View Full Version : Murray Football League
Doozy_Man
17 Jan 2007, 09:54
I heard today from a very reliable source whilst I was in shepp that Ben Wilson is on the move back to Victoria and will be playing at Moama or Echuca. Young Josh Maddox has gone over to South Adelaide and the position at the Echuca F.C was once Wilson's, however Moama want him to do the same role at their club. He is looking at which role he would like to take up???
Be a good pick up for the mowers!
Also heard the Josh Edgar is crossing the river to play at Mowers?
Anyone confirm this?
FOOTYBOSS
17 Jan 2007, 10:28
P Kirby trained with tocumwal last week. might be one of the recruits of the pre season if they sign the big red head from the kennel!
I was talking to Leon Higgins in one of the pubs during my holidays in tocumwal and he state that they were chasing a good ruckman and wouldnt mind finding a really good goal kicker.
Yeah well i played against them last year and got cleaned up plenty of times (head shots, kicking, the lot!) so im not too worried about this year. I think i should be able to handle it.
you must really think you can play willo, no wonder you were cleaned up. 'head shots, kicking, the lot!' haha what a crock. i bet the moama boys might have a supply of tissues when/if you arrive at the front gate. most of them couldn't hurt a fly when we played them, and are decent blokes. good luck playing netball this year
aunt_bunny
17 Jan 2007, 13:13
Yeah well i played against them last year and got cleaned up plenty of times (head shots, kicking, the lot!) so im not too worried about this year. I think i should be able to handle it.
sure you weren't playing an intra club game at echuca united :p
cozza15
17 Jan 2007, 20:12
Willow getting kicks! (even if its to his face...prob do some inprovements) Thats quite funny!! Be serious for a moment mate... you couldnt get a kick in a karate fight.
I take it willo plays for Echuca United, because mate of mine playing his first year at Moama just curious
cozza15
17 Jan 2007, 20:16
Yeah, he's a little t&*ssa that talks big on this, quite funny actually. Who's ur mate?
Trav Wayman he was going to play last year but some reason did not, but this year he is. When I spoke to him last he had not found out about training when it was starting. Maybe u no
cozza15
17 Jan 2007, 20:21
Nah sorry mate i dont. But i'm tippin if they havent started yet, they wont far away. Went watched Echuca United play once or twice... there supporters....umm...rock heads comes to mind!
Big crowds when Echuca United and Moama play and is there a good rivary there to
oldstyle
18 Jan 2007, 11:49
Moama will need more then Trav Wayman to work there way up the ladder
oldstyle
18 Jan 2007, 11:52
I heard that Clint Campbell is not going back to Numurkah as he is staying at Tally can anyone confirm this.
saints03
18 Jan 2007, 12:33
Can any1 please tell me if brett vallender is heading back to nathalia?
journeyman
18 Jan 2007, 12:41
Can any1 please tell me if brett vallender is heading back to nathalia?
He's returned to the Nathalia
Bradley21
18 Jan 2007, 12:53
I heard that Clint Campbell is not going back to Numurkah as he is staying at Tally can anyone confirm this.
Old style you idiot. Who cares if he goes back he is only a u 2nds player.
Any news from the Cobram camp? I spoke to someone tied up with the club and he said that they expected to have a big off season of recruitment and restructuring. Any news/thoughts?
my thoughts are that cobram will have a hard long season
they would need 18 recruits to be competitive after last year performance
The One Who Watches
18 Jan 2007, 18:03
they would need 18 recruits to be competitive after last year performance
Might be time to be proactive and move them into the Picola League ahead of the big merger.:D
well that could be possability, it must be hard for them with Barooga next door who are cashed up and always will be. I no there jumpers are not exactley the same but would they have to change there jumber. re katamatite
Jim Main
18 Jan 2007, 20:23
What are u saying mercs kattys jumper is still the tigers:confused::confused::confused:well that could be possability, it must be hard for them with Barooga next door who are cashed up and always will be. I no there jumpers are not exactley the same but would they have to change there jumber. re katamatite
Gee, surely thats a bit premature, only new to the Murray League but haven't Cobram been consistent finals contestants over the last decade until last year, most clubs have to have a go down the bottom every now and then. I'm sure they can get themselves back up in the mix in the not too distant future.
