View Full Version : Murray Football League
[QUOTE=willo1;7013230]
yeah all 3, will have half a dozen senior players out but still will be a fairly strong side for us, good to have that many out and still get two full sides this far out.
Yeah that is great to hear mate. Goodluck.
Winged Warrior
24 Mar 2007, 11:18
who else played well w.w.???
Side looking very good. Appears both forward and backine been bolstered with the inclusion of Travis Wayman up forward & Dan Irwin down back. Also the Magpies new ruckman appears tough to beat, a big man.
Hey W.W i look foward to watching the annual good friday clash between the magpies & the eagles, any chance of you guys putting up a better show than last years effort & has your new coach spoken about what i believe was a problem for u guys in your discipline. A few guys wanted to fight rather than go the ball & they weren't even any good at that. Any way a great crowd & good facilities make for a good atmosphere all we need now is a good show from you guys
Echuca United defeated Lower Plenty by 22 goals today.
morgs01
24 Mar 2007, 17:25
Was just looking at the Murray Bushrangers Squad for 2007 and notice that not one Murray League player has made the cut.
Any thoughts on why that is, guys?
Was just looking at the Murray Bushrangers Squad for 2007 and notice that not one Murray League player has made the cut.
Any thoughts on why that is, guys?
Obviously not good enough Morgs, possibly because most of the Bushrangers players are from GVFL clubs. I would imagine Murray Football League players would find it hard to compete againsed the selection of GVFL players. But we know the Pioneers have 4 superstars from the MFL in Corey Wanganeen, Bevan Charlton-White, Clayton Zanella and Rex Taylor.;)
morgs01
24 Mar 2007, 22:47
Obviously not good enough Morgs, possibly because most of the Bushrangers players are from GVFL clubs. I would imagine Murray Football League players would find it hard to compete againsed the selection of GVFL players. But we know the Pioneers have 4 superstars from the MFL in Corey Wanganeen, Bevan Charlton-White, Clayton Zanella and Rex Taylor.;)
Yes maybe, but there are still some minor League players in Bushies.Eg: John Walker (Picola United, PDFL). Can it be more related to junior development within Murray FL clubs, surely there's one kid within the MFL good enough to make it, besides the Echuca based kids with Pios.
We have one that's at U/16's level (Jason Atkinson) and as mentioned Rex at Pioneers. Are there any others in Bushies Junior levels?
T.Perry
25 Mar 2007, 11:31
Echuca United defeated Lower Plenty by 22 goals today.
Yeh, went and watched the game yesterday Willo, don't reckon the scoreboard gave a great indication. Reyne was good up forward, Clinton Perry and Peter Bird worked hard in the midfield, and dished off a lot (as Heritage said - Perry was as tenacious as an old bear :thumbsu: ) Timmy Bone was sensational in the first half and kicked 2 of the best opposite foot goals you'll see, Guy Campbell was solid without dominating, and that bloke you've got from the bombers (no 7) was dynamite - finished with 7 for day and one of the quickest blokes I've seen over 20m:eek:
Care to comment, from an eagles perspective, on the loss of Duane Heuston to Shepp United? Massive loss for you dudes.
marc_murphy88
25 Mar 2007, 11:44
So is Rexy Taylor playing Echuca United or Echuca Murray Bombers?
Neither. Rex is playing for Rumbalara.
Yeh, went and watched the game yesterday Willo, don't reckon the scoreboard gave a great indication. Reyne was good up forward, Clinton Perry and Peter Bird worked hard in the midfield, and dished off a lot (as Heritage said - Perry was as tenacious as an old bear :thumbsu: ) Timmy Bone was sensational in the first half and kicked 2 of the best opposite foot goals you'll see, Guy Campbell was solid without dominating, and that bloke you've got from the bombers (no 7) was dynamite - finished with 7 for day and one of the quickest blokes I've seen over 20m:eek:
Care to comment, from an eagles perspective, on the loss of Duane Heuston to Shepp United? Massive loss for you dudes.
Yeah I would agree with what you have said. Luan Marsh (7) is an absolute freak. Once he hits the ball running no-one will ever catch him. Tim is fantastic, just a beautiful player to watch and has the greatest left and right foot skills you will see.
The loss of Duane will be a big one. I couldn't believe it when I heard it but I suppose that's the way things go. We were without him yesterday and still managed a comfortable victory. No doubt he will leave a big hole in United's forward line but the void will be filled with someone just as capable.
roaring tiger
25 Mar 2007, 20:54
I would have to say i'm disappointed in that news Tav on Heuy going back to Shepp United not just because hes a great player but because he is a good bloke and had been appointed Assistant Coach for year and had a huge leaderhip role within the club all preseason. I guess good luck to him on his return to the Gv.
