View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football
Jordan harvey and Byrne playing in the 2003 U/19 Flag...i think you need to re-read the post smelly plumber.
P.S- Im not a footballer but close to Jordan through other sporting pursuits and know the other 2 well... in bad news for all in A grade next year all 3 will be back in the Gold and Black.
All back....WOW. didn't this side win like 1 flag when the Byrnes, Jordans, Hollywoods etc were playing.
I bet Xavs are shaking in their boots!
Gil McLaughlins Horse
9 Feb 2007, 12:07
All back....WOW. didn't this side win like 1 flag when the Byrnes, Jordans, Hollywoods etc were playing.
Are you doubting the ability of these three?
Joe Dirt
9 Feb 2007, 12:58
In response to Fred K, I was refering to Madden Snr being the big name, not his son. Nearly 400 league games and every award bar the Charlie. But that's why I said 'arguably' i suppose, didn't expect everyone to agree.
In response to all the other bright sparks that have attacked Freds comments, in particular the self proclaiming genius Plumber, I think you'll find he was talking about players from the school team, namely Bentick, Iacabucci, Cartledge and Jolley, all who have gone on to play AFL, and another currently on the rookie list at St Kilda. Probably makes a pretty good point. Perhaps you can retract that worn out remark about the hair dye and the CT scan, or cat as you like to call it.
Joe Dirt
9 Feb 2007, 13:06
When did Gary Ayres join big footy?
In response to Fred K, I was refering to Madden Snr being the big name, not his son. Nearly 400 league games and every award bar the Charlie. But that's why I said 'arguably' i suppose, didn't expect everyone to agree.
In response to all the other bright sparks that have attacked Freds comments, in particular the self proclaiming genius Plumber, I think you'll find he was talking about players from the school team, namely Bentick, Iacabucci, Cartledge and Jolley, all who have gone on to play AFL, and another currently on the rookie list at St Kilda. Probably makes a pretty good point. Perhaps you can retract that worn out remark about the hair dye and the CT scan, or cat as you like to call it.
The hair dye gag will only become worn out once the Bernards faithful discover a product called toothpaste.
Are you doubting the ability of these three?
No, they are good players, but i hardly think it is bad news for A-Grade that 3 good players have come back. There will be stronger teams in A-Grade next year regardless of whether these three play or not.
BTW - Hollywood will not be playing.
When did Gary Ayres join big footy?
Well there were two Jordans, and more than one with bleached hair.
Gil McLaughlins Horse
9 Feb 2007, 15:50
No, they are good players, but i hardly think it is bad news for A-Grade that 3 good players have come back. There will be stronger teams in A-Grade next year regardless of whether these three play or not.
BTW - Hollywood will not be playing.
Wanna have money on it?
Will Bounce
10 Feb 2007, 16:36
You must be from the Pit! That is the most incoherant post I have ever had this displeasure to have read.
I will be sending you a bill for the 15 seconds of my life I can never get back.
Too good for VAFA? Names please.
If you are reffering to the like of Jordan, Harvey, and Byrne you are kidding yourself. By that rationale every team would have 10 players who are "too good" for the VAFA.
You may want to consider a cat scan to survey the damage the blonde hair dye has done to your grey matter.
Hey ******** kicker you should head down to the Pit. Plenty of illiterate tradies with chips on their shoulders isn't there? You'd fit right in.
Mate can you post your phone number, I need someone to come around and clear out my toilet.
Jack Mihocek
10 Feb 2007, 21:46
Hey ******** kicker you should head down to the Pit. Plenty of illiterate tradies with chips on their shoulders isn't there? You'd fit right in.
Mate can you post your phone number, I need someone to come around and clear out my toilet.
WB take it easy you need to chill out, how about the Plumber takes you through some yoga or meditation.
Let me tell you (having seen the Plumber's work 1st hand) that would be more pleasant then meeting the Plumber head on!
Take a deep breath young man.
Regards
Jackson Mihocek 2nd
Will Bounce
10 Feb 2007, 22:46
WB take it easy you need to chill out, how about the Plumber takes you through some yoga or meditation.
Let me tell you (having seen the Plumber's work 1st hand) that would be more pleasant then meeting the Plumber head on!
Take a deep breath young man.
Regards
Jackson Mihocek 2nd
It's ok Jackson I'm just having a joke, Plumber's a funny man
*Crash*
11 Feb 2007, 14:06
Article with link to interview with and Old Brighton Old Boy Matt McBriar here (http://www.worldfootynews.com/article.php/200702092323289).
Frederik Kanoute
11 Feb 2007, 14:37
Surely everyone has to agree that the standard af VAFA footy was much better then than it is now. The Xavs, Bernards and even one or two of the SKOB teams running around in those days would probably win by 10 goals against the better teams of '06 and '07
Brian has spoken
13 Feb 2007, 19:37
Surely everyone has to agree that the standard af VAFA footy was much better then than it is now. The Xavs, Bernards and even one or two of the SKOB teams running around in those days would probably win by 10 goals against the better teams of '06 and '07
I agree, if only the SKOB teams of 98-02 were together now, no one would get near them. Old Xavs were very good also, along with OM's.
I have heard on the grapevine that big Brett Cook has left St Bernards and is eying a somewhat purple future out Mc Kinnon way. Have also heard that Jenke wont play until late this year as he is overseas.
Corrigan and Steinfort have also moved on but I am sure Nicho will have some new talent up his sleeve round 1.
I believe also that Nick Riess has signed on with Balwyn after doing an about face pre Christmas when he informed them he would play for the Lions back in A Section, a big miss for the boys.
Have not heard much from the Poo Browns, Bernies or De La Salle, but have read on other boards of a mass exodus of Old Trinity 'high maintenace' players to Fitzroy Reds, can anyone confirm names?
I agree, if only the SKOB teams of 98-02 were together now, no one would get near them. Old Xavs were very good also, along with OM's.
the SKOB teams of 98-02 did not win anything - they would not have got within 10 goals of OH last year
Monkeyboy
14 Feb 2007, 06:35
the SKOB teams of 98-02 did not win anything - they would not have got within 10 goals of OH last year
Only a very one eyed supporter would try to compare any recent SKOB list to its Old XAVS counterpart. Funny stuff.
The side OH had on the field last year, the best 22, was as good as any in the last 10 years. It fell away for depth, but as a best 22 it was awesome.
Brian has spoken
14 Feb 2007, 07:41
Only a very one eyed supporter would try to compare any recent SKOB list to its Old XAVS counterpart. Funny stuff.
