View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football
Plumber
28 Aug 2006, 10:11
Plumber- I grew up playing St. Albans, Sunshine, Hoppers, Werribee, Spotswood, Yarraville, West Footscray etc in the FDFL jnrs.... We got abused for being "schoolboys", "catholic f&*ggots" etc. I know lots of the blokes from those days and they are all good blokes. A couple of weeks ago against De La I/we were called the "scum of the competition". There are a few teams which I would have no qualms about having a beer with after the game. I am tipping your team (whoever that may be) is not one of them.
Funny how things can change..... food for thought.
I'd agree with you that being called "scum" by De La would be a difficult pill to swallow. I would think that Bernards could by and sell De La ten times over, irrelevant as it may be.
I didn't realise how contentious remarks regrding the "wrong side of the yarra" would become.
Let's get back to the footy shall we?
Round 18 is upon us and some fascintaing permutations are out there this week.
OH (12/5) -v- Bernies at Badlands
OX (11/6) -v- OT at EP
Uni (11/6) -v- DLS at Dairy Bell
OS (11/6) -v- Marc at Camberwell
DLS (10/7) -v- Uni at DB
The only side that can drop out now is Scotch due to their percentage.
Means Uni must lose to DLS but, frankly, I can't see them wanting to face DLS in a 1st semi if they did drop this game. Would much prefer to win and then face Old Scotch.
4th and 5th is the only significant change I can see. Trinity will give it a crack at EP, and they do have the wood on OX, but the combination of Xavs and September will be tough to toss!!
Even if Haileybury lost to Bernies, they're safe in the top 2.
ScottyDog
28 Aug 2006, 18:47
Cream rises to the top. Go Scotch!
The Human Keg
28 Aug 2006, 20:04
Cream rises to the top. Go Scotch!
It also turns frothy and gets blown away.
the human keg, the ammos is soft mate, u cant drink whilst u watch a game, u cant do crap all, its pretty weak, thats why the diamond valley get the best crowds and good as atmosphere so soft c's who run around the paddock gettin the easy pill
chelsworthgale
28 Aug 2006, 22:33
the human keg, the ammos is soft mate, u cant drink whilst u watch a game, u cant do crap all, its pretty weak, thats why the diamond valley get the best crowds and good as atmosphere so soft c's who run around the paddock gettin the easy pill
played both DV and I can tell you VAFA beats DVFL hands down. If you want to play your cheap shot, punch up every 30 seconds crap go ahead I'd rather play a brand of football that mimics the AFL. In the VAFA you get a taste of what it would be like to play AFL, the speed the skill and endurance. In the DVFL you gotta watch your back for the nut case with a criminal records waiting to belt you into a coma. Have fun with that, i'd rather lose brain cells sky diving than having my head punched in by some gutless wonder when im not looking.
holding
28 Aug 2006, 23:34
played both DV and I can tell you VAFA beats DVFL hands down. If you want to play your cheap shot, punch up every 30 seconds crap go ahead I'd rather play a brand of football that mimics the AFL. In the VAFA you get a taste of what it would be like to play AFL, the speed the skill and endurance. In the DVFL you gotta watch your back for the nut case with a criminal records waiting to belt you into a coma. Have fun with that, i'd rather lose brain cells sky diving than having my head punched in by some gutless wonder when im not looking.
NA man you can't drink at the games so it's soft! didn't you read his post?
If you can't go from 2.00-4.30 without a beer you need help, in regards to the standard of footy you only need to look at a few guy's who were OK Ammo players that are now killing it in the DV.
Benny MOF
29 Aug 2006, 10:02
NA man you can't drink at the games so it's soft! didn't you read his post?
If you can't go from 2.00-4.30 without a beer you need help, in regards to the standard of footy you only need to look at a few guy's who were OK Ammo players that are now killing it in the DV.
DV
we've had this argument before, get the chip off your shoulder buddy, being tough has nothing to do with hitting blokes while they're not looking or having 1000 ferals sinking grog on their car bonnet acting like retards. Get back to your fibro housing commission palace and please keep out of our forums.
BMOF
Didak55
29 Aug 2006, 11:59
Strong rumour out of Headquarters on Saturday is that Andy Cultrera is off to Brunswick St oval to be part of the Reds coaching panel
Snoozer
29 Aug 2006, 12:01
With the end of the season upon us, who will win your clubs B&F????
I'll go out on a limb and tip Josh Madden @ St Bernards.
holding
29 Aug 2006, 12:09
DV
we've had this argument before, get the chip off your shoulder buddy, being tough has nothing to do with hitting blokes while they're not looking or having 1000 ferals sinking grog on their car bonnet acting like retards. Get back to your fibro housing commission palace and please keep out of our forums.
BMOF
I was actually standing up for Ammo's BMOF, read the post again.
You amaze me!
29 Aug 2006, 12:40
With the end of the season upon us, who will win your clubs B&F????
I'll go out on a limb and tip Josh Madden @ St Bernards.
I'm not from Xavs however, Sam Johnson would have to go close? He has had a ripper year..... He often gets under opposition guards as he hasn't the reputation, but a quality player all the same....
chelsworthgale
29 Aug 2006, 12:41
I'm not from Xavs however, Sam Johnson would have to go close? He has had a ripper year..... He often gets under opposition guards as he hasn't the reputation, but a quality player all the same....
Geilings from OI
I meant Geilings for OI B & F
Benny MOF
29 Aug 2006, 12:43
I was actually standing up for Ammo's BMOF, read the post again.
Holding
If you read my post again, you will find that it is addressed to "DV" and not yourself, I'm on your side.
