View Full Version : Murray Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36

grac
27 Feb 2007, 19:13
I see that there is a Scott Adams cleared from Nathalia. Does anybody know if this is the same Scott Adams that played full back for them a few years ago. Must have come out of retirement.

mainland
27 Feb 2007, 19:51
I see that there is a Scott Adams cleared from Nathalia. Does anybody know if this is the same Scott Adams that played full back for them a few years ago. Must have come out of retirement.

Doubt it very much grac he played at Stanhope a few years back and played 2's.

hank1
27 Feb 2007, 20:18
[QUOTE=hank1;6824630]Couldnt be bothered explaining so here it is.

Harro hows Purce looking.?
Still pumping weights.?

Does his mate C.J Malone still play.? If so did u have a crack at getting him over your way.? Very good junior, played bushies, but crook knee as he got older didnt help his cause.
Plus likes the sauce.

Perc looking very good, been training with us Monday and Fridays, very fit as well as keeping up with his weights regime.
CJ is still running around at Golden Square, lived with him in 2002 when we both played there, yes he does like the sauce and obviously started very young with his rendition of The Gambler wasnt it after one of the Nagambie flags when he was 16. Believe he has settled down a little, no didnt have a crack at him this year, did last year but Golden Square are going all out to knock off Gisborne this year so he will be keen to be a part of that.

You looking at going around again or have any role to play?

hank1
27 Feb 2007, 20:19

No different bloke mate

wheelbarrow
28 Feb 2007, 05:54
[QUOTE=wheelbarrow;6826566]

Perc looking very good, been training with us Monday and Fridays, very fit as well as keeping up with his weights regime.
CJ is still running around at Golden Square, lived with him in 2002 when we both played there, yes he does like the sauce and obviously started very young with his rendition of The Gambler wasnt it after one of the Nagambie flags when he was 16. Believe he has settled down a little, no didnt have a crack at him this year, did last year but Golden Square are going all out to knock off Gisborne this year so he will be keen to be a part of that.

You looking at going around again or have any role to play?

After 25 yrs running my arse off, need a break.
Love the game, will get involved again down the track

Will be quite happy knocking over some cold UDL'S with Showy this weekend.

Do u know if Barooga have had any luck with Sage.? 1500 good reasons 4 him to go there.???

hank1
28 Feb 2007, 06:19
[QUOTE=hank1;6827172]

After 25 yrs running my arse off, need a break.
Love the game, will get involved again down the track

Will be quite happy knocking over some cold UDL'S with Showy this weekend.

Do u know if Barooga have had any luck with Sage.? 1500 good reasons 4 him to go there.???

Haha, hope I don't run into you two this weekend then. Yeah no idea with Sage, what a good reason it was for Tonny to get out of the GV into the Murray because they couldnt compete with the spending, you'd nearly have to say 2 or 3 clubs are topping the GV boys on that front now.

willo1
28 Feb 2007, 10:47
[QUOTE=wheelbarrow;6829181]

Haha, hope I don't run into you two this weekend then. Yeah no idea with Sage, what a good reason it was for Tonny to get out of the GV into the Murray because they couldnt compete with the spending, you'd nearly have to say 2 or 3 clubs are topping the GV boys on that front now.
Too right. Barooga are spending like wildfire. They have so far signed 5 GVFL players, and 1 PDFL player. It would be interesting to see how much they have received from the Barooga Sports Club in the last few years.

Rascal99
28 Feb 2007, 11:44
[quote=hank1;6829205]
Too right. Barooga are spending like wildfire. They have so far signed 5 GVFL players, and 1 PDFL player. It would be interesting to see how much they have received from the Barooga Sports Club in the last few years.

Yeah it would be. I wouldnt know where to start, but it would be huge!!!!!!!!

grac
28 Feb 2007, 12:32
No different bloke mate
I thought it might have been a different bloke as the one I know as he must be 125kgs by now and has a bung leg. Still, clubs will sign anybody.

iwantanotherflag
28 Feb 2007, 13:07
[quote=willo1;6830385]

Yeah it would be. I wouldnt know where to start, but it would be huge!!!!!!!!

