View Full Version : Murray Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36

hank1
29 Dec 2006, 09:45
Speaking of recruits how are Moama shaping up for season 2007??? Players Ins/Outs, i've heard a few have left!!! Is Clarke still coach??

Believe they have lost Troy Gread, Ricky Windridge, Adrian Dohnt and Rory Priddle, so have a bit of work to build from there as they would have been in there best half dozen this year.
Former Fitzroy player Chris Waterson has taken over the reins from Clarke, and Anthony Stevens is the Junior Development Officer.
They have picked up Travis Wayman from Tallygaroopna in the KDFL, Full Forward who has kicked 200 goals over the last two years but would be now on the wrong side of 35.

Sticks23
29 Dec 2006, 10:10
Do you know where Dohnt has gone to??? He is a gun!!!! Tough in and out player, he will be sorely missed by the moers!!!! Hopefully they can pick up a few and improve in 07!

hank1
29 Dec 2006, 10:46
Do you know where Dohnt has gone to??? He is a gun!!!! Tough in and out player, he will be sorely missed by the moers!!!! Hopefully they can pick up a few and improve in 07!

Across the Murray to Echuca in the GV

Sticks23
29 Dec 2006, 11:01
Across the Murray to Echuca in the GV

He will go well if he is able to remain injury free, gun player who can run forward and kick goals.

galloping gasometer
30 Dec 2006, 13:42
McGuane was the reason Gisborne have had so much success, yes Toll got him there in the first place. Can't see McGuane stepping back to the country, I'm sure that there will be jobs downtown for him for many years to come. The inclusion of Stevens at Moama is a huge bonus and maybe he is the man they will look to to lead them post 2007 and be Moama's McGuane!

McGuane is signed to coach Balwyn in the Eastern Football League in Melbourne. I think for 2 years and I know the club has plenty of business owners throwing heaps of dough in this year.
Balwyn major sponsor this year as has been for the last 3-4 is a brothel. Imagine the best on ground awards....

mercs
30 Dec 2006, 20:26
Speaking of recruits how are Moama shaping up for season 2007??? Players Ins/Outs, i've heard a few have left!!! Is Clarke still coach?? I no they have high hopes that Trav Wayman will kick goals for them, he played in a couple practive matches last year for them and kicked bags but ended up playing for Tally

floyd00
30 Dec 2006, 20:43
Speaking of recruits how are Moama shaping up for season 2007??? Players Ins/Outs, i've heard a few have left!!! Is Clarke still coach??
is David "Daffy" Rhode still playing or has he given up the boots? Went to school with the fellow.

nesko_25
31 Dec 2006, 14:14
Ricky Windridge. were is he heading?

hank1
31 Dec 2006, 16:02

Can't remember, was it back to Rochy or may have been up North I think

ringo1
31 Dec 2006, 17:18
is David "Daffy" Rhode still playing or has he given up the boots? Went to school with the fellow.

No Daffy retired about 2 years ago- a great player.:thumbsu:

Juddernaut3
2 Jan 2007, 11:20
News out of Deni, recently appointed Seniors Coach Chris Mitsch has announced his resignation.

The reason stated in the Pastoral Times was that a number of players had threatened to leave the club if he was to continue on as coach for the 2007 season.

There has been no official appointment of a new coach, but word is that current players Leigh Marshall and Troy Bartlett will share the role.

mercs
2 Jan 2007, 17:54
News out of Deni, recently appointed Seniors Coach Chris Mitsch has announced his resignation.

The reason stated in the Pastoral Times was that a number of players had threatened to leave the club if he was to continue on as coach for the 2007 season.

There has been no official appointment of a new coach, but word is that current players Leigh Marshall and Troy Bartlett will share the role. have Deni got the ability to be powerhouse again or is there depth of players not there anymore

The One Who Watches
2 Jan 2007, 18:30
I no they have high hopes that Trav Wayman will kick goals for them, he played in a couple practive matches last year for them and kicked bags but ended up playing for Tally

Wayman is a sheepdog. He is lazy. Wasn't up to the Picola League so shot through to the KDFL. No way he would be committed enough to achieve anything in the Murray League.

