View Full Version : Murray Football League
themagicfrog
8 Mar 2007, 15:13
is that joel richardson?
I'm not 100% sure which one, I just heard that one was going. Sorry.
Great stuff Willo1-very well written!!!:thumbsu:
Thanks mate.
But am I right Hank? I can really see the way you blokes are going about re-building your club and I commend you as well as the football club as a whole.
Joe Czak
8 Mar 2007, 15:24
how is united going to go this season?
They will go very well. They will definately be in the top 2 this season and I can see them going one better in 2007.
Thanks mate.
But am I right Hank? I can really see the way you blokes are going about re-building your club and I commend you as well as the football club as a whole.
Thanks mate, and yes a slow approach that will see us still competitive in the Murray League for many years to come is the key.
Meat Head
8 Mar 2007, 16:07
Thanks mate, and yes a slow approach that will see us still competitive in the Murray League for many years to come is the key.
point well proved, apologies to all involved at the tonny footy club
no need to apologise mate, we all have our opinions.
iwantanotherflag
8 Mar 2007, 18:46
no need to apologise mate, we all have our opinions.
What Tongala will do in the MFL, and what they couldn't do in the GVFL is to hopefully create a winning culture around the club. A club where flags and success are not from imports, but from the core group of talent that is bred in the area. Sure topping up will happen, but they will be able to rely on the locals to stick around and be competitive. In the past their good locals perhaps were getting sick of shellackings (Cough *Campbell Cough* Brunt) and looked elsewhere for some success.
Tongala in the MFL will be a great move in the long run for the club. If they can start by winning a few 4ths & 3rds flags they will see the results. I think I remember that Tonny 3rds in the GV were winless on many occasions, whilst their high school mates at Ky were winning flags. Why would you stick around?
chicken38
8 Mar 2007, 19:52
I'm not 100% sure which one, I just heard that one was going. Sorry.young matty jackson has been training at yarr in the pre season is keen to try his luck there
chicken38
8 Mar 2007, 19:58
do you have any idea what the seniors in finley wil be like this season wilo1Finley should go all right have a very good group off young kids pushing to play 1s picked up a couple of players sam nevins , mark braybon both good tall players sam played ovens an murray for wodonga and nrth alb mark played for ganmain i think in a couple of flags both local boys so good luck to finley in chasing local boys back to the area as it makes it more interesting for the supporters to follow:thumbsu:
Finley should go all right have a very good group off young kids pushing to play 1s picked up a couple of players sam nevins , mark braybon both good tall players sam played ovens an murray for wodonga and nrth alb mark played for ganmain i think in a couple of flags both local boys so good luck to finley in chasing local boys back to the area as it makes it more interesting for the supporters to follow:thumbsu:
hows the thirds side in finley look?
wilo1 whos damian russell?
A young bloke playing 3rds for Echuca United. Why's that?
just seen his clearance put through is that daem russel or different bloke?
No theres Damien Russell, played football for United, went to Echuca to play a year of Un. 16's last season, and is coming back to United this year to play Un. 17's. Then theres Daen Russell who is playing for Echuca in the Un. 16's this season I think.
Yes, I can see the Tongala Un. 17's being competitive this year with a lot of middle age players from 2006 stepping up to top age for the 2007 season. Players like Tom Wyatt, Jordan Souter and Jarrad Denham possess a great deal of talent and should lead the boys to a top 6 spot this season.
i cant see tonny bein any good. even in the murray league they will struggle...if those 3 players are their best then things arent looking good for the young blues.....yet again[/quote]
meat head.. sorry for the late reply i just want to ask ya about these comments? i will tell u now the tonny thirds will play finals they are so even balanced. also what does....yet again mean? last season they lost 5 or 6 games for the season. lost 1 by 1 point, 2 by 2 point and 2 by six point with one being on the last kick of the day, and there biggest loss was against deni in deni by 15 points. they played finals losing there first final to finley by 20 odd point wich was the closest a team got to finley in the final series! so mate if ya want to have a crack at any team fair enough.....just make sure u got ya facts right
Meat Head
9 Mar 2007, 20:28
...girl
...girl
got the big guns out there meat head
Meat Head
9 Mar 2007, 22:42
yeah you got me there but...3 wins in 3 seasons probably speaks for itself ey!
Not one to dwell in the past mate, 3 wins in first year of Murray league after not winning a game for two years is a launching pad for better things to come;)
dazzledavey36
10 Mar 2007, 17:22
you must be pretty good yourself with those strong comments mate
And have u seen them to date lately??! played against all three last night and all of them were shocking! Flanagan and Wilson are fat now! cooper is just way too small! and wilo i am practically mates with them.. they were were once really good footballers but now too many on the piss and overweight now..! so y dont ya shut your pipe hole ********!
