View Full Version : Murray Football League
Yeah came across and did some of the preseason, would have been a solid twos player, not sure if he was expecting to play ones, but said he ended up wanting to go back to Gig with his mates, so that is fine and hope he cracks the ones out there.
Downie is early 20's
Thanks mate.
themagicfrog
12 Apr 2007, 09:16
How did he go at Yarroweyah in the past few years? I saw he kicked 100 goals last season. How old is he? Did he play his junior footy at Barooga?
He went across to Barooga for a year then came back to Yarra, I think he played the last two years there now Toc, is quick and some people at Yarra do call him the freak so there must be something there.
Rodman24
12 Apr 2007, 09:19
Rodman, I actually just ran into his sister and she said that he is definately playing at Tally this year. Has only played one practice match so far coz he hurt his shoulder.
Can he play??
Yeh he could be a pretty handy player if he put his mind to it and trained.
Are you from up Mildura way where he played over the last few years??
FOOTYBOSS
12 Apr 2007, 15:15
you seem to be on a few sites boss...howd you go on the weekend???
We won on the weekend. A very good win to start the year off. Hopefully we can keep it up. But I dont play in the Murray league, so I think we should leave this talk to people and clubs in the Murray League.
As for being on a few different sites. I know people playing in many different leagues and like to keep up to date on how they are travelling.
Sheep Skin
12 Apr 2007, 21:54
so does anyone how the rumba boys goin?
Cats_Fan
12 Apr 2007, 22:00
How did a Lionel Proctor go for Cobram?
got a bit of the ball playing on a HFF and was also swapping onto the ball.. very classy player... will be very handy for us this year...
morgs01
13 Apr 2007, 00:37
So Far, So Good. I'll get back to you after Saturday. Not our strongest side this weekend with a couple of injuries and a suspension in the last game in '06, but I think we will be more than competative.
Sheep Skin
13 Apr 2007, 07:54
So Far, So Good. I'll get back to you after Saturday. Not our strongest side this weekend with a couple of injuries and a suspension in the last game in '06, but I think we will be more than competative.
Thanks morgs
Rodman24
13 Apr 2007, 09:18
Are you from up Mildura way where he played over the last few years??
Yeh, he only played a few games then went walk about.........
toquick
13 Apr 2007, 12:22
Downie is 21 and is a super talent but as stated he lacks commitment. i played at barooga with him when he was there and was the same situation he just didnt really care.
Has anyone got any tips for this round
Barooga 35pts
United 43pts
Congupna 15pts
Nathalia 100pts
Tongala 21pts
My tips for Round 2:
Barooga v Finley
Echuca United v Tocumwal
Rumbalara v Congupna
Deniliquin Rams v Nathalia
Tongala v Moama
Cobram Bye
Barooga, Congupna and Nathalia should have good solid wins over their opponents, where as Echuca United and Tongala will have to fight hard for their wins. Tocumwal will be fired up and hungry for a win after last weeks thrashing at the hands of a much improved Congupna side and Moama will also be fighting to post their first win of the season.
Sheep Skin
13 Apr 2007, 19:46
Barooga 35pts
United 43pts
Congupna 15pts
Nathalia 100pts
Tongala 21pts
Untied 60 pts
Congupna 10pts
Nathalia 80pts
Tongala 20pts
United should win easily if toc play the same as they did last week, but if toc improve it will be much closer then i predicted.
goodgolly24
13 Apr 2007, 20:28
My tips for Round 2:
Barooga v Finley
Echuca United v Tocumwal
Rumbalara v Congupna
Deniliquin Rams v Nathalia
Tongala v Moama
Cobram Bye
Barooga, Congupna and Nathalia should have good solid wins over their opponents, where as Echuca United and Tongala will have to fight hard for their wins. Tocumwal will be fired up and hungry for a win after last weeks thrashing at the hands of a much improved Congupna side and Moama will also be fighting to post their first win of the season.
Barooga, Echuca United, Rumba, Nathalia and Tongala for me boys!!
Im with u goodgolly Barooga, Echuca United, Rumba, Nathalia and the blues
Rumba 16.8.104 def Congupna 12.8.80.
Congupna got the early jump, got out to a 5 goal lead in the first and rumba pegged it back to 2 goals before qtr time. Rumba took the lead half way thru the 2nd and never looked like losing from there.
dallas terlich kicked 5 goals, brad firebrace 4. clint edwards best on ground, along with phil guthrie, ezra bray, leithen briggs, roland atkinson and it was a very good game of football.
who were the other winners today?