Drizzle
29 Aug 2006, 17:08
If De La had won on the weekend scotch would of been 5th with poor percentage. But didnt happen.
But here is an interesting scenario:
OH vs ST B - StB won last time.
OX vs OT - OT won last time
OS vs Mar - Scoth won but only by 16 points
UB vs De La - UB smashed De La last time.
Should the results go the same again (with out major changing in percentage) the ladder will finish like this:
OH
UB
OS
OX
With week one of the finals seeing an A grade power house dismissed! Thoughts?
Would Scotch bother turning up if they had to play Xavs in another final? They'd be feeling tight around the collar just thinking about the prospect wouldn't they?
You amaze me!
29 Aug 2006, 17:36
Considering the Scotch clean out last year... Do you think they have exceeded their pre season expectations ? I think they will be right up there for the next couple of years.
Also I'm tipping DLS will be a force next year. There under 19's and reserves seem to be travelling quite well...
MurphysLaw
29 Aug 2006, 19:29
Bernard's b&f will be tighter than some think....Gary McIntyre for mine (FB).
Drizzle
29 Aug 2006, 21:44
I second that.
2 best on grounds on saturday ;-)
holding
29 Aug 2006, 23:14
Considering the Scotch clean out last year... Do you think they have exceeded their pre season expectations ? I think they will be right up there for the next couple of years.
Also I'm tipping DLS will be a force next year. There under 19's and reserves seem to be travelling quite well...
Yea i would have to agree, OS are a very young side and i reckon after loosing 9 of their starting 18 players from 2005 they would be reasonably happy with the year they have had. De La will be a good side in 07 as will Bernards, It's the older sides like OH and i guess OX (to some degree) that might find it hard in 2-3 years.
Benny MOF - Sorry mate i only just saw that :thumbsu:
You amaze me!
30 Aug 2006, 11:29
Success attracts success. OX U/19s and reserves are travelling well... They will be in A grade for yrs to come. They also have a huge network and have an uncanny ability to secure the services of ex state league and AFL players. OH will be as well especially if the school keeps offering the best footballers/athletes scolarships!
VAFA19s
30 Aug 2006, 13:32
In regards to futures of some big-name clubs, this is the u-19 div1 ladder with the first week of finals ahead:
Team W-L for -against pts %
Xavs 17-1 2380-718 68 331.48
De La 17-1 1911-708 68 269.92
Uni 13-5 1379-1046 52 131.84
Bernards 10-8 1601-1426 40 112.27
Rupo 10-8 1379-1465 40 94.13
Marcellin 7-11 1290-1515 28 85.15
OS 6-12 1226-1704 24 71.95
SKOBS 4-14 1113-1679 16 66.29
Coll 3-15 984-1937 12 50.80
Banyule 3-15 849-2024 12 41.95
Xavs and the bellers have beaten each other once and are, seemingly, miles ahead of the others. They each also have another team in div red/blue, both playing finals as well.
makes for some interesting reading, if nothing else.
That's nice. I read it, and it wasn't particularly interesting from an A Grade viewpoint. As for U19 (1) - it certainly has maximum relevance.
:D
Max Leader
30 Aug 2006, 15:18
That's nice. I read it, and it wasn't particularly interesting from an A Grade viewpoint. As for U19 (1) - it certainly has maximum relevance.
:D
Add to the fact that
OM 2nd Division 2 (Help them rise from the deep)
OI 3rd Division 3 (Help against an ageing list)
OH Top Division Red (Help Ressies next year if they hang around)
OT Last Division 2 (Will be of real concern, as ressies have fallen away after strong 1 st of season).
Better to look within than look outside.
Add to the fact that
OM 2nd Division 2 (Help them rise from the deep)
OI 3rd Division 3 (Help against an ageing list)
OH Top Division Red (Help Ressies next year if they hang around)
OT Last Division 2 (Will be of real concern, as ressies have fallen away after strong 1 st of season).
Better to look within than look outside.
Max - Agreed. However, I was more referring to the immediate issue of this week, rather than 2007 and onwards. However, I take your point.
I'm not doubting that you look after your own backyard first before casting the net out to see who else could come into the club.
Trinity are looking to run a few U19s in their sides this weekend too, just to give them a sniff of where/how they should be playing their footy next year. Given we're playing Xavs, it will be a good test of some of their mettle, and show them how hard A grade players work.
I would expect Marcellin to be doing the same (if they haven't already done so). The other sides not in the mix for the four (OI, OMs and St Bernies) all have finals to play for in their respective U19s divisions.
Ammo Man
30 Aug 2006, 17:36
Richo to quit Xavs at years end and take on the VAFA Victorian team????
Will Bryan Wood get the gig???
MurphysLaw
30 Aug 2006, 17:38
Scribe: What has happened to OT's 2's? I remember playing you blokes in a pre season pracco and thought that you looked to be up there. We smashed you a few weeks ago but heard that you had a fair few out....then I see you lost to OM's 2's last week???? Whats the story????
MrsKenGriffeySnr
30 Aug 2006, 18:24
Snoozer, would like to hear your opinion as to if you think McIntyre has a chance...? Sure makes all that difficulty with his re-instatement seem like a lifetime ago...
I would expect Marcellin to be doing the same (if they haven't already done so). The other sides not in the mix for the four (OI, OMs and St Bernies) all have finals to play for in their respective U19s divisions.
They couldn't fit any more young blokes into the team could they.
You amaze me!
30 Aug 2006, 18:56
Dogs and eagles have done it for most of the year... St Bernard's will be hard to beat again next year (they troubled most sides this yr) as a result. They took a hit mid year however, i'm sure it will pay off for them in the long run.