:thumbsd: :thumbsd: :thumbsd:

mercs
2 Jan 2007, 19:00
Wayman is a sheepdog. He is lazy. Wasn't up to the Picola League so shot through to the KDFL. No way he would be committed enough to achieve anything in the Murray League.

:thumbsd: :thumbsd: :thumbsd: He will have to lift his game then, they are paying a nice price for him

souts
2 Jan 2007, 19:40

There has been no official appointment of a new coach, but word is that current players Leigh Marshall and Troy Bartlett will share the role.

Bad news for deni, but couldnt have happened to a better club

Juddernaut3
2 Jan 2007, 19:43
have Deni got the ability to be powerhouse again or is there depth of players not there anymore

Alot of their better players are being offered big dollars from other towns, mostly clubs from the CMFL.

But with those players having close ties to Marshall and Bartlett off the field, I could see many of them staying to play under them.

They have a number of strong young players who will get progressivly better, and should be enough to see them reach the finals. Not too sure how well they will match up againest the Mulwala's and Nathalia's, but if they can stay injury free, unlike last season, they will be very competitive.

The loss of key on-baller Andrew Donaldson will be a huge loss. Was a NSW/ACT state representative at the country championships last year.

8ightball
2 Jan 2007, 19:43
Believe they have lost Troy Gread, Ricky Windridge, Adrian Dohnt and Rory Priddle, so have a bit of work to build from there as they would have been in there best half dozen this year.
Former Fitzroy player Chris Waterson has taken over the reins from Clarke, and Anthony Stevens is the Junior Development Officer.
They have picked up Travis Wayman from Tallygaroopna in the KDFL, Full Forward who has kicked 200 goals over the last two years but would be now on the wrong side of 35.

Where is Priddle playing next year and is the new coach a playing coach, also is Stevens going to play?

hank1
3 Jan 2007, 06:15
Where is Priddle playing next year and is the new coach a playing coach, also is Stevens going to play?
Priddle Picola United, New coach may play unsure but hasnt for four years. Stevens no.

Doona2
3 Jan 2007, 08:01

Player revolt roasts Ram

By Wes Cusworth and Nathan Holahan
January 3 2007
Shepparton News

Deniliquin Rams are in the hunt for a new coach after the shock resignation of Chris Mitsch late last week.

"A group of senior players met and expressed their concern with Chris continuing as coach," Rams president Wayne Pitts said yesterday.

"Some indicated that they would leave if he continued and as a consequence Chris decided to stand down in the best interests of the club."

Mitsch took the reins at the Murray Football League club in 2005, following the four-peat premiership success of predecessor Gary Parsons.

Mitsch said the news that he did not have the support of all players "came out of the blue".

I spoke to them at the end of last season and they told me they were excited and wanted to play under me," Mitsch said.

"I personally hope these blokes that caused all this trouble now realise that they have a responsibility to commit to the club.

"The club can now expect a longterm commitment from these players."

Pitts said the club was still looking at its options for a replacement coach, but had not ruled out the possibility of 2005 assistantcoach Leigh Marshall stepping up into the role.

Diamonddave
3 Jan 2007, 09:11

i agree big time. lazy as

roaring tiger
3 Jan 2007, 09:54
I also heard that moama had signed Shane Thorne from Dimboola in the wimmera football league where he kicked 6 goals in there grand final loss this year. I think he is from Darwin but will be a handy recruit by all reports.

mercs
3 Jan 2007, 12:54

:thumbsd: :thumbsd: :thumbsd:sheepdog my ass mate the only sheepdog is the one who watches and doesnt play sounds like you!!PS you must be a old katandra player who did get a game under Trav!!!your user name should be i ve a chip on my shoulder

WOODLANDS
3 Jan 2007, 13:08
sheepdog my ass mate the only sheepdog is the one who watches and doesnt play sounds like you!!PS you must be a old katandra player who did get a game under Trav!!!your user name should be i ve a chip on my shoulder

mercs, have you got a split personality or somethin you have already replied to that quote on page 68 and didnt seem to upset by it, but now you've paid out on the one who watches,

just wonderin why the change???

