View Full Version : Murray Football League

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36

T.Perry
23 Jan 2006, 08:26
I heard that today but didn't believe it. I wouldn't have thought Mulwala would be able to match the money of O&M and GV clubs. Maybe they got him a good job? I think there might be a connection with Brendon Cooper too. Benalla must be spewing. Big coup for Murray league

Stevo will be a sensational attribute to Mulwala and has topped them up nicely. Expect them to give it a real shake 06. Mulwala, apparently, are a very financial club and make huge $ from their annual fishing comp. They're probably not paying out anywhere near as much as top O&M and GV clubs, so would have had enough in the coffers to snag Stevo.

I also heard that Stevo wanted a job working in the beef industry (?). Sounded a bit far fetched, but if it were true, a bloke like Keiran Kelly could have easily gotten him the job he wanted..

I also heard about the house on the river - sounds like a sweet deal..

Doona2
23 Jan 2006, 08:37
STEVENS TO ADD TO LIONS' PRIDE

January 23 2006
Shepparton News

Former Kangaroos and Port Adelaide utility Michael Stevens has reached a verbal agreement to play with Mulwala in Murray Football League this season.
The 25-year-old, who is the younger brother of AFL legend Anthony Stevens, has been hot property since he was de-listed by the Kangaroos at the end of last year, despite missing just one match at Arden St during 2005.

After being drafted by the Power with the fourth selection in the 1998 draft, Stevens played 17 games with the South Australian club including the 2002 preseason premiership before he was traded to North Melbourne.

During the subsequent three seasons, he played a further 44 games with the Kangaroos before he was surprisingly axed at the end of last year.

"It's fantastic news," Mulwala coach Chris Kennedy said.

"Not just for us, but for the town and the league.

"Here's a bloke who is 25 and is coming straight out of the AFL system and into the Murray league.

"We think he's going to be a pretty important player for us."

After losing successive preliminary finals, Stevens joins former Benalla and Shepparton United coach Brenton Copper and Justin McMahon (Wangaratta) as the latest big-name signing for the Lions.

McMahon, who joins Mulwala after a decorated career in Ovens and Murray League, will be Kennedy's assistant.

"It's great to have Justin on board as well," Kennedy said.

"He's played 160 O & M games, primarily as a run with on-baller, but he'll offer plenty to the side.

"And Coops is a tremendous player as well."

While a host of football clubs were trying to lure Stevens to their fold, including Benalla where his brothers Anthony and Brendan play, the former Tatura star will now call Mulwala home.

"Once a Stevens gives you his word, you know you're right," Kennedy said.

"It's pretty exciting."

barrybogan
23 Jan 2006, 08:38
ignore this - posted to wrong thread

Doona2
27 Jan 2006, 07:49
Signings will help build Blues' ranks

January 27 2006
Shepparton News

Numurkah has announced its first major signings of the 2006 Murray Football League season, with Adrian Cole and Jamie Robbins both committing to the Blues.
Cole, a member of Numurkah's last premiership side back in 2000, returns to the club after a one-year stint as assistant coach with Shepparton East, while Robbins makes the move north from powerful A-grade amateurs side Uni Blues.

Numurkah coach Rob McCartney said both players would add some real bite to the team's talented, but light, midfield brigade.

"We're starting to build up our midfield options," McCartney said yesterday.

"Both players are capable of rotating through the middle, and in particular with Colesy, give us a bit more strength over the ball, which we lacked last year."

Cole, 29, also takes the reins as McCartney's assistant.

Robbins, 21, played primarily as a floating half-forward with the Uni Blues seniors and is likely to fill a similar role with Numurkah.

The pair's arrival will help offset the loss of talented defenders Chris O'Dwyer, Mark Counsel, Anthony Olney and Tyrone Bradley, the latter heading over to England during winter to play cricket.

The Blues are also said to be leading the race to secure the services of another former player, Andrew Storer.

Like Cole, Storer played a key role in Numurkah's last grand final victory over Deniliquin in 2000.

The dangerous forward is returning to the Goulburn Valley after a stint in western Victoria.

themagicfrog
27 Jan 2006, 13:50
Berrigan's Young Gun Kane Goddard look's to be heading to Cobram. He has played 2 Senior season for berrigan, Runner up in B&F both times, made Picola FL team of the year both times, plays Onball or Forward. Not signed yet but meeting with Pressident today

T.Perry
31 Jan 2006, 08:01
Heard from a very reliable source that Nath Gemmill is back in Nathalia and has been training hard.

