View Full Version : A Section A Section Amateur Football
Scribe2
26th October 2005, 11:16
Scribe 2 doesn't like to blow his own Horn but I reckon his best and fairest selections tip the balance back his way after a diobolical Grand Final Selection...
Haileybury - Paul Corrigan
Old Xavs - Cadyn Beetham
Trinity - Andrew Ramsden
St Learneds - Andrew Gill
Marcellin- Brett Dobson (against all popular opinion)
Uni - Luke North
Scotch - Charlie Tallent (wrong seection)
OMs - Who cares but I probably got it right
Collegians - Chris Blumfield
St Kevins - Luke Mahoney
Scribe
26th October 2005, 11:25
Scribe2,
Nice work on the B&F selections BUT.....honestly, which do you reckon the VAFA public are more likely to remember - you picking 7 out of 10 B&F winners? Or you tipping Blues to belt Xavs by 75 points?
Cheers
Scribe
Scribe2
26th October 2005, 11:30
Oh I'm only too aware of my Grand Final week brainfreeze but a man's gotta pump himself up...
Eddie Woloschek
26th October 2005, 11:48
Scribe 2 doesn't like to blow his own Horn but I reckon his best and fairest selections tip the balance back his way after a diobolical Grand Final Selection...
Haileybury - Paul Corrigan
Old Xavs - Cadyn Beetham
Trinity - Andrew Ramsden
St Learneds - Andrew Gill
Marcellin- Brett Dobson (against all popular opinion)
Uni - Luke North
Scotch - Charlie Tallent (wrong seection)
OMs - Who cares but I probably got it right
Collegians - Chris Blumfield
St Kevins - Luke Mahoney
Great, but how many of these did you pick?
Scribe2
26th October 2005, 11:57
Eddie W
Beetham
North
Ramsden
Dobson
Corrigan
Mahoney
Blumfield
Can't rememeber who I tipped at OMs and Learneds which says a lot really
So take that back to your little Shiek at Toorak Park and tell him to stick it up his miserable, sandy a*se!
bendigo
27th October 2005, 13:20
Sorry to dissapoint you Jon but North didn't win Blues best and fairest, it was Mark Paterson
bendigo
27th October 2005, 13:23
If you want to take some solice scribe2, check the first edition of the Amateur Footballer for 2005 and note that your grand final prediction was right on the money: Xavs 1st, Blues 2nd
Eddie Woloschek
27th October 2005, 14:35
Sorry to dissapoint you Jon but North didn't win Blues best and fairest, it was Mark Paterson
Which would mean that Scribe2 got 6.
Beetham
Ramsden
Dobson
Corrigan
Mahoney
Blumfield
His good mate, The Sheik, named these as the top people for their club in his Medal.
Beetham
Paterson
Dobson
Mahoney
Tallent
Gill
Perhaps only a pathological disinclination for the Woodrow Medallist (not in his Top 30) stopped him from picking him. He also picked one of the Berry boys at Old Melbourne.
Big word is that the VAFA is chasing the Sheik (and not for unpaid fines).
Guinea
27th October 2005, 14:36
I think I read in the Herald Sun, that the inaugural Bendigo Pioneers B&F, Travis Ruyg played in 10 losing GF's before this years victory with Xavs! Does anyone know if this is correct and which club's they would have been at? It's almost as intriguing as Bernie Dinneen's 4 league medals/no club B&F awards portfolio and Dobson's measely 8 votes in the Woodrow..almost at opposite ends of the spectrum to Bernie..
AndrewJ
2nd November 2005, 09:35
Eddie W
Beetham
North
Ramsden
Dobson
Corrigan
Mahoney
Blumfield
Can't rememeber who I tipped at OMs and Learneds which says a lot really
So take that back to your little Shiek at Toorak Park and tell him to stick it up his miserable, sandy a*se!
You are a peanut Scribe2. Paterson won Uni Blues best and fairest, not North. As for your brain freeze picking Blues to beat Xavs that was a clear signal of just how much knowledge of Amateur Football you have. Zero.
Benny MOF
2nd November 2005, 10:18
You are a peanut Scribe2. Paterson won Uni Blues best and fairest, not North. As for your brain freeze picking Blues to beat Xavs that was a clear signal of just how much knowledge of Amateur Football you have. Zero.
I think Tommy Brain is ready to take over the mantle of A Grade scribe.
His promotion in 2003 to B Section and subsequent excellent performance, not to mention his bleached blond mullet and porno moustache, make him a prime candidate for Mr Horn's replacement.
Vote 1 Tommy Brain!
Scribe
2nd November 2005, 11:07
I think Tommy Brain is ready to take over the mantle of A Grade scribe.
His promotion in 2003 to B Section and subsequent excellent performance, not to mention his bleached blond mullet and porno moustache, make him a prime candidate for Mr Horn's replacement.
Vote 1 Tommy Brain!
Keep the rumours going boys, IF Scribe2's on shaky ground after his GF brain freeze, there's plenty of other (truly amateur) Scribes with direct A Grade links willing to madly $cribble $ome $illy predicitions week-in/out on the front few pages.