How can you be 'practically mates' with someone? Don't you know when someone is your mate or not? Maybe you just want them to be your mates.;) Look, they were good players last season, and the season before and all seasons before that, I don't know them personally so I wouldn't know whether they have gotten ordinary over the off season.
Just out of curiosity, who won the match last night, them or you? And who do you play for?
Does anyone really know where Nathalia are at just a month out from the start of the season? Ive read that many of you common "big footy'ers" have written them off for the 07 season. Just like to know some reasons for this? It doesnt appear that they have lost all that many and comming off babk to back you nearly have to pencil them in for some saptember action again this year.
Not sure where you've picked that vibe up from Dingle, from what I can gather most on here would have them as favourites to take it out again, and for the ones who dont they would surely have them in their top 3.
Anyone got any practice matches organised that would be worth a glance?
Echuca United v Wallan, Lockington Football Ground. Saturday 17th March. 12 noon.
Cats_Fan
14 Mar 2007, 13:00
Night Series Result
Rumbalara - 15.7.97
Cobram - 9.3.57
bomberboy_19
14 Mar 2007, 18:29
Congupna V Shepp East- Friday Night at Congupna
Not sure where you've picked that vibe up from Dingle, from what I can gather most on here would have them as favourites to take it out again, and for the ones who dont they would surely have them in their top 3.
Does Nathalia not stop getting players. I noticed that they have picked up players from the GV and O&M and now there is one from Queensland. I also hear that a bloke by the name of Big Scads is returning and young Davies brother might be going there.
journeyman
15 Mar 2007, 16:28
Does Nathalia not stop getting players. I noticed that they have picked up players from the GV and O&M and now there is one from Queensland. I also hear that a bloke by the name of Big Scads is returning and young Davies brother might be going there.
Two players from GV are Quinn and Vallender. They are both Nathalia boys who played in 05 flag and are returning after a year in the GV.
Two from O&M are Mark Simms and Craig Hicks. Simms is travelling from Bendigo with one of the players. I don't think he played last year but not 100%. Hicks is from Yarrawonga and is one of the coach's best mates. He's coming off a knee injury and wont be right for awhile though.
Ash Dohnt is coming back from a year in Queensland. Coaching the twos.
Big Scads never left to my understanding and I think he's on committee rather than playing. His senior career finished a fair while ago.
Sorry, don't know about Davies' brother.
bignuts
15 Mar 2007, 17:04
Can anyone tell me were Drew Barnes is playing this year, heard he is a mid gun?
Believe he is having a run at the Coburg Tigers in the VFL, one of the Nathalia guys would be able to confirm or deny this.
journeyman
15 Mar 2007, 18:03
Believe he is having a run at the Coburg Tigers in the VFL, one of the Nathalia guys would be able to confirm or deny this.
Geelong in the VFL with Nathalia as his local club. Ryan Butler did it last year and will do it again this year.
Barnes did a pre season try out at Richmond which is why you've probably heard Coburg.
Meat Head
15 Mar 2007, 19:44
pretty sure hes heading up north after a disagreement with a few players and some of the coaching staff down at coburg
Meat Head, do you just make stories up? Which players did he have disagreements with? How do you know that he had problems with the coaching staff at Coburg. Now I understand the name that you use.
roaring tiger
16 Mar 2007, 15:03
Geelong in the VFL with Nathalia as his local club. Ryan Butler did it last year and will do it again this year.
Barnes did a pre season try out at Richmond which is why you've probably heard Coburg.
With a bit of luck he plays the whole year down at geelong and not for nathalia as it will mean 1 less player opposition teams have to worry about in the murray league.
Does anyone know of any scores from the barooga night series?
journeyman
16 Mar 2007, 16:16
That's not true because he hasn't been at Coburg.
He's also not the type of bloke that would be having disagreements with players and coaches. He's a pretty casual sort of bloke.
That's not true because he hasn't been at Coburg.
He's also not the type of bloke that would be having disagreements with players and coaches. He's a pretty casual sort of bloke.
Journeyman, never justify to an idiot.
Echuca United v Wallan. United won by 20 goals.
Trent Lovelock
18 Mar 2007, 10:42
Echuca United v Wallan. United won by 20 goals.
did duane hueston play for united?
