View Full Version : Murray Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36

willo1
25 Apr 2007, 15:30
Willo whats the go with the eagles? been hearin ya got heidleberg players playin for yas but a few went home to heidleberg to play a practise instead of playin with use on the weekend? Is this true or just a rumour?
It's true, the North Heidelburg blokes did go back to their home club to play a practice match, I suppose to stay loyal to their club as a couple of them havn't yet made their decision.
As roaring_tiger mentioned above, we will welcome back 9 players for this weeks game against Congupna, who were missing in our loss against Numurkah.

pigmy
26 Apr 2007, 11:19
just saw the diamond valley website.

the 5 north heildelberg boys (king, h ryan,s ryan,moore,dean) have asked for clearances back to the dvfl.

heard that they were getting 500 more a game at ehuca then what they get at north. jeez bloody loyal bunch.

must have been a tough call to turn your back on the $$$$$.

hank1
26 Apr 2007, 14:21
just saw the diamond valley website.

the 5 north heildelberg boys (king, h ryan,s ryan,moore,dean) have asked for clearances back to the dvfl.

heard that they were getting 500 more a game at ehuca then what they get at north. jeez bloody loyal bunch.

must have been a tough call to turn your back on the $$$$$.

Yep, all the transfers are in on the Murray League site, all will get automatic clearances back due to the drought clause.
What are everyones thoughts on this situation, do you think it is worth it getting players for a couple of games in the hope they may stay long term. What are you United boys thoughts, has it been unsettling and have any blokes cracked it because they were playing twos due to the four blokes playing?

boora
26 Apr 2007, 15:27
Yep, all the transfers are in on the Murray League site, all will get automatic clearances back due to the drought clause.
What are everyones thoughts on this situation, do you think it is worth it getting players for a couple of games in the hope they may stay long term. What are you United boys thoughts, has it been unsettling and have any blokes cracked it because they were playing twos due to the four blokes playing?

i know of 6 or 7 boys from melb (DV) who were interested in playing the first 3 games for rumba, but they weren't committing for the season and they didn't bother pursuing them. good move i think, not worth the disruption to the team or club.

roaring tiger
26 Apr 2007, 15:59

I don't think to many of the blokes would have an issue with it hank, i don't. The club had to give it a go and hope that by playing good footy in the first few games and the club getting a few wins on the board early they would stay. They haven't but this will give other blokes an opportunity to have a crack for a senior game. It will severley affect our depth though. They were all class players so everyone else will have to step up at least 5% to keep playing the type of footy we have (except for the numurkah game).

From what i hear it they didn't cost the club to much in player payments.

willo1
26 Apr 2007, 17:04
I don't think to many of the blokes would have an issue with it hank, i don't. The club had to give it a go and hope that by playing good footy in the first few games and the club getting a few wins on the board early they would stay. They haven't but this will give other blokes an opportunity to have a crack for a senior game. It will severley affect our depth though. They were all class players so everyone else will have to step up at least 5% to keep playing the type of footy we have (except for the numurkah game).

From what i hear it they didn't cost the club to much in player payments.
The North Heidelburg players didn't get paid for the games they played, but they were given money to cover the petrol cost's of travelling from Melbourne. It is disapointing to see that they didn't stay but you win some and you lose some.

There are a couple of reserves players knocking on the door of senior selection, and some of which who played on the weekend against Numurkah showed some great signs that they would be able to step up and slot into the side.

Although we have lost those 4 players, the Eagles still have some very good quality players who took the side to the Grand Final in 2006. With players like Peter Bird and Luan Marsh to return to the team in the next couple of weeks, United will bounce back. Also, the inclusion of Nick Ioranni will add plenty of pace and class to the middle line.

roaring tiger
26 Apr 2007, 17:30
The North Heidelburg players didn't get paid for the games they played, but they were given money to cover the petrol cost's of travelling from Melbourne. It is disapointing to see that they didn't stay but you win some and you lose some.

There are a couple of reserves players knocking on the door of senior selection, and some of which who played on the weekend against Numurkah showed some great signs that they would be able to step up and slot into the side.

Although we have lost those 4 players, the Eagles still have some very good quality players who took the side to the Grand Final in 2006. With players like Peter Bird and Luan Marsh to return to the team in the next couple of weeks, United will bounce back. Also, the inclusion of Nick Ioranni will add plenty of pace and class to the middle line.

Josh Rowbottom to return also which should help in the bigman department.

Jonnie_12
27 Apr 2007, 00:57
From what i have seen from an outsiders point of view United have lost there good young footballers i went to a central murray game the other day and saw Leitchville Gunbower as there was no local football in town and they have a lot of ex United footballers and the can play eg Nuttall, Mcmaster, Prendergast, Hazelman and Retalick and from all reports they are doing very well out there.

How did they lose these blokes and would they improve united's chances if they where there in 07!!

pigmy
27 Apr 2007, 09:11
the north boys did get paid per game. 100%.

pace to freeze
27 Apr 2007, 13:35
the north boys did get paid per game. 100%.
Have all been named this week for united ????

roaring tiger
27 Apr 2007, 15:12
Have all been named this week for united ????

Only 2. Daniel Moore and Harley Ryan.

roaring tiger
27 Apr 2007, 15:14
From what i have seen from an outsiders point of view United have lost there good young footballers i went to a central murray game the other day and saw Leitchville Gunbower as there was no local football in town and they have a lot of ex United footballers and the can play eg Nuttall, Mcmaster, Prendergast, Hazelman and Retalick and from all reports they are doing very well out there.

