View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43

Menages
2 Nov 2006, 07:37
I was strolling along Camberwell Road the other day when I walked past the old Scotch ground and as I did, there was a bloke leaving, with a brand new Scotch jumper, socks and shorts.

It was one of those situations where you know the face but can't place the person, so I said g'day just in case.

Still can't work out who it was, but I reckon he played at Geelong & Richmond. Anybody?

overtheline
2 Nov 2006, 08:22
I was strolling along Camberwell Road the other day when I walked past the old Scotch ground and as I did, there was a bloke leaving, with a brand new Scotch jumper, socks and shorts.

It was one of those situations where you know the face but can't place the person, so I said g'day just in case.

Still can't work out who it was, but I reckon he played at Geelong & Richmond. Anybody?

Brad Ottens?

Concrete boots
2 Nov 2006, 08:36
As if:

1. Old Scotch would be operating anything out of Camberwell SG in November - they pay for the lease of the ground but it's the cricket club's from Oct to March.

2. they'd be dishing out jumper, sox, etc to a prospective player at this time of the year.

Complete and utter bollocks. Get real :rolleyes:

PS - Brad Ottens is still a required player at Geelong, God knows why!!!

linger_isgod
2 Nov 2006, 08:56
The collective weight of Craig Biddiscombe and Adam Houlihan.

Eddie Woloschek
2 Nov 2006, 10:56
Paul Sarah.

JG Hornet
2 Nov 2006, 12:45

David Ogg?

Scribe
2 Nov 2006, 13:57
Trevor Poole or Kevin Ablett???

The Demon
2 Nov 2006, 14:26
Rex Hunt??

Jack Mihocek
2 Nov 2006, 16:24
Gareth Andrews??

DAVID ALLDAY
2 Nov 2006, 16:36
Adam Houlihan

bob down
2 Nov 2006, 18:36
David Ogg?

JGH, well known that Scotch have offered free or discounted education to the kids of that ex Hawthorn numb nut who quit a couple of years ago and went back to Vermont. Spent last year down the bush.

ouu 5
2 Nov 2006, 23:35
which teams have started pre-season ?

Plumber
15 Nov 2006, 13:00
which teams have started pre-season ?

The teams who have no lives and will be over it all by June.

Benny MOF
15 Nov 2006, 19:16
The teams who have no lives and will be over it all by June.

Bernards. Nuff said!

TJACKA
9 Dec 2006, 16:19
Can Anyone from Collegians say what they think of Mark Louis being appointed Reserves Coach?

sImpLy f0oTy
10 Dec 2006, 16:23
Can Anyone from Collegians say what they think of Mark Louis being appointed Reserves Coach?

Can anyone tell me also, what they thought of AJAX losing the C Section Grand Final by a point after once leading by 47 in the 2nd term...
I get around and see alot of Ammos games and i just happened to be there on that day, Gee they choked bad. (Sorry, i couldn't find the C Section thread) Chreers

Monkeyboy
10 Dec 2006, 20:16
Can anyone tell me also, what they thought of AJAX losing the C Section Grand Final by a point after once leading by 47 in the 2nd term...
I get around and see alot of Ammos games and i just happened to be there on that day, Gee they choked bad. (Sorry, i couldn't find the C Section thread) Chreers

Pathetic troll. If youve posted 1000 times on the Amatuer thread, you could have found the C-Grade one. Lift your game.

Menages
14 Dec 2006, 04:51
Adam Houlihan

Correct, that's the one.

Also saw Rayden Tallis having coffee with a bloke I didn't know but someone told me was O'Shaughnessy who is coach of Old Camberwell (??).

Overheard Tallis say he wanted to play in the forward pocket next to Loats and then take OC up to A grade.

The Big Pineapple
14 Dec 2006, 13:49
Correct, that's the one.

Also saw Rayden Tallis having coffee with a bloke I didn't know but someone told me was O'Shaughnessy who is coach of Old Camberwell (??).

Overheard Tallis say he wanted to play in the forward pocket next to Loats and then take OC up to A grade.

And Rayden Tallis is just the man to take them to A grade. Please... who is he kidding?

GoalSneak38
14 Dec 2006, 18:13
JGH, well known that Scotch have offered free or discounted education to the kids of that ex Hawthorn numb nut who quit a couple of years ago and went back to Vermont. Spent last year down the bush. Saw him down the beach last year. Loves the disco bickies

GoalSneak38
14 Dec 2006, 18:15
1. VFL Seniors
2. Eastern FL (A Grade)
3. VFL Reserves
4. Ovens & Murray FL
5. A Grade Amateurs (VAFA)
6. Goulburn Valley FL
7. Essendon District FL (A Grade)
8. Geelong FL
9. Bendigo FL
10. Diamond Valley FL (A Grade)
11. Ballarat FL
12. Western Region FL (A Grade)
13. B Grade Amateurs (VAFA)
14. Southern FL (A Grade)

Extremely doubtful. Southern top 2 would make finals in C grade but rest would even struggle in D grade. Number 20+ for SFL Have seen/played both A grade in VAFA and in the SFL and I think you are being a little harsh

The Demon
15 Dec 2006, 13:17
Have seen/played both A grade in VAFA and in the SFL and I think you are being a little harsh

Have to agree! The statement that the top two in SFL would fail to make C Grade finals,absolute rubbish!

Whoever wrote that needs to get out more!

Bigfootyfan
15 Dec 2006, 13:44
Have to agree! The statement that the top two in SFL would fail to make C Grade finals,absolute rubbish!

Whoever wrote that needs to get out more!

Hes not that far off the mark,, St Pauls lost to SBMT by over 100 points last year, it was only a praccy match, but SBMT had half there team not playing either

The Demon
15 Dec 2006, 13:59
Hes not that far off the mark,, St Pauls lost to SBMT by over 100 points last year, it was only a praccy match, but SBMT had half there team not playing either

Praccy matches to me are no great guide!

This is probably an unanswerable question as to how the SFL sizes up to the VAFA,however my opinion is that the top two SFL would sit about middle of the B grade ladder.

The best judge would probably be someone who has coached in both leagues at around those levels.

The Late Mail
15 Dec 2006, 15:23
Praccy matches to me are no great guide!

This is probably an unanswerable question as to how the SFL sizes up to the VAFA,however my opinion is that the top two SFL would sit about middle of the B grade ladder.

The best judge would probably be someone who has coached in both leagues at around those levels.

By that reasoning, how do you think Balwyn will go in the EFL? I think the general consensus is that EFL Div 1 is on a par if not better than A grade ammos and Balwyn didn't even finish in the top 2 in the SFL last year. By the sound of things they have been recruiting pretty heavily though, last figure I heard was that 6 Xavs had gone to Balwyn. Apart from Lynch and Hackett I'm not sure who they are

Brian has spoken
15 Dec 2006, 19:05
By that reasoning, how do you think Balwyn will go in the EFL? I think the general consensus is that EFL Div 1 is on a par if not better than A grade ammos and Balwyn didn't even finish in the top 2 in the SFL last year. By the sound of things they have been recruiting pretty heavily though, last figure I heard was that 6 Xavs had gone to Balwyn. Apart from Lynch and Hackett I'm not sure who they are

They will do well, although Troy Schwarze has gone to Sorrento as Capt Coach. Justin Arnold is another key signing.

The Big Trinity Kid
19 Dec 2006, 09:04
Word out of Harry Trott is that their professional amateur, Charlie holst has decided to hang up the boots at the ripe old age of 23 and taking up skipping.

It would appear that Charlie had more success entertaining the masses by skipping whilst at a Collegians function much to humorous advantage of all attendees, as opposed to his dour style of play as a backman along side the big nappy-wearer, Jorgy.

But you have to feel for Charlie and his want to give back to Collegians, as he ended up puking in front of everyone at the conclusion of his performance. Charlie remarked, "Skipping is not as easy as it seems. Alcohol had nothing to do with my state of mind and my initiation into the world of skipping. Nor did it have anything to do with my grand finish."

Apparently James Heritage is extremely disappointed in the loss of such a quality player as Charlie brought down the average weight of the playing group by a significant amount.

The big guts from Harry Trott can't take a trick at the moment. Back to the fat farm for Herro!!

Alphonse
19 Dec 2006, 20:11
Does anyone think the return of Luke O’Sullivan from two years o/s will make a big difference to the pitters? At his best he is one of the better CHF in A Grade.

sps88
29 Dec 2006, 15:21

Lynch is still at Xavs

Navy2005
4 Jan 2007, 22:01
Anyone heard if Dylan Smith former Kangaroos and Fremantle player has signed with anyone in the amateur league?

behind_post
5 Jan 2007, 16:02
I think I read in the Herald Sun, that the inaugural Bendigo Pioneers B&F, Travis Ruyg played in 10 losing GF's before this years victory with Xavs! Does anyone know if this is correct and which club's they would have been at? It's almost as intriguing as Bernie Dinneen's 4 league medals/no club B&F awards portfolio and Dobson's measely 8 votes in the Woodrow..almost at opposite ends of the spectrum to Bernie..
Likely that one of them would have been Wyche's Premiership in 1997 over Donald, they were undefeated all year then lost the granny by one point. :)
Pretty sure he would have played in it.

Courageunderfire
11 Jan 2007, 10:05
An Independent Panel of different Football Experts & Personalities was put together to thoroughly analyze the standards of our Competitions. Players, Competitions were viewed to find out the Best Standard Competitions. Team Lists, profile players & Finals watched were other key elements in our findings.