Vote 2 - Tommy Brain
(Vote 1 - ) Scribe :D
Scribe2
2nd November 2005, 11:24
Ha Ha
The push for Brain has been thwarted as Scribe 2 (work & study pending) will be continuing with A Section next year. However, his brief flirtation with the editorial page has come to an end and the replacement candidates are lining up.
The following are believed to have expressed interest..
Jason McNiece
Mr Chips
Dion Ciavola
Norm Nugent
Phil Stevens
Danny Jordan
Rohan Connolly
The bloke who lives in the scoreboard at the Snakepit
-----------------------------
Benny MOF
2nd November 2005, 13:05
Ha Ha
The push for Brain has been thwarted as Scribe 2 (work & study pending) will be continuing with A Section next year. However, his brief flirtation with the editorial page has come to an end and the replacement candidates are lining up.
The following are believed to have expressed interest..
Jason McNiece
Mr Chips
Dion Ciavola
Norm Nugent
Phil Stevens
Danny Jordan
Rohan Connolly
The bloke who lives in the scoreboard at the Snakepit
-----------------------------
I think Big Footy's Alphonse should be in the running. He is a well practised and very much respected commentator of all things VAFA. Hasn't had much to say for the past 2 seasons though.
Scribe2
2nd November 2005, 14:18
Ben.Carbonaro's name has also been mentioned in dispatches
roberta williams
3rd November 2005, 09:07
I think Big Footy's Alphonse should be in the running. He is a well practised and very much respected commentator of all things VAFA. Hasn't had much to say for the past 2 seasons though.
My vote would be for Alphonse, quite simply he is a VAFA Pro. Although have heard a rumour that he might not be involved with any ammo's footy at all next year. Apparently he had so much success with one of his horses winning at Echuca on Cup day, that he is seriously thinking of taking the year off to concentrate on his stable of horses.
Benny MOF
4th November 2005, 19:21
My vote would be for Alphonse, quite simply he is a VAFA Pro. Although have heard a rumour that he might not be involved with any ammo's footy at all next year. Apparently he had so much success with one of his horses winning at Echuca on Cup day, that he is seriously thinking of taking the year off to concentrate on his stable of horses.
Apparently he had a jumps horse that fell at the final hurdle on Derby Day
My North
8th November 2005, 14:49
Ben.Carbonaro's name has also been mentioned in dispatches
No No not Ben Carbonaro. He will pump himself up along with Ruperswood and Werribee :eek:
I will ask him if i see him at the Victoria Vs West Indies Game this Friday. Are you going Ben on Friday to watch the mighty Vics??
brian speaking
22nd November 2005, 21:45
Look, to be honest, there is only one person that qualifies for the A Section scribes job...my good self. My credentials are oouuttsstaaanddding to say the least. Over 900 games as a player at Brunswick Amateurs, Umpire of 55 A Grade Grand Finals, VAFA Umpires Association founder and inaugural President, Treasurer, Secretary and Member. Best friend of the great man, The Hyphen, former Chairman of selectors at Collegians, De La Salle and of course the mighty SKOB, as well as the 10 year Sunday morning shock jock on 88.3 Southern FM's Amateur Football hour. Currently, I am employed as the VAFA Umpires advisor, and I recently played a major part in the resignation of Brett Connell.
The VAFA has been nice enough to let me fit my fat arse into Bretts leather chair and also add the General Manager Football Operations title to my burgeoning resume'. This added title of course comes with a small paye increase, just enough to allow me to add a little blonde number to the toupe' draw.
On top of all that, I have also been in charge of the draw for 2006 and have happily acceeded to Tuttos wish of SKOB meeting OEG early on, Round 2 at Teac to be precise.
Now, who can match that resume'???
Scribe2
23rd November 2005, 07:44
Words
fail
me
brian speaking
23rd November 2005, 09:11
Words
fail
me
Thats a first Horn...
Scribe2
23rd November 2005, 09:56
Nah, just laughing at the idea of Benny Goodman having umpired 55 Grand Finals. Reckon it's not far off the mark.
Also your reference to him being a "shock jock" on Southern FM. Whenever I listened to that show (rare with hangovers) Benny always gave the impression that he was there under severe sufference, yet he was on the show longer than Alistair Cooke on the BBC.
The Slitherin' Snake
23rd November 2005, 13:45
Scribe,
Is the worst bloke in Amateur footy (Scotty Mac) running around again for OTs in the coming season?
brian speaking
23rd November 2005, 16:30
Nah, just laughing at the idea of Benny Goodman having umpired 55 Grand Finals. Reckon it's not far off the mark.
Also your reference to him being a "shock jock" on Southern FM. Whenever I listened to that show (rare with hangovers) Benny always gave the impression that he was there under severe sufference, yet he was on the show longer than Alistair Cooke on the BBC.
H, had to get out of school boys forum and try and talk some real VAFA jibberish. I heard today Hopgood for SANFL knocked back $800 per game from East Burwood and has headed to the Badlands for a car loan, a low doc housing loan, a holiday in Noosa and a members card at Spearmint Rhino...
Im glad you like my writing style, you are my inspiration! Buy the way, I loved your 76 point tip against the Red and Blacks
Any other news?
BlueBoy41
6th December 2005, 09:05
How does everyone think Old Ivanhoe will handle the step up to A Section next season?