How did they lose these blokes and would they improve united's chances if they where there in 07!!

From what i hear they got offered very good money to go out and play in the cent murray league which the eagles wouldn't match. They would certainly add depth this year but i haven't seen any of those blokes play before so im not 100% sure on there ability. "Willo" should know though.

souts
27 Apr 2007, 15:53
Im tipping Nathalia to beat Mul by 6-8 goals

Appin Vet
27 Apr 2007, 16:16
Only 2. Daniel Moore and Harley Ryan.

Is this the Daniel Moore from Hay. If so, bloody big unit.

willo1
27 Apr 2007, 19:15
From what i hear they got offered very good money to go out and play in the cent murray league which the eagles wouldn't match. They would certainly add depth this year but i haven't seen any of those blokes play before so im not 100% sure on there ability. "Willo" should know though.
They are all good quality players, McMaster, Nuttall and Hazelman the better of them. As roaring_tiger said, they were offered big dollars to head to Leitchville-Gunbower and United would not match it. From all reports, they are playing some good football out there, so good on them.

willo1
28 Apr 2007, 09:21
Here are my tips for Round 4:

Barooga v Numurkah
Echuca United v Congupna
Mulwala v Nathalia
Rumbalara v Moama
Deniliquin Rams v Cobram
Tocumwal v Finley

There are a few tough games to pick this weekend. Barooga, Echuca United and Rumbalara should get up over their opponents, where as Mulwala will get up over Nathalia in a ripper game. Tocumwal will be looking to bounce back after a very disapointing start to the season, and Cobram should be too experienced for a young Deniliquin Rams outfit.

Poodle boy
28 Apr 2007, 10:06
Here are my tips for Round 4:

Barooga v Numurkah
Echuca United v Congupna
Mulwala v Nathalia
Rumbalara v Moama
Deniliquin Rams v Cobram
Tocumwal v Finley

There are a few tough games to pick this weekend. Barooga, Echuca United and Rumbalara should get up over their opponents, where as Mulwala will get up over Nathalia in a ripper game. Tocumwal will be looking to bounce back after a very disapointing start to the season, and Cobram should be too experienced for a young Deniliquin Rams outfit.

Barooga in a close one.
Congupna to roll Echuca in a good game.
Nathalia in a tight one.
Rumba to win.
Cobram by about 40.
Finley to get up over Toc.

Barooga v's Numurkah, Echuca V's Congupna and mul and Nathalia should be close games i reckon, all should be good, Rumba to bounce back after last weeks performance, Finley to good for Toc who are struggling abit at the moment to find form, and Cobram to came up winners over Deni pretty easy.

The No 1 Bombers Fan
28 Apr 2007, 12:02
My tips for thr weekend.
Barooga to beat Numurkah
Congupna to beat Echuca
Deni to beat Cobram
Finley to get over Toc
Ruba to beat Moama
Nathalia over Mulwala by 12 goals if it stays dry with Lucas best on ground

hank1
28 Apr 2007, 18:37
Great to see every side in the comp with a win beside their name this early into the season, top 3 still look to be a touch better than the rest, but all other sides have won games that they weren't favourites for and have lost games that they could have won. Excellent for the league.

pace to freeze
28 Apr 2007, 19:41
Speaking to senior united player this morning who reported that all boys from diamond valley may be staying, one is definately not playing down there, can anyone confirm or deny this ???

boora
28 Apr 2007, 21:54
Speaking to senior united player this morning who reported that all boys from diamond valley may be staying, one is definately not playing down there, can anyone confirm or deny this ???
the 4 are going to north, i know afew guys there still and they have all said that it was only for afew games and as soon as dv starts the would be back at north.

pigmy
30 Apr 2007, 08:10
the rumour in the dvfl is shaun ryan definately going back to north but king, harley ryan and moore havent made up there mind. good luck. they are guns and would be great for united.

Poodle boy
30 Apr 2007, 08:24
the rumour in the dvfl is shaun ryan definately going back to north but king, harley ryan and moore havent made up there mind. good luck. they are guns and would be great for united.

Hey how old is Shaun Ryan mate? IS he around 20-21?

pigmy
30 Apr 2007, 09:21
harley ryan is 21-22
jarrod king is 24
daniel moore is 22-23
shaun ryan no idea but is older than jarrod king, i reckon about 25-28

harls
30 Apr 2007, 12:25
heard mulwala had a few out against nathalia, howd they measure up

oldstyle
30 Apr 2007, 12:38
Yer harls heard that but also heard Nathalia had a few pull out late, but was a great game to watch. I was dissappointed that Mulwala's number one supporter was'nt at the game as i have heard so much about her.

harls
30 Apr 2007, 13:01
Yer harls heard that but also heard Nathalia had a few pull out late, but was a great game to watch. I was dissappointed that Mulwala's number one supporter was'nt at the game as i have heard so much about her.

might of been there oldstyle,you was probably looking through the bottom of a vb can or over the netball

oldstyle
30 Apr 2007, 13:53
Na not me mate.

BlindTurn
30 Apr 2007, 14:05
If they werent getting paid at United, why would they stick around then, especially when they are on reasonable monry back at North. Will be interesting to see what happens. My tip is all of them will head back to North along with Jason Dean at Tocumwal.

boora
30 Apr 2007, 14:52
harley ryan is 21-22
jarrod king is 24
daniel moore is 22-23
shaun ryan no idea but is older than jarrod king, i reckon about 25-28
mouse is 30 this year.