The side OH had on the field last year, the best 22, was as good as any in the last 10 years. It fell away for depth, but as a best 22 it was awesome.
You guys have no idea about that era obviously. Whether they won a flag is not the point. To say they won nothing is also ridiculous. They played in a GF in A Section.
Old Hailebury did have a great side last year, but a few injuries would have seen them struggle. The majority of the comp has gone to the shisenhausen because of player departures with the 'Sholly Folly' rule. Dont make this a SKOB bashing forum, they are in B Section and will be praying they can stay there this year.
A Section is no where near what it was in the glory days of the Blood led Old Xavs, the Roberts led OMs, the Dinneen led Marcellin, the Dollman led SKOB, the Jordan led St Bernards etc. In those days you could happily say that A Section was one step below the VFL, now it is no where near some suburban and country leagues let alone VFL reserves.
Gil McLaughlins Horse
14 Feb 2007, 08:25
I have heard on the grapevine that big Brett Cook has left St Bernards and is eying a somewhat purple future out Mc Kinnon way. Have also heard that Jenke wont play until late this year as he is overseas.
Corrigan and Steinfort have also moved on but I am sure Nicho will have some new talent up his sleeve round 1.
I believe also that Nick Riess has signed on with Balwyn after doing an about face pre Christmas when he informed them he would play for the Lions back in A Section, a big miss for the boys.
Have not heard much from the Poo Browns, Bernies or De La Salle, but have read on other boards of a mass exodus of Old Trinity 'high maintenace' players to Fitzroy Reds, can anyone confirm names?
Apart from the fact he wouldnt even contemplate playing at Hailebury let alone another club in the ammos other than Bernies, he has signed with Kyneton as expected. Your mail is pretty poor.
Brian has spoken
14 Feb 2007, 12:58
Apart from the fact he wouldnt even contemplate playing at Hailebury let alone another club in the ammos other than Bernies, he has signed with Kyneton as expected. Your mail is pretty poor.
Thanks Gil, dissapointing for the doggies. Hows the polo going?
Gil McLaughlins Horse
14 Feb 2007, 14:01
Thanks Gil, dissapointing for the doggies. Hows the polo going?
Disappointing yes for the boys, but from what i hear the pick ups definately make up for it.
I agree, if only the SKOB teams of 98-02 were together now,
If only you had a time machine hey NS?????
accurate1
15 Feb 2007, 22:55
scooting around the websites its hard to pick up much from anyone except Bernards and Xavs the rest are pretty light on onfo? Trinity exodus is clear the website has no one home? Ivanhoe news is 'no news' same story at De La and Blues welcome you to 2006 ? Bernards site has a video of Potters mark of the year against Scotch and its a ripper!
Richard Clay Torpedoes
16 Feb 2007, 08:09
Has there been an A Section Premier who was relegated the following year to B Section?
Rumours from good sources suggest OH had 9 only on the track a week ago!
Paul Kaos
16 Feb 2007, 10:00
[quote=Brian has spoken;6726214]You guys have no idea about that era obviously. Whether they won a flag is not the point. To say they won nothing is also ridiculous.
But true!
'if only the SKOB teams of 98-02 were together now'
I'm pretty sure Xavs won 3 of those 5 years........the SKOBs must have won the other 2 then!
BarryDawson
16 Feb 2007, 11:39
[quote=Brian has spoken;6726214]You guys have no idea about that era obviously. Whether they won a flag is not the point. To say they won nothing is also ridiculous.
But true!
I'm pretty sure Xavs won 3 of those 5 years........the SKOBs must have won the other 2 then!
SKOBS played in the 2001 GF which they lost to Marcellin. This was the closest they have got to winning anything in A section.
Plumber
16 Feb 2007, 11:48
But true!
Ahh the golden age of SKOB football, a tear wells in my eye.
Climbing to the pinnacle of the moutain time after time, what a team.
Word has it the Xavs will travel north to play a Riverina club for its first pracccy match of the 07 campaign. Should be pretty interesting to see what happens...
Brian has spoken
16 Feb 2007, 20:37
Im off the SKOB bandwagon so dont think you guys will get any stiff come uppance from me. UBD seems to have some inside knowledge of whats happening there so any SKOB questions he can answer.
Anyone who writes off Ajax is foolish, especially with Powelly at the helm.
A Section relegation contenders are OT, St Bernards, Old Brighton and Old Ivanhoe with OB and OT to take the drop.
In B Section, the relegation battle will be between the Flys OM's, SKOB, Beauy and MHSOB, with Beauy and MHSOB to take the drop.
Drizzle
19 Feb 2007, 10:36
Im off the SKOB bandwagon so dont think you guys will get any stiff come uppance from me. UBD seems to have some inside knowledge of whats happening there so any SKOB questions he can answer.
Anyone who writes off Ajax is foolish, especially with Powelly at the helm.
A Section relegation contenders are OT, St Bernards, Old Brighton and Old Ivanhoe with OB and OT to take the drop.
In B Section, the relegation battle will be between the Flys OM's, SKOB, Beauy and MHSOB, with Beauy and MHSOB to take the drop.
Please address the appropriate forum
Brian has spoken
19 Feb 2007, 21:30
Please address the appropriate forum
Is that all you can contribute to this forum???
I own this forum pal, along with JG Hornet, Scribe, TBP, BennyMOF, SMG, Plumber, JT and Bob Down, so p i s s o f f! (Only jokin!)
Ron Hitler Barassi
20 Feb 2007, 09:23
Expect to see the Xavs juggernaut rolling through again on 07. I advise the rest of the competition to look towards 2008 when contemplating premiership success. The hierarchy have convinced Ockleshaw to go round once more as captain for his "premiership swansong", Macarthy is back to repay the favour after five years in the system at Geelong and Cameron Purss has come back to the fold after a good year at Werribee looking "frighteningly big". The only thing that will save the rest of the comp from here is the drought. My predictions:
1. Old Xavs - how far?
2. De La Salle - good young list that needs to stay together for three years to really push for a premiership. Someone ought to tell Rayson to stick around before he gets found out in the VFL reserves this year.
3. St Bernards - very good club back on the rise. Look out in 2008 if Harvey, Byrne and Jordan return.
4. Old Ivanhoe - surprised a few in 06 and will look to consolidate in 2007. There or thereabouts again.
5. Old Haileybury - lost some real amateur talent and their success will depend on whether the good young kids from school stick it out. Would have predicted lower if it wasn't for the psycho at the helm.