At the end of the day. Well done to the town of Barooga to become so self efficient like they have. To be receiving money from the sporties to help the footy club, can't be much wrong with that. Good management i say!

What will your club do as their next money spinner? Have shares in a nightclub/sportsclub? Maybe set up a brothel? :rolleyes: Good fundraiser for the netball club at least!!!

willo1
28 Feb 2007, 14:49
At the end of the day. Well done to the town of Barooga to become so self efficient like they have. To be receiving money from the sporties to help the footy club, can't be much wrong with that. Good management i say!

What will your club do as their next money spinner? Have shares in a nightclub/sportsclub? Maybe set up a brothel? :rolleyes: Good fundraiser for the netball club at least!!!
Yeah I agree with you too mate. Barooga is a suprisingly small town compaired to say, Cobram. I bet the Barooga Sports Club will be hoping for a premiership in the next couple of years then.

themagicfrog
28 Feb 2007, 15:15
Yeah I agree with you too mate. Barooga is a suprisingly small town compaired to say, Cobram. I bet the Barooga Sports Club will be hoping for a premiership in the next couple of years then.

who gets to display the cup Barooga FC or the Sporties!

ringo1
1 Mar 2007, 07:21
who gets to display the cup Barooga FC or the Sporties!

Try Ray TUBBY Brookes house- I think tubby is the one with the money

bystanding backman
1 Mar 2007, 12:36
How are everyone's grounds looking are they being affected by the drought much or will they be in similar condition to last year. who's ground is the best to play on?

souts
1 Mar 2007, 14:56
How are everyone's grounds looking are they being affected by the drought much or will they be in similar condition to last year. who's ground is the best to play on?

tonny's ground is in good touch, very good green grass cover and wont be any different to last year. i haven't played on all the grounds but i like barooga's oval always nice and soft

willo1
1 Mar 2007, 14:57
I havn't seen any of the other MFL grounds besides United and Moama, and both are looking absolutely beautiful. Moama, being in NSW are only on stage 1 water restrictions, where as Echuca are on stage 3 restrictions. The Echuca United oval is still able to be watered due to the fact that the running club train on the oval.

chicken38
1 Mar 2007, 18:50
tonny's ground is in good touch, very good green grass cover and wont be any different to last year. i haven't played on all the grounds but i like barooga's oval always nice and soft
try always slippery

mainland
1 Mar 2007, 19:12
try always slippery

U shouldnt wear grass cats then

switch the play
1 Mar 2007, 20:04
try always slippery
Is that cause you play early chicken or is that your opinion of the surface?

willo1
1 Mar 2007, 20:53
try always slippery
On a dry day, you will not get a better surface to play on in country Victoria. It is absolutely immaculate.

toquick
2 Mar 2007, 07:47
On a dry day, you will not get a better surface to play on in country Victoria. It is absolutely immaculate.
Try NSW! hehe

iwantanotherflag
2 Mar 2007, 10:48
try always slippery

What boots do you wear on Barooga. We have played many night series and finals there never know what to wear long or short stops?

bystanding backman
2 Mar 2007, 10:53
What boots do you wear on Barooga. We have played many night series and finals there never know what to wear long or short stops?

No matter what boots you wear on baroogas ground someone is always going to slip over just try to make sure it is your opponent that goes first.

alan81
2 Mar 2007, 11:23
can any 1 confirm that Josh Bell is leaving Numurkah

willo1
2 Mar 2007, 14:47
I wear long stops because it is a very soft ground, yeah you do tend to slip over a bit but it is still a beautiful ground.

bystanding backman
2 Mar 2007, 14:58
I wear long stops because it is a very soft ground, yeah you do tend to slip over a bit but it is still a beautiful ground.

willo1 can you fill me in on why jarrod nuttal, troy mcmaster and luke schwenke (not sure on spelling) have put in for clearences will they be hard to replace if they get cleared.

willo1
3 Mar 2007, 11:25
willo1 can you fill me in on why jarrod nuttal, troy mcmaster and luke schwenke (not sure on spelling) have put in for clearences will they be hard to replace if they get cleared.
I'm not 100% sure on their exact reason but I have heard a couple of things on the grapevine. Mainly that they want to head out of town and play together with their mates with no pressure put on them.
There is no doubt that they are quality players, but United have some handy new players and depth in the reserves to fill the void left by them.