InsideInfo
30 Apr 2007, 15:12

As far as i have heard all four are returning to North. Nothing against United, they loved the club and all the boys involved, but at the end of the day their hearts are with North.
In a previous post money was mentioned. As far as money goes, yes they did get paid, but not $500 a game, as it was mentioned the got money to cover petrol etc. These boys don't play for money, they play for the love of the game.
I am sure they will keep in touch with all the boys in Echuca.:thumbsu:

Sippawitz
1 May 2007, 12:50
As far as i have heard all four are returning to North. Nothing against United, they loved the club and all the boys involved, but at the end of the day their hearts are with North.
In a previous post money was mentioned. As far as money goes, yes they did get paid, but not $500 a game, as it was mentioned the got money to cover petrol etc. These boys don't play for money, they play for the love of the game.
I am sure they will keep in touch with all the boys in Echuca.:thumbsu:
You see a lot of crap written on the websites about clubs, players and money and in my opinion there's no point in arguing with idiots because pretty soon noone can tell the difference between you and the idiot. So it's good to see someone capture the situation so accurately. Nice work, InsideInfo.

United will be sorry to see the North Heidelberg blokes go, but will wish them the absolute best for the year.

Quality blokes, quality footballers.

Wear The Fox Hat
2 May 2007, 13:45
Can anyone tell me if Patrick Ratray has been able to pull the boots on yet for Barooga, or how far away he is likely to be?

Zazu99
2 May 2007, 21:28
Can anyone tell me if Patrick Ratray has been able to pull the boots on yet for Barooga, or how far away he is likely to be?
heard on the grapevine that he has started training and is trying to play in the two's this weekend.

goodgolly24
4 May 2007, 08:48
Rightio boy's, get your tips in!!

Trueblueroo
4 May 2007, 09:30
Can someone tell me how Jamesy is going @ Mulwala please? Heard rumours and watching closely, but its hard to know?

Is there any backman to contain him to under 5 goals a game?

How ya treaking Slugga?

willo1
4 May 2007, 10:04
My Tips for Round 5:
Congupna v Barooga
Nathalia v Echuca United
Moama v Mulwala
Cobram v Rumbalara
Finley v Tongala
Numurkah v Tocumwal
Deniliquin Rams Bye

Barooga will comfortably account for Congupna, Echuca United will get up in a close encounter, in the match of the round against Nathalia, and Mulwala will easily get up over Moama. With the Cobram v Rumbalara and Finley v Tongala games, all four teams are pretty evenly matched so the tips went with the home teams, and Numurkah are running with some good form and will get over Tocumwal.

Good luck for the weekend everyone!

souts
4 May 2007, 10:38

Nathila vsEchuca united
Mulwala vs Moama
Rumba vs Cobram
Tongala vs Finley
Numurkah vs Tocumwal
barooga vs congupna

souts
4 May 2007, 10:42
Can someone tell me how Jamesy is going @ Mulwala please? Heard rumours and watching closely, but its hard to know?

How ya treaking Slugga?

james has only kicked over 5 once, which was the first game and has kicked 4 goals since then, so those backman must be going ok trueblueroo!

thepres
4 May 2007, 12:54
james has only kicked over 5 once, which was the first game and has kicked 4 goals since then, so those backman must be going ok trueblueroo!

Just to let you know souts he has only played 2 games!!!!

morgs01
4 May 2007, 15:36

Nathalia
Rumbalara
Numurkah
Barooga
Finley
Mulwala

Nathalia and United will be closer than you might think United must have pretty good side to have a kid who's played two TAC Cup games with the Pioneers sitting on the bench, We haven't lost to Cobram yet and we don't plan to start now even though we have 9 regular senior players out with injury, Barooga, Finley and Mulwala should win easy enough. Cheers guys and good luck everyone.

Poodle boy
4 May 2007, 18:37

How ya treaking Slugga?

I dont think too many backman will stop him durin the year, Very classy player.

willo1
5 May 2007, 19:05
Results for Round 5:
Congupna 10.19 (79) v Barooga 11.11 (77)
Nathalia 18.10 (118) v Echuca United 8.4 (52)
Moama 8.14 (62) v Mulwala 24.17 (161)
Cobram 11.8 (74) v Rumbalara 17.3 (105)
Finley 14.17 (101) v Tongala 10.4 (64)
Numurkah 15.14 (104) v Tocumwal 10.11 (71)

Well done to Congupna who battled hard to get over a much fancied Barooga side, Echuca United played well until half time against Nathalia but were out-run in the second half, Mulwala had a big win over Moama with Lee James staring up forward with 7 majors for the Lions, Rumbalara were too strong for Cobram, Finley battled hard at home to get over a hungry Tongala side and Numurkah continued their good form getting up over a disapointing Tocumwal.

Was anyone at any of the games today? Care to give us some insight.

smallfootyhead
6 May 2007, 01:49
Another quality loss to tongala

hank1
6 May 2007, 10:39

Want to elaborate on that post their smallfootyhead?

souts
6 May 2007, 11:14

Very keen to hear your response smallfootyhead, were you at the game?

