View Full Version : Murray Football League
Mud_guts
30 May 2007, 20:29
well i can say is wait till you this kid play got a monster leap on him and moves like a cheeta
Mud_guts
30 May 2007, 20:31
banchys killing it
The No 1 Bombers Fan
30 May 2007, 20:44
When is Mark McGough due to start playing for Mulwala. Had heard that he was coming home is there any truth in the rumour
Mud_guts
30 May 2007, 20:48
When is Mark McGough due to start playing for Mulwala. Had heard that he was coming home is there any truth in the rumour
i doubt it why would he bother he's to good for country footy
R U SERIOUS
30 May 2007, 20:52
Sorry to interupt here but has anyone got info on a guy named Josh Coombes, i think he played for Tongala, is he any good? He is living in Bendigo and looking to have a kick somewhere.
Handy twos player at Tonny, could maybe play Heathcote/LV league seniors if he did the work.
bobcat23
30 May 2007, 22:44
ho told u this bomber? preetty rumour? he i stoo good thats true.
Gutnik42
31 May 2007, 21:25
i doubt it why would he bother he's to good for country footy
Why wouldn't he? Do u know the bloke, who's to say he wouldn't play there again 2 have a run around with his mates?
the duke
31 May 2007, 21:53
He is not going to be back as early as first thought, but should make it back at some stage in the later half of the season, to qualify for finals. I beleive he has kept his fitness up by training with a college gridion side in Arizona.
Tips anyone?
Tongala v Echuca United
Deniliquin Rams v Mulwala
Rumbalara v Finley
Cobram v Tocumwal
Moama v Numurkah
Nathalia v Congupna
Barooga Bye
Echuca United over Tongala in a ripper match, Mulwala easily over Deniliquin, Rumbalara in a close one against Finley, Cobram to push Tocumwal at home but the Bloods should be too strong, Numurkah to get up over Moama and Nathalia to continue their winning way against Congupna.
Good luck to everyone this weekend. Should be a good game Hank and Souts!;)
Tips anyone?
Tongala v Echuca United
Deniliquin Rams v Mulwala
Rumbalara v Finley
Cobram v Tocumwal
Moama v Numurkah
Nathalia v Congupna
Barooga Bye
Echuca United over Tongala in a ripper match, Mulwala easily over Deniliquin, Rumbalara in a close one against Finley, Cobram to push Tocumwal at home but the Bloods should be too strong, Numurkah to get up over Moama and Nathalia to continue their winning way against Congupna.
Good luck to everyone this weekend. Should be a good game Hank and Souts!;)
yeah mate were looking foward to the challange mate im tipping it to be a heavy ground so you never know what might happen. see ya then mate;)
Echuca United 6 goals +
Rams to upset Mully.
Finley easy over Rumba.
Toc 5 goals +
Numurkah to bounce back hard.
Nathalia 3-4 goals only.
Some big "ins" back for Rams this week and at home, Rams could well upset Mully here as they did last year and jump into the top six:eek:
Good Luck everybody:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: .
yeah mate were looking foward to the challange mate im tipping it to be a heavy ground so you never know what might happen. see ya then mate;)
Fair chance that hank and souts will be nudie mud wrestling:)
i was wondering how long it would take to hear from you ringo! nah mate there would be very little chance of that. how did your club go last week ringo?
:thumbsu: Souts we are going alright 5-3 but have a hard run in next few weeks. Don't play just watch. 2 Old! The boys will have play well this week. Hope you go well. Perhaps you and hank could put on the Borat suits
fair enough mate, thanks, i dont think i will ever wear a borat suit mate but i reckon hank would be a chance to get into 1;) . cheers
:thumbsu: :thumbsu: fair enough mate, thanks, i dont think i will ever wear a borat suit mate but i reckon hank would be a chance to get into 1;) . cheers
Might get up that way one day for a game and see you run around. What no. are u? Would'nt want to cut hanks lunch tough. Will introduce myself and might share a frothy:thumbsu:
carntheblue&whitehoops
1 Jun 2007, 16:17
echuca south sucks, we want echuca east back
carntheblue&whitehoops
1 Jun 2007, 16:18
moama need kelvin agg back, that will fix all their problems
carntheblue&whitehoops
1 Jun 2007, 16:21
thought rumbalara were meant to be big improvers this year! can anyone explain whats happend to them?
:thumbsu: :thumbsu:
Might get up that way one day for a game and see you run around. What no. are u? Would'nt want to cut hanks lunch tough. Will introduce myself and might share a frothy:thumbsu:
ok mate, u might have to look hard to see me mate usally not near the ball, wear number 15 mate. will do.