Hank - how long til we find out some names on who Tonny has recruited?

journeyman
31 Jan 2006, 15:38
Heard from a very reliable source that Nath Gemmill is back in Nathalia and has been training hard.

Hank - how long til we find out some names on who Tonny has recruited?

Nath is back in action T. Perry and from all reports put in an excellent performance at the Melb Big Day Out along with a host of other Nathalia boys.

I haven't heard much about Murray League recruits apart from Stevens to Mulwala and Bradshaw to Cobram.
Anyone know what's happening at Rumbalara. I imagine they would have to pick up a few to be at the top of the ladder.

T.Perry
31 Jan 2006, 15:47
Nath is back in action T. Perry and from all reports put in an excellent performance at the Melb Big Day Out along with a host of other Nathalia boys.

I haven't heard much about Murray League recruits apart from Stevens to Mulwala and Bradshaw to Cobram.
Anyone know what's happening at Rumbalara. I imagine they would have to pick up a few to be at the top of the ladder.

i'd imagine that Nath would be the kind to perform very well at a do like the big day out! Still, won't take him long to recover - no doubt he'll be flying for the start of the season, how would he go if he lined up on Stevo??

Haven't heard a thing about Rumba's recruits - don't think Hickmott left them any $ to play with - could the rumour I heard that he was getting $60K possibly be true?? Or is this potentially what he'd be on, say, over 2-3 years??

TuskenRaider
31 Jan 2006, 16:03
Haven't heard a thing about Rumba's recruits - don't think Hickmott left them any $ to play with - could the rumour I heard that he was getting $60K possibly be true?? Or is this potentially what he'd be on, say, over 2-3 years??
Heard the same rough figure the other day but I don't know how reliable it was and I found it very hard to believe. It sounds ridiculous. I'd say over a few seasons sounds much more reasonable. It's like when they say someone at AFL level has landed a $1M contract - it's over x years (or at least at the moment!)

It's one thing to be able to spend a bit of money, but there would be plenty of very capable coaches who would do the job for a lot less than $60k per year and the club would be just as well off (and that is taking nothing away from Hickmott).

bigblackalsation
31 Jan 2006, 16:24
Heard the same rough figure the other day but I don't know how reliable it was and I found it very hard to believe. It sounds ridiculous. I'd say over a few seasons sounds much more reasonable. It's like when they say someone at AFL level has landed a $1M contract - it's over x years (or at least at the moment!)

It's one thing to be able to spend a bit of money, but there would be plenty of very capable coaches who would do the job for a lot less than $60k per year and the club would be just as well off (and that is taking nothing away from Hickmott).

From what ive heard from within the Aboriginal community Rumba seem to think that all the boys even those who can earn big $$$ will come together and play for nothing. Not happening anymore!!! . I know for a fact that when they made the GF a few years ago certain players turned down big kanga from other clubs Leighthen Briggs being the main one. They will struggle on the bigger grounds and it will be a long year for the boys from North Shepp.

kanga fan man
1 Feb 2006, 10:20
rumba will not struggle on bigger grounds, actually the bigger grounds will suit them just look at there record on there home ground past 2-3 years i think they have only lost about 4 -5 games on it, and mercury drive is a big oval.

ormond-allen
1 Feb 2006, 13:23
A few club legends have returned to Cobram. They may give the flag a tilt this year. ******** Burton is training the house down, Shane Bulleen is running around like he's 21 again, and Lee Whitten is a Stephen Milne clone

macka
1 Feb 2006, 13:40
A few club legends have returned to Cobram. They may give the flag a tilt this year. ******** Burton is training the house down, Shane Bulleen is running around like he's 21 again, and Lee Whitten is a Stephen Milne clone

Lee Whitten isn't the infamous EJ by any chance?

Travvy43
1 Feb 2006, 13:59
good to see the Murray Football League adminstrators keep their website up to date.

Breaking news on the website is that the 2005 Fixture is now available!

ringo1
1 Feb 2006, 14:24
I agree Travvy- the website is a shambles. How do you think the new teams will go there are two aren't there?

sammm
1 Feb 2006, 14:28
good to see the Murray Football League adminstrators keep their website up to date.

Breaking news on the website is that the 2005 Fixture is now available!

was that sarcasm or did you mean 2006?:D

Travvy43
1 Feb 2006, 15:21
was that sarcasm or did you mean 2006?:D

Full blown sarcasm.

Ringo, it will be interesting to see how tonny go in the Murray league. I think a few are eagerly anticipating them announcing a few recruits for 2006, the people at the helm for the blues are very tight lipped on this issue at the moment.