1. VFL Seniors
2. Eastern FL (A Grade)
3. VFL Reserves
4. Ovens & Murray FL
5. A Grade Amateurs (VAFA)
6. Goulburn Valley FL
7. Essendon District FL (A Grade)
8. Geelong FL
9. Bendigo FL
10. Diamond Valley FL (A Grade)
11. Ballarat FL
12. Western Region FL (A Grade)
13. B Grade Amateurs (VAFA)
14. Southern FL (A Grade)
15. Central Murray FL
16. Eastern FL (B Grade)
17. Riddell FL (A Grade)
18. Essendon District FL (B Grade)
19. Geelong District FL
20. Sunraysia FL

2000 RATINGS –
1. VFL Seniors 2. VFL Reserves 3. A Grade Amateurs (VAFA)
4. Ovens & Murray 5. Ballarat FL 6. Eastern FL
7. Diamond Valley 8. Geelong FL 9. Goulburn Valley
10. Bendigo FL

THESE PEOPLE WRITE S**T

Bendigo is beind Ballarat, as Ballarat are D1 at interleague and were runners up. Bendigo in C devision.

Riddell would not get near this chart! They are a bunch of sh*t kickers!

Slay Master G
22 Jan 2007, 14:42
Old Xaverians must have been glad to see the rain on the weekend, it will have softened the earth enough to allow the heavy impact of an oversized Damien Lynch to be sufficiently absorbed.

Damien himself is quite happy as the rains will reduce the price of beef and other foods in his staple diet, taking a significant portion off his daily food bill, estimated to be in excess of $1000 per day since the onset of this terrible drought.

Billy's Still The Kid
23 Jan 2007, 11:52
Old Xaverians must have been glad to see the rain on the weekend, it will have softened the earth enough to allow the heavy impact of an oversized Damien Lynch to be sufficiently absorbed.

Damien himself is quite happy as the rains will reduce the price of beef and other foods in his staple diet, taking a significant portion off his daily food bill, estimated to be in excess of $1000 per day since the onset of this terrible drought.

Talking with the man himself, Lynch has been able to get wholesale prices during the drought due to being such a valuabe consumer over the years. It is estimated that he consumes one bulging Hereford cow for himself per week.

According to Lynch, he picked up this trait by calculating the amount of beef from Big Mac consumption that James Heritage inhaled in one day, and multiplied by 7 to get a weekly amount.

Lynch said since following Herro's gigantic eating pattern coupled with no exercise (since training his dog to fetch beer from the fridge) he felt his skin stretching like a regular condom over a black man's horse-like baton, whilst on the self-proclaimed 'Herro Program'.

Fortunately for Lynch, he has endured great consolation from his mate Herro, who mentioned that although he wasn't proficient at using rubberised objects for mutual pleasure, he achieved tantra like symptoms from strapping one on and running 'pee-wee Herman' under a luke-warm tap whilst applying a frozen pea pack to the back of his neck.

God Bless Herro.

Slay Master G
24 Jan 2007, 12:28
A good friend of Damien Lynch's told me that when they were both young they would rattle up as much money from both family's parents and spend it all on slabs of white chocalate and PK.

After purchasing they would then consume probably a family block for the two of them on top of Damian's garage roof. This was all good and well until poor Damian fell through the roof on one fateful day in the fall of 1995.

It appears that nothing has changed for Big Lynchy. I pity the dietician and conditioning coach at Old Xavs, they have their work cut out!

can't mark can't kick
25 Jan 2007, 01:24

I think you'll find Balwyn sitting in the 5-8 bracket come September.
As Noble Park found when they crossed to the EFL 6-7 yrs back, the stronger comp and the unfamiliar grounds will take a year or two to master. As for the SFL clubs that remain, the top 3-4 would be competitive at C Grade level, a couple of them possibly even mid-table B Section (6-8, but not finallists without 3-4 top line players added) SFL div 1 teams that missed finals would possibly make D1 finals as would top 2 second div clubs. rest of div 2 clubs would be D2-D3, & SFL div 3 would be lower D3-D4 level with 2 or 3 likely to require a D5 Section to be competitive. It is however a different game of football in the lower reaches of SFL and the younger bodies in the VAFA could be imtimidated by the heavy bodies from those clubs.

MarkGrahamsBoyfriend
25 Jan 2007, 15:12
Talking to a bloke who used to play at Uni Blacks and things aren't all apples early in the pre-season at Uni Blues:
- the captain of Blues is rated as a player but not as a person by the majority of the players, thus does not have much support. Was only made the captain by the president as he was threatening to leave a couple of years ago.
- the coach of Blues has a bigger ego than any of the players and has taken a bit more than his share of the credit for the results of the last 3 years even though the teams at all levels have been getting worse.
- the club is being inundated with "coat-tail riders" while traditional recruits from the country and at the Uni colleges are increasingly choosing Blacks.
- the coach and the assistant notoriously play favourites and continually overlook long-term performers in the 2s for players they believe have got "something".
- money is becoming a big issue due to VSU.
- long-term players are leaving often due to a change in culture.
- new recruits with a slight "reputation" are being given more than a leg-up in preference to others and are dictating their terms to the coach. About 5 players last year refused to play under 19s and instead were poor seconds players who got a couple of senior games much to the dislike of other unders and seconds.
- functions are becoming a non-event as players stop attending.
Am sure some of these things are pretty common at a number of clubs but I found it interesting nonetheless. Especially due to Uni being so far in front of the pack a couple of years ago and now have come back to earth with a thud. Also due to Blacks continually improving...

JG Hornet
25 Jan 2007, 15:35
Fair go mate, they haven't exactly come back to earth with a thud. They finished third last year after leading the Prelim at 3/4 time and being rolled in one of the great games of recent times. This after they demolished Scotch a week earlier. It's a moot point of course but a lot of people reckon Blues would have been far better equipped to deal with Haileybury than Xavier.

Having said that, your line of attack in exactly what this board needs, especially in light of the riff raff who have taken over recently and the apparent kidnapping of Brian Speaking/Bob Down/Brian Has Spoken who had not been sighted for months.

Eddie Woloschek
25 Jan 2007, 22:35
. . . the apparent kidnapping of Brian Speaking/Bob Down/Brian Has Spoken who had not been sighted for months.

Currently residing in the "Where are they now?" file, whence he will, no doubt issue many in-season missives on the B Section board.

The riff-raff return to school next week.

the big dog
29 Jan 2007, 08:22
Talking to a bloke who used to play at Uni Blacks and things aren't all apples early in the pre-season at Uni Blues:
- the captain of Blues is rated as a player but not as a person by the majority of the players, thus does not have much support. Was only made the captain by the president as he was threatening to leave a couple of years ago.
- the coach of Blues has a bigger ego than any of the players and has taken a bit more than his share of the credit for the results of the last 3 years even though the teams at all levels have been getting worse.
- the club is being inundated with "coat-tail riders" while traditional recruits from the country and at the Uni colleges are increasingly choosing Blacks.
- the coach and the assistant notoriously play favourites and continually overlook long-term performers in the 2s for players they believe have got "something".
- new recruits with a slight "reputation" are being given more than a leg-up in preference to others and are dictating their terms to the coach. About 5 players last year refused to play under 19s and instead were poor seconds players who got a couple of senior games much to the dislike of other unders and seconds.
Am sure some of these things are pretty common at a number of clubs but I found it interesting nonetheless. Especially due to Uni being so far in front of the pack a couple of years ago and now have come back to earth with a thud. Also due to Blacks continually improving...

A few controversial comments but I'm not sure Mark's Boyfriend is too far off the mark. I have affiliations with neither club but know a lot of blokes from both. From what I have witnessed, the Blues are on the decline while the Blacks are going from strength to strength and IMO, it won't be long before there is a return to the glory (or not so glorious depending on whether you are Black or Blue) days of the 70's when the Blacks ruled the roost.

The networks that the Blacks seem to have in the professional circles of Collins Street is second to none. When both clubs are in A-grade next year, all those commerce / law / engineering students of Melbourne Uni won't have a hard time in choosing which club to go to. They have had the ability in recent years to absolutely pillage players from reputable A grade clubs such as Old Melburnians and St Kevins.

Thats just my two cents.

Plumber
29 Jan 2007, 11:36
[quote=the big dog;6620336]A few controversial comments but I'm not sure Mark's Boyfriend is too far off the mark.

Married with three kids screams of homosexuality Big Dog you peanut.

sharp shooter
29 Jan 2007, 11:58
I have affiliations with neither club but as a uni student know a lot of blokes from both. I have to Agree with the hornet not so sure about the decline of blues just yet as they played a prelim final. A truck load of salt needs to be taken with anything that comes out of blacks about blues and vice versa as there is a great rivalry happening and has been for a long time. The better players from the uni still go to blues because they are the club in A grade with most of the college students going to blacks being average 2's players or club XVIII, just look at their 1's list not many new faces over last 3 seasons. Blacks probably 2 or more years away from making A grade if they ever do as the dominance of the old boy school sides sees only enough room for one uni team in the top grade IMO. Would be good to see the two line up for one match pre season for pride every year and to fuel the rivalry (ah la Xavier v Assumption, St Pats v Assumption at school level). Would be great interest and huge crowds.

the big dog
29 Jan 2007, 12:05
[quote=the big dog;6620336]A few controversial comments but I'm not sure Mark's Boyfriend is too far off the mark.