Yeah mate. Played very well too. Racked up heaps of posessions for the Eagles around the ground, in the middle and up forward.
big cigar
18 Mar 2007, 18:27
Has anyone heard how Numurkah is traveling. A fella the other day was telling me that they have only been getting 12-18 at training... starting to get a bit close to the season for those kind of numbers...
adriantimmis
19 Mar 2007, 14:07
Numurkah are travelling ok, they have some quality players like brown, robbins, bell, wellington's, sprunt, collin's, miller. Just keep watching they will be sighning 3 goulburn valley footballers in the next 2 days. Dont worry bout the blues they will do some damage this year.
Numurkah re-established themselves last year under Chips McCartney and I think that what they have added this year will see them in the top 4-5 spots at the end of the season.
adriantimmis
19 Mar 2007, 14:54
dam straight doggy
roaring tiger
19 Mar 2007, 15:13
Yeah mate. Played very well too. Racked up heaps of posessions for the Eagles around the ground, in the middle and up forward.
After watching Saturday's game at Lockington the Eagles are shaping up with a very handy side. 5 or 6 senior players didn't play so there should be good depth at the club for 2007. Maybe they can go 1 step further this year.
Were there any players in particular that stood out?
Did you happen to catch the reserves match? There are quite a few players that had a run in the two's who are quite capable of stepping into the senior side.
Don't know this person personally, but from good resources they are on the committee of the MOama Football Club,and i wish the Gisborne player well to go to Moama hope he does well. This will all settle down in the next month once the football has started and no one will realy care who is playing for who. Like me i realy don't care as long as young kids enjoy their footy it doesn't realy matter who they are playing for. I know the $$ has a lot to do with Country Football today if clubs can afford to pay that's ok to. But when the $$'s run out that's when the Clubs get them selves into trouble no money & no players.
Settle down, havn't bagged the bloke once. I know him and he's a top bloke. Just trying to find out who is trying to get players from Gisborne, and he was the first person that came to mind seeing he is originally from there.
Do you know who this Moama person is that has a relative from Gisborne seniors or is that just what you think? And you can't say '..all the poaching..' because there is only one Gisborne player who has signed with Moama.
big cigar
19 Mar 2007, 19:56
I heard that Taylor and shadblot have left numurkah going back to shep.... how about training numbers numurkah.
Looking at Picola league clearences there seem to be a few from Numurkah and they seem to be rejecting players clearence to
big cigar
19 Mar 2007, 20:28
Looking at Picola league clearences there seem to be a few from Numurkah and they seem to be rejecting players clearence to
I was just talking to a fella from Numurkah and he said that they are in big trouble.... lucky to fill a senior side let alone magoos... Katunga seems to be the place to be!
are they clearing them though
big cigar
19 Mar 2007, 20:46
are they clearing them though
Well they might not be yet but at the end of the day they can't stop them from going!
I see they played Wallan who are no powerhouse. I can't see united going one step further as Barooga and nathalia have really strengthend their teams.
didn't united have 3 or 4 from north heidelberg play for them? if and when the dv season starts, these guys won't be there and i am sure that will leave a big hole for them. there's know way i would allow guys just to come in for the first 4 games of the season, get cleared back as soon as there season starts and how would you feel if you were 1 of these guys making room for them.
roaring tiger
20 Mar 2007, 12:09
didn't united have 3 or 4 from north heidelberg play for them? if and when the dv season starts, these guys won't be there and i am sure that will leave a big hole for them. there's know way i would allow guys just to come in for the first 4 games of the season, get cleared back as soon as there season starts and how would you feel if you were 1 of these guys making room for them.
I think there is a big chance that the DV league will only be a 10 game season at best or they will can the league for 2007 and start afresh in 2008. All grounds are severly affected and even plenty of rain will probably lead to a mud hole as the grass wont have enough time to get a good coverage.
I heard a couple of DV players also played for Toc who i think got beat by deni. Any other scores from the night series.
roaring tiger
20 Mar 2007, 12:15
Wallan are defaintly know powerhouse but it was a good hit first up for the eagles. The Eagles play Lower plenty this weekend so should be another good hit out before round 1.
I do't think barooga will be as good as everyone thinks. They finished 4th last year have lost there key forward Pardew and there major inclusions are Byers, Rattray, Liddle and Harrop. With all the other top 3 sides picking up players as well (and not losing to many) it should be an very even between the top 4 or 5 sides.
Wallan are defaintly know powerhouse but it was a good hit first up for the eagles. The Eagles play Lower plenty this weekend so should be another good hit out before round 1.
I do't think barooga will be as good as everyone thinks. They finished 4th last year have lost there key forward Pardew and there major inclusions are Byers, Rattray, Liddle and Harrop. With all the other top 3 sides picking up players as well (and not losing to many) it should be an very even between the top 4 or 5 sides.