Congupna got the early jump, got out to a 5 goal lead in the first and rumba pegged it back to 2 goals before qtr time. Rumba took the lead half way thru the 2nd and never looked like losing from there.
dallas terlich kicked 5 goals, brad firebrace 4. clint edwards best on ground, along with phil guthrie, ezra bray, leithen briggs, roland atkinson and it was a very good game of football.
Did Rex Taylor play Pioneers today mate?
Here are todays results:
Barooga 17.14 (116) v Finley 12.8 (80)
Echuca United 29.14 (188) v Tocumwal 12.10 (82)
Rumbalara 16.8 (104) v Congupna 12.8 (80)
Deniliquin Rams 4.9 (33) v Nathalia 20.10 (130)
Tongala 20.16 (136) v Moama 14.10 (94)
It's great to see that the Tongala boys got up over Moama, well done to Harro and the boys! Echuca United had a good solid win over Tocumwal. Harley Ryan was dominant throughout the day and racked up in excess of 35 touches, Dale Reyne was great at CHF and kicked 7 goals as was Josh Rowbottom who also booted 7 majors at FF.
Can anyone give a rundown of the other games from today?
yeah i think he did, he wasn't playing at rumba today.
Here are todays results:
It's great to see that the Tongala boys got up over Moama, well done to Harro and the boys! Echuca United had a good solid win over Tocumwal. Harley Ryan was dominant throughout the day and racked up in excess of 35 touches, Dale Reyne was great at CHF and kicked 7 goals as was Josh Rowbottom who also booted 7 majors at FF.
Sheep Skin
14 Apr 2007, 22:13
wouldnt say it was a good game of football at all, what i saw was rumba played ok but congupna were off a little bit the boys didnt play good at all, couldnt hit targets, had plenty of the ball though.
Footy08
15 Apr 2007, 04:39
Here are todays results:
yer saw rex taylor walk off the ground for bendigo... not sure how he went but yes he playd... must being goin well for a guy his size..
goodgolly24
15 Apr 2007, 07:03
wouldnt say it was a good game of football at all, what i saw was rumba played ok but congupna were off a little bit the boys didnt play good at all, couldnt hit targets, had plenty of the ball though.
Do you play footy sheep skin?? because that a fairly old excuse. anybody that plays knows that when you can't hit your targets it's because the other team applys to much presure. i was at the game and those boys have certainly earned my respect. even when congupna mounted a late charge they did'nt give up like they would have in years gone.
centerfield
15 Apr 2007, 10:02
Rumbalara wins by 4 goals and still no on respect?????
centerfield
15 Apr 2007, 10:08
yer saw rex taylor walk off the ground for bendigo... not sure how he went but yes he playd... must being goin well for a guy his size..
rex played with bendigo he got a knock in the head thats why he went off, which is a area he needs to focus on for him to be a better footballer
Sheep Skin
15 Apr 2007, 10:22
Do you play footy sheep skin?? because that a fairly old excuse. anybody that plays knows that when you can't hit your targets it's because the other team applys to much presure. i was at the game and those boys have certainly earned my respect. even when congupna mounted a late charge they did'nt give up like they would have in years gone.
Didnt say i had no respect for rumba at all, theywill be an alright team, im sayin use people reckon it was a good game, which it really wasnt a good game at all, and plus i was there watchin and when congupna got the ball there werent hittin the target and they didnt have preesure on them at all.
centerfield
15 Apr 2007, 10:36
Didnt say i had no respect for rumba at all, theywill be an alright team, im sayin use people reckon it was a good game, which it really wasnt a good game at all, and plus i was there watchin and when congupna got the ball there werent hittin the target and they didnt have preesure on them at all.
sheep skin why cant you face the facts that they lost to a better side???
Sheep Skin
15 Apr 2007, 11:08
sheep skin why cant you face the facts that they lost to a better side???
they lost to a better side on the day, but overall there not a better side.
centerfield
15 Apr 2007, 11:21
they lost to a better side on the day, but overall there not a better side.
can you please state why they are a better side??? because i cant see how they'll get any better!!!!
Sheep Skin
15 Apr 2007, 11:37
can you please state why they are a better side??? because i cant see how they'll get any better!!!!
you will have to watch and see mate wont ya.
centerfield
15 Apr 2007, 11:54
you will have to watch and see mate wont ya.
Mate, I asked you to state why they are a better side and you gave me nothing!!! :mad:
Poodle boy
15 Apr 2007, 12:10
As a player for congupna, after quarter time rumba were the better side on the day, they used the ball alot better then we did, bad decision making was another reason, but rumba were better.
iwantanotherflag
15 Apr 2007, 14:05
As a player for congupna, after quarter time rumba were the better side on the day, they used the ball alot better then we did, bad decision making was another reason, but rumba were better.