Here are todays results:
Tongala 6.9 (45) v Echuca United 8.13 (61)
Deniliquin Rams 7.11 (53) v Mulwala 11.2 (68)
Rumbalara 7.7 (49) v Finley 13.19 (97)
Cobram 5.5 (35) v Tocumwal 14.13 (97)
Moama 15.8 (98) v Numurkah 17.14 (116)
Nathalia 20.10 (130) v Congupna 8.5 (53)
Obviously the wet conditions played a big part in some of today's results. Tongala slogged it out well against Echuca United but didn't quite get over the line. Well done to Hank, Souts and the boys. Deniliquin obviously had a good crack at Mulwala in the wet conditions - Homer, could you give us a bit of a run down? Well done to everyone today.
interchange specialist
2 Jun 2007, 22:18
Can anyone tell me how John Lucas ended up at Mul? I thought he would play at Cobram for sure. They must be very angry. Also how is he going there? I think he would be killing them.
Here are todays results:
Tongala 6.9 (45) v Echuca United 8.13 (61)
Deniliquin Rams 7.11 (53) v Mulwala 11.2 (68)
Rumbalara 7.7 (49) v Finley 13.19 (97)
Cobram 5.5 (35) v Tocumwal 14.13 (97)
Moama 15.8 (98) v Numurkah 17.14 (116)
Nathalia 20.10 (130) v Congupna 8.5 (53)
Obviously the wet conditions played a big part in some of today's results. Tongala slogged it out well against Echuca United but didn't quite get over the line. Well done to Hank, Souts and the boys. Deniliquin obviously had a good crack at Mulwala in the wet conditions - Homer, could you give us a bit of a run down? Well done to everyone today.
Great effort by Rams yesterday, probably had the strongest team they will have this year. Rams jumped Mully with 2.5 to 0.1 at the first change then Mully banged on 7 goals straight in the second term to Rams 1.1 and Mully lead by 19pts at the long break. Just like the first quarter Rams turned it on again in the third term with guts and determination from both teams and only trailed by 12pts at the long break with the Rams right in this game up to their necks, but wasnt to be with Mully holding us out by 15pts in the end.
Great game to watch with the only differences was our conversion rate missing some very easy goals hence 7.11 compared to Mully 11.2 and Parker was brilliant floating accross the half back line repelling everything that come his way and Mullys 7 goals straight in the second term being the main difference.
Well done to both teams:thumbsu: . Mully deserved the win they did look a very good side, but we were proud of our boys because they had a red hot go.
Gutnik42
3 Jun 2007, 19:45
Echuca United 6 goals +
Rams to upset Mully.
Finley easy over Rumba.
Toc 5 goals +
Numurkah to bounce back hard.
Nathalia 3-4 goals only.
Some big "ins" back for Rams this week and at home, Rams could well upset Mully here as they did last year and jump into the top six:eek:
Good Luck everybody:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: .
MULWALA actually beat Deniliquin over there last year.
Yep my mistake I apologise for that, Mully won by 4pts.
goodgolly24
4 Jun 2007, 21:03
thought rumbalara were meant to be big improvers this year! can anyone explain whats happend to them?
We're a little unsettled at the moment mate, that's all. On paper it looks like we've had a horror season after our first game, but things are better then they appear. We've got a great coach, a really strong list (without injuries) and good people around the club. The playing group know they've got another couple of gears to go before we reach our full potential, we're just maybe having a bit of trouble geling together properly. I'm not sure how much longer it'll take till we get it together on the field, but when we do it'll be hard to tip against us.
hi,
can anyone tell me how echuca united are travelling.
I heard they had a bunch of blokes leave them at the start of the year at late notice and this has taken it toll.
Also how are both josh rowbottom going?
And who are their best players at the moment.
Thanks
roaring tiger
5 Jun 2007, 12:00
What are everyone's thoughts on who is going to win the league medal at this stage of the season. I think Nath Gemmill may win it again. I think the top 6 will end up like the following: Nathalia, Mulwala, Echuca United, Barooga, Finley, Numurkah.
Also interesting to read in the paper (kyPress) Hank that you think we (Echuca United) are a little overated. At the moment though as a team we will need to improve significantly if we are to feature deep into the finals this year. I think if we had kicked straight (2.5 first quarter) the game could of been over by 1/4 time. But credit to you guys who fought back in the 2nd and 3rd quarter. I thought the umpiring was pretty good also as they let the play go as long as they could and didn't try to over-umpire the game.
hi,
can anyone tell me how echuca united are travelling.
