View Full Version : Murray Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36

T.Perry
13 Nov 2006, 16:15
BREAKING NEWS

Big Footy followers are privileged with this exclusive out of the Tonny Footy Club.
Tatura and GV Rep Michael Roberts has signed on for 2007, also confirmed Simon Harrison, and Brett Henderson as Chairman of Selectors.

Not a bad start Hank - will be quality players for you, no doubt. Who else have you got on the cards?

In other news, believe Barooga have made a massive play for Tatura big man, Paul Kirby, who is still tossing up whether to take the massive pay increase at Tatura, or head up the Hume to either Wangaratta or Albury..

Doona2
13 Nov 2006, 19:26
Not a bad start Hank - will be quality players for you, no doubt. Who else have you got on the cards?

In other news, believe Barooga have made a massive play for Tatura big man, Paul Kirby, who is still tossing up whether to take the massive pay increase at Tatura, or head up the Hume to either Wangaratta or Albury..

Thought Kirbs had family involved at up Wodonga, aren't they in the race?

journeyman
14 Nov 2006, 16:43
Nathalia's Drew Barnes has been invited to try out at Richmond. Great effort

souts
14 Nov 2006, 19:09
Nathalia's Drew Barnes has been invited to try out at Richmond. Great effort

thats a huge effort if that news is correct. they looking to pick him up in the pre season draft? big loss for the purps but

Tatybulldog
15 Nov 2006, 07:37
Thought Kirbs had family involved at up Wodonga, aren't they in the race?
yeah he has got family there Doona! with kirbz at the moment i think he has made a decision in his head but just holding out on every1.

jetter18
15 Nov 2006, 07:52
Any truth in the rumour Barooga offered Yarrawonga centre half forward, Marcus McMillan $30000, couldnt see him leaving the pigeons though

Tatybulldog
15 Nov 2006, 07:54
Any truth in the rumour Barooga offered Yarrawonga centre half forward, Marcus McMillan $30000, couldnt see him leaving the pigeons though
thats alot of money!

themagicfrog
15 Nov 2006, 08:18
It would be nice to be able to spend that on one person! shurley not.

jetter18
15 Nov 2006, 08:22
Barooga's coach Matt Byers is reportedly on $37,000, lots of money i know but they must have it

themagicfrog
15 Nov 2006, 08:29
Barooga's coach Matt Byers is reportedly on $37,000, lots of money i know but they must have it

all reports had them in not a very good possy to be spending that kind of coin, but when you have sponsor like the sporties you are always safe

bystanding backman
15 Nov 2006, 09:18
all reports had them in not a very good possy to be spending that kind of coin, but when you have sponsor like the sporties you are always safe

Barooga have spent a lot of money over the last couple of years and look what its got them, surely the sponsers and other financial backers of the club would be getting fed up with the end results they have got the last couple of years. i know i would. but if they are getting all these gv and o&m players then it could be the year of the hawks in 07

bystanding backman
15 Nov 2006, 15:46
Souts,
Whats the latest news at tonny? Any new recruits? when do you reckon you'll start pre season or have you already.

showy#1
15 Nov 2006, 18:07
Souts,
Whats the latest news at tonny? Any new recruits? when do you reckon you'll start pre season or have you already.jed atkins carving up in the teretory i hear he is interested in going back to where he started his career at tongala after spliting with his wife any news on the story

Lightning McQueen
15 Nov 2006, 18:53
Can anybody tell me how Luke Eldridge went for Moama this year ?

jobbytonny
15 Nov 2006, 19:37
jed atkins carving up in the teretory i hear he is interested in going back to where he started his career at tongala after spliting with his wife any news on the story
Im sure we at Tonny would love to have Jed and his house mate at the moment playing here next year what do you reckon showy

souts
15 Nov 2006, 19:41
Souts,
Whats the latest news at tonny? Any new recruits? when do you reckon you'll start pre season or have you already.