Scribe2
6th December 2005, 09:08
Hard to say. They've got a lot of good ex players in metro comps who could slot back in with the VAFA's rules.
To be honest, B Section looked pretty dodgy this year and the Grand Final was not of a high standard. The fatties from the past are dropping off, they have a good coach, a great ground and they may go OK.
But the gap between B & A is geting bigger by the year.
Scribe
6th December 2005, 10:23
Scribe,
Is the worst bloke in Amateur footy (Scotty Mac) running around again for OTs in the coming season?
TSS - sorry for the tardy reply, this one slid through to the 'keeper.
I have no reason to doubt Smacka will play on in 2006. Lord knows, if he doesn't, I'll become the 2nd oldest player on the senior list, after Ramsden, and we can't have that happen.
I think Scott's been tearing it up on the basketball courts and keeping the knee in good shape. However, he's been noticeable in his absence at the first 2 preseason training sessions. Probably using the standard veteran's leave pass to get him through to January.
Hopefully this Thursday will see a return for Old Essendon's favorite son, together with the obligatory knee/icepack/pressure contraption for his cool down.
brian speaking
6th December 2005, 14:35
I believe Toovey is back for OI. He is a good big man who will help out Hope in the tall division. As an avid watcher of VAFA football over the last 60 years, I can honestly say that the Poo Browns will struggle to win 3 or 4 games.
If Haros is still regularly in their best, then they are struggling.
In other news, Ben Jordan has left the Bendigo league, with comp B&F in his pocket, to return to the Snakepit...not the Bernies Snakepit, but the East Burwood Rams snakepit.
I also believe that Justin Plapp has signed on with SKOB and Simon Arnott joins Mark Browne(ex Marcellin) as new recruits to the Vermont Eagles.
I can also inform you that Ryan 'The Markologist' Chard has knocked back massive offers Eastern League clubs, from the snake at the Wellers, and also from Old Xavs, who offered him a house in Noosa, a boat, a frisby and a dog to retrieve it, as well as $50 per mark.
Amateur football, Good afternoon, Brian Speaking...
Slay Master G
6th December 2005, 14:41
Brian Speaking
re: Simon Arnott
He has signed with Collegians and attended training last week. After a 2nd and 5th in the Magery medal in the past 2 seasons, will be the best player in the VAFA by some distance. Expect 60-70 goals from him as ruck rover.
Disco Bickie
6th December 2005, 14:43
Brian Speaking
re: Simon Arnott
He has signed with Collegians and attended training last week. After a 2nd and 5th in the Magery medal in the past 2 seasons, will be the best player in the VAFA by some distance. Expect 60-70 goals from him as ruck rover.
Brian Speaking with his finger on the pulse.
Brian also tells me that Tony Lockett has gone to Sydney.
PooBrown
11th January 2006, 07:29
Word has it Matty Mckie is also back for the Hoers. Very talented and capable tall defender. Not all doom and gloom down at pine lodge.
Alphonse
11th January 2006, 10:59
In other news, Ben Jordan has left the Bendigo league, with comp B&F in his pocket, to return to the Snakepit...not the Bernies Snakepit, but the East Burwood Rams snakepit.
Not sure about that one Brian. I spoke with Dan on the weekend and he said he was playing in Ballarat (not Bendigo) with Ben. Could be wrong though.
Scribe
18th January 2006, 09:03
SMG,
I note from perusing the Collegians website (bit of spare time in the office at present) that your confirmation of Arnott's return has been formally backed-up. I agree, he will be one of the best players in the VAFA, though Lord and Graham are intending to play at Toorak Park and I reckon at least Graham will be serious.
In any event, with the addition of Hosking (always had much respect for the man) you guys would be odds-on to come straight back up. Given the quality coming through the U19s, I can't see any side getting close, frankly.
As for Trinity - we're accumulating a swag of prodigal sons and with a sprinkling of new faces, the list will definitely be a lot stronger (more like 2004), and we won't need a good run with injuries to stay competitive. Hopefully the unit will gel well under Phil Gaut, and we can adapt to a different style of play. With news of the Big Cat doing biathlons up in the Harbour City and then getting slaughtered on the turps with my classmate Woodrow Ramsden, we have more to be positive about than this time last year!!
Alphonse
18th January 2006, 10:59
Jason Cordy is going to play at Uni Blues. He is an absolute gun, in my opinion would be the best CHF in A Section. He destroyed teams before he got injured half way through the year and with the delivery from the Blues midfield he will be hard to stop. Will hurt a few blokes along the way as well.
Most people at nobs thought SM-C didnt make up for his loss last year so thats highly he is rated at the Gillon.
Played at NOBS in 2004, Castlemaine last year.
Slay Master G
18th January 2006, 11:55
Scribe
We are trying to keep a lid on things down at the Harry Trott. Arnott & Hosking will certainly bolster the midfield, which was the weakness in 2005. Another player returning to the club is Ben Holst, who in 2004 was the best backman in B Section, a welcome addition. We aim to go straight back up however history shows that it's often quite difficult.
A weekend with Ramsden wouldn't have done Big Cat's fitness any good, nor will the Easter Carnival the weekend before round 1.