Guys this isn't preseason crap talk anymore, Rumba have the 4 points. No matter if they played better or worse or have a better list or not. What a way to sook about a loss! Sometimes you play poorly and win and on other occasions you play really well and you lose, but at the end of the day the result speaks for itself!
iwantanotherflag
15 Apr 2007, 14:08
rex played with bendigo he got a knock in the head thats why he went off, which is a area he needs to focus on for him to be a better footballer
What do you mean? Did he just walk? Drag himself.
Poodle boy
15 Apr 2007, 14:24
Guys this isn't preseason crap talk anymore, Rumba have the 4 points. No matter if they played better or worse or have a better list or not. What a way to sook about a loss! Sometimes you play poorly and win and on other occasions you play really well and you lose, but at the end of the day the result speaks for itself!
thats what i was gettin at.
goodgolly24
15 Apr 2007, 15:13
I was talking to Rex yesterday, and it seems he got cleaned up. He'll be ready to rock'n'roll next week.
morgs01
15 Apr 2007, 15:16
What do you mean? Did he just walk? Drag himself.
Rex copped a high hit going for the ball, should have been a free kick.
Doctor came out to see if he was fine and gave the thumbs up, but coaching staff had already made a change to bring him off.
So he came off the ground and was checked, then played the second half.
goodgolly24
15 Apr 2007, 15:23
Rex copped a high hit going for the ball, should have been a free kick.
Doctor came out to see if he was fine and gave the thumbs up, but coaching staff had already made a change to bring him off.
So he came off the ground and was checked, then played the second half.
Hey Morgs i see your a Rumba boy? i'm curious to know how you thought they went against Congupna?
morgs01
15 Apr 2007, 15:34
Well Sheep Skin as promised, I thought we played well yesterday considering we didn't have our strongest side and we lost one early, which put us a young running player down.
Our pressure was good and most of our match ups and set plays worked. The new guys done well Clinton Edwards, Roland Atkinson, Josh Wanganeen and Shuan Blackman in particular.
We get a couple of good players back for Nathalia which will be the yard stick to work from.
We also have access to Jarrod Atkinson(Bendigo Bombers) and Rex Taylor(Bendigo Pioneers) at times during the season when they have bye in there leagues and both will qualify for finals if we get there.
While Rupert Betherus is 90% sure on returning after the bye in round 4 for us.
So that's it mate, hope I've been helpful and good luck to your team for the rest of the season.
morgs01
15 Apr 2007, 15:38
Hey Morgs i see your a Rumba boy? i'm curious to know how you thought they went against Congupna?
See above goodgolly. nothing much really to add to that.
Well Sheep Skin as promised, I thought we played well yesterday considering we didn't have our strongest side and we lost one early, which put us a young running player down.
Our pressure was good and most of our match ups and set plays worked. The new guys done well Clinton Edwards, Roland Atkinson, Josh Wanganeen and Shuan Blackman in particular.
We get a couple of good players back for Nathalia which will be the yard stick to work from.
We also have access to Jarrod Atkinson(Bendigo Bombers) and Rex Taylor(Bendigo Pioneers) at times during the season when they have bye in there leagues and both will qualify for finals if we get there.
So that's it mate, hope I've been helpful and good luck to your team for the rest of the season.
How long do you expect to be without Daen Russell for mate? I spoke to him for a while last night and I looked at his hamstring and it is not in a good way. There was blood under the skin and it really looked quite ordinary. Hopefully the injury isn't too serious, although it did look it.
Poodle boy
15 Apr 2007, 15:50
i agree morgs, that big fella clinton edwards played very well gave the midfield every opportunity which they dominated, They really gave as a touch up in the centre bounce and stoppages winning a high number of them.
morgs01
15 Apr 2007, 16:56
How long do you expect to be without Daen Russell for mate? I spoke to him for a while last night and I looked at his hamstring and it is not in a good way. There was blood under the skin and it really looked quite ordinary. Hopefully the injury isn't too serious, although it did look it.
Yer Willo, not sure how long, won't really know until the physio assesses it on Tuesday night. But if I was to guess I would say he wouldn't be playing seniors again until after the bye weekend in round 4, so 5 weeks. But if he can get back on the track and running a bit in a fortnight then maybe a game in the thirds in three weeks might be more realistic.
It's a shame too cause Daen has been one of our success stories over the summer, has really work hard since coming over, having only missed a couple a training nights with Phil Guthrie doing a hell of alot of work with him and showed he really wanted to play senior footy and for a kid straight out of U/16's was a great effort. Will play seniors again as soon as he's right to go again at that level.