bystanding backman,
mate, tonny singed mick roberts from tat, as harro let ya's all know. i have heard a few names around town patty ratray (spelling) was one to poped up a few times. heard that brendan gray from stanhope was a chance but he was unsure if he needed a reco on his knee. tonny have picked up a few locials who didnt play with us last year the two ohlsens and coxy. also the two harris boys, tim and nick both stars at u/16 level. sorry mate thats all i know hank and the recruitment committee keep their cards close to their chest. training start next friday, 24th i think, there have been a dozan playing in the gym for the past month but apart from that training starts friday, will be good to see some new faces on the track and hopefully we can push up the ladder.
souts

hank1
15 Nov 2006, 19:55
Im sure we at Tonny would love to have Jed and his house mate at the moment playing here next year what do you reckon showy

haha I like your work Jobby, am working on it.

showy#1
16 Nov 2006, 00:28
haha I like your work Jobby, am working on it.jobby i hear your flying up on the sixth we are primed for a big party mate you ready

Punter_22
16 Nov 2006, 10:10

Do Cobram have similar amounts of money to throw around as Barooga? Surely they couldn't have spent much last year.
Does anyone know much about Cobram's recruiting for next season? Is the new coach confirmed?
I have a mate moving up that way and he was thinking of playing with Cobram. I told him they would have to recruit close to a dozen handy players to even be competitive. Does anyone know if they are going to improve at all?

bystanding backman
16 Nov 2006, 10:30
Do Cobram have similar amounts of money to throw around as Barooga? Surely they couldn't have spent much last year.
Does anyone know much about Cobram's recruiting for next season? Is the new coach confirmed?
I have a mate moving up that way and he was thinking of playing with Cobram. I told him they would have to recruit close to a dozen handy players to even be competitive. Does anyone know if they are going to improve at all?

i may be a bit late someone may have mentioned it earlier but
In todays shepp news it was annouced Jason Kerr to coach Cobram he comes from the central murray football league and used to play O & M. haven't heard much about their recruiting not sure how much they will improve might be minimal. i don't think they have the same amount Barooga have the brooks clan and the sporties backing them, if they had the same amount to throw around surely they wouldn't have finished so close to the bottom.
Also if anyone is interested it is reported in the shepp news that Damian Sexton is coaching finley.

jobbytonny
17 Nov 2006, 07:49
jobby i hear your flying up on the sixth we are primed for a big party mate you ready
lm sure jo and alicia will be happy you just gave away the surprise trip they were planning but yer cant wait are you getting a kick

showy#1
17 Nov 2006, 10:14
lm sure jo and alicia will be happy you just gave away the surprise trip they were planning but yer cant wait are you getting a kicksorry bud she never told me it was a surprise yeah going alright on the footy side of things for an unfit bloke play my second match this weekend so should be improving a bit each week

centreman
19 Nov 2006, 16:56
What's going on at Moama. Who's coaching them?

coconut
20 Nov 2006, 12:33
Is Eamon Reeves still leaving Congupna to play at Shepparton? Will leave a big hole to fill on a wing at the road!!

themagicfrog
21 Nov 2006, 07:23
How is Echuca shaping up? Any losses? how does Darren Turner go?

Tatybulldog
21 Nov 2006, 11:04
How is Echuca shaping up? Any losses? how does Darren Turner go?
turner goes ok.
he is carrying about 15 kg to much though.
he is a head case. thinks he is awsome. but all in all if he goes to berrigan should kick a few goals!
he has also been to about 6 clubs in the last 4 or 5 yrs. left a club half way through the yr a while back!

hank1
21 Nov 2006, 12:41
turner goes ok.
he is carrying about 15 kg to much though.
he is a head case. thinks he is awsome. but all in all if he goes to berrigan should kick a few goals!
he has also been to about 6 clubs in the last 4 or 5 yrs. left a club half way through the yr a while back!

Has done that the past few years including last year, left Rumba to Echuca United halfway through.

Russ74
21 Nov 2006, 13:19
i may be a bit late someone may have mentioned it earlier but
In todays shepp news it was annouced Jason Kerr to coach Cobram he comes from the central murray football league and used to play O & M. haven't heard much about their recruiting not sure how much they will improve might be minimal. i don't think they have the same amount Barooga have the brooks clan and the sporties backing them, if they had the same amount to throw around surely they wouldn't have finished so close to the bottom.
Also if anyone is interested it is reported in the shepp news that Damian Sexton is coaching finley.