6. Old Scotch - lost a lot but always seem to recruit well (why is that I wonder???). Could go one of two ways but will most likely miss finals for the first time in a while.
7. Collegians - apparently they would have won A grade in 2006. But they didn't. They were in B grade. Middle of the road would be a good result.
8. Uni Blues - mass exodus and rumours of some internal disenchantment. A few egos might have taken a hit but its only gonna get worse for the Blues. A few old heads should get them over the line, two very weak sides in the competetion will help.
9. Old Trinity - an aweosme ruckman and a couple of good forwards have masked this club's demise in recent years. Should have been demoted two years ago. U19's last in section 2, reserves very disappointing. Time to return to B grade to rebuild I would have thought.
10. Old Brighton - could be a long year.
Been a while since only three catholic teams occupied the top section I would have thought. Looks like they'll be leading the way in 2007 nonethelss...
Nuffy_O'Dwyer
20 Feb 2007, 09:32
After plying my trade along the Murray for the past 12 months I'm please to announce that I'll be back this year waving the flags at HQ and other A grade venues. I've been doing a fair bit of work around Albert park this pre-season (Yes, some might be 5am jogs home from Marquee) but I've seen quite a bit of the Violet Crumble boys working hard. I think they might challenge the top 4 this year with the likes of Dixon, Stone, Jorgy and Blumfield all fit and firing.
Here's Nuffy's top 4:
1. Xavs
2. Scotch
3. Haileybury
4. Collegians
With the boys from pine lodge just missing out!
Looking forward to a big year behind the big sticks.
All clear thanks
Nuffy :p
Gil McLaughlins Horse
20 Feb 2007, 10:33
Expect to see the Xavs juggernaut rolling through again on 07. I advise the rest of the competition to look towards 2008 when contemplating premiership success. The hierarchy have convinced Ockleshaw to go round once more as captain for his "premiership swansong", Macarthy is back to repay the favour after five years in the system at Geelong and Cameron Purss has come back to the fold after a good year at Werribee looking "frighteningly big". The only thing that will save the rest of the comp from here is the drought. My predictions:
1. Old Xavs - how far?
2. De La Salle - good young list that needs to stay together for three years to really push for a premiership. Someone ought to tell Rayson to stick around before he gets found out in the VFL reserves this year.
3. St Bernards - very good club back on the rise. Look out in 2008 if Harvey, Byrne and Jordan return.
4. Old Ivanhoe - surprised a few in 06 and will look to consolidate in 2007. There or thereabouts again.
5. Old Haileybury - lost some real amateur talent and their success will depend on whether the good young kids from school stick it out. Would have predicted lower if it wasn't for the psycho at the helm.
6. Old Scotch - lost a lot but always seem to recruit well (why is that I wonder???). Could go one of two ways but will most likely miss finals for the first time in a while.
7. Collegians - apparently they would have won A grade in 2006. But they didn't. They were in B grade. Middle of the road would be a good result.
8. Uni Blues - mass exodus and rumours of some internal disenchantment. A few egos might have taken a hit but its only gonna get worse for the Blues. A few old heads should get them over the line, two very weak sides in the competetion will help.
9. Old Trinity - an aweosme ruckman and a couple of good forwards have masked this club's demise in recent years. Should have been demoted two years ago. U19's last in section 2, reserves very disappointing. Time to return to B grade to rebuild I would have thought.
Been a while since only three catholic teams occupied the top section I would have thought. Looks like they'll be leading the way in 2007 nonethelss...
Normally if such rumours come to fruition on Big footy they are quickly squashed by a member close to that particular team...however...not a single rebuttle from any of the poor sods down at Uni. There must be trouble! Ripper.
willydave
20 Feb 2007, 14:35
After plying my trade along the Murray for the past 12 months I'm please to announce that I'll be back this year waving the flags at HQ and other A grade venues. I've been doing a fair bit of work around Albert park this pre-season (Yes, some might be 5am jogs home from Marquee) but I've seen quite a bit of the Violet Crumble boys working hard. I think they might challenge the top 4 this year with the likes of Dixon, Stone, Jorgy and Blumfield all fit and firing.
Here's Nuffy's top 4:
1. Xavs
2. Scotch
3. Haileybury
4. Collegians
With the boys from pine lodge just missing out!
Looking forward to a big year behind the big sticks.
All clear thanks
Nuffy :p
Well you have rolled yourself because jorgy hasn't been training, and Blumfield is OS. But I agree Lions could make the 4.
JG Hornet
20 Feb 2007, 15:48
1. Old Xavs - how far?
C'Mon Ronald, De La haven't beaten Uni Blues in years, can't get near them. They haven't beaten Xavs since 1996. And there are no recruits of note and very few key position players. I think the folk down at the Varsity would be loving all this. You look at the teams this year and it will be one of the most even years ever.
The Tiger's Nuts
20 Feb 2007, 15:56
After plying my trade along the Murray for the past 12 months I'm please to announce that I'll be back this year waving the flags at HQ and other A grade venues.
Sounds marvellous, why wouldn't they start you back in D4 and bring you gently back up to speed?
Curiously,
Tigernuts
justin timberlake
20 Feb 2007, 16:19
Sounds marvellous, why wouldn't they start you back in D4 and bring you gently back up to speed?
Curiously,
Tigernuts
Perhaps Nuffy's talents would be wasted in the lower echelons of the VAFA?
I mean, when I return to Australia for my Future Love / Sex Sounds tour, surely Michael Coppell wouldn't ask me to fill the Croxton Park RSL before booking me Festival Hall?
Similar situation in my pop star opinion....
Ron Hitler Barassi
20 Feb 2007, 16:25
C'Mon Ronald, De La haven't beaten Uni Blues in years, can't get near them. They haven't beaten Xavs since 1996. And there are no recruits of note and very few key position players. I think the folk down at the Varsity would be loving all this. You look at the teams this year and it will be one of the most even years ever.
I can guarantee you Uni aren't loving this. They're rattled. Fair chance they'll turn around and prove us all wrong but at this early stage the big guns are worried about what lies ahead.
You might be right about De La, maybe I'm being a little kind. They impressed me last year though and have some potential. There's no doubt in my mind that little will separate 2-8 but for now thats my order and I'm sticking to it.
Nuffy_O'Dwyer
21 Feb 2007, 09:28
Curiously,
Tigernuts
Because I've spent 9 years umpiring A & B grade VAFA and 1 year in the Ovens & Murray, arguably one of the best leagues in Victoria. If they started me in D4 I'd be straight up to the bush where the money is better and the beer is colder.