Married with three kids screams of homosexuality Big Dog you peanut.

Are you right there Plumber?

Pretty sure I made no comment regarding Mark Graham's sexuality. I know Heebie and not only is he not gay, he's a ripper bloke. MG'sBF has a terrible name but he made some interesting points. If you read my post, I'm pretty sure thats all I commented on.

Did someone say peanut?

Plumber
29 Jan 2007, 14:01
[quote=Plumber;6621125]

Are you right there Plumber?

Pretty sure I made no comment regarding Mark Graham's sexuality. I know Heebie and not only is he not gay, he's a ripper bloke. MG'sBF has a terrible name but he made some interesting points. If you read my post, I'm pretty sure thats all I commented on.

Did someone say peanut?

Apologies, misunderstood your comment.

I thought you were referring to the tosser's name not his comments.

Cheers

Brian has spoken
29 Jan 2007, 19:01
Currently residing in the "Where are they now?" file, whence he will, no doubt issue many in-season missives on the B Section board.

Well lads, just killing time here at LAX, meant to leave 2 hours ago and thought I would post in case my United Airlines flight ever does get of the ground and ends up crashing.
Several things in the VAFA and A Section are on my mind at the moment and need answering.
Who is the chap that Wayne Dyer has appointed to replace 'The Hawk'?
Heard on the vine that Lynch, Hacket and Arnold all wanted 900 a game and no non ammo club would pay them anywhere near that. Is it true they have been 'lured' back to Toorak Park by a club white knight?
Have also heard 'Chunky' Dobson has signed with Heidleberg for $600 a game, just as he was on the verge of making the jump across the creek to OT. Can anyone confirm? Fraser?
Old Scotch have had a mass walkout of Old Carey students and Old Camberwell knobs. Was always going to happen ala De La Salle and SKOB so where does this put OS?
Uni Blues have accussed several Blacks people of attempting to poach palyers, why havent Blues done the same?
Will David Boundy play at the pit?
Will OMs win many games in B Section?
How bad a bloke is Huw Lacey???
When Old Camberwell sacks its under performing coach IF they dont go to B Section, will they cry when he takes half of his football mercenaries with him or can they not afford to risk sacking him? Mike McArthur Allen once said to all his coaching panel', ''You dont need to bring players with you to a club and you NEVER take players with you when you leave''. The OC coach must have had wax in his ears. Cant wait to see the mass exodus...

MarkGrahamsBoyfriend
29 Jan 2007, 19:42
[quote=the big dog;6621305]

Apologies, misunderstood your comment.

I thought you were referring to the tosser's name not his comments.

Cheers
Settle down, didn't realise names were meant to be serious. Will have to get onto changing it...
I agree with the post saying that coming back to earth with a thud is a bit over the top. However, a couple of years ago Uni Blues won the flag by streets, the twos didn't lose a game and had an average winning margin of close to 100pts a game with no team getting closer than 5 goals, the Club XVIIIs also didn't lose a game (3 flags in a year!). Since then there has been no flags, twos and clubbies can't make finals (albeit, clubbies have changed grades) and the ones finished second then third. I think that the ones results might be masking some inherent problems at the Blues. Meanwhile, Blacks are getting better and Blues have had no notable recruits over the last 2-3 years.
Don't know a helluva lot about the networking aspect, but an interesting point is that no player has joined Blues from Blacks in the last 5 seasons while a number have gone the other way...
Am at neither club, at an A battler, but at uni and have mates at both and am interested in the dynamics of this unique club...

Monkeyboy
29 Jan 2007, 19:58
Well lads, just killing time here at LAX, meant to leave 2 hours ago and thought I would post in case my United Airlines flight ever does get of the ground and ends up crashing.
Several things in the VAFA and A Section are on my mind at the moment and need answering.
Heard on the vine that Lynch, Hacket and Arnold all wanted 900 a game and no non ammo club would pay them anywhere near that. Is it true they have been 'lured' back to Toorak Park by a club white knight?
Have also heard 'Chunky' Dobson has signed with Heidleberg for $600 a game, just as he was on the verge of making the jump across the creek to OT. Can anyone confirm? Fraser?
Old Scotch have had a mass walkout of Old Carey students and Old Camberwell knobs. Was always going to happen ala De La Salle and SKOB so where does this put OS?
Uni Blues have accussed several Blacks people of attempting to poach palyers, why havent Blues done the same?
When Old Camberwell sacks its under performing coach IF they dont go to B Section, will they cry when he takes half of his football mercenaries with him or can they not afford to risk sacking him? Mike McArthur Allen once said to all his coaching panel', ''You dont need to bring players with you to a club and you NEVER take players with you when you leave''. The OC coach must have had wax in his ears. Cant wait to see the mass exodus...

Incorrect on Xavs players.
Welcome to last year board with ex Carey students Steve Collins and Matt Angus playing for Old Carey in 2006. No others playing there in 07.
Do all coaches who dont get there sides up a grade under perform??

Slay Master G
29 Jan 2007, 20:36

Andrew Keneally - One of Pat Hawkins former assistants.

Fraser doesn't know. He has jumped ship to Fitzroy Reds on the promise of senior footy there. Not sure what future Reds see in a 32 year old struggling "A" reserves player. there must have been some sort of fall-out between Fraser and the club he has served for a long time.

uglycat
30 Jan 2007, 07:19
A few interesting ideas in the last few days lads. I am neither affiliated with Blues or Blacks, but have several close mates there and I think you guys are fairly right. There is no doubt that there are some underlying issues at the Blues and the Blacks are on the rise. Interesting to say that Blacks havent found too many new players in the last few years. Think you should go watch a game!!

I have heard that no blues player has been poached by blacks, but agree that blacks have lured many players from other clubs - but with the collins st connections - why not......

ps. I played with Huw Lacey, he's not a bad bloke, just saw the light.

Ron Hitler Barassi
30 Jan 2007, 08:05

Rumour has it from my good friend Brad Pearce from the Hi Fi bar and Ballroom that former Carlton and Hawthorn 179 gamer S. Beaumont will pull on the boots for the OMs next year. Can anyone confirm or deny?

I can also confirm that Huw Lacey is not a bad bloke. My white collar friends have seen seen him up the Baghdad end of Collins Street at Australia's premier law firm courtesy of his new found connections at the Uni Blacks. Rumour has it he is also being wined and dined by former premiership coach David Parkin...

Big call playing against your old club though, might be worth getting down to that first game between the Blacks and OMs in 2007!

You amaze me!
30 Jan 2007, 11:14

Having just been introduced to this site i am currently ghost writing under a mates log in name. I find it interesting that MGB seems to be involving himself with something he knows little about..... second and third hand information maybe?? Bitter, disgruntled and misguided information from mates that maybe couldn't 'cut the mustard' in A-section, and perhaps were disgruntled by the fact they simply lacked ability. Things sounding familiar??? Until Blacks re-enter the domain of A grade football, Blues will have to suffer fools like you. There are some great people and both clubs, and further comments such as yours will continue to paint supporters / members of Blacks as envious of Blues success. True Blacks have continued to climb the sectional ladder, but until they reach the lofty heights of yester year, older members and supporters will never be happy with the blues in A grade. And will be ever present to discredit work of the people who have bought success to the Blues. I hardly think that finishing 1, 2 and 3 in successive years is a crash. If you had mates as you say you do at Blues you would soon be put back in your box. I’m not sure you can have a go at the social fabric of a club that attracts 330 people to there gala ball and has numerous social functions held during the season. As for JK and Glees, you would be hard placed to find two more passionate and hard working captain/coach duos in the VAFA. To remain in A grade football for a sustained period is a tough task, to be successful and competitive is even tougher. Making the step from B to A is an even tougher task. Best of luck to Blacks in their continued pursuit of Blues, maybe just concentrate on getting out of B grade first before having a crack at Blues, i wish them all the best in B grade this year. Please..... "i have friends who play at blacks" have some gaul and be honest.

Scribe
30 Jan 2007, 16:42
Fraser doesn't know. He has jumped ship to Fitzroy Reds on the promise of senior footy there. Not sure what future Reds see in a 32 year old struggling "A" reserves player. there must have been some sort of fall-out between Fraser and the club he has served for a long time.

SMG,

Correct - I have no knowledge of Dobbo's movements or if there was any interest from OTs. I have gone to the Reds to commence coaching their 2nds.

Incorrect - there's no promise of senior footy at Fitzroy, but I will be working hard to try and earn a spot, otherwise I'll be play-coaching the curtain-raiser. There's no falling out between myself and OT's. I wish them all the best for 2007, I've given them 15 years thus far, and the door certainly hasn't closed completely.

Good luck to OTs and Collegians for 2007, I've heard Haileybury have lost the guts of their premiership side off-season and will have to fast track plenty of youngsters from the school to keep ahead of what should be a tight A section chasing pack. Scotch will also be pushing youth again and at least 3 C secion sides (Reds and 2 OC's) have already benefitted from some more departures from the Cardinals.

Expect De La and Bernies to push into the Top 4 this season, with Collegians to be in the mix if they win a few early. Hoers and Trinity will probably 'tread water'.