Kerr is a fantastic bloke and has been a sensational player. He is 38 or something but keeps himself in top order. He will still be a good player. He had little success up my way with Woorinen even though he had a handy list. I heard on the grapevine disciplined waned at his time here. Only 5/6 guys turning up to compulsory sessions and no consequences.

centreman
22 Nov 2006, 12:15
Adrian Hickmott has been appointed as the Gippsland Power Coach and Development Manager (full time).

hank1
22 Nov 2006, 15:56
Adrian Hickmott has been appointed as the Gippsland Power Coach and Development Manager (full time).

Big loss for Rumba, really turned the attitudes of the players around during this year and had them going in the right direction by years end. They will need to sign someone who will be able to follow on his good work.

souts
23 Nov 2006, 19:21
i heard tonight that barooga had singed greg stafford to play in 07, can someone comfirm this?

SLUGGA1
25 Nov 2006, 02:41
how are mulwala lookin 4 season 07, heard they have picked up a few players?

themagicfrog
26 Nov 2006, 20:55
whats peoples thoughts on the chance that the Murray FL GF might be a Sunday game as the PDFL will more tahn likley be on the same day this year?
A night Final is also on the agenda for the Leauges AGM in 2 weeks time.

souts
27 Nov 2006, 08:21
whats peoples thoughts on the chance that the Murray FL GF might be a Sunday game as the PDFL will more tahn likley be on the same day this year?
A night Final is also on the agenda for the Leauges AGM in 2 weeks time.

sundays bring in big crowd. i think thats a good idea but not the night game:thumbsd: i wouldnt like to be the best team all year in day time conditions and then lose a GF at night.

TheJuddstarr#3
27 Nov 2006, 13:30
hows echuca united goin to shape up next season guys? does anyone heard off omissions n gains so far?
ud think they would be around the mark again, and tryin to go one step further this time around...

willo1
27 Nov 2006, 15:23
Echuca United's senior list will remain the same as 2006. No new players have signed yet, but a couple of the thirds boys from this year, who have some senior experience will be stepping up to join the senior group. The Eagles will remain a force in 2007.

ringo1
28 Nov 2006, 11:03
Did hear that Leitchville? were raiding United and snared a couple of players.

Punter_22
28 Nov 2006, 12:08
Did hear that Leitchville? were raiding United and snared a couple of players.

Yeah I have heard that. Willo I don't think the list will stay the same.
I have heard Dale Reyne is off tripping around Australia and Jarrad Nuttall and Troy McMaster (who was the b+f winner two years ago before having a knee reco last year) are heading out to Gunny/Leitchy. They are three big losses and if you add to that that McCarty will probably retire, they are going to have to pick up some handy recruits to be up there again.

bearsboy
28 Nov 2006, 15:10
how are mulwala lookin 4 season 07, heard they have picked up a few players?Not as good as Gisborne old mate. :thumbsu: all the best anyway.

Sippawitz
28 Nov 2006, 15:32
Yeah I have heard that. Willo I don't think the list will stay the same.
I have heard Dale Reyne is off tripping around Australia and Jarrad Nuttall and Troy McMaster (who was the b+f winner two years ago before having a knee reco last year) are heading out to Gunny/Leitchy. They are three big losses and if you add to that that McCarty will probably retire, they are going to have to pick up some handy recruits to be up there again.
To the best of my knowledge, Reyne has re-signed. Luan Marsh has signed from Bendigo Bombers. Nuttal and McMaster join 3 other Eagles from last year who went to Leitchville chasing coin. Leitchy also chasing young Josh Edgar, ruckman from Echuca.

centreman
28 Nov 2006, 15:57
i heard tonight that barooga had singed greg stafford to play in 07, can someone comfirm this?

I';ve heard Shepp are spitting chips over Byers because they claim he's approached up to 10 of their senior players

souts
28 Nov 2006, 19:22
I';ve heard Shepp are spitting chips over Byers because they claim he's approached up to 10 of their senior players

Thats not good news for shepp mate, but did they expect anything different?

journeyman
29 Nov 2006, 11:01
Out to Barnes storm AFL

http://www.sheppnews.com.au/pics/NWS/20061129/cusworthm.jpg
Drew Barnes
http://www.sheppnews.com.au/pics/NWS/20061129/num4.jpg