Exactly, I agree with what Hank has said. They will get back up the top no doubt, by throwing them into the Picola League it would not be appealing to prospective players. I was just wanting to know if they have recruited or not?
oldstyle
19 Jan 2007, 09:23
Spoke to Brett Vallender last night in pub and he is back home at Nathalia, Also purps have signed 2 others and hoping to secure services of a 05 gun.
who are they mate?
oldstyle
19 Jan 2007, 11:03
I heard they were talking to Lee Ramsdale on returning and Chris Atkins from Kyabram.
bystanding backman
19 Jan 2007, 12:25
I heard they were talking to Lee Ramsdale on returning and Chris Atkins from Kyabram.
you said they already signed two others who would they be are you able to elaborate.
oldstyle
19 Jan 2007, 14:28
They signed one from Yarrawonga and one from North Albury but not sure of there namess.
If you had to choose a premiership favourite at this early stage you would go with Nathalia with Barooga and Mulwala closely behind
Trent the flight Steward
19 Jan 2007, 14:47
Any chance of the rankins pulling on a magpie gurnsey this year?
Any truth in Paul White is going back home to play for numurkah, they sure would enjoy his in and under hardness
bystanding backman
19 Jan 2007, 14:53
If you had to choose a premiership favourite at this early stage you would go with Nathalia with Barooga and Mulwala closely behind Nathalia may have a big competitor in Barooga with all the names that are linked to them, but other than that it would be much the same wouldn't it
Any truth in Paul White is going back home to play for numurkah, they sure would enjoy his in and under hardness Didn't Paul play mostly two's for numurkah ??????
journeyman
19 Jan 2007, 14:54
They signed one from Yarrawonga and one from North Albury but not sure of there namess.
The Yarrawonga one is Craig Hicks. Think he used to be vice captain at Yarra in his younger years. Really courageous defender who's had a fair few injuries. He's coming back from a knee and wont be right until about round 5. He's good mates with the coach.
Luke Quinn has come back after having a good year at Kyabram.
Not sure of the name of the Nth Albury one or if they've def signed him, they're chasing ramsdale but he hasn't worked out if he'll play at Nathalia or Yarra.
They're after a few others but no signatures yet. Haven't lost many though and all their big names are staying- they'll be tough to beat.
crimsonwarrior
19 Jan 2007, 19:38
No doubt about the courageous quote, puts his head over the ball and very solid in the backline. Great reputation for backing up his team mates. Is said to be recovering very well from a knee reco. Keep an eye out for this bloke, he can play!
The Yarrawonga one is Craig Hicks. Think he used to be vice captain at Yarra in his younger years. Really courageous defender who's had a fair few injuries. He's coming back from a knee and wont be right until about round 5. He's good mates with the coach.
Not sure of the name of the Nth Albury one or if they've def signed him, they're chasing ramsdale but he hasn't worked out if he'll play at Nathalia or Yarra.
They're after a few others but no signatures yet. Haven't lost many though and all their big names are staying- they'll be tough to beat.
Kick it to me
19 Jan 2007, 19:54
Very true about Craig Hicks. O+M career was injury riddled, will take on quality forwards and do the job. If hes on board theres a big chance to get Lee Ramsdale onboard as they are pretty tight. Nathalia will be very hard to beat.
If you had to choose a premiership favourite at this early stage you would go with Nathalia with Barooga and Mulwala closely behind
Heard yesterday from a Mul player that Jake Cowman from Shepp United will sign with Mulwala plus 5 other quality players but not sure of their names - 2 from Yarra a some from Melbourne - sounds like they will be much stronger than last year!
Kennedy still coaching them? and Cooper having another kick there as well?.
Kennedy still coaching, but if you haven't heard, Cooper is coaching Benalla.
Back there coaching as a non playing role, I thought there was a bit of bad blood when he left there last time due to him committing to Benalla and as soon as the United job came up he took it
Yeah very surprised they forgave and forgot, but other options fell through, Tony Pasquali was there no.1 choice but couldnt committ full-time. Believe he will see how his body pulls up and whether Symes plays.