Reckon the 2 Seymour premiershipplayers will cover Pardew and apparently there are more to signwith Baooga that are quality footballers
toquick
20 Mar 2007, 12:39
Reckon the 2 Seymour premiershipplayers will cover Pardew and apparently there are more to signwith Baooga that are quality footballers
jake anderson also a seymour premiership player has been training with them and played in the night series for them....
also numerka seemed to have picked up a couple more tat boys in scarcella and thomson. tommo is a hack and will be lucky to get a kick he didnt get one last yr for tat and scarce wil go ok. very over rated player though.
where are united playing lower plenty?
roaring tiger
20 Mar 2007, 13:18
At this stage at Home (Echuca South Oval) which i must say is in top nick with this half and inch of rain on top. There will be a few players missing from saturdays game but should still be a good hit out for the ones that play.
roccafrom60
20 Mar 2007, 13:21
The 4 players from North Heidelburg are wanting to play a full season of football either at Echuca United or North Heidelburg. If the Melbourne area does not get sufficient rainfall between now and April, the season will either be shortened or cancelled, and these four players will travel each week and play the full season with United.
Echuca United v Lower Plenty will be played at United's home ground; the Echuca South Oval.
At this stage at Home (Echuca South Oval) which i must say is in top nick with this half and inch of rain on top. There will be a few players missing from saturdays game but should still be a good hit out for the ones that play.
Like who?
Going to come and have a look Boora?
yeah i might, i will be in shepp on the weekend and i use to play at nth heidelberg. i know afew guys there still, so i might come across for a look.
jake anderson also a seymour premiership player has been training with them and played in the night series for them....
also numerka seemed to have picked up a couple more tat boys in scarcella and thomson. tommo is a hack and will be lucky to get a kick he didnt get one last yr for tat and scarce wil go ok. very over rated player though.
is that trav thomson, toquick?
bomberboy_19
20 Mar 2007, 17:35
does anyone no how numurkah v tat went on saturday? and congupna v shepp east... i'd like to see some results... also any other games being played this weekend!
thereoffandracing
20 Mar 2007, 18:01
:thumbsd: Byers is a freak, he has won a morrison medal and is NO dud and the other 3 are good players and if they can sign seymour premiershipn player Anderson, look out, and if pardew is the only key to be lost to the hawks they will be a good side, mulwala still the team to beat!!!
Well pointed out mate, definately some classy additions to the Hawks, Byers will give the Gemmills a run for their money in the premier onballer stakes.
madtiger
20 Mar 2007, 19:19
anyone have any info on nathalia v mul in the night series best players etc. would have been a great game...
goodgolly24
20 Mar 2007, 20:04
Rumbalara play barooga tomorrow night, any predictions, anyone other thene Byers worth being aware of?
Zackman
20 Mar 2007, 20:23
Rumbalara play barooga tomorrow night, any predictions, anyone other thene Byers worth being aware of?
where is the game?
Barooga night series I'd say mate, Harrop is a quick leading FF with pretty good hands. Rattray wont be playing, and if Liddell plays he isnt really someone you need to worry about, goes ok though. Don't know any other recruits worth mentioning.
sizzled
20 Mar 2007, 22:19
Mul by 7 goals, dont have individual results
toquick
21 Mar 2007, 08:04
is that trav thomson, toquick?
thats correct souts.
toquick
21 Mar 2007, 08:05
Well pointed out mate, definately some classy additions to the Hawks, Byers will give the Gemmills a run for their money in the premier onballer stakes.
i think you can also put linc wellington in that bracket hank. and if you play purce on the ball he wouldnt be far off it also.
toquick
21 Mar 2007, 08:07
does anyone no how numurkah v tat went on saturday? and congupna v shepp east... i'd like to see some results... also any other games being played this weekend!
numerka beat tat by 1 point. and shepp east went down to congupna by 5 goals.
bearsboy
21 Mar 2007, 10:18
Does any one know how Gisborne boy's Matthew Knox and Brenton Faulkiner went for Moama on the weekend ?
i think you can also put linc wellington in that bracket hank. and if you play purce on the ball he wouldnt be far off it also.
no doubt toquick, was just talking about Barooga though mate, hopefully wont have to play the big unit onball, would be nice to keep him at CHF for the year.
toquick
21 Mar 2007, 14:04
no doubt toquick, was just talking about Barooga though mate, hopefully wont have to play the big unit onball, would be nice to keep him at CHF for the year.
ah sorry mate.
how is hook **** shaping up? still flying is he?
ah sorry mate.
how is hook **** shaping up? still flying is he?
yeah looking good, what about yourself, shaping up for a big one this year?
toquick
21 Mar 2007, 16:29
yeah looking good, what about yourself, shaping up for a big one this year?
i will have to get over and watch ya play a few games if i get a chance.
yeah like purce and everyone else from tat i have left so looking forward to a new environment with alot more success then we had at the kennel. im playing at dookie and we are shapping up pretty good. picked up some quality players.
i will have to get over and watch ya play a few games if i get a chance.
yeah like purce and everyone else from tat i have left so looking forward to a new environment with alot more success then we had at the kennel. im playing at dookie and we are shapping up pretty good. picked up some quality players.