The Eagles have played a lot of young blokes. They will bounce straight back for mine (as long as they can hang on to them).
They couldn't fit any more young blokes into the team could they. Marcellin wont be looking for young talent they'l be looking for older experienced players, they are the youngest side in the VAFA by a mile!!
Scribe: What has happened to OT's 2's? I remember playing you blokes in a pre season pracco and thought that you looked to be up there. We smashed you a few weeks ago but heard that you had a fair few out....then I see you lost to OM's 2's last week???? Whats the story????
After a handy first 5 regular season games, we got a fair bit ahead of ourselves. We'd had a pretty soft draw, but got a reality check against Uni (the same time the seniors hit their lowest point). Sadly, whilst the seniors kickstarted their season, we went the other way. I think some guys simply struggled with the fact that we weren't as talented as we thought we were, and we weren't a genuine top 4 side.
A combination of key position injuries and absences meant we lost cohesion. Once that happens, it's tough to recover.
The last couple of weeks we've been running over half a Clubbies team in the 2nds simply because a lot of guys decided they had season ending injuries. Sometimes being in the 'twilight zone' (can't make finals, can't get relegated) so early can be worse than having to fight for your survival.
Looking back, both sides have won more games than last year, which is a positive. The key is to harness what was there when things were going well, and instil in blokes a little bit more willingness to push through the flat spots.
St Bernards are a classic example of a club which shrugged off ordinary form (early for the 2nds, mid season for the 1sts) and finished off well. They should be congratulated for the way they've rounded out their 2006.
holding
31 Aug 2006, 00:08
Looking back, both sides have won more games than last year, which is a positive. The key is to harness what was there when things were going well, and instil in blokes a little bit more willingness to push through the flat spots.
Thats actually a really good point mate (winning more than last year) Can i ask how you can improve on the willingness to push through the flat spots as that's not something you can really train for physically
Just interested what the plan of attack is in 07 for the OT boys?
AND will Rambo play on next year? Andrew and Richie?
Thats actually a really good point mate (winning more than last year) Can i ask how you can improve on the willingness to push through the flat spots as that's not something you can really train for physically
Just interested what the plan of attack is in 07 for the OT boys?
AND will Rambo play on next year? Andrew and Richie?
If I had the answer, I'd hang the boots up now and start coaching, because it is probably the hardest aspect of keeping a team focused - dealing with inexplicable losses in form, and ensuring it doesn't snowball. No doubt it is as much between the ears as in the legs.
The 2007 plan is to start early off the field, by contacting the schoolboys (who finished 3rd in the AGSV comp) and encouraging as many of them as possible to come down pre-Xmas and get involved. The recruiting masterlist has already been drawn up, and we think a couple of guys on VFL lists may become available which would be great.
The one good thing about finishing out of finals, but remaining in A Grade is, now we've reconfirmed the senior coaching position, we can get the ball rolling earlier than we would if the coach was changing or we had a finals campaign to plot.
As for the Ramsdens - Andrew is definitely in, not sure about Richie.
chelsworthgale
10 Sep 2006, 14:00
scotch gone... belting too... was it just the wind or were uni just that good?
Scotch were just an inferior side to the top 3 teams this year. They had a crack in the first half yesterday but were outclassed especially in the third quarter.
With a few young players in the side the question for them is whether or not they can improve enough to compete with the top 3 next year, and also whether or not other young up and coming sides (eg: DLS) overtake them.
holding
10 Sep 2006, 22:25
Scotch were just an inferior side to the top 3 teams this year. They had a crack in the first half yesterday but were outclassed especially in the third quarter.
With a few young players in the side the question for them is whether or not they can improve enough to compete with the top 3 next year, and also whether or not other young up and coming sides (eg: DLS) overtake them.
Well said, they got punished around the stoppages, Uni's on ballers were far to good and made the Scotch on Ballers look second rate (which they are)
Good to see OH have a win today, so Xav's VS UB for the remaining spot in the GF, another upset was Xav's beating Scotch in the 2's!! although i'm still tipping Scotch to win the 2's and OH the 1's
Headed down to EP to watch the second semi. Pretty good game in windy and cold conditions. Both teams pretty even with quality runners and ball use, however OH just far too tall. Jenke, Loewe, Ford and Seccull are huge. Imagine if O'Farrell was still fit. Xavs were gallant, Ockleshaw brilliant in the final term, however they just could not get past Jenke who played loose in the backline for the last quarter and dominated the rucks.
Loewe was great, Seccull was dangerous, Corrigan fantastic early. Xavs backline was just not big enough to contain them all.
Umpiring was a disgrace. Did not influence result, as i thought OH had the worse run of it. And so did P.Nicholson who spent 5 miutes in the second quarter hurling abuse at them and asking for Benny whilst looking towards the grandstand. (I could only assume he was a VAFA Ump rep??)
OH forwards were being manhandled by their smaller opposition, yet were not winning free kicks. Not only were the field umpires ordinary, but even the boundary and goal umpires were pretty bad. In the first quarter the goal umpire decided a Xavs goal had hit the post. The field umpire ran to him to ensure he changed his mind. Ball was about 3 feet from the post! In the last, a snap point from OH was given out on the full. The ball went through the points approximately half way betweeen posts. Again the field umpire ensured the decision was altered.
The boundary umpire in the last made 2 crappy decisions, one on the full against Xavs and one calling an OH player out of bounds when he was, but the ball was clearly in.
Anyone, we all know umpiring is a tough job, just thought at a Second Semi A-Grade we may have had some quality on show. But no!