All clear thanks!
Nuffy
The Tiger's Nuts
21 Feb 2007, 11:41
Ah! So it is a case of the prodigal returning.
Let us dig the BBQ pit, kill the fatted calf and line up cold foaming tankards in anticipation of your retaking Sportscover Arena by storm!
Tigernuts
Nuffy_O'Dwyer
21 Feb 2007, 13:50
Ah! So it is a case of the prodigal returning.
Let us dig the BBQ pit, kill the fatted calf and line up cold foaming tankards in anticipation of your retaking Sportscover Arena by storm!
Tigernuts
We could do that, or you could just join me for a drink this Friday at Marquee.
Message me for guest list.
All clear thanks.
Nuffy
MrsKenGriffeySnr
21 Feb 2007, 13:54
Was just curious, has uni even started back yet??? There are some bold predictions in February regarding the Blues! It will be interesting to see if they pick anybody up in the next month as this is when their recruits generally come to town to start study.... If I was the coach of Blues I would be quietly enjoying the lack of expectation and be looking to surprise the comp early in the year...
Concrete boots
21 Feb 2007, 14:18
Was just curious, has uni even started back yet??? There are some bold predictions in February regarding the Blues! It will be interesting to see if they pick anybody up in the next month as this is when their recruits generally come to town to start study.... If I was the coach of Blues I would be quietly enjoying the lack of expectation and be looking to surprise the comp early in the year...
Yes, but the majority of Uni's better players have well and truly finished uni and are working full time in Melbourne. No side can win an A Grade flag starting their pre-season proper in late Feb / early March.
I believe the Uni sides might pick up a couple of decent senior additions when 1st semester commences, but won't bolster their lists much more than that. If the quality isnt' there now, then those who are there must work hard to gel together and improve as a unit.
JG Hornet
21 Feb 2007, 14:36
We could do that, or you could just join me for a drink this Friday at Marquee.
Message me for guest list.
All clear thanks.
Nuffy
Nuffy
Must you use the same tiresome comment every time you sign off your ridiculous posts. Stop talking about the marquee club, stop talking about your bloody goal umpiring and stop your infantile "all clear"! Why DO goal upmires say that anyway?
Enough!
Brian has spoken
21 Feb 2007, 14:46
Nuffy
Must you use the same tiresome comment every time you sign off your ridiculous posts. Stop talking about the marquee club, stop talking about your bloody goal umpiring and stop your infantile "all clear"! Why DO goal upmires say that anyway?
Enough!
Horny, any real news around A and B Section? Surely you can enlighten us all here. This site is becoming boring.
JG Hornet
21 Feb 2007, 14:57
BHS
Most of my information at this stage of the year comes from mates in the De La 2nds (who invariably give me deliberately false info) your old mate Rob Gross at the Kingston Hotel(who also gives me false info), nutted blokes in nightclubs and old timers at the South Yarra or St Kilda Rd TAB.
Whilst it is traditionally dangerous to start predicting Ammo footy in Feb Brian, I think it is fait to say that our proud comp had lost some great players to the money out in the 'burbs and that drastic action will have to be taken in the next few years.
Brian I think both the promoted B Grade sides will be good this year. Apart from that, it is very hard to say.
You have a good day old son.
The Tiger's Nuts
21 Feb 2007, 15:53
Stop talking about the marquee club, stop talking about your bloody goal umpiring and stop your infantile "all clear"! Why DO goal upmires say that anyway?
They don't - it's what the field umpire calls to the goalie to signify that there are no outstanding infringements and is therefore free to point the finger(s) and indulge in a little baton twirling.
Nuffy is perhaps a little confused after his last session at the Marquee or else the O&M fieldies were so in awe of his prowess that he makes the call for them!
Looking forward to seeing Nuffy in action!
Tigernuts
Brian has spoken
21 Feb 2007, 22:41
BHS
Brian I think both the promoted B Grade sides will be good this year. Apart from that, it is very hard to say.
You have a good day old son.
Oh great horned one, it is a sad reflection on A Section and the VAFA when you can be sure that the B Section risers are going to be ok in A. Gone are the days when you penned in 4 wins towards another prelim loss, all of which tells us the standard is poor in the top flight.
Sad days indeed...
JG Hornet
22 Feb 2007, 08:33
Oh great horned one, it is a sad reflection on A Section and the VAFA when you can be sure that the B Section risers are going to be ok in A. Gone are the days when you penned in 4 wins towards another prelim loss, all of which tells us the standard is poor in the top flight.
Sad days indeed...
Well maybe I'm wrong, just a a little hunchback at the office (Frank Drebin humour).
It's hard to imagine Collegians struggling. Brighton I saw a couple of times last year and they looked OK, though they have a record of CAPITULATING in the A Grade environment.
CrustyClown
24 Feb 2007, 11:38
1. Old Xavs - are always February favourites and for good reason.
2. De La Salle - good depth in Res & U19 but lack of quality at the pointy end. How did the fare in Rd 18 last year when playing for a spot in the finals and can they improve?
3. St Bernards - "Look out in 2008 if Harvey, Byrne and Jordan return"! Please, I'm not sure if they are living in the past or in the future? If they were perenial Grand Final losers with these great players, can't see them drinking from the silverware this September.
4. Old Ivanhoe - A lot went right for them in early 2006 and then it went pear very quickly. Good home ground advantage (albiet a disgraceful pitch) that will see them mid table.
5. Old Haileybury - have heard about the loss of tallent at the top but you don't win A-Section flags with 4 or 5 good players. Tough to beat at the Badlands. Finalists again.
6. Old Scotch - Embarrasing in the 2006 1st Semi. Probably need to clear the decks and start again. Strong club financially with good Reserves who will push for the Finals.
7. Collegians - unlucky to go down in 2005 and should be better for their year in B. Mid table.
8. Uni Blues - have also heard about the loss of some good players. Good Reserves and U19's. Right off at you own risk.
9. Old Trinity - Will beat some teams who think they are easy beats. Pencil them in as a win at you own risk.
10. Old Brighton - I wasn't there but didn't they push Collegians in the Granny?
Just wondering if anybody knows a player at De La Salle by the name of Matt Dakin?
Ron Hitler Barassi
26 Feb 2007, 11:53
1. Old Xavs - are always February favourites and for good reason.
2. De La Salle - good depth in Res & U19 but lack of quality at the pointy end. How did the fare in Rd 18 last year when playing for a spot in the finals and can they improve?