November 29 2006
Shepparton News

Richmond Football Club continues to scour the Goulburn Valley for prospective talent, now turning its attention to Nathalia in search of the AFL's next big thing.
After already scooping the talentladen pool to the tune of Brett Deledio and Kane Pettifer (Kyabram), Chris Hyde (Barooga) and Daniel Connors (Echuca), the Tigers are zeroing in on two-time Murray Football League premiership player Drew Barnes.
The invitation to train gives 19-year-old Barnes a window of opportunity to impress selectors ahead of the pre-season draft midway through next month.
"I'm really happy to get this chance and I'm guessing it's going to be pretty full-on for the next couple of weeks," a delighted Barnes said yesterday.
"I'm not sure who put them on to me, but I received a letter basically inviting me to try out.
"My fitness may have dropped off a little bit since the season finished, but I'm working at getting that back again."

Barnes, along with rising Mooroopna star Jarrod Harbrow, ran a 2 km time trial on Sunday before the Tigers' hierarchy put them through their paces in a series of speedendurance activities.
"I was pretty happy with the time trial as I finished in the top three from the 15 that were trying out," Barnes said.
"I did the 2 km in 7 min 8 sec and while Jarrod was behind me he still did pretty well too."
This year's Purples best and fairest winner will no doubt cover some kilometres in forthcoming weeks, continuing his work at Bennett Sports in Echuca while pursuing his big break into the AFL.

akka dakka
29 Nov 2006, 11:36

I reckon it would be more the other way with players approaching Buyers as he is held in very high regard by all at Shepp.

Doozy_Man
29 Nov 2006, 13:46
I heard yesterday that former Murray Bomber player Ben Wilson is returning to Echuca from Perth next season. Moama are approaching him at this stage. Not sure if he will return to the Murray bombers. He played a fairly good year in Perth by all reports and snagged an A grade flag.

Can anyone else elaborate on this?

ringo1
29 Nov 2006, 16:14
Hows Perth Doozy?

Doozy_Man
30 Nov 2006, 09:23
Hows Perth Doozy?

Ringo - Never been there, but have a mate who plays with Wesley Curtin in the A's over there and he loves it.

no left foot
30 Nov 2006, 11:42
I heard yesterday that former Murray Bomber player Ben Wilson is returning to Echuca from Perth next season. Moama are approaching him at this stage. Not sure if he will return to the Murray bombers. He played a fairly good year in Perth by all reports and snagged an A grade flag.

Pretty sure Willo not coming back, back for xmas and thats it. If this off season is like any of his others he may have blown out anyway. Plenty of Murray Bombers boys been to see him over in W.A so would be a game move to come home and then play at Moama.

centreman
30 Nov 2006, 16:52
I reckon it would be more the other way with players approaching Buyers as he is held in very high regard by all at Shepp.

I'm not so sure of that Akka

hank1
30 Nov 2006, 20:14
I'm not so sure of that Akka

Byers not held in high regard at Shepp?

Wayne Weideman
30 Nov 2006, 20:59

fairly sure wilson will stay in perth next year. he loves it over there and likes playing for the footy club he is playing for in the north beach footy club. the post above sounds like the work of one b. wilson anyway?:D

hank1
1 Dec 2006, 06:27
Byers not held in high regard at Shepp?

Shepp News Today
Recently appointed Barooga coach Matt Byers has emphatically denied suggestions he has specifically targeted former Shepparton teammates for next season.
"I've heard those comments and I've a fair idea who's made them, but it's just not the case," Byers said.

"Like every season there's a lot of rumours flying around at this time of the year, but that one's not true."

A letter received by The News suggested Byers had actively sought to recruit former Bears teammates including Marc and Sean Harrap, Jeremy O'Brien, Nick Allan and Paul Mason, despite a public statement by Byers last month that Shepparton players were off-limits."I haven't and I wouldn't do that because I want to maintain a healthy relationship with the Shepparton Football Club," Byers said.

"A couple of guys indicated to me that they were keen to have a change of scenery and I'd be crazy if I didn't invite them to come and try out at Barooga.

"I've spent a lot of time at Shepparton and have a lot of friends there and don't want to be creating bad blood with them.

