View Full Version : Murray Football League
hot tip straight off the press- young barnes to come through and fill his brothers shoes and then some
that would be great mate for nathila but i highly doubt that
purpleblood
12 Feb 2007, 20:38
have you seen him play?
purpleblood
12 Feb 2007, 20:43
ex skip adam quarrell to move up forward
oldstyle
13 Feb 2007, 05:47
Hey purpleblood do you think he will get forward while his brother is up forward, may not be enough room. Also i notice you have west coast down as your side ????????
have you seen him play?
yeah mate seen him a few times, i think i might have seen his first senior game
purpleblood
13 Feb 2007, 16:53
i'd say adam would be pushing for it, he loves to kick a goal!! haha yeh go the weagles
purpleblood
13 Feb 2007, 16:56
did u kick a hundred goals for the purps awhile back?
purpleblood
13 Feb 2007, 17:08
souts?
souts?
No souts hasn't played for Nathalia before. I couldn't see young Barnes jumping up and filling his brothers shoes any time soon. I hope you dont mean this coming season because he lacks senior experience and from the times i have seen him play and played against him, he didn't have much head-over-the-ball toughness that his brother has.
souts?
haha no mate that was my dad
purpleblood
13 Feb 2007, 17:32
yeah mate seen him a few times, i think i might have seen his first senior game
No souts hasn't played for Nathalia before. I couldn't see young Barnes jumping up and filling his brothers shoes any time soon. I hope you dont mean this coming season because he lacks senior experience and from the times i have seen him play and played against him, he didn't have much head-over-the-ball toughness that his brother has.
your right older brother has the guts, but the younger one is getting tougher every game.. it's just a waiting game but it will happen i think there's something in the barnes's water at home because the sister is a gun netballer too
Hey all,
Just the son of an ex Mulwala coach here and dont keep up to dat with the mul boys progress as often as i would like any more. Just wondering if anyone can give me the heads up on how the lions are shaping up for 2007. Recruits, losses etc. Would be appreciated!
Hey all,
Just the son of an ex Mulwala coach here and dont keep up to dat with the mul boys progress as often as i would like any more. Just wondering if anyone can give me the heads up on how the lions are shaping up for 2007. Recruits, losses etc. Would be appreciated!
Picked up Jake Cowman ruckman from Shepp Utd, should dominate that position in the Murray League. Michael Stevens only played a handful of games last year so will be like a new recruit. Also picked up a Ben James from the Southern Football League, no idea about him. No losses of note at this stage. Werent far off playing off last year so they would be expecting a big year.
Plus they have got Cowman's Mum, she is mad, look out opposition supporters she goes off her nut
purpleblood
13 Feb 2007, 18:54
cowman playing for mul is a great option to give mcabe a break
chicken38
13 Feb 2007, 19:10
cowman playing for mul is a great option to give mcabe a break and get in back into form by slipping him back into the twos
whats finley up to i did hear that they had signed young sam nevins is there any truth in that?
purpleblood
13 Feb 2007, 19:21
not sure mate thats the one club i haven't heard anything about. never heard of him where's he from?
purpleblood
13 Feb 2007, 19:22
did mul lose cooper from full forward? whats coglan doin in 07
Yeah sorry forgot about Cooper, he is coaching Benalla in the GV, Havent heard if Coghlan is going around again.
What about Davies Purple or anyone from Numurkah, got his clearance approved quickly will be handy for you blokes but thought Numurkah may have tried their ass off to keep him.
chicken38
13 Feb 2007, 20:33
not sure mate thats the one club i haven't heard anything about. never heard of him where's he from?
Berrigan boy who played at nrth albury 2 years ago i think in the ruck ex murray bushranger
Plus they have got Cowman's Mum, she is mad, look out opposition supporters she goes off her nut
Might fit in there well, experianced some very hostile older ladies (70+) in their little stand last season that would stand up to any clubs best supporters group..
Yeah sorry forgot about Cooper, he is coaching Benalla in the GV, Havent heard if Coghlan is going around again.