mercs
3 Jan 2007, 13:32
mercs, have you got a split personality or somethin you have already replied to that quote on page 68 and didnt seem to upset by it, but now you've paid out on the one who watches,

just wonderin why the change??? Sorry Woodlands but mate went in and done reply just to stir me up and no I dont have split personality

Jim Main
3 Jan 2007, 18:25
We would love to have trav wayman at our club !
The man can get the ball and kick goals and if i rember right he kicked that one piont in the grand final.
Thats how much they won buyWayman is a sheepdog. He is lazy. Wasn't up to the Picola League so shot through to the KDFL. No way he would be committed enough to achieve anything in the Murray League.

Jim Main
3 Jan 2007, 18:28
Hey dose anyone know anything about garry kelly that plays at tocamwal

bluey99
3 Jan 2007, 18:45
Sorry chef but mate went in and done reply just to stir me up and no I dont have split personality
hey woodlands can u whip me up something im kinda hungry

hank1
3 Jan 2007, 20:07
We would love to have trav wayman at our club !
The man can get the ball and kick goals and if i rember right he kicked that one piont in the grand final.
Thats how much they won buy

Yeah he has really turned it on, when it counts!!

Jim Main
3 Jan 2007, 20:36
Thats what u want from a player, when u need somthing done u look to the good ones and they step up!Yeah he has really turned it on, when it counts!!

TTrain
3 Jan 2007, 21:45
Yeah he has really turned it on, when it counts!!hank1 would you have him in your side!!!:thumbsu:

TTrain
3 Jan 2007, 21:47
Yeah he has really turned it on, when it counts!!i agree to that hank1 i have seen him turn it on in games aswell.

TTrain
3 Jan 2007, 21:49
Thats what u want from a player, when u need somthing done u look to the good ones and they step up!jim you seem to know your footy well you must be a coach!!

TTrain
3 Jan 2007, 22:17

:thumbsd: :thumbsd: :thumbsd:i was looking around and come across this about trav wayman what drugs are you no mate i would have to agree with mercs quote 1st get your facts right he letf katandra(which he kicked 70 odd goals from 12 or 13 games) to play with mates over wang way the next year and then played with shepp east(kicking goals and played many positions) for 2 years then went to tally(once agrain kicking goals over 280 in the 3 years at tally )and has been great for them on and off the field so not bad for a what sheepdog you say i througth a sheepdog played around packs not at fullforward,chf,fullback,chb & in the centre so once again not bad for a bloke at he's age i should know i coach him over the years & found him great ok he can be a bitter lazy but i think he can been and get away with it he still gets kicks and not often he gets beaten!! sorry for the essay but it ********s me when people put footballers down remember we all play footy for defferent reasons!!!ps the one who watches he wants to step the grade just like kellett not like some young blokes who hide in the lower levels to get the easy money or to scare to push them selfs so who are the lazy footballers!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:****************

hank1
4 Jan 2007, 06:17
hank1 would you have him in your side!!!:thumbsu:

Yes would be the one word answer. But tried to get him last year and Moama threw a packet at him then and he didnt go so can imagine the amount this year. So No on the proviso of what we would have to pay him.

I think you all missed my point about the GF, I was actually being sarcastic, was probably Trav's worst game for the year and I think Trav would be first to admit that, but hey he got the medal around his neck.

obi 1
4 Jan 2007, 08:18
Has anyone heard the rumour that Adam Skrobalak may be playing at Barooga if the grounds dont come up in Geelong.
This great man kicked 100 last year in the Bellerine league which is similar to the murray league and coach torquay to a flag.

What are Barooga like? and how would they go with a 6'6 gun full forward ruckman?

sparra
4 Jan 2007, 08:52
Has anyone heard the rumour that Adam Skrobalak may be playing at Barooga if the grounds dont come up in Geelong.
This great man kicked 100 last year in the Bellerine league which is similar to the murray league and coach torquay to a flag.

What are Barooga like? and how would they go with a 6'6 gun full forward ruckman?