Cheers :thumbsu:

Fraser

MarkGrahamsBoyfriend
30 Jan 2007, 21:02
Having just been introduced to this site i am currently ghost writing under a mates log in name. I find it interesting that MGB seems to be involving himself with something he knows little about..... second and third hand information maybe?? Bitter, disgruntled and misguided information from mates that maybe couldn't 'cut the mustard' in A-section, and perhaps were disgruntled by the fact they simply lacked ability. Things sounding familiar??? Until Blacks re-enter the domain of A grade football, Blues will have to suffer fools like you. There are some great people and both clubs, and further comments such as yours will continue to paint supporters / members of Blacks as envious of Blues success. True Blacks have continued to climb the sectional ladder, but until they reach the lofty heights of yester year, older members and supporters will never be happy with the blues in A grade. And will be ever present to discredit work of the people who have bought success to the Blues. I hardly think that finishing 1, 2 and 3 in successive years is a crash. If you had mates as you say you do at Blues you would soon be put back in your box. I’m not sure you can have a go at the social fabric of a club that attracts 330 people to there gala ball and has numerous social functions held during the season. As for JK and Glees, you would be hard placed to find two more passionate and hard working captain/coach duos in the VAFA. To remain in A grade football for a sustained period is a tough task, to be successful and competitive is even tougher. Making the step from B to A is an even tougher task. Best of luck to Blacks in their continued pursuit of Blues, maybe just concentrate on getting out of B grade first before having a crack at Blues, i wish them all the best in B grade this year. Please..... "i have friends who play at blacks" have some gaul and be honest.
Well, it looks like there's a nerve! Who would have thought...
YAM, I agree on the point about second hand information. I have one particular good friend at Uni Blacks (who is still playing and won a B&F there) and am friendly with a number from both Uni teams. As I said on an earlier post, I am at another A section club (I am yet to know for sure whether I 'cut the mustard') and am at uni. One interesting thing with second hand information is that people often attack the source of the information rather than the actual content. At no point in your email have you refuted any of my information, instead you have attacked myself, and defended aspects of your club that I did not criticise.
A point to clarify, I have nothing against either Blacks or Blues going well. Good luck to them. I for one look forward to them both being big clubs in A grade as it would be a sight to see on Uni main.
I also did not attack the coach or captain personally or their work ethic, I merely made some comments about how they are perceived by the playing group. I have met both of them and have no personal problem with them. I also agree they have a difficult task. How are the coaches' favourites? And did the captain get the job from the president because he threatened to leave?
Again, as I said on a previous post, I think the senior results are excellent. But they are the exception at the club and the depth has fallen away considerably in the 2nds and Clubbies. I think the senior results are masking an inherent problem at the club. Also, I don't think the competition has caught up with the Blues of 2004, but the Blues have come back to the pack. They were one of the best amateur sides ever seen that year, but not now.
Also, more losses from Blues this year include North, Rankin, Torney, Clark, Wilcox, Heinz, Muhlebach and it is only January!!! Add to this the failure to lure Scambler back. Word is that Blacks managed to lure back Smith, the 2005 best and fairest.
Finally, as with all big clubs, the Uni Blues Ball is big, no doubt. However, it is the only fundraiser making any money. The rest of the social events are struggling. The social calendar is not as good as you believe, certainly not as good as other A section clubs.
Stick to the issues at hand, YAM. Don't write angrily. It makes your spelling bad ('gaul' is 'gall' and 'there' is 'their' in that particular context...)
Do you still think that this is something that I know little about?? Think about it...

MrsKenGriffeySnr
30 Jan 2007, 21:24
YAM, I agree on the point about second hand information. I have one particular good friend at Uni Blacks (who is still playing and won a B&F there) and am friendly with a number from both Uni teams. As I said on an earlier post, I am at another A section club (I am yet to know for sure whether I 'cut the mustard') and am at uni. One interesting thing with second hand information is that people often attack the source of the information rather than the actual content. At no point in your email have you refuted any of my information, instead you have attacked myself, and defended aspects of your club that I did not criticise.
A point to clarify, I have nothing against either Blacks or Blues going well. Good luck to them. I for one look forward to them both being big clubs in A grade as it would be a sight to see on Uni main.
I also did not attack the coach or captain personally or their work ethic, I merely made some comments about how they are perceived by the playing group. I have met both of them and have no personal problem with them. I also agree they have a difficult task. How are the coaches' favourites? And did the captain get the job from the president because he threatened to leave?
Again, as I said on a previous post, I think the senior results are excellent. But they are the exception at the club and the depth has fallen away considerably in the 2nds and Clubbies. I think the senior results are masking an inherent problem at the club. Also, I don't think the competition has caught up with the Blues of 2004, but the Blues have come back to the pack. They were one of the best amateur sides ever seen that year, but not now.
Also, more losses from Blues this year include North, Rankin, Torney, Clark, Wilcox, Heinz, Muhlebach and it is only January!!! Add to this the failure to lure Scambler back. Word is that Blacks managed to lure back Smith, the 2005 best and fairest.
Finally, as with all big clubs, the Uni Blues Ball is big, no doubt. However, it is the only fundraiser making any money. The rest of the social events are struggling. The social calendar is not as good as you believe, certainly not as good as other A section clubs.
Stick to the issues at hand, YAM. Don't write angrily. It makes your spelling bad ('gaul' is 'gall' and 'there' is 'their' in that particular context...)
Do you still think that this is something that I know little about?? Think about it...
Interesting, but more than a touch of over-statement, for mine...
All the players you said headed O/S and Blues generally lose a couple each year because of this. Except Wilcox, and he is still likely to play. Scambler is also not out of the mix. The social scene is pretty big at Blues, don't think the Pavvy is out of style!
Takes a lot of luck to perform well and Blues had more than their fair share in 2004. I think that Kanis especially is pretty aware of how lucky he was that year.
I think that Blues will be ok. A number of things you said would be pretty standard at most clubs....

Alphonse
30 Jan 2007, 22:48
SMG,

Correct - I have no knowledge of Dobbo's movements or if there was any interest from OTs. I have gone to the Reds to commence coaching their 2nds.

Incorrect - there's no promise of senior footy at Fitzroy, but I will be working hard to try and earn a spot, otherwise I'll be play-coaching the curtain-raiser. There's no falling out between myself and OT's. I wish them all the best for 2007, I've given them 15 years thus far, and the door certainly hasn't closed completely.

Cheers :thumbsu:

Fraser

No need to explain yourself Fraser – especially to a mercenary such as the slaymaster G - you have been a loyal servant of Trinity and the VAFA more broadly and deserve a final pay day in the Sun at Brunswick Oval. Bit like Beckham and his move to LA Galaxy, sure going to a lower league but for all the right reasons. Sadly I don’t think Brunswick will offer the same sights as LA but I am sure Vinny Cahill etc will welcome you to C section.

Luckily for you Alphonse will be away again this year and thus one of the biggest challenges of C reserve coaching, containing a rampant Alphonse, will be on hold till at least 2008.

P.S If you can get the best of wayward talent Nick Evans you will be halfway to glory in twos.

Cameo King
31 Jan 2007, 06:57
No need to explain yourself Fraser – especially to a mercenary such as the slaymaster G - you have been a loyal servant of Trinity and the VAFA more broadly and deserve a final pay day in the Sun at Brunswick Oval. Bit like Beckham and his move to LA Galaxy, sure going to a lower league but for all the right reasons. Sadly I don’t think Brunswick will offer the same sights as LA but I am sure Vinny Cahill etc will welcome you to C section.

Luckily for you Alphonse will be away again this year and thus one of the biggest challenges of C reserve coaching, containing a rampant Alphonse, will be on hold till at least 2008.

P.S If you can get the best of wayward talent Nick Evans you will be halfway to glory in twos.

Even though Alphonse won't be patrolling the corridor of the Gillon in the early game in 2007, it's a worthy hypothetical question for the new coach on the C-Reserve section block- just how would he go about try to stop COBs dynamo and chief 2nds playmaker Alphonse? A tight, unrelenting tag? A Malcolm Blight/Mark Yeates solution? Or merely talk him up on Big Footy leading up to the game to lose his focus. Please Scribe, humour me.

As for the Scribe's move to University Reds, one wonders if he'll be subjecting his charges to that Tour de France cr*p he served up in the record in July last year. I'm guessing he will. He's got "THEME" coach written all over him. Hello "Operation Tackle" or here comes "THE MONASH MISSION". Admirable and all, but I doubt his bells and whistles approach will work on the simple minds of the Uni Reds twos.

Cameo King

Scribe
31 Jan 2007, 12:03
Even though Alphonse won't be patrolling the corridor of the Gillon in the early game in 2007, it's a worthy hypothetical question for the new coach on the C-Reserve section block- just how would he go about try to stop COBs dynamo and chief 2nds playmaker Alphonse? A tight, unrelenting tag? A Malcolm Blight/Mark Yeates solution? Or merely talk him up on Big Footy leading up to the game to lose his focus. Please Scribe, humour me.

As for the Scribe's move to University Reds, one wonders if he'll be subjecting his charges to that Tour de France cr*p he served up in the record in July last year. I'm guessing he will. He's got "THEME" coach written all over him. Hello "Operation Tackle" or here comes "THE MONASH MISSION". Admirable and all, but I doubt his bells and whistles approach will work on the simple minds of the Uni Reds twos.

Cameo King

Lads,

Best we take this discussion "downtown" to the C section thread and leave the Varsity shenanigans as the major talking point of the top flight's thread.

Two parting comments though:

1. I intend for the Reds' 2nds to take a Glenn McGrath approach each week and nominate one opposition player to target as our "bunny" for the forthcoming game. Details will be posted on BF each Friday before the game.