Doona2
6 May 2007, 20:43

Spoke with the great man during the week, has been training for a little while and kicked 5 in the two's yesty. Dunno if he'll make his Barooga debut this week or next but good luck to him when he does I reckon :thumbsu:

The No 1 Bombers Fan
6 May 2007, 21:46
The Purps are really lookin the goods. Their forward line looks really hard to match up with Parker, Vallender and Lucas controlling the air and add the class of the Gemmills, Barnes, Quarell and Butler through the midfield and changin through the forward line. This mixed with a solid backline and still a few to make a start for the year things are lookin ok. Can anyone see who is going to challenge them in the next month. Barooga maybe??

mainland
7 May 2007, 09:18

Now I see why you call yourself smallfootyhead when u come up with
s h i t house statements like that.:thumbsd:

B.O.G.
7 May 2007, 14:42
Very keen to hear your response smallfootyhead, were you at the game?

he could have been Tally did have the bye on the weekend

roaring tiger
7 May 2007, 15:01
The Purps are really lookin the goods. Their forward line looks really hard to match up with Parker, Vallender and Lucas controlling the air and add the class of the Gemmills, Barnes, Quarell and Butler through the midfield and changin through the forward line. This mixed with a solid backline and still a few to make a start for the year things are lookin ok. Can anyone see who is going to challenge them in the next month. Barooga maybe??

I don't think barooga will be there main challenger. They lost to congupna on the weekend who aren't a top 2 or 3 side and have lost harrop with a shoulder for a few weeks from what i hear. I think Mulwala and the the eagles will need to improve and be there main challengers.

We matched nathalia until half time on the weekend but couldn't apply enough pressure on there on ballers in the second half. They are a great side and you can't lapse for 5 minutes. Lucas was BOG with 7 goals. Parker looks set for another 100 goals with another 6. I thought the condition of there ground was pretty ordinary but can't complian to much when where in the middle of a drought.

roaring tiger
7 May 2007, 15:06
How did you rate the Finley cats on the weekend Hank?

hank1
7 May 2007, 18:11
How did you rate the Finley cats on the weekend Hank?

They will be vying for those last two spots in the 6 with four or five other sides, got some good leg speed through the middle and 4 blokes 6' 3" or more which stretched us as our FB was unavailable and then lost Steve Townsend to an ankle injury early also. We had our chances especially in the 3rd 1/4 but match fitness took its toll on a couple of our midfielders in the last 1/4 who were playing their first games for the year. Can't see them pushing the top 4 sides too much. Arnstrong and Massingham are dangerous on the wings, Nick Braybon is good at CHF(was a good battle between him and Andrew Reid), Sexton still gets a fair bit of it, Nevins is a big bloke at Full Forward doesnt move far but big unit. They were fairly short down back, the top sides may be able to stretch them.

souts
7 May 2007, 18:31
he could have been Tally did have the bye on the weekend

yeah that explans it...his from tally. i doubt he was at the game. to come on here and say that he cant have been there, it was an arm wrestle for most of the match

ringo1
8 May 2007, 08:46
It seems that Tonny are on the improve and could cause some sides problems. Who missed on the weekend? I believe there were a few out.:thumbsu:

OLD DARK NAVY BLUE
8 May 2007, 13:47
Saw the Nathalia v Echuca United match on the weekend, and United lived up to their reputation. They should frog march Peter Bird straight out the front door and close it behind him. Apparently reported twice for striking, all he done was run around and try and belt blokes.

roaring tiger
8 May 2007, 14:40
Saw the Nathalia v Echuca United match on the weekend, and United lived up to their reputation. They should frog march Peter Bird straight out the front door and close it behind him. Apparently reported twice for striking, all he done was run around and try and belt blokes.

I don't know what reputation your mean about the eagles. As far as i'm concerned we aren't a dirty team or club.

I think your being a little harsh on birdy. He was hard at the footy and the man like a lot other eagle players were which Nathalia didn't like. Nathalia have to expect that sides are going to challenge them physically. Nathalia also had a couple of players looking to belt blokes especially number 41.

I don't know how a boundary unmpire of about 13 years of age reported Birdy at half time after troy snelsen started the all in brawl but didn't report anyone else. I couldn't work that out. Will be interesting to see if he gets any weeks though.

willo1
8 May 2007, 14:49
He wasn't doing anything against the rules on Saturday. He was hard at the ball all day and actually challenged the Nathalia blokes physically which I do not believe they have been in previous years. A lot more went on in that brawl that the umpires turned a blind eye to. Just because Bird was tackling hard and hitting the ball with strength, as soon as a Nathalia bloke appealed to the umpires, they were red hot on his trail and gave some of the softest free kicks. I didn't see any free kicks paid against Nathalia for eye-gouging.
As roaring_tiger said, I can't see how a boundary umpire who was barely out of nappies was able to report Peter.

hank1
8 May 2007, 14:55
Who missed on the weekend? I believe there were a few out.:thumbsu:

Ricki Thompson, Dylan Martin, Scott Waasdorp, Ash Nunn, Mitch Coombs Kyle, Simon and Daryl Harrison, all except Mitch and Simon will push for senior selection this week with Simon a chance to return to the field through the twos this week or next and Mitch back from overseas in a couple of weeks.

OLD DARK NAVY BLUE
8 May 2007, 16:05
This what the Loddon boys think of Bird.

Originally Posted by bobbill
P/hill have lost Morris, two Marcashini's?, Gilchrist Ass. Coach at North bendigo and going with him are Gillett, Greenwood and some depth players. I didn't know about the Bird's but no lost because Peter Bird lost the grand final for them. Yes YCW have recruited, I dare say you have not seen Webb play!!! Have not much about any other side except bridgewater, Ashman to play at South Bendigo.

Joe Czak
8 May 2007, 16:43
I don't know what reputation your mean about the eagles. As far as i'm concerned we aren't a dirty team or club.

I think your being a little harsh on birdy. He was hard at the footy and the man like a lot other eagle players were which Nathalia didn't like. Nathalia have to expect that sides are going to challenge them physically. Nathalia also had a couple of players looking to belt blokes especially number 41.