Don't be talkin yourself up too much mate

souts
4 Jan 2007, 08:55

they should give the flag a crack with out skrobalak in their team

Doozy_Man
4 Jan 2007, 17:46
Don't be talkin yourself up too much mate
I have heard of this bloke, didn;t he play TAC cup a few years ago?

I thought he retired because of a knee injury?

Sticks23
5 Jan 2007, 12:25
Were is Rory Priddle playing in 07??? Very overrated player when playing at Moama, was on big$$$$ not sure why!!!!

hank1
5 Jan 2007, 12:27
Were is Rory Priddle playing in 07??? Very overrated player when playing at Moama, was on big$$$$ not sure why!!!!

Has been mentioned a few times Sticks, but Picola Utd is his destination and probably on bigger $$$.

obi 1
5 Jan 2007, 14:45
I have heard from a guy i work with that he knows one of the players from Barooga. I dont actually know skrobalak, i have seen him play over the last two years and i follow the side he is meant to be coaching.

So get off your pogo stick mate and answer the question.

Snail
7 Jan 2007, 16:26
Why when he kicked 1oo goals & coached torquay to a flag was he sacked at seasons end. Strange

19th Man
7 Jan 2007, 16:57
Why when he kicked 1oo goals & coached torquay to a flag was he sacked at seasons end. Strange

A simple death threat to someone involved around the club, and frequent misbehavoir at major sponsor's pub proved costly

Doona2
7 Jan 2007, 18:23
A simple death threat to someone involved around the club, and frequent misbehavoir at major sponsor's pub proved costly

Id reckon that'd do it :eek:

galloping gasometer
8 Jan 2007, 15:21

I heard it was only a chinese burn and that he goes pshyco on lemon, lime and bitters. The sugar gets him every time.

19th Man
8 Jan 2007, 23:18
I heard it was only a chinese burn and that he goes pshyco on lemon, lime and bitters. The sugar gets him every time.

Maybe he should change to Pepsi Max- "It's ok, there's no sugar"
And with all these bushfires, any sort of "burn" can be dangerous!

Doona2
10 Jan 2007, 10:44
Hawks feather their midfield

January 10 2007
Shepparton News

Seymour whippet Gerard Liddell will hold down a new midfield next season after signing with Barooga on Monday.

Hawks coach Matt Byers said the pint-sized on-baller was a welcome addition to his side, which is shaping to become a formidable finals contender.

"We heard he was on the move . . . so we would have been mad not to make an approach," Byers said.

"He's a great player and played in both their premiership sides.

"And he will be great for our on-ball division to play alongside Damien and Rowan O'Callaghan."

Byers said Liddell, a builder in Seymour, would continue to train the majority of the time at Kings Park with the Lions.

"It's important for him to get to the camp when we do game plans and things like that," Byers said.

"But we've got a few travellers from Melbourne already.

"It is hard, but he's professional enough to go about it correctly."

Liddell said a change of scenery was necessary after playing the majority of his career at Seymour.

"I just felt like I need a change," the dual premiership player said.

"Hopefully we can have more success at Barooga.

"I know a couple of blokes on the committee and they seem like they will have a crack."

Having committed to the Hawks for 12 months, Liddell said he was pleased he was leaving Seymour on good terms and that he would like to return there in the future.

Barooga begins its first postChristmas pre-season run at 10 am Sunday at Barooga Recreation Reserve.

Doona2
10 Jan 2007, 10:50
Geez a few of you lads could have some fun with this invitation from the Shepp News . . . .

It's football's silly season.

Players are weighing up club loyalties, ensuring their career progression and chasing a buck for the new season.

So tell us who's coming to your club.

Email sport@mcmedia.com.au or phone 5820 3228.

roaring tiger
10 Jan 2007, 11:43
You would think Barooga would be favourites for the flag now with more signing's. Has anyone heard if they have lost any of last season's players?

mercs
10 Jan 2007, 11:49
You would think Barooga would be favourites for the flag now with more signing's. Has anyone heard if they have lost any of last season's players?