"Who's to say I mightn't have a crack at coaching the club one day down the track if that opportunity became available."

hank1
1 Dec 2006, 06:28
Wes Cusworth - Shepp News Today

We've hit the silly season and not just because Christmas is approaching.
It's that time of the year for player movement in football circles and accusations of poaching are flying thick and fast across the state, none more so than in the Goulburn Valley.

As the finger is pointed at various local identities, including 2005 Morrison medallist Matt Byers, some salient points need to be kept in perspective.

A coach's credibility in the modern era hinges on on-field success - pure and simple.

A coach is derelict in his duty to his employer - the club - if he fails at the end of the day to deliver results.

For that reason a coach must leave no stone unturned in his quest to assemble the most talented playing group possible for the club.

At times that objective is only achieved by aggressively pursuing players that meet the club's needs, undoubtedly stepping on a few toes along the way.

An alleged spate of offers to Shepparton players from Matt Byers is at the foundation of some angst expressed by some Shepparton supporters.

While I'm in no way privy to Byers' relationship with his former teammates and can't attest to the accuracy of the accusations levelled by the Bears, I can only imagine the former Goulburn Valley Football League star is simply doing his job in his new role.

At the end of the day Byers' success as a coach and consequently his potential to move up the coaching ladder and possibly back into the Goulburn Valley league is inextricably linked to the wins column while at the helm of Barooga.

If making overtures to players looking to broaden their football horizons is a part of that journey, then so be it.

While it's a convention in footy not to deplete a side when the opportunity for success presents itself to an individual elsewhere, the times they are a-changing.

Football is a business now, plain and simple.

akka dakka
1 Dec 2006, 09:06
Shepp News Today
Recently appointed Barooga coach Matt Byers has emphatically denied suggestions he has specifically targeted former Shepparton teammates for next season.
"I've heard those comments and I've a fair idea who's made them, but it's just not the case," Byers said.

"Like every season there's a lot of rumours flying around at this time of the year, but that one's not true."

A letter received by The News suggested Byers had actively sought to recruit former Bears teammates including Marc and Sean Harrap, Jeremy O'Brien, Nick Allan and Paul Mason, despite a public statement by Byers last month that Shepparton players were off-limits."I haven't and I wouldn't do that because I want to maintain a healthy relationship with the Shepparton Football Club," Byers said.

"A couple of guys indicated to me that they were keen to have a change of scenery and I'd be crazy if I didn't invite them to come and try out at Barooga.

"I've spent a lot of time at Shepparton and have a lot of friends there and don't want to be creating bad blood with them.

"Who's to say I mightn't have a crack at coaching the club one day down the track if that opportunity became available."

as I suspected centreman but a very good article by Wes(next article) nontheless. Some very valid points.

Sippawitz
8 Dec 2006, 08:03
This thread has been a bit slow, boys.

What's the word on pre-season training? Have many clubs started? Good numbers?

United has had a couple of runs with 15-20 blokes each time.

Trueblueroo
8 Dec 2006, 08:34
Mulwala must be rapted to pick up the best player in the RDFL! He is one of the best local and country footballers i have seen and played agianst! Good arial skills and doesn't miss the sticks all that often! JUst wondering what poeople thoughts are on his pick up and transfer to Mulwala! He will be the dominant forward in the league this year, easily kicking 80+ if he stays fit and injury free!

Tatybulldog
8 Dec 2006, 08:43
Mulwala must be rapted to pick up the best player in the RDFL! He is one of the best local and country footballers i have seen and played agianst! Good arial skills and doesn't miss the sticks all that often! JUst wondering what poeople thoughts are on his pick up and transfer to Mulwala! He will be the dominant forward in the league this year, easily kicking 80+ if he stays fit and injury free!
and who is this player?

Trueblueroo
8 Dec 2006, 09:11
Lee James from Riddell football club!

souts
8 Dec 2006, 09:16

is this bloke your boyfriend?