Hank may be able to give Big footy readers a jump on the signings for the blues in 2006.

ringo1
1 Feb 2006, 15:55
Thanks Travvy I will wait for Hanks update then

hank1
1 Feb 2006, 21:26
Believe Hickmont is getting $60-$70,000 for the year. Is Full-time and does have to do a fair bit of work other than coach the footy side. But does get a lot of perks including spending two days a week at the Lexus centre learning off the Collingwood coaching staff.
On Rumba Mercury Drive will be one of the smallest grounds in the Murray League so forget about that myth. But believe they will go alright most GV sides would be happy to have Guthrie and Hickmont holding down CHF and CHB, they've obviously got some talent there so if they can recruit a couple to gel around those two I'm sure they will be very competitive.

Spoke to Finley Coach and he is confident of some marked improvement out there, have got a few ex-players back and Sexton is going around again, still a gun.

As for Tonny, happy with the progress averagng 25 on the track since xmas, training 3 nights. Have a few committed but still in talks with 4 or 5 which obviously we cant hold too much hope there the longer the talks go there.

Didnt contact Bakers or Fonuas, there gone. Also lost Travvy, Geoff Connally and Matt Brannelly(Mooroopna) and Brendan White. (7 out)

Committed are Shannon Dixon, Brett Henderson(AC), Ash Nunn, Darrin Ohlsen.
Blokes training are Dylan Martin, Adam Courtney, Simon Harrison, Dave Hansford.
Then 4 or 5 that we are talking to but havent trained who are all key position. Would be happy if we got one of them.

Nathalia, Mulwala and Toc the teams to beat, Ech United biggest improvers.
So thats about a rap fellas

purple hills
1 Feb 2006, 23:02
Believe Hickmont is getting $60-$70,000 for the year. Is Full-time and does have to do a fair bit of work other than coach the footy side. But does get a lot of perks including spending two days a week at the Lexus centre learning off the Collingwood coaching staff.
On Rumba Mercury Drive will be one of the smallest grounds in the Murray League so forget about that myth. But believe they will go alright most GV sides would be happy to have Guthrie and Hickmont holding down CHF and CHB, they've obviously got some talent there so if they can recruit a couple to gel around those two I'm sure they will be very competitive.

Spoke to Finley Coach and he is confident of some marked improvement out there, have got a few ex-players back and Sexton is going around again, still a gun.

As for Tonny, happy with the progress averagng 25 on the track since xmas, training 3 nights. Have a few committed but still in talks with 4 or 5 which obviously we cant hold too much hope there the longer the talks go there.

Didnt contact Bakers or Fonuas, there gone. Also lost Travvy, Geoff Connally and Matt Brannelly(Mooroopna) and Brendan White. (7 out)

Then 4 or 5 that we are talking to but havent trained who are all key position. Would be happy if we got one of them.

Agreed with the teams to beat except EU hank i'm sorry. You tip them as the big improvers every year.

Doona2
2 Feb 2006, 10:40

Rumba have a lot of talent and only need some major league experience, which Im sure Hickmott wouldve recruited. Lets not forget the reported $500,000 leg up pledged to them by the Collingwood Football Club over the next 5 seasons . . . . a step up in standard might worry a few but they will be very competitve dont worry about that.

ringo1
2 Feb 2006, 11:52
Has the culture changed at United? If it has they will be a big improver.

willo1
2 Feb 2006, 16:18
Has the culture changed at United? If it has they will be a big improver.

Yes, it has... Watch this Space:thumbsu:

hank1
2 Feb 2006, 17:10
Agreed with the teams to beat except EU hank i'm sorry. You tip them as the big improvers every year.

Sorry mate, but first time I've ever taken any interest in the Murray League so I'd have to say this is the first time I've ever tipped them as the big improvers!!

bigblackalsation
2 Feb 2006, 17:49
Chris Eddy from Moama is headed to Cohuna due to marrying a girl from up there must hurt the Pies. Rate him as good as any. How are Moama going on the recruiting front?

willo1
2 Feb 2006, 20:25
Rate him as good as any. How are Moama going on the recruiting front?

dont know about the 'rate him as good as any' comment.. is very big headed. Likes to think he's pretty good. And from what ive heard, Moama arnt goin to well?:confused: i think it will be a while before they are up there again.

just signed
3 Feb 2006, 17:34
I thought that Hickmott was going to be a non playing coach. Is this wrong?