Hand Grenade
3 Mar 2007, 17:51
[QUOTE=hank1;6829205]
Mate, you'd be surprised how tight the Barooga Sports Club are with the $$$. I can tell you back in the mid 90's they were throwing it about but you can rest assured there are clubs in the Murray League shelling out more than Barooga these days (take Mulwala for example).

willo1
3 Mar 2007, 20:29
[QUOTE=willo1;6830385]
Mate, you'd be surprised how tight the Barooga Sports Club are with the $$$. I can tell you back in the mid 90's they were throwing it about but you can rest assured there are clubs in the Murray League shelling out more than Barooga these days (take Mulwala for example).
Yeah maybe mate, but 5 GVFL players just dont decide to go and play in the lower standard league for a meat pie and a can of coke. Mulwala are also spending a lot of money, but fortunately for them, Mulwala is growing like wildfire and their are plenty of employment opportunities for them to line players up with, as well as the fact the Mulwala is a beautiful place to live.

Zackman
4 Mar 2007, 14:59
just wondering what your tip is for the dark horse this season? and any hot favourites in thirds?

willo1
4 Mar 2007, 15:58
just wondering what your tip is for the dark horse this season? and any hot favourites in thirds?
In my opinion, the dark horse in the senior competition Congupna and maybe even Tocumwal with a new coach. In the thirds, I would say Finley, Congupna, Mulwala, Echuca United and Tongala will be strong sides, but watch Deniliqiun and Moama as they may cause a few upsets.

switch the play
4 Mar 2007, 18:36
How has Jarred Mullavey from Rutherglen ended up at Waaii?(unsure of spelling).y

Zackman
4 Mar 2007, 19:27
In my opinion, the dark horse in the senior competition Congupna and maybe even Tocumwal with a new coach. In the thirds, I would say Finley, Congupna, Mulwala, Echuca United and Tongala will be strong sides, but watch Deniliqiun and Moama as they may cause a few upsets.

Yeah i think Tocumwal will have a fairly competitive side could do a bit of damage.
Im hearing good things about Mulwala and Congupna in thirds. Any idea on any dominate players to look out for?

willo1
4 Mar 2007, 19:28
How has Jarred Mullavey from Rutherglen ended up at Waaii?(unsure of spelling).y
Wrong thread mate. Try the Picola District Football League thread. ;)

jane89
4 Mar 2007, 19:32
Roger Toll is tied up with Moama in 2007 and is originally from Gisborne. Could he have something to do with it?

No i don't think so perhaps you should stop bagging ex - president of Gisborne he left on good terms with all players and committee whilst he was president, it maybe some person connected with moama football club who has a relative playing for Gisbonr Senior's who has done all the poaching.

willo1
4 Mar 2007, 19:35
Yeah i think Tocumwal will have a fairly competitive side could do a bit of damage.
Im hearing good things about Mulwala and Congupna in thirds. Any idea on any dominate players to look out for?
From Mulwala keep your eyes on Thomas Wilson, Dylan Flanagan and Jackson Cooper. For Congupna, their better players include Steele Sidebottom, Chris Dickson and Matthew Pianto. Where are you from mate? Who do you play for?

willo1
4 Mar 2007, 19:43
No i don't think so perhaps you should stop bagging ex - president of Gisborne he left on good terms with all players and committee whilst he was president, it maybe some person connected with moama football club who has a relative playing for Gisbonr Senior's who has done all the poaching.
Settle down, havn't bagged the bloke once. I know him and he's a top bloke. Just trying to find out who is trying to get players from Gisborne, and he was the first person that came to mind seeing he is originally from there.

Do you know who this Moama person is that has a relative from Gisborne seniors or is that just what you think? And you can't say '..all the poaching..' because there is only one Gisborne player who has signed with Moama.

Zackman
4 Mar 2007, 19:43
From Mulwala keep your eyes on Thomas Wilson, Dylan Flanagan and Jackson Cooper. For Congupna, their better players include Steele Sidebottom, Chris Dickson and Matthew Pianto. Where are you from mate? Who do you play for?