Slight problem might be that we probably don't know that many of the opposition, and if they're playing well, they may end up in the senior side anyhow. Oh well, might have to identify the bunny in the pre-match warm-up.....he'll probably be the short fat guy that I decide to play on.

2. No bells and whistles will be necessary in the cold, hard, lonely world of VAFA coaching. Frankly, I'm hoping I get provided a whistle, white board and magnets when I complete my Level 1 coaching course in 3 weeks' time.

Off to the C-Section.....:D

uglycat
31 Jan 2007, 12:35

Fair call perhaps.

Its pretty obvious that both of you are closer to the uni blues/blacks than you are letting on. My guess is that one of you is a senior player at blues who has been offended by this carry on, and the other just a big noter who thinks he knows what is happening at both clubs. I think you are off the mark with most things (apart from the list of players leaving u blues).

You amaze me!
31 Jan 2007, 13:21
Correct Ugly cat. - PS. I'm no longer the ghost rider!

The guys have either left for professional reasons or to travel abroad. Everyone else remains.

And I know that the captain and coach are well repected by the playing group. The ghost rider also told me that the playing group select the captain and have done so for many years. Not sure there would be to many football clubs where the president would select the captain!? I also know the captain has been on the recruiting commitee for over 5 yrs - Hardly a job for a guy threatening to leave.

Many blues have moved on after the 2004 premiership for various reasons mainly professional and retirement i would suggest. In fact i think you will find there were many agriculture degrees undertaken and players such as Liam Ryan returned to the farm.

The blues unders, reserves (either played or just missed) and seniors played finals last year. Blacks didn't make the finals in B grade. Im hard placed to see where your point or for the fact what point you are trying to make.

I may stand corrected but the blues ball has raised over 120K over the last three yrs. Not a bad return for a major fundraiser. Not sure how this rates with other clubs. But i can say its a bloody good night out!

I think the culture at blues would be the envy of most A grade clubs. There isn't to many nights out where they wouldn't have a majority of players in attendance.

I'm not sure this is something that should be disgused at this point anyhow. Blacks have a long way to go and the blues still have to come back to the field in order for this conversation to have any merit.

sharp shooter
31 Jan 2007, 17:41
The list of players leaving would come as no surprise to blues as one troubles with being a club that has a majority of its list arrive through university commitments is that dgrees finish and not all work opportunities for many are in melbourne.

Slay Master G
1 Feb 2007, 08:06
[QUOTE=Scribe;6630564]
[QUOTE]

Frase

How do you intend to coach the 2's if you are called up for senior duty. Bit hard to walk away from a coaching role at half time....?

SMG

Scribe
1 Feb 2007, 09:13
Frase

How do you intend to coach the 2's if you are called up for senior duty. Bit hard to walk away from a coaching role at half time....?

SMG

SMG,

Will need finessing, but Anthony Parkin managed to do it at your (now) beloved Collegians in the late 90's under Carlson. He told me that he would usually start off on the bench and be doing his own warm up straight after a quick closing speech to the McGoos. No walking away at half time, and the stuff which would be covered in a players' meeting would have been addressed at the coaches' meeting on Thursday selection night.

Frankly, he was a far more adept player than I've ever been, but it's a precedent which I intend to follow if the situation arises.

Frase

Slay Master G
1 Feb 2007, 11:38
SMG,

Will need finessing, but Anthony Parkin managed to do it at your (now) beloved Collegians in the late 90's under Carlson. He told me that he would usually start off on the bench and be doing his own warm up straight after a quick closing speech to the McGoos. No walking away at half time, and the stuff which would be covered in a players' meeting would have been addressed at the coaches' meeting on Thursday selection night.

Frankly, he was a far more adept player than I've ever been, but it's a precedent which I intend to follow if the situation arises.

Frase

Well Fraser

Let's hope that the hierachy at your (now) beloved Fitzroy Reds will allow it.

May I enquire, what was on the dangled carrot that got you across to Reds? Hard to believe that a person with OTs blood running through his veins simply left the club without some sort of falling out. Were you voted off the committee/treasury role due to your frequent murmerings on Big Footy? Was there a board shake-up after OTs disappointing season? Did the OTs reserves coach not guarantee you a game and banish you to the ClubXVIII side?

The people need these questions answered for peace of mind.

At least you won't be heckled for not watching C Section this year.

Scribe
1 Feb 2007, 13:20
SMG,

I'm sure everyone will rest easy regardless of the following information but, the only carrot dangled was the opportunity to commence coaching in a completely different environment to where I've been for the past 15 years.

If I'm to make some inevitable coaching mistakes, and hopefully learn from them, I'd feel more comfortable doing it away from Bulleen. Perhaps one day in the near future, I can return with some useful experience and contribute to the OT's winning an A Grade flag - certainly in a more significant way than has been the case in recent seasons.

Honestly, I'm several years beyond threatening to break back into the senior side at Trinity and was starting to feel that, despite working as hard as ever, I was probably just occupying a spot in the 2nds and keeping a young developing player from having more opportunity to make their own mark in A Grade.

Frankly, i'm simply following the advice I received from the OT's longest standing senior coach (Carlson) a couple of years ago that, when the time is right to start coaching, I should seek out another club to commence my 'apprenticeship'. Who knows? I might enjoy the Reds so much that I decide to stay there long term - particularly if they can edge into B Grade and beyond. Only time will tell.....

Oh, and yes, having written for C section (and copped a clobbering for missing their GF) I must say I did have particular interest in playing in that particular grade. Will make for some interesting matches if the opposition supporters have good memories....;)

Now James - please tell us why you left Old Essendon and how you hope to finally make an impact at Collegians after effectively missing 2 seasons due to your knee reco.? Are you going to be the Luke Darcy of A section? Or more like a Ryan Fitzgerald?

These are also questioned which must be answered for peace of mind.....

Slay Master G
1 Feb 2007, 14:14
The reasons have been discussed on this board before Scribe, I will let you do some searching and you will find out.

My knee is making little progress and as is also well documented on this forum, my conditioning has slipped from the halcyon days. Perhaps coaching would be a good move for me also!

MarkGrahamsBoyfriend
1 Feb 2007, 15:00
Correct Ugly cat. - PS. I'm no longer the ghost rider!

The guys have either left for professional reasons or to travel abroad. Everyone else remains.

And I know that the captain and coach are well repected by the playing group. The ghost rider also told me that the playing group select the captain and have done so for many years. Not sure there would be to many football clubs where the president would select the captain!? I also know the captain has been on the recruiting commitee for over 5 yrs - Hardly a job for a guy threatening to leave.

Many blues have moved on after the 2004 premiership for various reasons mainly professional and retirement i would suggest. In fact i think you will find there were many agriculture degrees undertaken and players such as Liam Ryan returned to the farm.

The blues unders, reserves (either played or just missed) and seniors played finals last year. Blacks didn't make the finals in B grade. Im hard placed to see where your point or for the fact what point you are trying to make.

I may stand corrected but the blues ball has raised over 120K over the last three yrs. Not a bad return for a major fundraiser. Not sure how this rates with other clubs. But i can say its a bloody good night out!

I think the culture at blues would be the envy of most A grade clubs. There isn't to many nights out where they wouldn't have a majority of players in attendance.

I'm not sure this is something that should be disgused at this point anyhow. Blacks have a long way to go and the blues still have to come back to the field in order for this conversation to have any merit.
You amaze me!, is there a conflict of interest here?? I was going back through your posts and some of them scream out who you in fact are... I would be very careful commenting on the respect the captain and coach hold at Blues, if you know what I am getting at...
Also, I strongly believe that perhaps the captain was not threatening to leave but was intimating that he would about 5 years ago. The president heard of this rumour about the said player would leave so he was approached with the carrot of becoming the captain. Since then he has been a tireless worker. However, some of his recruiting has been a bit askew, with a number of players not fitting in with the culture of the club. However, his efforts cannot be faulted....
Am also interested in the coach. Have met him and he strikes me as extremely self-important with an ego un-matched by any player at Blues. His work for Blues and efforts to make them are powerhouse are well known, but I believe that he thinks he is more important to Blues than any other person. Including the players, committee, sponsors, etc.

JG Hornet
1 Feb 2007, 15:41
Which, as the senior coach, he surely is?

[quote=MarkGrahamsBoyfriend;6642716]You amaze me!, is there a conflict of interest here?? I was going back through your posts and some of them scream out who you in fact are... I would be very careful commenting on the respect the captain and coach hold at Blues, if you know what I am getting at...
Also, I strongly believe that perhaps the captain was not threatening to leave but was intimating that he would about 5 years ago. The president heard of this rumour about the said player would leave so he was approached with the carrot of becoming the captain. Since then he has been a tireless worker. However, some of his recruiting has been a bit askew, with a number of players not fitting in with the culture of the club. However, his efforts cannot be faulted....
Am also interested in the coach. Have met him and he strikes me as extremely self-important with an ego un-matched by any player at Blues. His work for Blues and efforts to make them are powerhouse are well known, but I believe that he thinks he is more important to Blues than any other person. Including the players, committee, sponsors, etc

caveman
2 Feb 2007, 11:48
What are peoples thoughts and predictions for Collegians this year?

Thanks! :thumbsu:

Plumber
2 Feb 2007, 13:29
What are peoples thoughts and predictions for Collegians this year?

Thanks! :thumbsu:

I reckon they will be wearing purple jumpers.

The Big Pineapple
2 Feb 2007, 14:34
I reckon they will be wearing purple jumpers.