I don't know how a boundary unmpire of about 13 years of age reported Birdy at half time after troy snelsen started the all in brawl but didn't report anyone else. I couldn't work that out. Will be interesting to see if he gets any weeks though.

When does he front the tribunal?

journeyman
8 May 2007, 16:44
He wasn't doing anything against the rules on Saturday. He was hard at the ball all day and actually challenged the Nathalia blokes physically which I do not believe they have been in previous years. A lot more went on in that brawl that the umpires turned a blind eye to. Just because Bird was tackling hard and hitting the ball with strength, as soon as a Nathalia bloke appealed to the umpires, they were red hot on his trail and gave some of the softest free kicks. I didn't see any free kicks paid against Nathalia for eye-gouging.
As roaring_tiger said, I can't see how a boundary umpire who was barely out of nappies was able to report Peter.

How can you say Nathalia haven't been challenged physically? Have sides just gone out there and let them win? Good on you blokes for having a crack but I don't think you've given much thought to that comment.

I imagine if the umpires saw someone eye-gouging another player they would report them.

willo1
8 May 2007, 17:07
How can you say Nathalia haven't been challenged physically? Have sides just gone out there and let them win? Good on you blokes for having a crack but I don't think you've given much thought to that comment.

I imagine if the umpires saw someone eye-gouging another player they would report them.
I know what you mean mate, but Birdy and quite a few other blokes were having a fair dinkum crack, physically challenging the Purps and they did not like it one bit - they kept appealing to the umpires for free kicks after being hit with solid tackles and hip-and-shoulders.

willo1
8 May 2007, 17:08
When does he front the tribunal?
Most likely this Friday.

ringo1
8 May 2007, 17:09

Peter Bird-Echuca Football club got rid of him due to losing games through lack of discipline,cost Pyramid Hill a Grand Final and has been at United before. Was also let go from an Adelaide club after fighting with the coach.Not the type of player you would want! If he lined up for United in any game you would target him verbally and physically and he would be sent off.:(

hank1
8 May 2007, 17:17
Peter Bird-Echuca Football club got rid of him due to losing games through lack of discipline,cost Pyramid Hill a Grand Final and has been at United before. Was also let go from an Adelaide club after fighting with the coach.Not the type of player you would want! If he lined up for United in any game you would target him verbally and physically and he would be sent off.:(

Must admit I was asked to ring him to play this year, but decided against it for the above reasons.

Gutnik42
8 May 2007, 17:48
He had 14 after 2 games, the second game producing 4 in the wet and just bagged another 7 on the weekend so he can't be going to bad hey champ.

Joe Czak
8 May 2007, 17:53
Most likely this Friday.

Why so late in the week? Even with the bye, that's not the usual time for a tribunal hearing is it?

souts
8 May 2007, 17:54
He had 14 after 2 games, the second game producing 4 in the wet and just bagged another 7 on the weekend so he can't be going to bad hey champ.

who are you talking about? lee James?

willo1
8 May 2007, 17:55
Why so late in the week? Even with the bye, that's not the usual time for a tribunal hearing is it?
Not sure, Nathan Rowbottom had his hearing on a Friday afternoon 2 weeks ago.

Gutnik42
8 May 2007, 18:00
who are you talking about? lee James?
Correct.

roaring tiger
8 May 2007, 18:10

Surely Pyramid Hill don't blame Peter Bird for losing the grand final last year. They lost by 50-60 points i think. One player does not cost a side a grand final that they lost by 50-60 points. I would say that Calivil's finals expereince and the fact they were the better side on the day were the reasons pyramid hill lost.

grac
8 May 2007, 18:46
I know what you mean mate, but Birdy and quite a few other blokes were having a fair dinkum crack, physically challenging the Purps and they did not like it one bit - they kept appealing to the umpires for free kicks after being hit with solid tackles and hip-and-shoulders.
Just wondering about this Nathalia side. Haven't they won the last 2 flags and only been beaten once in the last 2 years, not counting the points taken off them against Rumba? So what you are saying is that the sides they played did not have the capability to play physical football and that over the last 3 years, as they were runners up in 04, they have meet only 1 side that was phsyical. I do not know of any side that when they are phsyically attacked, take much enjoyment in it and will revert to the umpires to make sure that it is all legal. Unfortunatley, when a side is that good,and the opposition is weak, the only way to win is bodily attack them but beware when it all comes back at the attacker. Good sides also can attack the body but when they do, that are thugs. I noticed that United were aggressive and still did not win. Back to United coach to find a new way of beating them;)

roaring tiger
8 May 2007, 22:07
Just wondering about this Nathalia side. Haven't they won the last 2 flags and only been beaten once in the last 2 years, not counting the points taken off them against Rumba? So what you are saying is that the sides they played did not have the capability to play physical football and that over the last 3 years, as they were runners up in 04, they have meet only 1 side that was phsyical. I do not know of any side that when they are phsyically attacked, take much enjoyment in it and will revert to the umpires to make sure that it is all legal. Unfortunatley, when a side is that good,and the opposition is weak, the only way to win is bodily attack them but beware when it all comes back at the attacker. Good sides also can attack the body but when they do, that are thugs. I noticed that United were aggressive and still did not win. Back to United coach to find a new way of beating them;)

In fareness to willo, i think what he was trying to say is that most sides go in against nathalia and try and play there normal game go out and attack in a high scoring game. We got beat 3 or 4 times last year trying to win using our normal game plan that didn't work. We decided our best plan might be to close the game down and attack the footy and man as hard as we could which would hopefully frustrate them and win us the game. For a 1 and 1/2 it worked but we couldn't maintain it. We are not thugs. Also they did get looked after by the umpires although they took there chances when we didn't. I guess your right we are back to the drawing board.

souts
8 May 2007, 22:10
Correct.

yeah he must be a good player? i cant wait to see him for my self. how big is he?