Hopefully we can stitch up the North heidelberg blokes. But we should still be competitive as i believe we have a very even team across all lines. Hopefully we can have a good run with no injuries. Luan Marsh is a great player and my early tip for the league medal.
roaring tiger
25 Mar 2007, 21:13
How did you guys out at Tonny go yesterday hank? Have a good hit out?
I would have to say i'm disappointed in that news Tav on Heuy going back to Shepp United not just because hes a great player but because he is a good bloke and had been appointed Assistant Coach for year and had a huge leaderhip role within the club all preseason. I guess good luck to him on his return to the Gv.
Hopefully we can stitch up the North heidelberg blokes. But we should still be competitive as i believe we have a very even team across all lines. Hopefully we can have a good run with no injuries. Luan Marsh is a great player and my early tip for the league medal.
Yeah would be hard to take losing a player of that calibre this far out, you might have to step up and fill his shoes roaring! We were (un)lucky enough to have Luan Marsh play against us last year and he carved us up(as most did), and yes he was extremely quick but also used the pill very well.
Results from yesterdays practice match between Sunshine and Tongala saw a draw in the main game, was at times fairly scrappy with the wind creating havoc with the skill level of most, was played at a good intensity though and a good first up hit out.
The reserves were beaten by about 8 goals and the u/17s beat their u/18 rivals by about 5 goals in a very good display.
Zackman
25 Mar 2007, 21:42
Results from yesterdays practice match between Sunshine and Tongala saw a draw in the main game, was at times fairly scrappy with the wind creating havoc with the skill level of most, was played at a good intensity though and a good first up hit out.
The reserves were beaten by about 8 goals and the u/17s beat their u/18 rivals by about 5 goals in a very good display.
who stood out in thirds>?
Dylan Smith, Jarrod Denham, Tom Wyatt, Matt Tyler, Jordan Souter, Kyle Halliwell
jobbytonny
26 Mar 2007, 10:34
Dylan Smith, Jarrod Denham, Tom Wyatt, Matt Tyler, Jordan Souter, Kyle Halliwell
The question should be who stood out at the local sat night hey hank pushing in to play pool,complaining because his songs didnt come on,not orgainising to get his car home, **** STIRRING THE PUBLICAN , complaining the tab was of (at 12.45) could be in for a long year hahahaha
bloody oath, had to sleep over in the end, just got to see haydos make his ton b4 nodding off on cyclops' lounge room floor. Was first to Sunday training in the morning though mate, actually thats a lie, 2nds Coach Timothy Hancock arrived around 10:30am or thought he did but forgot to wind the clock back for daylight savings:o
P.S. thank god the TAB did get turned off, didnt have a decent collect all night.
bloody oath, had to sleep over in the end, just got to see haydos make his ton b4 nodding off on cyclops' lounge room floor. Was first to Sunday training in the morning though mate, actually thats a lie, 2nds Coach Timothy Hancock arrived around 10:30am or thought he did but forgot to wind the clock back for daylight savings:o
P.S. thank god the TAB did get turned off, didnt have a decent collect all night.
Hank, I hope this wasn't you. We all know what the real Hank is like once he gets a couple of the evil ales in him. Many believe it would be in Tongala's best interest to make it a dry club while Hank is around..
max powers.
28 Mar 2007, 16:19
Hank, I hope this wasn't you. We all know what the real Hank is like once he gets a couple of the evil ales in him. Many believe it would be in Tongala's best interest to make it a dry club while Hank is around..
In my dealings with the little afghan i'd say this is very very good idea.
lucky he can play......
All blown out of proportion, Jobby just needs to brush up on his publican skills and probably keep his hotel partner in line, now we are talking about someone who was well and truly overfilled.:p
How was the 21st Skut and any stories from the bus trip home that have filtered back?
pace to freeze
28 Mar 2007, 21:26
Yeah I would agree with what you have said. Luan Marsh (7) is an absolute freak. Once he hits the ball running no-one will ever catch him. Tim is fantastic, just a beautiful player to watch and has the greatest left and right foot skills you will see.
The loss of Duane will be a big one. I couldn't believe it when I heard it but I suppose that's the way things go. We were without him yesterday and still managed a comfortable victory. No doubt he will leave a big hole in United's forward line but the void will be filled with someone just as capable.
Why didn't marsh make it in Bendigo, and whats happened to Jones, Nuttal , mcmaster etc. who were good junior players at the club, where are they now and how many players from their good junior sides from 4-5 years ago are still playing at the club ???