greynomad
4 Feb 2006, 11:58

Hank is Henderson the tall bloke who was up at Deni a couple of years ago?
Must have some age on him now?

willo1
4 Feb 2006, 18:00

yeah greynomad, he was up coaching deni rovers in the picola fl a couple of years back.. was my techer at school 3 years ago, played at lockington in the heathcote fl last year, teaches in kyabram now, was at my school the other day and id say he would be 6' 2'' maybe a bit taller, im 6' 3'' so id say he would be my height.. maybe 33 years old, possibly 34

hank1
5 Feb 2006, 14:21

Yeah thats him 6'1" id say, 36yrs old i think. Doesnt look that on the track though, hasnt missed a beat at training and would be in the top3 in all fitness work.

Flat Track Bully
5 Feb 2006, 14:29
Yeah thats him 6'1" id say, 36yrs old i think. Doesnt look that on the track though, hasnt missed a beat at training and would be in the top3 in all fitness work.

It'll be good to follow someone in the Murray League... Go those "Golden Cows"

ringo1
9 Feb 2006, 14:25
:) :) A bit worried this site is about to disappear into the never-never.Any news up that way guys?

mitch_fc
9 Feb 2006, 15:51
my club plays Deni in a praccy game. who they got? good side?

journeyman
9 Feb 2006, 15:59
my club plays Deni in a praccy game. who they got? good side?

Your side is Lower Plenty isn't it Mitch? Craig Parsons is an old Finley boy who could give you plenty of info about Deni.
Deni finished 4th this year after winning four consecutive flags and competing in the past six grand finals.

They have lost their best rover Andrew may but they have a lot of good players, especially through the midfield. Leigh Marshall is one to look out for, a blonde haired onballer who kicks goals.

Lower are in div 2 now so I reckon you might be in for a tough day, also the deni ground would be twice the size of Lowers.

willo1
9 Feb 2006, 18:22
the deni ground would be twice the size of Lowers.

amen to that! iv played on that ground many times and its HUGE!

mitch_fc
9 Feb 2006, 20:27
i like the sound of the big ground, and so will parso. yeah he's a finley boy, he's the 3rd most well known thing out of finley behind spiderbait and crawford.

Sonny
9 Feb 2006, 21:59
Mitch,
I think you have forgotten a few other people. Jumping Jack Hawkins and one of the best goal kickers in country footy in the 90's Darren Jackson. In the 80's Finley had a great side. Since then have had some good players e.g Dale Weightman & Sexton but there depth was shocking. Hope they improve this year. How will Tonny go. My opinion - not well. If they recruit an old player like Henderson, also ex United coach until sacked, then they are in trouble. My prediction- 3 years in the Murray league and then back to KDL. Deni is always strong. Marshall is one of the best in country vic. Saw him win flags for Deni

ringo1
10 Feb 2006, 06:45
There is no doubt that Henderson has some age on him, but he will still be handy.Saw him inn a couple of interleague games for Latrobe Valley in the 90's and he could play a bit. From what I can gather he can coach it just wasn't what United wanted at the time-was announced as Leetons coach of the decade. Finley have'nt had success since Don Moran from Castlemaine coached them in the early 90's. I hope they can be competitive in 06.Great to ee Sexto still playing.

ringo1
10 Feb 2006, 13:12

whats news in the dvfl these days greynomad. are you still associated there or are you in a country league

Pace is an Asset
10 Feb 2006, 16:03
Sorry mate, but first time I've ever taken any interest in the Murray League so I'd have to say this is the first time I've ever tipped them as the big improvers!!

Would it be the first time you've taken an interest in the Murray League because it's the first time you've played in the league Hank1?

Maybe even the first time you've coached?
For a team that's participating in the Murray League for the first time?

Would explain how you know so much about Henderson's performance on the track......

hank1
10 Feb 2006, 21:48
Would it be the first time you've taken an interest in the Murray League because it's the first time you've played in the league Hank1?

Maybe even the first time you've coached?
For a team that's participating in the Murray League for the first time?

Would explain how you know so much about Henderson's performance on the track......

Einstein!! Well done you must be the only one to figure that out even though Hank is my nickname and I have posted on another thread when someone asked me where I played that I was coaching Tongala. You're on the ball buddy.
To tell you the truth majority of people on here that have been posting for a while have known who I am for a long time. Thanks for blowing my cover!!