That's why they pay you the big bucks.

Plumber
2 Feb 2007, 14:41
That's why they pay you the big bucks.

Should I have elaborated on how they thought they were good enough to win A-Grade last year?

I don't know if it is the club in general or just a bit of lively banter on here, but their seems to be quite a healthy self image at the Trott.

Saying that, they should be pretty competitve this year.

Slay Master G
2 Feb 2007, 16:20
Should I have elaborated on how they thought they were good enough to win A-Grade last year?

I don't know if it is the club in general or just a bit of lively banter on here, but their seems to be quite a healthy self image at the Trott.

Saying that, they should be pretty competitve this year.

The thread titled "How would Collegians fare in A Grade?" was not started by a person with association with Collegians, if that's what you're referring to.

I think you'll find that they were pretty happy with last season but it only righted the wrong of relegation from 2005.

Mid table pushing for finals would be a great result.

Concrete boots
2 Feb 2007, 16:23
The thread titled "How would Collegians fare in A Grade?" was not started by a person with association with Collegians, if that's what you're referring to.

I think you'll find that they were pretty happy with last season but it only righted the wrong of relegation from 2005.

Mid table pushing for finals would be a great result.

What was the "wrong of relegation" in 2005 - didn't you only win 5 games and have a far inferior percentage to the team which finished 8th, and belted you guys on your home deck the second time around?

Homer101
2 Feb 2007, 16:28

It is with great regret that due to geography and injury I wont be able to side up to the Scribe this year ‘in joining the ‘force’ as the Reds would put it’, but lets just hope you hold on to it in 2008 so I can team up with my mentor Alphonse and the Cameo King to cut a swath through your side (the faithful at Keilor Hill still recall the last quarter heroics in 2005). It can be only good for the section that you are coming down, but to survive you will have to cut out the antiquated nonsense you served up in your reports, the folk that ride the 112 down Brunswick St wont stand for it.

Slay Master G
4 Feb 2007, 19:27
What was the "wrong of relegation" in 2005 - didn't you only win 5 games and have a far inferior percentage to the team which finished 8th, and belted you guys on your home deck the second time around?

You're a very angry man Concrete. Spare us your aggression.

Being relegated was "wrong", no excuses, just not up to it that year.

Making up for it was winning the premiership in 06 and being promoted. Challenge is the coming season.

Gil McLaughlins Horse
5 Feb 2007, 10:51
Who are the teams to beat this year? Probably Xavs, havent heard much about St bernards. Are Brighton going to win a game?

JG Hornet
5 Feb 2007, 15:35
Mate that is a cracking Username

Brian has spoken
5 Feb 2007, 19:27
Mate that is a cracking Username

Jonno, have you heard from the Rock Star? I believe he is somewhere East of Oz by a long way.
In other news, I bumped into A Langford Jones at the golf last Friday, he tells me that my sons' old boys side is going to struggle with the loss of Corrigan, Steinford, Disco and quite a few other names. Are they a chance to go from hero to zero in one year? I am tipping they will be bottom 4 with no ressies to speak of last year.
Despite several posts re B Scott and OX, dont expect Scotty to play anywhere, his body is rooted. I do, however, believe they have picked up a freshly delisted CHF from the AFL, so will be tough to beat again...Am hoping the Lions can change the landscape in A Section and stamp their authority with key pickup Nick Riess adding to the list of ex AFL stars. When was the last time a club outside of SKOB and OX had 4 ex AFL listed players on their team?

accurate1
6 Feb 2007, 00:53
Who are the teams to beat this year? Probably Xavs, havent heard much about St bernards. Are Brighton going to win a game?
Early 2007 predictions based on whispers over summer from coastal inns and racetracks

Haileybury
Took their chance in 06 but with a batting list that halted abruptly at 20 will have to find some senior players quick to cover departures – anyone with a pulse could get a game in the Bloods two’s. If Nicholson thought they couldn’t make the finals he wouldn’t be there so despite the exits the Bloods to be – should be in the finish (2rd to 5th)
Xavs
Still debating 06 GF selection /strategy – after they blew the big one the ‘Xavier nation’ had more finger pointing than a mass Jap wedding but no one was game to tell the emperor he had no clothes – vulnerable this trip (4th – 9th)
Scotch
Early premiership favoritism! - kidding - still have too many that look the part but don’t quite deliver. If it was a swim meet the Cardinals would medal in the synchronized swimming but not get past the heats in the real stuff. – had too many chances (5 – 9th)
Uni Blues
Have already copped enough on this site. With more departures than Saigon in ’75 the Blues flag window is not closing it has slammed shut and the curtains are drawn. The Blues focus will be simply to avoid playing derbys against Blacks – past best (7 – 9th)
De La Salle
Some comings and goings but De La are primed. If the super talent among the youngsters take the next step look out! – Go close (1st – 4th )
St Bernards
Got out of jail since they lost all those guns 2 years ago – don’t know how Madden did it but he kept them in the hunt and now they smell blood. Website says there’s a buzz at the Pit and with some big recruits and young guns on the rise – Big Danger (2 – 4th)
Ivanhoe
Better than everyone realised last season. Spies say they will lose a couple of good ones but pick up some even better types. Jury is decidedly out but if they have luck with injuries gut feeling is the poo jumpers are a chance – keep safe (3rd – 6th)
Trinity
The ‘Where’s Wally’ of A Grade, Trinity are somewhere in the crowd but don’t stand out as a genuine chance. Can be relied upon to win enough games to give themselves a chance to avoid relegation again. Place chance best (to stay in A Grade) – (8 – 10th)
Collegians
Maintained the rage of dropping out to smash the B Graders. Widely tipped (by their tiresome supporters) as better than many A Grades sides and will now have the chance to prove it. Spies say they will thunder up the charts. Gut says it could be just wind. – tossing up between ‘could surprise’ and ‘question this class’ (5th – 9th)
Old Brighton
Have kept below the radar so we can only take a straight line through the Collegians form and pitch them just below the B Grade Premiers – there are easier races (6 – 10th)

Supergrass
6 Feb 2007, 07:27
That is a fantastic summation so early in the year Accurate1.

Let's hope it ruffles a few feathers.

Plumber
6 Feb 2007, 08:27
Early 2007 predictions based on whispers over summer from coastal inns and racetracks

Haileybury
Took their chance in 06 but with a batting list that halted abruptly at 20 will have to find some senior players quick to cover departures – anyone with a pulse could get a game in the Bloods two’s. If Nicholson thought they couldn’t make the finals he wouldn’t be there so despite the exits the Bloods to be – should be in the finish (2rd to 5th)
Xavs
Still debating 06 GF selection /strategy – after they blew the big one the ‘Xavier nation’ had more finger pointing than a mass Jap wedding but no one was game to tell the emperor he had no clothes – vulnerable this trip (4th – 9th)
Scotch
Early premiership favoritism! - kidding - still have too many that look the part but don’t quite deliver. If it was a swim meet the Cardinals would medal in the synchronized swimming but not get past the heats in the real stuff. – had too many chances (5 – 9th)
Uni Blues
Have already copped enough on this site. With more departures than Saigon in ’75 the Blues flag window is not closing it has slammed shut and the curtains are drawn. The Blues focus will be simply to avoid playing derbys against Blacks – past best (7 – 9th)
De La Salle
Some comings and goings but De La are primed. If the super talent among the youngsters take the next step look out! – Go close (1st – 4th )
St Bernards
Got out of jail since they lost all those guns 2 years ago – don’t know how Madden did it but he kept them in the hunt and now they smell blood. Website says there’s a buzz at the Pit and with some big recruits and young guns on the rise – Big Danger (2 – 4th)
Ivanhoe
Better than everyone realised last season. Spies say they will lose a couple of good ones but pick up some even better types. Jury is decidedly out but if they have luck with injuries gut feeling is the poo jumpers are a chance – keep safe (3rd – 6th)
Trinity
The ‘Where’s Wally’ of A Grade, Trinity are somewhere in the crowd but don’t stand out as a genuine chance. Can be relied upon to win enough games to give themselves a chance to avoid relegation again. Place chance best (to stay in A Grade) – (8 – 10th)
Collegians
Maintained the rage of dropping out to smash the B Graders. Widely tipped (by their tiresome supporters) as better than many A Grades sides and will now have the chance to prove it. Spies say they will thunder up the charts. Gut says it could be just wind. – tossing up between ‘could surprise’ and ‘question this class’ (5th – 9th)
Old Brighton
Have kept below the radar so we can only take a straight line through the Collegians form and pitch them just below the B Grade Premiers – there are easier races (6 – 10th)

So by your rationale, the top four wil finish:

1. De La
2. Bernards
3. Ivanhoe
4. Hail or Xavs

A good old fashion "reverse the order" scenario.

In my opinion that top 4 is a likely as Shaun Tait and Glenn McGrath opening the batting in the Wrold Cup final.

JG Hornet
6 Feb 2007, 08:37
Jonno, have you heard from the Rock Star? I believe he is somewhere East of Oz by a long way.
In other news, I bumped into A Langford Jones at the golf last Friday, he tells me that my sons' old boys side is going to struggle with the loss of Corrigan, Steinford, Disco and quite a few other names. Are they a chance to go from hero to zero in one year? I am tipping they will be bottom 4 with no ressies to speak of last year.
Despite several posts re B Scott and OX, dont expect Scotty to play anywhere, his body is rooted. I do, however, believe they have picked up a freshly delisted CHF from the AFL, so will be tough to beat again...Am hoping the Lions can change the landscape in A Section and stamp their authority with key pickup Nick Riess adding to the list of ex AFL stars. When was the last time a club outside of SKOB and OX had 4 ex AFL listed players on their team?
Uni Blacks surrogate coach A Parkin is pumping up Blacks tyres, says they are moties to enter A Section next year...