Yeah noticed that, looks like you blokes should go alright out there, all the best, catch up with u during the year.
Jake or Jeff?
How will the loss of Paul Ellis effect Barooga's chances. Is his signing at seymour a fair swap for Gerard and Pat Rattray?
Winged Warrior
22 Mar 2007, 13:37
Does any one know how Gisborne boy's Matthew Knox and Brenton Faulkiner went for Moama on the weekend ?
Brenton Faulkner very good in and under, fit, and had plenty of the ball.
Matthew Knox looked comfortable sitting across the half forward line booted a lazy 4 or 5
fork tongue
22 Mar 2007, 15:08
Brenton Faulkner very good in and under, fit, and had plenty of the ball.
Matthew Knox looked comfortable sitting across the half forward line booted a lazy 4 or 5
who else played well w.w.???
Barooga defeated Rumbalara by about 4 goals last night in the Barooga Night Series. Does anyone know whether Barooga had their full strength team in?
Cats_Fan
22 Mar 2007, 20:07
Barooga defeated Rumbalara by about 4 goals last night in the Barooga Night Series. Does anyone know whether Barooga had their full strength team in?
Pretty sure they still have 4 or 5 Melbourne travellers that didn't play.
Thanks mate. Thought they might have been missing a few.
goodgolly24
22 Mar 2007, 20:26
[QUOTE=Cats_Fan;7006471]Pretty sure they still have 4 or 5 Melbourne travellers that didn't play.[/QUOTE
I think rumba played with out about 7 of there senior players as well. should be a good bame come season proper.
[QUOTE=Cats_Fan;7006471]Pretty sure they still have 4 or 5 Melbourne travellers that didn't play.[/QUOTE
I think rumba played with out about 7 of there senior players as well. should be a good bame come season proper.
Yes that's true, I was speaking to a couple of Rumba boys today and they said that they were missing a handfull of quality senior players.
Cats_Fan
22 Mar 2007, 21:48
[quote=goodgolly24;7006630]
Yes that's true, I was speaking to a couple of Rumba boys today and they said that they were missing a handfull of quality senior players.
I doubt there would be too many teams if any that would have full squads playing in the Night Series.
[quote=goodgolly24;7006630]
hey willo, which north boys are having a run for you guys in the praccy matches jarrod king, mouse, harley, moorey and is jason dean having a run?
[quote=willo1;7007304]
hey willo, which north boys are having a run for you guys in the praccy matches jarrod king, mouse, harley, moorey and is jason dean having a run?
Yeah all of those blokes except Jason Dean. Coming to have a look tomorrow mate?
[quote=boora;7009915]
Yeah all of those blokes except Jason Dean. Coming to have a look tomorrow mate?
yeah i was going to shepp on the weekend, but now the plans have changed ah well, i will have to what for united v rumba game and who knows i might run some water or something that day.
[quote=willo1;7012436]
yeah i was going to shepp on the weekend, but now the plans have changed ah well, i will have to what for united v rumba game and who knows i might run some water or something that day.
Oh okay. Yeah make sure you give me a drink!;) Tomorrow should be a solid hit-out for United. Lower Plenty are a good quality side so it should be a good game.
Are there any other practice matches on this weekend?
[QUOTE=boora;7012586]
Oh okay. Yeah make sure you give me a drink!;) Tomorrow should be a solid hit-out for United. Lower Plenty are a good quality side so it should be a good game.
Are there any other practice matches on this weekend?
Tongala tackle Western Region League team Sunshine @ Tonny 3 games
[QUOTE=willo1;7012816]
Tongala tackle Western Region League team Sunshine @ Tonny 3 games
Seniors, Reserves and Thirds? How will you blokes go mate? Putting in a full strength side?
Cats_Fan
23 Mar 2007, 17:10
Cobram playing Katunga this Saturday at Scott Oval
[QUOTE=hank1;7013008]
Seniors, Reserves and Thirds? How will you blokes go mate? Putting in a full strength side?
yeah all 3, will have half a dozen senior players out but still will be a fairly strong side for us, good to have that many out and still get two full sides this far out.