Sonny
10 Feb 2006, 22:04
Hank,
Good luck in the Murray league. It is good to see a young coach having a go. I hope you do well but doubt it. Saw you Dad play and he was a very good player at a number of clubs. The tip in the Murray league is get your side super fit because so grounds are so bloody big. Also most sides have gun forwards and mid fielders. Few have good defenders. Buy a full forward. Saw Trevor Sutton at Deni kick 249 one year, 100 in round 7.

On The Money
11 Feb 2006, 12:14
Hank,
Good luck in the Murray league. It is good to see a young coach having a go. I hope you do well but doubt it. Saw you Dad play and he was a very good player at a number of clubs. The tip in the Murray league is get your side super fit because so grounds are so bloody big. Also most sides have gun forwards and mid fielders. Few have good defenders. Buy a full forward. Saw Trevor Sutton at Deni kick 249 one year, 100 in round 7.

Not required mate word has it Barry Nexhip is going to make a come back for the Blues in the DK26's and Tonny's forward line will work like clock work!!.

Sonny
11 Feb 2006, 21:34
Not required mate word has it Barry Nexhip is going to make a come back for the Blues in the DK26's and Tonny's forward line will work like clock work!!.
Barry Nexhip was a very good player for Tonny for a long time but always as a support player to the big guys. A good crumber but how old is he? Late 30's or 40!!! He is returning so Henderson doesn't feel old. In the Murray league all the good sides E.g Deni are young & quick. Don't receruit old & slow or they have few wins!!

hank1
12 Feb 2006, 10:56

Ha Ha, yeah nice one. Nah Necko is well past it, heavily involved in the juniors these days.
Well we are right with the young blokes even with Henderson in the side average age would be 22-23. Something to work on for years to come.

nesko_25
12 Feb 2006, 18:54
I'm not real sure but does freddy ryan play 4 ky?

hank1
13 Feb 2006, 15:27
I'm not real sure but does freddy ryan play 4 ky?

Colbo last year, not sure this year. He plays A grade cricket for Ky.

just signed
13 Feb 2006, 16:13
Colbo last year, not sure this year. He plays A grade cricket for Ky.

Will play the first 6 games to get to 100 games? and is then heading over seas for the remainder of the year.

Lucky Star
15 Feb 2006, 11:25
Lee Whitten isn't the infamous EJ by any chance?

One and the same. You're familiar with his work?

macka
15 Feb 2006, 21:23
Yes Lucky Star.

If only EJ could have played the way he spoke about playing, then the sky could've been the limit.

Harsh to say, but a clone of Milne in physique only!

ringo1
23 Feb 2006, 11:56
Lucky star anymore news up in the Murray league. has been very quite up that way

Lucky Star
23 Feb 2006, 13:44
Lucky star anymore news up in the Murray league. has been very quite up that way

All I have heard is that Cobram have got Bradshaw (Daniel's brother).

Lucky Star
23 Feb 2006, 13:47
Yes Lucky Star.

If only EJ could have played the way he spoke about playing, then the sky could've been the limit.

Harsh to say, but a clone of Milne in physique only!

If only his footballing skills matched his entrepreneurial skills.

ringo1
23 Feb 2006, 14:35
thanks lucky-no doubt Cobram will be hard to beat if he gets enough of it!-120-130 goals?:thumbsu:

Grimmett
24 Feb 2006, 11:42
Young bloke on the move. From today's Wimmera Mail-Times.

UNITED SIGNS YOUNG TALENT

First published by:

Wimmera Mail-Times
Friday, February 24, 2006

Horsham United has announced the signing of Murray League young utility Chris Bedford.
The 18 year old from Barooga comes recommended by former United premiership winning coach Phil Bunn, who has watched firsthand the development of the versatile youngster in the Murray Football League competition.
“Phil said he was handy without being a champion,” United coach Brian ‘Cobber’ Cassidy said. “He played seniors up there last year and that’s a similar standard.”
Bedford featured in the Victorian Country Football League under-18 championships in Horsham two years ago.
“He played forward last year and a bit back,” Cassidy said. “He needs to work a bit on his fitness but it is good to have another player.”
Cassidy said the side had picked up about 12 players this season, the same number that departed after last season.
“We just need to pick up another couple and we’ll be right up there,” Cassidy said.
Bedford finds himself in the Wimmera after accepting a position studying nursing at the University of Ballarat’s Horsham campus.