If Saturday week is a fine, sunny and still day, i couldn't see Xavs or Uni getting within 6 goals of OH. Too big, too strong even in conditions yesterday that didn't really suit them.
Cheers - DG
MurphysLaw
17 Sep 2006, 03:23
dg= When nicho is screaming "where§s benny" he is referring to ben jordan....
GallopingGasometer
17 Sep 2006, 19:30
OLD XAVERIANS 17.12-114 UNIVERSITY BLUES 12.15-87
Who was at the game and how'd it pan out? (apart from the obvious)
----------------
dg= When nicho is screaming "where§s benny" he is referring to ben jordan....
Um, I think it is Benny Goodman actually. He's ripping into the umpires.
holding
18 Sep 2006, 00:48
What a cracking game today (well the first 3 quaters) Congradulations to Xav's for making yet another GF
I'm sticking with my original tips
1's - If the weather is nice and dry like it was today i think OH will be to big and to strong up forward, OH by 3 goals
2's - I caught the second half of the OS VS DLS game today and DLS threw everything bar the kitchen sink at OS and they pulled through by 20 points so i am staying on them to win the 2's by 5-6 goals.
B SECTION - Collegians in both 1's and 2's
oldertimer
18 Sep 2006, 01:59
OLD XAVERIANS 17.12-114 UNIVERSITY BLUES 12.15-87
Who was at the game and how'd it pan out? (apart from the obvious)
----------------
Um, I think it is Benny Goodman actually. He's ripping into the umpires. UR right about Benny Goodman.
Xavs always looked like winning the Prelim, except for a brief period at the end of the third quarter with Blues holding a 2 goal lead. Blues runners were expected to go on with it, but were blitzed in the last ( 8 goals to 1).
Bones may have a few worries with injuries for next week with 3 players off in the last ( one on crutches).
OH by plenty!
holding
18 Sep 2006, 11:40
Is there any Xav's people here that would be able to shed some light on the injuries, as mentioned one guy on crutches and 2 others that took no further part in the game.
Will they miss the big one?
Monkeyboy
18 Sep 2006, 15:41
read the xavs website and fleming, Chatfield and Bingham were the ones named. I'm sure Xavs will keep things in house adn we will have 2 wait until Sunday to see who runs out.
Will be a great game. Surely Old Xav Houdinis can't do it again??
Good news for OS ressies if 3-4 players have to go up and play in the 1's for Xavs.
holding
18 Sep 2006, 23:37
Wish-full thinking i guess, good luck to both teams for Sunday
Monkeyboy - I don't think the OS magoo's will be to worried about it as i am sure they have dropped players back as well, they are a pretty good side only loosing 1 game for year, i'm sticking with the Scotchies in the 2's
mickrocks1
19 Sep 2006, 00:55
but even the boundary and goal umpires were pretty bad. In the first quarter the goal umpire decided a Xavs goal had hit the post. The field umpire ran to him to ensure he changed his mind. Ball was about 3 feet from the post! In the last, a snap point from OH was given out on the full. The ball went through the points approximately half way betweeen posts. Again the field umpire ensured the decision was altered.
This is a poor post. Especially the first goal umpiring incident, the player running into the open goal missed the ball with his foot, and slipped. With the ensuing rush for the ball, the GU was in the correct position. A player hit the post with his foot and then the ball travelled through the goals. GU has to give the lower score if hes not sure. The fieldy was in the better position - not much the goalie could have done.
As for the second incident with the point called out on the full, the kick was a spray and the GU had to run from one side of the goals to the other within about half a second. Again, if not sure, the umpire must give the lower score and its up to the fieldies to change it - in both cases this happened.
I am not a Xav but from watching the game I think the three injuries are as follows:
Fleming has sprained his ankle grade 1 or 2 at most, the crutches were only because xavs are trying everything to have him right for the Grand Final. It is only an ankle and lets face it you can play with it taped heavily with a local in it and use 2-3 months to get over it.
Chatfield copped a corky in the thigh, he struggled to run on the sideline but he will be right to play next week, no drama.
Bingham got knocked on the head and came off with the blood rule. Not sure if he was concussed or had another injury but I would expect him to come up for next week.
Summary is three Xavs will be playing at not quite 100% but honestly how many players are 100% fit at this stage in the season.
holding
19 Sep 2006, 22:01
I am not a Xav but from watching the game I think the three injuries are as follows:
Fleming has sprained his ankle grade 1 or 2 at most, the crutches were only because xavs are trying everything to have him right for the Grand Final. It is only an ankle and lets face it you can play with it taped heavily with a local in it and use 2-3 months to get over it.
Chatfield copped a corky in the thigh, he struggled to run on the sideline but he will be right to play next week, no drama.
Bingham got knocked on the head and came off with the blood rule. Not sure if he was concussed or had another injury but I would expect him to come up for next week.
Summary is three Xavs will be playing at not quite 100% but honestly how many players are 100% fit at this stage in the season.
Thanks Petrov, nice update
It depends if they want to risk using a couple of players that are not fit in a Grand final, personally with the depth they have i would play a couple of others and make sure you run run run again OH.
Monkeyboy
20 Sep 2006, 09:27
Nice report Petrov. You must have friends in high places. Fleming is the only one that may miss. Expect to see Pasceri or Beardsley come into the 22 if he doesn't come up.
Should be a fantastic game. Weather 15 with possible showers and likely wind. I think this will help Xavs as OH have plenty of quality key position players and marking forwards.
Xavs by 23 points.
BOG - Scott Mollard
Nice report Petrov. You must have friends in high places. Fleming is the only one that may miss. Expect to see Pasceri or Beardsley come into the 22 if he doesn't come up.