Mate if you are trying to stir up crap about United, go do it somewhere else. I have seen what you wrote about United on the Diamond Valley thread and you clearly know bugger all about our club. Jones is still playing at United, Nuttal has gone to play at Leitchville for whatever reason and McMaster is still up in the air about his footy.
Junior players still at the club include Marsh, Rowbottom, Bootle, Frost, Allingham, Jurey and Wilson. Jake Guinan has moved to Geelong but trained right through the pre-season with the club and Liam did the same but trying his luck at GVFL level this season.
Heading to Echuca this weekend and was wondering if there were any practice games at Echuca or Moama, if so can someone post some specifics?
Doona probably wont be many bigger than ex-traditional rivals Ky and Tonny going toe to toe at Tongala, 3 games of footy 10:15am 3rds 12 reserves and 2pm seniors, also a full bank of netball. Not quite in Echuca but only 10mins down the road if you cant find anything that wets your apetite there.
Tongala jumper presentation night in the evening with past legends of the club presenting the jumpers.
roaring tiger
29 Mar 2007, 14:00
[quote=bradrowe#32;7060878]Another BF scoop has been confirmed:
Dee whiz
United again: Duane Hueston is returning to Shepparton United this season.
March 29 2007
Shepparton News
Shepparton United has received a shot in the arm on the eve of the Goulburn Valley Football League season with the return of highflying forward Duane Hueston.>
No real reason to why he left echuca untied except stating he wanted to play at his home club, but from what i can gather probably come down to $$$$$. No mention in the article as to why he left his decision on where he was going to play until 2 weeks before the first game either.
What do you think willo??
[quote=bradrowe#32;7060878]Another BF scoop has been confirmed:
Dee whiz
United again: Duane Hueston is returning to Shepparton United this season.
March 29 2007
Shepparton News
Shepparton United has received a shot in the arm on the eve of the Goulburn Valley Football League season with the return of highflying forward Duane Hueston.>
No real reason to why he left echuca untied except stating he wanted to play at his home club, but from what i can gather probably come down to $$$$$. No mention in the article as to why he left his decision on where he was going to play until 2 weeks before the first game either.
What do you think willo??
I agree with you mate. It will definately come down to $$ in the end. Although there could be other reasons why he left, I suppose they will never be known. I believe that after making his decision to return to Shepparton United, he could have exited the club with a bit more respect and dignity but it's history now. Good luck to him.
[quote=roaring tiger;7060973]
I agree with you mate. It will definately come down to $$ in the end. Although there could be other reasons why he left, I suppose they will never be known. I believe that after making his decision to return to Shepparton United, he could have exited the club with a bit more respect and dignity but it's history now. Good luck to him.
Hate to say it but Barooga and Nathalia-the gap grows- United still to make finals but not top 3
So your saying that one player will affect United's top two finals chances? No doubt Hueston is a qulaity player but his absence will not change the team structure much - if anything it will make the playing group stronger.
All blown out of proportion, Jobby just needs to brush up on his publican skills and probably keep his hotel partner in line, now we are talking about someone who was well and truly overfilled.:p
How was the 21st Skut and any stories from the bus trip home that have filtered back?
Yeah just another session where Skut cant remember too much about anything. Good sip I am led to believe though. As for the boys on the bus home. Well I believe the young 18's learnt a few things from a few of the older boys. Namely the one they call 'Yuk'. very aptly named I must say.
adriantimmis
30 Mar 2007, 16:28
Congupna have stolen a lot of players from shepp this year, they must be paying out a fortune. Are the players they have picked up any good.
There was a rumour floating round that congupna and the tocumwal players got into a massive blew at the toc pub, could be a very interesting game to watch in round 1.
Carn the pies.
smallfootyhead
30 Mar 2007, 18:18
geez your poppin up on every league,s thread there adriantimmis?? how do u know that congupna are spending a fortune on players but u dont no if there any good???? for all u know they could be playin 4 free mate???
Rascal99
31 Mar 2007, 13:24
geez your poppin up on every league,s thread there adriantimmis?? how do u know that congupna are spending a fortune on players but u dont no if there any good???? for all u know they could be playin 4 free mate???
AT must know everything about all the local leagues around here, or thinks he does!!!;)
Tongala v Kyabram results
3rds Kyabram u/18s beat Tongala U/17s by about 10pts.
Excellent effort by the younger Tonny boys.
2nds Tongala defeated Kyabram by 10pts first time since 1999.
P.S. after Kyabram asked could the game be played as 16 a side which was agreed, they played the last half with 18 until being caught out with 10mins to go in last quarter when Tongala put a couple of extra players on. Still couldnt get over the line and weak as piss on Kyabram's behalf especially when Tongala had players on the bench who could have been getting a run.