On The Money
25 Feb 2006, 12:58

The word is Tonny could get Paul Hodgson back if they can get him a good mouth guard. Just had the fangs fixed. Also a guy by the name of Andrew Shaw who is a talented ball winner and had a short stint at Stanhope could be on the Harrison ticket!

willo1
27 Feb 2006, 15:37
anthony stevens trained with moama last week

ringo1
28 Feb 2006, 08:49
Lucky do you know anything about Hodgson and Shaw? Can they play and where they are from?

greyhound bob
28 Feb 2006, 10:40
any one got any tocumwal news new players players left etc
greyhound bob :) :) :) :)

mainland
4 Mar 2006, 23:36
Lucky do you know anything about Hodgson and Shaw? Can they play and where they are from?

Well names mentioned are as good as on the money i hear so lets hope Tonny can secure these big name players. Tonny play Numurkah monday night so we will se if they any good or not.

ringo1
6 Mar 2006, 11:34
Thanks mainland! Are Tongala expected to be a force or will they just aim to be competitive?

mainland
6 Mar 2006, 11:47
[QUOTE=ringo1]Thanks mainland! Are Tongala expected to be a force or will they just aim to be competitive?

Aiming to be competitive i would say ringo.

Sidey_87
6 Mar 2006, 11:50
2 time league medalist Jason Limbrick is back at the purples.
Big inclusion and will help them go back to back.

Congupna have picked up 7 or 8 senior players and should be competitive in most games this year.
Shannon Emmett is their major signing.

stag
6 Mar 2006, 21:09
numurkah beat tonny by about 15 goals at barooga

kanga fan man
6 Mar 2006, 21:18
numurkah beat tonny by about 15 goals at barooga

stag was that the night series? if so when do rumbalara play ?

Sonny
6 Mar 2006, 21:23
[quote=ringo1]Thanks mainland! Are Tongala expected to be a force or will they just aim to be competitive?

Aiming to be competitive i would say ringo.

Tonny think they are going down in standard but they will win few games. May be only beat Finley. Lost players, picked up few. Top sides will flog them. In 2-3 years will be back in KDFL.

stag
6 Mar 2006, 22:02
[quote=kanga fan man]stag was that the night series? if so when do rumbalara play ? yep rumba play thurs night v finley

Travvy43
7 Mar 2006, 07:44
Any results from the Barooga night series last night. Tonny were playing, not sure who against though

hank1
7 Mar 2006, 12:35
Any results from the Barooga night series last night. Tonny were playing, not sure who against though

Tungamah played Ardmona in DIV 2, Tungamah won fairly comfortably, Perry Meka played.
Tonny played Numurkah in Div 1, Numurkah won by 15 goals. Mark Brown best on for Numurkah.
In response to Sonny, Tonny realise what they are up against in the Murray League, wont be much of a drop in standard at all and yes you could bunch them with Finley, Moama, Congupna and Rumbalara maybe as probably the bottom 5 sides, time will tell, under no illusions that it will be easy. Tonny have lost 6 of there 8 paid players from last year which includes their FF, whole onball division and GV Rep Backman. Picked up 4 or 5 players and some good youngsters coming through, but any talk of finals is a long way off the mark.

The Nest
7 Mar 2006, 14:54
Anyone know anything about Mel Ficarra? Played with Numurkah in 04 I think. Is he any good, did he play seniors or magoos?

Grimmett
7 Mar 2006, 22:00
Anyone know anything about Mel Ficarra? Played with Numurkah in 04 I think. Is he any good, did he play seniors or magoos?

Ficarra played seniors with Numurkah in 2004 but he wasn't 100% fit. I believe the osteitis pubis that has affected him while with Irymple first reared its ugly head in 2004. Good enough to be a regular senior player with Irymple given a free run from injury IMO. Has had surgery and should be on the improve.
I think he scraped a few Reserves games in for a few goals from a pocket.

Why do you ask Nest?

Sly Dog
9 Mar 2006, 20:21
You seem fairly realistic with predictions hank. surely there must be a few players that look like playing well in the murray league. the reid boys can play, some young guys look promising like humphries and yourself and henderson will be good players. anyone we dont know about going to jump up and grab our attention ( late gun recruit for example)

Sonny
9 Mar 2006, 21:26
Tungamah played Ardmona in DIV 2, Tungamah won fairly comfortably, Perry Meka played.
Tonny played Numurkah in Div 1, Numurkah won by 15 goals. Mark Brown best on for Numurkah.
In response to Sonny, Tonny realise what they are up against in the Murray League, wont be much of a drop in standard at all and yes you could bunch them with Finley, Moama, Congupna and Rumbalara maybe as probably the bottom 5 sides, time will tell, under no illusions that it will be easy. Tonny have lost 6 of there 8 paid players from last year which includes their FF, whole onball division and GV Rep Backman. Picked up 4 or 5 players and some good youngsters coming through, but any talk of finals is a long way off the mark.
Hank or the Tonny coach, your honesty is a breath of fresh air. Good luck. I hope you build a good side.