I heard they had a bunch of blokes leave them at the start of the year at late notice and this has taken it toll.
Also how are both josh rowbottom going?
And who are their best players at the moment.
Thanks
United are travelling well this year mate. If you are talking about the North Heidelburg players leaving, then yes we did know of their intention to leave pending what they decided. We also had Jarrod Nuttal and Phil Haselman head up the highway to have a kick with Leitchville-Gunbower.
Josh is going very well. Has been lining up at Full Forward and also having a run in the ruck. Playing some good football. The better players would be Luke Jones, Pat Tarrant, Nathan Rowbottom, Brett Godfrey, Tim Bone, Guy Campbell and Rowan Hill. Dale Reyne and Luan Marsh have just come back from injury and will improve their form in the coming weeks.
Hope this helps mate. ;)
United are travelling well this year mate. If you are talking about the North Heidelburg players leaving, then yes we did know of their intention to leave pending what they decided. We also had Jarrod Nuttal and Phil Haselman head up the highway to have a kick with Leitchville-Gunbower.
Josh is going very well. Has been lining up at Full Forward and also having a run in the ruck. Playing some good football. The better players would b Luke Jones, Pat Tarrant, Nathan Rowbottom, Brett Godfrey, Tim Bone, Guy Campbell and Rowan Hill. Dale Reyne and Luan Marcsh have just come back from injury and will improve their form in the coming weeks.
Hope this helps mate. ;)
Hi Willo, looking forward to Satdy when Rams come down to United, hopefully we can be competive against you guys to make it a good game for the crowd at least, looking forward to it, cheers:thumbsu:.
What are everyone's thoughts on who is going to win the league medal at this stage of the season. I think Nath Gemmill may win it again. I think the top 6 will end up like the following: Nathalia, Mulwala, Echuca United, Barooga, Finley, Numurkah.
Also interesting to read in the paper (kyPress) Hank that you think we (Echuca United) are a little overated. At the moment though as a team we will need to improve significantly if we are to feature deep into the finals this year. I think if we had kicked straight (2.5 first quarter) the game could of been over by 1/4 time. But credit to you guys who fought back in the 2nd and 3rd quarter. I thought the umpiring was pretty good also as they let the play go as long as they could and didn't try to over-umpire the game.
i think hank may be right, we had the same side as we did the week before against mul, and there seems to be a big difference in the two side, but it is still a long time to finals, also tiger about kicking 2.5 in the first i agree you are right the game could have been won then, but we kicked 2.6 in the third term so we also could have sowed it up then to.
Josh is going very well. Has been lining up at Full Forward and also having a run in the ruck. Playing some good football. The better players would be Luke Jones, Pat Tarrant, Nathan Rowbottom, Brett Godfrey, Tim Bone, Guy Campbell and Rowan Hill. Dale Reyne and Luan Marsh have just come back from injury and will improve their form in the coming weeks.
Hope this helps mate. ;)
Thanks mate, great to see the boys are going good. Plus you have lost Jake Guinan (i think thats how you spell it). Luke jones playing good footy? He is a good player.
Well good luck with the season, hopefully you can go all the way this year!
Thanks mate, great to see the boys are going good. Plus you have lost Jake Guinan (i think thats how you spell it). Luke jones playing good footy? He is a good player.
Well good luck with the season, hopefully you can go all the way this year!
Oh yeah I forgot about Jake. He moved down to Geelong at the start of the season but was considering travelling back to Echuca each weekend to play footy with us. But he decided to play down there. His younger brother Liam is having a crack at GV footy this season also. Yeah Luke is going very well - playing very consistent footy.
roaring tiger
5 Jun 2007, 15:15
i think hank may be right, we had the same side as we did the week before against mul, and there seems to be a big difference in the two side, but it is still a long time to finals, also tiger about kicking 2.5 in the first i agree you are right the game could have been won then, but we kicked 2.6 in the third term so we also could have sowed it up then to.
There was a big difference in the conditions (dry compared to very wet) as well i would imagine souts. If we had a dry day things could of gone a lot more in our favour but in saying that you can only play as good as your oppsoiton lets you. Mulwala look to have a pretty handy side on paper but seem to have a couple of injuries to there big gun players at the moment.
As I've said on this thread before, I tell the journos exactly what I think and don't talk bullshit, obviously could have made it out to be a great effort by our blokes to get within 16pts of a side that played off in the GF lat year and is aiming for a top 2 finish this year as Hedge said in the Riv on Friday, but my opinion was that we played a side that is a bit behind the Top 2 in Nathalia and Mulwala(play Barooga this week so don't know if they are up there with those two yet) and we had our chances to win the game but didnt take them, to your blokes credit you lifted the intensity and workrate in the last and we were unable to match it.