Trueblueroo
8 Dec 2006, 09:29
haha.... i like that one, you'll be kissing his arse to when ya dragged, for him tearing you and ya team a new ****************! Nah just a mate and a good player! Dissapointing to loose him from our comp after it had such a successful year! Was more of a heads up to let ya know what's expected from Mulwala this year!

souts
8 Dec 2006, 09:32
haha.... i like that one, you'll be kissing his arse to when ya dragged, for him tearing you and ya team a new ****************! Nah just a mate and a good player! Dissapointing to loose him from our comp after it had such a successful year! Was more of a heads up to let ya know what's expected from Mulwala this year!

what standed is the RDFL?

ringo1
8 Dec 2006, 10:34
The Riddell league is a reasonable standard- not as good as Murray, perhaps a bit better than KDFL.The majority of good players from the Riddell league area end up in the Ballarat and Metro leagues if they are chasing money.

hank1
8 Dec 2006, 11:53
This thread has been a bit slow, boys.

What's the word on pre-season training? Have many clubs started? Good numbers?

United has had a couple of runs with 15-20 blokes each time.

Tonny been going for 3 weeks, 30 on track first night and averaging 20 since.

Doona2
8 Dec 2006, 12:16
The Riddell league is a reasonable standard- not as good as Murray, perhaps a bit better than KDFL.The majority of good players from the Riddell league area end up in the Ballarat and Metro leagues if they are chasing money.

From someone who see's a bit of both comps Id say the RDFL & KDFL are the same standard, so guess we'll see how good Lee James is when he goes up a grade or two in standard. Very good player yes, but wont always have it his own way in the MFL.

howzat
10 Dec 2006, 20:03
From someone who see's a bit of both comps Id say the RDFL & KDFL are the same standard, so guess we'll see how good Lee James is when he goes up a grade or two in standard. Very good player yes, but wont always have it his own way in the MFL.He kicked 75 -80 goals this year 14-15 games struggled a bit with a knee and a finger . League B&F winner in 2005 with 120 odd goals . Will be missed by Riddell as they are shooting for a 3peat next year

Il Naso De Gastev
10 Dec 2006, 21:48
How do Mulwala continually recruit these big name players?? Shocking club with a terrible culture of in-fighting between committee members, players and supporters. *hit facilities and the playing surface is crap. Couldn't pay me enough to play there.

Are there really that many football mercinaries out there who will play anywhere as long as the price is right??

Doona2
10 Dec 2006, 22:40
Are there really that many football mercinaries out there who will play anywhere as long as the price is right??

Sure is :thumbsu:

Tatybulldog
11 Dec 2006, 07:00
How do Mulwala continually recruit these big name players?? Shocking club with a terrible culture of in-fighting between committee members, players and supporters. *hit facilities and the playing surface is crap. Couldn't pay me enough to play there.

they must be doin something right. kennedy is a great bloke and a super coach aswell. they are close to signing jake cowman also who kennedy coached while he was at united. jake would be goin up there for a packet to!

Go Cohuna
11 Dec 2006, 11:42
To the best of my knowledge, Reyne has re-signed. Luan Marsh has signed from Bendigo Bombers. Nuttal and McMaster join 3 other Eagles from last year who went to Leitchville chasing coin. Leitchy also chasing young Josh Edgar, ruckman from Echuca.
Are Nuttall and Mcmaster any good? The three chasing coin last year were Phil Hazelman who was ok, Ryan Prendergast who is a unco but can play the game and the last is little Dylan Stevenson who cannot even kick 25 metres.Josh Edgar plays reserves doesn't he.

ringo1
11 Dec 2006, 18:40
Doesnt seem much on nathalia guys. where are they at? are they going for 3 in a row or are some of their players leaving?

journeyman
12 Dec 2006, 10:44
Doesnt seem much on nathalia guys. where are they at? are they going for 3 in a row or are some of their players leaving?

Nathalia are going well, appointed a coach in house who will keep all the crew together. The three gemmills, Parker all staying. Barnes missed out on rookie draft today so I imagine him and Ryan Butler will play VFL but qualify to play finals for Nathalia. That's just what I imagine, I haven't spoken to either of them.

By looks of it they will not lose as many as they did after the 2005 flag..

They've lost Snelson, Lucas would be unlikely to do what he did again but he does have close ties with the coach.