Could anybody who's been to the Motel lately tell me how Old Ivanhoe are shaping up?
Destination A Grade
18th January 2006, 13:39
Could anybody who's been to the Motel lately tell me how Old Ivanhoe are shaping up?
The 'regulars' of Old Ivanhoe haven't been sighted for some time at MoMo's. Read into this what you will, but i would find it difficult to believe that they have started there preseason this early.
From all reports the fitness of a few would be similar to that of a certain J. Heritage pre-Christmas. Something to do with a NY's in Perth, back for the Lorne Swim weekend and a return to the lovely seaside town for a massive 21st this weekend.
Coincidentally, reports of drink spiking and sexual assaults have been down at MoMo's during the same period.
Slay Master G
18th January 2006, 13:55
Coincidentally, reports of drink spiking and sexual assaults have been down at MoMo's during the same period.
Coincidentally, awful dancing styles have also been down. However they have been found on several Friday nights at Boutique.....
Disappointing.
Destination A Grade
18th January 2006, 14:10
Coincidentally, awful dancing styles have also been down. However they have been found on several Friday nights at Boutique.....
Disappointing.
Some blokes have got it, and some don't.
The Big Trinity Kid
20th January 2006, 08:05
I agree Arnott will be a OK in B Grade but thats not A Grade......Good luck to him he is obviously going down there to hang with his mates and the hot sheilas with hot pants underneath the grandstand before and after the game. Plus there is the fact that he has to get the ball and hope one of his dud team mates can deliver it to him on the full.
Had he hung out with us Old T's he would have had more respect as we are perennial A Graders with Premiership Aspirations!!!
brian speaking
20th January 2006, 10:53
I agree Arnott will be a OK in B Grade but thats not A Grade......Good luck to him he is obviously going down there to hang with his mates and the hot sheilas with hot pants underneath the grandstand before and after the game. Plus there is the fact that he has to get the ball and hope one of his dud team mates can deliver it to him on the full.
Had he hung out with us Old T's he would have had more respect as we are perennial A Graders with Premiership Aspirations!!!
Gentleman, there is no grades at all, they are all sections.
A grade is overrated, they are all club ring ins. They are VFL club wannabees, with hardly any club produced palyers. Arnott will plow through the p u s s y at The lions, and there is certainly some qulaity in that there canteen...
Scribe
20th January 2006, 11:48
Gentleman, there is no grades at all, they are all sections.
A grade is overrated, they are all club ring ins. They are VFL club wannabees, with hardly any club produced palyers. Arnott will plow through the p u s s y at The lions, and there is certainly some qulaity in that there canteen...
Agreed on most aspects, they are sections, plenty of players come from stints on VFL lists and the Collegians' canteen is fertile ground. Little wonder Gavin Hopper chose to ply his trade at Wesley.
However, with respect to the make-up of clubs' lists, I can't agree with you there Brian. We've got a 2/3rds school, 1/3rd non-school senior list, with our top 30 players being split along the same lines, 10 non-school and 20 school products. I'd tip OMs, Marcellin and St Bernards would certainly be similar.
Not sure about Xavier or Scotch.
Perhaps you are looking too hard at one or two particular clubs?
Benny MOF
20th January 2006, 13:39
Trinity may aspire to the premiership but there is a distinct lack of heart and desire down there. Most of the blokes are only there for the cushy bowling green surface and the ordinary tarts that frequent the club.
They are perennial A grade under-achievers that should really be in B Section if it wasn't for the Wesley choking in Round 18.
Slay Master G
20th January 2006, 13:47
I'm tipping that a bloke who finished 2nd in 2004 and 5th in 2005 in the SANFL's Magery Medal and was the premier on baller in Central Districts 4 premiership years, probably wouldn't struggle in A Section Amateurs.
I concur about the quality in the Harry Trott's canteen!
Scribe
20th January 2006, 14:30
SMG - I concur wholeheartedly.
Benny MOF - I'll defer to your greater wisdom and understanding, you're obviously better positioned to comment on Old Trinity's motivations after several years with St Bede's.
Benny MOF
20th January 2006, 15:21
SMG - I concur wholeheartedly.
Benny MOF - I'll defer to your greater wisdom and understanding, you're obviously better positioned to comment on Old Trinity's motivations after several years with St Bede's.
Scribe
I have some friends who have played at the club, and also, it's general knowledge that Trinity are soft. So my opinion is a general one that is doing the rounds.
brian speaking
20th January 2006, 16:00
Trintity have never been soft. We have always found them to be the harderst side phsically when we have played them over the last 8 yrs.
Soft is a bulls h i t word anyway, footy is about winning games, not winning fights and belting blokes. I wonder what Rambo, Parko and Hopoate would say about them being soft.
Destination A Grade
23rd January 2006, 06:41
Trintity have never been soft. We have always found them to be the harderst side phsically when we have played them over the last 8 yrs.
Soft is a bulls h i t word anyway, footy is about winning games, not winning fights and belting blokes. I wonder what Rambo, Parko and Hopoate would say about them being soft.
'Soft' when used in reference to football doesn't mean fighting. It is generally accepted that it is used to describe a team or players that are perhaps more worried about their well being than getting the ball, and/or consistently fail when pressure is applied.