It will be an interesting year then, but I suppose he still has young Stevo there who is with his sister Allison
akka dakka
20 Jan 2007, 08:51
Coops said to me he definately wouldn't be playing. That was back in November so he could change his mind I suppose
Can his body handle a season of GVL footy
akka dakka
20 Jan 2007, 09:01
Can his body handle a season of GVL footy
I'm pretty sure thats where he was coming from
speedster
21 Jan 2007, 09:22
who are the higher profile recriuts that have come into the league and what clubs have they gone too
chicken38
22 Jan 2007, 17:17
Might Have:rolleyes:
You can only ask.
you trying hard to get players are yah cheers magic frog
themagicfrog
23 Jan 2007, 07:29
you trying hard to get players are yah cheers magic frog
Only asking the question, How's your preseason going? heard your name mentioned again last night.
Kick it to me
23 Jan 2007, 12:26
Any word on how Finley will shape up?
Is Matthew Daniel doing a pre season. I hear he's back in the area. He is a quality player. He played for them a few years back before moving up Gosford way.
Tatybulldog
24 Jan 2007, 07:25
who has been carving it up on the track for their club?
mars bar
24 Jan 2007, 09:41
who are the higher profile recriuts that have come into the league and what clubs have they gone too
Heard a whisper that Anthony Farrant has signed with Moama. No higher profile recruit than that getting round in country footy at the minute.
fork tongue
24 Jan 2007, 10:27
Heard a whisper that Anthony Farrant has signed with Moama. No higher profile recruit than that getting round in country footy at the minute.
i also hear they have signed an additional physio, 2 doctors and a full-time massage therapist, they will be in heavy demand when this ageing veteran hits the track.
On The Money
24 Jan 2007, 10:54
Might be a few Murray League supporters with something to say after Shepp News journo's Christie Puecker's opening to her article today about Jake Cowan joining Mulwala.
She writes that Cowman is the latest GV player to defect to a minor league!!
Cowman signs with the Lions
By Christie Peucker
January 24 2007
Shepparton News
Mobile ruckman Jake Cowman has become the latest Goulburn Valley Football League player to defect to a minor league after committing to Mulwala.
Cowman yesterday confirmed he would leave Shepparton United for at least a season to join the Lions, where he will begin training this week.
"I was just seeking a change," Cowman said.
"I wanted to have a kick with Keya (Mulwala coach Chris Kennedy) because this will probably be the last year he'll be pulling on the boots. And Nathan Parker, we're all pretty good mates."
The agile big-man, who in the off season has shaken off a bruised heal injury from last year, said his move would not be permanent.
"I'm looking at this for a year," he said. "(United) is always going to be my home."
Kennedy, Cowman's former thirds coach with the Demons, said he would relish the opportunity to once again work with the 2002 under-18 Neil Haymes medallist.
"I'm looking forward to having a bit more of a hand in his development," Kennedy said.
"Jake was one of the premier ruckmen in the Goulburn Valley, so I'd expect him to be a premier ruckman in our league."
He said the addition of Cowman to his ruck line-up would add another dimension to his side, which finished third last year.
"Justin McCabe, who is a dual best and fairest for our side, plays more of a ruck-roving role," he said.
"Jake is a little bit taller and his tap-work is terrific.
"They are very different types of players, so we can match them up to what suits us."
Cowman joins a number of key pick-ups for the lakeside club including 2006 Liddell District Football League leading goalkicker Lee James and Yarrawonga midfielder Paul Bance.
Might be a few Murray League supporters with something to say after Shepp News journo's Christie Puecker's opening to her article today about Jake Cowan joining Mulwala.
She writes that Cowman is the latest GV player to defect to a minor league!!
Yes OTM picked up on that also, should expect a retraction in tomorrows news surely?
journeyman
24 Jan 2007, 11:46
Yes OTM picked up on that also, should expect a retraction in tomorrows news surely?
You've played in a few leagues, how do you rate the Murray League's teams?
How do they stand up to Bendigo, GV and KDL?
You've played in a few leagues, how do you rate the Murray League's teams?
How do they stand up to Bendigo, GV and KDL?
Although I havent got out on the park in Murray league yet, should be right to go this year, Bendigo League very much the same, although influx of players into Murray League this year could put them ahead. Best couple of KDL sides last year might have scraped home against Cobram after they lost Bradshaw, but remember would still be hard to match up on there better players, Tamburro, Merritt, Bunn, Shelley, they would all dominate against most KDL players.