Should be a fantastic game. Weather 15 with possible showers and likely wind. I think this will help Xavs as OH have plenty of quality key position players and marking forwards.
Xavs by 23 points.
BOG - Scott Mollard
I find it astounding that Beardsley isn't in their current 22. I'd expect him to get the nod and Pash to set the alarm early if the choice had to be made. Reckon Beardo's got a better engine than Pash. Pretty handy inclusions to consider. Wouldn't be surprised if Xavs try to source a hyperbaric session or two for Tim Fleming as I'm sure he'd be jumping out of his skin to play in another GF after so many years away.
OH by 7 points in the big one.
Xavs to win the curtain-raiser by 6 goals.
holding
20 Sep 2006, 12:00
I find it astounding that Beardsley isn't in their current 22. I'd expect him to get the nod and Pash to set the alarm early if the choice had to be made. Reckon Beardo's got a better engine than Pash. Pretty handy inclusions to consider. Wouldn't be surprised if Xavs try to source a hyperbaric session or two for Tim Fleming as I'm sure he'd be jumping out of his skin to play in another GF after so many years away.
OH by 7 points in the big one.
Xavs to win the curtain-raiser by 6 goals.
What number is Beardsley i'm not familiar with him?
Pash is a handy little player
Monkeyboy
20 Sep 2006, 12:15
Number 10.
If OS have the same side that lost to Xavs in 2nd semi, i tip xavs by 3 goals.
If OS have 3-4 ins from the senior side that lost to Uni that week, i'll take OS by 3 goals. If they have more than 3-4 ins, then OS will romp it in as Xavs can only have a genuine second best 22 on the field!
holding
20 Sep 2006, 13:56
Number 10.
If OS have the same side that lost to Xavs in 2nd semi, i tip xavs by 3 goals.
If OS have 3-4 ins from the senior side that lost to Uni that week, i'll take OS by 3 goals. If they have more than 3-4 ins, then OS will romp it in as Xavs can only have a genuine second best 22 on the field!
Thanks Monkey
I watched the Uni VS Scotch game 2 weeks ago and i saw the second half of the 2's on Sunday and i am pretty sure they had 4-5 players from the 1's game against Uni playing Sunday against De La (hope that makes sence?)
That is the main reason i am tipping OS and the fact they only lost 1 game all year, either way it'll be a great game in both 1's and 2's i'm going to try and get there to watch both, get my 10 bucks worth!!!
linger_isgod
20 Sep 2006, 15:28
OX actually benefit from their 1sts playing in the GF, as if they had've lost, the potential gains from the 1sts was outweighed by the players they would have lost who haven't qualified for finals.
holding
20 Sep 2006, 23:25
Oh that is good then! makes for a better contest Sunday!
Good luck OH, i hope someone knocks out S.Mollard.. Dirtiest and worst bloke in the comp
Eddie Woloschek
21 Sep 2006, 11:15
Good luck OH, i hope someone knocks out S.Mollard.. Dirtiest and worst bloke in the comp
Hey Bozo, it has been put to me that one of the weaknesses of democracy is that even clowns like you enjoy the right of free speech.
And as for hoping someone else does it - why not try it yourself, you envious, timid uberwa*ker?
holding
21 Sep 2006, 11:45
Hey Bozo, it has been put to me that one of the weaknesses of democracy is that even clowns like you enjoy the right of free speech.
And as for hoping someone else does it - why not try it yourself, you envious, timid uber****er?
I Have to agree with you for once here Eddie! ouu5 he may be a mouth and he may talk a bit but he backs it up, he goes hard and is a good footballer.
cleaves
21 Sep 2006, 12:01
school boys football. jhahaa
Courageunderfire
21 Sep 2006, 13:14
Who is this bloke Madden that everyone is talking up, im not from around the area so im wondering who he is?
school boys football. jhahaa
Yersh - unlike DVFL U19s where most failed to get past year 8 at their local tech school and struggle to read the canteen price list.
Go away young man and annoy people who care.
As for Mollard, well yes he is a character and often enjoys interacting with the crowd and opposition. Sometimes it gets him in hot water (like a 6 week suspension for example), but it doesn't mean we should wish for him to get knocked out.
I would prefer that he have the shot after the siren to win the game and muff it to give OH the trophy. That would be more appropriate that having him carried off an a stretcher.
Eddie Woloschek
21 Sep 2006, 13:49
I would prefer that he (Mollard) have the shot after the siren to win the game and muff it to give OH the trophy.
Dream on, you petty also-ran, you hapless wannabe. The only way you'll get footy this late in September is if you start the pre-season early.
So much for the objectivity of VAFA scribes.
wizza14
21 Sep 2006, 14:27
all you amateur footballers are homo's!
The Human Keg
21 Sep 2006, 14:56
This from a bloke who names himself after the coloquial expression for a p1ss. Smart work.
Just because you have had sex with too many Scotch boys, don't tar the rest of amateur footballers.
Plumber
21 Sep 2006, 15:00
Arn't we all constantly amazed by the creative and diverse accusations that silly bogans like "wizza" conjure up.
"You are homo's", brilliant you simple pot hole.
Go back to crying into you cask of wine that Brocky is no longer with us and leave this thread alone. I would be more than happy to line up against you on or off the field and see how big your mouth is then.
Dream on, you petty also-ran, you hapless wannabe. The only way you'll get footy this late in September is if you start the pre-season early.
So much for the objectivity of VAFA scribes.
Geez - I'd hate to think what the response would have been if I'd agreed that he should come off unconscious and bleeding on a stretcher!!!
Frankly, half the fun of commenting on the footy is to provide an opinion, so I don't believe objectivity was ever a pre-requisite for the role!