Yer Willo, not sure how long, won't really know until the physio assesses it on Tuesday night. But if I was to guess I would say he wouldn't be playing seniors again until after the bye weekend in round 4, so 5 weeks. But if he can get back on the track and running a bit in a fortnight then maybe a game in the thirds in three weeks might be more realistic.
It's a shame too cause Daen has been one of our success stories over the summer, has really work hard since coming over, having only missed a couple a training nights with Phil Guthrie doing a hell of alot of work with him and showed he really wanted to play senior footy and for a kid straight out of U/16's was a great effort. Will play seniors again as soon as he's right to go again at that level.
Yeah hopefully he isn't out of the game for too long. He is a young man who has a great deal of talent and as long as he applies himself 110%, he will be a solid contributor for you blokes.
First up well done Harro :thumbsu: and well done to the Rumba boys :thumbsu: Can someone from the Nathalia game tell me how Kyle Gemill went and how did Gezza Liddell go at Barooga?
I think Liddell kicked three was also named in best players:thumbsu:
Can anyone tell me where Peter Taylor s playing football this year?.
Played with him at Echuca and the boy could play.
I believe he had a run in carlton reserves years back.
Poodle boy
16 Apr 2007, 22:07
Can anyone tell me where Peter Taylor s playing football this year?.
Played with him at Echuca and the boy could play.
I believe he had a run in carlton reserves years back.
if its the same peter taylor i know his playing at wang rovers. played there in 2004 and he come over same year and boy he could play, big bloke too.
Blueboy16
17 Apr 2007, 15:44
Can someone tell me why Mulwala didn't play on the weekend?
They had the bye mate.
barnzi71
18 Apr 2007, 18:25
First up well done Harro :thumbsu: and well done to the Rumba boys :thumbsu: Can someone from the Nathalia game tell me how Kyle Gemill went and how did Gezza Liddell go at Barooga?
Kyle played a good game.
How did big Scotty Adams go in the two's. I cannot believe a man of his size and age is allowed to play.
The No 1 Bombers Fan
18 Apr 2007, 21:13
Scads has been playin for eva. Has never been a star but he is a great clubman and has had several dissapointments come finals time. Most blokes would have up and left after the first. He is still there and he does heaps around the club
goodgolly24
19 Apr 2007, 00:17
Rightio boys, matches, tips or special comments for this weekends round???
morgs01
19 Apr 2007, 11:12
Rightio boys, matches, tips or special comments for this weekends round???
I'm going for a round of upsets:
Numurkah to win first game at home to United.
Moama to knock off Deni, also at home
My Boys Rumbalara in the ultimate upset to down Nathalia in a close one.
Mulwala should do Congunpa
Barooga to beat Tocumwal
and finally Tongala want have to much problems knocking over Cobram.
Cheers guys, good luck to everyone on the weekend and we'll see what happens.
roaring tiger
19 Apr 2007, 13:12
Barooga to beat Tocumwal
The Eagles in a close 1 Vs Numurkah
Deni to win there first game of the year
Nathalia to easily account for Rumba
Mulwala to win by close to 15 goals
Barooga to win by close to 15 goals also
Tongala to win a thriller Vs Cobram.
Parker to kick 10 for the purples and James from Mulwala to kick 10 also.
goodgolly24
19 Apr 2007, 13:26
The Eagles in a close 1 Vs Numurkah
Deni to win there first game of the year
Nathalia to easily account for Rumba
Mulwala to win by close to 15 goals
Barooga to win by close to 15 goals also
Tongala to win a thriller Vs Cobram.
Parker to kick 10 for the purples and James from Mulwala to kick 10 also.
I think Numurkah will be too much for Echuca
Deni also to win their first
a draw for Rumba and Nathalia
Congupna to beat Mulwala
Barooga to win well
Cobram to get up with a bit of luck.
I reckon Parker will be kept under 5 goals but they'll have a fair few goal scorers.
Is it meant to rain this weekend anyone??
My tips for Round 3:
Tocumwal v Barooga
Numurkah v Echuca United
Congupna v Mulwala
Nathalia v Rumbalara
Moama v Deniliquin Rams
Cobram v Tongala
Finley Bye
Tocumwal, Congupna, Moama and Cobram will be fighting very hard to win the 4 points this week, but their opponents look to be too strong. Echuca United should get over Numurkah in a close tussle, where as the classy Nathalia outfit should get over a much improved Rumbalara side.
Good luck to everyone this week.