1sts Kyabram defeated Tongala by 6 goals.
Newman probably kicked close to 10, some good young blokes with a lot of pace showed glimpses for them, Ryan Butler, Ryan Emmett, Dave Hansford(playing at Stanhope though I believe) Josh Finn all got a fair bit of it, not sure who they had out, Dave Newman didnt play. Tongala started well 4 goals to 1 in 1st 1/4, but lost Michael Roberts to a burst blood vessel in the 2nd 1/4 and had only the 18 left after half time. Mark and Andrew Reid were the two main players to miss the game for Tongala.
Good solid hitout for both sides.
Baba Ganoush
31 Mar 2007, 22:59
Did you play Hank? If so did ya get a kick?
Came on in 2nd 1/4 when Roberts got hurt lasted 5mins before feeling hammy again. 2 kicks 1 hb 1pt 2 clangers 2 marks. Didnt do it again but felt like it was going to go, so will hopefully get it right for first game against Moama in two weeks.
just ask!!!
1 Apr 2007, 14:44
just new to this thread and was wondering if anyone coulkd fill me in on Baroogas losses and gains for this year
themagicfrog
1 Apr 2007, 14:49
Congupna have stolen a lot of players from shepp this year, they must be paying out a fortune. Are the players they have picked up any good.
There was a rumour floating round that congupna and the tocumwal players got into a massive blew at the toc pub, could be a very interesting game to watch in round 1.
Carn the pies.
Have you actually talked to anyone from the Road or are you only guessing because players are wanting to cross over and have a kick at another club? What I've heard The road is a great club to play at and are not ones to try and compete money wise with the big boys like Barooga, not sating they don't spen any money.
just new to this thread and was wondering if anyone coulkd fill me in on Baroogas losses and gains for this year
Welcome mate. Barooga have gained: Matt Byers (coach), Sean Harrap, Gerard Liddell, Paul Mason, Patrick Rattray, Stuart Galloway, Daniel Brophy, Jye Bunge, Matthew Rudd, Will Serong and Jason Nye, 7-8 of which are GVFL players. So Barooga definately spent up big again this season. Players they have lost include: Matt Olney, Matt Pardew, Ben Wallis, Paul Ellis and Paul Lewis.
just ask!!!
2 Apr 2007, 20:45
Welcome mate. Barooga have gained: Matt Byers (coach), Sean Harrap, Gerard Liddell, Paul Mason, Patrick Rattray, Stuart Galloway, Daniel Brophy, Jye Bunge, Matthew Rudd, Will Serong and Jason Nye, 7-8 of which are GVFL players. So Barooga definately spent up big again this season. Players they have lost include: Matt Olney, Matt Pardew, Ben Wallis, Paul Ellis and Paul Lewis.
how did paul lewis go last yeAR???
Kick it to me
2 Apr 2007, 21:39
Willo, where are Matt Olney and Paul Lewis going?
Matt Olney is heading to the Northern Territory to play for Southern Districts and Paul Lewis will be playing for Darley in the Ballarat Football League.;)
themagicfrog
3 Apr 2007, 15:16
Matty "O" told me that he is going to join the police force up there and coach a bare foot Aboriginal team for three years before he come back down here to coach!
But that's the "O" train for ya
Kick it to me
3 Apr 2007, 20:57
Matt Olney is heading to the Northern Territory to play for Southern Districts and Paul Lewis will be playing for Darley in the Ballarat Football League.;)
Cheers Willo. Will Lewis be a big loss? Was a very handy backman in the O+M a few years back, injuries aside.
Matty "O" told me that he is going to join the police force up there and coach a bare foot Aboriginal team for three years before he come back down here to coach!
But that's the "O" train for ya
Matty O wouldn't bend the truth would he Magic?:D
Big Wheel
4 Apr 2007, 15:28
Hey anyone at MOAMA, just waiting to know how Travis Wayman is going. His an old man, but gee he still goes alright.
Also I heard Duane Hueston is thinking about going back to his home club Shepp United, anyone know anything on that?
Hey anyone at MOAMA, just waiting to know how Travis Wayman is going. His an old man, but gee he still goes alright.
Also I heard Duane Hueston is thinking about going back to his home club Shepp United, anyone know anything on that?
Duane Hueston has already switched back to Shepparton United. Check out the last few pages of the MFL thread as well as the GVFL thread. It has already been covered.
Big Wheel
4 Apr 2007, 17:44
Duane Hueston has already switched back to Shepparton United. Check out the last few pages of the MFL thread as well as the GVFL thread. It has already been covered.