Congupna mate.

willo1
4 Mar 2007, 19:57
Congupna mate.
Oh yeah. First year at the club?

switch the play
5 Mar 2007, 10:54
Wrong thread mate. Try the Picola District Football League thread. ;)
Sorry

ringo1
5 Mar 2007, 12:27
Sorry

Heard that former Kyabram Champion Chris Atkins may join Nathalia in 07-would send a shudder through some other clubs if true.

BIGANT
5 Mar 2007, 12:52
Just some thoughts on Josh Wanganeen from United !? Knew is father when he played for Millicent in the Western Border fl during the mid to late 80's.His father was a hard at it wingman onballer who had gr8 skills, is Josh the same...

Sippawitz
5 Mar 2007, 13:09
Just some thoughts on Josh Wanganeen from United !? Knew is father when he played for Millicent in the Western Border fl during the mid to late 80's.His father was a hard at it wingman onballer who had gr8 skills, is Josh the same...
Word has it that Josh is playing with Rumba this year after stints at United and Moama, he is working over in Shepp now. Gilbert finished his career at Echuca United in the mid-90's at fullback. Ultra-competitive, hard as nails and a huge leap - used to take hangers over the full forward most weeks. Josh has pace and is skillful enough when he puts his mind to it, played off the half back flank most of last year. Younger brother Corey is a lot more like Gilbert.

BIGANT
5 Mar 2007, 13:42
Word has it that Josh is playing with Rumba this year after stints at United and Moama, he is working over in Shepp now. Gilbert finished his career at Echuca United in the mid-90's at fullback. Ultra-competitive, hard as nails and a huge leap - used to take hangers over the full forward most weeks. Josh has pace and is skillful enough when he puts his mind to it, played off the half back flank most of last year. Younger brother Corey is a lot more like Gilbert.
I must have my wires crossed with Josh & his father !? as the Wanganeen i knew and watched was Michael...he left the Wb area in the mid to late 80's and has been up in Echuca ever since.

Sippawitz
5 Mar 2007, 14:21
I must have my wires crossed with Josh & his father !? as the Wanganeen i knew and watched was Michael...he left the Wb area in the mid to late 80's and has been up in Echuca ever since.
Mick Wanganeen is Josh's uncle. Played for Echuca South, I think, but retired before South and east merged to become Echuca United.

BIGANT
5 Mar 2007, 14:54
Mick Wanganeen is Josh's uncle. Played for Echuca South, I think, but retired before South and east merged to become Echuca United. Thanks for that....has Mick got any boys that play footy up there !?!?

dazzledavey36
5 Mar 2007, 14:54

Dylan Flanagan is a hack! and fat also! jackson cooper is way 2 small and scared of the big hits and thomas wilson is slooooww.

hank1
5 Mar 2007, 15:35
Heard that former Kyabram Champion Chris Atkins may join Nathalia in 07-would send a shudder through some other clubs if true.

I've also heard Balranald, Golden Square, Darley and Qld

willo1
5 Mar 2007, 15:41
Thanks for that....has Mick got any boys that play footy up there !?!?

He has one son Reece who is 16 years old, who played footy a couple of years back but doesn't play anymore.

willo1
5 Mar 2007, 15:43
Dylan Flanagan is a hack! and fat also! jackson cooper is way 2 small and scared of the big hits and thomas wilson is slooooww.
They obviously get more kicks than you mate, so just pipe down a bit.

grac
5 Mar 2007, 16:12
Who are you, his wife?

Zackman
5 Mar 2007, 19:55
Sorry

nah not my first year im a supporter and dont play in any comp. Whats your opinion about Steele Sidebottom? Ive heard big things about Tongala in the thirds as well.

Zackman
5 Mar 2007, 19:59

you must be pretty good yourself with those strong comments mate

JD No7
5 Mar 2007, 20:08
nah not my first year im a supporter and dont play in any comp. Whats your opinion about Steele Sidebottom? Ive heard big things about Tongala in the thirds as well.