The No 1 Bombers Fan
8 May 2007, 22:18
I recall playing against United and found them to be a side that has always liked to dish a bit out and would say they were not the best at taking it. Remember a few years back when Martin was reported twice in the one year once for an incident with Moamas Chriss Eddy ( I think) and the other for kicking. The second incident I saw ans was the lowest act I have ever seen on the football feild. Was a kid in his first year of senior football that he kicked and when the tribunal give him 10 weeks United sooked to VCFL for the second time for the year and what goes on there u will never work out they reduced it. United has always tried to intimidate and against that Nathalia side will always come up short. Should probably try and find a way of closing down their mid field or expose lack of pace in the back half. Might be e better way of trying to roll the Purps.

Gutnik42
8 May 2007, 22:41
yeah he must be a good player? i cant wait to see him for my self. how big is he?
Not overly tall, lucky 2 be 6 foot but he is a very explosive and powerful forward. Would be a very hard match up 4 any backman, quick, strong, great second efforts and could stand on your head off 1 step. Rarely misses also.

willo1
8 May 2007, 22:56
I recall playing against United and found them to be a side that has always liked to dish a bit out and would say they were not the best at taking it. Remember a few years back when Martin was reported twice in the one year once for an incident with Moamas Chriss Eddy ( I think) and the other for kicking. The second incident I saw ans was the lowest act I have ever seen on the football feild. Was a kid in his first year of senior football that he kicked and when the tribunal give him 10 weeks United sooked to VCFL for the second time for the year and what goes on there u will never work out they reduced it. United has always tried to intimidate and against that Nathalia side will always come up short. Should probably try and find a way of closing down their mid field or expose lack of pace in the back half. Might be e better way of trying to roll the Purps.
The Martin brother have not played at United for quite a few years now and that behavior has been eliminated from the club. I was pretty young when all that stuff happened so I can only just remember parts of what happened. I think, and i'm not 100% sure, but the appeal took a few weeks to get heard by the VCFL, and he only ended up getting a one or two week reduction, not that it's relevant.

I agree with your comment about closing down their midfield, but it is extremely hard to initiate a plan considering the calibre of their on-ball players. And in saying that, to close down their back half, you would have to be working twice as hard to have their midfield under control aswell.

It's only early in the season. I can still see the remaining battles between Mulwala, Echuca United and Nathalia later on in the season being quite competitive, and if the Purps are not as lucky this season with injuries as they were last season, they might struggle if any of their key players sustain any serious injuries.

Just one thing I noticed on the weekend, Nathalia only had one 3rds player (Rick Barnes, brother of Drew) from last season playing in the one's and from what I saw, he only got a run for about a quarter of the game. The other few including Wade Hicks, Stephen Mahncke and Craig Hicks were playing in the two's. I would have thought they would have a stronger youth policy than that.

ringo1
9 May 2007, 08:29
The Martin brother have not played at United for quite a few years now and that behavior has been eliminated from the club. I was pretty young when all that stuff happened so I can only just remember parts of what happened. I think, and i'm not 100% sure, but the appeal took a few weeks to get heard by the VCFL, and he only ended up getting a one or two week reduction, not that it's relevant.

I agree with your comment about closing down their midfield, but it is extremely hard to initiate a plan considering the calibre of their on-ball players. And in saying that, to close down their back half, you would have to be working twice as hard to have their midfield under control aswell.

It's only early in the season. I can still see the remaining battles between Mulwala, Echuca United and Nathalia later on in the season being quite competitive, and if the Purps are not as lucky this season with injuries as they were last season, they might struggle if any of their key players sustain any serious injuries.

Just one thing I noticed on the weekend, Nathalia only had one 3rds player (Rick Barnes, brother of Drew) from last season playing in the one's and from what I saw, he only got a run for about a quarter of the game. The other few including Wade Hicks, Stephen Mahncke and Craig Hicks were playing in the two's. I would have thought they would have a stronger youth policy than that.

Willo1 YOU STILL HAVE PETER BIRD WHO IS RENOWNED FOR POOR DISCIPLINE. I believe his behaviour is similar to the above incidents mentioned. Echuca did the right thing and got rid of him.

willo1
9 May 2007, 11:14
Willo1 YOU STILL HAVE PETER BIRD WHO IS RENOWNED FOR POOR DISCIPLINE. I believe his behaviour is similar to the above incidents mentioned. Echuca did the right thing and got rid of him.
Yes true, but the club was hoping that Peter had cleaned up his behaviour. Obviously he hasn't and will pay the price at the tribunal. Not much more can be said I wouldn't think.

journeyman
9 May 2007, 12:42

You're keen to pick the bones out of Nathalia. They can't handle physical pressure, sook to umpires, eye gouge, have had a dream run with injuries and now they don't have a youth policy.

Youth policy is an AFL term meaning you don't trade away your draft picks and play kids for experience because the side is incapable of winning the premiership.

Nathalia are going for three in a row so their "policy" would be to play the best side. Nathalia does have an older group. But would you remove their older players like Parker, Lucas, A. Quarrell and Ash and Marc Gemmill to give kids a go when you're going to be playing finals????