The No 1 Bombers Fan
5 Jun 2007, 22:54
Im probably starting up an old debate that will have no definative answer but how do people think the Nathalia side at full strength (David Lucas playing) would match up in the Goulburn Valley league. I think that they would definetly play finals and would say they would finish about fourth or fifith. Am interested in peoples thoughts.
Anyone give the Rams a (small) chance this week against United?
Definately, I think your guys can give them a good run for their money, have you got all your players back? Resuggan didnt play against us.
If it was at Deni would nearly have u blokes even money, but different story at Echuca.
Definately, I think your guys can give them a good run for their money, have you got all your players back? Resuggan didnt play against us.
If it was at Deni would nearly have u blokes even money, but different story at Echuca.
We have recieved some nice beltings down there in the past few years, doubts on Resuggan (knee) playing at all this year and Luke Berry (knee) out for the year too, however some good young kids coming through this year and we rely heavily on them at the moment.
Had our strongest team this year in for Mully, but not sure how they all pulled up after a hard slogging game, should know more after training on Thursday.
roaring tiger
6 Jun 2007, 12:26
We have recieved some nice beltings down there in the past few years, doubts on Resuggan (knee) playing at all this year and Luke Berry (knee) out for the year too, however some good young kids coming through this year and we rely heavily on them at the moment.
Had our strongest team this year in for Mully, but not sure how they all pulled up after a hard slogging game, should know more after training on Thursday.
Hopefully the conditions are a lot better than the weekend homer which would provide spectators with a good game of footy to watch. It should be a pretty attacking game i would think.
Conditions up here for Mully were good last weekend, fine weather and good solid ground, so the low scores didnt reflect on the conditions just a good close game.
Hopefully it is a very attacking game against United, we dont seem to have any problems getting it inside our 50, but from there we struggle a bit with no real goal kicking power forwards as such or tall marking options up forward, but we'll have a bit of a go and if we have some luck we might make United work hard for their win, I think if we can stay within 4-5 goals at the end, we will be happy with our efforts.
Bad news from Ramland, 5 players out this week, all injured from the Mully game:(.
Is there footy on the weekend for you boys???
If so are moama playing at home??.
i will be in moama on a golf trip this weekend and are looking for a home game from moama or echuca united,we are all very thirsty and will gladly spend our hard earned over your bar let me know whos playing where??
Thanks
roaring tiger
7 Jun 2007, 12:30
i will be in moama on a golf trip this weekend and are looking for a home game from moama or echuca united,we are all very thirsty and will gladly spend our hard earned over your bar let me know whos playing where??
Thanks
Echuca United Vs Deni Rams at Echuca south (or high st Oval)
Thanks
You in luck Madpie, Echuca United hosting Deniliquin this weekend, could be a bit one sided, but hey, the bar will be still be open:thumbsu:.
Echuca United Vs Deni Rams at Echuca south (or high st Oval)
thanks mate
RoadRunner11
7 Jun 2007, 18:00
Oh yeah I forgot about Jake. He moved down to Geelong at the start of the season but was considering travelling back to Echuca each weekend to play footy with us. But he decided to play down there. His younger brother Liam is having a crack at GV footy this season also. Yeah Luke is going very well - playing very consistent footy.
Willo, was wondering how anthony baker is going? He was equal runner up in the odwyer medal last year (although ineligible) and haven't noticed him in your best much, if at all. Is he injured?
Bakes is going pretty well at the moment. He isn't in the same form this year as he was last year, though. He is contributing solidly for us and his form will improve in the coming weeks. I'll keep you posted mate.
Tips for Round 10:
Barooga v Tongala
Echuca United v Deniliquin Rams
Mulwala v Rumbalara
Numurkah v Cobram
Congupna v Moama
Finley v Nathalia
Tocumwal Bye
goodgolly24
8 Jun 2007, 17:11
Barooga v Tongala
Echuca v Deniliquin
Mulwala v Rumba
Numurkah v Cobram
Congupna v Moama
Finley v Nathalia
We're nearly half way through, how does everone think there shapeing up, and how do you think other teams are shaping up compared to the hype at the start of the season???
Good luck to all this weekend!!
[QUOTE=goodgolly24;7777193]
We're nearly half way through, how does everone think there shapeing up, and how do you think other teams are shaping up compared to the hype at the start of the season???