If you'd prefer that I be objective, then I wish both sides to play out a 95 - 95 draw where Leowe kicks 6 and Handley does likewise because they're both lovely fellas. Oh and I trust Tim Ockleshaw will rack up 32 touches to Paul Corrigans....32. Jars will play on Laz Siapantas and they'll break even, before Bones and Nicho have to get their troops up the following week for the replay.
Hey - at least I've stuck with the Xavs 2nds for the curtain-raiser...even though Nordy doesn't need another bloody medal.
Come on Ed, tell us who you are, rather than trying to hook into others.
Do you play, coach, watch, or carry water bottles for the Red and Blacks?
I'm intrigued now.....
wizza14
21 Sep 2006, 15:33
Arn't we all constantly amazed by the creative and diverse accusations that silly bogans like "wizza" conjure up.
"You are homo's", brilliant you simple pot hole.
Go back to crying into you cask of wine that Brocky is no longer with us and leave this thread alone. I would be more than happy to line up against you on or off the field and see how big your mouth is then.
whatever...homo!
Plumber
21 Sep 2006, 15:36
whatever...homo!
Great work Seinfeld
chelsworthgale
21 Sep 2006, 21:16
whatever...homo!
You learn a new word out there in the EDFL fugly? Time to crawl back under your rock never to see the light of day again. God help us all should your kind continue to breed...
wizza14
22 Sep 2006, 10:39
You learn a new word out there in the EDFL fugly? Time to crawl back under your rock never to see the light of day again. God help us all should your kind continue to breed...
go back to sipping your chardy and playing non contact football you cats!
cleaves
22 Sep 2006, 10:44
go back to sipping your chardy and playing non contact football you cats!
yer ammos are soft as come play in the dvfl where iots contact all the time, all u soft c's look over ya shoulder and get the loose ball. come play diamond valley and put ya head ova it, im sure u will see an elbow flying past.
VAFA19s
22 Sep 2006, 11:09
yer ammos are soft as come play in the dvfl where iots contact all the time, all u soft c's look over ya shoulder and get the loose ball. come play diamond valley and put ya head ova it, im sure u will see an elbow flying past.
Sounds like you fellas should have a crack at wrestling: not only do you get the manly contact that clearly drives your pitiful existence (as opposed to more fruitful ventures such as, say, employment), but with the added bonus of body-oiling, the root of wizza14's suspect love of mentioning homo's would be fulfilled in the fullest. Everybody wins!
A backman in Freer a possible inclusion given xavs injuries?
joe_joe
22 Sep 2006, 11:30
It's people like YOU that give the DVFL a name that is associated with bogans and people who believe that Jim Beam White Label implies sophistocation. I'm glad people like you don't play VAFA Football because you people don't understand the true meaning of courage and only know how to take cheap shots.
This is not directed at every single person who plays in these leagues, just the dim-witted people like cleaves and wizza who find making posts like the above funny and I would even suggest they are unemployed and have used the forums here on Bigfooty.com to fill in their time.
Might I suggest you guys go and get a life?
joe_joe
22 Sep 2006, 11:32
Oh...and Go Bloods on Sunday!
Not that I want them to win ... it's just like anybody who went to any other school that wasn't Xavs would love to see those boys getting beaten :p
Plumber
22 Sep 2006, 11:40
I'm suprised you know how to turn a computer on genius, that's a brilliant post. If the DVFL was any good, why are teams like Heidelberg so keen to leave it?
Your comp is a sinking ship full of mediocre footballers with no pace, skill or genuine courage. Cheap elbows and punches behind play are reserved for cowards and ex-cons, two categories which you probably slip into quite comfortably.
wizza14
22 Sep 2006, 11:54
I'm suprised you know how to turn a computer on genius, that's a brilliant post. If the DVFL was any good, why are teams like Heidelberg so keen to leave it?
Your comp is a sinking ship full of mediocre footballers with no pace, skill or genuine courage. Cheap elbows and punches behind play are reserved for cowards and ex-cons, two categories which you probably slip into quite comfortably.
And your comp is full of cheats who rort the system. Amateur players don't get paid my a s s! Your league is full of snobby supporters who sit in their Range Rovers and BMW's and pansies who are afraid of a bit of contact...CATS!
GallopingGasometer
22 Sep 2006, 11:56
Why do you cro magnons even bother to post here with your pathetic, emasculate, ignorant cheap shot crap. When you learn how to spell and construct sentences in the english language maybe you will be 1% closer to being a valued member of the human race. I was going to say go back to your DVFL forum and spew forth some more pearls of wisdom amongst your own kind but they probably don't even wan't you there either. It's a wonder idiots like you even have enough cerebral facility to switch on a computer, since I'm guessing you probably still need your mum to tie up your footy boots and your dad to shake your c*ck after you piss.
joe_joe
22 Sep 2006, 12:16
And your comp is full of cheats who rort the system. Amateur players don't get paid my a s s! Your league is full of snobby supporters who sit in their Range Rovers and BMW's and pansies who are afraid of a bit of contact...CATS!
Hmmm...not bad.
Your articulation and standard of Grammar and Spelling have lifted considerably since you have started posted in this forum.
Now you just need to start writing some posts with some substance and real meaning. Please go and read the thread about the topic of players being paid already and you will quickly see that we all know that this happens and on the whole, do not agree with it but it is out of our powers to do anything about.
So nice of you to generalise ALL of the supporters of VAFA Football. I'd like to see if you have the guts to put that statement on a big sign and carry it around Elsternwick Park this Sunday at 2.15pm. I shall watch with great enthusiasm as you very quickly discover that the people in this league are not as soft you might think we are...