You would have to admit they are still more than capable players.

United's thirds-fourths have been up the top for 10 years but they went out and got four blokes from Melbourne for three games. Is that a youth policy??

The other reason Nathalia wouldn't have had many make the step up is because that's all the top age 3rds players they would have had that haven't moved away to uni. The town only has a population of 1500 (10% of Echuca's) so you're not going to have 12-15 kids come up each year like Echuca and other bigger towns.

United's juniors have flogged Nathalia's since they came in but junior success doesn't always translate into senior success.

Sorry about the essay!

grac
9 May 2007, 14:27

All football success comes in blocks. At the moment it is the Purps turn,just as before it was Deni's streak. As pointed out , Nathalia has a small population and also supplies players to Picola and Waaia which are both within 15ks. The players go to these sides for many reasons,cannot get a game at nathalia, dont get on with people at Nath, have their mates play at these clubs etc. As you would have noticed with this Purples side, is that it is unusually full of local players from such a small population, that can play at the Murray League level. Around 15 years ago, this town was considering moving leagues as it could not compete, at the time, with the larger towns, and a lot of players left to play in the GV,O&M, Metro leagues etc and all have now come back home to play together. They saw how the team had struggled and have made a pact to stick together. Players suck as Lucas is there for his brother in law Snelson because he likes success and others who go to Uni with some of the Nath players. It is Nath's time in the sun and without a doubt, in the future, it will be their turn to struggle but let us all enjoy a team that has been described as a country powerhouse and brings attention to the Murray League and might encourge better players and ex players to return and make this league stonger.:)

willo1
9 May 2007, 15:03
Well said both of you blokes, some strong points made journeyman. I agree with what you have said and you make some strong points. Just one thing journeyman about the youth thing - I'm not saying those older blokes aren't capable, I just would have thought they would give at least one of them a run each week because I know they would be capable of handling senior footy. One other thing, I agree that Nathalia have been one of the luckiest clubs in country Victoria as far as retaining local players goes, and as their side is getting a bit long in the tooth, perhaps they will begin to decline in the next few seasons - hopefully their young blokes return and keep the club right up there in years to come.

journeyman
9 May 2007, 15:08
Well said both of you blokes, some strong points made journeyman. I agree with what you have said and you make some strong points. Just one thing journeyman about the youth thing - I'm not saying those older blokes aren't capable, I just would have thought they would give at least one of them a run each week because I know they would be capable of handling senior footy. One other thing, I agree that Nathalia have been one of the luckiest clubs in country Victoria as far as retaining local players goes, and as their side is getting a bit long in the tooth, perhaps they will begin to decline in the next few seasons - hopefully their young blokes return and keep the club right up there in years to come.

I don't think anyone would doubt that Nathalia will have a battle on its hands when their older players retire.

You obviously know more about those younger blokes than I do so I can't say whether they should be in the side or not.

souts
9 May 2007, 18:02
Not overly tall, lucky 2 be 6 foot but he is a very explosive and powerful forward. Would be a very hard match up 4 any backman, quick, strong, great second efforts and could stand on your head off 1 step. Rarely misses also.

yeah sounds like someone else i like to watch. hope he has a quiet against us! who do u play 4

the impartialist
9 May 2007, 18:13
this is wat i think as an outsider to Nathalia, but having seen them in action over the yrs
parker- a 'great' of country footy... hes big, hes mean and he has the goods to back it up... he grew up in the town, and has come home to finish off a distinguished career... a testament to him that he has stood the test of time to still be considered one of the best, someting that he has been considered for a long time... he is the magnet of the club to which all nathalia people rally...if u need evidence of this hang round after a home game... he has helped strenghten the league, as to get the best of parker u need the best of defenders ie guy campbell to get near him

lucas- an import, a great player, also nearing the end of his career... but wat club in any footy wouldnt try to get their hands on one of the most elusive components of a good side...a gun ruckman…no success is certain, hence lucas

youth policy—is a cop out that a club has no money and is going no good... not nathalia.. success is from top ups ie lucas, snelson.. the good kids will be used if they are there, ie drew barnes would have been 16 or 17 in 2004 losing grand final. the only club that has done it is Echuca bombers in the GV in 2001, but even they still topped up with players like gun forward brad smith.. look over the honor board at nathalia and look at the weekender and see how many locals the club has playing... this is a lot to do with their success...

the club is the town, the town is the club, everyone is behind them, evident in their Grand Final turnouts... their success is due like all other football success to hard work and and belief... committee men like peter ryan and mick power know that they have earnt the opportunity and and are not letting it slip...

future- one day parker will have to hang up the boots, but they still have talent that may mean that they are up there for a few years more,

for a small town there is no "time for success",

OLD DARK NAVY BLUE
10 May 2007, 10:31
I see Rumba have signed former AFL player and Mooroopna Coach Simon Hawking, can Morgs or someone let us know if he is going to play, or is simply in a coaching/mentor roll. Also the Dixon Patten that has signed, surely isn't the Dixie Patten that used to play for the Shepp Swans and Picola. It must be his son or something, Dixie would be in his 40's by now.

roaring tiger
10 May 2007, 14:53
Tips for the round:

Nathalia V Barooga - Nathalia by 70 points with Parker to kick 10 with Lucas BOG if he plays.

Mulwala V Cobram - Mulwala by heaps and heaps (100+ Points) with James to kick at least 10 and Lamberti 5.

Tongala V Deni - Should be a close game with maybe the home ground advantage the difference. Tonny by a goal.