QUOTE]
NO surprises Top 4 are as I and most others said at start of year, pretty clearcut, with probably four sides vying for the last 2 spots in the 6. All other sides have shown they can play good footy on their day and can topple other sides above them other than the top 3 or 4. Rumbalara have probably been a tad disappointing on their hype from the start of the year especially after knocking Congupna off early. Internally Tongala is disappointed with our season to date should have had 4 wins on the board but are probably where the wider football public thought we'd be at. Toc started off slowly and would have expected to be in a better position at this stage with their recruiting, seem to be hitting their straps over the last couple of weeks though. Numurkah have been very inconsistent to date and hard to work out where they are really at. Finley are travelling well. Moama are improving every week even after losing a couple of their big names for long periods.
RoadRunner11
8 Jun 2007, 18:06
[quote=goodgolly24;7777193]
QUOTE]
NO surprises Top 4 are as I and most others said at start of year, pretty clearcut, with probably four sides vying for the last 2 spots in the 6. All other sides have shown they can play good footy on their day and can topple other sides above them other than the top 3 or 4. Rumbalara have probably been a tad disappointing on their hype from the start of the year especially after knocking Congupna off early. Internally Tongala is disappointed with our season to date should have had 4 wins on the board but are probably where the wider football public thought we'd be at. Toc started off slowly and would have expected to be in a better position at this stage with their recruiting, seem to be hitting their straps over the last couple of weeks though. Numurkah have been very inconsistent to date and hard to work out where they are really at. Finley are travelling well. Moama are improving every week even after losing a couple of their big names for long periods.
Pretty good review hank. Would agree with you that there are probably 4 or 5 sides vying for the last 2 spots in the top 6. We'll get a pretty good indication of where we're at over the next two weeks as we play nathalia at home this week then mulwala at mulwala next week. We will need to give a good account of ourselves over the next couple of weeks if we think we can play finals and be competitive if we get there.
Tips for Round 10:
Barooga v Tongala
Echuca United v Deniliquin Rams
Mulwala v Rumbalara
Numurkah v Cobram
Congupna v Moama
Finley v Nathalia
Tocumwal Bye
Agree, except I have to tip the Rams in a big upset:thumbsu:. (thats from my heart not my head).
Michael Braun of the West Coast Eagles will be at the game as Echuca United is his original club, and there is also a rumour that Dean Cox and Daniel Kerr will be with him. See you tomorrow mate. ;)
Gee big incentive for you to turn it on Willo with those blokes watching
Yeah, most certainly mate. Did you see the article in today's Herald Sun?
Yeah had a read of it, good article, have followed his career pretty closely as u do with most draftees from the area, with him coming back I can see you guys really hit your straps and not allow Deni a sniff. All the best tomorrow. All games tomorrow seem pretty clearcut on paper, Congupna v Moama could be a close one.
Thanks mate, same with you and your boys. Really take it up to those Barooga blokes. You did well against us, so as long as you maintain possession of the footy and limit turn-overs, you may be able to contain Barooga, as Deni did with Mulwala last week.
Yes, 'Turnovers' the key word there
Here are today's results:
Barooga 24.13 (157) v Tongala 10.8 (68)
Echuca United 20.10 (130) v Deniliquin Rams 13.7 (85)
Mulwala 17.15 (117) v Rumbalara 5.12 (42)
Numurkah 13.11 (89) v Cobram 5.8 (38)
Congupna 22.20 (152) v Moama 4.15 (39)
Finley 7.2 (44) v Nathalia 20.14 (134)
Most of the wins were pretty clear cut. Well done to all the winners. A youthful Deniliquin side put it right up to Echuca United, but the Eagles prevailed in the end. It was good to see Deniliquin's young blokes having a real crack and never giving up.
Anyone else care to give us a report on the other games?
goodgolly24
9 Jun 2007, 21:51
Here are today's results:
Barooga 24.13 (157) v Tongala 10.8 (68)
Echuca United 20.10 (130) v Deniliquin Rams 13.7 (85)
Mulwala 17.15 (117) v Rumbalara 5.12 (42)
Numurkah 13.11 (89) v Cobram 5.8 (38)
Congupna 22.20 (152) v Moama 4.15 (39)
Finley 7.2 (44) v Nathalia 20.14 (134)
Most of the wins were pretty clear cut. Well done to all the winners. A youthful Deniliquin side put it right up to Echuca United, but the Eagles prevailed in the end. It was good to see Deniliquin's young blokes having a real crack and never giving up.
Anyone else care to give us a report on the other games?
[B]
Rumba vs Mulwala
Mulwala went into the match as favourites, and they didn't disappoint.