B Speaking

The great man is currently doing the Gringo trail in SA after catching up with such estemed members of the community as Dan Sadler in New York.

Who is the CHF at Xavs? Personally I think they and Haileybury will be fine. De La have great numbers at training, a coach that looks Ok but will probably lose Rayson to Coburg.

Could be the most even year ever. Just a pity so many have departed for the mortgage belted, pokie fuelled, bogaramas out in the 'burbs.

the big dog
6 Feb 2007, 09:44
B Speaking

The great man is currently doing the Gringo trail in SA after catching up with such estemed members of the community as Dan Sadler in New York.

Who is the CHF at Xavs? Personally I think they and Haileybury will be fine. De La have great numbers at training, a coach that looks Ok but will probably lose Rayson to Coburg.

Could be the most even year ever. Just a pity so many have departed for the mortgage belted, pokie fuelled, bogaramas out in the 'burbs.

Macarthy

Joe Dirt
6 Feb 2007, 21:25
Hi all,

Relatively new to Big footy and have just checked in for the 1st time this season and read some of the recent pages. Think accurate1 is not far off the mark but here’s my thoughts anyway. Can’t wait for the season.

Xavs – Should be in the running just because there Xavs. Like a JB Cummings stayer they won’t look flash but we’ll all end up having a little each way on them come the business end. As usual they’ll time their run to perfection, and anyone drawn to face them in the first month will have a great chance to pick up 4 valuable points, especially at their ‘graveyard’, Toorak Park.

Hailibury – Dunno how their list is shaping up. Supposedly the’ve lost a few and they had no depth last year outside a superb top 22. I’d imagine they’ll still play finals because Nicho’s teams rarely miss finals. Could be his last year as his career would suggest he doesn’t hang around one cub for too long. That big bloke from the under 19’s who wears the knee pads could be a big key. Is Loewe playing at all??? Is it true they’ve got Dylan Smith??

Blues - I don't like Uni Blues, I hope all the rumours are every bit true, but I doubt it. 2004 was the best ammo's side I've seen. From the outside Kanis looks to me to be a really good coach, they've been superbly drilled for 3 years now, they've had some fantastic players of late, and that list of blokes they've supposedly lost would leave a gaping hole in their team if it's all true. Should have enough that Blacks need to get up to play them, but they are definitely over the hill and should be back to the old ‘middle of the road’ Blues

Scotch – Agree with accurate1, they are Group 2 class at best. At some stage they will look very impressive, at some stage they may be on top of the ladder, but at the end of the day to win the flag they’ll probably have to beat Xavs at Elsternwick at some stage in September. Can anybody really see that happening? 1950 something wasn’t it?

De La – Think they got caught napping a little at the start of last year with a few of their youngsters having their first taste of A grade. They played what turned out to be the form teams of the early season, and being 0-3 at the start was the difference between then just missing the four and finishing top two. Take out those first 3 games and their form was as good as anyone. 2 under 19 flags in the last 3 years. They must have some talent down there. If they don’t win a flag in the next 3 years they are the Essendon of the ’99-’01 era. Rayson is a huge loss. Is it true he’s gone to Coburg? If so why Coburg? I heard Shields is gone as well. Can anyone confirm? Can someone tell me who’s coaching them?

Bernards – There’ll be big expectations for Madden to deliver, he is arguably the biggest living name in football, but I think they might be another year before they really threaten. From what I’ve heard they’ve kept 16-18 of their best 22 from 2006, but still struggling to get and keep the top quality with the ridiculous money being thrown around in the EDFL. The question down at the ‘Pit is.. Where is the 22 from the undefeated under 19 section 1 team of 2003, or the Herald Sun Shield winning school team of 2003? Under 19’s should be strong after making last years prelim with a young side. Have had a horror run with injuries for 2 years so due for some luck.

Ivanhoe – The big footy boards from September to November were littered with Ivanhoe supporters telling us how good they were and how lucky everyone was that they didn’t sneak into the finals. Have been fairly quiet since, slipping under the radar? Or realising they’re not that good? Dunno who they’ve kept of lost, but they’re a bit like a classy mare, they could well make the finals, but we wouldn’t be entirely surprised if they spent the last month of the season fighting to stay up.

Trinity – Couldn’t possibly play A grade in 2008. Unless they’ve picked up half a dozen recently retired AFL players, I can’t see where their good players are going to come from. Their under 19’s and 2’s last year were pathetic. I saw their 1’s play twice. The first time they were in that rich run of form where they looked as though they could (and did) beat anyone, the second time round they were nothing short of woeful. ‘Cults’ was good but he’s another year older, and him and Rambo need some help. Bad.

Brighton – Could be a chance to beat Trinity. That is all.

Collegians – Yes we’ve all heard for the last 12 months that they could have won A grade last year if they weren’t in B grade. Yes it’s true they were not in the worst 2 teams in 2005, but all they did last year was what they should have, because they were clearly better than anyone else. Dunno how they’ve gone at the trade table, but I think their main mission this year should be to arrest the YO-YO effect, because if they go down again then it’s firmly engrained as current culture.

So from all that my rough ladder would be something like this…

Top 3 – De La, Xavs, Hailibury

Last spot to come from – Bernards, Blues, Scotch

Ivanhoe and Collegians to survive

Brighton and Trinity – I’m trying to find a bookie that will let me on to quinella these two going down.

Brian has spoken
6 Feb 2007, 22:28
Rayson is a huge loss. Is it true he’s gone to Coburg? If so why Coburg? I heard Shields is gone as well. Can anyone confirm?

Joe, Andy Collins has been busy in the off season making grandiose promises to the young and talented VAFA players. Several have left the comp including Rayson and Dowd, with promises of future league careers if they 'follow the Collo' and knuckle down.
The reality is that they will most likely be bit part reserves palyers, filling up on weekends that the Tigers list is short. I imagine they have their Ammo clubs as second teams, but greater players like Biggs have tied and failed to make an impact at that level.
Then again, Ross Young was drafted so you cant blame them for having a crack. I hope they do see some real senior time and prove me wrong.
As far as all predicitons go, Old Xavs will win the flag by a million miles. A massive exodus from Scotch and Old Hailebury, Uni are being effected by the no holds barred recruiting of Blacks, which is great for the comp in general as one powerful Uni team is a scary prospect for all other teams with their massive drawing power.
So put your house on the Xavs, and surely Jonno Stevens cant be pulling his ball shrinking shorts out again for another injury cursed season?

Alphonse
6 Feb 2007, 23:15
Just a pity so many have departed for the mortgage belted, pokie fuelled, bogaramas out in the 'burbs.

In Better news for the VAFA, St Bernards’ talismanic CHF Luke O’Sullivan returns to the fold after two years out teaching the brightest and best of East and North London.

His return will be a big boost to Madden and will provide leadership and focal point for the young chargers at the pit. Hopefully he has not lost any of his famous leap in his time away.

Monkeyboy
7 Feb 2007, 06:28
[quote=Joe Dirt;6676762]Hi all,

Bernards – There’ll be big expectations for Madden to deliver, he is arguably the biggest living name in football, but I think theymight be another year before they really threaten. From what I’ve heard they’ve kept 16-18 of their best 22 from 2006, but still struggling to get and keep the top quality with the ridiculous money being thrown around in the EDFL. The question down at the ‘Pit is.. Where is the 22 from the undefeated under 19 section 1 team of 2003, or the Herald Sun Shield winning school team of 2003? Under 19’s should be strong after

Really??

Top 4
Xavs
St. B
De La
O Ivan

accurate1
7 Feb 2007, 10:30
So by your rationale, the top four wil finish:

1. De La
2. Bernards
3. Ivanhoe
4. Hail or Xavs

A good old fashion "reverse the order" scenario.

In my opinion that top 4 is a likely as Shaun Tait and Glenn McGrath opening the batting in the Wrold Cup final.

Hey Plumber, as I said that top five could change order - but I think it won't be that far off ... if you want to offer me the same odds as McGrath /Tait opening I will take it for plenty!

fuzzyswan
7 Feb 2007, 10:53
so... who have blues actually lost?

Cameo King
7 Feb 2007, 11:17
Congrats to James Scambler for this effort;

JAMES Scambler, Wimmera-Mallee: 138 runs off 74 balls. 14 fours and nine sixes. Two chances: one at deep cover, one at long off.
That was it in a nutshell at the weekend as word of Scambler's mighty knock at Warrnambool in a 20-20 match spread through the carnival like a bushfire

http://wimmera.yourguide.com.au/detail.asp?class=sport&subclass=cricket&story_id=554711&category=Cricket

JG Hornet
7 Feb 2007, 11:29
Hi all,

Relatively new to Big footy and have just checked in for the 1st time this season and read some of the recent pages. Think accurate1 is not far off the mark but here’s my thoughts anyway. Can’t wait for the season.

Xavs – Should be in the running just because there Xavs. Like a JB Cummings stayer they won’t look flash but we’ll all end up having a little each way on them come the business end. As usual they’ll time their run to perfection, and anyone drawn to face them in the first month will have a great chance to pick up 4 valuable points, especially at their ‘graveyard’, Toorak Park.