Cheers
Thanks for the heads up, yeah don't really read the Murry blog nor do I read the GV one. I just bumped into someone over the weekend and he said it might be happeing, he also reckons his misses is gunna kill him for it thou.
No news on the T-Man thou? (Travis Wayman)
Cheers
Thanks for the heads up, yeah don't really read the Murry blog nor do I read the GV one. I just bumped into someone over the weekend and he said it might be happeing, he also reckons his misses is gunna kill him for it thou.
No news on the T-Man thou? (Travis Wayman)
No worries mate. As for Trav Wayman, haven't heard anything yet. Check back here on Friday Night or Saturday, I will let you know how he plays against Echuca United on Good Friday.;)
Big Wheel
5 Apr 2007, 12:36
No worries mate. As for Trav Wayman, haven't heard anything yet. Check back here on Friday Night or Saturday, I will let you know how he plays against Echuca United on Good Friday.;)
Oh your to good Willo1
I live in Melb, so I find this the easiest way to find out the info on all the leagues up there. Originaly from the PDFL.
Yeah that would be good.
Cheers
mars bar
5 Apr 2007, 17:59
Just on Moama, just wondering if there coach, is it Cameron Waterson, wondering if he is playing or not. Good player, usually lines up in the pivot. Is he playing or non playing coach tomorrow????
I think his name is Chris Waterson. I'm not sure if he will be playing tomorrow but I would say he will.
Well the season has come around very quickly and alot has gone on over the off season. It will be interesting to see some of the new players for each team and seeing how much they have improved. Good luck to all clubs this year.
Here are my tips for Round 1:
Finley v Deniliquin Rams Good Friday
Echuca United v Moama Good Friday
Tocumwal v Congupna Good Friday
Barooga v Cobram Good Friday
Mulwala v Numurkah Easter Saturday
Rumbalara bye
Tongala bye
Finley will continue to build on a strong 2006 season and should get up over Deniliquin who have lost a number of quality players, and Echuca United, Barooga and Mulwala should have solid wins over their opposition. The Tocumwal v Congupna game will be a corker, both clubs have gained alot of strength and talent over the off-season which will make for an exciting first game.
Well the season has come around very quickly and alot has gone on over the off season. It will be interesting to see some of the new players for each team and seeing how much they have improved. Good luck to all clubs this year.
Here are my tips for Round 1:
Finley v Deniliquin Rams Good Friday
Echuca United v Moama Good Friday
Tocumwal v Congupna Good Friday
Barooga v Cobram Good Friday
Mulwala v Numurkah Easter Saturday
Rumbalara bye
Tongala bye
Finley will continue to build on a strong 2006 season and should get up over Deniliquin who have lost a number of quality players, and Echuca United, Barooga and Mulwala should have solid wins over their opposition. The Tocumwal v Congupna game will be a corker, both clubs have gained alot of strength and talent over the off-season which will make for an exciting first game.
Same expect Toc to get over Congupna though
pace to freeze
6 Apr 2007, 19:01
Went over to Echuca United and Moama game today, even till half time then united flogged them. Marsh and J. Rowbottom went off about half through third with what appeared to be injuries. Of the new recruits United #5. think he was listed as S.Ryan looked good at times with # 27, sorry did not find his name possibly their best,played off half back, L.Jones was also important as was D.Reyne. For Moama M.Jackson # 6 was possibly best man on the ground, # 17 Liddle is extremely good, very impressive and #1, little bloke got better as game went on. Hard game to guage where both sides are at, obviously united were the better side but with the uncertainity of the arrangement with the few diamond valley players and baker appearing to needing fitness , united ???
pace to freeze
6 Apr 2007, 19:07
Moama's coach did not play and the crowd opinion was that he does not intend to , # 7 named in the book as Travis Wayman, i would think did not trouble the statician till the last quarter and got a couple in the last, looked well past his prime.
Well off target with the Toc tip, got rolled by 14 goals.
Barooga won by 19 goals against Cobram with Sean Harrap kicking 10.
Echuca United by 19 goals also.