Although the scoreboard doesn't reflect it, I thought on our day we could probly put it up to them (taking into account both teams had people out). Not to take anything away from them though because they deserved the win, i just thought that we showed some dominate passages of play. There were parts of the match early on when it seemed like we had the majority of the play, but we couldn't capitalize. Had we kick those goals early on this could be a different story, but, that's football. And i think i can say today was the very first time i've seen an umpire change his decision. He was awarding a free kick, and then added a 50 for back chat, only to appoligize and bring it back. . . .They were in fine form all day!!!!
Barooga too good today, Harrap took some good marks and kicked 7, Collins just eased into his first game for 18months with 6. Adam Nunn kicked 6 for us from limited opportunities, Michael Roberts was our best taking the honours fairly convincingly against Marty Brooks, Barooga's physical strength was the main difference for the day, as well as our high turnover count. Rowan O'Callaghan and Sam Ryan were good in the middle, Byers was also good especially in the first half, tagged him in the last half and had minimal influence. They had Liddell, Tough and Rattray out so look to be travelling well.
goodgolly24
9 Jun 2007, 22:29
Hey Hank,
You've played most big spending ($$$) teams, Did you expect more from any of them???
Hey Hank,
You've played most big spending ($$$) teams, Did you expect more from any of them???
As I've already mentioned Echuca Utd probably arent up there with the top3, where as at the start of the year most thought it would be the top 4 and the rest, I think they have come back to the pack a little, they probably arent spending as much as last year especially after not hanging onto the 4 DV blokes. Mulwala and Barooga both looked good, Barooga more physically stronger, Mulwala more polished, both had a couple of big recruits out when we played, Lee James Mulwala, Liddell and Rattray Barooga. Both sides are still recruiting to try and bridge the gap to Nathalia, as Collins played yesterday for Barooga and if they can get Harrap, Rattray and him in the same forward line they may be able to take it up to Nathalia and stretch their defence.
Onball they look pretty good, probably not the depth of Nathalia though.
Think Mulwala may struggle to match Nathalia onball also, but rest of there setup looked good, they did rest a couple against us because of interleague they day before though, so would probably go in with a different setup to what they had against us.
goodgolly24
10 Jun 2007, 17:50
As I've already mentioned Echuca Utd probably arent up there with the top3, where as at the start of the year most thought it would be the top 4 and the rest, I think they have come back to the pack a little, they probably arent spending as much as last year especially after not hanging onto the 4 DV blokes. Mulwala and Barooga both looked good, Barooga more physically stronger, Mulwala more polished, both had a couple of big recruits out when we played, Lee James Mulwala, Liddell and Rattray Barooga. Both sides are still recruiting to try and bridge the gap to Nathalia, as Collins played yesterday for Barooga and if they can get Harrap, Rattray and him in the same forward line they may be able to take it up to Nathalia and stretch their defence.
Onball they look pretty good, probably not the depth of Nathalia though.
Think Mulwala may struggle to match Nathalia onball also, but rest of there setup looked good, they did rest a couple against us because of interleague they day before though, so would probably go in with a different setup to what they had against us.
Cheers mate,
chooken
10 Jun 2007, 19:58
hey can anyone tell me how jason kerr is going?
Mothman
12 Jun 2007, 15:23
just wondering how the congupna football club is travelling this year? also have they got big carl cummins on the track training as he would be there senior ruckman for sure if he was. when fit he would smash any ruckman in that league, his kicking lets him down a bit but its good enough to get him through.:thumbsu:
Two players from GV are Quinn and Vallender. They are both Nathalia boys who played in 05 flag and are returning after a year in the GV.
Two from O&M are Mark Simms and Craig Hicks. Simms is travelling from Bendigo with one of the players. I don't think he played last year but not 100%. Hicks is from Yarrawonga and is one of the coach's best mates. He's coming off a knee injury and wont be right for awhile though.
Ash Dohnt is coming back from a year in Queensland. Coaching the twos.
Big Scads never left to my understanding and I think he's on committee rather than playing. His senior career finished a fair while ago.
Sorry, don't know about Davies' brother.
Journeyman,
Apparently Big Scads was in Melbourne after the Finley game. You are right when you said that his senior career has finished. He is the size of a large millionaire Chef. He was seen at the haunts in Port Melbourne and St Kilda and we don't know what he was on , but it was noticed that he was sniffing around some rather nasty crack:mad:. It was also noticed that he was pretty Nifty on his feet when approached by the bouncers. He has to get back into training as it is understood that he could be returning to these haunts to look for a new wife:thumbsu:.
goodgolly24
13 Jun 2007, 08:35
Hey willo,
How are you'se shaping up for this weekends game??