Nathalia, Mulwala, Barooga and Echuca Utd would push for finals and be very competitive in GV IMO. Bottom 4 or 5 Murray sides wouldnt have won a game in the GV last year i would think.
akka dakka
24 Jan 2007, 15:47
[quote=hank1;6596232]Although I havent got out on the park in Murray league yet, should be right to go this year,
Look forward to seeing your results Hank - hope it all goes well:thumbsu:
oldstyle
24 Jan 2007, 16:00
Mars bar you must be a mate of Farrants to speak that highly of him as i heard is ok but lets see how he goes in a side like Moama as he wont have much support unless they have recruited a number of players.
chicken38
24 Jan 2007, 18:41
Only asking the question, How's your preseason going? heard your name mentioned again last night.
going well not doing to much doing wieght training and putting heaps on might need a good trainer to help me out on the injurys but
do u no any new and up an coming trainers that couldnt make the grade as player and became a trainer )
Are most sides playing in the Barooga Night Series? Or have you got any other practice matches lined up? We have decided not to compete in the Night series this year as we found the travelling on the weeknights a bit much. Playing Kyabram on the 31st of March at Tonny and will have another one on the 24th, yet to be confirmed.
Tatybulldog
25 Jan 2007, 07:20
Are most sides playing in the Barooga Night Series? Or have you got any other practice matches lined up? We have decided not to compete in the Night series this year as we found the travelling on the weeknights a bit much. Playing Kyabram on the 31st of March at Tonny and will have another one on the 24th, yet to be confirmed.
hank ol' son how is the muscle man goin out there?? has he appeared at trainging yet?
themagicfrog
25 Jan 2007, 07:21
going well not doing to much doing wieght training and putting heaps on might need a good trainer to help me out on the injurys but
do u no any new and up an coming trainers that couldnt make the grade as player and became a trainer )
If you keep putting it on, no amount of tape will be able to make you look thin, that stuff is only so flexible. Maybe you should try selling your excess by the Kilo, you'd make a fortune, we all know thats quality meat:D
Punter_22
25 Jan 2007, 08:38
That is a joke isn't it Mars Bar? Anthony Farrant played four or five games with Moama last year but his body wasn't up to it. His knees are shot from several operations and his back is also dodgy. Yeah his dad played in an AFL premiership but he is so far from the highest profile recruit getting round in country footy that I am assuming this is just a laugh. He is a top bloke though.
Doozy_Man
25 Jan 2007, 09:39
Although I havent got out on the park in Murray league yet, should be right to go this year, Bendigo League very much the same, although influx of players into Murray League this year could put them ahead. Best couple of KDL sides last year might have scraped home against Cobram after they lost Bradshaw, but remember would still be hard to match up on there better players, Tamburro, Merritt, Bunn, Shelley, they would all dominate against most KDL players.
Nathalia, Mulwala, Barooga and Echuca Utd would push for finals and be very competitive in GV IMO. Bottom 4 or 5 Murray sides wouldnt have won a game in the GV last year i would think.
To be honest I don;t think Echuca United would come close to any side in the G.V or O & M, they all play for them selves and don;t have near enough guns to play against the major league sides. They always talk about being competitive in the G.V but they are kidding themselves.
Rascal99
25 Jan 2007, 09:45
Has anyone heard any news on deni?? Seems pretty quiet there after the coaches resignation a couple weeks back.
Have they got a new coach yet? any new signings?
hank ol' son how is the muscle man goin out there?? has he appeared at trainging yet?
Yeah making it over twice a week most weeks, is looking in good shape as always.
To be honest I don;t think Echuca United would come close to any side in the G.V or O & M, they all play for them selves and don;t have near enough guns to play against the major league sides. They always talk about being competitive in the G.V but they are kidding themselves.
Fair points Doozy man, do agree they can be a side that does that, which comes back to there recruiting, and that stuck out when they got Turner halfway through after he couldnt toe the line at Rumba, not too many sides around the district would have been interested in taking him on board if teamwork was high on their priorities.
no left foot
25 Jan 2007, 10:47
I am with Doozy man on this one, have a look at Echuca United's last 5 or 6 blokes and then compare them to Shepparton, Euroa or Echuca's who didnt make GV finals and i think the GV sides have them covered. They would have to beat Shepp Swans who finished 6th and IMO wouldnt get close.
What are your thoughts on Nathalia, could they make the finals in GV?