It has been many years since we played last played Trinity, so i don't feel i can comment on them.
Scribe
23rd January 2006, 08:46
Benny,
To label a side you haven't played with, and possibly never seen, as soft is strange. To then say it's partly based on "general knowledge" adds little weight.
To then say it is also partly based on the opinion of a former player leads me to the following presumption. I presume it's Nick Gordon - who is a pretty good bloke and a handy footballer. However, Nick left Trinity after not being promoted to the seniors in round 2 of 2003 but, granted, was also commencing work in Mentone, and I understand played most of last season with St Bedes. He's hardly likely to extol the virtues of the club, as he left in less than ideal circumstances. :cool:
Everyone's got an opinion, and you're entitled to yours. I just won't agree with it for obvious reasons.
However, given you're posting on a thread relating to A Grade football, why don't you find out for yourself first hand, rather than perpetuating what you claim is 'general knowledge'?
Permit me to formally extend an invitation to you (should it not work out at Beaumaris and you decide to find yet another club) to come down to our training and sign on for A Grade footy. You may be surprised just how hard some of the players at our club actually are. :eek:
As the club secretary, and a member of the aforementioned soft playing list, I'd gladly complete the registration for you. :thumbsu:
Cheers
Snoozer
23rd January 2006, 09:11
You wouldn't get to, or hold your place in A grade if you were soft. Trinity are definitely not a soft side... I remember playing against them a couple of years back in that weekend of torrential rain and arctic conditions out there at Trinity. (Remember the weekend Jeff Farmer had hypothermia playing at Geelong!!)
They definitely weren't soft that day... we went into the rooms at half time to try warm up a bit, the seconds had used all the hot water so no showers to warm up... even a cold shower was some relief!! After getting some respite from the rain and icy wind it was time to run out to play the second half. We opened the door to run out and the wind hit us like a steam train, we looked outside and the rain was coming in sideways. Got out the door in a huddle, looked across and Trinity had done the same.... I reckon both teams looked at each other as if to say 'do ya wanna call it off?' Couldn't do it though.... the worst part about it was that it ended up 4. 8. 32 a piece at the end of the game... the most heart breaking draw I've ever seen.
Alphonse
23rd January 2006, 09:35
Benny,
To label a side you haven't played with, and possibly never seen, as soft is strange. To then say it's partly based on "general knowledge" adds little weight.
To then say it is also partly based on the opinion of a former player leads me to the following presumption. I presume it's Nick Gordon - who is a pretty good bloke and a handy footballer. However, Nick left Trinity after not being promoted to the seniors in round 2 of 2003 but, granted, was also commencing work in Mentone, and I understand played most of last season with St Bedes. He's hardly likely to extol the virtues of the club, as he left in less than ideal circumstances. :cool:
Everyone's got an opinion, and you're entitled to yours. I just won't agree with it for obvious reasons.
However, given you're posting on a thread relating to A Grade football, why don't you find out for yourself first hand, rather than perpetuating what you claim is 'general knowledge'?
Permit me to formally extend an invitation to you (should it not work out at Beaumaris and you decide to find yet another club) to come down to our training and sign on for A Grade footy. You may be surprised just how hard some of the players at our club actually are. :eek:
As the club secretary, and a member of the aforementioned soft playing list, I'd gladly complete the registration for you. :thumbsu:
Cheers
I know that respected VAFA commentator Neil Loughlin of St Bernard's, has a very low opinion of the OT's. I obviously have not seen much of them in recent years but they do seem to have underachieved for the quality of players they have always had.
Perhaps Benny means their softness is more mental than physical?
They are certainly more than competitive in A grade and aside from last year always around the mark so that should be respected.
brian speaking
23rd January 2006, 10:53
I know that respected VAFA commentator Neil Loughlin of St Bernard's, has a very low opinion of the OT's. I obviously have not seen much of them in recent years but they do seem to have underachieved for the quality of players they have always had.
Perhaps Benny means their softness is more mental than physical?
They are certainly more than competitive in A grade and aside from last year always around the mark so that should be respected.
Neil has low opinions of every other club in the competition so don't worry anything he says.
HawkeEye
23rd January 2006, 11:08
Jason Cordy is going to play at Uni Blues. He is an absolute gun, in my opinion would be the best CHF in A Section. He destroyed teams before he got injured half way through the year and with the delivery from the Blues midfield he will be hard to stop. Will hurt a few blokes along the way as well.
Most people at nobs thought SM-C didnt make up for his loss last year so thats highly he is rated at the Gillon.
Played at NOBS in 2004, Castlemaine last year.
Played with Jason in 2004 at NOBS, loves his beer and loves his footy. Not the best work ethic at training but can be a matchwinner.
The Benchwarmer
28th January 2006, 10:44
The 'regulars' of Old Ivanhoe haven't been sighted for some time at MoMo's. Read into this what you will, but i would find it difficult to believe that they have started there preseason this early.
From all reports the fitness of a few would be similar to that of a certain J. Heritage pre-Christmas. Something to do with a NY's in Perth, back for the Lorne Swim weekend and a return to the lovely seaside town for a massive 21st this weekend.