We'll proably still be without a few including Guthrie.
Hey willo,
How are you'se shaping up for this weekends game??
We'll proably still be without a few including Guthrie.
Shaping up well mate, should have a very strong side for you blokes to have a crack at. Looking forward to heading over to Mercury Drive and taking you blokes on - should be a good contest. Will you be playing or watching from the sidelines?
goodgolly24
13 Jun 2007, 13:56
Shaping up well mate, should have a very strong side for you blokes to have a crack at. Looking forward to heading over to Mercury Drive and taking you blokes on - should be a good contest. Will you be playing or watching from the sidelines?
i don't know yet mate, I'll find out tommorow night. With any luck I think we'll be getting Jarrod Atkinson back so that should be a good boost.
Tips for round 11
Rams v Barooga (heart not head)
Rumbalara v Echuca United
Mulwala v Finley
Tongala v Tocumwal
Cobram v Congupna
Moama v Nathalia
Good luck everybody :thumbsu:.
goodgolly24
15 Jun 2007, 08:17
Deni vs Barooga
Rumba vs Echuca
Mulwala vs Finley
Tongala vs Tocumwul
Cobram vs Congupna
Moama vs Nathalia
Goodluck Boys!!!
themagicfrog
15 Jun 2007, 16:34
Does any body know much about this Lucas Ryan that Barooga nd Toc are supposedly chasing, Barooga have reportedly offered gim $500 a game, haven't heard much about him though.
My Tips for Round 11:
Deniliquin Rams v Barooga
Rumbalara v Echuca United
Mulwala v Finley
Tongala v Tocumwal
Cobram v Congupna
Moama v Nathalia
Numurkah Bye
rumba defeated echuca united today by 35 points. who were the other winners and margins?
Todays results:
Deniliquin Rams 7.11 (53) v Barooga 20.11 (131)
Rumbalara 17.8 (110) v Echuca United 11.9 (75)
Mulwala 15.8 (98) v Finley 9.9 (63)
Tongala 18.10 (118) v Tocumwal 13.11 (89)
Cobram 11.8 (74) v Congupna 17.18 (120)
Moama 5.7 (37) v Nathalia 19.20 (134)
goodgolly24
17 Jun 2007, 01:38
I got a clean sweep. 6 from 6.
Hey willo did you play yesterday? How'd you go? I thought it was a good match. very happy we came away with the win
Thats good tipping goodgolly, to pick us and yourselves which would have to be classed as upsets was a good get.
So what are people thoughts on Echuca Utd, I did say after we played them that I thought they were maybe a little overrated and got a bit of backlash from Roaring Tiger about those comments, did Rumba just play well or are United now looking like they are part of the bunch vying for those last 3 spots in the 6 and not settled in the top 4 with the rest vying for only two spots?
goodgolly24
17 Jun 2007, 11:28
Thats good tipping goodgolly, to pick us and yourselves which would have to be classed as upsets was a good get.
So what are people thoughts on Echuca Utd, I did say after we played them that I thought they were maybe a little overrated and got a bit of backlash from Roaring Tiger about those comments, did Rumba just play well or are United now looking like they are part of the bunch vying for those last 3 spots in the 6 and not settled in the top 4 with the rest vying for only two spots?
That's hard to gauge hank. It would be easy to say Rumba just played good, but for all i know Echuca just had an off week. I will say however it feels like we earnt the win, and i reackon we deserved it. We had one yellow carded at the start of the third, united should have sealed the game there and then, they got four goals up but to our credit we reeled them back in and eventually kicked away. Echuca could say that if they had Guy Cambell in the side it would have been a different story, but we went into the match without one of our game breakers also in Phil Guthrie. To say Echuca is overrated would be a bit harsh, but they would need to step up a fair bit next time around to impress me. If they hold there team together i think next year could be their year, but at the momemt their just not "dangerous" enough i think.
roaring tiger
17 Jun 2007, 13:33
We got to 20 points in front half way through the 3rd quater hank but we couldn't finish them off like we should of. Credit to Rumba they got a run on and we couldn't stop them. As long as we can improve our descion making i think we can still go ok in the finals as we still had our fair share of the footy but just turned it over to easily. We will finish 4th still i think as we have enough early wins on the board and have a gealthy %. I would of thought atkinson wont be playing for Rumba next week (back to Bombers) which will hurt them. It doesn't matter even if you finish 6th anything can happen. It will be interesting to see how we go this weekend against Mulwala at home. Well done to you guys hank had a good win against toc which would probably end all there chances of playing finals this year.