Mulwala 28.10 (178) def Numurkah 3.7 (25)
Finley 18.12 (120) def Deniliquin Rams 7.6 (48)
Echuca United 28.24 (192) def Moama 12.7 (79)
Tocumwal 8.12 (60) lost to Congupna 21.18 (144)
Barooga 26.14 (170) def Cobram 8.8 (56)
Anyone got some reports on how things unfolded? I see another recruit in Lee James (Mulwala) joined Harrop (Barooga) with 10 goals also. Will the North Heidelberg lads (Moore, King, Shaun & Harley Ryan) be only playing the first 3 games at United and then heading back once the DVFL starts?
roaring tiger
8 Apr 2007, 15:00
Went over to Echuca United and Moama game today, even till half time then united flogged them. Marsh and J. Rowbottom went off about half through third with what appeared to be injuries. Of the new recruits United #5. think he was listed as S.Ryan looked good at times with # 27, sorry did not find his name possibly their best,played off half back, L.Jones was also important as was D.Reyne. For Moama M.Jackson # 6 was possibly best man on the ground, # 17 Liddle is extremely good, very impressive and #1, little bloke got better as game went on. Hard game to guage where both sides are at, obviously united were the better side but with the uncertainity of the arrangement with the few diamond valley players and baker appearing to needing fitness , united ???
I thought Moama took all there chances early kicking 6 straight while our kicking let us down kicking 5 goals 7 behinds will most of the behinds being kick-able. The game was a free flowing contest with quick movement of the footy. After half time i think our fitness and class players especially the boys from Melb took over and allowed us to win by such a large margin. Moama shold suprise a few sides this year.
I can't believe you thought M Jackson was possibley best on ground. He would not of been in the top 8 players on the ground. Got a few kicks but his opponent carved him up big time. As for Liddle the ruckman was pretty good at the centre bounces but around the ground was soundly beaton by Dalziel and Moore.
For us i thought Ryan no.5 was BOG with captain D Reyne very close. Kicked i think 3 goals 5 or 6 so had plenty of shots on goal. King no.27 and Moore no.25 were also good players along with Jones whose hardness in the contests were invaluable. All in all a great team effort with all players contributing throughout the match.
roaring tiger
8 Apr 2007, 15:04
Mulwala 28.10 (178) def Numurkah 3.7 (25)
Finley 18.12 (120) def Deniliquin Rams 7.6 (48)
Echuca United 28.24 (192) def Moama 12.7 (79)
Tocumwal 8.12 (60) lost to Congupna 21.18 (144)
Barooga 26.14 (170) def Cobram 8.8 (56)
Anyone got some reports on how things unfolded? I see another recruit in Lee James (Mulwala) joined Harrop (Barooga) with 10 goals also. Will the North Heidelberg lads (Moore, King, Shaun & Harley Ryan) be only playing the first 3 games at United and then heading back once the DVFL starts?
Doona the boys from Melb will be playing the first 4 games of the season and then look at what is happening in the DVFL in Melb and how they are liking their footy up here on the Murray. If the DVFL is pushed back any further they will certainly stay. From Saturday's game i hope they hang around for the whole year as they are all top line players and allowed us to play Guy Campbell as ruck rover.
Was interesting to see Congupna and Mulwala win by as much as they did.
From someone who see's a bit of both comps Id say the RDFL & KDFL are the same standard, so guess we'll see how good Lee James is when he goes up a grade or two in standard. Very good player yes, but wont always have it his own way in the MFL.
I guess we just seen how good he is Doona?
zero2hero
8 Apr 2007, 22:05
Can someone tell me how Gerard Liddell went for Barooga on good friday?
I guess we just seen how good he is Doona?
I think my quote stated he is a very good player, but as I said against the top MFL clubs he should find it tougher than the RDFL . . . . . geez pres you went to some effort draggin that old one up when there is nothing untoward about what was said :confused: A Lee James fan Im guessing
Patty called me last night zero and he said Gez's first 3 quarters were real good :thumbsu:
zero2hero
8 Apr 2007, 22:54
Patty called me last night zero and he said Gez's first 3 quarters were real good :thumbsu:
Cheers doona :thumbsu: How did your boys go last week at Seymour ?
super snooper
8 Apr 2007, 23:26
Liddell went well, should be a handy addition judging from what i witnessed. Runs hard, finds plenty of the pill and uses it well. Not sure about the long sleeves on a 28 degree day though?
big cigar
8 Apr 2007, 23:26
Did anyone see the Congupna- Toc game. A toc player was telling me last week that they had there sights on a top 3 position... after saturday they would have to be pretty disapointed... Who played well for Congupna? I see that Maddigan kicked 7? Gee bloody Mul touched up Numurkah.. could be a long year for them!:cool:
Toc would be kidding themselves with a top 3 finish, lets all be honest here, the top four is surely settled with Nathalia. United, Mulwala and Barooga. The rest are fighting for the last two spots in the six. Congupna must have been good to dispose of Toc like that as I would expect them both to be battling for one of those last two spots in the six, but cant see them pushing the top 4. As for Mulwala touching uo Numurkah, can see many one sided affairs during the year with the top 4 flexing their muscles, don't read too much into it.
super snooper
9 Apr 2007, 13:33
Was at the Barooga vs Cobram game and Barooga looked impressive. Although the opposition was fairly weak, Barooga moved the ball well and boast an excellent midfeild mix with the class of Byers, liddell and Tough along with the blue collar workers in the o'callaghan's. Byers looks to be the complete midfeild package. He wins the hard ball, sets play up by hand and foot and is also a good finisher as was evident with his 3 goals. David Tough was also impressive. He is tough by name and tough by nature. He took a couple couragous marks running with the flight and also uses the ball well.