What about Davies Purple or anyone from Numurkah, got his clearance approved quickly will be handy for you blokes but thought Numurkah may have tried their ass off to keep him.
Coghlan is coaching a team in Cairns in 07:thumbsu:
Tatybulldog
14 Feb 2007, 12:18
Just wondering if someone from Toc and Numerka can let me know how Lee and Polly and also Linc and Bryce are goin?
cowman playing for mul is a great option to give mcabe a break and get in back into form by slipping him back into the twos
y doin a lotta talkin can ya back it up on th field (you know the old sayin ya talkin the talk BUT can ya walk the walk)
purpleblood
14 Feb 2007, 18:56
he is going to be a great asset, I thort they would have tried alot harder than what they did, they pretty much rolled over.. he has been putting in flat out at training. he wants to make an impression with his new home club
purpleblood
14 Feb 2007, 19:01
we shall see
purpleblood
14 Feb 2007, 19:49
history stands, mcabe gets in all the news papers but hasn't beaten a nathalia ruckman in 4 years 1 on 1. he must have played a great game wen he was younger and that "best ruckman in the murray league" title has just stuck with him as far as I have seen him play
might have been a bit harsh actually
purpleblood
14 Feb 2007, 19:58
nath v mul we'll see
Might fit in there well, experianced some very hostile older ladies (70+) in their little stand last season that would stand up to any clubs best supporters group..
This lady isn't in her 70's she's fit and healthy, drinks like a bloke and fights like a bloke she is crazy
morgs01
15 Feb 2007, 00:03
Rumbalara have this week signed former player Clinton Edwards who's back from a stint with South Fremantle, Leithen Briggs and Echuca United's Josh Wanganeen in minor coaching roles.
This lady isn't in her 70's she's fit and healthy, drinks like a bloke and fights like a bloke she is crazy
Wack her in a back pocket!
Rascal99
15 Feb 2007, 09:01
history stands, mcabe gets in all the news papers but hasn't beaten a nathalia ruckman in 4 years 1 on 1. he must have played a great game wen he was younger and that "best ruckman in the murray league" title has just stuck with him as far as I have seen him play
In my opinion from what ive seen of this guy is that he is more of a around the ground player. He moves pretty well for a bigger guy and is pretty good one his day. But is still an effective ruckman.
Wack her in a back pocket!
Good call Ringo, better still put her in the guts
themagicfrog
15 Feb 2007, 12:24
whats finley up to i did hear that they had signed young sam nevins is there any truth in that?
he knocked back three other offers to play with a mate there, should of signed at Berrigan!
purpleblood
15 Feb 2007, 16:35
In my opinion from what ive seen of this guy is that he is more of a around the ground player. He moves pretty well for a bigger guy and is pretty good one his day. But is still an effective ruckman.
yeh he's pretty good
purpleblood
15 Feb 2007, 17:10
Heard David Lucas is keen to play at the purps again this year with the same arrangements as last season. Play enough games during the year to qualify and then fly back from WA for the finals. Will be a bonus for Nathalia if he does. Can anyone confirm this???
would be a great asset..
chicken38
15 Feb 2007, 17:38
he knocked back three other offers to play with a mate there, should of signed at Berrigan!brother inlaw i think magic
would be a great asset..
reckon it might put a young ruckman out of a job AGAIN this season at the purples
journeyman
16 Feb 2007, 14:03
reckon it might put a young ruckman out of a job AGAIN this season at the purples
When you've won one flag in about 30 years, you play the best side available. I don't think any club would knock back one of the best ruckmen in country footy.
Rascal99
16 Feb 2007, 14:44
When you've won one flag in about 30 years, you play the best side available. I don't think any club would knock back one of the best ruckmen in country footy.
If you want the success to continue i wouldnt be getting a guy from perth to play a few games, during the season then only play finals, while a young kid is playing each week. And only gets dropped when Lucas wants to play.
Would put my nose out of joint.
If you want the success to continue i wouldnt be getting a guy from perth to play a few games, during the season then only play finals, while a young kid is playing each week. And only gets dropped when Lucas wants to play.
Would put my nose out of joint.