Nathalia and Mulwala should be in the top three with them

bathy mac
10 Jan 2007, 12:14
apparantly moama's Kirk Teasdale is looking for another club after falling out with coach Chris Waterson already.

fork tongue
10 Jan 2007, 12:32
apparantly moama's Kirk Teasdale is looking for another club after falling out with coach Chris Waterson already.

any reasons that you know of bathy????

and how did you come up with that name??

Snail
10 Jan 2007, 13:22
Have asked this before without much response so ill ask again. I come across to echuca every easter to ski & get on the sauce at good friday game united v moama. moama seemed to have lost the plot last few years fighting, poor skills and seem to play without any game plan or direction. good facilities so whats the problem?

Yaaablett
10 Jan 2007, 13:43

Doesn't Waterson want "The Big Tease".

ANT JESS
10 Jan 2007, 14:14

Ricky-boy is heading up to Queensland with a german backpacker mate and is planning on continuing the trip around the world with his mate. Was thought that even if he was to be in Victoria he still may not of been playing footy this year. Will be missed by Moama I would have thought. Hope all goes well for him!!:)

fork tongue
10 Jan 2007, 14:18
Doesn't Waterson want "The Big Tease".

who is this bloke teasedale anyway??

Punter_22
10 Jan 2007, 14:50
who is this bloke teasedale anyway??

A handy twos player who played two or three matches with the seniors last year. As far as I know, he was never super keen to play senior football. Just ran around in the twos for a bit of fun.

obi 1
11 Jan 2007, 09:15
Skrobalaks brother was hit with a baseball bat and rumours are he made a call the person that done this. i think you would all do the same.

I seen him last week at the torquay pub and spoke with him. The sponsorship had nothing to do with the sacking.
Maybe you should ask why 40 players were willing to walk with him?

Rumour is he is going up to Barooga in the next month for a look around, but still waiting on grounds in Geelong.

McCool
11 Jan 2007, 15:07
Have asked this before without much response so ill ask again. I come across to echuca every easter to ski & get on the sauce at good friday game united v moama. moama seemed to have lost the plot last few years fighting, poor skills and seem to play without any game plan or direction. good facilities so whats the problem?

snail, apparantly after todd viney's first year as coach (2003?) when they lost the prelim he told all the older senior players (most had kids) that unless they all did a full pre-season then they would find it hard to get a game the next year. thus after a very successful previous 10 years they all of a sudden lost 12-15 quality senior players (95% gave the game away) who couldn't committ 150%. viney must have made a mistake and thought he was living the 24/7 life & demands of a afl player/coach.

needless to say the past few years have been very much re-building due to losing so many players at once. also the same very reliable source (re viney) said this year the club is back in the black for the first time in a few years after major $$ issues with the running of the books.

you are right though, very good facilities and a great club from all reports.

hank1
11 Jan 2007, 20:40
Tongala signings so far; Michael Roberts (Tat)
Matt Ohlsen (Rushy, returning)
Daniel Cox (Rushy, returning)
Simon Harrison (Stanhope)
Kyle Harrison (Stanhope)
How are other sides going, here a bit about Barooga obviously and that Nathalia will have most of last years side fronting up again, Echuca Utd similar although Hueston has been training at his old club Shepp Utd. Mulwala looking good. Toc will improve picked up Pollard and Warnett from Tat, and Downie from Yarroweyah. Moama struggling, Any news on other clubs?

mercs
11 Jan 2007, 20:52
Tongala signings so far; Michael Roberts (Tat)
Matt Ohlsen (Rushy, returning)
Daniel Cox (Rushy, returning)
Simon Harrison (Stanhope)
Kyle Harrison (Stanhope)
How are other sides going, here a bit about Barooga obviously and that Nathalia will have most of last years side fronting up again, Echuca Utd similar although Hueston has been training at his old club Shepp Utd. Mulwala looking good. Toc will improve picked up Pollard and Warnett from Tat, and Downie from Yarroweyah. Moama struggling, Any news on other clubs?