3. St Bernards - "Look out in 2008 if Harvey, Byrne and Jordan return"! Please, I'm not sure if they are living in the past or in the future? If they were perenial Grand Final losers with these great players, can't see them drinking from the silverware this September.
4. Old Ivanhoe - A lot went right for them in early 2006 and then it went pear very quickly. Good home ground advantage (albiet a disgraceful pitch) that will see them mid table.
5. Old Haileybury - have heard about the loss of tallent at the top but you don't win A-Section flags with 4 or 5 good players. Tough to beat at the Badlands. Finalists again.
6. Old Scotch - Embarrasing in the 2006 1st Semi. Probably need to clear the decks and start again. Strong club financially with good Reserves who will push for the Finals.
7. Collegians - unlucky to go down in 2005 and should be better for their year in B. Mid table.
8. Uni Blues - have also heard about the loss of some good players. Good Reserves and U19's. Right off at you own risk.
9. Old Trinity - Will beat some teams who think they are easy beats. Pencil them in as a win at you own risk.
10. Old Brighton - I wasn't there but didn't they push Collegians in the Granny?
Fair point but you have to remember they are all 3-4 years older than when they last played, having gained experience playing at a higher level. I think they'd find the standard of A grade to have dropped significantly during this period also.
God Yeah
26 Feb 2007, 12:06
Just wondering if anybody knows a player at De La Salle by the name of Matt Dakin?
Clive,
Came over from tassie early last year and played in the Ones for the first few games.
Had a desire to play on the ball but was not considered in the the top 6, had a falling out with coaching staff and played games in the two and three's. Stopped playing 3/4 of the way through the season.
Can kick the ball a considerable distance.
A change of attitude would be good as he could play A grade ones but probaly a B grade regular midfielder.
Why??
Has he approached your club to play???
Gil McLaughlins Horse
26 Feb 2007, 12:45
Fair point but you have to remember they are all 3-4 years older than when they last played, having gained experience playing at a higher level. I think they'd find the standard of A grade to have dropped significantly during this period also.
Jordan was probably the most dominant forward in the comp for many years. Both Byrne and Harvey multiple All-Australians.
Harvey kicked 100 plus goals for Strathmore last year
Byrne was very consistently good in the WAFL
Jordan kicked 120 goals plus in about 15 games last year in country.
Handy in anyones language.
Brian has spoken
26 Feb 2007, 12:52
Jordan was probably the most dominant forward in the comp for many years. Both Byrne and Harvey multiple All-Australians.
Harvey kicked 100 plus goals for Strathmore last year
Byrne was very consistently good in the WAFL
Jordan kicked 120 goals plus in about 15 games last year in country.
Handy in anyones language.
All sounds good in theory Gil. Some facts to consider: Hollywood wont give up $25K a year to play at the pit. The other 2 will not return either, Dan Jordan is a bona fide county star and could command up to $50K at somewhere like Shepparton as a playing coach. Throw in Cookes departure to Kyneton and the rumored mass poaching of players by Pyramid Hill, including both Wilkinson brothers, then I suggest you blokes may be in some trouble.
Jolly may be okay for you blokes, but one man cant do it all.
Stay in the now Gil, and make sure Turtle doesnt take half of your decent players.
Thanks God yeah
He and a mate have moved into the area and are keen to play near where they live. His mate is a guy from Uni Blues called Paul Lange.
Gil McLaughlins Horse
26 Feb 2007, 14:20
All sounds good in theory Gil. Some facts to consider: Hollywood wont give up $25K a year to play at the pit. The other 2 will not return either, Dan Jordan is a bona fide county star and could command up to $50K at somewhere like Shepparton as a playing coach. Throw in Cookes departure to Kyneton and the rumored mass poaching of players by Pyramid Hill, including both Wilkinson brothers, then I suggest you blokes may be in some trouble.
Stay in the now Gil, and make sure Turtle doesnt take half of your decent players.
Ill let you eat your words about Jordan and Harvey next year, as with the Wilkinsons...way off.
Both couldnt be more commited and ive just had it confirmed both have been at training consitently since november. Your mail streams are extremely poor oold son.
If by Pyramid Hill you mean Old East keilor hill...i dont think they would bother...OEG arent going to play A grade until the VAFA change the rules to let the top 4 in B grade up to A.
Thats exactly what it is, rumoured and far from the truth, both players have been at training regulary and attended the training camp. Brian- Go back to the "B" section boards and talk about your pitterful "B" section club.
Slay Master G
26 Feb 2007, 16:27
Thats exactly what it is, rumoured and far from the truth, both players have been at training regulary and attended the training camp. Brian- Go back to the "B" section boards and talk about your pitterful "B" section club.
I suggest you learn to spell and perhaps update your user name. The St.Bernard's class is really shining through.
Brian has spoken
26 Feb 2007, 17:09
Not saying anything out of school am I? Dont take offence, I actually got on the front foot on your clubs behalf today and rang a good mate of mine who is heavily involved in St Bernards footy club.
We shall see with Turtle, and as far as my club goes, I am not involved at SKOB on any level and am looking forward to the Lions sticking it to all and sundry in A Section and Old Camberwell going through undefeated over the next 2 years. Nothing better than watching the big number 5 kick 10 goals in a half.
Brian has spoken
26 Feb 2007, 17:13
Ill let you eat your words about Jordan and Harvey next year, as with the Wilkinsons...way off.
Both couldnt be more commited and ive just had it confirmed both have been at training consitently since november. Your mail streams are extremely poor oold son.
If by Pyramid Hill you mean Old East keilor hill...i dont think they would bother...OEG arent going to play A grade until the VAFA change the rules to let the top 4 in B grade up to A.
Pyramid Hill is actually a club in the Loddon Valley league. Ben Altis and a few of his mates play there, and the strong word is Turtle has been offered big $$$ and has signed there.
As fas Jordan and Harvey go, it would be sensational to see them back in the VAFA, I just cant see it coming to fruition when they can earn lots of $$$. Its very hard to give that up once they have gotten used to having the spending money every week, loyalties or no loyalties, its about them.
Gil McLaughlins Horse
27 Feb 2007, 08:18
Pyramid Hill is actually a club in the Loddon Valley league. Ben Altis and a few of his mates play there, and the strong word is Turtle has been offered big $$$ and has signed there.
As fas Jordan and Harvey go, it would be sensational to see them back in the VAFA, I just cant see it coming to fruition when they can earn lots of $$$. Its very hard to give that up once they have gotten used to having the spending money every week, loyalties or no loyalties, its about them.
Seemed fairly commited when i was watching him train last night. Especially when they took names for first praccy match next week.