There was a whisper floating around a couple of months back that Numurkah were only getting around 10-15 blokes on the track throughout the pre-season. I noticed that they have lost 9 players to the PDFL, 2 to the GVFL, and around 5 to various other leagues, but have gained 6 GVFL players including their new coach Linc Wellington, 10 PDFL players and around 4 players from other leagues.
They were pumped by Mulwala to the tune of 150 points in Round 1 this season, but in Round 3 of 2006, they were only beaten by Mulwala by 36 points. After looking at those inclusions, anyone would suggest that they would be a much stronger side than last season. Does anyone have any information from the Blues camp?
morgs01
19 Apr 2007, 15:35
My tips for Round 3:
Tocumwal v Barooga
Numurkah v Echuca United
Congupna v Mulwala
Nathalia v Rumbalara
Moama v Deniliquin Rams
Cobram v Tongala
Finley Bye
Tocumwal, Congupna, Moama and Cobram will be fighting very hard to win the 4 points this week, but their opponents look to be too strong. Echuca United should get over Numurkah in a close tussle, where as the classy Nathalia outfit should get over a much improved Rumbalara side.
Good luck to everyone this week.
Willo, is there any truth in the rumor that you guys have anywhere up to 9 players under an injury cloud for this weekends game. You guys get young Corey Wanganeen back again this week from Pioneers will help out though.
Barooga to beat Tocumwal
United by 40pts
Moama by 22pts
Nathalia by 33pts
Mulwala by 47pts
Barooga by 68pts
Tongala by 20pts
roaring tiger
19 Apr 2007, 18:08
United by 40pts
Moama by 22pts
Nathalia by 33pts
Mulwala by 47pts
Barooga by 68pts
Tongala by 20pts
You playing this weekend hank?
Poodle boy
19 Apr 2007, 21:45
United by 40pts
Moama by 22pts
Nathalia by 33pts
Mulwala by 47pts
Barooga by 68pts
Tongala by 20pts
United easy by more then 50pts.
Nathalia 15pts
Hopefully Congupna.
Barooga 70pts
Tongala 10pts.
You playing this weekend hank?
No, have the bye next week so giving the hammy another 2 weeks, although I am right to go, been training full tilt past two weeks so hopefully will get through against Finley after the bye.
Mobbenfuhrer
20 Apr 2007, 12:58
Starting to wind up the recruiting period for the Regional Leagues Fantasy Footy League ... applications are drying up ... but would still love to get at least to four teams!
(69 players, 11 more to enable a fourth team!)
METRO VIC (25 players)
Diamond Valley FL (10)
1. Kickass (Div 1 / Eltham)
2. mattyr (Div 1 Bundoora)
3. Iceman27 (Div 2 / Wallan)
4. Force (Div 2 / Watsonia)
5. Bubble Wrap (Div 2 / Watsonia)
6. Giveyathemail (Div ? / Lalor)
7. Jewelsandbullet (Div ? / Montmorency)
8. Dv_Worm (Div ? / Coburg Amateurs)
9. rompermfc (Div 2 / Macleod)
10. ifyoucandodgeawrench
VFL & VAFA (Vic) (7)
1. can't mark can't kick (VAFA / D1)
2. harper (VAFA / D2 / South Melbourne Districts)
3. youngblood (VAFA / D2 / Aquinas)
4. The Tigers Nuts (VAFA / D3 / Old Westbourne)
5. the lemon wedge (Port Melbourne / VFL)
6. Joe Dirt (VAFA / A Grade)
7. FitzroyRamone (VAFA / C Grade / Fitzroy Reds)
Essendon DFL (5)
1. Subway (Essendon DFL)
2. colgate (Essendon DFL / Strathmore)
3. coreybrown (Essendon DFL)
4. litening (Essendon DFL / Airport West)
5. oldfashiondefender (Essendon DFL)
Western Region FL (3)
1. Gemini17 (WRFL Div 2)
2. Blueboy16 (WRFL Div 2)
3. thesilkmeister (Western Region FL)
x. the lemon wedge (WRFL Div 1 / Port Colts) - VFL / Port Melbourne (Bigfooty RL FFL)
WEST MELB & WEST VIC (20 players)
Riddell DFL (4)
1. billylid (Riddell DFL)
2. Itsmyshow (Riddell DFL)
3. Trublueroo (Riddell DFL)
4. Bluecrew #2 (Riddell DFL)
Western, Mallee, Wimmera (9)
1. Bakers_Patrons (North Central FL / Wycheproof-Narraport)
2. Centre Sqaure (North Central FL / Wycheproof-Narraport)
3. clifton's lookalike (Central Murray FL / Tyntynder)
4. Whispers (Geelong FL)
5. The Prawn (Millewa FL)
6. MasterOfROC (North Central FL / St Arnaud)
7. ALWHTE (Mininera & DFL)