Plumber
22 Sep 2006, 12:28
There is a problem with driving a BMW or Range Rover?
You should try owning a car where you don't have to use a couple of bricks for a handbrake, it isn't too bad actually.
chelsworthgale
22 Sep 2006, 12:35
Wizza's word of the day calendar has Cats on it today... as it had homo's yesterday!
Cleeves played 120 games in the DVFL... tell me where i sit on this? Because I have now played 50 in the VAFA does that make me soft? clown...
I think your just jealous Wizza. Is there some reason you chose BMW's and Range Rovers? A lot of supporters in the VAFA drive holdens and fords as well... I think you might have set your life goal to own a BMW too high bud, there is no need to get jealous over the fact that these people have achieved their goals!
The Human Keg
22 Sep 2006, 13:14
Hey wizza
You're not supposed to use the Centrelink computer for trolling BigFooty.
It's for Jobsearch, the notional name shared with the pitiful allowance we dribble your way on a fortnightly basis.
I know it's hard to get by on - after you've bought your weekly stash and a bottle of Beam there is but a pittance left.
Then you have to put a little aside for your one date of the fortnight. Luckily your girlfriend's pimp only gives her the one night off in the fortnight, but she expects to your like the Princess she is and buy her a Strawberry Sundae after the Junior Burger Mc Meal Deal.
At least you'll get your ***** wet. Well actually, maybe not. She was diagnosed with Clamidia last week (I know because I'm also her doctor) and you have to wear three raincoats on your little pecker.
And I know it's little because your girlfriend always complains that you can't touch the sides when you are with her. Although that may not be a reflection on you, necessarily.
PS Don't put down "Big Footy" on your Job Search register. They audit those now. Visiting a website does NOT count as a job application under the new tightened rules.
Therussian
22 Sep 2006, 13:30
Why do you cro magnons even bother to post here with your pathetic, emasculate, ignorant cheap shot crap. When you learn how to spell and construct sentences in the english language maybe you will be 1% closer to being a valued member of the human race. I was going to say go back to your DVFL forum and spew forth some more pearls of wisdom amongst your own kind but they probably don't even wan't you there either. It's a wonder idiots like you even have enough cerebral facility to switch on a computer, since I'm guessing you probably still need your mum to tie up your footy boots and your dad to shake your c*ck after you piss.
Thanks for the english lesson champ, don't think the word want warrants an ' though
GallopingGasometer
22 Sep 2006, 15:09
Thanks for the english lesson champ, don't think the word want warrants an ' though
Yes, typing errors are a nuisance!
By the way, I believe the word you are looking for is apostrophe. You may also find it worth your while to look up the meaning of conjunction in the dictionary. Oh, and most sentences end in a full stop. :rolleyes:
Let's get the topic back on A section football shall we.
Bell Ringer
22 Sep 2006, 15:46
Let's get the topic back on A section football shall we.
Hear, hear.
A few weeks ago before the finals started I posted my tips for the 1's & 2's flags. The post got lost during the BF back-up failure but they were OH and OX, respectively. I haven't see anything on the wkends since that would make me think otherwise so I'm sticking with those two selections. Right or wrong though, both games will be white-hot.
GallopingGasometer
22 Sep 2006, 16:22
I haven't seen any Reserve's games this year but quite frankly I hope OS knock off Xav's, since I always support the underdog. In the main game I'm tipping OH to win by five goals, which is about the Bloods' average winning margin in the three games they have played so far this year.
holding
22 Sep 2006, 20:33
I haven't seen any Reserve's games this year but quite frankly I hope OS knock off Xav's, since I always support the underdog. In the main game I'm tipping OH to win by five goals, which is about the Bloods' average winning margin in the three games they have played so far this year.
OS finished on top loosing 1 game (which was to Xav's by less than a goal) then beat them the second time. Personally i would say OS are the Favorite to win the Magoo's
Totally agree with OH by a 2-3 goals again
wizza14
24 Sep 2006, 14:19
OS finished on top loosing 1 game (which was to Xav's by less than a goal) then beat them the second time. Personally i would say OS are the Favorite to win the Magoo's
Totally agree with OH by a 2-3 goals again
Good luck today cats. Be careful, wouldn't wanna hurt yourself...oh sorry, you guys play non-contact footy. meoooowwww!!!
chelsworthgale
24 Sep 2006, 16:35
Good luck today cats. Be careful, wouldn't wanna hurt yourself...oh sorry, you guys play non-contact footy. meoooowwww!!!
I think you forgot to flip over your word of the day calendar...
Monkeyboy
25 Sep 2006, 09:15
Great win by OH. Thoroughly deserved. Bigger bodies! Good effort by Xavs, not disgraced.
Ressies - Old Scotch Football Club have just taken out a restraining order against the Xavs. Continual physical and mental abuse over the last decade and a half. Do Scotchies wake up at night in a lather of sweat just thinking about having to play Xavier?? I think the VAFA need to ensure that OS always wear black shorts when playing against Xavs. The white shorts look great as they run onto the ground...but when they see the Xavier jumper they turn a nasty brown colour!
GallopingGasometer
25 Sep 2006, 12:10
Hmm, what the f*** am I doing at work and how did I get here?
Bloods were relentless in their attack on the footy once again. 38 year old Mark Seccull set it up early and the back line ground it out as usual. Steinfort was sensational in the air and crashing through the packs at ground level. Great team effort by the boys, as they say!
Xavs were terrific after the game. They took the loss really well (outwardly anyway) and held their heads up, just like true sportsmen. That was great to see. Poor old Mollard took the bait though and copped a shelacking from the OH supporters behind the goals. All in good fun, although he probably wished he'd never opened his mouth!