Your buddies off the mark.
Billy's Still The Kid
27 Feb 2007, 10:07
It would seem that the leaping Turtle may stay at the pit after all. However, it is understood that the club tempting him may have come back with an increased offer to entice him away from all his mates at the Pit.
I can guarantee with near certainty that Hollywood, Jordan and Byrne will not be playing with St Bernards next year after having discussions with two of them about the possibility. The lure of $$$$ is just too great and they have made friends at their repsective clubs.
Without these four players the boys from Bernards may fill the vacant bottom two position alongside the Old T's, with Old Brighton being very active in the recruiting stakes allowing them some breathing room in '07.
Does anyone know of any other recruits for A-Grade clubs?
Gil McLaughlins Horse
27 Feb 2007, 14:13
Does anyone know of any other recruits for A-Grade clubs?[/quote]
The dogs have picked up Scotty McGregor in the pre-season draft direct from the gift shop on Temptation.
The Big Pineapple
27 Feb 2007, 15:03
The dogs have picked up Scotty McGregor in the pre-season draft direct from the gift shop on Temptation.
I wonder if we'll ever hear the words "don't hit the face" made famous by ex-neighbours star Blair McDonough when in a scuffle playing for the OC's club 18's.
Ron Hitler Barassi
28 Feb 2007, 09:07
I wonder if we'll ever hear the words "don't hit the face" made famous by ex-neighbours star Blair McDonough when in a scuffle playing for the OC's club 18's.
With a bit of luck his missus and colleague will be sighted on the sidelines
Johnny Utah #9
1 Mar 2007, 09:49
Sounds like something you'd hear out at Camberwell Rd or at the Junction!
The Late Mail
1 Mar 2007, 10:20
Sounds like something you'd hear out at Camberwell Rd or at the Junction!
Don't hate me cos I'm beautiful
Il Naso De Gastev
2 Mar 2007, 17:38
Dan Jordan is a bona fide county star and could command up to $50K at somewhere like Shepparton as a playing coach.
Coach!?!?!?!?!?! You'd be kidding, surely??? Big coin as a player sure, however I don't think sinking 18 cans on a Friday night before the game is a great example to set as a coach.
Hitman01
2 Mar 2007, 17:46
Did Ed Clarke play in this league? can anyone inform me what he is like?
Il Naso De Gastev
3 Mar 2007, 09:27
Two words.
Can.
Play.
Hitman01
3 Mar 2007, 11:29
Two words.
Can.
Play.
What position does he play and will he be good in O&M?
Hows Pat O'connell going for uni blues?
Would you be referring to Ben Jolley?? I'm pretty sure he has signed with
Essendons VFL allignment (Bendigo) in the hope of getting another crack at AFL!! Think they have poached a few players from the Ameatuers.. A young ruckman from University Blues and a midfielder from Old Xaverians!! Would anyone know who they are??
Brian has spoken
4 Mar 2007, 18:51
Would you be referring to Ben Jolley?? I'm pretty sure he has signed with
Essendons VFL allignment (Bendigo) in the hope of getting another crack at AFL!! Think they have poached a few players from the Ameatuers.. A young ruckman from University Blues and a midfielder from Old Xaverians!! Would anyone know who they are??
Had heard Sheedy doesnt rate whis lack of work ethic. Would be strange for him to go there. My inside spy at the Bernies tells me he is training the house down, although judging by his other stray mail, he probably hasnt even trained there yet!
I know James Marchesani, All Australian Country centreman last year is playing at Bendigo, by way of Pyramid Hill and his schools Old Boy side St Kevin's.
justin timberlake
5 Mar 2007, 09:20
Had heard Sheedy doesnt rate whis lack of work ethic. Would be strange for him to go there. My inside spy at the Bernies tells me he is training the house down, although judging by his other stray mail, he probably hasnt even trained there yet!
I know James Marchesani, All Australian Country centreman last year is playing at Bendigo, by way of Pyramid Hill and his schools Old Boy side St Kevin's.
Brian,
Don't think this true. Jolley is a very dedicated, hard working player and in my pop star opinion unlucky to get cut from Essendon.
Not sure what his movements are currently though........ I may have a chat to him about being apart of my entourage for my next tour......
The Big Pineapple
5 Mar 2007, 10:01
Brian,
Don't think this true. Jolley is a very dedicated, hard working player and in my pop star opinion unlucky to get cut from Essendon.
Not sure what his movements are currently though........ I may have a chat to him about being apart of my entourage for my next tour......
Not good looking enough to be part of the JT tour... hit with the ugly stick that boy!
Gil McLaughlins Horse
5 Mar 2007, 10:40
Not good looking enough to be part of the JT tour... hit with the ugly stick that boy!
Thats the pot calling the kettle black.
The Big Pineapple
5 Mar 2007, 12:24
Thats the pot calling the kettle black.
You're such a loser.
Joe Dirt
5 Mar 2007, 14:06
Fair dinkum some of the people on this site need to consider what they're writing before they post the 1st thing that comes into their heads. There would be few players currently in the AFL who work harder than this man. He is a prime example of what hard work and sheer dedication can achieve despite a lack of height, speed or silky skills which give you every chance to make it in the AFL these days. Was fairly well known that Sheedy wasn't his biggest fan, but you can bet it wasn't for his work ethic.
Brian has spoken
5 Mar 2007, 15:00
Fair dinkum some of the people on this site need to consider what they're writing before they post the 1st thing that comes into their heads. There would be few players currently in the AFL who work harder than this man. He is a prime example of what hard work and sheer dedication can achieve despite a lack of height, speed or silky skills which give you every chance to make it in the AFL these days. Was fairly well known that Sheedy wasn't his biggest fan, but you can bet it wasn't for his work ethic.
Fair call, retract that, more importantly, where will the lad play his footy this year?
The Tiger's Nuts
5 Mar 2007, 22:06
Because I've spent 9 years umpiring A & B grade VAFA and 1 year in the Ovens & Murray, arguably one of the best leagues in Victoria.
Nuffy
Was poking around HQ before the big meeting tonight and saw the goalies puffing away on the second oval, tried looking for a fresh face running the pants off everyone else to no avail. (Poor old goal umps, bring back the tunnelball for training I say.)
When did you umpire A&B grades, and was it as a goalie?
Curious,
Tigernuts
Sausage roll
5 Mar 2007, 22:23
How will A Section pan out this year? My prognostications for Big Footy land...
