Rnd 18: 3/08/02 SATURDAY v ST KILDA, 7:10pm @ FOOTBALL PARK

Rnd 19: 10/08/02 SATURDAY v CARLTON, 2:10pm @ OPTUS OVAL

Rnd 20: 18/08/02 SUNDAY v ADELAIDE, 2:10pm @ FOOTBALL PARK

Rnd 21: 24/08/02 SATURDAY v WEST COAST, 5.40pm @ SUBIACO

Rnd 22: 31/08/02 SATURDAY v BRISBANE, 2:10pm @ FOOTBALL PARK

Satay Mat
31 Oct 2001, 15:39
A pretty good draw for us I think:

We play these teams twice....generalll I would like these to be teams we would beat comfortably (ie better to play Freo twice than Essendon).

Kangas (13)
MLB (11)
Stk (15)
Carl (5)
Adel (8)
WCE (14)
Bris (2)

We do OK here with Carlton away and Brisbane being the most difficult. Nth, MLB, STK, WCE we should beat at home and away and Adeladie we should beat just because they are Adeladie.

of the rest who we play once we play these at home (normally I would like these to be the hardest team....if you onle play Essendon once then best to play it at home:

Geelong (12)
Collingwood (9)
Richmond (4)
WB (10)

Three easy wins in that you would think.

and these away

Hawks (6)
Essendon (1)
Fremantle (16)
Sydney (7)

We beat an undermanned Hawks this year in Melbourne....Essendon will be hard as will Sydney.

If anything I would swap the last two groups....our away games are much harder than our home games for those we play once and ideally this would be reversed.....however overall I do not know how we can complain.

Satay Mat

Porthos
31 Oct 2001, 15:50
Amount of travel (Syd, Bris, Tas, and Subiaco twice, with Subi & York Park being in a row), and lack of appearances at the MCG, Mat.

Also, Round 22 Port vs Brisbane at footy park....2.10pm is going to be pretty funny for people trying to find parking, hey.

Satay Mat
31 Oct 2001, 16:11
that's just an excuse for a sook mate....

bottom line.....its the middle of July and the AFL gives us a choice...you can play:

a) Essendon @ MCG
b) Freo @ Subi

which would you choose ???

Better to win @ Subi than lose at the MCG (not that we would of course !)

I also agree with Dan that Travel is Travel. Travelling to York Park is no different from travelling to Melbourne....and it takes it away from Hawthorn's home ground....so it is a plus.

Satay Mat

Nod
31 Oct 2001, 20:06
Overall I am satisfied with the draw.
Play in Perth, Sydney and Brisbane for 3rd year in a row.
However a good opportunity for wins and confidence in the first 6, and last 4 look to be tough games to prepare us for the finals.

Porthos
31 Oct 2001, 20:37
Originally posted by Satay Mat
that's just an excuse for a sook mate....

bottom line.....its the middle of July and the AFL gives us a choice...you can play:

a) Essendon @ MCG
b) Freo @ Subi

which would you choose ???

If I had a choice between, at some stage in the season playing....
Brisbane at Gabba and Essendon at Footy Park
or
Essendon at MCG and Brisbane at Footy Park...

I'd pick the Essendon at MCG pair every time. I dare say you would too. Comparing Essendon to Fremantle is going to distort any preference.

I also agree with Dan that Travel is Travel. Travelling to York Park is no different from travelling to Melbourne....and it takes it away from Hawthorn's home ground....so it is a plus.
Satay Mat

Sure, and I didn't have a problem with York Park if you actually read my reply to that post. The games I mostly had a problem with are games where we are playing MCG tenants and not playing them at the MCG, but at grounds like Optus Oval or Colonial. When you find out you're playing the Crows, you don't expect to be playing at Norwood Oval.

Port01
31 Oct 2001, 22:06
The only thing sure about the draw is that each year it is less a draw and more 'fixed'

All interstate clubs these days have to travel to each other, and the other teams that get the big travel schedules will be lower drawing teams like the bulldogs and saints.

The only thing I found random with this draw is that NORTH have to play us at FP. After finishing 13th the AFL must have revoked their gold pass to play us at the crappy ground of their choice.

Overall I don't think our draw is that bad. Out of the 7 we play twice you'd only consider Brisbane a shoe-in for the top 8. Carlton and North are both iffy at this stage.