Max Leader
5 Oct 2006, 13:03
Can anyone inform the readers of what is happening at De La, as there is an add for the Senior Coaching position.
Bell Ringer
9 Oct 2006, 15:20
Can anyone inform the readers of what is happening at De La, as there is an add for the Senior Coaching position.
New work commitments restrict Mark Lowe from being available every wkend next season so he's resigned.
Football Analysor
11 Oct 2006, 19:02
An Independent Panel of different Football Experts & Personalities was put together to thoroughly analyze the standards of our Competitions. Players, Competitions were viewed to find out the Best Standard Competitions. Team Lists, profile players & Finals watched were other key elements in our findings.
1. VFL Seniors
2. Eastern FL (A Grade)
3. VFL Reserves
4. Ovens & Murray FL
5. A Grade Amateurs (VAFA)
6. Goulburn Valley FL
7. Essendon District FL (A Grade)
8. Geelong FL
9. Bendigo FL
10. Diamond Valley FL (A Grade)
11. Ballarat FL
12. Western Region FL (A Grade)
13. B Grade Amateurs (VAFA)
14. Southern FL (A Grade)
15. Central Murray FL
16. Eastern FL (B Grade)
17. Riddell FL (A Grade)
18. Essendon District FL (B Grade)
19. Geelong District FL
20. Sunraysia FL
2000 RATINGS –
1. VFL Seniors 2. VFL Reserves 3. A Grade Amateurs (VAFA)
4. Ovens & Murray 5. Ballarat FL 6. Eastern FL
7. Diamond Valley 8. Geelong FL 9. Goulburn Valley
10. Bendigo FL
Eddie Woloschek
12 Oct 2006, 09:32
An Independent Panel of different Football Experts & Personalities was put together to thoroughly analyze the standards of our Competitions. Players, Competitions were viewed to find out the Best Standard Competitions. Team Lists, profile players & Finals watched were other key elements in our findings.
1. VFL Seniors
2. Eastern FL (A Grade)
3. VFL Reserves
4. Ovens & Murray FL
Personalities? Bert Newton? What about Patti? and Matt and Lauren - saw them attend all the finals as a family. Russell Crowe? Pete Smith? Kerri-Ann? I think Daryl Somers might have been there too?
Slay Master G
12 Oct 2006, 10:04
I don't think the amateur game is showcased all that well at windy Elsternwick Park, I also dispute how a competition in which the top 5 sides have a percentage of around 200% and the bottom 5 around 50% equates to a strong competition....?
Everyday Spelling
12 Oct 2006, 10:57
1. VFL Seniors
2. Eastern FL (A Grade)
3. VFL Reserves
4. Ovens & Murray FL
6. Goulburn Valley FL
8. Geelong FL
9. Bendigo FL
11. Ballarat FL
Extremely doubtful. Southern top 2 would make finals in C grade but rest would even struggle in D grade. Number 20+ for SFL
JG Hornet
13 Oct 2006, 14:26
1. VFL Seniors
2. Eastern FL (A Grade)
3. VFL Reserves
4. Ovens & Murray FL
6. Goulburn Valley FL
8. Geelong FL
9. Bendigo FL
11. Ballarat FL
15. Central Murray FL
16. Eastern FL (B Grade)
17. Riddell FL (A Grade)
18. Essendon District FL (B Grade)
19. Geelong District FL
20. Sunraysia FL
2000 RATINGS –
1. VFL Seniors 2. VFL Reserves 3. A Grade Amateurs (VAFA)
4. Ovens & Murray 5. Ballarat FL 6. Eastern FL
7. Diamond Valley 8. Geelong FL 9. Goulburn Valley
10. Bendigo FL
What sort of person sits down and compiles such a list?
For what it's worth you've been very generous to the VFL reserves and the SFL. The Southern FL is complete and utter garbage. And you're a touch harsh on the GVFL as well.
I wish people would stop batting over the EFL. Yes Vermont are a very good side. And Noble Park are OK. But for an even, interesting contest I'd pick half a dozen comps over the EFL.
holding
13 Oct 2006, 15:38
I'd tip OH or Xav's to beat the Williamstown or Box Hill VFL magoo's, list is a good idea and i personally don't think they are that far off the mark
basic starter
17 Oct 2006, 16:22
I have been reappointed coach of the OMFC for 2007. To all you on here who doubted me well - I guess in the words of Choco Williams - you were wrong - After getting my side through a tough year but getting a heap of kids ready through my hard work - getting the under 19's right and up and going - not mention a successful side.
My team is ready to play finals.
linger_isgod
17 Oct 2006, 16:44
I have been reappointed coach of the OMFC for 2007. To all you on here who doubted me well - I guess in the words of Choco Williams - you were wrong - After getting my side through a tough year but getting a heap of kids ready through my hard work - getting the under 19's right and up and going - not mention a successful side.
My team is ready to play finals.
B-Section Thread
Everyday Spelling
24 Oct 2006, 14:40
1. VFL Seniors
2. Eastern FL (A Grade)
3. VFL Reserves
4. Ovens & Murray FL
6. Goulburn Valley FL
8. Geelong FL
9. Bendigo FL
11. Ballarat FL
Extremely doubtful. Southern top 2 would make finals in C grade but rest would even struggle in D grade. Number 20+ for SFL
Hooroo to Balwyn from SFL. Not looking good for them.
http://www.knoxleader.com.au/article/2006/10/17/6008_knv_sports.html (http://www.knoxleader.com.au/article/2006/10/17/6008_knv_sports.html)