Numurkah V Finley - Should be another close game but i think Finley will prevail by 10-15 points. A match up between Sexton and wellington may be the highlight of the match.

morgs01
10 May 2007, 15:31
I see Rumba have signed former AFL player and Mooroopna Coach Simon Hawking, can Morgs or someone let us know if he is going to play, or is simply in a coaching/mentor roll. Also the Dixon Patten that has signed, surely isn't the Dixie Patten that used to play for the Shepp Swans and Picola. It must be his son or something, Dixie would be in his 40's by now.

Yer mate Hawk signed up a couple of weeks ago with some mates who used to play for Rumba some time ago to help us out with numbers.
He is currently an Assistant Coach at the Geelong Falcons Tac Cup Club side and can only play if they don't, 'm told. I would like to see him play a couple of games with us as he is still fit and the game he played was way to good for seconds.

And Dixie is well not quite 40, but put it this way we are all doing our bit to help the Club fill two sides each week while we deal with a number of injuries to senior players.

On the up side we should get around 5 or 6 regular senior boys back after this weeks bye against Tonny.

hank1
10 May 2007, 17:27
Yer mate Hawk signed up a couple of weeks ago with some mates who used to play for Rumba some time ago to help us out with numbers.
He is currently an Assistant Coach at the Geelong Falcons Tac Cup Club side and can only play if they don't, 'm told. I would like to see him play a couple of games with us as he is still fit and the game he played was way to good for seconds.

And Dixie is well not quite 40, but put it this way we are all doing our bit to help the Club fill two sides each week while we deal with a number of injuries to senior players.

On the up side we should get around 5 or 6 regular senior boys back after this weeks bye against Tonny.

Gee us playing each side that has had the bye the week before isnt turning out to be a good thing, and that we've already had two byes ourselves and now got 12 games straight.
My tips
Nathalia V Barooga - Nathalia 20pts
Mulwala V Cobram - Mulwala 80pts
Tongala V Deni - Tonny 30pts
Numurkah V Finley - Numurkah 15pts

willo1
10 May 2007, 17:45
Nathalia v Barooga
Mulwala v Cobram
Tongala v Deniliquin
Numurkah v Finley

All of the home teams should prevail this week. I think Barooga will really take it up to Nathalia but unless they can maintain the pressure for 4 quarters, the Purps will take the 4 points. Mulwala will be big winners over Cobram, Tongala will get up by under 5 goals in a ripper game against Deniliquin and Numurkah will take the bacon against Finley.

Homer1
11 May 2007, 13:26
Some big "ins" for Deni this week, Marshall, Thompson, Barnes and Bartlett. Rams to upset Toni this week:) .

Prob 3 players of strongest side, out this week Moodie, Resuggan and Holobowski.

hank1
11 May 2007, 14:35
Some big "ins" for Deni this week, Marshall, Thompson, Barnes and Bartlett. Rams to upset Toni this week:) .

Prob 3 players of strongest side, out this week Moodie, Resuggan and Holobowski.
Noticed that on the team list, should be a very close game, don't think a result eather way would be called an upset though, Cobram flogged us and Deni beat Cobram so looking at that form we are 100+pts behind the Rams.

Homer1
11 May 2007, 15:34
Noticed that on the team list, should be a very close game, don't think a result eather way would be called an upset though, Cobram flogged us and Deni beat Cobram so looking at that form we are 100+pts behind the Rams.

Strange isnt it yet Toni beat Moama by 7 goals and Moama beat us by 9 goals.

hank1
11 May 2007, 16:28
Strange isnt it yet Toni beat Moama by 7 goals and Moama beat us by 9 goals.

Yeah think the bottom 5 or 6 sides are pretty evenly matched but depending on who turns up to play, and if these sides have a couple of their topline players out the scorelines can blow out a little. Also believe these sides will knock off a couple of the top6 contenders throughout the year, like Rumba knocking over Congupna but then they also got beat by Moama.

Gutnik42
11 May 2007, 18:07
yeah sounds like someone else i like to watch. hope he has a quiet against us! who do u play 4
No longer play, just an avid country footy fan. What about yourself and who is the player u like to watch with similar attributes to james?

souts
11 May 2007, 18:25
No longer play, just an avid country footy fan. What about yourself and who is the player u like to watch with similar attributes to james?

i play for tonny, and i dont know if james is in the same category yet because i have not seen him play but sounds like Saad Saad

Rascal99
11 May 2007, 20:29
Homer1.... i see Leigh schoullar has been cleared to Deni this year. Is he going to play for u guys??
If so is he the same type of player, ie size etc of his brother that played in the SANFL......

Homer1
12 May 2007, 09:12
Homer1.... i see Leigh schoullar has been cleared to Deni this year. Is he going to play for u guys??
If so is he the same type of player, ie size etc of his brother that played in the SANFL......

Leigh has been helping us on the coaching side of things and would be great if he played and apparently according to his wife, he is getting itchy feet, we tried hard to get Paul but he went to Blighty and by all reports Leigh is a better player than Paul. Leigh is a bit shorter but still would be around 6'5" I suppose and has a bit more grunt than Paul.

Deni going OK atm but very very young and going through a rebuilding stage and we are not expecting big things for a couple of years yet but the excitment is building. Should go well against Toni today.

Gutnik42
12 May 2007, 11:24
i play for tonny, and i dont know if james is in the same category yet because i have not seen him play but sounds like Saad Saad
I haven't seen Saad play so couldn't comment on that 1 either, but I have on more than 1 occasion heard people comparing the 2 as similar players