U/14 at Tonny were unstoppable 2 years ago, last year was the start, this year they should show their true worth.:thumbsu:

Zackman
5 Mar 2007, 20:12
U/14 at Tonny were unstoppable 2 years ago, last year was the start, this year they should show their true worth.:thumbsu:

yeah they sound like they will be pretty strong with season any key players?

willo1
5 Mar 2007, 20:14
Young Rusty Sidebottom is quite a nifty footballer. He's very strong over head and also at ground level and can play almost anywhere. Can be a big handfull for oposition teams if he isn't shut down.

Yes, I can see the Tongala Un. 17's being competitive this year with a lot of middle age players from 2006 stepping up to top age for the 2007 season. Players like Tom Wyatt, Jordan Souter and Jarrad Denham possess a great deal of talent and should lead the boys to a top 6 spot this season.

JD No7
5 Mar 2007, 20:17
yeah they sound like they will be pretty strong with season any key players?

Thirds do better as a team, to list would give you half their side, that is why they will be strong. Coach is very good at getting the best.

Footy08
5 Mar 2007, 20:21
Young Rusty Sidebottom is quite a nifty footballer. He's very strong over head and also at ground level and can play almost anywhere. Can be a big handfull for oposition teams if he isn't shut down.

Yes, I can see the Tongala Un. 17's being competitive this year with a lot of middle age players from 2006 stepping up to top age for the 2007 season. Players like Tom Wyatt, Jordan Souter and Jarrad Denham possess a great deal of talent and should lead the boys to a top 6 spot this season.

Luke McGill should be a stand out player for tonny i would imagin??

Zackman
5 Mar 2007, 20:22
Thirds do better as a team, to list would give you half their side, that is why they will be strong. Coach is very good at getting the best.

Steele is probably in my opinion the best player for his age in the goulburn valley and he has proved it. you will see alot of him in seniors and thirds this year. he will also be playing representative football. I would like to no what you think about the thirds at congupna? and your opininon on Pianto?

willo1
5 Mar 2007, 20:31
Luke McGill should be a stand out player for tonny i would imagin??
Oh yes, I wasn't sure whether Luke will still be playing 3rds this season or not. But he will also be a very good player up forward and as a marking option up the ground.

willo1
5 Mar 2007, 20:33
Steele is probably in my opinion the best player for his age in the goulburn valley and he has proved it. you will see alot of him in seniors and thirds this year. he will also be playing representative football. I would like to no what you think about the thirds at congupna? and your opininon on Pianto?
Yeah he is certainly a very good player. The Un.17's team at Congupna are generally a strong side with about 6-7 good quality players each season. Matt Pianto is a similar player to Steele but not as strong at ground level.

hank1
5 Mar 2007, 20:34
Oh yes, I wasn't sure whether Luke will still be playing 3rds this season or not. But he will also be a very good player up forward and as a marking option up the ground.

Too old for U/17's training at Bushrangers at the moment, should make the squad.

willo1
5 Mar 2007, 20:36
Too old for U/17's training at Bushrangers at the moment, should make the squad.
Yeah that's what I thought Hank.

Footy08
5 Mar 2007, 20:37

sorry, my mistake.. he is to old for the u17s.. how did he go last year? good kid!

Zackman
5 Mar 2007, 20:37

yeah he is too old for under 17s now. good player tho.

Zackman
5 Mar 2007, 20:42
Yeah he is certainly a very good player. The Un.17's team at Congupna are generally a strong side with about 6-7 good quality players each season. Matt Pianto is a similar player to Steele but not as strong at ground level.

Congupna has a really strong thirds side from what ive seen. This is the first time ive seen a thirds side at congupna with so much depth

willo1
5 Mar 2007, 20:44
sorry, my mistake.. he is to old for the u17s.. how did he go last year? good kid!
Yeah he went really well last season. Came runner-up in the league goal kicking and was very good not only up forward but around the ground too.

willo1
5 Mar 2007, 20:45
Congupna has a really strong thirds side from what ive seen. This is the first time ive seen a thirds side at congupna with so much depth
How many players are they getting on the track mate? Over the last few seasons they have only had around 18-20 players on their list.

Zackman
5 Mar 2007, 20:48
How many players are they getting on the track mate? Over the last few seasons they have only had around 18-20 players on their list.

32 on the current list but still waiting on some players to put pen to paper. got some strong young lads for shepp

JD No7
5 Mar 2007, 20:51
Yeah he went really well last season. Came runner-up in the league goal kicking and was very good not only up forward but around the ground too.