8. theopacman (Western Border FL / Hamilton Imperials)
9. sheep dogger (Geelong FL)
Bendigo FL / Loddon Valley FL (7)
1. gerta (Loddon Valley FL)
2. A_JET8 (Bendigo FL)
3. Norfolk & Clew (Bendigo FL / Golden Square)
4. max powers. (Bendigo FL)
5. The fatman (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
6. davis 24 (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
7. Courageunderfire (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
x. caveman (Bendigo FL / Kangaroo Flat) - Roys FC (Sweet FA)
x. maroon and blue (Bendigo FL / Eaglehawk) - Roys FC (Sweet FA)
EASTERN MELB, EASTERN VIC & OUTSIDE VIC (24 players)
Northern, North-Eastern, Eastern & Gippsland regions (15)
1. FOOTYBOSS (Goulburn Valley FL)
2. Johnny Tapp (Goulburn Valley FL)
3. Zippa (Goulburn Valley FL)
4. Joeyboy (Kyabram DFL)
5. VT#23 (Kyabram DFL / Violet Town)
6. sparra (Kyabram DFL)
7. The Iceman #49 (Kyabram DFL / Violet Town)
8. iwantanotherflag (Picola & DFL / Katandra)
9. Slush Puppy (Kyabram DFL)
10. Darc21 (Ovens & Murray FL / Wangaratta Rovers)
11. goodies (Ellinbank DFL)
12. Marto121 (Picola & DFL)
13. slugga (YVMDFL)
14. MadMan V1.2 (Southern FL / Div 3 / Skye)
15. More Than A Game (Tallangatta DFL)
x. Pie4Life (MPNFL) - Dragons (Sweet FA)
x. OldMav (MPNFL) - Bigfooty Bombers (Sweet FA)
x. Frankston Rover (MPNFL) - Frankston Sharks (Sweet FA)
x. diablo14 - (MPNFL) Frankston Sharks (Sweet FA)
Outside Victoria (9)
1. Bella Buffalo (South Africa)
2. cckid (Ontario AFL / Canada)
3. roorat (Northern Tasmanian FA / Deloraine)
4. bakerman (Tasmania / Southern FL / Premier / Kingborough)
5. head67 (Riverina FL)
6. morphous (Queensland)
7. SJM41 (Queensland / ? FL / Redland)
8. Injury prone (WAFL / Perth)
9. billybrownless16 (Tasmania / Southern FL / Premier / Lauderdale)
x.Ljp86 (WAFL / Subiaco) - Dragons FC (Sweet FA)
Note : Players numbered x. are players who are only available under permit. They do not count amongst the 20 players required for a team, as if they are unavailable just one week, then that team will be unable to field a full contingent. The team's for which these players are primarily registered, are listed alongside the players' names.[/QUOTE]
no left foot
20 Apr 2007, 16:42
There was a whisper floating around a couple of months back that Numurkah were only getting around 10-15 blokes on the track throughout the pre-season. I noticed that they have lost 9 players to the PDFL, 2 to the GVFL, and around 5 to various other leagues, but have gained 6 GVFL players including their new coach Linc Wellington, 10 PDFL players and around 4 players from other leagues.
They were pumped by Mulwala to the tune of 150 points in Round 1 this season, but in Round 3 of 2006, they were only beaten by Mulwala by 36 points. After looking at those inclusions, anyone would suggest that they would be a much stronger side than last season. Does anyone have any information from the Blues camp?
Willo was speaking to a couple of United boys yesterday and they said they will be going into this match (Numurkah) taking it as no walk in the park. Could have maybe 9 blokes out, and they werent sure about the guys from Melbourne. Thought they might be playing pracy game with their home club. Would this mean they wont be coming back? or have a jumped the gun a bit. United are off to great start to the year but have they struck a few off field troubles with injuries and also trying to retain the guys from Hiedleberg. Just thought you might know more and be able to enlighten us.
Yeah that's right mate. That is why I made that post, because earlier in the year I heard they were travelling quite badly but have since picked up a number of very handy players.
I'm not 100% sure on the Heidelburg situation so I wont say anything about that. We have been a little unlucky with a couple of injuries but we have 2 bye's in the next few weeks so that will help with the recovery of those players. Hope this helps mate.