Sippawitz
25 Jan 2007, 10:54
Pretty interesting observations, Doozy.
have not seen any evidence of United pumping themselves as a potential GV side, it was hank's suggestion in his post that they would be competitive against GV teams. It's a bit of a waste of time debating it anyway, but would've thought that the top 3-4 teams in Murray league would acquit themselves quite well against most GV sides.
As for being a team with no guns and playing for themselves, if that's your considered opinion, then fine, but the Eagles got by alright last year on that basis. the challenge for them will be to maintain themselves in the the top bracket of the league.
no left foot
25 Jan 2007, 11:01
What are your thoughts on Nathalia, could they make the finals in GV?
Didnt watch Nathalia play a game all year, but they are obviously the stand out side. Have a number of players who played really, really well in the GV in the past. I think their top bracket players would no doubt have an impact in the GV but maybe question the 2nd half of their list. Interesting man to talk to would be Dylan Butler. Finding it hard to draw a form line though with hypothetical situation. I guess they would have the best chance of any MFL side of have an impact in the GV. One thing for sure they do have some real quality footballers.
Agree is a hard one, but think there evenness across the board with four of five standouts, no passengers would sneak them in.
bathy mac
25 Jan 2007, 11:19
As mentioned Moama wingman Kirk Teasdale has launch a campaign to have the Moama rec reserve named after himself. I can now confirm he is very close to achieving this, so all of you visiting players can look forwrd to playing on the "Joy Boy" oval when they play Moama at home.
Well done Kirk, dreams can come true!
no left foot
25 Jan 2007, 11:21
Agree is a hard one, but think there evenness across the board with four of five standouts, no passengers would sneak them in.
I disagree i think there is a big difference in the footy, but if any side in the MFL was to give the GV sides a shake would be Nathalia. End of the day things go in cycles remember Tongala played GV finals then were terrible for a while in GV and now look like they are coming good.
have not seen any evidence of United pumping themselves as a potential GV side, it was hank's suggestion in his post that they would be competitive against GV teams. It's a bit of a waste of time debating it anyway, but would've thought that the top 3-4 teams in Murray league would acquit themselves quite well against most GV sides.
As for being a team with no guns and playing for themselves, if that's your considered opinion, then fine, but the Eagles got by alright last year on that basis. the challenge for them will be to maintain themselves in the the top bracket of the league.
Sippawitz has beaten me to it here. I haven't heard of Echuca United pumping themselves up to be at a GV standard either. The only subject spoken about on BigFooty that is even remotely close would be wanting to remain in the MFL after turning down the possibility of joining a reformation of the Northern Echuca Football League. And i do agree that the top core teams of the MFL would give the GV competetion a shake, but i suppose we will never know.
I believe Nathalia would have a fair crack at some of the top GV teams but i cant see them lasting at the top for much longer with some of the aging blokes on their list. They will not be backed up by their juniors as both teams at Un. 14 and Un. 17 level have failed to make a finals series in many years, since the Gemmills', Buttler's and Barnes' were playing.
journeyman
25 Jan 2007, 12:23
Sippawitz has beaten me to it here. I haven't heard of Echuca United pumping themselves up to be at a GV standard either. The only subject spoken about on BigFooty that is even remotely close would be wanting to remain in the MFL after turning down the possibility of joining a reformation of the Northern Echuca Football League. And i do agree that the top core teams of the MFL would give the GV competetion a shake, but i suppose we will never know.
I believe Nathalia would have a fair crack at some of the top GV teams but i cant see them lasting at the top for much longer with some of the aging blokes on their list. They will not be backed up by their juniors as both teams at Un. 14 and Un. 17 level have failed to make a finals series in many years, since the Gemmills', Buttler's and Barnes' were playing.
You're right Willow in saying that Nathalia has an ageing list but I still think they'll be around the mark for another 2 years. Small towns like Nathalia have to make the most of their opportunities. In the past 11years they've only missed the finals twice. Pretty good effort.
Junior success doesn't always translate into senior success. Kids move away, developed early among others. Nathalia still has about 8-9 blokes under 22 but they don't have any apart from Kyle Gemmill between 23 and 29.
Rochy are a great example of a club that seems to pick up 2 good senior players from their juniors each year. Nathalia are similiar. Apparently Ricky Barnes and Wade Hicks are a couple that will turn into very good senior players whho are coming into seniors this year.
