View Full Version : Best Catch you have ever seen?

GOALden Hawk
30 Oct 2001, 07:41
What is the best catch you have ever seen at the cricket?

Mine would be the catch Steve Waugh took at the MCG in a one-day game in 1989. He was fielding at mid-off and ran all the way back to almost the sightscreen before taking the catch and running around behind it - the crowd went absolutely nuts!

The Hippie
30 Oct 2001, 14:33
John Dyson's in the outfield at the SCG in the 80's, at full stretch, over his head and leaping up off the ground. A classic catch if there ever was one.

dogboy23
30 Oct 2001, 15:45
Anything from Mark Taylor or Waugh.;)

ant
30 Oct 2001, 16:02
Adam Dale a few years back in a Merc game, full length dive and one handed catch at long off. Brilliant. :)

Bulldog1954
30 Oct 2001, 22:27
Fattys f***** catch

bunsen burner
30 Oct 2001, 23:06
When I was playing cricket in primary school, my brother ran in from the outfield and rode the mid-on fielder to take a speccy. He actually had his knee on this guys shoulder.

Apart from that, a toss up between John Dyson's catch and Adam Dale's.

Kangas_Big_Fan
31 Oct 2001, 04:52
aganst west indies or zimbarbwe earlier this year at SCG warne jumped arms at full length and got it brilliant i was watching it on tv though

gPhonque
31 Oct 2001, 10:18
Originally posted by Bulldog1954
Fattys f***** catch

Sadly, i have to agree. That was freaky.

Bloodstained Angel
1 Nov 2001, 10:24
John Dyson 81-82 vs Paki wasn't it ?

Mark Bosnitch eat yer heart out ...

Briedis
1 Nov 2001, 10:32
Originally posted by The Hippie
John Dyson's in the outfield at the SCG in the 80's, at full stretch, over his head and leaping up off the ground. A classic catch if there ever was one.

I was about to say that one....that should have won the "Sidchrome Classic Catches" for the next ten years!

AB's catch at 4th slip or gully against the kiwis in 1985 was also a ****in beauty!

The Doctor
1 Nov 2001, 10:38
An incredible caught and bowled by Greg Matthews of Ian Botham around 1986 in a one day game. Botham charged him and slogged straight back at him. Matthews somehow got his hand in front of his face and it stuck. If it didn't it would have decapitated him. The power of the shot also sent Matthews reeling backward cartwheel style onto the pitch. I don't know how he held it.

Honorable mentions to every catch taken by David Boon. :)

Dipper
1 Nov 2001, 21:54
David Gower catching Wayne Phillips in the 5th Test at Egbaston in 1985, Phillips had put up strong resistance to the English bowlers & there was hope that the Aussies would hold out for a draw.Edmonds bowled a short one Phillips cut the ball straight into the instep of Allan Lamb at silly point & the ball plopped up in the air for Gower to take a catch which effectively won us the Test & the series.There were no 3rd umpires then & perhaps the umpire shouldn't have given it (even though replays showed it to be out) but I'll always remember Phillips walking back to the pavillion crying(or is that just my imagination).This holds a special place for me as it is probably the last time that England will regain the Ashes in my liftime:( (& I'm only 29!)

The Hippie
1 Nov 2001, 22:21
Originally posted by The Doctor
An incredible caught and bowled by Greg Matthews of Ian Botham around 1986 in a one day game. Botham charged him and slogged straight back at him. Matthews somehow got his hand in front of his face and it stuck. If it didn't it would have decapitated him. The power of the shot also sent Matthews reeling backward cartwheel style onto the pitch. I don't know how he held it.

Hehe, reminds when I was playing in a final quite a few years ago, similar thing happened. I was bowling to a big hitter and he's driven it straight back up the pitch, the poor old umpire didn't have time to move and in self-preservation threw up a hand and never looked like spilling it. lucky he was a good fieldsman in his day, or he would have been in hospital too. :)

GoEagles
2 Nov 2001, 00:20
Mark Taylors 'self hacky sack' catch sticks in my head. Mark Waugh has caught a few rippers over the past few years too.

bunsen burner
2 Nov 2001, 02:34
a couple of recent ones that were pretty good:

1)The recent Indian Tour when the ball was smashed into Langer at short leg, it then bobbed up and Ponting came screaming through and made the dive. I don't belive many other cricketers would have had the forsight to be able to get anywhere near the ball.

2) Damien Martyns catch at mid-wicket. Maybe on the same tour.

3) Both mark Waugh and Ricky Pontings catches in the World Cup final. Inspirational.

DEVO
2 Nov 2001, 13:21
John Dyson's catch against the West Indies in 1981-82. I think Colin Croft was the Batsmen and Bruce Yardley the bowler.

Unbelievable.

Adam Dale's one hander at full stretch for Qld against NSW was pretty good as well.

The Doctor
2 Nov 2001, 13:25
Originally posted by The Hippie

Hehe, reminds when I was playing in a final quite a few years ago, similar thing happened. I was bowling to a big hitter and he's driven it straight back up the pitch, the poor old umpire didn't have time to move and in self-preservation threw up a hand and never looked like spilling it. lucky he was a good fieldsman in his day, or he would have been in hospital too. :)

what would have happened if it rebound off the umpire and you or a teammate caught it? :confused:

CJ
2 Nov 2001, 16:00
Basically any catch that BOONIE took! Even if he did catch them with his guts! :D

You sure as hell will never see me fielding that bloody close to the bat!

The Hippie
2 Nov 2001, 21:19
Good question, Doc. I'm not really sure about that one. Could just be a dead ball or could be the same as hitting a fieldsman and a 'live' ball, like Pontings catch in India after it hit Langer.

It happened so long ago, I can't remember what the umpy ruled now. :confused: Anybody else know what the ruling there would be?

Robbo1
7 Nov 2001, 08:11
It would would have to Fatty Vautin's catch. It was the best you will see, especially from an ex footy player. I highly doubt that any 1st class cricketer could out do that catch.

Fall Out Boy
7 Nov 2001, 08:25
It would have to be Boonie's flying catch at mid wicket to dismiss Brian Lara, which prompted the best sign ever:

"Boon Air: Fly the Chunky Skys"

Hoggy
7 Nov 2001, 08:41
Fattys f***** catch

lol what a ripper

But I reckon that the best catch ever was the one by Peter Taylor in 91/92 against India at the 'G when he stretched full-length in the air to take a one hander. This won the comp for the year.