Been playing CHB in the bushy's trial games gets a bit lost but keep his player under close guard.:thumbsu:

Footy08
5 Mar 2007, 20:51

this kid is a freak! all goin well i would predict him to make the u16s AA side this year.. anythoughts? wat would be his weaknesses if any??

Zackman
5 Mar 2007, 20:55
this kid is a freak! all goin well i would predict him to make the u16s AA side this year.. anythoughts? wat would be his weaknesses if any??

none that i know of.. strong overhead, best opposite ive ever seen and ran 15.1 on the beep test in january. expect big things from him
wasnt far off AA last year either with pianto making it

willo1
5 Mar 2007, 20:59
I'm not aware of any major weakness'. He isn't the perfect player but he is very very good. From what I have seen from the sidelines and playing against him, he is very head-smart, uses his body well and has good skills on both feet.

Zackman
5 Mar 2007, 21:01
I'm not aware of any major weakness'. He isn't the perfect player but he is very very good. From what I have seen from the sidelines and playing against him, he is very head-smart, uses his body well and has good skills on both feet.

yeah agree on everything else but seriously has the best opposite ive ever seen very very strong.

coconut
6 Mar 2007, 12:19

The thirds at the road will be right up this year i believe, as they have only lost a couple of players from last years side, although rusty and matty i believe will have alot of ones commitments this year, which will hurt there chances a bit.

themagicfrog
6 Mar 2007, 12:28
The thirds at the road will be right up this year i believe, as they have only lost a couple of players from last years side, although rusty and matty i believe will have alot of ones commitments this year, which will hurt there chances a bit.

Is Gonzo still coaching them?

coconut
6 Mar 2007, 12:36
Is Gonzo still coaching them?

Yeah mate

Zackman
6 Mar 2007, 17:52
Yeah mate

Yeha gonzo is still in charge at the road. yeah matt and steele will have a lot of commitments but you'll be surprised how strong the rest of the side will be

willo1
6 Mar 2007, 19:01
Yeha gonzo is still in charge at the road. yeah matt and steele will have a lot of commitments but you'll be surprised how strong the rest of the side will be
Oh well we'll all see how they go in the next few weeks.

Zackman
6 Mar 2007, 19:40
Oh well we'll all see how they go in the next few weeks.

yeah thats exactly right

willo1
6 Mar 2007, 19:52
So any more news on the Murray Football League for 2007? New recruits etc.

Zackman
6 Mar 2007, 20:08
yeah thats exactly right

do you have any idea what the seniors in finley wil be like this season wilo1

willo1
6 Mar 2007, 20:46
do you have any idea what the seniors in finley wil be like this season wilo1
They have some good players and a few young guns coming through like Matthew Richardson and Ali Brooks, but although they are on the improve, I cant see them making finals in 2007, although they will challenge some of the better sides and be snapping at the heals of Congupna and Tocumwal.

zero2hero
6 Mar 2007, 20:53
I'm pretty sure that Gilbert also played a year or 2 at Gigarre in the KDFL, a very exciting player to watch. Can you or anyone else confirm that he is the uncle of Gavin Wanganeen ?

willo1
6 Mar 2007, 21:09
I'm pretty sure that Gilbert also played a year or 2 at Gigarre in the KDFL, a very exciting player to watch. Can you or anyone else confirm that he is the uncle of Gavin Wanganeen ?
I can confirm it. He is the Uncle of Gavin.

Meat Head
6 Mar 2007, 21:11
Yes, I can see the Tongala Un. 17's being competitive this year with a lot of middle age players from 2006 stepping up to top age for the 2007 season. Players like Tom Wyatt, Jordan Souter and Jarrad Denham possess a great deal of talent and should lead the boys to a top 6 spot this season.[/quote]

i cant see tonny bein any good. even in the murray league they will struggle...if those 3 players are their best then things arent looking good for the young blues.....yet again

willo1
7 Mar 2007, 10:20
i cant see tonny bein any good. even in the murray league they will struggle...if those 3 players are their best then things arent looking good for the young blues.....yet again

I didn't say that they were the only quality players in the Tongala Un. 17's team. They will just be the leaders of the side, but they will be supported strongly by the rest of the team who are also quite strong.