Like all clubs they're talking to plenty of players but I know they are going to put a lot of energy in getting Vallender back from Benalla, Quinn from Kyabram and Ramsdale from Yarra.

roaring tiger
13 Dec 2006, 19:51
Tip for the top 6 in 2007

1Barooga
2Nathalia
3Mulwala
4E United
5Numrkah
6Tocumwal
7Deni
8Congupna
9Rumbalara
10Tongala
11Finely
12Moama
13Cobram

ringo1
14 Dec 2006, 07:01
:thumbsu: Thats a great effort Tiger but I think Congupna may push right into the top 5 or 6

Tatybulldog
14 Dec 2006, 07:12
1Barooga
2Mul
3E United
4Nathalia
5Numrkah
6Tocumwal
7Congupna
8Deni
9Tongala
10Rumba
11Finely
12Moama
13Cobram

bystanding backman
14 Dec 2006, 08:51
Nathalia
Barooga
Mulwala
Eunited
Tocumwal
Congupna
Numurkah
Finley
Deni
Rumba
Tongala
Cobram
Moama

journeyman
14 Dec 2006, 09:07
1Barooga
2Mul
3E United
4Nathalia
5Numrkah
6Tocumwal
7Congupna
8Deni
9Tongala
10Rumba
11Finely
12Moama
13Cobram

That's a massive drop for Nathalia when they're going to have pretty much the same side.

bystanding backman
14 Dec 2006, 09:11
That's a massive drop for Nathalia when they're going to have pretty much the same side.

I think the only reason tatybulldog put barooga and mulwala on top is because of all the talk about them and not much of nathalia.

Tatybulldog
14 Dec 2006, 10:55
I think the only reason tatybulldog put barooga and mulwala on top is because of all the talk about them and not much of nathalia.
i was chatting with a mate from nathalia and he said they will be loosing a few. he said parker isnt a certainty either. so thats why i think nathalia will drop off.

journeyman
14 Dec 2006, 10:59
i was chatting with a mate from nathalia and he said they will be loosing a few. he said parker isnt a certainty either. so thats why i think nathalia will drop off.

Parker 100% staying.... we'll have to wait and see if they drop off.

cackles23
14 Dec 2006, 11:04
Agree....Nathalia still have to be bench mark i reckon until someone seriously challenges them but would expect Barooga and Mul too this season, might make an interesting finals series for a change

bystanding backman
14 Dec 2006, 11:04

i had a meeting with the coach the other day and the only couple so far that are going is Snelson, Lucas, Butler and Barnes but butler is keen to have nathalia as his second club not sure about barnes. The rest of the boys are keen to go for a try at a third flag in a row because of the long drought that was between these two flags and the one in 1978

Tatybulldog
14 Dec 2006, 12:21
i had a meeting with the coach the other day and the only couple so far that are going is Snelson, Lucas, Butler and Barnes but butler is keen to have nathalia as his second club not sure about barnes. The rest of the boys are keen to go for a try at a third flag in a row because of the long drought that was between these two flags and the one in 1978
they are some very big outs though, have u guys picked up any?...... mul is still in talks with cowman from shepp united and if they get him my tip for the final is barooga vs mul!
haha and poor old cobram to claim the wooden spoon!

Appin Vet
14 Dec 2006, 13:00
Nathalia
Barooga
Mulwala
Eunited
Tocumwal
Congupna
Numurkah
Finley
Deni
Rumba
Tongala
Cobram
Moama

How many leagues are there represented by the clubs that are playing in the Murray FL. I know that Rumbalara were in the Central Goulburn before being allowed to join the Murray league. Moama, Echuca United were with Northern Echuca as well. Is that all or is there more??

Tatybulldog
14 Dec 2006, 13:43
How many leagues are there represented by the clubs that are playing in the Murray FL. I know that Rumbalara were in the Central Goulburn before being allowed to join the Murray league. Moama, Echuca United were with Northern Echuca as well. Is that all or is there more??
tongala were in the GV

sparra
14 Dec 2006, 13:49

Was Barooga in the Picola league and Mulwala in the Tungamah league?

Tatybulldog
14 Dec 2006, 13:56
Was Barooga in the Picola league and Mulwala in the Tungamah league?
yeah barooga was in the piccola league many many yrs ago!

bystanding backman
14 Dec 2006, 15:58
they are some very big outs though, have u guys picked up any?...... mul is still in talks with cowman from shepp united and if they get him my tip for the final is barooga vs mul!
haha and poor old cobram to claim the wooden spoon!

like most clubs nathalia is in talks with a few players. yes on paper they are big outs but lucas played a handful of games, snelson came halfway through the year, butler and barnes will hopefully qualify for finals if that happens. but i still think you are writing nathalia off way to early.