stag
9 Mar 2006, 21:49
rumbalara defeated finley by 20 points in a fairly close game between two sides that will probably finish in the bottom four

kanga fan man
10 Mar 2006, 12:59
rumbalara defeated finley by 20 points in a fairly close game between two sides that will probably finish in the bottom four

U reckon rumba will finish top four i was there last nite, they had a few senior players out i reckon the will go better than bottom 4, need a few taller blokes though, number 1 for rumba rex taylor is 15 how did you think he went.

Rumba should hae won by more but just took the petal off a bit in last qtr.

hank1
10 Mar 2006, 13:36
You seem fairly realistic with predictions hank. surely there must be a few players that look like playing well in the murray league. the reid boys can play, some young guys look promising like humphries and yourself and henderson will be good players. anyone we dont know about going to jump up and grab our attention ( late gun recruit for example)

Both Reids will be very good, Humpo is looking good and will fill an onball role, as will Ash Nunn who is returning after a year off, Liam Brennan will be good in the ruck. If Brother plays he will cause some headaches for opposition sides, was in our best two Monday night. 3 or 4 16-18 yr olds that will come along this year, and will be better players for getting the opportunities they will have.

wheelbarrow
10 Mar 2006, 13:47
Both Reids will be very good, Humpo is looking good and will fill an onball role, as will Ash Nunn who is returning after a year off, Liam Brennan will be good in the ruck. If Brother plays he will cause some headaches for opposition sides, was in our best two Monday night. 3 or 4 16-18 yr olds that will come along this year, and will be better players for getting the opportunities they will have.

Hank how old is Henderson.??

Also are u still having your weekly chats to the Rat over in Bendigo.?

journeyman
10 Mar 2006, 14:04
Did anyone see Nathalia play Cobram on Wednesday night. I know Nathalia won but looking for a bit more info.
They will be strong again despite the loss of Ramsdale and Vallender. Drew Barnes is back after finishing 3rd in Bushrangers B&F and Jason Limbrick might be handy.

With nath and ash Gemmill and Parker up forward they will be hard to beat. Thoughts?

T.Perry
10 Mar 2006, 14:13
Did anyone see Nathalia play Cobram on Wednesday night. I know Nathalia won but looking for a bit more info.
They will be strong again despite the loss of Ramsdale and Vallender. Drew Barnes is back after finishing 3rd in Bushrangers B&F and Jason Limbrick might be handy.

With nath and ash Gemmill and Parker up forward they will be hard to beat. Thoughts?

Haven't heard any info on Wednesday night, but agree that Nathalia will be hard to beat. The 2 Gemmill's and Parker would all have to be in the top 5 or so in the league, I'd reckon. Strongest opposition will likely come from Mulwala, and I reckon Echuca united will surprise a few if Guy Campbell has a big year and Hueston and McCarty can have injury-free seasons. What I like about the purps is that a majority of their better players are locals, whereas, particularly Echuca United, seem to have bought a lot of players. I think this will hold the purps in good stead, as locals want it (success) just that little bit more... That's what I reckon will give them an edge...

willo1
10 Mar 2006, 14:42
number 1 for rumba rex taylor is 15 how did you think he went.

not bad, just got back from the indigenous tour of south africa. played well there, is talented but very small. i go to school with the kid and he's a cocky little bugger.. loves to have a brag

hank1
10 Mar 2006, 15:23
Hank how old is Henderson.??

Also are u still having your weekly chats to the Rat over in Bendigo.?

Henderson 36, is slim and fit though so should go well.
Not totally sure on who you are inferring to with the rat over in Bendigo, dont chat to anyone weekly in Bendigo but there are a couple who may fit the bill, so you'll have to give me a little more info on that one?

ilovetogetblind
10 Mar 2006, 15:31

Nath would definately play on ball wouldn't he? He's not that old yet to be thrown up fwd.

journeyman
10 Mar 2006, 15:53
Nath would definately play on ball wouldn't he? He's not that old yet to be thrown up fwd.

Sorry, wasn't clear. I meant with nathan and Ash in the side plus Parker up forward....

Nath is 28. He had 6 months overseas but is still (along with brother Marc) the fittest at the club. Freak

stag
10 Mar 2006, 19:01
U reckon rumba will finish top four i was there last nite, they had a few senior players out i reckon the will go better than bottom 4, need a few taller blokes though, number 1 for rumba rex taylor is 15 how did you think he went.