Barooga had a good target up front in Harrap who finished with 10 and could have had more if not for inaccurate kicking. Cobram showed some faith in a young Matthew Sim who was clearly outsized and eventually outclassed. By the time he was moved off of Harrap in the second or third term, Harrap was on fire and set for a big day. I doubt whether Harrap would have been so dangerous if Cobram had got a better match up from the opening bounce.
They're defence had little to do and was hard to gauge, however Price looks to be a good player at Chb.
Cobram have some good youngsters and appear to be rebuilding. Coach Jason Kerr got plenty of it and should help develop their youg list, while other good players where few and far between. Their defence is very brittle and lacks height and they have very few forward targets. Their midfeild showed promise with some good run and link up on various occasions.
Im not very familiar with the league, but would suggest Barooga will be competitive with most sides but would probably struggle up forward against quality opposition. Harrap will be targeted and they need other genuine targets. Abney-Hastings and Mason have the size to do so but both looked out of sorts on friday.
pace to freeze
9 Apr 2007, 19:16
Toc would be kidding themselves with a top 3 finish, lets all be honest here, the top four is surely settled with Nathalia. United, Mulwala and Barooga. The rest are fighting for the last two spots in the six. Congupna must have been good to dispose of Toc like that as I would expect them both to be battling for one of those last two spots in the six, but cant see them pushing the top 4. As for Mulwala touching uo Numurkah, can see many one sided affairs during the year with the top 4 flexing their muscles, don't read too much into it.
Unsure whether I would be prepared to go as far as saying the top four is set, I only seen one game on the weekend and without being unfair, of united's top five or six, three or four may only play another two games for the season and there reserves were beaten by Moama, I am sure injuries will still play a big part.
Fair point, but Nathalia, Mulwala and Barooga are well ahead, United will also be if they hang on to the DV blokes.
Cole Trickle
9 Apr 2007, 22:16
How did a bloke by the name of Jason Dean go up there for toc on the week end?
Poodle boy
10 Apr 2007, 22:04
Watched Congupna play toc on the weekend and congupna look pretty good. No one really thinks they have got a chance, wouldnt surprise me if they pulled a couple of upsets this year, not sayin they win the flag just sayin team will have to look out when they play them.
Poodle boy
10 Apr 2007, 22:07
[Congupna were good mate and toc werent that good, they stuff up abit too much, Congupna had plenty of runners. Better players for congupna were Shan Emmett who was good all day of the half back line, Mark hampshire in the ruck, madigan up forward and 16 year old steele sidebottom can play.
You talking to yourself mate?
Congupna will make the top 6 in my opinion. They have recruited pretty well and they have a good coach in Travis Hampshire.
roberts-thompson
10 Apr 2007, 23:49
is daniel sage playing at barooga this year?
roaring tiger
10 Apr 2007, 23:50
So willo do you think you will get first crack at Shaun Downie this weekend when the eagles play host to tocumwal? I see he kicked 5 in a losing team and kicked a 100 goals last year. Should be a good test for you.
Rodman24
11 Apr 2007, 12:22
So willo do you think you will get first crack at Shaun Downie this weekend when the eagles play host to tocumwal? I see he kicked 5 in a losing team and kicked a 100 goals last year. Should be a good test for you.
Can anyone fill me on how Craig Stone is going??He has signed with Congupna, is he playing 1's or 2's
We'll have to see how it goes. Sounds like a good challenge and i'm up for it. Is he a big bloke? I know his old man and younger brother aren't tall so I wouldn't think he would have much height. I might even end up playing on his younger brother Tyrone.
Rodman24
11 Apr 2007, 12:44
We'll have to see how it goes. Sounds like a good challenge and i'm up for it. Is he a big bloke? I know his old man and younger brother aren't tall so I wouldn't think he would have much height. I might even end up playing on his younger brother Tyrone.
Willo do you know of Craig Stone down in your league????
No sorry I don't mate.
FOOTYBOSS
11 Apr 2007, 14:43
is daniel sage playing at barooga this year?