How are you blokes feeling going into your match against Euroa? They had a solid win in Round 1, and you boys will be seething after your 1 point loss, so i'm sure it will be a great match!;)
zero2hero
21 Apr 2007, 20:28
Geez i'll give ya the tip,Gezza Liddell is in for a big year up at Barooga boys,another 7 goals today with the hawks absolutley flying and big Patty Rattray hasn't even had a bloody kick in anger yet :eek: .
Gee, hasnt Numurkah turned it around from Rd 1, great win to them. Well done to Cobram well deserved win against us, played some very good football and drove us into the ground in the last to win by 75pts, certainly sent us spiralling back down to earth. Good win to Moama over Deni atleast I got that one right. The other games were all pretty clear cut.
Cats_Fan
22 Apr 2007, 03:00
Gee, hasnt Numurkah turned it around from Rd 1, great win to them. Well done to Cobram well deserved win against us, played some very good football and drove us into the ground in the last to win by 75pts, certainly sent us spiralling back down to earth. Good win to Moama over Deni atleast I got that one right. The other games were all pretty clear cut.
Thanks mate I thought it was a great team effort by us but you guys fought hard right to the end. Did you play??
goodgolly24
22 Apr 2007, 10:58
Nathalia gave Rumba an absolute hideing!!! Not to take anything away from the Purps because they deffinetly deserved the win, but I think Rumba was hit pretty bad with injuries, can anyone from Rumba specify?? And congradulations to all the other winners this weekend!
Cole Trickle
22 Apr 2007, 12:31
The north heidelberg boys were told on the week end they had to play for north in a practice match against wantirna sth it will be interesting to see how Echuca and Tocomwal went without Jason Dean [toc] and sean and harley ryan jarrod King and Daniel Moore they were all stand outs in the practice match were they missed by there drought back up clubs?
Left Footed Cat
22 Apr 2007, 13:47
Can anyone tell me if Brad Glass and Marcus Hastings from Barooga are any good?
The No 1 Bombers Fan
22 Apr 2007, 17:14
Nathalia V Mulwala this week and my mail tells me that David Lucas will be back for the next two weeks (Barooga as well) with D Bourke,Ross Garner,Craig Hicks, Drew Barnes if he doesn'tplay with Geelong and a couple of others still to show the Purps are looking alright and this weeks game should be worth the entry fee.
Poodle boy
22 Apr 2007, 20:51
Mul didnt have it all there way, congupna boys were well into it with 10 mins to go only 3 goals down and it was pretty good game up to then, the first half was pretty good by both sides and mul in the third got a couple goals up and it was only the last 10 mins that they kicked 4-5 quick ones to make the score look alot one sided, but overall it was a pretty good game by both teams.
morgs01
23 Apr 2007, 14:28
Nathalia gave Rumba an absolute hideing!!! Not to take anything away from the Purps because they deffinetly deserved the win, but I think Rumba was hit pretty bad with injuries, can anyone from Rumba specify?? And congradulations to all the other winners this weekend!
We ended the game with 17 players on the ground due to injuries, two were broken bones. But the game was well won by the time we were down to 17. It made the scoreboard blow out by an extra maybe 6 or 7 goals. Well beaten by a better team.
hey morgs, who are the injured players from rumba and who will most likely replace them?
morgs01
23 Apr 2007, 16:09
hey morgs, who are the injured players from rumba and who will most likely replace them?
Brad Firebrace, Roland Atkinson, Dallas Terlich and Ezra Bray. Ezra should be right, we should get Mick chisholm and big jono Henderson back they could have both played this week but we didn't wanna risk it and I think we should give young Jason Atkinson a go from the thrids. Killed them again on the weekend. to good for that level.
will dallas and brad play this week? did roland break his arm?
the duke
23 Apr 2007, 22:25
my mail tells me that mark mcgough has finished his studies over in arizona and will be back to play for mulwala with in the next month. he will apparently be back for their clash with moama, but if not definately by round five. mulwala have tried to keep it under raps but i found out off one excited player who plays for the lions. should be good to see a player of his quality in the league
You wouldn't happen to be the actual 'The Duke' from Mulwala Football Club would you?
fork tongue
24 Apr 2007, 11:30
hey hank,
are cobram still going to finish in the bottom 3????
hey hank,
are cobram still going to finish in the bottom 3????
I would say that would be more than likely buddy. Hey we might be with them. Moama, Cobram, Deni and Tonny too fight out bottom three, how is that!;)
fork tongue
24 Apr 2007, 14:49
I would say that would be more than likely buddy. Hey we might be with them. Moama, Cobram, Deni and Tonny too fight out bottom three, how is that!;)
oh, we are going to bag deni too, now are we???
toquick
24 Apr 2007, 15:10
you asked the question he gave the answer.....