Sly Dog
14 Dec 2006, 17:25
wots the reason for the blokes leaving nathalia. is it retirements, money other clubs??

hank1
15 Dec 2006, 05:55
wots the reason for the blokes leaving nathalia. is it retirements, money other clubs??

Lucas lives in WA (so travel is a bit of an issue!!), Barnes, Butler having a crack at higher standard footy. Snelson dropping back a league(KDL).

Tatybulldog
15 Dec 2006, 07:04
jake cowman to mulwala! definant.

centreman
18 Dec 2006, 12:32
Is kyle archbold going to sign with barooga?

clackas
18 Dec 2006, 12:51

Archibald met with Yarra, Albury and Lavington in the O&M over the week end. Likley to go to Albury I understand due to connection with Spargo when at Richmond.

jetter18
18 Dec 2006, 12:53
Barooga are chasing him very hard but whether they win the race for his signature only time will tell

superfred
18 Dec 2006, 20:05
can anyone tell me if the dashingly handsome specimen of a man mr lee wonderfull james has trained with his new club yet ???
will be some good times around the club with this boy there very funny and also very strange person will be interesting to see if he can take the step up as rdfl wouldnt be rated to highly on many peoples list although he did tear the place apart

centreman
19 Dec 2006, 09:54
Barooga are chasing him very hard but whether they win the race for his signature only time will tell

I'd reckon Barooga might be in the box seat. Plenty of cash to splurge and he lived with Tim O'Dwyer in Melb when he was at Richmond.

t-mac
20 Dec 2006, 20:56
can anyone tell me if the dashingly handsome specimen of a man mr lee wonderfull james has trained with his new club yet ???
will be some good times around the club with this boy there very funny and also very strange person will be interesting to see if he can take the step up as rdfl wouldnt be rated to highly on many peoples list although he did tear the place apartthought he was going to the rockbank rams? didn't you say super?;)

bomberboy_19
27 Dec 2006, 19:59
Is Eamon Reeves still leaving Congupna to play at Shepparton? Will leave a big hole to fill on a wing at the road!!

Nah i heard he was stayin at the road next year, apprently had talks but is staying, can anyone tell me how congupna are going to look for 07,

GREENMAN
28 Dec 2006, 07:01
Nah i heard he was stayin at the road next year, apprently had talks but is staying, can anyone tell me how congupna are going to look for 07,
new to this comp but not to football..............Moama, word is they have recruited the one of gurus who set up Gisborne Football club, and they have won 4 out of 5 Priemierships lately............only way is up with this guy at the club, may take a year or 2 but watch out Murray League, with Roger Toll now at Moama, they will so be flying..................good to see a country club address its off field issues with quality men.............a word of warning..............hes best mates with Mick McGuane, hows it sound................McGuane to coach Moama in a year or two.......remember this prediction

hank1
28 Dec 2006, 08:19
new to this comp but not to football..............Moama, word is they have recruited the one of gurus who set up Gisborne Football club, and they have won 4 out of 5 Priemierships lately............only way is up with this guy at the club, may take a year or 2 but watch out Murray League, with Roger Toll now at Moama, they will so be flying..................good to see a country club address its off field issues with quality men.............a word of warning..............hes best mates with Mick McGuane, hows it sound................McGuane to coach Moama in a year or two.......remember this prediction

McGuane was the reason Gisborne have had so much success, yes Toll got him there in the first place. Can't see McGuane stepping back to the country, I'm sure that there will be jobs downtown for him for many years to come. The inclusion of Stevens at Moama is a huge bonus and maybe he is the man they will look to to lead them post 2007 and be Moama's McGuane!

Sticks23
29 Dec 2006, 08:00
McGuane was the reason Gisborne have had so much success, yes Toll got him there in the first place. Can't see McGuane stepping back to the country, I'm sure that there will be jobs downtown for him for many years to come. The inclusion of Stevens at Moama is a huge bonus and maybe he is the man they will look to to lead them post 2007 and be Moama's McGuane!

Speaking of recruits how are Moama shaping up for season 2007??? Players Ins/Outs, i've heard a few have left!!! Is Clarke still coach??