Hailibury – Dunno how their list is shaping up. Supposedly the’ve lost a few and they had no depth last year outside a superb top 22. I’d imagine they’ll still play finals because Nicho’s teams rarely miss finals. Could be his last year as his career would suggest he doesn’t hang around one cub for too long. That big bloke from the under 19’s who wears the knee pads could be a big key. Is Loewe playing at all??? Is it true they’ve got Dylan Smith??

Blues - I don't like Uni Blues, I hope all the rumours are every bit true, but I doubt it. 2004 was the best ammo's side I've seen. From the outside Kanis looks to me to be a really good coach, they've been superbly drilled for 3 years now, they've had some fantastic players of late, and that list of blokes they've supposedly lost would leave a gaping hole in their team if it's all true. Should have enough that Blacks need to get up to play them, but they are definitely over the hill and should be back to the old ‘middle of the road’ Blues

Scotch – Agree with accurate1, they are Group 2 class at best. At some stage they will look very impressive, at some stage they may be on top of the ladder, but at the end of the day to win the flag they’ll probably have to beat Xavs at Elsternwick at some stage in September. Can anybody really see that happening? 1950 something wasn’t it?

De La – Think they got caught napping a little at the start of last year with a few of their youngsters having their first taste of A grade. They played what turned out to be the form teams of the early season, and being 0-3 at the start was the difference between then just missing the four and finishing top two. Take out those first 3 games and their form was as good as anyone. 2 under 19 flags in the last 3 years. They must have some talent down there. If they don’t win a flag in the next 3 years they are the Essendon of the ’99-’01 era. Rayson is a huge loss. Is it true he’s gone to Coburg? If so why Coburg? I heard Shields is gone as well. Can anyone confirm? Can someone tell me who’s coaching them?

Bernards – There’ll be big expectations for Madden to deliver, he is arguably the biggest living name in football, but I think they might be another year before they really threaten. From what I’ve heard they’ve kept 16-18 of their best 22 from 2006, but still struggling to get and keep the top quality with the ridiculous money being thrown around in the EDFL. The question down at the ‘Pit is.. Where is the 22 from the undefeated under 19 section 1 team of 2003, or the Herald Sun Shield winning school team of 2003? Under 19’s should be strong after making last years prelim with a young side. Have had a horror run with injuries for 2 years so due for some luck.

Ivanhoe – The big footy boards from September to November were littered with Ivanhoe supporters telling us how good they were and how lucky everyone was that they didn’t sneak into the finals. Have been fairly quiet since, slipping under the radar? Or realising they’re not that good? Dunno who they’ve kept of lost, but they’re a bit like a classy mare, they could well make the finals, but we wouldn’t be entirely surprised if they spent the last month of the season fighting to stay up.

Trinity – Couldn’t possibly play A grade in 2008. Unless they’ve picked up half a dozen recently retired AFL players, I can’t see where their good players are going to come from. Their under 19’s and 2’s last year were pathetic. I saw their 1’s play twice. The first time they were in that rich run of form where they looked as though they could (and did) beat anyone, the second time round they were nothing short of woeful. ‘Cults’ was good but he’s another year older, and him and Rambo need some help. Bad.

Brighton– Could be a chance to beat Trinity. That is all.

Collegians – Yes we’ve all heard for the last 12 months that they could have won A grade last year if they weren’t in B grade. Yes it’s true they were not in the worst 2 teams in 2005, but all they did last year was what they should have, because they were clearly better than anyone else. Dunno how they’ve gone at the trade table, but I think their main mission this year should be to arrest the YO-YO effect, because if they go down again then it’s firmly engrained as current culture.

So from all that my rough ladder would be something like this…

Top 3 – De La, Xavs, Hailibury

Last spot to come from – Bernards, Blues, Scotch

Ivanhoe and Collegians to survive

Brighton and Trinity – I’m trying to find a bookie that will let me on to quinella these two going down.

I hate to say it but I reckon Brighton might be all right. As for those tipping De La for the flag, Please, they haven't beaten Xavier since 1996 and can;t go a yard against Uni. They get Bonnici back from England, maybe Shane Hyland (2 stone heavier) a new coach and some good Under 19s but not much else.
Rob Gross told me that Scotch are "completely gone" which is a sure fire sign they've recruited well and are going along nicely.

Anyone could pinch a flag this year.

boss
8 Feb 2007, 09:05
Joe, Andy Collins has been busy in the off season making grandiose promises to the young and talented VAFA players. Several have left the comp including Rayson and Dowd, with promises of future league careers if they 'follow the Collo' and knuckle down.
The reality is that they will most likely be bit part reserves palyers, filling up on weekends that the Tigers list is short. I imagine they have their Ammo clubs as second teams, but greater players like Biggs have tied and failed to make an impact at that level.
Then again, Ross Young was drafted so you cant blame them for having a crack. I hope they do see some real senior time and prove me wrong.
As far as all predicitons go, Old Xavs will win the flag by a million miles. A massive exodus from Scotch and Old Hailebury, Uni are being effected by the no holds barred recruiting of Blacks, which is great for the comp in general as one powerful Uni team is a scary prospect for all other teams with their massive drawing power.
So put your house on the Xavs, and surely Jonno Stevens cant be pulling his ball shrinking shorts out again for another injury cursed season?

Dont forget it worked for Tim Harvey from St Bernards. Had 2 years at Box Hill under Andy Collins and was vice captain in his second year. Why not give it a go....

linger_isgod
8 Feb 2007, 09:26
Richmond and Coburg are using a number of examples (Cam Howat, Jake King, etc.) of players who have gone down to Coburg and found themselves on a list to encourage more players to head down there

Joe Dirt
8 Feb 2007, 11:37
The reason I asked why Coburg was why Coburg of all clubs. Coburg have notoriously been a very average VFL club. Have seen a number of players go there from straight out of under 18's, spend a few years playing in their 2's, and end up returning to the local scene somewhat lesser players...

rainman06
8 Feb 2007, 15:41
Hi all,

New coach is David Madigan, former coach of the u19s at dairy bell. As you say has won 2 flags in the last three years and im told he is well liked and respected by the players especially his own young breed coming through now to play senior footy

Frederik Kanoute
8 Feb 2007, 15:43
I think you've gone a bit too far on the Madden thing although he has played very well in the last two years. as for the 2003 bernards teams, there was a good mix of players who are too good for vafa, i.e afl/vfl and players who aren't that good to stand out at a grade senior level. there were 9 or 10 from the 19's in that year that played at least one game last season which is still pretty good for the club to work from. obviously still a young list down at the pit this year.

Brian has spoken
8 Feb 2007, 16:17
Dont forget it worked for Tim Harvey from St Bernards. Had 2 years at Box Hill under Andy Collins and was vice captain in his second year. Why not give it a go....

Be careful when you mention Hollywood on this thread, is now plying his trade to the highest bidder who happens to be Strathmore, no longer one of us 'Amateur' people...

Billy's Still The Kid
8 Feb 2007, 16:33
I think you've gone a bit too far on the Madden thing although he has played very well in the last two years. as for the 2003 bernards teams, there was a good mix of players who are too good for vafa, i.e afl/vfl and players who aren't that good to stand out at a grade senior level. there were 9 or 10 from the 19's in that year that played at least one game last season which is still pretty good for the club to work from. obviously still a young list down at the pit this year.

It appears Frederick Kanoute is not the only one who has gone a little far in his lifetime with revelations that James Heritage has an eating disorder.

From all reports it is not just the standard 'one liners' about his likeness to curious characters like Fat Albert, Pavarotti and Barge-Arse that throw Herro nowadays.

It turns out that 'Thunder-Guts' copped a great deal of heat because of his innocent mullet, which was only trimmed when he turned 15. This blight on human development was coupled with the tumultuous scenario where James was thought to have mistakingly used the schools male toilets and was subsequently sent to Reverand Bubbles for an old fashioned 'bend & steer'.

And things just haven't got any better for the human Big Mac with the current issue revolving around his perfectly symmetrical set of man-boobs.
Herro's 'cocunuts' are to be used by Target as a walking advertisement for women with fuller figgers.

Can anyone help Herro? Can he win the 'Bigggest Loser' competition?

Plumber
9 Feb 2007, 08:07

You must be from the Pit! That is the most incoherant post I have ever had this displeasure to have read.

I will be sending you a bill for the 15 seconds of my life I can never get back.

Too good for VAFA? Names please.

If you are reffering to the like of Jordan, Harvey, and Byrne you are kidding yourself. By that rationale every team would have 10 players who are "too good" for the VAFA.

You may want to consider a cat scan to survey the damage the blonde hair dye has done to your grey matter.

Gil McLaughlins Horse
9 Feb 2007, 10:32
You must be from the Pit! That is the most incoherant post I have ever had this displeasure to have read.

I will be sending you a bill for the 15 seconds of my life I can never get back.

Too good for VAFA? Names please.

If you are reffering to the like of Jordan, Harvey, and Byrne you are kidding yourself. By that rationale every team would have 10 players who are "too good" for the VAFA.

You may want to consider a cat scan to survey the damage the blonde hair dye has done to your grey matter.

Jordan harvey and Byrne playing in the 2003 U/19 Flag...i think you need to re-read the post smelly plumber.

P.S- Im not a footballer but close to Jordan through other sporting pursuits and know the other 2 well... in bad news for all in A grade next year all 3 will be back in the Gold and Black.