Mate I'm not bagging anyone, everyone has their opinion on here and people have given their top 6 etc, just because my opinion is certain teams will finish in the bottom 3 or 4 doesnt mean I'm having a go at them. I coach Tonny and at the moment we look like we will finish in the bottom 4, does that mean I am bagging my own club. Have you got an opinion yourself or do you just bag other people for having a viewpoint of their own?
fork tongue
24 Apr 2007, 15:59
Mate I'm not bagging anyone, everyone has their opinion on here and people have given their top 6 etc, just because my opinion is certain teams will finish in the bottom 3 or 4 doesnt mean I'm having a go at them. I coach Tonny and at the moment we look like we will finish in the bottom 4, does that mean I am bagging my own club. Have you got an opinion yourself or do you just bag other people for having a viewpoint of their own?
yes i have an opinion. i realise you werent bagging the clubs but i think your comments in the paper after round 2 were ordinary.
clubs at this stage of year are trying to attract members, supporters, sponsors, as well as players to bolster their ranks, and for these people to hear another clubs coach come out and say that next week we play cobram "who will finish bottom 3" and we beat moama but they'll be there also was not the type of thing that helps these clubs with sponsorship, players etc.
lionsden
24 Apr 2007, 16:43
yes i have an opinion. i realise you werent bagging the clubs but i think your comments in the paper after round 2 were ordinary.
clubs at this stage of year are trying to attract members, supporters, sponsors, as well as players to bolster their ranks, and for these people to hear another clubs coach come out and say that next week we play cobram "who will finish bottom 3" and we beat moama but they'll be there also was not the type of thing that helps these clubs with sponsorship, players etc.
Mate he is only being honest. it is good to see a coach being honest and not talking alot of crap as most coaches do. good on you hank.
cackles23
24 Apr 2007, 17:18
Thumbs up too Hank for being an honest coach also!!!
Yeah I agree, Hank is a good coach and a great bloke too. He is doing a wonderful job at the Tongala Football Club and is building solid foundations now and for the future, and is creating a great culture around the club. You wont find many coaches as honest as him, you asked the question, you got the answer.
the duke
24 Apr 2007, 21:32
You wouldn't happen to be the actual 'The Duke' from Mulwala Football Club would you?
yes i am the duke. you would have seen my work in the weekender. i live in mulwala and support them. i am a free lance photographer and love taking photo's of local sport then send the good ones into the newspapers and the footy books. who know's i might even take a snap shot of you next time mulwala plays united.
Thought so. Yes you take some great shots each week, good stuff mate!
roaring tiger
24 Apr 2007, 21:55
Mate i would say to you that if clubs didn't have there sponsorship's all signed up now they will struggle to get anymore on board at this stage of the year (round 4) as they wouldn't get value for money.
roaring tiger
24 Apr 2007, 21:58
Anyway boys is there any footy news regarding the Murray League out there? The eagles have signed up Nick Ironrani. I think he played in the grand final last year so should be a handy player from what "willo" told me. Also i think we will make at least 8 changes to last weeks side which should provide a better end result for us at the eagles.
Poodle boy
24 Apr 2007, 22:08
Anyway boys is there any footy news regarding the Murray League out there? The eagles have signed up Nick Ironrani. I think he played in the grand final last year so should be a handy player from what "willo" told me. Also i think we will make at least 8 changes to last weeks side which should provide a better end result for us at the eagles.
So has Nick goin back to the eagles is he? Leavin the swans already? His only been there for 2 games, Doesnt like it there nomore?
The reason for him returning to Echuca United is unknown at the moment but it should surface soon enough. His return to the Eagles will add extra strength, pace and class to the midfield and will be a handy contributer for the team.
SUPASTARR
24 Apr 2007, 23:00
When will the reason surface Willo? Seems very strange tho you would have to admit. Tell us more......
I honestly wouldn't have a clue mate. If i knew the reason I would say, but I don't. I suppose it will surface when he starts training with us.
I agree, it is strange that he is leaving the Shepparton Swans so early in the season, but it has happened many times before in country footy. Players get recruited to clubs and realise after a couple of matches that they do not enjoy the footy, the atmosphere and/or the culture.
Thanks for your opinion, but i think I'll keep calling it as I see it and wont be beating around the bush, Cheers.
Poodle boy
25 Apr 2007, 11:26
Willo whats the go with the eagles? been hearin ya got heidleberg players playin for yas but a few went home to heidleberg to play a practise instead of playin with use on the weekend? Is this true or just a rumour?