No his not Roberts-Thompson. He is playing doen in Melbourne for club called Balwyn.
FOOTYBOSS
11 Apr 2007, 14:43
Was at the Barooga vs Cobram game and Barooga looked impressive. Although the opposition was fairly weak, Barooga moved the ball well and boast an excellent midfeild mix with the class of Byers, liddell and Tough along with the blue collar workers in the o'callaghan's. Byers looks to be the complete midfeild package. He wins the hard ball, sets play up by hand and foot and is also a good finisher as was evident with his 3 goals. David Tough was also impressive. He is tough by name and tough by nature. He took a couple couragous marks running with the flight and also uses the ball well.
Barooga had a good target up front in Harrap who finished with 10 and could have had more if not for inaccurate kicking. Cobram showed some faith in a young Matthew Sim who was clearly outsized and eventually outclassed. By the time he was moved off of Harrap in the second or third term, Harrap was on fire and set for a big day. I doubt whether Harrap would have been so dangerous if Cobram had got a better match up from the opening bounce.
They're defence had little to do and was hard to gauge, however Price looks to be a good player at Chb.
Cobram have some good youngsters and appear to be rebuilding. Coach Jason Kerr got plenty of it and should help develop their youg list, while other good players where few and far between. Their defence is very brittle and lacks height and they have very few forward targets. Their midfeild showed promise with some good run and link up on various occasions.
Im not very familiar with the league, but would suggest Barooga will be competitive with most sides but would probably struggle up forward against quality opposition. Harrap will be targeted and they need other genuine targets. Abney-Hastings and Mason have the size to do so but both looked out of sorts on friday.
How did a Lionel Proctor go for Cobram?
No sorry I don't mate.
I Know of Craig Stone. He is apparently playing for Tally in the Ky District League
Can anyone fill me on how Craig Stone is going??He has signed with Congupna, is he playing 1's or 2's
Rodman, I actually just ran into his sister and she said that he is definately playing at Tally this year. Has only played one practice match so far coz he hurt his shoulder.
Can he play??
Was named 2nd best Boss, thats all I can give you.
bomberboy_19
11 Apr 2007, 17:43
Tyrone Downie plays for the bendigo bombers this season...
Thanks mate.
Poodle boy
11 Apr 2007, 18:48
Shaun Downie isnt that tall at all, but his pretty quick and is a strong marker is a tough opponent to play on if his on the ball, toc might go to him abit too as they didnt have many target beside him on the weekend.
Did anyone see how Jake Cowman played on the weekend, I heard he dominated in the ruck, he will win the Medal and did anyone notice his crazy Mother?
just ask!!!
11 Apr 2007, 20:06
you seem to be on a few sites boss...howd you go on the weekend???
maccarex
11 Apr 2007, 20:54
Hey Willo Mate, How was ur game at the weekend? heard from a reliable source that people have seen cotton wool that is harder than you!
Are you still eligible for the U/17'S? You appear to be very small and dont really have a crack! If one more DVFL footballer shows up, do you think you'll get in the side mate? :)
super snooper
11 Apr 2007, 20:58
I hardly noticed him in the first half. got into it a bit in the second half, but pretty quiet i thought. Didn't impress me.
Poodle boy
11 Apr 2007, 21:00
Just wondering if anyone saw mul play numurkah on the weekend? Heard this new goalkicker of mul's is bein compared to saad saad, but they reckon his better, Can jump, kick goals do anything they reckon.
cozza15
11 Apr 2007, 21:18
Good call Maccarex, a very ordinary footballer!
I see he was cramping quite often.
Willo, were the cramps from lack of fitness or what?
I thought you united blokes were "pingin" fit from a big preseason in the local night spots!
pace to freeze
11 Apr 2007, 21:24
Shaun Downie is about 5'11 to 6', is fairly quick, good leap, does not like body on body, appears to be a bit light, milks a free kick well and knows when to sneak out the back.
United's usual Full Back Nathan Rowbottom would be my match up for him, similar height, should go with him for pace and have him covered body on body.
How did he go at Yarroweyah in the past few years? I saw he kicked 100 goals last season. How old is he? Did he play his junior footy at Barooga?
United's usual Full Back Nathan Rowbottom would be my match up for him, similar height, should go with him for pace and have him covered body on body.
What's Bryce Tully doing with himself hank? I see that he was cleared from Girgarre to Tongala in February, but has a clearance in progress back to Girgarre.
Yeah came across and did some of the preseason, would have been a solid twos player, not sure if he was expecting to play ones, but said he ended up wanting to go back to Gig with his mates, so that is fine and hope he cracks the ones out there.
Downie is early 20's