Meat Head
7 Mar 2007, 16:21
but they will be supported strongly by the rest of the team who are also quite strong.

doubt it

Zackman
7 Mar 2007, 17:32
doubt it

are you talking about in thirds or in seniors?

Meat Head
7 Mar 2007, 19:41
are you talking about in thirds or in seniors?

thirds....seniors will struggle as well though, have done no recruiting at all i heard the other night at a tonny training session...will look to play a lot of kids who would play 2s at best at a lot of other clubs

hank1
7 Mar 2007, 20:04
thirds....seniors will struggle as well though, have done no recruiting at all i heard the other night at a tonny training session...will look to play a lot of kids who would play 2s at best at a lot of other clubs
Your on the ball Meat Head, thirds will play finals again this year, Seniors wont be far away, and as for the recruiting 8 players in so far and 1 out, wont be too many clubs with a better ratio than that. You say you heard it at a Tonny training session??

Meat Head
7 Mar 2007, 21:40
i think you'd probably find that there are more clubs going who would rather 1 or 2 really good recruits rather than just 8 medioka recruits..

willo1
7 Mar 2007, 22:05
i think you'd probably find that there are more clubs going who would rather 1 or 2 really good recruits rather than just 8 medioka recruits..
Yeah but for a club like Tongala who are on the re-building process, they just can't pull money out of no-where to pay 2 very good players every week mate. They obviously would rather have 8 blokes around the club that are there to build a successful club, have some fun and bring about some good culture for the club.

What have you got against Tongala Football Club anyway? Since joining in on discussion on this forum, all you have done is bagged Tongala and gone on about how they wont be any good. If your not going to post anything constructive and worth reading, then don't post at all.

ringo1
8 Mar 2007, 06:35
Yeah but for a club like Tongala who are on the re-building process, they just can't pull money out of no-where to pay 2 very good players every week mate. They obviously would rather have 8 blokes around the club that are there to build a successful club, have some fun and bring about some good culture for the club.

What have you got against Tongala Football Club anyway? Since joining in on discussion on this forum, all you have done is bagged Tongala and gone on about how they wont be any good. If your not going to post anything constructive and worth reading, then don't post at all.

Great stuff Willo1-very well written!!!:thumbsu:

hank1
8 Mar 2007, 07:47

1 or 2 really good recruits?? Michael Roberts GV rep last two years, i'm sure most clubs in any major league would be happy with that(so there is your one big recruit). 4 have had a minimum of one year GV senior experience, and all except for Michael (close friend of coach!) are connected to the club in one way or another which is a big tick in my book when recruiting.

themagicfrog
8 Mar 2007, 08:21
They have some good players and a few young guns coming through like Matthew Richardson and Ali Brooks, but although they are on the improve, I cant see them making finals in 2007, although they will challenge some of the better sides and be snapping at the heals of Congupna and Tocumwal.

Isn't Richardson off to Yarrawonga?

harls
8 Mar 2007, 11:18
1 or 2 really good recruits?? Michael Roberts GV rep last two years, i'm sure most clubs in any major league would be happy with that(so there is your one big recruit). 4 have had a minimum of one year GV senior experience, and all except for Michael (close friend of coach!) are connected to the club in one way or another which is a big tick in my book when recruiting.

micheal roberts is a gun, will be one of the top recruits in MFL

ringo1
8 Mar 2007, 11:50
recruiting 1 or 2 guns is not going to make much difference-you need a spread of players that can contribute in all parts of the ground to make a difference. Tongala appear to be doing that and their coach/committee need to be commended for that approach. Perhaps 2008/09 could be the time to get a couple of guns to top off the foundation set this year:) :)

Zackman
8 Mar 2007, 14:05
Isn't Richardson off to Yarrawonga?

is that joel richardson?

willo1
8 Mar 2007, 15:13
is that joel richardson?
Yes sorry, I wrote Richardson instead of Jackson, I meant Matthew Jackson. Was named best player for the MFL Un 18's inter-league in 2006. Joes Richardson isn't a bad player, has a lot of arrogance though.