Old Xaverians: Has there ever been a club that will start the year as unbackable favorites? Even in the Blood days opposition clubs thought that they could end the run of flags, but I have a feeling that this year is over already. The only question I have is will 'Heebie' play?
Old Hailebury: If ever there was a club which deserved to win the flag in A Section, that club was NOT the boys from the Badlands. Innuendo after innuendo came out of McKinnon last year and no one from the Bloods posted on this site to deny. The money train has apparently left the station and with it have gone Steinfort, Corrigan, Jenke, Hopwood and a host of other players. Must be struggling if Diso is running around again. If not for the lunatic who coaches them I would say RELEGATION, but I have a suspicion that they will survive the drop, especially in a weak A Section.
Uni Blues; Despite the rumblings about Blues on this site(mostly I suspect from foes Blacks), the Blue boys will be strong you would feel. How could they not be with the power base at the Pavvy, or is it shifting???
St Bernards; The same old same old is the story from the pit. Good one week, horrible the next. When St Bernards appointed Simon Madden, they were that excited that one would have been forgiven for thinking he was playing. Maybe he should have because he can't coach and he can't recruit. Lower end of A this year if they are lucky.
Old Scotch; If not for Old Carey and Old Camberwell, Scotch would be looking strong. A coach who is disliked and a defeatest football culture...and they play Gertsman on the ball. Go Scotchies! Mid ships at best. Hopefully an ordinary year will see them appoint a coach who was born post 1940's.
The Lions: I fear they have bitten off more than they can chew since their self proclomations that they would have won A Section last year.
The coach has gone, the assistant coach didn't even tell the President he was leaving and they missed out on Nick Riess. Is all good at the Trott or is there a power struggle off field that will effect on field?
They will survive easily.
De La Salle: The battlers of the Catholics and proud of it. They recruited heavily last year and the results were reasonable. Hard to beat on their dung heap but the whisper is not many recruits and Rayson G O N E!!!
May slip and slide into the four.
Old Brighton: The Tonners are the traditional title contenders with Trinity as the Yoyos. Word out of hurricane alley is that they have recruited a bunch of Zebras to stampede A Section. The only thing I say to that is they need to after 37 year old Pirrie got them into A Section. One of the most mentally soft clubs in VAFA football. Will not fire a shot in A Section and will be looking forward to beating up B Section also rans in 2009: RELEGATION!
Old Trinity: Surely Rambo must retire this year. Battled hard last year and strung together half a dozen wins, a terrific effort. Only problem was they lost heaps either side of that streak. Mass exodus to Fitzroy Reds sees them in danger of going home to B Section...RELEGATION
Old Ivanhoe: Absolute certainties to battle relegation. They have a history of good one year in A Section, relegation the next. Expect them to struggle as an ageing list takes its toll. Expect J Hope to miss another 80% of the season for the 10th year in a row.
Gil McLaughlins Horse
6 Mar 2007, 08:38
I appreciate your attempt Sausage man...but the finals series will be short with only one team playing in it?!
At least i can put in my days off for mad monday.
Joe Dirt
6 Mar 2007, 09:38
Fair call, retract that, more importantly, where will the lad play his footy this year?
He is playing for Bendigo but training at St Bernards because he's not allowed to train with Essendon because he's too young. Bernards may get him on the bye rounds in the VFL or if his form drops off enough to be overlooked.
The Sponge
6 Mar 2007, 12:26
He is playing for Bendigo but training at St Bernards because he's not allowed to train with Essendon because he's too young. Bernards may get him on the bye rounds in the VFL or if his form drops off enough to be overlooked.
Cant 21 year olds train at Essendon?
accurate1
6 Mar 2007, 19:22
Sausage Roll ? ... club Carlton ? makes dumb statements without having a clue ? ... gushing over the Xavs boys ? ... ah yes! you must be John Elliot!
Sausage roll
6 Mar 2007, 20:53
Sausage Roll ? ... club Carlton ? makes dumb statements without having a clue ? ... gushing over the Xavs boys ? ... ah yes! you must be John Elliot!
And this coming from someone who says Josh Madden is in the top 3 players in the VAFA, if not the best player?
INaccurate one, you keep pulling the beers at the pit and leave the prognostications to someone who knows what they are talking about, like Scribe!
And this coming from someone who says Josh Madden is in the top 3 players in the VAFA, if not the best player?
INaccurate one, you keep pulling the beers at the pit and leave the prognostications to someone who knows what they are talking about, like Scribe!
Yeah!! :p
NB - Big Jack Elliott was a Carey man through and through (remember he played his 200th game to get life membership at the age of 58 about 8 or 9 years ago). Oh and the "mass exodus" from OT's to Reds is overstating things a bit. T'would be fair to say 2 regular senior players and 3 regular reserves players is all that's moved across from last years' list. A couple of others have arrived who didn't play in 2006, but they were never going to return anyhow.
Damn hard getting a handle on A grade nowadays, what with the reinstatement rule being so flexible now. Seems the cashed up suburban clubs are picking the eyes out of most A grade clubs given those players can return to the VAFA whenever they see fit. Guess it means greater opportunities for the guys coming straight out of school who couldn't make an AFL/VFL list, and more of a headache for coaches who have to get an understanding of their opposition's new line-ups. I reckon it beats the EFL scenario where their top 4 or 5 tend to pump the bottom 2 or 3 by 15 + goals each week.
FWIW, my very loose predictions are:
Flying: Xavs, De La, Blues.
Middling: Collegians, Bernies, OI, Trinity.
Battling: Scotch & Bloods (controversial!), Brighton
I have a funny feeling about OH, who had a chronic lack of depth in the past couple of seasons, and fail consistently to get the cream of their yr 12s coming through. Scotch's worries may be less pronounced as they always have good quality numbers and impressive reserves, but a lot of experience has left for a second season in a row, and they just appear ripe for a tumble down the ladder in 2007. Trinity's push will be from the young fellas, and I know that they're working very hard, with pleasing returns to the list. They shouldn't take as long to gel this year as they did in 2006.
Just an opinion of course....
Cheers :thumbsu:
Johnny Utah #9
7 Mar 2007, 08:26
The 2006 VAFA A Grade Best & Fairest would have him as one of the best 3.
http://www.vafa.com.au/_content/document/00049422-src.pdf
Plus he's won back to back b & f at St Bernards. Easily be in the top 3 now that the likes of Chunky Dobson have left the comp.
Paul Kaos
7 Mar 2007, 10:58
The 2006 VAFA A Grade Best & Fairest would have him as one of the best 3.
http://www.vafa.com.au/_content/document/00049422-src.pdf
Plus he's won back to back b & f at St Bernards. Easily be in the top 3 now that the likes of Chunky Dobson have left the comp.