Word has it that although even though the OIG boys haven't been going to Motel, one of there fringe players has got as big as one. A big Christmas he's had indeed.
Destination A Grade
30th January 2006, 06:46
Word has it that although even though the OIG boys haven't been going to Motel, one of there fringe players has got as big as one. A big Christmas he's had indeed.
Must be that number 10. Always looked to carry a few extra kilo's.
MaccaHawk
30th January 2006, 21:02
How do y'all think De La will fair this year in A Grade footy?
How did Cam Kennedy go for OM's in '05? Played with him in SARFL (Scotland) when he was there in '04...
Go Glasgow Sharks!
Scribe
31st January 2006, 07:27
Home ground advantage for De La will be handy, as their deck is a difficult track to play on. They have pretty good depth, but not a plethora of guns to call on if the match is there to be taken.
I think they should be good for 4-7 wins, but probably not more. This will mean a 6-10 finish. I'll be able to tell you something mroe constructive in 6 weeks' time as we are now playing them in our first practice match on 18/3 (after Marcellin opted to pull the pin).
couchgrinder
1st February 2006, 15:25
does anyone rate uni blues to bounce back in '06 ?
their GF loss last year to Xavs would have been pretty demoralising.
they were an awesome outfit to watch in '04 probably one of the best ammo sides to take to a park
Moss Rocket
27th February 2006, 07:19
Uni Blues will be solid in 06, however hard to see anyone beating Xavs. A lot of people write in talking about this guy, and that guy, and how their club will be better because we've recruited blah blah blah... But Xavs just win, because they are used to it. It is a culture. There is nothing a Scotch or a Grammar can do to change this. Scott Mollard for B & F!:cool:
Plumber
27th February 2006, 08:28
How do y'all think De La will fair this year in A Grade footy?
How did Cam Kennedy go for OM's in '05? Played with him in SARFL (Scotland) when he was there in '04...
Go Glasgow Sharks!
De La have got a real "battlers" culture. They have some very committed people around the club, but a footy club culture is near impossible to change.
overtheline
28th February 2006, 11:15
De La have got a real "battlers" culture. They have some very committed people around the club, but a footy club culture is near impossible to change.
is it true that oms have had a big cleanout??
overtheline
28th February 2006, 12:01
is it true that oms have had a big cleanout??
On the Run
7th March 2006, 08:14
Brownlow Medalist turned up at the pit last night.
Looking extremely fit and very keen to play at STB this year.
Benny MOF
7th March 2006, 09:24
Brad Hardie?
Snoozer
7th March 2006, 09:57
S Woewodin.
candy_pants
7th March 2006, 10:07
Apparently it was Libba, so i don't think A section sides should be too concerned.
MrsKenGriffeySnr
23rd March 2006, 19:42
I think that it was Graham Teasdale, still wearing the good old velvet suit... Apparently he has been hitting up the aqua aerobics and is "fit and back to his playing weight"
goldenbrown
24th March 2006, 09:45
I think that it was Graham Teasdale, still wearing the good old velvet suit... Apparently he has been hitting up the aqua aerobics and is "fit and back to his playing weight"
and you never know - he might end up back at essendon if he plays well enough!!
sammyg
24th March 2006, 09:50
The word is that not only have the Scotchies had to geal with nine senior players departing, but that they have also failed to secure any new recruits of any note.
froggie6
24th March 2006, 10:05
The word is that not only have the Scotchies had to geal with nine senior players departing, but that they have also failed to secure any new recruits of any note.
Would be nearly as good as a premiership seing those tossers relegated. Lack of heart...
froggie6
24th March 2006, 14:31
Any word on practise matches this week boys?
Bernards have trinity at Western Oval.
MrsKenGriffeySnr
26th March 2006, 08:45
Would be nearly as good as a premiership seing those tossers relegated. Lack of heart...
scotch, full of mouth if in front.. full of abuse for each other if losing... don't have the mental capacity for good football. Fans and players belong in their own league where they can wear pastel jumpers and tell each other how good they are, while not actually playing a game of contact sport....
muesli
26th March 2006, 13:18
East Burwood defeated De La Salle 13.19-97 to 10.11-71
froggie6
27th March 2006, 07:19
Any word on practise matches this week boys?
Bernards have trinity at Western Oval.
Watched Bernards play disgraceful football early, but still ended up beating Trinity by a couple.
Slay Master G
27th March 2006, 07:25
Watched Bernards play disgraceful football early, but still ended up beating Trinity by a couple.
Old Essendon def Old Ivanhoe
Collegians def Old Melburnians
OI and OM's would have to be early relegation favourites!
Handsome.B.Wonderful
27th March 2006, 09:13
The way I saw it a Trinity team without "Woodrow" Ramsden and an underdone Big Cat stopped playing in the last quarter and Bernards clawed back a few late goals.
The only Bernards player worth a mention was Liberatore
froggie6
27th March 2006, 09:29
The way I saw it a Trinity team without "Woodrow" Ramsden and an underdone Big Cat stopped playing in the last quarter and Bernards clawed back a few late goals.