Apparently Rumbalara has got a policy that if you have played 200 games for the club you ordimatically get $200 a game. I presume this is to get there old players back. I think Mark Atkinson is coaching them this year, so when he usually coaches them he gets the best out of them. So they could be a surpirse packet this year, but I would not say a premiership threat.

boora
11 Jan 2007, 21:54
Rumba have got afew players coming back clint edwards, alan thorpe, a couple of boys from the WAFL possibly, a couple of afew players from a premiership side and are speaking to afew others around the traps.

i think that 6 or 7 guys who would of been automatic starters last year, injurys, displinary reasons etc are committing so they should go ok.

with that automatically getting $200 a game is wrong, they have a very good scheme for all players 6, 12 and 18 games ex amount of dollars etc.

Jim Main
12 Jan 2007, 06:22
Alan thorpe is still contracted with the club that he played at last year .
He will be staying there.Rumba have got afew players coming back clint edwards, alan thorpe, a couple of boys from the WAFL possibly, a couple of afew players from a premiership side and are speaking to afew others around the traps.

i think that 6 or 7 guys who would of been automatic starters last year, injurys, displinary reasons etc are committing so they should go ok.

with that automatically getting $200 a game is wrong, they have a very good scheme for all players 6, 12 and 18 games ex amount of dollars etc.

mercs
12 Jan 2007, 07:16
Rumba have got afew players coming back clint edwards, alan thorpe, a couple of boys from the WAFL possibly, a couple of afew players from a premiership side and are speaking to afew others around the traps.

Thanks for confirming the $200 game thing because I found it hard to beleive also. If a players is not worth it why would you pay it unless he is bringing players to the club

themagicfrog
12 Jan 2007, 07:32

Is Edwards one of those players from the WAFL, and how does he go?

Doona2
12 Jan 2007, 08:03

Nunga Edwards will be very very handy with a season on WAFL experience under his belt. Thought Thorpey was saying up at Wakool after kicking 80 odd in a premiership side.

boora
12 Jan 2007, 09:56
Alan thorpe is still contracted with the club that he played at last year .
He will be staying there.

everyone knows that a contract is not worth anything and word is that he wants to go and help out at Rumba. Wakool will lose afew of the melbourne boys this year probably, i would think with matty graham, harro and a couple of others not going back i can't see thorpey staying.

boora
12 Jan 2007, 09:58
Nunga Edwards will be very very handy with a season on WAFL experience under his belt. Thought Thorpey was saying up at Wakool after kicking 80 odd in a premiership side.

Nunga's will be very handy and he other 2 from the wafl will be also if they decide to stay aswell.

i think the travel and a couple of the other boys ain't going back, so he is considering helping out mark atkinson at Rumba.

Doona2
12 Jan 2007, 10:53
Nunga's will be very handy and he other 2 from the wafl will be also if they decide to stay aswell.

i think the travel and a couple of the other boys ain't going back, so he is considering helping out mark atkinson at Rumba.

Rumba a chance to get Harro back, and Adam Kearney would be handy too if he's leaving Wakool also.

boora
12 Jan 2007, 11:18
Rumba a chance to get Harro back, and Adam Kearney would be handy too if he's leaving Wakool also.

i think harro has retired, don't know what adam and the other boys are doing, maybe thorpey can get them to go to rumba for a season they have a really good payment plan this year and it will benefit all senior players which is a good thing.

i heard that leighten briggs, joel ritchie, josh atkinson, jade mathyssen and a couple of others are putting in big pre season's, so all these guys will be like new recruits considering that they only played 3 or 4 senior games between them all.

how's your recruiting going doona?any boys from yea heading in your direction or any ex dv boys maybe?

boora
12 Jan 2007, 11:21
Thanks for confirming the $200 game thing because I found it hard to beleive also. If a players is not worth it why would you pay it unless he is bringing players to the club

the payment arrangements i hear are set payments for senior players win/lose or draw and with every senior game you play it goes up.

i reckon that is a good idea and it will make players work hard on the track/games and hopefully there is a fine system in place non attendance at training/send off's etc and that will be a good thing for the club and community.

come to think about it, i might try to get fit and pull on the boots agin.

themagicfrog
12 Jan 2007, 12:10
i think harro has retired, don't know what adam and the other boys are doing, maybe thorpey can get them to go to rumba for a season they have a really good payment plan this year and it will benefit all senior players which is a good thing.

i heard that leighten briggs, joel ritchie, josh atkinson, jade mathyssen and a couple of others are putting in big pre season's, so all these guys will be like new recruits considering that they only played 3 or 4 senior games between them all.

how's your recruiting going doona?any boys from yea heading in your direction or any ex dv boys maybe?

