the basis of yesterday's performance!!!
Basically, some solid upsets would have to come through for the top four not to finish as it already is.
The Late Mail
14 Aug 2006, 11:43
I hate to echo the thoughts and sentiments of basically everyone on this site but Xavs and Blues are that far ahead of everyone its not funny.
Mark Paterson from the Blues is a super player and is my tip for the Woodrow this year. He is the engine room of the Blues and I can't wait to see him pitted against the Ockleshaws, Flemings and Arnolds come September. I thinkXavs have got too much fire in the midfield and will win another flag this year.
Xavs are full of good blokes so its hard to begrudge them but it is getting boring for the rest of us!
Bell Ringer
14 Aug 2006, 13:13
Mark Paterson from the Blues is a super player and is my tip for the Woodrow this year. He is the engine room of the Blues and I can't wait to see him pitted against the Ockleshaws, Flemings and Arnolds come September.
Didn't realise Gary Ayres took such an interest in Ammos football.
The Late Mail
14 Aug 2006, 14:45
Didn't realise Gary Ayres took such an interest in Ammos football.
Get on down to his bottleo in (Canterbury Rd I think) Middle Park, he'll take an interest in anything you've got to say!