The only Bernards player worth a mention was Liberatore
Yeah yeah yeah, and the dogs had 3 blokes go missing with the Sierra leone comm games team and another on the moon. Hope you dont use those excuses when the real stuff starts.
Libba did go good though.
Supa Frank
27th March 2006, 09:36
Early prediction- Dean Rice will not see out the year @ OMs!
Scribe
27th March 2006, 11:11
Yeah yeah yeah, and the dogs had 3 blokes go missing with the Sierra leone comm games team and another on the moon. Hope you dont use those excuses when the real stuff starts.
Libba did go good though.
Handsome's an objective observer, so he has no excuses to offer.
Not sure how strong the Bernies' side was, but I'd guess there would've been 8-10 players missing. Lougho played the early game and I didn't see either Pearsons nor Nick Mitchell (?). Trinity had 11 seniors missing and another 3 playing in the early game. Also had another half a dozen reserves unavailable.
Frankly, only massive beltings at this stage would be cause for concern for any club. It's more about how hard the guys on the park are working to the team rules, and linking up well.
Leave the real prognostications to the final PM before Easter.:thumbsu:
Handsome.B.Wonderful
27th March 2006, 12:52
Scribe,
Where was Rambo?
Did Hillys shin/calf injury stop him from enjoying a few wets at his closing ceremony function at Feddish?
Scribe
27th March 2006, 13:16
Scribe,
Where was Rambo?
Did Hillys shin/calf injury stop him from enjoying a few wets at his closing ceremony function at Feddish?
HBW,
Monsieur Ramsden spent the weekend (and several days either side) up in Darwin and on Tiwi/Melville Islands, soaking up the culture and the Darwin FL action.
Can't say for sure whether Hilly's injury prevented him from having a few wets.
However, consider the following factors:
1. it's 3 weeks out from the real season,
2. the end of the Cth Games (i.e. 12 days straight of Feddish Bar action), and
3. he probably won't be able to train or play for at least a week......
You'd probably conclude in favour of alcoholic consumption.
Scribe
Slay Master G
27th March 2006, 14:35
Scribe,
Where was Rambo?
I think that All Australian Amateur Football Captain, "Woodrow" Ramsden was in shock, as we all were, that the Netball team was beaten by NZ in the Comm Games.
Missing a star player or two, but no excuse.
holding
28th March 2006, 09:24
First part is true it's on the website, they played a practise match on Sat against Uni (who were fielding a pretty strong team from all accounts) and scotch went down by 2 goals but it was close all day with scotch being on top for a lot of it, they ran vey hard.
Dropkicker
28th March 2006, 09:39
I saw the game and it would be fair to say that Uni played the better brand of footy. As for fielding a strong team, I would say that Uni had 7 or 8 big names missing. That said, Scotch did remain competitive for most of the match.
holding
28th March 2006, 09:46
I saw the game and it would be fair to say that Uni played the better brand of footy. As for fielding a strong team, I would say that Uni had 7 or 8 big names missing. That said, Scotch did remain competitive for most of the match.
Dropkicker did Scotch have many missing that you know of? who was missing from Uni?
cheers
brian speaking
28th March 2006, 10:21
Dropkicker did Scotch have many missing that you know of? who was missing from Uni?
cheers
Can anyone please tell me of the form of that Master coach Robert Gross, how does he look in the colors of the Scotchies?
bendigo
28th March 2006, 10:41
Couldn't help but notice this little piece of dross from the Old Scotch website.
JOSH KITCHEN
Josh Kitchen came to Old Scotch from St Kilda and established himself after recovering from a severely broken leg. Josh played 123 games for the club with great courage and determination. He never baulked a challenge and dished out the best hip and shoulders in the competition. Josh was the consummate team man who looked after his mates on the field, and the Kitchen family are wonderful supporters of the Club.
Great courage and determination?
Never baulked a challenge?
Best hip and shoulders in the competition?
Consummate team man who looked after his mates on the field?
They must be talking about the bedroom or the office, they surely weren't peformed on the footy field.
froggie6
28th March 2006, 12:49
They must be talking about the bedroom or the office, they surely weren't peformed on the footy field.[/quote]
The Tim Fleming Biggest Cat in the VAFA Perpetual Trophy winner:
2002-2006: Josh Kitchen
The stats speak for themselves. He even wins this years!
Plumber
29th March 2006, 09:31
They must be talking about the bedroom or the office, they surely weren't peformed on the footy field.
The stats speak for themselves. He even wins this years![/quote]
Do you actually play Froggie, or are you a spectator? I won't vehemently agrue with you about Kitchen, although I wouldn't call him soft. He does enjoy the cheap clip though.
Regarding Fleming, I reckon the odd stray elbow can be excused when you crash in like he does. There is no rule saying you can't give it back the other way either. So, if you do play and come up against Flemo this year, maybe have a crack at him and see what happens...
sammyg
29th March 2006, 09:40
Couldn't help but notice this little piece of dross from the Old Scotch website.
JOSH KITCHEN
Josh Kitchen came to Old Scotch from St Kilda and established himself after recovering from a severely broken leg. Josh played 123 games for the club with great courage and determination. He never baulked a challenge and dished out the best hip and shoulders in the competition. Josh was the consummate team man who looked after his mates on the field, and the Kitchen family are wonderful supporters of the Club.