How does leighten briggs go?

Doona2
12 Jan 2007, 13:00

Briggs coulda been anything I reckon, in the 4 years I was involved in competition against you blokes he was always the main bloke we tried to negate.

Broady will be competitve, I have Billy Neilson coming home as an assistant, but aint spoke to any other Yea blokes wouldnt be good form as I enjoyed some great successes with some great people over at Yea and have too much respect to poach from em.

Doona2
12 Jan 2007, 13:00

Real good :thumbsu:

iwantanotherflag
12 Jan 2007, 14:20
What do you guys think of a Murray & Picola League merger? Makes 28 teams. Play in 3 divisions. Ten in div 1, 9 in div 2 and 9 in div 3. Would be some sort of promotion/relegation system. I don't know if you would base it on senior ladder position or club champion points. Food for thought?

Div one would be the top ten from MFL
Div two would be bottom 3 MFL and top 6 PDFL
Div three would be bottom 9 PDFL

Any thoughts?

boora
12 Jan 2007, 14:24

only played 2 or 3 games last year, but would be very vital to rumba's midfield this year, why the interest?are you from a certain pdfl team?

iwantanotherflag
12 Jan 2007, 14:53
Where is Leighthen off to?

bystanding backman
12 Jan 2007, 15:06
What do you guys think of a Murray & Picola League merger? Makes 28 teams. Play in 3 divisions. Ten in div 1, 9 in div 2 and 9 in div 3. Any thoughts?

With piccola league having a lot of smaller towns and murray having a bit bigger on towns is it still a disadvantage for the smaller towns i mean do they really ever have a chance of playing in div 1 cause that would be everyone's aim.

Sounds like an idea that has a bit of merit to it.

themagicfrog
12 Jan 2007, 15:17
only played 2 or 3 games last year, but would be very vital to rumba's midfield this year, why the interest?are you from a certain pdfl team?

Have heard his name mentioned a few times and was just wondering!

boora
12 Jan 2007, 15:26
Where is Leighthen off to?

heard that a pdfl team was chasing him, but i don't think he will leave rumba, family ties/travel etc.

boora
12 Jan 2007, 15:27
Have heard his name mentioned a few times and was just wondering!

would a certain coach have mentioned his name to ya :D

themagicfrog
12 Jan 2007, 15:31
would a certain coach have mentioned his name to ya :D

Might Have:rolleyes:
You can only ask.

iwantanotherflag
12 Jan 2007, 15:38
With piccola league having a lot of smaller towns and murray having a bit bigger on towns is it still a disadvantage for the smaller towns i mean do they really ever have a chance of playing in div 1 cause that would be everyone's aim.

Sounds like an idea that has a bit of merit to it.

I don't think all teams would be looking for Div one. But it would allow for a bit of movement when teams get strong or weak. Barooga was a PDFL team remember! And Berrigan & Strathy were also MFL teams, look at where they are now!!

I cannot see a Tungamah League reform, but a three tiered system 'Murray Valley Football League' would have several advantages. Promotion and relegation would have to be very careful.

bathy mac
12 Jan 2007, 15:59
The big tip from Moama is Kirk "the big easy" Teasdale has had a massive off season on the weights and could nearly cement a place in the seconds. He has also kicked off a campaign to have the Moama rec reserve named after himself. If anyone has any thoughts on this i would love to hear them.

mercs
13 Jan 2007, 11:31
I don't think all teams would be looking for Div one. But it would allow for a bit of movement when teams get strong or weak. Barooga was a PDFL team remember! And Berrigan & Strathy were also MFL teams, look at where they are now!!