Fair call, not sure what will happen this year, but all it did last year was not allow coach Smith to take the field in the GF so probably was worthwhile and didnt affect any youngsters.
journeyman
16 Feb 2007, 15:12
Fair call, not sure what will happen this year, but all it did last year was not allow coach Smith to take the field in the GF so probably was worthwhile and didnt affect any youngsters.
In the end Nathalia got the flag, lucas was player of the finals series and they haven't lost any players because of it, so it was justified. If they hadn't have done it and lost they would think "what if" forever.
Nathalia isn't the only club that have done it. I remember when Numurkah won two flags in-a-row, they got Brown back from Bendigo for finals and pretty sure Cowan came back for one of them.
Nathalia's time is now as they do have an older group of players. You wont hear many from Nathalia complaining about Lucas, he's more than welcome to return.
Rascal99
16 Feb 2007, 15:52
Would Lucas be coming back to play if they werent going to make the finals???
Or would he stay in Perth???
journeyman
16 Feb 2007, 15:57
Would Lucas be coming back to play if they werent going to make the finals???
Or would he stay in Perth???
I doubt the club would ask him to come back if they weren't in finals.
I think it is good for there young players to have a guy like Lucas playing, in my opinion to have good experience players that have been there and done it helps develop the young players and it is good to have someone to look up to
switch the play
16 Feb 2007, 21:58
I think it is good for there young players to have a guy like Lucas playing, in my opinion to have good experience players that have been there and done it helps develop the young players and it is good to have someone to look up to
What uneduacted views of those opposed to Dave lucas returning to play.The coaching staff would spend countless hours trying to recruit players to combat their deficiencies,if you have a ready made star waiting in the wings to make you a better side at the business end of the season who going by last years results is just that he plays;pure and simple he plays.Its not as though Nathalia sprung a suprise,everyone knew it was going to happen so if you were on the fringe you would learn from him and become a better player not sulk if he took your spot.Flags are rarities so you take what you can to have the best shot at it.The buck stops with the coach if he wants to go that way i'm sur ehe would rather be remembered as a premiership coach rather than a good bloke
Well said.
Did i read correctly a page or two back that Brenton Cooper has taken the coaching job at Benalla and that Glen Coghlan has gone to Cairns? If so how does that leave Mulwala's forward line looking this year? And is Rod Lamberti going round for another season?
the tron burger
17 Feb 2007, 13:22
Did i read correctly a page or two back that Brenton Cooper has taken the coaching job at Benalla and that Glen Coghlan has gone to Cairns? If so how does that leave Mulwala's forward line looking this year? And is Rod Lamberti going round for another season?
Cooper only played a couple of games and lamberti does nothing but abuse his team mates better of without him if i was a betting man i would put a fortune on them to win the flag with the likes of Sanderson, Stevens, tresize,Kennedy and co ..
And Cowman he will be the best ruckman in the league by a mile and not forgetting his Mad Mum she will be craziest supporter in the league
the tron burger
17 Feb 2007, 18:08
And Cowman he will be the best ruckman in the league by a mile and not forgetting his Mad Mum she will be craziest supporter in the league
Ha she must be a nutter good one Karjam
Fair call. Although i was under the impression that Cooper played more than a couple of games if he was able to kick 53 goals for the year. And i dont know much about Lamberti other than that he can play decent football. You didnt tell me wether he was still playing this year.
the tron burger
18 Feb 2007, 11:01
Fair call. Although i was under the impression that Cooper played more than a couple of games if he was able to kick 53 goals for the year. And i dont know much about Lamberti other than that he can play decent football. You didnt tell me wether he was still playing this year.
My sources tell me that he is pulling the boots on again hoping to finish his career on a good note .Dont get me wrong Darc 21 the bloke can play . Hope that helps you out...
you meationed a name in there Tresize that is not Damian who used to play for Shepparton and Shepparton East is it.
themagicfrog
18 Feb 2007, 17:14
Mul's new room look to be coming along nicely. bit of a shock, played cricket there early on and we used the old room went back this week and they have the walls up on the new rooms and they were pouring the floor.
you meationed a name in there Tresize that is not Damian who used to play for Shepparton and Shepparton East is it.