There is no doubt that after Steele retired (he gave the best hip and shoulder ever seen) Kitchen took up the hip and shoulder title. I have to respect Kitchen for his hip and shoulders, they were pretty good.
Paul Kaos
29th March 2006, 09:45
The stats speak for themselves. He even wins this years![/quote]
Is that awarded on the same night as;
The Nick 'Gas it on GF day' Mitchell Award - won in 2000
or,
The Danny 'No goals on GF day' Jordan Award - won in 2003
or, my favourite,
The Accept the Fact You'll Never Play AFL Award - won by Tim 'Altona' Harvey - pick a year!
The Big Pineapple
29th March 2006, 09:53
Is that awarded on the same night as;
The Nick 'Gas it on GF day' Mitchell Award - won in 2000
or,
The Danny 'No goals on GF day' Jordan Award - won in 2003
or, my favourite,
The Accept the Fact You'll Never Play AFL Award - won by Tim 'Altona' Harvey - pick a year!
This is easily the best post I have seen in my 12 months on big footy.
Tim 'Altona' Harvery :D SIMPLY GOLD
Slay Master G
29th March 2006, 10:04
I agree on this one Paul and you are to be commended for this wonderful St Bernard's spray! The way they carry on, you would think that they've won more flags than Xavs.
Hollywood (or is that Bollywood in Altona?) Harvey gets around telling people that he plays for Hawthorn while he was playing for VFL side Box Hill. That's what I did as an 18 year old to pick up football groupies at the Star Bar!!! I think he needs to realise that he's 27, the "Dream is Over".
I'm, also told he doesn't mind giving the odd greasy to an Old Essendon acquaintance at the Prince of a Saturday night.....
sammyg
29th March 2006, 10:08
I agree on this one Paul and you are to be commended for this wonderful St Bernard's spray! The way they carry on, you would think that they've won more flags than Xavs.
Hollywood (or is that Bollywood in Altona?) Harvey gets around telling people that he plays for Hawthorn while he was playing for VFL side Box Hill. That's what I did as an 18 year old to pick up football groupies at the Star Bar!!! I think he needs to realise that he's 27, the "Dream is Over".
I'm, also told he doesn't mind giving the odd greasy to an Old Essendon acquaintance at the Prince of a Saturday night.....
Although he must be commended on the sheer amount of quality porn he used to send onto our old mate Alphonse.
froggie6
29th March 2006, 14:08
The stats speak for themselves. He even wins this years!
Do you actually play Froggie, or are you a spectator? I won't vehemently agrue with you about Kitchen, although I wouldn't call him soft. He does enjoy the cheap clip though.
Regarding Fleming, I reckon the odd stray elbow can be excused when you crash in like he does. There is no rule saying you can't give it back the other way either. So, if you do play and come up against Flemo this year, maybe have a crack at him and see what happens...[/quote]
Been stinging for another crack at him.
Plumber
30th March 2006, 14:10
And here I was thinking "Altona" was a Hawthorn player. I shouldn't have believed him when he said he spent New Years with Crawf, Dicko and Hodgey getting his eyebrows tinted.
Someone should tell the Bernards boys the type of girls who are impressed by "top up" VFL players are also the type of girls who make it painful for you to urinate when you are finished with them.
fish1
2nd April 2006, 15:07
Can anyone enlighten me as to why ross Mulquiney left Old Melbs to head back home to yarrawonga
brian speaking
2nd April 2006, 16:13
Can anyone enlighten me as to why ross Mulquiney left Old Melbs to head back home to yarrawonga
Apparantley he was asked to leave by coach Rice, the President etc.
Justin Pickering and Yonnie Stone tried to get him to leave but had no luck when the Catholics were running the show.
fish1
2nd April 2006, 20:52
i heard that but y did they want him out. not a team player? differing of ideas?
Slay Master G
3rd April 2006, 14:03
Big rumour for the VAFA forum.
The Big Cat Brent Walsh may have walked out on Old Trinity.
He was spotted running around with UNSW-ES down in Wollongong on Saturday and was quoted as saying that OT's had burnt him like a greasy sausage, especially the club's VAFA delegate and known Big Footy pest, who he said is the biggest rooster going around.
Surely OTs can't cover the loss of the Cat and Champ up forward. Could find themselves in B section next year....
brian speaking
3rd April 2006, 14:29
Big rumour for the VAFA forum.
The Big Cat Brent Walsh may have walked out on Old Trinity.
He was spotted running around with UNSW-ES down in Wollongong on Saturday and was quoted as saying that OT's had burnt him like a greasy sausage, especially the club's VAFA delegate and known Big Footy pest, who he said is the biggest rooster going around.
Surely OTs can't cover the loss of the Cat and Champ up forward. Could find themselves in B section next year....
Big news Slayer, they will be joined by Old Ivanhoe if that is the case. I heard from my spies at Scotch that Ivanhoes president was complaing about the fact that they have lost their forward line this year, as well as George Haros. I also believe Scotch had 15 players not playing on the weekend(may be not true) and that the G traiin palyed CHF for a half for some exercise. DAG could probably fill us in but the odds of De La staying up are improving daily.