I cannot see a Tungamah League reform, but a three tiered system 'Murray Valley Football League' would have several advantages. Promotion and relegation would have to be very careful.

yep I reckon your on the money with this one, but the old Tungamah format would be the answer to fixing this issue. The other thought was that the Murrray league will stay the same and the NSW and area sides would play in the Coreen league and the Picola would stay the same with the rest of the teams:(

willo1
14 Jan 2007, 20:39
Moama Football Club are really showing how desperate they are for players. A large sign plastered across the front gate to their home ground reads: "PLAYERS WANTED, Call 035480xxxx". I dont think you could get much more desperate than that to try and gain players.

Adrian Dohnt will kick ass in GV for Echuca. Best move he has ever made leaving Moama. Restricted talent playing with that bunch of nuffies.

boora
14 Jan 2007, 20:51
Moama Football Club are really showing how desperate they are for players. A large sign plastered across the front gate to their home ground reads: "PLAYERS WANTED, Call 035480xxxx". I dont think you could get much more desperate than that to try and gain players.

Adrian Dohnt will kick ass in GV for Echuca. Best move he has ever made leaving Moama. Restricted talent playing with that bunch of nuffies.

I don't think that is desperate, more like doing all they can to get new recruits around the club and being open to all avenues of player recruiting.

whats more desperate is when coaches/clubs promise players big amounts of cash and don't come good with the cash that reeks of desperation.

hank1
15 Jan 2007, 06:19
I don't think that is desperate, more like doing all they can to get new recruits around the club and being open to all avenues of player recruiting.

whats more desperate is when coaches/clubs promise players big amounts of cash and don't come good with the cash that reeks of desperation.

Any club in particular Boora?

boora
15 Jan 2007, 09:36
Any club in particular Boora?
there are a couple who shall remain nameless (not in gv area), nothing more deperate than promising players the world and not delivering on your promises.

no left foot
15 Jan 2007, 10:10

Not normally on the Murray League thread but have the odd look:
Willo: Notice you really like paying out on Moama whenever you can. However mate Echuca Football Club had a similiar sign up in the Caledonian Hotel, guess they are desperate as well. Doesnt cost anything and if you get one quality player out of it, definatley worth it especially in a tourist town with so many people passing through. As for calling them nuffies, you have to play them yet so make sure you get a kick, would hate to see you get towelled up a by a nuffy.

dexstar
15 Jan 2007, 16:12
im not from this league i was just wondering how mul should go this year and any pick ups

hank1
15 Jan 2007, 17:18
im not from this league i was just wondering how mul should go this year and any pick ups
Top 3 or 4. Rumour is that Jake Cowman Ruckman from Shepp Utd is going there, a full year out of Stevens will help.

souts
15 Jan 2007, 17:42

gee willo mate i think you have put your neck on the line here you better play well against them.......but should be ok pal cos there nuffies

Tatybulldog
16 Jan 2007, 14:39
P Kirby trained with tocumwal last week. might be one of the recruits of the pre season if they sign the big red head from the kennel!

Run Straight
16 Jan 2007, 18:16
P Kirby trained with tocumwal last week. might be one of the recruits of the pre season if they sign the big red head from the kennel!

Geez, he's hawking himself around a bit.

mercs
16 Jan 2007, 18:22

Has he trained at other clubs to has he?

Doona2
16 Jan 2007, 19:52

Good on him I say. There are plenty of players far less talented than Kirbs that do the same - at least whoever gets him is guaranteed a proven performer, unlike many of the recruiting disasters you hear about each season.

willo1
16 Jan 2007, 20:54
Not normally on the Murray League thread but have the odd look:
Willo: Notice you really like paying out on Moama whenever you can. However mate Echuca Football Club had a similiar sign up in the Caledonian Hotel, guess they are desperate as well. Doesnt cost anything and if you get one quality player out of it, definatley worth it especially in a tourist town with so many people passing through. As for calling them nuffies, you have to play them yet so make sure you get a kick, would hate to see you get towelled up a by a nuffy.

Yeah well i played against them last year and got cleaned up plenty of times (head shots, kicking, the lot!) so im not too worried about this year. I think i should be able to handle it.

howzat
17 Jan 2007, 08:06
Anyone know if Parker is going around again at Nathalia ?

journeyman
17 Jan 2007, 09:39
Anyone know if Parker is going around again at Nathalia ?

Yes he is.