1. You clearly have a better opinion of VAFA umpires than most if you rely on Woodrow results; and
2. His Dad has coached for 2 years and he has won the B&F those 2 years?!
Saw him play a couple of times last year, and he struggled both times!
Slay Master G
7 Mar 2007, 11:31
1. You clearly have a better opinion of VAFA umpires than most if you rely on Woodrow results; and
2. His Dad has coached for 2 years and he has won the B&F those 2 years?!
Saw him play a couple of times last year, and he struggled both times!
PK, I agree.
I have watched him 5 times and never seen him play well enough to command any B&F votes, in fact he spent significant time on the pine on 3 of those occasions.
That's not to say he's not a decent VAFA player however, I just don't feel that opposition players are soiling their underwear at the thought of trying to contain him on match day.
Gil McLaughlins Horse
7 Mar 2007, 14:05
PK, I agree.
I have watched him 5 times and never seen him play well enough to command any B&F votes, in fact he spent significant time on the pine on 3 of those occasions.
That's not to say he's not a decent VAFA player however, I just don't feel that opposition players are soiling their underwear at the thought of trying to contain him on match day.
I can see where you coming from, he dosent move like an athlete and has no size about him...but it cant be denied the boy can play. Only flaw would be his foot skills which have dramatically improved. It takes a bloody good player to be able to match him in the air as well as over the ground. There's not a player in the comp that would soil opposition players underwear, but he is the first in this particular team that coaches worry about.
I think you will also find 95% of Bernards players would be rested at some stage throughout a game (most progressive teams would have a similar philosophy).
Brian has spoken
7 Mar 2007, 14:15
Great to see some strong debate back on this site, it's about time!!!
linger_isgod
7 Mar 2007, 20:44
I have a funny feeling about OH, who had a chronic lack of depth in the past couple of seasons, and fail consistently to get the cream of their yr 12s coming through Funny too how a lot end up playing at St. Bedes...
Guess they did spend more time at St. Bedes than at HC...
Sausage roll
9 Mar 2007, 18:19
Funny too how a lot end up playing at St. Bedes...
Guess they did spend more time at St. Bedes than at HC...
Seems as though there are lots of St Bedes, St Bernards and Old Essendon people on big footy. For those of you who care, here is my ladder for 07.
1 OX
2 UB
3 Collegians
4 De La
5 OS
6 OI
7 St B
8 OH
9 OT
10 OB
Richo- true champion
11 Mar 2007, 14:48
Just a quick word to all those people who say Trinity are going to struggle this year....
Although we have lost a few regular senior players in Buttler, Pretty, Zammit, Duggan, Kenna and Deane Johns..aswell as fringe players in Davies and Burgess... We have still managed to keep our spine- with the likes of walsh, j. healy, bourke and Beardsley filling up the 4 key spots..
Also we have a few players coming back to the team that didnt play many senior games last year..names such as Hillas, k. butler and Gnatt. 3 very good players who would walk into any A grade team...plus we have Scott Krakouer returning to the side (who has been training the house down)...add to this at least 2-3 playes straight from last years school side..and i think we have accounted for the loss of some good senior players from last years side..
OT's will be ok, don't worry about that.
Joe Dirt
11 Mar 2007, 16:38
Just a quick word to all those people who say Trinity are going to struggle this year....
Although we have lost a few regular senior players in Buttler, Pretty, Zammit, Duggan, Kenna and Deane Johns..aswell as fringe players in Davies and Burgess... We have still managed to keep our spine- with the likes of walsh, j. healy, bourke and Beardsley filling up the 4 key spots..
Also we have a few players coming back to the team that didnt play many senior games last year..names such as Hillas, k. butler and Gnatt. 3 very good players who would walk into any A grade team...plus we have Scott Krakouer returning to the side (who has been training the house down)...add to this at least 2-3 playes straight from last years school side..and i think we have accounted for the loss of some good senior players from last years side..
OT's will be ok, don't worry about that.
Need to do more than just account for them because you were no good last year
Magnificence
15 Mar 2007, 19:53
Facts:
Old Trinity have lost a number of quality players and will struggle.
The Lions have a super list but by all reports are having the worst prepseason since 1908 with the new coach out of his depth at this early stage.
Red Roy
16 Mar 2007, 15:26
Hello A graders - you will usually find me down on the C Section thread speaking on the mighty Roy Boys, but considering our intention to be in A grade in 2009, i thought I would do a bit of a familiarisation tour.
Some good lively debate here with less dribble than down low - nice to see.
Red has some spies who have told him that OH are battling big time with 10-12 on the track!
The reason they don't attract any of the school team is quite obvious, they're all on scholarships and have no allegiance to the place.
Anyway, if you want to see some more of my work, and you can manage to find the time to lower yourselves and look in the C Grade thread I can assure you that you will leave enlightened by the Great Red Roy.
Roy Out.
Brian has spoken
16 Mar 2007, 15:33
Hello A graders - you will usually find me down on the C Section thread speaking on the mighty Roy Boys, but considering our intention to be in A grade in 2009, i thought I would do a bit of a familiarisation tour.
Some good lively debate here with less dribble than down low - nice to see.
Red has some spies who have told him that OH are battling big time with 10-12 on the track!
The reason they don't attract any of the school team is quite obvious, they're all on scholarships and have no allegiance to the place.
Anyway, if you want to see some more of my work, and you can manage to find the time to lower yourselves and look in the C Grade thread I can assure you that you will leave enlightened by the Great Red Roy.
Roy Out.
Roy, you blokes need to concentrate on playing finals in C Section. You also need to tell your coach its not really a smart idea to post c r a p on this site(flanker I believe is his name).
Its a massive step up into B and A and I hope you lads are up to it. Do you still get many players from the Uni and if so can they play? As far as OH go, I would strongly doubt that they would only have 10-12 on track in mid March.
Roy, you blokes need to concentrate on playing finals in C Section. You also need to tell your coach its not really a smart idea to post c r a p on this site(flanker I believe is his name).
Its a massive step up into B and A and I hope you lads are up to it. Do you still get many players from the Uni and if so can they play? As far as OH go, I would strongly doubt that they would only have 10-12 on track in mid March.
Agreed, agreed, agreed and agreed.;)
Geez - that would have to be the first time I've ever agreed entirely with a BHS or BS post. Maybe I've overdosed on the painkillers I'm taking for my broken jaw and teeth!!