Any reports from the other games and what were your thoughts on toc ?
We matched up pretty well on them, similar to us they didnt have too much tall timber, they had two main targets up forward (same as us), but probably had a better credentialled onball brigade. We broke even onball, but Lurch Brennan probably took the ruck honours with more influence around the ground. Higgins and Dave Farrell didnt play for them which would have hurt, we didnt have Mark Reid and Daniel Humphreys and also lost Andrew Reid just before half-time, they lost Lee Warnett not long into the third. Sean Logie won a fair bit of it in the middle but after Warnett went off he didnt have a lot of help.
Clancy and Downie looked dangerous, but Downie probably didnt capitalise on his opportunities kicking 4.7, we just had their measure each 1/4 which u can see from the 1/4 by 1/4 scores, 5 goals to 3, 5 to 4, 4 to 3, 4 to 3.
Heard a very strong whisper that Guy Campbell from United eagles has retired! Anyone from up that wayknow anything about this-would be a huge loss for the club
oldstyle
18 Jun 2007, 11:36
If thats true he would be a huge loss to them.
goodgolly24
18 Jun 2007, 15:11
Heard a very strong whisper that Guy Campbell from United eagles has retired! Anyone from up that wayknow anything about this-would be a huge loss for the club
For the TEAMS sake i hope it's just gossip, becase he'll left a fairly big hole and i don't think tey've got anyone there at the moment to fill it, it'll blow their finals campaigne apart.
Anyone know why he might want to retire?? he's only young isn't he???
ringo old mate how would u be? i heard that too last weekend. I heard that it may only be for the rest of the year tho?
Yeah mate, I played. Pretty disapointed with my game though. Well done to you and your blokes. Did you play? If so, what number?
goodgolly24
18 Jun 2007, 20:23
Yeah mate, I played. Pretty disapointed with my game though. Well done to you and your blokes. Did you play? If so, what number?
24. I stated off at full back. Can't remember ever playing there before and hope i'm not there next week, too much presure and you don't get to run enough.
So what do you think happened, did you guy's just have an off day?
Bighawk15
18 Jun 2007, 20:28
hey..the news of Ben Slattery playing for the Billabong Crows has turned out to be a great recruit, he kicked a few goals and took a 10 odd marks arcross halforward. was this a one-off or is his he truely a good player??
ringo old mate how would u be? i heard that too last weekend. I heard that it may only be for the rest of the year tho?
Hello there souts how are you? I wll be up thre in three weeks so I will see who you are playing and come and have a look. Are you still going out with the coach?
yeah going well thanks, in three weeks time we play the purps, are you from there? yeah still courting with the coach.
No mate not from up your way but enjoy holidaying in Echuca. Will look at the fixture and see u there!
chooken
19 Jun 2007, 19:37
can anyone tell me if jason kerr has been getting a kick?
oldstyle
20 Jun 2007, 07:09
Hey willo can you confirm or deny the rumours about Guy Campbell, Is he retiring?
goodgolly24
20 Jun 2007, 08:05
can anyone tell me if jason kerr has been getting a kick?
He's havin a run for cobram. I did'nt play against them but from what i hear he goe's alright. There strugling again this year but hopefully things will turn around for them.
Hey willo can you confirm or deny the rumours about Guy Campbell, Is he retiring?
No, he is not retiring. He's struggling with a foot injury he suffered last season.
No, he is not retiring. He's still struggling with a foot injury he suffered last season.
Willo i'm sorry but thats not true. I believe he has a personal issue and he has definitely retired!
24. I stated off at full back. Can't remember ever playing there before and hope i'm not there next week, too much presure and you don't get to run enough.
So what do you think happened, did you guy's just have an off day?
Yeah, putting it down to having a very ordinary game. We'll bounce back though, we have a big challenge this week against Mulwala at home.
You blokes have Tocumwal at home. How do you think you will go there? It would be a perfect opportunity for you to string together 2 wins.
goodgolly24
20 Jun 2007, 12:27
Yeah, putting it down to having a very ordinary game. We'll bounce back though, we have a big challenge this week against Mulwala at home.
You blokes have Tocumwal at home. How do you think you will go there? It would be a perfect opportunity for you to string together 2 wins.
Nah mate we've got Barooga at Barooga. We all like that ground, so i'm tipping an upset in our favour.
Mulwala's Lee James is ment to go alright, let me know after this weekend if he's overrated.
Good luck.
P.S. what about Campell, is it true???