Nathan Tresize
the tron burger
18 Feb 2007, 21:50
Nathan Tresize played all his jnr footy there and then went to sydney on rookie list good player
coconut
19 Feb 2007, 09:43
There is alot of hype around the big 4 sides, Nathalia, Mul, Barooga and Ech United can anybody see any of the remaining sides in the comp steping up causing some upsets come finals time
Heard a rumour in the pub Saturday night, Greg Stafford (Richmond) signed with Barooga anyone else hear this??????
oldstyle
19 Feb 2007, 12:17
Have heard this a few times so we will have to wait and see, One thing for sure is they are throwing it around so it would not surprise me.
Heard a rumour in the pub Saturday night, Greg Stafford (Richmond) signed with Barooga anyone else hear this??????
Heard from Kayne Pettifer that he was staying in Melb, but thats not to say that he might change his mind.
heard balwyn was th club that he was playing at this year.
iwantanotherflag
20 Feb 2007, 10:14
Will the spending ever end at Barooga? Stafford?? Lets hope that they get knocked off!
Rascal99
20 Feb 2007, 11:33
Will the spending ever end at Barooga? Stafford?? Lets hope that they get knocked off!
It has happened before, spending and getting knocked off!!!
Money doesnt always buy success, but someone needs to get near nathalia soon, by looking at the results the last couple of years.
max powers.
20 Feb 2007, 12:10
Just wondering what the board's thoughts are on Moama's appointment of ex Fitzroy and Cohuna on-baller Chris Waterson?
There is a alot of devestated large women in Cohuna that's all i can say.:eek:
iwantanotherflag
20 Feb 2007, 15:38
Just wondering what the board's thoughts are on Moama's appointment of ex Fitzroy and Cohuna on-baller Chris Waterson?
There is a alot of devestated large women in Cohuna that's all i can say.:eek:
Likes a bit of Beef?
Kick it to me
20 Feb 2007, 20:03
Whats the latest on Leigh Ramsdale heading back to Nathalia?
There was talk of him returning.
lionsden
20 Feb 2007, 20:06
could anyone please let me know who mulwala has picked up this year?
lionsden
20 Feb 2007, 20:10
Whats the latest on Leigh Ramsdale heading back to Nathalia?
There was talk of him returning.
hear leigh is training in melbourne and is likely to stay with yarrawonga
Kick it to me
20 Feb 2007, 20:18
hear leigh is training in melbourne and is likely to stay with yarrawonga
He would have been cut by the fact that he has done the hard yards at Yarra for years and they finally win one and he had to watch from the side lines.
Thought there might have been a chance at Nathalia as Craig Hicks has signed on.
lionsden
20 Feb 2007, 20:26
He would have been cut by the fact that he has done the hard yards at Yarra for years and they finally win one and he had to watch from the side lines.
Thought there might have been a chance at Nathalia as Craig Hicks has signed on.
they couldnt possibly afford to pay anyone else?
their wallets must be getting empty by now.
switch the play
21 Feb 2007, 08:26
More bad news for some clubs as Barooga's melbourne travellers Hastings etc were looking to play in Melbourne but with the uncertainty of when the comp will start are looking to play early games at Barooga and then reassess from there.You would imagine once they start there they would more than probably stay so Barooga might not loose as many as first thought,add their recruits and they wont be far away.
journeyman
21 Feb 2007, 08:36
Please refer to pages 85 and 84. Going over old ground
iwantanotherflag
21 Feb 2007, 11:16
More bad news for some clubs as Barooga's melbourne travellers Hastings etc were looking to play in Melbourne but with the uncertainty of when the comp will start are looking to play early games at Barooga and then reassess from there.You would imagine once they start there they would more than probably stay so Barooga might not loose as many as first thought,add their recruits and they wont be far away.
Far away?, I think they will be smack on it!