Rumba should hae won by more but just took the petal off a bit in last qtr. hard to judge them on one game but not real convincing against finley who apparently had several players out.without guthrie the forward line looks abit light on

kanga fan man
10 Mar 2006, 22:18
Yeah darren turner played in backline hickmont wanted to see how his workrate is , but he will be focal point at full forward.

Punter_22
11 Mar 2006, 15:34
Watched part of a practice match today between Deniliquin Rams and Albury Tigers. Not sure how strong the Tigers outfit was, but they gave the Rams a hiding.
The Rams had about six premiership players running around and a lot of kids. Resuggan looked good at centre half forward.

Gotheroos
12 Mar 2006, 01:25
I reckon the last team in th Oven's & Murray would beat any top team in the Murray league. The oven's and Murray is a heaps better comp.

stag
12 Mar 2006, 13:01
I reckon the last team in th Oven's & Murray would beat any top team in the Murray league. The oven's and Murray is a heaps better comp. think the purples side from last year would beat bottom coupleof teams over there

willo1
12 Mar 2006, 16:47
I reckon the last team in th Oven's & Murray would beat any top team in the Murray league. The oven's and Murray is a heaps better comp.

practice match, a lot of kids.

you have got to be joking Gotheroos.. i think you missed 2 very important keys in Punter_22's post. it was a "practice match" and there were "a lot of kids" playing for the rams. that is the whole point of a practice match. give the young kids a taste of senior footy and to practice strategies etc.. also i dont think a bottom team in O&M could beat a mulwala or nathalia outfit. i'd highly doubt it.

Hotdog Vendor
12 Mar 2006, 17:30
stumbled across an echuca united and laverton practice match on saturday. Only stayed for a couple of quarters but united looked good. I know its still early and both sides would've been missing a few but united was winning the majority of the footy. there was a few that stood out. Hueston looked the goods as to did s mc carty, campbell and a backman with blond hair. Campbell looked extremely good. was very immposing.

willo1
12 Mar 2006, 19:12
a backman with blond hair.

i do believe that would be young josh wanganeen. had a blonde stripe down the middle of his hair??

Punter_22
13 Mar 2006, 08:27
Willo, diid Tarrant play? Very interested to hear in his progress. Saw a photo of his yesterday and he looks pretty fit and has Dale Reyne signed, or is that a rumour?

centreman
13 Mar 2006, 09:05

I wouldn't be so sure. Deni at their best at home would be tough for a lot of O and M teams. Not doubt its a strong league, but don't underestimate the Murray league. Mulwala beate Myrtleford in a practice match in 2001 and they went on to play in the O and M grand final.

willo1
13 Mar 2006, 12:23
Willo, diid Tarrant play? Very interested to hear in his progress. Saw a photo of his yesterday and he looks pretty fit and has Dale Reyne signed, or is that a rumour?

no Pat Tarrant didnt play. Dale Reyne signed with united just after the new year. Both are fit and ready for the season.
both will probably play in the practice match this weekend vs Mernda at lockington

Punter_22
13 Mar 2006, 12:32
Good stuff Willo, I might have to pop out and have a look:thumbsu:

Gotheroos
13 Mar 2006, 13:55
I wouldn't be so sure. Deni at their best at home would be tough for a lot of O and M teams. Not doubt its a strong league, but don't underestimate the Murray league. Mulwala beate Myrtleford in a practice match in 2001 and they went on to play in the O and M grand final.
Myrtleford had half there senior side out that game. I'm pretty sure that was when Peter Chisnall was coaching Mulwala.

willo1
13 Mar 2006, 15:07
Good stuff Willo, I might have to pop out and have a look:thumbsu:

keep an eye out for a young backman with black hair, no. 2 :D

fish1
13 Mar 2006, 18:56
Heard that Finely has got 4 albury tigers boys travelling over to play. Brain, anglin and maybe Kouzter. Is it true and are they any good.

Gotheroos
13 Mar 2006, 20:12
Heard that Finely has got 4 albury tigers boys travelling over to play. Brain, anglin and maybe Kouzter. Is it true and are they any good.
Kouzter is a good player but I'm not to sure about other 2.

WRFLfan
13 Mar 2006, 22:19
Myrtleford had half there senior side out that game. I'm pretty sure that was when Peter Chisnall was coaching Mulwala.
How many clubs has that old Legend been at heard his son runs around somewhere in the country, his meant to go well rumour has it.