As mentioned Moama wingman Kirk Teasdale has launch a campaign to have the Moama rec reserve named after himself. I can now confirm he is very close to achieving this, so all of you visiting players can look forwrd to playing on the "Joy Boy" oval when they play Moama at home.
Well done Kirk, dreams can come true!
haha bathy you must have an underlying vendetta with the goalkicking wingman to keep these fictitious rumours circulating when no-one is even slightly interested. may have something to do with a few home truths coming out on this site.........or that you need someone to talk to about your issues........not sure. if the missus doesn't listen..........yep she can see through you too. being an opposition player i'll wait and see. long live 16
Fair points Doozy man, do agree they can be a side that does that, which comes back to there recruiting, and that stuck out when they got Turner halfway through after he couldnt toe the line at Rumba, not too many sides around the district would have been interested in taking him on board if teamwork was high on their priorities.
spot on there hank, even with the list that rumba had last year, they made a very good decision on that boy.
bystanding backman
25 Jan 2007, 12:36
Nathalia still has about 8-9 blokes under 22 but they don't have any apart from Kyle Gemmill between 23 and 29.
I think Nathalia have done well so far this year in that they haven't tried to get players who may only be at the club for a year. they have also looked at getting some of the younger blokes back to the club plus their recruiting has been mostly around the ages of 23 - 29 i think.
fork tongue
25 Jan 2007, 12:46
haha bathy you must have an underlying vendetta with the goalkicking wingman to keep these fictitious rumours circulating when no-one is even slightly interested. may have something to do with a few home truths coming out on this site.........or that you need someone to talk to about your issues........not sure. if the missus doesn't listen..........yep she can see through you too. being an opposition player i'll wait and see. long live 16
bathy, looks like you are on the end of a decent payout here, not before time too. the rumours you have started on this thread and the cmfl thread show your true colours, never let the facts get in the way of a true story.
home truths? issues? missus who can see through you??? ouch!!
you piece of sh*t
bathy, looks like you are on the end of a decent payout here, not before time too. the rumours you have started on this thread and the cmfl thread show your true colours, never let the facts get in the way of a true story.
home truths? issues? missus who can see through you??? ouch!!
you piece of sh*t
Well said!
browny26
25 Jan 2007, 14:21
Occasionally keep an eye on ML thread and had to comment. Played two years of Murray league and the previous seven or eight in O and M and was very dissapionted with standard. Deni (who were kings then) would have been pumped by the top 8 O and M sides. Would have lost to bottom two as well I reckon but close games. Haven't seen a GV game so can't judge but training, excessive size of grounds and general lack of modern football methods stood out to me. Only 3-5 from each team would get games in O and M. Not trying to bucket league but just my observations. Hard to compete though when combined population of leagues would be 150,000 compared to 20,000.
Tatybulldog
25 Jan 2007, 15:25
Yeah making it over twice a week most weeks, is looking in good shape as always.
yeah he is a picture of fitness isnt he! hopefully he continues to improve he had a good last couple yrs! can play!
roaring tiger
25 Jan 2007, 20:46
It would be very hard to compare top Murray League sides to GVFL sides but the big difference between the 2 leagues would be depth i'm sure.
By the looks of it Nathalia didn't have to much depth in the reserve side as they didn't make the finals and were well down the ladder.
I would say they had a great run with injuries and the huge factor in there favour would be they have 3/4 of there side in there prime. If they lose any of Ash and Nath gemmill, butler and barnes with injuries for a large portion of the year they may come back to the field this year i would of thought.
The same with Echuca united if they lose any of campbell, dalziel, heuston, marsh or baker they will start to puff to.
are u ok McCool? all u seem to do on here is bag people and you hardly ever post anything. cheer up pal;)
Superfly
28 Jan 2007, 22:27
Apparently there is a young Nathalia player, Moon I think, that is heading to a KDL club. Is he any good?
are u ok McCool? all u seem to do on here is bag people and you hardly ever post anything. cheer up pal;)
yeah had a bad day souts! went to king st and apparantly you can't touch now...........not happy.
Doozy_Man
29 Jan 2007, 18:03
that's all you hear from United players, "we could beat Echuca if we were playing GVFL" rah rah rah, it has been a long ended debate about whether Ech United would cut it in the GVFL. My opinion is NO, but in saying that they have splashed the cash last season and nearly won themselves a premiership and good on them, but that money will evaporate and then the players will leave again, the club simply doesn;t have the structure to compete at GVFL standard.