Barooga V Nathalia for mine in the GF
lionsden
21 Feb 2007, 15:19
Barooga V Nathalia for mine in the GF
i think you will be surprised but alot of the melbourne comps will be starting on time.
i take it your from mul? mul would spend double what nathila have spent over the last few years
lionsden
21 Feb 2007, 17:07
i take it your from mul? mul would spend double what nathila have spent over the last few years
of course you are right.i forgot that your team is full of locals at nathalia so they all play for very little. it is good to see the home grown boys doing it for their hometown.anyway good luck to the purples.i dont have a problem with any club spending money.if you can afford it then go for it.
few players these days play for the love of it whether they are from the country or the city.
just look at any football league across australia and you will find that the teams paying the money are the ones playing finals.
the trick is to get the right balance.this is something nathalia has acheived and good luck to them
iwantanotherflag
21 Feb 2007, 18:02
of course you are right.i forgot that your team is full of locals at nathalia so they all play for very little. it is good to see the home grown boys doing it for their hometown.anyway good luck to the purples.i dont have a problem with any club spending money.if you can afford it then go for it.
few players these days play for the love of it whether they are from the country or the city.
just look at any football league across australia and you will find that the teams paying the money are the ones playing finals.
the trick is to get the right balance.this is something nathalia has acheived and good luck to them
here! here!
Noticed Daniel Irwin approved to Moama. Someone tell me thats not the big fella making a comeback is it. Big forward line with him and TW if it is.
yeah your right with that mate well said. P.S my side is full of locals but im not from nathila
Noticed Daniel Irwin approved to Moama. Someone tell me thats not the big fella making a comeback is it. Big forward line with him and TW if it is.
you're right - it aint the big fella! must be another Dan Irwin out there...
bearsboy
26 Feb 2007, 12:16
Moama offering some Huge money to Gisborne player's . Only picked up one though and he spent most of the year in the 2's
fork tongue
26 Feb 2007, 14:03
Moama offering some Huge money to Gisborne player's . Only picked up one though and he spent most of the year in the 2's
got any details there bearsboy? names? $$$? will he be any good in murray league? wheres he play? etc etc
bearsboy
26 Feb 2007, 15:31
got any details there bearsboy? names? $$$? will he be any good in murray league? wheres he play? etc etcBrenton Faulkiner, midfielder, he won the Bendigo league u18 b&f a couple of years ago. Top kid , has a different hair cut or color each week . Need's to work on the defensive side of his game a little before he become's a top line player As for the money side of it, i wont say to much ,but i believe alot of the Gisborne senior side have been approached to join Moama this year and some of the figure's being quoted were quite substantial . I personally think it's ordinary form that a certain person from Moama has tried to poach these player's . Lucky for our club the majority of player's and commitee member's are a very loyal bunch of people .
got any details there bearsboy? names? $$$? will he be any good in murray league? wheres he play? etc etc
Bendigo and Murray league are the same standard, although a good Gisborne twos player would probably slot into Moama's ones side ok.
Not happy with the ex pres bearsboy?
Brenton Faulkiner, midfielder, he won the Bendigo league u18 b&f a couple of years ago. Top kid , has a different hair cut or color each week . Need's to work on the defensive side of his game a little before he become's a top line player As for the money side of it, i wont say to much ,but i believe alot of the Gisborne senior side have been approached to join Moama this year and some of the figure's being quoted were quite substantial . I personally think it's ordinary form that a certain person from Moama has tried to poach these player's . Lucky for our club the majority of player's and commitee member's are a very loyal bunch of people .
Roger Toll is tied up with Moama in 2007 and is originally from Gisborne. Could he have something to do with it?
Thats the one Willo, he was President at Gisborne
bearsboy
26 Feb 2007, 16:01
Bendigo and Murray league are the same standard, although a good Gisborne twos player would probably slot into Moama's ones side ok.
Not happy with the ex pres bearsboy? Just a bit disapointed mate , i dont think there were many Gisborne player's that didnt receive a call .
Just a bit disapointed mate , i dont think there were many Gisborne player's that didnt receive a call .