I would love to see a full on practice match with Ech United and Echuca Bombers this season. Echuca BY 8 GOALS FOR ME
that's all you hear from United players, "we could beat Echuca if we were playing GVFL" rah rah rah, it has been a long ended debate about whether Ech United would cut it in the GVFL. My opinion is NO, but in saying that they have splashed the cash last season and nearly won themselves a premiership and good on them, but that money will evaporate and then the players will leave again, the club simply doesn;t have the structure to compete at GVFL standard.
I would love to see a full on practice match with Ech United and Echuca Bombers this season. Echuca BY 8 GOALS FOR ME
Agree Echuca have been great in the last 10 years, I always remember playing against the Murray Bombers they always were a tough side and always had alot of height in there team. It would be great for the two teams to have an annual practice match each year. Then that gives one of the teams the bragging rights for the year.
coconut
30 Jan 2007, 09:58
Has anybody heard how the road is shaping up for 2007, will they be a finals chance, any quality recruits
smoothgroova
30 Jan 2007, 12:23
Heard David Lucas is keen to play at the purps again this year with the same arrangements as last season. Play enough games during the year to qualify and then fly back from WA for the finals. Will be a bonus for Nathalia if he does. Can anyone confirm this???
journeyman
30 Jan 2007, 13:55
Heard David Lucas is keen to play at the purps again this year with the same arrangements as last season. Play enough games during the year to qualify and then fly back from WA for the finals. Will be a bonus for Nathalia if he does. Can anyone confirm this???
Not sure if it can been confirmed but I wouldn't be surprised if he does the same thing again. Lucas is Adam Quarrell's brother in law and Marc Quarrell is coaching so the connection is strong.
I imagine Nathalia would love to have him.
Has anybody heard how the road is shaping up for 2007, will they be a finals chance, any quality recruits
Betson has gone to Wunghnu and signed
coconut
31 Jan 2007, 09:07
Betson has gone to Wunghnu and signed
Dont think he will be missed, but good luck to him
Tatybulldog
31 Jan 2007, 14:19
Dont think he will be missed, but good luck to him
which betson???
no left foot
31 Jan 2007, 15:14
Agree Echuca have been great in the last 10 years, I always remember playing against the Murray Bombers they always were a tough side and always had alot of height in there team. It would be great for the two teams to have an annual practice match each year. Then that gives one of the teams the bragging rights for the year.
Speaking of United I was talking to Dale Reyne the other day and he has had a hernia opperation, bit of a pity as he said he was flying. Dale is the man if United are to win the flag, strong and athletic very hard match up for any team. Just lacks consistancy. I know when he was at Echuca in the GV he was held in high regard and they felt he could have been anything if he got his game to a consistant level. I didnt ask him whether he will miss any footy anyone know if he will be right for round 1.
oldstyle
31 Jan 2007, 15:20
Can anyone tell me if Chris Waterson is going to be a playing or non playing coach.
which betson???
Mark, not sure were Travis is playing, but I have Mark not a bad player but maybe I am wrong. any comments feel free:thumbsu:
roaring tiger
31 Jan 2007, 19:52
Speaking of United I was talking to Dale Reyne the other day and he has had a hernia opperation, bit of a pity as he said he was flying. Dale is the man if United are to win the flag, strong and athletic very hard match up for any team. Just lacks consistancy. I know when he was at Echuca in the GV he was held in high regard and they felt he could have been anything if he got his game to a consistant level. I didnt ask him whether he will miss any footy anyone know if he will be right for round 1.
From what i hear he should be right for the opening game but will be a bit down on the fitness side of things. The eagles will need him up and firing as he will be a key at Centre Half Forward.
I also hear that Nathalia have a couple of new recruits and that Lucas will return to play. This should also increase the standard of the comp with barooga and Mulwala improving also.
Mark, not sure were Travis is playing, but I have Mark not a bad player but maybe I am wrong. any comments feel free:thumbsu:
He could be a good footballer if he gets his attitude together, pretty confident travis is staying with congupna
bathy mac
1 Feb 2007, 12:07
well said scouts, you obviously agree with me that mccool should get out from under his rock and add something worthwhile instead of taking cheap shots.