Fair enough too.
fork tongue
26 Feb 2007, 16:07
Brenton Faulkiner, midfielder, he won the Bendigo league u18 b&f a couple of years ago. Top kid , has a different hair cut or color each week . Need's to work on the defensive side of his game a little before he become's a top line player As for the money side of it, i wont say to much ,but i believe alot of the Gisborne senior side have been approached to join Moama this year and some of the figure's being quoted were quite substantial . I personally think it's ordinary form that a certain person from Moama has tried to poach these player's . Lucky for our club the majority of player's and commitee member's are a very loyal bunch of people .
does that mean you dont know how much money, or arent prepared to say?
zero2hero
26 Feb 2007, 16:24
Heard a whisper that Patty Rattrays' job up at Barooga fell through and might not be saddling up for the Hawks . My mail is he has landed a job down at Violet Town and could be playing there this season, can any one confirm this?
Dont think that the job falling thru would place barooga's recruiting in jeopardy, after all, im pretty sure Gezz Liddell is travelling up there from Seymour, so the big guy would probably just jump in the car with him.
I suppose the only thing is if it was the footy club who stuffed up the employment, that's another story..........
Just a bit disapointed mate , i dont think there were many Gisborne player's that didnt receive a call .
Was he a well respected president mate? Like, of course you would need respect to be elected president of a football club, but did he leave on a good note? How was his relationship with the players?
bearsboy
27 Feb 2007, 07:56
Was he a well respected president mate? Like, of course you would need respect to be elected president of a football club, but did he leave on a good note? How was his relationship with the players?Absolutely respected , no problems there. Roger is a top bloke and did a pretty good job whilst in charge at Gisborne. I'm just not that keen on the idea of him poaching player's from the club that he was previously president of .
Absolutely respected , no problems there. Roger is a top bloke and did a pretty good job whilst in charge at Gisborne. I'm just not that keen on the idea of him poaching player's from the club that he was previously president of .
Yeah I agree with you 100% mate. Obviously when a club gets a coach from another club, he tries to bring a few players over to build the strength of the team he's joining, but as far as I know, Gisborne have had a lot of success in the last few years so I wouldn't think many players would be keen on leaving such a good club. Cheers mate.
iwantanotherflag
27 Feb 2007, 14:52
Yeah I agree with you 100% mate. Obviously when a club gets a coach from another club, he tries to bring a few players over to build the strength of the team he's joining, but as far as I know, Gisborne have had a lot of success in the last few years so I wouldn't think many players would be keen on leaving such a good club. Cheers mate.
Or drive another 1 1/2 - 2 hrs down the road. I know there are a few coaches/recruiters who post on here... I ask you the question, how far would you expect a prospective recruit to drive to the home ground? I know guys come up from Melbourne. Wouldn't you rather have an equally capable local play in that position than an import, makes more sense for the long term.
iwantanotherflag
27 Feb 2007, 15:33
I have put the Barooga Night Series Draw on the PDFL page. How do I copy it to here?
Couldnt be bothered explaining so here it is.
Here's the night series draw. Check with your coach before rocking up... for accuracy!
12/3
6.30 Katandra V Waaia
8.30 Ardy V Wahgunyah
13/3
6.30 Jerilderie V Wunghnu
8.30 Cobram V Rumba
14/3
6.30 Yarro V Berrigan
8.30 Bar V Fin
15/3
6.30 Tunga V Strathy
8.30 Mul V Nath
16/3
6.30 Blighty V Katty
8.30 Deni V Toc
19/3
6.30 Berrigan V Wahgunyah
8.30 Yarro V Wunghnu
20/3
6.30 Waaia V Ardy
8.30 Fin V Cob
21/3
6.30 Jeri V Katandra
8.30 Bar V Rumba
22/3
6.30 Katty V Tunga
8.30 Nath V Deni
23/3
6.30 Strathy V Blighty
8.30 Toc V Mul
wheelbarrow
27 Feb 2007, 19:12
[QUOTE=hank1;6824630]Couldnt be bothered explaining so here it is.
Harro hows Purce looking.?
Still pumping weights.?
Does his mate C.J Malone still play.? If so did u have a crack at getting him over your way.? Very good junior, played bushies, but crook knee as he got older didnt help his cause.
Plus likes the sauce.